Sports => Football => Topic started by: Touches on March 29, 2009, 08:12:21 AM

Title: D Touches Match report TT vs Honduras
Post by: Touches on March 29, 2009, 08:12:21 AM
Dear Forumites,

Believe it or not I am writing this piece with a sense of optimism. We showed great character coming from behind to draw this match and we are undefeated.

I have seen a marked improvement in this team and we played not to lose and the mission was accomplished.

Now let me say that I am upset that we did not bury this team...but look at it this way...Both Honduras and El Salvador have been exposed as two $h!t sides and I am convinced we will beat both of them in the return fixtures.

I went to movietown around 2 pm. They were charging 40$ to park but I was lucky that the guard did not take me on I went with injunchile for lunch. We then went to zanzibar for a pre game drink and we conversed with some Honduran supporters who were very cool and polite.

They were very knowledgeable about our players and were frightened of Jones. They said they never do well vs Caribbean teams and were afraid of TT and Jamaica and our "physical" style of play. All he wanted was a point and a win would be bonus. He explained they do not travel well and 1 point was their target.

However the gentleman said he liked TT and the crowd and atmosphere was good...he said Jamaica was rough and did not enjoy going there.

I reached in the stadium around 4:30...TSTT had a nice astro turf kinda thing at the entrance with Carbon Dioxide/Hydrogen blasting down. The TSTT girls were handing out rags and there were other goodies such as bottles, oversized fan fingers, whistles etc being given out by the various sponsors.

At 4:45 there was no one in grounds...I had the entire stand to myself...at 5:15 the place started to get ram and everybody was hustling for a seat.

The field was superb…green and lush…the best I have seen it in a while…only thing is that they used a different type of grass to patch up the areas that were thin so you could see the difference in quality but it was a good surface.

Carib had a promotion...12 beers and a cooler bag for $120 and after purchasing that with the scotch I smuggled in plus the drinks I had before...things were nice.

The eye food was aplenty, a large section of Honduran fans took up residence in both covered and uncovered stands and the TTFF finally got the music and PA system right...tunes were jamming and it was loud.

The teams came out and Honduran players were larger in build and height. Our players looked real paipsy in comparison and both warm ups looked very disorganised and lackadasical. No kinda urgency atall. We did a small sided game and men touches were on. Some stretches, sprints a few headers and it was back inside the tunnel.

The England game fiasco repeated itself and the TT ball boys came out with a small flag resembling the bandana that was on sale outside. Meanwhile Honduras had a proper sized flag dwarfing us and making us look small.

You could see the positive vibes of the players. Yorke was talking to the players walking out, Birchall and Ince were there near the bench. Daniel and Aklie hugging up, everybody giving everybody a bounce and the vibes were right. The crowd was pumped and the game was sold out…at least in uncovered stands and we were ready.

The Warrior Nation Flag came out, the riddim sections were in the stands ready,
the anthems were played on Pan...The president greeted the players and the game kicked off.

TT started in a 4-4-2 formation with Honduras doing the same and switching to a 3-5-2 occasionally.

It was Williams between the posts,  Aklie, Keyno, Lawrence, Wolfe, Daniel, Theobold, Leon, Carlos, Stern and Scotland.

We started shakey but honestly Honduras did nothing to scare us or threaten us in any way. TT when we decided to go fwd looked dangerous but we were playing a long ball hit and hope to the fwd that was cut out most of the time. Scotland was the livelier of the two forwards and turned his marker and hit a shot that skimmed the far post. Additionally he also tried a volley from a defensive clearance that did not miss by much.

TT knocked the ball well in spurts, but when we reached the final 3rd we did not have the creative spark and the long ball to the fwds were cut out as Honduras was taller than us in the back.

We did not get flustered in the back, we zoned well in the midfield and Leon and Theobold had good games. Both played within their limitations and were fit enough to close down the passing channels and frustrate our opponents into playing the errant ball. Tackles were won and Wolfe and Aklie did well in the wingback roles. Aklie only made one mistake…that may have been a bit costly in the 2nd half when he tried to play a ball out the back and it was intercepted by the Honduras fwd who went to goal but other than that he was solid throughout.

Tallest and Keyno won most of the ariel battles and we only gave away one freekick in the first half that merited a wall and it went high.

The keeper also came off his line well, Honduras had about 2 shots from outside that  did not trouble us and they showed nothing to give us any cause for concern.

Carlos was a threat and would be my Man of the match, terrorizing the Honduran left back and beating him 4 times in a row and crossing the ball in. Carlos also tracked back well tackling and putting the pressure on the Honduras players and looked like the only threat going fwd that TT had in the first half. He set a good example tonight and had a good game.

Keon Daniel drifted in and out the game and was jogging when he could have applied pressure or put in the tackle. He real frustrate people in the crowd with his attitude, but he has ability and ghosted past men with ease. People may say he over dribbled but with no support and 2-3 men on him at all times he kept his composure and used his skill effectively.

Stern was not much of a threat but he did not make any mistakes, he never lost the ball, screened well and made some good runs, he also did not get caught offside and was thwarted by lack of service from the midfield.

Scotland was the livelier of the 2 forwards, created his chances well, but could be chided for not applying pressure and tackling and being the first to get at the ball. But his touch and control was superb. He is screening off 3 men with ease and skips past opponents when needed. He had a good game and many were baffled when he was replaced in the second half when Stern was looking like the player to come off.

At half time with the scores 0-0 I said to myself we doing well, we keeping formation, we not losing the ball as before, we maintaining possession and our flank play decent.
Honduras ent showing nuttin, we just not creating enough. But I tell mehself we could beat this side.

The blue devils marching band was a waste of time…they shoulda leave them wherever they found them, no noise, they had to be augmented by a microphone and they just walked on the track up to the tunnel and walked back.

The bathroom was pressure as some bright person kept one of the gates locked so entry and exit was from one access point only…causing traffic jam. I spoke to both a fire office and a policeman to open the gate but they did not take me on.

After reaching upstairs I heard a groan…game had already started 2 min ago and I see a Honduran player rise up unmarked and flash a header overbars from in the 6 yard box. Williams flapping and I say yes….dais a sign…nuttin for dem.

When I sit down and look at the field Honduras flip the switch and running at we. They playing with 3 in the back…flooding the middle and using the extra man in midfield as the withdrawn fwd.

Corner after corner the defence not settling and BAM….Williams gives them a gift. He jumps up Flaps…connects with the ball and just pushes it out…Pavon running in and buries the header past him.
A basic goal keeper error…a shitty goal…we get deflated. Honduras in the driving seat and 2 minutes gone in the 2nd half…we ent wake up…we still settling and we down at home.

Crowd was silent…then a few good souls in the crowd started to rally the troops, we clap, we chant and then the players picked themselves up and started to play.

The first sub was Theobold off for Hyland and it was a good change…Denzil played solid but Hyland provided the offensive spark that was missing and started to move the ball better, he was also bringing it out that back and moving forward creating space and being a pressure outlet switching the ball a bit more and changing the point of attack.

He has improved tremendously and is a good thing he leave TT and is sweating regular. Daniel has to do the same and they will both be great players in time.

Next was a double sub…Daniel for Latapy and Scotland for Kenwyn. In truth and in fact it should have been Stern to come off but Stern is a lucky charm and he knows how to play with Latapy. 30 minutes to go..all our subs used and it was now or never.

Latas first touch was off a hospital ball from aklie and he traps and skips…it was then the little magician show playing one touch, skipping men, wriggling free.

It was a pleasure to see the best ting in a tugs wearing the #10 at home and just making the passes, threading it and boy…he and Hyland were the difference.

Keyno Thomas get a chance and blaze a shot over bar, Stern get a header and miss, he turn a man and flash a shot far post and I say we might be able to do it.

Bam Honduras on the counter…Williams had to come off his line bravely to clear. Then they caught us again 1v1 and the fwd blasts wide. The game opens up and I seeing 10 min to go.

I start to get vex in the 85th…I saying this shit side ent showing we nuttin…we supposed to be beating that. But it had a vibe in the stands…we were standing up and cheering. Latapy was dictating the pace and in the 89-90. I just see confusion see Honduras keeper on the ground all our players appealing and I watch the ref when he point to the center circle.

Goal…Goal…we jumpin up…we taking that….heart attack football…but we draw…we getting a point.

