Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on April 23, 2009, 03:59:47 AM

Title: Football in Tobago makes no sense
Post by: Flex on April 23, 2009, 03:59:47 AM
Football in Tobago makes no sense
T&T Newsday Editorial.

THE EDITOR: The decision by the TTFF to play the next World Cup game in Tobago does not make any sense. In football terms, it is foolish to give away your home advantage since our own players will also be playing at the venue for the first time. On top of that there will be less than 10,000 fans instead of the 25,000 if it were held in Port-of-Spain.

In financial terms, it is even more puzzling since by their own admission the TTFF will lose some $2 million by playing in Tobago. Is this the same TTFF that claims that it desperately needs money and is always criticising the government for not giving more financial support? I wonder how sponsors feel about this since it gives the impression that the TTFF is full of money and can afford to choose a less profitable venue.

There is no logic behind this decision and it makes a mockery of their demands for more support from local fans and money from sponsors. One lame excuse is that it is because of Dwight Yorke’s return to football. But what about Russell Latapy’s first game as national coach? His popularity would guarantee a sell-out crowd and a packed Hasely Crawford stadium. Supporters from his roots in Laventille would come out in their thousands to give support. It almost seems that somebody wants the Little Magician to get as little hometown support as possible.

If it makes no financial or football sense, then maybe there is a political reason behind this decision. There is always a danger when sport is in the hands of politicians.

Sporting events are manipulated to suit their ambitions and maybe someone is trying to build political support in the two Tobago constituencies. Maybe someone remembered that it was these two seats that tilted the balance of power in a previous general election. There can be no other reason and let us hope that the national team does not end up paying a heavy price for this senseless and selfish decision.

D SINGH
Couva
Title: Re: Football in Tobago makes no sense
Post by: Gazza on April 23, 2009, 04:57:53 AM
y dah man dey doh shut he arse. damn backside.
Post by: pardners on April 23, 2009, 07:00:38 AM

But the man make some good points.
Ah wouldna go so far as to cast aspersions about the Tobago politics things but the rest worth a listen.
Post by: Bourbon on April 23, 2009, 07:01:51 AM
Whey i say is a official Newsday editorial oui. I now go to ask if Tobagonians go boycott newsday now.
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 07:03:38 AM
Boycott is an Englishman who played cricket for England d only boycott we know.
Post by: WestCoast on April 23, 2009, 07:16:42 AM
Boycott is an Englishman who played cricket for England d only boycott we know.
Post by: Anbrat on April 23, 2009, 07:29:59 AM

Seems to make sense to me. Perhaps there is something I am missing here, Gazza.
Post by: prodigy23 on April 23, 2009, 07:53:36 AM
I agree 100% with the writer. I dont understand the logic of playing a world cup qualifier in front of less than 10,000 people.
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 07:59:14 AM
I agree 100% with the writer. I dont understand the logic of playing a world cup qualifier in front of less than 10,000 people.

Logic and d TTFF
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 08:12:33 AM
Ah wouldna go so far as to cast aspersions about the Tobago politics things but the rest worth a listen.

Attitudes such as those espoused by the writer is why there will continue to be a divide between the people of Trinidad and the people of Tobago.  Tobago fans ent people too?  They don't deserve to see a qualifier in their backyard... as much as Tobago has contributed to our football over the years?  Yes this is a 'must win' qualifier, but where TnT is concerned every qualifier will be must win for some time to come... it will be a while before we comfortably qualify for the WC.  Fans in Tobago deserve better and this is a good opportunity for them to get to see a game without having to hop on the ferry.
Post by: spideybuff on April 23, 2009, 08:14:01 AM
The only logic I could think of is that Simpaul's probably have some highpriced "ticket or leave it" scheme in Costa Rica for high priced hotel packages in Tobago that weekend. Either that or you will hear soon that he having a set of FIFA execs coming down for some function (so FIFA paying top dollar to host all of them).

That way Jack could tell Orville London he help to boost the sagging Tourism economy and try to get him to join Ramjack in time for the next election.
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 08:17:33 AM
The only logic I could think of is that Simpaul's probably have some highpriced "ticket or leave it" scheme in Costa Rica for high priced hotel packages in Tobago that weekend. Either that or you will hear soon that he having a set of FIFA execs coming down for some function (so FIFA paying top dollar to host all of them).

That way Jack could tell Orville London he help to boost the sagging Tourism economy and try to get him to join Ramjack in time for the next election.

D former very possible but d latter eh happenin
Post by: jimmel14 on April 23, 2009, 08:41:39 AM
this makes no sense.... aside from the fact that the TTFF loosing money, arent we a country.. we should take pride that out country consist of 2 beautiful isles, this is a really touchy subject with respects to Trinbagonians and Trinidadians. The Trini's would never accept Tobagonians as equals.. well not all of em that is. change is inevitable, like it or not it always happens.

" Our Ignorance towards life and people, leads us to failure at every instant we think we have achieved"
Christon J Harrypersad

Post by: Mackie on April 23, 2009, 09:09:09 AM
Maybe Caribbean Airlines could organise two plane for the Trinis and fly over the stadium during the match. You might laugh but the ticket still cheaper than Covered Stands !
Post by: g on April 23, 2009, 09:10:08 AM
I hope they could erect some temporary seating for the game.... I am already past the point of why....

We should just prepare for when
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 09:13:44 AM
Maybe Caribbean Airlines could organise two plane for the Trinis and fly over the stadium during the match. You might laugh but the ticket still cheaper than Covered Stands !

D noise go b louder than d HCS as well
Post by: acb on April 23, 2009, 09:36:40 AM
watch how Tobago will come out and support and make the HCS crowd feel shame.

Well it eh have nuttin cuz waggonist doh feel shame bout nuttin ... dey does jess move on to the next all inclusive.

One setta people up in arms about Tobago getting an important game.
Maybe they would like to see Tobago get an inconsequential game when nothing on the line - so if the people don't come out, then it will suit their own personal agenda to say football in Tobago is a bust.

Is the same type of nonsense you does hear when TT cricket team play at Guaracara Park in PaP. All dem northies does cry about how they have to come all the way down south, but when the games at QPO, it does have more Cepep workers liming on Savannah benches than it have supporters in the stands.
When the games played in South, is because the line to reach in the park stretching out to the main road, and the grass bank packed with people.
Post by: dwolfman on April 23, 2009, 09:37:36 AM
The only reasonable point the man made was to ask why choose to lose $2 million and then always complaining about not having money.

A sell out is a sell out. Playing in front of a ram out crowd of 10,000 is still playing in a sold out stadium. Unless the alternative is playing in front of a sell out crowd of 50,000 plus there's little difference in the effect, especially if the crowd is noisy in its support.

Again I return to the point about HCS being this big home venue for us. We drew our last WCQ there when we could easily have lost and we also lost to Bermuda there. What is the evidence for familiarity with the venue being an advantage? The only advantage seems to be in potential revenue earned.

I agree with both BnS and jimmel... it's Trinidad and Tobago. The people of Tobago are as much fans of the T&T team as the people of Trinidad. We have it real sweet here in this country... as I said in another thread. We clearly have no real problems here so we decide we have to create some silly ones.
Post by: MEP on April 23, 2009, 09:39:32 AM

Attitudes such as those espoused by the writer is why there will continue to be a divide between the people of Trinidad and the people of Tobago.  Tobago fans ent people too?  They don't deserve to see a qualifier in their backyard... as much as Tobago has contributed to our football over the years?  Yes this is a 'must win' qualifier, but where TnT is concerned every qualifier will be must win for some time to come... it will be a while before we comfortably qualify for the WC.  Fans in Tobago deserve better and this is a good opportunity for them to get to see a game without having to hop on the ferry.

bakes ah understand whey yuh comin from but before we get to your argument we must ask...why now? why does the TTFFWarner wait until now to schedule a game in Tobago? Is it really about including them? At this crucial point in the qualifiers wouldn't a larger home crowd give us that 12th man advantage?
Also, you know that hengjack is a man governed by his pocket and such a man does not give up something to not gain anything.
Post by: dwolfman on April 23, 2009, 09:43:20 AM
At this crucial point in the qualifiers wouldn't a larger home crowd give us that 12th man advantage?

Have you ever been to a match in the HCS? What advantage does our quiet crowd give the team? It's been thoroughly discussed that we aren't noisy supporters.

My question for you is why not now? What is the message you send to an important demograph in your country that they can only host a match without meaning?
Post by: MEP on April 23, 2009, 09:49:26 AM
As much as the crowd isn't loud, having numbers presents an intimidation factor which is just as important.
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 09:57:18 AM
bakes ah understand whey yuh comin from but before we get to your argument we must ask...why now? why does the TTFFWarner wait until now to schedule a game in Tobago? Is it really about including them? At this crucial point in the qualifiers wouldn't a larger home crowd give us that 12th man advantage?
Also, you know that hengjack is a man governed by his pocket and such a man does not give up something to not gain anything.

MEP ah kinda already addressed that... the question of "why now?".  Why NOT now?  Is there ever such a thing as a 'non-crucial' qualifier for our team?  We battling for 3rd-4th... and will be in that position for some time... all our qualifiers will be crucial for the forseeable future. 
Post by: dwolfman on April 23, 2009, 10:15:31 AM
As much as the crowd isn't loud, having numbers presents an intimidation factor which is just as important.

Important for the bank account, not important from a football perspective. This isn't an U-15 match, these are professionals playing in front of 40,000 noisy fans on a weekly basis.
Post by: palos on April 23, 2009, 10:21:53 AM
Ah wonder if any of the warm up matches prior to the June 6th Costa Rica game will be played in Tobago?

Fuh de team to get at least a little feel fuh playin on dey "home ground" nah.
Post by: elan on April 23, 2009, 10:31:09 AM
At this crucial point in the qualifiers wouldn't a larger home crowd give us that 12th man advantage?

Have you ever been to a match in the HCS? What advantage does our quiet crowd give the team? It's been thoroughly discussed that we aren't noisy supporters.

My question for you is why not now? What is the message you send to an important demograph in your country that they can only host a match without meaning?

Remember men don't post when the game going on so how you expect them to sing, clap, beat a drum, knock a bottle or wave a flag while the team playing. Men have to sit and look, not jump and wave spurring on the players.
Post by: elan on April 23, 2009, 10:34:40 AM
Thisis not about Trinidad or Tobago.

This is about TRINIDAD & TOBAGO.

Post by: Coop's on April 23, 2009, 10:56:32 AM

:applause: :applause: :applause: :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 10:57:05 AM
Thisis not about Trinidad or Tobago.

This is about TRINIDAD & TOBAGO.

Cosign because both islands headin 4 south quay
Post by: Deeks on April 23, 2009, 11:02:47 AM
I have no issue with the game playing in Tobago. I Think is a good thing. It is time Tobago get some WC games and important ones to booth. But I also agree with the writer. I don,t think that there is any malice intended to the proud people of Tobago.

When was the last time a WC game was play in Sando. In the past QPO had nothing on Skinner's Park when it comes to supporting football. In the future the qualifying games should be played in Sando, Palo Seco and Tobago. How come the US could go to any city and play with ease, They still cut we arse. The fact of the matter is that our team is playing poorly. If they were winning this argument would be MUTE.

We knew ahead of time where all the US games are playing for the HEX. TTFF does decide we go play here in a now for now fashion. Is the team going to play some practice game in the DYS to get acclimatise? By the way, Are they going to play Venezuela or Tobago United?
Post by: Arazi on April 23, 2009, 11:04:51 AM
The only reasonable point the man made was to ask why choose to lose $2 million and then always complaining about not having money.

A sell out is a sell out. Playing in front of a ram out crowd of 10,000 is still playing in a sold out stadium. Unless the alternative is playing in front of a sell out crowd of 50,000 plus there's little difference in the effect, especially if the crowd is noisy in its support.

Again I return to the point about HCS being this big home venue for us. We drew our last WCQ there when we could easily have lost and we also lost to Bermuda there. What is the evidence for familiarity with the venue being an advantage? The only advantage seems to be in potential revenue earned.

I agree with both BnS and jimmel... it's Trinidad and Tobago. The people of Tobago are as much fans of the T&T team as the people of Trinidad. We have it real sweet here in this country... as I said in another thread. We clearly have no real problems here so we decide we have to create some silly ones.

We lost to Bermuda at the Marvin Lee Stadium, we have not lost a World Cup Qualifier at the Hasely Crawford stadium since Mexico beat us 3-1 there in 2004. We have only lost twice in the HCS since then, to Haiti in Digicel Cup final in 07 and England..well four times if you want to count Beenhakker games versus the Paraguay club and North East stars...

I think we should have rotated the venues more though, although I don't think it should have been this game, but if the support in Tobago is better than the HCS, which it might prove to be...all power to them..who knows Tobago may turn in to our real home fortress..you never know...
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 11:10:38 AM

We lost to Bermuda at the Marvin Lee Stadium, we have not lost a World Cup Qualifier at the Hasely Crawford stadium since Mexico beat us 3-1 there in 2004. We have only lost twice in the HCS since then, to Haiti in Digicel Cup final in 07 and England..well four times if you want to count Beenhakker games versus the Paraguay club and North East stars...

I think we should have rotated the venues more though, although I don't think it should have been this game, but if the support in Tobago is better than the HCS, which it might prove to be...all power to them..who knows Tobago may turn in to our real home fortress..you never know...

So in d middle of d WCQ we lookin 4 a venue dat will give we a real home advantage.
Post by: Touches on April 23, 2009, 11:48:31 AM
I agree with the writer.

There is more than just the mortar inside the pestle.

I am neither here nor there for Tobago getting a game...is just the timing of the game suspect.

I not on the Tobago issue, who toting feelings, noise in the stadium, waggonist, sacrifices to see a game etc...that is all of alyuh personal grouse and inferiority complex, real or imagined.

My main concern is that in a must win do or die game...by putting the match in Tobago, how has that improved our chances of winning the game?

All who for the game in Tobago answer me that!

Mindset and routine is part of the game, comfort, knowledge of the field, pre-game rituals etc.

Listen...even something as simple as shitting in the morning does get affected with a change in location. Some people just cyar do that nowhere else but home.

We turn a "home" game into an "away" game and yuh cyar spin that no way no how.

Finally....yuh ever think the TTFF know they arse is grass, the campaign over, and looking to HELP the nation by HIDING the shit them fellas does play on the field. It go only be 7500 seeing instead of 25,000...I feel that is wha going on in them fellas mind in trute.

Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 11:57:49 AM
I agree with the writer.

I am neither here nor there for Tobago getting a game...is just the timing of the game suspect.

I not on the Tobago issue, who toting feelings, noise in the stadium, waggonist, sacrifices to see a game etc...that is all of alyuh personal grouse and inferiority complex, real or imagined.

My main concern is that in a must win do or die game...by putting the match in Tobago, how has that improved our chances of winning the game?

Mindset and routine is part of the game, comfort, knowledge of the field, pre-game rituals etc.

Listen...even something as simple as shitting in the morning does get affected with a change in location. Some people just cyar do that nowhere else but home.

Finally....yuh ever think the TTFF know they arse is grass, the campaign over, and looking to HELP the nation by HIDING the shit them fellas does play on the field. It go only be 7500 seeing instead of 25,000...I feel that is wha going on in them fellas mind in trute.

Post by: fishs on April 23, 2009, 12:23:08 PM

I don't see how a change of venue could affect the outcome unless we like Bolivia.

Allyuh think that the Tobago football public going to carryon like mad regardless of the state of the game ?
They will be just like the stadium crowd, yuh playing shit , man sitting quiet, as a matter of fact the Tobago public more discerning than Trinidadians ( just look how they vote over the years) so doh be surprised if they start tuh boo.

There is absolutely no advantage to be gained by playing this game in Tobago football wise.

Maybe the new coach thinks it will be less pressure on him and the players to play before a long time intercol crowd.

But this decision will change, this is football mind games to upset the opposition. Ah bet yuh a week before the game the venue change. Jack know he could sell out the stadium in less than a day and simply refund the Tobago tickets.

At this stage this could be the only reason .
Post by: trinikev on April 23, 2009, 12:46:56 PM
I agree with the writer.

BIG post dere touches. The bolded portion encompasses my exact feelings on the issue.  :beermug:
Post by: Patterson on April 23, 2009, 01:31:55 PM

By using this logic Tobago would never see a WCQ...Every game the National Team is virtually a must win game so is best we play all in the HCS
Was any statement made that there would be no live TV coverage esepecially since the tickets would most likely be sold out.

Ah wonder if any of the warm up matches prior to the June 6th Costa Rica game will be played in Tobago?
How many many warmups are played at the HCS b4 Home matches?
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 01:35:11 PM

[/quote
By using this logic Tobago would never see a WCQ...Every game the National Team is virtually a must win game so is best we play all in the HCS
Was any statement made that there would be no live TV coverage esepecially since the tickets would most likely be sold out.

How many many warmups are played at the HCS b4 Home matches?

Since we playin at d HCS since d 80's I figure dey know d ground

Post by: samo on April 23, 2009, 01:41:30 PM
Knowing that de stadium could only hold 7500... Jack must have the tv rights to broadcast or something..
Post by: rippin on April 23, 2009, 01:58:44 PM
Is the Dwight Yorke the size of the Mannie? I assume it is because the Ato Boldon not much bigger and all them stadium build same time for same purpose. Is one of two things going to happen. The small size of the field will be a serious disadvantage to us or it would be an advantage. The size may help out with the lack of fitness and marking deficiencies because it have less ground to cover. Latas and Dwight could get more playing time. Maybe even Andrews, Whitley and all the other unfit old men people here calling for. However, providing my assumption of a small field is correct, I think playing in the DY is playing into Costa Rica hand. Their short pass, quick touches game with our ball watchers and slow to react defense going to be fatal. I not no coach so I probably wrong. All I can do is sit back and watch the ride.
Post by: dwolfman on April 23, 2009, 02:13:19 PM
The way men talking you would swear the match playing in the Azteca. What is so different about the conditions in Tobago that men have to get familiar with? When is to fete Tobago is nothing for us to get comfortable with, but all of a sudden it's an issue for the football team? Tobago is a 20 minute flight away and who here has not spent some varying amount of time in the sister isle? It takes more time for me to drive to my friend in Pt. Fortin than to get to where I stay when I go Tobago. Which of our players have to "adjust" to "conditions" in Tobago? These men "shitting" in a different stadium every other week for their employer and they do just fine. How hard it is to "shit" in Tobago in the morning and still play good in the evening?

This change bothering supporters more than it bothering players. If we really want to make field familiarity an issue then it doesn't matter where men play because the fields they are most familiar with are in Europe. If adjusting to playing in Tobago is going to be a problem for our players then we deserve to lose.
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 02:17:31 PM
The way men talking you would swear the match playing in the Azteca. What is so different about the conditions in Tobago that men have to get familiar with? When is to fete Tobago is nothing for us to get comfortable with, but all of a sudden it's an issue for the football team? Tobago is a 20 minute flight away and who here has not spent some varying amount of time in the sister isle? It takes more time for me to drive to my friend in Pt. Fortin than to get to where I stay when I go Tobago. Which of our players have to "adjust" to "conditions" in Tobago? These men "shitting" in a different stadium every other week for their employer and they do just fine. How hard it is to "shit" in Tobago in the morning and still play good in the evening?

This change bothering supporters more than it bothering players. If we really want to make field familiarity an issue then it doesn't matter where men play because the fields they are most familiar with are in Europe. If adjusting to playing in Tobago is going to be a problem for our players then we deserve to lose.

LOUDDDDDDDDDD STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

D real supporters done stalkin d port 2 get d tickets. It just not a sensible decision 2 carry this game bago. I luv bago ust like d next guy so some beach will b had dat weekend.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 23, 2009, 02:26:24 PM
i done have my tobago weekend book!
go be there from friday morning and back monday...unless they change it back to HCS..den go hada hit bago another weekend instead
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 02:27:54 PM
i done have my tobago weekend book!
go be there from friday morning and back monday...unless they change it back to HCS..den go hada hit bago another weekend instead

U C D fans done sortin out dey buziness
Post by: ann3boys on April 23, 2009, 02:32:51 PM
well looks like we reach indeed - instead of deciding on a chant for support we trying to decode why the venue- what is wrong with us??? focus people focus :)
come on people what we chanting? :devil:
Post by: DeSoWa on April 23, 2009, 02:47:28 PM
I agree with the writer.

Dais my only problem with this post...touches you should know better  ;D  :devil:

Post by: kiffysmooth on April 23, 2009, 03:56:40 PM
Football in Tobago makes no sense
T&T Newsday Editorial.

THE EDITOR: The decision by the TTFF to play the next World Cup game in Tobago does not make any sense. In football terms, it is foolish to give away your home advantage since our own players will also be playing at the venue for the first time. On top of that there will be less than 10,000 fans instead of the 25,000 if it were held in Port-of-Spain.

In financial terms, it is even more puzzling since by their own admission the TTFF will lose some $2 million by playing in Tobago. Is this the same TTFF that claims that it desperately needs money and is always criticising the government for not giving more financial support? I wonder how sponsors feel about this since it gives the impression that the TTFF is full of money and can afford to choose a less profitable venue.

There is no logic behind this decision and it makes a mockery of their demands for more support from local fans and money from sponsors. One lame excuse is that it is because of Dwight Yorke’s return to football. But what about Russell Latapy’s first game as national coach? His popularity would guarantee a sell-out crowd and a packed Hasely Crawford stadium. Supporters from his roots in Laventille would come out in their thousands to give support. It almost seems that somebody wants the Little Magician to get as little hometown support as possible.

If it makes no financial or football sense, then maybe there is a political reason behind this decision. There is always a danger when sport is in the hands of politicians.

Sporting events are manipulated to suit their ambitions and maybe someone is trying to build political support in the two Tobago constituencies. Maybe someone remembered that it was these two seats that tilted the balance of power in a previous general election. There can be no other reason and let us hope that the national team does not end up paying a heavy price for this senseless and selfish decision.

D SINGH
Couva

Look at de author...it never had ah good "Singh" in fitball yet....  Dat name only good for roti shop, hardware, store and plumming supplies...steeeeeuppppeesss!
Post by: acb on April 23, 2009, 04:21:04 PM
Look at de author...it never had ah good "Singh" in fitball yet....  Dat name only good for roti shop, hardware, store and plumming supplies...steeeeeuppppeesss!

This statement exemplify why you is a c*nt.

This no different that when Juve fans say "A Black Italian does not exist"

Post by: WestCoast on April 23, 2009, 04:26:49 PM
boy oh boy
some people figure that because is ah football forum and they are invisible, that they can say what they want ::)
maybe that is why TnT does be in such a state....any Sociologist on here studying this sort of thing
and is always the ones who CLAIM that they are Intellectually Advanced
Post by: kiffysmooth on April 23, 2009, 04:28:54 PM

Bump yuh mouth daddy...yuh online, so yuh bad! enjoy de security of de internet...and for future reference, stop being soo passionate bout old talk
Post by: palos on April 23, 2009, 04:34:56 PM

Bump yuh mouth daddy...yuh online, so yuh bad! enjoy de security of de internet...and for future reference, stop being soo passionate bout old talk

Yuh could call it ole talk all yuh want but dat eh no ole talk sah.

Dat was simply offensive.  Check yuhself.  It eh have no place fuh dat here. 
Post by: acb on April 23, 2009, 04:36:37 PM

pot calling kettle black.

you could never say that to any Singh (or any Indo-Trinbagonian as you insinuate) to dey face.

Yuh know what, it actually make sense that somebody would make a disparaging comment like about another race in Trinidad under a thread that some would use to alienate Tobagonians because they would like to host a meaningful fitball game.
Post by: Deeks on April 23, 2009, 04:43:42 PM
That Singh is Kendal JagdeoSingh. Look man, throwing aspersions on someone name Singh is not nice. You could be cussing an Afro-trini.
Post by: kiffysmooth on April 23, 2009, 04:44:25 PM
ACB...if yuh read my post yuh would realize dat I was in favor of de game playing in Tobago......yuh didnt take time to read...yuh jes quick to bump yuh mouth to make ah entrance...steuppes....yuh not even worth my time yute..as ah say.."Enjoy yuh safe zone"
Post by: acb on April 23, 2009, 04:55:37 PM
ACB...if yuh read my post yuh would realize dat I was in favor of de game playing in Tobago......yuh didnt take time to read...yuh jes quick to bump yuh mouth to make ah entrance...steuppes....yuh not even worth my time yute..as ah say.."Enjoy yuh safe zone"

at what cost? .... putting down yuh fellow Trinidadian because he name is Singh?

No wonder Port of Spain/ Trinidad was described as a sleepy backwater by a member of the International Press Corps last week. Is a good thing they didn't interview any of the locals.

steups. Enjoy yuh safe zone.

Post by: just cool on April 23, 2009, 05:20:41 PM
I agree with the writer.

Touches i disagree wid almost every thing yuh typed, except! the red bolded referances! i really believe campaign over in the minds of the TTFF and righfully SO!!

they did every thing in their power to assure this result !! a lot of lame brain decisions and a lot of nonsensical sh!t ! now is pay tuh the piper time!

i refuse tuh believe we beating costa rica in tobago , hasley crawford,or the oval, and we certainly not beating el tri in aztaca, and we not beating honduras in they back yard, we not beating the U.S. with their A team until 2018, and we certainly not beating costa rica in their back yard neither!

the only 2 games i see us winning for this whole campaign is, El salvador @ home maybe! and mexico @ home! if we finish wid 10 points we lucky. if yuh fail to prepare prepare tuh fail!! jamaica learn that lession very early! too little too late!

pancho gone wid the bag ah money he get tuh damage we football and set us back 6 yrs, and yet again another foolish near sighted move by AJW and the TTFF! and for the 100th time jack warner falls on his own sword!!! again!!
Post by: Daft Trini on April 23, 2009, 05:28:46 PM
I agree with the writer.

Touches i disagree wid almost every thing yuh typed, except! the red bolded referances! i really believe campaign over in the minds of the TTFF and righfully SO!!

they did every thing in their power to assure this result !! a lot of lame brain decisions and a lot of nonsensical sh!t ! now is pay tuh the piper time!

i refuse tuh believe we beating costa rica in tobago , hasley crawford,or the oval, and we certainly not beating el tri in aztaca, and we not beating honduras in they back yard, we not beating the U.S. with their A team until 2018, and we certainly not beating costa rica in their back yard neither!

the only 2 games i see us winning for this whole campaign is, El salvador @ home maybe! and mexico @ home! if we finish wid 10 points we lucky. if yuh fail to prepare prepare tuh fail!! jamaica learn that lession very early! too little too late!

pancho gone wid the bag ah money he get tuh damage we football and set us back 6 yrs, and yet again another foolish near sighted move by AJW and the TTFF! and for the 100th time jack warner falls on his own sword!!! again!!

we agree on this family. :beermug:

fren thing and politrix kill it!
Post by: College on April 23, 2009, 05:33:39 PM
Kiffy regardless of your intent .. yuh mak ah off color comment, just give we a 'my bad 'and end de ole talk .. oh by the way, like yuh never hear about Tony Singh from Saints? ... ;D
Post by: Deeks on April 23, 2009, 05:51:06 PM
Kiffy,
        Valentino Singh, Kenny Ramdoo, Milton Seeberan, Mervyn Sirju, Steve Khan, Michael Boodhoo, Leo Brewster, Zafar khan, Bobby Sookram and many more.
Post by: Deeks on April 23, 2009, 05:53:53 PM
JC,
      I agree with you. But Pacho ain't carry we football 6 yrs. It went back from the time Jack Blacklist them fellas!!!
Post by: sammy on April 23, 2009, 05:55:13 PM

yuh is a twin?
Post by: Victor on April 23, 2009, 06:09:13 PM
I am all in favor of this game being played in Tobago. I know in my heart playing a WCQ game in Tobago is long overdue, and Jack is doing the right thing.

Some people claim to be indifferent about playing  this game in Tobago. But the onus is on Tobago & its poeple to improve  - even before the game is played - our chances of winning the game. I tell you.

I was born & raised in Trinidad. When I walk up Rosalino Street, I am in front of the Oval; and I am about eight minutes away from HCS.

You know what's hard to digest? Man & woman on this forum - probably the heart & soul of we football - saying and believing  that a WCQ game played in Tobago is an "away" game. Allyuh take win yes!!

I go leave this forum with this: Jack jeopardized this 2010 campaign when he black listed the 2006 world cup players. Then he made damn sure we wouldn't qualify for SA when he fired Wim & replaced him with Maturana, instead of hiring another competent dutch coach. But that is just my opinion & I am not trying to impose my views on anyone.

Tobago:
Come out & support YOUR team on the June 6th. Treat the poeple that are adamant about taking this game away from you  - because of all the wonderful reasons they have cited - with courtersy & respect. Be aware, you will get plenty condesending smiles from your compatriots.
Post by: sammy on April 23, 2009, 06:16:45 PM
I real disappointed that i wont get to see the game live, but that is probably the same feeling most Tobagonians does go through every time we play. Them fellas deserve the chance to see a game across there, after all the team is Trinidad and Tobago.
Post by: GunnerStunner on April 23, 2009, 06:19:19 PM
about time bago got a lil bligh

but

if the national stadium was a loud noisy den of warrior supporters it would never be held thier we have ourselves to blame

now shut up

turn out

and make some noise
Post by: jimmel14 on April 23, 2009, 06:33:59 PM
aye so where we meeting for this game.. Uncovered is the best.. LOL . ima be there on d 6th. I live like about 10 mins from the stadia.. ooh then days when i in ma bed and they have concerts going on. LOL...
I welcome u my fellow Warriors, to embrace the fact that its not an away game.. we should count we lucky stars that all our games weren't played in the US..

"Sometimes we dont understand why.. but we need not ask why but how are we going to make it better. Such is life that all the bads of this world will never over come the good"
Christon J Harrypersad
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 23, 2009, 06:43:38 PM
well i go be eenside for sure. i practically from tobago so me eh diggin no horrors goin over to see d game.  :beermug:
Post by: College on April 23, 2009, 06:48:30 PM
This is not a Trinidad or Tobago thing, some peeps trying to make it out to be, but its not.

In general, the posters whose opinions are against playing in Tobago have no ill feelings towards our folks in Tobago but rather  its about our football...is it  to our advantage? and what is the real motive behind the to move to play in DYS (we can have healthy discussions here)

All who want to stay blind could stay blind, but please dont start no beef between T&T :beermug:
Post by: just cool on April 23, 2009, 07:00:54 PM
I real disappointed that i wont get to see the game live, but that is probably the same feeling most Tobagonians does go through every time we play. Them fellas deserve the chance to see a game across there, after all the team is Trinidad and Tobago.
So wham, yuh cyar tek ah ferry or ah dash8 over the water? yuh know it's only 25mins from piarco tuh tobago and another 25 mins tuh the dwight yorke stadium. i will say it's the same time as sanjuan to murcorapo and back!

i woulda love to be in trini, i woulda make all them games. what a great advantage allyuh local base have over us expats.
Post by: freakazoid on April 23, 2009, 07:01:54 PM
no no lets move the game to the stadium of light, after all our 3 top players are very familar with the pitch and the environment. what about that huh?  because around June tobago gets very very cold, i dont think or players will be too familar with that.
Local players? nah they dont play at the dys. it will be a first 4 everyone. come on mates .

by the way my location is  trinidad ............LONG PAUSE and tobago not england in case u were wondering
Post by: Socafan on April 23, 2009, 07:57:55 PM
How a game in Tobago could be an "away game" boy? Anybody on this forum that saying that is ah top level c*&t......and this is one of the few times I cuss on this forum.

I go say it loud and clear and who vex I eh care........Trinidad has some of the STOOOOPPPIDDDEST people in the world.

Where is USA's home stadium?

STEEUUPS..............

Ah bet the crowd in the DYS is the loudest ever heard at a game ever heard in TnT. Bet yuh.....
Post by: saga pinto on April 23, 2009, 08:03:43 PM

That sound like ah threat boy,tone it down fellas.....
Post by: Deeks on April 23, 2009, 08:04:20 PM
Nobody ain't saying Tobago should not get a game.  
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 08:04:58 PM
no no lets move the game to the stadium of light, after all our 3 top players are very familar with the pitch and the environment. what about that huh?  because around June tobago gets very very cold, i dont think or players will be too familar with that.
Local players? nah they dont play at the dys. it will be a first 4 everyone. come on mates .

by the way my location is  trinidad ............LONG PAUSE and tobago not england in case u were wondering

So Carlos etal familiar wit d DY gr8 I sold
Post by: Touches on April 23, 2009, 08:09:34 PM
3 pages later we are yet to have a poster highlight the benefits of playing in Tobago and listing the advantages that TT has in it's quest to defeat Costa Rica.

Carry on...
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 08:10:34 PM
3 pages later we are yet to have a poster highlight the benefits of playing in Tobago and listing the advantages that TT has in it's quest to defeat Costa Rica.

Carry on...

D benefit is dat d bago peeps gettin 2 c a WCQ.
Post by: Touches on April 23, 2009, 08:40:48 PM
Is a good ting I on entertainment with this side yes...anyhow.

Come nah alyuh, yuh disagreeing with my post, calling me names and yet have nuttin to refute or substantiate alyuh arguement.

Alright lemme read and spell for some of us here...

Team Trinidad and Tobago Advantages of playing the game in the Dwight Yorke Stadium Tobago.

Team T&T Benefit #1.....(insert benefit here)

Team T&T Benefit #2....(insert benefit here)

Team T&T Benefit #3...Vocal and supportive 7500 crowd to instill passion in Dwight, Keon and Cyd.

Carry On...

Psssssttt alyuh I have wool to sell, it seems I have quite a few customers here.

At this level, all football about is MONEY...why would the Jackular take a hit so. It not taking him nothing to put up the plyboard and scaffold in the Marvin lee and keep the prices the same. It ent nuttin for him to go in the oval or any other available stadia. There must be a reason...is either he making he money some other way or he decide to cut his losses early.
Doh forget when is HCS he paying a rental or % of gate to Gary Hunt...it must be cost him less to go across Bago with the 7500 and with the reduced ticket price.
Jack is a smart man...is some thing up. The wool and smokescreen in full effect.
Post by: Socafan on April 23, 2009, 08:41:56 PM

Carry on...

Oh shit man!!!.....what are the advantages of playing at the Hasely?
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 08:54:26 PM
I agree with the writer.

I have no idea why you felt the need to include this... maybe it's your own personal grouse and inferiority complex, real or imagined?  Me personally I only been to Tobago twice, once when ah was 10 and den two months ago... so trust mankind ent have de kinda imaginary hang ups you have floating around inside yuh head.

How has it worsened our chances of winning the game?

You's normally ah sensible fella but yuh real talking ah pack ah ass right dey.  So you trying to say anytime we play in Mannie Ramjohn or de Marvin Lee that is an "away" game??  We only have ONE home field in all of Trinidad AND Tobago??  What a sorry state of affairs if true.  If that is really the case then more power to Jack then... nutten like ah sorf "road" game tuh get we ready fuh qualifying on de road, no? 

Your argument would hold more water if these men playing de football day in day out at the HCS, when in fact the reality is that half of them play at facilities worse than the Dwight Yorke, and the other half ply their trade overseas... so HCS is only remotely familiar to them... if yuh really talking about routine and all ah dat.  How much time yuh think that particular US squad dat cut we ass in Tennessee play at LP field?
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 08:56:50 PM

Bingo.

Ole talk is ole talk... but yuh come in real outta timing with dat comment dey fella.
Post by: Anbrat on April 23, 2009, 08:58:41 PM
That Singh is Kendal JagdeoSingh. Look man, throwing aspersions on someone name Singh is not nice. You could be cussing an Afro-trini.

I hear you saying dat throwing aspersions on someone name Singh is not nice because " You could be cussing an Afro-trini". Shud dat be interpreted to mean dat it is nice if the cussing is directed at an Indo-Trini?
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 09:02:54 PM
How a game in Tobago could be an "away game" boy? Anybody on this forum that saying that is ah top level c*&t......and this is one of the few times I cuss on this forum.

I go say it loud and clear and who vex I eh care........Trinidad has some of the STOOOOPPPIDDDEST people in the world.

Where is USA's home stadium?

STEEUUPS..............

Ah bet the crowd in the DYS is the loudest ever heard at a game ever heard in TnT. Bet yuh.....

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:... dai'z right, cuss dey c**t.  Whey de ass is de US home field fuh real??

*High f**kkin five*

Nobody ain't saying Tobago should not get a game.   

They not?  Man straight up saying Tobago shouldn't get ah game dis critical.  So I ask you, if not this game then which one?  Gold Cup?  Friendly?
Post by: Anbrat on April 23, 2009, 09:05:15 PM

Dat old talk was in poor taste and not fitting for present day thinking.
Post by: Touches on April 23, 2009, 09:06:53 PM
No need to curse

We on discourse here...I have at least 8 points to share with you but you go first.

I ask first...play along now.

Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 09:09:09 PM

Carry on...

More intimate crowd... more passionate fans.  Yuh damn sure ent go get no hoity toity waggonist who only come tuh lime and gape de Carib girls.

Now your turn... tell us the disadvantages.  And by dat ah doh mean shitting in ah strange toilet... maybe dat does give you trouble but I bet when most humans gotta go they gotta go.
Post by: Deeks on April 23, 2009, 09:13:36 PM
Anbrat,
          There are quite a few Afro-trinis with Indian blood. Some have Indian/Muslim names.
Post by: trini_stallion on April 23, 2009, 09:18:07 PM
this makes no sense.... aside from the fact that the TTFF loosing money, arent we a country.. we should take pride that out country consist of 2 beautiful isles, this is a really touchy subject with respects to Trinbagonians and Trinidadians. The Trini's would never accept Tobagonians as equals.. well not all of em that is. change is inevitable, like it or not it always happens.

" Our Ignorance towards life and people, leads us to failure at every instant we think we have achieved"
Christon J Harrypersad

thats rite...agreeed!

Apart from that, if yuh read de fist article, it states that it seems as tho, they made that move as a inspirational/ sentimental gesture for latapy, yorke nd the players, as well as to inaugurate what has been in the making for a long time, Latas being the coach of our national team....
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 09:21:01 PM
No need to curse

We on discourse here...I have at least 8 points to share with you but you go first.

I ask first...play along now.

While we young nah Moses. 

All dat time yuh liming up on de Mount yuh coulda done leave we de Commandments long time.
Post by: Deeks on April 23, 2009, 09:28:12 PM
Bakes,
            When there was all the  grand charging with venue for the first game, Jack say the Oval, then South, then Arima, then his stadium. Why did he not play it in Sando.  Mannie  bigger than his own and I sure the Southerners would have come out in full support. South does hardly get international games as before.

But anyhow, in the future we should spread the games around. Scarborough, Sando, Palo Seco, Point, even Grande(if they fix the field). US does play all over and still cut we arse. How come we can't do the same.

This argument would have been mute if this team was playing good. They are not.We don't have confidence in them.
Post by: Touches on April 23, 2009, 09:39:02 PM
Bakes I dealing with Socafan...let me hear him first and I will share my thoughts with both of you.

However the passionate fans point to me is mere speculation...yet to be proven.

So Tobago people doh have no waggonists in their midst or doh gape are Carib girls? I could push a stupid talk and say based on the number of games played there they might be suffering from unaccustommed...but noise in the stands does not always equate to performance on the field...so I not convinced on this point.

Also on sheer numbers is 7,500 vs 22,000...plus the hasely have a few riddim sections going and people use the thundersticks and whistles/noisemakers that are handed out. Honestly the Guatemala game had much more noise in it than the last Honduras game and For Guatemala, Mexico and Bahrain in the last WCQ the atmosphere was good. If the HCS on point DYS cyar touch it.

But ok...for what its worth Benefit #1 (better louder and more passionate fans in bago)..speculation.

Personally Bakes...I cyar shit nowhere else but home. Dais me...my bamsee does get shy. When I travel abroad..even a down the islands etc I will get a bout of constipation. If a runnings take me...is straight home.

I want to go in meh bed soon so I waiting for Socafan and the rest. Doh frighten i go continue this shortly.

But I will hit you one fact...just a thought...how are your feelings about Home Record. Like Liverpool at the Kop or Manu in Trafford or Chelsea at the Bridge or Arsenal etc. What do you think is the reason for that...fans chanting aside.

Trinidad and Tobago currently has an excellent record in the HCS and have not lost a WCQ there since Beenhaker came on board. The one loss in WCQ at home was in the marvin lee.

Does that record count for anything? Is it not an achievement to be proud of?...we did beat USA, Mexico, Guatemala, Panama and Cuba there...the HCS has a positive vibes...intangible maybe but a record currently exists.

but we go get into more points later on.

Post by: Touches on April 23, 2009, 09:47:32 PM
This is not a Trinidad or Tobago thing, some peeps trying to make it out to be, but its not.

In general, the posters whose opinions are against playing in Tobago have no ill feelings towards our folks in Tobago but rather  its about our football...is it  to our advantage? and what is the real motive behind the to move to play in DYS (we can have healthy discussions here)

All who want to stay blind could stay blind, but please dont start no beef between T&T :beermug:

my sentiments exactly  :beermug:
Post by: morgz on April 23, 2009, 09:50:20 PM
Boy I does hardly post, in fact i does just read and get meh kicks but this one hitting close to home (and ah mean real close).

Men talking bout this game like if it have some players on the national side that never kick a ball in DYS. But the fact remains that on a number of occasions (and I'll stand to be corrected if I am wrong) at some point of all of these fellars careers they would have either played or trained in the stadium. I mean we have had national training camps in bago before, so what, the grass an air in bago so foreign steups.

And as far as benefits, there may be none as far as anyone can tell but then again we will have to actually play a game to know now won't we.

Look and many of my friends and family pay for our plane/boat tickets travel to Trini and watch games at extra cost, and hoss is more than the cost a gas or taxi fare, and we support our team. So don't we deserve to have a game in Tobago too, eh.

I believe games should be rotated throughout TnT but while all you have to consider gas or a transport for a game anywhere in Trinidad. Any Tobagonian would have to find the added boat or airfare and 10 to 1 you will still find a crew of us there.

Anyhow one never knows which way it will go in the land of lies, half truths and innuendos. So if it plays in DYS I will be there making noise all the way. YES WIN, DRAW or LOOSE.    
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 10:01:08 PM

Cosign
Post by: MEP on April 23, 2009, 10:03:42 PM
For some reason this has turned into allyuh hate Tobago...as I see it, it does not have anything to do with who from Trini or who from bago..we is de same people....had the TTFF been different you would not have heard ah peep outta anybody but given the recent history of TnT football and the nature of the people who run it one is left but to wonder what PROCESS or PROCESSES led to the decision of a Tobago venue.
To play in Tobago is fine but again one is also left to wonder as in '89...would the team be staying within  minutes of the venue or would they be taking an early flight that morning?
Post by: Touches on April 23, 2009, 10:10:07 PM
I agree with the writer.

I have no idea why you felt the need to include this... maybe it's your own personal grouse and inferiority complex, real or imagined?  Me personally I only been to Tobago twice, once when ah was 10 and den two months ago... so trust mankind ent have de kinda imaginary hang ups you have floating around inside yuh head.

How has it worsened our chances of winning the game?

You's normally ah sensible fella but yuh real talking ah pack ah ass right dey.  So you trying to say anytime we play in Mannie Ramjohn or de Marvin Lee that is an "away" game??  We only have ONE home field in all of Trinidad AND Tobago??  What a sorry state of affairs if true.  If that is really the case then more power to Jack then... nutten like ah sorf "road" game tuh get we ready fuh qualifying on de road, no? 

Your argument would hold more water if these men playing de football day in day out at the HCS, when in fact the reality is that half of them play at facilities worse than the Dwight Yorke, and the other half ply their trade overseas... so HCS is only remotely familiar to them... if yuh really talking about routine and all ah dat.  How much time yuh think that particular US squad dat cut we ass in Tennessee play at LP field?

Bakes I understand where you coming from and thank you for putting your logic across.

Now hear me out...we really only have TWO home fields in TT. My view is that WCQ is SERIOUS ting, it is what brings out the passion in people and the HCS and Oval are the only places large enough when the crowd get into it, to collectively intimidate an opponent and showcase our passion...e.g. If you were at the Bahrain match they came out scared and timid. They walked in a little group and were in awe in the middle of the field in the pre-match walkabout. Yes the 25,000 of us had that effect on them...it was noise and the visual sea of red was a sight to behold...Do you remember how they couldnt even kick a ball for the opening 20 minutes...It was then we had the opportunity to slaughter them but we were coasting. it was waggonists galore but we had a cokes bottle rattle and thundersticks and all the riddim sections and it was boss.

Now this line I would like to challenge...
Your argument would hold more water if these men playing de football day in day out at the HCS

Yes our players do...the local pro league players have their matches there. All those who play for unnattached fc and were part of the national team have played a significant amount of games there and all the veterans of our WC team have fought many a do or die battle in the HCS and come out victorious.

So is not day in day out...but is plenty playing time for some and important battles won for others.

Finally I think the issue about USA and their playing games is not a fair comparison..they have better facilities, a larger population, more fans to satisfy, a larger professional player pool and their location scheduling of games is also based on the opponent that they are going to face. For friendlies they will use the demographic to sell tickets. But they are careful in putting games where there are less Hispanics for WCQ. JA and TT are not threats to them in WCQ and we fall into the maximization of ticket revenue bracket.

Good discussion we will carry on
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 10:12:23 PM
Bakes,
            When there was all the  grand charging with venue for the first game, Jack say the Oval, then South, then Arima, then his stadium. Why did he not play it in Sando.  Mannie  bigger than his own and I sure the Southerners would have come out in full support. South does hardly get international games as before.

But anyhow, in the future we should spread the games around. Scarborough, Sando, Palo Seco, Point, even Grande(if they fix the field). US does play all over and still cut we arse. How come we can't do the same.

This argument would have been mute if this team was playing good. They are not.We don't have confidence in them.

Deeks... I agree with yuh.  I doh mind they only playing it at one or two stadiums to be honest, or if they say HCS is we home field... with the occasional game elsewhere.  But fans in South, and MOST importantly, the fans in Tobago deserve to see a quality game in their backyard.  Even if yuh throw ah non-qualifier bone tuh de Southerners (since it really ent no hardship for them to ride up de Uriah Butler), Tobago fans should get ah chance to see ah big match at home man.
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 10:23:47 PM
Bakes I dealing with Socafan...let me hear him first and I will share my thoughts with both of you.

Arrite, fair enuf.

However the passionate fans point to me is mere speculation...yet to be proven.

As is your contention that we will somehow suffer for having played the game in Tobago, no?

So Tobago people doh have no waggonists in their midst or doh gape are Carib girls? I could push a stupid talk and say based on the number of games played there they might be suffering from unaccustommed...but noise in the stands does not always equate to performance on the field...so I not convinced on this point.

Yuh don't have to be... but the fact is that this being their first (and likely last for a long time) WC qualifier, this game will attract some never-see-come-sees... but I bet you every man jack who serious about dey football in Tobago go turn out too tuh make noise.  In fact why yuh doh rounds up yuh crew and make de lime?

Also on sheer numbers is 7,500 vs 22,000...plus the hasely have a few riddim sections going and people use the thundersticks and whistles/noisemakers that are handed out. Honestly the Guatemala game had much more noise in it than the last Honduras game and For Guatemala, Mexico and Bahrain in the last WCQ the atmosphere was good. If the HCS on point DYS cyar touch it.

But ok...for what its worth Benefit #1 (better louder and more passionate fans in bago)..speculation.

I never posited it as fact... none of us can conclusively predict the impact (positive or negative) of playing the game in Tobago.  It's not like we have some precedent to go on... so all ah we speculating, pro and con.

Personally Bakes...I cyar shit nowhere else but home. Dais me...my bamsee does get shy. When I travel abroad..even a down the islands etc I will get a bout of constipation. If a runnings take me...is straight home.

I want to go in meh bed soon so I waiting for Socafan and the rest. Doh frighten i go continue this shortly.

But I will hit you one fact...just a thought...how are your feelings about Home Record. Like Liverpool at the Kop or Manu in Trafford or Chelsea at the Bridge or Arsenal etc. What do you think is the reason for that...fans chanting aside.

Creature comforts of playing at home... no doubt, but in large part it's the emotional lift the team gets from playing in front its home fans, that likely is the biggest reason.  Have any of them home teams play in front of a hostile crowd (opposing teams' fans) in their own stadium and I bet the record will be different.  The fans are the biggest reason for the home advantage... not the fact that yuh could find de showers with yuh eye closed and one hand tied behind yuh back.

Trinidad and Tobago currently has an excellent record in the HCS and have not lost a WCQ there since Beenhaker came on board. The one loss in WCQ at home was in the marvin lee.

Does that record count for anything? Is it not an achievement to be proud of?...we did beat USA, Mexico, Guatemala, Panama and Cuba there...the HCS has a positive vibes...intangible maybe but a record currently exists.

but we go get into more points later on.

It definitely counts for something... but how many other qualifiers have we played elsewhere in TnT to say for sure that it's the facility itself and not the support of the fans?  When England arrive last summer to play is then man found out how terrible the facilities were, is not like HCS is some plush outfit that the players automatically get ah edge once dey spot it from Wrightson Rd.
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 10:37:10 PM
Bakes I understand where you coming from and thank you for putting your logic across.

Now hear me out...we really only have TWO home fields in TT. My view is that WCQ is SERIOUS ting, it is what brings out the passion in people and the HCS and Oval are the only places large enough when the crowd get into it, to collectively intimidate an opponent and showcase our passion...e.g. If you were at the Bahrain match they came out scared and timid. They walked in a little group and were in awe in the middle of the field in the pre-match walkabout. Yes the 25,000 of us had that effect on them...it was noise and the visual sea of red was a sight to behold...Do you remember how they couldnt even kick a ball for the opening 20 minutes...It was then we had the opportunity to slaughter them but we were coasting. it was waggonists galore but we had a cokes bottle rattle and thundersticks and all the riddim sections and it was boss.

I agree with you that the Oval and HCS are excellent venues based on our records there... and yes, if it ent broke doh fix it.  However, at this point we don't know for fact that the DYS would have a negative impact, just as we don't know if it will have a positive impact... none of us can really say.  And yes, this is a critical game... but which WCQ isn't?  If not NOW... when??

Now this line I would like to challenge...
Your argument would hold more water if these men playing de football day in day out at the HCS

Yes our players do...the local pro league players have their matches there. All those who play for unnattached fc and were part of the national team have played a significant amount of games there and all the veterans of our WC team have fought many a do or die battle in the HCS and come out victorious.

So is not day in day out...but is plenty playing time for some and important battles won for others.

Okay, I can concede that point then. 

Although as I said, to me it makes no material difference, is not like DYS would be such a drop off in quality as to have an effect on the players.  Concededly I don't know... I never kick ball fuh de national team at the HCS... but with all due respect, neither has anyone else here (to my knowledge).  So none of us really would know the impact from a players perspective... THAT would be great to find out.  If Latas (supposedly) has no issues with it... whom am I to complain?

Finally I think the issue about USA and their playing games is not a fair comparison..they have better facilities, a larger population, more fans to satisfy, a larger professional player pool and their location scheduling of games is also based on the opponent that they are going to face. For friendlies they will use the demographic to sell tickets. But they are careful in putting games where there are less Hispanics for WCQ. JA and TT are not threats to them in WCQ and we fall into the maximization of ticket revenue bracket.

Good discussion we will carry on

How does that matter?  The better facilities argument implies that all the stadia are of similar standard so there's no drop off from one to the other, right?  I've never been to the DYS and is twenty plus yrs since I was last at the HCS... but my guess is that the two are comparable in terms of quality and amenity... no?

Fan base... Sam's Army will travel and support their team whether is Home Depot Center in LA, or Toyota Center in Chicago.  Is it the same set of fans... maybe not.  But I know that just as we does organize lime and roll with we crew dem men does do the same on their message board, so general fan base aside, the diehard followers mindset is "have ticket, will travel".  Wha'm tuh we... why we can't do de same?

---------

Morgz... big post  :beermug:
Post by: Touches on April 23, 2009, 10:48:01 PM
It definitely counts for something... but how many other qualifiers have we played elsewhere in TnT to say for sure that it's the facility itself and not the support of the fans?

Last one for the night from me eh Bakes...

From my recollection...back in time...the Strike squad..oval vs Honduras draw...a good string of wins at home only to lose to the USA in the HCS.

Revisit the Bertille/Porter field campaign. it was a combo of the Oval and the HCS.We beat Canada 4 in the oval, 7 past Panama and drew with Mexico after leading them and outplaying them...The Oval had a run of games and we had a good momentum in the semi-final round of matches qualifying ahead of mexico..we top the damn group.

Yes we talking WCQ but we also played a few games and won a shell cup there hitting Martinique 7 in the final.

Bakes lewwe wait on the other comments nah...you go lash meh on the other 7 I have. But lemme see what Socafan and the others have nah.

I know how happy those in Tobago are for the lil bligh...no scene, I does real ben to go Marvin Lee to watch a match so the sacrifices Tobago people make are appreciated...What is more hurtful...is that our team turns around and repays our efforts by a pathetic display devoid of passion on the field...but dat is a seperate issue.

I not fighting nobody down. I am merely curious as to the benefits of playing THIS game now across there.  When we know the track record of the man in charge. I asking, but only you take up the mantle...and I ent hear nuttin yet to sorfen my stance even though I understand the point where yuh coming from. Is the others I waiting on.

Till tom nah.

Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 11:03:44 PM
It definitely counts for something... but how many other qualifiers have we played elsewhere in TnT to say for sure that it's the facility itself and not the support of the fans?

From my recollection...back in time...the Strike squad..oval vs Honduras draw...a good string of wins at home only to lose to the USA in the HCS.

Revisit the Bertille/Porter field campaign. it was a combo of the Oval and the HCS.We beat Canada 4 in the oval, 7 past Panama and drew with Mexico after leading them and outplaying them...The Oval had a run of games and we had a good momentum in the semi-final round of matches qualifying ahead of mexico..we top the damn group.

Yes we talking WCQ but we also played a few games and won a shell cup there hitting Martinique 7 in the final.

Bakes lewwe wait on the other comments nah...you go lash meh on the other 7 I have. But lemme see what Socafan and the others have nah.

I know how happy those in Tobago are for the lil bligh...no scene, I does real ben to go Marvin Lee to watch a match so the sacrifices Tobago people make are appreciated...What is more hurtful...is that our team turns around and repays our efforts by a pathetic display devoid of passion on the field...but dat is a seperate issue.

I not fighting nobody down. I am merely curious as to the benefits of playing THIS game now across there.  When we know the track record of the man in charge. I asking, but only you take up the mantle...and I ent hear nuttin yet to sorfen my stance even though I understand the point where yuh coming from. Is the others I waiting on.

Till tom nah.

Arrite cool  :beermug:
Post by: freakazoid on April 24, 2009, 04:23:41 AM

what u telling me bout motive? i  have to travel to trini to buy tickets, then travel to trini 4 d game. and u telling me bout motive  y the game is in being played in bago. did any 1 care y concacaf was giving ah 1/2 spot against asisa in the last wcq. did any1 want to find out the motives 4 that? no really allyuh serious.
now to tell how allyuh bogus squared .  we have played games in marvin lee stadium queens park oval and marabella. how come there wasnt this great "discourse". after all  is  your football ah mean our football.
 if u see shit call it shit dont tell me is sugar coated shit. allyuh have a problem with the game being played in tobago and it has nothing to do with so called home advantage. i prefer if men man up and admit that  openly. after all   TRI means trinidad and tobago at the olympics . that tells alot of how the lil  sister isle is viewed or not viewed for that manner

the only good thing here is that we have never beaten costa rica so if we get a negative result  ppl cannot frown on the DYS as being the reason.

by the way i find mi way down marabella to watch tnt already eh and ah didnt know where i was going.buh say wah i have ah liat jet
Post by: Touches on April 24, 2009, 07:49:49 AM
Morning all...I back to hear alyuh.

I in Bago from the 5th-7.

Freakazoid...give thanks breds. I understand your frustration and I admire your support to the team.

But Freak relax a bit nah and forget your personal sacrifices to see a TT game. Take that out of the equation and look at all the other factors...that is all I want you to do. Just for a minute.

It have Motives breds...we play Bahrain...because they were from the next weakest confederation. So you feel Jack ent work dat magic in FIFA Office. It was our chance to go. Who you feel arranging fixtures?
Why you feel fixtures change this rounds to South America?... We get a loop hole and we use it. We earn that right and we win the battle..but it was a one and done.

Jack not studying the feelings of people in Tobago who like football....because those who love the Warriors paying their money like you to come across and watch the game anyway. Ent !
Freak it have a motive breds...the bottom line is Money and is something sacrificing for something.

Arghm...the point by which the Acronym is TRI...I dont know who you should take up your beef with. I dont know who came up with it or if is a standard method used. It is usually all letters and not symbols...so maybe dais why they ent use the &.

For Socafan, Bakes and Dwolfman
...the point about USA playing games wild all over the place, besides what I have already purported with regard to opposition, ticket sales etc. The USA is the EXCEPTION rather than the norm of all the other teams in Concacaf. Of the other teams in Concacaf who make the hex, where do they play?

Mexico while they have other stadiums play WCQ in the Azteca and have their own winning Record.

Costa Rica and Saprissa Std…where else do they play but that small artificial turf pitch.

Honduras...have their own little fortress

Guatemala the same....we collect 5, 4 and draw.

Jamaica…the Office.

Only Canada does play they games wild wild all over the place.

To say they do not have alternative venues to play is rubbish…all the countries mentioned have other stadia. What they do not do is play their WCQ outside of their main fortress.

My point is that if it is EASY for us to move games just so to the smaller stadia and Tobago just so…and for an important Do or Die…we kill the little home record/intimidation factor that I probably imagine we have….or we never had a home advantage in the first place ( I refuse to believe this)…Is years we trying to build a fortress atmosphere..we had all kinda name competition/poll on this site.

In this Do or Die game…move the battlefield to a outlaying camp….nah man something wrong. What it is?

But I will show alyuh meh thought process later on. Waiting for the benefit points still...
Post by: Rastaman on April 24, 2009, 07:55:42 AM
It costs me $300 airfare to watch a game in the HCS.....so..... I will be buying a bottle of JWB and walking to the DYS.......allyuh come help me drink it  ;D
Post by: Touches on April 24, 2009, 08:00:14 AM
I want coconut water as chaser please..thanks in advance.
Post by: Arazi on April 24, 2009, 08:02:21 AM
Morning all...I back to hear alyuh.

I in Bago from the 5th-7.

Freakazoid...give thanks breds. I understand your frustration and I admire your support to the team.

But Freak relax a bit nah and forget your personal sacrifices to see a TT game. Take that out of the equation and look at all the other factors...that is all I want you to do. Just for a minute.

It have Motives breds...we play Bahrain...because they were from the next weakest confederation. So you feel Jack ent work dat magic in FIFA Office. It was our chance to go. Who you feel arranging fixtures?
Why you feel fixtures change this rounds to South America?... We get a loop hole and we use it. We earn that right and we win the battle..but it was a one and done.

Jack not studying the feelings of people in Tobago who like football....because those who love the Warriors paying their money like you to come across and watch the game anyway. Ent !
Freak it have a motive breds...the bottom line is Money and is something sacrificing for something.

Arghm...the point by which the Acronym is TRI...I dont know who you should take up your beef with. I dont know who came up with it or if is a standard method used. It is usually all letters and not symbols...so maybe dais why they ent use the &.

For Socafan, Bakes and Dwolfman
...the point about USA playing games wild all over the place, besides what I have already purported with regard to opposition, ticket sales etc. The USA is the EXCEPTION rather than the norm of all the other teams in Concacaf. Of the other teams in Concacaf who make the hex, where do they play?

Mexico while they have other stadiums play WCQ in the Azteca and have their own winning Record.

Costa Rica and Saprissa Std…where else do they play but that small artificial turf pitch.

Honduras...have their own little fortress

Guatemala the same....we collect 5, 4 and draw.

Jamaica…the Office.

Only Canada does play they games wild wild all over the place.

To say they do not have alternative venues to play is rubbish…all the countries mentioned have other stadia. What they do not do is play their WCQ outside of their main fortress.

My point is that if it is EASY for us to move games just so to the smaller stadia and Tobago just so…and for an important Do or Die…we kill the little home record/intimidation factor that I probably imagine we have….or we never had a home advantage in the first place ( I refuse to believe this)…Is years we trying to build a fortress atmosphere..we had all kinda name competition/poll on this site.

In this Do or Die game…move the battlefield to a outlaying camp….nah man something wrong. What it is?

But I will show alyuh meh thought process later on. Waiting for the benefit points still...

I both agree and disagree with this statement...a major thing about home advantage is atmosphere and our local fans very rarely create any kind of intimidating atmosphere..you spoke of the bahrain game...and spoke of the atmosphere in the game..

the atmosphere the HCS had at the start of that game was awesome..the riddim section was going...Ah "we go f dem up chant was running early on.." then as the game went on..the crowd lose momentum..bahrain score..we get silent..then it pick back up wen birchall score..to this day apart from the panama game in 99 that was the best crowd I was a part of at any local football game..

but as for the lack of a fortress..i think we're sleeping on the fact we're slowly creating one..

WE HAVE NOT LOST A WORLD CUP QUALIFIER AT THE HASELY CRAWFORD STADIUM FOR FOUR AND A HALF YEARS!!!!! Even Bertille was able to get a point offa Costa Rica at the Stadium in 05... and prior to the the Mexico loss in 04..the last defeat in WCQ was Costa Rica in '01...

I fairly new in terms  of supporting the team cuz i now start working and could afford to buy my own tickets and thing..buh amazingly I have never been present at Trinidad and Tobago game where we lost.

This being said, the supporters have to leanr how to create that atmosphere that will further strengthen/ create our fortress...

Post by: weary1969 on April 24, 2009, 08:06:46 AM

Cue Brownsugar she carry all d way 2 Nashville so bago yuh safe. U might get it straight out d nut
Post by: Rastaman on April 24, 2009, 08:07:12 AM
Not a problem
Post by: spideybuff on April 24, 2009, 08:17:05 AM
WE HAVE NOT LOST A WORLD CUP QUALIFIER AT THE HASELY CRAWFORD STADIUM FOR FOUR AND A HALF YEARS!!!!!

Hmm...that coinciding nicely with how long I back in the country and I eh miss a game yet, so I taking some credit for that :-)
Post by: weary1969 on April 24, 2009, 08:25:01 AM
WE HAVE NOT LOST A WORLD CUP QUALIFIER AT THE HASELY CRAWFORD STADIUM FOR FOUR AND A HALF YEARS!!!!!

Hmm...that coinciding nicely with how long I back in the country and I eh miss a game yet, so I taking some credit for that :-)

So u need 2 strt d streak at DY c u in bago
Post by: spideybuff on April 24, 2009, 09:02:15 AM
Nah i went to Marvin Lee against Bermuda, so it might only apply to HCS  :D

I will be in Tobago for the game though...I am a soca warrior, win or lose i am a fighter.
Post by: fishs on April 24, 2009, 09:44:25 AM

This game playing in HCS.
Post by: spideybuff on April 24, 2009, 11:50:02 AM

U hoping, praying or telling we that u have first hand information on that?

Let me know quick, nah, cause my non-refunadble deposit due at the end of next week for a villa in Tobago.
Post by: Socafan on April 24, 2009, 11:03:20 PM

Till tom nah.

What comments you waiting on breds.........There is no advantage to the football to playing in DYS (since yuh saying fan support is only conjecture). IT IS JUST ANOTHER HOME GAME. This will also hold true if the game were to be played in any other world class facility anywhere in TNT.

Let me rephrase it so maybe yuh will understand......There is no advantage to the football to playing in HCS.

Anywhere in TnT is a home game. The HCS in and of itself does not bestow some magical, special, extra football prowess to our players, nor does it detract skills from other teams. Not one, none, nobody, none of our players will feel that playing at the DYS is like playing "away". Is that what yuh saying? To them it is equivalent to playing in Tennessee or the Azteca is what allyuh saying?? That is one of the most asinine things I have heard on this forum and will be worth reprising for a year end award. The DYS is an "away game" for the national team.....well yes. So what..the Mannie too....how 'bout the Oval?

Suppose 1 year we in the HEX and the HCS closed for unforseen needed repairs. We go have all away games that year? steups...

Adjust yuh post man..
Post by: fishs on April 25, 2009, 02:47:30 AM

Let me know quick, nah, cause my non-refunadble deposit due at the end of next week for a villa in Tobago.

Yuh have room in the villa ?
Post by: Bakes on April 26, 2009, 07:40:02 PM
Touches reach back yet?
Post by: weary1969 on April 26, 2009, 07:46:42 PM

BM say it sound like it headin back 2 T'dad. U brave 2 book room wit JW. I eh buy meh boat tick yet because u must have heard d story bout yday and 2day
Post by: weary1969 on April 26, 2009, 08:00:37 PM
OK my peeps say game in bago.
Post by: warmonga on April 26, 2009, 08:11:47 PM
let this sc**t haul he mudda.. Tobago is part a we .. and Tobago guh show this facker how dem does support dey people.. is full time now Tobago get a  farking world cup game.. Big up mi bago ppl dem..
war...
Post by: spideybuff on April 26, 2009, 08:39:44 PM

Yuh have room in the villa ?

For females...
Post by: saga pinto on April 26, 2009, 10:04:13 PM
This thread is nonsense,we should'nt even be discussing this as far as I remember is trinidad & tobago end of story.....
Post by: Touches on April 27, 2009, 07:43:10 PM
After reflecting for a few days I have realised what the "issue" is.

We simply all have a different view of what the word "HOME" means.

Taking the definition...I have highlighted common contexts used. If one is to judge the responses given via the points made you will see where everybody is coming from.

home
   /hoʊm/ Show Spelled Pronunciation [hohm] Show IPA noun, adjective, adverb, verb, homed, hom⋅ing.
–noun

1.    a house, apartment, or other shelter that is the usual residence of a person, family, or household.
2.    the place in which one's domestic affections are centered.
3.    an institution for the homeless, sick, etc.: a nursing home.
4.    the dwelling place or retreat of an animal.
5.    the place or region where something is native or most common.
6.    any place of residence or refuge: a heavenly home.
7.    a person's native place or own country.
8.    (in games) the destination or goal.
9.    a principal base of operations or activities: The new stadium will be the home of the local football team.
10.    Baseball. home plate.
11.    Lacrosse. one of three attack positions nearest the opposing goal.

–adjective
12.    of, pertaining to, or connected with one's home or country; domestic: home products.
13.    principal or main: the corporation's home office.
14.    reaching the mark aimed at: a home thrust.
15.    Sports. played in a ball park, arena, or the like, that is or is assumed to be the center of operations of a team: The pitcher didn't lose a single home game all season. Compare away (def. 11).

–adverb
16.    to, toward, or at home: to go home.
17.    deep; to the heart: The truth of the accusation struck home.
18.    to the mark or point aimed at: He drove the point home.
19.    Nautical.
a.    into the position desired; perfectly or to the greatest possible extent: sails sheeted home.
b.    in the proper, stowed position: The anchor is home.
c.    toward its vessel: to bring the anchor home.

–verb (used without object)
20.    to go or return home.
21.    (of guided missiles, aircraft, etc.) to proceed, esp. under control of an automatic aiming mechanism, toward a specified target, as a plane, missile, or location (often fol. by in on): The missile homed in on the target.
22.    to navigate toward a point by means of coordinates other than those given by altitudes.
23.    to have a home where specified; reside.

–verb (used with object)
24.    to bring or send home.
25.    to provide with a home.
26.    to direct, esp. under control of an automatic aiming device, toward an airport, target, etc.

—Idioms
27.    at home,
a.    in one's own house or place of residence.
b.    in one's own town or country.
c.    prepared or willing to receive social visits: Tell him I'm not at home. We are always at home to her.
d.    in a situation familiar to one; at ease: She has a way of making everyone feel at home.
e.    well-informed; proficient: to be at home in the classics.
f.    played in one's hometown or on one's own grounds: The Yankees played two games at home and one away. 

So we are all right...

Some of us have viewed a home game as one being played in either of the two islands in any location.
While I was of the view that "HOME" referred to as point 9 and 15...hence my "Away" description of Tobago and the DYS.

Having you all now understand my view of "Home" you may get a better sense of where I am coming from and my asking how would changing the location of the game lead to our success. Having read Socafans last response further clarified both of our positions.

Socafan I found you to be disrespectful, there is no need to cuss if someone does not share your same point of view (Besides a c**t is a nice thing) Which is why I was awaiting a position from you to "justify" your comments.  But is no scene.

Bakes, Dwolfman...just follow meh here. I had alyuh waiting for my points for a few days and is only now I get a chance to respond to you fellas.

Now, Socafan I would like to refute your position of there not being an advantage to the football when we play in the HCS. As the principal base of operations that is where memories are created, vibes are built and emotions are played out.

You know the saying a house is not a home...that is how I feel about this game being played in Tobago.

Imagine growing up from a child to an adult in a House. Everything you have learnt, all memories good and bad have been fostered there.

Time passes and you leave these shores...After a few years ...You come back...you "HOME" again, you set up residence again, but you are in a new house...things change...it will never be the same as the place you grew up and what you were accustommed to.

The home that you left...that is the place you know where the dishes are, what is in what drawer, what problems exist...only you know the technique how to open a certain door or gate and only you know how to close it back.

Those little things are the difference between Family and Stranger.

That...as irrelevant as it may seem, is what creates the Hasely Crawford stadium as something special and has given us the record we possess, believe it or not.

Anyway these are the points I had. (since whenever, I had them saved)

1)Familiarity of grounds….saying the men is pros…playing in worse grounds…playing there before…all yet to be seen…it is about making the adjustment and being comfortable. E.g…oval vs Martinique…home game but men slipping on the grass wrong boots….vs Bermuda….turf adjustment, different bounce of the ball, run of the pitch.

Imagine how may times have you seen our team just falling down or looking uncomfortable and the opposition making the adjustment easy.

We play a friendly yet…training start there yet…alyuh know if the team camping in Tobago or flying game day….It is the TTFF we dealing with, doh act as if it professional and things in place, they vikey do not act surprised at nuttin they do…is when things go smooth then you must be surprised.

2) Home field advantage/record...we have not lost a WCQ in the HCS since Beenhaker.

3) Transport/accomodation/travel logistics already existing...we know the TTFF does mess up things. Having a set routine with hotels, ticketing, licence, permits, police, fire presence, sound system etc is an advantage. I am not saying the TTFF is inept but up to now they cant get the Flag size right..a simple thing like that...hosting an important game in a different location may cause some more problems.

4) Lord forbid if injury occurs...access to proper health care facilities.

5) Individual player routine/focus established.

6) Large visible crowd support...(notice I did not say vocal)

7) Opportunity for the TTFF to maximise gate receipts and revenue stream.

8) Opportunity for the sponsors...to carry out their promotions to a larger target audience

Looking back the points were valid given the context but they do not matter anymore.
Anyways, I have typed enough and I am over with this topic. I appreciate all points of view even criticism, I will be in Tobago on the 6th and I wish my team well. Hoping for a victory vs Costa Rica.

Best of luck Warriors

Post by: Bakes on April 27, 2009, 10:38:06 PM
Having clarified your position I understand your perspective a bit more... most informative was the different definitions of "home" that we entered the discussion with.  Not having that as a common jumping off point means that we launched ourselves in disparate directions to begin with, so we were never headed towards the same end.

I can see why HCS should be considered the home base... I'm sure (using my earlier example) that even the US team would consider some field... be it Columbus, or Home Depot in Carson, CA... or some other field to be their "home" field.  But I'm sure you understand now why so many of us would consider DYS just as much 'home' as HCS.  At any rate I wasn't paying this game too much mind because I never travel to TnT just for a game, I failed to take my schedule into consideration though and as it turns out I'll be in TnT that week so I too will be at the game  :beermug: