General => General Discussion => Topic started by: fishs on March 21, 2009, 11:37:11 PM

Title: I will not go to the BL stadium in Tarouba
Post by: fishs on March 21, 2009, 11:37:11 PM

Tarouba stadium steel ‘condemned’
By Andre Bagoo Sunday, March 22 2009

THE STRUCTURAL steelwork on the $900 million Brian Lara Stadium project at Tarouba “is effectively condemned”, according to a report into the Udecott project prepared by Gerry McCaffrey, the construction expert hired by the Uff Commission of Inquiry whose future participation in the inquiry has now been cast in doubt.

According to McCaffrey’s initial report into the project dated February 20, the main contractor for the project, Hafeez Karamath Limited (HKL) ignored 300 “stop orders” for work on the project. McCaffrey concluded that issues of “quality control” and of the inability of Udecott to enforce the terms of the contract for the project have contributed to delays on the project.

“I am advised that HKL have received hundreds of stop-orders for defective work,” McCaffrey wrote. “For example, I am advised that HKL ignore stop-orders to the extent that, as at January 2009, the structural steelwork (which was progressed in the face of around 300 stop-orders) is effectively condemned.”

In his report, the British consultant of the firm Acutus, raised a series of serious questions over work done on the project and undertook to return to Trinidad and Tobago this month to further his investigations on behalf of the inquiry. But his future participation is now unlikely because of the failure of the Office of the Prime Minister to approve further funding for him to continue his work.

McCaffrey’s initial report, submitted to the inquiry in February, had also effectively cleared former Housing Minister Dr Keith Rowley of any wrongdoing in relation to the Cleaver Heights project. He had concluded that there was “smoke” surrounding the project but this was “unlikely to be masking mischief.”

The Actus expert further noted that the steel was tested and two testing companies gave the steelwork failure rates averaging 78.5 percent.

“Two separate independent testing companies tested a significant representative proportion of the welds. The average failure rate of both independent tests is 78.5 percent.” McCaffrey expressed a desire to examine this aspect of the project in further detail, but said he was unable to.

“I have asked Udecott for a position statement on this issue. I understand zero roof welds have been inspected/tested. Access was not made available,” he noted in his preliminary report. McCaffrey also noted a series of findings into the structural works on the project contained in a separate report which was prepared by structural engineer Arun Buch. The Buch report, according to McCaffrey, contained allegations that there were problems of “mistakes in design assumptions”, “material incompleteness of design” and an issue of “inexperienced designers proposing impractical construction details having undue complexity”.

Udecott lawyers in the inquiry have argued that the Buch report is subject to legal privilege. While the report was submitted to the inquiry, Udecott asked that it be treated in a strictly confidential manner. In a letter dated March 2, attorneys for Udecott asked the commissioners to confirm that “copies of the Arun Buch (report) have not been disseminated beyond the custody and control of the commissioners” and to ensure that “no copies remain in the possession of the commission”.

But in addition to noting issues raised by the Buch report, McCaffrey went on to list a series of problems that may account for delays in the completion of the stadium which was hoped for completion in March 2007. These included: (a) insufficient design resource base on the site because the designers worked in a different country; (b) disagreement in design interface arising from contractors proposals, (c) replacement of project managers Turner Alpha with Genivar in July 2008, (d) insufficient resources being applied to available workforces, (e) failure of designers to be sufficiently responsive in addressing site queries, (f) ground conditions differing from that assumed. McCaffrey complained that Udecott files for the project were in disarray at the time of his initial investigation in January and that this stymied his examination of several issues, including the payment of advances to HKL. To date, HKL have been paid $410 million, according to McCaffrey.

“The degree of disarray within those files led to an extensive examination of the content and many questions cannot be answered at the moment. That will be taken forward during my next visit to Trinidad in the first week of March…I have already sent numerous queries to Udecott and it is my expectation that my next visit will be used to address outstanding questions face to face.”

But while the second phase of inquiry hearings is due to start tomorrow at the Winsure Building, Port-of-Spain, McCaffrey’s participation has been thrown into doubt because of a lack of funding, according to an email sent out to all of the parties in the proceedings by inquiry chairman Prof John Uff.

“Attorneys for Udecott have raised a number of questions concerning the future role of Acutus and Mr McCaffrey,” Uff said in the email sent on Friday.

“Mr McCaffrey’s report was served on February 23. It was intended that he should produce further reports. His participation in the inquiry was, however, subject to approval of funding which is no longer available. It is therefore unlikely that Mr McCaffrey will participate further in the enquiry,” he said. “While it was intended that further information would be obtained on Mr McCaffrey’s further visit, which did not take place, this should not prevent Udecott from providing the Commissioners with the further information identified in the report.”