At the final whistle…..The ref did a spectacular job of the game and was fair…TT has shown improvement. I think they played to plan and had it not been for the goal keeping error I would say we should have ground out a 1-0 win.

I cannot fault Maturana or the team tonight and I have a renewed sense of optimism with this team.

Discipline is all we need. We will improve. Have Faith.

Till next time.
Title: Re: D Touches Match report TT vs Honduras
Post by: D.H.W on March 29, 2009, 08:22:29 AM
thank u sir  :salute:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 29, 2009, 08:27:19 AM
Agreed Touches...exactly my sentiments... Except the Reason they left Stern on is because he has a goal in him...love him or hate him he has a goal in him... so I was happy he stayed on... Both Scotty and Stern had similar games...using the ball well and showing how superior their technique is to KJ
Post by: samo on March 29, 2009, 08:28:25 AM
Thanx Touches... Different watching the game on apc than live... Always insightful...
Thanx again
Post by: Jah Gol on March 29, 2009, 08:28:36 AM
Yeah touches I have to agree . We've seen a lot worse from the team. Apart from set pieces the Hondurans were hardly a threat. We paid the price for a silly mistake.

Men calling for Maturana head after the game and don't even realise that 2 of the 3 subs were quite effective. I see far worse from Mats so I will give him a chance after this game. Imagine if Lawrence put that one in the bag in the first half everybody would singing a different tune. 
Post by: dreamer on March 29, 2009, 08:29:13 AM
First sensible analysis of the game in a good while. I saw the game. The only thing is that in the dying minutes Stern can be considered more useful than Scotland, especially since Scottie is not brilliant in the air and I definetely find the subs make sense. Our 1 touch football under "man on " pressure has improved and obviously drilled into the players so much that we making a few errors trying too hard to do it as much as possible. Progress indeed. Yes Honduras the dangerous goliath with these super fast deadly players, has been made to look quite defeatable. Licks next time
Post by: Trini on March 29, 2009, 08:35:30 AM
Touches - good report as usual, but i think u give Honduras less credit than they deserve.
I personally find they were the better team playing the ball around the park for long periods. Their composure was very good, always support for each other.Their weaknoess however was their play in their final attacking third.
We on the other hand, although not showing much in terms of controlling the game, always looked a threat when we were in and around their box, esp in the second half. We had more quality chances.

I have always said T&T are a counter-attacking team. The only time i seen T&T as a complete solid unit was in Germany and the last few games of WCQ2005. Once we have to play set up football, or play in the opposition half, we have problems. Its like we need the open field, we need the opposition to be running against us to hit them on the counter.
We just dont have the poise, patience and technique to play 21 men in one half of the field.
Thank goodness Ince is back as well for the usa
Post by: sub1 on March 29, 2009, 08:35:58 AM
Dear Forumites,

Believe it or not I am writing this piece with a sense of optimism. We showed great character coming from behind to draw this match and we are undefeated.

I have seen a marked improvement in this team and we played not to lose and the mission was accomplished.

Now let me say that I am upset that we did not bury this team...but look at it this way...Both Honduras and El Salvador have been exposed as two $h!t sides and I am convinced we will beat both of them in the return fixtures.

I went to movietown around 2 pm. They were charging 40$ to park but I was lucky that the guard did not take me on I went with injunchile for lunch. We then went to zanzibar for a pre game drink and we conversed with some Honduran supporters who were very cool and polite.

They were very knowledgeable about our players and were frightened of Jones. They said they never do well vs Caribbean teams and were afraid of TT and Jamaica and our "physical" style of play. All he wanted was a point and a win would be bonus. He explained they do not travel well and 1 point was their target.

However the gentleman said he liked TT and the crowd and atmosphere was good...he said Jamaica was rough and did not enjoy going there.

I reached in the stadium around 4:30...TSTT had a nice astro turf kinda thing at the entrance with Carbon Dioxide/Hydrogen blasting down. The TSTT girls were handing out rags and there were other goodies such as bottles, oversized fan fingers, whistles etc being given out by the various sponsors.

At 4:45 there was no one in grounds...I had the entire stand to myself...at 5:15 the place started to get ram and everybody was hustling for a seat.

The field was superb…green and lush…the best I have seen it in a while…only thing is that they used a different type of grass to patch up the areas that were thin so you could see the difference in quality but it was a good surface.

Carib had a promotion...12 beers and a cooler bag for $120 and after purchasing that with the scotch I smuggled in plus the drinks I had before...things were nice.

The eye food was aplenty, a large section of Honduran fans took up residence in both covered and uncovered stands and the TTFF finally got the music and PA system right...tunes were jamming and it was loud.

The teams came out and Honduran players were larger in build and height. Our players looked real paipsy in comparison and both warm ups looked very disorganised and lackadasical. No kinda urgency atall. We did a small sided game and men touches were on. Some stretches, sprints a few headers and it was back inside the tunnel.

The England game fiasco repeated itself and the TT ball boys came out with a small flag resembling the bandana that was on sale outside. Meanwhile Honduras had a proper sized flag dwarfing us and making us look small.

You could see the positive vibes of the players. Yorke was talking to the players walking out, Birchall and Ince were there near the bench. Daniel and Aklie hugging up, everybody giving everybody a bounce and the vibes were right. The crowd was pumped and the game was sold out…at least in uncovered stands and we were ready.

The Warrior Nation Flag came out, the riddim sections were in the stands ready,
the anthems were played on Pan...The president greeted the players and the game kicked off.

TT started in a 4-4-2 formation with Honduras doing the same and switching to a 3-5-2 occasionally.

It was Williams between the posts,  Aklie, Keyno, Lawrence, Wolfe, Daniel, Theobold, Leon, Carlos, Stern and Scotland.

We started shakey but honestly Honduras did nothing to scare us or threaten us in any way. TT when we decided to go fwd looked dangerous but we were playing a long ball hit and hope to the fwd that was cut out most of the time. Scotland was the livelier of the two forwards and turned his marker and hit a shot that skimmed the far post. Additionally he also tried a volley from a defensive clearance that did not miss by much.

TT knocked the ball well in spurts, but when we reached the final 3rd we did not have the creative spark and the long ball to the fwds were cut out as Honduras was taller than us in the back.

We did not get flustered in the back, we zoned well in the midfield and Leon and Theobold had good games. Both played within their limitations and were fit enough to close down the passing channels and frustrate our opponents into playing the errant ball. Tackles were won and Wolfe and Aklie did well in the wingback roles. Aklie only made one mistake…that may have been a bit costly in the 2nd half when he tried to play a ball out the back and it was intercepted by the Honduras fwd who went to goal but other than that he was solid throughout.

Tallest and Keyno won most of the ariel battles and we only gave away one freekick in the first half that merited a wall and it went high.

The keeper also came off his line well, Honduras had about 2 shots from outside that  did not trouble us and they showed nothing to give us any cause for concern.

Carlos was a threat and would be my Man of the match, terrorizing the Honduran left back and beating him 4 times in a row and crossing the ball in. Carlos also tracked back well tackling and putting the pressure on the Honduras players and looked like the only threat going fwd that TT had in the first half. He set a good example tonight and had a good game.

Keon Daniel drifted in and out the game and was jogging when he could have applied pressure or put in the tackle. He real frustrate people in the crowd with his attitude, but he has ability and ghosted past men with ease. People may say he over dribbled but with no support and 2-3 men on him at all times he kept his composure and used his skill effectively.

Stern was not much of a threat but he did not make any mistakes, he never lost the ball, screened well and made some good runs, he also did not get caught offside and was thwarted by lack of service from the midfield.

Scotland was the livelier of the 2 forwards, created his chances well, but could be chided for not applying pressure and tackling and being the first to get at the ball. But his touch and control was superb. He is screening off 3 men with ease and skips past opponents when needed. He had a good game and many were baffled when he was replaced in the second half when Stern was looking like the player to come off.

At half time with the scores 0-0 I said to myself we doing well, we keeping formation, we not losing the ball as before, we maintaining possession and our flank play decent.
Honduras ent showing nuttin, we just not creating enough. But I tell mehself we could beat this side.

The blue devils marching band was a waste of time…they shoulda leave them wherever they found them, no noise, they had to be augmented by a microphone and they just walked on the track up to the tunnel and walked back.

