Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on April 06, 2009, 05:46:29 AM

Title: Call for Gally to coach Warriors.
Post by: Flex on April 06, 2009, 05:46:29 AM
Call for Gally to coach Warriors.
By WALTER ALIBEY (Newsday).

“APPOINT Everald ‘Gally’ Cummings as coach of the Trinidad and Tobago football team now.”

This is the recommendation of Tansley Thompson, a veteran footballer and instigator of the Veteran Football Foundation (VFF).

His call comes on the heels of the Soca Warriors’ disappointing 3-0 defeat by the United States in the final round of World Cup Qualifiers on Wednesday last.

Thompson said yesterday that Cummings who took the national team to within a point of qualifying for the 1990 World Cup in Italy in 1989, should be given the responsibility of coaching the team, if we are to have a chance of qualifying for the South Africa World Cup next year.

Trinidad and Tobago have just two points from three games and are at the bottom of the six-team standings which is headed by the United States.

He described the performances of the team in their three matches as poor and blamed the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) for the problems.

Thompson noted that football administrators have been turning their backs on people who are capable of doing the job.

”We have people like former national footballers Leon Carpette, Sammy Llewelyn, Steve David, Selris Figaro and David Nakhid who are all knowledgeable and experienced in the game and are capable of coaching the team,” Thompson said.

“Appoint the right people if you want to get the right results. There is need for change both in the football federation and the sport itself,” Thompson added.

Thompson who just missed out on a place on the ever famous 1973 football team which was robbed in Haiti, is calling on “Gally” to be handed the position of coach as well as the opportunity to select whoever he wants to be his assistants.

Thompson also lashed out at the football federation’s decision to appoint foreign coaches at the helm of the national teams because of the language barrier.

“This happened with Yugoslavian coach Zoran Vranes who could not speak a word of English when he came here many moons ago. Now we have Colombian Francisco Maturana who still cannot speak English properly. The players cannot understand what he is saying and therefore it means that there is still a dependency on our local coaches,” Thompson said.
Title: Re: Call for Gally to coach Warriors.
Post by: Fyzoman on April 06, 2009, 06:02:38 AM
Steups!!!
Post by: asylumseeker on April 06, 2009, 06:04:34 AM
Blah blah blah blah blah
Post by: Ngozi on April 06, 2009, 06:56:52 AM
Ummm nah
Post by: fordy on April 06, 2009, 07:02:27 AM
i really hope he was joking!!! :beermug:
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 06, 2009, 07:05:23 AM
He sounding like Alvin Corneal.

Old footballers who eh realise that they time gone and it is a whole new game and that they will never reach the dizzying height that they once aspired too.
Post by: freakazoid on April 06, 2009, 07:11:54 AM
like d man want ah thread to start titled,"call for gally to not coach warriors"
Post by: andre samuel on April 06, 2009, 07:14:23 AM
Total rubbish.............long steups!
Post by: spideybuff on April 06, 2009, 07:20:15 AM
But Gally eh fail with any team yet(as far as i know)...why all the hate for him?
Post by: injunchile on April 06, 2009, 07:21:30 AM
I like Tansley- He is a nice Fellow- But I think he needs to have his head examined.
 Why did he not ask for Richard Thompson to be coached by a local track Coach.
Post by: Quags on April 06, 2009, 07:32:33 AM
Pull gally off he Couch to Coach ,leave the man to lie down and watch TV nah .
Post by: samo on April 06, 2009, 08:14:20 AM

Ummm nah

Blah blah blah blah blah
Steups!!!
co-sign all of the above
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 06, 2009, 08:20:14 AM
De game has changed.

Is kinda like me as ah Liverpool fan askin' for Kenny Dalglish and come back an' coach the Reds.

He would not have the same level of success as the game has changed in terms of tactics.

Let us do Gally a favour and doh mamaguy him.
Post by: lefty on April 06, 2009, 08:20:57 AM

Ummm nah

Blah blah blah blah blah
Steups!!!
co-sign all of the above

apparently nobody was listenin to d out ah touch nonsense he was talkin in d C commentary
Post by: dwolfman on April 06, 2009, 08:23:44 AM
Steups!!!

Ent!
Post by: Bitter on April 06, 2009, 08:44:45 AM
This is a great idea!

Out with the corbeaux brand, in with the Massive Zone.

While we're at it, let's bring back Clayton Morris, Dexter Francis , Marvin Faustin and Brian Williams to help out in the back.
Post by: big dawg on April 06, 2009, 08:48:16 AM
freedom of speech is a rite..

doh matter how funny you sound..
Post by: Weh-it-is on April 06, 2009, 08:51:19 AM
Let Gally continue to be a fan like we. Let him wave something :wavetowel:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 06, 2009, 08:51:40 AM
STEWPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Copyright Weary
Post by: Fantastic on April 06, 2009, 09:10:46 AM
While ah agree that Gally is not de choice for national coach, some points here confuse mih a lil bit. Oldtimers mean men who stuck in a certain mindset and who feel de game can only be played as it was back in de day right? References to Kenny Dalglish and Alvin Corneal kinda sounded like dey from that era so dey cyah coach in this era. While not commenting on de success of those two, what era Beenhaker, Capello, and dem from? Hope allyuh just saying dem 2 men stuck in Austin Powers mode and nothing further
Post by: Brownsugar on April 06, 2009, 09:12:49 AM
Eh eh....

Ah doh love it....
Post by: lefty on April 06, 2009, 09:18:28 AM
While ah agree that Gally is not de choice for national coach, some points here confuse mih a lil bit. Oldtimers mean men who stuck in a certain mindset and who feel de game can only be played as it was back in de day right? References to Kenny Dalglish and Alvin Corneal kinda sounded like dey from that era so dey cyah coach in this era. While not commenting on de success of those two, what era Beenhaker, Capello, and dem from? Hope allyuh just saying dem 2 men stuck in Austin Powers mode and nothing further

atleast dais how I see it
Post by: Touches on April 06, 2009, 09:38:28 AM
But Gally eh fail with any team yet(as far as i know)...why all the hate for him?

Spidey what was UTT record in the super league... :rotfl:
Post by: Quags on April 06, 2009, 09:40:35 AM
When fishs come and see this Tread he"ll be gutted .
Post by: asylumseeker on April 06, 2009, 10:10:20 AM
Pull gally off he Couch to Coach ,leave the man to lie down and watch TV nah .

Reminds me ... he fell asleep during one of the recent games ... as it is, Pacho looks sufficiently wide-eyed and bushy-tailed on the sideline.
Post by: PATRIOT on April 06, 2009, 10:24:11 AM

You beat meh to it!  ;D
Tansley is a very old and close family friend, his call for Gally while well intentioned tho, shows how out of touch he is of things at the SENIOR International Level. Right NOW, we need a Coach with a RELIABLE International Track record a la Leo Beenhakker. I'll have a chat with Tansley when next we meet up.
Post by: Coach on April 06, 2009, 10:43:14 AM
Some of you talking about the man age how many top class coaches out there are in there 50's and 60's.

He did ok with the strike squad, so how come we can pass judgement on the man if he has not failed as a coach.
Post by: Tenorsaw on April 06, 2009, 11:51:33 AM
Who does really send these men? 
Post by: elan on April 06, 2009, 11:51:42 AM
When fishs come and see this Tread he"ll be gutted .

Good one.  :rotfl:
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 06, 2009, 11:55:32 AM
Who does really send these men? 

Musse de devil  :rotfl:
Post by: GunnerStunner on April 06, 2009, 11:57:50 AM
dey effin jokin??
Post by: spideybuff on April 06, 2009, 12:20:09 PM

UTT was men like you and me looking for a sweat boy touches. Not serious players.
Post by: warmonga on April 06, 2009, 12:28:52 PM
Steups!!!

evereybody have been gave a 2nd and third try why not gally.. big up gally everytime.. I will support him as our coach
Post by: kicker on April 06, 2009, 03:32:52 PM
aaah the days of kaisoca soccer lol....
Post by: Bakes on April 06, 2009, 03:38:36 PM
... what era Beenhaker, Capello, and dem from? Hope allyuh just saying dem 2 men stuck in Austin Powers mode and nothing further

Them men have continued to coach and familiarize themselves with the changing times, adjusting while on the bench... not from on the couch.
Post by: Daft Trini on April 06, 2009, 03:59:43 PM
Steups!!!

evereybody have been gave a 2nd and third try why not gally.. big up gally everytime.. I will support him as our coach

Get ah blasted clue, gally did not make it to the world cup, you think he could make it now, especially how much the game has changed.

Lay of the weed....
Post by: truetrini on April 06, 2009, 04:03:01 PM
I like Gally eh, but if he is considered, then we might as well consider Phil Jackson of basketball fame, both he and Gally will be on the same level as far as the modern game is concerned.
Post by: scooby on April 06, 2009, 04:37:31 PM
why would we call gally now at this stage and for that matter at any stage yes gally did ok with the strike squad but the fact of the matter is YES HE FAILED with 1 point needed playing at home not qualifying is a failure anyhow people want to spin that is failure NO TO GALLY NO NO NO NO NO if you want to give anyone a try at this give to latas but no in short term basics but long term
Post by: PIMP on April 06, 2009, 06:05:56 PM
KAISO WARRIORS!!!!!

Post by: truetrini on April 06, 2009, 06:19:27 PM
KAISO WARRIORS!!!!!

KAISOSOCA WARRIORS
Post by: weary1969 on April 06, 2009, 08:11:33 PM
I find nuff peeps quotin meh but as 4 d matter at hand Gally boi been there done head.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 06, 2009, 08:22:29 PM
if gally does visit this forum he might contemplate givin up he trini citizenship. ;D
Post by: WestCoast on April 06, 2009, 08:39:23 PM
where is Fishs?
Title: Bring back Gally
Post by: jai john on January 01, 2010, 01:28:12 PM
Long time now we cutting off we nose to spoil we face ....compare we football now wid all we pros... to de strike squad era of amateurs ...entire team home grown and home trained ...
I eh fraid to say it ..Gally could still put we on de right track ...
Jack ...hire at least one man who go say no sometimes nah !
And please  give lincoln the agreed  pension
J Jai John
Title: Re: Bring back Gally
Post by: jai john on January 01, 2010, 01:32:08 PM
On a personal note, my biggest goal in coaching is still to come. T&T has never qualified for a World Cup with a Trinidadian-born coach; I would love the chance to train up another team like the Strike Squad and take it all the way this time.
Gally Cummings 2006
Post by: kounty on January 01, 2010, 01:40:05 PM
On a personal note, my biggest goal in coaching is still to come. T&T has never qualified for a World Cup with a Trinidadian-born coach; I would love the chance to train up another team like the Strike Squad and take it all the way this time.
Gally Cummings 2006
;D Trinidad and Tobago has never quailfied for a FIFA World cup with a coach born In Trinidad whose name rhymes with Fally Dummings.
Post by: weary1969 on January 01, 2010, 01:46:23 PM
1st rant of  2010
Post by: Daft Trini on January 01, 2010, 01:50:24 PM
I would volunteer my services but I already busy with a high school here...

Plus ah HATE scamps.... ah might make ah carera if ah had to work with him... (we had a falling out back in the day)
Post by: elan on January 01, 2010, 01:53:34 PM
I would volunteer my services but I already busy with a high school here...

Plus ah HATE scamps.... ah might make ah carera if ah had to work with him... (we had a falling out back in the day)

doh worry ah go make sure yuh get good treatment in carrera.
Post by: injunchile on January 01, 2010, 08:36:35 PM
The Past is our teacher- The present is our opportunity- The future is our friend.
 If you believe in this truism then why are we trying to recycyle those who took us to the River Jordan but could not help us to cross it. Bennie gave us a glimpse of the promise land and we are back in the wilderness,
 The New Year message must be that the Good is often the enemy of the best. We have to get the right people on the bus before we can drive the Bus. There comes a time we call it the Kroyos time in Greek , translated the opportune time , when we have to ask some people to leave the Bus so that we can begin the journey.
Post by: jai john on January 03, 2010, 04:37:41 PM
The Past is our teacher- The present is our opportunity- The future is our friend.
 If you believe in this truism then why are we trying to recycyle those who took us to the River Jordan but could not help us to cross it. Bennie gave us a glimpse of the promise land and we are back in the wilderness,
 The New Year message must be that the Good is often the enemy of the best. We have to get the right people on the bus before we can drive the Bus. There comes a time we call it the Kroyos time in Greek , translated the opportune time , when we have to ask some people to leave the Bus so that we can begin the journey.

The strike squad was a home grown team of amateurs who came from oblivion to put us on the football map. there was no playoff for any fourth place team as with the soca warriors . You forgot it was a playoff against Bahrain after finishing fourth in a group of six that got us to the WC ?
The strike squad had to beat or draw with the usa to get direct qualification to Italy .... Tell me how the coach who made all this possible is no better than those who have come after ?
You know the reason why Cummings is not involved in national coaching and why even those who he has coached has been elevated to national coach status.
We even put a player with no coaching experience rather than put Cummings to coach our national team .
Well we could pretend that Cummings can make no contribution to T&T football because the team failed at the final hurdle but who are we hurting ?
Go and look at some of the games the strike squad played against top teams en route to Italy ...even the warm ups ...then tell me honestly if we are playing that kind of football even now ?
I know you are an honest man so I await your response...
Post by: lefty on January 03, 2010, 05:03:19 PM
UTT nuff said..................the game has passed him by
Post by: Coop's on January 03, 2010, 05:51:20 PM
Anybody who have coached our national team got fired or left and choose to return should get their head examined,the job eh even worth the money they pay to do it.

The main reason is you are coming back to work under the same administration so nothing you left is different,you have to deal with some of the same or different players,then you have the ever so critical media and so called fans that know what's best for Football in T&T.

Is not TTFF that got rid of Gally,it's the same people who say they love T&T Football that did,everybody was glad when they got rid of him,if Gally coming back at all it have to be for the money because at his age and in this era he can't handle that kind of pressure,he not lasting no length of time.

Coaching any T&T national team is a thankless job,Gally better behave himself if he knows what's better for him,i will like to see this forum if he ever accepts that job again,it will be Gally and Jack fighting for most posts.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 03, 2010, 07:49:07 PM
whats has gally done since 89? for his name even to come up as coach  ::)
Post by: weary1969 on January 03, 2010, 09:12:36 PM

UTT
Post by: elan on January 04, 2010, 12:09:12 AM

UTT
Caripichaima?
Post by: palos on January 04, 2010, 12:47:34 AM
In this global era.....where players have opportunities to play in the world's top leagues...IF THEY'RE GOOD ENOUGH...it's unlikely that any totally local based national team will be able to duplicate the success of the strike squad.

Why?

Because Gally would not have had the success he did, if he didn't have the full time availability of players like Russell Latapy & Leonson Lewis.

Your best players will be snapped up by overseas clubs.  That's the reality of today's football.  And if nobody is taken, it means they're not good enough which means you don't have players who will be able to make a difference, change a game, through their brilliance.

Maybe Gally would make a good youth coach.  MAYBE.  But Men's National team?  Not if yuh want to be successful in today's CONCACAF.
Post by: davidephraim on January 04, 2010, 06:24:18 AM
In this global era.....where players have opportunities to play in the world's top leagues...IF THEY'RE GOOD ENOUGH...it's unlikely that any totally local based national team will be able to duplicate the success of the strike squad.

Why?

Because Gally would not have had the success he did, if he didn't have the full time availability of players like Russell Latapy & Leonson Lewis.

Your best players will be snapped up by overseas clubs.  That's the reality of today's football.  And if nobody is taken, it means they're not good enough which means you don't have players who will be able to make a difference, change a game, through their brilliance.

Maybe Gally would make a good youth coach.  MAYBE.  But Men's National team?  Not if yuh want to be successful in today's CONCACAF.
:applause: :applause: :applause:

Gally would have to be a changling to be able to come dey and do anything. THings are far different from that time till now. Dont think gally has the right formula no more. Plus no lewis, latas and yorke. THe game is way more technical today and there is no just winging it. You either know your shit or you dont. Even Brasil had to adapt to this new era.
Post by: injunchile on January 04, 2010, 08:36:36 AM
jai john- I had a conversation with Gally a month ago he was visiting West Palm Beach. I asked him the question of coaching the national Team. COOP's hit the nail on its head- Not under this administration plus lack of pride by the locals and the foreign base are more concerned about their club than country
 Also remember that Gally had a second bite of the cherry after the strike squad failure against the USA on that Nov Day.
Post by: Preacher on January 04, 2010, 11:49:05 AM
allyuh cyah be serious!!!!!  this as much as allyuh going to get.  Grab a stag and chill

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfdyLtjgFL8
Post by: weary1969 on January 04, 2010, 01:34:26 PM
allyuh cyah be serious!!!!!  this as much as allyuh going to get.  Grab a stag and chill

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfdyLtjgFL8

Post by: Daft Trini on January 04, 2010, 01:41:27 PM
Lawd all yuh remedy the absurdness with Nappy yes... :rotfl:
Post by: jai john on January 04, 2010, 06:21:37 PM

What has latapy or Yorke's experience been in coaching ?
Tell me gally eh interested  but doh look to deride what the man has already done .

Where Beenie was when he came here ? was he involved with any top team at the time ?
What is his record at World cups with any team ?

The point that I am making is that you have to creep before you can walk ..right now we still dribblin on weself ( pun intended ) . I'm not saying that Gally will end up as the world cup coach, if we get that far, I am saying we need someone with proven ability to groom amateurs and young players to get them to an acceptable standard.

No big name coach eh coming here to do that .
look what happened with Wim ? He was expecting a better quality player when he got here ...when he say we eh good man vex . When we say well you here coach dem nah ..he say I eh come here for dat ! Allyuh eh getting de message ?

Big coach is like big mechanic ...dem fellas does diagnose and direct ...it must have men to take down gearbox and put it back up ..big mechanic eh doing dat ..

Who will do the dog work as they say ? who will kneed de flour ?
Well stay dey and tink man coming here and staying when dey see the local talent. If yuh eh get de message with the number of rejections from our " top players " who kyah even impress a second or third division english side and how our pros all seem to be headed in the wrong direction in their various leagues then we kyah be helped .
Dont forget that  there are none so blind as those who will not see ! How do you see it ?
Post by: GunnerStunner on January 04, 2010, 07:20:21 PM
STOP LOOKING BACKWARDS!!!!

look forward and build

looking backwards on mediocre achievments leaves us looking like a backward nation
Post by: maxg on January 04, 2010, 07:31:13 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qzotNmcIeG0
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 04, 2010, 09:35:55 PM

What has latapy or Yorke's experience been in coaching ?
Tell me gally eh interested  but doh look to deride what the man has already done .

Where Beenie was when he came here ? was he involved with any top team at the time ?
What is his record at World cups with any team ?

The point that I am making is that you have to creep before you can walk ..right now we still dribblin on weself ( pun intended ) . I'm not saying that Gally will end up as the world cup coach,if we get that far, I am saying we need someone with proven ability to groom amateurs and young players to get them to an acceptable standard.

::)
Yorke and latapy should not have gotten that job and

gally 89 20years ago  jai john time to move on eh ...

leo
teams managed/technical director  !!!
1996–1997    Vitesse
1997–2000    Feyenoord Rotterdam
2000–2003    AFC Ajax (Technical director)
2003–2004    Club América
2004–2005    De Graafschap

coached the dutch national team  in 1990

current technical director of Feyenoord,

Post by: palos on January 05, 2010, 11:58:25 AM
De problem with we coaches I THINK...is dem doh move on to coach nobody else.

For example.....take Gally.

Gally nearly take T&T to de World Cup.

Yuh woulda think countries like Grenada, Barbados, St Lucia, St Vincent, St Kitts/Nevis etc woulda be knockin dong he door fuh he to come and coach dem.  But to de best of my knowledge dat eedah never happen or if it did, Gally mus be did turn dem down.

Now ah know coachin is a very territorial ting.  Especially in dem times.  Peeps want to keep coachin wuk fuh dey own which is one reason Alvin Corneal and dem does rail up anytime a foreign coach come near a national team wuk.

But it jes curious to me that 2 of the most successful caribbean born coaches....Gally Cummings and Bertille St Clair, doh APPEAR to get offers from other countries to coach dem...although I think I remember sometime in the past where Bertille did get an offer to coach one a dem teams but I eh know wha did happen wit it.

To turn it around....would T&T ever consider Theodore Whitmore as a national team coach?  If not...why not?
Post by: weary1969 on January 05, 2010, 12:11:07 PM

Yuh woulda think countries like Grenada, Barbados, St Lucia, St Vincent, St Kitts/Nevis etc woulda be knockin dong he door fuh he to come and coach dem.  But to de best of my knowledge dat eedah never happen or if it did, Gally mus be did turn dem down.

Now ah know coachin is a very territorial ting.  Especially in dem times.  Peeps want to keep coachin wuk fuh dey own which is one reason Alvin Corneal and dem does rail up anytime a foreign coach come near a national team wuk.

But it jes curious to me that 2 of the most successful caribbean born coaches....Gally Cummings and Bertille St Clair, doh APPEAR to get offers from other countries to coach dem...although I think I remember sometime in the past where Bertille did get an offer to coach one a dem teams but I eh know wha did happen wit it.

To turn it around....would T&T ever consider Theodore Whitmore as a national team coach?  If not...why not?

Because he from d yarddddddddddddd. No other reason needed.
Post by: FF on January 05, 2010, 12:54:13 PM
I thought Bertille coach St Vincent one time
Post by: E-man on January 05, 2010, 02:31:53 PM
I thought Bertille coach St Vincent one time

Bertille coached SVG in 1996
also Corneal in 67/68

Post by: Socapro on January 05, 2010, 02:33:54 PM

Do we really want to see T&T playing yard style football?

I prefer to see one ah Jack son as senior head coach than to see that to tell allyuh d truth!  :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on January 05, 2010, 03:02:07 PM

Do we really want to see T&T playing yard style football?

I prefer to see one ah Jack son as senior head coach than to see that to tell allyuh d truth!  :devil:

If we on the Track and Field page I say bring him wit d yam.