This is bad normally 3 % is the max acceptable limit for weld failures and even then the failed welds are re-done and re-tested.
I don't know where these welds are  but even simple members could cause serious injury if they fail.
For instance whilst walking down some stairs you rely on handrails to keep balance and the handrail snaps then you could have a serious tumble, but the report talks about roof members not being tested.

Don't put yourself at risk avoid this stadium if it is ever completed.

And in how could the GOTT not continue to pay the investigator with his job half done?
Title: Re: I will not go to the BL stadium in Tarouba
Post by: dcs on March 21, 2009, 11:49:03 PM
And in how could the GOTT not continue to pay the investigator with his job half done?

What you mean?  The man is not playing ball...he only criticizing and finding fault.
Not once did he talk about all the great things the PNM have done in the Tarouba stadium

Nah seriously....if we ever take anything seriously.  Is this not the trend?
Watch tomorrow or soon after somebody will come out and say the Investigator have an axe to grind and his report is patently false. 

Imagine having something like this named after you.  He must be wish they would offer to name something else after him but he can't say dat   :-[
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 22, 2009, 02:53:52 AM
Please dont tell me we are going to end up with a defective

BIG WHITE ELEPHANT...... :o of a stadium......I wonder if this is going to turn out like Biche ???
Post by: Jah Gol on March 22, 2009, 07:42:53 AM
That is totally unacceptable. Were they prepared to put people's lives at risk ? The steel can't make the grade after TTD$ 900 m. This is no different to the airport made of gypsum and low grade tarmac.

Nah man , we hadda buss some throats for this. This one hurts personally.

At least it coming to light now. I hope charges follow soon.   
Post by: Jah Gol on March 22, 2009, 07:55:15 AM
78.5 % failure when 3 % is acceptable.  It seems like they were prepared to let people die in that stadium.
Post by: D.H.W on March 22, 2009, 08:03:55 AM
what a waste of money idiots
Post by: Swima on March 22, 2009, 11:24:56 AM

BIG WHITE ELEPHANT...... :o of a stadium......I wonder if this is going to turn out like Biche ???

Aaaaaand, a much bigger scandal than the Airport.
Post by: WestCoast on March 22, 2009, 11:27:17 AM
Imagine having something like this named after you.  He must be wish they would offer to name something else after him but he can't say dat   :-[
He go lime in his Pavillion at the QPCC ;)
at first thought I was wondering why the QPCC did that but obviously in hindsight it was a brilliant move
Post by: sammy on March 22, 2009, 11:43:57 AM
at first thought I was wondering why the QPCC did that but obviously in hindsight it was a brilliant move

what go happen is Lara ask for his name to be removed from that stadium? PNM  die hards go say he is UNC
Post by: WestCoast on March 22, 2009, 11:46:18 AM

what go happen is Lara ask for his name to be removed from that stadium? PNM  die hards go say he is UNC
Post by: dwolfman on March 22, 2009, 12:01:02 PM
Isn't this lovely.
Post by: fishs on March 22, 2009, 12:18:47 PM

This is a travesty it fooking criminal, this is Calder Hart and his cronies at it full tilt.
Hafeez Karamath start off as a lil piss in tail contractor in Aranguez an UNC give him ah bligh , he build salt water treatment plant for them for big big money , an yuh know what ? Yuh could google a plant and just put one down complete no problem , in other words any of us could build one.
Yuh give him this project that was fast track . On what basis ?
I went into the man fab shop in 1999 an laugh.
This is big big corruption an TT ah know yuh goh be right up mih ass with this , but this is UNC corruption and PNM going one better.
Yuh remember Ish was the man that get the 10million contract to build the bridge to nowhere re the Caroni racing complex ?
An is the same Ish that in corruption charges now under the UNC regime ?
Well brother this seems like ah reverse situation.

Calder Hart should be pelt in ah TT jail for the rest of he life and be licking dougla tottee until he start tuh like it
Post by: Brownsugar on March 22, 2009, 12:37:40 PM

Aaaaaand, a much bigger scandal than the Airport.

hhmmm boy at least we have an "airport" or at least somthing resembling an airport.....that thing down in Toruba looking de same way every time yuh drive by and there is no end in sight...

