Sports => Football => Topic started by: Trini _2026 on April 17, 2009, 06:41:48 PM

Title: Neymar da Silva Santos
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 17, 2009, 06:41:48 PM
The next big player out of brazil the one to watch

http://www.youtube.com/v/4YIEutYerJs

http://www.youtube.com/v/etheOXw1bfU
Title: Re: Neymar da Silva Santos
Post by: just cool on April 17, 2009, 08:51:41 PM
Real light on his feet and touhes tuh burn. nice.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 18, 2009, 12:06:02 AM
The next big player out of brazil the one to watch

Check out Alan Patrick.
Title: Beat/Gallery ting , still bad
Post by: Jah Gol on September 29, 2011, 09:36:20 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/vabS7JLg7YA&feature=related
Garrinchaesque skill.
Title: Re: Beat/Gallery ting , still bad
Post by: davidephraim on September 29, 2011, 10:02:10 AM
Eh Jah, dat kid is out of dis world. Mama oui!
Post by: Jah Gol on September 29, 2011, 10:06:36 AM
Yeah he has something special on him. In Italy or Spain that kind of thing would be an insult.
Post by: davidephraim on September 29, 2011, 10:28:50 PM
Yeah he has something special on him. In Italy or Spain that kind of thing would be an insult.

goes to show how down-pressed individualism is viewed upon in the world. We have to dumb down everything to ensure it is acceptable.
Post by: Ngozi on September 30, 2011, 12:35:07 AM
that making facebook lmao .... school dem!!!
Post by: davidephraim on September 30, 2011, 05:15:55 AM
that making facebook lmao .... school dem!!!

Boy, ah now had to call meh chirrin and dem to see dis again. It doesn't seem to get boring. Prince Neymar! Samba!
Post by: mukumsplau on September 30, 2011, 05:27:00 AM

is obvious u dont follow the italian league..there are lots of players that love to gallery and the fans love it..
Post by: Jah Gol on September 30, 2011, 06:10:02 AM

is obvious u dont follow the italian league..there are lots of players that love to gallery and the fans love it..
Balotelli was abused by Juventus fans for embarrasing one of their defenders. That kind of standing beat thing does real piss them off.
Post by: dinho on September 30, 2011, 06:17:32 AM
TOOLUM!!! in de corner  :wavetowel:

What is football without some beat sharing?
Post by: Jah Gol on September 30, 2011, 06:21:57 AM
TOOLUM!!! in de corner  :wavetowel:

What is football without some beat sharing?
Worth the taxi fare and the price of entry. 
Post by: mukumsplau on September 30, 2011, 06:29:00 AM

Balotelli was abused by Juventus fans for embarrasing one of their defenders. That kind of standing beat thing does real piss them off.

really is the generalisation i have a problem with..unfortunately there is a not so small and influential section (drughi, curva nord and sud, and other ultra groups) that directed racial insults at him because of his perceived badboy attitude (like how alot on this board does gripe about d man) and of course him being an inter player...ultimately though, a great number of fans will love him at the club...
Post by: Jah Gol on September 30, 2011, 07:17:29 AM

really is the generalisation i have a problem with..unfortunately there is a not so small and influential section (drughi, curva nord and sud, and other ultra groups) that directed racial insults at him because of his perceived badboy attitude (like how alot on this board does gripe about d man) and of course him being an inter player...ultimately though, a great number of fans will love him at the club...
You're right I'm generalising a bit but I've seen it happen.
Post by: davidephraim on September 30, 2011, 07:54:08 AM

While we are on the topic, if ah man could score a penalty with a back heel why should it be considered sacrilegious? Could it be it is considered un-sportsman-like? and if so shouldn't a team after having scored 3-4 goals stop and retire? Is a 8-0 margin not the same? And should one player be able to score 3 n 4 goals against one opponent? should he not have a cap off point in order to "not show off I guess"?
Post by: Jah Gol on September 30, 2011, 08:13:01 AM

While we are on the topic, if ah man could score a penalty with a back heel why should it be considered sacrilegious? Could it be it is considered un-sportsman-like? and if so shouldn't a team after having scored 3-4 goals stop and retire? Is a 8-0 margin not the same? And should one player be able to score 3 n 4 goals against one opponent? should he not have a cap off point in order to "not show off I guess"?
I have the same feeling. The sporting culture in some countries make deliberately embarrassing you opponent taboo.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 30, 2011, 11:20:01 AM
I am on the verge of being the heretic in this Neymar worship .. for a couple reasons, but I'll reserve comment until I see this sequence in total context. Meantime, I'll say what allyuh watching dey is the irreverence of youth and youthful exuberance, not genius.
Post by: kicker on September 30, 2011, 11:35:34 AM
A big part of football in many cultures is entertainment - individual skill is entertaining.  If you happen to be on the receiving end of some entertaining skill, just consider that you were part of the entertainment, and get on with your game - It coulda be anybody so it ain't no personal disrespect... or any disrespect for that matter. 
Post by: dinho on September 30, 2011, 12:03:55 PM
I am on the verge of being the heretic in this Neymar worship .. for a couple reasons, but I'll reserve comment until I see this sequence in total context. Meantime, I'll say what allyuh watching dey is the irreverence of youth and youthful exuberance, not genius.

Huh??  ???
Post by: Daft Trini on September 30, 2011, 12:11:41 PM

I have the same feeling. The sporting culture in some countries make deliberately embarrassing you opponent taboo.

I was D.Q. from a 5000m once because I flipped over the finish line. The Meet Judge and Officials said it was bad sportsmanship...
Post by: soccerman on September 30, 2011, 12:27:00 PM
It's always an attackers dream to catch a defender 1v1 by the corner flag...that's where you have the green light show some flair, skill and brilliance. I don't have a problem with it as long as it doesn't take away from the flow of the game meaning a player killing the game just to show off when his teammates are standing and waiting unsure of what they're supposed to do.
Post by: Observer on September 30, 2011, 01:27:59 PM
Neymar solve the problem of two defenders with his skill and imagination, nothing wrong with that at all.  :applause: ;D
Post by: Cocorite on September 30, 2011, 01:33:54 PM
I can't believe this is even a question in some people's minds. If the objective of the sport (BTW it is a SPORT) is to score more goals than your opponennt, then if yuh do it by gallerying or by boring them to death, the objective is still met. So PLEASE Gallery.

Bring back the days of fun football. :wavetowel:
Post by: dinho on September 30, 2011, 01:34:11 PM

The difference for me is that you can't overlook the tactical value of an in-game beat like that, or class it the same as something like a backheel penalty.

When Neymar carry them 2 men down in that corner and deal wid dem, is one of 2 things happening after.. Them men will back off of him not wishing to get twist up again, or they will come in wild to try to teach him a lesson. What this does is give Neymar an advantage because he has won the individual battle against his opponent, and in addition he has upset the other team's defensive formation.

I have no issues with a team running up goals.

Now a backheel penalty in my opinion is just assness with no tangible value to the game, but that is just the way I see it. I respect that others appreciate that.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 30, 2011, 02:08:13 PM
It's always an attackers dream to catch a defender 1v1 by the corner flag...that's where you have the green light show some flair, skill and brilliance. I don't have a problem with it as long as it doesn't take away from the flow of the game meaning a player killing the game just to show off when his teammates are standing and waiting unsure of what they're supposed to do.

That's part of why I reserved comment .... 
Post by: asylumseeker on September 30, 2011, 02:09:36 PM
I can't believe this is even a question in some people's minds. If the objective of the sport (BTW it is a SPORT) is to score more goals than your opponennt, then if yuh do it by gallerying or by boring them to death, the objective is still met. So PLEASE Gallery.

Bring back the days of fun football. :wavetowel:

I agree ... provided the collective is not sacrificed.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 30, 2011, 02:11:23 PM

Huh??  ???

What's your question? The irreverence of youth and youthful exuberance bit?
Post by: Cowen on September 30, 2011, 02:21:10 PM
Some men just can't and not taking the gallery ting. Allyuh forgt what Gerrard do Hyland in the Stadium.  ;D
Long where Hyland reach now  :beermug:
Post by: Jah Gol on March 08, 2012, 09:49:00 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/GoKFjSkMCiI
Post by: King Deese on March 08, 2012, 10:49:32 AM
Neymar is certainly blessed and having that kinda skill and ability to run that fast with the ball attached to his feet like a string attached to the ball is what makes crowds around the world pay to see him in sweet motion. The two goals against Inter reminded me of the goal Ryan Giggs, for ManU in the their run for the 1999 treble season, scored against Arsenal to go to the FA final.

Michael Jordan once said that defenders can't stop him because they are at his mercy when he is attacking the basket. He knows how he is going to get there but they don't. The ability to think as fast as the eye could blink and the coordination to move his feet with lightning grace is magical, breathtaking and a sight to behold. If you have never seen Michael live, you missed a maestro at play with a basketball.

Play on Neymar, play on, you are in rarefied air.
Post by: socalion on March 08, 2012, 11:59:49 AM
Agreed 1000% . just to add a side show comment it was  just a few  days ago i sat  reading some forumites gleefully recalling their  lil shining moment when  dey  embarass an opposing  player/players with samba dribbling skills bringing laughter and joy to meh face, as i write am still smiling ......what i want to know is whats the debate about someone  being blessed with such amazing skills .... its obvious  neymar is a godblessed talent for all to see ....so  to all the brethren  lets just enjoy the youthman do his thing . he's a joy to watch ..... the youth is a nightmare to  defenders let dem go figure out how to solve his godgiven skills and trickery ...... ah lovng it... Neymar do ur thing  ...hope he remains  healthy and injury free.  ah wonder if anybody recall a player call Russell de magic man Latapy??   , all jokes aside  neymar  is a gift for all to see ...  just enjoy the baller . ....
Post by: Mose on March 08, 2012, 12:46:31 PM
Dat youth have a serious change of pace!!!  :beermug:
Post by: Preacher on March 08, 2012, 01:13:46 PM
Dang!!!   Wow!!   Smh!!!   Quick silver is his name.   Poisonous youth. 
Post by: Deeks on March 08, 2012, 04:54:09 PM
That speed and control! Priceless. Coach can't coach that. Is either you have it or you don't. Gallery!!!!!
Post by: Peong on March 09, 2012, 08:28:49 AM
Speed and audacity, love it bad.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 15, 2012, 04:23:04 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/0TBuev7ynac&feature=related
Post by: Peong on April 15, 2012, 04:33:01 PM
That did not warrant a red at all.
Ridiculous beat though, poor defender.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 15, 2012, 06:30:09 PM
That did not warrant a red at all.
Ridiculous beat though, poor defender.
Agreed . And as sick as the beat was he would never get that kinda time to put he hand on he waist and gallery in Spain or Italy. Real entertaining though.

The most disrespectful part is he and ganso friggin laughing after.
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 15, 2012, 06:34:57 PM
 :rotfl: he made the most out of the foul.....but d beat was rel dread.  :D
Post by: dinho on April 15, 2012, 08:40:54 PM
Yeah but let him try that against Stoke on a cold wednesday night...  ::)

Seriously though, that was nasty.. I woulda kick him down too.
Post by: Toppa on April 15, 2012, 11:35:34 PM

Post by: andre samuel on April 16, 2012, 04:37:40 AM

The time it take for him to put his hands on his hips, Shawcross and Huth woulda done slide in.............lol
Post by: Deeks on April 16, 2012, 06:56:22 AM

The time it take for him to put his hands on his hips, Shawcross and Huth woulda done slide in.............lol

True, he probably could not do it at Stoke, but what if Stoke was at Santos.... you think he would not at have done it?
Post by: truetrini on April 16, 2012, 07:30:42 AM

True, he probably could not do it at Stoke, but what if Stoke was at Santos.... you think he would not at have done it?

Anywhere in England, in any league he getting wood.
Anywhere against English teams, is level blade.
Post by: Deeks on April 16, 2012, 04:24:42 PM

Anywhere in England, in any league he getting wood.
Anywhere against English teams, is level blade.

Yep, is level blade he getting. And is level red cards for them defenders.
Title: Neymar is a boss
Post by: chelsealife on May 11, 2012, 01:45:43 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vUwVvyXkElY&feature=player_embedded
Post by: Jah Gol on May 11, 2012, 02:19:09 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/H-RqBTteflo
Post by: dinho on May 11, 2012, 04:14:31 PM

This youth does really test the human threshold for embarassment dread...

Sex, belt, spanner, flick.... then ah man colleck ah rainbow all kinda ting??

Wow dread, some ah dem defenders must be reach home feeling like dey manhood get compromised.
Post by: Observer on May 11, 2012, 04:41:13 PM

This youth does really test the human threshold for embarassment dread...

Sex, belt, spanner, flick.... then ah man colleck ah rainbow all kinda ting??

Wow dread, some ah dem defenders must be reach home feeling like dey manhood get compromised.

hahhaha :rotfl:

The Brazilian league and Copa America in general is a style of play where the fields are stretched & players are allowed space. It will be interesting to see how he adapts to Europe, where space is limited and players like him receive close attention from more than one player.
No doubt he is talented and lapping up the  environment.
Post by: Deeks on May 11, 2012, 05:00:34 PM
Allyuh could say the Euro league is better than the South American. but i enjoying every minute. AH LUV IT. Everytime I say, this is the best I have seen,  and someone come along and do something extra, and make you think twice about the previous best player. I don't know how long he go last but it is a sight to behold. The goal against Flamengo was ah boss goal. AH LUV IT. And I am a big Fla. fan.
Post by: Observer on May 12, 2012, 06:29:22 AM
Deeks I eh think anyone saying "better,"   teams more organized, less space, etc etc. The South American football is very exciting and open, I love the Argentinian league myself. The last three years the Brazilian league has stepped up (use to be slow paced, and peppered with fouls).
Post by: truetrini on May 12, 2012, 10:11:08 AM
I want to see him in England doing them things...lol
Post by: Tallman on May 12, 2012, 10:27:24 AM

Okocha went England and do dem tings.
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 12, 2012, 10:30:10 AM

....yuh know I doh think he would do dem ting in England (I doh think he would even go and play in in England but dize fuh another thread) I think he would tone it down a bit knowing that dize jes not the way football is played there....doh get me wrong, he go beat some men and beat some ah dem sstink, but the kinda showmanship that he puttin' on in Brazil where he embarrasing men rel bad and ting, I eh think he go do that.

dize true....good point.
Post by: truetrini on May 12, 2012, 10:33:43 AM

Yes he did them overhead flicks etc. and he was magical in truth.  But he tone dat shit down when man come hard at him..not so?
Post by: truetrini on May 12, 2012, 10:37:44 AM
Remember ah wonder goal he scored against West Ham>>>?? and dem free kicks?  Man Jay Jay was boss, after he left Bolton dem crash bad  wonder what he would have done with a supporting cast??
Post by: lefty on May 12, 2012, 12:29:12 PM
but for all he football talent he seem to be looking to acting as ah backup if football eh work out ;D ;D nice player non d less
Post by: Jah Gol on May 16, 2012, 03:43:02 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/a_649lOW2IE
Post by: Tongue on May 16, 2012, 05:48:28 PM
Deeks I eh think anyone saying "better,"   teams more organized, less space, etc etc. The South American football is very exciting and open, I love the Argentinian league myself. The last three years the Brazilian league has stepped up (use to be slow paced, and peppered with fouls).

with de kinda beat that does sharing in dah league yuh kyah fault dem man for fouling nah! and worst yet when beat share de crowd does go orf like ah Trini crowd. OOOOOgooud look at beeeeeeeat.  :)
Post by: Big Magician on May 18, 2012, 04:02:49 PM
doh study what he could do in Europe....2014 coming...and BRAZZil puting hopes on him
Post by: Tallman on October 18, 2012, 04:54:21 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/qrnTdLezuK0
Post by: Jah Gol on June 01, 2013, 12:57:45 PM
I have respect for a lot of the England players as they have achieved great things at their clubs. But, as a national team, I don't look at England and think they are going to be a real threat at the World Cup…..I look at as a real threat are Germany and Spain. After that it's a group including Argentina, Holland, Italy and one or two more. But England I don't even think about'.

-Neymar da Silva
Post by: Observer on June 01, 2013, 01:45:08 PM
I have respect for a lot of the England players as they have achieved great things at their clubs. But, as a national team, I don't look at England and think they are going to be a real threat at the World Cup…..I look at as a real threat are Germany and Spain. After that it's a group including Argentina, Holland, Italy and one or two more. But England I don't even think about'.

-Neymar da Silva

Belgium can be a dark horse. They have good individual quality in many positions, but may lack experience.
Post by: triniairman on June 01, 2013, 01:46:28 PM

-Neymar da Silva
too funny, and disrespectful at the same time.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 01, 2013, 01:58:48 PM

-Neymar da Silva
too funny, and disrespectful at the same time.
funny, true but not disrespectful...however he should hush his mouth since brazil in a mess right now.

england is only a contender if u talking to english supporters...the last time they made a note in the WC was 1990.
Post by: Observer on June 01, 2013, 03:03:50 PM
Don't see it as disrespectful at all. The English have seriously underachieved on the International stage. Since 66 they have done little for a Nation that boast to own the game. An honest assessment will show one semi since 66. They have not even made a note in the Euro. EVER. England have a reputation of doing well in Friendly matches, but when push come to shove they have a history of folding like parata.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 01, 2013, 03:14:11 PM

-Neymar da Silva

Belgium can be a dark horse. They have good individual quality in many positions, but may lack experience.
I figure that's who he's talking about.
Post by: sammy on June 01, 2013, 10:37:21 PM
what ever happen to that other brazilian who was supposed to light up europe?????? - umm he used to play for real and then ac ...ronbinwho.

anyhow we go see if neymar could upstage messi.
Title: Spain’s down with OPP, Neymar’s saucy 69 and Minala’s age-old secret
Post by: SWF Reporter on February 14, 2014, 05:47:05 PM
W/Cup stories: Spain’s down with OPP, Neymar’s saucy 69 and Minala’s age-old secret
By Mr Live Wire

Is it June yet?

Nothing like seeing your top strikers knocking them in for fun to get excited about the World Cup. Oh yeah, Argentina has it in the bag.

All the Argies need now are two full backs, a solid central defensive partnership, a steady goalkeeper, a reliable box-to-box midfielder to play alongside Javier Mascherano and at least one world class winger apart from Angel Di Maria.

Ehh… Oh dear.

Your favourite team probably isn’t doing much better anyway.

The beauty of the 2014 World Cup is that there is no clear favourite.

Spain? Don’t think so. Brazil is the only country on the South American continent that their tiki taka conquistadores never conquered; and no wonder if General Vicente del Bosque’s brilliant tactical plan is typical from their invading forces.

Spain’s decision to poach Brazil’s best striker Diego Costa as a precursor to their trip to South America could not be one of del Bosque’s brightest ideas. Something like Newsday’s editorial staff moving next door to the Beetham’s oldest lingerie model after the paper’s unflattering front page show and tell.

Is your team camp going to be in Caracas, del Bosque?

The World Cup should be about my country’s best players against yours. Why the hell is a nation blessed with Alvaro Negredo, David Villa, Roberto Soldado and Fernando Torres still down with OPP?
With that kind of lust for things it has no right to own, no wonder Spain got caught out when the financial bubble burst.

And the host nation? It is still blessed with Neymar, the quintessential Brazilian public persona; an amalgamation of beautiful smiles and secret bank accounts.

I mean the kid just turned 22 but already is involved in one of football’s most corrupt deals of all time; a transfer so crooked that he should wear “Piarco International Airport” on the back of his Barcelona shirt.

Barcelona paid the boy’s club, Santos, 17.1 million euros for his services while everyone else carved up 69.1 million euros on the transfer. 69?! No wonder Santos feels screwed. Even Jack Warner had to shower twice when he heard about it.

FIFA has bigger problems right now with protests in Brazil showing no signs of ending; just like their stadia. Not that Trinidad and Tobago football fans are allowed to be judgmental in this case.

After all, the ICC is still waiting for the Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba that was promised for the 2007 World Cup.

Let’s go pitch level though.

Sad scenes in Italy where AC Milan and Azzurri star Mario Balotelli broke down in tears after being substituted at a league match in Naples. So far, there has been no confirmation as to what shook up Italy’s temperamental man-child but, naturally, there was speculation about racist provocation.

Mr Live Wire understands that 17-year-old Lazio player Joseph Minala heard about the treatment he could face if he made it in Italy and aged overnight. Either that or Benjamin Button’s make-up artists have too much spare time on their hands.

In England, coach Roy Hodgson confirmed that he has no idea how to get the “Three Lions” into the knockout stage when he publicly challenged Wayne Rooney to explode at the 2014 World Cup. This is Rooney’s third World Cup and so far the only explosion he managed was between Ricardo Carvalho’s legs in Germany 2006.

As if “Wazza” doesn’t have enough on his plate with trying to drag Manchester United into next season’s Champions League; now he gets to be Hodgson’s fall guy too.

If Rooney explodes, England will be alright, eh Roy? And the FA chose this guy because of his supposed tactically acumen? Clearly the FA thinks Harry Redknapp’s shoes have no laces then.

Meanwhile, the German Football Association (DFB) took efficiency to another level after the DFB promised, last December, to build its own 65 room hotel for the Germany squad complete with a training pitch and press centre in a secluded area in Bahia which can only by accessed by ferry.

Forget Keith Rowley; can we vote for the DFB in the next elections?
Post by: Tallman on February 15, 2014, 04:51:38 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/_p9KWE-a22Y
Post by: Dumplingdinho on February 15, 2014, 05:15:05 PM
golaso
Post by: Deeks on February 15, 2014, 05:22:53 PM
golaso

aso aso aso aso aso!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I watched the first and I telling mehself Rayo playing good and go give Barsa a fight. I did not see the 2nd half. I guess my thought was incorrect.
Post by: Flex on February 20, 2014, 12:28:42 PM
Judge accepts Neymar 'tax fraud' case
By Dermot Corrigan, Spain Correspondent

Barcelona are to be investigated for a "tax fraud" of 9.1 million euros related to the transfer of Neymar from Santos last summer.

Reports surfaced in the local media on Wednesday that the Spanish tax authorities had launched a case against the Catalan club, while Barca themselves have denied defrauding the taxman.

Judge Pablo Ruz, though, has since accepted the prosecutor's request, with a court spokesman saying in the Guardian: "Judge Pablo Ruz has charged FC Barcelona with an infringement against the tax authority relating to the purchase of the Brazilian player."

Madrid-based judge Ruz is currently conducting an investigation into the complicated 86.2 million-euro deal, and has asked Barcelona, Neymar’s father and FIFA for all documentation relating to the transfer amid reported suspicions of the existence of different versions of the paperwork.

A public prosecutor presented a new petition to Spain’s High Court on Wednesday outlining the reasons for wanting to take a tax case against the Catalan club. “There is a whole series of contracts that show signs of simulation, as well as financial engineering operations,” the writ reads according to El Pais.

The prosecutor, Jose Perals, claims that Barca paid a total 37.9 million euros in a signing on fee (10 million euros in 2011 and 27.9 million euros in 2013) to join the club -- money which he maintains income tax of 9.1 million euros must be paid on.

Barca have previously maintained that this figure was paid as a "penalty clause" which was triggered when the Catalan club signed the player 12 months earlier than had been previously agreed. This money was -- according to the club’s own website -- paid to a company controlled by Neymar’s father.

Judge Ruz, reports El Pais, has accepted that the 37.9 million-euro payment "could correspond, in its true nature, to a big remuneration to the player" which would therefore be liable for Spanish income tax.

Barca have admitted that they paid out a total of 86.2 million euros when signing the Brazilian player last summer, with different amounts being paid to his former club Santos and an agency controlled by his father. Some of these payments are claimed to relate to services not directly related to the transfer, including marketing, scouting and development work in Sao Paulo.

Santos and "third-party investors" who previously held a share of Neymar’s "playing rights" are also unhappy with how the 86.2 million euros was divided up, with the Brazilian club having a request that FIFA hand over all its documentation relating to the case rejected by a court in Sao Paulo.

Catalan newspaper El Periodico printed a copy of a petition from Spain’s Fiscalia de la Audiencia Nacional which speaks of the different payments made and the issues which the authorities have with Barca’s version of events.

Sandro Rosell, who stepped down as Barcelona president in January as the controversy over the transfer intensified, new Barca chief Josep Maria Bartomeu and Neymar Sr could all be called to testify as investigations in the Spanish capital continue.

All of the individuals involved continue to maintain that the deal was all legally above board. In January, prior to Rosell's resignation, the Catalan club released a statement saying that the transfer was complex but not illegal.

“The complexity of the contract, which the prosecutor calls 'contract simulation', has never been in itself illegal and we believe that the prosecutor is mistaken to believe that it is,” that statement said.

Post by: Flex on June 04, 2014, 11:36:38 AM
'Neymar signing could cost €169.9m'
ESPNFC

Barcelona could end up paying a total of 169.9 million euros for the signing of Neymar, according to AS.

On Tuesday, Spain's tax office submitted its report to High Court judge Pablo Ruz, concluding that Barca committed tax fraud totalling 9.1 million euros.

AS.com reports that Barca now face a potential fine of up to 54.6 million euros, which would come on top of the following payments: federative rights (17 million euros), compensation (40 million euros), bonus (10 million euros), commission paid to Neymar's father (2.7 million euros), Ballon d'Or (2 million euros), sponsors (4 million euros), social projects (2.5 million euros), first refusal on Santos players (7.9 million euros), scouting in Brazil (2 million euros), friendly match (4.5 million euros), voluntary tax payment (13.5 million euros) and unpaid tax (9.1 million euros).

Former Barca president Sandro Rosell has been summoned to appear at the High Court.

On Jan. 20, three days before his resignation, he had appeared at Barca's Auditorium 1899 facility to present the club's project for the remodelling of the Camp Nou but spurned any questions on the Neymar case, which on that same morning the High Court had agreed to hear.

At the time, Rosell said: "Neymar cost 57.1 million, full stop. We've spoken about this issue quite enough."

The then-Barcelona president challenged Ruz to summon him to testify; he has now received that summons and will appear on June 13, along with Barca director general Antoni Rossich, who will act as a representative for the club.

The day after Rosell left Barcelona, with Josep Maria Bartomeu installed as his replacement, the official figures changed, AS said. While Rosell had insisted the deal totalled 57.1 million euros, the club then announced that the actual cost had been 86.2 million euros. Barca's director for football management, Raul Sanllehi, then announced that the numbers had been "put together carefully."

For the moment, the High Court has set aside five days in which to extend the case to other individuals.

Post by: CaribKaraoke on November 13, 2014, 08:43:04 AM
First 5 years as a pro:

Neymar: 205 goals
Lionel Messi: 125 goals
Cristiano Ronaldo: 118 goals

Hard to think anyone can match CR7 and Messi for greatness, and I know he's wasn't in La Liga or the Prem, but he was still in Brazil and that league isn't terrible. Plus his goals for country rivals and surpasses both.

Country Stats in the first 5 years:

NeymarRonaldoMessi
YearAppsGoalsYearAppsGoalsYearAppsGoals
Total594253204413

We might be witnessing the greatest of all time. I never believed Pele when he said this 3 years ago...but for country and now for Barca, he's amazing. I still have him right now a notch below Hazard, Di Maria, Messi, Ronaldo and pre-bite Suarez, but he's right there.

Post by: Flex on August 25, 2015, 07:04:17 AM
A $218 million bid? $360 million price tag? Neymar, Manchester United saga raising eyebrows
By Nicholas Mendola

Neymar’s agent was at Old Trafford for Manchester United’s weekend clash with Newcastle United, jumpstarting the unlikely rumors that the Brazilian superstar could be en route to the Theater of Dreams.

And as crazy as it sounds, the reports have done two things for the world of soccer:

Taught us how willing the media is to run with unlikelihood Shown us some crazy big transfer fees

At some level, this Neymar story is perfect. We rarely get to see a megastar, still on the verge of his prime years, change clubs. So the deals we see are usually on potential, star power or name quality.

With Neymar, we get to see all three. And the prices are staggering.

Reports from Brazil’s GloboEsporte say that United have bid approximately $218 million for Neymar — the price tag of his release clause — but that’s nothing compared to the report that Red Devils executive is willing to pay up to $360 million for the star, hoping to make the man the flagship of his business.

That’s 3.6 million $100 replica kits. For comparison, United and Real Madrid duke it out annually for most replica shirts sold as a club. The number in 2013-14 was around 1.5 million.

The Guardian says Neymar has told United he’s interested in joining their club, but that the Premier League outfit is well aware that it could be a ploy to get a new, rich deal from Barcelona.

Neymar is signed through 2018 at Barcelona, and president Josep Maria Bartomeu doesn’t expect him to go:

“We do not want Neymar to leave,” the Blaugrana supremo told Radio Catalunya . “He is young and we want him to retire here at our club.”

Yet could they turn down $360 million? Even at Barca, that number is bonkers.

There’s another level to this, and it involves setting the market. $360 million is close to three Gareth Bales (Sold for 85 million pounds). So perhaps it’s the same thing as Bale with a closely-cropped haircut. The repercussions would be staggering, raising the fees for mid-level players as well and lighting a fuse connected to Financial Fair Play and fiscal responsibility.

In any event, even considering the numbers above it would be shocking if any Neymar sale happened before Sept. 1. Barcelona doesn’t get the influx of players it bought this summer until after its transfer ban is lifted ahead of the January window. And with Pedro sold, the money would only help the club if they had a replacement ready right away.

Still, the saga is showing us something new, and something bonkers. We’ve gotten used to big numbers in the transfer world, but nothing like this.

Post by: Mose on August 25, 2015, 08:16:01 AM
Madness! Neymar is a great player, but $360 mil?
Can't get with that!
Post by: grimm01 on August 25, 2015, 12:39:28 PM
Can't get with that!
For that money Neymar has to score goals, replace DeGea in goal, play as an additional defender, collect tickets at the gate and share out sno-cone at half time.

Neymar just following Dani Alves and Sergio Ramos script and stringing along Man U as leverage to get his club to give him a better contract. And in this case, with the transfer ban and Pedro rolling out he has a decent hand and a short window to make something happen. Just plant a few stories in the media to get fans worried and force Barca to handle it expeditiously.
Post by: Mose on August 25, 2015, 12:57:14 PM
Can't get with that!
For that money Neymar has to score goals, replace DeGea in goal, play as an additional defender, collect tickets at the gate and share out sno-cone at half time.

Neymar just following Dani Alves and Sergio Ramos script and stringing along Man U as leverage to get his club to give him a better contract. And in this case, with the transfer ban and Pedro rolling out he has a decent hand and a short window to make something happen. Just plant a few stories in the media to get fans worried and force Barca to handle it expeditiously.

Agreed! Same reason I've been ignoring talk about us getting Bale and/or Ronaldo.
Post by: grimm01 on August 26, 2015, 07:09:12 AM
Can't get with that!

Agreed! Same reason I've been ignoring talk about us getting Bale and/or Ronaldo.

Mose, I saw this line in the UK Guardian this morning and thought it was funny given the Neymar-ManU talk:

"Manchester United could probably earn a few quid if they just register themselves as agents and take the 15% from all these new contracts they’re helping other players to sign. Apparently Thomas Müller is the latest to find their reported interest very handy indeed when negotiating a box-fresh deal from Bayern, which will earn him something like €10million-a-year."
Post by: Mose on August 26, 2015, 08:21:47 AM
Can't get with that!

Mose, I saw this line in the UK Guardian this morning and thought it was funny given the Neymar-ManU talk:

"Manchester United could probably earn a few quid if they just register themselves as agents and take the 15% from all these new contracts they’re helping other players to sign. Apparently Thomas Müller is the latest to find their reported interest very handy indeed when negotiating a box-fresh deal from Bayern, which will earn him something like €10million-a-year."
:D Nicely put! :beermug:
Post by: asylumseeker on June 01, 2016, 03:16:02 AM
http://www.foxsports.com/soccer/story/neymar-jr-new-york-mets-barcelona-batting-practice-juggling-brazil-053116
Post by: asylumseeker on June 01, 2016, 03:18:48 AM
http://www.foxsports.com/soccer/story/neymar-has-jordan-brand-s-first-ever-soccer-collaboration-053116
Post by: frico on June 01, 2016, 05:57:54 AM
Could be big in Brazil but he will have to experience some European defenders to be sure he can last and become big.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 01, 2016, 07:20:58 AM
Could be big in Brazil but he will have to experience some European defenders to be sure he can last and become big.

Davyjenny material.
Post by: lefty on June 01, 2016, 07:30:29 AM

Davyjenny material.
WAIS nah.......refuse to believe this nah  lolz

Sent from my BLU ADVANCE 4.0 using Tapatalk

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 01, 2016, 08:40:58 AM

Davyjenny material.

I second that!  All now I tryin to figure out WDF he tawkin bout lmao
Post by: boss on June 01, 2016, 09:36:15 AM

(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8546/8673008591_18bc660bee_o.jpg)
Post by: frico on June 01, 2016, 10:15:43 AM
Ah glad ah could give allyuh ah Davy Jenny moment of laughter,but I didn't look at the date and didn't know Neymar's full name,like all good Trinis laughing at people seems to be what allyuh best at,sometimes take a look at yourself,allyuh who love to laugh not so special.I didn't think for a minute it was Neymar,this player looked black,so I obviously thought it was a new Brazillian player,but why should I explain to you lot,allyuh seem to be great keyboard warriors,ah giving credit where it's due.
Post by: maxg on June 01, 2016, 10:55:20 AM
 apps..is we Trinis now oui  :worried:  ah taking another look at mehself  :laugh:
Post by: FF on June 01, 2016, 11:08:44 AM
All dat response  :devil:

Post by: palos on June 01, 2016, 12:25:39 PM

(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8546/8673008591_18bc660bee_o.jpg)

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 01, 2016, 12:43:42 PM

Man cah even take he nomination wid ah lil dignity self nah boy :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: lefty on June 01, 2016, 12:44:11 PM
Ah glad ah could give allyuh ah Davy Jenny moment of laughter,but I didn't look at the date and didn't know Neymar's full name,like all good Trinis laughing at people seems to be what allyuh best at,sometimes take a look at yourself,allyuh who love to laugh not so special.I didn't think for a minute it was Neymar,this player looked black,so I obviously thought it was a new Brazillian player,but why should I explain to you lot,allyuh seem to be great keyboard warriors,ah giving credit where it's due.
dread relax
(http://img.memecdn.com/Just-chill_o_52182.jpg)
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/a6/99/7f/a6997f93f83f9d49a1cb45b179357e5f.jpg)
Post by: lefty on June 01, 2016, 12:44:55 PM

Man cah even take he nomination wid ah lil dignity self nah boy :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Post by: frico on June 01, 2016, 02:59:59 PM
I expect correction,that is what I will do.I never laugh at people's mistake.Trinis are the most educated and sophisticated people in the world,we are different in many ways.Anyway I have done a lot of posting on this site,and don't normally get any response,this one where I posted,and was wrong in my response,gave you blokes some comic relief,at least I gave you all a bit of laughter enjoy it.
Don't worry,I haven't taken it that seriously because I have understood this MB since the day I joined,lets hope we beat China.
Post by: palos on June 01, 2016, 03:19:16 PM
I expect correction,that is what I will do.I never laugh at people's mistake.Trinis are the most educated and sophisticated people in the world,we are different in many ways.Anyway I have done a lot of posting on this site,and don't normally get any response,this one where I posted,and was wrong in my response,gave you blokes some comic relief,at least I gave you all a bit of laughter enjoy it.
Don't worry,I haven't taken it that seriously because I have understood this MB since the day I joined,lets hope we beat China.

Breddrin...is picong. As a Trini you MUST know dat

Also as a Trini....yuh must know dat de more yuh protess or play sensitive....is de more PONG yuh go get  :devil: :beermug:
Post by: Peong on June 01, 2016, 03:58:44 PM
How china come in this frico?
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 01, 2016, 05:14:33 PM
Learn to laugh at yuhself lil bit, boss.
Post by: frico on June 02, 2016, 04:11:31 AM
Mate,I've lived in England most of my life,and if I couldn't laugh at myself I wudda dead wid stress by now.The fact I did a shitty post ,and got laughed at was OK to an extent ,but none of the boys even attempted to correct me.I don't know how many posts I've made on this MB ,but I hardly ever get any response,not that it bothers me,as long as I give an opinion I'm happy with that,but this post about Neymar brought the house down,which was understandable up to a point.I have family who duz come to England and dem laugh at me,and mock some of the tings I do or say so I am aware of Trini culture,ah sometimes have to ask why allyuh laughing,they respond with "it awrite man,doh worry"
Post by: frico on June 02, 2016, 04:15:34 AM
How china come in this frico?
That's a good question,thanks for putting me right,much appreciated. :D
Post by: futbolfan on June 02, 2016, 07:33:37 AM
iz kicks we on... now what yuh don't want to happen iz the davyjenny award being renamed to de frico
Post by: lefty on June 02, 2016, 07:45:43 AM
iz kicks we on... now what yuh don't want to happen iz the davyjenny award being renamed to de frico

lolol
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 02, 2016, 09:04:25 AM
Mate,I've lived in England most of my life,and if I couldn't laugh at myself I wudda dead wid stress by now.The fact I did a shitty post ,and got laughed at was OK to an extent ,but none of the boys even attempted to correct me.I don't know how many posts I've made on this MB ,but I hardly ever get any response,not that it bothers me,as long as I give an opinion I'm happy with that,but this post about Neymar brought the house down,which was understandable up to a point.I have family who duz come to England and dem laugh at me,and mock some of the tings I do or say so I am aware of Trini culture,ah sometimes have to ask why allyuh laughing,they respond with "it awrite man,doh worry"

Hoss yuh dam lie!!  You cah laugh at yuhself one ass.  Look how much response yuh write already.  You ackin worse dan dem Americans who does cry cyber bullying!

Ah feel we could have ah frico award in de future fuh posters who complain de most  :rotfl:
Post by: palos on June 02, 2016, 11:30:14 AM

Hoss yuh dam lie!!  You cah laugh at yuhself one ass.  Look how much response yuh write already.  You ackin worse dan dem Americans who does cry cyber bullying!

Ah feel we could have ah frico award in de future fuh posters who complain de most  :rotfl:

Ease up on we breddrin frico bruh...... ;D
Post by: Jumbie on June 02, 2016, 12:46:34 PM
Doh study dem davyjenny, is only ah shitty Brazilian player.
Post by: frico on June 02, 2016, 12:52:26 PM
Doh study dem davyjenny, is only ah shitty Brazilian player.
Awrite brudda! :)
Post by: soccerman on August 03, 2017, 04:14:44 PM
This man transfer fee was over 2x as much as Pogba and he's making over 30 mil a year, surprised PSG can afford that.
Post by: palos on August 03, 2017, 06:10:51 PM
This man transfer fee was over 2x as much as Pogba and he's making over 30 mil a year, surprised PSG can afford that.

Paris Saint Germain

Owner/Controlling Shareholder: Qatar Sports Investments

You still surprised?
Post by: Peong on August 03, 2017, 06:40:20 PM
QSI have money to burn. I watchin Barca scramble to replace him.
Post by: soccerman on August 03, 2017, 07:02:14 PM

Paris Saint Germain

Owner/Controlling Shareholder: Qatar Sports Investments

You still surprised?
Didn't know the owner owned that company but I think PSG will have to prove to UEFA that they are able to make the payments through the business of the club i.e. Ticket sales, merchandise, TV, etc. I was surprised that they were generating that type of revenue when PSG is not a top 5 club and the French League is not even in the top 3 in Europe.
Post by: Deeks on August 04, 2017, 05:48:54 AM
Oh, how wonderful it is too have over 300 million in discretionary income aka pocket change for the mega-rich.
Post by: Sam on August 04, 2017, 06:25:36 AM
Overprice

Post by: real madness on August 04, 2017, 06:40:18 AM
Overprice

players overpriced for a while now.  Pogba is another example.
Post by: Deeks on August 04, 2017, 07:21:18 AM
If you willing to pay that amount for a player, then that is going rate. That is the "stupidity" of economics. Take it or leave it.
Post by: real madness on August 04, 2017, 07:48:47 AM
If you willing to pay that amount for a player, then that is going rate. That is the "stupidity" of economics. Take it or leave it.

yeah it is all about market price. although Neymar can be considered overprice that it the going rate now.  As you said take it or leave it.  teams trying to win will take it.  look at Mbappe, got talent but not much of  along track record can probably cost as much as Neymar if Real willing to pay.
Post by: Deeks on August 04, 2017, 10:39:18 AM
Real madness, this transfer season is real madness. Pun intended. Imagine when Maradona transferred to Barsa, 5 million was the world record fee. When he went to Napoli for 5.9 mil, that was the record fee then. Somebody go end up  in St Ann's.
Post by: palos on August 04, 2017, 11:00:16 AM
How much revenue does football generate?

TV rights
Sponsorship deals
Merchandising

etc etc

The transfer fees are just that.  Transfer fees.  They aren't salaries.  That PSG is willing to pay that amount for Neymar is indication of the revenue that football brings in.

If the revenue doesn't go to the principals....i.e. the players and clubs.....who should it go to?

Allyuh would be comfortable with say 20 million for Neymar and Qatar Investment Sports pocket the rest?

PSG gets who they think will be, and may already be very close to being, the best player on the planet.

Barca gets 220 Million Euro in return

I'm sure both think it's good business for each.  PSG's goal is to win the Champions League.  With Neymar added to their squad, they believe he can take them over the top into thatt tippy top tier of Real, Barca, and Bayern

I like their ambition.  And I wouldn't put it past them to become Champions League Champions in 2018
Post by: maxg on August 04, 2017, 01:57:35 PM
Hope somebody give the kids back in Sao Paulo a lil something something too
Post by: Deeks on August 04, 2017, 03:29:29 PM
Hope somebody give the kids back in Sao Paulo a lil something something too

Actually he was from Santos, which is close to Sao Paulo.
Post by: Flex on August 22, 2017, 03:13:08 PM
Barcelona sue Neymar for breach of contract, seeking bonus plus €8.5m
BY SAMUEL MARSDEN

Barcelona are suing Neymar for a breach of contract after the Brazilian left the club for Paris Saint-Germain earlier this month.

Having already said they would refuse to pay €26 million in bonus payments Neymar was due to receive this summer, Barcelona are now attempting to claim back money already paid to the player.

The Catalan club said on Tuesday they believe they are owed money that Neymar received as part of a renewal bonus when he signed a new contract last year, in addition to €8.5m in damages plus interest.

The amount of the renewal bonus the club are seeking was not immediately made public.

In a statement released on Tuesday, Barca said they had passed the complaint on to the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF), having first filed the lawsuit in a Barcelona court on Aug. 11.

"FC Barcelona have sent a claim to be made against Neymar for breach of contract to the RFEF for it to be passed on to the French Football Federation [FFF] and FIFA," the statement read.

"In the lawsuit, the club demands the player return the already paid sum for his contract renewal because he has not fulfilled his contract; €8.5m in damages; and an additional 10 percent in interest. The club also requests that PSG subsidise the amounts in the event that the player cannot take responsibility."

Neymar put pen to paper on a new five-year deal at Camp Nou last October, and in addition to the bonus he was paid at the time, he was due to receive €26m more this summer.

However, after his world-record €222m transfer to PSG went through, Barcelona spokesman Josep Vives confirmed the club would not be making the payment because Neymar had not fulfilled his contractual duties.

"There were three conditions -- one, that the player didn't negotiate with another club before July 31; two, that he publicly expressed his decision to fulfil his contract; and three, the payment was to be made on Sept. 1 to ensure he didn't go to another club," Vives said.

"With these criteria not met, the club will not pay the renewal bonus. The money is no longer with a notary but back with the club."

Neymar did not publicly say he was considering a move to PSG until Aug. 3, the day Barcelona terminated his contract and he signed with his new team.

Barcelona's claim comes just days after Neymar blasted the club's board.

"I do have something to say: that I am disappointed with them [the Barca directors]," Neymar said after PSG's win over Toulouse on Sunday.

"I spent four years there and was very happy. I began happy, spent four years happy and left happy. But not with them. For me, they shouldn't be in charge of Barca. Barca deserve much better, and everyone knows this.

"To see my former teammates unhappy makes me sad also, because I have many friends [there]. I hope that things get better for Barca. That they return to the team they were and become one that can compete with the others."

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 23, 2017, 09:08:10 AM
Barca making theyself look bad now.  Yuh get almost 200M for him and trying to make scenes over bonus money?  Furthermore how is a player in breach if another team meets the buyout and pries the player away? Steups
Post by: Deeks on August 23, 2017, 09:21:13 PM
Barca making theyself look bad now.  Yuh get almost 200M for him and trying to make scenes over bonus money?  Furthermore how is a player in breach if another team meets the buyout and pries the player away? Steups

Look, this season is pure madness. I read where Barsa is offering 160 for Coutinho. Barsa appears to be desperate with moves like that. But their slogan say that they are more than a club!?
Post by: Flex on February 10, 2020, 10:34:16 AM
Beckham, Neymar ‘agree’ to Inter Miami transfer.
By Joe Prince-Wright (NBC Sports).

David Beckham and Neymar have been discussing an Inter Miami transfer for the Brazilian superstar and they aren’t being coy about it at all.

That’s because they’ve both admitted it won’t happen for quite a long time. The main thing here to remember is that they both want it to happen, so bookmark this page and share it when Neymar arrives in MLS at Inter Miami in 2030.

Speaking on a video posted by YouTube channel Legends on Legends via Otro, Becks and Neymar sit down for a lovely chat and the new MLS side fronted by Beckham and his ownership group, who enter the league in 2020, obviously came up.

“America has a huge opportunity because they have many other sports that are the number one, two or three sport. Soccer, now, is growing very quickly and I think it’s a real opportunity for America to have great players there. So I’m going to get you to sign a piece of paper after. A blank piece of paper. It’s going to be a contract for Miami, for ten years’ time. We’re not going to pay much,” Beckham laughed.

Neymar joined in with the banter but on a more serious note revealed he wants to sign for Inter Miami and all Beckham has to do is give him a call to get it going in the future.

“Deal. Deal. I was the one who asked to play for his team. I want to. I told him already. I told him I will play there one day,” Neymar said. “No, but I believe it is a great opportunity for the country to grow its soccer. As I said before, I already have my contract with David. A few years from now, I will be there. We’re in this together. He is my president.”

So, that’s that sorted then. There is a little tongue in cheek with this chat between Beckham and Neymar but there’s obviously a connection there and this could happen.

Neymar is currently 28 years old so I predict that in less than eight years time we will see him ripping it up in MLS with Inter Miami.

The Brazilian superstar will certainly be interested in Miami’s lifestyle and this transfer is one which makes sense for everyone, as long as Inter Miami can get the right financial package together to entice Neymar to MLS.

Post by: Flex on August 30, 2020, 01:20:09 PM
Neymar, Nike part ways after 15 years
By Lluis Gene (AFP)

Nike has parted ways with Neymar, ending one of its highest-profile sponsorship deals a decade and a half after signing the star striker as a 13-year-old prodigy.

"I can confirm Neymar is no longer a Nike athlete," a spokesman for the US sportswear giant, Josh Benedek, said in an email to AFP on Saturday, without giving details.

Media reports said the 28-year-old Paris Saint-Germain and Brazil talisman was in talks with Nike's German rival Puma.

"We generally do not comment on rumors," a spokesman for Puma in Germany responded.

Brazilian news site UOL said Neymar and Nike had failed to reach a deal on how much money he would be paid for renewing his contract.

It said negotiations between the company and the footballer's agents had run into trouble months ago.

Neymar's communications team did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

Puma likewise did not immediately respond to questions about reports the company was in talks to sign him.

Brazilian newspaper Folha de Sao Paulo said Neymar's last deal with Nike was an 11-year contract that was only set to expire in 2022, worth a total $105 million.

Neymar, who is fresh off the heartbreak of narrowly losing the Champions League final to Bayern Munich, holds the record for the most expensive football transfer in history.

PSG paid 222 million euros to bring him from Barcelona in 2017.

Forbes magazine, which ranks him the world's seventh highest-paid celebrity, estimates his earnings for this year at $95.5 million, including endorsement deals.

Neymar signed his first deal with Nike as a youth standout at Brazilian side Santos, which sold him to Barcelona in 2013.

With his skinny good looks, tattoos, ever-changing hairstyles and huge following on social media, the player soon exploded onto the international scene, dazzling the football world with the skills he honed playing five-a-side "futsal" on the mean streets of suburban Sao Paulo.

But his brand, already blemished by tax fraud allegations over his murky transfer to Barca, was badly dented last year when a Brazilian woman accused him of raping her.

Nike expressed its "deep concern" at the time, but stood by the player after police closed the case, citing a lack of evidence.

Neymar will still wear Nike apparel on the pitch: the company sponsors both PSG and the Brazilian national team.

The company sponsors many of the most iconic names in sports, including Michael Jordan, LeBron James, Cristiano Ronaldo, Serena Williams, Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy.