Sports => Football => Topic started by: Peter on April 02, 2009, 10:21:25 AM

Title: Keon Daniel in Kaka type midfield role.
Post by: Peter on April 02, 2009, 10:21:25 AM
I was just reading a story about Brazil's game vs Peru, and after reading about Kaka, it just dawned on me that Keon Daniel is simular to him in some respects- obviously Kaka is totally developed and rifined after years in top European competition, so don't think I'm underestimating him(imho one of best in the world with Messi, Cristiano, Gerrard, and one other I can't remember now), but don't underestimate your Trini brother either.

If you look at the way Daniel plays, moves, runs and the type of skills he does, and if you know Kaka's game well you could see the similarities. They are similar tall lanky players so the way they run with the ball has some simularities, also to Daniel's credit he is one of those players who can create space while surrounded by defenders, and not with gaudy ineffective moves, but very efficient skills, very Kaka-esque.

When I think about it that way, that further re-inforces in my mind that he shouldn't be on the wing, the way he runs with the ball(similar to Kaka) isn't best suited to wing play imho. He can create space, but I think rather than having to run in a narrow confined space(tough winger-type running), because of the way he runs with the ball, that ability to create space will be better used in midfield with him passing the ball using the space he creates, or able to run with it in a less confined way, again, in a role simular to Kaka.

His ability with freekicks would signify to me that if he isn't already good at crosses and precise passing, more than any other player in the team he can learn it(also he has youth on his side, aka he isn't a old hardened horse as yet). Also I've heard others saying that he used to be a top midfield player when he was younger, before Mats put him on the wing. I for one really see the potential in this youth to be a type and quality midfield player that we've rarely seen in this country(save Latapy and a few others).

I don't think his lanky running style is best suited to the wing, and I don't know of many top wingers like that(I concede that I could be mistaken). Also, I don't think hes a "keen enough" player to play on the wing, where you have to have unaffected drive to press on and get to the byline, I don't think hes that type of player, but with his silky skills and ability to make space, and his ability with the making the ball do as he wants in the air, I can certainly see him being a very good or top midfielder, with similar play to Kaka.

As said before, I think it will more suit his personality that I've seen so far, he doesn't look to have the wingers' unquenchable drive- to get to the byline, but with his skills, if he doesn't feel driven to drive forward himself at a moment, he could skin a few players and make space and hit a good forward pass.

I didn't have enough time to look over what I typed for any contradictions etc, so please excuse, and I know many will disagree, but thats to be expected.

LOL, I expected those responses. You guys don't understand, I'm not saying Keon is comparible to present day Kaka, I'm just saying the way he plays I could see him in that type of role, and not as a winger. I'm not even saying he could reach close to Kaka's level, cause that takes an amazing determination I've not seen from our players really, but he COULD play a simular role, how close (or anywhere remotely near) he gets to the best is VERY questionable and debatable though.

Its probably completely implausible, or it could have a little bit of merit, either way it sure is polarising and at worst(or best) is a funny read for you guys, crazy fantasy football, so that's cool.

I guess this is very provacative too, because after men disgruntled from seeing the team crumble through disorganisation at USA, a man coming and saying Keon Daniel and Kaka in the same sentence, LOL. That should make the thread garner some attention and emotional outbursts, acting at  least as an outlet for frustration of T&T fans at performance of the team. (?)

Also don't take this too seriously, it was just a sort of fleeting daydream I had lol.

Take care. :) :beermug:
Title: Re: Keon Daniel in Kaka type midfield role.
Post by: arrow on April 02, 2009, 10:22:04 AM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:  April Fools done boy
Post by: weary1969 on April 02, 2009, 10:24:42 AM
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:  April Fools done boy

Well said
Post by: D.H.W on April 02, 2009, 10:25:35 AM
 :D
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 02, 2009, 10:33:55 AM

I was just reading a story about Brazil's game vs Peru, and after reading about Kaka, it just dawned on me that Keon Daniel is simular to him in some respects-

(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/idiot.gif)

muhahahahahahaha, what f**king shit is this I reading???
Post by: jai john on April 02, 2009, 10:41:48 AM
You sure you eh mixing up yuh KAKA ?
Post by: Marcos on April 02, 2009, 10:43:59 AM
On the real though, I think he is better suited behind the strikers than on the wing too.
No defensive responsibilities and his dribbling will be more effective in these areas of the field
Post by: KND2 on April 02, 2009, 10:47:17 AM
Maybe Kaka big toe on he non kicking foot.

stueps

Keon have good ball control decent touch and good kicking technique

He lacking fitness.speed,drive

When kaka pick up the ball he going past you towards goal
Keon making 5 yards and the defense catching him back.

he should switch to futsal a smaller field will do him well, running does not count as much
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 02, 2009, 10:52:16 AM
and yorke is we ronaldinho.
Post by: slates on April 02, 2009, 10:52:36 AM
Well is a good thing Keon is Kaka-esque.
Because if Kaka was Keon-esque, he wasn't even getting a pirogue ride out of Brazil.

Post by: weary1969 on April 02, 2009, 10:54:11 AM
Well is a good thing Keon is Kaka-esque.
Because if Kaka was Keon-esque, he wasn't even getting a pirogue ride out of Brazil.

Post by: FF on April 02, 2009, 11:00:31 AM

I was just reading a story about Brazil's game vs Peru, and after reading about Kaka, it just dawned on me that Keon Daniel is simular to him in some respects-

(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/idiot.gif)

muhahahahahahaha, what f**king shit is this I reading???

Peter is you??

(http://weblogs.sun-sentinel.com/features/health/theskinny/blog/griffinpeter.jpg)
Post by: slates on April 02, 2009, 11:02:18 AM
Wam Peter, it eh have nobody at the Pearly Gates for yuh to check een (to copy Berris from another thread)?
Post by: Deeks on April 02, 2009, 11:08:01 AM
Peter,
            I read your comparison with Kaka and Keon with interest. I like the analogies. But the difference between them is that Kaka is a commiited profsessional. Kaka is a big guy about 6ft something. He is very strong and is difficult to push off the ball. He is also deceptively very fast.

Keon has skills. He can dribble. He is a roving mid fielder. He does not play in one area of the field. He can succeed back home and in the Caribbean. But against US, Mex, CR, Hon and Africa, Euro teams he can't cut it. At least not  just yet. He is not a physically big player. He like a zwill. He get knock off the ball easily. He CANNOT EVEN BRING THE BALL FROM OUR AREA TO THE US SEMI_CIRCLE WITHOUT LOSING IT. AT no time in the game he was able to carry the ball more than 5 yrds. If you can't do that at this level you have to check yourself and say "aye aye, if the team is centered around me and I can't deliver, then something wrong with my style". I like both Keon and Akile. They still young. They both need to work on their physical(weight training, stamina etc). They NEED to do those things on their OWN if they want to succeed.
Post by: Peter on April 02, 2009, 11:08:23 AM
LOL, I expected those responses. You guys don't understand, I'm not saying Keon is comparible to present day Kaka, I'm just saying the way he plays I could see him in that type of role, and not as a winger. I'm not even saying he could reach close to Kaka's level, cause that takes an amazing determination I've not seen from our players really, but he COULD play a simular role, how close (or anywhere remotely near) he gets to the best is VERY questionable and debatable though.
Post by: slates on April 02, 2009, 11:13:22 AM
Hear nah, ah tellin yuh inno, one satta trinis stormin d pearly gates inno, while you on d forum.
Post by: FF on April 02, 2009, 11:14:04 AM

Well den you preaching to de choir
Post by: JDB on April 02, 2009, 11:17:17 AM
On the real though, I think he is better suited behind the strikers than on the wing too.
No defensive responsibilities and his dribbling will be more effective in these areas of the field

Yuh really feel we could afford to have 2 strikers AND a player without any defensive responsibilities on top of that?

Peter...welcome to the board.
Post by: Deeks on April 02, 2009, 11:19:16 AM
Peter,
             We cool!!!!
Post by: trinikev on April 02, 2009, 11:26:01 AM

I find Keon Daniel is NOTHING like Kaka. Kaka is big, fast, powerful and skillful all at the same time. Of those attributes, Daniel is only skillful. I agree that he is more suited to a central attacking mid role, but if u comparing him to any of the world class midfielders, he is closer in style to Riquelme than anyone else (IMO). They are both deceptively slow, with excellent poise on the ball under pressure, silky dribbling skills with good shooting technique. Kaka is a completely different style of player.
Post by: freakazoid on April 02, 2009, 11:26:47 AM
allyuh really underestimating this fella called skilla. he jus need to right ppl around him to push him fwd.  and i really think he will thrive in a withdrawn striker / central attacking mid role . where he is given the freedom to take on men
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 02, 2009, 11:27:39 AM
peter u ever hear de sayin bout oil and water.well this is de perfect eg.
Post by: Peter on April 02, 2009, 11:33:00 AM

I find Keon Daniel is NOTHING like Kaka. Kaka is big, fast, powerful and skillful all at the same time. Of those attributes, Daniel is only skillful. I agree that he is more suited to a central attacking mid role, but if u comparing him to any of the world class midfielders, he is closer in style to Riquelme than anyone else (IMO). They are both deceptively slow, with excellent poise on the ball under pressure, silky dribbling skills with good shooting technique. Kaka is a completely different style of player.

I see where your coming from and agree with you, don't think I'm persisting with the fleeting comparision, but also don't forget that Kaka wasn't always big and powerful, he only gained that when he went to Milan.
Post by: freakazoid on April 02, 2009, 11:36:55 AM
peter i think u have something to be honest. ppl seeing kaka the established player being compared to a diamond in the rough in keon. i dont get the idea that u r saying the players are  on the same skill level, u just saying that they have similar traits. one be it refined  and already reached the top of his game. the other still doesnt have a club
Post by: Peter on April 02, 2009, 12:03:10 PM
Disgruntled Trini, you really trying hard to live up to your name boy, lol.
Post by: Peter on April 02, 2009, 12:16:14 PM
peter i think u have something to be honest. ppl seeing kaka the established player being compared to a diamond in the rough in keon. i dont get the idea that u r saying the players are  on the same skill level, u just saying that they have similar traits. one be it refined  and already reached the top of his game. the other still doesnt have a club

yeah thats it exactly freakazoid.
Post by: weary1969 on April 02, 2009, 12:21:13 PM

Well u c at d moment Keon eh doin heself no favours so 2 compare wit KAKA peeps go ask how much u drink and  :rotfl:
Post by: Peter on April 02, 2009, 12:22:39 PM

Well u c at d moment Keon eh doin heself no favours so 2 compare wit KAKA peeps go ask how much u drink and  :rotfl:

Thats right also, Lol. I'm not talking about his performances recently though(being a liability to the team and generally ineffective, ON THE WING), I'm talking about the player and his traits I've seen through all that, its down to the player himself though to even get near to as good as Kaka's left big toe.
Post by: trinikev on April 02, 2009, 12:27:08 PM

I see where your coming from and agree with you, don't think I'm persisting with the fleeting comparision, but also don't forget that Kaka wasn't always big and powerful, he only gained that when he went to Milan.

maybe so, but one thing Kaka has that u cah teach is pace.......Daniel is in no way a pacy player, which is why we can't compare the 2. That just gives Kaka a whole different dimension to his game that Daniel more than likely will never have, and it kinda dictates the way they play. Kaka's pace and acceleration are integral facets to his game, while Daniel relies more on his dribbling ability in close quarters to make an impact. They don't attack opposing defences in the same way.
Post by: Peter on April 02, 2009, 12:30:47 PM

maybe so, but one thing Kaka has that u cah teach is pace.......Daniel is in no way a pacy player, which is why we can't compare the 2. That just gives Kaka a whole different dimension to his game that Daniel more than likely will never have, and it kinda dictates the way they play. Kaka's pace and acceleration are integral facets to his game, while Daniel relies more on his dribbling ability in close quarters to make an impact. They don't attack opposing defences in the same way.
hmm, I see your point. But at the same time Daniel isn't one of those leaden footed players either, but as you said still not pacy like Kaka.
Post by: Babalawo on April 02, 2009, 12:44:27 PM
He probably meant Keon does play a bunch of kaka
Post by: Touches on April 02, 2009, 01:06:06 PM
Peter,

Keon Daniel ent able.

Until he leave these shores and get a contract abroad and improve, then we go look for him then.

Right now he wasting time on the field and making Aklie look worse than he really is.

Bench for he...he is not Int'l caliber yet.
Post by: Lower St. John on April 02, 2009, 01:14:59 PM
Right now he wasting time on the field and making Aklie look worse than he really is.
I am in no way a fan of Akile but I believe he looks worse on the field because of who is playing in front of him, and most times it is Keon.

Both Akile and Keon are young and we hope they improve but the truth be told they are not ready for the international game.

Blessings
Post by: Peter on April 02, 2009, 01:56:21 PM
Peter,

Keon Daniel ent able.

Until he leave these shores and get a contract abroad and improve, then we go look for him then.

Bench for he...he is not Int'l caliber yet.

Yeah, I agree with you, he definitely isn't international calibre yet, at least not on the wing. I've yet to see him in midfield, so I can't comment on that yet. But as you said, he has to play in Europe for us to see if he's capable of bringing out the potential he has, because many players have talent(look at all those vids you see of kids playing amazing, but few are able to bring out their talent on the big stage when they're playing against big men.(e.g. as Kaka, cristiano, messi, etc and others have been able to)

I don't care what anyone else say, I see so much potential in some players down here, its just that they don't get nurtured along like players do in England and Europe, so the talent stagnates and is never truly refined, so most players are rendered hopelessly inconsistent, and second rate, like many of the older players we have.

Also most coaches down here don't seem able to train our youths in European like consistent play. If we could get that down coupled with the general skillfulness players have here, we'll be a real force.
Post by: Marcos on April 02, 2009, 04:32:06 PM

Yuh really feel we could afford to have 2 strikers AND a player without any defensive responsibilities on top of that?

Bro,
The man isn't defending on the left right now and we getting goal in our skin coming down that left side so it shouldn't be that big a difference
Post by: Peter on April 02, 2009, 04:55:06 PM

Thanks for the welcome JDB!
Post by: Deeks on April 02, 2009, 05:01:03 PM
Look how Beaseley does play. he is a left mid. He does attack and he does defend. He helps his LB. He is not a great player but he uses his speed well. He is a main stay on the US team.
Title: Keon Daniel
Post by: fitzinho on July 29, 2013, 11:26:09 AM
What is up with this guy
http://www.phillysoccerpage.net/2013/07/29/analysis-player-ratings-union-1-0-whitecaps/
Post by: Bakes on July 29, 2013, 03:18:27 PM
Watching the video there's no way Daniel deserved a red card (as the author of that article makes it seem) for the kick, it wasn't nearly as vicious or desperate as he makes it seem.  Yellow seemed appropriate.  Can't assess how he played the rest of the game.
Post by: palos on July 29, 2013, 04:33:25 PM
Keon didn't play badly against the Whitecaps....but he didn't stamp (no pun intended) his authority on the game either.

THIS is exactly the role many on this forum (and it seems like in Philly as well) have been advocating for Keon for some time and he failed to seize his opportunity.

I sense the author of the piece is more expressing his disappointment and frustration that Keon did not take advantage of this opportunity.  The author may well feel that Keon has the ability but not the GUMPTION to play the role.   

If that's what it is, I feel that same frustration and disappointment with Keon because I know he can do better.  He desperately needs to be more assertive on the field....although no matter how much I or others wish it for him.....he's the only one that can actually do anything about it.
Post by: just cool on July 29, 2013, 06:19:49 PM
Keon daniel is ah big player who knows how to score which is the main thing that our football lacks.

on another note, allyuh really rolled out the welcome mat for that peter fella.  :puking:

wow those were the good ole days of SWO hazing sessions, glad they are gone and way behind us, there were too many intolerant mdfkrs on the site.
Post by: Mose on July 30, 2013, 10:35:08 AM
Keon didn't play badly against the Whitecaps....but he didn't stamp (no pun intended) his authority on the game either.

THIS is exactly the role many on this forum (and it seems like in Philly as well) have been advocating for Keon for some time and he failed to seize his opportunity.

I sense the author of the piece is more expressing his disappointment and frustration that Keon did not take advantage of this opportunity.  The author may well feel that Keon has the ability but not the GUMPTION to play the role.   

If that's what it is, I feel that same frustration and disappointment with Keon because I know he can do better.  He desperately needs to be more assertive on the field....although no matter how much I or others wish it for him.....he's the only one that can actually do anything about it.

Unfortunately that is a reoccurring theme with Keon.  As I mentioned in another thread I keep waiting for him to have that breakout game, but everytime I watch him play it's the same lack of assertiveness. Not a bad game just nothing special. The good thing is that the coach keeps playing him so he must be doing something right or fulfilling some important need.
Post by: KND2 on July 30, 2013, 10:47:28 AM
Keon is a role player who TnT is trying to make into a star boy.

We have a blue print for what a Star Boy looks like

Look at Latapy, Yorke

Latapy was running the Strike squad midfield at 19 20 years old with consistient Star boy performances

At some point potential does not translate to performance and you move on and wait for the next star boy

Keon star boy ship has sailed but he can be a very effective role player for the squad.

On to the next one.

Not because you are the best of the bunch say 5 years ago makes you one of the "best" ;).

Post by: fitzinho on July 30, 2013, 10:59:24 AM

Unfortunately that is a reoccurring theme with Keon.  As I mentioned in another thread I keep waiting for him to have that breakout game, but everytime I watch him play it's the same lack of assertiveness. Not a bad game just nothing special. The good thing is that the coach keeps playing him so he must be doing something right or fulfilling some important need.
Where have I heard that before about another T&T player  :o
Post by: Mose on July 30, 2013, 12:07:13 PM

Where have I heard that before about another T&T player  :o
Yeah. Ah wasn't going to go there because I haven't actually seen Denzill play.