Post by: TriniCana on March 22, 2009, 12:46:12 PM
anybody has a snap of it ?
before ah open meh mouth ah want ah visual.
right now is media bringing this to dey table. and at dey moment media loosing points every blasted day in my books. >:(

so until ah see something, ah go juss read.
Post by: Feliziano on March 22, 2009, 12:54:47 PM
This is bad normally 3 % is the max acceptable limit for weld failures and even then the failed welds are re-done and re-tested.
I don't know where these welds are  but even simple members could cause serious injury if they fail.
For instance whilst walking down some stairs you rely on handrails to keep balance and the handrail snaps then you could have a serious tumble, but the report talks about roof members not being tested.

Don't put yourself at risk avoid this stadium if it is ever completed.

good talk dey Fishs
it ent really matter where the welds are right now cause if they that sloppy and negligent what else they hiding or underperformed
78.5% of the welds not being good enough is a damning statement...and they ent even inspect the roof yet?..a strong breeze could throw that down
and dey building for ah tsunami?..steups
dem like they looking for mass murder
Post by: Brownsugar on March 22, 2009, 12:56:07 PM
right now is media bringing this to dey table. and at dey moment media loosing points every blasted day in my books. >:(

Cana, de structure on de site right now...is just de steel frame.....nutten else....and it looks de same way every time yuh drive past....I not sure I could get a pic for you cuz I mostly pass by on mih way to Point for work and I'm not driving most of the times....but girl trust me when ah say de kinda money dey say spent so far cyar account for what is on site....

Anywho, the commission of enquiry starting back tomorrow so more might come out soon.....
Post by: verycute1 on March 22, 2009, 01:32:38 PM

I will see if I can get one of the family to snap it for ya. moms and siblings live in south but granma live in arima so they always passing there.
Post by: weary1969 on March 22, 2009, 01:35:16 PM
D rate dey goin none ah oui go b goin 2 dat stadium.
Post by: TriniCana on March 22, 2009, 01:49:13 PM
Ladies I would appreciate, because what I just read in this thread, I honestly can't believe it.

$900 million...nah ah cyah believe it. Ah cyah believe they spending so much for a STADIUM.. What dey fack TnT need 5 stadiums for ???  To throw FETES and when Michael Bolton come down ? Is only every 3.5 years its used for football matches - ie dey National Stadium.  Who using Dwight own in Tobago ? Who using Jean own nex' to the National Stadium, Calypso Reveue ??? When last it had a International Netball competition in TnT ???

Ramjohn own, during the last year, how many matches were played there ??? There are more activities at Eddie Hart Grounds and WASA grounds compared to all 5 stadiums put together... Ah shit man, 900 millions ?

Set ah facking jokers oui
Post by: Babalawo on March 22, 2009, 01:54:57 PM
OK TELL ME WHAT SURVEY THEY HAVE TO SHOW THAT THEY NEEDED ANOTHER CRICKET STADIUM IN THE FIRST PLACE?   Is QP oval sooooo busy everyday that they can't fit cricket into their stadium somedays? One big loud steups.  in a country with only about 2 million and hardly any international cricket going on few times a year. Blow up that whole shit and turn into something people will use 365 days a year. PUBLIC HOUSING.  This gov't lucky im not a lawyer and is living in Trinidad because i will demand to see who have a survey and figured we need another cricket stadium, and make the people who ok'ed this pay.
Post by: fishs on March 22, 2009, 02:44:20 PM
OK TELL ME WHAT SURVEY THEY HAVE TO SHOW THAT THEY NEEDED ANOTHER CRICKET STADIUM IN THE FIRST PLACE?   Is QP oval sooooo busy everyday that they can't fit cricket into their stadium somedays? One big loud steups.  in a country with only about 2 million and hardly any international cricket going on few times a year. Blow up that whole shit and turn into something people will use 365 days a year. PUBLIC HOUSING.  This gov't lucky im not a lawyer and is living in Trinidad because i will demand to see who have a survey and fured we need another cricket stadium, and make the people who ok'ed this pay.

Take it easy bro , is not really a stadium just for cricket, in fact the idea was good.
It was to be a proper academy , full amenities so that every sport could use . The main ground however is for cricket.
In priciple it would be an excellent facility and because it is goverment it would mean full time paid coachs for all sports.
But a good idea and effort turning out to be the biggest corruption and waste of money this country has ever seen.
Post by: WestCoast on March 22, 2009, 02:48:38 PM
check what wiki have to say bout it

"Tarouba Complex
The Brian Lara Stadium is part of a large complex situated on 180 acres (0.73 km2) of farm lands in Tarouba, Trinidad with a cost of $850 million TT dollars. It was designed by Hellmuth, Obalat & Kassabum, a US architectural firm. The complex will consist of: An aquatic centre. Olympic-sized cycling velodrome. Indoor gymnasium. School for training of athletes. A large car park, new roads and other infrastructural works. The Brian Lara stadium and cricket academy.

This stadium will serve as a training facility for cricket players. It will feature four indoor cricket training pitches with computerised biometric technology to measure an athlete’s performance, including two full-length run-up pitches for fast-bowlers. Patrons at the stadium will have an unhindered view from every area of the facility, including the concessionaires area. It also has areas specifically designed for the print, radio and television media, respectively. The facility may also see the construction of a hotel in the future."
Post by: dwolfman on March 22, 2009, 03:10:20 PM

"Patrons at the stadium will have an unhindered view from every area of the facility, including the concessionaires area. "

I eh know if the view worth my life, nuh!
Post by: D.H.W on March 22, 2009, 03:13:20 PM

"Tarouba Complex
The Brian Lara Stadium is part of a large complex situated on 180 acres (0.73 km2) of farm lands in Tarouba, Trinidad with a cost of $850 million TT dollars. It was designed by Hellmuth, Obalat & Kassabum, a US architectural firm. The complex will consist of: An aquatic centre. Olympic-sized cycling velodrome. Indoor gymnasium. School for training of athletes. A large car park, new roads and other infrastructural works. The Brian Lara stadium and cricket academy.

This stadium will serve as a training facility for cricket players. It will feature four indoor cricket training pitches with computerised biometric technology to measure an athlete’s performance, including two full-length run-up pitches for fast-bowlers. Patrons at the stadium will have an unhindered view from every area of the facility, including the concessionaires area. It also has areas specifically designed for the print, radio and television media, respectively. The facility may also see the construction of a hotel in the future."

they aint even finish the cricket stadium yet stueps
Post by: Sam on March 23, 2009, 07:08:36 AM
Imagine de Brian Lara Stadium costing more to build that the Airport.

And they say Panday was corrupted when Manning making Panday payday look like chicken feed.

(http://www.newsday.co.tt/galeria/7-1a_stadium_2.18.3.09.jpg)
Post by: kounty on March 23, 2009, 07:14:44 AM

And they say Panday was corrupted when Manning making Panday payday look like chicken feed.

dese go end up like ancient mayan ruins,,,,bess dey start from now advertising it as such to the cricket tourists.
Post by: D.H.W on March 23, 2009, 08:05:38 AM

dese go end up like ancient mayan ruins,,,,bess dey start from now advertising it as such to the cricket tourists.

lol  :D
Post by: Babalawo on March 23, 2009, 10:05:43 AM
McCaffrey and Co. rob Manning bad :devil:. who hired this man. what was his firms track record on projects?
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 23, 2009, 11:04:51 AM
Looks like another place to throw car show and fete match football.

And my guess is, it will fall victim to the usual lack of maintenance as with every other government building.
Post by: Bakes on March 23, 2009, 12:18:54 PM

Panday is yuh fukkin woman or what horse?  Everything fuh you is Panday better than Manning.
Post by: Sam on March 23, 2009, 03:15:50 PM

Panday is yuh f**kkin woman or what horse?  Everything fuh you is Panday better than Manning.

Who de f00ck say Panday better than Manning yuh dum ass mouth f00cker..... show me where I said that.

I use Panday name because to this date they still blaming him for everything in T&T and calling him corrupted and YES he was...... but Manning eh no better.

I just want people to see that when a man f00ck up, he f00k up and not blame somebody else for his f00ck up.

Yuh cuunny !!! yuh big stinking mother cunny...
Post by: Bakes on March 23, 2009, 03:27:56 PM
Who de f00ck say Panday better than Manning yuh dum ass mouth f00cker..... show me where I said that.

I use Panday name because to this date they still blaming him for everything in T&T and calling him corrupted and YES he was...... but Manning eh no better.

I just want people to see that when a man f00ck up, he f00k up and not blame somebody else for his f00ck up.

Yuh doh have to explicitly say it yuh dumb dick riding c**t... it right there implied in yuh words.  Who de f**k is "they"... most people on here blaming the present government for what going on, only person studying f**king Panday is you.  I dunno, like yuh juggling be balls or something.
Post by: Deeks on March 23, 2009, 07:34:06 PM
It is real unfortunate that this had to happen. The idea was good but the approach was bad. This will end up like Caroni complex and Geo V complex. What ever blame Manning get is deserved. When building projects like that, it is either you have the money or don't start it. Look at the grand stand and the Carnival center. The fact is that they run out of money. Reality bite them in they bam-bam when the price of oil plummeted. In addition we hosting the Summit and the Commonwelth meeting. Something got to give.

