Sports => Football => Topic started by: E-man on March 15, 2009, 01:42:23 PM

Title: Redknapp back for Kenwyne Jones
Post by: E-man on March 15, 2009, 01:42:23 PM
HARRY REDKNAPP BACK FOR KENWYNE JONES
By Alan Oliver And Tom Hopkinson (people.co.uk)

Spurs alert at Sbragia U-turn

Harry Redknapp will make a second attempt to land Kenwyne Jones with Sunderland ready to cash in on the striker.

Tottenham boss Redknapp failed to sign the Trinidad and Tobago hitman in January despite a whopping £15million bid but could finally get his man following a dramatic U-turn by Ricky Sbragia.

Stadium of Light chief Sbragia blasted Redknapp's transfer window pursuit of Jones and insisted the player would stay.

The 24-year-old underlined his commitment by signing a new four-and-a-half-year contract.

But Sbragia is believed to have changed his mind about a player who has struggled since battling back from a knee ligament injury against England 10 months ago.

The turning point came when Jones - who has scored just nine goals in all competitions this season - was criticised following the 1-1 draw with Spurs last week.

Sbragia insisted his front two of Jones and Djibril Cisse "would have to do more" if Sunderland were to avoid relegation.

A Sunderland source said: "It's clear if Harry Redknapp was to come back with the same sort of money he offered in January then Sunderland would do business this summer."

Wheeler-dealer Redknapp could even get his man with a cash-plus-player deal involving Spurs misfit Darren Bent.

The 62-year-old Harry can claim his pension in three years' time but, as he prepared his team for today's clash with Aston Villa, he revealed: "I'll retire when I'm 75 - I still need the money!"

Redknapp added: "I don't know what I'd do. I love getting up at 5.30am. I really look forward to working with these players. They're a terrific bunch."

Redknapp takes his t'riffic bunch to Villa Park today for the first time since a Villa fan threw a coin at him when he was there with Portsmouth in October.

The coin hit linesman Phil Sharp above an eye, and Redknapp said: "Villa's a fantastic club and they got the idiot who threw the coin. But why should they have the hump with me? I went there with Porstmouth once and we absolutely ripped them to pieces.

"I got on the touchline, so they decided to have a go at me because we kept passing the ball to each other and kicking it in their net. Let's hope we do the same this time."

Redknapp took his men to Cheltenham on Tuesday and, unfortunately for defender Vedran Corluka, the Spurs gaffer took his son, Jamie, along too.

The Croatian revealed: "Jamie gave me the name of a horse and it lost, but it was good for team spirit - even if I did lose."

Corluka also believes that, whatever happens between now and May, the season can only be seen as a failure for Spurs.

He said: "Everyone was saying we need to be top six, so nothing we achieve this season can be seen as success because we are not where we want to be."
Title: Re: Redknapp back for Kenwyne Jones
Post by: WestCoast on March 15, 2009, 04:32:31 PM
'arry, ya come back with that again :rotfl: :rotfl:
KJ, stay just so eh
Post by: mukumsplau on March 15, 2009, 04:36:46 PM
me aint kno wa so impressive bout KJ dese days..saggyface like he does get easily excited
Post by: D.H.W on March 15, 2009, 04:40:52 PM
HARRRRRRRRYYYYYYYYYYY  :D :D :D
Title: Sbragia Wants More From Sunderland Strikers Jones & Cisse
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 15, 2009, 07:33:35 PM
Despite a healthy goal return from his front pair, the Black Cats boss wants them to work in tandem more, rather than as individuals.
Sunderland manager Ricky Sbragia seems to feel that his team are currently playing with a pair of lone strikers up front, rather than an effective partnership.

Strikers Kenwyne Jones and Djibril Cisse are both mightily effective players, whom most Premier League clubs would welcome as a fine addition to their ranks. The pair have hit 19 goals between them for the Black Cats this campaign, but their club manager would prefer to see them operating more in tandem.

He does, however, acknowledge that he won't be whinging if they carry on scoring at the rate they have managed so far this campaign, as goals are the ultimate criteria by which centre-forwards are judged.

"They tend to both do their own thing, rather than work together and that can be a problem sometimes," the manager told local North East newspaper The Sunday Sun.

"But if they end up scoring 30 goals between them, I don’t mind whether their partnership works or not! It can work even if you have two strikers who don’t operate as a partnership.

"From my point of view, Kenwyne is good at coming to the ball but Djib’s strength is going away from the ball and using his pace. You would think that they would complement each other but that hasn’t proved to be the case.

"But their goal record is good, and that’s what strikers are judged on at the end of the day."

Both strikers have occasionally been criticised by Sunderland supporters for not working hard enough at times this season, and Sbragia expects them to improve their work rate as the Mackems look to ensure Premier League survival this campaign.

He concluded, "It’s something we’ve been working on.There are days when it isn’t going too well for them and they can give us more – they have to give us more.

"There are going to be days when they find it tough to hold the ball up but that’s when they have to work harder."

Title: Re: Sbragia Wants More From Sunderland Strikers Jones & Cisse
Post by: D.H.W on March 15, 2009, 07:35:44 PM
no shit !
Title: Kenwyne Jones targeted by Tottenham
Post by: jusbless on April 15, 2009, 07:28:34 AM
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/2009/04/15/tottenham-transfer-bulletin-kenwyne-jones-a-target-with-bent-and-pavlyuchenko-on-their-way-115875-21279817/
Post by: Father Abraham on April 15, 2009, 08:27:50 AM
I just do not see what mr. redknapp sees in KJ that he wants him so badd.  Sunderland better cash in quick.
Post by: elan on April 15, 2009, 08:35:26 AM
I just do not see what mr. redknapp sees in KJ that he wants him so badd.  Sunderland better cash in quick.

I guess that's why he is coaching where he coaching and you're not.
Post by: SUPA on April 15, 2009, 09:35:26 AM
Steupsssssssss ah wud not be ah 2 face and go against KJ these days. However, ah will admit ah really not impressed wid he these days at all. Well ah know without de services of Latapy in de middle or Stern holding up de ball and laying it off fuh him and an occasional on point cross from Edwards, he have no other service from de soca warriors. Wid dat said, ah still love de yute as a player, but he need to know urgency of country doing well and getting valuable points to qualify fuh de WC 2010. I picked on him cuz he of all people should be giving our country a better effort up front, apart from de service he doh really get ah think he on dis gallery and coasting thing on de field, in other words I think he 2 farking cocky. I repeat, all doh get meh wrong, ah just mad at him, cuz as a man in de EPL, he should be doing much better dan dat. Is not he alone, going down de ladder, Daniel on meh shit list 2, ah set ah ratings and trials wid dis one and dat one and ah see de effort in de red white and black.

De only players dat look like dey serious and giving it dey best shot, all though dey might make mistakes here and there (dat is alright by me) are Me Mum, Stern, Ince, Latapy, Lawrence, Edwards, Hyland and of course de de boss himself (Yorke). Tuh be fair ah cah rate Scotland, cuz he doh really get valuable minutes tuh really judge him, but I think he is trying. In my opinion, ah wud give de more serious and hungry players some more playing time, yeah players like Cornell "Superman" Glenn, Hyland, Scotland, just to name a few dat came to my mind. My national team come first before any individual player or players, so wid dat said, if we not getting de effort from Jones, Daniel and company, Latapy if yuh have de belly, make facking changes, put men on de bench and give dem 12 and 15 minutes off de bench, until dey get dey act together. I have seen dis happen tuh bigger name players, and it does one of 2 things, either dey get hungry again, and we get some service on de pitch or dey hang dey head and doh rebound, simple as dat. As much as ah love Latapy, ah doh think he have de b***s tuh bench a big name player (please prove me wrong Latapy). Apart from dat, I know Stern and Ince personally, and I am fully aware there is a lil click on dat team, no problem wid dat, all yuh just take care of business please. Well Latapy, yuh have an opportunity of a life time, well not really a life time, cuz yuh will still be an assistant and continue tuh learn from a big name, should Mr. Warner choose tuh hire a head coach.

My advice to you Latas, are to do what is best for you to keep your position as head coach, bench men if de effort is not there and very important, do what is best for our country Trinadad & Tobago making it to SA in 2010. People, I typed dis long azz post, cuz I'm hurt and embarrassed from dat USA game, I just never made de time tuh come and vent. Apart from de way ah does deal wid some people round here, ah want each and every individual to know we are all Trinbagonians, and I would expect all of us to want good for our team. I love my team from deep within my heart, so it really hurt me when all these so called big name just coasting on de facking field. Is not dat USA is not a big gun in de region, but is de fact dat we have quality players in de team and I know we are much better dan dat result. We will soon find out in de next few matches, if we just not good enough, or if it was a sell out to get Latapy de job, or tuh get Maturana out de door. Dis might come across a bit harsh tuh some people, but I doh care if it was a sell out nah, cuz dat is in de past right now. Cuz, from here on, ah just need some whole hearted and team effort from each individual dat is getting playing time, so dat we can get the required results to take us to 2010. May de man above bless our entire country and especially our national team members and staff. Peace out. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 15, 2009, 10:35:51 AM
Buh SUPA dat eh belong here.  Good points but like yuh need ah compass to find de righ chread! :devil:
Post by: SUPA on April 15, 2009, 11:05:45 AM
Buh SUPA dat eh belong here.  Good points but like yuh need ah compass to find de righ chread! :devil:

Yuh probably right, my post doh belong here. However, ah saw de thread and as ah was about to give meh opinion, ah remember de USA game and just facking lost it. Ah sorry. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Rodney on April 15, 2009, 11:08:49 AM

Probably what he saw in Peter Crouch to buy him twice. I agree Kenwyne aint all that (at least at the moment) but I think the way spurs play, he will certainly get more oppertunities to score than what he does get with Sunderland. Move on brudda is my advice. Redknapp is known fuh giving players he like a fair crack to prove themselves so Jones should take this chance if offered and as he jus sign a new contract, Sunderland should make ah nice bit of cash.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 15, 2009, 11:10:00 AM
small scenes we all does get caught up in other thoughts when we ready.
Post by: spideybuff on April 15, 2009, 12:17:33 PM

The same potential that there for everybody to see. All the ingredients there, the man just need a coach who able to show him what to do to realise that potential. You ever hear about Sbragia before now? There is a reason for that. At least we know Redknapp was able to help people like Joe Cole, Frank Lampard, Jermain Defoe, Glen Johnson, Rio Ferdinand, Michael Carrick all develop into better players.
Post by: elan on April 15, 2009, 01:00:21 PM

The same potential that there for everybody to see. All the ingredients there, the man just need a coach who able to show him what to do to realise that potential. You ever hear about Sbragia before now? There is a reason for that. At least we know Redknapp was able to help people like Joe Cole, Frank Lampard, Jermain Defoe, Glen Johnson, Rio Ferdinand, Michael Carrick all develop into better players.

Spidey why you trying to educate the masses.
Post by: Weh-it-is on April 15, 2009, 03:28:06 PM

I guess that's why he is coaching where he coaching and you're not.

^^^ :heehee:

KJ must be doing something right, if those team want him.  There are always going to be critics. He is only 24 and the youth seems to be coachable. If the right one gets ah hold of him...look out.

For the critics, ask yourselves how did a man from de islands make it that far to the EPL?  :waiting:
Post by: Babalawo on April 15, 2009, 05:32:20 PM
kenwyne go to what ever team will provide you with better midfielders and wingers to feed you the ball betteer than what you had this season
Post by: Big Magician on April 15, 2009, 07:51:12 PM
it was harry that had KJ at Spothampton   right ??
Post by: Fyzoman on April 15, 2009, 08:04:29 PM

based on dat alone, i wish Spurs buy him to-friggin-morrow!
Post by: andre samuel on April 16, 2009, 05:39:45 AM

That is very correct, he was the man that gave him his break in England.

Go Kenwyne Go!!
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 16, 2009, 10:02:20 AM

Which may be why he's after him so.  He must know a thing or two about how to get more out of KJ.  Or better yet improve him as a player while making his team better.  KJ must have left quite an impression because if nothing else HR is bery persistent in his desire to bring on KJ.  Similarly I guess to how hard he seemed to try while at Pompey to get Hyland there.
Post by: Peter on April 16, 2009, 04:16:31 PM

Which may be why he's after him so.  He must know a thing or two about how to get more out of KJ.  Or better yet improve him as a player while making his team better.  KJ must have left quite an impression because if nothing else HR is bery persistent in his desire to bring on KJ.  Similarly I guess to how hard he seemed to try while at Pompey to get Hyland there.

Arry is a friend of T&T.
Post by: jaden on April 16, 2009, 07:07:02 PM
harry meet KJ at southampton and as he take over as manager (when he get fired from portsmouth) he ship him out on loan to the championship. is only when southampton get relegated from the PL that KJ really start playin fuh dem and by that time harry was long gone...back to portsmouth
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 17, 2009, 09:28:48 AM
harry meet KJ at southampton and as he take over as manager (when he get fired from portsmouth) he ship him out on loan to the championship. is only when southampton get relegated from the PL that KJ really start playin fuh dem and by that time harry was long gone...back to portsmouth

Well me eh kno wha he infatuation wit KJ is about den
Post by: FF on April 17, 2009, 09:36:22 AM

jaden talking a little bit of assness there.... sometimes the reason a coach "ships out" a young player on loan is to gain experience....
Harry was the man who give KJ his premiership debut against Liverpool!
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 17, 2009, 09:42:19 AM

jaden talking a little bit of assness there.... sometimes the reason a coach "ships out" a young player on loan is to gain experience....
Harry was the man who give KJ his premiership debut against Liverpool!

Well I admitedly never followed Southampton so I cah argue no merits of their relationship.  But sending out a player on loan to build up is a common thing.  Look when carlos head was down and his game dipped.  Keane sent him out on loan to regain that bit of confidence he seemed to lack.  I feel Harry have ah vision of what KJ could do under the right guidance and he wants to be the one.  he probably also see where he can benefit greatly from KJs physical presence
Post by: FF on April 17, 2009, 09:47:11 AM
Well I admitedly never followed Southampton so I cah argue no merits of their relationship.  But sending out a player on loan to build up is a common thing.  Look when carlos head was down and his game dipped.  Keane sent him out on loan to regain that bit of confidence he seemed to lack.  I feel Harry have ah vision of what KJ could do under the right guidance and he wants to be the one.  he probably also see where he can benefit greatly from KJs physical presence

Man it had people here was blue vex when Keane send Carlos on loan... no lie...
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 17, 2009, 12:57:26 PM

Man it had people here was blue vex when Keane send Carlos on loan... no lie...

I was right here to witness de setta assness :devil:
Post by: kev on April 18, 2009, 01:00:22 AM
For whats it worth I think he will end up at Spurs for next season with Bent going the other way (if we survive only).

Arry however is a take no prisoners manager, when / if he signs he will be the best thing since sliced bread, a few moderate performances and he will be searching for yet another striker. Don't kid yourself about development he simply won't do it, its all about wheeling and dealing and with the money Spurs have got there will be a big turnaround of players.

Now if you want Kenwyne to develop Villa and MON is the place for him to go. (imho)
Post by: weary1969 on April 19, 2009, 05:21:05 PM
He coach him b4 and he still cyah trap a ball and he 1st touch still so poor.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 20, 2009, 09:28:01 AM

Wha is your purpose.  Is like eveything you does ha to say is sumting negative.  Wham yuh din geh bress feed aought?!
Post by: spideybuff on April 20, 2009, 09:33:53 AM

He didn't actually coach him either. He recruited him based on his potential, had him train with the youth and reserve team at Southampton then he send him on loan to Sheff Wed when he see he was better than that level and was preparing him for the next step up. Then he left for Portsmouth.

I doubt he ever had actual time to work with him except to say "welcome to the club".

Post by: de_redman on April 20, 2009, 10:58:30 AM

Wha is your purpose.  Is like eveything you does ha to say is sumting negative.  Wham yuh din geh bress feed aought?!

could not have said it better...
Post by: weary1969 on April 21, 2009, 10:19:53 PM

Sarcasm get familiar wit it. Take a course. D way man waste him dong surprise anybody want him. I guess dat was lost on u and d Italian.

LOUDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Post by: acb on April 22, 2009, 07:03:22 AM
KJ and Beckham in the same lineup???

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/22042009/58/transfers-gossip-shop-spurs-eye-beckham-bid.html (http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/22042009/58/transfers-gossip-shop-spurs-eye-beckham-bid.html)

Transfers - Gossip Shop: Spurs eye Beckham bid
Eurosport - Wed, 22 Apr 12:19:00 2009

Life has a funny habit of repeating itself and if the latest rumours are to be believed, David Beckham could be going home.

Beckham left Tottenham Hotspur's academy to sign for Manchester United on his 14th birthday and the rest, as they say, is history.

The North London club are reportedly preparing a bid to steal the record-breaking England midfielder from under the noses of Milan when his loan at the San Siro expires in the summer.

The Sun points to Spurs boss Harry Redknapp's fondness for resurrecting the careers of veteran players.

It also argues that Tottenham's ability to put the LA Galaxy man squarely in the vision of England manager Fabio Capello ahead of the 2010 World Cup will sway the former Real Madrid man.

GS doubts it though. Any move to Spurs will only happen if Milan decide not to sign him as it is unlikely that he would choose Spurs over the Rossoneri.

Milan are by far the bigger club, will be playing in the Champions League next season and the slower pace in Italy suits Beckham's game perfectly.

They are also unlikely to let him go after a series of impressive performances helped fire Milan to second in Serie A, not to mention the inevitable spike in shirt sales.

Furthemore, Capello is more than happy that Beckham is plying his trade at his beloved Milan, not least because it keeps him away from the distracting media hysteria he faces in England - and saves his legs from a shoeing at the hands of Emanuel Pogatetz.

The same paper's claim that Manchester City boss Mark Hughes is looking to offload captain Richard Dunne to Sunderland makes several assumptions.

The first is that Hughes will still be at Eastlands in the summer, with City's owners yet to prove they share the same patient, long-term vision as Villa supremo Randy Lerner.

The second is that Ireland defender Dunne would want to drop from City to Sunderland, as there are several bigger clubs that can offer a higher level of football than Ricky Sbragia's side, not least Villa.

The third is that Sunderland will be able to afford him - while they are not in the bottom three, they are anything but safe and it is highly unlikely they will shell out £5 million and £35,000 a week if they are in the Championship.

Sunderland have also been linked with relegation-doomed West Brom duo Jonathan Greening and James Morrison, although Bordeaux striker Marouane Chamakh has ruled himself out of a move to the Stadium of Light. He would rather join Tottenham.

Reda Maher / Eurosport

Post by: Rodney on April 22, 2009, 08:48:10 AM

He didn't actually coach him either. He recruited him based on his potential, had him train with the youth and reserve team at Southampton then he send him on loan to Sheff Wed when he see he was better than that level and was preparing him for the next step up. Then he left for Portsmouth.

I doubt he ever had actual time to work with him except to say "welcome to the club".

Can I just point out that Kenwyne was already at Southampton prior to Redknapp's arrival. So Harry didn't coach or even recruit him. He did see the potential of Blackstock and Jones while playing fuh the youth/reserve team and sent both on loan and did give Kenwyne his first premiership start.
Post by: weary1969 on April 22, 2009, 02:58:20 PM

Can I just point out that Kenwyne was already at Southampton prior to Redknapp's arrival. So Harry didn't coach or even recruit him. He did see the potential of Blackstock and Jones while playing fuh the youth/reserve team and sent both on loan and did give Kenwyne his first premiership start.

Me eh really care if they was in d same solar system at Southhampton. D point is KJ all of a sudden is d worse ting but a big name coach is allegedly interested in him.
Post by: Flex on June 27, 2009, 05:37:15 AM
A host of Spurs players have been rumoured, with Robbie Keane reportedly being offered as a makeweight in a deal for Kenwyne Jones to head to White Hart Lane. Darren Bent, Didier Zokora and Tom Huddlestone are the other Spurs players being mentioned.

SUNDERLAND ECHO
Post by: College on June 27, 2009, 08:56:05 AM
A hope Spurs know what they doing ... according to the KJ haters, he is no good, he is just a lazy bum! :devil: waiting in months to come to hear the sounds of men back peddling! Go Spurs, Go KJ!
Post by: Jumbie on June 27, 2009, 09:23:09 AM
NO arry.. leave he right dey please. go for Tevez or Dzeko instead. KJ can't control ah ball in ah telephone booth.
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2009, 09:36:20 AM
NO arry.. leave he right dey please. go for Tevez or Dzeko instead. KJ can't control ah ball in ah telephone booth.

Post by: Cocorite on June 27, 2009, 02:30:41 PM
A host of Spurs players have been rumoured, with Robbie Keane reportedly being offered as a makeweight in a deal for Kenwyne Jones to head to White Hart Lane. Darren Bent, Didier Zokora and Tom Huddlestone are the other Spurs players being mentioned.

SUNDERLAND ECHO

This one hard to blieve. All of those players are proven Premiership players and Jones hasn't done anything outstanding yet. Hopefully this year with his injury woes behind him, he will fulfill his potential.
Post by: kev on June 27, 2009, 03:50:18 PM
Redknapp has already said he has to sell before he can buy due to his spending spree in Jan to keep them up.

Its reported today that Bents price has been put up to £18 Million, £8 Million more than he was available for in Jan. ( 3 hopes Bob, Nee & Wester) I would be surprised to see a few Spurs players leave as he likes wheeling & dealing. 

The window officially opens next week so expect all the usual rumours on a daily basis either leaked by the club wanting to buy or more often or not the agent wanting to make a shilling or 2. 

Personally not bothered either way, but if get a really good offer I would sell him.
Post by: andre samuel on June 28, 2009, 06:59:56 AM
Redknapp has already said he has to sell before he can buy due to his spending spree in Jan to keep them up.

Its reported today that Bents price has been put up to £18 Million, £8 Million more than he was available for in Jan. ( 3 hopes Bob, Nee & Wester) I would be surprised to see a few Spurs players leave as he likes wheeling & dealing. 

The window officially opens next week so expect all the usual rumours on a daily basis either leaked by the club wanting to buy or more often or not the agent wanting to make a shilling or 2. 

Personally not bothered either way, but if get a really good offer I would sell him.

Welcome back Kev, long time no hear from.  By the way, what are you opinions on Bruce? Do u think he has what it takes to take you guys to the next level?  He has done well at Wigan and Birmingham with limited resources and a relatively small fan base. 

What are you expectations

Post by: kev on June 28, 2009, 03:38:47 PM
Andre,

Not been about a lot busy and not a lot to say in close season most only interested in Kenwyne and carlos (understandly), ersonally just bored with the whole Kenwyne thing which is probably a part of it where I wouldn't be that disapointed to see him go, but it will all start up again this week as teh window opens.

As for Bruce I would put it down as an uninspired appointment.  Keane was the right man at the right time so it suited both parties, plus all teh investors were Irish so he could do no wrong in their eyes.  The new Guy Short isn't that sentimental / star struck, I still believe Sbragia's appointment had more to do with ownership / money issues than football.  They took a massive gamble with him and not strengthening in Jan and got very very lucky it just paid off, through other teams failings more than anything we did ourselves.  The club never looked at anybody excepte Bruce, I think teh lucky escape made them scared and looked for a "safe" pair of hands who could be got relatively easily, I personally would of preferred Curbishley given that criteria. 

Bruce imho is an average manager, he organises well and I still think the squad from last year organised properly in defence and some decent tactics would get more points this year, fairly easily.  If surviving with 5 games or so left to go is the next evel then yes he will get us to the get level, if regularly getting close to Europe then I am not that sure, but he will be given the money so it should be possible even for an average manager, given the squad isn't totally full of championship players now. 

Bruce is used to bargain basement shopping, whether he will do well when given money is anybodies guess, there is a very long list of managers that have done well on a shoestring only to find themselves with a lot of expensive mistakes when given proper money to spend, we will just have to wait and see. 

Personally I wanted a change, possibly foriegn I just think the club needs a fresh appraoch and a lot of the deadwood shifting, I am hoping Bruce will step upto the plate on that side.

Hope you are keeping well. 
Post by: Peter on June 28, 2009, 08:44:11 PM

haha jumbie....- not funny, if you can't at least speak some constructive criticism it'll be better you just keep quiet, don't be friggin bashing our players and saying tottenham should get other players ahead of KJ, what damned lack of patriotism. 
Post by: Jumbie on June 29, 2009, 06:08:34 AM

haha jumbie....- not funny, if you can't at least speak some constructive criticism it'll be better you just keep quiet, don't be friggin bashing our players and saying tottenham should get other players ahead of KJ, what damned lack of patriotism. 

patriotism my ass... like this site gone from ah .com to ah .iran . public friggin place and you telling me to what to say and when.

he can't control a ball in a shoebox then! I said it!
Post by: sammy on June 29, 2009, 06:31:12 AM

with that line of thinking then men cant criticize the govt or the police or the media cant report  cause men might accuse them of lack of patriotism.

we as fans have a right to boo and bash them, cause they does enjoy the big up, the girlz, the fete and the salaries when it coming in. 

Steups wha wrong with allyuh boy...the man playing shit and until he does better, he go keep feeling/hearing the wrath. We suppose to be some kinda bobolees a what? No wonder trinidad so, cause we always trying to be politically correct when is time to talk.
Post by: Flex on June 29, 2009, 06:37:41 AM
Sunderland linked with bid for Eidur Gudjohnsen
By Steve Brown, Evening Chronicle

SUNDERLAND have been linked with an audacious bid to land Barcelona star Eidur Gudjohnsen.

Sources in Spain claim the Black Cats are tracking the Icelandic international, along with Aston Villa, West Ham, Everton and Fulham.

The 30-year-old has grown frustrated at his lack of first-team outings at the Nou Camp, where Samuel Eto’o, Thierry Henry and Lionel Messi regularly fill the striking berths and even as an attacking midfielder, Gudjohnsen finds himself behind Andres Iniesta and Xavi.

Former Bolton and Chelsea forward Gudjohnsen is keen on a return to the Premier League and his £4m fee would not be a problem as Steve Bruce is handed a £50m transfer war chest.

Sunderland are on the look out for at least one new striker after turning down the option of signing Djibril Cisse on a permanent deal.

The Frenchman joined Panathinaikos last week.

The Wearside club have also been credited with an interest in Darren Bent, but are unwilling to match Tottenham’s £18m valuation, while the North London outfit have also offered Robbie Keane in part-exchange for Kenwyne Jones.

Sunderland have also made enquiries about Reading striker Kevin Doyle, who wants to leave the Madejski Stadium after failure to win promotion.

But Bruce is understood to favour a bold approach to sign Gudjohnsen.

Bruce officially begins work tomorrow, when he will also have to convince Anton Ferdinand to ignore overtures from former club West Ham.

The new Back Cats boss wants to pair Ferdinand with Republic of Ireland international Richard Dunne, and though Manchester City have played down talk of contact between the clubs, the Chronicle understands a move remains likely.

Sunderland Looking To Lure Lomana LuaLua Back From Qatar.
Derek Wanner, Goal.com

Lualua could well be set to kiss goodbye to Qatari football after just one year...

Sunderland have reportedly turned their attention to Qatar-based striker Lomana LuaLua in their search for a suitable strike-partner for Kenwyne Jones.

According to News of the World, new Black Cats boss Steve Bruce is a long-time admirer of the Congolese striker, who spent seven years in England’s top-flight with Newcastle United and Portsmouth, before embarking on a career in Greece with Olympiacos en route to Qatari club Al-Arabi.

The 28-year-old has dropped some heavy hints that he only sees Al-Arabi as a stopover, and that a return to the Premier League is something which holds great appeal to him.

Writing in his diary for footballers' website Icons last August, Lua Lua revealed: “I want to spend a couple of years out in Qatar. After that, who knows what the future will bring. I wouldn’t rule out a move to the Premiership.

“I would be able to return no problem. The Premiership is another level but I played there for seven years. As long as I've got my fitness I could go back at any time."

There was no mention in News of the World over what kind of offer Sunderland have in mind, assuming that they do in fact have a serious interest in him.
Post by: Tallman on December 26, 2009, 06:37:52 PM
Tottenham boss Harry Redknapp set to offer Robbie Keane as bait for Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones
By Brian McNally (Mirror Football)

Tottenham have their sights on Sunderland hitman Kenwyne Jones again.

Spurs boss Harry Redknapp will face competition from both Aston Villa and Liverpool.

But his bargaining chip could be skipper Robbie Keane, despite the White Hart Lane boss saying he does not want to sell the  Irishman in January.

Redknapp has been told he must sell before he can buy in 2010, but he could fund another move for Jones by cashing in on either Keane or Russian striker Roman Pavlyuchenko.

The Black Cats rejected a £16million bid from Spurs for the Trinidad and Tobago striker last season, with Jones committing himself to a new four-and-a-half year deal on Wearside in January.

But Redknapp remains a firm admirer of his swashbuckling style and could even try to tempt Black Cats boss Steve Bruce by offering Republic of Ireland star Keane in part-exchange.

Keane has been linked with a January loan move to his boyhood idols Celtic, but Spurs chairman Daniel Levy doesn’t favour that alternative and the Scottish side will also struggle to match Keane’s wages.

Levy has made it clear that, having spent big on signing the likes of Keane, Jermain Defoe and Wilson Palacios, any incoming deals will have to be self-financing. Sunderland inquired about the much-travelled Keane in the summer before buying England striker Darren Bent from Spurs for a bargain £10m.

Black Cats chairman Niall Quinn remains close to his fellow Dubliner. He finished his career playing alongside Keane in the Republic’s attack.

It remains to be seen whether Bruce could be tempted to part with Jones, but he admitted recently he will be “ruthless” in his bid to shake Sunderland out of a poor spell of form which has seen them win just once away from home all season.

Jones has played second fiddle to Bent this season and just two of his six goals have come in away matches.

But it could  be Bruce will want to give the Bent-Jones partnership more time to blossom. That wouldn’t stop Redknapp (above), however, coming back in during the summer window.  Bruce hopes Sunderland can put their miserable away form behind them and that skipper Lorik Cana can again inspire his team-mates when they go to Blackburn  tomorrow

Bruce said: “We have badly missed Lorik Cana when he has been out of the side. The same goes for Lee Cattermole. I know for a fact that when we have Cana in the team we play better.

“Lorik gives us an edge and brings character and spirit to the side. We must stop giving away soft goals.”
Post by: PantherX on January 03, 2010, 11:05:27 AM
The Mirror has about as much news credibility as the Sunday Punch.

That said I would take him at Spurs in a flash, I'd even throw in Bentley to sweeten the pot.
Post by: Jumbie on January 03, 2010, 03:19:41 PM
The Mirror has about as much news credibility as the Sunday Punch.

That said I would take him at Spurs in a flash, I'd even throw in Bentley to sweeten the pot.

add that lingay fack as well...  :angel:
Post by: g on January 04, 2010, 05:15:02 PM
The way spurs playing now, dem aint need no strikers

If Heskey ride out, I think Villa may come back in for him. I prefer O'Neil as a manager anyway

But i would prefer he actually stay. I not in favour of strikers moving in the Jan transfer window.

No pre season to work yourself into a new regime, added pressure of instant performance after a big money deal

If KJ wants to go, he should wait till the early summer before WC and some potential unknown rising out of obscurity.
Post by: E-man on January 06, 2010, 06:09:02 PM
Sunderland set to seal swoop for German striker
By Alan Nixon (Mirror Football)

Sunderland boss Steve Bruce is making a major swoop for German international striker Kevin Kuranyi - and opened the door to Kenwyne Jones to be sold.

Bruce hopes to sign Schalke 04 hit man Kuranyi in a £3.5million deal today, flying him in as soon as possible to sort out his personal terms and medical ahead of a top-class capture.

However Kuranyi's arrival - after six seasons with Schalke in the Bundesliga - will signal a chase for Trinidad and Tobago target man Jones who will lose out when he checks in.

Brazilian-born Kuranyi has been prolific since signing for Stuttgart as a kid and he recently passed the landmark of 100 senior goals in German club football. However the time has come for him to cash in and move.
Post by: Peong on January 06, 2010, 07:24:01 PM
Kuranyi have so self-respect or wa?  Sunderland?
Post by: College on January 06, 2010, 07:28:33 PM
Kuranyi have so self-respect or wa?  Sunderland?

$$$
Title: Alex McLeish ponders £9m move for Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones
Post by: Tallman on January 06, 2010, 08:27:22 PM
Alex McLeish ponders £9m move for Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones
By Stuart James (guardian.co.uk)

Birmingham City are considering making a £9m bid for the Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones in another bold statement of their ambitions under the new owner, Carson Yeung. Alex McLeish retains an interest in signing the Liverpool forward Ryan Babel, but the Birmingham manager is also weighing up other possibilities and Jones, whose future at the Stadium of Light is uncertain, has emerged as a target.

Jones signed a four-and-a-half-year contract at Sunderland last January, after Tottenham offered about £12m for him, but he has impressed only sporadically since Steve Bruce took over in the summer and was dropped for last month's defeat at Manchester City. The Trinidadian scored after coming off the bench in that match, but it was his first goal since the start of October in what has been a largely disappointing season.

Two years ago Roy Keane, who was then in charge at Sunderland, described Jones as the "best forward in the Premier League" and suggested he was worth £40m, but his career has since stalled. Darren Bent's prolific form since arriving from Spurs means that he has usurped Jones as the main striker and it may well be that Bruce is willing to listen to offers if he can find a replacement.

Whether Birmingham are able to agree a fee with Sunderland remains to be seen, however, with Yeung's ill-advised decision to publicly reveal that he will make up to £40m available in this transfer window prompting clubs to drive up their asking prices.

Liverpool are seeking closer to £11m for Babel after McLeish offered £9m, and Celtic have told Birmingham that they will not allow Aiden McGeady to leave unless an offer in excess of £10m is received.

McLeish is believed to have been willing to go to £10m for the Republic of Ireland winger but not above, meaning that Babel is now the more realistic option, with the Dutchman's agent indicating yesterday his interest in a move to Birmingham.

"We know that Liverpool is seriously thinking about the offer from Birmingham," said Winnie Haatrecht. "We would consider a deal if both clubs come to an agreement. Ryan wants to succeed at Liverpool but if the people at Anfield conclude it's better he leaves, we have to think about the next chapter in his career."

Babel could be deployed on the left or through the middle, but Jones is seen as a target man. McLeish, who has used Cameron Jerome in that role for much of this season with reasonable success, had looked at signing Kevin Kuranyi from Schalke before the Germany international made unreasonable salary demands.

Míchel, meanwhile, is expected to complete his £3m move to St Andrew's from Sporting Gijón in time for the midfielder to be included in the squad for Saturday's match against Manchester United.
Post by: Sando on January 06, 2010, 08:41:02 PM
The same two men who didn't sign Jones when they had the chance now wants him the most.... Interesting.

McLeish (Glasgow Rangers) & Harry Rednapp (Southampton). Only man missing is Alex Ferguson.
Post by: SOBRIQUET on January 06, 2010, 09:53:58 PM
When Drogba came in that league, he couldn't trap a ball to save his, or his gran-mumma's life.  His overall touches IMHO, were autrociously worse than Kenwyne's.  Look at that man now!  Best of luck to you young warrior.  Keep working on your flaws and make us even more proud.  Like men here feel is a Play-We ticket that get yuh to where yuh at right now.  All kinda big-time coach willing to spend millions a dollars on your talent, but imps like we can't appreciate it.  First touch is obviously something that can be worked on.  Work hard son.... Show them warrior!!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 06, 2010, 10:31:18 PM
The same two men who didn't sign Jones when they had the chance now wants him the most.... Interesting.

McLeish (Glasgow Rangers) & Harry Rednapp (Southampton). Only man missing is Alex Ferguson.

Jones choose Southampton over rangers and west ham
Title: Birmingham linked with £11m move for Kenwyne Jones
Post by: Mock de Dread on January 07, 2010, 06:33:53 AM
Birmingham have made an £11 million bid for Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones, according to reports.

Jones is reported to be keen on a move to St Andrew's

The Birmingham Mail suggests Alex McLeish has received encouragement from Steve Bruce after enquiring about Jones and that the Trinidad & Tobago international is also keen for the transfer to go through.

The news comes amid reports that moves for Liverpool's Ryan Babel, Schalke's Kevin Kuranyi and Celtic's Aiden McGeady have all foundered.

Birmingham, who are understood to have a £40 million transfer kitty following Carson Yeung's takeover, made a bid for Babel, believed to be in the region of £8 million, but the clubs are yet to come to an agreement and McLeish could now consider other targets.

A move for Kuranyi is said to have been abandoned after the 27-year-old former Germany striker demanded £70,000-a-week wages, while Celtic are believed to have no interest in allowing McGeady to leave the club.

Various newspapers have suggested that Sunderland could themselves make a £3.5 million move for Kuranyi, which would leave Jones surplus to requirements.

Title: Re: Birmingham linked with £11m move for Kenwyne Jones
Post by: Mock de Dread on January 07, 2010, 06:35:35 AM
dont know what to make of this ! bitter sweet news

KJ better start to work his socks off, when managers are keen to off load you its never a good sign
glad that birmingham are there to suck him up

if this happens ah backing sunders to be kicked to relegation zone, i only suppported em cause of the trini connection
Post by: Trinidogg on January 07, 2010, 09:35:44 AM
What ever happen to Aston Villa or Tottenham why will he wanna go Birmingham ???
Post by: kev on January 07, 2010, 10:05:40 AM
Well, who do you believe, Stoke are again linked at £8 Million for Kenwyne, can't for the life of me see him being sold in Jan.  The papers are full of everything at the minute, if the link to Villa has any truth thats where I would go if I was him, if he has a choice in the summer.   

Haven't a clue about the German striker as I don't watch the league but I take it he is a target man type striker, I've heard the name but not watched him tbh, he is out of contract in the summer hence low price but big wages, SSN reporting the deal has hit a snag. I wouldn't necessarily see him as a replacement for Kenwyne more competition or maybe a replacement after getting his legs (if he can) in the EPL.
Post by: lil damo on January 07, 2010, 10:12:29 AM
Villa Villa Villa Villa
Post by: dinho on January 07, 2010, 10:14:46 AM
If yuh moving on, yuh move on for better..

Spurs and Villa is better...

Birmingham and Stoke is lateral at best, likely worse.

Kev, Kuranyi is an established German striker, strong player up front and a good finisher. Never really thought he was up to the required level in the German national team setup, but still whats not in doubt is he gets goals and would be a very good coup for Sunderland. As a matter of fact, I kinda surprised he willing to go there, no offence, but for a player of his calibre it seems like a step down to me.

Post by: kev on January 07, 2010, 01:51:25 PM
If yuh moving on, yuh move on for better..

Spurs and Villa is better...

Birmingham and Stoke is lateral at best, likely worse.

Kev, Kuranyi is an established German striker, strong player up front and a good finisher. Never really thought he was up to the required level in the German national team setup, but still whats not in doubt is he gets goals and would be a very good coup for Sunderland. As a matter of fact, I kinda surprised he willing to go there, no offence, but for a player of his calibre it seems like a step down to me.

Thanks none taken

Interesting article in the Guardian, the reason I say its interesting as the writer has contacts at teh club and is usually not far off, she is always complimentary about the club and hence seems to get the inside track, so something maybe going on and I might be wrong again.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/jan/07/kenwyne-jones-sunderland-birmingham-city

Sunderland prepared to put Kenwyne Jones up for auction

• Birmingham City willing to pay £11m for Trinidadian
• Centre-forward also being looked at by Stoke and Spurs

Sunderland are prepared to sell Kenwyne Jones this month but will not part with the striker until they have signed a replacement. In the interim, they hope to provoke an auction.

Birmingham City are willing to pay up to £11m for the Trinidadian but, with Stoke City keen on a centre-forward who is once again being eyed by Tottenham Hotspur, their manager, Alex McLeish, is likely to be kept waiting for an answer.

Much may depend on Sunderland's proposed signing of Kevin Kurányi, the former Germany striker. The 27-year-old Schalke 04 forward, who will be out of contract in the summer, is close to a £3.5m move to the Stadium of Light after being tracked by Steve Bruce for some time.

Kurányi, who was born in Brazil and has Panamanian and German-Hungarian parentage, scored 19 goals in 52 appearances for Germany before falling out with the national coach, Joachim Löw in 2008.

Regarded as "talented but temperamental" in Germany, the 6ft 3in Kurányi, fluent in five languages, is said to want to join Sunderland but his £70,000-a-week wage demands could yet prove a stumbling block.

Selling Jones, who signed a lucrative long-term contract last January after Sunderland rejected a £12m bid from Spurs, would represent a considerable gamble on Bruce's part. Although the striker, recruited from Southampton by Roy Keane, can be virtually unplayable on his day, Sunderland's latest manager has been unimpressed by his attitude this season.

While Jones is believed to be interested in relocating to Birmingham, the prospect of joining Stoke is thought to be less appealing. Bruce is enticed by the prospect of taking one or more of Tony Pulis's players in part-exchange, particularly if the Turkey international Tuncay Sanli were part of any deal.

Sunderland's manager explored the possibility of signing Tuncay from Middlesbrough last summer and remains a big admirer of a forward who has experienced mixed fortunes at Stoke.

Should Jones move to Birmingham, Teemu Tainio, the midfielder on a year-long loan at St Andrew's from the Stadium of Light, would almost certainly have that agreement cut short and return to Wearside. Bruce has been light in central midfield at times this season but Tainio is sidelined after undergoing knee surgery in November.

The Sunderland manager, meanwhile, is stepping up a long-standing pursuit of Maynor Figueroa, the Wigan Athletic left-back but the board are reluctant to meet Wigan's current £7m asking price.
Post by: Flex on January 07, 2010, 08:01:30 PM
Alex McLeish is refusing to risk Birmingham City’s financial future but is willing to make Kenwyne Jones the club’s highest earner if he can lure him from Sunderland. Birmingham would be willing to offer Jones, who earns £50,000 a week, a 10 per cent pay rise.

McLeish said: "We've made enquiries about a lot of people. I don't want to confirm or deny a bid has gone in (for Kenwyne Jones). There is a lot of transfer speculation now and it is not something I like to talk about when nothing has been done." He added: "We have made enquiries for several players. I am not going to confirm or deny any names.
Title: !!million poungs for Jones- Birmingham
Post by: injunchile on January 07, 2010, 10:55:24 PM
Just read from BBC sports that Birmingham is willing to pay Sunderland 11million for Jones and give him 10% more on his 50.000 .pounds a week salary. no wonder he is a star boy when he plays for T&T.
Title: Re: !!million poungs for Jones- Birmingham
Post by: Socapro on January 08, 2010, 02:23:38 AM
Just read from BBC sports that Birmingham is willing to pay Sunderland 11million for Jones and give him 10% more on his 50.000 .pounds a week salary. no wonder he is a star boy when he plays for T&T.

We doh need any star boys who cyah/doh score for we, sorry!!

But our star boy coach like to pick star boys like himself so hence we came a star boy last place in the Hex!  :-[
Post by: just cool on January 08, 2010, 04:46:56 AM

We doh need any star boys who cyah/doh score for we, sorry!!

But our star boy coach like to pick star boys like himself so hence we came a star boy last place in the Hex!  :-[
In all honesty pro. there's no comparison wid the epl and TNT shit football. in england kenwyne get's better service and royal treatment! in TNT man getting KFC and ah red solo after games, have tuh return they jersey, and men who cyar get out of their own defensive half, much less make ah good pass or put in ah good cross!

ah boyyyy! sometimes i wish i could just wish the whole TTFF away!!!!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 08, 2010, 06:51:38 AM

50,000 pounds back den  that was big money in the epl
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 08, 2010, 07:24:44 AM
Men getting real reckless wit dis "star boy" shit talk, sah.
Post by: dinho on January 08, 2010, 08:33:51 AM
Alex McLeish is refusing to risk Birmingham City’s financial future but is willing to make Kenwyne Jones the club’s highest earner if he can lure him from Sunderland. Birmingham would be willing to offer Jones, who earns £50,000 a week, a 10 per cent pay rise.

McLeish said: "We've made enquiries about a lot of people. I don't want to confirm or deny a bid has gone in (for Kenwyne Jones). There is a lot of transfer speculation now and it is not something I like to talk about when nothing has been done." He added: "We have made enquiries for several players. I am not going to confirm or deny any names.

SOURCE??

Post by: Madd Ras#13 on January 08, 2010, 09:00:29 AM

yuh understand....is score de fella en score, man gehin on like if he goin around cussin off players n disruptin next man confidence
Post by: weary1969 on January 08, 2010, 09:07:16 AM

yuh understand....is score de fella en score, man gehin on like if he goin around cussin off players n disruptin next man confidence

COSIGNNN
Post by: Daft Trini on January 08, 2010, 09:07:22 AM
if man like Frank Daniel "Frankie" Hejduk could manners him... he could take some stick for being a "Star Boy" with we...
Title: Bruce slams Kenwyne transfer claims
Post by: Tallman on January 08, 2010, 11:18:57 AM
Bruce slams Kenwyne transfer claims
Sunderland Echo

Sunderland boss Steve Bruce has quashed rumours striker Kenwyne Jones is set to leave the club.

Reports indicate that the Trinidad and Tobago frontman is likely to leave the Black Cats, with Germany forward Kevin Kuranyi moving to Wearside.

But despite speculation that Birmingham City have tabled a bid for Jones, Bruce has responded by denying the suggestion he will be sold.

Bruce told the club's official website, safc.com: "We haven't received any bids for Kenwyne.

"He's an important part of our team and he isn't going anywhere.

He added: "I'm trying to build a squad that can compete here at Sunderland and I want quality players like Kenwyne Jones at the club.

"I've already expressed my dislike of the January window and my opinion on that certainly hasn't changed.

"It's an unsettling time for players, for clubs and it certainly makes a manager's job all the more difficult."
Kenwyne Jones will not leave Sunderland in transfer window, says Steve Bruce
By Rob Stewart (telegraph.co.uk)

Bruce spoke out to make it clear that the Trinidad & Tobago striker was part of his long-terms plans as he hit out at reports linking Jones with an £11 million move to Birmingham.

Bruce said: “We haven’t received any bids for Kenwyne. He’s an important part of our team and he isn’t going anywhere.

“I’m trying to build a squad that can compete here at Sunderland and I want quality players like Kenwyne Jones at the club.”

“I’ve already expressed my dislike of the January window and my opinion on that certainly hasn’t changed. It’s an unsettling time for players, for clubs and it certainly makes a manager’s job all the more difficult.”

The former Manchester United captain described the transfer speculation as “unsettling and not helpful” while a club official added: “The opening of the January transfer window has seen Sunderland linked with over a dozen players, as well as stories suggesting bids for striker Kenwyne Jones.”

Meanwhile, Bruce back the decision to postpone Saturday’s game against Bolton due to the Arctic weather conditions gripping Wearside.

“Obviously we’re disappointed that the game has been called off,” Bruce added.

“We’ve prepared the team as normal and tried to stick to a schedule all week despite the ice and snow, so it’s a frustration for everyone, that’s for sure.

“Fans work hard all week too and the match is something they look forward to at the end of the week so I’m sure they’ll be disappointed.

“But when it comes to a question of safety then football certainly has to come second, there’s no doubt about that. The sensible decision has been taken, with the welfare of everyone in mind.

“A lot of hard work has gone on behind the scenes to get the game on but I don’t think many of us have seen weather quite like this for a long time and common sense has prevailed.”
Post by: grimm01 on January 08, 2010, 01:56:17 PM
Well Steve Bruce certainly take his sweet time to speak out.
Title: Re: Bruce slams Kenwyne transfer claims
Post by: g on January 08, 2010, 03:59:14 PM
Sunderland Echo

Sunderland boss Steve Bruce has quashed rumours striker Kenwyne Jones is set to leave the club.

Reports indicate that the Trinidad and Tobago frontman is likely to leave the Black Cats, with Germany forward Kevin Kuranyi moving to Wearside.

But despite speculation that Birmingham City have tabled a bid for Jones, Bruce has responded by denying the suggestion he will be sold.

Bruce told the club's official website, safc.com: "We haven't received any bids for Kenwyne.

He added: "I'm trying to build a squad that can compete here at Sunderland and I want quality players like Kenwyne Jones at the club.

"I've already expressed my dislike of the January window and my opinion on that certainly hasn't changed.

"It's an unsettling time for players, for clubs and it certainly makes a manager's job all the more difficult."

Bruce spoke out to make it clear that the Trinidad & Tobago striker was part of his long-terms plans as he hit out at reports linking Jones with an £11 million move to Birmingham.

Bruce said: “We haven’t received any bids for Kenwyne. He’s an important part of our team and he isn’t going anywhere.

“I’m trying to build a squad that can compete here at Sunderland and I want quality players like Kenwyne Jones at the club.”

“I’ve already expressed my dislike of the January window and my opinion on that certainly hasn’t changed. It’s an unsettling time for players, for clubs and it certainly makes a manager’s job all the more difficult.”

The former Manchester United captain described the transfer speculation as “unsettling and not helpful” while a club official added: “The opening of the January transfer window has seen Sunderland linked with over a dozen players, as well as stories suggesting bids for striker Kenwyne Jones.”

Meanwhile, Bruce back the decision to postpone Saturday’s game against Bolton due to the Arctic weather conditions gripping Wearside.

“We’ve prepared the team as normal and tried to stick to a schedule all week despite the ice and snow, so it’s a frustration for everyone, that’s for sure.

“Fans work hard all week too and the match is something they look forward to at the end of the week so I’m sure they’ll be disappointed.

“But when it comes to a question of safety then football certainly has to come second, there’s no doubt about that. The sensible decision has been taken, with the welfare of everyone in mind.

“A lot of hard work has gone on behind the scenes to get the game on but I don’t think many of us have seen weather quite like this for a long time and common sense has prevailed.”

:bs:
Post by: Mose on January 09, 2010, 12:06:19 AM
Sunderland Echo

My :bs: is a little rusty but from what I could pick out my translation is this:
Either he didn't find he was getting high enough offers for Kenwyne, or things wasn't looking good with the Kuranyi deal or both.
Post by: Babalawo on January 09, 2010, 12:40:13 AM
shut ur mouth Bruce and transfer the man nah.
Post by: davyjenny1 on January 09, 2010, 01:57:11 AM
I eh care nor trust Steve Bruce or Alex McLeish, Kj just need to bow his head down and focus on his game and i am sure he knows that.  
Title: Jerome would welcome Jones move
Post by: Tallman on January 09, 2010, 07:03:38 AM
Jerome would welcome Jones move
By John Curtis (Press Association Sport)

Cameron Jerome believes Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones would be a "top addition" to the Birmingham squad and would welcome the competition for places.

Blues boss Alex McLeish has his sights set on signing Jones during the January transfer window and is understood to have made a firm inquiry for the Trinidad and Tobago international.

Sunderland boss Steve Bruce would be receptive to allowing Jones to leave if any offer matched his minimum asking price of £11 million.

And City forward Jerome would welcome the arrival of Jones to challenge himself, Christian Benitez and veteran Kevin Phillips for places upfront as he prepares for tonight's home clash with Manchester United.

Jerome said: "Would I welcome a signing like Kenwyne Jones? Definitely, I'd welcome that sort of competition.

"We've got a thin squad here and obviously we're losing a couple of players at the weekend due to injury (Lee Carsley and Stuart Parnaby).

"We're down to our bare bones. Myself and 'Chucho' (Benitez) have done a good job up front so far but it would be good to have one or even two strikers in.

"Kevin Phillips has not really featured much this season for whatever reason and the manager feels like he needs to strengthen the squad and most players would agree with that.

"We're on a good run, a bit of a purple patch at the moment. We've been lucky with injuries to our starting XI. But if anyone was ruled out, then there's not too much cover in the squad and I think that's what is needed, some players in."

Jerome added: "Jones would definitely be a good addition. He has played in the Premier League for a number of years and he's a good old-fashioned centre forward.

"From my personal point of view, I'd love to play off somebody like him. It's crying out for myself to play off a big striker rather than myself being the big striker someone else plays off.

"I'd love somebody of that stature and calibre to come into Birmingham. I think he would benefit the team as well.

"But, whoever the manager brings in, I'm sure it's going to be quality added to the squad, not just quantity."

Jerome is confident City can cause problems for United but is wary of a backlash after their shock FA Cup reversal against Leeds last weekend.

He said: "We played relatively well at the beginning of the season at Old Trafford and were unlucky to lose by the one goal.

"Now we're 11 games unbeaten in the Premier League and United have hit a bit of a sticky patch. We're going into the game full of confidence, hoping we can cause an upset.

"But we know there could be a backlash after their cup defeat. There is no doubting the quality they have got, world-class players throughout their squad."
Title: Kenwyne Jones set to snub Birmingham in hope of Big Four move
Post by: Tallman on January 10, 2010, 07:54:13 AM
Kenwyne Jones set to snub Birmingham in hope of Big Four move
Mirror Football

Kenwyne Jones is set to snub Birmingham's £10million January bid to sign him and stay at Sunderland until the summer.

The giant striker has told friends he wants to hang on in the hope of a move that will give him the chance to play Champions League football.

And if that doesn't happen at one of the Big Four clubs in this country he'll try to move abroad when the season ends.

That will come as a blow to Birmingham boss McLeish who was hoping to break his club's transfer record to make the Trinidad and Tobago international his first major signing.

Stadium of Light boss Steve Bruce has insisted publicly he doesn't want to sell but has only played the 25-year-old for 90 minutes six times in the Premier League this season.

McLeish expects to tie up a £3m deal for midfielder Michel from Sporting Gijon this week, but it was Jones - with 23 goals from 71 League games for the Black Cats - who was his major target.

An insider said: "At 25 Kenwyne sees himself as being ready to take a step up if he leaves Sunderland and if a chance to play Champions League football doesn't happen now then he'll wait to assess the situation."

McLeish, with up to £40m available from his new Chinese owners, will now up his attempts to persuade Wigan to part with Hugo Rodallega as well as former Newcastle midfielder Charles N'Zogbia.
Post by: Daft Trini on January 10, 2010, 08:09:09 AM
Birmingham is ah big club jess ask Manchester United.
Title: Re: Kenwyne Jones set to snub Birmingham in hope of Big Four move
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 10, 2010, 04:08:24 PM
Kenwyne Jones set to snub Birmingham in hope of Big Four move
Mirror Football

Kenwyne Jones is set to snub Birmingham's £10million January bid to sign him and stay at Sunderland until the summer.

The giant striker has told friends he wants to hang on in the hope of a move that will give him the chance to play Champions League football.

And if that doesn't happen at one of the Big Four clubs in this country he'll try to move abroad when the season ends.

That will come as a blow to Birmingham boss McLeish who was hoping to break his club's transfer record to make the Trinidad and Tobago international his first major signing.

Stadium of Light boss Steve Bruce has insisted publicly he doesn't want to sell but has only played the 25-year-old for 90 minutes six times in the Premier League this season.

McLeish expects to tie up a £3m deal for midfielder Michel from Sporting Gijon this week, but it was Jones - with 23 goals from 71 League games for the Black Cats - who was his major target.

An insider said: "At 25 Kenwyne sees himself as being ready to take a step up if he leaves Sunderland and if a chance to play Champions League football doesn't happen now then he'll wait to assess the situation."

McLeish, with up to £40m available from his new Chinese owners, will now up his attempts to persuade Wigan to part with Hugo Rodallega as well as former Newcastle midfielder Charles N'Zogbia.
:rotfl: :devil: :devil:
Post by: dreamer on January 10, 2010, 04:53:47 PM
Apat from the fact that he and Bruce do have much love for each other, it's probably perceived that he has reached peak sale value at Sunderland and thus he has to be sold now and thus decision to play around with and tease the prospective buyers and create enough paranoia about EPL rival competition to get the best price out of them
Title: How Kenwyne Jones would have cost Blues £28million
Post by: Tallman on January 11, 2010, 05:30:47 AM
How Kenwyne Jones would have cost Blues £28million
By Colin Tattum (Birmingham Mail)

ALEX McLeish is back to square one in his search for a new striker to boost his Blues’ glory boys.

McLeish has drawn a line under the move for Kenwyne Jones due to the stupendous cost of the total package it would require to land the striker, who Sunderland value at £15 million.

Including transfer fees, add-ons, various clauses and wages over the length of contract – Jones is understood to be seeking towards £70,000 a week – Blues found themselves looking at an outlay of around £28 million.

That’s just too hefty for McLeish and the Blues board to stomach and he is considering other options.

The manager and Carson Yeung’s directors were quite confident an agreement could be reached at the tail end of last week but the landscape began to change dramatically.

Blues wrote themselves into club record books by drawing against Manchester United on Saturday – a 12th consective top-flight game unbeaten.

And McLeish also set a new Premier League mark by selecting the same starting XI for the ninth game in a row, signifying not only the superb sequence of results but extraordinary durability in the ranks. McLeish maintained that he still, nonetheless, wanted to help his squad – Michel’s £3 million capture from Sporting Gijon was being completed today – but not by going OTT, as the Jones decision shows.

Speaking generally, and not in relation to Jones, he said: “I think adding to the squad is vital to the players, for the guys that have done so well.

“What I am conscious of is taking too big a step, signing a certain type of player at a certain type of wages at a certain type of transfer fee.

“I don’t know if that’s absolutely necessary at this given time because you can jump ahead too quickly and I’ve said in the press this past week that I’ve got a responsibility to Birmingham, to make sure the finances don’t go haywire.”

“We’ve looked at it but then we’ve got to consider what are the expectation levels if I bring a big, giant signing in,” he continued.

“Do the fans expect us getting into Europe? There are probably seven teams in this league that are untouchable for the rest of us.

“That’s my dilemma. I think the players have made great progress – let’s just calm the jets a wee bit and keep our feet on the ground.”

Blues’ eighth position and 33-point haul has softened the need for any panic buying during the January window.

McLeish is not alone in discovering that prices are high and value for money lower than usual.

As for setting a new record, he insisted: “I don’t really look at statistics. I just look at trying to get a result for the team and the club on the day and if we break records, that is great.

“But it is not something I actively look at.

“To go 12 games unbeaten in this tough Premier League is terrific. I’ve said that one day we will be beaten – that’s a fact – but we have to do all we can in ensuring we can always finish a game the way we did on Saturday, being proud of our performances and making the opposition feel they’ve been in a hell of a game. And we did that against the champions.”
Post by: davidephraim on January 11, 2010, 05:47:38 AM

I think Yorke had the same problems.
Post by: kev on January 11, 2010, 09:20:07 AM
Sunderland Echo

My :bs: is a little rusty but from what I could pick out my translation is this:
Either he didn't find he was getting high enough offers for Kenwyne, or things wasn't looking good with the Kuranyi deal or both.

The money being offered is a lot less than Spuds were willing to pay this time last year.

Kuranyi is in the last 6 months of his contract and seems to be eyeing a Bosman move, big signing on fee plus big wages.  Depending on what paper you believe he wants between £80,000 and £130,000 per week.  Not going to happen.

My view would still be he wants another target man in, settled and sell Kenwyne in the summer, but what do I know. 

The club are being linked strongly with  Cabanas (sp) from the Mexican league, not a clue, no doubt a couple of you have a much better idea what he is like.
Post by: Flex on January 11, 2010, 09:36:34 AM
Salvador Cabanas is from Paraguay currently plays for Club America in Mexico, not a bad player but not many Latin Americans have success in the UK. Maybe its a language barrier or they just get home sick, they are very hard players to settle in. But you never know....
Post by: dinho on January 11, 2010, 10:14:01 AM
Cabanas.. thats the ponytail fellah playing in Mexico?

shitong.
Post by: soccerman on January 11, 2010, 10:30:17 AM
I just heard on the radio that Liverpool is interested in KJ now. Benitez is trying to swap Babel for KJ since he has no funds to buy any players.
Post by: Jah Gol on January 11, 2010, 01:52:38 PM
I just heard on the radio that Liverpool is interested in KJ now. Benitez is trying to swap Babel for KJ since he has no funds to buy any players.
No disrespect eh but KJ that good.
Post by: palos on January 11, 2010, 02:08:52 PM
All these Prem managers doh know shit bout football.

Redknapp
Keane (ex prem anyway)
Benitez
Bruce
O'Neill
McLeish

You tellin me ALL a dem eh know KJ is a rank shithong?

Ah mean...socapro and practically everybody on dis board say he a shitsnake so it mus be de case ent?

He cyah trap, he cyah pass, he cyah shoot, he lazy, he on star boy ting, kerry baptiste better dan he all kinda ting.

Me eh know how dem managers still have a wuk nah.  Dem cyah see de obvious?

Steupes.  No wonder dem cyah win nutting.  Look REAL managers like Alex Ferguson doh even talk bout KJ. 

DEM know football.

Not dese pretenders.

All dah good money fuh KJ?  WTF dese people thinkin? 
Post by: KND2 on January 11, 2010, 03:45:01 PM
KJ is a key man for the english leagues.

if you notice who does be the target of the long ball from the back and he does win at least 70% of them or get foul.

he does well.

In england with the high pressure you must have a good long ball plan especially if you team is not one of the Top 3 and cannot play the passing game under pressure.

In addition KJ link up play is improving immensely

Look at the Goal he soce in Man u and the cross he give bent to score.

15 Million at least

when you consider his age he have at least 5 good years left.

KJ should try to go to spain or italy in my oppinion

A team like valencia , or atletico go snap him up.

he go dominate in that league with his power up front.
Post by: dumpalewie on January 11, 2010, 08:15:04 PM
He's as good as gone!!!

I hope it hurts just enough to make him realize that you have to be consistently good to be the real deal. Failure of Yorke for not passing it on to the future.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on January 12, 2010, 10:39:29 AM
All these Prem managers doh know shit bout football.

Redknapp
Keane (ex prem anyway)
Benitez
Bruce
O'Neill
McLeish

You tellin me ALL a dem eh know KJ is a rank shithong?

Ah mean...socapro and practically everybody on dis board say he a shitsnake so it mus be de case ent?

He cyah trap, he cyah pass, he cyah shoot, he lazy, he on star boy ting, kerry baptiste better dan he all kinda ting.

Me eh know how dem managers still have a wuk nah.  Dem cyah see de obvious?

Steupes.  No wonder dem cyah win nutting.  Look REAL managers like Alex Ferguson doh even talk bout KJ. 

DEM know football.

Not dese pretenders.

All dah good money fuh KJ?  WTF dese people thinkin? 

It still have a few of us who believe de fella talented ;D
Post by: Sando on January 13, 2010, 05:25:24 AM
Stoke City still wants  Jones...

Jones is no stranger to the Britannia Stadium, having played 16 games for Stoke while on loan from Southampton between February and May 2005.
Post by: FireBrand on January 13, 2010, 08:52:20 AM
Kenwyne Jones still on Stoke radar
Sportinglife.com

Stoke chairman Peter Coates has refused to rule out a January transfer move for Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones.

Both the Potters and Premier League rivals Birmingham have been linked with the Trinidad and Tobago star.

But Sunderland boss Steve Bruce has questioned whether either club has the financial muscle to land the striker, after suggesting Jones is worth £40million at his best.

While Coates has acknowledged the club have yet to open detailed discussions with Sunderland, he has not ruled out the possibility of landing the forward.

"I don't know what they want for him, so I can't say whether we can afford him or not," Coates told The Sentinel.

"Until I know what he (Bruce) is looking for, it's impossible to say if he's right in what he is saying.

"We've had no talks with them and so no figures have been mentioned. I don't know what sort of deal might be available.

"If he's looking for what he thinks we regard as silly money, then he would be right.

"But it's not a case of what we can afford, it's a case of what we regard as good value. We are in the phoney war at the moment, when we are seeing what's happening in the market place."

Jones is no stranger to the Britannia Stadium, having played 16 games for Stoke while on loan from Southampton between February and May 2005.