Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on January 27, 2009, 09:40:43 AM

Title: Thread for the USA vs Mexico game (11-Feb-2009).
Post by: Flex on January 27, 2009, 09:40:43 AM
Wednesday, February 11, 2009 * Columbus Crew Stadium (Columbus, Ohio)
U.S. Men’s National Team vs. Mexico / 7 p.m. ET — 2010 FIFA World Cup Qualifier

Live on ESPN2, ESPN2 HD and Univision - 7:00 PM  ET
Title: Re: Thread for the USA vs Mexico game (11-Feb-2009).
Post by: E-man on January 27, 2009, 06:11:42 PM
Mexicans turn to voodoo to help team beat the US

MEXICO CITY (AP) — A Mexican sports daily is pinning its hopes of beating the United States in a World Cup qualifying match on voodoo — with help from a U.S-based electronics chain. An advertisement in the sports daily Record on Tuesday invited fans to clip coupons and redeem them at their local Radio Shack store for a voodoo-doll likeness of a U.S. player. The hope was that a little black magic might help Mexico break a decade of futility on the road versus its northern neighbor.

"Help end the losing streak so Mexico advances," the ad read.

An illustration showed a pair of scissors slicing off the leg of a doll in a U.S. jersey that was bruised, crying out in pain, leaking stuffing, and stuck with pushpins.

"We imagine a group of young people gathered around the TV supporting Mexico and applying punishments to our rivals so that the team can qualify," Record said in a statement.

Daniel Paz, marketing manager for the newspaper, told The Associated Press the promotion was a lighthearted attempt to make next month's rivalry game more enjoyable for fans.

"It's a toy," Paz said. "There's no intention of being anything serious."

The press office of Radio Shack in Fort Worth, Texas, did not immediately return phone calls and e-mails seeking comment, but the company's Mexico office confirmed its participation.

Mexico plays the United States on Feb. 11 in Columbus, Ohio, in the first match of the final round of CONCACAF qualifying for the 2010 World Cup. The "Tri" has not won in the U.S. for 10 years.

Record said it has created 10,000 dolls and plans to expand the promotion to include effigies representing the other CONCACAF finalists: Costa Rica, Honduras, El Salvador and Trinidad and Tobago.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 27, 2009, 06:15:40 PM
pack ah assness.
Post by: acb on January 27, 2009, 07:05:12 PM
http://www.postnewsline.com/2008/02/voodoo-priest-s.html (http://www.postnewsline.com/2008/02/voodoo-priest-s.html)

Voodoo Priest Says He Got Inspiration From Cameroon
By Innocent Mbunwe in Ghana

Ghanaian number one sports voodoo priest, popularly known as Okwonfor, told The Post in Accra, Ghana, that he got his inspiration from the Indomitable Lions in 1990.

(http://jimbicentral.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2008/02/08/voodoo.jpg)

When asked how, he said, "spiritually, I was born a voodoo priest, but when I saw a Cameroonian witchdoctor during the 1990 World Cup in Italy, perform all those incantations and the Lions got to the quarter finals, it inspired me. Knowing that I have those same powers, I decided to support the Black Stars of Ghana with it."

On how he has been helpful to the Black Stars, he said, "On the opening game between Ghana and Guinea, I brought two guinea fowls into the stadium and Ghana won 2-1. In our second encounter against Namibia, I carried one eagle and we beat Namibia 1- 0.

Then, came our third game against Morocco; I took two fowls to the stadium and the score was 2-0. Against Nigeria in the quarter-finals, I had an eagle and a fowl and we beat them 2-1."

About the semi-final match against Cameroon, "I will only know on the eve of the encounter," said Okwonfor.Voodoo is a kind of spiritual force and is alleged to have started in Benin, where it is more or less a state religion, before being taken to Haiti and elsewhere by slaves.

At the AFCON 2008, it is common to see several Ghanaian fans carrying juju pots containing leaves and liquids in order to scare away all evil spirits and that brings them victory, as they claim.

"It seems to work, if you believe in this sort of thing," said a Ghanaian policeman. "Is it not a similar thing that happened in the 2002 semi-final match between Mali and Cameroon in Mali, where Cameroon coaches, Winfred Schafer and Thomas Nkono, were arrested by police for placing a magic charm on the pitch before the match?" the police added.

When it comes to football, many people have the belief that an extra force somewhere can do the trick for them. Even Europeans believe in it; reasons why some of England's top stars over the years like John Terry will tie his shin guard three times, Gary Neville will wear the same perfume every day he has a match, as reported by the English press some time ago.
Title: Mexicans turning to voodoo to beat United States
Post by: Socaman on January 28, 2009, 08:48:25 AM
Mexican soccer fans are turning to voodoo to beat the United States, with help from an American electronics company.

The teams meet Feb. 11 in Columbus, Ohio, in the first game of the final round of regional qualifying for the 2010 World Cup. Mexico has not beaten the United States on American soil in 10 years.

An advertisement in the sports newspaper Record on Tuesday invited fans to clip coupons and redeem them at their local Radio Shack store for a voodoo-doll likeness of a U.S. player. The hope was that a little black magic might help Mexico break its decade of futility.

"Help end the losing streak so Mexico advances," the ad read.

An illustration showed a pair of scissors slicing off the leg of a doll in a U.S. jersey that was bruised, crying out in pain, leaking stuffing and stuck with pushpins.

"We imagine a group of young people gathered around the TV supporting Mexico and applying punishments to our rivals so that the team can qualify," Record said in a statement.

Daniel Paz, marketing manager for the newspaper, told The Associated Press the promotion was a lighthearted attempt to make next month's rivalry game more enjoyable for fans.

"It's a toy," Paz said. "There's no intention of being anything serious."

The media office of Radio Shack in Fort Worth, Texas, did not immediately return phone calls and e-mails, but the company's Mexico office confirmed its participation.

Record said it has created 10,000 dolls and plans to expand the promotion to include effigies representing the other finalists in North and Central America and the Caribbean: Costa Rica, Honduras, El Salvador and Trinidad and Tobago.

Title: Re: Mexicans turning to voodoo to beat United States
Post by: Big Magician on January 28, 2009, 09:23:04 AM
leh we go Moruga yes..it have quantillia dolls dong dey ??( o wha ever he name is)
Post by: Sam on January 28, 2009, 09:30:07 AM
Should be a good game...

Wonder if they have black people in Mexico ? as I have never seen one play for Mexico.
Post by: acb on January 28, 2009, 10:11:16 AM
Should be a good game...

Wonder if they have black people in Mexico ? as I have never seen one play for Mexico.

If you counting California as part of Mexico, then yes.
Post by: Andre on January 28, 2009, 10:16:00 AM
Should be a good game...

melvin brown - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Melvin_Brown

gio dos santos look dougla.
Post by: jimmel14 on January 28, 2009, 10:23:45 AM
them people taking this voodoo thing for Joke.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 28, 2009, 10:26:13 AM
Should be a good game...

melvin brown - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Melvin_Brown

gio dos santos look dougla.
gio is half brazilian
Post by: Andre on January 28, 2009, 10:35:16 AM
he might be half brazilian but i bet he ol man (Gerardo dos Santos) look more like pele than kaka.
Post by: najee on January 28, 2009, 02:16:27 PM
i don't think that the first time they doing something like this or other teams around the world....club's from south american to world cup team does it
Post by: acb on January 28, 2009, 02:34:28 PM
http://www.postnewsline.com/2008/02/voodoo-priest-s.html (http://www.postnewsline.com/2008/02/voodoo-priest-s.html)

Voodoo Priest Says He Got Inspiration From Cameroon
By Innocent Mbunwe in Ghana

Ghanaian number one sports voodoo priest, popularly known as Okwonfor, told The Post in Accra, Ghana, that he got his inspiration from the Indomitable Lions in 1990.