I always said that this was Manning's gift for South Trinidad. Nothing wrong with that. The real problem is all the blasted kick-backs that does be taking place place. We have constructed bulidings and facilities and now they talking about structural deficiencies and all that crap. They should sue the engineering companies who approve they project.

Can any tell why this complex was being built in Tarouba. Why was it not closer to Manny in Marabella
Post by: Touches on March 23, 2009, 08:52:02 PM
It was the only available state land that was suitable...problem is the ground was bad, they get the topography wrong and had to fill and re-fill. The foundation not good and is more worries as the steel giving trouble.

We have a thread bout this 2-3 years ago...
Post by: dwolfman on March 23, 2009, 09:26:17 PM
Another poorly planned gov't project. Manning have his shortcomings, but I don't think he's corrupt. A ego maniacal fool, but not corrupt.

How many more millions will go into this project before it is abandoned?
Post by: dcs on March 23, 2009, 10:30:22 PM

I find it hard to believe it as bad as they say structurally.
The JCC today at the Commission talking about criminal negligence.

Look how fast the flyover getting built once the contractors started working on it.  Maybe they will take the stance that it is local contractors that screwing up?

I eh go lie...driving past that big and bold on the highway could make you cringe first time you see it when you thinking it almost done and expecting to see some modern spanking new stadium.  mayan ruins   :rotfl:
Post by: Sam on March 24, 2009, 06:54:05 AM

Yuh doh have to explicitly say it yuh dumb dick riding c**t... it right there implied in yuh words.  Who de f**k is "they"... most people on here blaming the present government for what going on, only person studying f**king Panday is you.  I dunno, like yuh juggling be balls or something.

I studing Panday !!!! ... yuh f00ck well wrong..... Is really yuh mammy I studing.

be balls ? like yuh went to school in Golden Gorve.

F00ck you, f00ck Panday and for de biggest f00ck of all.... f00ck Manning twice.
Post by: Sando on March 24, 2009, 07:27:51 AM
Millions of tax payers money down the drain.

Good work Mr Manning. Good work. You make George Chamber look like a king.
Post by: Bakes on March 24, 2009, 07:31:20 AM

I studing Panday !!!! ... yuh f00ck well wrong..... Is really yuh mammy I studing.

F00ck you, f00ck Panday and for de biggest f00ck of all.... f00ck Manning twice.

What yuh studying my 'mammy' for... yuh own mammy ent tired teach yuh how tuh take man?

"Golden Gorve" is whey again... whey you and yuh mudda does go skin allyuh cyat on weekends?

Dumbass.
Post by: Sam on March 24, 2009, 07:33:23 AM

What yuh studying my 'mammy' for... yuh own mammy ent tired teach yuh how tuh take man?

"Golden Gorve" is whey again... whey you and yuh mudda does go skin allyuh cyat on weekends?

Dumbass.

Yuh mother is ah f00cking man !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! me eh want she again.
Post by: Bakes on March 24, 2009, 08:06:21 AM
I bet yuh doh want she... she cyah f**k yuh like Panday does f**k yuh.
Post by: Pur_Trini on March 24, 2009, 08:12:27 AM

You're on a roll today, Bakes!  Yet another demonstration of your superior intellect.  Very well done!
Post by: Swima on March 24, 2009, 08:21:03 AM

Allyuh serious?
Post by: Bakes on March 24, 2009, 08:26:34 AM

You're on a roll today, Bakes!  Yet another demonstration of your superior intellect.  Very well done!

I don't have to demonstrate my superior intelligence, I's not de one trailing behind man on the internet like some fassy watchman maccoing what he doing.

But I understand, it gives meaning to your worthless life.
Post by: Pur_Trini on March 24, 2009, 08:34:22 AM

I don't have to demonstrate my superior intelligence, I's not de one trailing behind man on the internet like some fassy watchman maccoing what he doing.

But I understand, it gives meaning to your worthless life.

You are right, of course - you don't have to.  It's a pity that you do so frequently anyway!!  You really do need to learn when to shut up. 

You have entertained me but you are becoming boring and I've finished laughing at you now.  Have a nice day!  :beermug:  :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on March 24, 2009, 08:41:15 AM

You are right, of course - you don't have to.  It's a pity that you do so frequently anyway!!  You really do need to learn when to shut up. 