The bathroom was pressure as some bright person kept one of the gates locked so entry and exit was from one access point only…causing traffic jam. I spoke to both a fire office and a policeman to open the gate but they did not take me on.

After reaching upstairs I heard a groan…game had already started 2 min ago and I see a Honduran player rise up unmarked and flash a header overbars from in the 6 yard box. Williams flapping and I say yes….dais a sign…nuttin for dem.

When I sit down and look at the field Honduras flip the switch and running at we. They playing with 3 in the back…flooding the middle and using the extra man in midfield as the withdrawn fwd.

Corner after corner the defence not settling and BAM….Williams gives them a gift. He jumps up Flaps…connects with the ball and just pushes it out…Pavon running in and buries the header past him.
A basic goal keeper error…a shitty goal…we get deflated. Honduras in the driving seat and 2 minutes gone in the 2nd half…we ent wake up…we still settling and we down at home.

Crowd was silent…then a few good souls in the crowd started to rally the troops, we clap, we chant and then the players picked themselves up and started to play.

The first sub was Theobold off for Hyland and it was a good change…Denzil played solid but Hyland provided the offensive spark that was missing and started to move the ball better, he was also bringing it out that back and moving forward creating space and being a pressure outlet switching the ball a bit more and changing the point of attack.

He has improved tremendously and is a good thing he leave TT and is sweating regular. Daniel has to do the same and they will both be great players in time.

Next was a double sub…Daniel for Latapy and Scotland for Kenwyn. In truth and in fact it should have been Stern to come off but Stern is a lucky charm and he knows how to play with Latapy. 30 minutes to go..all our subs used and it was now or never.

Latas first touch was off a hospital ball from aklie and he traps and skips…it was then the little magician show playing one touch, skipping men, wriggling free.

It was a pleasure to see the best ting in a tugs wearing the #10 at home and just making the passes, threading it and boy…he and Hyland were the difference.

Keyno Thomas get a chance and blaze a shot over bar, Stern get a header and miss, he turn a man and flash a shot far post and I say we might be able to do it.

Bam Honduras on the counter…Williams had to come off his line bravely to clear. Then they caught us again 1v1 and the fwd blasts wide. The game opens up and I seeing 10 min to go.

I start to get vex in the 85th…I saying this shit side ent showing we nuttin…we supposed to be beating that. But it had a vibe in the stands…we were standing up and cheering. Latapy was dictating the pace and in the 89-90. I just see confusion see Honduras keeper on the ground all our players appealing and I watch the ref when he point to the center circle.

Goal…Goal…we jumpin up…we taking that….heart attack football…but we draw…we getting a point.

At the final whistle…..The ref did a spectacular job of the game and was fair…TT has shown improvement. I think they played to plan and had it not been for the goal keeping error I would say we should have ground out a 1-0 win.

I cannot fault Maturana or the team tonight and I have a renewed sense of optimism with this team.Discipline is all we need. We will improve. Have Faith.

Till next time.

I suppose that everyone knows my opinion on Maturana. I am wondering now if he was just being mislead by the Corneals. Becz with the intro of Latapy as the asst coach, this team has shown a vast improvement.
Post by: g on March 29, 2009, 08:37:20 AM
Yeah touches I have to agree . We've seen a lot worse from the team. Apart from set pieces the Hondurans were hardly a threat. We paid the price for a silly mistake.

Men calling for Maturana head after the game and don't even realise that 2 of the 3 subs were quite effective. I see far worse from Mats so I will give him a chance after this game. Imagine if Lawrence put that one in the bag in the first half everybody would singing a different tune. 

Daz meh point with this board after a game, a true sober report of yesterday's game.

The passion on this board will always leave for the kind of venom last night, but when we step back and look at the performance, it is plain to see that there is a method in the madness.

Things will come good, BE UNAFRAID!
Post by: dombasil on March 29, 2009, 08:37:59 AM
Excellent analysis of the game, we looked far better organised than we looked against El Salvador.
While we  missed Dwight, Densil and Leon were competent in the middle and insured than we did not lose the middle of the field. The substitions were intelligent and timely.
Kenwyne look tired and clumsy.
 Latapy has about 10 to 15 minutes in him and Hyland played with great confidence and drive. Can he do it for longer periods? It remains to be seen.
Daniel, I think has regressed and was a liability both going forward and coming back to defend.
We saw the difference between Jan Michael and Ince in the collecting of crosses.
In general, we were solid.Yes, we can be optimistic.

Post by: Cowen on March 29, 2009, 08:43:45 AM
Agreed Touches...exactly my sentiments... Except the Reason they left Stern on is because he has a goal in him...love him or hate him he has a goal in him... so I was happy he stayed on... Both Scotty and Stern had similar games...using the ball well and showing how superior their technique is to KJ

well said smalls .......

nice touches
Post by: arrow on March 29, 2009, 08:44:05 AM

I cannot fault Maturana or the team tonight and I have a renewed sense of optimism with this team.Discipline is all we need. We will improve. Have Faith.

Till next time.

I suppose that everyone knows my opinion on Maturana. I am wondering now if he was just being mislead by the Corneals. Becz with the intro of Latapy as the asst coach, this team has shown a vast improvement.

u really had to quote the whole match report to say that?  ::)
Post by: arrow on March 29, 2009, 08:49:17 AM
Agreed Touches...exactly my sentiments... Except the Reason they left Stern on is because he has a goal in him...love him or hate him he has a goal in him... so I was happy he stayed on...

that goal has been stuck in him for 9 months, hopefully one day he will release it
Post by: Corbeaux on March 29, 2009, 08:49:50 AM
Honduras was made out yesterday. We were the better team throughout except for the first 10 minutes of the second half. Keon reali let me down yesterday and carlos was easily the best man on the pitch.
Post by: ckhan on March 29, 2009, 08:50:03 AM
Thanks Touches for the report.  I only caught the 2nd half of the game and thought that Scotty and Stern were working well in spite of their similar styles and could have stayed for the whole 90.  Latas maintained a sense of discipline in the midfield and Carlos looks better after each game and that is always a plus.  I have to give credit to the defence who on occasion carried the ball to midfield to support the plays.  I have a problem with our lenght of time its takes to settle down in each half and at times our midfield seemed content to let the opposition control the ball without pressuring them.

Do these players understand their roles as instructed, are they disciplined to carry it out, are they match fit or are they not in their natural positions?

Post by: Arazi on March 29, 2009, 08:56:34 AM
good report touches..after reading some of the comments i saw this morning...i was thinking i went to the wrong game..i don't think people appreciate how well we defended yesterday..in terms of organistaion..i think that's what made Honduras look so flat at times..I'm happy we din lose bcuz despite how they played last night i think they are team that will poison other teams in this hex...
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 29, 2009, 09:03:13 AM
Agreed Touches...exactly my sentiments... Except the Reason they left Stern on is because he has a goal in him...love him or hate him he has a goal in him... so I was happy he stayed on...

that goal has been stuck in him for 9 months, hopefully one day he will release it

Thanks touches. I for one might have judged Theobald too harshly. He do the donkey work to stifle the channels and drain the momentum from the Honduran attack, no doubt exactly what the coach asked of him. But just once I want to see him OWN that midfield, something he has not done consistently since he was captain back in 2007.
Post by: lefty on March 29, 2009, 09:04:51 AM

oh shit! ;D
Post by: Deeks on March 29, 2009, 09:08:58 AM
Thanks for the report Touches.
                           I agree with much of what you said. But our team must learn to play an entire game the way the played after they were one down. The back fourwas pretty good  to me. But the middle is the problem. Too much long ball. Even though Honduras is beatable, their ball movement in the middle of the field was much better than us. If they had better forwards they would have put us aay.
Post by: Babalawo on March 29, 2009, 09:09:57 AM

The England game fiasco repeated itself and the TT ball boys came out with a small flag resembling the bandana that was on sale outside. Meanwhile Honduras had a proper sized flag dwarfing us and making us look small...

