General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Babalawo on April 22, 2009, 01:33:52 PM

Title: This how they wreck cars in Trinidad now?
Post by: Babalawo on April 22, 2009, 01:33:52 PM
Damn we need some ah that here in ny  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgLJ6XZeWyA

http://www.youtube.com/v/IgLJ6XZeWyA
Title: Re: This how they wreck cars in Trinidad now?
Post by: WestCoast on April 22, 2009, 01:39:57 PM
Ya ever see the wreckers down on south quay?
Toyota Landcruisers and they are just as fast :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Babalawo on April 22, 2009, 01:44:30 PM
Ya ever see the wreckers down on south quay?
Toyota Landcruisers and they are just as fast :rotfl: :rotfl:
wow them no easy eh  :rotfl:
Post by: dwolfman on April 22, 2009, 01:53:57 PM
That win... I never see that wrecker in operation. The fella reaction priceless. He can't catch himself yet.
Post by: Deeks on April 22, 2009, 03:40:45 PM
They are certainly very efficient. At least one dept of Gov't is working to earn their pay!!!!
Post by: Saywha on April 22, 2009, 04:23:25 PM
oh lorse that is some funny shit, i better doh get cetch or i wont be laughing so hard  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 22, 2009, 04:38:35 PM
de police just stop to show he face  :rotfl:he eh really cater wuh de fella had to say
Post by: Brownsugar on April 22, 2009, 06:18:22 PM
I does see that on the street outside my office building every day....is a new breed of wrecker guys out there....
Post by: fari on April 22, 2009, 06:20:51 PM
so why they cant convert some of them wreckers into crime scene vehicles 
Post by: truetrini on April 22, 2009, 06:37:36 PM

fuh wha?  to tote wey dead bodies?
Post by: WestCoast on April 22, 2009, 06:41:05 PM
dem wreckers is one sweet income stream for the national coffers ;)
Title: How to lose your car in 5 seconds
Post by: D.H.W on April 22, 2009, 10:32:49 PM
Wrecking of a car at the front of CROBAR...AGAIN...! 

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/ij752BZxeio
Title: Re: How to lose your car in 5 seconds
Post by: dwolfman on April 22, 2009, 10:40:11 PM
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=43572.0 (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=43572.0)

Different car, but same topic.
Post by: D.H.W on April 22, 2009, 10:48:09 PM
i aint see that lol, ok well mods merge into that thread
Post by: Pur_Trini on April 23, 2009, 08:36:55 AM
Doesn't the hand-brake operate on the rear wheels?  Unless in each case the hand-brake was not used, how could it be so easy for the tow truck to remove these cars? 
Post by: lefty on April 23, 2009, 08:42:47 AM
Wrecking of a car at the front of CROBAR...AGAIN...! 

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/ij752BZxeio

dis one funnier by far
Post by: truetrini on April 23, 2009, 08:47:54 AM
is troll dey jes trolling dat area?  Or somebody calling dem?
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 09:59:13 AM
Doesn't the hand-brake operate on the rear wheels?  Unless in each case the hand-brake was not used, how could it be so easy for the tow truck to remove these cars? 

You really stop and think about that question before posting it?
Post by: Johpants on April 23, 2009, 10:17:49 AM
Actually the revenue stream is not as free flowing as one would think. As I understand it, it is a TT$100  fee to get back the vehicle, 80 goes to the wrecker and 20 to the treasury.
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 10:58:21 AM
Actually the revenue stream is not as free flowing as one would think. As I understand it, it is a TT$100  fee to get back the vehicle, 80 goes to the wrecker and 20 to the treasury.

Exactlyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
Post by: Peong on April 23, 2009, 11:31:50 AM

Doh lie, dat real low!
I pay dat same fee about 10 years ago when I get tow from Edward St downtown.
Post by: Bitter on April 23, 2009, 12:35:17 PM

That is a legit question.

Most cars have the emergency brake applying some force to the rear wheels, though not as much as you would get if you pressed the pedal. Thus the brake could be applied and the car still towed, probably trashing your parking brake.

More than a fair number of people with automatic transmissions never use the parking brake, relying only on the locking mechanism on the transmission when you put the car in Park. Making towing a front wheel drive car as simple as it appears in these videos.

The fun starts if your car has a different arrangement. Some newer cars have an electric parking brake which applies a force directly to the calipers in the rear wheels. Others use a motor to operate the traditional cable system.  While it would still be possible to tow the car in all of these situations, it probably won't go as happily as these two in the videos.

Bottom line: if you going to park in front of crobar, keep the handbrake down, or resist the urge and park your A6 in a legal space.
Post by: Bamboo Prince on April 23, 2009, 12:37:11 PM
yeah but study yuh does hadda trek quite dong sea lots to get it back...yuh could lorse more dan yuh car on de way! :-[
Post by: dwolfman on April 23, 2009, 12:48:09 PM
yeah but study yuh does hadda trek quite dong sea lots to get it back...yuh could lorse more dan yuh car on de way! :-[

Depending on the time of the day and where the car is towed from they also use the paved area east of the "Grand Stand" in the savannah.
Post by: FF on April 23, 2009, 01:09:02 PM

Depending on the time of the day and where the car is towed from they also use the paved area east of the "Grand Stand" in the savannah.

how yuh know where to collect yuh car then? I man woulda head straight down sea lots if my car get tow
Post by: WestCoast on April 23, 2009, 01:15:11 PM
three yaers ago I was parked on south quay waiting for ah pardna and there were using Toyota Landcruisers with a hitch and in 1/2 hour they towed theree cars and were hookin up the forth when I was driving away. I dont know if it was the same wrecker
Post by: dcs on April 23, 2009, 01:19:52 PM
I eh know if is true but I hear this is illegal.
The officer is supposed to come out and make an attempt to locate the driver....walk around the car at least.
Heard that from two sources.  But hardly anyone going to take it beyond quarelling with the officer before handing over the money.
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 01:39:22 PM
The officer is supposed to come out and make an attempt to locate the driver....walk around the car at least.
Heard that from two sources.  But hardly anyone going to take it beyond quarelling with the officer before handing over the money.

U correck dey suppose 2 look 4 u but dat eh happenin
Post by: dwolfman on April 23, 2009, 02:22:54 PM
how yuh know where to collect yuh car then? I man woulda head straight down sea lots if my car get tow

Don't have a clue, I use a parking lot or some other authorised parking area when I am in P.O.S. or environs. Some places are more obvious (like the people who get towed on Keate St. should know to check the savannah and those near the promenade should check Sea Lots), but unless there's a notice out somewhere I figure the person would have to guess.

Hope those 2 sources are reliable. We does always "hear" something from someone who sounding confident this time is shit they spouting.
Post by: Trin on April 23, 2009, 02:31:05 PM

This is true, it is illegal. The law actually states that the officer must try to locate the owner of the vehicle before it can be towed. Clearly this was not done in either of these cases
Post by: sammy on April 23, 2009, 06:04:15 PM

This is true, it is illegal. The law actually states that the officer must try to locate the owner of the vehicle before it can be towed. Clearly this was not done in either of these cases

fed up hear police reps on the radio say this.

AS for the parking brake thing, imagine your car is rear wheel drive, or is a full time AWD like mine. That will mash up the transmission for sure.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 23, 2009, 06:10:23 PM

I started to post this very thing yesterday but didn't bother.  There was programme on CNMG about 6 weeks ago where the TV station in conjunction with the police went out on the streets and a woman police officer went to great lengths to explain the process.  Yes, they are supposed to check, double, triple check, quadruple check the area where the vehicle is parked in an effort to locate the owner.  If the owner is found, the infraction is pointed out to the owner, a ticket issued but the vehicle is not towed.

If the owner is not found the vehicle is then towed.  She also explained that once the vehicle has already been hooked up to the wrecker and the owner then arrives on the scene the vehicle is still towed.  You can't do anything about it once it is hooked up to the wrecker.  

I have NEVER seen this being applied when vehicles are being wrecked.
I am suprised however, that the wreckers are getting so much revenue.  No wonder they are so efficient.  And I wont be surprised if the police officers accompanying them are getting a cut....
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 23, 2009, 06:36:44 PM
towin vehicle has always been a viable business.
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 08:10:04 PM

Most cars have the emergency brake applying some force to the rear wheels, though not as much as you would get if you pressed the pedal. Thus the brake could be applied and the car still towed, probably trashing your parking brake.

...anybody who know much about cars would know that the emergency brakes won't stop a car if there's an impetus propelling it forward.  Which is to say... unless you're coasting to a stop the handbrake won't stop the vehicle.  In short it won't stop the car from being towed.
Post by: Pur_Trini on April 24, 2009, 12:23:22 AM

Normally I wouldn't bother giving you the time of day, but since someone else observed that my question was legitimate and I have a few minutes, I thought I'd do a quick google (I'm not an expert on car mechanics and don't profess, as you do, to know all).

The position, if one dares to assume that the wealth of knowledge available on Wikipedia is superior to your own, seems to be:

".........the stopping force provided by using the handbrake instead of or in addition to the footbrake is usually small and would not significantly aid in stopping the vehicle, again because it usually operates on the rear wheels which suffer reduced traction compared to the fronts while braking."
(my emphasis).

On that basis, it is logical to assume that the handbrake would offer some resistance, at least initially, making towing more difficult - unless as Bitter suggests it is not being used at all in reliance on an automatic transmission locking mechanism.

You should really stop and think yourself before attempting to start another unnecessarily heated debate which will inevitably end in you running out of logical argument and resorting to profanity! ::)

Having spent those few minutes looking at Wiki and addressing you, I've spent more of my day on you than you deserve.  Accordingly, you will henceforth be ignored.  Have a great day!! :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on April 24, 2009, 12:28:02 AM

Normally I wouldn't bother giving you the time of day, but since someone else observed that my question was legitimate and I have a few minutes, I thought I'd do a quick google (I'm not an expert on car mechanics and don't profess, as you do, to know all).

The position, if one dares to assume that the wealth of knowledge available on Wikipedia is superior to your own, seems to be:

".........the stopping force provided by using the handbrake instead of or in addition to the footbrake is usually small and would not significantly aid in stopping the vehicle, again because it usually operates on the rear wheels which suffer reduced traction compared to the fronts while braking."
(my emphasis).

On that basis, it is logical to assume that the handbrake would offer some resistance, at least initially, making towing more difficult - unless as Bitter suggests it is not being used at all in reliance on an automatic transmission locking mechanism.

You should really stop and think yourself before attempting to start another unnecessarily heated debate which will inevitably end in you running out of logical argument and resorting to profanity! ::)

Having spent those few minutes looking at Wiki and addressing you, I've spent more of my day on you than you deserve.  Accordingly, you will henceforth be ignored.  Have a great day!! :beermug:

Yes dumbass... but read carefully, what yuh fuhget to highlight is that

"the stopping force provided by using the handbrake instead of or in addition to the footbrake is usually small and would not significantly aid in stopping the vehicle".  Consequently you nitwit... the hand brake wouldn't offer any significant resistance to the vehicle being towed.  But feel free to come back and post about how hard yuh ignoring mih yuh dunce.

Yuh should change yuh name tuh Pur_Cunni cuz dat is exactly how yuh sounding right now.
Post by: Pur_Trini on April 24, 2009, 12:52:41 AM

(my emphasis).

Yes dumbass... but read carefully, what yuh fuhget to highlight is that

"the stopping force provided by using the handbrake instead of or in addition to the footbrake is usually small and would not significantly aid in stopping the vehicle".  Consequently you nitwit... the hand brake wouldn't offer any significant resistance to the vehicle being towed.  But feel free to come back and post about how hard yuh ignoring mih yuh dunce.

Yuh should change yuh name tuh Pur_Cunni cuz dat is exactly how yuh sounding right now.

:rotfl: :rotfl: You are so easily baited, you never cease to amuse me!  Here..... have a  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: and relax! 

And to the various people who PMd me about this guy - I know!!

PS.  I didn't realise that by towing a vehicle the aim was to "significantly aid in stopping" it!!  Hence my observation of the handbrake "offer(ing) some resistance, at least initially, making towing more difficult".  But you have a logic all your own.
Post by: Bakes on April 24, 2009, 01:15:26 AM
:rotfl: :rotfl: You are so easily baited, you never cease to amuse me!  Here..... have a  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: and relax! 

PS.  I didn't realise that by towing a vehicle the aim was to "significantly aid in stopping" it!!  Hence my observation of the handbrake "offer(ing) some resistance, at least initially, making towing more difficult".  But you have a logic all your own.

Dred you even more dotish than even I mihself was willing to think yes... if you think I's de one being baited, lol.  YOU de man who supposedly trying so hard from long to "ignore" me.  I just love making allyuh so-called man look like de backside allyuh really is.  Ah mean look at this statement "And to the various people who PMd me about this guy - I know!!".  Set ah maccomere man (say hi West Coast) PMing man to shoo shoo about next man on ah message board :rotfl:

De point about the handbrake was me nitpicking at what you said because like de li'l nanny that yuh is ah know it woulda draw yuh een and yuh get ketch like laglee... yuh dumbass.  But I easy tuh bait.  The handbrake would offer no resistance to a vehicle being towed... that is the point.

Go back let dem li'l gyul and dem give yuh more courage in PMs again... Pur_Cunni indeed.
Post by: Montjoy on April 24, 2009, 01:35:20 AM
It is so funny how easy you guys start arguing with each other  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Sometimes I feel like I am in Woodford Square.
Thanks  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Pur_Trini on April 24, 2009, 02:45:10 AM

Dred you even more dotish than even I mihself was willing to think yes... if you think I's de one being baited, lol.  YOU de man who supposedly trying so hard from long to "ignore" me.  I just love making allyuh so-called man look like de backside allyuh really is.  Ah mean look at this statement "And to the various people who PMd me about this guy - I know!!".  Set ah maccomere man (say hi West Coast) PMing man to shoo shoo about next man on ah message board :rotfl:

De point about the handbrake was me nitpicking at what you said because like de li'l nanny that yuh is ah know it woulda draw yuh een and yuh get ketch like laglee... yuh dumbass.  But I easy tuh bait.  The handbrake would offer no resistance to a vehicle being towed... that is the point.

Go back let dem li'l gyul and dem give yuh more courage in PMs again... Pur_Cunni indeed.

You should have conceded defeat after my last post - that hole you're digging for yourself becomes ever deeper!  Nevertheless, I appreciate that you wish to engage in discussion with someone intellectually superior to yourself, and while I am flattered by your unsolicited attention I really am not interested!  Clearly, you lack the capacity to express yourself without the use of words like "dumbass" - but I forgive you having realised that your frustration probably stems from the lack of attention you were given as a child, or from the fact that you are lonely. 

Incidentally, it's not a matter of "shoo shoo" - it's a matter of fact that a significant number of people on this board have concluded that you are an ass (I put it kindly!) and, realising that your life is so empty that you spend the majority of your days posting, they pity you and/or prefer not to waste their time with you.   For my part, if I can offer you any kind of moral support then, despite your desire to argue, I will gladly give it.  If you take offence by that offer, by all means express your further frustration.  I will, however, remain happy with the knowledge that I was kind enough to bring to your attention the perception most have of you.  If you have any intelligence whatever, you will seek to rectify this. 

I sincerely wish you well, Bake n Shark!
Post by: Pur_Trini on April 24, 2009, 02:45:44 AM
It is so funny how easy you guys start arguing with each other  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Sometimes I feel like I am in Woodford Square.
Thanks  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Point taken - you are absolutely right!  :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Babalawo on April 24, 2009, 09:40:24 AM

fuh wha?  to tote wey dead bodies?
oh god oye  :rotfl:
Post by: D.H.W on April 24, 2009, 10:05:40 AM

who sing this song on the clip, wais the name? i cah remember
Post by: Bakes on April 24, 2009, 10:21:38 AM
You should have conceded defeat after my last post - that hole you're digging for yourself becomes ever deeper!  Nevertheless, I appreciate that you wish to engage in discussion with someone intellectually superior to yourself, and while I am flattered by your unsolicited attention I really am not interested!  Clearly, you lack the capacity to express yourself without the use of words like "dumbass" - but I forgive you having realised that your frustration probably stems from the lack of attention you were given as a child, or from the fact that you are lonely. 

LOL... Pur_Cunni please.  Try dat high school psychoanalysis bull shit on somebody else.  Your arms too short tuh box with me fella... yuh mouth longer dan yuh reach.  There is nothing to concede because you are a dunce.  Handbrakes would pose no impediment to a car being towed.  Any intelligent person would know this... but it's quite understandable why you would have problems.  All this puffery talk about "intellectually superior" and all that musse does work with de dunces you does roll with but dat shit ent even reaching me fella.  Try yuh best... you tilting at windmills with dat talk.

Incidentally, it's not a matter of "shoo shoo" - it's a matter of fact that a significant number of people on this board have concluded that you are an ass (I put it kindly!) and, realising that your life is so empty that you spend the majority of your days posting, they pity you and/or prefer not to waste their time with you.   For my part, if I can offer you any kind of moral support then, despite your desire to argue, I will gladly give it.  If you take offence by that offer, by all means express your further frustration.  I will, however, remain happy with the knowledge that I was kind enough to bring to your attention the perception most have of you.  If you have any intelligence whatever, you will seek to rectify this. 

Whether is ah "significant number" or "most" or however yuh want to lie and spin it tuh make yuhself feel better about yuh gossipy ways is of no consequence to me.  Go get courage in PMs with de rest ah de maccomere 'man' and dem yuh gossiping with... demonstrate how much of ah life allyuh have by talking my name in allyuh mouth, lol
Post by: Tallman on April 24, 2009, 10:25:12 AM

De song is Limb by Limb by Cutty Ranks
Post by: Pur_Trini on April 24, 2009, 10:29:56 AM

LOL... Pur_Cunni please.  Try dat high school psychoanalysis bull shit on somebody else.  Your arms too short tuh box with me fella... yuh mouth longer dan yuh reach.  There is nothing to concede because you are a dunce.  Handbrakes would pose no impediment to a car being towed.  Any intelligent person would know this... but it's quite understandable why you would have problems.  All this puffery talk about "intellectually superior" and all that musse does work with de dunces you does roll with but dat shit ent even reaching me fella.  Try yuh best... you tilting at windmills with dat talk.

Whether is ah "significant number" or "most" or however yuh want to lie and spin it tuh make yuhself feel better about yuh gossipy ways is of no consequence to me.  Go get courage in PMs with de rest ah de maccomere 'man' and dem yuh gossiping with... demonstrate how much of ah life allyuh have by talking my name in allyuh mouth, lol

So that's a firm "no" on the offer of moral support???   :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on April 24, 2009, 10:41:41 AM

So that's a firm "no" on the offer of moral support???   :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Wait... I tort yuh say about 5 times how yuh stop responding?  Ah tort yuh so 'superior'??

Yuh dunce.   Go take yuh moral support, tie it over de end of a dildo and shove it up yuh nanny like de woman yuh is.

... see and not one cuss word.
Post by: fishs on April 24, 2009, 10:57:04 AM
 When I was home last month , a pardner park on a corner on the avenue to pik up some take away.
All we do is pay make the pick up plus 2 stag and went back to the car , we did not spend more than 5 mins ( enough time for mih tuh give ex-min Boynes fatigue about he bad back ). Car gone !!!
Walk up to the Woodbrook station see the car an check the officer at the table , he ask for drivers permit , get the insurance out the car pay $100 an wait for a receipt. Again for the most was 10mins.
During that time the wrecker tow in 2 cars.

Them boys ent wasting no time looking for people an with the indiscriminate parking on the avenue on a Friday evening/night, they may be right not to do so, the only thing with that would be an emergency situation (like if yuh pull up yuh car to rush a woman who choking on a drumstick and to heavy for the ambulance attendants to lift . Still pissed off with the FAB).

Anyhow that was my recent experience.
Post by: Pur_Trini on April 24, 2009, 10:58:48 AM

Wait... I tort yuh say about 5 times how yuh stop responding?  Ah tort yuh so 'superior'??

Yuh dunce.   Go take yuh moral support, tie it over de end of a dildo and shove it up yuh nanny like de woman yuh is.

You have a vivid imagination!  I would never have thought of that myself, but it's clear what turns you on!   I'm much more than a little uncomfortable, though, that you choose to think of me in those terms.  Poor Bakes  :'(.  Did your parents molest you?  
Post by: D.H.W on April 24, 2009, 11:43:15 AM

De song is Limb by Limb by Cutty Ranks

thanks tallman  :beermug:
Post by: Rastaman on April 24, 2009, 12:29:47 PM

I am sure if the right people are made aware of these videos being online that S#it would stop.
Post by: Bakes on April 24, 2009, 12:55:22 PM

I would be really surprised if that was the law... because that law would make no sense.
Post by: Mr Fix-it on April 24, 2009, 01:12:27 PM

You have a vivid imagination!  I would never have thought of that myself, but it's clear what turns you on!   I'm much more than a little uncomfortable, though, that you choose to think of me in those terms.  Poor Bakes  :'(.  Did your parents molest you?  

Damn............Where my popcorn..............
Post by: ribbit on April 24, 2009, 01:52:51 PM

...anybody who know much about cars would know that the emergency brakes won't stop a car if there's an impetus propelling it forward.  Which is to say... unless you're coasting to a stop the handbrake won't stop the vehicle.  In short it won't stop the car from being towed.

you miss the point.
Post by: supporter on April 24, 2009, 02:23:42 PM

Do you try to be a little asshole or is that how you just normally are?
Post by: Bakes on April 24, 2009, 03:40:31 PM

you miss the point.

Did I, really?

Do you try to be a little asshole or is that how you just normally are?

That's how I normally am with cunnyholes like you.  You's ah next traumatized one... yuh should go PM Pur_Trini tuh join he support group.
Post by: sammy on April 24, 2009, 03:59:34 PM

From the few cars i had, a good working parking/ hand brakes will lock the rear wheels .

Even if the car moving at a decent rate and apply the hand brake, it will lock the rear wheels causing the car to skid and eventually stop.
Allyuh never see man pull they hand brake and spin round dey car ?

Anyhow, if yuh getting towed and u handbrakes applied, then yuh back wheels will give a fair bit of resistence until, they give out i guess. It wont be enough to stop the towing vehicle, but the towed car may be bouncing/hopping around a bit.
What them fellas may do is literally drag ure car away, or put the back of your car on a set of extra towing wheels (i dont know what the proper names is) they carry around in the wrecker.
Post by: WestCoast on April 24, 2009, 04:03:15 PM
From the few cars i had, a good working parking/ hand brakes will lock the rear wheels .
Even if the car moving at a decent rate and apply the hand brake, it will lock the rear wheels causing the car to skid and eventually stop.
Anyhow, if yuh getting towed and u handbrakes applied, then yuh back wheels will give a fair bit of resistence until, they give out i guess. It wont be enough to stop the towing vehicle, but the towed car may be bouncing/hopping around a bit.
What them fellas may do is literally drag ure car away, or put the back of your car on a set of extra towing wheels (i dont know what the proper names is) they carry around in the wrecker.
yeah a reputable wrecker will use a tow dolly because of that brake problem and because of automatic transmission
like this
(http://www.cartuningcentral.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/car-tow.jpg)

check how they do it in Japan  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
http://www.youtube.com/v/f1-FuMLNMKk
Post by: sammy on April 24, 2009, 04:24:24 PM

yeah a reputable wrecker will use a tow dolly because of that brake problem and because of automatic transmission
like this
(http://www.cartuningcentral.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/car-tow.jpg)

daiz the thing self.......

Reputable is right.
From time to time I see actual police wreckers (with logo) dragging vehicles up the highway. The vehicles were probably those crashed and stolen ones they does have in their yard until they rotten down.
Anyhow, they just jack up the front and drag these things away even though some of them have no tires or they jacked soo high the tail of the vehicle dragging. Hear nah, them police wotless, the vehicles does be disintegrating going up the road leaving a trail of debris, plenty noise and a few sparks.

lol we pullice eh easy nah.
Post by: WestCoast on April 24, 2009, 04:28:06 PM

Reputable is right.
From time to time I see actual police wreckers (with logo) dragging vehicles up the highway. The vehicles were probably those crashed and stolen ones they does have in their yard until they rotten down.
Anyhow, they just jack up the front and drag these things away even though some of them have no tires or they jacked soo high the tail of the vehicle dragging. Hear nah, them police wotless, the vehicles does be disintegrating going up the road leaving a trail of debris, plenty noise and a few sparks.

I wonder if they do that at night
or if any ketch fire wid gas spillin out the tank :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: sammy on April 24, 2009, 04:36:04 PM

Reputable is right.

I wonder if they do that at night
or if any ketch fire wid gas spillin out the tank :rotfl: :rotfl:

boy, is 5 pm rush hour traffic on the highway.
I eh go worry bout the gas, cause i sure they does walk round the police yard with a hose and bottle looking to pounce on any new additions.
Post by: Bakes on April 24, 2009, 05:41:26 PM

Sammy... I cannot tell you conclusively that applying the handbrake will NOT lock the backwheels, I can't tell you what yuh experience was.  What I will tell you is that usually that will not happen.  Handbrakes ordinarily are not that effective as to lock the rear wheels.  That maneuver you talking about happens because you turn the steering wheel at the same time so that the wheels are skidding sideways in a circle. 

http://www.modernracer.com/tips/handbraketurn.html

under that sceario the wheels will skid b/c momentum is taking the car into a turn, not because the wheels lock up.  If a car is moving in a straight line (especially if moving forward) the handbrake will pose no significant impediment to it being moved.  I know because my first car (Isuzu Trooper) I had to replace the engine so it sat immobile for a year.  In that time the rear brakes locked up and 'froze' and it was being towed it squealed at first but eventually was rolling.  So if frozen brakes wasn't enough to prevent the towing, there's no way a simple handbrake will.  But men could believe what they want.
Post by: Peong on April 24, 2009, 07:25:38 PM
As a person who make a 10 min trip with the hand brakes UP (2nd time I ever drive), I will say dat de car will roll, but de brake pads does smoke for a good 20 mins after yuh stop. :)
Post by: Brownsugar on April 25, 2009, 02:38:39 AM

I would be really surprised if that was the law... because that law would make no sense.

Bakes yuh didn't read mih earlier post?  I heard a woman police officer explain the entire process in detail, this is the law....
Post by: Bakes on April 25, 2009, 12:13:40 PM
Bakes yuh didn't read mih earlier post?  I heard a woman police officer explain the entire process in detail, this is the law....

Nah, didn't see the post... that being so the law makes no sense though.  Waste of police time and resources to have them track down somebody who car parked illegally.  If the car is disabled the driver should stay with the vehicle or provide proof after the fact that it was disabled.  For instance here in the US you could produce a note from your mechanic attesting to the fact that the car was inoperable at the time.
Post by: truetrini on April 25, 2009, 10:06:24 PM
pulling up de hand breakes when yuh driving fast sometimes does cause de car to spin...one time ah woman was driving meh and she piss me off and when ah tell she stop she speed up..so I pull de f**king hand brakes and de car take a wicked twist we end up facing where we did jes come from.

Dat said, hand brakes doh stop cra from getting towed...DONT!
Post by: dcs on April 26, 2009, 05:21:03 AM

Nah, didn't see the post... that being so the law makes no sense though.  Waste of police time and resources to have them track down somebody who car parked illegally.  If the car is disabled the driver should stay with the vehicle or provide proof after the fact that it was disabled.  For instance here in the US you could produce a note from your mechanic attesting to the fact that the car was inoperable at the time.

If they find the driver it faster to write the ticket and make them move the car than tow it back all the way to the savannah or sea lots....they cud write a ticket, make them move and then move on the next car one time.  I assume the objectives are to move the car and punish the driver so to me ticketing is faster.  Except the wrecker eh getting any money and the officer have to do more talking and more work than just sitting in the passenger side of the wrecker.
As for how many people paying their ticket...dais a next story.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 26, 2009, 09:41:58 AM
And as for paying the ticket, where yuh get the ticket yuh have to pay there.  So if yuh from Arima and get ah ticket in South, yuh have to find yuh tail back in South to pay it.....lord fadder who does come up with these things??  ??? :-\

I remember when I was in Germany for the WC, my host got charged for not paying the right fare on the train for his trip.  As far as I could tell, the officer had a device with him and appeared to take his bank/credit card and the payment was made right there on the spot....I think that's what happened, I'll have to double check with him on the process.
That was ah experience dread, after the officer take we off the train, my host and officer was conversing in German over the issue and I stand up dey confused, confused. 

Then the man ask for mih ID and one time, one time I get frighten and start to think dey going and haul mih down to the station, throw mih in ah interrogation room, question mih relentlessly and then jail mih.....*sigh* I watch too much TV..... ;D
Post by: Bakes on April 26, 2009, 10:14:35 AM
If they find the driver it faster to write the ticket and make them move the car than tow it back all the way to the savannah or sea lots....they cud write a ticket, make them move and then move on the next car one time.  I assume the objectives are to move the car and punish the driver so to me ticketing is faster.  Except the wrecker eh getting any money and the officer have to do more talking and more work than just sitting in the passenger side of the wrecker.
As for how many people paying their ticket...dais a next story.

