General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Flex on April 16, 2009, 11:22:00 AM

Title: Thread for the 5th Summit of the Americas.
Post by: Flex on April 16, 2009, 11:22:00 AM
All related news, videos and photos will be posted here.

Thanx.

RE: President Obama, along with 33 other leaders, will attend the Fifth Summit of the Americas April 17-19 - 2009 in Trinidad. ... Official Website (http://www.fifthsummitoftheamericas.org/)
Title: Re: Thread for the 5th Summit of the Americas.
Post by: Babalawo on April 16, 2009, 01:28:13 PM
flex might as well merge these treads into here:
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=42911.0
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=42723.0
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=43177.0
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=42474.0
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=42865.0
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=42746.0
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=42660.0
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=42524.0
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=41110.0
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=39946.0
Post by: WestCoast on April 16, 2009, 01:36:46 PM
Baba, ya was busy busy :rotfl:
Post by: Babalawo on April 16, 2009, 02:24:47 PM
Baba, ya was busy busy :rotfl:
;D the search option works well
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 16, 2009, 04:53:48 PM
ah feel like we under some coup or someting. bus route shut down tmw, highway go be under tight restrictions. mankind cyah even do nuttin. only good ting is no work tmw.
Post by: TriniCana on April 16, 2009, 04:57:27 PM
So is it basically no body could come out they house tomorrow or the weekend ???
Or people allowed to walk around and maybe heng outside the buildings to get ah view of somebody 'important'

Cause the way how people talking about 'ya cyah pass dere, or ya cyah drive dere' OR 'no entry' OR 'school and businesses closed' is like really ah coup. Police and dem go shoot ya arse if ya put ya left toe over dey yellow line or something....

Post by: Bourbon on April 16, 2009, 05:06:34 PM
Dis summit done start with de kicks oui! All 2 weeks ago...yuh cyar find a vagrant nowhere in town...yuh hearing talk bout dem hiding and all kinda madness. De day before de summit all ah dem back out...sprawl out on de promenade....sleeping on pavement......and de subject of photos from foreign journalists. Oh boy!
Post by: Babalawo on April 16, 2009, 06:23:33 PM
Dis summit done start with de kicks oui! All 2 weeks ago...yuh cyar find a vagrant nowhere in town...yuh hearing talk bout dem hiding and all kinda madness. De day before de summit all ah dem back out...sprawl out on de promenade....sleeping on pavement......and de subject of photos from foreign journalists. Oh boy!
:rotfl: :rotfl:i tell allyuh i see a vagrant with a cell phone. so dem calling one another when the police near , they does run and hide
Post by: TriniCana on April 16, 2009, 06:32:26 PM
Allyuh hafta remember that most vagrant/homeless people are intelligent people with degrees.
Education OR too much education sen' half of them up St Anns' in the first place.
Some lost everything including family, house and land and there job after spending' 2-3 years warded.

By the time they get discharged, they ain't have nothing and nowhere too go, but they still educated.

When you see them talking to themselves....macco and listen, you'll be surprised.
Don't think they don't read newspapers man.
Post by: Bourbon on April 16, 2009, 06:43:09 PM
Allyuh hafta remember that most vagrant/homeless people are intelligent people with degrees.
Education OR too much education sen' half of them up St Anns' in the first place.
Some lost everything including family, house and land and there job after spending' 2-3 years warded.

By the time they get discharged, they ain't have nothing and nowhere too go, but they still educated.

When you see them talking to themselves....macco and listen, you'll be surprised.

Yuh know...i was contemplating the University of Woodford Square at a point in time. De way school goin for me...if i join dem...i go do my doctorate dey and done.
Post by: Sam on April 17, 2009, 04:09:06 AM
Obama, Chavez arrive today
Massive security in place as summit opens
Francis Joseph (Trinidad Guardian).

17-April-2009 - After months of preparation, the Fifth Summit of the Americas gets going this evening at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Port-of-Spain. Most of the Caricom leaders arrived in Trinidad yesterday, in time for this morning’s meeting of Caribbean heads aboard the Caribbean Princess, starting at seven o’clock. The remainder of the heads will fly in today—among them US President Barack Obama and Venezuela’s President, Hugo Chavez.

US Secretary of State, Hilary Clinton, will also arrive this afternoon from Haiti, where she held talks yesterday with that island’s President, Pierre Preval. Obama flies into Trinidad aboard Air Force One around 4 pm, after a one-day visit to Mexico to discuss, among other things, the battle against the drug cartels. He will be driven in the “Beast,” straight to the Hyatt, in time for the opening ceremony at 6 pm.

Security will be tight as the “Beast” travels along the Churchill Roosevelt Highway to the Hyatt. Curious onlookers are expected to turn out in their numbers to see the high-security vehicle, although they will not be able to see Obama. The US President’s entourage will be huge, security officials told the T&T Guardian last night. Security officials were busy at Piarco International Airport yesterday, preparing for the arrival of heads and their delegations. From the Piarco intersection, soldiers and police officers kept watch on vehicles and pedestrians along BWIA Boulevard. Both the new and old terminal buildings were busy with activity.

Most of the Caricom leaders arrived on commercial flights at the new terminal building. Antigua’s Prime Minister Baldwin Spencer arrived on Wednesday night, while the others came in yesterday. At the refurbished old terminal building, members of the Special Anti-Crime Unit (SAUTT) conducted special searches on all vehicles involved in escorting heads of State and their delegations. These included the vehicles to carry the heads of states, the police escort vehicles, police motorcycles, and PTSC buses carrying members of delegations.

“It was a very tedious task, but we have to ensure that everything was in order and safe for the visitors,” one soldier told the T&T Guardian. At the Hyatt, there was heightened security for today’s official opening of the summit. Several people said they received invitations for the opening yesterday. One of them was Jack Warner, in his capacity as Fifa vice-president. He respectfully declined.

WHAT’S ON TODAY

Fifth Summit of the Americas, Caricom caucus
Start: 7.00 am
End: 9.00 am

Dialogue among ministers of foreign affairs with sectoral actors
Start: 9.00 am
End: 12.15 am

Lunch, hosted by Minister of Foreign Affairs, Paula Gopee-Scoon
Start 12.00 noon
End 2.00 pm

Fifth Summit of the Americas, opening ceremony
Start: 6.00 pm
End: 8:00 pm
Heads of state cocktail reception
Start: 8.00 pm
End: 9.30 pm

Cocktail reception for other invited guests
Location: Outside Hyatt Regency ballroom, pool deck, Caribbean Princess
Start: 8.00 pm
End: 9.30 pm
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 04:26:04 AM
Trade Minister Mariano Browne was questioned about the cost of the event yesterday. He said, “It will always cost us a little bit more...” Browne said T&T did not have the required infrastructure support “so for us to put it on (host it) it would require us to do a bit more.”  Trinidad Guardian

Ah want to dead.....'cost us a little bit more'. I cyah wait to see that grocery bill.

Now Minister of Information or somebody asking the media to be on they bess behavior.

Media called on to 'demonstrate civility'
Friday, April 17th 2009
Trinidad Express   

The international and regional media have been called to "demonstrate civility" when covering this week's Fifth Summit of the Americas.

Vernetta Calvin-Smith, a member of the local protocol team, made the plea during a media briefing at the National Secretariat, which is located at Tower C of the International Financial Centre at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Centre, on Wednesday.

"This is where protocol comes in, protocol is a demonstration of a universal standard of quality behaviour," she said.

"Whichever country you go to in the world you know what quality behaviour is, and in that sense it is not necessarily cultural. It is a sense of good manners, respect, courtesy, consideration for the persons you come into contact with and a sense of professionalism."

She pleaded with the media to speak with the liaison officers instead of directly approaching any of the 34 Heads of State/Government.

"It will be right not to sort of just barrel through to them," Calvin-Smith added.

"For those of you involved in the spouses' programme, we ask that the photographers don't go up to the ladies and start trying to touch them and fix them. The liaison officers will be there to assist you in getting them in place, where you would like to have them."

During the briefing, the international media personnel, like the local media delegation during a briefing on Monday, raised questions about the pooling system being used for the Summit. Media Centre manager, Melanie Gibb, said she was still waiting on security to clarify how many people could be in the pools.

"The pools haven't been selected, the events that have pools in them, the media haven't been selected at all," explained Gibb.

"Each pool event will be announced on the electronic screens at least 12 hours or more in advance. The media pools will be chosen. Once you've been chosen you will be contacted, your names will be put up on the electronic notice boards, and we will also phone you and tell you the pool count for each event."

The list of liaison officers will be available to members of the media at the Media Centre, she said.

In other words, behave allyuh blasted self and make allyuh PM and country look nice and hunkdorry
Post by: Blue on April 17, 2009, 04:41:38 AM

In other words, behave allyuh blasted self and make allyuh PM and country look nice and hunkdorry

The only way this event will get any international media coverage is if something goes wrong. The only thing I've seen reported so far (here in England) is Chavez sayin he not signing up to some declaration (and somewhere deep in the article it mentioned that the conference was in Trinidad).

We coulda get more publicity than this whole conference is worth by renting a billboard in Times Square saying "Visit TnT".
Post by: TdotTrini on April 17, 2009, 05:22:47 AM

There are 2 brothers that was awarded the highest medals a Trini can get. Another brother was my teacher in Primary school, his nickname was "shakey". Highly educated family, but ah real mess.
Title: Tv6 live feed
Post by: D.H.W on April 17, 2009, 06:16:13 AM
http://www.tv6tnt.tv/

http://www.tv6tnt.com/

thought u guys should know its online now
Title: Re: Tv6 live feed
Post by: Babalawo on April 17, 2009, 07:17:01 AM
Thank you, but is it live?.  And you feel obama and the summit is a waste? look they make  tv6 get off the but and improve themselve
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 17, 2009, 07:46:12 AM

The only way this event will get any international media coverage is if something goes wrong. The only thing I've seen reported so far (here in England) is Chavez sayin he not signing up to some declaration (and somewhere deep in the article it mentioned that the conference was in Trinidad).

We coulda get more publicity than this whole conference is worth by renting a billboard in Times Square saying "Visit TnT".

Disagree, here in the US it has been plastered all over CNN and other various networks all week regarding many issues (Cuba trade embargo, relations w/Venezuela being some of the main issues highlighted), I expect there will be some sort of coverage this weekend
Post by: Blue on April 17, 2009, 08:08:59 AM

Disagree, here in the US it has been plastered all over CNN and other various networks all week regarding many issues (Cuba trade embargo, relations w/Venezuela being some of the main issues highlighted), I expect there will be some sort of coverage this weekend

Glad to hear i'm wrong  :beermug:
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 17, 2009, 08:23:51 AM

Blessins Ryan  :beermug:
Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2009, 10:42:02 AM

If England was a member of the Americas I would have been concerned!
Post by: Blue on April 17, 2009, 10:43:54 AM

Go PNM  :beermug:
Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2009, 10:47:04 AM

Go PNM  :beermug:

lol... Thank you....ignorance is Bliss ain't it?
Post by: Touches on April 17, 2009, 12:46:40 PM
I watching the Pappy Show...men sweating in the hot sun under protocol.

Jerry Lewis Narace greeting Dignitaries.

Men marching outta time.

Hear d greatest...colombia, Canada, Brazil all of them plane in traffic jam on the tarmac and they cyar disembark.

Post by: JDB on April 17, 2009, 12:51:55 PM
There are 2 brothers that was awarded the highest medals a Trini can get. Another brother was my teacher in Primary school, his nickname was "shakey". Highly educated family, but ah real mess.

You went St. Joseph Boys' RC?
Post by: Touches on April 17, 2009, 01:13:02 PM
The BOSS now touchdown
Post by: Cantona007 on April 17, 2009, 01:19:15 PM
The BOSS now touchdown
I'm watching a stream from CTNT... painful at best...
Post by: Touches on April 17, 2009, 01:36:19 PM
wha bout the Canadian leader reach bout 45min to a hr ago...he cyar come out he plane...Obama pull up and out in 5 min.

Canada now disembarking.

But Obama really is a star boy...everybody walking out slow with a translator/aide/security, holding on to the railing.

He skip down the stairs fast by heself and button up he jacket...real swagger.

He give the crowd a wave and he hop in the beast.

He should be passing by the Beetham now.
Post by: JDB on April 17, 2009, 01:37:52 PM
(http://www.tv6tnt.com/Portals/0/images/banners/SummitBanner09.jpg)

Three great leaders of our time. A modern day Stalin, Churchill and Roosevelt. Leading the Americas to peace and prosperity.
Post by: Bitter on April 17, 2009, 01:39:25 PM
Look I now see Obama rolling down the plane steps on CNN and MSNBC dey.
De Regiment looking sharp in White.

But now they talking about the one man who NOT at the conference - Castro.
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 01:54:34 PM
we really is a pappy show in trute yes. tv6 now show obama passin on d beetham. some residents come out on d highway to wave. manning must be cussin bout dat, seein dat he was tryin to 'hide' dis section of d population.  :-\
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 01:55:19 PM
hilary now reach
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on April 17, 2009, 01:56:31 PM
(http://www.tv6tnt.com/Portals/0/images/banners/SummitBanner09.jpg)

Three great leaders of our time. A modern day Stalin, Churchill and Roosevelt. Leading the Americas to peace and prosperity.

great?
dem be strong words to use with those 3.
Post by: TdotTrini on April 17, 2009, 02:23:35 PM

You went St. Joseph Boys' RC?

Yeah.
Post by: Bourbon on April 17, 2009, 02:53:43 PM
we really is a pappy show in trute yes. tv6 now show obama passin on d beetham. some residents come out on d highway to wave. manning must be cussin bout dat, seein dat he was tryin to 'hide' dis section of d population.  :-\

To their credit..they were attired in cultural trini wear......short pants and rubber ding ding slippers. Maybe this was planned.  :D
Post by: TdotTrini on April 17, 2009, 03:12:37 PM
I just want to know if Suzanne Malveaux there. 

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3591/3451233772_f33bceea36.jpg?v=0)
Woman sweet :drool:
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 03:18:50 PM
like dis summit runnin on trini time ah wah! openin ceremony was supposed to start 20 minutes ago. steups!
Post by: Bourbon on April 17, 2009, 03:23:20 PM
like dis summit runnin on trini time ah wah! openin ceremony was supposed to start 20 minutes ago. steups!

I did initially hear 6.....dunno where de time of 5 came from. Buh even if...it hadda be trini. Yuh eh see dey get a sample of traffic in de airport?
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 03:32:02 PM

Check it out for dey whole summit....all weekend.
FREE :beermug:
Post by: Jah Gol on April 17, 2009, 03:57:52 PM
Standing ovation for Patrick Manning .
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 03:59:57 PM
why Jah ???
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 17, 2009, 04:08:46 PM
Good position from Argentine president, political position folks, get your mind out of the gutter
Post by: dinho on April 17, 2009, 04:09:43 PM
is this the argentinian president speaking? she eh bad at all...

but she eh wasting at all to throw some jab, harking back to the injustices of wars of eras gone by...
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 17, 2009, 04:11:38 PM
is this the argentinian president speaking? she eh bad at all...

but she eh wasting at all to throw some jab, harking back to the injustices of wars of eras gone by...

Yes, it is her
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 04:14:35 PM

how come all ah seeing is some bounce
from before carnival;
Post by: Jah Gol on April 17, 2009, 04:15:08 PM
why Jah ???
They were introducing the member states. President Obama received loud applause but Manning yes Manning  got a standing ovation.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 17, 2009, 04:15:35 PM
Live here: http://www.ctntworld.com/livestream/index.html
Post by: Jah Gol on April 17, 2009, 04:16:01 PM
like tv6 now get the translated feed.
Post by: WestCoast on April 17, 2009, 04:18:03 PM
why Jah ???
They were introducing the member states. President Obama received loud applause but Manning yes Manning  got a standing ovation.
I guess it is because he is the Host
but good to hear
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 04:30:47 PM
men real bashing the states
Post by: mukumsplau on April 17, 2009, 04:32:25 PM
ortega hittin heavy..lawd ah cya wait fuh chavez
Post by: Deeks on April 17, 2009, 04:34:44 PM
It is Patrick's day in the sun. Let him bask in his glory. I would not lie. I don't really care for the conference. But once there was no turning back with Patrick, I do want it go off fine.
Post by: WestCoast on April 17, 2009, 04:34:53 PM
men real bashing the states

dem betta not piss off the Greatest Colonialist Power the world has seen so far

wait
That is ONLY when there is a president like Baby Bush and his New American Century pardnas
Post by: Blue on April 17, 2009, 04:35:18 PM

daz a adidas tracksuit d man rock up in??  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 04:36:24 PM

d man say he eh comfortable being here, since cuba not here. lawd ah mercy
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 04:36:44 PM
It is Patrick's day in the sun. Let him bask in his glory. I would not lie. I don't really care for the conference. But once there was no turning back with Patrick, I do want it go off fine.

agreed

I wonder how much of this is genunine ortega and chavez. But this man eh know that the  PR voted against full independence.

all he doing is venting, he not making any points.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 17, 2009, 04:39:15 PM

To be expected quite frankly, most of the western hemisphere is left of center and w/Chavez' ALBA gaining traction, much of this common theme (Argentina, Nicaragua, Venezuela, Bolivia etc) is to be expected.  In BO though I think there is a leader capable of walking the line and arriving at some common ground.  It's only a matter of time before the Cuba embargo is lifted, as Roland Martin pointed out in a recent article, it's a double standard based on the now defunct cold war, just ask China and the huge sum of debt they have purchased on the US' behalf
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 17, 2009, 04:41:07 PM

daz a adidas tracksuit d man rock up in??  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

borse man lookin' like he drive across states all night an' cyar wait o get some shuteye.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 04:43:32 PM
Oh lawd de man say he had to wait 3 hours before he could come off de plane!!!...
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 04:44:33 PM
Oh lawd de man say he had to wait 3 hours before he could come off de plane!!!...

not lookin good for uncle patos
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 04:44:43 PM
the us jus get blame from 2002 venezuela coupe.  :devil: the man jus hit them for 6 he wait 3 hours to get off the plane.
Post by: WestCoast on April 17, 2009, 04:46:32 PM
agreed
I wonder how much of this is genunine ortega and chavez. But this man eh know that the  PR voted against full independence.
all he doing is venting, he not making any points.
I was thinking the same thing especially when he mentioned the wall
The USA has every right to minimise the influx of illegal immigrants

maybe is only now he getting to his points
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 04:51:26 PM
oh lord, dey doh have a time frame to speak? it have 3 more speakers to come after he. steups!
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 04:52:50 PM
Forgive my ignorance, but who call the shot not to invite Cuba. Since trinidad host could they not have invited Cuba or was Manning afraid Obama will not come if he did.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 17, 2009, 04:53:05 PM
oh lord, dey doh have a time frame to speak? it have 3 more speakers to come after he. steups!

One disjointed speech, making good points but his structure is less than desirable, as for time frame, imagine if Fidel was speaking, that would be it for the night
Post by: Bitter on April 17, 2009, 04:54:41 PM

how come all ah seeing is some bounce
from before carnival;

over on the right have a link: "CCN TV6 Live Stream". Click that.
You might need to install silverlight or switch to IE, firefox and Chrome doh like that page atall

Post by: 100% Barataria on April 17, 2009, 04:56:29 PM
Forgive my ignorance, but who call the shot not to invite Cuba. Since trinidad host could they not have invited Cuba or was Manning afraid Obama will not come if he did.

No seen, see attached, are part of OAS but since 62 excluded from official OAS mtgs

http://www.oas.org/documents/eng/memberstates.asp
Post by: dwolfman on April 17, 2009, 04:57:30 PM
I liked the Argentina speech. She pointed out issues past and present faced in the Americas, highlighting the Falkland "War" without mentioning it by name, and urged for the various heads of state/government to come together to build going forward.

Ortega has been a bit disjointed and scattered. It's making him seem like his personal grievances are more important than regional discussions.

Cuba is not a member state, which was part of the point of the Argentine President.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 05:00:31 PM
Oh lawd dis man eh goh done....is only Chavez and Obama I want to hear.....
Post by: Blue on April 17, 2009, 05:06:43 PM
Dis fella didnt say he was wrapping it up about 5 minutes ago?  :yapping:
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 17, 2009, 05:07:27 PM
Oh lawd dis man eh goh done....is only Chavez and Obama I want to hear.....

An he keep sayin " I have one more point"

An dat point (or points) eh done yet.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 17, 2009, 05:07:51 PM

Seem like 15 mins ago, wouldn't be surprised if there are a few nodding heads
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 05:08:58 PM
obama must be askin heself why d hell he waste he time an come to dis
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 05:09:38 PM

He punishing everybody for making him sit down in de plane for 3 hours.... :devil:
Post by: Blue on April 17, 2009, 05:10:03 PM

Seem like 15 mins ago, wouldn't be surprised if there are a few nodding heads

nex time, patos need to make a rule dat only people wearin suits cud speak
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 05:11:16 PM
Ah hope is not ALL ah dem going to speak 2nite.... ??? :-\
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 17, 2009, 05:11:48 PM
¡Finalmente! El Presidente Ortega ha terminado de hablar.
Post by: fari on April 17, 2009, 05:41:47 PM
barack talk bout kidnapping, drugs, environment, dealing with the youths...i hope patos listening
Post by: Blue on April 17, 2009, 05:47:30 PM

Blessins Ryan  :beermug:

International press liking d Cuban aspect

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/americas/8004798.stm
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/article6114442.ece
http://www.lemonde.fr/ameriques/article/2009/04/17/amorce-de-degel-entre-la-havane-et-washington_1182259_3222.html
Post by: mukumsplau on April 17, 2009, 05:51:45 PM
manning talkin bout debe doubles yes...daz not d one dey find d shit in?
Post by: Bitter on April 17, 2009, 05:52:53 PM
Ed Rollins on CNN. Summary:
Who Cuba is? What them doing for we?
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 05:53:46 PM
manning talkin bout debe doubles yes...daz not d one dey find d shit in?

he need to offer the man soem channa punch, two refernces to obama in his speech.
Post by: Blue on April 17, 2009, 05:55:05 PM
Patos seems to have decided that "de" is the new "the"
Post by: fari on April 17, 2009, 05:56:32 PM
i find he talkin kinda broad
Post by: WestCoast on April 17, 2009, 05:57:33 PM
no mo Bretton Woods  :applause:
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 06:00:11 PM
ah manning speech eh go be a manning speech without him uttering the phrase ' my dear friends'. yuh hadda love uncle patos yes
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:00:48 PM
ah manning speech eh go be a manning speech without him uttering the phrase ' my dear friends'. yuh hadda love uncle patos yes

girl hush nuh....is dey same blasted ting ah juss say... :rotfl:
ah count bout 7 already
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 06:01:30 PM
Manining forget that he need to take some of the blame for the drug problem too, it is not jus usa and south america.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 06:01:37 PM

....or "ladies and gentlemen".......
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 06:03:14 PM

girl hush nuh....is dey same blasted ting ah juss say... :rotfl:
ah count bout 7 already

two more now gone dey.  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 06:04:40 PM
Like the man looking to replace the smelter with the nuclear plant.
I say go ahead I will like to return home for job. As long as we could store the spent fuel in PM house.
Post by: dinho on April 17, 2009, 06:06:28 PM
is it just me or has wendell constantine adopted ah freshwater?
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:08:52 PM
Wendy have dat accent since partytime days

allyuh watch entertainment nah man
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 06:09:06 PM
sah is wendl me eh recognize him atall
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 17, 2009, 06:09:11 PM

Nah man Omar, "de" man jus takin his time as he enunciates, slowin down even when we speak proper english can be a challenge for many
Post by: Blue on April 17, 2009, 06:09:59 PM

i was tinkin dat too  :rotfl: :rotfl:

iz years i eh c him tho, i was wondering whether i jus 4get how d man talk  :rotfl:

but like Barataria say, at least he speakin properly, Patos cudda take a lesson from him
Post by: WestCoast on April 17, 2009, 06:10:51 PM
this show lookin good
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 06:10:59 PM
Wendy have dat accent since partytime days

allyuh watch entertainment nah man

starting is promising.
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:11:19 PM
Ella going and mash up dey mudda foxing place now.....lawddddddddd
Post by: sammy on April 17, 2009, 06:11:49 PM

nah man , to me he use to always talk so.....

remember him in the flavorite ad?
Post by: sammy on April 17, 2009, 06:12:36 PM
de volume drop down low low jus so yes
Post by: dwolfman on April 17, 2009, 06:12:53 PM
i find he talkin kinda broad

It have time to get more specific. This is just the public address.
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 06:17:09 PM
excellent job so far
Post by: dinho on April 17, 2009, 06:19:26 PM
i doh know nuh, after the olympics opening ceremony i finding it hard to be impressed by these types of productions ever since.
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 06:24:17 PM
did not get to see the olympics but I lik ewhat i see here for the. Like the music who ever compose did a good job nice use of the steelpan in the background. I wish I could play the steelpan.

"Give Thanks and Praise."
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:25:37 PM
All Aboard  ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 06:28:47 PM
i doh know nuh, after the olympics opening ceremony i finding it hard to be impressed by these types of productions ever since.

It's a nice production but its a bit too predictable....I find one should be able to interpret art for oneself whether it be a painting, music or dance....
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:29:20 PM
Okay allyuh ain't find dey entertainment ah TAD too long now ? We going on 15 mins now.....
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:32:31 PM
Rudder looking nice no arse boy :o
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 06:33:00 PM
David  :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

The narrator kinda irrating

rythm section

I need to go home.
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:36:47 PM
every time ah passss you look at meeee
ah going and tell meh mammy doh sen' meh down dereeeeeeeee

ya know how long me ain't hear dat...

ah missing home boy :(
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 06:36:58 PM
*steups* ah fed up now....
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 06:37:44 PM
A-A, dey squeezin everyting in dis presentation boy. parang an all. we too sweet in dis place oui
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:38:39 PM
yeah it long but ah hadda give Brian he jacket boy

all dem expats who watching dis right now...feeling home sick...
meh self included

ay ay ah start to drop waist when dey tassa start up oui...riddim was swwwwweeeeet ;D

Tobago jig....Browning gimme ah dance dere girl :rotfl:
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 06:39:10 PM
every time ah passss you look at meeee
ah going and tell meh mammy doh sen' meh down dereeeeeeeee

ya know how long me ain't hear dat...

ah missing home boy :(

I jus buy meh ticket on delta 322 in june out of JFK
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 06:40:06 PM
wat d hell arrow doin in we ting. ::)
Post by: dwolfman on April 17, 2009, 06:40:38 PM
Allyuh happy, oui! I loving this. Must be hard being a head of state/government though. After his 3 hours on the plane Ortega have to sit through this until they finish.  ;D

I still holding out hope that Shakira comes out for a suprise performance.  :devil:

Wait nuh! I cyah believe is "Hot hot hot" come in there... I am officially broken!
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 06:41:05 PM
Ah hope is true, true Tobagonians from Plymouth he use for dat jig segment or else..... ;D
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 06:41:35 PM
any int,nal news stations bringin dis?
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 06:41:44 PM

they jus kill it
remind me of a weekend at bernies,
remind of the college bram where the token song was murder she wrote.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 06:42:36 PM

they jus kill it

All yuh self....dais de ONLY Soca foreigners know.....
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 06:43:30 PM
any int,nal news stations bringin dis?

CNN had a clip earlier referring/discussing Obama's speech but they done switch away from this already....
Post by: Deeks on April 17, 2009, 06:44:01 PM
Nah, add one more from Kevin Little.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 06:44:13 PM
"Hey ha".....
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:44:22 PM

they jus kill it

where Sparrow and congo man ???
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:45:06 PM
WTF Machel ???
So wait what happen to Bunji or even Fay Ann or even Destra ???

shit man
Post by: Deeks on April 17, 2009, 06:45:12 PM
Machel???
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 06:45:24 PM
Nah, add one more from Kevin Little.

Ah was thinking more in terms of old school and to be honest ah doh think Kevin's song as well known universally as Arrow own....
Post by: dwolfman on April 17, 2009, 06:45:57 PM
Thank God Machel not in the Antz suit, oui!
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 06:46:35 PM
now i know why machel charges get drop, he would not have cleared obama security check otherwise.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 06:46:42 PM

they jus kill it

A mini controversy was raging for a few days when it was revealed that Sparrow wasn't part of the opening act....
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 06:47:19 PM
now i know why machel charges get drop, he would not have cleared obama security check otherwise.

The fight outside Zen charges??  that was dropped??
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:47:27 PM

they jus kill it

A mini controversy was raging for a few days when it was revealed that Sparrow wasn't part of the opening act....

i won't doubt it.....

Machel boy ??? what dey arse
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 06:47:37 PM

they jus kill it

like it have no odder soca song dey cuda put. but brownsugar yuh have a valid point dey. daiz d only soca song dat 'buss' int'nal.

machel is machel anywhere yuh put him eh. sketel thru an thru
Post by: trinindian on April 17, 2009, 06:48:28 PM
i doh know i was jus been movalang
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2009, 06:48:46 PM
wait wait, no tan tan an saga boy? wah trouble is dis :D
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:49:01 PM
ok it done
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 06:49:36 PM
i doh know i was jus been movalang

*chups* lawd fadder.... ;D
Post by: dwolfman on April 17, 2009, 06:49:48 PM
Since when Machel is about "Peace and Love"  :rotfl:

I killing mehself laughing at the antics. He lip sync like he life depended on it. I still thankful he didn't bring out the Antz suit... I woulda turn off meh tv one time.
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:50:15 PM
Josanna Lennard and who he ??
Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2009, 06:51:11 PM
Since when Machel is about "Peace and Love"  :rotfl:

I killing mehself laughing at the antics. He lip sync like he life depended on it. I still thankful he didn't bring out the Antz suit... I woulda turn off meh tv one time.

Boy he touting dat Peace and Love thing whole Carnival season and den turn round and slapping and cussing men left, right and centre....steups...fraud!!
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 06:55:10 PM
okay next station...CTNT like dey done for dey night

Post by: lefty on April 17, 2009, 06:57:14 PM
I still thankful he didn't bring out the Antz suit... I woulda turn off meh tv one time.
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Deeks on April 17, 2009, 06:57:50 PM
It was getting a bit long. Them people a bit tired. Finished just in time. The costumes looked good, I must say. Good job by McFarlane!!!!!
Post by: dwolfman on April 17, 2009, 07:10:06 PM
I still thankful he didn't bring out the Antz suit... I woulda turn off meh tv one time.
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Lefty, you laughing... dat is serious ting, breds! You eh know how thankful I am, oui.

Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 08:02:32 PM
Look look ...... >:(
But dey truth does offend

A Slum on the Edge of the Americas Summit
Leaders Need Not Look Far to See Poverty and Violence Outside Summit Venue

http://abcnews.go.com/International/wireStory?id=7359161
Post by: Deeks on April 17, 2009, 08:11:08 PM
It ain't no lie what they saying.!!!!
Post by: WestCoast on April 17, 2009, 08:15:17 PM
ah geh goose bumps when de pan come on stage wid that rythm
then........then David hit dem
overall it was a great showing Mr. McFarlane :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 08:18:07 PM
overall it was a great showing Mr. McFarlane :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

You mean Peter Minshall eh....

Post by: Deeks on April 17, 2009, 08:22:45 PM
Peter's influence will be around for a long time. Is just the quality of the costums. Is street theatre at it's best.
Post by: Babalawo on April 17, 2009, 08:24:12 PM

tell them beetham people stop being lazy and go make things happen. stop being blasted lazy and sell some dinner mints on ariapita ave.
Post by: WestCoast on April 17, 2009, 08:24:52 PM

You mean Peter Minshall eh....
I must admit that the first set of performers were very Minshallesque indeed
I was waiting for someone to come out with different colour dyes ;D
Post by: WestCoast on April 17, 2009, 08:29:12 PM

tell them beetham people stop being lazy and go make things happen. stop being blasted lazy and sell some dinner mints on ariapita ave.
oh gaum Babalawo
Post by: Deeks on April 17, 2009, 08:29:50 PM
Babs,
         Point taken. But you mean to say the gov't cant have people clean and cover the canals?
Post by: TriniCana on April 17, 2009, 08:49:48 PM
Babs,
         Point taken. But you mean to say the gov't cant have people clean and cover the canals?

But why wait on the Government to tell ya dat Deeks ?
Tall bush henging over ya fence and interfering with dey beauty of ya lawn and front gap and dey mosquitoes sexing on ya wall, you go wait until city council and dem pass ?

This is the problem in Trinidad and Tobago, WE DON'T USE OUR INITIATIVE.  Datz all ya know.
Post by: Bakes on April 17, 2009, 09:59:56 PM

De narrator actually made it a point to say that it was a depiction of the Caribbean.  Trinidadians need to let go of this "we ting" mentality sometimes.

To answer somebody question... dunno if it was on int'l. TV, but I was following along via stream on CNN.com.
Post by: Bakes on April 17, 2009, 10:08:19 PM

It have much suffering in de Beetham eh, but all in all gov't can't cure all that ails that place.  Trinidadians have a problem with personal responsibility I find and is time them people step up and start policing they own community.  OUT de bandit element.  Pay attention to dumpers and polluters... if coconut oil factory dumping in allyuh environment band together and picket dem.  De article mention all dem youths who liming whole day.  Ah next one talk about if they "step" on de small man he ent go have no choice but to dip in ah next man pocket.  What kinda fukkery is dat?? 

This is the mentality of these people that need to change.  It have wuk in Trinidad but some people not interested in working hard so we have to import chinee and Filipino to swing hammer in hot sun.  CEPEP and YTEPP money waste b/c youths rather lime whole day than go training.  But den camera show up and is all kinda oppression dey bawlin.  Man cyah afford tuh break down on de h'way is because bandit hopping canal and locking people neck.  Flour truck caught in traffic last year, they run out and loot it.  But YET people bitching about de wall... oh "it hiding de Beetham".  It ent hiding allyuh, it keeping allyuh at bay.

I glad fuh de wall... too bad dey couldn't dig ah blasted moat and full it with alligator too.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 18, 2009, 07:38:25 AM

De narrator actually made it a point to say that it was a depiction of the Caribbean.  Trinidadians need to let go of this "we ting" mentality sometimes.

As far as I'm concerned Soca is "we ting".  What happened was that somehow artists from up the Caribbean have been able to capitalise on it internationally before our performers have.  So I'm not surprised that they would choose a singer like Arrow to perform.  That song "Hot, Hot, Hot" is the definition of Soca internationally so its not surprising it was chosen.

To be honest, I personally find that Soca from up the Island generally sounds sweeter than what we produce here (especially from the mid 90's to present).  So I don't begrudge them they status.   Ah jealous actually.... :(
Post by: TriniCana on April 18, 2009, 07:43:00 AM
LIVE stream

http://fifthsummitoftheamericas.org/livestreams2.aspx
Post by: Daft Trini on April 18, 2009, 07:49:42 AM

It have much suffering in de Beetham eh, but all in all gov't can't cure all that ails that place.  Trinidadians have a problem with personal responsibility I find and is time them people step up and start policing they own community.  OUT de bandit element.  Pay attention to dumpers and polluters... if coconut oil factory dumping in allyuh environment band together and picket dem.  De article mention all dem youths who liming whole day.  Ah next one talk about if they "step" on de small man he ent go have no choice but to dip in ah next man pocket.  What kinda f**kkery is dat?? 

This is the mentality of these people that need to change.  It have wuk in Trinidad but some people not interested in working hard so we have to import chinee and Filipino to swing hammer in hot sun.  CEPEP and YTEPP money waste b/c youths rather lime whole day than go training.  But den camera show up and is all kinda oppression dey bawlin.  Man cyah afford tuh break down on de h'way is because bandit hopping canal and locking people neck.  Flour truck caught in traffic last year, they run out and loot it.  But YET people bitching about de wall... oh "it hiding de Beetham".  It ent hiding allyuh, it keeping allyuh at bay.

I glad fuh de wall... too bad dey couldn't dig ah blasted moat and full it with alligator too.

Thank you very much....!

(yuh cayr even come back home with 1 suit case for a visit also, because as soon as yuh come home, people does hail yuh out, "whey yuh bring for meh"
Post by: WestCoast on April 18, 2009, 07:52:44 AM
yeah there was a TV ad running about takin free courses (I believe the fella in the ad said free) at a college all over TnT
Courses like electrical and plumbing
more youth should take advantage of that
Post by: ann3boys on April 18, 2009, 07:55:25 AM
Standing ovation for Patrick Manning .

simple answer: who gave out invitations? ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on April 18, 2009, 07:58:26 AM
yeah there was a TV ad running about takin free courses (I believe the fella in the ad said free) at a college all over TnT
Courses like electrical and plumbing
more youth should take advantage of that

Black Stalin sang a calypso this year that sums up the situation quite nicely.....he basically says that the government provide every thing for all the citizens but they are not taking advantage of the opportunities....
Post by: TriniCana on April 18, 2009, 08:32:09 AM
http://guardian.co.tt/commentary/columnist/2009/04/18/paradise-show

Beg pardon eh Sharkness...ah juss read dis and decided to drop dey link in here...
is okay ??? :devil:
Post by: truetrini on April 18, 2009, 09:07:51 AM
Entry denied

By NALINEE SEELAL Friday, April 17 2009

Immigration officers denied entry to a professional protestor and placed him on a flight back to Puerto Rico an hour after he arrived in Trinidad on Wednesday night. Another professional protestor reported to be from North America was also barred from entering the country last week.

Acting Police Commissioner James Philbert disclosed yesterday that Puerto Rican, Alberto de Jesus Mercado, had a history of participating in international demonstrations, and was recently deported from Israel for hanging a Palestinian flag in Ramallah.

Immigration boarded a LIAT flight after its arrival at Piarco International Airport, shortly after 8 pm on Wednesday, and removed Mercado from among the passengers. They also seized two protest placards which had messages to US President Barack Obama, pleading with him to end Puerto Rico’s status as a dominion of the United States.

Mercado, 51, a resident of San Juan, Puerto Rico, was on a list of persons deemed as security risks to this weekend’s Summit of the Americas. He has been arrested in several countries for his participation in protests, according to information provided by Puerto Rican authorities, Philbert told a media conference at the Ministry of National Security.

“Our advice is that this individual came from Puerto Rico, and there is a long history of his international interactions in protests and demonstrations. Based on the advice that was given to the Chief Immigration Officer the action was taken,” Philbert said.

The second person, who police sources would only say came from North America, was not allowed into the country last week because he was deemed a “threat to national security”.

Philbert, at the briefing, also said six Latin Americans were detained on Wednesday, but were allowed to remain in Trinidad, although protest materials they had with them, were seized. Newsday reported yesterday that the six persons were identified as Venezuelans Trina Henrique and Cureina Martinez, Brazilians Lios Bassehio and Pablo Yles of Brazil, and Colombian Jerome, who belonged to the protest group, The Cry of Exclusion.

Spokesman Hilda Gouverra told Newsday on Wednesday that she viewed the detention of the six protestors as illegal and would consult lawyers on the matter. After their brief detention on Wednesday, the six Latin Americans were given back their passports, and are now staying at a location in East Trinidad.

Local trade union leader, FITUN president David Abdulah yesterday said the action taken against Mercado was illegal and unjust, adding that passengers on the Liat flight were traumatised by the incident.

“We did seek to make interventions on his behalf with authorities here, but it was to no avail.

We will be pursuing this matter further, and we demand no other delegates be treated in that manner or denied entry into Trinidad and Tobago,” Abdulah said at a media conference at the University of the West Indies, St Augustine. Mercado was supposed to attend a protest demonstration organised by FITUN which will be held tomorrow at the university.
Post by: Babalawo on April 18, 2009, 09:09:19 AM

oh gaum Babalawo
I mean gov't / banks quicker give people money that can prove they wont waste it. Something like good credit system. get together, build a business or something and proove to the government that you hard working . . Im saying work together in a positive project and show the government that you are hard working and the gov. Beetham residence work hard and together, your hard work will get you a higher % of  help from the government, instead of complaining, wasting money in dvd, and bad talking manning this and manning that.  The govt is scared of giving them money because of the criminal reputation and ill-will of some fellow residence, giving power to the wrong hands.... And Most of them international media coverage just give those journalist a story so they can make money/sponsorship for having an article or story. A news paper has many journalists and photographers. Those whose stories and photos gets choose by the editor get a comission bonus. its more profitable for the journalist than beetham, so in retrospect they are being USED.  ABC used the beetham, Miami hearald used the beetham, who next?  If them international journalist make it big, them getting credited for discovering an already discovered story, putting in their resume, getting paid to talk about it in universitys and/or producing new york times best sellers novels out of it. And the same beetham resident in their same conditions.  So all i say is spend your god given time on earth working hard in possitive projects instead of making bad talking government news stories and DVD;s.  The government dont work with negative people, work on turning the beetham as possitve, hard working resisdents.
Post by: Bakes on April 18, 2009, 12:29:33 PM

As far as I'm concerned Soca is "we ting".  What happened was that somehow artists from up the Caribbean have been able to capitalise on it internationally before our performers have.  So I'm not surprised that they would choose a singer like Arrow to perform.  That song "Hot, Hot, Hot" is the definition of Soca internationally so its not surprising it was chosen.

To be honest, I personally find that Soca from up the Island generally sounds sweeter than what we produce here (especially from the mid 90's to present).  So I don't begrudge them they status.   Ah jealous actually.... :(

Soca is "we ting" perhaps... b/c we pioneered and have been most successful with it.  Let's not forget however, the considerable input other islands gave towards the development of Soca.  One of Shorty's earliest collaborator was Maestro from Dominica.  In fact Shorty even went there and lived with Maestro in his home for about 6 months, collaborating on writing and experimenting with sound.  Within the year that experimentation gave birth to Endless Vibrations... and the rest as they say is history.

Today soca wouldn't be where it is without the contributions of Arrow (who was rightly honored with the inclusion), Edwin Yearwood, Eddie Grant... and dare I say Byron Lee.  We would still have a vibrant artform, but the different perspectives brought by these artists have influenced soca to make it the dynamic and versatile artform it is today.  We should celebrate that instead of talking about 'we ting'... especially when 'we ting' can't even get year-round support in Trinidad.
Post by: Bakes on April 18, 2009, 12:34:30 PM
http://guardian.co.tt/commentary/columnist/2009/04/18/paradise-show

Beg pardon eh Sharkness...ah juss read dis and decided to drop dey link in here...
is okay ??? :devil:

yeah, ah read dat lass night.  She start off nice nice... but den it turn into more of de usual trinicenter.com rant.  I find Raffique Shah is de only blasted writer on dat site does make any kinda sense.  De rest ah dem come like Trinidad version of Al Sharpton, dey perennially in search of some crusade to ride off on.  And fuhget glass being half-full/half-empty... government fail tuh even gih dem dey glass.

Ah like she headwrap doh.
Post by: TriniCana on April 18, 2009, 12:57:20 PM
Anyone heard about riot police out on independence square to stop some group protesting ???
Apparently they were denied permission to protest, but yet still came out....

Confirmation ???
Post by: sammy on April 18, 2009, 01:32:52 PM
Anyone heard about riot police out on independence square to stop some group protesting ???
Apparently they were denied permission to protest, but yet still came out....

Confirmation ???

yeah, i saw it on TV. The protesters were matching around cipriani statue on the round about. Riot police was there, just looking on. I dunno if anything transpired after though.
Post by: legal alien on April 18, 2009, 04:32:13 PM

Wendell always talk that way-loud and proper.He also look the same way since I watching him on TV as a child ,and I'm now almost 27.I wonder how old he is now?
Post by: TriniCana on April 18, 2009, 04:32:54 PM
 Riot police and activists in a stand off at St James Amphitheatre. Drumming, 3canal singing, people clapping. Riot police standing in a line about 30 ft away from the ppl on the stage.
Post by: TriniCana on April 18, 2009, 04:33:15 PM

Wendell always talk that way-loud and proper.He also look the same way since I watching him on TV as a child ,and I'm now almost 27.I wonder how old he is now?

late 40s
Post by: Brownsugar on April 18, 2009, 04:59:58 PM
Riot police and activists in a stand off at St James Amphitheatre. Drumming, 3canal singing, people clapping. Riot police standing in a line about 30 ft away from the ppl on the stage.

Just came back from down there....unfortunately I didn't have my camera with me....
Post by: Brownsugar on April 18, 2009, 05:07:14 PM

Soca is "we ting" perhaps... b/c we pioneered and have been most successful with it.  Let's not forget however, the considerable input other islands gave towards the development of Soca.  One of Shorty's earliest collaborator was Maestro from Dominica.  In fact Shorty even went there and lived with Maestro in his home for about 6 months, collaborating on writing and experimenting with sound.  Within the year that experimentation gave birth to Endless Vibrations... and the rest as they say is history.

Today soca wouldn't be where it is without the contributions of Arrow (who was rightly honored with the inclusion), Edwin Yearwood, Eddie Grant... and dare I say Byron Lee.  We would still have a vibrant artform, but the different perspectives brought by these artists have influenced soca to make it the dynamic and versatile artform it is today.  We should celebrate that instead of talking about 'we ting'... especially when 'we ting' can't even get year-round support in Trinidad.

Doh get mih wrong eh....I love mih small island Soca....those artistes usually make some sweet Soca music....
and overall I agree with what yuh post dey.... :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on April 18, 2009, 05:27:14 PM
The CNN Wire Latest updates on top stories
April 18th, 2009
Gift to Obama rockets book’s sales
Posted: 06:49 PM ET

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad (CNN) — The big winner out of this week’s Summit of the Americas in Trinidad may be a decades-old book about the exploitation of Latin American people throughout history.

Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez, whose anti-U.S. rhetoric has included calling former President George W. Bush the devil, approached Obama Friday and handed him a copy of “Open Veins of Latin America: Five Centuries of the Pillage of a Continent.”

In just hours, the book, by Uruguayan writer Eduardo Galeano, rocketed to bestseller status on online book store Amazon.com.

The English version was at No. 14 on the site’s list of top sellers. On Friday, it had been No. 60,280.

The book topped Amazon’s “Movers and Shakers” list on Saturday — with a reported 466,378-percent increase in popularity on the site.
Post by: Bakes on April 18, 2009, 06:32:59 PM
Doh get mih wrong eh....I love mih small island Soca....those artistes usually make some sweet Soca music....
and overall I agree with what yuh post dey.... :beermug:

I cyah get with some ah dat 1000 bpm heart attack music... but some ah dem contribute some nice chunes fuh real man.  Wha'is soca widout "Tiney Winey", "Oil Pumpin' ", "All Aboard" (Tony Prescott's, but written by Edwin), "Turn It Up" (Square One), "Swingin' Engine" (Burning Flames) etc.  :)

--------------

On a vastly separate note... anybody know what are de agenda of de "Drummit to the Summit" and "The People's Summit"?

I seeing all kinda passion etched on dem people face in de photos Die Hard post in de next thread.  Ah curious to know what de bussin vein so about.
Post by: TriniCana on April 18, 2009, 07:34:56 PM
Sorry for the full caps, I'm just copying and pasting.
"MAXIMUS DAN, 3 CANAL, KING DAVID, OZY MAGIC, ANDY VENTURE, CHANTWELL & MORE. 3PM. TODAY Saturday 18th April 2009 SUMMIT OF THE PEOPLE Closing Rally @ UWI SPEC St. Augustine!!!

And I copied and paste this response from the same question I asked.

.I saw on the news online that riot people came to the premises at 4 pm and 'tried' to stop the session on the premises that was paid for - a private amphitheatre next door to the St. James Police Station. It was advertised all week and did not need police permission. There were young people drumming looking at riot police with their batons and tear gas guns ready for action any minute. Outside was also a line up of police with machine guns, to do what, shoot down some cultural and committed persons concerned about their country, your country, my country? I thought, is this what my country is coming to?
Post by: Bourbon on April 18, 2009, 07:47:25 PM
Allyuh hadda realise....a good bit of trinis jus like to be in ting cuz dey feel dahs how it supposed to be done. Dey does see protest going on for other summits internationally...so a good bit just feel dem just hadda protest cuz dahs how it supposed to be. It had a group protesting in cow masks......when dey getting interview by de news...oh dem not going and be part of de summit like cows (loud mooing by protesters drowning out spokesperson) and they staging dis silent protest to protest de summit. Silent protest..yet dey passing round and mooing and making a setta kakahole noise. A good portion of de so called protesters and people who want to protest just doing so rather dan being serious bout wha dey hadda do..and conveniently ignoring their responsibilities that many of them shun and have de place in de damn mess dat it in.
Post by: Tallman on April 18, 2009, 07:57:00 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/hVYqk16Ggr8
Post by: Bakes on April 18, 2009, 08:42:21 PM
Bourbon and 'Cana thanks...

I have to admit that I'm no more enlightened after reading Cana post... and Bourbon, yours only feeding mih cynicism.  From Patos to Chavez to these "protesters", this Summit has provided ample opportunity fuh everybody to feed their inner attention whore.
Post by: Bourbon on April 18, 2009, 08:49:04 PM
Sorry for the full caps, I'm just copying and pasting.
"MAXIMUS DAN, 3 CANAL, KING DAVID, OZY MAGIC, ANDY VENTURE, CHANTWELL & MORE. 3PM. TODAY Saturday 18th April 2009 SUMMIT OF THE PEOPLE Closing Rally @ UWI SPEC St. Augustine!!!

And I copied and paste this response from the same question I asked.

.I saw on the news online that riot people came to the premises at 4 pm and 'tried' to stop the session on the premises that was paid for - a private amphitheatre next door to the St. James Police Station. It was advertised all week and did not need police permission. There were young people drumming looking at riot police with their batons and tear gas guns ready for action any minute. Outside was also a line up of police with machine guns, to do what, shoot down some cultural and committed persons concerned about their country, your country, my country? I thought, is this what my country is coming to?

Apparently dey had an agreement to use the place... paid for it...and de owner of de place renege on de agreement.....and call police. Dahs why police came. Most likely de owner make it sound like is some protest etc...so the police came out in force.
Post by: TriniCana on April 18, 2009, 09:18:15 PM
ahhh okay now that makes sense Bourbon, because I couldn't understand why 'riot' police was called in.
Post by: Babalawo on April 18, 2009, 10:20:52 PM
Any word on any pre-agreement Trinidad get? ???
Post by: Bakes on April 18, 2009, 10:22:01 PM
ahhh okay now that makes sense Bourbon, because I couldn't understand why 'riot' police was called in.

You acting like yuh ent know how Trinis does carry on when freeco get shut dong... lol
Post by: Bakes on April 18, 2009, 11:27:17 PM
April 19, 2009
REPORTER'S NOTEBOOK

Warming Relationships in a Warm Locale  

By SHERYL GAY STOLBERG

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad and Tobago — President Obama, seeking to warm up relations with Latin America as he meets many of the region’s leaders for the first time, spent Saturday here playing down his celebrity and casting himself as the new kid on the block.

“I have much to learn,” Mr. Obama declared.

It was the first full day of the Summit of the Americas on this lush and mountainous Caribbean island. With 33 other Western Hemisphere leaders and thousands of delegates and a raucous press corps squeezed into a Hyatt Regency hotel, Mr. Obama found it tough to keep a low profile.

Everybody seemed to want a piece of him.

The president was mobbed during the opening plenary session by delegates elbowing their way toward him for photographs — among them Ruben Blades, the Panamanian singer and actor, who accompanied Panama’s foreign minister to the session.

Later, as the leaders gathered for their official “family photograph,” Prime Minister Stephenson King of St. Lucia produced a copy of Mr. Obama’s memoir, “Dreams From My Father,” and asked the president for his autograph. Mr. Obama asked someone the date — he wanted to record it with his signature — and obliged.

Climate change, security and the global economic crisis, which especially threatens some of the impoverished nations represented here, were high on the official agenda. The discussion was so lively, said Robert Gibbs, the White House press secretary, that at one point Prime Minister Patrick Manning of Trinidad and Tobago lamented that all of the leaders had overrun their allotted time.

All, that is, except the newest one: Mr. Obama.

Canadian’s Perspective

It’s tough to be from Canada at the Summit of the Americas. With fiery Latin American leftists like Presidents Daniel Ortega of Nicaragua and Hugo Chávez of Venezuela dominating the stage, nobody here is paying much attention to the buttoned-down folks from the land up north.

Prime Minister Stephen Harper tried to correct that on Saturday.

First, he appeared before the cameras walking alongside a certain other leader from North America, a possible political plus for him in Canada, where Mr. Obama is popular. Later, in a brief interview, the prime minister offered his observations on the summit meeting.

The talk turned, not surprisingly, to you-know-who.

“Look, in Canada, we’re used to the American president being the celebrity,” Mr. Harper said, professing not to mind being in Mr. Obama’s shadow.

He went on, “What’s interesting is that his desire, his clear desire to listen — not necessarily to agree but to listen — has won him a lot of friends.”

It has been striking to see Mr. Obama mingle with the multicultural array of leaders here, and Mr. Harper was asked if he thought the president’s race was helping him forge new relationships. Mr. Harper said he believed that race had some effect — especially because Mr. Obama is “of mixed extraction, which is the more common reality once you get south of the United States” — but added that “in the end, the personality and the policies, these are the things that matter.”

As for the other big draw here, Mr. Chávez, Mr. Harper said he was not surprised to see the Venezuelan leader strike up a relationship with Mr. Obama.

“My observation: President Chávez is a character, and notwithstanding his hard-line ideology that I am a firm opponent of — be under no illusion about that — he’s actually an affable and gregarious and open personality,” Mr. Harper said. “And for whatever reason, he seems in a particularly good mood this weekend, and we’re all grateful for that.”

History Lesson

As Mr. Obama said he had much to learn, he found a willing teacher: Mr. Chávez.

The Venezuelan president, parading about the Hyatt in a bright red shirt with a horde of photographers following his every move, worked hard to cozy up to Mr. Obama. On Saturday, a day after their much-publicized handshake, Mr. Chávez showed up with a gift for his American counterpart, a paperback copy of a 1971 book, “The Open Veins of Latin America: Five Centuries of the Pillage of a Continent,” by Eduardo Galeano, an Uruguayan journalist and historian.

The book, an anti-capitalist tractate that details the consequences of 500 years of domination by Europe and the United States, was perhaps an unsurprising selection by Mr. Chávez, whose leftist politics put him so at odds with former President George W. Bush that he repeatedly called Mr. Bush “the devil.”

But there were other reasons that the tome might not have been exactly what Mr. Obama, a best-selling author, was expecting. For one thing, it is in Spanish, a language the president does not speak.

“I thought it was one of Chávez’s books,” Mr. Obama said later. “I was going to give him one of mine.”

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/04/19/world/americas/19prexy.html
Post by: E-man on April 18, 2009, 11:42:36 PM
Jack: PM wants Obama to be his own baby (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161466520)
Post by: Organic on April 19, 2009, 07:24:26 AM
Allyuh hadda realise....a good bit of trinis jus like to be in ting cuz dey feel dahs how it supposed to be done. Dey does see protest going on for other summits internationally...so a good bit just feel dem just hadda protest cuz dahs how it supposed to be. It had a group protesting in cow masks......when dey getting interview by de news...oh dem not going and be part of de summit like cows (loud mooing by protesters drowning out spokesperson) and they staging dis silent protest to protest de summit. Silent protest..yet dey passing round and mooing and making a setta kakahole noise. A good portion of de so called protesters and people who want to protest just doing so rather dan being serious bout wha dey hadda do..and conveniently ignoring their responsibilities that many of them shun and have de place in de damn mess dat it in.
really? where u get this? observation? or personal clairvoyance? There are people out there protesting who were in rank and file when it had the Keith Noel protests. why all this extra cynicism? One min trinis like follow fashion next min they apathetic dont like to do anything? Let the poeple express themselves. There are alot of ways to promote change or express opinions this is one of the better ones. Look the world take note of Thailand since the protests.
I not saying that the summit should have been stopped but allyuh making it seem that everyone should just rock back and smile cause everything honkey dory.

People who like to complain about why these individuals dont do something with thier lives ....."sell mints on aripita" is de same ones will pass them straigt and go into coco lounge to obtain said mints.
how many of the people who complain about crime ever call into crime stoppers "but then come and talk about all the bad men they know?
how many people who like to complain bout crime drive down the shoulder or  litter? it all lends itself to de same mindset.

So let the people protest i say, some of the people there actually work hard day in and day out doing all kinda dog wuk and stuff with kids and for the environment of trini that none of us ever will do!!
and that is a FACT!
Post by: Bourbon on April 19, 2009, 09:10:27 AM
really? where u get this? observation? or personal clairvoyance? There are people out there protesting who were in rank and file when it had the Keith Noel protests[/b]. why all this extra cynicism? One min trinis like follow fashion next min they apathetic dont like to do anything? Let the poeple express themselves. There are alot of ways to promote change or express opinions this is one of the better ones. Look the world take note of Thailand since the protests.
I not saying that the summit should have been stopped but allyuh making it seem that everyone should just rock back and smile cause everything honkey dory.

The same keith noel protests that were only initiated after somebody close to stephen cadiz got killed...who was using it for a launch into politics...who was hoping that it woulda form the basis for a political party before elections...who confirmed himself as a mamaguy man when the party didnt pick up the momentum he was expecting and aligned himself with UNC..and yuh eh hear a peep from him after dat. Dahs all it is. Mamaguy. Workers could protest all they want...but until they stop their low productivity and their general slackness...dey will be just that...a mamaguy. De public service is the way it is because they know with the union's backing.....it will be a long drawn out process...and ultimately nothing will come of it. Is trinis have the place in the state it in. It so much easier to sit down and blame somebody else and not do something yourself. When people start to take stock of themselves and be serious....then i go cease being cynical.

Post by: Bakes on April 19, 2009, 09:43:01 AM
really? where u get this? observation? or personal clairvoyance? There are people out there protesting who were in rank and file when it had the Keith Noel protests. why all this extra cynicism? One min trinis like follow fashion next min they apathetic dont like to do anything? Let the poeple express themselves. There are alot of ways to promote change or express opinions this is one of the better ones. Look the world take note of Thailand since the protests.

People who like to complain about why these individuals dont do something with thier lives ....."sell mints on aripita" is de same ones will pass them straigt and go into coco lounge to obtain said mints.
how many of the people who complain about crime ever call into crime stoppers "but then come and talk about all the bad men they know?
how many people who like to complain bout crime drive down the shoulder or  litter? it all lends itself to de same mindset.

So let the people protest i say, some of the people there actually work hard day in and day out doing all kinda dog wuk and stuff with kids and for the environment of trini that none of us ever will do!!
and that is a FACT!

I've read all sorts of accounts of these protests and I honestly can't tell you what they are protesting.  Can you?  What is the message?  I see some say they protesting in support of Cuba... dem f**king serious??  Where was all this flurry of activity before?  Clearly this was an opportunity to gallavant deyself before the international press because they don't even have a cohesive message, let alone a cohesive effort.

Take this jackass for example...

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/06a5cKu4bK1nP/610x.jpg)

tattoo of Chavez on he cheek and dress up like Che Guevarra waving ah Cuban flag... what is he friggin story?  What he protesting... certainly not the civil liberties being curbed in Cuba and Venezuela?  He lucky somebody eh run up and hit him ah cuff behind he head, just on principle.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 19, 2009, 10:02:38 AM
The most relevant protests ironically came from the RamJack consortium. They expressed disgust at the use of public funds to stage the summit in the first place. He (Ramesh) went on to make statements to the effect the Manning was a dictator attacking his own people. Otherwise I have to agree with bourbon that some admittedly tiny groups have taken to broadbased topics of convenience such as Cuba and the destruction of capitalism. Either way they were allowed to say whatever they wanted.
Post by: TriniCana on April 19, 2009, 10:21:44 AM
One week after the summit all questions will be answered...
Post by: Bourbon on April 19, 2009, 10:59:48 AM
Yuh know whas a nex joke? Ramjack. Initially...jack say he eh get invited...and dis was his response.

UNC MP, Jack Warner, who attended the inauguration of US President Barack Obama (in his capacity as Vice President of FIFA), also confirmed that he had received no invitation to any aspect of the summit, neither the opening nor the dinner which takes place on Saturday.

He said, however, that Obama sent a letter to the president of FIFA, Sepp Blatter, asking for FIFA's support for the US bid to host the 2018 World Cup.

"I was told that very soon we shall be meeting President Obama in Washington to discuss the matter with him. So I will wait. If we meet him then I'll be there. I am not worried. If Mr Manning and they don't want to invite me, I have met kings and queens, I have no problem with that," Warner said.

Den de day before de opening ceremony....Jack get a invitation...based on the fact that he was one of the MP's who get elected by the House of Representatives to attend the summit. He declined saying he get it too late.

Den yesterday..he and Ramesh on a podium in Tarouba...saying..dey organise dis in principle...saying dat too much money spend...so dem decide dat it go be unfair to attend. Is just me noticing that series of inconsistency?
Post by: Blue on April 19, 2009, 11:07:04 AM

and that is a FACT!

I've read all sorts of accounts of these protests and I honestly can't tell you what they are protesting.  Can you?  What is the message?  I see some say they protesting in support of Cuba... dem f**king serious??  Where was all this flurry of activity before?  Clearly this was an opportunity to gallavant deyself before the international press because they don't even have a cohesive message, let alone a cohesive effort.

tattoo of Chavez on he cheek and dress up like Che Guevarra waving ah Cuban flag... what is he friggin story?  What he protesting... not even civil liberties being curbed in Cuba and Venezuela?  He lucky somebody eh run up and hit him ah cuff behind he head, just on principle.

De fella wanted to coast his Che Guevara cap
Post by: Organic on April 19, 2009, 01:15:40 PM
Yuh know whas a nex joke? Ramjack. Initially...jack say he eh get invited...and dis was his response.

UNC MP, Jack Warner, who attended the inauguration of US President Barack Obama (in his capacity as Vice President of FIFA), also confirmed that he had received no invitation to any aspect of the summit, neither the opening nor the dinner which takes place on Saturday.

He said, however, that Obama sent a letter to the president of FIFA, Sepp Blatter, asking for FIFA's support for the US bid to host the 2018 World Cup.

"I was told that very soon we shall be meeting President Obama in Washington to discuss the matter with him. So I will wait. If we meet him then I'll be there. I am not worried. If Mr Manning and they don't want to invite me, I have met kings and queens, I have no problem with that," Warner said.

Den de day before de opening ceremony....Jack get a invitation...based on the fact that he was one of the MP's who get elected by the House of Representatives to attend the summit. He declined saying he get it too late.

Den yesterday..he and Ramesh on a podium in Tarouba...saying..dey organise dis in principle...saying dat too much money spend...so dem decide dat it go be unfair to attend. Is just me noticing that series of inconsistency?
and this is different from any group of politicians how?  anyways i not refering to any form of politics now.

the overall vibes i get form allyuh posts is not that allyuh calling for consistency in the protests , u guys just brought that up lately. What u alluding to is that the protests we waste of time and bs. I agree that they should have focsed on crime, however its a internaital summit people tend often to bring internatinal issues to the forefront.  shouldnt trinis have an opinion on cuba? Maybe open another market for our goods? i see nothign wrong with that!!

So what if cadiz began it cause ah co worker was killed. how many other buisness men or freinds willing to try to make an effort. He didnt start t get political clout as i see it, he tried to getinto that after cause he probably thought that wasa way to promote change ebcause the government as alot of people see it arent doing enough to combat crime.
U chastise people for not doing anything and then u chastise people when they do.
Post by: weary1969 on April 19, 2009, 01:39:53 PM
TEXT BOOK COMMUNIST

All d Gayelle posse and co who chanting 4 Cuba I hope if dey know if dey was in Cuba they would b off d air. Dey biggin up Chavez outside and d man stalkin d Oman because at every opportunity I want 2 b your freind. If Cuba reach by d bocas d eh goin.

I real fed up of all dem peeps who feel TNT is d worse place on earth do like d Indians in d late 80's back al yuh bags and apply for refugee status.
Post by: Bakes on April 19, 2009, 01:57:21 PM
the overall vibes i get form allyuh posts is not that allyuh calling for consistency in the protests , u guys just brought that up lately. What u alluding to is that the protests we waste of time and bs. I agree that they should have focsed on crime, however its a internaital summit people tend often to bring internatinal issues to the forefront.  shouldnt trinis have an opinion on cuba? Maybe open another market for our goods? i see nothign wrong with that!!

So what if cadiz began it cause ah co worker was killed. how many other buisness men or freinds willing to try to make an effort. He didnt start t get political clout as i see it, he tried to getinto that after cause he probably thought that wasa way to promote change ebcause the government as alot of people see it arent doing enough to combat crime.
U chastise people for not doing anything and then u chastise people when they do.

Well I dunno if de "allyuh" referring to my posts as well but I will answer since I criticized.  I never call for no "consistency", I just want to know what de ass it is dey protesting.  Are they showing solidarity with Venezuela and Cuba?  For what?  What is happening to those two countries that is so egregious?  Okay so you protesting the US embargo... what of the internal oppression of dissident voices in Cuba (say nothing of Venezuela)?  The irony is that with all dat noise dey making if was Cuba or Venezuela dey was dey wouldna be able to protest at all.  Head woulda get crack and protest done long time.
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2009, 03:12:27 PM
i will be uploading the full cultural show for alyuh in a few hours, stay tuned
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2009, 03:25:47 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/sEzndOf9aO0

The Rock Star Leaves Trinidad  :salute:
Post by: ribbit on April 19, 2009, 04:29:52 PM

and that is a FACT!

tattoo of Chavez on he cheek and dress up like Che Guevarra waving ah Cuban flag... what is he friggin story?  What he protesting... not even civil liberties being curbed in Cuba and Venezuela?  He lucky somebody eh run up and hit him ah cuff behind he head, just on principle.

here is (http://www.drummit2summit.blogspot.com) de fella blog that he advertise on his t-shirt.
Post by: Babalawo on April 19, 2009, 04:46:09 PM

now people could stop complaining he aint meet "the people"
Post by: Babalawo on April 19, 2009, 04:51:18 PM

and that is a FACT!

here is (http://www.drummit2summit.blogspot.com) de fella blog that he advertise on his t-shirt.
he's dunce. we should send him one of them communist counrties and he go bawl for manning to save him.
Post by: The_Ice on April 19, 2009, 04:52:19 PM

my friend working in the airport sed that was mostly journalists, photographers and ppl working there... i seeing her there tip toeing w/ her short self  :devil:
Post by: Babalawo on April 19, 2009, 05:00:32 PM

my friend working in the airport sed that was mostly journalists, photographers and ppl working there... i seeing her there tip toeing w/ her short self  :devil:
you see policeman and army man taking pictures too lol
Post by: Bakes on April 19, 2009, 05:05:29 PM

Thanks... is it in a downloadable form?

I'll settle for a YouTube link but it would be nice to get a DVD quality recording of this eventually.

He's a facking cunny.  I have no real issues with them protesting the environmental impact of the nation's development... in fact I'm all for it, being somewhat of an environmentalist myself.  However, you cannot tell what the message is supposed to be by looking at him with his red stars and tattoo of Chavez on his face and his Cuban flag.  But I assume he met his agenda by getting his face splashed all over the internet.

Backside.
Post by: Bakes on April 19, 2009, 05:08:11 PM

Journalists or not it was nice of him to go over there and do the meet and greet thing.
Post by: WestCoast on April 19, 2009, 05:13:31 PM
Thank you
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2009, 06:27:11 PM
Cultural Show 4 parts

Part 1

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/CSUDG7H_mas

Part 2

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/7TiYvN7VQzM

Part 3

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/VH-jjBQmaFE

Part 4

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/0ZKiPwPh7UU

Post by: Babalawo on April 19, 2009, 07:29:44 PM
dhw. videos bess. wish i had them on dvd.
Post by: verycute1 on April 19, 2009, 11:08:07 PM

It have much suffering in de Beetham eh, but all in all gov't can't cure all that ails that place.  Trinidadians have a problem with personal responsibility I find and is time them people step up and start policing they own community.  OUT de bandit element.  Pay attention to dumpers and polluters... if coconut oil factory dumping in allyuh environment band together and picket dem.  De article mention all dem youths who liming whole day.  Ah next one talk about if they "step" on de small man he ent go have no choice but to dip in ah next man pocket.  What kinda f**kkery is dat?? 

Perhaps some Pirahna too  ;D But then them men and them might go fishing for "free" food.
Title: Re: Tv6 live feed
Post by: Babalawo on May 08, 2009, 03:18:07 PM

http://www.tv6tnt.com/

thought u guys should know its online now
oh yea cool i now see the Live feed link
http://player27.narrowstep.tv/nsp.aspx?player=vp_records_silverL_copy_copy_copy#
Post by: Flex on January 07, 2010, 08:22:34 PM
Summit, CHOGM cars park up
By Lara Pickford-Gordon.

Thursday, January 7 2010

A decision is yet to be made regarding the distribution of the fleet of 200 high-end vehicles purchased for the international conferences which TT hosted.

They are being housed at the Vehicle Maintenance Corporation of TT (VMCOTT), Beetham Gardens, Port-of-Spain.

“The SUVs are the property of the Ministry of Works and Transport so the Minister of Works and Transport will be best able to tell you that,” said VMCOTT chairman Anthony Clarke. He said VMCOTT assists the ministry by gathering information on the needs and requirements of ministries.

“We know that the Police Service requires more vehicles but I don’t know what the minister’s decision will be in terms of disbursement of those vehicles.”

Clarke could not comment on the depreciation value of the vehicles.

Two hundred vehicles were purchased to accommodate VIPs attending the Summit of the Americas in April and Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in November.

In October 2008, Foreign Affairs Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon said the new vehicles would be “absorbed” into government ministries. In December 2008, Minister in the Ministry of Finance Mariano Browne said the National Insurance Property Development Company Ltd would spend $42 million for 200 luxury vehicles for the public service and they will be “lent” for the two international conferences. Browne said the “guiding principle” was that the vehicles must be easily reabsorbed into Government’s vehicle fleet after the meetings ended.

The vehicles comprise SUVs and sedans.

(http://www.newsday.co.tt/galeria/2010-01-07-13-1a_summit_vehicles_(1).jpg)
PARKED UP: Some of the luxury SUVs purchased for several million dollars by Government for last year's Summit of the Americas and the CHOGM, parked on the compound of VMCOTT in Beetham Gardens.
Author: RATTAN JADOO
Post by: Babalawo on January 07, 2010, 11:17:29 PM
dem should auction some of them off cuz they're worth more for who rode in them, like Yorke did with his lamborginie
Post by: grimm01 on January 08, 2010, 01:41:30 PM
I would like one of the Audi A6 sedans please.
Post by: Flex on November 27, 2011, 06:29:32 AM
Report: Summit $60M over budget
By Andre Bagoo Sunday (Newsday)
November 27 2011

THE FIFTH Summit of the Americas, held in this country in 2009, went over-budget by in excess of $60 million but the final cost cannot be known, according to a special report on the event by Auditor General Sharman Ottley, who found failures of planning and huge gaps in documentation in relation to the $563 million event.

In a special 49-page report submitted to the Office of the Prime Minister, which has been obtained by Sunday Newsday, Ottley found that:

* The original budgeted cost was $503 million, but actual cost may have been in excess of $563 million with huge gaps in accounting documentation, with 23 Cabinet minutes apparently missing;

* The cost of Brian McFarlane’s opening ceremony was $19.1 million; Summit accommodation cruise-ships cost $125.5 million;

* Because of poor coordination, the dates of the Summit had to be shifted at a relatively late stage from original dates of April 16 to April 18, 2009, to April 17 to April 19, 2009 due to the limited availability of cruise-ships to act as accommodation;

* The State incurred a $6.3 million penalty due to late filing of paperwork in relation to the chartering of cruise-ships for the event;

* Due to tardiness, the State was virtually held to ransom, procuring services without open tender on a sole selective basis. In one instance, this resulted in a bill for $70 million for “telecommunication services”; and

* There were clear breaches of State regulations in terms of the accounting for the event.

“We found that the majority of activities involved in planning the 5th Summit occurred during the period 2008 March to 2009 April in spite of the fact that Cabinet gave its approval to host the event in April 2006,” the Auditor General noted in the February 4 special report.

“We found that despite the significant level of expenditure to be incurred for the 5th Summit, a system was not put in place to capture the overall cost. As a result, the total cost of hosting the 5th Summit was not determined and the net financial cost of the event is not known.”

There were problems with State records examined, including the fact that: correspondence contained in procurement files did not carry folio numbers; evaluation reports seen were not signed by the entire evaluation committee; recommendations to the ministerial steering committee of preferred tenders were not seen on file; and documented requests for goods and services from user departments were not seen. Also, the Office of the Prime Minister did not report to the Auditor General and records provided by the public service detailing costs appeared incomplete.

“Annual Financial Statements were not presented by the Accounting Officer of the Office of the Prime Minister. This contravenes instructions issued by the Comptroller of Accounts,” Ottley remarked.

There were huge chunks of expenditure not approved by Cabinet.

“Expenditure for the 5th Summit totalling TT$445,823,599 was seen to have been approved by Cabinet in various Cabinet minutes,” the report noted.

“A request for a complete listing of all Cabinet minutes relating to the 5th Summit was made to both the Double Secretariat and the Cabinet Secretariat.

“A comparison of the lists received revealed that 23 Cabinet minutes were not included on the list from the Cabinet Secretariat. As such, there was a level of uncertainty as to the total expenditure approved by Cabinet for the 5th Summit.”There was also “the lack of a clear audit trail”. Expenditure relating to the 5th Summit was not recorded separately from that of the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM).

While the permanent secretary of the Office of the Prime Minister—not named in the report—told the Auditor General that the cost of the summit was $274 million, the Auditor General remarked, “There are concerns as to the accuracy of this statement due to the following: the omission of administrative expenditure such as staff salaries, stipends, honoraria and rental of office accommodation, and the uncertainty as to whether commitments were included.”

Further, “despite the sums involved, the budget was not subject to any expert review or testing. We found no evidence that consultation was sought with other government agencies and/or experts in the field in developing the budget for the 5th Summit”.

The budgeting for the event was also incomplete, the report said.

Of the total budget, the Auditor General noted, “The funding requirements to host the 5th Summit, estimated at TT$503 million, were not known until 2008 June, less than one year before the event. The methodical development and preparation of the budget of TT$503 million for the 5th Summit by experts in the field was not seen. This budget was prepared by one individual (not named).”

A monitoring mechanism was not formally instituted between the Tourism Development Corporation and the Double Secretariat regarding the procurement of cruise-ship accommodation used to make up for the shortfall of hotel rooms.

At the end of the day, the Auditor General saw a silver lining, noting the event was a learning experience for the country. “It is to be noted however that the Fifth Summit of the Americas was held without major incident or negative consequence and provided an opportunity for learning and growth in the planning, organising and managing of international events,” she said in the last paragraph of the report.

The summit was hailed as a high-point in this country’s history and as an achievement for the administration of former prime minister Patrick Manning.

The event, attended by US president Barack Obama, generated $22.4 million in revenue.
Post by: Sando on May 30, 2013, 03:43:10 AM
Caribbean wants Obama summit
By ANDRE BAGOO Thursday, May 30 2013

HAITI PRESIDENT Michel Martelly — the outgoing chairman of Caricom — on Tuesday reported that Caricom leaders lobbied US vice president Joe Biden over issues surrounding the handling of deportees from the US, arms, trade issues as well as the possibility of the US exercising its influence to arrange access to financing to the region.

Martelly told reporters at the Diplomatic Centre St Ann’s that Caricom leaders regarded vice-president Biden’s short visit en route to a summit in Brazil, as an “important precursor to a summit with President (Barack) Obama.”

Martelly noted the Caricom’s rum dispute with the United States, as well as another dispute on the US efforts to police internet gaming were also raised. The Caricom president said there was a call for the US to, “influence access to concessional financing.”

Several Caricom leaders attended Caricom/US talks including TT’s Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar (incoming Caricom chairman); Martelly; Grenada Prime Minister Keith Mitchell; St Vincent and the Grenadines Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves; St Kitts Prime Minister Dr Denzil Douglas; Bahamas Prime Minister Perry Christie and Dominica Republic President Danilo Medina Sanchez.

Going into the talks, Grenada Prime Minister Mitchell said leaders met and agreed on Tuesday morning to focus on the issues of security and immigration. “I believe we have a couple of fundamental issues to deal with,” he said speaking with reporters just outside the State Room of the Diplomatic Centre after speaking with Caricom leaders on the second floor of the Centre. “The meeting is very short. There is not enough time to go deep to hold major discussions. Therefore, as I said to my colleagues up there a while ago, we must look at what are the issues that are in fact before the American public. We identified the major issues of security and immigration.” He said the region should be strategic and “leverage” the US population’s concerns about the drug trade.

“On the security issue, we are very concerned about the drug issue in our region: the effect it is having on our population. We have commonalities there. Trinidad is spending quite enormous amounts of money and helping us. So the question for the US is how can you help us to maximise potential opportunities here to deal with these problems within our borders,” Mitchell said.

The Grenada PM also said there was need for the deportee issue to also be addressed and also called for information communications technology (ICT) innovation, saying this was key to rehabilitating criminals.

“If we can build on this infrastructure and connect tertiary education institutions in the region in Grenada and Trinidad and Tobago...when they see opportunities like that and that they can earn as much as the can in the US this will make a difference,” he said.

On bi-lateral issues with this country, Mitchell revealed that on his visit to Trinidad earlier this month he raised the issue of Trinidad and Tobago’s ban on honey from Grenada for health reasons. He said the Prime Minister indicated the matter would be looked into urgently.

“The Prime Minister and her team promised to deal with that urgently ,” he said. “And the PM, I believe is an honorable lady and when she makes a promise she will keep it.”

Post by: kounty on May 30, 2013, 10:23:58 AM
Caribbean wants Obama summit
By ANDRE BAGOO Thursday, May 30 2013

The Grenada PM also said there was need for the deportee issue to also be addressed and also called for information communications technology (ICT) innovation, saying this was key to rehabilitating criminals.

Hard to point out one particular thing about the news reports about the Biden visit. But the general feeling I get from the reports is: "I really hope we not that backwards. Really? That is what allyuh wanted to talk about?"