Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on April 23, 2009, 02:47:01 PM

Title: D.C. United signs defender Avery John
Post by: Tallman on April 23, 2009, 02:47:01 PM
D.C. United signs defender Avery John
dcunited.com

United announced today the club has signed veteran defender Avery John. D.C. waived forward Francis Doe in order to make a roster spot available for the Trinidad and Tobago international. John’s rights were acquired from the New England Revolution in exchange for a conditional draft pick in either the 2010 or 2011 MLS SuperDraft. The 33-year old defender will be available for selection on Sunday, when the Black-and Red travel to New Jersey to battle their Atlantic Cup rivals the New York Red Bulls. Kick-off is set for 3:00 p.m. ET before a nationwide television audience on Telefutura.

“We are pleased to be acquiring a solid veteran defender in Avery,” said United General Manager Dave Kasper. “He has been a consistent performer in our League for several years, playing in many big games. Avery will make our back line stronger and we are pleased that he is now a part of D.C. United.”

John joins United having last played for Miami FC (USL-1). Born June 18, 1975, the defender saw time in 15 games last season with the Blues. From 2004-2007, John saw action in 63 games (60 starts) as a member of the Revolution, appearing with his club in the 2006 and 2007 MLS Cup Finals. He previously played professionally in Ireland with Bohemian F.C. Dublin, Shelbourne United and Longford Townand, and in the USL with the Boston Bulldogs and the New Orleans Riverboat Gamblers. As an American University senior in 1997, John helped the Eagles win the CAA Championship and led the team to the NCAA Quarterfinals.

John also brings a wealth of international experience to the Black-and-Red. A fixture on the Trinidad and Tobago national side, John saw time for the Soca Warriors in three World Cup Qualifiers in 2008, has totaled 82 international appearances for his country and saw time in the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

Doe leaves the District having originally signed with United on April 22, 2008. The forward dealt with some injuries soon after his signing, but ended up playing in 12 League matches (four starts) last season. His two League goals came in United’s 2-1 win over the New England Revolution on October 16. In all competitions, Doe scored seven goals in 19 games (11 starts) for the Black-and-Red. This season, the forward made just two League appearances, both as a substitute, totaling 40 minutes.

“We want to thank Francis for his contributions to D.C. United and we wish him the best of luck in the future,” said Kasper.

(http://www.dcunited.com/sites/www.dcunited.com/files/042309_Avery_John_640.jpg)
Title: Re: D.C. United signs defender Avery John
Post by: elan on April 23, 2009, 02:49:00 PM
men getting kick out for a player who can't make we national team. SA here we come, we just too good.
Post by: Tallman on April 23, 2009, 03:01:19 PM
Imagine we have 3 players in de MLS dis season, and dey are all defenders.
Post by: pardners on April 23, 2009, 03:15:45 PM
Congrats to you Avery. put yuh left best foot forward.

I like how they put it.....
A fixture on the Trinidad and Tobago national side, John saw time for the Soca Warriors in three World Cup Qualifiers in 2008, has totaled 82 international appearances for his county and saw time in the 2006 FIFA World Cup.
Post by: acb on April 23, 2009, 03:20:42 PM
Presentation College MASSIVE!!!!
Post by: kicker on April 23, 2009, 03:21:18 PM

And none of them are in our Nat'l selection??
Post by: andre samuel on April 23, 2009, 03:30:55 PM
Congrats on the contract...........do your thing

Post by: palos on April 23, 2009, 03:33:18 PM
and saw time in the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

Sadly, he saw more time off the field than on it.
Post by: SOBRIQUET on April 23, 2009, 03:57:03 PM
Rise up warrior... we NEED yuh as the left-back in that national team defence... right now is only posers we have dey.
Post by: Daft Trini on April 23, 2009, 04:05:50 PM
Rise up warrior... we NEED yuh as the left-back in that national team defence... right now is only posers we have dey.

Back in DC too.... yuh should come out of retirement  :beermug:
Post by: fari on April 23, 2009, 04:30:49 PM
jeezanages...wha is dah fella name that playing LB for we again...i ent even want to say he name, doctor say i need to keep meh blood pressure down
Post by: ZANDOLIE on April 23, 2009, 05:14:02 PM
Great news. Now please come back and represent, because beween Seon Power and Aklie it was straight heart attack

Post by: 100% Barataria on April 23, 2009, 05:15:23 PM
Congrats Avery  :applause:
Post by: big dawg on April 23, 2009, 05:26:24 PM
Great news. Now please come back and represent, because beween Seon Power and Aklie it was straight heart attack

under-statement of the year..

Congrats to the bess left back in the country.. good luck with a june 6th call up :beermug:
Post by: PATRIOT on April 23, 2009, 06:38:56 PM

Still sippin de hatorade I see  :devil:
Post by: palos on April 23, 2009, 06:44:38 PM

Still sippin de hatorade I see  :devil:

Did I say something untrue?
Post by: just cool on April 23, 2009, 07:07:01 PM
Me think i will take a ride over tuh the garden state and take in dat game on sunday god willing.
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2009, 07:31:04 PM
Congrats man yuh representin d over age cew very well
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2009, 08:36:50 PM
Like Brother John used tuh say in Valencia Pentecostal... A-a-a-menamenamen.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 23, 2009, 08:40:06 PM
Big player

Get stuck in mate

T&T's number 1 Left Back
Post by: Big Magician on April 23, 2009, 11:55:23 PM
yea palos...he actually saw more time on than off..like 2 mins more...check yuh contents
Post by: palos on April 24, 2009, 10:22:25 AM
yea palos...he actually saw more time on than off..like 2 mins more...check yuh contents

Against Paraguay, Avery got subbed in the 31st minute for Kenwyne Jones.  He got red carded against Sweden in the 46th minute.  He didn't play against England

Post by: SOBRIQUET on April 24, 2009, 10:38:52 AM

Against Paraguay, Avery got subbed in the 31st minute for Kenwyne Jones.  He got red carded against Sweden in the 46th minute.  He didn't play against England

how big men does take something positive and turn it negative does amaze me yes....  big up bredda, you is a moderator!
Post by: palos on April 24, 2009, 10:50:59 AM

how big men does take something positive and turn it negative does amaze me yes....  big up bredda, you is a moderator!

De negativity is ALL in YOUR mind.
Post by: Big Magician on April 24, 2009, 11:15:30 AM
good  maths palos.... ah fail it 4 times...
Post by: fishs on April 24, 2009, 11:22:57 AM

When these guys sign up for a MLS club do they get housing, transport and living expenses ?
 From the kind of salaries the caribbean players get I can't see how they could make a good living unless all of the foregoing is included.

Isn't it about 30k a year ?
 That is what  $ 15,000. TT a month.
Do they have to pay taxs or is the salary net with the club paying the taxs ?
Post by: palos on April 24, 2009, 11:23:51 AM
good  maths palos.... ah fail it 4 times...

LOL!  I NEVER pass it!  ;D
Post by: Tallman on April 24, 2009, 11:32:47 AM
Tom Soehn, DC United's head coach, gives his view on Avery
http://voices.washingtonpost.com/soccerinsider/2009/04/a_few_minutes_with_tom_soehn_2.html?wprss=soccerinsider

What are your expectations for new left back Avery John?

"The one thing he brings obviously is cover in the back. He brings a wealth of experience, a calmness. He is getting better and better as he gets fit. It just gives us more options. We were a little shallow in the back. We felt we needed to make a roster move that, through the course of a season when you have so many games, it gives you some flexibility back there."

He hasn't played for a club since last USL season. How long will it take for him to get into match fitness?

"Today he had a very good day, possession wise, and his understanding of the position. As he gets fitter and fitter, he will be an option like the rest of them. We want to keep it as competitive as possible. He has to earn it like everyone else."
Post by: arrow on April 24, 2009, 11:40:15 AM

These poor fellas had to compete with Aklie, Wolfe and Thomas for a starting spot in de backline so it's understandable
Post by: Daft Trini on April 24, 2009, 11:45:43 AM

These poor fellas had to compete with Aklie, Wolfe and Thomas for a starting spot in de backline so it's understandable

Jason does have to compete with legendary status also.... doh matter how much net he buss, what matters is status and clout...!
Post by: trini supporter on April 24, 2009, 12:24:24 PM
Congrats avery hope to see you back in the national set up :beermug:
Post by: supporter on April 24, 2009, 02:16:48 PM

seriously tho, i hope this puts Avery back in position to be selected for the Natl team; as well as keeping Makan Hislop away.
Post by: 7 blessings on April 24, 2009, 04:20:56 PM
All the best de boss...really hope to see you on the field for us again
Title: Avery John returns to D.C.
Post by: Tallman on April 24, 2009, 08:29:49 PM
Avery John returns to D.C.
By Craig Stouffer (Washington Examiner)

Former American University star Avery John is back in Washington again, this time with D.C. United. But he isn't quite ready for a reunion with all his local friends, coaches and acquaintances in the area at a match. He's let most of them know he wants to focus on finding a place in his new team first.

"Just give me some time to settle in again, and let me just focus on playing, getting ready," said John, 33, who hasn't played a competitive match since December and is probably a couple weeks away from the fitness level he needs to suit up for United in a match. He was last in MLS with New England in 2007, and last season with Miami in USL-1. This offseason, he said that prior to discussions with more than one MLS team, he was weighing offers in Australia and China, but nothing ever materialized.

"I’ve traveled," said John. "I’ve been in different countries and things like that so the whole idea of looking for a new challenge in a different country, it wasn’t like I have to do it or I want to do it."

He also expressed excitement with the growth and expansion of MLS. (Apparently, he hasn't seen attendance figures....)

John is a logical pick to play left back in D.C.'s 3-5-2 formation as he's better defensively than Marc Burch or Rodney Wallace, but he knows he's not entitled to it.

"Make no mistake, you have to work for your pick," he said. "It’s not like you’re coming in here, 'Oh, you’re a senior guy, you’ve been in the league, you’ve been in the World Cup.' It's not like that. I never think like that. Every year I want to try to improve. Every year I want to be the new guy, like, 'Who’s this.' Even though I’ve been here, you always want to have that kind of presence. You always want to look forward to having another good season or better season. That’s a drive any player would want and should have."

He's also not focused on getting back into the Trinidad & Tobago national team, which hosts Costa Rica in the next round of World Cup qualifying matches on June 6.

"As much as I want to be part of the national team," said John, "I can’t think about the game on the sixth. I’m here right now. I have to take care of myself, get into the team, and then once you’re performing, let your feet do the talking, the opportunity will come. I need to do this now and not think about the World Cup qualifying games."

So, the plan for DCU?

"Here, it's getting the fitness back," said John, "getting to know the guy’s names and everybody’s role, and strengths and weaknesses, and trying to apply yourself to that but not changing your ability or what you’re going to bring. You want to fit in with the chemistry and everything like that, and you want to be part of the team that will help improve and go on to win the league and other championships."
Post by: weary1969 on April 24, 2009, 08:35:52 PM
Organize yuh buziness 06/06 go sort it self out