Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on September 28, 2005, 08:08:06 AM

Title: Maylee Attin-Johnson Thread
Post by: Tallman on September 28, 2005, 08:08:06 AM
Attin-Johnson sets US fields on fire.
Trinidad Guardian.

Maylee Attin-Johnson does not lack in confidence. As a member of the T&T’s 18 and Under national team, she’s seen soccer at a high level.
Attin-Johnson, a former student at St Agnes Anglican school in St James and Diego Martin Government Secondary took that confidence and a whole lot of game to American college Notre Dame of East Stroudsburg this season.
As soon as she stepped onto the soccer field in the fall with the boys’ team, Attin-Johnson had an inkling of what kind of spring she could have with the girls’ squad.
“They told me I’d score a lot, a lot of goals,” said Attin-Johnson of the boys’ team at Notre Dame. “I knew from the boys I’d score a lot of goals.”
Indeed she did, Attin-Johnson scored a school-record 43 goals and added 10 assists in a flashy one-year career for Notre Dame.
Even on a team filled with freshmen and sophomores, Johnson helped carry the Spartans to a 15-6 record and a berth in the District 11 play-offs.
“I knew I had a legitimate goal scorer, but did I have a leader? She was a friend to them, inspiring them to do things,” said Notre Dame coach Anthony Creece of Attin-Johnson.
“They fed off her. I think the girls learned a lot in general. Hopefully it’ll help us for next season.”
One visit to Mary Street Field would display Attin-Johnson’s talents, which feature impressive ball handling skills and a knack for finding the net.
But there were still critics in the county, who would rather label Notre Dame a one-person squad.
“We did have a team,” Creece said. “They didn’t have that play-off experience. In the playoffs against the more veteran teams you could see them folding. We went 15-6. It exceeded my expectations.”
Things didn’t start out so smoothly for Attin-Johnson, who began the season in the midfield. She got caught in the beginning of the season deciding when to take over and when to pass the ball.
“The funny thing is there were many times she was playing when she could score and she’d pass the ball,” Creece said. “She had to realise she had to do something on her own. She was more of a midfielder in the beginning. She realised she had to take charge a little bit. I told her, ‘You’re being unselfish, sometimes you have to things on your own.”
Attin-Johnson averaged about a goal a game through the first five games before breaking through with a four-goal effort against Pen Argyl.
From there on out, the former Cocorite resident was tough to contain unless the Notre Dame star was marked by several players.
Freshman Sam Kramer was the beneficiary on those days and ended up finishing the season with 19 goals.
“People say we’re a one-girl type of team,” Creece said. “I had Sam who scored about 20 goals. She’s lost in the shuffle. She wasn’t just scoring scrap goals. I had games where Sam scored three goals. Sam deserves a lot of credit. She had a great freshman year, the best freshman year ever of one of my teams.”
Kramer is just an example of how Attin-Johnson’s team-mates had a learning curve as well, improving their play as the season progressed.
In the beginning they just watched Johnson. In the end they worked with their talented team-mate.
“These girls I love every bit playing with them,” Attin-Johnson said. “It was really fun. We had almost all freshmen and sophomores. We showed we could play. I’m proud of each of them.”
Johnson’s career is not over in East Stroudsburg.
Despite receiving interest from Binghamton, Providence and Rutgers, Johnson will play at East Stroudsburg University in the fall. The fact that coach Derek Arneaud is from T&T surely played in her decision.
“I think with coach Arneaud being from her country it’ll be good for her,” said Creece.
“She knows him of course. She’s a young girl. I think she still needs some guidance, she needs somebody around her who can understand her.”
In one of the matches, she put on a show and Notre Dame won 2-0.
Johnson tested the opposing goalkeeper Emilia Zabaldo several times – scoring twice – but Zabaldo turned away the Spartan senior on a few solid saves.
Johnson deposited two first-half goals and that was enough to take out Stroudsburg. The first came at 22nd minute when Johnson got a foot on a pass from Kate Chambers in a crowd at the 18-yard line.
Johnson took a long Chambers’ floating pass from midfield, and redirected it into net for a 1-0 lead.
Zabaldo responded with two huge saves. Johnson was fed the ball 10 yards from the goal and blasted a shot that Zabaldo knocked down.
With three minutes left in the first half Johnson blew past a defender, but ran into a sprawled out Zabaldo, who grabbed the ball out from under Johnson.
Johnson showed her patience on her second goal of the night when she dribbled through two defenders, caught Zabaldo leaning to her left and touched a shot into the left-hand corner of the net for her 42nd goal of the year.
“I was so proud today. I have so much confidence in my team-mates. They all stepped up,” said Johnson. “There’s no words to describe how happy I am with the team. I just hope we can play harder in districts.”
Stroudsburg coach Jay Effross said there wasn’t much else his girls could do to stop Johnson.
“Our girls did a very nice job, the first goal was an own goal and the second one was a good bounce for them,” said Effross.

(http://guardian.co.tt/maylee-attin-johnson.jpg)
T&T’s MAYLEE ATTIN-JOHNSON goes tumbling after a tackle from a Panamanian defender in a CONCACAF Under-19 Women’s World Cup qualifier.
Title: Re: Attin-Johnson sets US fields onfire
Post by: morvant on September 28, 2005, 10:29:33 AM
well done family well done. nice to hear some news about de females 2
Title: Re: Attin-Johnson sets US fields on fire
Post by: SHOTTA on September 28, 2005, 05:29:01 PM
i sweat with she in primary skool i was in std 5 an she was in std 3 if ah did only kno she wuda be famous ah wuda lock it down long time

big up mayleee
Post by: elan on September 28, 2005, 06:06:42 PM
I don't know how long ago this article was written, but Attin-Johnson is on the roster at Cumberland University in Tennessee. http://www.cumberland.edu/athletics/wsoccer/roster.html (http://www.cumberland.edu/athletics/wsoccer/roster.html)
I use to look at her play for Caridoc Stingray, she had great skills. Have not seen her play in like 4 year so I don't know. But we would be playing her team next week so I will let you all know first hand how she did.
Post by: Warrior till death on March 11, 2006, 08:15:20 PM
yes mih girl Maylee from back in de days in diego sec
Title: WPSL team signs T&T Soca Princess.
Post by: Flex on April 21, 2006, 10:00:34 AM
WPSL team signs T&T Soca Princess.

Maylee Attin-Johnson to join expansion team.
Easton, PA; The Northampton Laurels FC of the Women's Premier Soccer League (WPSL) Eastern Conference announced today the signing of Trinidad & Tobago International offensive star Maylee Attin-Johnson to their 2006 roster.
Attin-Johnson was an offensive standout at the CONCACAF U-21 World Cup tournament in Mexico earlier this year. The Cumberland University star will join two time Patriot League offensive MVP Gina Lewandowski to lead the Laurels Midfield. Having Maylee on our roster does add a new dimension to our offensive line said the team's Director of Coaching Tobagonian Warren Salandy. She's a special player he added.
A starting member of the Trinidad & Tobago youth and senior teams, the creative and skillful Attin-Johnson brings a wealth of international goal scoring experience with her to the Laurels 2006 campaign. Her presents will most certainly be felt on the field and in the clubhouse, Maylee is an explosive players, and will do well in the WPSL, said Laurels co-owner and General Manager Andy R. Salandy.
The Easton, PA based club will play its home game at the J.Birney Crum Stadium in Allentown, PA. The team is committed to bringing top quality female soccer to Eastern Pennsylvania. The Laurels will provide an opportunity for Lehigh Valley talent to progress through the US soccer system.
The WPSL is one of the top women's leagues in the World with a mission to provide the highest level of women's soccer while simultaneously providing affordable, quality family entertainment and positive role models. Log onto www.wpsl.info (http://www.wpsl.info) for additional information on the league and its teams.
Title: Re: WPSL team signs T&T Soca Princess.
Post by: oconnorg on April 21, 2006, 10:05:21 AM
Nicely done chica.. Do your bestest.
Post by: Trinitim on April 21, 2006, 10:31:02 AM

Well done REPRESENT - THE RED THE WHITE AND THE BLACK.
Post by: Big Magician on April 21, 2006, 03:55:16 PM
good luck maylee......i had a chat with tasha st louis today....she coaching at the la foucade camp......said she going back out to the USA to play club football....could not confirm de club or where dey from...funny....she could real talk boy.....she talking bout barca and arsenal....only ball.....and bianca walker was there too....tnt u-20 striker.......
Post by: SHOTTA on April 21, 2006, 07:43:02 PM
big up to maylee

do yuh ting man
Post by: E-man on May 11, 2006, 05:00:53 PM
Attin-Johnson to join US women’s club
(Guardian)

11 May 2006

T&T’S national women’s team footballer Maylee Attin-Johnson has signed up with the Northampton Laurels FC of the Women’s Premier Soccer League Eastern Conference for the 2006 season.

The 19-year-old Attin-Johnson was an offensive standout at the Concacaf U-21 World Cup tournament in Mexico earlier this year.

Attin-Johnson, a student of Cumberland University will join two time Patriot League offensive “Most Valuable Player” Gina Lewandowski.

A starting member of the T&T youth and senior teams, the creative and skillful Attin-Johnson brings a wealth of international goal scoring experience with her to the Laurels 2006 campaign.

“Her presence will most certainly be felt on the field and in the clubhouse,” said Laurels co-owner and general manager Andy R Salandy

“Maylee is an explosive players and will do well in the WPSL,” he continued.

The Easton, Pennysylvania based club will play its home matches at the JBirney Crum Stadium in Allentown, PA.

The team is committed to bringing top quality female soccer to Eastern Pennsylvania. The Laurels will provide an opportunity for Lehigh Valley talent to progress through the US soccer system.

The WPSL is one of the top women’s leagues in the World with a mission to provide the highest level of women’s soccer, while simultaneously providing affordable, quality family entertainment and positive role models.
Title: Attin-Johnson Receives WPSL Team Of The Week Honors
Post by: Baygo Boy on June 27, 2007, 08:53:58 PM
EASTON, PA - Laurels (www.northamptonlaurelsfc.com) midfield playmaker Maylee Attin-Johnson (Kennesaw State University/Trinidad & Tobago WNT) was named to the WPSL week 6 Team of the Week (TOTW). Maylee joins Laurels defender Carly Hoskins (Elizabethtown College) as the only other Laurel to be named to the leagues TOTW starting eleven.

Laurels midfielder Janel Cleffi (East Stroudsburg University), and rookie goalkeeper Caitlin Corrigan (Moravian College) have received WPSL TOTW honorable mentions.

Attin-Johnson commanded the Laurels midfield, and eventually scored the game winner in the Laurels 2-1 victory against a revamped Maryland Pride last Sunday. The game was Attin-Johnsons first after undergoing ACL surgery in fall 2006.

Having Maylee back on the field again is a major boost for the team said Laurels Owner and General Manager, Tobagonian Andy R. Salandy. She is such a competitor, she gives one hundred percent and expects the same from the players around her, said Salandy.

www.wpsl.info

She is Back

Title: Re: Attin-Johnson Receives WPSL Team Of The Week Honors
Post by: Tallman on June 28, 2007, 06:38:13 AM
Dat is good news. Last time ah see she was last November at de Womens Gold Cup match between T&T and Mexico, and she was on crutches.

(http://www.thewarriornation.com/gallery2/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=3622&g2_serialNumber=2)
Title: Maylee Attin-Johnson Thread
Post by: Flex on January 09, 2010, 06:02:43 AM
U-20 footballers brace for womens challenge.
By: Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

Trinidad and Tobago Under-20 womens football team coach Jamaal Shabazz stated that the team will not be overawed by the challenge that they will face at the CONCACAF Under-20 Final Round Qualifiers, scheduled in Guatemala from January 20-30 in Guatemala.

The Trinidad and Tobago squad will leave tomorrow for Costa Rica, where they will face the hosts in two warm-up matches next week, before moving to the neighbouring Central American nation.

At a media briefing at the CONCACAF office in Port-of-Spain yesterday, Shabazz said, this team has moved from being slaughtered by Jamaica in August to a team now that can compete with the other teams in CONCACAF.

I think now that Trinidad and Tobago can compete at the CONCACAF level. Before, we participated in tournaments but now, I think the players have even more confidence because of the new fitness and new aggressive approach. At CONCACAF tournaments now, we would be better able to compete.

We worked very hard going into this tournament, Shabazz continued. Were thankful for having two warm-up matches against Costa Rica and, if we do our (mathematics) correctly, we may meet Costa Rica somewhere along the road in this tournament again.

The manager of the Trinidad and Tobago team is senior team striker Maylee Attin-Johnson. According to CONCACAF president and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) special advisor Jack Warner, shes the youngest manager ever to be appointed, either in the male or female capacity.

I want to congratulate Maylee and tell her that you begin with a mission that is not impossible but tough, he continued. And Im quite sure that you and the team will do well.

The 23-year-old Attin-Johnson, who recently graduated with a degree in Sports Management at Kennesaw State University in Georgia, United States, said, Ill like to thank Mr Warner, Mr (Richard) Groden (the TTFF general secretary) and Mr Shabazz for giving me the opportunity to represent my country as the manager.

All Ive done in the last five years (were) play football and go to school, she stated. To be able to get the opportunity to represent my country, right out of school, is a great pleasure and honour, and a great way to enter the work world. Im just looking forward to helping the team move in a new direction and to a higher level.

In the CONCACAF Qualifiers, Trinidad and Tobago is in Group B, alongside Mexico, the United States and Jamaica in Group B while Cuba, Canada, Costa Rica and hosts Guatemala are in Group A.

The group winners will play the runners-up from the opposite group on January 28, with the championship and third-place matches set for January 30. The finalists and third-place winner will qualify for the FIFA Under-20 Womens World Cup in Germany from July 13 to August 1.

T&T Team Kimika Forbes, Linfah Jones (goalkeepers); Rhea Belgrave, Tiana Bateau, Felina Jack, Camille Borneo, Taylor Mims, Arin King (defenders); Victoria Swift, Afiyah Matthias, Renel Dennis, Karyn Forbes, Cassie McKenzie, Natasha Prentice, Kayla Taylor (midfielders); Candace Seaton, Natasha St Louis, Mariah Shade, Jo Marie Lewis (strikers).

Technical Staff Jamaal Shabazz (coach), Marlon Charles (assistant coach), Stefon De Four (goalkeeper coach), Brent Elder (trainer), Dave Isaac (physiotherapist), Maylee Attin-Johnson (manager), Steve Frederick (equipment manager), Kurlyn Smith (tutor).
Title: Re: Maylee Attin-Johnson to manage U-20 WNT.
Post by: Sam on January 09, 2010, 10:12:48 AM
My girl....

She sweeter than a currence-role.....
Post by: nnyman18 on January 09, 2010, 03:15:17 PM
Nice selection! Dah is meh real peoples
Post by: Storeboy on January 09, 2010, 10:52:21 PM
Ah hope she is not just another figure head that Jack Warner installing!  Ah cyar help but believe she has no independence, but ah will give her a chance to prove herself.
Post by: Babalawo on January 11, 2010, 06:50:19 PM
 :rotfl:  Warner hires someone with no experience. 
http://www.youtube.com/v/NFqD9E6YQw0
Post by: elan on January 11, 2010, 10:56:47 PM
Daiz meh girl eh, I really like her. One of the best player ever out of T&T (men included), but I eh know about her ability to manage.
Post by: Eldo man on January 11, 2010, 11:23:41 PM
oh yes "yuh doh say" trini, trini.... Eah Maylee just make sure yuh do de people wok.. according to Jack in de back she was shock when she get de wok.. De gul say all she do for de past five years was play fitbol and go to school, now she ah Manager fuh de national team.
Doh get meh wrong ah know there is a first time fuh everything but Manager with little or no experience HMMM. Gul just doh forget to book people flight eah and doh send then tex message and tell them they have to sleep in de airport... listening to de interview she sound like de assistant coach and not de manager, nothing was said as to how she is ready and willing to take on her role as a manager.. Ah figure Jack have something in de box, next thing yuh here after tournament jack fire "Shabba Rankin" and Maylee is de new coach. Jack like de spot light, she will be trini first woman coach.. watch... Anyway Maylee do yuh thing gul. Ah know nuff man might say ah hating on de gul, however that is not de case, i just going by what i hear in de interview...
Post by: elan on January 11, 2010, 11:39:47 PM
oh yes "yuh doh say" trini, trini.... Eah Maylee just make sure yuh do de people wok.. according to Jack in de back she was shock when she get de wok.. De gul say all she do for de past five years was play fitbol and go to school, now she ah Manager fuh de national team.
Doh get meh wrong ah know there is a first time fuh everything but Manager with little or no experience HMMM. Gul just doh forget to book people flight eah and doh send then tex message and tell them they have to sleep in de airport... listening to de interview she sound like de assistant coach and not de manager, nothing was said as to how she is ready and willing to take on her role as a manager.. Ah figure Jack have something in de box, next thing yuh here after tournament jack fire "Shabba Rankin" and Maylee is de new coach. Jack like de spot light, she will be trini first woman coach.. watch... Anyway Maylee do yuh thing gul. Ah know nuff man might say ah hating on de gul, however that is not de case, i just going by what i hear in de interview...

JW will have to be mad to put Maylee ahead of Izler, Kathy Ann a nd a couple others. Then again is JW. Say what girl run with it eh.
Post by: nnyman18 on January 12, 2010, 12:21:09 AM
Anyway fellas! As far s Maylee's ability to manage this team and the fact that she is just out of school. Don't be fooled by that. Maylee's has been under our umbrella during the past two years and have done many events with us. She is capable of handling her new role and she knows that she is a phone call, email or text away from those abroad she can always get advice from. She has been working on her coaching ability during the past three years with us and in due time she will be able to fill such a role. So Eldo man you on to something but I won't speculate on that one. All in all its a good move. They better keep her at home as well because there are a few WPS teams here in the US that would love to have her services right now.
Post by: Eldo man on January 12, 2010, 01:21:22 AM
Anyway fellas! As far s Maylee's ability to manage this team and the fact that she is just out of school. Don't be fooled by that. Maylee's has been under our umbrella during the past two years and have done many events with us. She is capable of handling her new role and she knows that she is a phone call, email or text away from those abroad she can always get advice from. She has been working on her coaching ability during the past three years with us and in due time she will be able to fill such a role. So Eldo man you on to something but I won't speculate on that one. All in all its a good move. They better keep her at home as well because there are a few WPS teams here in the US that would love to have her services right now.

Doh get meh wrong... i was just going on what i pick up from her interview..  She sound more like a coach than ah manager.  Maybe it's just a way to get her involve in de set up of things, next thing de manager training with de team, then is assistant coach, then she might be coaching some up coming U14 girls team.. ah sure that might be de case... If we trying to grow de women's game in trini she is a good one to help them girls, she have de experience from kicking ball in  de US.  Also it's always good to see ah female involve in coaching, as long as they know what they are doing, As ah say  there is something inside de morta besides de pissel   ;)
Post by: Ngozi on January 12, 2010, 01:41:59 AM
She def not ahead of Kathy Ann or Izler but she have the makings of a good coach and manager so the experience have to begin somewhere ....besides the issue with this team is not gonna be with the manager but with the coach .... I say this tentatively.
Title: Attin-Johnson leads T&T in CFU tourney
Post by: Tallman on May 08, 2010, 07:58:51 AM
Attin-Johnson leads T&T in CFU tourney
By Shari John (T&T Guardian)

Maylee Attin-Johnson will lead T&Ts senior Soca Princesses when they begin their quest for the top spot in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Final Round Tournament. T&T will start its campaign against St Lucia on Monday at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya from 7 pm, following Guyana and Barbados encounter which will open the event at 5 pm.

A squad of 23 players went into camp on Tuesday with coach Jamaal Shabazz making his final cut down to 18 players yesterday. The unit includes professional player Ahkeela Mollon. Though lamenting the fact that his side could have been a bit fitter (physically), Shabazz explained that his team will undoubtedly grow stronger as the days wear on and he is confident they will do T&T proud.

T&T will also host Group G, consisting of Cuba, Haiti, Antigua and Barbuda and Puerto Rico, which was originally scheduled to be held in Cuba, but will now be staged at the Mannie-Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella.

T&T TEAM:
Goalkeepers: Kimika Forbes, Kerri Meyers
Defenders: Ayana Russell, Arin King, Anastacia Prescot, Analis Cummings (standby), Daniel Blair, Affiyah Mathias, Rhea Belgrave
Midfielders: Nadia James, Janine Francois, Dernelle Mascall, Avanelle Issac, Karen Forbes, Kennya Cordner, Jenelle Nedd, Ahkeela Mollon
Strikers: Maylee Attin-Johnson (captain), Candace Edwards, Mariah Shade

Final round fixtures
Group F
Venue: Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya
May 10:
Guyana vs Barbados
T&T vs St Lucia

May 12:
St Lucia vs. Guyana
T&T vs Barbados

May 14:
Barbados vs St Lucia
T&T vs Guyana

Group G
Venue: Mannie Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella
May 11:
Cuba vs Puerto Rico
Antigua & Barbuda vs Haiti

May 13:
Haiti vs Cuba
Puerto Rico vs Antigua & Barbuda

May 15:
Haiti vs Puerto Rico
Cuba vs Antigua & Barbuda

(http://guardian.co.tt/files/imagecache/article_main_image/articles/images/Maylee%20Attin%20Johnson.png)
Title: Re: Attin-Johnson leads T&T in CFU tourney
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 08, 2010, 08:01:48 AM
what club does Attin-Johnson   play for now ??
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 08, 2010, 08:03:55 AM
Attin-Johnson leads T&T in CFU tourney
By Shari John (T&T Guardian)

T&T will also host Group G, consisting of Cuba, Haiti, Antigua and Barbuda and Puerto Rico, which was originally scheduled to be held in Cuba, but will now be staged at the Mannie-Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella.

So the FUNDS  going towards the UNC campaign i assume ...  THEY OVERDOING IT NOW   seems as is everything  they moving  to Trinidad...this is very disturbing
Post by: Soccer 19 on May 09, 2010, 08:12:31 PM
For those of us who cannot make the game live does anyone know if the matches will be aired on TV and or will they be streamed on the internet ? Any Radio?

Cheers   19
Title: T&T captain: We performed well
Post by: Tallman on May 12, 2010, 04:55:08 AM
T&T captain: We performed well
T&T Guardian

T&T senior womens football captain, Maylee Attin-Johnson wants her team to stay focused and keep their standard up for the remaining two matches in the Caribbean Football Union Final Round Qualifying Tournament. Speaking after the match in which T&T beat St Lucia, 6-0, Attin-Johnson explained that while her players performed well overall, they lost focus at times, and allowed their standard to drop as well as, did a little too much fancy footwork. We performed well overall, I was very pleased with how we moved the ball around and were able to get a lot of crosses in, however, there were times when some of us seemed to get bored and allowed our energy and our standard to drop, said Attin-Johnson.

With regards to the performance of Swedish-based professional, Ahkeela Mollon, skipper Attin-Johnson said: She had a very good performance, she executed exactly what the coaches told her to do, and she took on players and crossed the ball well. I think she had like 13 crosses in the first half which was really good and she continued the same play in the second half. The midfielder will sit out tonights match in order to ensure her fitness for the more difficult match on Friday against Guyana.

Technical Director of womens football in T&T, Even Pellerud was also in praise of the team, describing it as very consistent, with the team being able to maintain its intensity throughout the entire 90 minutes of the match. They were very consistent, they kept the focus up, the speed and tempo was high, and they kept playing a quick game, kept attacking and scoring, said Pellerud.

A win for T&T over Barbados will move the country a step closer to qualifying for the CAC Games in July in Puerto Rico and the Womens Gold Cup in October.
Title: Football skipper Attin-Johnson promises great things after CAC medal.
Post by: Flex on August 05, 2010, 05:18:31 AM
Football skipper promises great things after CAC medal.
By: Shari John (T&T Guardian).

T&Ts Soca Princesses earned their first medal at a major tournament on Sunday, copping silver in the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games.

Team captain, Maylee Attin-Johnson believes, the medal at the inaugural CAC Womens football competition is the beginning of great things to come.

This is history for the womens programme, this is the first CAC womens tournament and the first tournament we came out with a medal, said Attin-Johnson.

Although the team was beaten only by host Venezuela, it was understrength with key players Arin King, Danielle Blair, Dernel Mascal and Mariah Shade missing because of injuries.

While the fit players did not have it any easier, they were asked the tall order of playing five matches in just ten days, losing just one match to the hostsa defeat which cost the team the gold medal.

The Soca Princesses will now be looking towards the Gold Cup in October, which will also serve as a World Cup qualifier, and Attin-Johnson is of the view that T&T can be successful, given the right support and with the right attitude from the players.

There are a lot of things we need to work on for the Gold Cup, like our tactical awareness, said Attin-Johnson. The Central American teams are more tactically disciplined than us and we need to work on that going into the Gold Cup.

The striker, who scored T&Ts winning goal in its encounter with Guatemala, added: We need a little more preparation, and if we can get some assistance that would be great.

Attin-Johnson said teams like the US play top teams at least once a month, and if T&T are to be competitive when they meet the best teams in October, they need the same support.

She also pointed out that womens football in T&T has come a long way with the competition to make the team being a lot stiffer. She alluded to the fact that there could be a very different squad for the Gold Cup, from the one which played in the CAC Games.

There may be a whole different group of players for the Gold Cup, as there will be a lot more players available, especially with the U-17 World Cup finished.

Some of those younger players will be eligible for selection as well and this makes the final selection very difficult for the coaches.

Competition, she explained, will be good for the team, as it will raise the level of play, forcing players to step up.

It was not like that in the past, girls knew they were going to make it, due to the lack of available players, but every year, the pool is growing.
Title: Attin-Johnson cautious but optimistic as T&T women team go for glory.
Post by: Flex on August 08, 2014, 02:33:40 AM
Attin-Johnson cautious but optimistic as T&T women team go for glory.
By Inshan Mohammed.

The Soca Warriors Online (SWO) is asking its members and all T&T supporters to join in and support the T&T national women's football team as they embark on a journey to regain Caribbean supremacy, and at the same time qualify for the 2015 FIFA World Cup in Canada.

It is a task that is very much achievable but they have had a long string of disappointments and hiccups which may very well undermine the teams focus. Try telling that to Maylee Attin-Johnson. The womens team captain insists that she is not letting anything stand in her way, and pretty face notwithstanding, she is totally the opposite when on the pitch; fighting to the end and leading by example.  She fits the mold thus, of a perfect captain.

Attin-Johnson may not have her full complement of troops with her in Houston, nor is she or any of the national women team being compensated while on international duty. This continues a trend over the past few years where they've had to play second fiddle to their international male counterparts, going months without playing any international games.  This while having local fans all over their case, expecting miracles.

Meanwhile, with no steady funding or sponsorship, the cash-strapped Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) had to pull rabbits out of their hats to get the team to Houston and in camp, a move which represents the first time in TTFA history that such an investment is being made in the Senior Womens program. The TTFA even had to go abroad for help when they got American Randy Waldrum to coach the team for free for the duration of the CFU Cup.

All is not well however, the team is missing a number of players who were left back in T&T because of ticket and visa issues, largely caused by a shortage of funds.  Spirits nonetheless remain high and the team is determined to prove that they have what it takes to get T&T womens football back on the map, by qualifying for their first ever World Cup at this level.

While the TTFA were pulling rabbits out of their hats Life Sports were the real magicians, they made $34 million dollars disappeared.

Trinidad and Tobago has now had a failed rogue Life Sport Programme which was specifically designed to help community groups and individuals in furthering plans, programmes and activities that foster the development of sport, facilitate athletic performance and engender community spirit.

Some of Life Sport beneficiaries are doing their best David Copperfield impression, making millions of dollars disappear from under the noses of the T&T government, and doing so with impunity. In fact, the penalty for malfeasance in public office and misappropriation of funds seems to be mere termination from office. Against this backdrop, these women footballers have gone without any sort of financial support, as some assume the burden of family and other responsibilities, yet still manage to drop everything and answer the call to represent their country.

Picture for a moment what a mere fraction of the infamous $34 million dollars would do to help these young ladies achieve their goal. It would be interesting to see the support, if any, that they would get from the government if they were to actually qualify for the 2015 Womens World Cup.

At any rate, enough of the socio-political commentary.  Despite the apathy which the women have often been forced to endure, they nonetheless harbor no ill-feelings and instead show massive commitment and dedication to the red, white and black as they aim to change the course of womens football in T&T and put their country back on the footballing map.

Captain T&T

Alongside from Ahkeela Mollon, team captain, Attin-Johnson happens to be one of this countrys most decorated current women players. She boasts a wealth of experience since graduating Diego Martin High School, representing Cumberland University in Tennessee and later Kennesaw State University in Georgia, making enough of a name for herself to have caught the eye of Womens Premier Soccer League team Issaquah Soccer Club. Attin-Johnson, now attached to local out-fit Central FC, is convinced that there is enough talent in the national pool to put a scare into any team on any given day.

With the likes of Tasha St Louis, Ahkeela-Darcel Mollon, Karyn Forbes, Captain, Attin-Johnson and Janine Francois who can all turn heads in midfield, clinical finishers like Anique Walker, Mariah Shade, Joe Marie Lewis and in-form Tobago-born striker Kennya Cordner, there is enough fire power to make the team competitive. Then you have the defense that helps anchor the boat in Arin King, Rhea Belgrave and Taylor Mims. Last but not least, theres the experienced Kimika Forbes standing tall between the uprights.  Any which way you cut it, this team is rich with talent, and probably one of the most-talented teams to come along in a while.

All this without mentioning players who are not at the Houston camp (for obvious reasons) but who could add further depth to this current team should they progress. Among these, Camille Borneo, Maria Mohammed, Linfah Jones, Jessica DeLeon, Liana Hinds and Lauren Schmidt come to mind.

The main focus for now is on winning the CFU however, and the Soca Princesses should relish their chances of qualifying, having been drawn in a group comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Martinique and St Kitts & Nevis.  Today, the Soca Warriors Online (SWO) would like to spotlight our national women's team as they prepare to do battle from August 19-26.

We managed to catch up with team captain, Attin-Johnson who was very kind enough to take the time off her busy Houston training camp to do a brief Q&A with the SWO.

How has the experience been thus far under new coach Randy Waldrum, do you think he has made a difference since his appointment?  And also, the Houston experience, how has it been there?

MAJ: The experience with coach Randy has been excellent thus far. He brings a different perspective which is needed for the next level. He is a very forward-thinking person and I believe the difference that he will make is in the fundamental aspects of the game we take for granted. For instance we have done more shooting in a week than we have done in probably two years. Also set pieces are an aspect of the game that we take for granted and we have started to work on this aspect with the new coaches. So he is definitely moving in the right direction.

I also admire how he is very straight-forward and how he commands the attention of the players. His sessions are very structured and well organized. He emphasizes a lot on the technical and tactical aspects of the game. Thus far the players have bought into his philosophy and professional approach. Every session has been productive and fun-filled. The Houston experience has been extremely, extremely HOT!!!, that may be an understatement but I must say the chemistry of the team has improved and the energy in the camp is where we need it to be.

Who are some of the teams you guys are going to face while there. I heard that Mexico has pulled out of the friendly against T&T?

MAJ: It's unfortunate that we won't be playing a high profile team as Mexico however we will compete against the Houston Dash which is a professional women's team here in Houston, as well as the Houston University and Houston Baptist University.

Can you tell us the players in the camp including the foreign-based players.

MAJ: Maylee Attin-Johnson, Kennya Cordner, Tasha St. Louis, Karyn Forbes*, Kimika Forbes*, Rhea Belgrave*, Tinesha Palmer*, Janine Franois, Patrice Superville, Jonelle Warrick, Arin King, Dernelle Mascall, Jo-Marie Lewis, Afiyah Matthias, Shenelle Henry, Annalis Cummings, Kennya Charles, Sherine Scott*, Mariah Shade, Khadisha Debesette*, Khadidra Debesette*, Anyana Russell*, Lauryn Hutchinson*, Taylor Mims, Anastacia Prescott, Janelle Magee, Christina Joseph... (*expected to arrive by Friday).

Are you satisfied with the TTFA in how they are handling the team with the visa issues etc? As we understand, half of your teammates are still in Trinidad and Tobago. Do you see a chance of the new TTFA making a difference.

MAJ: That's an unfortunate situation (with the visas) and the reality of the matter is that everything is tied into funding. We all know the magnitude of the battle that TTFA is fighting due to past failures. I can put my hands up and say I have criticized the association in the past but I also believe that they're willing to do what it takes to improve the situation that we have been facing. We can either sit back, criticize and judge or we can suggest solutions. As I said to the General Secretary [Sheldon Phillips] I would love to work hand in hand with the association to help garner support for the women's program. Sometimes we need to be proactive instead of reactive and that's something that I'm learning.

As tough as it is with the team being half in Trinidad and half in Houston the show must go on. Only when you're in the kitchen you will feel the heat. I honestly believed that the team needed a different environment, positive energy and most importantly quality sessions. The only other option would be to stay home and stick with the same program. In my estimation the Association is doing all they can with the little resources they have and the amount of obligations they're facing. What I would love to see is more government and corporate support, not when the bumpy roads are crossed but before we journey across them.

Do you guys get paid while on international duty.

MAJ:  We don't get paid, we usually get a stipend.

Who are some of the exciting players we could look forward to?  In other words, who do you feel will cause havoc for opposing teams?

MAJ: I think each player will bring about some type of excitement in their own way, however I do believe Kenya "Yaya" Corner will set the field on fire. I also think once Ahkeela "Darcel' Mollon is available for the Concacaf rounds the both of them will cause some havoc. In terms of potential and newness we need to look out for Jo-Marie Lewis and Shenelle Henry. But we are looking forward to each player bringing some sort of excitement to the team and to the game.

As I understand, the team has talent but is lacking in fitness (which is understandable given the lack of preparations among other small hiccups). Now that the team is preparing for the 2014 Caribbean Cup tournament and despite relatively a weaker group which T&T has drawn, how serious are you guys taking these games and is the team fitness improving? As you know playing international football is a lot different to friendly games.

MAJ: We respect every opponent that we face regardless of strength or lack thereof. We aren't going to take these games likely because by the end of the day we know we are number one in the Caribbean and teams will be targeting us. When it comes to the fitness aspect, we don't want to look past the CFU however we do believe we can get away with not being 100% fit at Caribbean level but at CONCACAF level it will be challenging. At this particular period it's not smart to overload sessions so we need to be smart and manage every aspect of the game going into this final leg of CFU. So far a trainer has completed a couple fitness test with us and from the results he will develop a program for each individual specifically which will help enhance the fitness aspect.

Who are some of your favorite players (men and women) and who inspire you as a player.

MAJ: My favorite player growing up was Alessandro Del Piero. I don't have a favorite player on the women's side but I do respect Christine St. Claire, to me she does more with less than any other of the big name players.

What are some of the changes you would like to see in T&T women football?

MAJ: I would like to see a better structured league because we need to have players playing on a more consistent basis if we want to continue improving our pool of players for the national setup. One change I would love to see is corporate Trinidad as well as the government being more proactive by sponsoring and empowering our young ladies.

In 2010 you were appointed Manager of Women's U-20 Team. Following your appointment we did not heard anything from you. What happened?

MAJ: When I completed my studies in 2009 I decided to take some time off from football due to injuries (3 ACL surgeries) I got an opportunity straight out of school which I was appreciative of, however the passion I had for football at that time wasn't administratively, it was how fast could I get back on the field, so I never pursued being a manager after the under 20 tournament was over. That's probably why you haven't seen or heard from me in that aspect. Today I'm still faced with the same knee issues but until I believe I can't compete at a high level I won't stop.

Have you ever visited the SWO and if yes, what are your thoughts.

MAJ: I have and I think it definitely keeps the average fan/supporter in the loop about T&T football and footballers both locally and internationally. The fan forum is hilarious, looking forward to the comments about this interview... (smile)....

Copyrights of the Soca Warriors Online - Any press using the following article written by Inshan Mohammed are welcome to do so providing they reveal the source and writer. Furthermore, no portion of this article may be copied without proper credit as well.

Title: Re: Attin-Johnson cautious but optimistic as T&T women team go for glory.
Post by: Tiresais on August 08, 2014, 05:52:24 AM
She's got a good head on her, and it's gotta take a huge amount of determination to come back from that many surgeries. I'm feeling more confident :)
Title: Re: Attin-Johnson cautious but optimistic as T&T women team go for glory.
Post by: Sam on August 08, 2014, 06:36:49 AM
She's got a good head on her, and it's gotta take a huge amount of determination to come back from that many surgeries. I'm feeling more confident :)

She's got a good ass on she too. One of de sweetest women to play for T&T. I go catch ah Grenade for she. Ah moving like Narine, look oman, lie dong in that bed for meh they.

Flex, you did ah boss interview here dread, de best sport writer in T&T currently. Good job, good writing, de TTFA should give you a wok. Maylee did very well with her answers, she should be groom to be a coach and place on the T&T women team.

Big up to de TTFA for helping these ladies out, we f00cking government is a bunch of criminals.

Good luck T&T, would like to see Liana Hinds and Lauren Schmidt call up, ent Sheldon say he calling all these players up? they already in de States, why they wasn't called?

So from my understanding, if they come in de first place in de CUF they qualify for de World Cup?

Allyh help meh nah.

Post by: Jack Horner on August 08, 2014, 08:04:18 AM
Attin is a very nice person and Darcel also, they both have good shoulders on their heads.

I was happy when Jack had given Attin the manager position a few years ago too bad she left or else she would have been the coach today.

Very good job by the TTFA, Sheldon is doing much better than his father did in the entire time he was here.

I wonder who is the mysterious money source?

Flex, your article was well digested and well balance, Lasana could take a page from you, he writes one set of kaka all the time, good job by both individuals.

Anil mess up a good life sport programme that Jack invented, when Jack left, Anil lost his way.

I was to say good luck to the T&T women team, while Jack may not be here to support you guys financially, we would still like to extend our support.

The only thing going for T&T football is this website.

Post by: Flex on August 08, 2014, 08:37:47 AM
Yesterday's Results.

T&T 3 (Tasha St Louis, Mariah Shade, Janelle Magee) vs Houston Baptist University 0.
Post by: Bakes on August 08, 2014, 09:07:24 AM
She's got a good ass on she too. One of de sweetest women to play for T&T. I go catch ah Grenade for she. Ah moving like Narine, look oman, lie dong in that bed for meh they.

Come nah man Sam, better than that.  This young lady's family might be on here reading her interview.

Attin is a very nice person and Darcel also, they both have good shoulders on their heads.

I was happy when Jack had given Attin the manager position a few years ago too bad she left or else she would have been the coach today.

Very good job by the TTFA, Sheldon is doing much better than his father did in the entire time he was here.

I wonder who is the mysterious money source?

Flex, your article was well digested and well balance, Lasana could take a page from you, he writes one set of kaka all the time, good job by both individuals.

Anil mess up a good life sport programme that Jack invented, when Jack left, Anil lost his way.

I was to say good luck to the T&T women team, while Jack may not be here to support you guys financially, we would still like to extend our support.

The only thing going for T&T football is this website.

You take yuh meds this morning? lol
Post by: Bakes on August 08, 2014, 09:12:29 AM
Attin-Johnson cautious but optimistic as T&T women team go for glory.
By Inshan Mohammed.

Are you satisfied with the TTFA in how they are handling the team with the visa issues etc? As we understand, half of your teammates are still in Trinidad and Tobago. Do you see a chance of the new TTFA making a difference.

MAJ: That's an unfortunate situation (with the visas) and the reality of the matter is that everything is tied into funding. We all know the magnitude of the battle that TTFA is fighting due to past failures. I can put my hands up and say I have criticized the association in the past but I also believe that they're willing to do what it takes to improve the situation that we have been facing. We can either sit back, criticize and judge or we can suggest solutions. As I said to the General Secretary [Sheldon Phillips] I would love to work hand in hand with the association to help garner support for the women's program. Sometimes we need to be proactive instead of reactive and that's something that I'm learning.

As tough as it is with the team being half in Trinidad and half in Houston the show must go on. Only when you're in the kitchen you will feel the heat. I honestly believed that the team needed a different environment, positive energy and most importantly quality sessions. The only other option would be to stay home and stick with the same program. In my estimation the Association is doing all they can with the little resources they have and the amount of obligations they're facing. What I would love to see is more government and corporate support, not when the bumpy roads are crossed but before we journey across them.

It is refreshing to see her adopt such a positive attitude in light of some of the past nonsense she herself has had to put up with.  She displays a balanced mix of praise, realism and optimism.  As someone who is closer than most to the situation she should be best positioned to criticize, yet even she recognizes the honest efforts that are being made.  I wish her the best as she attempts to regain the form that made her an NAIA All-American and WPSL professional... and will be rooting the ladies on in the tournament.
Post by: Sam on August 08, 2014, 09:21:53 AM
Like Jack Horner take he tablet this morning.

Bakes, she is ah Trini, she could take ole talk.

Ah love she bad bad.

She like Radica.

Post by: Jack Horner on August 08, 2014, 09:47:27 AM
Sam, I took my tablet this morning, did you?

Sancho, Kelvin Jack and the 2006 Soca Warriors need to read this article.

These women are playing for FREE, they put their country first.

Male footballers even this ones today, not playing even if they get a dime short, they whining and complaining.

Good example by these ladies.

I hope they get a little more in time.

I like the women team because of their attitudes.

I am familiar with the Debesette sisters, and they have really great attitudes.

Post by: supporter on August 08, 2014, 10:08:25 AM
Why isnt Lauren Schmidt in the squad?
Post by: Sam on August 08, 2014, 10:18:14 AM

De last time she was made captain, de whole country was beefing.

Yuh feel they go call she back now.

Post by: Mose on August 08, 2014, 01:45:52 PM
Sam, I took my tablet this morning, did you?

Sancho, Kelvin Jack and the 2006 Soca Warriors need to read this article.

These women are playing for FREE, they put their country first.

Male footballers even this ones today, not playing even if they get a dime short, they whining and complaining.

Good example by these ladies.

I hope they get a little more in time.

I like the women team because of their attitudes.

I am familiar with the Debesette sisters, and they have really great attitudes.
:bs:

Kenwyne been playing for the NT for free. And given the financial state of affairs probably the rest of the team too.
Jack, Sancho and de rest of dem get blacklisted when dey ask for what was promised to them.
Post by: Tiresais on August 08, 2014, 01:49:39 PM
Like Jack Horner take he tablet this morning.

Bakes, she is ah Trini, she could take ole talk.

Ah love she bad bad.

She like Radica.

Doesn't mean she should man - someone talk like that about your daughter? Anyway she's a footballer, and your comments are about her other assets - a microcosm of why women have to fight for their right to be taken seriously. I ain't see you talking about how Kenwyne looks good in shorts :p
Post by: supporter on August 08, 2014, 02:32:17 PM

who was beefin? She did well, as did the whole team.
Post by: Sam on August 09, 2014, 10:43:00 AM

who was beefin? She did well, as did the whole team.

Trinis can captain too! (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=51009.msg692272#msg692272)

Post by: Errol on August 10, 2014, 05:36:17 AM
Very good answers by Johnson.

Always like this player but Tasha is my favorite, that girl could dribble good to.

When and where exactly are the games? I know they are in T&T, but where and what time?

I hope the new MoS reads this.

Post by: Deeks on August 10, 2014, 05:59:19 AM

Which whole country? The whole does follow football? The whole country don't know who on that team.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 10, 2014, 08:22:20 PM
The experience with coach Randy has been excellent thus far. He brings a different perspective which is needed for the next level. He is a very forward-thinking person and I believe the difference that he will make is in the fundamental aspects of the game we take for granted. For instance we have done more shooting in a week than we have done in probably two years. Also set pieces are an aspect of the game that we take for granted and we have started to work on this aspect with the new coaches. So he is definitely moving in the right direction.

Bada boom bada bing.

I also admire how he is very straight-forward and how he commands the attention of the players. His sessions are very structured and well organized. He emphasizes a lot on the technical and tactical aspects of the game. Thus far the players have bought into his philosophy and professional approach. Every session has been productive and fun-filled.

The skipper sharing licks sharing, and allyuh playing allyuh eh know.
Post by: Debbie on August 11, 2014, 09:23:08 AM
Well done flex, it's about time someone spotLight our ladies.

Atti..... my good friend,  good luck ladies. ....

Love you all.

SWO is number one.

Post by: Tallman on August 14, 2014, 02:23:05 PM
Reinvigorated Soca Princesses eye Canada prize
FIFA.com

Trinidad & Tobagos rare adventures in front of a global audience have been both spirited and resolute. On two recent occasions the 2006 FIFA World Cup and the 2010 FIFA U-17 Womens World Cup the national team was managed by highly regarded imported coaches. Leo Beenhakker and Even Pellerud both ensured the Caribbean nation of just 1.2 million inhabitants punched well above its weight.

Trinidad & Tobago are now looking to achieve a new landmark by qualifying for the newly-enlarged FIFA Womens World Cup Canada 2015. The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association are putting significant resources into their campaign, and with history no doubt in mind, they have recently appointed American Randy Waldrum, a career womens coach with a track-record of success at various levels.

The Texan native already holds down the head coaching position at NWSL side Houston Dash following a quarter of a century of involvement in college football, including 15 years at the famed Notre Dame University, plus a brief stint as Trinidad & Tobago U-17 coach.

Investing for success
The first step will be next weeks hosting of the Caribbean Football Union Womens Championship; an important milestone on the road to Canada 2015. Hosting the tournament is further evidence of T&Ts ambitions in womens football. So too is Waldrums appointment, and an intense two-week camp organised for the Soca Princesses in Houston over the past fortnight.

The big difference will be making financial investments over the years to grow the womens game, Waldrum tells FIFA.com about the prospects of future development in the region. Trinidad & Tobago now has a semi-professional national league, and T&T are currently competing creditably in the CONCACAF U-15 Championship. Waldrum paid tribute to the federation for their newly enhanced commitment to womens football. It is a huge step (sending the team to Houston) and probably the first time they have made such a financial commitment and Im really excited about it.

New landmark the goal
T&T will be joined be joined by seven preliminary stage qualifiers for the upcoming eight-day tournament, which concludes on 26 August. On offer to the top four is passage to Octobers continental championship in the United States.

Waldrum says qualifying for Canada 2015 is an attainable goal, one that would provide impetus to womens football across the region. We have a good group, Waldrum says of his T&T squad. We will try and get as organised as possible in this two-week period, and hopefully qualify. Then we would have six weeks to prepare for the CONCACAF tournament.

If we qualify (for Canada 2015) it would be a first for the Caribbean. It would be a good boost for womens football in Trinidad and maybe for the region itself. Im hopeful good things can happen, but Im not taking anything for granted by any means.

Three and a half spots are on offer in CONCACAF, including a play-off against the third-best South American nation. World No1 USA and the vastly improved Mexico have the inside running and Waldrum says the contest for the remaining spots is wide open, listing Costa Rica, Puerto Rico and Haiti - managed by respected womens coach Shek Borkowski - as just some of the nations with lofty ambitions. It is as good a chance as there has ever been for a Caribbean nation to get in

Most of the Soca Princesses squad are based domestically, with a few currently plying their trade in the United States college system. Among the better known squad personnel are one-time Seattle Reign forward Kennya Yaya Cordner and inspirational captain Maylee Attin-Johnson.

He (Waldrum) brings a different perspective which is needed for the next level, said Attin-Johnson. He is a very forward-thinking person and I believe the difference he will make is in the fundamental aspects of the game that we take for granted. The chemistry of the team has already improved. We aren't going to take these games lightly because at the end of the day we know we are number one in the Caribbean and teams will be targeting us.
Post by: Sam on August 21, 2014, 09:07:27 AM
Flex, ask she why we f00cking best player (Mollon) not on de field?

Ah hope Johnson eh playing politics, ah like she, doh loose that.

Post by: Tiresais on August 21, 2014, 04:06:35 PM
Flex, ask she why we f00cking best player (Mollon) not on de field?

Ah hope Johnson eh playing politics, ah like she, doh loose that.

I don't think she picks the team sam :p
Post by: Narada on August 21, 2014, 05:34:15 PM
Working with Ahkeela has afforded me the right to offer my opinion. She is in my view our most successful female player, from USC to now. I have heard before my working with her that there were issues with the NT. We have decided the past is behind us. 12 MVP's, 8 goals and 90 minutes in all games to date in Sweden. As any top player her club is hesitant to left her go now in the middle of their campaign. She has an excellent contract that will end in October. I would say if TnT qualifies for the October round, once God permits, the 'Swedish-based darling' will make that squad. Let us use statistics to evaluate players and I would ask the SW family to ensure we call for her in that squad.

https://www.facebook.com/TBLSportsManagementTT/photos/a.1418277925123664.1073741828.1418253265126130/1433060763645380/?type=1&theater
Post by: Sando on August 21, 2014, 06:56:46 PM
I like Mollon, I hope she gets the call, Lauren Schmidt also.

Post by: Flex on August 28, 2014, 02:11:10 AM
Attin-Johnson: Independence gift.
Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

T&T Senior Womens Team captain Maylee Attin-Johnson says her teams 1-0 victory over Jamaica in the final of the 2014 Caribbean Cup was an Independence gift to the nation.

Speaking after Tuesdays win at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Attin-Johnson, appealed for whatever assistance corporate T&T could offer the team as they look ahead to the Concacaf final round in the United States in October.

Whatever it could be. it could be in the form of energy drinks for our recovery. I think people have seen that we are striving towards something and we have achieved some success, she said.

I told the girls tonight that when our legs give up, play with our heart and thats what we did to pull off the win over Jamaica.

Tasha St Louis, the tournaments topscorer with seven goals, was delighted with the teams success and her goal scoring form.

Weve waited a very long time. As coach said, some of us have given ten or twelve years of our lives to football and it feels good to win the title. But the job is far from over because going to a World Cup is what we want to accomplish, St Louis said.

Well break for a little and then get back on the training pitch before the tournament in October. Thats the one we have our eyes on, she added.

Post by: asylumseeker on August 28, 2014, 08:32:31 AM
Attin-Johnson: Independence gift.
Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

T&T Senior Womens Team captain Maylee Attin-Johnson says her teams 1-0 victory over Jamaica in the final of the 2014 Caribbean Cup was an Independence gift to the nation.

Speaking after Tuesdays win at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Attin-Johnson, appealed for whatever assistance corporate T&T could offer the team as they look ahead to the Concacaf final round in the United States in October.

Whatever it could be. it could be in the form of energy drinks for our recovery. I think people have seen that we are striving towards something and we have achieved some success, she said.

I told the girls tonight that when our legs give up, play with our heart and thats what we did to pull off the win over Jamaica.

Tasha St Louis, the tournaments topscorer with seven goals, was delighted with the teams success and her goal scoring form.

Weve waited a very long time. As coach said, some of us have given ten or twelve years of our lives to football and it feels good to win the title. But the job is far from over because going to a World Cup is what we want to accomplish, St Louis said.

Well break for a little and then get back on the training pitch before the tournament in October. Thats the one we have our eyes on, she added.

Ah hope she eh mean Red Bull ...
Post by: Flex on October 29, 2014, 01:57:41 AM
T&T skipper: Priceless lessons learned.
By Donstan Bonn (Express).

National senior womens football captain, Maylee Attin-Johnson, believes that despite her team missing out on two opportunities to qualify for next years FIFA Womens World Cup in Canada, the lessons learnt were priceless.

T&T missed out on automatic qualification when going under to Costa Rica by penalties after their 2014 CONCACAF Womens Championship semi-final matchup finished 1-1 at the end of extra time. They would later squander a similar opportunity when suffering a 4-2 extra-time defeat at the hands of Mexico in the third-place playoff after holding a 2-1 advantage.

Speaking to the Express following a press conference at the VIP Lounge, Piarco International Airport on Monday, Attin-Johnson said the Costa Rica match was a very tight encounter.

Penalty kicks are always like Russian Roulette as it can go either way.

I dont think it (the loss) was a matter of us not being focused, but after playing for 120 minutes and then having to contend with that was a bit difficult, but we were able to put that behind us and go on to put up a good fight against Mexico.

Against the Mexicans, however, she believes they allowed themselves to waver a bit.

In that match I think we allowed the euphoria of the moment when we went up 2-1 to get the better of us. We lost focus and I believe its a situation we have since learnt from, she said.

T&T has one final opportunity to qualify for the World Cup when they face Ecuador in a two-leg playoff with the South Americans hosting the first leg on November 8 and T&T at home in the return leg on December 2.

When questioned on the teams plans to cope with playing in the above sea-level conditions they will encounter in Ecuador, she responded: I believe the honourable Minister of Sport is trying to get us out to Mexico by Wednesday (today) so we would be able to train at high altitude for six or seven days and then back to normal atmospheric conditions.

The aim is to do it in a scientifically-proven way so that we can be acclimatised to above sea level conditions we will have to play under in Ecuador so were hoping that plan comes through as soon as possible and we start our preparation from there.

Attin-Johnson said she cannot say for sure if any member of the team had previous experience of playing in South America and as far as she can recall, one previous match in Mexico was their only experience of playing at high altitude.

She said they are going into the games against Ecuador with the motto performance beats old talk any day.

Post by: Flex on October 29, 2014, 06:43:29 AM
Attin Johnson: Theres a fairy tale story in this.
By Andrew Gioannetti (Guardian).

Maylee Attin Johnson, captain of T&Ts womens national team, says there a fairy tale story will be written on December 2 when this country hosts the second leg of the Fifa Womens World Cup intercontinental playoff against Ecuador.

Attin Johnson was speaking at a reception hosted both by the Ministry of Sport and the T&T Football Association (TTFA) at the Diplomatic Lounge, Piarco International Airport, immediately upon the teams arrival from the US, where they came off a fourth placed finish at the Concacaf Womens Championship a day before. There is going to be a happy ending to this story. A fairytale one, she declared.

The fourth place finish assured T&T another attempt at qualifying for the World Cup by virtue of a two-legged meeting with Ecuador, which finished third in Comnebols World Cup qualifying tournament. On Monday, Attin Johnson formally addressed an audience which included a number of proud dignitaries from the T&T Football Association (TTFA) including president Raymond Tim Kee and general secretary Sheldon Phillips, as well as the Minister of Sport, Rupert Griffith and representatives of TTFAs corporate sponsors.

Despite her teams best efforts in difficult circumstances, Attin Johnson admitted that the target set out was not met, but gave an assurance that her team will do everything possible to overcome the South American opponents.

As I told my teammates, performance beats old talk any day. I think we went out there to complete a mission and we didnt. But, God has a way where he gave us another opportunity and with opportunity, you can either take full advantage of it, or all it to pass you by.

I think weve had a lot of difficult times throughout out national team stay and we never allowed it to keep us down. And we are on a mission to ensure that our struggles do not become our identity. Come December 2, we would need full support, she added. Attin Johnson expressed pride in her players, each of whom she said stepped up when called upon, in spite of their own perception that the team lacked depth.

All the struggles that we endured over the past few weeks, not only off the field, but, you know, weve pushed some of the best Concacaf teams to the edge and the most important thing is that we left everything out on the field, so there was no regrets. Throughout that entire tournament, we havent fielded our full team. We had Janine Francois out, Tasha St Louis a shell of herself due to injury, Karyn Forbes, Ayanna Russell...

Its been difficult, but we have a great coach. He trusts in each and every player and every player he called on, stepped up big time for us. We showed that in this tournament, where we could hold the mighty US to a 1-0 (loss). And, in that game we had a couple opportunities that we could have scored.

Attin Johnson said her team played with heart, grit and determination but given the circumstances, the players could offer little more. But most importantly, we still believe. God gave us another opportunity. There is going to be a happy ending to this story. A fairytale one. Come out there on December 2, and give us that support that we need. Hopefully, in these next few days the players who are injured or need to get game fit are able to do so.

Women Soca Warriors head to Mexico

The Women Soca Warriors will attempt to adjust to high altitude conditions, a strength of their Ecuadorian playoff opponents from tomorrow when they depart for Mexico City for a training camp. T&T will meet the South Americans at the Estadio Olimpico Atahualpa, in Quito, on November 8, from 2 pm (local time) in the first of a two-legged playoff for the last available spot between Concacaf and Comnebol, for next years World Cup in Canada.

The camp is expected to help the players cope with the conditions associated with playing at a high altitude including a decrease of oxygen.

The elevation of Mexico City is an estimated 2,250m above sea level and approximately 550m lower than Quito. At the conclusion of the training camp, the team will head straight to Ecuador. The second leg will be hosted by T&T three just over weeks later on December 2 at a venue to be determined.

Post by: Flex on October 30, 2014, 02:32:33 AM
Attin-Johnson: We became sisters during the tournament
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA)

T&Ts senior womens captain Maylee Attin-Johnson said that the period spent together by members of the team during the recent Concacaf Championship in the United States has left them a much tighter bunch than they were previously.

The players on the current roster would have been together for training camps in Trinidad over the past two years, another training camp in England and one in Houston as well as tournaments such as the Pan American Games in Guadalajara where they drew with hosts Mexico 1-1 in 2011 and the CAC Games. But Attin-Johnson said the recent trip has certainly topped the list.

Its been a fantastic experience with these young ladies. We became sisters during this tournament, she said.

We did everything as a team and we left everything out there on the field everytime we played a match. There were no regrets.

We gave everything and that is all we can ask of ourselves.

She noted that the next few days would be critical towards T&Ts qualifying chances as the team heads off to Mexico for a training camp before going to Quito for the away leg of the playoff with Ecuador on November 8.

We know everything is being done to ensure we get the best preparation possible but how we approach it and maintain our focus is the key right now. I strongly believe we can go there and get a result and then come back home and seal the qualification on December 2, said the Central FC player.

Post by: Flex on March 30, 2015, 04:16:40 AM
Maylee rips TTFA for destroying womens football
By STEPHON NICHOLAS (NEWSDAY).

Four months after the nation became captivated by the skill, perseverance and warrior spirit of a group of national footballers that came within a goal of qualifying for a World Cup, all seems to be lost.

Since losing 1-0 to Ecuador in the first-ever sold-out womens match on home soil on December 2 last year, the national womens team has not kicked a ball.

Like a wave that swells with increasing energy before cascading powerfully on the shore and then retreating quietly back to the ocean, so too TT womens football after the wave of excitement that gripped the nation in 2014 has receded into irrelevance and into a sea of empty promises.

National mens coach Stephen Hart recently lamented that his players had been inactive since losing the Caribbean Cup final to Jamaica on November 18 last year. He finally got the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) to organise a friendly against Panama last Friday.

The TT women are still waiting.

Their captain Maylee Attin Johnson, seething with frustration, lashed out at the administrators of the local game yesterday in a post on social networking site Facebook.

Everywhere I go people ask me, when are you all starting back training and my reply every time is good question. Epic failure by the TTFA. Donkey of the year goes to the TTFA. Dont need to kick another ball for TT under these people. Every time they treat the womens team like s...t Ill speak up about it and I mean EVERY TIME, she wrote.

Speaking to Newsday yesterday, Maylee, itching to build on the momentum of their 2015 World Cup campaign, said she is fed up of the lip service.

Ive seen that movie already. Theyre good at that. Theyre good at selling ice to the Eskimos and telling you what you like to hear. But this Eskimo is not buying anything you selling. Theyre good at destroying talent. Theyre good at that and its not much to say again. The more you talk is the less they do so its not much I can say, she fumed.

Maylee, 28 years old, admitted she is contemplating quitting the game but says she wants to do it on her own terms.

Without a doubt you always think about it but you cant really allow them to dictate when you retire from it. As frustrating as it is, you would like to have a good communication with them, she said.

Maylees Facebook post yesterday got over 180 likes with many commending her for her willingness to defend the rights of women footballers to be treated with the respect they deserve.

One Facebook user stated, Nothing new...Its things like this that discourage players to continue playing.

Post by: asylumseeker on March 30, 2015, 06:27:58 AM
Inactivity is par for the course in T&T football. Unfortunately.
Post by: dreamer on March 30, 2015, 08:32:52 AM
Expect the usual defenders of the status quo to start the attack and defend the TTFA blindly.  Doh be surprised if Maylee is called an expletive like Lasana was. Bunch of sickos. Saying my prayers for these people oui.
Post by: elan on March 30, 2015, 10:28:15 AM
Brace yuhself Maylee, people who were applauding you for stand by the TTFA a few months ago coming for you now.
Post by: Bakes on March 30, 2015, 04:16:18 PM
Didn't Sancho himself decide he was going to intervene and schedule friendlies for the women... and Colombia (I think it was) decided to cancel the friendly?  Nobody tell Maylee or what?
Post by: elan on March 30, 2015, 05:05:07 PM
Didn't Sancho himself decide he was going to intervene and schedule friendlies for the women... and Colombia (I think it was) decided to cancel the friendly?  Nobody tell Maylee or what?

That Darn Sancho. Why he have to meddle? The TTFA already had 3-4 friendlies for the women set up to play and Sancho cause them to cancel it, right?
Post by: Bakes on March 30, 2015, 05:10:28 PM
That Darn Sancho. Why he have to meddle? The TTFA already had 3-4 friendlies for the women set up to play and Sancho cause them to cancel it, right?

Common sense was never your forte... but looks like I've been giving you too much credit for reading comprehension too.
Post by: palos on March 30, 2015, 05:31:23 PM
The reality is the women footballers in a battle for scarce resources

The mens team will always be at the head of the line for said resources.  That's just the reality.

The women had it well within their grasp to jump significantly ahead in the queue.....and they blew it.

But T&T CANNOT sustain a fully functioning mens program, U 23, U20, U17, and U15 AND parallel women's programs.  They simply don't have the funds or sadly, the wherewithal.

Hell....the TTFF can't even pay coaches far less fund one team at a time

The irony is that the women had it within their power to change their own fortunes.  Due to T&T's band waggonist mentality, they would have received a certain level of corporate sponsorship which would not only have raised the profile of the womens game, but even helped to fund the mens program.....a role reversal if ever there was one.

But they lapse when all was in their favour. 

This is not Canada where the womens football program eclipses that of the men and more funds go towards womens football than mens football.  That's in part due to a cultural difference, but also because the Canadian women's soccer team does much better on the world stage than their mens team.  Of course there's no comparison between the two but the Canadian's don't business with that.

Maylee certainly has a justifiable reason to lament the way things are for womens football in T&T, but she and the other players of the team will always look back and wonder "what if"? 

The way things stand with football administration in the country, we simply lack the ability to properly administer the sport. 

Post by: elan on March 30, 2015, 05:39:52 PM

Common sense was never your forte... but looks like I've been giving you too much credit for reading comprehension too.

Quick with the attempted put down ain't ya.  :laugh:  You should try your level of comprehension. Sift through the myriad of thread you defending the TTFA in and see how taking a shot at Sancho in this case only continue to show your bias (I will be nice).

Post by: elan on March 30, 2015, 05:40:44 PM

The mens team will always be at the head of the line for said resources.  That's just the reality.

The women had it well within their grasp to jump significantly ahead in the queue.....and they blew it.

But T&T CANNOT sustain a fully functioning mens program, U 23, U20, U17, and U15 AND parallel women's programs.  They simply don't have the funds or sadly, the wherewithal.

The irony is that the women had it within their power to change their own fortunes.  Due to T&T's band waggonist mentality, they would have received a certain level of corporate sponsorship which would not only have raised the profile of the womens game, but even helped to fund the mens program.....a role reversal if ever there was one.

This is not Canada where the womens football program eclipses that of the men and more funds go towards womens football than mens football.  That's in part due to a cultural difference, but also because the Canadian women's soccer team does much better on the world stage than their mens team.  Of course there's no comparison between the two but the Canadian's don't business with that.

Maylee certainly has a justifiable reason to lament the way things are for womens football in T&T, but she and the other players of the team will always look back and wonder "what if"? 

The way things stand with football administration in the country, we simply lack the ability to properly administer the sport. 

Palos yuh right, but yuh wrong.
Post by: Bakes on March 30, 2015, 06:00:40 PM
Quick with the attempted put down ain't ya.  :laugh:  You should try your level of comprehension. Sift through the myriad of thread you defending the TTFA in and see how taking a shot at Sancho in this case only continue to show your bias (I will be nice).

...and hence the basis for my comment.  What you interpret as an "attempted put down" is just me stating facts, you read something and didn't fully comprehend what it is yuh read.  Same way you interpret my comment as "taking a shot at Sancho," when in reality what's stated is that even Sancho with his intervention couldn't secure a friendly for the women.  Evidently Maylee didn't know about this... because she seems to think that the TTFA has disregarded the women.

See how that works?  Anything else you'd like to bitch about today?
Post by: vb on March 30, 2015, 06:01:00 PM
Palos,

you make too much sense.

Post by: maxg on March 30, 2015, 09:20:32 PM
thanks Palos for spelling it out sensibly.. I drank yours when I posted..will buy you a couple more, but if yuh take to long to come thru..then  :chilling:  Pardna I sorry   ;D
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=63614.msg912208#msg912208
Post by: Controversial on March 31, 2015, 12:53:47 AM

a voice of reason in a crowd of ignorance.... nice on palos :beermug:
Post by: kounty on March 31, 2015, 09:38:29 AM

:beermug: I join the ranks of non-common sense-ers
Post by: elan on March 31, 2015, 10:18:25 AM

The continued development of the women's games should not and cannot be hinged on them qualifying for the world cup. That is asking them to be responsible for their development and them advancing the game. That is a very unfair ask of them. Yes, qualifying would have brought in some revenue that would have assist the program greatly. However, to lay such blame on the players is absolutely madness. The blame lay squarely at the feet of the TTFA. We keep coming up with ways to blame the players for the lack of football development in T&T and easing the burden of responsibility on the TTFA. That level of thinking, reason, rationalization needs to stop if we are to move forward and implement any sort of long-term development plan.

The players responsibility is to - within the established TTFA developmental programs - work diligent to improve on their ability to become better players. Germany, France, Belgium, England, USA, etc are all working tediously on different ways of bringing about success to their teams and players because they FAILED. Failure should spur innovation. In our case failure brings about a melancholic and apathetic attitude towards our football.

The men qualified for the WC so to did two [?] of our youth teams and here we are. The TTFA in the giddy days leading up to and after the Ecuador game promised that they will not allow the interest and momentum generated by the team go begging. What is the purpose of the TTFA? Are they responsible for anything? Why should everyone else do the heavy lifting and the TTFA ride along. I don't get it.

People go to the hospital to be treated, not to treat themselves. If that person dies, then should the hospital say, "Well they died so we no longer have to invest in the treatment that would have saved them? Their fault."
Post by: elan on March 31, 2015, 10:23:07 AM

...and hence the basis for my comment.  What you interpret as an "attempted put down" is just me stating facts, you read something and didn't fully comprehend what it is yuh read.  Same way you interpret my comment as "taking a shot at Sancho," when in reality what's stated is that even Sancho with his intervention couldn't secure a friendly for the women.  Evidently Maylee didn't know about this... because she seems to think that the TTFA has disregarded the women.

See how that works?  Anything else you'd like to bitch about today?

You can have another go at comprehending my original reply to you.
Post by: palos on March 31, 2015, 10:48:29 AM
The continued development of the women's games should not and cannot be hinged on them qualifying for the world cup. That is asking them to be responsible for their development and them advancing the game. That is a very unfair ask of them. Yes, qualifying would have brought in some revenue that would have assist the program greatly. However, to lay such blame on the players is absolutely madness. The blame lay squarely at the feet of the TTFA. We keep coming up with ways to blame the players for the lack of football development in T&T and easing the burden of responsibility on the TTFA. That level of thinking, reason, rationalization needs to stop if we are to move forward and implement any sort of long-term development plan.

The players responsibility is to - within the established TTFA developmental programs - work diligent to improve on their ability to become better players. Germany, France, Belgium, England, USA, etc are all working tediously on different ways of bringing about success to their teams and players because they FAILED. Failure should spur innovation. In our case failure brings about a melancholic and apathetic attitude towards our football.

The men qualified for the WC so to did two [?] of our youth teams and here we are. The TTFA in the giddy days leading up to and after the Ecuador game promised that they will not allow the interest and momentum generated by the team go begging. What is the purpose of the TTFA? Are they responsible for anything? Why should everyone else do the heavy lifting and the TTFA ride along. I don't get it.

People go to the hospital to be treated, not to treat themselves. If that person dies, then should the hospital say, "Well they died so we no longer have to invest in the treatment that would have saved them? Their fault."

Maybe bullet & bolded points will help:

1 - TTFF is not capable of properly administering the sport
2 - With the reality of substantial debt, corruption, and negligible revenue sources, T&T football cannot properly or fully fund, operate, or develop Mens AND Womens football
3 - TTFF is not capable of properly administering the sport
4 - The mens team will always come ahead of the women team
5 - TTFF is not capable of properly administering the sport
6 - The womens team had a golden opportunity to generate funds to help develop the womens game and they blew it.  The TTFF didn't go out on the field at home against Ecuador.  The players did.
7 - TTFF is not capable of properly administering the sport

If by some miracle, the TTFF was capable of properly administering the sport.....even in the face of substantial debt and negligible revenue....they would be extremely challenged to find room for both.

When last did the Jamaican women play?  When next are they scheduled to play?

Scotland lost in a WC qualification playoff to Netherlands in November 2014.  They haven't played since.....and their players play in a womens pro league

Post by: elan on March 31, 2015, 11:13:10 AM

Maybe bullet & bolded points will help:

1 - TTFF is not capable of properly administering the sport
2 - With the reality of substantial debt, corruption, and negligible revenue sources, T&T football cannot properly or fully fund, operate, or develop Mens AND Womens football
3 - TTFF is not capable of properly administering the sport
4 - The mens team will always come ahead of the women team
5 - TTFF is not capable of properly administering the sport
6 - The womens team had a golden opportunity to generate funds to help develop the womens game and they blew it.  The TTFF didn't go out on the field at home against Ecuador.  The players did.
7 - TTFF is not capable of properly administering the sport

If by some miracle, the TTFF was capable of properly administering the sport.....even in the face of substantial debt and negligible revenue....they would be extremely challenged to find room for both.

When last did the Jamaican women play?  When next are they scheduled to play?

Scotland lost in a WC qualification playoff to Netherlands in November 2014.  They haven't played since.....and their players play in a womens pro league

Jamaica played 2 games last week.

I agreed with all your bolded and bullet point. That however does not take  away from the points of the women's team being responsible for the lack of innovation from the TTFA.

The TTFA did not go out on the field, but they did not assist the women properly either to allow them to maximize their chances to achieve success. TTFA fault. These women did all that they could have done with the little that they had, and to ask more from them is squeezing blood from stone. It is very unfair to cast the women's team in such a light.

You can understand that the TTFA experiece limitation, but then turn around and castigate the players. How does that work?  :bs:  Why should the women have been successful when the TTFA is useless.

The women didn't blow any thing. They provided an absolutely amazing opportunity for the TTFA to capitalize on a very great opportunity and like always the TTFA sat on their hands. Look at how the Country was still all about the team in the days after their "failure". People was still lapping up the pride, the positive emotions, the joy they brought back to football in the country. They showed that the country will support football if it is meaningful and enjoyable.

After they "blew it" the players were still being sought out for public appearances on tv, radio, in-person interviews, they were seen as such a success that they was brought on stage by a soca artiste during carnival to thunderous applause by the crowd. And yet the useless TTFA could not and still cannot capitalize on this opportunity that these ladies created. Yet you castigate them as a failure.

No expectation of the TTFA, but place the success of our programs on the players. Good Luck with that.
Post by: Bakes on March 31, 2015, 11:13:22 AM

You didn't just join, you're a charter member.  I can't speak for the TTFA, but part of the consideration has to be that you want to play games for fitness etc., but you want to play against good teams, perhaps even better than you are.  The TTFA can't force teams to play the women Warriors... a friendly was discussed and negotiations made, but Colombia declined in the end.  It doesn't make sense convening a camp, running up expenses etc., just to sweat against a Guyana Select XI.  But by all means, let's bash the corrupt, inept TTFA for not pulling a friendly out of a hat.

And no, Colombia isn't the only team out there, but that's one opponent that we know of whom they tried to line up but couldn't secure.  Bottom line is that contrary to what Maylee suggests, they haven't neglected the women's program.  Blame them for the eventual failure to secure a friendly if you must, but  at the same time at least give credit for the attempt to see that the women got a game.
Post by: palos on March 31, 2015, 11:30:21 AM

I agreed with all your bolded and bullet point. That however does not take  away from the points of the women's team being responsible for the lack of innovation from the TTFA.

The TTFA did not go out on the field, but they did not assist the women properly either to allow them to maximize their chances to achieve success. TTFA fault. These women did all that they could have done with the little that they had, and to ask more from them is squeezing blood from stone. It is very unfair to cast the women's team in such a light.

Didn't the TTFA(F) hire Randy Waldrum.....reknowned American soccer coach and his staff?  Did this in any way help the team to improve?  Or should they have stuck with Jamal Shabazz?

The TTFA(F) is to blame for many things that plague our football.  I'm not here to defend them.  But in your zeal to cast blame, the TTFA(F) is a convenient scapegoat while completely absolving the players who did not do the job on the field.

That's part of our problem.  Is always somebody else fault and we often lack the ability to look within and wonder where I went wrong and what I can do to avoid a repeat in the future.

No expectation of the TTFA, but place the success of our programs on the players. Good Luck with that.
What are you?  4?  what kind of nonsense is that?

Steupes.   :frustrated:
Post by: elan on March 31, 2015, 11:40:52 AM

You didn't just join, you're a charter member.  I can't speak for the TTFA, but part of the consideration has to be that you want to play games for fitness etc., but you want to play against good teams, perhaps even better than you are.  The TTFA can't force teams to play the women Warriors... a friendly was discussed and negotiations made, but Colombia declined in the end.  It doesn't make sense convening a camp, running up expenses etc., just to sweat against a Guyana Select XI.  But by all means, let's bash the corrupt, inept TTFA for not pulling a friendly out of a hat.

And no, Colombia isn't the only team out there, but that's one opponent that we know of whom they tried to line up but couldn't secure.  Bottom line is that contrary to what Maylee suggests, they haven't neglected the women's program.  Blame them for the eventual failure to secure a friendly if you must, but  at the same time at least give credit for the attempt to see that the women got a game.

FFS with this apologist  :bs:

Jamaica played Bosto Breakers twice last week. NWSL teams were looking for pre-season games.

Maylee shouldn't have to understand anything. The TTFA is inept. You trying to place that in a position like it is a question.

I cannot get you all understanding of this thing. Why should they convene a camp just to run up expenditure? You serious with that. The players should only come together when there is a tournament. This is the women's game. It requires a different approach than that of the men's game. Let yuh pardner know that.

When Maylee was talking them up and spewing the :bs: they was selling people, you had no problem with her. But, anyone who dear challenge your beloved TTFA will feel your wrath.

Let me put this out there, Maylee has done much more for Women's football in T&T than yuh pardner has done, and apparently could ever do.
Post by: elan on March 31, 2015, 11:43:39 AM

Didn't the TTFA(F) hire Randy Waldrum.....reknowned American soccer coach and his staff?  Did this in any way help the team to improve?  Or should they have stuck with Jamal Shabazz?

The TTFA(F) is to blame for many things that plague our football.  I'm not here to defend them.  But in your zeal to cast blame, the TTFA(F) is a convenient scapegoat while completely absolving the players who did not do the job on the field.

That's part of our problem.  Is always somebody else fault and we often lack the ability to look within and wonder where I went wrong and what I can do to avoid a repeat in the future.

What are you?  4?  what kind of nonsense is that?

Steupes.   :frustrated:

So you're saying 2 months before WCQ is enough time to start preparations?

If I'm 4? Isn't that what you are saying in essence though. The gist of your post is that the women's should have qualified to allow the TTFA to help them (the women).
Post by: Bakes on March 31, 2015, 11:54:51 AM
FFS with this apologist  :bs:

Jamaica played Bosto Breakers twice last week. NWSL teams were looking for pre-season games.

Maylee shouldn't have to understand anything. The TTFA is inept. You trying to place that in a position like it is a question.

I cannot get you all understanding of this thing. Why should they convene a camp just to run up expenditure? You serious with that. The players should only come together when there is a tournament. This is the women's game. It requires a different approach than that of the men's game. Let yuh pardner know that.

When Maylee was talking them up and spewing the :bs: they was selling people, you had no problem with her. But, anyone who dear challenge your beloved TTFA will feel your wrath.

Let me put this out there, Maylee has done much more for Women's football in T&T than yuh pardner has done, and apparently could ever do.

elan I know better than to waste my time going back and forth with you on this... you have your mind set and made up that anything negative that happens to TnT football, it is because of the TTFA.  Anything positive that results, it is IN SPITE OF the TTFA.  But point out for me what "wrath" I visiting on Maylee... where have I even criticized her?   Other than that we could agree to disagree as usual and move on.
Post by: elan on March 31, 2015, 11:58:33 AM
Who is to blame for the condition of the roads? Drivers?
Who is to blame for the level of medical care? Patients?
Post by: Bakes on March 31, 2015, 12:36:16 PM

Just answer the question mopsy... where is the "wrath" or condemnation of Maylee?
Post by: asylumseeker on March 31, 2015, 12:49:24 PM
What about the issue of inactivity, tied to having a non-resident coach?
Post by: elan on March 31, 2015, 01:48:11 PM

Just answer the question mopsy... where is the "wrath" or condemnation of Maylee?

"Did Maylee not get the message" or whatever it was you said was making fun of her. Basically pointing and laughing. It is not the first time you have thrown shade at her for speaking out against the TTFA.
Post by: Bakes on March 31, 2015, 03:17:09 PM

I think the bigger issue might be having a coach who already has a full-time gig... I don't think the residency item is an issue, in the past they've held camps in the USA to accommodate him, and he has also deputized his son to serve in his absence.  So all in all I think if anything, it would be fitting games and prep time into his schedule.

"Did Maylee not get the message" or whatever it was you said was making fun of her. Basically pointing and laughing. It is not the first time you have thrown shade at her for speaking out against the TTFA.

Right, same way I was taking a shot at Sancho.  As I said, you'll see what you want to see.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 31, 2015, 06:10:56 PM

I think the bigger issue might be having a coach who already has a full-time gig... I don't think the residency item is an issue, in the past they've held camps in the USA to accommodate him, and he has also deputized his son to serve in his absence.  So all in all I think if anything, it would be fitting games and prep time into his schedule.

These are precisely the considerations at the centre of my question.
Post by: elan on April 06, 2015, 04:43:44 PM
Why have camps for the sake of having camps.

Roster announced for U20 WNT camp (http://www.topdrawersoccer.com/college-soccer-articles/roster-announced-for-u20-wnt-camp_aid36317)

After going undefeated in three matches at a friendly tournament in La Manga, Spain, in early March, the U.S. Under-20 Womens National Team will hold a domestic training camp from April 11-18 at the U.S. Soccer National Training Center in Carson, California. The event will be held in conjunction with a U-19 Womens National Team camp.

U.S. head coach Michelle French has called up 24 players 12 college players and 12 currently still playing for their youth clubs with 13 players born in 1996, seven in 1997 and three in 1998, including Jordan Harr and Mallory Pugh, both of who scored goals in La Manga. French will add one more player to the camp before it begins.

This age group is focusing on qualifying for the 2016 FIFA U-20 Womens World Cup, which has an age cut-off of players born on or after Jan. 1, 1996. FIFA recently announced that the tournament will be held in Papau New Guinea.

The U-20s will split its squad on Friday, April 17, to play matches against USC (4:45 p.m. PT) and UCLA (6:30 p.m. PT).
Post by: Bakes on April 06, 2015, 05:19:37 PM

People who drive Range Rovers doh study gas mileage.  Take yuh time.
Post by: elan on April 06, 2015, 05:35:59 PM

People who drive Range Rovers doh study gas mileage.  Take yuh time.

People who footing it doh study gas mileage either. You relax.
Post by: Flex on May 20, 2015, 01:59:34 AM
People powered projects launched.
By Sean Nero (Guardian).

Two of T&Ts most beautiful and talented women in sports have assigned themselves the task of becoming social champions for underprivileged youths with the singular aim of nurturing them to become models citizens.

Maylee Attin-Johnson, captain or the T&T senior womens football team and sports physician Dr Tonya Welch jointly unveiled individuals people powered project at the VIP Lounge at the Hasely Crawford National Stadium in Woodbrook, yesterday.

The dianaTon Foundation is the name given to Dr Welchs organisation, while the footballers project was called The Attin-Johnson Initiative.

While the former charity was developed on the grounds of the need for more focused guidance for youth, particularly young women, the latter aimed to act as an advocate of peace, unity and resilience through sport. 

Dr Welch said: In life everyone goes through difficult times. Growing up, I have always had a support system, through family and close friends and I always wonder how people without the support system, go through life. There were many times when I made a promise to myself that one day I will create a platform for people who didnt have what I had to get the help. It is the sincere hope that this Foundation, as well as Maylees Foundation would create that platform for some people who may not have been as lucky as I have been.

One of the main goals of the Foundation would be to help people who have been paralysed or debilitated by trauma or by accident and who need the help to get through life: to just give them that help, whether it be by wheelchair or the occupational therapy or the physical therapy or the medical help that they need just to be able to get by; because there are so many people living amongst us who are disabled and it breaks my heart to look at them and see the difficulties that so of the face.

Dr Welch described Attin-Johnson as an amazing woman, with an amazing future, and went on to declare that the courage and the drive of the footballer as a motivator.

Attin Johnson said she had been a voice of varying causes, but never her own and that the time for such an initiative was right.

I think it is about time! I am getting (too) old to be continuing playing football at a high level. It (the charity) was something I went ahead and did. My first initiative is the iron woman event, where I put on clinics for young girls at an earlier age

I started playing football around 11, 12 (years old) which is relatively an old age to start football or any sport. I want to create an Adopt-A-Kid Programme where you go and see who is in need and try and facilitate them and gave them hope to get out of their situation, she said.

Former national footballer and coach Everald Gally Cummings, who was at the launch endorsed the projects.

As co-host of a show called Field of Dreams, Cummings said he got to know her and what I realised they had a lot in common.

We have the same kind of attitude towards the T&T Football Association (TTFA). She is not afraid to speak her mind. She is passionate about the sport and she is very honest and truthful and this is how I have always been and I think that connected us.

When she invited me to this some weeks ago, I put off everything to be here. I havent seen many footballers around, but one thing I know, I had to be present today. She has the ability to motivate people. She is a true leader in the sense of leadership, because she is not afraid to stand up for her players.

She is very young. She could be my daughter, but I have learnt to respect her. I am very happy that I came here today. I will definitely talk to her and see in what area I can help in spreading the word, he said.

RELATED NEWS

Attin-Johnson, Dr Welch launch Foundations.
T&T Newsday Reports.  

NATIONAL women football captain Maylee Attin-Johnson, as well as former team doctor Dr Tonya Welch, launched their respective Foundations during a joint media conference at the VIP Lounge, Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo yesterday.

The Attin-Johnson Initiative will serve as a Non-Government Organisation (NGO) while the dianaTon Foundation, started by Dr Welch, was developed on the grounds of the need for more focused guidance for youth, particularly young women.

The 29-year-old Attin-Johnson, who have been involved in the national womens team for over a decade, gave the strongest indication that she is looking at other ventures, once her playing career is over.

Ive always remember being told if I put the commitment and passion that I have for football into anything else, it will surely be a success, she said. As scary as it may seem, I am eager to discover new adventures.

Concerning the Attin-Johnson Initiative, the easy-going Attin-Johnson stated, my focus and the main objective of this Foundation is to establish, operate and promote peace, unity and resilience through sport; to conduct and to promote a healthy lifestyle through sporting activities; and to assist society in a successful development of a golden future, focusing on the physical and social lives of under-privileged youths, empowering them to become heroes of excellence.

She pointed out, in retrospect, I realise there is more to life than just football, and its not always about Maylee Attin- Johnson, and its about empowering others.

Attin-Johnson extended her gratitude to God, her family and friends for assisting her towards her new venture.

In a subsequent interview, she admitted, I could have gone into some other business venture but this is what warms my heart.

I think if I can change one young girls or young boys life, Ive served a purpose.

Asked how her Initiative was conceptualised, Attin-Johnson replied, I have to thank Lorraine Ferguson, she was definitely one who pushed for me to actually get everything done.

Honestly, it just came about. Ive always been able to go and do motivational speaking, but never under my own initiative.

I think it was time. Im getting old, to continue playing football at a high level. So its just something that I went straight ahead and do.

And she expects to get the ball rolling as soon as possible. My first initiative will be the Iron Woman event where Ill put on a clinic for young girls at an earlier age, because I started playing football at 11, which is relatively an old age to start football, or any sport.

Attin-Johnson added, I want to create an adopt a child programme where you go and see who is in need, try and facilitate them and give them hope to get out of their situation.

Dr Welch, who worked with the national womens team during their unsuccessful 2015 FIFA World Cup campaign, said, growing up, Ive always had a support system with family and close friends. And Ive wondered how people, without such support, get through that.

She continued, there were many times that I promised myself that one day I would create a platform for people who didnt have what I had. Its my sincere hope that this Foundation, as well as Maylees Foundation, will create that platform for some people who may not have been as lucky as I have been.

Other speakers at yesterdays media conference were Vishani Murally, a current Miss TT World contestant; and Attin- Johnsons former teammate Jinelle James, who is presently the media officer of the TT Womens League Football (WoLF).

(http://www.guardian.co.tt/sites/default/files/field/image/foundation%20launch%20%285%20COLS%20GRAYSCALE%29.1.jpg)
Sports physician Dr Tonya Welch, left and national footballer Maylee Attin-Johnson during the launch of their respected foundations at the VIP lounge of the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port-of-Spain yesterday. Photo: MARCUS GONZALES

Post by: Sando on May 20, 2015, 03:40:47 AM
Very good Maylee, you should be leading the front line to take control of the TTFA.

They need young vibrant, bright, willing, ambitious heads like you.

Post by: asylumseeker on May 20, 2015, 03:19:06 PM
Maylee Attin-Johnson, captain or the T&T senior womens football team and sports physician Dr Tonya Welch jointly unveiled individuals people powered project at the VIP Lounge at the Hasely Crawford National Stadium in Woodbrook, yesterday.

Well done, ladies. :applause:
Post by: Flex on August 03, 2015, 04:55:00 AM
Attin-Johnson faces lengthy rehab process
T&T Newsday Reports.

MAYLEE ATTIN-Johnson, captain of the Trinidad and Tobago women football team, faces a lengthy rehabilitation process after sustaining a knee injury during the recent Pan American Games in Toronto, Canada.

According to Attin-Johnson, (last Thursday) I got a result from a doctor. I will need to do a lot of strengthening and physiotherapy. I will probably be out for two or three months.

About the injury, she reflected, I collided with a player. Those sort of things happen in games like that. We were against Mexico and it was unfortunate.

It (occurred during) the last tenminutes of the game.

Im (displeased) about that, she continued. Ive been through a lot of injuries before and this one will be no other. Ill be mentally ready to go through the rehab process, get back out on the field and do what I do best.

The Ross Russell-coached outfit drew 1-1 against Colombia and 2-2 against Argentina, before falling to a 3-1 loss to Mexico.

Looking back at the Games, Attin-Johnson said, weve been to the Pan American Games before. Its nothing new to us. (But) it was a bit different.

We (were) away from the Games Village, where there is the real experience, in terms of having to meet other athletes.

But, for us, in terms of playing, we did our best considering our circumstances and the lack of preparation that we had going into the Games.

We probably had a month or so to prepare and we were going up against teams that were coming off of the (World) Cup, she continued. They were already match-fit and they had that experience at that level. All the teams that we played in that tournament rank at least ten spots above us.

She pointed out, for us to hold Colombia and Argentina to a draw, was good. Unfortunately we (were) not able to come out with a win there.

The experience was fine but, were going to sound like a broken record with not having the preparation going into those type of tournaments.

Asked if there were any improvements in terms of the relationship with the players and the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), she bluntly replied, December 2 gone and the first time we started training was five to six months afterwards. Quite clearly that answers (the question).

The injury forced Attin-Johnson to miss the final matches with her team Chancellor Angels in the inaugural Womens Premier League (WPL).

I think it was a great idea, a great initiative, was her view of the WPL. Thank God it got off the ground because Im not sure if anyone would have thought of that idea and implement it the way that the Minister (of Sport Brent Sancho) did.

But the only thing that really hampered its is the national team leaving for three weeks to go to the Pan American Games.

The hype boiled down from the way we started. In terms of off- the-field, I think that the administration would have learnt a lot because a lot of them were new to something like this. I know if it happens next year, they would have that experience to know what not to do, and improve in that aspect, Attin-Johnson ended.
Post by: Sam on August 14, 2015, 02:02:01 AM
Look wha Maylee like allyuh.

(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/storyimage/TT/20150812/SPORTS/150819804/AR/0/AR-150819804.jpg&MaxW=730&imageversion=Article)

HAVING FUN: Captain of the Women Soca Warriors Maylee Attin Johnson, left, and Dwayne Bravo, skipper of the Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel team play with each other during the Sports Ministry Achievers Luncheon at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, Port of Spain, yesterday. --Photo: ANISTO ALVES

(http://cdn.meme.am/instances/59727472.jpg)

Post by: Flex on January 29, 2016, 05:18:07 AM
Maylee : Its a chance to right our wrongs.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago National Womens team captain Maylee Attin-Johnson says the opportunity to correct the mistakes that may have cost this country a place at the 2015 FIFA Womens World Cup is upon the team for the upcoming CONCACAF Olympic Qualifiers in the United States.

The T&T team is scheduled to depart on Sunday for Houston for a training camp ahead of their opening game against Guatemala at the BBVA Compass Stadium on February 11th.

The training sessions have been going quite well and exciting as well as intense. The players have responded really quickly to coach Hood and Coach (Rajeesh) Latchoo. We know it will be difficult but we are all going to give it our best shot, Attin-Johnson said.

Head coach Richard Hood stated that the captain along with the likes of the more experienced players such as Kennya Cordner, Ahkeela Mollon, Arin King and Tasha St Louis would have to shoulder the majority of the responsibilities in the tournament

Hes definitely correct about that. We have the experience at CONCACAF Level. Its up to us to hold each other accountable, Attin-Johnson said

Ive always told my players that this is our opportunity to rewrite our wrongs which saw us not accomplishing our goal in 2014. We have to go out like this is our last tournament for some of us as the senior players. It may not be that case but we have to treat it this way.

We have a great opportunity again. The Olympics is actually a lot more difficult to qualify for than the World Cup. We know the work that we have to put in and the standard which we have to play at in order to qualify, Attin-Johnson added.

Following the opening game against Guatemala, T&T will face Canada on February 14th and Guyana on February 16th. The top two teams in the group will advance to the semi finals with the two finalists moving onto the Rio 2016 Olympics.

Post by: Tallman on February 02, 2016, 04:58:58 PM
WATCH: One on one with Trinidad and Tobago Womens captain Maylee Attin-Johnson

https://www.youtube.com/v/Zaq-VAbV_9k
Post by: Flex on February 25, 2016, 02:44:18 AM
Attin-Johnson explores future options.
By TTFA Media.

National Womens Team captain Maylee Attin-Johnson isnt just ready to hang up her playing boots at age 29. A competitive drive and a crazy passion for the playing could possibly see her sticking around in national colours for a few more years. But she is not counting out the possibility of entering other areas of the sport.

Attin-Johnson has already had managerial experience on a past national womens youth team and recently completed a course in refereeing which she intends to further.

I will take some time to rethink my future because I am not getting younger. The FIFA refereeing program is something I will definitely look into but I really cant say exactly at this time what I will be going into, she said after the 5-0 defeat to the United States last Friday in the CONCACAF Olympic semi final round qualifier.

But I will be taking the refereeing a bit more serious because hopefully I can make a difference,. I am still very passionate about the game and I am very competitive so sometimes that hampers me from exploring other things but I will definitely take some time to reconsider my future, said the Central FC midfielder.

As to what she hopes to see in terms of the approach for the development of womens football in T&T she added: For most of us , we made the national team at age 15, 16, at a very young age but you are not getting that at this present moment because of the poor system that is in place at the primary and secondary schools level.

There needs to be greater investment at the grassroots level so that we can get better leagues where the girls can start at a younger age and gain the experience. It is about someone believing in the womens program and putting everything behind it in order for us to compete against the best of them.

Attin-Johnson is a graduate of Kennesaw State University and Cumberland College in the USA and has been the T&T captain for almost ten years.

Post by: Flex on July 20, 2017, 01:39:59 AM
Attin-Johnson non-committal to national return.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Shabazz opens doors to Morace outcasts

Apart from being heavily involved in the hiring process of Italian Carolina Morace, new womens team head coach Jamaal Shabazz was also the T&T Football Associations (TTFA) co-ordinator of programmes when former captain Maylee Attin-Johnson and star midfielder Kennya Yaya Cordner were suspended by Morace for breaking team rules, while Ahkeela Mollon quit soon after Moraces tenure began.

That banishment has left a bitter taste in Attin-Johnsons mouth and now that Shabazz is back in charge of the programme he helped build and led as either coach or technical at several intervals over the course of the last two decades, the midfielder is not ready to forgive and forget even though Shabazz has wiped the slate clean.

When Guardian Media Sports spoke to Attin Johnson yesterday, she said that while she does harbour hopes to play for the country again, her decision will not be easily swayed by Shabazz, a man whom she described as a father figure to her. The way the situation took place its a hard pill to swallow. Im trying to put that behind me but I know what Ive given to T&T on and off the field and for someone to be allowed to come in an disrespect our local heroes without any answers and all of a sudden shes gone, everything cannot be hunky-dory.

Attin-Johnson also stated that she could not think about taking up Shabazzs invitation until next year due to personal reasons and while she was in high praise of Shabazzs achievements in the past for the womens game in T&T, she held some reservations about his re-appoint after at least six years away. We all know that without Jamaal the womens programme would not have been able to accomplish the things that it has because he built it from the ground. That is not a matter of opinion, it is a matter of fact. But brining him back now I hope he has learned what it would take to get us over the top this time.

In 2011 Shabazz walked away from the womens senior team claiming that the programme needed fresh ideas.

Speaking with Guardian Media Sports yesterday, Shabazz stated his readiness to assume his duties this time and said: I did not have the full knowledge of the entire dispute, that is between the FA and her (Morace). But now that shes not here we have to face up to the fact and get on with the job.

Shabazz will not have a honeymoon period at the helm since, when Morace walked out, she took with her several staff members who were overseeing the age group programmes, and so it is now the job of the former Guyana senior mens coach to re-tool all departments as quickly and as seamlessly as possible.

I think the departure of the last coach with the under-17s having a tournament in just a couple weeks and the under-20s in January there needs to be some kind of assurance that we can pull this off. The players need to see something from the staff, a level of commitment. Were up for the task. We have been a part of building this programme since 1998 so coming in now it really is just trying to get everybody on the same page and pulling in the same direction and to focus on football.

He continued: There is the tendency when a change happens in football for the focus to be on politics. Obviously some would be pleased, some would be vex and others would wish it was them. But for me I want to focus on the football and refocus the minds of the players and the staff on the job ahead.

Shabazz told Guardian Media Sports that the senior programme along with the under-20 sessions will take a two-week break in order for both to be re-organised. Neither team has any major competitions this year. The under 17s will continue training for their Caribbean competition in August.

Post by: ANC2 on July 20, 2017, 07:17:44 AM
Just like when Jack Warner was in power. Same old same old.

Talk about a step back

A Board of Directors with their hands out taking scraps
No direct involvement in the decision making
Probably do not have to hand over fees collected as registration with TTFA (a form of payout)
A Dictator who has made more mistakes in a year and a half than any other President

A Forum that complains, but really cannot have an direct impact. How about a Banner that reads John Williams Out at the next set of TT Games ???
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 20, 2017, 08:18:16 AM
How about a Banner that reads John Williams Out at the next set of TT Games ???

I like this idea!
Post by: madness on July 21, 2017, 08:34:26 AM
I think that the new woman head coach is not going to get anything done. NO improvement NO development smh
Post by: palos on July 21, 2017, 12:23:39 PM
I think that the new woman head coach is not going to get anything done. NO improvement NO development smh

Maybe so.  But realistically....who else they woulda put?
Post by: Flex on December 11, 2018, 03:14:00 AM
It was heart-breaking! Maylee opens up about Morace, Shabazz, DJW and T&Ts disastrous W/Cup campaign.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

In 2018, two Caribbean teams qualified for FIFA World Cup tournaments for the first time. Neither were Trinidad and Tobago.

Haiti booked their place for the France 2018 Womens Under-20 World Cupafter finishing third at the Concacaf tournament hosted right here in Couvawhile Jamaica qualified for the senior 2019 World Cup, which will also be held in France.

So what has gone wrong for the Trinidad and Tobago women, who once ruled the region and came within minutes of qualifying for the Canada 2014 Womens Under-20 World Cup and 2015 Womens World Cup?

Wired868 asked former Women Soca Warriors captain Maylee Attin-Johnson as well as a current National Senior Team member to share their views.

Attin-Johnson spoke first.

Wired868: How do you think the team performed at the 2018 Concacaf Championship in USA?

Attin-Johnson: It turned out to be a disaster. It was difficult to watch because I know some of those players have sacrificed a lot for the womens program. There are players who just play for a program and there are players who change a program. And when you have a player like Arin Kingwho helped change this programlooking and sounding defeated, it was honestly heartbreaking to see.

When we mention Arin King, we are talking about a true warrior and someone who sacrificed a lot for our country. When you see Karyn Forbes go out there on a bad knee and playing for two [players], it is tough to look at.

No one could tell me that Panama has better players than us. I will defend that view with everything. But they sure as hell had a better game plan, they were more organised and, most important, they had proper leadership on and off the field; and that was the difference between us and every other team.

It was honestly heart-wrenching to watch; but I know one day, one day we will get it right.

Wired868: Did you want to be there, despite all the issues? And, if so, then why?

Attin-Johnson: Representing my country has always been an honour and privilege, its one of the greatest feelings in the world. So despite all the chaos and controversy, I still had that fire, that energy and passion in me to represent my country. There were many people asking me to return one last time to lead the team. My social media in-boxes were filled with messages urging and encouraging me to return and give it one last go.

Outside of that, some of the players called and messaged, urging me to return. I was prepared and fit, even though I was not part of the team for some time. I honestly believed with the right leadership, the team would have stood a chance of qualifying.

Wired868: What are your thoughts on what Kennya Yaya Cordner did in refusing to play against USA; and what would you have done if you were in the squad and she told you what was on her mind?

Attin-Johnson: If we have to speak about Yayas actions, we have to speak first about the actions of the technical director [Anton Corneal]. I know if we had a chance to qualify, I promise you that Fifa course [that he went to conduct] would have went on without him. Im not condoning or agreeing with what Yaya did but the actions of the subordinates are a reflection of the leadership.

As I told Yaya, if you wanted to take a stand, you should have never gotten on that plane in Norway [to come and play in the Concacaf tournament]. You dont wait until you have absolutely no leverage to effect change. I know she will learn from this, as well as grow past this. Shes a blessed individual and you cannot stop a star from shining.

Wired868: In this cycle, the Trinidad and Tobago Women were coached by Randy Waldrum, Anthony Creece, Richard Hood, Carolina Morace, Jamaal Shabazz, Anton Corneal and Shawn Cooper.

Can you say a little about how each did, based on your first hand experience?

Attin-Johnson: If I recall correctly Coach Randy only had the team for the US victory tour and was fired before he could have implemented his program. We all know the massive impact that Coach Randy had and I knowif he was given the opportunity to implement his proposalhe would have made a greater contribution to the program.

Mr Creece had the team that went to Brazil. That Brazil trip was a disaster before it even started, as that tournament collided with the US trip. I would say we took a Presidents XI team to that tournament. No matter what coach was there, it would have been difficult to do well, since most of the National players were on the victory tour in the US.

Coach Hood is someone who I grew to respect. He coached us some years before this cycle as well. In 2016, he became the first coach to qualify for the second rounds of the Concacaf Olympic qualifiers with little to no preparation. A lot of people may think thats nothing to highlight; but what people need to understand is that we play in the toughest region for womens football and the Olympic qualifiers is the hardest tournament to qualify for because only two teams advance.

He was a coach who had a plan and was very organised. Plus he had a very good assistant coach in Rajesh Latchoo. Coach Latchoo complemented him, so in areas where Coach Hood wasnt proficient, Coach Latchoo was able to step up and provide that assistance. I think that in itself helped to make the team successful.

Im sure who ever hired Carolina Morace, eventually realised she was a mistake. When Carolina was first hired, I was super excited at the thought of the heights she could take the program. I was willing to work even harder to be part of the program.

The first week every player had to try out [and] I would band my knee and go out and train. If I pushed off, turned left, right or cut, I would be in pain; but I still pushed through that entire week.

I remember in one of the sessions in that first week she said number nine, youre a lazy player. I did not take it personal because I knew she didnt know what she was talking about. Maybe in the moment I was lazy because God knows how much pain I was in.

The following week, the pain started to ease up and my movement was a little better, and the communication between us opened up. The second week, she came close to me and pinched my side, pretty much indicating you have to lose weight. Again I didnt take it personally; I took it as a challenge.

For the next four weeks, I gave up chocolate and meatall who know me, know how huge that was for me. I lost 12 pounds in four weeks. I did strength training in the morning for my knees and then trained in the evening.

Carolina never believed in strength training so I had to stop, which did more harm than good for me. Then came a time I felt my knee wasnt getting any better and I approached her with Dr Terrence Babwah and told her coach I think its best I shut it down because when you really need me I would be of no use.

She agreed and I started the PRP procedure for two to three weeks where Dr Babwah had to take my own blood and inject it back into the affected area with a huge needle.

I know you are wondering why do I need to go to so much depth about the procedure. But I need to. I need for people to understand that I was fully committed to this program and I was willing to do whatever it took. I remember having to leave home two in the afternoon for a 6 oclock session everyday. I had to pick up players in Cascade, then head to City Gate to pick up more players and then head to training before rush hour traffic.

We would train hard for two hours and after I would drop players off in front of their homes because I wanted to make sure everything ran smoothly; and I wanted to make sure I did my part as a leader.

I remember Darcel (Ahkeela Mollon) calling me venting for about 45 minutes telling me what the coach was dishing out to her. I remember telling her thats just how Carolina is, she is just blunt; and Darcel replied, Maylee its one thing to be blunt but its another thing to be cruel and very disrespectful. And as time went on, I came to realise what she was saying was true.

The falling out with myself and Carolina was a heated exchange of words between two highly opinionated, competitive and outspoken individuals. But I must say that the volcano didnt just erupt in one day. There was a lot of tension leading up to the explosion.

Carolina did not like anything under the sun in Trinidad and Tobago. Everything was sheeeeet. I listened to her disrespect the president, the technical staff and the facility management. The day we fell out, in her pre-game talk, she kept saying, you have accomplished nothing as a team. I felt that to be highly disrespectful, because if we had not made an impact as a team and as individuals, she wouldnt have had the opportunity to coach us.

There were so many red flags with Carolina, so many incidents that took place, that its difficult to process. Whoever hired her dropped the ball and they clearly didnt do due diligence on her. Just ask the Canadian Soccer Association!

She did not respect our culture nor did she respect our people. I would say the one thing she did, though, was destroy years of friendships as well as expose the people who allowed money and opportunity to control their loyalty; and I thank her for the latter.

When it comes to Jamaal Shabazz, hes coached me since I was 14. So anything he said was gold to me. No one could have told me differently.

He taught me the tactical and the social aspects to the game. He introduced me to Malcolm X books and taught me how to deal with the media at a young age. Im thankful for the part he played in my development and he knows theres nothing but love for him.

But it was not until I left Trinidad and was exposed to different coaching philosophies and perspectives, I realised there was more to football than I was privy to. Thats when I began to challenge him. We became two people with different perspectives and different desires when it came to winning.

I didnt have a problem initially when it was announced Jamaal was taking over because I thought, being out of the womens game for some years, he would have brought a different approach and perspective. That didnt happen and it turned into a familiarity-breeds-contempt type of environment.

I once said to him football has evolved tactically, technically and, most important, scientifically. I knew he was old school which was okay but he also surrounded himself with a technical staff that was old schoolso no evolving was going to take place. In the end, I wasnt willing to maintain the status quo.

We had some back and forth with that entire situation, where we were not able to agree. The one thing I would like to do is apologise to him for the way I handled the interview with [TV6 reporter] Joel Villafana. My father always told me when Im emotional or angry, do not speak or writeclearly I didnt listen.

As I told him, I meant what I said; however I should have been much more tactful in my delivery. I want to apologise to him for that.

I remember telling Anton Corneal in 2012 or 2013 that he was the only local coach we believed could help us to qualify for a World Cup. He told us then that hes the TD and wont be able to be viewed as a coach; but he would put someone to front and he will conduct the sessions.

During that time we went on numerous tours to Costa Rica, England and South Carolina. I remember Anton telling me Maylee, the only reason Im still here is because of you ladies and this womens program. So when I heard Anton resigned in early 2014 and our dream of going to the Canada World Cup was still alive, I felt as though he abandoned uswhich I also mentioned in an interview.

Fast forward four years and [Corneal] has now accepted the same position and is facing the same situation for which he said he resigned, four years earlier. During the time Jamaal was coach, I was told that Anton Corneal wasnt keen on me being part of the team. Obviously that didnt hold any weight with Jamaal; but it sure as hell had weight with Shawn Cooper.

I assume Anton took my comment about him abandoning the team to heart and held a grudgeor he probably thinks a half-chinee girl from the ghetto shouldnt be so outspoken, or shouldnt be so fearless to speak truth to power. Whatever it is, its no longer my business. It was never personal with me but heor theymade it personal.

Wired868: What can you say about what the TTFA provided (like training contracts) and failed to provide for this World Cup campaign?

Attin-Johnson: First the contract situation was a forward thinking idea; but it wasnt carefully thought out. Honestly we had players on contracts that should not even be on a national team. No standard was set, no accountability held and no visibility was created.

I remember telling the manager it was important that the players who were on contracts needed to market and bring some visibility to the womens program. They needed to start integrating themselves in the primary and secondary schools, so kids can know who they are. I dont think that ever happened. So quite clearly, players were on contracts but were never held accountable for anything other than showing up to train.

Wired868: Looking back at it, what do you think went wrong?

Attin-Johnson: What went wrong? Hmmm. DJW; thats what went wrong. The stakeholders of Trinidad and Tobago football did not do due diligence and elected a man who single-handedly destroyed football in our country; and I say that without reservation.

Just imagine the first order of business was to get rid of Randy Waldrum, who created history with the womens program. The reasons for Randys firing were unbelievable and downright absurd. Quite clearly he had a personal agenda when it came to Randy Waldrum.

Then we had Stephen Hart who was responsible for pumping blood back into T&T football. Thats a fact. We had top Concacaf teams not wanting to face us at a point in time. He did everything in his power again to get rid of a successful coach.

The moment these two firings took place, the writing was on the wall. That was the demise of our football.

Post by: maxg on December 11, 2018, 01:28:37 PM
 :( :(

It seems the 2 ppl Tim Kee brought, she talk up. And ppl just wanted rid of Tim Kee, and his replacement got rid of those 2 hirings, and we are where we are.

"The moment these two firings took place, the writing was on the wall. That was the demise of our football.
"
Post by: Cocorite on December 11, 2018, 02:47:17 PM
Wey Contro  ;)

But seriously, who could argue with her last answer
Post by: soccerman on December 11, 2018, 09:43:55 PM
I feel it for the women's program, they lacked stability. Marlee deserted the right to speak her mind given all she's done for women's football, we should all listen.
Post by: Tallman on March 10, 2021, 07:00:41 PM
Former Trinidad and Tobago Womens National Senior Team captain Maylee Attin-Johnson discusses the Canada 2015 World Cup qualifying campaign, the influence of American coach Randy Waldrum, the impact of football on her life, and her immediate future in the game. (https://wired868.com/2021/03/10/bb-ep-3-audio-maylee-attin-johnson-on-womens-game-waldrum-and-her-football-future/)
Post by: asylumseeker on March 10, 2021, 09:31:42 PM
Former Trinidad and Tobago Womens National Senior Team captain Maylee Attin-Johnson discusses the Canada 2015 World Cup qualifying campaign, the influence of American coach Randy Waldrum, the impact of football on her life, and her immediate future in the game. (https://wired868.com/2021/03/10/bb-ep-3-audio-maylee-attin-johnson-on-womens-game-waldrum-and-her-football-future/)

Maylee's reflection on the Ecuador home leg: "What more could I have done?"

Resonant. If you miss every other word of the podcast, that question is really a statement about who she is.

Good guest, solid cast.
Post by: Tallman on June 12, 2021, 01:26:21 PM
LISTEN: Former Trinidad and Tobago Womens National Senior Team captain Maylee Attin-Johnson discusses the Canada 2015 World Cup qualifying campaign, the influence of American coach Randy Waldrum, the impact of football on her life, and her immediate future in the game.

https://www.youtube.com/v/X4Ts3jO_Id0
Title: Maylee returns to Trinidad and Tobago women's football squad
Post by: Tallman on September 15, 2021, 06:58:26 PM
Maylee returns to Trinidad and Tobago women's football squad
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

FORMER captain Maylee Attin-Johnson and Lauryn Hutchinson are back in training with the Trinidad and Tobago womens football team. Attin-Johnson, 35, and Hutchinson, 30, were involved in a training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, on Wednesday.

Both players were part of the squad which agonisingly missed out on qualification for the 2015 FIFA Womens World Cup.

Speaking to the media during training, Attin-Johnson said, It is an exciting feeling. I understand that representing my country is not a birthright. It is an honour and a privilege and I am just here to treat it as such.

It is exciting to don the colours again and I am just looking forward to the games.

Attin-Johnson said new coach James Thomas is part of the reason she has made herself available. I think coach James came in with no preconceived notion of me and he did not put me on a black list, so I am here.

Thomas, who is from Wales, was hired in April.

Attin-Johnson said some of the senior players have been in contact with each other and decided to return. We spoke with each other. We understand that this is it. For us it is our last hurrah and if we come together with our experience, our knowledge and even with the talent that we can bring to the squad (we can succeed). We knew we had to come back and set a foundation, set a standard for the younger ones and just to help with the programme being successful again.

Attin-Johnson hinted that striker Kennya Cordner may return also.

Hutchinson, asked how it feels to be back, said, Blessed. It has been a long time and this will be my 11th year with the national team, so it is great to be home.

Some motivation from her trainer encouraged Hutchinson to return to football.

In February, its funny, I had a new trainer and I told him that I was retired and he told me You are not retired. I laughed at him of course because I had not trained in three yearsit is a blessing to be back and I have been back in training for about eight weeks now.

The experienced pair have been away from the national set-up for years but are expected to add value to the team preparing for the 2021 Concacaf Womens Championship qualifiers, which kick off in November. The Concacaf Championship qualifiers will be the start of the qualification process for the 2023 FIFA Womens World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

In the 2021 Concacaf Womens Qualifiers, TT were drawn in Group F alongside Guyana, Nicaragua, Dominica and Turks and Caicos Islands.

Thirty teams were drawn into six groups of five. Each team will play two home and two away matches in a single round-robin format. The six group winners will advance to the 2022 Concacaf Womens Championship, along with USA and Canada. The US and Canada, the top two ranked Concacaf teams, advanced automatically to the 2022 tournament.

The 2022 Womens Championship will include two groups of four. The top two finishers in each group will advance automatically to the World Cup.

The third-place finishers in each group will qualify for the inter-confederation playoffs for a final chance of qualifying. The two Concacaf teams will be among ten teams aiming for a top-three finish to advance to the World Cup.
Title: Re: Maylee Attin-Johnson Thread
Post by: Tallman on September 16, 2021, 05:50:17 PM
WATCH: Maylee Attin-Johnson speaks with the media upon her return to the Trinidad and Tobago Women's Senior Team

https://www.youtube.com/v/H929WctXzEM
Post by: Deeks on September 16, 2021, 11:37:06 PM
Wow.... we in dire problems.
Post by: maxg on September 17, 2021, 12:24:06 AM
Wow.... we in dire problems.
Why you say that ? Your seeing a better way forward ? You seeing an incorrect process? You think Maylee not good and shouldnt be given a chance ? Im not seeing what youre seeing. If she is still one of the better players at 40, I would still invite her out. A la Milla et al. Yet if you personally and presently know of better players at this time, who are in a position to attend regular Ntl team practices, enlighten us, so we may suggest so to avoid the dire problems that you forsee, which we werent in before. Listening!
Post by: Deeks on September 17, 2021, 09:22:59 AM
I am not questioning her abilities or commitment. She was having same issues with TTFA like the male members. I have spoken to her on many occasions. I am saying that we have serious problems if we have to come back to her an some of the older players.  Everybody were complaining of TT sports not having developmental programs. Berated for not being like JA, etc. Check out ABTrini have a post "recycling vs development".
Post by: maxg on September 17, 2021, 10:02:00 AM
I am not questioning her abilities or commitment. She was having same issues with TTFA like the male members. I have spoken to her on many occasions. I am saying that we have serious problems if we have to come back to her an some of the older players.  Everybody were complaining of TT sports not having developmental programs. Berated for not being like JA, etc. Check out ABTrini have a post "recycling vs development".
So if I understand you correctly. Were not in a dire situation because of Maylee, but had dire problems over years and years of mismanagement, in spite of the Maylees and other older but still presently better players. So your comments then might just be in the wrong thread. If so, no argument there. However its something we have known for a very long time ( even pre 2006- over 15 years ago) especially with the women game. Yet, we have games NOW, and have to go with the best we can get, irregardless of who they are. Men and Women. Not until we fix the mentality and loyalty of our ppl and by extension the administrative organizations, it will continue for maybe another 50 years. In most cases sacrifices must be made to be successful at others. TT ppl must learn blessed as we may think, it is not normal to have it all, even if born into all of it.