The primary objective should be to clear the roadway... I remember being confused one evening while I was in DC, seeing cars parked on the grass, under trees all kinda thing.  I knew they were tourists because of the general area where we were.  I didn't figure it out until I saw the tickets on the windshield.  The wrecker towed them off the road and right onto the grass.

Understandably that's not an option in TnT but the way allyuh talking about "all the way to the savannah or sea lots" you'd swear either one is 10 miles away or something... them thing right there.  Trinidad to blasted backward.  I was under the assumption that these were police vehicles towing the cars not a private tow truck with a constable riding along.  That is nonsense.  Traffic branch should have their own tow trucks and a dedicated impound lot... although the savannah is a decent alternative.  There's no reason for police to have to pay to use a wrecker when you're renting one everyday... just buy one (or two, or three) and done.  Only in Trinidad it would make sense to give 'way public money like dat and even so, to have police tracking man down to move they car.

As for paying, this is why there should be a dedicated impound lot with a facility on-site to process payments.  If you must use the savannah have a mobile unit there (as they probably do)... and have multiple locations where tickets can be paid too.  But what I talking, as it is there's still only one location issuing licenses.
Post by: dcs on April 26, 2009, 11:05:47 AM
If you tow a car from downtown it will take a while for the tow truck to go to sea lots or the savannah and come back...up to 30mins with traffic.  So in some cases it will be faster to write a ticket and make the driver move...10mins.  That way you will clear the road faster.

Some places so close to the impound towing might be faster considering the officers might take their time writing up ticket and arguing with the person.

I believe we always used 3rd party wreckers and it better that way because no way they would clear the road as fast as they are now if is a police run operation.  The wreckers have an incentive to do their job quickly.  Just a matter of whether they following the law and not doing a shortcut ting which they will naturally do...the officer is really the one responsible for following proper procedure.  It really would take less than a minute to come out the wrecker and walk around the car and/or speak to whoever shows themself as the owner.

If is the law they should follow it not so?  Is not an unreasonable law and it not really slowing them down because as brownsugar say the police themselves had a representative on TV telling people what supposed to happen!!

And I see that same credit card ting on the train ....dem doh stick at all nah.  Trinis get a shock with efficiency and following rules over there.
Post by: truetrini on April 26, 2009, 11:20:28 AM
If you tow a car from downtown it will take a while for the tow truck to go to sea lots or the savannah and come back...up to 30mins with traffic.  So in some cases it will be faster to write a ticket and make the driver move...10mins.  That way you will clear the road faster.

makes no sense, suppose yuh take 10 minutes or more trying to find a driver...tow dem  dat law dotish too bad, yuh park in a no-parking area and expect de police to tell yuh take dis ticket and move?  steups!

Some places so close to the impound towing might be faster considering the officers might take their time writing up ticket and arguing with the person.

I believe we always used 3rd party wreckers and it better that way because no way they would clear the road as fast as they are now if is a police run operation.  The wreckers have an incentive to do their job quickly.  Just a matter of whether they following the law and not doing a shortcut ting which they will naturally do...the officer is really the one responsible for following proper procedure.  It really would take less than a minute to come out the wrecker and walk around the car and/or speak to whoever shows themself as the owner.

If the owner shows up before towing, then fine, ticket him, make him move...once the car is connected...tow iot, no breaks set a hard example..LAWLESSNESS at any level NOT TOLERATED!

If is the law they should follow it not so?  Is not an unreasonable law and it not really slowing them down because as brownsugar say the police themselves had a representative on TV telling people what supposed to happen!!

And I see that same credit card ting on the train ....dem doh stick at all nah.  Trinis get a shock with efficiency and following rules over there.
Post by: Conquering Lion on April 26, 2009, 12:11:28 PM
Dat wrecker man woulda have to bounce me down before he drive off wid my car. They try dat wid me on Broadway and I tell dem drop meh car or I not moving from in front the wrecker. Especially since they supposed to make an attempt to locate the  driver.
Post by: weary1969 on April 26, 2009, 03:35:57 PM
Dat wrecker man woulda have to bounce me down before he drive off wid my car. They try dat wid me on Broadway and I tell dem drop meh car or I not moving from in front the wrecker. Especially since they supposed to make an attempt to locate the  driver.

I eh know yuh age but a woman did try dat yrs ago and Emrey Robley of TTT got it all in film. She move d car eventually.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 26, 2009, 05:48:17 PM

I eh know yuh age but a woman did try dat yrs ago and Emrey Robley of TTT got it all in film. She move d car eventually.

oooooohhhhhhh guuuuuudddd... :o is Emery Robley yuh say yuh know Weary.....jeez and ages, dais waaaaaaaayyyyyyyy baaaaacccckkkkkk, I could barely remember what he looked like....
Post by: weary1969 on April 26, 2009, 06:51:29 PM

oooooohhhhhhh guuuuuudddd... :o is Emery Robley yuh say yuh know Weary.....jeez and ages, dais waaaaaaaayyyyyyyy baaaaacccckkkkkk, I could barely remember what he looked like....

Remember meh age I fall of d calender a while now I could barely remember how he look but d wrecker story was huge.
Post by: verycute1 on April 26, 2009, 07:04:07 PM

I remember that video.... ent she stick herself on the vehicle and only crying she not moving? A  lil indian lady ent?

And with the handbrakes thing, I fed up drive a few blocks with mine on, the mista like to put handbrakes on for what reason I dunno and I never remember to check until I see the lil red light.

Damn............Where my popcorn..............

:beermug: :beermug: Have a drink instead  :devil:

Bakes... you ent easy but it have some days where you make me laugh so hard all is forgiven. On them days you know I love ya. I never see a man does make other men want to use so many multi syllable words in one sentence. I swear men does have a copy of websters when you ragging them cause some of them insults they does pelt your way sound so high-falutin.

Post by: weary1969 on April 26, 2009, 07:38:13 PM

I remember that video.... ent she stick herself on the vehicle and only crying she not moving? A  lil indian lady ent?

U have elephant memory or like me u fall off d calender u got it correck
Post by: Bakes on April 26, 2009, 07:38:38 PM
Bakes... you ent easy but it have some days where you make me laugh so hard all is forgiven. On them days you know I love ya. I never see a man does make other men want to use so many multi syllable words in one sentence. I swear men does have a copy of websters when you ragging them cause some of them insults they does pelt your way sound so high-falutin.

Is usually juss ah small dedicated cadre... good sport reading the convoluted efforts though, man does be trying extra hard, lol
Post by: verycute1 on April 26, 2009, 07:55:37 PM

girl I remember it cause they run it so many times and me and the parents were sitting around watching and laughing. My father had to kill it after a while with "that woman is a damned fool. If she park her car in a bad spot ent they must tow it steeeuppps" Then he use that opportunity to lecture the moms on why you mustn't park in a bad spot. I was too young to have a license then but it was funny as hell. The next day in school thats all anyone could talk about.
Post by: weary1969 on April 26, 2009, 08:03:04 PM

girl I remember it cause they run it so many times and me and the parents were sitting around watching and laughing. My father had to kill it after a while with "that woman is a damned fool. If she park her car in a bad spot ent they must tow it steeeuppps" Then he use that opportunity to lecture the moms on why you mustn't park in a bad spot. I was too young to have a license then but it was funny as hell. The next day in school thats all anyone could talk about.

OK it was really a big story plus it was only TTT and Panorama we had.
Post by: verycute1 on April 26, 2009, 08:08:05 PM

Yeah that was a big story, man she cry for so.  The only other time I remember "big news" (apart from the coup) was when the man climb up to the top of Sando Hospital and jump off after threatening to do so for a while. The  first broadcast they apparently showed the actual impact, I had just left the room to go grab a drink. All the other broadcasts they censor it though. Come to school the next day everyone talking bout how he fall. I was so vex I miss it.  >:(
Post by: weary1969 on April 26, 2009, 09:13:10 PM

Yeah that was a big story, man she cry for so.  The only other time I remember "big news" (apart from the coup) was when the man climb up to the top of Sando Hospital and jump off after threatening to do so for a while. The  first broadcast they apparently showed the actual impact, I had just left the room to go grab a drink. All the other broadcasts they censor it though. Come to school the next day everyone talking bout how he fall. I was so vex I miss it.  >:(

I tink it was POSGH I was in UWI Mona when dat happen. We only use 2 get badddddddddd news from TNT.
Post by: Rastaman on April 26, 2009, 09:16:27 PM
The hospital one I remember.... the car incident kinda vague in the memory.
Post by: weary1969 on April 26, 2009, 09:33:54 PM
The hospital one I remember.... the car incident kinda vague in the memory.

Dat mean yuh is a pickney because dat was d story of d yr. It made Robley career
Post by: chinee boi on April 27, 2009, 08:04:19 AM
I always use to think, wouldn't this be a good way for men tuh tief car, pretend to be a tow truck and huff ah man car???
Post by: weary1969 on April 27, 2009, 08:09:57 AM
I always use to think, wouldn't this be a good way for men tuh tief car, pretend to be a tow truck and huff ah man car???

Yuh late a friend car was stolen in south dat way in d 90's
Post by: Mr Fix-it on April 27, 2009, 10:35:15 AM

Yuh late a friend car was stolen in south dat way in d 90's

My brudda ole ass Galent get stole dat way, find it 3 days later and is de same men who sell him it tief it LOL....Jail in de ass :rotfl: :beermug: :devil:
Post by: verycute1 on April 27, 2009, 04:26:09 PM

I tink it was POSGH I was in UWI Mona when dat happen. We only use 2 get badddddddddd news from TNT.

You might be right bout that location. You was in UWI? I was in high school. In one of the lower forms. I want to say form 2 or 3 but I cant remember.