Sports => Football => Topic started by: Jefferz on January 27, 2009, 06:53:42 PM

Title: Striker Selection
Post by: Jefferz on January 27, 2009, 06:53:42 PM
I suppose the fact that Kenwyne and Scotland are scoring at the moment are major boosts for them, and yet Cornell Glen seems as hungry as ever and Kevaughn Connell in particular seems to have alot of potential.

pick which two you think are best to put us through the hex as starters.

it was tempting to put Hardest in as ah choice.
Title: Re: Striker Selection
Post by: Deeks on January 27, 2009, 06:55:24 PM
KJ and Scotty. The two of them hot right now.
Post by: just cool on January 27, 2009, 07:02:27 PM
KJ and Scotty. The two of them hot right now.
stueeeppppsssss.
Post by: dreamer on January 27, 2009, 07:06:27 PM
Daiz some seeeeerious fyahpower dey. Now to shore up de defense
Post by: acb on January 27, 2009, 07:07:47 PM
how about you make this a little more interesting and let us choose from one striker ... since it seems that we'll most likely be starting the game with the solitary striker up front.
Post by: Fyzoman on January 27, 2009, 09:08:59 PM
well look baccahnal.....wid dat setta options, ah find it eh looking so hot for certain older slower strikers.
KJ and Cornell then Scotty.
Post by: College on January 27, 2009, 09:31:13 PM
how about you make this a little more interesting and let us choose from one striker ... since it seems that we'll most likely be starting the game with the solitary striker up front.

That seems to be the structure we have more success with lately. KJ starting with Latas....  a fit Glen coming on for Latas will always provide some variety and pace up front. It will be interesting to see if Mats play KJ and Scotty together.  All things said, its a nice proble for the coaching staff to have.

Traditionally we have far less problems with attacking choices, we seem to struggle in the midfield and defense with finding the right mix.
Post by: elan on January 27, 2009, 09:33:21 PM
How about KJ and Latapy?
Post by: ZANDOLIE on January 27, 2009, 10:26:01 PM
Stern and Kenwyne still starting, after that Glen. Scotty could prob rip the EPL if he get a chance but he has yet to translate club success to international prowess.

Randy Patterson also have to get a call soon

The midfield will be OK...Carlos, Daniel, Latas, Birchall, York, Whitley

But the defence needs settling. What ever happened to Abu Bakhr?

Post by: WestCoast on January 27, 2009, 10:33:01 PM
Scotty could prob rip the EPL if he get a chance but he has yet to translate club success to international prowess.
that is the biggest conundrum about Jason for me
Post by: NUFF on January 27, 2009, 10:34:20 PM
Whitley not even on de team right now.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 27, 2009, 10:35:43 PM
glen have to start.we need speed.
Post by: NUFF on January 27, 2009, 11:02:09 PM
I vote fuh Jones and Glen as my two choices.
Post by: just cool on January 27, 2009, 11:59:29 PM
Jones and roberts, jones and stern. glenn and scotty is fill in players.
Post by: madness on January 28, 2009, 06:26:05 AM
we need to c more videos of de local team not dis 5 2 8 mins video
Post by: sjahrain on January 28, 2009, 07:13:57 AM
I say give it a rest,Stern is done at this point,to many other youthful options,plus he cannot even make the starting 11 of his club team,only injury to some of the other fowards will allow him some playing time as a Warrior......adding another set of aging legs to this team is not good medicine

Rastafari
Post by: andre samuel on January 28, 2009, 07:35:32 AM
Scotty could prob rip the EPL if he get a chance but he has yet to translate club success to international prowess.

I have a question for allyuh.........HOW MUCH GOALS YORKE WAS SCORING FOR US WHEN HE WAS RIPPING UP THE EPL?

Why wasnt the arguement the same?
Post by: Jefferz on January 28, 2009, 08:01:23 AM
I say give it a rest,Stern is done at this point,to many other youthful options,plus he cannot even make the starting 11 of his club team,only injury to some of the other fowards will allow him some playing time as a Warrior......adding another set of aging legs to this team is not good medicine

Rastafari

can't agree with yuh there boss, while Stern isnt in his best form by any stretch of the imagination i still think we can't be so quick to forget his contribution to our team and he still seems fit, at the very least he deserve to train with the team and get ah bench position.

a man who has the ability to strike with both feet from near or far, in the matter of a quick turn or a trap and snap shot situation... i dont think we can really fairly leave him out.

Perhaps not start, but he's still Stern John. Say what you want but even in his terrible form, im still lured to keep faith in him. His ball control can be superb, his ability to holdup a ball on the edge of the box is also valuable.

I personally wanna see more of Connell and Scotland has proven himself a definite threat.

And hey, havin quite a few strikers in the squad will create a nice little competitive atmosphere, it'll help push the player to do their best at their clubs, in training and on the pitch for the red, white and black.
Post by: UnWiseSage (aka Jahyute) on January 28, 2009, 08:22:13 AM

Rastafari

can't agree with yuh there boss, while Stern isnt in his best form by any stretch of the imagination i still think we can't be so quick to forget his contribution to our team and he still seems fit, at the very least he deserve to train with the team and get ah bench position.

a man who has the ability to strike with both feet from near or far, in the matter of a quick turn or a trap and snap shot situation... i dont think we can really fairly leave him out.

Perhaps not start, but he's still Stern John. Say what you want but even in his terrible form, im still lured to keep faith in him. His ball control can be superb, his ability to holdup a ball on the edge of the box is also valuable.

I personally wanna see more of Connell and Scotland has proven himself a definite threat.

And hey, havin quite a few strikers in the squad will create a nice little competitive atmosphere, it'll help push the player to do their best at their clubs, in training and on the pitch for the red, white and black.

ah like da yute Connell mehself, buh Stern ha meh rel disenchanted right now dred.

keep him in de squad doh... buh wit Mati yuh never know, he might start texin otherwise.
Post by: Controversial on January 28, 2009, 08:43:28 AM
people are 4getting roberts, hes one striker who will compliment jones upfront and can run, scottie too damn slow, thats if they ever play 442
Post by: Weh-it-is on January 28, 2009, 08:52:20 AM
The top four will be KJ, Scotty, Cornell, Daryl.    KJ is a no brainer. They will have to choose the other striker based on team formation. I will choose Scotty to go along side KJ because he’s on fire at the moment. The rest could come off the bench.
Post by: lefty on January 28, 2009, 09:14:59 AM
people are 4getting roberts, hes one striker who will compliment jones upfront and can run, scottie too damn slow, thats if they ever play 442

so many coaches have seen the need to play 451 for a very good reason, defensively we porous, 451 does barely achieve what is requirred, 442 wont make much of a difference until the above stated changes, 451 is what used in 06, have u seen enough improvements in the teams performance that suggest we should adopt a different approach, 4411 maybe, but 442 only if there is a tangible tactical advantage to be gained, just my opinion
Post by: Big Magician on January 28, 2009, 09:17:52 AM
so none ah dem could put de old man on de bench ??...haha.... class is class
latas have 5 real good strikers fighting for one spot..mama
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on January 28, 2009, 09:25:57 AM
good topic...
we definitely have some power and selection up front.
If these men are not scoring and creating scoring opportunities, I hope to see others get playing time and not wait for the 84th min to switch things up.
Strikers here have to fight for thier spot, so fight with goals and put some serious fyah in de back of all of our opponents' nets.
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 28, 2009, 09:34:12 AM
Scotty had two very good games against Guatemala and USA with his back to goal. He held up the ball well, linked the midfield well and had a few chances himself. Everything expected of a lone forward. Some men just have one track minds and limited expectations of what a forward should be. He didn't run at nobody or drop no beats, so they don't appreciate his contribution.
Post by: Baygo Boy on January 28, 2009, 09:47:28 AM
Assuming that we going to change formation, then doh look no further than KJ and Glen.
Post by: Daft Trini on January 28, 2009, 09:47:56 AM

Stop drinkin yuh flecking hateorade.... I talk to Scotty recently and he say he ready to blaze the concacaf, just like he blazing the Championship  :beermug:

Give Roberts two more guava season  :o
Post by: acb on January 28, 2009, 10:08:11 AM
Latas, Glenn and Jaggy score today.

Glenn keeping pace with Scotty and KJ, and scoring goals in front the coach.

So Glenn still getting shaft?
Post by: Trinidogg on January 28, 2009, 10:16:58 AM
I think it should be a crime not to start Scotty and Jones if they both keep on rippin up the two top leagues in England so they both get my vote.
Post by: Baygo Boy on January 28, 2009, 10:26:35 AM
I think it should be a crime not to start Scotty and Jones if they both keep on rippin up the two top leagues in England so they both get my vote.

De fact that a man "rippin up" in England doesn't means he goh do de same with the national team - we need strikers who work well together etc - it's about chemistry and tactics.
Post by: Trinidogg on January 28, 2009, 10:40:19 AM

De fact that a man "rippin up" in England doesn't means he goh do de same with the national team - we need strikers who work well together etc - it's about chemistry and tactics.

I respect that but at the same time u can't just say look even though you guys are the best strikers currently we not gonna start one of you because we just don't think you guys work well together... I think u need to give them a chance and see if they can gel together i think they can scotty have two good foot and jones have pace and he is great in the air. And this is the first time they both been in such good goal scoring form and able to play for our national team.
Post by: WestCoast on January 28, 2009, 11:20:14 AM
Scotty had two very good games against Guatemala and USA with his back to goal. He held up the ball well, linked the midfield well and had a few chances himself. Everything expected of a lone forward. Some men just have one track minds and limited expectations of what a forward should be. He didn't run at nobody or drop no beats, so they don't appreciate his contribution.
Yeah I have to temper my conundrumness and realise that scoring goals is not THE only thing that a player can do.
 Every game/opponent is different and strategies change to accommodate...so thanks again for your observation.....clarification: it was not a negative view that I had
Post by: DeSoWa on January 28, 2009, 11:39:06 AM
Base on the system we play, I see KJ and CG starting, IF we go with 2 strikers...Scotty is a must on the team, coming on for Glenn in the 2nd half  :beermug:

Post by: elan on January 28, 2009, 12:11:10 PM
Should we not build from the back to front? Seeing that we have little options in defense, that may be a given, but we have some options in the middle that we overlooking which will/should select the forwards that will play/start.

We have many forwards on fire but few of them are truly versatile. Stern basically has one type of game so too KJ and  even Scotty to a certain extent. The guys that can play all aspect of a forwad most effectively is Glenn. He can be strong and win the post up ball, the cross, or make the darts across, behind or true the defense.

And again a 4-5-1 is not necessarily a more defensive formation than the 4-4-2, as the 4-4-2 is basically the most complete formation there is. It's all in how  you use the formation, and we have not utilized the 4-5-1 effectively since Beenhaker.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on January 28, 2009, 01:41:05 PM

So men have a one track mind because they would not start Scotland in the hex? Steups.

Is not like its the first time Scotty been selected on the basis of scoring goals in a foreign league. He and Sealy have both been very successful in club play, but check the stats...show me where Scotty goal rate for Trini has ever matched his club rate. And a strikers role is not just to hold up the ball, its to score.

Obviusly Scotand is a good player, but players like Cornell Glen and Stern have had more success in international games than Scotland. To criticize people for taking that into consideraton and to say men doh support him because he doh drop beats enough is simplistic at best.

And is all fantasy eh, neither you or me matters one ass over whether Scotty get pick or not.
Post by: Daft Trini on January 28, 2009, 01:43:33 PM

So men have a one track mind because they would not start Scotland in the hex? Steups.

Is not like its the first time Scotty been selected on the basis of scoring goals in a foreign league. He and Sealy have both been very successful in club play, but check the stats...show me where Scotty goal rate for Trini has ever matched his club rate. And a strikers role is not just to hold up the ball, its to score.

Obviusly Scotand is a good player, but players like Cornell Glen and Stern have had more success in international games than Scotland. To say men doh support him because he doh drop beats enough is simplistic at best.

The question is do we have a midfield (creative) to support a player of Scottie Caliber?
Post by: dinho on January 28, 2009, 02:02:48 PM

Obviusly Scotand is a good player, but players like Cornell Glen and Stern have had more success in international games than Scotland. To criticize people for taking that into consideraton and to say men doh support him because he doh drop beats enough is simplistic at best.

And is all fantasy eh, neither you or me matters one ass over whether Scotty get pick or not.

Show me where Scotty got a consistent run in the side prior to the performances that Gillie Face mentioned for you to be talking about his goal rate at international level.

If he was getting called up but not selected for starts or getting cobo sweat, how yuh want de man to score goals?
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on January 28, 2009, 02:08:03 PM
well boy, I really am surprised that Jones get more votes that Stern

I know some ah all yuh in here have ah affinity for all things Stern

maybe the members of this site have finally turned the corner and realise he is ah pile ah goat shit
Post by: ZANDOLIE on January 28, 2009, 02:12:45 PM

The question is do we have a midfield (creative) to support a player of Scottie Caliber?

That is it. If Mats team chemisrty is such that it allows Glen to express himself and score more goals than Scotty or KJ then why chook them in to score goals?

This is why old man Stern go surprise people...if Yorkie and Latas in that midfield against El Salvador Stern go be pushing ball in El Salvador net, regardless of how much goals KJ or Scotty scoring.

Maybe Scotty is a more comfortable fit for Mats than he was for Beenie or Latas, but either way you can't just magically export players from one context to the next and expect the exact same results.

Post by: NUFF on January 28, 2009, 02:16:54 PM
Should we not build from the back to front? Seeing that we have little options in defense, that may be a given, but we have some options in the middle that we overlooking which will/should select the forwards that will play/start.

We have many forwards on fire but few of them are truly versatile. Stern basically has one type of game so too KJ and  even Scotty to a certain extent. The guys that can play all aspect of a forwad most effectively is Glenn. He can be strong and win the post up ball, the cross, or make the darts across, behind or true the defense.

And again a 4-5-1 is not necessarily a more defensive formation than the 4-4-2, as the 4-4-2 is basically the most complete formation there is. It's all in how  you use the formation, and we have not utilized the 4-5-1 effectively since Beenhaker.

Ah think you see it de same way I do.  Jones, Scotland and Stern play somewhat similar to each other when they lineup for T&T.  Which is why I would not start any two out of those three together.  My starting lineup would include Glenn and any of those three.  Seeing the success that Jones is having plus his combination of size, speed and aerial prowess he would get my nod to start alongside Glenn.

If I were the coach Latapy would not be starting.  His place would go to Darryl Roberts if I used 4-5-1.  If I wanted to play 4-4-2 I would start Glenn and Jones.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on January 28, 2009, 02:34:01 PM
Show me where Scotty got a consistent run in the side prior to the performances that Gillie Face mentioned for you to be talking about his goal rate at international level.

If he was getting called up but not selected for starts or getting cobo sweat, how yuh want de man to score goals?

Yeah he get more than his fair share of shafts. But you telling me every coach from Beenhakker to Maturana treat him poorly? And why can't he score in a cobo sweat? I'm not saying he cant do the business, but he has yet to do it, cobo sweat and team chemistry not withstanding.

Nobody saying he does not deserve success or should not be on the team, but its just a fact that different players thrive in different environments.

If Stern and Scotty doing the same thing in training then Mats will probably start Stern just based on history.
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 28, 2009, 02:34:38 PM

My post didn't mention anyone's decision to start others ahead of Scotland. If men want to see KJ and Glen, me eh business. I self want to see how KJ and Roberts look. My post was in response to the question of his performance at international level. My post was also in response to several posters who, after two very good games from Scotland, cry him down because he wasn't running all over de place dribbling and pelting bullet.

Post by: dinho on January 28, 2009, 02:40:29 PM

Yeah he get more than his fair share of shafts. But you telling me every coach from Beenhakker to Maturana treat him poorly? And why can't he score in a cobo sweat? I'm not saying he cant do the business, but he has yet to do it, cobo sweat and team chemistry not withstanding.

Nobody saying he does not deserve success or should not be on the team, but its just a fact that different players thrive in different environments.

If Stern and Scotty doing the same thing in training then Mats will probably start Stern just based on history.

but you making my point for me.

It is well documented that Scotty has not had a run in team for a number of reasons that had nothing to do with his form or ability. Understandably he has been affected by the depth of top level talent in the striker position, with Stern and Kenwyne being favored.  He's also been affected by the cobo brand which employs 1 forward up front causing increased competition for places. And lets not forget the whole blacklist saga and the lengthy omission. Even when he got called up eventually he was making trips across the Atlantic to sit on the bench.

I find it real unfair to question a man international pedigree when he's not had sufficient opportunities to prove himself. And this is a man who was bussing de net in Scottish 2nd division and they say he lighting up ah easy league. Then he buss de net in the 1st division and they say well that is Scotland and question the quality... So he gone England and buss up de net in League One and they say that level too low. Now he bussing up the net in Championship and we eh hearing dem so again..

Fair is fair man. The man in lighting form.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on January 28, 2009, 02:55:38 PM
My post didn't mention anyone's decision to start others ahead of Scotland. If men want to see KJ and Glen, me eh business. I self want to see how KJ and Roberts look. My post was in response to the question of his performance at international level. My post was also in response to several posters who, after two very good games from Scotland, cry him down because he wasn't running all over de place dribbling and pelting bullet.

[/quote]

Sorry for that misunderstanding.

If the coaches could accomodate Scotland's talents that will only make us better. I myself curious to see how he work with this midfield
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on January 28, 2009, 03:17:36 PM
Base on the system we play, I see KJ and CG starting, IF we go with 2 strikers...Scotty is a must on the team, coming on for Glenn in the 2nd half  :beermug:

I second this.
the days of T&T holding the ball and playing slow was never really in our blood.  Scotty is on fire lately but against El Salvador we need to attack, and attack fast.  We have the strike power to do so, and who better than Glenn and Jones to have El Salvador always having to run back and play catch up?  Especially on the counter I can see those 2 do some serious damage.  And bringing Scotland later in the game might not be such a bad idea...
Post by: ZANDOLIE on January 28, 2009, 03:49:08 PM

but you making my point for me.

It is well documented that Scotty has not had a run in team for a number of reasons that had nothing to do with his form or ability. Understandably he has been affected by the depth of top level talent in the striker position, with Stern and Kenwyne being favored.  He's also been affected by the cobo brand which employs 1 forward up front causing increased competition for places. And lets not forget the whole blacklist saga and the lengthy omission. Even when he got called up eventually he was making trips across the Atlantic to sit on the bench.

I find it real unfair to question a man international pedigree when he's not had sufficient opportunities to prove himself. And this is a man who was bussing de net in Scottish 2nd division and they say he lighting up ah easy league. Then he buss de net in the 1st division and they say well that is Scotland and question the quality... So he gone England and buss up de net in League One and they say that level too low. Now he bussing up the net in Championship and we eh hearing dem so again..

Fair is fair man. The man in lighting form.

Where I question his international pedigree? As for who ever say he was bussin up easy league that is them, nothing to do with my point. In fact I still think he could rip the EPL with good feeding.

What  I said was that his international success has not equalled his club success. That is just a fact, whatever the reasons. Same as Yorke club scoring rate VS international.  And look how Birchie does rep T&T, but ketching he skin to play in league 1. Don't mean shit.

IMO Scotty is clearly the best T&T striker in Europe since Yorke.  And no coach can ignore that, but if Scotty get a chance and don't repeat the club goalscoring for T&T that is just how it is.  
Post by: elan on January 28, 2009, 05:00:18 PM

I second this.
the days of T&T holding the ball and playing slow was never really in our blood.  Scotty is on fire lately but against El Salvador we need to attack, and attack fast.  We have the strike power to do so, and who better than Glenn and Jones to have El Salvador always having to run back and play catch up?  Especially on the counter I can see those 2 do some serious damage.  And bringing Scotland later in the game might not be such a bad idea...

Why do we need or should to attack fast?
Post by: weary1969 on January 28, 2009, 05:54:27 PM

I have a question for allyuh.........HOW MUCH GOALS YORKE WAS SCORING FOR US WHEN HE WAS RIPPING UP THE EPL?

Why wasnt the arguement the same?

Well said.
Post by: sjahrain on January 28, 2009, 08:42:33 PM
I think a way must be found for Daryll Roberts on this team,even though I did not pick him to start against ElSalvador,I feel he should  start ahead of Daniel
He has alot to offer

Just my two cents
Post by: just cool on January 28, 2009, 10:48:56 PM

Stop drinkin yuh flecking hateorade.... I talk to Scotty recently and he say he ready to blaze the concacaf, just like he blazing the Championship  :beermug:

Give Roberts two more guava season   :o
Look who talking bout drinking,yuh sure yuh not talking bout yuhself! How soon allyuh forget!

if what yuh mentioned was really the case, then we would not be having this convo, as a matter of fact this thread would've been a non issue!

but i will remind yuh. like yuh forget when scotty sh!t down he self in the bermuda game when pancho had robbie on the bench and bermuda buss we ass in we own back yard.

scotty was totally shut out the game, he couldn't even out run them big belly fat bermudans, and then matukakahole decide to bring on robbie in the 2nd leg and he produce one of the winning goals so we could advance to the next round.

had it not been for roberts goal, then bermuda or gautemala would've been playing El sh!tsnakedor on FEB 11th instead of us.

all who want tuh leave out stern and roberts is ungrateful c@ck sukers, when KJ was in plaster pariss it was stern  robbie and daniels who pull we through, but allyuh dogging dem now BC scotty scoring ah set ah penalties for swansea,

even cornell ain't want nothing with them two strikers, but allyuh go ahead and ask for scotty and cornell , if he scotty score 1 solitary goal for for the whole campaign then we should count ourselves lucky, Bc for me , ah slow non penetrative striker could easily be shut down, but ah mobile one does make opportunity for the midfielder and other strikers to score.
Post by: WestCoast on January 28, 2009, 11:48:21 PM
some good points there Just Cool

dais the same big belly fella that was bowling on their cricket team :devil:
Post by: elan on January 29, 2009, 12:05:19 AM
Wasn't Scotty coming off Stomach surgery when he played in the Bermuda game? Alyuh working for the TTFF or what.
Post by: just cool on January 29, 2009, 04:20:47 AM
Wasn't Scotty coming off Stomach surgery when he played in the Bermuda game? Alyuh working for the TTFF or what.
Haul yuh a$$, if he was unwell then he should've been on the injured list , what about gautemala and usa the 2nd, wham he was just off liver surgery or what!!!!!!!!!
Post by: elan on January 29, 2009, 01:08:12 PM
Haul yuh a$$, if he was unwell then he should've been on the injured list , what about gautemala and usa the 2nd, wham he was just off liver surgery or what!!!!!!!!!

Remember Mats and the crew say they did not know Scotty was injured.  :angel:
Post by: NUFF on January 29, 2009, 01:38:31 PM
Just Cool I with yuh.  I cyah understand why Roberts get drop.  Maybe he need to put ah video on myspace or youtube too.  Hell, it work fuh Scotty.
Post by: acb on January 29, 2009, 01:39:35 PM
how come Scott Sealy not on that list?
Post by: Quags on January 29, 2009, 01:47:42 PM
JC am harsh on Jason too eh ,but hes scoring to many goals not to give the man another chance to prove us wrong .
Post by: dinho on January 29, 2009, 01:51:29 PM

yuh real unfair dread, and yuh memory short. The man had just come off stomach surgery and was admittedly unfit but Maturana say he need to come down for games...

plus the man played well against guatemala..

now i am a big darryl roberts fan eh, daz meh boy, but if we picking on form then Scotland have to get the nod over Darryl right now for the forward position.

however, let me add that i would like to see darryl selected as an attacking midfield option.
Post by: Jefferz on January 29, 2009, 03:35:40 PM

yuh real unfair dread, and yuh memory short. The man had just come off stomach surgery and was admittedly unfit but Maturana say he need to come down for games...

plus the man played well against guatemala..

now i am a big darryl roberts fan eh, daz meh boy, but if we picking on form then Scotland have to get the nod over Darryl right now for the forward position.

however, let me add that i would like to see darryl selected as an attacking midfield option.

agreed, and yeah he had a few dead games, buh yuh forget back in the day when he used to buss de net regular for Najjar, and other than Carlos edwards that Najjar team wasnt supplyin him with the best balls he was doin it on his own, and his ambi foot ability has always been a threat, at the least yuh could put some faith in him in the wake of his recent form which has been red hot.

I mean 8 goals from 8 games, 13 and he still have plenty game to play dis season, about 10+ assists.

come on.

(make that 9 in 9 btw)
Post by: just cool on January 29, 2009, 06:10:31 PM
JC am harsh on Jason too eh ,but hes scoring to many goals not to give the man another chance to prove us wrong .
Breds i not talking bout goal scoring, but running @ defenders, penetrating defence, scoring on 1/2 and 1/4 chances, not 6 tries @ goal before yuh could score one!

no one on the team does make use of their chances like roberts, the yute is ah pure finisher and waste very little chances, you ain't see the kinda tight angles this fella does score from,

scotty doh have dat kinda skill, i see scotty get shut down in the bahrain, bermuda, guatemala game and couldn't make ah note,

fellas like daryl and KJ are mobile players and are extremely difficult to shut down.

like allyuh forget is mostly penalties scotland scoring. remember daryl roberts is leading goal scorer for his team as of last month, ah doh know where his goal count stands as of now but last i check it was @ 6,

it's not like he eh scoring and scotland alone bussing the net, scotland is just an impeccable penalty taker and most of his tallies are therefrom, but he does not out score the rest of the T&T strikers by scoring from chances created on his own.

two things to consider, scotty playing on ah lower level than roberts, and he's a starter meaning more chances to score, whereas roberts is not a regular starter, playing on ah higher level, and still producing.

in closing i will say this, no matter what we think or who we like , it's still up to mad pancho to select the right players, and as we know he's lacking in that department and wouldn't recognise ah valid player if one landed on his dunce head,

i could only hope latas has a say in the selection policy and could sway the mad opinion of ah mad no arse head coach.

i don't hate jason in the least , it's just that his game is real basic, and i fear that basic strikers are a liability in today's footballing world,we need players who could harass defenders not fellas who could be shut out of ah whole game.

we need to match our counterparts in concacaf or else we will fail miserably. america has cheng and dempsey, mexico has blanco and the young looking kid, hunduras has polasias and sauzo, we have KJ and .........................?
Post by: sinned on January 29, 2009, 06:44:33 PM
jason scotland never impressed me for trinidad but we have to give him another chance.

the man plays like a beast for the club level and is a goal-scoring machine. to me it's only a matter of time before that form translates to his play for T&T given a fair opportunity.

according to some people, scotty doing everything wrong as a striker and scoring once in every 6 tries @ goal. well let me just say, that swansea midfield must be the bomb to be creating 6 opportunities a game only for scotty to throw away 5 of them.

let's not forget that some of our best players took a while to translate good club form into good form for T&T - yorke (as mentioned before) and a few years ago, carlos edwards.

in my book, you can't argue with a forward who scoring goals at a high level. goals will always be the #1 selection criterion. if you scoring goals, you deserve a chance.
Post by: Daft Trini on January 29, 2009, 10:30:19 PM
jason scotland never impressed me for trinidad but we have to give him another chance.

the man plays like a beast for the club level and is a goal-scoring machine. to me it's only a matter of time before that form translates to his play for T&T given a fair opportunity.

according to some people, scotty doing everything wrong as a striker and scoring once in every 6 tries @ goal. well let me just say, that swansea midfield must be the bomb to be creating 6 opportunities a game only for scotty to throw away 5 of them.

let's not forget that some of our best players took a while to translate good club form into good form for T&T - yorke (as mentioned before) and a few years ago, carlos edwards.

in my book, you can't argue with a forward who scoring goals at a high level. goals will always be the #1 selection criterion. if you scoring goals, you deserve a chance.

Well Said...  :beermug:
Post by: Quags on January 29, 2009, 10:50:35 PM

He would"n score u know .Are you saying present form out weights years of non productivity .
JC yah done know Roberts on my team everytime .Hell I would put Glen and Jaggy ahead of Scotland .........but he has to get a shift to prove us wrong ,is only fear for his good year ,and if he does click ,god have mercy ,on our opponents .
 And he might ,cause I remember for the WC ,I just knew this man would score if he played ,with all of Scotland pulling for him ,never happened ........thing is he doh play there again so like he lose he fire .Like all of Trinbago eint good enough to spark that fire .
Post by: just cool on January 30, 2009, 12:07:30 AM

He would"n score u know .Are you saying present form out weights years of non productivity .
JC yah done know Roberts on my team everytime .Hell I would put Glen and Jaggy ahead of Scotland .........but he has to get a shift to prove us wrong ,is only fear for his good year ,and if he does click ,god have mercy ,on our opponents .
 And he might ,cause I remember for the WC ,I just knew this man would score if he played ,with all of Scotland pulling for him ,never happened ........thing is he doh play there again so like he lose he fire .Like all of Trinbago eint good enough to spark that fire .
Yeh form is alright , but when ah fella need ah clear shot on goal tuh score , he's placed in the category of dime ah dozen striker, in the world of football.

forinstance look @ boby zamora , jason roberts , marlon hearwood, sean write, benjani,Zlatan, all dime ah dozen, but when yuh come tuh man like cisse, anelka, torres, christiano(even though he's ah attacking mid) artteta, KJ ,owens, martins, dem men does score some impossible goals at some ridiculous angles somtimes yuh wonder how the hell they do that boy.

well scotty in the zamora , hearwood catagory, they does miss too many clear cut opportunities, and hit 1 out of 5, but in todays world of technical football where the bar has been lifted and it becomes ah lot more difficult tuh score goals, why go for the run of the mill striker when yuh have ah proficient striker tuh play, but leaves him on the bench or exclude him from selection.

allyuh cyar be serious by saying scotland, glenn , wolf, tussant, can produce more than roberts, them men is heart break players like gary glassgow, i doh waste time wid that, if we want tuh win and win big then roberts and stern have tuh start along side KJ, if allyuh want tuh cry and get goodie in the process, then let glenn and scotty play, allyuh go cry blood for the whole campaign!!

allyuh better buy some XXL jock strap before going tuh the stadium BC allyuh will need it when scotty commence swinging on allyuh stones like tarzan!! mark my words he will not produce.
Post by: fishs on January 30, 2009, 04:00:12 AM

Yeh form is alright , but when ah fella need ah clear shot on goal tuh score , he's placed in the category of dime ah dozen striker, in the world of football.

forinstance look @ boby zamora , jason roberts , marlon hearwood, sean write, benjani,Zlatan, all dime ah dozen, but when yuh come tuh man like cisse, anelka, torres, christiano(even though he's ah attacking mid) artteta, KJ ,owens, martins, dem men does score some impossible goals at some ridiculous angles somtimes yuh wonder how the hell they do that boy.

well scotty in the zamora , hearwood catagory, they does miss too many clear cut opportunities, and hit 1 out of 5, but in todays world of technical football where the bar has been lifted and it becomes ah lot more difficult tuh score goals, why go for the run of the mill striker when yuh have ah proficient striker tuh play, but leaves him on the bench or exclude him from selection.

allyuh cyar be serious by saying scotland, glenn , wolf, tussant, can produce more than roberts, them men is heart break players like gary glassgow, i doh waste time wid that, if we want tuh win and win big then roberts and stern have tuh start along side KJ, if allyuh want tuh cry and get goodie in the process, then let glenn and scotty play, allyuh go cry blood for the whole campaign!!

allyuh better buy some XXL jock strap before going tuh the stadium BC allyuh will need it when scotty commence swinging on allyuh stones like tarzan!! mark my words he will not produce.

The only problem is we cyar start with 3 forwards.
I would start with KJ and Stern.
KJ because he is KJ and Stern because of his ability and experience, then tweak it with the wealth of talent we have.
Post by: Weh-it-is on January 30, 2009, 08:06:51 AM
They have ah saying "strike the iron while it's hot" Well in this situation we should while Scotty is playing at the level he is right now. It is important that you start this guy. If we start him for the first game against El Salvador and he does not produce or give them trouble in the front line, then you relegate him back to the bench, but as for now he must start.

Right now it ent really about who is we favorite player etc etc. Is who on fire will get blaze!!  ;)

Post by: Rastaman on January 30, 2009, 08:37:14 AM
They have ah saying "strike the iron while it's hot" Well in this situation we should while Scotty is playing at the level he is right now. It is important that you start this guy. If we start him for the first game against El Salvador and he does not produce or give them trouble in the front line, then you relegate him back to the bench, but as for now he must start.

Right now it ent really about who is we favorite player etc etc. Is who on fire will get blaze!!  ;)

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: Daft Trini on January 30, 2009, 09:24:52 AM
Just Cool-

I think that you are right in that Roberts is the long will be our most promising striker. I feel he will be de first to play in Spain. Really like de way he does play. However Scotty is on fire... no doubt. So the selection goes to him.

However the blatant problem with the National Team has never been our Strikers.... Leonson, Latas, Stern, Yorke, Glenn..... what is our main problem, no we had apt men to fill that slot, but.... defense and Mids are the problem right?.... How much game we does play on de defensive? I think that Roberts could fill in as a winger or attacking midfielder... and at Concacaf level this yute will do well. I agree that he will be good for starting but not as a striker... not when KJ and Scotty lighting up goalies.... (btw) we need to also how much goals KJ does score from pouncing on assist. If we have no one to give him an assist then we just above average....

But Good debate on your end....
Post by: just cool on January 30, 2009, 06:06:26 PM
Just Cool-

I think that you are right in that Roberts is the long will be our most promising striker. I feel he will be de first to play in Spain. Really like de way he does play. However Scotty is on fire... no doubt. So the selection goes to him.

However the blatant problem with the National Team has never been our Strikers.... Leonson, Latas, Stern, Yorke, Glenn..... what is our main problem, no we had apt men to fill that slot, but.... defense and Mids are the problem right?.... How much game we does play on de defensive? I think that Roberts could fill in as a winger or attacking midfielder... and at Concacaf level this yute will do well. I agree that he will be good for starting but not as a striker... not when KJ and Scotty lighting up goalies.... (btw) we need to also how much goals KJ does score from pouncing on assist. If we have no one to give him an assist then we just above average....

But Good debate on your end....
Breds , as a fella who watching T&T football for yrs, i've seen us play excellent football against more than worthy opponents and fell short BC we couldn't finish or had no finishers.

when we fell to the USA in 89 i went and got cable TV just to watch that game, it was ah huge mistake BC i couldn't sleep for ah few days after that! yuh want to know one of the reasons for us not advancing ?

we didn't have a finisher, ah fella who could run with the ball and create opportunities, of course there are other reasons, but the main reason was we didn't have ah finisher.

now i used to go home to trini quiet and watch meh games @ least once every few yrs, but of late i kinda cool off from travelling to watch we lose to JA.

i used to wonder why we can't beat these teams in concacaf and we have such great players, i soon came to the realization that we didn't have proficient goal scorers, then came stern john! ah man who has the instinct of ah ronaldo , pele, maradona, ah zidan, had it not been for that fella, we would've never had the recognition we attained in concacaf over the yrs.

and i wiil go as far as too say that if he was old enough to play in 89 , then we would've been to the WC twice.

now here we are agian and fellas telling me that we should give ah chance to ah fella i've seen play on ah few occasions just BC he's scoring goals, but they fail to realise what level of competition he's up against.

scotty is no doubt ah good player, but does he score under tremendous pressure, does he split defences, does he torture defenders ? is he mobile , is he unmarkable? well here goes, NOOO!!!

do you remember daryl roberts, the man who torture them bermudans till dey tongue was hanging out their head? then he hustled and helped out in defence, plus winning ball and running right back in attack? he made it easy for stern to come in and score  to put us through to the semi's.

i saw scotty in the first game live and 2 games later on TV, he was @ best mediocre, immobile, slow, no defensive play, the defenders had him in their back pockets like what they did to yorke and lewis in 89.

i have ah feeling that pancho doh like DR and has made it quite clear that he don't, the fact that he could select wolf and tausantt before ah top flight striker who score is a mystery bordering on the abominable. ah hope latas could be the vioce of reasoning to a self oppiniated joker.
Post by: Filho on January 30, 2009, 10:45:32 PM

Everyone has their own opinion. But every once in a while something is written that is so unbelievingly erroneous..it cyah pass. Zlatan..a dime a dozen? Oh shims man...He eh perfect..but he easily one of the most technically gifted ballers on de planet.. And he does score some unbelievable goals...KJ is we boy..but he close to dat yet. Of the names you call only Torres and C Ronaldo could hang wid dat. And SWP and Arteta are not forwards..Arteta especially not even close...

no disrespect. just feel yuh hadda watch some more Serie A
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 30, 2009, 10:54:56 PM
scotty is no doubt ah good player, but does he score under tremendous pressure, does he split defences, does he torture defenders ? is he mobile , is he unmarkable? well here goes, NOOO!!!
There are different kinds of strikers. Scotty's role as a lone forward is not to "torture defenders" It's to hold the ball up front and link with oncoming midfielders. The question is: does T&T's midfield function well enough for that and/or do they serve up enough chances for Scotty to do what he does?
Post by: Big Magician on January 31, 2009, 12:06:25 AM
just cool...good stuff...and respect to your opinions...but have a drink
Post by: arrow on January 31, 2009, 05:47:35 AM
Breds , as a fella who watching T&T football for yrs, i've seen us play excellent football against more than worthy opponents and fell short BC we couldn't finish or had no finishers.

when we fell to the USA in 89 i went and got cable TV just to watch that game, it was ah huge mistake BC i couldn't sleep for ah few days after that! yuh want to know one of the reasons for us not advancing ?

we didn't have a finisher, ah fella who could run with the ball and create opportunities, of course there are other reasons, but the main reason was we didn't have ah finisher.

now i used to go home to trini quiet and watch meh games @ least once every few yrs, but of late i kinda cool off from travelling to watch we lose to JA.

i used to wonder why we can't beat these teams in concacaf and we have such great players, i soon came to the realization that we didn't have proficient goal scorers, then came stern john! ah man who has the instinct of ah ronaldo , pele, maradona, ah zidan, had it not been for that fella, we would've never had the recognition we attained in concacaf over the yrs.

and i wiil go as far as too say that if he was old enough to play in 89 , then we would've been to the WC twice.

now here we are agian and fellas telling me that we should give ah chance to ah fella i've seen play on ah few occasions just BC he's scoring goals, but they fail to realise what level of competition he's up against.

do you remember daryl roberts, the man who torture them bermudans till dey tongue was hanging out their head? then he hustled and helped out in defence, plus winning ball and running right back in attack? he made it easy for stern to come in and score  to put us through to the semi's.

i saw scotty in the first game live and 2 games later on TV, he was @ best mediocre, immobile, slow, no defensive play, the defenders had him in their back pockets like what they did to yorke and lewis in 89.

i have ah feeling that pancho doh like DR and has made it quite clear that he don't, the fact that he could select wolf and tausantt before ah top flight striker who score is a mystery bordering on the abominable. ah hope latas could be the vioce of reasoning to a self oppiniated joker.

it's pacho
Post by: just cool on January 31, 2009, 06:48:26 AM

Everyone has their own opinion. But every once in a while something is written that is so unbelievingly erroneous..it cyah pass. Zlatan..a dime a dozen? Oh shims man...He eh perfect..but he easily one of the most technically gifted ballers on de planet.. And he does score some unbelievable goals...KJ is we boy..but he close to dat yet. Of the names you call only Torres and C Ronaldo could hang wid dat. And SWP and Arteta are not forwards..Arteta especially not even close...

no disrespect. just feel yuh hadda watch some more Serie A
Breds! Zlatan Ibrahimovich is the reason i don't like tuh watch INTER anymore. the man real wortliss dread, i doh know how he used to sweat before suazo, that fella does throw away some of the most basic of opportuniries, and yes he does score some imposible goals , but he does dump 5 before he hit one.

FYI KJ is ah class act. the bredder don't get ah bligh from the defenders in the league, is like they does stick to the man like crazy glue not giving him an inch of space in the 3rd half, and he does still score.

if Ibrahimovich was under such scrutiny he would score once every 8 games trust meh ! why yuh think david james came @ the fella like that , BC KJ buss his net twice that same season and he couldn't afford it ah 3rd time especially on the international level.
Post by: just cool on January 31, 2009, 06:51:02 AM

it's pacho
Yuh back on that agian!! what's it to you anyway fella, pancho is yuh fadder or what? stuueeppsss!!
Post by: dinho on January 31, 2009, 07:59:38 AM
just cool..

if is one ting, iz ah man does really look forward to reading yuh post and dem.. But at the end of the day yuh coming in from ah real subjective standpoint in this one..

your reasons for supporting Darryl over Scotty seem all to do with personal opinions about his natural ability, which implies that no matter if Scotty rack up 40 goals this season, he not good enough for a start in your books.

Now lemme tell you what I see as the positives about scotty.. No player on a team right now could collect a ball with his back to goal and turn on a shilling like Scotty can.. No player can hit a ball from outside the box with either foot with a high level of accuracy like scotty.. No player we have can operate in tight spaces like scotty right now..

you must be not watching the highlights week in week out to say most of his goals have been penalties and easy goals.. The most recent goals he score, the one against Preston i think (playoff rival), de man collect on top the 18, lose the defender with ah swivel, and slap home bottom corner with left foot. He score ah brace in the Burnley game (EPL promotion contender), where he earn the PK for the first goal and good finish for the second. Look the video HERE (http://soccer-video.tv/swansea-vs-burnley-goals-jason-scotland/[/url).  Then the portsmouth goal he score was a penalty, but the 1st goal is he who set it up with ah delightfully flighted thru ball. And in the other games, he set up nuff goal by terrorizing defences and other players feeding off the wreckage.

And we have little to judge him on in TT colors, but I thought he did extremely well leading the line in that Guatemala game. Especially with us down to 10 men, the man held up the ball nice and even create some havoc in the Guat defence. Look ah snippet here.....

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3248/2935511250_075fc286a3_o.gif)

Now I not sure what system Pacho and Latas coming with, whether we going 4-5-1 or 4-4-2, and whether we going to be knocking it more on the ground or playing a cobo brand. All that will influence which players best fit the system. I also not sure how a KJ/Scotty partnership will work up front because there will be an admitted lack of mobility. But I will say that Scotty should not be ignored given the form he is in.. And I also think Darryl should be tried in attacking midfield where we short on options right now, but as a striker he down the pecking order.

PS: so easy yuh take arrow chain up boy, you self!
Post by: Daft Trini on January 31, 2009, 09:11:44 AM
Definitely agree in using Daryl as an attacking mid  :beermug:
Post by: Filho on January 31, 2009, 01:47:44 PM
Breds! Zlatan Ibrahimovich is the reason i don't like tuh watch INTER anymore. the man real wortliss dread, i doh know how he used to sweat before suazo, that fella does throw away some of the most basic of opportuniries, and yes he does score some imposible goals , but he does dump 5 before he hit one.

FYI KJ is ah class act. the bredder don't get ah bligh from the defenders in the league, is like they does stick to the man like crazy glue not giving him an inch of space in the 3rd half, and he does still score.

if Ibrahimovich was under such scrutiny he would score once every 8 games trust meh ! why yuh think david james came @ the fella like that , BC KJ buss his net twice that same season and he couldn't afford it ah 3rd time especially on the international level.

jc..i hear yah. doh agree with you about Zlatan, but that is how it goes. respect to KJ. hoping the coaching staff come correct and get Daryll back in the side. Room in the side for Scotty and Glen too. They have a part to play imo.
Post by: just cool on January 31, 2009, 03:37:31 PM
Omar and filho , don't get me wrong , i defiantly feel scotty should be on the roster, ah just don't think he should start before roberts and john, and if he does then DR should @ least get ah 20 mins tuh show what he could do.

yuh can't see how the coach has been dissing this bredder! and giving every tom dick and harry ah bligh , but has ignored roberts since the 1st cuba game, and playing men who not scoring neither creating opportunities! now what kinda sh!t is that!

show me since the campaign started which strikers scored to keep us in the running besides roberts glenn and stern, most of our goals came from the midfield.

all the games scotty played he didn't score or even produce an assist, all the games wolf and toussant played had the same effect,how many goals they produced or helped produce.

YEh they(JS, AS, AW,CG,) alright but the two men who sure to score not getting games, and their replacements don't produce @ all! to be in contention we need strikers who could produce.

i'm afraid coach maturana don't know talent if it jumped up and bit him on the nose, i hope latas could be the voice of reasoning since that imps who he replaced was just ah huge hindrance in the way of progress, like his big dumb penny wise boss.
Post by: Midknight on January 31, 2009, 04:07:41 PM
I not going on JC wagon but since the first Jamaica friendly I said that Darryl Roberts need to be on the team.

However I don't believe he should start over Scotty as a striker He is however versatile enough to play attacking mid and should do so.

With two strikers, Scotty and Glen. Let Scotty play the post up role and Glen play the free electron. When Scotty start to get tired bring on KJ or Stern to poison them. If Glen get tired then I would push Roberts up and make the change in midfield instead

If we keep playing with one striker I will play KJ - he do it whole of last season with sunderland and will be an asset defending corners as well as attacking them.

I purposely benching Stern to get him riled up. He seem to be lacking the fire these days and I know he have a allergic reaction to pine that does cause goal explosion

Connell need to find a club first.

Toussaint and all these other fellas should have gone to the Gold Cup, but the clearly show they can't make the grade.

The hardest part of all this is not figuring out which striker to start, but which midfield will play with those strikers. If you decide that Carlos and Dwight are automatic starters, and that Dwight can't play dmid by himself all game, so Birchall/a fit Whitley is one too, you have to have the courage to make a couple men ride pine - Latas, first and foremost, Keon Daniel secondly - or play three defenders. Nobody have the courage to do the first at home except Latas himself, I doh have the courage to do the second, and Maturana doh have the courage to do the third.

Dat is why roberts will always get a raw deal.
Post by: Cocorite on January 31, 2009, 09:29:58 PM
Ay allyuh fellas waxing eloquent. This is good stuff. Interesting.
Post by: Jefferz on February 01, 2009, 01:44:38 PM
There are different kinds of strikers. Scotty's role as a lone forward is not to "torture defenders" It's to hold the ball up front and link with oncoming midfielders. The question is: does T&T's midfield function well enough for that and/or do they serve up enough chances for Scotty to do what he does?

he also  obviously hasnt seen the way he's been scoring his goals this year in the championship.

give the man another chance, plain and simple, he's earned a chance at the very least.