(http://jimbicentral.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2008/02/08/voodoo.jpg)

When asked how, he said, "spiritually, I was born a voodoo priest, but when I saw a Cameroonian witchdoctor during the 1990 World Cup in Italy, perform all those incantations and the Lions got to the quarter finals, it inspired me. Knowing that I have those same powers, I decided to support the Black Stars of Ghana with it."

On how he has been helpful to the Black Stars, he said, "On the opening game between Ghana and Guinea, I brought two guinea fowls into the stadium and Ghana won 2-1. In our second encounter against Namibia, I carried one eagle and we beat Namibia 1- 0.

Then, came our third game against Morocco; I took two fowls to the stadium and the score was 2-0. Against Nigeria in the quarter-finals, I had an eagle and a fowl and we beat them 2-1."

About the semi-final match against Cameroon, "I will only know on the eve of the encounter," said Okwonfor.Voodoo is a kind of spiritual force and is alleged to have started in Benin, where it is more or less a state religion, before being taken to Haiti and elsewhere by slaves.

At the AFCON 2008, it is common to see several Ghanaian fans carrying juju pots containing leaves and liquids in order to scare away all evil spirits and that brings them victory, as they claim.

"It seems to work, if you believe in this sort of thing," said a Ghanaian policeman. "Is it not a similar thing that happened in the 2002 semi-final match between Mali and Cameroon in Mali, where Cameroon coaches, Winfred Schafer and Thomas Nkono, were arrested by police for placing a magic charm on the pitch before the match?" the police added.

When it comes to football, many people have the belief that an extra force somewhere can do the trick for them. Even Europeans believe in it; reasons why some of England's top stars over the years like John Terry will tie his shin guard three times, Gary Neville will wear the same perfume every day he has a match, as reported by the English press some time ago.
Post by: Bitter on January 28, 2009, 02:40:10 PM
So if he carry a box of KFC to the game, what is the score then?

Do you keep hitting the post because is not a whole bird?
Post by: acb on January 28, 2009, 02:54:08 PM
So if he carry a box of KFC to the game, what is the score then?

Do you keep hitting the post because is not a whole bird?

I assume in Trinidad KFC, dey does use normal chickens, and not the mutations that they does use in the US.

But then again, what kinda KFC you carrying to the game?
You cyar carry a Zinger and Cruncher and expect to score goals.

... and then what if Im not sure anymore, if I want corn or cole slaw ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6f0c9auWweg (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6f0c9auWweg)

Post by: E-man on January 28, 2009, 10:49:30 PM
(http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/media/ALeqM5hAlGaAZZmrFoIKdOgm1DkYJ3wq_Q?size=m)

Mexico voodoo dolls kick up a fuss

MEXICO CITY (AFP) — A Mexican sports daily is seeking help for the national soccer team against the United States using voodoo dolls, despite losing support for the stunt from a US-based electronics chain.

Radio Shack on Wednesday ordered its Mexican division not to distribute some 8,700 voodoo dolls wearing US soccer shirts.

The dolls were promised in a promotion in the sports newspaper Record in exchange for printed cut-out dolls, Katia Santiago, at the Mexican Radio Shack's publicity department, told AFP.

Radio Shack argued "that a US company cannot support a situation that goes against the (national) team," Record said on its web site.

Record, which is supporting Mexico in regional knockout matches ahead of the 2010 South Africa World Cup, said the promotion would still go ahead and that it would shortly inform its readers of new distribution points.

"Imagine that it's a player from the opposite team and put pins where you want to," the newspaper said, calling the dolls a "secret weapon."

Mexico has not beaten the United States since 2000.

Mexico plays the United States on February 11 in Columbus, Ohio, in the CONCACAF qualifiers for the 2010 World Cup.

Record said it plans to expand the promotion to include dolls representing the other CONCACAF finalists: Costa Rica, Honduras, El Salvador and Trinidad and Tobago.
Post by: Zeppo on January 29, 2009, 04:27:06 AM
Radio Shack cancels Mexico voodoo campaign

Radio Shack has withdrawn from a Mexican newspaper's promotional campaign inviting fans to prick voodoo dolls to boost the nation's soccer team in a Feb. 11 World Cup qualifier against the United States at Columbus, Ohio.

The Forth Worth, Texas-based company said in a statement that it wishes "the very best of luck" to Mexico, the U.S. and all teams in the final round of regional qualifying for next year's tournament.

(continue) (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=613859&sec=us&cc=5739)
Post by: just cool on January 29, 2009, 04:33:33 AM
them people taking this voodoo thing for Joke.
EH Yuh remember papa neza. well dais meh granfadder! :devil: :devil:
Title: Mexico shows nothing in exhibition loss to Sweden
Post by: Zeppo on January 29, 2009, 05:02:29 AM
Mexico shows nothing in exhibition loss to Sweden

Bob Bradley had his scouts watching Wednesday night's soccer friendly between Mexico and Sweden, but it is doubtful that the U.S. national team coach learned much that will trouble him.

Mexico was abysmal in its 1-0 loss in front of an increasingly restless crowd of about 46,000 at the Oakland Coliseum that booed the unimaginative display by "El Tri."

One fan played taps on a trumpet when the final whistle sounded.

Bradley might not even bother showing the game tape to his players ahead of the U.S. team's Feb. 11 World Cup qualifier against Mexico in Columbus, Ohio.

(continue) (http://www.latimes.com/sports/la-sp-mexico-soccer29-2009jan29,0,223103.story)
Title: Re: Mexico shows nothing in exhibition loss to Sweden
Post by: spideybuff on January 29, 2009, 06:08:15 AM
God, I wish our first game was against mexico...we definitely had a chance. Now by the time we bounce them up, Sven will be gone and they will be playing catch up so the game will be tougher.
Title: Re: Mexico shows nothing in exhibition loss to Sweden
Post by: lefty on January 29, 2009, 06:12:52 AM
God, I wish our first game was against mexico...we definitely had a chance. Now by the time we bounce them up, Sven will be gone and they will be playing catch up so the game will be tougher.

wais dah saying "playin dead....................................."
Post by: MEP on January 29, 2009, 04:38:49 PM
all dat voodoo nonsense go backfire.....
Post by: Daft Trini on January 29, 2009, 04:46:35 PM
leh we go Moruga yes..it have quantillia dolls dong dey ??( o wha ever he name is)

Sorry BM mother Cork Hocks has long passed away... (rip)
Post by: E-man on January 29, 2009, 04:47:57 PM
Eriksson's priorities change as Mexico lose again
foxsports

Mexico national team coach Sven-Goran Eriksson of Sweden reatcs during their World Cup 2010 qualifying soccer match against Honduras in San Pedro Sula November 19, 2008. REUTERS/Edgard Garrido (HONDURAS)

MEXICO CITY, Jan 29 (Reuters) - When Sven-Goran Eriksson took over as Mexico coach last June, the talk was of whether he could lead his new team to the World Cup semi-finals for the first time.

Barely six months later, doubts have emerged about whether he can can even get them to South Africa in 2010.

World Cup qualifying defeats away to Honduras and Jamaica have given ammunition to critics who warned Eriksson was not prepared for the idiosyncrasies of Mexican football and the coach's headache grew worse on Wednesday with a 1-0 defeat to his native Sweden in Oakland.

Mexico, who have won only once in their last six games, showed little creativity and gifted a goal to the Swedes, losing the ball as they tried to play their way out of defence.

"I think we have to try and score goals when he have the opportunity and create more chances," said Eriksson on the Mexican federation's Web site ((http://www.femexfut.org.mx).

"We also made mistakes in defence."

The defeat could not have come at a worse time with Mexico due to visit arch-rivals United States for a World Cup qualifier on Feb. 11.

EUROPEAN PROBLEMS

The game kicks off the CONCACAF qualifying competition's final stage which is played as a six-team mini-league.

The top three teams qualify directly for South Africa and the fourth plays off over two legs against the fifth-placed team from South America.

If Mexico lose away to the U.S., as their recent record of two wins their last 10 meetings suggests they will, then the trips to Honduras, El Salvador, Costa Rica and Trinidad will loom very large.

Eriksson, the former England boss, is facing serious selection problems with Mexico's European-based players either injured or struggling to get first-team football.

The country's younger players, including the members of the team which won the under-17 World Cup, have still to live up to their potential and his decision to call up naturalised players to fill the gaps has sparked controversy, much to Eriksson's bemusement.

Eriksson tried to put a brave face on the whole situation after the Sweden defeat.

"For me, this game wasn't entirely negative," he said. "There were a lot of positive things, I liked the attitude, it was a good game and it cleared up some doubts.

"We had some chances to score a goal, we fought hard and we have two weeks to improve before we face and try to beat the United States.

"Of course, we have a chance to win the first game of (final stage of) the qualifying tournament," he added.

"It will be difficult, we know it will be a tough game, as history suggests, but we are going to work with optimism."
Post by: frico on January 29, 2009, 05:59:05 PM
Hopefully this match would end in a draw.
Post by: Preacher on January 29, 2009, 06:07:47 PM
Is USA really that strong. ?   Their B team couldn't beat our struggling A team but they acting like Mexico in real trouble.  Like it have no way they could loose come game time.
Post by: frico on January 29, 2009, 07:34:08 PM
Is USA really that strong. ?   Their B team couldn't beat our struggling A team but they acting like Mexico in real trouble.  Like it have no way they could loose come game time.
PEOPLE DOH SEEM TO REMEMBER LITTLE THINGS LIKE THAT,MEXICO ALWAYS PLAY CRAP BEFORE DE BIG MATCH.
Post by: Zeppo on January 30, 2009, 02:10:37 AM
Is USA really that strong. ?   Their B team couldn't beat our struggling A team but they acting like Mexico in real trouble.

Who said that Mexico is in real trouble?
Post by: Flex on January 30, 2009, 06:08:04 AM
Bradley Recalls 20 Players to Carson to Begin Preparations For FIFA World Cup Qualifier Against Mexico.

CHICAGO (Jan. 29, 2009) — U.S. Men’s National Team head coach Bob Bradley has called 20 players back to U.S. Soccer's National Training Center at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif., to begin preparations for the USA’s first match of final round qualifying for the 2010 FIFA World Cup. The U.S. will take on regional rivals Mexico on Feb. 11 in front of a sold-out crowd at Columbus Crew Stadium live on ESPN2, ESPN2 HD and Univision beginning at 7 p.m. ET. The match can be heard live on the Futbol de Primera radio networks, and fans can also follow along on ussoccer.com’s MatchTracker.

The 20-man group is made up almost entirely of players who participated in the previous camp from Jan. 4-24 at the HDC, with Columbus Crew defender and two-time World Cup veteran Frankie Hejduk the only new addition. The U.S. team will train in Carson for nine days before departing on Feb. 7 for Columbus.

Fourteen of the players on the roster appeared in the USA’s 3-2 win against Sweden on Jan. 24, including midfielder Sacha Kljestan, who became the second player in U.S. history to score his first three goals all in the same game. Both Robbie Rogers and Chris Wingert made their debut for the full team in the victory.

Tickets for the USA-Mexico clash sold out in 90 minutes following the beginning of the public sale. The match is the first of 10 in the final round hexagonal that will determine the three automatic entrants from CONCACAF into the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. In addition to qualifying, the U.S. will compete in the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup in June, having been drawn into Group B along with five-time World Cup winners Brazil, current World Champion Italy, and Egypt. Just days after the tournament, the U.S. will begin its defense of the CONCACAF Gold Cup title.

U.S. Men’s National Team Roster By Position

GOALKEEPERS (3): Jon Busch (Chicago Fire), Will Hesmer (Columbus Crew), Matt Pickens (Colorado Rapids)

DEFENDERS (5): Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus Crew), Ugo Ihemelu (Colorado Rapids), Chris Wingert (Real Salt Lake), Marvell Wynne (Toronto FC)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Brian Carroll (Columbus Crew), Ricardo Clark (Houston Dynamo), Eddie Gaven (Columbus Crew), Stuart Holden (Houston Dynamo), Jack Jewsbury (Kansas City Wizards), Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA), Robbie Rogers (Columbus Crew), John Thorrington (Chicago Fire)

FORWARDS (4): Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo), Kenny Cooper (FC Dallas), Charlie Davies (Hammarby IF), Chris Rolfe (Chicago Fire)

NOTE -

Team to Train at The Home Depot Center for Nine Days Before Heading to Columbus

Sold-Out Match Against Mexico on Feb. 11 to be Broadcast on ESPN2, ESPN2 HD and Univision

U.S.-Mexico FIFA World Cup Qualifier in Columbus Sells Out in 90 Minutes
Post by: Flex on January 30, 2009, 06:12:19 AM
Radio Shack withdraws from Mexico soccer-voodoo promo.

MEXICO CITY (AP) — Radio Shack has withdrawn from a Mexican newspaper's promotional campaign inviting fans to prick voodoo dolls to boost the nation's soccer team in a Feb. 11 World Cup qualifier against the United States at Columbus, Ohio.
The Fort Worth-based company said in a statement that it wishes "the very best of luck" to Mexico, the U.S. and all teams in the final round of regional qualifying for next year's tournament.

The Mexican sports daily Record had published an ad for the campaign on Tuesday, printing coupons for fans to clip and redeem at their local Radio Shack store for a voodoo-doll likeness of a U.S. player.

An illustration showed a pair of scissors slicing off the leg of a doll in a U.S. jersey; the doll grimaced in pain with its arms covered in bruises, as stuffing leaked from its No. 10 jersey, stuck with pushpins.

Record said it hoped young people would gather around televisions for the match and "apply punishments to our rivals," giving Mexico an edge to end a decade of winless play versus the Americans on U.S. soil.

But a day later, Radio Shack reversed course.

"In their desire to support their national team in the soccer World Cup, our recently acquired operation in Mexico was interested in participating," the company said in a statement. "Upon notification of our potential involvement, Radio Shack Corp. has decided not to participate."

Record marketing manager Daniel Paz confirmed that Radio Shack notified the paper of its withdrawal Wednesday.

"It surprises us," he told The Associated Press.

He reiterated that the campaign was always intended as a "novel and fun" fun way of elevating the profile of next month's match.

"As things are, the promotion will continue," he said, adding that the paper was in talks with several businesses interested in taking over.

Record said previously it had created 10,000 dolls and planned to expand the promotion to include effigies representing the other finalists in the North and Central American and Caribbean region: Costa Rica, Honduras, El Salvador, and Trinidad and Tobago.

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
Post by: Andre on January 30, 2009, 11:40:14 AM
i talk to a mexican pardner in the gym last night bout this. he say he peeps go be happy with a tie in this game. they know USA better than them now and they eh like sven. they doh believe a european know about their style to be successful.

my prediction - USA 2: MEX 0

the game sell out in 90 minutes BTW. i feel d yank supporters go be getting on bad.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on January 30, 2009, 01:07:56 PM
i talk to a mexican pardner in the gym last night bout this. he say he peeps go be happy with a tie in this game. they know USA better than them now and they eh like sven. they doh believe a european know about their style to be successful.

my prediction - USA 2: MEX 0

the game sell out in 90 minutes BTW. i feel d yank supporters go be getting on bad.

that stadium will be half immigrants...

i expect a good battle on the field... 3-1 USA
Post by: Zeppo on January 30, 2009, 02:22:05 PM

that stadium will be half immigrants...

Nah, it will clearly be pro-Yank, just like all the qualifiers are there.
Post by: Big Magician on January 31, 2009, 12:15:42 AM
Mexico winning....this is the worst yankee side since 1990
Post by: Zeppo on January 31, 2009, 10:40:53 AM

Then I suppose we'll be getting another win in T&T!

Post by: MATADOR on January 31, 2009, 11:07:39 AM
While some may feel that this is the worst USA side etc etc...the fact remains that they have been a consistant bunch...and with the state of Mexicos game right now I predict a 3-0 USA victory.
Post by: acb on January 31, 2009, 03:27:34 PM
So we call them a sh!t side on the forum, the scouts/ managers and owners have listened ....

One star already get sent on loan ... and look what happen to another one:

http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news;_ylt=AnfRA6fFEvIIaNq0n4OMreomw7YF?slug=goal_kljestan_price_tag&prov=goal&type=lgns (http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news;_ylt=AnfRA6fFEvIIaNq0n4OMreomw7YF?slug=goal_kljestan_price_tag&prov=goal&type=lgns)
The move of American midfielder Sacha Kljestan to Scottish giants Celtic seems to have been called off. According to the Evening Times the Scottish outfit was not willing to pay the $3.5 million US price tag for the 23-year-old.

Other consideration such as incentives for games played and a sell-on clause were also part of the deal and could’ve played a role in Celtic’s decision to look elsewhere.

Kljestan spent six days on trial with the Hoops prior to returning to U.S. National Team camp, but apparently did not impress enough to warrant such a large investment.

However, Celtic was not the only team showing interest in Kljestan. A move to Europe could still happen for the American who opened his account with the National with a stylish hat-trick against Sweden.

Clubs in Holland and Germany are both reportedly interested in bringing in the playmaking midfielder, but with the transfer window coming to a close the Chivas USA start might have to wait until the summer to realize his European dreams.

Kljestan is back in training with the U.S. National Team in Carson, California preparing for the February 11th showdown with CONCACAF rivals Mexico.
Post by: Tallman on February 02, 2009, 07:45:38 PM
My View: Can USA Qualify With Flair?
By Mike Woitalla (socceramerica.com)

THE USA WON'T HAVE MUCH trouble qualifying for the 2010 World Cup, but we should expect more. Getting its first win in Mexico and playing impressive soccer would be nice.

It was in the 69th minute of the USA's game in Mexico City's Azteca Stadium in 1997 that the Americans pulled it off. They got the Mexican fans, who numbered 114,000, to turn on their own team.

The Steve Sampson-coached Americans lost defender Jeff Agoos in the 32nd minute to a red card from Argentine referee Javier "The Sheriff" Castrilli for elbowing Pavel Pardo. But the Mexicans could not take advantage.

And late in the second half the Mexican fans began jeering El Tri - not even sparing the popular goalkeeper Jorge Campos when he picked up the ball. They shouted for the ouster of Coach Bora Milutinovic.

When Castrilli awarded Mexico a throw-in after the Americans appealed it was theirs, they booed The Sheriff. And they chanted "Ole!" to each U.S. pass.

The game ended in a 0-0 tie, the best result ever for the USA in Mexico City, where the USA has lost all its other 19 games against El Tri dating back to 1937.

The USA and Mexico, which also tied on U.S. soil before the Azteca draw, both qualified for the 1998 World Cup. In the next two qualifying campaigns, with Bruce Arena as U.S. coach, the Concacaf region's two giants each won their home games against the other and both qualified.

This time around, as the USA aims to reach the World Cup a sixth straight time, it begins the final round of qualifying by hosting Mexico Feb. 11 in Columbus, Ohio.

For sure, opening in the USA has to be the worst-case scenario for the Mexicans, who have recently been in poor form. In the semifinal round, Mexico went winless in its last three games and only advanced to the Hexagonal ahead of Jamaica thanks to goal difference. And Mexico is winless - eight losses and two ties - at the USA since 2000.

There's something about facing the USA north of the border that frays the Mexican players' nerves. Perhaps the prospect of losing to the nation with which it shares a 2,000-mile border - and where more than 20 million people of Mexican descent reside - drains their confidence.

How else to explain that, in 2007, Mexico lost to the USA, 2-1, in Chicago in the Gold Cup final, then three days later defeated Brazil, 2-0, in Venezuela at the Copa America, which Brazil ended up winning?

It's why psychologists have gone on Mexican TV to discuss the failings of the Mexican mentality when the national team faces the USA.

Besides having to travel to Ohio to start the Hexagonal, the Mexicans are also hurt by how the draw placed their home game against the Americans. They host on Aug. 12, which is a Wednesday. In the past, Mexico has welcomed the Americans on Sundays, when they can play at noon, in the midday sun.

The fact that more Mexican players than ever are playing in Europe - El Tri fielded as many as eight European-based players in the semifinal round - has actually become a handicap. Fielding mainly domestic players in the past enabled El Tri to hold lengthy training camps with a full squad.

The foreign-based players will be late arrivals for Mexico's home game. And flying in from Europe means their adjustment to playing at altitude will be just as challenging as it is for their opponents.

Only once has Mexico lost a World Cup qualifier at Azteca, in 2001 when Costa Rica won, 2-1. The time is ripe for a first-ever U.S. victory at Azteca.

Regardless of the results between the two archrivals, they'll both get to South Africa. Of the Hexagonal teams, three qualify automatically, and the fourth-place team faces South America's No. 5 for a spot.

In the last three qualifying campaigns, the USA has clinched a spot before their last Hexagonal game. It qualified for Germany 2006 with three games left.

For however much U.S. players and coaches like to talk about how difficult it is to play on the road against Central American and Caribbean opponents - invoking bad fields and hostile crowds - it ain't that tough.

Including the earlier rounds of 2010 qualifying, the USA has traveled to 11 Concacaf countries in World Cup qualifying this decade. Not including games after which it had already clinched passage into the next round or the World Cup itself, the USA has lost only to Mexico and Costa Rica. And at home, the USA has lost only once over the last two decades, covering 30 World Cup qualifying games.

After its Feb. 11 game against Mexico, the USA travels to El Salvador, which hasn't qualified for a World Cup since 1982 and has never beaten the USA in qualifying.

The third opponent is Trinidad & Tobago, which qualified for its first World Cup in 2006, finishing fourth in the Hexagonal to earn a playoff with Bahrain. The USA dismantled T&T convincingly, 3-0, in Illinois last September in the semifinal round. The Americans had already advanced when Coach Bob Bradley sent an experimental squad out in Port of Spain for the rematch the Soca Warriors won, 2-1, for their first ever qualifying win over the USA. They shouldn't pose any problems for the Americans in the Hexagonal.

Aside from the drama the Mexico opener promises, playing at Costa Rica on June 3 - the game has been moved up a week to free  the USA to head for the Confederations Cup - provides the most exciting challenge for Bradley's team in the first half of the Hexagonal.

Besides Mexico, the Ticos are the only team with a winning record against the USA in qualifying and are notoriously strong at home, where they now play on artificial turf. They would be favorites to finish in the top three along with the USA and Mexico were it not for Honduras, which finished ahead of Mexico, Jamaica and Canada in the semifinal round.

Honduras beat the USA in Washington, D.C., in 2001 after falling to the Americans in San Pedro Sula. But for however troublesome the Catrachos and Ticos can be for the USA, they tend to slip up against other opponents.

Judging from past qualifying campaigns, including the semifinal round last year that included a dour 1-0 win at Cuba, the USA is likely to grind out the results it needs on the road, play a bit more impressively at home, and book a ticket to South Africa.

When they claw their way to collecting the points they need to qualify, the players will explain that these games are "battles" and not meant to be "pretty."

But this time around, the bar should be set higher. The USA should be able to outplay their opponents regardless of the venue with superior soccer - a possession game, clever buildup, and flair.

The true measure of Bradley's team will be if it offers better soccer than what we've seen in the last three qualifying campaigns. It isn't too much to ask for a sign of real progress - and for a win in Mexico.
Post by: FireBrand on February 08, 2009, 06:56:05 PM
U.S. Men’s National Team Roster vs. Mexico

GOALKEEPERS (2): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa: 4/3 SO), Tim Howard (Everton FC: 7/5 SO)

DEFENDERS (7): Carlos Bocanegra (Rennes: 16/2), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA, 1/0), Danny Califf (FC Midtjylland: 3/0), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus Crew: 14/1), Oguchi Onyewu (Standard de Liege: 12/1), Heath Pearce (Hansa Rostock: 7/0), Marvell Wynne (Toronto FC: 0/0)

MIDFIELDERS (6): DaMarcus Beasley (Glasgow Rangers: 21/6), Michael Bradley (Borussia Mönchengladbach: 6/2), Ricardo Clark (Houston Dynamo: 3/0), Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA: 6/0), Robbie Rogers (Columbus Crew: 0/0), José Francisco Torres (Pachuca: 1/0)

FORWARDS (5): Jozy Altidore (Xerez C.D.: 3/1), Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo: 12/6), Charlie Davies (Hammarby IF: 1/1) Clint Dempsey (Fulham FC: 12/4), Landon Donovan (Bayern Munich: 25/9)
Post by: Flex on February 09, 2009, 07:23:09 AM
Pardo: We have to qualify
(FIFA.com)

Pavel Pardo is one of the mainstays of Mexican football. A veteran of 142 internationals with El Tricolor and two FIFA World Cups™, he is one of the few Mexican players still in action who knows how it feels to beat USA in their own backyard; a triumph he will be hoping to repeat when the two meet again in Columbus, Ohio, on Wednesday.

Just weeks after returning from a successful stay with Stuttgart in Germany, the Mexico captain spoke exclusively to FIFA.com about the forthcoming derby, and what the future holds for him and El Tri.

FIFA.com: Pavel, there are just a few days until the region's final qualifying group for South Africa 2010 begins. How do you feel about Mexico's chances?
Pavel Pardo: Very good, I have to say. In training we are working hard on tactical, offensive and defensive aspects and things are looking better and better all the time. It's been a while since we've been able to train for a whole week with Sven-Goran Eriksson, although it wasn't that easy before because we had a lot of players in Europe and we couldn't work the way we are at the moment.

Having time to prepare is important for you?

I think so. I also feel we need to have the core of the team here in Mexico. When the nucleus was in Europe it was a lot harder to do all this integration work.

Your first game in the final six-team group takes you to the USA. Will that be your most difficult match?
Every game is difficult and it's going to be a very tough group. It's a key match, for sure, but it's not a final and there are other vital games ahead. We've got nine other matches and every one of them is crucial to our hopes. If things don't work out for us in one match, then there's no need to worry, as long as we pick up as many points as possible in the other fixtures.

Will the cold weather in Columbus make life harder for Mexico?
I don't think so. We've already faced them there and the players who are coming back from Europe are used to it. The conditions will be the same for both of us and I honestly don't think it's going to have any impact on the game.

Mexico have had some poor results lately. Would you say you are struggling?
There's always criticism and pressure, and those are things we've had to put up with in every qualification campaign I've been involved in and with every coach I've played under. As players we need to be very sure about what we are doing. As I said before, we can't just think about USA. We need to focus on all the qualifiers ahead of us.

The expectations are still the same, then?
We have no option but to qualify for the World Cup. For me it's even more important this time as it will be my last one. I'm sure the project will be a success and with the players we've got I think we can go beyond the second round. No matter what your objective is, there will always be obstacles and defeats. What you have to do is pick yourself up and reach your objective, and although the team's going through a tough patch we can put all that behind us with some good results.

Having played in Europe do you still feel it's an essential step for other Mexican footballers to take?
Yes, I still feel that way and that's why I also think it's good for the national team to have people in Europe, including those of us who've been and come back. The level of competition and the mentality are different there. Once you get used to it, you start to feel the difference and I'm convinced that having so many players there has brought about a change in the national team.

You played in the Bundesliga and the UEFA Champions League. How does the Mexican championship compare?
It's different. Our league isn't easy because sometimes you have to play at midday at 2,400 metres above sea level, and the following week you're at sea level playing in 40-degree heat. Mexican football is very competitive and although you might see better matches in Europe, you have to remember that they play in the afternoon or evening there and that's when players perform at their best. People in Mexico sometimes ask why the pace of the game is so slow but it's got a lot to do with the conditions. I still think it's a very entertaining league.

You are 32 now. How long do you intend to keep playing at the highest level?
Three more years, maybe four. It all depends on how I feel physically and mentally at the end of each season. If I'm in good shape, I'll carry on. You can be sure of that.
Title: Mexicans turn to voodoo ahead of crucial U.S. match
Post by: Jahyouth on February 10, 2009, 02:08:48 PM
Mexicans turn to voodoo ahead of crucial U.S. match

By Mike Steere
For CNN

LONDON, England (CNN) -- Mexico football fans are adopting voodoo tactics ahead of Wednesday's crucial World Cup Qualifier with regional rivals the United States.

Funny or freaky? Voodoo dolls of U.S. players have been issued in Mexico ahead of a crucial football game.

Both sides will be looking to make a strong start to the final phase of qualifying for South Africa 2010, when they meet in the match at Columbus, Ohio. Mexico haven't won in the U.S. for ten years.

In the hope of boosting their team's chances, Mexican sport magazine 'Record' has issued coupons for U.S. team voodoo dolls -- which could be attained with five different stamps from the publication.

The move has also been supported by U.S. chain Blockbuster, which began trading the coupons for dolls in its Mexican stores last week.

Complete with pins, the dolls represent U.S. players, however, users are instructed to wish for Mexican goals, rather than hoping for harm upon the U.S. players.

The practise of using voodoo dolls stems from the belief they represent the spirit of a person. It's believed that by taking actions upon the doll, the represented person will be affected.

Fans will have to wait until the full-time whistle on Wednesday to see if the dolls have made an impact.

Read about other football superstitions, including David Beckham's "Golden buns" at Football Fanzone.
Title: Re: Mexicans turn to voodoo ahead of crucial U.S. match
Post by: Quags on February 10, 2009, 02:10:41 PM

this old ,but still wrong ..next thing men die or geh sick in troot.
Title: Re: Mexicans turn to voodoo ahead of crucial U.S. match
Post by: Observer on February 10, 2009, 02:50:03 PM
I suspect that if Sven loss this match he will be out of a job. He under real pressure at the moment.
Title: Mexico vs USA
Post by: reggae-fan on February 11, 2009, 06:04:44 PM
Temp 5 mins to kick-off: a comfortable 54 degrees. Strong headwind.
Title: Re: Mexico vs USA
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on February 11, 2009, 06:06:19 PM
any1 have a link

i not seeing the game on any channel
Post by: elan on February 11, 2009, 06:09:46 PM
ESPN 2 bringing the game in the States. Check Univison also.
Post by: FF on February 11, 2009, 06:09:50 PM
any1 have a link

it on univision
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on February 11, 2009, 06:14:39 PM
any1 have a link

it on univision

I have flow and both espn's have different stuff
Post by: DeSoWa on February 11, 2009, 06:15:38 PM
at least ah taping DVR-ing dis game  ;D ah hoping for ah 0 - 0 final  :devil:

Post by: Deeks on February 11, 2009, 06:15:51 PM
Try justin.tv for link up.

http://www.justin.tv/sportswii1
Post by: DeSoWa on February 11, 2009, 06:16:28 PM
any1 have a link

it on univision

I have flow and both espn's have different stuff

yuh have espn2? it showing dey.

Post by: elan on February 11, 2009, 06:18:53 PM
Howard just save the USA, should have been 1-0 Mexico.
Post by: Pointman on February 11, 2009, 06:19:00 PM
Should be a good game...

There are African people in Mexico(mainly on the coastal areas in the South and also in Vera Cruz) and Melvin Brown who is black-Mexican has already played for Mexico.
Post by: mukumsplau on February 11, 2009, 06:21:17 PM
sven doh look good in green at all
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on February 11, 2009, 06:21:44 PM
any1 have a english comm justintv link?
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 11, 2009, 06:24:06 PM
http://mundocramex.com/home.html
Post by: Bianconeri on February 11, 2009, 06:25:09 PM
this game is always have real vibes in it
Post by: Jumbie on February 11, 2009, 06:26:33 PM
it's only a matter of time before dos santos scores..

this game have real vibe!
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on February 11, 2009, 06:30:04 PM
http://mundocramex.com/home.html

thanks
Post by: elan on February 11, 2009, 06:30:19 PM
USA average age = 25
12 of 18 players play overseas.
Post by: Bakes on February 11, 2009, 06:33:22 PM

Just tuning in mihself... real loving the atmosphere there in Columbus.  Field looks great... crowd is lively... and spirits up on the field.  Great footballing atmosphere.
Post by: E-man on February 11, 2009, 06:34:10 PM

Just tuning in mihself... real loving the atmosphere there in Columbus.  Field looks great... crowd is lively... and spirits up on the field.  Great footballing atmosphere.

cept that one corner looks like a swamp.
Post by: elan on February 11, 2009, 06:36:52 PM
Apparently Favre retire again.  ::)
Post by: elan on February 11, 2009, 06:42:02 PM
Seeing that so many USA supporters wearing red in the stands, will we wear red or white on April 1st?
Post by: elan on February 11, 2009, 06:45:45 PM
Dempsey should have finished that one, time and space.
Post by: Quags on February 11, 2009, 06:50:28 PM
all that jumbie thing fall back on them   :devil:
Post by: elan on February 11, 2009, 06:50:58 PM
Dos Santos is the real deal, the kid good.
Post by: acb on February 11, 2009, 06:53:41 PM
ah wonder if that chile will come out camouflage or dougla.

that breed was stink.
Post by: Bakes on February 11, 2009, 06:57:35 PM
Goal Bradley in the 43'
Post by: Observer on February 11, 2009, 06:59:45 PM
USA have more depth than people give them credit. Donovan heads back across goal and Bradley heads it home.
Post by: Bakes on February 11, 2009, 07:01:01 PM
USA have more depth than people give them credit. Donovan heads back across goal and Bradley heads it home.
... after ping-ponging off Onyewu.  Beasley giving Mexico fits on the left side.
Post by: acb on February 11, 2009, 07:37:43 PM
Rafa Marquez LOSE he mind.
He gone Jet Li on Howard.

red card.
Post by: elan on February 11, 2009, 07:38:27 PM
That should have been a PK to Mexico, the player on the back post was pulled down blatantly. No call red card to the Mexican.
Post by: Observer on February 11, 2009, 07:39:08 PM
Rafa Marquez LOSE he mind.
He gone Jet Li on Howard.

red card.

He deserve to get he ass sent off, but  Mexico should of had a penalty, just before that
Post by: giggsy11 on February 11, 2009, 07:49:26 PM
What has Sven done or keep doing tuh be gettin jobs? What is his strength as a manager, anybody know?
Post by: freakazoid on February 11, 2009, 07:54:04 PM
from the time i see erickson get the mexican job i say yes we can stick ah next 1 nil on them cause he aint no big coach
Post by: Observer on February 11, 2009, 07:55:13 PM
What has Sven done or keep doing tuh be gettin jobs? What is his strength as a manager, anybody know?

He had some success at Club level in the League and UEFA Cup
Post by: samo on February 11, 2009, 07:56:02 PM
I agree, but most likely he getting axe and going Portsmouth...
Post by: elan on February 11, 2009, 08:03:46 PM
USA 2 - Mexico 0 Bradley in added on time.
Post by: giggsy11 on February 11, 2009, 08:04:54 PM
Mexico play like dey quit!  This is a first- I like this Bradley kid, maybe is the new haircut.
Post by: giggsy11 on February 11, 2009, 08:06:01 PM
I think it is IT from Jose's show that has been coachin Mexico.
Post by: elan on February 11, 2009, 08:06:20 PM
USA 2 Mexico 0
Bradley 43'
Bradley 92'
Post by: weary1969 on February 11, 2009, 08:21:29 PM
2-0 so Stern u c y yuh miss cause goal difference 4 sure so u betta score in d open play.
Post by: big dawg on February 11, 2009, 09:26:39 PM
Dem yankee come out punching as expected...yikes...

No body cyar say this fella on the team just because he daddy is coach..

Bradley 43'
Bradley 92'
Post by: kounty on February 11, 2009, 09:35:02 PM
I ent like sven for mex at all...smilin after this game?  I only see 1 player even had it in him to shake hands. 
Post by: MEP on February 12, 2009, 12:43:49 AM

Boy if yuh see mexicans in Columbus...de funniest line I heard last night was when tree ah dem start to shout yankee go home....
The atmosphere was real nice...but the local organizing committee made a mess parking wise ah doubt USsoccer would ever use there again as there was a lack of professionalism all around......the place look like such ah easy storm.....
Post by: fari on February 12, 2009, 06:22:15 AM
USA still ent reach that other level yet...even with 10 men mexico was still looking lively (although the us defence handle they stories well)   mexico could well have had an equaliser before bradley break they heart (sanchez should have stopped that shot, like he was thinking about he post match tequila or sumting :D
Post by: Observer on February 12, 2009, 06:54:08 AM
Mexico cannot expect to dominate CONCACAF using young players like DeSantos & Vela. Good players yes (for the future) but not playing consistently and both are still teenagers.
Vela and Guidado (arguably their best player) did not play last night and Mexico really never frightened the US. For that matter most teams in the Hex won't be intimidated playing Mexico away from Azteca. This is Mexico 7th game without a win they will win points at home, but surely this is the best WC qualification to come up against them.
Post by: slates on February 12, 2009, 09:16:18 AM
Is Sven have dem Mexicans lookin shitty so. With ah big-ass tree like Onyewu back dey, and Bocanegra who duz attack dam near anything in de air, I cyah believe all dem long ball to d forwards Sven have dem playin.

De last time these 2 played in Houston, I was dey and was impressed with how Mexico carve up d US defence wit some short, crisp, quick passes on the ground. I cyah believe all dem hail mary passes to d forwards. Sven 4k up dat mexican side. De US make dem look real shitty.

As long as Mex continue to play like dat, dey will still go to d WC, but dey not dominating CONCACAF no more. Dey have to go back to their original style, quick, crisp, accurate passes, and running at people, not dat hail mary bulllshit Sven have dem playin.
Post by: kicker on February 12, 2009, 10:19:05 AM

He's had domestic club success in Portgual, Sweden and most notably in Italy when he won the Serie A in 2000 with Lazio.