You have entertained me but you are becoming boring and I've finished laughing at you now.  Have a nice day!  :beermug:  :beermug:

It's a pity that I do what?  demonstrate my 'superior intelligence' so frequently?  The more you post the more you reveal what a dumbass you really are.  I don't even have to bother making you look like a dunce when yuh doing such a fine job on your own.
Post by: Sam on March 24, 2009, 08:44:27 AM

Yuh mammy have two kakahole !!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Pur_Trini on March 24, 2009, 10:55:53 AM

It's a pity that I do what?  demonstrate my 'superior intelligence' so frequently?  The more you post the more you reveal what a dumbass you really are.  I don't even have to bother making you look like a dunce when yuh doing such a fine job on your own.

I apologise but, following your latest comment, I realise my last post was unfair to you - you were good for a little more entertainment and NOW I'm finished laughing at you!!!  ;)
Post by: dcs on March 30, 2009, 08:19:28 PM
Anyone  from UDECOTT or GOTT refute the findings of the report?
Post by: WestCoast on March 30, 2009, 08:22:51 PM

Allyuh serious?
Swima
is ONLY now you seein how a very few does act on here
Post by: truetrini on March 30, 2009, 09:51:46 PM

Allyuh serious?
Swima

why yuh doh hush yuh pansy ass?  I doh like to beat old white men so yuh lucky! ;)
Post by: WestCoast on March 30, 2009, 09:58:24 PM

Allyuh serious?
Swima

why yuh doh hush yuh pansy ass?  I doh like to beat old white men so yuh lucky! ;)
4Cars like you does ONLY like to "beat" yaself :devil:
Post by: truetrini on March 30, 2009, 10:18:56 PM

Allyuh serious?
Swima

4Cars like you does ONLY like to "beat" yaself :devil:
dais true ah pelt one earlier tonight, yuh f**king spying?
Post by: Bakes on March 30, 2009, 10:31:00 PM
Swima

Who is de 'very few' that yuh referring to?
Post by: truetrini on March 30, 2009, 10:55:22 PM
Swima

Who is de 'very few' that yuh referring to?

you and me...lol
Post by: Bakes on March 30, 2009, 11:24:48 PM
you and me...lol

Nah I want to see if ah grown ass man (presumably) has the cojones to be direct and not resort to throwing words like ah market woman.

What say ye, Red Howler... who yuh talking about?
Post by: asylumseeker on March 30, 2009, 11:34:06 PM
What? East Coast and West Coast feuding ... ? :devil:
Post by: Bakes on March 31, 2009, 12:00:25 AM
What? East Coast and West Coast feuding ... ? :devil:

Nah no feud... but I assume he had a purpose for going back and reviving the thread and offering such a pointed opinion on these anonymous forumites.
Post by: truetrini on March 31, 2009, 10:23:08 AM
Answer nah WestCoast..answer....
Post by: dcs on March 31, 2009, 03:57:49 PM

Tallman break off a WAR thread for these fellahs nah   :devil:

I think it had some more news on this issue today in Parliament or the Commission or something....might be in tonights news and tomorrow's paper.
Post by: Bakes on March 31, 2009, 10:59:00 PM

Tallman break off a WAR thread for these fellahs nah   :devil:

I think it had some more news on this issue today in Parliament or the Commission or something....might be in tonights news and tomorrow's paper.

Nah man War?  Even I have mih limits... chirren, de infirmed and small animals are off limits.

West Coast ah find yuh real conspicuous by yuh absence doh... yuh all over de facking board but avoiding dis thread like ah plague.  If yuh mouth big enough to throw words fuh man yuh should be able to man up and say it directly to... not so?

So come call ah name nah man, wha'ppen yuh frighten or wha?
Post by: TriniCana on April 01, 2009, 04:29:23 AM
<Cana will be periodically lookin' ein dis thread during the course of the day>

Dis morning I come ein here to read bout dey latest of dey Stadium, only to read dis.  Nah ah peeping in here during dey course of dey day. :devil:

Allyuh be nice he does sob quickly....

Post by: dinho on April 01, 2009, 06:17:46 AM
come westcoast...

show yourself.
Post by: dcs on April 01, 2009, 06:49:09 AM
Unbelievable (http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,97705.html)
By Andre Bagoo Wednesday, April 1 2009
Trinidad & Tobago Newsday

(http://newsday.co.tt/aktualnosci/fullfront784front.JPG)

“UNBELIEVABLE”, “terrible” and “totally impracticable”. That was how engineer Arun Buch described the design for the $885 million Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba yesterday as he appeared as an independent expert witness before the Uff Commission of Inquiry into Udecott and the construction sector.

Buch, a civil engineer who specialises in structural engineering, criticised the stadium project saying it contained a “high level of over-design”.

“I have never seen anything like this...there was design, over-design and then some,” he said. “What was specified....way back in 2005 was totally impractical to build. It was unbelievable as to how anybody could have offered that as a practical solution to how you construct this.”

The engineer said there were major defects in the design for the project, which was done mainly by the firm of Turner Alpha Limited. He argued that work should never have been allowed to commence before these defects were sorted out. For example, he noted that key issues in the design of columns and joints on the project had not been worked out before the award of contracts.

“The joints and these humongous columns were not sorted out but contracts were awarded with those things still hanging and you can see what has happened...These contracts were awarded with all the pregnant problems,” Buch said, as he used a ruler to point to slides placed on display on a projector in the second floor courtroom of the Winsure Building, Port-of-Spain. “You can see the scale of the joints. This is the best that the contractor could design. But that is horrible. That really is terrible but that is what ended up being built.

“When one examines this...I don’t know what to say. This is one of the most humongous things I’ve ever seen for a building like this,” he said referring to a picture of a column at the site.

He revealed the structure of the stadium includes a 1,400-tonne steel roof. According to Buch the roof has a per square metre weight of 24 pounds, comparable to the weight of a highway- overpass.

“I’ve designed overpasses with a weight of 25 pounds per square metre but it’s a roof we are talking about!” he said. Overall, he said, the project has consumed 292 kilogrammes of steel per square metre. In contrast, the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, he said, used 80 kilogrammes per square metre. “That is more than twice the amount of steel and nobody blew a whistle,” he lamented.

Yet, he placed the blame for this at the hands of project managers/designers Turner Alpha Limited. He noted while Turner Alpha had in August 2006 recommended the project’s main builder Hafeez Karamth Limited (HKL) be fired, this should have come earlier since it was clear HKL could not have completed the convoluted designs by March 2007. He said Udecott was not at fault in not intervening in the design process saying, “Udecott is not required to know all these things.”

Buch also said there were problems with the handling of the soil at the site of the stadium. These problems he said, should have been anticipated. “That’s the first thing one should have seen,” he said, noting the stadium is being built in “sapatay” or highly absorbent clay soils which dominate the sedimentary landscape of south Trinidad. This piqued the attention of commissioner Israel Khan SC, who noted, “they (Turner Alpha) did not know about sapatay, but any gardener would be able to tell you about that. That would have avoided millions of dollars being spent and they did not even need a consultant; a gardener could have said that.”

Buch also criticised the fact that the project was built on a hilly terrain and this caused millions of dollars worth of excavation and exacerbated the soil problems.

“Somebody tried to force the stadium into the hill rather than get away from the hill,” he said. Buch, 67, was born in India but has lived and worked in Trinidad for the last three decades. He is the founder of Arun Buch and Associates. Among the projects he has worked on as structural engineer are: the Eric Williams Financial Complex, the Ato Boldon Stadium, the Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella and Tobago Plantations in Lowlands, Tobago (now owned by Vanguard Holdings Limited).

Buch is the author of a Udecott report on the Brian Lara Stadium. That report has been kept confidential because it is at the heart of a legal dispute. However the report–which was read by the commissioners in the inquiry under strict conditions–triggered them to invite Buch to give expert advice on the project.

He has also been mandated by the commissioners to produce an independent report into two other Udecott projects.

Lara stadium on wrong spot—engineer (http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2009/04/01/lara-stadium-wrong-spot-engineer)
RICHARD LORD | 8:25 PM
Trinidad Guardian
Published: March 31st, 2009

Consulting Engineer Arun Bush says a location close to the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella would have been better to construct the Brian Lara Cricket Stadium. He said if that venue was chosen many of the problems with the soil at the chosen Tarouba site would not have arisen. He said the facility would have cost less than $300 million.
He said it was almost impossible for the chosen contractor Hafeez Karamath Ltd to have met the deadline to construct the facility in time for Cricket World Cup in 2007. Bush said this while making a slide presentation at the Commission of Enquiry into the Construction Sector at the Winsure Building, Richmond Street, Port-of-Spain, yesterday.
He said the contract for the multi-million project “is absolutely silent in terms of who is responsible for the co-ordination of this contract.” Bush added that there was “too much to-ing and fro-ing about the project. The second round of hearings is expected to end on Friday, commission chairman John Uff said yesterday. It continues this morning.
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 01, 2009, 04:54:27 PM
Khan: A gardener would know better

Wednesday, April 1st 2009

Senior Counsel Israel Khan says that anyone who understands local soil conditions, even a gardener, could have told the designers of the Brian Lara Cricket Academy that building it into a hill at Tarouba was a bad idea.

"And that would have avoided millions of dollars being spent, and they need a consultant; a gardener could have said that," Khan said.

