Sports => Football => Topic started by: dinho on March 29, 2009, 09:17:57 AM

Title: The Aklie Edwards Appreciation Thread
Post by: dinho on March 29, 2009, 09:17:57 AM
Hi hater.. Hi hater... its nothing we major.  :notlistening: :yapping: :whistling:

This is 4 games i see now devoid of criticism on this board.

Lets give jack his jacket and jim his gym boots.

Good job Aklie, Akile or whaever yuh name.. Keep doing yuh ting. :beermug:

Title: Re: The Aklie Edwards Appreciation Thread
Post by: maxg on March 29, 2009, 09:27:41 AM
yuh know too much football an to big for this...no? X it nah
Post by: Deeks on March 29, 2009, 09:33:10 AM
I thought both wing backs did a decent job yesterday. I am an Akile fan. It would be nice if he goes abroad .
Post by: Controversial on March 29, 2009, 09:36:14 AM
schupsss, edwards get pong on that left side, pacheco or nigel daniel over him anyday, edwards play real tata
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 29, 2009, 09:45:40 AM
He had one crazy giveaway to a Honduran attacker that we were lucky to escape from. Besides that he was solid.
Post by: sub1 on March 29, 2009, 09:50:29 AM
He had one crazy giveaway to a Honduran attacker that we were lucky to escape from. Besides that he was solid.

Totally agree. He could only get better. I expect to see enuff crow sharing by the end of this campaign.
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 29, 2009, 09:55:17 AM

Totally agree. He could only get better. I expect to see enuff crow sharing by the end of this campaign.
I don't know the specifics, but is too bad he turn down the Red Bulls. De more promising young players we could ship out of here the better.
Post by: g on March 29, 2009, 09:56:02 AM
I think Anthony Wolfe did well too, the honduran left winger was a speed demon and he was able to match him for pace and didnt let him get behind.
Post by: sub1 on March 29, 2009, 10:05:44 AM
I think Anthony Wolfe did well too, the honduran left winger was a speed demon and he was able to match him for pace and didnt let him get behind.

Another one who could only get better in that position. I think our wingback positions are well served at this point. We  need Dog now to hold up the central position with Tallman. Things are working out. We WILL qualify.
Post by: palos on March 29, 2009, 10:08:57 AM

Which is why Coach Maturana put Wolfe to play right back yesterday.

Seon Power would have been too slow

Cyd of 2 years ago even would have been ok but he eh have dah pace again

Spann is toots

It have nobody else....so IMO...brilliant use of resources by Maturana.

Whoever believe dat he doh scout de opposition is highly gullible.

As fuh Akile....respeck Omar.  One a de few dat was willin to give de yute a break.

Copious amounts a crow servin up fuh de haters wit every game dat pass.  It have curry crow, bar-b-q crow, stew crow, roast crow, jerk crow fuh sam and sando  :devil:, it even have a crow pelau....but fuh de likes of brownsugar and weary....it have a specially prepared...SUSHI CROW fuh allyuh!!  ;D
Post by: jumbonut$ on March 29, 2009, 10:09:39 AM
schupsss, edwards get pong on that left side, pacheco or nigel daniel over him anyday, edwards play real tata

steups... allyuh man wicked yes.. The man have shown steady improvements and is our best option in the left back position.. stop fighting down the youth nah man!!
Post by: benedicts bwoy on March 29, 2009, 10:10:45 AM

Nah Controversial, de young fella played good, made one mistake but otherwise was solid!
Wolfe did not do to bad himself and I don't think we need to call back Dog.....as good as he is but Dog and Tallest need to play with some of the potential players in their position who not gettin call, i.e. JJ and Marshall!

But neff respek mih broddaj! :beermug:
Post by: dombasil on March 29, 2009, 10:23:36 AM
The boy was solid. Not spectaular but solid. He is our best option and steadily improving.
Post by: sub1 on March 29, 2009, 10:25:20 AM

Spann is toots

As fuh Akile....respeck Omar.  One a de few dat was willin to give de yute a break.

Copious amounts a crow servin up fuh de haters wit every game dat pass.  It have curry crow, bar-b-q crow, stew crow, roast crow, jerk crow fuh sam and sando  :devil:, it even have a crow pelau....but fuh de likes of brownsugar and weary....it have a specially prepared...SUSHI CROW fuh allyuh!!  ;D

Actually in an interview Maturana said that he doesn't study the other team but prepares his team for the way he wants them to play. I honestly believe that the Wolfe move was brought about by Latapy. As I said in an earlier post it is either the Corneals that were sabotaging the team or Latapy's input is way more than many believe. This team is totally different to the pre-latapy days under Maturana. It cant be coincedence!
Post by: palos on March 29, 2009, 10:58:25 AM

Spann is toots

Actually in an interview Maturana said that he doesn't study the other team but prepares his team for the way he wants them to play. I honestly believe that the Wolfe move was brought about by Latapy. As I said in an earlier post it is either the Corneals that were sabotaging the team or Latapy's input is way more than many believe. This team is totally different to the pre-latapy days under Maturana. It cant be coincedence!

That may well be the case.  My only contention is that whenever something positive happens witgh the team, it's always credited to someone other than the coach.

On the other hand, once it's something remotely negative...it's ALWAYS the coaches fault.

As for Maturana saying he doesn't study the other team...you REALLy didn't take that LITERALLY did you?  AH mean...why did he go to EL Slavador prior to the El Slavador game?  To visit old friends?

My take on that comment was that he was saying he can't concentrate on what the other team is going to do, rather he focuses on getting his team to play to the game plan and play to their maximum potential on the day.  Coaches everywhere say the same thing.  To actually believe that Maturana does not know who Sauzo, Palacios, Pavon, Costly are, what they can do, and what roles they play on their team is stretching it MIGHTILY.  No wonder the coach cyah do anyting right fuh some if dem have dat mentality.

I not sayin Latapy has not had a positive effect, but to give credit to Latapy alone or even majorly for the teams "improvement" is disingenious at best.

Post by: arrow on March 29, 2009, 11:03:10 AM

Spann is toots

So all it takes to play RB for TNT is pace?  It have nobody else with pace in the whole of TNT football?  :o  Why not start Cornell Glen there instead, I think he has more pace than Wolfe and spent his whole career as an attacking player like Wolfe too so would have done even better.  It was a dunce move, we were just lucky that Honduras threw away the many chances that originated from the left side.
Beasely will murder Wolfe on Wednesday
Post by: palos on March 29, 2009, 11:07:42 AM

Spann is toots

So all it takes to play RB for TNT is pace?  It have nobody else with pace in the whole of TNT football?  :o  Why not start Cornell Glen there instead, I think he has more pace than Wolfe and spent his whole career as an attacking player like Wolfe too so would have done even better.  It was a dunce move, we were just lucky that Honduras threw away the many chances that originated from the left side.

This post simply shows why you're the resident cynic on a messageboard and not a coach.
Post by: Jay10 on March 29, 2009, 11:09:33 AM

Spann is toots

Both had ok games, but Wolfe was caught out on many occasions. He have d fight , and pace, but he still lacks the sense of positioning imo.....and I gurantee that the US will know that also..
Post by: g on March 29, 2009, 11:16:43 AM

Spann is toots

Both had ok games, but Wolfe was caught out on many occasions. He have d fight , and pace, but he still lacks the sense of positioning imo.....and I gurantee that the US will know that also..

Well the good thing is that pace is the one attribute that can smother other weaknesses, weakenesses that can be coached into playing the position properly.

And yes i agree that we shouldn't be trying to coach anybody into playing a position at the international level. But we have exhausted most options
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 29, 2009, 11:17:19 AM
they have no thing as give the lad a break in this boyo...serious business

But once Akeil on the field i supporting him 100% but hopefully when Pro League start we could see better options... Spann should come back home and play MLS or pro league at RB and once he get his games in he is the  best option...he still young and he was the RB under Beenhakker for quite a while

Hopefully Cyd could have a good season as well...but Wolfe was ok yesterday..I always wondered why he never played RB with his pace and aggression...Glenton Wolfe playing LB for connection... we could have both in the Full back positions come June...our very own Da Silva's(Man Utd RB and LB)

Post by: sub1 on March 29, 2009, 11:22:45 AM

Spann is toots

That may well be the case.  My only contention is that whenever something positive happens witgh the team, it's always credited to someone other than the coach.

On the other hand, once it's something remotely negative...it's ALWAYS the coaches fault.

As for Maturana saying he doesn't study the other team...you REALLy didn't take that LITERALLY did you?  AH mean...why did he go to EL Slavador prior to the El Slavador game?  To visit old friends?

My take on that comment was that he was saying he can't concentrate on what the other team is going to do, rather he focuses on getting his team to play to the game plan and play to their maximum potential on the day.  Coaches everywhere say the same thing.  To actually believe that Maturana does not know who Sauzo, Palacios, Pavon, Costly are, what they can do, and what roles they play on their team is stretching it MIGHTILY.  No wonder the coach cyah do anyting right fuh some if dem have dat mentality.

I not sayin Latapy has not had a positive effect, but to give credit to Latapy alone or even majorly for the teams "improvement" is disingenious at best.

There is no disingenuity on my part re Maturana. If you read carefully what I am saying is that Latapy is the real brain and tactician on this present team. To me Maturana is nothing more than a figure head kept in place by Jack. Before Latapy came on board how many games we played with 2 strikers? He himself said in the pre latapy days that he plays with 1 striker. So lets me put it plain for peeps on the board. Its Maturana team in name only but Latapy's philosophy on the field.
Post by: Bianconeri on March 29, 2009, 11:23:29 AM
he was ok...much improved but did little attacking wise

looks like we have little options on d wing backs

not hating on ya Akile but time to step it up even more!!

Julius waiting in d wings too long!
Post by: weary1969 on March 29, 2009, 12:15:43 PM

Spann is toots

Doh eat raw fish but Brown go deal wit u in Nashville but she say dat is d US who say dey attacks came through him,. D bredda improve gr8 but he was a hound now he is less of a hound hooray.
Post by: Brownsugar on March 29, 2009, 12:53:44 PM
Thanks Weary but like TSTT sort me out finally....so ah come to tell Palos to keep he damn raw fish....and to repeat dat is not me but rather the US that say they thank God we had Aklie/Akiel on we side so dey were able to launch raid after raid on we goal....what de hell I was supposed to think then??...he play crap den ah say so....he playing much better now and I HAVE ACKNOWLEDGED THAT....and it good for we that he is....

Now Aklie, Akiel or however your name is spelt....yuh have a chance to exact your revenge on the US player who said those things about you....in fact check Palos for the recipie for SUSHI Crow and be sure to cook it and feed it to him on Wednesday..... :devil:

And you Mr. Palos ah eh done wid you eh....ah goh deal with you Wednesday!!!... :devil: ;D
Post by: maxg on March 29, 2009, 01:00:55 PM
oh lorse...wha Palos gone an get heself in now.. :rotfl:
Post by: Sando prince on March 29, 2009, 01:05:22 PM

sure he needs to step it up just like some of our SENIOR players who who aint stepping shit up right now...quick to tell the youth step it up when we have seniors in the team aint doing shit but we would just say they (the seniors) have a quiet game and give them a break lol..and is Julius a central defender?...and if he is then why draw a reference to him in this thread by saying he is waiting in the wings when we know Akeile is a LB..
Post by: Fyzoman on March 29, 2009, 02:13:48 PM
i always hoped Akile woulda work out, my thing was whether he was de best we had to offer at left back at present..still find as ah left footer he should be doing it to men...Akile if yuh reading do fraid to pick up some moves (dribbling) from Keon, it could only help yuh game.

Oh, and about Pacho eh getting credit, IMHO (as ah man who doh drink and watch de game against USA in chicago sober) unless Latas get fired or leave de wuk and de team still do kinda decent, no effing credit for Pacho!
Post by: NUFF on March 29, 2009, 02:49:16 PM
I was one who pong Akile Edwards when he played shit so I have to commend him when he plays well.  In the last two games he has shown a lot of improvement.  Even though he gets minimal help from Keon Daniel.  I hope Akile Edwards continues to improve and gets to play overseas soon.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on March 29, 2009, 03:34:31 PM
I am not a fan of akile but he was decent yesterday but keep in mind honduras didn't play good.  The US will be a good test to see if he really improved.
Post by: Bianconeri on March 29, 2009, 04:25:50 PM

sure he needs to step it up just like some of our SENIOR players who who aint stepping shit up right now...quick to tell the youth step it up when we have seniors in the team aint doing shit but we would just say they (the seniors) have a quiet game and give them a break lol..and is Julius a central defender?...and if he is then why draw a reference to him in this thread by saying he is waiting in the wings when we know Akeile is a LB..

what i was getting at with Julisu James is that we have limited quality options at RB at the moment and maybe they can consider him as a wing back since it's highly unlikely he's going to break into that central defensive partnership of Lawrence and Thomas (though i dont see y not...)

or as someone mentioned b4...how bout the U-20 players...worth a try maybe in some friendlies
Post by: arrow on March 30, 2009, 07:51:30 AM

Spann is toots

This post simply shows why you're the resident cynic on a messageboard and not a coach.

I guess you are forever the resident optimist on here huh?  2 points from 2 of our 3 easiest games in the hex, 
keep guzzling that kool-aid!
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 30, 2009, 09:37:41 AM
I guess you are forever the resident optimist on here huh?  2 points from 2 of our 3 easiest games in the hex, 
keep guzzling that kool-aid!

I think allyuh underestimating the quality of the teams in this hex oui.  true we had a golden opportunity in the first game, but that same El Salvador team nearly take 3 points from the US who on paper appears to be concacaf's best team.  Our team didn't have the quality necessary in the midfield nor up front to truly dominate this last game.  We have some quality proffessional players who depending on your perspective either lazy, not hungry enough or are simply underachievers.  So far KJ & Scotty can't seem to translate their club dominance to the NT setup.  And though Stern has been a juggernaut for us over the years, I wonder if he too just lack the zeal sometimes. 

Omar big up fuh this thread, cause if you didn't do it I would have.  I don't know A. Edwards personally nor have any stake in rating him but I have always maintained that given the opportunity the player will continue to develop well in the LB position.  Palos many here will never credit Maturana with anything because they just don't care to be objective about it.  If nothing else I certainly will credit him with instilling confidence in Edwards while giving him an opportunity to develop by making him a fixture in the NT.  I don't think our team has performed up to potential but in most instances under many coaches they haven't.
Post by: weary1969 on March 30, 2009, 10:04:40 AM
OK lets give Mats d Order Of TNT because he give Edwards a bly and he developing. Forgive me but dat is he wuk he wuk is also 2 get we 2 SA as d man say we reachin South Quay wit d way we playin but we eh loose a game so we should b happy like pappy.
Post by: palos on March 30, 2009, 10:27:24 AM
OK lets give Mats d Order Of TNT because he give Edwards a bly and he developing. Forgive me but dat is he wuk he wuk is also 2 get we 2 SA as d man say we reachin South Quay wit d way we playin but we eh loose a game so we should b happy like pappy.

How much Guinness yuh drink dis mornin already?  ;D
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 30, 2009, 10:33:08 AM

Yuh right da iz he job.  Luckily he know his job better than most forum members who call him all kinda names behind da same Edwards that he stickin with.  He eh give the youth no bly, Edwards seems to have impressed Maturana in some way.  Ah bly is wha he give Spann when he started him those few games.  Ah bly is starting Hislop, Edwards eh no bly.  I eh ecstatic over no draw so me eh jumpin up over dat.  I jus find most of his detractors in here is ah setta hypocrite that elect to vilify him for the ngatives and ignore him for the positives.  Is either it's his team or is not.  It cah be latapy team when praises available to heap but is he team when time fuh negative criticisms.  I find allyuh should just as well be blazing Latapy fuh de negatives since allyuh anoint him as the heir apparent and the true puppet master in the current setup.
Post by: weary1969 on March 30, 2009, 10:40:46 AM

How much Guinness yuh drink dis mornin already?  ;D

U know I does only drink coca cola.
Post by: weary1969 on March 30, 2009, 10:44:03 AM

Yuh right da iz he job.  Luckily he know his job better than most forum members who call him all kinda names behind da same Edwards that he stickin with.  He eh give the youth no bly, Edwards seems to have impressed Maturana in some way.  Ah bly is wha he give Spann when he started him those few games.  Ah bly is starting Hislop, Edwards eh no bly.  I eh ecstatic over no draw so me eh jumpin up over dat.  I jus find most of his detractors in here is ah setta hypocrite that elect to vilify him for the ngatives and ignore him for the positives.  Is either it's his team or is not.  It cah be latapy team when praises available to heap but is he team when time fuh negative criticisms.  I find allyuh should just as well be blazing Latapy fuh de negatives since allyuh anoint him as the heir apparent and the true puppet master in the current setup.

He get a bly because he was not suppose 2 b d number 1 4 dat position so say we d fans. As d man who d TTFF payin dat is he pick. As meh gyul say is d US players who say all dey attacks went true he. So he improve gr8 dat is what u suppose 2 do. As 4 annointin Latas is Mats in oui waist since Ash wed 2008 man even givin BSC a 2nd thought
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 30, 2009, 10:56:05 AM
He get a bly because he was not suppose 2 b d number 1 4 dat position so say we d fans. As d man who d TTFF payin dat is he pick. As meh gyul say is d US players who say all dey attacks went true he. So he improve gr8 dat is what u suppose 2 do. As 4 annointin Latas is Mats in oui waist since Ash wed 2008 man even givin BSC a 2nd thought

Good thing fan babble doh seem to influence Pacho.  Anybody who callin fuh BSC need to be fackin executed!!
Post by: weary1969 on March 30, 2009, 11:07:41 AM

Good thing fan babble doh seem to influence Pacho.  Anybody who callin fuh BSC need to be fackin executed!!

What does influence Mats he doh scout so dat eh influencin he selection.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 30, 2009, 11:10:53 AM

All kix aside You seriously believe dat?!! :o
Post by: weary1969 on March 30, 2009, 11:15:21 AM

All kix aside You seriously believe dat?!! :o

Of course not but doh b chattin such foolishness in an interview it just confirm y I does call yuh dumbtist.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 30, 2009, 11:24:35 AM
Of course not but doh b chattin such foolishness in an interview it just confirm y I does call yuh dumbtist.

Like you musse feel he obligated to be honest with the media oui.  Check de judgement eh:  If he say "we have scouted the opponent and feel like we've made good adjustments to what we saw,"  then the Warriors proceed to get deh ass cut wha yuh go say? Well at least he scout?!  All that matters is what he is able to get out of the team.  Some might think he is underachieving but when was the last time under any coaching regime did TnT start off firing on all cylinders?  Fuh as long as I been watching we teams play we does always be trying to make it in or around the last possible game.  Strike squad wasn't no different in 89 and under Beenie we eh clinch ah berth until beating Bahrain.  What Pacho is getting from this team seems like par for the course, but to hear some ah we complain yuh would swear he have world class talent and losing to teams that we outclass by far.
Post by: weary1969 on March 30, 2009, 11:31:14 AM

Like you musse feel he obligated to be honest with the media oui.  Check de judgement eh:  If he say "we have scouted the opponent and feel like we've made good adjustments to what we saw,"  then the Warriors proceed to get deh ass cut wha yuh go say? Well at least he scout?!  All that matters is what he is able to get out of the team.  Some might think he is underachieving but when was the last time under any coaching regime did TnT start off firing on all cylinders?  Fuh as long as I been watching we teams play we does always be trying to make it in or around the last possible game.  Strike squad wasn't no different in 89 and under Beenie we eh clinch ah berth until beating Bahrain.  What Pacho is getting from this team seems like par for the course, but to hear some ah we complain yuh would swear he have world class talent and losing to teams that we outclass by far.

He eh have 2 b honest but doh chat nonsense. So because yuh grt gran fadder/grand fadder and fadder was poor u gob poor. When u family go b rich u great grand chile. We not progressin so dat is ah right. If BSC did remain u tink we woulda get a chance 2 play Bahran far less beat dem. 
Post by: Sando prince on April 01, 2009, 08:28:35 PM
Nobody want to comment here tonight..
Post by: Babalawo on April 01, 2009, 08:29:15 PM
Post by: Bakes on April 01, 2009, 08:29:30 PM
Delete this shit thread.
Post by: weary1969 on April 01, 2009, 08:30:37 PM
We appreciate dat he like d sport but d sport eh like him.
Post by: palos on April 01, 2009, 08:30:51 PM
LOL!!  Do I sense a lack of appreciation this evening?  8)
Post by: RedDevils on April 01, 2009, 08:31:12 PM
what is there to appreciate with this shithound
Post by: g on April 01, 2009, 08:31:21 PM
Men have d knives sharp waiting for Palos to surface.....

Doh study it boy palos the knife is only to cut up the crow, make it easy to swallow.
Post by: weary1969 on April 01, 2009, 08:32:49 PM
LOL!!  Do I sense a lack of appreciation this evening?  8)

Nah meh sis appreciate d lime dat goin on Nashville
Post by: palos on April 01, 2009, 08:33:42 PM
So lemmeh get dis straight.

Is Akile Edwards fault why we colleck 3 tonight?

Ah jes curious.
Post by: g on April 01, 2009, 08:36:00 PM

Ah jes curious.

Nah man, we have a history of blooding wing backs by Baptism of fire and he will get stronger for it...

Our problems stem deeper than the fallicies of one player
Post by: weary1969 on April 01, 2009, 08:37:58 PM

Ah jes curious.

He have 2 take his share of blame but he eh pick himself but as 2 d man who pick he. I know this by heart.

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.
Post by: Trini on April 01, 2009, 08:38:29 PM
Akile Edwards good for 2 things:
1) not getting red cards like cyd or avery
2) taking throw ins

Somewhere i heard a rumour that he overlaps and can cross.
Post by: fari on April 01, 2009, 08:39:22 PM
the man was left exposed tonite...he was really found wanting.  but leon coulda track back and try to help defend
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 01, 2009, 08:40:57 PM
edwards is pure shit.
Post by: FF on April 01, 2009, 08:43:31 PM
the man was left exposed tonite...he was really found wanting.  but leon coulda track back and try to help defend

Steups all dis talk bout de man getting leave expose... the man lacking de fundamentals and he ent learning at all

he cyah mark, he cyah pass, he does make foul throw... next!
Post by: palos on April 01, 2009, 08:44:15 PM
Nobody eh answer meh question yet.

I'll ask again.

Was Akile Edwards responsible for our loss tonight?

Thanx

Peeps sayin he is shit.  He sure didn't have a great game.

But what about Christopher Birchall?  Or Clyde Leon?  Or Keon Daniel?  Or the wuss player by far on de field tonight IMO...Kenwyne Jones?

No words bout dem eh?...Jes Akile Edwards.
Post by: weary1969 on April 01, 2009, 08:45:31 PM

I'll ask again.

Thanx

But what about Christopher Birchall?  Or Clyde Leon?  Or Keon Daniel?  Or the wuss player by far on de field tonight IMO...Kenwyne Jones?

Nah u eh c d pic of KJ AKA Dareem Charles
Post by: Trini on April 01, 2009, 08:46:54 PM
Akile Edwards will miss the home game vs Costa Rica after picking up a yellow card in the 53rd minute.
Post by: FF on April 01, 2009, 08:47:45 PM
Akile Edwards will miss the home game vs Costa Rica after picking up a yellow card in the 53rd minute.

Keon Daniel for left back!! he might throw a foot then

Watch Pacho really do that
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 01, 2009, 08:49:44 PM
Wolfe was at fault for that first goal. Wolfe gone missing on de right so everybody have to shift across to cover, leaving Altidore open. Edwards was slow to pick up on it, but de breakdown start wit Wolfe.

Nuff times I see players ghosting behind Keon and heading straight for Edwards. Keon barely help him AT ALL.

Aklie do he own shit, too. But it aint all him.
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 01, 2009, 08:50:25 PM

Keon Daniel for left back!! he might throw a foot then

Watch Pacho really do that
Dat too easy. Pacho go call up Ricky Shakes.
Post by: Bakes on April 01, 2009, 08:50:29 PM

I'll ask again.

Thanx

You talking ah pack ah f**kking ass now.  YES Edwards responsible fuh de loss.  He's de f**kker who was gaping while Altidore run in tuh score de opening goal.  Dat one goal is all the US needed.
Wolfe was at fault for that first goal. Wolfe gone missing on de right so everybody have to shift across to cover, leaving Altidore open.

Nuff times I see players ghosting behind Keon and heading straight for Edwards. Keon barely help him AT ALL.

what you self talking???

Was Wolfe supposed to be marking Altidore??  What Edwards was looking at as Altidore run past him to collect the cross?
Post by: pardners on April 01, 2009, 08:51:08 PM
We now seeing why he couldn't make the first team for the army.
To answer Palos, I don't think he was the worst player on the field tonight, nor was he responsible for the 3 goals.
However his performance whilst he was on the field did nothing to enhance his reputation.  Although playing a wing back with Keon Daniel in front of you hadda be a nightmare sah.
Post by: weary1969 on April 01, 2009, 08:52:52 PM
We now seeing why he couldn't make the first team for the army.
To answer Palos, I don't think he was the worst player on the field tonight, nor was he responsible for the 3 goals.
However his performance whilst he was on the field did nothing to enhance his reputation.  Although playing a wing back with Keon Daniel in front of you hadda be a nightmare sah.

So how he move from cyah makin d 1st team in d army 2 b strtin in a WCQ?
Post by: Trini on April 01, 2009, 08:56:58 PM
both the wingbacks were poor tonight.
We may just have stumbled upon something with Makan out on the right.

We just do not have the current players of the calibre to compete with the US in the US.
Or at least be consistent.

These fellas making Cyd and Avery look good.
Post by: real madness on April 01, 2009, 09:17:52 PM
both the wingbacks were poor tonight.
We may just have stumbled upon something with Makan out on the right.

We just do not have the current players of the calibre to compete with the US in the US.
Or at least be consistent.

These fellas making Cyd and Avery look good.

what makan did tonight?  dem not making avery and cyd look good, it is simply that avery and cyd are still our two best options for 2010, 2014 is a different story.
Post by: Sando prince on April 01, 2009, 09:19:19 PM
Trini did you see how Donovan turned Mikan inside out to help score the second goal??
Post by: berris on April 01, 2009, 09:25:14 PM

I'll ask again.

Thanx

You talking ah pack ah f**kking ass now.  YES Edwards responsible fuh de loss.  He's de f**kker who was gaping while Altidore run in tuh score de opening goal.  Dat one goal is all the US needed.
Wolfe was at fault for that first goal. Wolfe gone missing on de right so everybody have to shift across to cover, leaving Altidore open.

what you self talking???

Was Wolfe supposed to be marking Altidore??  What Edwards was looking at as Altidore run past him to collect the cross?

Palos ah have tuh agree wid Bakes Edwards was responsible for the fuss goal and dah goal alone was enough tuh bury we,he let Josy run pass him and den throw dong heself like he tackling after de ball done in de net .Dem fellas is practice champs but when de lights turn on dey come like cock a roach ,running n hiding . Yuh is meh boi so I eh go say yuh talking ah pack ah arsness ,but yuh eh far off  ::) :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on April 01, 2009, 09:31:31 PM
Palos ah have tuh agree wid Bakes Edwards was responsible for the fuss goal and dah goal alone was enough tuh bury we,he let Josy run pass him and den throw dong heself like he tackling after de ball done in de net .Dem fellas is practice champs but when de lights turn on dey come like cock a roach ,running n hiding . Yuh is meh boi so I eh go say yuh talking ah pack ah arsness ,but yuh eh far off  ::) :beermug:

De way he run and skate on he fukking chest yuh swear is he who score and take ah dive by de corner flag.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 01, 2009, 09:37:50 PM
allyuh men frighten of Palos and his f**king questions

It wasnt all his fault palos but His overall performance in the game was terrible...it's the first time i've ever wanted 1 of our players to get a yellow card...him missing the next game is the best thing that could happen to us

The boy is not ready... hopefully he could develop into a top LB and prove his worth in 2012 and 2013 for WC 2014 Qualifiers

We have Avery John and other better LB's like N.Daniel A.Pacheco and N.Willams for the next 6 months... give it a f**king go...A.Edwards is affecting our chances...he has to go..and as weary said the man who picking him..HAVE TO GO

so Palos if you can honestly say he should stay and continue to be our LB you a bigger ass than i think you are already

Post by: supporter on April 01, 2009, 09:44:43 PM
Amazed how this player has gotten the caps he has. But we must be more furious at Mats for putting in a player who was absolutely dreadful the last time he played in the states. Far far from intl level.
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 01, 2009, 09:48:04 PM

what you self talking???

If Wolfe lose his man, Keyeno have to cover him. Dennis have to shift across and cover Keyeno man. Aklie have to shift and cover Dennis man. Ideally, one of the midfielders would then cover for Edwards. No midfielder covered for him and he was too slow to pick up on Altidore. He shares in the blame but blame also goes to Wolfe and whichever midfielder it was that fell asleep.
Post by: Bakes on April 01, 2009, 10:01:27 PM
If Wolfe lose his man, Keyeno have to cover him. Dennis have to shift across and cover Keyeno man. Aklie have to shift and cover Dennis man. Ideally, one of the midfielders would then cover for Edwards. No midfielder covered for him and he was too slow to pick up on Altidore. He shares in the blame but blame also goes to Wolfe and whichever midfielder it was that fell asleep.

You need to go back and watch the highlight of that goal.  If what you talking about had really taken place Edwards should have been closer to Donovan as he was crossing the ball as he moved in to cover for Lawrence in CB.  Instead Edwards was RIGHT DEY next to Altidore when Altidore made his run.  Edwards failed to maintain contact with him and got caught ball-watching, allowing Jozy to run in free on the cross at the back post.

The least Edwards coulda do was stay in Altidore hip pocket and make the touch hard for him... he had the proper inside position but lost track of his man on a crossing ball in the box.  How de ass you still doing that at this level???
Post by: Arazi on April 01, 2009, 10:05:06 PM

[/quote]If Wolfe lose his man, Keyeno have to cover him. Dennis have to shift across and cover Keyeno man. Aklie have to shift and cover Dennis man. Ideally, one of the midfielders would then cover for Edwards. No midfielder covered for him and he was too slow to pick up on Altidore. He shares in the blame but blame also goes to Wolfe and whichever midfielder it was that fell asleep.
[/quote]

You need to go back and watch the highlight of that goal.  If what you talking about had really taken place Edwards should have been closer to Donovan as he was crossing the ball as he moved in to cover for Lawrence in CB.  Instead Edwards was RIGHT DEY next to Altidore when Altidore made his run.  Edwards failed to maintain contact with him and got caught ball-watching, allowing Jozy to run in free on the cross at the back post.

The least Edwards coulda do was stay in Altidore hip pocket and make the touch hard for him... he had the proper inside position but lost track of his man on a crossing ball in the box.  How de ass you still doing that at this level???

Yes he should have been tighter on altidore but the goal was not soley his fault..we were sold because thomas lost the 50/50 with Ching and did not recover...it would have taken heroic defending for akile to prevent that goal form there on..because it was made by donavan's play as much as altiodre's run
Post by: Controversial on April 01, 2009, 10:06:08 PM
allyuh men frighten of Palos and his f**king questions

It wasnt all his fault palos but His overall performance in the game was terrible...it's the first time i've ever wanted 1 of our players to get a yellow card...him missing the next game is the best thing that could happen to us

The boy is not ready... hopefully he could develop into a top LB and prove his worth in 2012 and 2013 for WC 2014 Qualifiers

We have Avery John and other better LB's like N.Daniel A.Pacheco and N.Willams for the next 6 months... give it a f**king go...A.Edwards is affecting our chances...he has to go..and as weary said the man who picking him..HAVE TO GO

so Palos if you can honestly say he should stay and continue to be our LB you a bigger ass than i think you are already

amen, wolfe and edwards are shithongs, the reason we lost tonight, about 75% or more of the US attackes were down the wing, you know why bc they know our wingbacks are shithongs, pacheco for left back and spann for the right, gray.
Post by: elan on April 01, 2009, 10:08:22 PM
I said nothing last 2 games, but Akile is real mess. There is no way he should be on a football team. The fella can't make a pass and cannot track a player. Useless. Imagine my lil girl players asking why he can't play a simple pass. Watch meh this thread need to bun.

Hard luck Palos, yuh cyah play mas and fraid powder.
Post by: weary1969 on April 01, 2009, 10:15:04 PM
I said nothing last 2 games, but Akile is real mess. There is no way he should be on a football team. The fella can't make a pass and cannot track a player. Useless. Imagine my lil girl players asking why he can't play a simple pass. Watch meh this thread need to bun.

Hard luck Palos, yuh cyah play mas and fraid powder.

Yuh eh like dem chirren dey went 2 dat game. Next ting we have 2 raise bail money because dey parents say u torture dey chirren.
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 01, 2009, 10:15:37 PM

To be honest I was busy cussing Wolfe for losing Donovan to really focus on how Aklie play it. Ah now watch it again there. Aklie really do shit. I still sharing blame with Wolfe, though.
Post by: weary1969 on April 01, 2009, 10:17:07 PM

To be honest I was busy cussing Wolfe for losing Donovan to really focus on how Aklie play it. Ah now watch it again there. Aklie really do shit. I still sharing blame with Wolfe, though.

All yuh watchin it ovahhhhhhhhhhh. :beermug: all yuh gr8
Post by: elan on April 01, 2009, 11:23:00 PM
I magine after the last USA game, the USA players saying how they exploited our left back. Who we put left back? Who they attacked right away? Who eh learn nothing?
Post by: berris on April 02, 2009, 12:13:39 AM
I magine after the last USA game, the USA players saying how they exploited our left back. Who we put left back? Who they attacked right away? Who eh learn nothing?

Dis is why i'll always say #14 fack some ah all yuh over properly in real life .How you cud see Edwards play shit ,which is true , but #14 had a bad game  ??? You and supporter jockstrap clearly have personal issues with #14  :rotfl: :rotfl:          poor fellows ,get over it and move on man, it have more gyul out dey . :devil: :devil: 
Post by: arrow on April 02, 2009, 06:52:12 AM

Spann is toots

WOLFE EXPERIMENT FAILED!!  It only took a half and a goal down this time to realize that Wolfe IS NOT A DEFENDER!
So it wasn't Beasely because he played in defense but Donovan abused him on that left flank.  It was forkin inevitable! 
But I guess some will say brilliant use of resources by Maturana once again and I am a cynic. 
Post by: weary1969 on April 02, 2009, 06:53:22 AM

Spann is toots

WOLFE EXPERIMENT FAILED!!  It only took a half and a goal down this time to realize that Wolfe IS NOT A DEFENDER!
So it wasn't Beasely because he played in defense but Donovan abused him on that left flank.  It was forkin inevitable! 
But I guess some will say brilliant use of resources by Maturana once again and I am a cynic. 

I LUV CYNICS
Post by: Daft Trini on April 02, 2009, 11:25:23 AM
Anybody know he address.... I willing to buy him some nitro tech so he could bulk up...
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 02, 2009, 11:58:07 AM

Yuh drunk or yuh fackin blind?!!  Is Wolfe who get eat up and cause the defense to end up scrambling.  Not absolving Edwards of blame because he truly failed to keep his body on Altidore, but the breakdown that led to the opportunity is all because of Wolfe.

Some ah allyuh want to rag on this youth so bad that allyuh seeing red (no pun intended) anytime he near the ball.  Sure he bears some (even most if yuh not objective) of the blame for that first goal, but in the second half the US wasn't able to exploit his side as he was very solid.  Talk any shit allyuh want but doh subjectively evaluate the man on one goal when he played the whole game and was more than adequate in the second half.  Both goals were as a result of the RB position getting completely devoured.  Allyuh seem to be so biased against this fella that allyuh will talk any amount of shit.

Once again I am not saying he had a great or even good game, but he isn't to blame in totality for our demise.  Blame Stern for trottin like ah kismyass equestrian horse and failing to be part of some of the offensive opportunities that could have had positive potential.  Blame fackin KJ for being made outta concrete and unable to trap balls I could have at 10 muddac**t years old.  Blame Daniel fuh failing to use his skill to advance ah muddass ball past midfield.  It have enough blame to go around, so doh be stingy wid it.
Post by: Weh-it-is on April 02, 2009, 11:59:01 AM

De way he run and skate on he f**kking chest yuh swear is he who score and take ah dive by de corner flag.

Two first goals he was on he back, looking real dumb. He was bad marking and just fall down to make it look like he was doing something.  :P
Post by: NUFF on April 02, 2009, 12:00:08 PM
Wolfe was at fault for that first goal. Wolfe gone missing on de right so everybody have to shift across to cover, leaving Altidore open. Edwards was slow to pick up on it, but de breakdown start wit Wolfe.

Both Wolfe and Edwards were at fault for the first goal.  Once Wolfe allowed Donovan to waltz past him the entire defense lost its shape.  Edwards made an elementary defending mistake.  He allowed Altidore to get between him and the ball.  This is a team sport so is not always as simple as pointing the finger at one player.  As for your point about Keon not helping Edwards I have been saying the same thing but everybody just want to point the finger at Akile Edwards.  Keon Daniel played like a lazy f**ker constantly leaving Edwards exposed.

All de talk about playing Daniel in central midfield is a watse of time until he gets an attitude adjustment.  When he learns to play with some heart and zeal then we can address which position is best suited for his talent.

Post by: NUFF on April 02, 2009, 12:02:40 PM

Yuh drunk or yuh fackin blind?!!  Is Wolfe who get eat up and cause the defense to end up scrambling.  Not absolving Edwards of blame because he truly failed to keep his body on Altidore, but the breakdown that led to the opportunity is all because of Wolfe.

Some ah allyuh want to rag on this youth so bad that allyuh seeing red (no pun intended) anytime he near the ball.  Sure he bears some (even most if yuh not objective) of the blame for that first goal, but in the second half the US wasn't able to exploit his side as he was very solid.  Talk any shit allyuh want but doh subjectively evaluate the man on one goal when he played the whole game and was more than adequate in the second half.  Both goals were as a result of the RB position getting completely devoured.  Allyuh seem to be so biased against this fella that allyuh will talk any amount of shit.

Once again I am not saying he had a great or even good game, but he isn't to blame in totality for our demise.  Blame Stern for trottin like ah kismyass equestrian horse and failing to be part of some of the offensive opportunities that could have had positive potential.  Blame fackin KJ for being made outta concrete and unable to trap balls I could have at 10 muddac**t years old.  Blame Daniel fuh failing to use his skill to advance ah muddass ball past midfield.  It have enough blame to go around, so doh be stingy wid it.

Well said, except for de Stern part.  Stern worked his ass off last night.
Post by: Bakes on April 02, 2009, 02:27:23 PM

Doh try dat... Wolfe f**k up and let Donovan skate past him is true but Tallest was still covering Donovan... Edwards had nothing to do with Donovan, Edwards role in that was to mark the man on the back post... Altidore.  He NEVER made one step in Donovan's direction, instead he get ketch flat-footed and gaping and allowed Altidore to slip in behind him.

Which game you watch?  Edwards was getting undressed whole night.  Not only that but why we blaming Stern and KJ if the focus in this thread is on de defensive lapses??  Yuh doh lose because yuh ent score goals... yuh lose because yuh concede.  Fuh all we offensive ineptitude the defense was in shambles last night... but what else new.

Both Wolfe and Edwards were at fault for the first goal.  Once Wolfe allowed Donovan to waltz past him the entire defense lost its shape.  Edwards made an elementary defending mistake.  He allowed Altidore to get between him and the ball.  This is a team sport so is not always as simple as pointing the finger at one player.  As for your point about Keon not helping Edwards I have been saying the same thing but everybody just want to point the finger at Akile Edwards.  Keon Daniel played like a lazy f**ker constantly leaving Edwards exposed.

All de talk about playing Daniel in central midfield is a watse of time until he gets an attitude adjustment.  When he learns to play with some heart and zeal then we can address which position is best suited for his talent.

Altidore never got between Edwards and the ball... allyuh men just imagining things.  Altidore ran UNCOVERED to collect the cross and deposit it in the back of the net.  Edwards wasn't even in the picture... he come sliding in after de ball done settle somewhey by Ince water bottle. 
Post by: RGarcia on April 02, 2009, 02:57:36 PM

Doh try dat... Wolfe f**k up and let Donovan skate past him is true but Tallest was still covering Donovan... Edwards had nothing to do with Donovan, Edwards role in that was to mark the man on the back post... Altidore.  He NEVER made one step in Donovan's direction, instead he get ketch flat-footed and gaping and allowed Altidore to slip in behind him.

Which game you watch?  Edwards was getting undressed whole night.  Not only that but why we blaming Stern and KJ if the focus in this thread is on de defensive lapses??  Yuh doh lose because yuh ent score goals... yuh lose because yuh concede.  Fuh all we offensive ineptitude the defense was in shambles last night... but what else new.

Altidore never got between Edwards and the ball... allyuh men just imagining things.  Altidore ran UNCOVERED to collect the cross and deposit it in the back of the net.  Edwards wasn't even in the picture... he come sliding in after de ball done settle somewhey by Ince water bottle. 
[/quote
HMMMM so ah wonder how Altidore make a far post run UNMARKED?.. well is because the man get burn and then divign on he chest like he see Maracas or Las Cuevas... allyuh man is kicks yes ::)
Post by: Bakes on April 02, 2009, 03:06:24 PM
HMMMM so ah wonder how Altidore make a far post run UNMARKED?.. well is because the man get burn and then divign on he chest like he see Maracas or Las Cuevas... allyuh man is kicks yes ::)

Is your comprehension dat is kicks...

To say he get burn is one thing... to say he had Altidore in front of him is another.  Jozy was never between Edwards and the ball... there was never a straight line from ball to Jozy to Edwards.  To say Altidore got between Edwards and the ball is to imply that Edwards was in line with both the man and the ball... which wasn't the case.  If he Altidore was between him and the ball  then that implies that he would have had a chance to make a play on the ball if Altidore wasn't in the way. Edwards never had a chance to even touch the ball Altidore or not, he was trailing the play because he let Altidore get away from him.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 02, 2009, 03:19:01 PM

I hope you feel better now buddy.  Either way I was there live and watching
Post by: Bakes on April 02, 2009, 03:58:01 PM

...and what is yuh point? Not only did I see it as it happened on TV, I also had the benefit of seeing numerous replays as well.  You being there "live" ent telling me on fart.
Post by: Controversial on April 02, 2009, 04:02:38 PM

...and what is yuh point? Not only did I see it as it happened on TV, I also had the benefit of seeing numerous replays as well.  You being there "live" ent telling me on fart.

i couldnt agree more, whether you saw them live or on tv, they play shit either way and it was obvious in living colour our wingbacks were the main fault
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 02, 2009, 04:06:55 PM

Well your eyes must have deceived you or yuh TV need replacing.  In the second half Edwards handled himself well and made some good defensive plays.  I know what I and other people who was there watching was seeing and saying.  Just the same how some here think Stern played well (from TV perspective) while we who was watching from the stands saw all the times when he (was in his one speed trot and) didn't get into positions to aid on attack.  In the end you'll go on an on as is your style but I know what I saw, not sure what you saw and not too sure I care either way.
Post by: elan on April 02, 2009, 04:08:14 PM

I thought they said a record for the largest crowd to ever watch a soccer game in nashville. I eh know is you alone was in the stands.
I was right there too, and I was specifically watching Akile, cause I knew that would be a point of contention. Akile could not pass gas. He lacks the 4 speeds which is required of top soccer players. Simple passes with one oponent facing him and he kicking the ball away. More than once he let his play get the better of him. He always facing his goal. You have to be joking.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 02, 2009, 04:15:00 PM
I thought they said a record for the largest crowd to ever watch a soccer game in nashville. I eh know is you alone was in the stands.
I was right there too, and I was specifically watching Akile, cause I knew that would be a point of contention. Akile could not pass gas. He lacks the 4 speeds which is required of top soccer players. Simple passes with one oponent facing him and he kicking the ball away. More than once he let his play get the better of him. He always facing his goal. You have to be joking.

Daiz jackass talk and you know it breds.  And I am specifically talking about defensive plays in the second half on his side of the field.  Don't do like the rest and take things into another context.  I made no mention about nothing to do with going forward so that is irrelivant to what I am discussing really!
Post by: elan on April 02, 2009, 04:32:49 PM

Daiz jackass talk and you know it breds.  And I am specifically talking about defensive plays in the second half on his side of the field.  Don't do like the rest and take things into another context.  I made no mention about nothing to do with going forward so that is irrelivant to what I am discussing really!

First half, second half, third period, individually the fella not there. His defensive technique is really poor. JOzi breathe on the mn and he fall down.
The one Jozi put over bar, is akile again he run past.
Post by: fordy on April 02, 2009, 04:43:11 PM
i have a massive post coming because i have alot to vent on about the entire fiasco last night but i cudnt pass up this thread. Akile Edwards is pure shit and needs to be dropped from this team. this isnt the first time ive said this. our opponents know this as well. the first pass off of the kick off went to dempsey towards shitty edwards...cause they know thats the weak link. unfortunately mats put a midfielder/forward to play right back so edwards had significant company in the shitty defenders department. but this fella shud never wear a national team shirt playing the way he is now!!! :beermug:
Post by: Father Abraham on April 02, 2009, 05:21:00 PM
Akiel Edwards i appreciate that you would not be playing next game and i will appreciate that you play no more games for tnt until u get it together. thanks
Post by: weary1969 on April 02, 2009, 06:10:50 PM
He cyah pass gas oh lawddddddddddddd
Post by: elan on April 03, 2009, 09:59:19 AM

Apparently you don't understand football terms. Most times when a coach tells his player he is facing his goall to often, then the coach mean the player is always chasing the opponent (he getting beat right through). Cross ball coming in, he on the weak side and he facing the goal. The only direction he could play is to the goal line.

He has no idea when to mark the player or when to zone.