His highest moments came at Benfica (multiple times winners of the Portuguese league) and Lazio (Serie A 2000).

Post by: Zeppo on February 12, 2009, 01:13:32 PM
Mexico's misery in Columbus continues

When history repeats itself, it's usually because the participants have forgotten the past. But when it comes to World Cup qualifiers between the United States Mexico, the script is well-known to the participants, at least when the game is on American soil: The U.S. walks off the field with a 2-0 victory, while Mexico leaves muttering to themselves. And on Wednesday, just like in 2001 and 2005, the U.S. earned a richly satisfying 2-0 win, courtesy of Michael Bradley's two goals.

Of course, there were some other similarities to past encounters. Once again, the U.S. conjured up a solid team performance that was greater than the sum of the individual parts. Mexico, yet again, contrived to squander some gilt-edged chances that they would score on if the sequence were repeated 99 more times.

(continue) (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=618359&sec=us&root=us&cc=5739)
Post by: Zeppo on February 12, 2009, 01:44:50 PM
(http://images.ussoccer.com/Images/Gallery/822_330879_600_md_USMNTBV0211091045.jpg)

(http://images.ussoccer.com/Images/Gallery/822_330880_600_md_USMNTBV0211091046.jpg)
Post by: acb on February 12, 2009, 02:05:09 PM
watch dem Mexicans .... looking like a bunch of f**kin hobbits.

Everybody dey is 4'13"
Title: The most underrated coach in the world!
Post by: just cool on February 12, 2009, 06:03:44 PM
Bob Bradley is ah genius!! one of the most underrated coaches in the world.

boy what i wouldn't do to have him as our national team coach!

he commands respect from his players, he's poised, cool and collective yet firm, make sensible decisions and his players are technically sound .

the way i see it , the U.S. will run over every body in concacaf like ah steam roller, judging from their performance last night which was poor , but still effective enough! they held the lead, poured on the pressure and kept the intensity until bringing mexico to their knees.

i've never seen mexico so frustrated as i've seen them last night, and the U.S. didn't even played to the best of their ability. sometimes i wish i had the nerve to say fack T&T and fully support the U.S., it would've been easier on the nerves and a sensible bloody decision.
Title: Re: The most underrated coach in the world!
Post by: D.H.W on February 12, 2009, 06:19:56 PM
and d most over rated coach is Maturana
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 12, 2009, 06:28:19 PM
either which way,tnt screwed
Post by: D.H.W on February 12, 2009, 06:49:56 PM
either which way,tnt screwed

ill drink to that sah  :beermug:
Post by: Big Magician on February 12, 2009, 06:53:24 PM
ah feel this thread will last a while.... bradley will be found out soon
Post by: sub1 on February 12, 2009, 07:17:35 PM

Alot sooner than the jokers who sing his praises think.
Post by: acb on February 12, 2009, 09:41:44 PM
We catching USA at a good time. Last night I tried to watch both our game and their game as best I could, and that's why I said earlier that the US has nothing special. They might be the best in Concacaf, but the level at which we played for the first 75 mins compared with the entire US performance - we could take them for 3 points in Nashville.

Well the funny thing is that the US plays end to end football - disciplined and never has fitness concerns - and they maintain it for all 90 mins. The times they caught Mexico were at the end of the halves, and if the Mexicans weren't so mentally unstable, they could/ should have come away with at least a point from that game. Even Rafa Marquez admitted today that he lost control because he claims he was provoked. Landon Donovan is fluent in Spanish and is known to rile up the Mexicans and constantly provoke them.

Yorke, Birchall & Co. will come back with an agenda and a point to prove after they miss the Honduras game. They didn't figure in the first leg in the last round and will come out guns blazing. It is also evident to everyone that the lack of fitness was our biggest problem. It was what led to the concentration lapses and the irresponsible, lazy tackles that led to the goals. It was the reason our midfielders and forwards could not hold up the play and kill off the time.

Also, we have a score to settle with Clint Dempsey for his disrespect in the game in the US. Blade and breakfoot in order for that punk - that is, if Scotty doh take him out first this weekend.

Bradley is a decent coach, but he doesn't face scrutiny like Mats faces in TT. He has the squad because he's been inside the system for a longtime, and he is very familiar with the MLS rosters, and gets alot of co-operation from the MLS teams, unlike our PFL coaches who are usually the first to throw Mats under the bus, and toss their cap in the ring to court Jack Warner.

Even though I hate to revert to 1989, the 1 point that we got in the US was key to us making it as far as we got. This time, we need to make up for the ground we lost to ES last night, and there is no reason why we can't go to Nashville to collect rent!!

Go Warriors!
Post by: truetrini on February 12, 2009, 09:55:26 PM
We catching USA at a good time. Last night I tried to watch both our game and their game as best I could, and that's why I said earlier that the US has nothing special. They might be the best in Concacaf, but the level at which we played for the first 75 mins compared with the entire US performance - we could take them for 3 points in Nashville.

Well the funny thing is that the US plays end to end football - disciplined and never has fitness concerns - and they maintain it for all 90 mins. The times they caught Mexico were at the end of the halves, and if the Mexicans weren't so mentally unstable, they could/ should have come away with at least a point from that game. Even Rafa Marquez admitted today that he lost control because he claims he was provoked. Landon Donovan is fluent in Spanish and is known to rile up the Mexicans and constantly provoke them.

Yorke, Birchall & Co. will come back with an agenda and a point to prove after they miss the Honduras game. They didn't figure in the first leg in the last round and will come out guns blazing. It is also evident to everyone that the lack of fitness was our biggest problem. It was what led to the concentration lapses and the irresponsible, lazy tackles that led to the goals. It was the reason our midfielders and forwards could not hold up the play and kill off the time.

Also, we have a score to settle with Clint Dempsey for his disrespect in the game in the US. Blade and breakfoot in order for that punk - that is, if Scotty doh take him out first this weekend.

Bradley is a decent coach, but he doesn't face scrutiny like Mats faces in TT. He has the squad because he's been inside the system for a longtime, and he is very familiar with the MLS rosters, and gets alot of co-operation from the MLS teams, unlike our PFL coaches who are usually the first to throw Mats under the bus, and toss their cap in the ring to court Jack Warner.

Even though I hate to revert to 1989, the 1 point that we got in the US was key to us making it as far as we got. This time, we need to make up for the ground we lost to ES last night, and there is no reason why we can't go to Nashville to collect rent!!

Go Warriors!

BULLSHIT!

The US is much more disclipined, much fittter, more sound tactically, more physical than us, Have more heart and if that was dem playing El Salvador last night the score was 6-0 at least!  The US players all know their roles and they play with a chip on their shoulders...dey feel everybody dislike dem so they eh have nutten to lose letting it all hang out.

T&T???   dat is another story,, typical west indian football, score twice and den let it all fall apart.

If we are to progress we need the type of belief and grit that Beenie isntilled into the team payche...odderwise...is we fighting for last place with El Salvador.

Not saying we cannot improve, jes saying we need to improe in all positions and real quickly too!
Post by: acb on February 12, 2009, 09:58:26 PM
BULLSHIT!

The US is much more disclipined, much fittter, more sound tactically, more physical than us, Have more heart and if that was dem playing El Salvador last night the score was 6-0 at least!  The US players all know their roles and they play with a chip on their shoulders...dey feel everybody dislike dem so they eh have nutten to lose letting it all hang out.

T&T???   dat is another story,, typical west indian football, score twice and den let it all fall apart.

If we are to progress we need the type of belief and grit that Beenie isntilled into the team payche...odderwise...is we fighting for last place with El Salvador.

Not saying we cannot improve, jes saying we need to improe in all positions and real quickly too!

I could agree with some of that, but I sure that was not the sentiment for the first 75 mins of the game when we were up comfortably.
Post by: Preacher on February 12, 2009, 10:08:02 PM
Bradley ain't no genius.  For the amount of money and time USA put into their soccer how come they not ruling the game yet?  Is decades now USA pouring millions into development and they still ain't win the big dance yet.  Why?  Because football is 90% players and 10% coaching.  Unlike all the other US sports where the coach all up in the business.  The US is leading Concacaf because of money, not talent.  Their money has bought them a concentrated brand that is very technical yes but equally boring and unimaginative.  Every time US plays against a well coached team with skillful players they get into trouble.  As soon as their formation gets broken they look like they don't have a clue.  E.g. Carlos chip to Latas.  If Carlos was a US player no way a T&T defender letting that chip happen.  But it work for us because they seldom have answers when their formation gets broken down.  They could beat up on this region on account of privilege, Bradley ain't no genius he just could afford to win.
Post by: truetrini on February 12, 2009, 10:21:30 PM
BULLSHIT!

I could agree with some of that, but I sure that was not the sentiment for the first 75 mins of the game when we were up comfortably.

we were playing El salvador and I think even our detractors expected us to win that game...we did not.

We were lulled by our own overconfidence, into a deep sleep and we got a rude awakening.

The US would not have let that happen.

Preacher yuh talking ta-ta!

Becasue the US is better organized than us is our own fault.  bradley could afford to win because his players do little things very well and are a true team.  They play compact and support each other.  The US players are also more professional in their approacha nd attitude.

Don't hate, appreciate and learn.  The Mexicans have invested more time and money and they get theirs asses corked by the US for years now!

we not in their class by any means, yeah on any given day when the planets align precisely for us we can steal a win, truth is on more days than not they can send a B team and get the points against us!

Larger pool. better organization, better strategy, better development.....better team!
Post by: JDB on February 12, 2009, 10:28:07 PM

Comfortably?

You watch the game?
Post by: Preacher on February 12, 2009, 10:30:43 PM

Larger pool. better organization, better strategy, better development.....better team!

You make my point for me, with the exception of BETTER TEAM.  Bradley ain't no genius.
They have the money to do what they do.  No hate in that.  Point is they over rated and Bradley ain't no genius.  I could see that and the rest of the football world could see.  Where did u learn what u know?   8)
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 12, 2009, 10:45:50 PM

Go Warriors!

leo could have spoken english he had personality  maturana cannot speak engliSh well  i dont know wha grit he could instill funny how people mock the usa soccer and say it is nothing special but  yet they own us in WCQ...
Post by: elan on February 13, 2009, 01:50:09 AM

I don't think so, he will be there for a bit. Once they could find someone to replace #5 or get him to improve they will be okay. Their speed of play and tactical ability is greatly improving. Their midfield combination is great and they looking sharp.
Post by: just cool on February 13, 2009, 02:55:20 AM
Bradley ain't no genius.  For the amount of money and time USA put into their soccer how come they not ruling the game yet?  Is decades now USA pouring millions into development and they still ain't win the big dance yet.  Why?  Because football is 90% players and 10% coaching.  Unlike all the other US sports where the coach all up in the business.  The US is leading Concacaf because of money, not talent.  Their money has bought them a concentrated brand that is very technical yes but equally boring and unimaginative.  Every time US plays against a well coached team with skillful players they get into trouble.  As soon as their formation gets broken they look like they don't have a clue.  E.g. Carlos chip to Latas.  If Carlos was a US player no way a T&T defender letting that chip happen.  But it work for us because they seldom have answers when their formation gets broken down.  They could beat up on this region on account of privilege, Bradley ain't no genius he just could afford to win.
Sour grapes my friend! but the truth is and the truth remains, they are better than us by ah country mile.

say what you will about money invested into the game and infrastruture, americans are serious minded ppl and they hate to lose, something trinbagonians need to learn and perfect! they are also extremely dedicated when it comes to representing their country.

i was scared to watch the game after the first half BC i was afraid we were going to blow the lead we established, just like other times, for example guatemala @ the HCS, and so said so done!

sometimes i feel i would be better off supporting the USA team instead of this heart wrenching scum sucking federation!

lord help us hardcore fans of the socawarriors!
Post by: just cool on February 13, 2009, 03:00:25 AM

Go Warriors!

BULLSHIT!

Well said TT ! them men ain't honest with themselves, they just hating on ah well rounded,well oganized technically sound team.

they are all fruads and lying through their deceitful teeths!!
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 13, 2009, 01:37:36 PM
Mexico lick their wounds                                                                                                                       Losing to your arch-rivals is never a pleasant experience. Just ask Mexico, who once again returned home empty-handed after a trip north to face neighbours USA. Wednesday's 2-0 defeat represents a major blow to everyone concerned with El Tricolor, and had the players, coaching staff and journalists shaking their heads in disappointment.

Widespread dejection
"Same Old Story" ran the headline in the Thursday edition of El Universal in reference to Mexico's third consecutive reverse in Columbus. The sombre tone continued in the report beneath: "El Tri slump against the United States and the outlook is bleak," with the report concluding, "The team came up short yet again as USA continue their dominance by making a winning start to their World Cup qualification bid."

The website MedioTiempo.com was in equally despondent mood as it digested the news. "Defeat, Rafa off and the same lack of response," it headlined, underlining the importance of captain Rafael Marquez's dismissal. "Mexico fans were full of hope before the game," continued the article, "but it all went wrong on a bad night for the men in green."

Mexican daily Milenio was scathing in its assessment: "Seven minutes of grit, fight and even a little bit of football. But that was it. Seven minutes of wonder and 83 of horror from a team completely overrun by their opponents, who continue to get better with every passing day." For its part, the newspaper Esto had this to say about the setback in the States: "El Tri trip up again."

Shouldering the blame
Despite the result and the general mood of gloom, Mexico coach Sven Goran Eriksson was in optimistic mood afterwards. "It was the best away game we've played since I took over," maintained the Swede. "I think we played just as strongly as United States. Unfortunately, whenever we had chances to score - and we had just as many, if not more than them - we couldn't put them away."

Meanwhile, Marquez made a public apology for his sending off. "I've already said sorry to my team-mates, the coaching staff and the FA officials, and now I want to apologise to all the fans, to my country and the press for my performance today," commented the crestfallen captain. "I was driven to do it by my temperament, my will to win and my feeling of powerlessness."

Team-mate Oswaldo Sanchez was equally forthright in expressing his feelings afterwards. "We're genuinely sorry for all the people of Mexico," he said. "I can honestly tell you that this defeat hurts us more than anyone. I wish we knew the reasons why we keep on losing in America. We felt good today, but bad luck conspired against us at the end of each half."

While expressing his regret at the result, Justino Compean, the President of the Mexican FA, said he was convinced the national side was on the right track and would still take its place at South Africa 2010. "We said we'd get to South Africa and we'll make it. And, naturally, Eriksson has our complete backing."
Post by: verycute1 on February 15, 2009, 02:12:37 PM
The concacaf website with the schedules have the USA home games and the stadiums they playing at. USA v Costa Rica is the last home game for US and it on 10/14/09 and it in DC. 
USA v Honduras is in Chicago on 6/6/09 same day T&T v Costa Rica in T&T. And you know unless we looking on the web, you not seeing that game on any of the US cable stations unless the situation is a big tie all round. 
Just mentioning it cause it might be fun to go root for the other teams unless of course if they win it could jepordise our road to SA.  ;D

http://www.concacaf.com/competitions/worldcupQF/index.aspx?id=233
Post by: Zeppo on February 16, 2009, 08:26:01 AM
Even Rafa Marquez admitted today that he lost control because he claims he was provoked. 

You got a link for that?