I predicted these non game events  would happen. TTFF organzing game staff are unpatriotic and a shame to society. Nothing will change if people dont start reporting it to the TTFF offices

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=42944.msg546931#msg546931
Post by: dinho on March 29, 2009, 09:12:33 AM
gold dust...

much thanks touches...
Post by: maxg on March 29, 2009, 09:17:00 AM
gold dust...

much thanks touches...
thanks Touches...not just cause ah how I saw it, but for the positives you report as well...I got stuck watching the game on internet with ah setta ...anyway best we keep the positive vibes...thanks again
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 29, 2009, 09:18:10 AM
Thanks for the report Touches.
                           I agree with much of what you said. But our team must learn to play an entire game the way the played after they were one down. The back fourwas pretty good  to me. But the middle is the problem. Too much long ball. Even though Honduras is beatable, their ball movement in the middle of the field was much better than us. If they had better forwards they would have put us aay.

well the dangerman  sauzo was not there and i was suprised that costly did not start over pavon
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 29, 2009, 09:19:31 AM
Till next time.

[/quote]

well best latapy coach the team then !!!
Post by: Babalawo on March 29, 2009, 09:19:57 AM

Thanks touches. I for one might have judged Theobald too harshly. He do the donkey work to stifle the channels and drain the momentum from the Honduran attack, no doubt exactly what the coach asked of him. But just once I want to see him OWN that midfield, something he has not done consistently since he was captain back in 2007.
:thumbsup:
Post by: GunnerStunner on March 29, 2009, 09:21:08 AM
stern migth have a "goal" in him but thats leaving things to fate

scotty should not have been subbed, bleeders role as a birchall stand in was working ONLY when half way through the first half we woke up

the side AND crowd only woke up late in the second half, i have never been to jamaica but when they play shitty or not the stadium in Kingston is:
1 packed to capacity
2 a noisy den of support
3 the players play out of their skin for flag and pride
Post by: Ngozi on March 29, 2009, 09:27:18 AM
I haven't been excited about this team in a long time ...... but the deficiencies of the middle as well as the emergence of the subs make me feel a lil optimistic about this team vs the US. For one thing I'm gonna be there screaming and making a scene . The middle two has literally chosen themselves ... and I'm sorry but I don't need to say anything else about Densil that I haven't already said with him in the middle the US will kill us with hyland we have a chance ...I like how Scotty look ..his touch is on and his strength is undeniable ...I'd pretty much start the same team vs THE US except I'd replace Jan with Ince and replace the middle with Birchy and Hyland  ...the us showed that they're not unbeatable ..... we have a chance
Post by: Deeks on March 29, 2009, 09:29:19 AM
Gunner,
                 Trinis does approach things differently. Don't compare us with JA. They do their thing one way, we do ours another way. The real problem is that 3/4 of the people in that stadium yesterday does only go to big game football. That means once every 3 months. They don't support local football. They don't have football culture. They probably don't our the players, except Dwight and Latas..
Post by: Deeks on March 29, 2009, 09:31:22 AM
OOOps!!. The probably don't know our players, except Dwight and Lats!!!!!
Post by: Controversial on March 29, 2009, 09:32:01 AM
i never see so much garbage football in my life like what i saw last night from the team, they didnt even play as half as good as against el salvador, noel need to play holding until yorke return, akile edwards is a waste of time, pacheco anyday, wolfe is not a right back, i rather see spann dey by far, bleeder need tuh ride pine oui, scotty is a intl shithong, stern could ride pine also, bring back roberts and glen oui
Post by: najee on March 29, 2009, 09:41:43 AM
Wow Touches....that the best match report i hear from you in a very long time...ah hear the first half on radio I95.5 and the second half via internet....and from ur account the last dieing minutes...they could-er push for a goal...but i don't know what happen why they didn't
Post by: Controversial on March 29, 2009, 09:46:21 AM
Wow Touches....that the best match report i hear from you in a very long time...ah hear the first half on radio I95.5 and the second half via internet....and from ur account the last dieing minutes...they could-er push for a goal...but i don't know what happen why they didn't

i saw the full game breds, it was ugly, after tying the game tt never push for the win, it was if they were content, worse game i see them play in a very long time
Post by: Fyzoman on March 29, 2009, 09:46:33 AM
Thanks Touches ah was waiting for yuh report, even though ah watch de game on meh laptop.
Is it just me or does Stern rel pull up and adjust he socks (while bending over)?!?!?!
Post by: Lower St. John on March 29, 2009, 09:46:55 AM

Agreed.  A good performance by the team with so many new players in the mix.  Coming from a man that don't like Maturana, I believe the coach has to take some credit for our performance last night.

Blessings
Post by: sub1 on March 29, 2009, 09:47:53 AM
i never see so much garbage football in my life like what i saw last night from the team, they didnt even play as half as good as against el salvador, noel need to play holding until yorke return, akile edwards is a waste of time, pacheco anyday, wolfe is not a right back, i rather see spann dey by far, bleeder need tuh ride pine oui, scotty is a intl shithong, stern could ride pine also, bring back roberts and glen oui

Thank God your only input could be on a message board. You have spouted alot of garbage here also.
Post by: Controversial on March 29, 2009, 09:51:32 AM

Thank God your only input could be on a message board. You have spouted alot of garbage here also.

frige you breddah, your talking shit, people who say we played well are idiots and happy with mediocre performances.
Post by: D.H.W on March 29, 2009, 09:57:12 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/De7F_42fqW0
Post by: Corbeaux on March 29, 2009, 09:59:40 AM

frige you breddah, your talking shit, people who say we played well are idiots and happy with mediocre performances.
Were you even at the match? We dominated Honduras for long periods and all our play needed was a good finishing touc by stern.
Post by: fatimarima on March 29, 2009, 10:03:43 AM

The team did not play well...most people agree.    Contraversial, Im sure you realize that people are actually reacting to all the other stuff you are saying.....and rightly so because  "yuh spouted alot of garbage"
Post by: Controversial on March 29, 2009, 10:03:56 AM

Were you even at the match? We dominated Honduras for long periods and all our play needed was a good finishing touc by stern.

breddah i watch the full match, we get lucky sah, we couldnt even pull together more than 5 passes in a row, we played 100 times better against el sal, at home we does play real garbage, last night was one of the worse games i ever see, i had padnahs call meh after the game who was dey and say we real play garbage also, so its not only me saying that, the midfield lacked creativity in the first half, only when latas as introduced we were stringing passes together and the midfield woke up, our wing backs are garbage, the US will make us pay with wolfe and akile, akile going forward is not an option, he doesnt know what to do with the ball past the midfield and scotty is a shithong
Post by: Controversial on March 29, 2009, 10:05:24 AM

The team did not play well...most people agree.    Im sure you realize that people are actually reacting to all the other stuff you are saying.....and rightly so because  "yuh spouted alot of garbage"

so lemme hear the garbage im spewing? correct me if i so wrong, if not, shut yuh mouth  :o
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on March 29, 2009, 10:07:37 AM
TI wah wolfe did so for u to say he eh deserve he spot? To me Wolfe looked better than spann and was nice to see a wingback with some pace for once
Post by: Controversial on March 29, 2009, 10:10:05 AM
TI wah wolfe did so for u to say he eh deserve he spot? To me Wolfe looked better than spann and was nice to see a wingback with some pace for once

tt get lucky, wolfe get beat many times on the right, even towards the ending of the game, what game allyuh watch? we played much better in el sal
Post by: fatimarima on March 29, 2009, 10:10:26 AM
lol..my mouth shut...is type I typing here.. ;D.  but really...you know yuh spoutin crap...as yuh name indicates, you just like controversy
Post by: Jah Gol on March 29, 2009, 10:11:33 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/De7F_42fqW0
Stern John cause that goal ?
Post by: Corbeaux on March 29, 2009, 10:17:46 AM

tt get lucky, wolfe get beat many times on the right, even towards the ending of the game, what game allyuh watch? we played much better in el sal
I actually think Wolfe had a solid game for a converted midfielder. What was so frustrating with our performance was that this game was there to be won. The only man creating was Carlos. It was a poor game of football overall and we didn't even need to play well to beat them. Maturana made a costly mistake with  not starting Hyland and in the end that mistake cost us 2 points
Post by: palos on March 29, 2009, 10:23:16 AM

I actually think Wolfe had a solid game for a converted midfielder. What was so frustrating with our performance was that this game was there to be won. The only man creating was Carlos. It was a poor game of football overall and we didn't even need to play well to beat them. Maturana made a costly mistake with  not starting Hyland and in the end that mistake cost us 2 points

If he did start Hyland, de fuss ting outta peeps mout when dey see de startin lineup is WTF Maturana doin?  How he go take a man who eh start fuh T&T in bout 20 games and playin fuh a no name club in Belgium and start him?

Nutting Maturana do could please people. 
Post by: Corbeaux on March 29, 2009, 10:29:57 AM

If he did start Hyland, de fuss ting outta peeps mout when dey see de startin lineup is WTF Maturana doin?  How he go take a man who eh start fuh T&T in bout 20 games and playin fuh a no name club in Belgium and start him?

Nutting Maturana do could please people. 
I was saying WTF when i saw Theobald starting.  Hyland has been playing well for his club and that should be the basis to get picked for the national team.
Post by: STEUPS!! on March 29, 2009, 10:35:39 AM
i was dey in d stadium an in my humble opinion, dem fellas play dat game like dey didnt want to be dey. no urgency, no passion, no creativity, no vibes.

i agree wid touches wen he say d defence played well but odder dan dat we have REAL work to do. we cannot go to usa wid dat kinda vibes an expect to make an impact.

we missed me mum an yorke real bad las nite. is only when latas hit d field, d midfield looked like it had any order. bleeder an daniel had poor games in my opinion. hyland lost a tremendous amount of weight an it look like he game real improve.

somebody need to light some fire under dem fellas ass before we go usa cuz if we go over dey playin like dat, we go get licks.

bless!!
Post by: Bianconeri on March 29, 2009, 10:42:40 AM
Nice report Touches..

but someone made a comment bout Stern having a goal in him....
he didnt play badly but let's get real...Scotty shoulda stay on nuff said...Stern gas was gone at that point.
Bring on kenwyne---he and all hadda step up.
lookin like he just not interested even though the service up front sucked at that point
Post by: trini warrior on March 29, 2009, 10:46:30 AM
i'm happy we got a very soft goal let in by the keepers error & we take a one point away from it. i wasn't there so i glad to hear we look ok - because watching the game online it looked piss poor. seemed like men came out flat - 0 intensity and nervous even on short simple passes.
coaching wasn't at fault imho - because we seem to neutralise honduras main threat - speed out of the midfield.

but i dont know how far we could go if we cyah trouble a goal keeper. did he have to make any saves?

we cant play like that wednesday - the group wide open right now & next week ppl could start making moves - we need to be on that list.

thanks touches - good stuff as usual - u give me back some hope
Post by: Socapro on March 29, 2009, 10:51:19 AM
Game LIVE right now on C TV!
Click link http://www.ctntworld.com/livestream/index.html
Post by: kicker on March 29, 2009, 10:58:09 AM
We give the ball away too easily- too many unforced stray passes.  

Collectively our football is too slow, our team work rate needs alot of improvement, and our off the ball movement is not creative.

The intensity level of this match was akin to an exhibition.  

I like the Latapy role last night- coming on when the game is open and being smart in possession- it will work well in our region against teams that don't compress the middle of the field....

Not yet as huge a fan of Keon Daniel as many on here- I like his confidence on the ball but he's way too casual, and never utilizes a turn of speed (if he has it) when he has the real estate to exploit the other team- good for exhibition football, but not real competition.

Honduras' goalkeeper was a joke (and he showed it long before the error on our goal)

I like Hyland's composure on the ball.  Is he fit?

Scotland got his chance...didn't do his cause any harm either- He should get another shot in the starting XI.  

C. Edwards is by far our best player- just by his energy level alone....the only player on our squad that moved around the pitch at a level of intensity and with the work rate and purpose suited to international senior team football...If our collective team energy was at his level (without any other technical improvements), we be twice the team we are today....

I think the overall standard in CONCACAF is the lowest it's been in sometime- Mexico is kinda struggling by their standards, USA's football is begging for a creative spark...and everyone else seems to be playing the same level of indifferent football.  

It's not unrealistic to picture us grinding out some results with a few surprises here & there..and squeezing through the Hex without ever really playing a good 90 minutes of football.
Post by: maxg on March 29, 2009, 12:00:55 PM
one question Touches: Why do you think Daniel was shaking his head upon being subbed? Unless you talk to him, I know you wouldn't really know. Could it have been something else other than the actual sub. I found it dis-respectful...to the team and Latapy...though it may not have even been directed there.
Post by: weary1969 on March 29, 2009, 12:18:28 PM

All yuh is d best d best. Memorable quote if there was ever 1
Post by: kicker on March 29, 2009, 12:18:41 PM
one question Touches: Why do you think Daniel was shaking his head upon being subbed? Unless you talk to him, I know you wouldn't really know. Could it have been something else other than the actual sub. I found it dis-respectful...to the team and Latapy...though it may not have even been directed there.

He may have just been disappointed in his own performance....

Post by: weary1969 on March 29, 2009, 12:21:55 PM
i was dey in d stadium an in my humble opinion, dem fellas play dat game like dey didnt want to be dey. no urgency, no passion, no creativity, no vibes.

i agree wid touches wen he say d defence played well but odder dan dat we have REAL work to do. we cannot go to usa wid dat kinda vibes an expect to make an impact.

we missed me mum an yorke real bad las nite. is only when latas hit d field, d midfield looked like it had any order. bleeder an daniel had poor games in my opinion. hyland lost a tremendous amount of weight an it look like he game real improve.

somebody need to light some fire under dem fellas ass before we go usa cuz if we go over dey playin like dat, we go get licks.

bless!!

Cosign like u have 2 b a woman 2 c d game so.
Post by: maxg on March 29, 2009, 12:25:35 PM

He may have just been disappointed in his own performance....

possibly, doh he shouldn't have disrespected himself either...if dat is the case, keep yuh head up guy...game wasn't over, doh show the opposition or you own teammates, and worse yuh fans, no weakness...bring more next time, but more importantly, prepare to bring it
Post by: sjahrain on March 29, 2009, 01:37:02 PM
Maturana is the coach,with the exception of the first ten minutes of the first half and the five minutes of the second half,this team was playing Latapy brand of football.
We having a problem linking the forwards in the play,solving our play in the final third of the pitch and goals will come,we moved the ball out of defence  with confidence through the mid,we had control on many one touch passes,we mainted form in tight spaces that was beautiful to watch I was impressed,we played some defence that was truly a beauty to watch,the more this mix of players play together our level of play will improve

Right here so I want to Knock on Mr Daniel,he has to stop making them lazy passes,he makes about three a game

I see us second in this round,that's how much I see this team improving
Post by: Organic on March 29, 2009, 01:53:07 PM
I agree with Ti . We play real shit. But in de context of the whole tournament thus far we in de mix..and alot of teams seem to be not at thier best. Hopefully we can raise our game for the rest of the tournament and de rest of teams remain playing mediorce.
Post by: Bakes on March 29, 2009, 02:45:21 PM
Gunner,
                 Trinis does approach things differently. Don't compare us with JA. They do their thing one way, we do ours another way. The real problem is that 3/4 of the people in that stadium yesterday does only go to big game football. That means once every 3 months. They don't support local football. They don't have football culture. They probably don't our the players, except Dwight and Latas..

I think yuh really mean we does do thing one way, everybody else another way.  We does never have a stadium rocking like virtually every other footballing nation.  Yet man does want to talk about TnT being a footballing nation.  Football not in deez people blood.
Post by: Observer on March 29, 2009, 04:05:00 PM
I have to agree with you. The energy and passion of a Trinbago crowd is nutten in comparison
to what goes on around the world. I have been to game where yuh can't even hear the man next to yuh talk.
Every now and then the T&T crowd does roar for a beat or shot, but it is not a crowd that drives you on and inspire yuh.
In most countries they have leaders who does actually conduct the crowd and buff yuh ass if yuh eh participating. Maybe that is what we need
Post by: Bakes on March 29, 2009, 04:09:57 PM
I have to agree with you. The energy and passion of a Trinbago crowd is nutten in comparison
to what goes on around the world. I have been to game where yuh can't even hear the man next to yuh talk.
Every now and then the T&T crowd does roar for a beat or shot, but it is not a crowd that drives you on and inspire yuh.
In most countries they have leaders who does actually conduct the crowd and buff yuh ass if yuh eh participating. Maybe that is what we need

Trinidad is de opposite... juss ask Bourbon or any ah dem Warrior Nation fans what does go on when dey try tuh raise cheer or wave flag, lol.
Post by: STEUPS!! on March 29, 2009, 04:12:42 PM
there was a point in time in d game when even latas was encouragin d crowd to make some noise.  we football crowd consist mainly of a setta girls who come to pose an a setta a fellas who come to gape at dem same girls. all ah dem is a waste ah time!!
Post by: Saywha on March 29, 2009, 04:25:21 PM

man , I real agree with u here!  I tired saying that. We Trini crowd too quiet! Buh some people say dey does be studying the game that is why dey doh want to hear no noise. go figure :-\
Post by: FF on March 29, 2009, 04:49:54 PM

Honduras' goalkeeper was a joke (and he showed it long before the error on our goal)

I bawl til I hoarse for dem to test that man... jokey too bad... not ah serious save he had to make til that goal

everything else yuh say was on point too
Post by: D.H.W on March 29, 2009, 04:58:34 PM
there was a point in time in d game when even latas was encouragin d crowd to make some noise.  we football crowd consist mainly of a setta girls who come to pose an a setta a fellas who come to gape at dem same girls. all ah dem is a waste ah time!!

for real eh 
Post by: just cool on March 29, 2009, 05:02:48 PM
I have tuh agree with TI, it was one of the poorest prefomances i've seen from the national team to date.

it kinda reminded me of the CG opener against El salvador. that team was begging to be beaten and we blew it with ah whole lot of turn overs and wasted posessions.

we kept the ball very little with honduras enjoying the lion share of the possesions!

TI yuh boy bleeder is ah liability, i don't want tuh see him for the rest of the campaign, him and leon. i feel we could defainatly do better than them boy.
Post by: GunnerStunner on March 29, 2009, 05:09:02 PM
Gunner,

AND??? any excuse NOT to have NATIONAL PRIDE in any endeavor with our country's name on it????

that kind of shithong excuse is why this country is the way it is
Post by: Jumbie on March 29, 2009, 05:24:53 PM
Thanks as usual mr tribe.

I guess its totally different than watching on tv / computer.

Personally.

I tort my computer was buffering., the rate that team was moving slow. Unless that's mataburro's new style of play..buffering.

Passing .. lets not go there
Urgency when a goal down.. lets not go there
service from the back.. ditto
wide play.. ditto

This team is capable of much more. After watching the US play last night.. it will be very tough on Wed.

Post by: D.H.W on March 29, 2009, 05:47:03 PM
CTV T&T Highlights - Trinidad & Tobago vs Honduras World Cup Qualifier game (28-Mar-2009)

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/r1QZo1uoQC0
Post by: dwolfman on March 29, 2009, 05:52:24 PM
Well put Touches. One thing I was trying to find out but none of them jokers around me knew anything about the game or the team. Number 8 was Wolfe and number 2 was Leon? Those were the 2 guys I couldn't make out at all. A man behind me insisting that number 9 (when they were warming up) was Glenn. I tell him is Hyland he tell me real aggressive that he know he football and that is Glenn. I shrug and let it go. I wonder how he feeling now.

I didn't think Theobold was bad, but I felt that we'd done the work defensively in the first half and having him and #2 on the field at the same time limited us in an attacking sense going into the second half. Daniel's lack of defensive work prevented Aklie Edwards from overlapping and kudos to the youth for recognising that he was getting no help and holding his position. Maybe those were his instructions.

Williams made a mess of that cross and wasn't convincing on the others coming in, but I felt that our team started both halves too slow anyway so it was a group goal in that sense. Latas is clearly a step or two too slow, but still has the brains and experience to play for short periods of time. Especially without Yorke there he came on the field at a good time and was able to play strong until the end.

Stern has his history in his favour since Scotland looked the more likely to score. That being said, he had a solid game and should continue to factor in the coach's plans.

Overall we have a lot of things we need to fix, but it was not this terrible performance I've seen some people call it. I've certainly seen us play worse than that. We have to step it up if we're to escape from the U.S. with anything.
Post by: Big Magician on March 29, 2009, 06:38:58 PM
touches..wha scotch yuh slip een?..yuh mean some old end ah white??...
good stuff man

talking bout end ah white...all lime with Tallman last night after the game...was real kicks...
Post by: weary1969 on March 29, 2009, 06:46:17 PM

U 4get 2 wine dey bumper by d truck after d game.
Post by: kicker on March 29, 2009, 07:07:17 PM
Gunner,

I think yuh really mean we does do thing one way, everybody else another way.  We does never have a stadium rocking like virtually every other footballing nation.  Yet man does want to talk about TnT being a footballing nation.  Football not in deez people blood.

Our crowd is very reactionary...I'm not sure if it's as simple as being a football nation (whatever that means) or not...  I've been to many intercol games (especially back in the day) where the atmosphere was pulsating (chanting, rhythm section etc...) for the entire match....same sport (in a sense), and the same people who will go to a Nat'l senior team game and siddung quiet quiet until a man get a long drag lol....

I dunno what it is but there's probably a cultural explanation why schoolmates would vociferously bond as a 12th man to support their school team but as compatriots we can't replicate the same spirit of togetherness for our Nat'l team....

FYI: The Nou Camp (Barca's home gound) has often been criticized as lacking in passion/atmosphere and being very reactionary in their support of the blaugrana...Same criticism was often leveled at Arsenal fans at their old ground at Highbury Stadium...hence the old term Highbury library.
Post by: dwn on March 29, 2009, 07:31:57 PM
The team didn't look terrible but we didn't play with enough urgency for most of the game. Against opposition that closes us down faster we would be in a lot of trouble playing the way we did last night.

Honduras was beatable but given the flow of the game I wouldn't say we SHOULD have won. 
Post by: Bakes on March 29, 2009, 07:57:07 PM

Our crowd is very reactionary...I'm not sure if it's as simple as being a football nation (whatever that means) or not...  I've been to many intercol games (especially back in the day) where the atmosphere was pulsating (chanting, rhythm section etc...) for the entire match....same sport (in a sense), and the same people who will go to a Nat'l senior team game and siddung quiet quiet until a man get a long drag lol....

I dunno what it is but there's probably a cultural explanation why schoolmates would vociferously bond as a 12th man to support their school team but as compatriots we can't replicate the same spirit of togetherness for our Nat'l team....

FYI: The Nou Camp (Barca's home gound) has often been criticized as lacking in passion/atmosphere and being very reactionary in their support of the blaugrana...Same criticism was often leveled at Arsenal fans at their old ground at Highbury Stadium...hence the old term Highbury library.

The simple fact that we can yell and scream at Intercol games and not national games underscores my point.  School pride trumps national pride when it comes to football.  If that pride permeated all levels of football in TnT, as it does in many other footballing nations then we could lay claim to such a title.  You claim to not know the meaning, but at the heart of any definition is 'passion'.  There simply isn't any national passion for football in TnT.  Not on club level, not on national level.

The examples you give of the random club stadium here and there doesn't really apply because it doesn't translate to either Spain or England on a national level.
Post by: Jahyouth on March 29, 2009, 09:09:17 PM
Wow.  Like Touches went to a different game than me.

Optimism?

The way the team played against Honduras -- is South Quay dey reaching, certainly not South Africa.

Post by: weary1969 on March 29, 2009, 09:18:50 PM
Wow.  Like Touches went to a different game than me.

Optimism?

The way the team played against Honduras -- is South Quay dey reaching, certainly not Souh Africa.

Oh gormmmmmmmmmmmmm
Post by: BESBRAHN on March 29, 2009, 10:15:04 PM
People,

We cannot get to South Africa with Maturana as coach. There is no structure and plan that you can identify on the field. What brand are we playing? Under Beenhakker you could have seen a plan and we had a brand. The team looked solid with a good structure..this compensated for a few men out of position,etc..

Now that this does not exist there is more talk about who should play and who should not...only man people berate under Beenhakker was Stern and Beenhakker insisted that he was a good player and look what he did against Mexico to get us to d Bahrain playoff...

I still believe Hyland and Trent Noel should have started..or at least one of them..Kenwyne and Scotland...and one day Guerra will have to get his chance..anybody who saw him against Panama will realise what a talent he is in midfield.

Post by: Bourbon on March 29, 2009, 10:41:26 PM

The simple fact that we can yell and scream at Intercol games and not national games underscores my point.  School pride trumps national pride when it comes to football.  If that pride permeated all levels of football in TnT, as it does in many other footballing nations then we could lay claim to such a title.  You claim to not know the meaning, but at the heart of any definition is 'passion'.  There simply isn't any national passion for football in TnT.  Not on club level, not on national level.

The examples you give of the random club stadium here and there doesn't really apply because it doesn't translate to either Spain or England on a national level.

Exactly. Yuh feel an attachment to your school. Is your school...if you doh love it..nobody will. So why not your nation?

And those club examples might be the case..but when it gets hardcore....yuh know the Camp Nou is noisy. It certainly doh be quiet for Classicos. I remember the noise last year when they played manchester utd. They know when is a serious occasion and they rise to it. A World Cup qualifier is a serious thing. I remember when we played mexico in the last hex....i was just going and going...cuz i realised how serious that game was. Buh yuh go have men who go find yuh should hush yuh ass cuz dem come to watch football and dahs it. Dahs why i will always respect english fans....is noise..and is passion galore. I remember hearing some spurs fans boo ashley cole...everytime he touch  the ball. He work a 1-2.....silence when he not in posession....boos as soon as he recieves it again. I swear when crouch come down here...i must be was one of de few people who boo him on each touch. People have different ways to define commitment. Dahs just one way i define mine.
Post by: lefty on March 29, 2009, 10:41:37 PM
People,

We cannot get to South Africa with Maturana as coach. There is no structure and plan that you can identify on the field. What brand are we playing? Under Beenhakker you could have seen a plan and we had a brand. The team looked solid with a good structure..this compensated for a few men out of position,etc..

Now that this does not exist there is more talk about who should play and who should not...only man people berate under Beenhakker was Stern and Beenhakker insisted that he was a good player and look what he did against Mexico to get us to d Bahrain playoff...

I still believe Hyland and Trent Noel should have started..or at least one of them..Kenwyne and Scotland...and one day Guerra will have to get his chance..anybody who saw him against Panama will realise what a talent he is in midfield.

I dont kno about d rules here but cross postin real phukkin annoyin to me anyways >:(
Post by: WestCoast on March 29, 2009, 10:53:39 PM
Exactly. Yuh feel an attachment to your school. Is your school...if you doh love it..nobody will. So why not your nation?
yeah, if only we can get everyone in thier "InterCol at the Oval" mood
i will always remember those matches
Post by: Pointman on March 30, 2009, 01:33:08 AM
Thanks Touches...nice read as usual. :beermug:
Post by: Consultant on March 30, 2009, 01:46:35 AM
Thanks for the excellent report as always Touches. I agree with your MoM - Carlos Edwards.
Post by: Arimaman on March 30, 2009, 06:49:55 AM
I didn't think Theobold was bad, but I felt that we'd done the work defensively in the first half and having him and #2 on the field at the same time limited us in an attacking sense going into the second half. Daniel's lack of defensive work prevented Aklie Edwards from overlapping and kudos to the youth for recognising that he was getting no help and holding his position. Maybe those were his instructions.

I have a problem with that assessment.  If you playing central midfield and you are the attacking one of the two midfielders, your job is to distribute.  If you cyar make more than ah 10 yard pass, yuh shouldn't be on the field.  Absolutely no creativity from either of our center midfielders...you cannot win like this..

Also, all this nonsense about the left midfielder not supporting the defense is bull sh...  Let's face it, A. Edwards is not an attacking option out of the back.  He is making absolutely no attempt to do so.  He has acres of space to fill and will not do it.  If you saw the US game vs ElSalvador, the coach removed a defender, put Damarcus Beasley to play left back, now yuh attacking with 8 men and ElSalvador was done.  We cannot attack the way we do and expect to win consistently. 

I think A. Edwards is going to be a very good player with more experience but the coaches MUST urge him to push forward to put pressure on the defense.  Plus, defensively he plays off the forwards way too far for me...He has got to get closer shut down the lanes and apply pressure much quicker.  Wait until we go back to Honduras, he will be exposed defensively. 
Post by: vale on March 30, 2009, 07:10:10 AM
Touches I agree with 95% of what you wrote here.

However, I think that Latas and Jones should have started. Latats, because of his experience and even if for just 30mins, would have eased the pressure on Edwards and Daniel and provide a more potent midefield. He is the "Little Magician" after all even though of his age. In Yorke's and Birchal's absence, he would have been the spark. Just look at how he set up the goal for Hyland.

To me Carlos was good and was the best man on the field in a team that played well below par. Jones last touch remains an issue and a few of his crosses were off a bit. Don't forget one of the corners he threw away.
Post by: weary1969 on March 30, 2009, 07:15:25 AM
When dey play Latas 4 bout 70 min in d Panama game I thought it was 2 strt him. Is true d game was played at a las lap chip home pace but I thought it was d intention ws 2 give he a ll run so 2 wuk on he fitness.
Post by: Hyperhot J on March 30, 2009, 07:15:57 AM
      I won't bother to waste my time mentioning anything about our forward line up or the CONTINUED inclusion of Stern John no matter what. We know that John must be bribing every football coach or is somehow related to Jack Warner or something. So all the best to Jones, Scotland and Glen if they ever get to play properly... I will continue to keep them in my prayers and wonder why Stern is never substituted or why can he for once NOT start and come on as a sub... no need to waste 4 years of my life on that anymore.

Now if we are playing a 4-4-2 system ignoring our obvious lack of strategy on the 2 forwards as per above, we NEED to find a proper right back!! Kudos to Aklie for improving slowly but surely as our left back (why do they dislike Avery John so much) but why on earth would you play Mr. Anthony Wolfe as right back??? No one would think that our 2006 World Cup non-starter striker would be forced to pretend to play right back, why is he there??? Where is Cyd Gray?? Seriously what has Cyd done wrong??? Where is Atiba Charles?? Also our left wing Keon Daniel, though he has a great shot and has scored twice in the campaign (last year) he is extremely SLOW and is a liability defending, (or does not defend at all). Where is Colin Samuel?!?! I know the coach fell out with him last year because he did not go to a game in Jamaica but please beg him to return!! He and Daniel would definitely be good substitutes for left wing, Daniel cannot do it alone!!

I feel sorry for Aklie Edwards who is moreless alone on the left side of defense due to the turtle pace of Daniel and on the right I feel EXTREMELY sorry for Carlos Edwards who is an excellent right back player as well, but we need him to stay on the wing and flank. Edwards had to back up lame Wolfe on numerous occasions on the right back and then run back up, and that is unfair to Edwards as he basically had to cover the entire right side of the pitch especially in the second half to help Wolfe!!

I pray that if we keep this 4-4-2 system we find a better right back, we find someone to help out when Keon Daniel gets tired, and I hope and pray that against the US we START our midfield with Hyland and Birchall!!! You would think that would be common sense since Hyland was obviously more effective than Theobald and of course we ALWAYS need Birchall, but you know with Matushithong at the helm we can only hope and pray...

All the best against the US my Warriors, we are still in it, but let's not lose against the US.

Jason.
Post by: D.H.W on March 30, 2009, 07:48:57 AM
Post Game part 1 0001

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/hgD3TDCzpg4
Post by: Marcos on March 30, 2009, 07:51:38 AM

Thank you B&S. I have been preaching this for a while now and I'm glad others agree. Trinidad doesn't eat, breathe and sleep football like the really football mad countries.
It's sad that our home field doesn't really offer much of an advantage whereas the environment is downright intimidating when we travel to other countries. The opposition doesn't fear traveling to Trinidad and Tobago. Maybe it's just our nature as a Caribbean island and therefore consider ourselves a tourist destination.

Just to emphasize the lack of vibez...I was in covered stands for the game and in the last 5 minutes I stood up and tried to rile the crowd, recognizing that we actually had an opportunity to steal the game. You believe is only groans I get in response. Other patrons didn't even want to stand. geez.
In reality, for a game as improtant as this, we should all stand up for the whole damn game
Post by: weary1969 on March 30, 2009, 07:55:11 AM
Impt 4 u but not d other peeps in d stadium. All yuh go advocate 4 ah know yuh soca warriors quiz b4 u get in d stadium next. Even Touches does say he on entertainment. Dem peeps who wine down 2 d ground after after was entertained as well.
Post by: Marcos on March 30, 2009, 08:08:53 AM
Regarding the game. We looked okay but Honduras really didn't look all that and we should have beaten this team at home. I have a funny feeling they will be a much tougher test on the road.

Theobold did well but it is clear that he isn't a playmaker...just a solid center mid

I also think that there is reason for optimism. Hyland and Daniel have the potential to become really quality players (although Keon had a bad game). Their composure on the ball was refreshing and together with Carlos, Kenwyne and Scotty can form the nucleus of a very potent attack.

Leon's ball skills and passing leave a lot to be desired but his work rate was terrific.

I just wish that we showed the same kind of urgency for the entire game as we displayed in the last 20 minutes. I recognize a lot of this is due to the fact that we threw caution to the wind in the final 20 mins, but our workrate and overall speed of play can definitely improve, particularly at the start of halves (when we conceded).

I think we need to batten down the hatches on Wednesday. Come out in 4-5-1 or 5-4-1, then in the last 15, if we are still level, bring on Latas and try to steal the game.

Go Warriors!
Post by: trinikev on March 30, 2009, 08:50:01 AM
We give the ball away too easily- too many unforced stray passes.  

Collectively our football is too slow, our team work rate needs alot of improvement, and our off the ball movement is not creative.

The intensity level of this match was akin to an exhibition.  

I like the Latapy role last night- coming on when the game is open and being smart in possession- it will work well in our region against teams that don't compress the middle of the field....

Not yet as huge a fan of Keon Daniel as many on here- I like his confidence on the ball but he's way too casual, and never utilizes a turn of speed (if he has it) when he has the real estate to exploit the other team- good for exhibition football, but not real competition.

I like Hyland's composure on the ball.  Is he fit?

Scotland got his chance...didn't do his cause any harm either- He should get another shot in the starting XI.  

C. Edwards is by far our best player- just by his energy level alone....the only player on our squad that moved around the pitch at a level of intensity and with the work rate and purpose suited to international senior team football...If our collective team energy was at his level (without any other technical improvements), we be twice the team we are today....

I think the overall standard in CONCACAF is the lowest it's been in sometime- Mexico is kinda struggling by their standards, USA's football is begging for a creative spark...and everyone else seems to be playing the same level of indifferent football.  

It's not unrealistic to picture us grinding out some results with a few surprises here & there..and squeezing through the Hex without ever really playing a good 90 minutes of football.

By far the best analysis of the game i've seen to this point. Our biggest problem is a lack of urgency and intensity. That is where we dropped points in this game. Honduras didn't play with an overly high intensity level either, but they seemed to want it more than we did. We played this game not to lose, rather than to win, which is unacceptable for a HOME WCQ. And it's not like we were playing Brazil. We really need to step up the intensity for the next game, else USA will run us ragged. We are definitely capable of stealing something from that game, but we won't if we don't run hard for the full 90+ minutes.

Another shortcoming in our play is the lack of ideas in the attacking third of the pitch. We knock the ball ok to get there, then we seem to to have no plan for getting behind the opposing defence. Whether that is due to a lack of practice, players' unfamiliarity with each other, i'm not sure. I do think we need to work on an attacking philosophy in practice, because we hardly ever seem to be on the same page in that area of the pitch.

I agree with you to an extent on Keon Daniel, although i think it has more to do with the fact that he is playing out of position than anything else. Keon Daniel is a central midfielder, not a winger, and i truly believe his talents are being wasted out wide. I think he could be used as the attacking midfielder, especially since Latas doesn't seem to be able to run hard for a full 90 anymore (not at the intensity required at international level anyways). He has very good close control, composure and dribbling ability along with a good shot, with an apparent lack of pace and defensive deficiencies.....seems tailor-made to an attacking central midfielder in my book.
Post by: kicker on March 30, 2009, 01:55:40 PM

Agree with what you're saying...I eh blind- On average the level of energy directed toward supporting our nat'l team is pretty lame (kinda mirrors the level of energy put forth on the field by the players though lol  ;D)...

Just saying it's probably not as simple as "Trinidad not being a football country" - I used the examples of intercol to show that Trinidadians can be passionate about football under certain circumstances....Just as Brits or Spaniards (who may be generally considered to be passionate about the game) have exhibited a lack of passion for the game under certain circumstances as well....

Might be a more complex cultural explanation...rather than a sweeping generalization, that's all....or it could just be that our football at the Nat'l level is just uninspiring and we as a nation are yearning for something to get fired up about....(sounds harsh but I think that has something to do with it)....In other words our national team just doesn't evoke the passion that we may have for the game (either way you look at it, it's sad)....the level with which we support our national team is not necessarily a direct reflection of how passionate we are about the sport of football, but more a reflection about how excited we get about our Nat'l team (I think there's a difference)...Another aspect I think is the sense of unity- in Trini I feel like we just don't have that sense of unity as compatriots (as we may as schoolmates)....and of course there's just the cultural aspect of it that might suggest that Trinis on a whole are not an outwardly boisterous and vociferous bunch...

Reason why I say "whatever that means" with regard to Trinidad being a football country is because I think it can take on different meanings... but of course I know what you're saying.
Post by: ann3boys on March 31, 2009, 06:07:05 AM
thanks Touches. I watched the game - very very delayed...- from TGIF tv screens.
the 'magic' seemed to work again - Hyland and Latapy were working on some kind of telecommunication system - reading each other so well
I am hopeful anyway- on to the next victim -USA!!!
GO WARRIORS!! ;D
Post by: dwolfman on March 31, 2009, 02:31:15 PM

I have a problem with that assessment.  If you playing central midfield and you are the attacking one of the two midfielders, your job is to distribute.  If you cyar make more than ah 10 yard pass, yuh shouldn't be on the field.  Absolutely no creativity from either of our center midfielders...you cannot win like this..

Also, all this nonsense about the left midfielder not supporting the defense is bull sh...  Let's face it, A. Edwards is not an attacking option out of the back.  He is making absolutely no attempt to do so.  He has acres of space to fill and will not do it.  If you saw the US game vs ElSalvador, the coach removed a defender, put Damarcus Beasley to play left back, now yuh attacking with 8 men and ElSalvador was done.  We cannot attack the way we do and expect to win consistently. 

I think A. Edwards is going to be a very good player with more experience but the coaches MUST urge him to push forward to put pressure on the defense.  Plus, defensively he plays off the forwards way too far for me...He has got to get closer shut down the lanes and apply pressure much quicker.  Wait until we go back to Honduras, he will be exposed defensively. 

Are you suggesting that Theobold did not distribute? He made a number of passes further than 10 yards away. Different teams create through different players. Many hold on to the idea that the centre midfielder is the creative option on teams. Ronaldinho was a major creative option for Barca and he usually did his work from the wing. Chelsea also used used their wings more to threaten teams and generally speaking with teams making the centre of the pitch difficult to attack through you find fewer centre midfielders doing the creative work and more doing what Theobold did, which is put pressure on their midfield and not turn it over when he was in possession. Even Latas creative play (example the ball he passed for Hyland to score) did not come from the traditional centre midfield position.

Why would A. Edwards use this space on the wing when he knows that if the ball is turned over he has no cover? In our first match he was exposed by Daniel's lack of assistance defensively. Even when I was growing up and now learning the game we were taught that the midfield's job is to help out defenders, regardless of the side of the field you are on. I did not see that USA game, but I would bet money that Beasley knew that he had defensive support when he went forward in attack.

It is clear you have a different philosophy on the game... fair enough. I can agree to disagree with it.
Post by: Jefferz on March 31, 2009, 03:43:45 PM
big disagreement on theobold, he is ah liability... i remember his days after WC men was callin him dwight theobold, but like he let his maga state mentality take back over, cuz i found he was weak.

Yes his passin was good and such, but he isnt particularly speedy and any man can knock him off ah ball.

He's ah good player and with the right physique can be playin with the big boys but for now... i don't think he makin the cut man.

and why none of our central midfielders dont take a crack at goal?

we had alot of space outside of the box to shoot, why no one took a shot?

yuh think lampard or gerrard waitin for space to shoot? No and they'll score without the space far less when they are actually given some.

I need some more aggresive intent.