He did so during a presentation on the Brian Lara Cricket Academy by construction consultant Arun Buch, during yesterday's public hearing of the Commission of Enquiry into the Urban Development Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago (UDeCOTT) and the construction sector.

While Buch said the problem with the project, which now has construction costs of more than $600 million, was with the preparation of the contract, he acknowledged the excavation of the hill at the Tarouba site contributed to an escalation in cost.

He said had HOK, the designers hired by Turner Alpha Ltd consulted with two local construction consultants "they had named", they would have "gotten some answers".

Buch had defended HOK's track record, saying they had built stadia around the world.

The enquiry's chairman, Prof John Uff, said yesterday that he has made a proposal to the Office of the Prime Minster that Scottish forensic engineer Gerry McCaffrey "should be authorised to produce his final response" on the Brian Lara Stadium, in light of a report by UDeCOTT chief financial officer Safyia Noel that mistakes were made,

"Whether he will be authorised to do that we don't know," Uff said.

Post by: TriniCana on April 01, 2009, 05:10:21 PM
as dey saying goes, monkey know what tree to climb.

ah note to dey founders and dem, it kinda hard to view dey forum via ah iphone.... ah juss saying eh  :devil:
meh eye and dem hurting meh man :P

Post by: Babalawo on April 03, 2009, 09:51:48 PM
Unbelievable (http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,97705.html)

Lara stadium on wrong spot—engineer (http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2009/04/01/lara-stadium-wrong-spot-engineer)

RICHARD LORD | 8:25 PM
Trinidad Guardian
Published: March 31st, 2009
[/color]

Consulting Engineer Arun Bush says a location close to the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella would have been better to construct the Brian Lara Cricket Stadium. He said if that venue was chosen many of the problems with the soil at the chosen Tarouba site would not have arisen. He said the facility would have cost less than $300 million.
He said it was almost impossible for the chosen contractor Hafeez Karamath Ltd to have met the deadline to construct the facility in time for Cricket World Cup in 2007. Bush said this while making a slide presentation at the Commission of Enquiry into the Construction Sector at the Winsure Building, Richmond Street, Port-of-Spain, yesterday.
He said the contract for the multi-million project “is absolutely silent in terms of who is responsible for the co-ordination of this contract.” Bush added that there was “too much to-ing and fro-ing about the project. The second round of hearings is expected to end on Friday, commission chairman John Uff said yesterday. It continues this morning.

I hear that wrong spot version just now. might well bruk down the whole place and turn is a national garbage dump
Post by: E-man on May 07, 2009, 05:44:19 PM
Manning says now it can be finished in 4 months  :o

PM: Tarouba stadium in four months

By SEAN DOUGLAS Thursday, May 7 2009

PRIME Minister Patrick Manning told Newsday the Brian Lara Stadium at Tarouba is due to be finished in four months time. Speaking after a news conference following a tour of the Academy of Performing Arts, Port-of-Spain, Manning said he visited the Tarouba site yesterday morning and effused to Newsday, “That’s next!”.

Earlier, Manning told reporters he yesterday met Commonwealth Secretary General Kamalesh Sharma to discuss November’s Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) in Port-of-Spain. “Things are very largely on track,” he said.

Saying lessons from the Fifth Summit of the Americas would now be applied, he said, “I expect the CHOGM to be even better”. He said the CHOGM opening ceremony would be held at the academy.

Manning hoped that after people see the Academy for Performing Arts, the Port-of-Spain Waterfront Complex and the new Interchange on the Churchill Roosevelt Highway, they would better be able to understand Government’s vision for a developed nation.

Udecott head Calder Hart, said it would be ready in another three or four months, having earlier told Newsday its construction would be finished by September after which practice concerts would be held in October.

Shanghai Construction Group (TT) head, Michael Zhang, said the academy is 75 percent complete. Manning said the projected final cost is the same as the initial cost of US$60 million. He said it is a design-build contract, so that the cost only rises if the design is changed. Manning hailed project manager, Mr Shi, as “world class”. Manning denied the global recession would harm the project which he said is financed by a soft loan from the Chinese Government at just two percent interest and with a five year moratorium.
Post by: Babalawo on May 07, 2009, 06:39:58 PM
so get a new contractor and finish the thing. it have my back yard looking like hiroshima
Post by: weary1969 on May 07, 2009, 06:56:24 PM
LOUDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD
STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Post by: Brownsugar on May 08, 2009, 03:10:56 PM
LOUDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD
STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSS

......sqaured!!...
Post by: D.H.W on May 08, 2009, 06:13:48 PM
LOUDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD