General => General Discussion => Topic started by: weary1969 on April 24, 2009, 09:30:28 PM

Title: WHY IS THIS STILL A PROBLEM LOUD STEUPSSSSSSSSSSS
Post by: weary1969 on April 24, 2009, 09:30:28 PM
Three-year-old girl mauled by pit bull
Cori Baynes
A three-year-old girl narrowly escaped death after she was mauled by a pit bull in Marabella yesterday. Natalia Jones, of Sooknanan Street, Marabella, is warded at San Fernando General Hospital in a serious, but stable condition. She received 30 stitches about her face and head. According to police reports, the incident occurred around 3.45 pm when Natalia and her mother Andrea Warner went to visit friends in Bayshore, Marabella.

While there, Natalia reportedly wandered off to play with some other children and was attacked when she passed close to the dog. When the Guardian visited the hospital yesterday, Natalia lay bandaged on the bed, with stitches on the side of her head. Her left eye was swollen shut. With worried looks on their faces, the child’s father Nicholas Jones and few well-wishers surrounded the bed. Jones said even though Natalia was extremely lucky to be alive, she was unlucky because she did nothing to provoke the dog. “Some of the neighbours said the dog had not been fed for a few days and was aggressive, so when my daughter passed, he just attacked her,” he said.

He alleged that rope was used to tie the dog to a post on the unfenced property, thus posing a threat to the many children who live in the area. “None of the people responsible for the dog came and told me anything...At least they could have asked me how she was doing,” he said. The pit bull is ranked highly on the yet to be implemented Dangerous Dogs Bill which is an act to regulate the keeping of dangerous dogs which pose a danger to the public.

Reached by cellphone, councillor for the area Jennifer Marryshaw condemned the incident and expressed concern over the number of pit bull owners in the area. “Many people who live in that area own pit bulls but they have to consider that there are many kids living there also,” Marryshaw said. “I hope that when people have those kinds of dogs, they will secure them properly with a muzzle.”

Title: Re: WHY IS THIS STILL A PROBLEM LOUD STEUPSSSSSSSSSSS
Post by: Babalawo on April 25, 2009, 12:19:46 AM
who's the dog owner?
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 25, 2009, 12:29:48 PM
most important de lil chile had she guardian angels with she.now put de fukkin hound dong.
Post by: Grande on April 25, 2009, 01:07:25 PM
who's the dog owner?

Ent...where that irresponsible backside is. And everybody probably mad at the dog
Post by: Bakes on April 25, 2009, 01:26:05 PM
most important de lil chile had she guardian angels with she.now put de f**kkin hound dong.

The problem isn't the dog.

Never is.
Post by: fishs on April 25, 2009, 01:38:36 PM
most important de lil chile had she guardian angels with she.now put de f**kkin hound dong.

Never is.

Shoot the dog that standing on  2 legs.
This is what I talking bout Bakes , if you have a child and this happen to that child and you know who controlling the dog and the way the wheels of justice turn, would you leave it as is ?
Me ? I taking it (justice)  into mih own hands and ah waterboarding first.

All the innocents that get killed on the highways, from kidnapping, stray bullets etc and no justice for them , breds civil society or no somebody have to pay.
Post by: Bakes on April 25, 2009, 01:58:47 PM

Never is.

This is what I talking bout Bakes , if you have a child and this happen to that child and you know who controlling the dog and the way the wheels of justice turn, would you leave it as is ?

All the innocents that get killed on the highways, from kidnapping, stray bullets etc and no justice for them , breds civil society or no somebody have to pay.

You sure you arguing with the right person??

All I said is that it's not the dog to blame.
Post by: fishs on April 25, 2009, 02:35:23 PM

Never is.

You sure you arguing with the right person??

All I said is that it's not the dog to blame.

This is like a terrorist attack, indiscriminate and no perp unless yuh go beyond the law.
Post by: Bakes on April 25, 2009, 03:31:12 PM

This is like a terrorist attack, indiscriminate and no perp unless yuh go beyond the law.

Your statement by itself lacks any kinda sense... read as a response to what I said, it's even more perplexing.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 25, 2009, 05:45:26 PM
Why is the Dangerous Dogs Law still languishing some where?
Post by: weary1969 on April 25, 2009, 06:41:50 PM
Why is the Dangerous Dogs Law still languishing some where?

Like d lost Max address 2 drop it 4 him 2 sign
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 25, 2009, 06:48:40 PM

Never is.
that will b de beginnin.
Post by: Babalawo on May 08, 2009, 11:52:06 AM
Girl, 8, attacked, bitten by dog
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161474703
Nikita Braxton South Bureau (down south again  :( )

Friday, May 8th 2009

SAD SIGHT: Dog-bite victim, Aalayah Huggins is comforted by her grand-mother Maria yesterday at her Ste Madeleine home. -Photo: DAVE PERSAD

An eight-year-old girl on the way to the village parlour was attacked and bitten by a dog in Ste Madeleine on Tuesday.

It took three people to get the dog off Aalayah Huggins.

The dog had chomped down on her left arm and refused to release her.

It took Aalayah's grandfather, uncle and aunt to save the girl.

They had to beat the dog before it released the child's left arm, her mother Adanna Huggins said yesterday.

The dog is believed dead. The Huggins family said they were receiving death threats because of this.

The mauling happened Tuesday morning while Huggins was on her way to the parlour to buy snacks.

When the dog came, the girl ran and slipped through a hole in a fence to evade the animal.

"But the dog hid behind a car and waited for her. It jumped on her and threw her to the ground," Huggins said.

The girl was taken to the Pleasantville health facility where her wound was bandaged.

She was also treated for bruises to her feet, Huggins said.

Since the incident family members said they have been threatened by the owners of the mixed breed dog. "They told us to be careful now that the dog is dead and if it is war we want, is war we would get," grandmother Maria Huggins said.

Little Aalayah's attack is the second on a child in recent weeks.

Three-year-old Nathalia Jones was rescued from a pitbull attack in Marabella two weeks ago. She was playing in a neighbour's yard when she was bitten.

Yesterday, Nathalia visited the San Fernando General Hospital. Her father Nicholas Jones said she was doing better. "It is only the cut behind her ear that still has to heal properly and is still causing her pain," he said.

Jones is still looking for justice for his child's ailments.

"Even if they don't want to pass the law (Dangerous Dogs Act), they could still put things in place so that the owner of the animal should be accountable," he said.

Investigations are continuing into both incidents.

Post by: Grande on May 08, 2009, 12:16:39 PM
Real hard to read when this happening to small children. When I was small I get bite by three different dog, on de same leg, in the space of 6 months. No pitbull though, thankfully...dem is an entirely different breed of wildness and ferocity

I never blamed the dogs...although at the time I went back and pelt stone, forceripe mango all kinda thing behind them. Even now to this day when I go back and see them the owners still have them how they is.
Post by: Bakes on May 08, 2009, 01:30:53 PM
Real hard to read when this happening to small children. When I was small I get bite by three different dog, on de same leg, in the space of 6 months. No pitbull though, thankfully...dem is an entirely different breed of wildness and ferocity
I never blamed the dogs...although at the time I went back and pelt stone, forceripe mango all kinda thing behind them. Even now to this day when I go back and see them the owners still have them how they is.

Nonsense.

A dog is just the product of its training.  Note that the dog that bit this child was "mixed breed"... aka mongrel, aka mutt... likely of the pothound variety.  I bet you the majority of dog bites in Trinidad involve pothounds... they pose the greatest danger if any to the public.  Should pothounds be executed under the Dangerous Dog Acts? (Question not for you Grande, for the proponents of the Act.)

There are no inherently bad dogs, just bad owners who fail/don't know how to properly train their animals.  This would be the vast majority of dog-owners in TnT.
Post by: Grande on May 08, 2009, 02:08:08 PM

Nonsense.

A dog is just the product of its training.  Note that the dog that bit this child was "mixed breed"... aka mongrel, aka mutt... likely of the pothound variety.  I bet you the majority of dog bites in Trinidad involve pothounds... they pose the greatest danger if any to the public.  Should pothounds be executed under the Dangerous Dog Acts? (Question not for you Grande, for the proponents of the Act.)

There are no inherently bad dogs, just bad owners who fail/don't know how to properly train their animals.  This would be the vast majority of dog-owners in TnT.

Admittedly I believe all them dog I get bite from have at least a percentage of pothound in dem  :D

but the subtle "Nature vs Nurture" situation yuh implied here have me thinking. Many mammals, including dogs, are territorial...they doh attack because they inherently so, yuh right Bakes, but because they feel threatened/need to protect. When I had get bite, it was because I was too near some newborn puppies, or I was an unfamiliar sight in their yard...or meh maga leg look like a bone, I eh know  ;D

I go use a loose example here but will stay within the mammal realm: remember when one of the Siberian tigers lose it and attack Sigfreid or Roy (cyar remember who) when dey was whipping it/around it? It was unexpected because them tigers were under strict manners and training from young...and all of a sudden one of them lose it and lash out. Personally I was glad the tiger bite he ass.

I hear yuh on the dog being a product of its training...but I personally doh believe it is a 100% so all the time, as close to that as it may be.
Post by: Bakes on May 08, 2009, 02:20:20 PM

Admittedly I believe all them dog I get bite from have at least a percentage of pothound in dem  :D

but the subtle "Nature vs Nurture" situation yuh implied here have me thinking. Many mammals, including dogs, are territorial...they doh attack because they inherently so, yuh right Bakes, but because they feel threatened/need to protect. When I had get bite, it was because I was too near some newborn puppies, or I was an unfamiliar sight in their yard...or meh maga leg look like a bone, I eh know  ;D

I go use a loose example here but will stay within the mammal realm: remember when one of the Siberian tigers lose it and attack Sigfreid or Roy (cyar remember who) when dey was whipping it/around it? It was unexpected because them tigers were under strict manners and training from young...and all of a sudden one of them lose it and lash out. Personally I was glad the tiger bite he ass.

I hear yuh on the dog being a product of its training...but I personally doh believe it is a 100% so all the time, as close to that as it may be.

Imagine de hue and outcry if dey try tuh ban pothound in Trinidad  :rotfl:

Yuh raise a fair point about it not being 100% foolproof, and I would agree... yuh could train dog all yuh want but yuh'll never be able to manipulate the strings to completely control it.  I would say though that despite yuh Sigfried and Roy example being a good one, Tigers and dogs are different animals, literally.  Dogs are domesticated and for thousands of years have been bred to isolate particular traits... including pitbulls for fighting.  Pits aren't bred to attack people, improper training is what causes that.  Dogs are less prone to randomly attack humans than Tigers are for the very reason that selective breeding has removed such unpredictable instinctive urges to attack (humans) from their psychological make up.  Needless to say Tigers have no such history of domestication in their favor. 

Besides, fuh all we know de poor tiger mighta been allergic tuh bullas.

*waits fuh Verycute1 tuh reach*
Post by: Grande on May 08, 2009, 03:14:22 PM

Imagine de hue and outcry if dey try tuh ban pothound in Trinidad  :rotfl:

Yuh raise a fair point about it not being 100% foolproof, and I would agree... yuh could train dog all yuh want but yuh'll never be able to manipulate the strings to completely control it.  I would say though that despite yuh Sigfried and Roy example being a good one, Tigers and dogs are different animals, literally.  Dogs are domesticated and for thousands of years have been bred to isolate particular traits... including pitbulls for fighting.  Pits aren't bred to attack people, improper training is what causes that.  Dogs are less prone to randomly attack humans than Tigers are for the very reason that selective breeding has removed such unpredictable instinctive urges to attack (humans) from their psychological make up.  Needless to say Tigers have no such history of domestication in their favor. 

Besides, fuh all we know de poor tiger mighta been allergic tuh bullas.

*waits fuh Verycute1 tuh reach*

Good point about de domestication/history side.

Ban pothounds in Trinidad?! That is a longstanding presence in our national history and dare I say a source of pride in a strange way...no need for vet, special diet or high maintenance...yet yuh still getting loyalty and protection in its own way  ;D

I am pro-pothound

(http://static-p3.fotolia.com/jpg/00/01/22/82/400_F_1228232_K41tmnABh5SpL0k7LrO3meoBhaSyLr.jpg)

:salute:   ;D
Post by: trinindian on May 08, 2009, 05:09:02 PM

Good point about de domestication/history side.

Ban pothounds in Trinidad?! That is a longstanding presence in our national history and dare I say a source of pride in a strange way...no need for vet, special diet or high maintenance...yet yuh still getting loyalty and protection in its own way  ;D

I am pro-pothound

(http://static-p3.fotolia.com/jpg/00/01/22/82/400_F_1228232_K41tmnABh5SpL0k7LrO3meoBhaSyLr.jpg)

:salute:   ;D

Hear Hear motion second. some of my earliest childhood memories are of my pot hound. Was really sad when he get runover by the truck
Post by: mukumsplau on May 08, 2009, 06:08:17 PM
dis pitbull ting is ah serious ting..only today me ah bredrin an two gyal went dong mayaro to discuss world issues and climate change...had bout 5 yutes wit 3 pitbull an other dogs..dey was mullin about we area (in d wide an empty expanse of beach) so my spidey sense tingle an we buss out..wa we hear later is dat dem does use d dogs tuh rob ppl on d beach...see how deep dis dog ting cud go?...we took our discussions elsewhere
Post by: asylumseeker on May 10, 2009, 10:02:20 AM
dis pitbull ting is ah serious ting..only today me ah bredrin an two gyal went dong mayaro to discuss world issues and climate change...had bout 5 yutes wit 3 pitbull an other dogs..dey was mullin about we area (in d wide an empty expanse of beach) so my spidey sense tingle an we buss out..wa we hear later is dat dem does use d dogs tuh rob ppl on d beach...see how deep dis dog ting cud go?...we took our discussions elsewhere

Hmmmmmmmm ...
Post by: weary1969 on May 10, 2009, 02:03:41 PM

Hmmmmmmmm ...

HMMMMMMMMMMMMMM Cubed
Post by: Bourbon on May 10, 2009, 02:41:29 PM
I not no dog expert...but from what I do know about Pitbulls is that they require real responisibility.

Firstly....mixing of breeds of Dogs wile wile is a recipie for problems. The temperements end up being very unpredictable, resulting in attacks as we all know. However, when dey attack, yuh hear how is a pitbull, not a pothound (or mongrel) that has pitbull in it. Pitbulls are loyal, determined creatures, and thats what they were bred for. A pit in terms of fighting will not snap and throw shoulder like other dogs...he will grab and hold. Hence yuh should have a stick to pry open the jaws.....well..any responsible owner. Pitbulls would adjust to little children that they are familiar to. Its a bad idea to have pitbulls roaming in a yard when there are different children around, especially since little children can be very wicked at times to dogs. Many times you dont hear of the teasing the dog undergoes....whereas yuh quick to hear when they attack. I remember my little brother when he was about 3 years old stubborn as he is...only throwing water on the dog...pulling its tail....doing a setta wickedness. We never had the dog do aggression training as they are naturally aggressive dogs..and he was real friendly and playful at times. Many times he used to see my brother come outside and run in the back because he knew it would be trouble. Anyhow....my brother pulled his tail and he spun around and knocked him down and stood over him growling...dunno if he would have bitten him...but we called him off. Pitbulls are agressive. Proper training is needed...something many people dont do. Proper breeding as well....because many people just breed for the fame of saying..."dah dog have pit mix in it yuh know"..failing to know or care about how unstable the dog may be as a result.
 Dogs....need to have an appreciation of territory. Under no circumstances should a dog be allowed to go outside the yard..and should be punished when doing so. Doing that makes the dog know the limits of the area that it can protect and defend. If a dog roams around..it sees the street as its territory and can attack anyone that passes. But people dont take their responsibilities seriously..and the poor dog gets the effect.

Pitbulls can be nice creatures....i've had two....never gave them aggression training because they naturally aggressive on their own. Plus nobody would want to set foot in the yard with a pitbull anyhow. If yuh want de dog...yuh hadda be prepared to make sacrifices. And when yuh think..the so called pitbulls that we have here in Trinidad are so poor compared to the american ones etc....and when you see how serious breeding and care for those dogs can be...yuh realise that there are many persons who dont deserve to have a pitbull as a pet.
Post by: weary1969 on May 10, 2009, 07:30:27 PM
Real responsibility no wonder we have problems in TNT
Post by: kicker on May 11, 2009, 11:51:40 AM

Nonsense.

I think Grande has a point.  All dogs have different natural temperaments.  And different breeds exhibit different traits with regard to aggression.  I think an untrained Lab is less likely to attack than an untrained pit bull...and even in an attack, each dog has a different bite.  My understanding is that pit bulls have an above averate bite-strength which, as a result is likely to cause more harm.  I know I eh telling you anything you don't already know but while I do agree that it's ideal that every dog owner train his/her dog, I think the onus is stronger on owners of certain breeds, and I don't think that each dog is a product of its training only....I think natural temperament goes a long way, in addition to other unknowns about the species that may cause inexplicable or seemingly unprovoked attacks.

What needs to be done in Trini as well is to get the strays off the street- not only are those dogs unhealthy/uncared for, but left alone & hungry and with the ability to form packs they can potential revert to the pack mentality of wild dogs, which could involve "unprovoked" attacks...
Post by: Bakes on May 11, 2009, 04:07:29 PM
I think Grande has a point.  All dogs have different natural temperaments.  And different breeds exhibit different traits with regard to aggression.   I think an untrained Lab is less likely to attack than an untrained pit bull...and even in an attack, each dog has a different bite.  My understanding is that pit bulls have an above averate bite-strength which, as a result is likely to cause more harm.  I know I eh telling you anything you don't already know but while I do agree that it's ideal that every dog owner train his/her dog, I think the onus is stronger on owners of certain breeds, and I don't think that each dog is a product of its training only....I think natural temperament goes a long way, in addition to other unknowns about the species that may cause inexplicable or seemingly unprovoked attacks.

What needs to be done in Trini as well is to get the strays off the street- not only are those dogs unhealthy/uncared for, but left alone & hungry and with the ability to form packs they can potential revert to the pack mentality of wild dogs, which could involve "unprovoked" attacks...

The common misperception that many have is that pitbulls are naturally 'aggressive'... this is entirely untrue where humans are concerned.  Pitbulls have been selectively bred over the centuries for dogfighting, not for attacking humans.  As such pitbulls have natural aggression towards other dogs, but like 99% of all dogs are naturally submissive towards humans.  An "untrained" pitbull is just as unlikely to attack (or be aggressive towards) a human as an untrained lab.  Dogs don't naturally attack humans, what causes them to attack is either fear, or training.  People can 'train' bad behavior into dogs both deliberately and unintentionally.  Poor training or deliberate aggression training is what causes the majority of pitbull attacks that we hear about.  To suggest that pitbulls are more likely to be aggressive towards humans than labs just isn't supported by what the experts (on pitbull, and dog behavior in general) have to say.

I think this is where you missed the gist of what I was saying.  I offer this not as some expert in the field of dog psychology, because I'm not one, but I forced myself to learn more about pitbull attacks with the whole Vick case (some research that I was doing) and also from watching the Dog Whisperer.  I know it's just TV, and who knows what agenda Cesar is pushing, but everything I've seen him say about pitbulls and their (lack of ) natural aggression towards humans has been corroborated by other experts in the field.
Post by: kicker on May 12, 2009, 08:08:37 AM
The common misperception that many have is that pitbulls are naturally 'aggressive'... this is entirely untrue where humans are concerned.  Pitbulls have been selectively bred over the centuries for dogfighting, not for attacking humans.  As such pitbulls have natural aggression towards other dogs, but like 99% of all dogs are naturally submissive towards humans.  An "untrained" pitbull is just as unlikely to attack (or be aggressive towards) a human as an untrained lab.  Dogs don't naturally attack humans, what causes them to attack is either fear, or training.  People can 'train' bad behavior into dogs both deliberately and unintentionally.  Poor training or deliberate aggression training is what causes the majority of pitbull attacks that we hear about.  To suggest that pitbulls are more likely to be aggressive towards humans than labs just isn't supported by what the experts (on pitbull, and dog behavior in general) have to say.

I think this is where you missed the gist of what I was saying.  I offer this not as some expert in the field of dog psychology, because I'm not one, but I forced myself to learn more about pitbull attacks with the whole Vick case (some research that I was doing) and also from watching the Dog Whisperer.  I know it's just TV, and who knows what agenda Cesar is pushing, but everything I've seen him say about pitbulls and their (lack of ) natural aggression towards humans has been corroborated by other experts in the field.

Yeah I hear you...and I've heard and read the same thing- and obviously can't offer anything in the line of expertise to counter it...just skeptical about what the "experts" are allowed to say without certain types of proof... and have a suspicion that empirical evidence might not necessarily agree with the experts either. 
Post by: Bakes on May 12, 2009, 01:08:17 PM

Yeah I hear you...and I've heard and read the same thing- and obviously can't offer anything in the line of expertise to counter it...just skeptical about what the "experts" are allowed to say without certain types of proof... and have a suspicion that empirical evidence might not necessarily agree with the experts either. 

But what "empirical evidence" can you realistically have to show that pitbulls aren't naturally aggressive towards humans?  I think the word of people who deal with them the most... the animal behaviorists should be sufficient.
Post by: Babalawo on August 20, 2009, 09:42:05 AM
Residents protest 'Devil' dog's return after attack
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161520185
Camille Bethel cbethel@trinidadexpress.com

Thursday, August 20th 2009

He was banished by the people of Fanny Village, Point Fortin, seven months ago after he bit a child. However, the dog named "Devil" has returned.

To protest the home-coming of the dog, residents yesterday met over concerns that the owner of the animal had not fenced her property to ensure the dog could not bite again.

It was back in January that the dog, named JD by the owner, mauled six-year-old Asanti Fortune-an incident that led to protests and the intervention of Member of Parliament for Point Fortin Paula Gopee-Scoon.

As a result, the dog was adopted by Animals Alive-an animal rights group in San Fernando.

However, vice-president of Animals Alive Jowelle De Souza said yesterday that she had the dog in her care for only three days before the dog was forcefully taken by another animal activist.

"She (the rival activist) gave us assistance with the dog the night we took him from Point Fortin but came to my business place three days later with four army officers with big guns and three police officers and took the dog by force," De Souza said.

De Souza said it appeared that the dog was not happy at its new home, so the owner reclaimed her pet.

"Now, the villagers are calling me because they thought that I was the one who gave the dog back, but Animals Alive relinquished all ties with the dog.

De Souza, however, said she would do anything to help the dog because "I know his nature, and he is not a bad dog". Spokesperson for the concerned Fanny villagers Avelon Felix-Semper said, "If we get the dog to go permanently, we will be happy. But obviously we don't have a say on that, so we would settle for it being secured."

About 20 residents gathered near the dog owner's house yesterday where they called on the authorities to explain why the dog has been allowed back into the community when the owner's yard is still unsecured.

The dog's owner could not be reached for comment.
Post by: Controversial on August 20, 2009, 09:45:02 AM
i find people back home to damn irresponsible, God was with the child...
Post by: dinho on August 20, 2009, 10:10:05 AM
nothing a ham bone with some gramoxone cant solve..
Post by: weary1969 on August 23, 2009, 06:53:25 PM
nothing a ham bone with some gramoxone cant solve..

Post by: Babalawo on June 04, 2010, 12:13:31 AM
Petit Bourg pit bulls on the rampage >:(
Alicia Llanos
Published: 4 Jun 2010
(http://guardian.co.tt/files/imagecache/article_main_image/articles/images/attacked_1.png)
Pitbull attack victim Jill-Ann Jerome shows the wounds she sustained.

Pitbull attack victim Jill-Ann Jerome wants harsher penalties meted out to irresponsible pitbull owners. Speaking to the T&T Guardian yesterday, a bandaged and teary-eyed Jerome said there ought to be harsher penalties against pitbull owners whose dogs have severely wounded members of the public. Jerome was attacked by two pitbulls on Wednesday night just a few houses from where she lives at Petit Bourg.

She says she was returning from a store close to 6.45 pm when two pitbulls belonging to a family in the area attacked her. Jerome said one dog latched on to her right arm and the other on to her left bosom. Neighbours came out and tried to assist her, but could not get the two dogs off of her. Jerome said eventually a motorist drove into one of the dogs, causing both of them let go of her and flee...http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010/06/04/petit-bourg-pit-bulls-rampage
Post by: Bourbon on June 04, 2010, 07:26:08 AM
She said she was taken to a nearby health centre where her wounds, which cover most of her left chest, were treated. Jerome lodged a report with the San Juan police. She says the keepers of the dogs told the police that the dogs were neither insured nor registered and belong to their son who was not around. Jerome claims the owners of the dogs do not have an enclosed yard and also have eight others.

Steups. 2 Pitbulls...10 dogs total..and no enclosed yard. Buh nah..is de pitbull fault.
Post by: Babalawo on April 14, 2011, 12:24:05 AM
4-year-old boy mauled by dogs...Pre-schooler fights for life at Sando hospital

VIDEO: http://www.guardian.co.tt/content/wen7boymp4
---------------------

(http://www.guardian.co.tt/sites/default/files/event/ezekel.png?1302747576)
Published: Thu, 2011-04-14 21:10
Sascha Wilson

Ezekiel Renne Cambridge, four, who is in a critical condition after being mauled by two dogs near his Palmiste home on Tuesday night. Ezekiel Renne Cambridge, 4, is fighting for his life at San Fernando General Hospital after he was brutally mauled by two German shepherd dogs, while walking with his grandmother in Palmiste, South Trinidad, on Tuesday night. The ferocious dogs tore into Ezekiel’s abdomen and back before a neighbour used a piece of iron to fend them off. The boy was taken to hospital where he underwent emergency surgery. He is now hooked up to a ventilator in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU). Doctors say his condition is critical.

This is the second time in approximately one year that the dogs,  two-year-old Hanszo and nine-month- old Joze, have attacked a child. They also attacked another dog. Neighbours have been calling for their owner, Vidya Emrith, to get rid of them. Emrith, who described the dogs as family pets who were “very sweet,” said yesterday that she had kept the dogs after the previous attacks because she thought she could control them. “Now this happen... I don’t know why they attacked the child,” she said yesterday, before sending the dogs to a ranch in Penal.

Expressing sorrow for the fate of little Ezekiel, Emrith added: “In my heart, it is the most difficult thing to do, but if the law says to put them to sleep, I will have to do it.” At Ezekiel’s home at Crissy Street, Block Five, a relative, who requested anonymity, relived the ordeal. She said the Open Bible pre-school pupil was taking his customary evening stroll in the neighbourhood with his grandmother Yolande Peters-Renne at around 9 pm. The woman said Peters-Renne usually took Ezekiel and his cousin for a walk on evenings, but on this occasion the cousin was asleep and stayed home. She explained: “His grandmother was holding his hand. About two houses from here (Ezekiel home), two dogs came from nowhere and ‘raff’ him away from her.

“The dogs knocked him to the ground and started to maul him. His grandmother tried in vain, to pull the dogs off. A neighbour heard their screams and came out with a piece of iron and began beating the dogs,” the relative said. Peters-Renne ran to their home with the bleeding child and wrapped him in a blanket. His parents arrived as the grandmother was leaving with him for the hospital. The relative said Ezekiel lost a lot of blood and his intestines were protruding. “His abdomen was torn open and his back was torn open,” she said. At the nearby Cinnamon Court where she lives with her two children, Rachelle Emrith and Lawrence Pariag, Emrith was bidding a teary farewell to the dogs.

Expressing her heartfelt apologies, Emrith said she could not explain why her dogs attacked the child. She was not at home when the incident occurred. “I know it is our fault,” sobbed Emrith, admitting that they forgot to padlock their gate. She said her children only knew the dogs had escaped when a neighbour alerted them. “By the time my son got in the van to look for the dogs, they had already attacked the child...He was hearing the screams,” she said. Emrith said she felt terrible about the incident.

“Moreso for the little child. His father showed me the pictures of the injuries. I started to cry.” She said she would see that the child got the best medical attention. San Fernando police officers, who are investigating the incident, could not say whether charges would be laid against the dogs’ owner. “We have a report and the matter is under investigation,” a policeman said
Post by: Bakes on April 14, 2011, 12:53:24 AM
I sympathize with the owner... but them dogs need to be euthanized.  I feel terrible for this poor child and his family.
Post by: Preacher on April 14, 2011, 02:10:26 AM
Any owner found to be slack with there dog.  Put in a cell for 5 mins. with a Presa Canario
Post by: Brownsugar on April 14, 2011, 04:15:11 AM
Ah cyar remember if it was discussed earlier in the thread and I didn't stop to read it over just now, but why hasn't the Dangerous Dogs Bill been assented to??

I keep hearing that it was passed by both houses waaaaayyyyy back when and is just for the President to assent and make it law.  So why hasn't that happened??   ???
Post by: weary1969 on April 14, 2011, 01:59:45 PM
Ah cyar remember if it was discussed earlier in the thread and I didn't stop to read it over just now, but why hasn't the Dangerous Dogs Bill been assented to??

I keep hearing that it was passed by both houses waaaaayyyyy back when and is just for the President to assent and make it law.  So why hasn't that happened??   ???

They do that wit laws 2 hype people up. Theyu neva sent it 2 d Prez so he cyah assent what he eh get.
Post by: truetrini on April 14, 2011, 03:51:15 PM
Pit Bulls are banned in miami dade county Florida

The Humane Society of Broward County firmly believes that every animal deserves a good loving, lifetime home. Animals are not born “bad”, unfortunately they fall victim to people who train or teach them to be bad, mean, aggressive or destructive. This article will help you to better understand a very misunderstood breed, the American Pit Bull and the American Staffordshire Terrier also known as Pit Bulls.
A Pit Bull can make a great family pet, however, they are not the dog for everyone. If you think this dog may be for you, ask yourself if you are willing to learn all you can about this breed so you can educate people and handle the negative image and scrutiny when out in public. Also, ask yourself if you will have time to train, socialize, exercise and provide a safe environment for your dog. Finally, ask yourself if you will be able to make a lifetime commitment to this breed. Only through responsible ownership can we change the future and the image of the Pit Bull.
The media, newspaper, worldwide web and other forms of communication spread many myths about this breed. We’d like to help to dispel some of these myths in this article.

Everything You Want to Know About Pit Bulls
Myth 1: Don’t Pit Bulls have locking jaws?
Fact: No, the jaws of a Pit Bull are constructed the same as any other dog except for the size difference. What they do have is strength and tenacity when they grasp on to something. This is a common trait among the Terrier breeds be it a Pit Bull or Jack Russell Terrier.

Myth 2: Do Pit Bulls turn on you?
Fact: No dog “turns on you.” Some dogs after they mature might try to challenge their place. Spaying and neutering can help with that as well as obedience training. Remember, no matter what breed of dog you have, small kids should always be supervised and taught how to interact with dogs and animals.
Myth 3: Will a Pit Bull that shows aggression towards other animals go after people next?
Fact: People aggression is a totally different behavior than animal aggression. Although these dogs can have a high prey drive and they were bred to fight each other, they were originally bred to not be aggressive towards humans. The people who fought their dogs had to be able to reach in and pull their dog out of the “pit.” Dogs that did bite were not bred and were often killed. A Pit Bull that shows aggression towards a human is not characteristic of the breed. Not only is it inhumane to use animals for purposes of fighting and gambling but it is also a felony in the United States, whether you are the person fighting the animals, breeding them or attending the fights you are subject to arrest.

Myth 4: Are red nose Pit Bulls more aggressive?
Fact: Absolutely not. The color of the nose or hair is no indication of temperament. Genetics and environment shape a Pit Bulls temperament not the color of their hair or nose
Post by: Deeks on April 14, 2011, 04:03:22 PM
TC very good info there. Thanks.  But there is a caveat. the owners!
Post by: D.H.W on April 14, 2011, 08:06:46 PM
people need to take care of there dog. seeing the dogs have a history of attacks they would/should be put down already. 
Post by: Bourbon on April 14, 2011, 09:37:33 PM
The owners is de usual problem. De fact that the dogs went outside means they had no sense of understanding of their territory. Under no circumstances should a dog be allowed to roam out of their yard. Things like that cause situations like these. Regretful....that the owners didnt learn the lessons from the first instance.
Post by: zuluwarrior on April 14, 2011, 10:53:50 PM

The owners is de usual problem. De fact that the dogs went outside means they had no sense of understanding of their territory. Under no circumstances should a dog be allowed to roam out of their yard. Things like that cause situations like these. Regretful....that the owners didn't learn the lessons from the first instance.

I was attacked twice by dogs bitten once on my hip and the other time the dog had a protector

on its mouth and that was a good thing because that would have been the worst  , if  is one thing i can say is the horror you go through when a animal attack you is like a nightmare that would not stop . Just thinking what these children going through rise my pause yes i said it  .ccidents.cc

Think about this your child mauled by a dog his or her guts coming out of the abdomen and the dog still biting into the flesh , your child bitten on the face and the other child bitten on the arm and the facking thing just happening on and on  and as usual knowbody cares  until it happen to them or their family. And to make it worse your dog bite my child and because I kill your dog you More vex and threatening me whoever you are should be in hiding , as Bourbon said  is the owners to blame and they should be made  to pay dearly.     
Post by: Preacher on April 14, 2011, 11:05:16 PM
Kill the dog and send the owner to jail for manslaughter.  U have killer dogs and you leave your gate unlocked?  JAIL!!!!!
Post by: Babalawo on April 14, 2011, 11:15:42 PM

They do that wit laws 2 hype people up. Theyu neva sent it 2 d Prez so he cyah assent what he eh get.
Suruj: Govt to take action
By Ria Taitt Political Editor

Story Updated: Apr 14, 2011 at 11:42 PM ECT

The mauling of four-year-old Ezekiel Renne-Cambridge by two hybrid dogs on Tuesday night is a matter of "great concern" to the Government, Foreign Affairs Minister Suruj Rambachan said yesterday.

Speaking at yesterday's post-Cabinet news conference, held at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann's, Rambachan said the matter of dangerous dogs would definitely engage the attention of the Government.

"To see that little boy suffer the fate he did, when you read the description of it, as a parent, as a citizen of this country it was very painful indeed. And I am sure that it is a matter that is not going to go unnoticed," he said.

He added: "The Attorney General will be looking at it. The whole matter of (the ownership of) dangerous dogs is something that emanated out of the crime situation. But citizens must feel safe to walk the streets of Trinidad and Tobago. They must feel that they can do so without being mauled by dangerous dogs. As a responsible Government it is something that will and must engage our attention."

Renne-Cambridge is still fighting for his life and is still listed in a critical condition at the San Fernando General Hospital's intensive care unit.

Legislation to deal with dangerous dogs has been collecting dust for the past 11 years.

In 2000 under the United National Congress government, then attorney general Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj brought the Dangerous Dogs Act which was passed in both Houses.

But since then the Act has not been proclaimed. The People's National Movement Government took the position that the Act, which imposes a ten-year sentence and a fine of $100,000 on the owner/keeper of a dog which kills a person, was too draconian.

The Act only required owners of dangerous dogs to register their dogs and to take out an insurance policy.

It is noteworthy, however, that under the Dangerous Dogs Act, German shepherds and Akita were not classified as dangerous dogs.
  >:(
It was Pitbulls, Fila Brasileiro and Japanese Tosa which were so classified.

Jean Paul Llanos, of Guru Dogs, a breeding company and dog hotel, yesterday described the incident as "unfortunate". Llanos added that while the dogs are usually vilified, it is up to owners to be responsible and train and secure their pets.

"It is horrible that this happened," Llanos said.

"But the bigger problem is always left out. Had a proper containment system been in place this would never have happened. Owners must ensure that they have secure kennels or gates to keep their dogs contained."

Post by: Bourbon on April 14, 2011, 11:45:41 PM
Any dog can be dangerous.

The mauling of four-year-old Ezekiel Renne-Cambridge by two hybrid dogs on Tuesday night is a matter of "great concern" to the Government, Foreign Affairs Minister Suruj Rambachan said yesterday.

And dis making it even more concerning.

Firstly they said German Shepard......then they said hybrid dogs.....i take that to mean is either mixed with Shepard or there is a mixup. However mixed breeds of dogs tend to be less stable, since a major part of dog breeding should be temperament. Mixing the breed makes it more unpredictable. For example, in parting dogs, pitbulls are easier to part since they dont bite and snap multiple times like other dogs...they bite, hold and shake. But most trinis feel dey could mix up breeds and make it a better dog, and could boast and say is half pit, quarter rott and all kinda ting when dat is just begging for disaster.

Post by: zuluwarrior on April 15, 2011, 06:20:36 AM
Don’t always blame the dog says expert
Published: Fri, 2011-04-15 21:06
Yvonne Baboolal
 When aggressive dogs maul people, sometimes to death, it may be the fault of the owner, not the dog, United States-certified dog trainer Jean-Paul Ilanos said yesterday. He said so when contacted for a comment after the mauling of four-year-old Ezekiel Renne Cambridge near his home in Palmiste, San Fernando, last Tuesday night. Ezekiel was attacked by two dogs while walking along Chrissie Street with his grandmother, Yolanda Renne, around 9 pm. The dogs ran out of the yard of owner Vidya Emrith’s home. They ripped into the child and left him with his intestines hanging out from a gaping wound in his stomach.

Ezekiel is warded in a critical condition at the San Fernando Hospital. Ilanos, owner of Strategic Alliance Security Kennels, which trains dogs for security firms, said the major cause of those incidents that were now happening was that owners wanted their animals to undergo aggression-only training without socialising training.  Noting that aggression training is only one aspect of protection training, he said people were going to trainers and asking for their dogs to be trained to protect them. He agreed that the crime problem was behind that.

He added: “Obedience training is a part of the socialisation training of the dog and they do not want this.
“They don’t understand the importance of being able to control the aggression in a dog.” He said people with aggressive dogs who did not have proper fences or have short walls around their homes could pose a danger to other people. Ilanos said neglect of the dog by the owner, by having him locked away from society, could make the dog either shy or aggressive. He said attacks by dogs on little children had something to do with instinct. He said children were usually excitable and active and that caught the attention of the dog, whose “prey drive” kicked in and he attacked.

Ilanos said he believed the Dangerous Dogs Act, passed in Parliament in August 2000 after public outcry over several pitbull attacks, was never proclaimed because it would affect all owners, not just irresponsible ones. He said one of the requirements of the act was that an owner with a dog above a certain weight must have public liability insurance up to $200,000. Ilanos said what was needed, however, was a bill to deal with irresponsible owners. “Dogs are not really the cause. They are programmed by us,” the owner of 35 dogs said.  After the passage of the Dangerous Dogs Act in 2000, the then government said some $15 million was needed to enforce the provisions.

One year after, the government said it was awaiting the report of a steering committee set up to look into the act. Members of the public, who called for amendments, said the act was flawed in that you could get into trouble if your pitbull bit someone but not if your “pothound” or German Shepherd did. Attorney General Anand Ramlogan, who was in Cabinet yesterday, said he would give a statement on the act soon.

Post by: Brownsugar on April 17, 2011, 05:54:14 AM
A bit on the legislation that passed in 2000....

Keeping it real
THE HUMAN ELEMENT - SUZANNE MILLS Sunday, April 17 2011

When I started the research for this piece, my initial focus was the Dangerous Dogs Act of 2000. I´d spent a great deal of time searching for the Act on the TT parliamentary website and so when at last I came across it, so bent was I on the legislation, at first the political forest was not apparent because of the tall tree standing in it.

The Dangerous Dogs Act had proved more problematic than usual to detect because it was one of an incredible 92 pieces of legislation passed by the Parliament in 2000, many of these laws requiring a special majority of the House. The list included impressive members as the Integrity in Public Life Act, the DNA Act, the Judicial Review Act and the Equal Opportunity Act. The DNA and Dangerous Dogs Acts were passed in the same sitting, one after the other. Caught in a relentless agenda three times the norm, laws passed in 2000 were sure to suffer from deficient drafting and insufficient scrutiny. Even if MPs had sat all day and all night that year, at some point legislative lethargy must have set in. The proof was in the legal pudding: several if not all of the main Acts of 2000 were later challenged and deemed unconstitutional, draconian or unclear.

The Dangerous Dogs Act 2000 would have been difficult to implement had it been proclaimed for it sought to introduce an elaborate, expensive system of registration and insurance, which would discourage co-operation from the general public, favour the wealthy and dump on already overwhelmed, understaffed and underfunded local government authorities, the responsibility for its enforcement. Unless money, training and personnel were provided for local government, the Act would never be more than a record of good intentions. It read like an import from a country which possessed an effective local government system and it would certainly be open to challenge in the courts because its steep licence and insurance requirements would force all ordinary citizens to euthanise their animals, yet place no limits on the canine ownership of the well-heeled, who could keep whatever number of dogs their deep pockets could afford.

It seemed the Dangerous Dogs Act was brought to parliament prematurely in extremely emotive circumstances after several deaths provoked public ire, one of them committed by the pitbulls of a prominent UNC financier. But moreover, 2000 was an election year. The UNC was seeking re-election and was determined to push through as much politically correct legislation as possible before the House was dissolved. The PNM –looking for an escape from opposition wasteland—must have felt pressured to lend its support to a large number of measures even though it rightly and repeatedly complained about the speed with which bill after bill was being laid and about the dangers of passing important legislation in the dead of night. Years later, when it took power, it would label the Dangerous Dogs Act draconian.

One of the additional dangers of a legislature assenting hurriedly to a plethora of laws is that as it flits from bill to bill, it is simply too overwhelmed to ensure their proclamation and application. Further, the country will never have the human, monetary and systemic resources to enforce all the new laws. The Dangerous Dogs Act of 2000 calmed tempers, nothing more. We should definitely outlaw or control pitbulls and other dangerous breeds as these evolve and emerge but we must do so realistically and equitably. We have to pass laws that work for all, especially for potential victims.

But the rich cannot enjoy a greater right to secure their homes and their families than the rest. If dangerous dogs are to be insured then the government must persuade the insurance companies to offer reasonable rates. Registration for one dog at the local authority should be much lower than $500 or widescale corruption and/or defiance will result. As for the ludicrous sections of the Act which empower local authority officers to inspect properties and to seize dangerous dogs, have we thought that special training and insurance may be needed for these men and women? They are not health inspectors. Who is suicidal enough to enter a yard with pitbulls to survey it or to capture dogs which have already killed?

When MPs in this Parliament revisit the 2000 Dangerous Dogs Act, as they clearly must, they have to keep it real. This is not an election year.

www.suzannemills.net

http://www.newsday.co.tt/commentary/0,139078.html (http://www.newsday.co.tt/commentary/0,139078.html)
Post by: Flex on April 17, 2011, 06:03:36 AM
‘Dog whisperer’ wants face to face with mauling dogs
By CAROL MATROO (Newsday)
Sunday, April 17 2011

Animal behaviourist Kristel-Marie Ramnath has offered to help in the assessment and possible rehabilitation of the two dogs which mauled four-year-old Ezekiel Renne Cambridge almost to death on April 12.

The child is now said to be in a stable condition after being listed as critical at the San Fernando General Hospital. Yesterday, Ezekiel was taken off of life-support and was breathing on his own.

Little Ezekiel’s attack came just five days after a homeless man was mauled to death by two Rottweilers after scaling a wall to steal in the compound where the dogs were kept.

Police have taken a statement from the German Shepherds’ (one dog was mixed breed) owner Vidya Emrith, who has decided to give the dogs up to a security firm.

“If we find that the animal attacks for a certain reason then we can rehabilitate. I would advise behaviour modification. But, if the dog is truly aggressive and a threat to the public, then it should be euthanised,” she said.

Ramnath said there was absolutely no excuse for anyone to own an animal that could be called dangerous.

Ramnath said any pet owner must realise that they are responsible for the behaviour and actions of their animals as they should be for their own children.

She said while dogs were domesticated and were known as “man’s best friend”, there could also be a sinister side to this relationship.

Ramnath said with the close association of dogs and humans in daily life, dog attacks were not uncommon. She added that animals, regardless of domestication, were governed by the laws of nature.

The homeless man had intruded on the dogs’ domain and were therefore protecting what was theirs. However, in the case of Ezekiel, the dogs had escaped from their confined area.

Ramnath bemoaned the fact that the Dangerous Dogs Act, which was still awaiting proclamation after being passed in the Parliament on May 12, 2000, was only limited to three breeds of dogs: the Pitbull Terrier, the Japanese Tosa and the Fila Brasiliero.

“How many of us in Trinidad and Tobago have ever even heard of the last two breeds, let alone own one? Any breed of dog can bite. All animals retain their instinctual, wild nature, however deep it may be hidden.

“An animal will therefore react to any perceived threat instinctively rather than logically.

“They do not possess the same capacity for reasoning that humans do and they live outside of human laws. It is therefore vitally important that we understand our pets’ behavioural constitution and their limits,” Ramnath said.

What causes aggressiveness in and attacks by dogs?

She said behaviour was shaped by a dog’s genetics, and aggression was a trait which could be selected for or selected against when assessing the temperaments of two dogs used for breeding.

Ramnath added that there was considerable debate on whether or not certain breeds of dogs were inherently more prone to aggression than others.

“Certainly, large-breed dogs are capable of inflicting more damage quickly due to sheer strength and size, but dogs of all sizes and breeds have mauled and killed humans and other animals. The onus lies with the dog breeder to practise more responsible selective breeding for temperament,” she said.

She advised that dog breeders should be registered with a regulatory body such as the Federation for Canine Registration of TT, or the Kennel Club of TT whereby rules pertaining to responsible breeding were adhered to.

Ramnath said a dog’s environment also played a major role and included human actions such as neglect or aggression training; and inactions such as carelessness in confinement and control, and not providing sufficient exercise or enrichment.

She added that owners must ensure that the animal could not escape the boundaries of the home as dogs had the instinct to defend themselves; members of their “pack” (human and animal); and their territory.

Ramnath noted, however, that what a dog perceived to be its own may not coincide with the property lines that the owners and the legal authorities recognised.

A dog may therefore see the street outside of its home as its territory and this was one reason so many dogs rushed outside to confront passers-by, particularly those dogs that were allowed to roam the streets, she said.

“The responsibility thus lies with the owner to make sure that the dog is adequately fenced in with no route of escape,” said Ramnath.

This was also the stance of certified dog trainer Jean-Paul Llanos, that it was the owners’ responsibility to properly secure their premises, especially if their dogs were considered to be overly aggressive.

“Proper infrastructure is essential. In this instance with the child, reports said the dogs hit the gate and ran out. With these dogs, the owner should have ensured that there was a latch at the top and bottom of the gate in case one gave way,” he said.

Ramnath said when first acquiring a puppy, this was the opportunity to raise it as a happy, well-adjusted companion. This also went for any animal one may own that was growling or biting or chewing everything in sight.

“It is never too late, provided you are willing to expend the time, energy and resources needed to modify your pet’s behaviour,” she assured.

Ramnath noted that in TT, there is no data on the number of dog bites occurring per year, and fatalities as a result of dog attacks were not recorded by the Central Statistical Office (CSO).

Both Ramnath and Llanos did not agree with the Dangerous Dogs Act saying that any dog had the potential to inflict damage on humans, with Llanos calling for owners to be more educated about the types of dogs they had.

On the euthanisation of dogs who mauled or killed humans, Llanos said this was definitely not the answer, adding that the dog be assessed by a professional first. He advised owners to stop taking their dogs for granted.

“Too often people become too informal with their animals and they need to take them more seriously,” he said.
Post by: Preacher on April 17, 2011, 12:14:23 PM
A child is fighting for his life and they are having this debate?  Sending man to whisper to dog and ting.  It seems to me that the life of the dog has become more important than the life of a human being in the eyes of the law.  More signs of Trinidad going down.  People need to start arming themselves.  You see a dog killing a child, go out there and shoot it. Or don't go with no stick go with a cutlass or knife and stab that thing to death. Let the owners come and get it after.  scheeuups
Post by: Babalawo on May 09, 2011, 05:58:15 PM
i just heard a woman was killed by pitbulls. wats really going on with dog control in tnt????????
Post by: Bakes on May 09, 2011, 06:02:35 PM
i just heard a woman was killed by pitbulls. wats really going on with dog control owners in tnt????????

Fix it fuh yuh... shit is ridiculous now.  Watch dem run and pass some ridiculous anti-dog law now.
Post by: Babalawo on May 09, 2011, 06:07:48 PM
edingburgh 500 is where my aunt lives and i know it have plenty police living there too. i wonder if i know who it was
Post by: D.H.W on May 09, 2011, 06:38:53 PM
edingburgh 500 is where my aunt lives and i know it have plenty police living there too. i wonder if i know who it was

its a police man dogs that jump through a hole in the metal gate. The dogs have attacked people before. Real slackness. Somebody just lose they mother. stueps
Post by: weary1969 on May 09, 2011, 07:41:10 PM
Gibbs over 2 u.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on May 09, 2011, 08:02:35 PM

its a police man dogs that jump through a hole in the metal gate. The dogs have attacked people before. Real slackness. Somebody just lose they mother. stueps

These piece of shit dog owners should be lined up and shot in the face. I have a soft spot for pit bulls, contrary to popular belief they can be a very gentle and loving pet. But if reared improperly they are ferocious relentless animals that will stop at nothing to annihilate an adversary. Anybody who has experience with them knows this.

They should make that popo roll naked in bacon grease and fight them dogs to the death, see how he like it. Like you said that is people mother, wife, sister, auntie and friend. Not in 2011.
Post by: Babalawo on May 09, 2011, 09:49:33 PM

These piece of shit dog owners should be lined up and shot in the face. I have a soft spot for pit bulls, contrary to popular belief they can be a very gentle and loving pet. But if reared improperly they are ferocious relentless animals that will stop at nothing to annihilate an adversary. Anybody who has experience with them knows this.

They make make that popo roll naked in bacon grease and fight them dogs to the death, see how he like it. Like you said that is people mother, wife, sister, auntie and friend. Not in 2011.
(http://media.trinidadexpress.com/images/1304998862414n13.jpg)
a civilian lose they life just so??. This is residential-neighborhood, not a jungle.  If that was my aunt i dont know what I would do. she lives right there... I more vex now cus i just saw it on Ian Alleyne, dead body, blood, lady crying husband and relatives, the police running from Ian alleyne cameras, and the dogs a dog. What that man doing with 40 dogs???????? Around five of them attacked the woman. This is not a farm, its a residential area i repeat.  These dogs and the lady in palmiste dogs must be put to sleep and owners must "make ah jail". I more vex i tried to tape the video but the recording didnt go through.  It will have a replay tomorrow at 6 on tv6.
Post by: Deeks on May 09, 2011, 10:27:13 PM
But if reared improperly they are ferocious relentless animals that will stop at nothing to annihilate an adversary. Anybody who has experience with them knows this.

Zandolie, "if reared imprpoerly".  They can't even raise they own children, you expecting them to rear pitbulls properly.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on May 10, 2011, 07:40:29 AM
But if reared improperly they are ferocious relentless animals that will stop at nothing to annihilate an adversary. Anybody who has experience with them knows this.

Zandolie, "if reared imprpoerly".  They can't even raise they own children, you expecting them to rear pitbulls properly.

Yes I expect, society expects, that people who have animals will rear them either out of proximity of the general public or not so as to present a danger to the public. Same goes for these people children who worse than pitbulls. Its the same anti-social mentality creating both type of animals.

Post by: weary1969 on May 10, 2011, 07:44:06 AM

Post by: Brownsugar on April 20, 2012, 06:58:35 AM
Now when I heard this news earlier this week I thought that amendments had been made to the original bill and was now going to be proclaimed.  But its apparently the 12 year old bill with all the problems in it that kept it from being proclaimed in the first place that will be made law......knee jerk reaction by government??   :-\

Dangerous Dogs Act to be made law...after 12 years
By Ria Taitt Political Editor

Finally!
After languishing on the books for 12 years since its passage by the Parliament in June 2000, the Dangerous Dogs Act is to be proclaimed on August 1, 2012.
A release from the Ministry of the Attorney General stated yesterday that Cabinet at its meeting last Thursday agreed "that the Act, by Proclamation of the President, would come into force on 1 August, 2012.

"The Government is of the view that the proclamation of the Act is critical because of the great harm and injury being caused daily to law-abiding citizens when these dogs are not properly secured and controlled."
The Act imposes certain obligations on the owners or keepers of dangerous dogs such. For instance, the owner of every dangerous dog must have insurance in the sum of at least $250,000 for each dog.
The purpose of the Act is to prohibit persons from importing and breeding dangerous dogs, to impose other restrictions in respect of dangerous dogs, to regulate the manner in which dangerous dogs are kept by their owner or keeper, and to make further provision to ensure than such dogs are kept under proper control so as to ensure public safety.

The Act categorises as dangerous dogs:
1) pitbull terrier or any dog bred from a pitbull terrier
2) a Fila Brasileiro or any dog bred from a Fila Brasileiro
3) a Japanese Tosa or any dog bred from a Japanese Tosa.

However, under the Act the Minister of Local Government is given the power to declare any other type of dog as a dangerous dog.
Within three months of the Act coming into force a person who owns a dangerous dog must have it spayed or neutered by a veterinary surgeon, register it with the Ministry of Local Government; and apply for and get an annual license from the Municipal Corporation in the area where he lives.
Failure to acquire the $500 licence means that the person has committed the summary offence of keeping or owning an unlicensed dangerous dog, for which there is a penalty of a $50,000 fine and imprisonment for one year. The Act also bans the importation, breeding or sale of a dangerous dog and also prohibits a person under 18 from owning a dangerous dog. If a person cannot comply with any of the provisions of the Act, he/she must give his/her dangerous dog to the Ministry of Local Government which would then destroy it.

Once a dangerous dog escapes from any premises, the owner of the dog is liable for any injury or damage caused by the dog. The owner must ensure that the premises on which the dog is kept is secured by a fence or wall of a suitable height and constructed and maintained so as to prevent the dog from escaping.
The owner also must have a notice properly displayed that there is a dangerous dog on his premises.
The release stated that regulations would soon be prepared to give effect to the purpose of the Act. "The Government has noted with great concern the recent and growing attacks on law-abiding citizens by pitbulls. The facts show that often these dangerous dogs are not properly trained or secured. In recent times, dangerous dogs have been allowed to escape onto the road and attack persons, causing severe injuries and, in some cases, death," the release added.
Last April four-year-old Ezekiel Renne-Cambridge who was mauled by two German Shepherd dogs (not defined as dangerous dogs) ended up in Intensive Care Unit of the San Fernando Hospital where he was treated and discharged.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Dangerous_Dogs_Act_to_be_made_law___after_12_years-147685635.html (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Dangerous_Dogs_Act_to_be_made_law___after_12_years-147685635.html)
Post by: just cool on April 20, 2012, 10:23:40 AM
Wham brownin, yuh fraid dogs or what??  ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on April 20, 2012, 02:21:59 PM
Wham brownin, yuh fraid dogs or what??  ;D

uh huh....yeeesss..... :-\
Post by: D.H.W on April 20, 2012, 03:48:43 PM
D bill have flaws. Say what my doberman doh fall in that list, so I safe for now
Post by: kounty on April 21, 2012, 07:04:55 AM
the heart of the law makin sense man...I sure the particulars could be worked out.  :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on April 21, 2012, 07:15:08 AM
the heart of the law makin sense man...I sure the particulars could be worked out.  :beermug:

Really?  A law that designates entire breeds of dogs (completely unsupported by the science) "makin sense"?  How is the designation of a "dangerous" breed made?  Is it based on the number of dog bites?  Or how high a profile the dog bite attracts?  Because if is number of dog bites then 'mongrel' must certainly be the most dangerous 'breed' on Earth.  Does the bill ban the ownership of mongrels?
Post by: kounty on April 21, 2012, 11:36:26 AM

Really?  A law that designates entire breeds of dogs (completely unsupported by the science) "makin sense"?  How is the designation of a "dangerous" breed made?  Is it based on the number of dog bites?  Or how high a profile the dog bite attracts?  ..
nope. if i were in kindergarten i might think like that, but since i have some O's under my belt I might say a good statistic would have a ratio in it...maybe : fatalities caused per unit population (of dogs in question).  or serious injury per unit dog population.  or serious injury per unit incident dog attack. either way the essence of a) increasing the incentive for owners of dangerous dogs (i know, no such thing right :)  to make absolutely sure their dogs don't get out and hurt nobody (I have full trust in the insurance companies to make negligent owners feel it in the pocket) b) have some set system of compensation in place (just like with cars) and c) having some beginning of a system where dogs are tied to owners, and eventually sometime when we reach 1st world status (20/20? :), maybe all dogs will have to be registered, like here in Atlanta, GA (no doubt spurred on by the whole Vick scenario).  and yes I have a pitbull now which makes it the 3rd that I've trusted from birth with my 3 youngest infant kids..and I don't know if i trust other breeds like i trust them.  but i also know what they can do in the wrong owners' hands. not every idiot in t&t deserve to own a pitbull...kinda like driving...thaz why i like the approach.
Post by: Bakes on April 21, 2012, 11:54:01 AM
nope. if i were in kindergarten i might think like that, but since i have some O's under my belt I might say a good statistic would have a ratio in it...maybe : fatalities caused per unit population (of dogs in question).  or serious injury per unit dog population.  or serious injury per unit incident dog attack. either way the essence of a) increasing the incentive for owners of dangerous dogs (i know, no such thing right :)  to make absolutely sure their dogs don't get out and hurt nobody (I have full trust in the insurance companies to make negligent owners feel it in the pocket) b) have some set system of compensation in place (just like with cars) and c) having some beginning of a system where dogs are tied to owners, and eventually sometime when we reach 1st world status (20/20? :), maybe all dogs will have to be registered, like here in Atlanta, GA (no doubt spurred on by the whole Vick scenario).  and yes I have a pitbull now which makes it the 3rd that I've trusted from birth with my 3 youngest infant kids..and I don't know if i trust other breeds like i trust them.  but i also know what they can do in the wrong owners' hands. not every idiot in t&t deserve to own a pitbull...kinda like driving...thaz why i like the approach.

All this says is that you are unfamiliar with the law, yuh "O's" should at least allow yuh to recognize what the law says from what it doesn't.  Aside from the insurance proposal, which is ridiculous... nothing you said applies to the law.  There were no statistics cited in support of the law, which lends to the conclusion that certain breeds are more dangerous than others... unless you're citing newspaper headlines.  Further, there is no definition of what constitutes "serious injury", which is necessary as an elementary matter. If all dogs are to be registered then the law should just say so.  If owners are ultimately to be held responsible then the law should just say so.  Your experience with your own pitbulls supports the conclusion that the law is misguided... but in your mind a misguided approach is better than no approach.  If that works for you then what ah go tell yuh...
Post by: Bourbon on April 21, 2012, 06:44:27 PM
Dis law beyond normal levels of dotish. If i didnt know better I woulda say is an Anand creation.
Post by: kounty on April 22, 2012, 04:50:59 AM

I don't think it will be too hard to check the morgue records and see how many fatalities were attributed to dog bites in T&T. I would guess that the corresponding rates would be higher than in the US - more than 1/2 of all deaths by rottweiler or pitbull derivatives (http://avmajournals.avma.org/doi/abs/10.2460/javma.2000.217.836?prevSearch=allfield%3A%28dog+bites+2000%29). The dog landscape different in Trini.  In durham, NC (and maybe even all over NC and other places I dunno) it is illegal to chain your dog if you aren't with it. In trini that is how some people dogs spend they whole life. Optimally, I would love for all owners to just treat their dogs right and cut down the mauling incidents so we wouldn't need misguided laws like these.
So what do you suggest? neighbor dog break out and kill the 4 yr old next door - just a hard luck situation? dog owner ent have no money to sue for. jail time? how long? In my humble misguided opinion, at least the law will have people thinking twice about whether or not they want to 'train they dog to be bad'.
Post by: Bakes on April 22, 2012, 11:59:12 AM

I don't think it will be too hard to check the morgue records and see how many fatalities were attributed to dog bites in T&T. I would guess that the corresponding rates would be higher than in the US - more than 1/2 of all deaths by rottweiler or pitbull derivatives (http://avmajournals.avma.org/doi/abs/10.2460/javma.2000.217.836?prevSearch=allfield%3A%28dog+bites+2000%29). The dog landscape different in Trini.  In durham, NC (and maybe even all over NC and other places I dunno) it is illegal to chain your dog if you aren't with it. In trini that is how some people dogs spend they whole life. Optimally, I would love for all owners to just treat their dogs right and cut down the mauling incidents so we wouldn't need misguided laws like these.
So what do you suggest? neighbor dog break out and kill the 4 yr old next door - just a hard luck situation? dog owner ent have no money to sue for. jail time? how long? In my humble misguided opinion, at least the law will have people thinking twice about whether or not they want to 'train they dog to be bad'.

How??  Have you even taken a look a the law? 

Right now you could train a pothound to maul somebody to death and the law would have no application.  You just arguing fuh argument's sake or what?  This is not a strict liability law, so if the dog owner takes reasonable steps to safeguard the public and the dog still escapes then there is no liability on the dog owner's part... yes, is a hardluck situation no more than if yuh keep yuh car well-maintained and it inexplicably malfunctions (brakes fail... axle breaks) and someone gets hurt in the process.  Of course in that situation the injured gets compensated by insurance... but the point is that there is no liability for the owner.  If you want to mandate insurance then it would have to be for all dogs, not just the arbitrarily designated "dangerous" ones.

You also mention going to the morgue and getting statistics... the point isn't whether those stats are available, the fact is none were used in drafting the legislation.
Post by: weary1969 on April 22, 2012, 04:26:02 PM
Dis law beyond normal levels of dotish. If i didnt know better I woulda say is an Anand creation.

Nah d other super AG RAMESH LAWERENCE MARAJ. Nuff of d laws he past neded 2 fix. Imagne act as simple as the Local School Boards Hazel had 2 ammend.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 22, 2012, 07:44:59 PM

Nah d other super AG RAMESH LAWERENCE MARAJ. Nuff of d laws he past neded 2 fix. Imagne act as simple as the Local School Boards Hazel had 2 ammend.

.......and de country bookie just take it off de shelf, dotish as it is, dust it off and asking de Prez to proclaim it.......unbelievable!!.... ::) ::)
Post by: dinho on April 23, 2012, 09:03:10 AM
I not in favor of breed specific legislation and i agree that the law is seriously flawed... I also agreed that irresponsible owners should be punished and the law should have been constructed to reflect such.

However....

These pitbull owners who try to portray their pets as a most loving, loyal breed incapable of violence need to stop taking people for ass...

I never see or hear about a pothound that trip off and turn beast with the kinda ferocity and venom like pitbulls commonly do. And when a pitbull do trip is a totally different kinda scene, it have no reasoning with it, it have no stand down, is straight killing machine yuh dealing with. A pothound might rush yuh, yuh might hold a bite from a shepherd, but dem dogs not going for yuh neck.

I had a situation some years ago, about 6am a morning i sleeping and hearing my dogs barking like crazy.. When i gone outside to check its because 2 pitbulls from a house down the street get away, reach in my yard and ripping one of my dog to pieces. My next dog (German Shepherd) watching this and going crazy and want to run in the melee.. I trying to hold back the shepherd, same time i throwing big stone and water and trying to pelt cutlass blade... Nothing would make them dogs let up..

Somehow the dog that was being attacked get away and make a run for it and 2 of them take off behind him running around the house.. So now i hadda run in the store room wid the shepherd and lock myself up with these beasts running amok in my yard.. Eventually my dog get away by scaling the gate into the back porch, but then these 2 bloodthirsty pits now roaming my yard.

The owner reach about 5 minutes after all this trying to get them under control, and dem dogs in a zone where they can't respond they just on killing.. Dem pits getting shout at, lash wid a big log, water and they eh feeling a thing. Eventually about half hour after she get them to run back home.

Now after all this, my dog succumbed to the injuries and had to be put to sleep.. And this with nothing more than ah hard luck and a shrug from the owner who blame it on the gardener leaving the back gate open.

What affect me the most about that is that my moms does water plants all 6 in the morning, all i could think about is if that situation turned out differently. Imagine if was my moms out there that get attack.

The bottom line is, IS ALWAYS A PITBULL featuring in dem kinda mad scene.. I've seen pitbulls attack their owners in a fit of rage forgetting all loyalty built over a number of years. The thing is, in addition to the force they are capable of, that particular breed of dog have a serious tendency to trip more than any other breed i know. And i aint need a dog breeder or a study to tell me different.

Flawed as the legislation might be, I for one glad... The less pitbull i see the better.

All who protesting need to find something else to breed.
Post by: Bourbon on April 23, 2012, 12:20:35 PM
Pitbulls were bred for dog fighting. Their "gameness" ie...a reluctance to back down is one of the main traits that they strove for in breeding them historically. Which is why when one escapes its dangerous....other dogs barking at it can easily incite it to lose control.

I personally dont think pits should ever get aggression training....the control factors are too much. A simple thing like holding the collar in the wrong way (ie one way for control..another way prefacing a command to attack) can happen in a split second.

However the loyalty of the breed is known. Once they set in a gear and know who is the boss...they submit.

A pit is not a toy. It takes responsibility...much more than many people able or ready to deal with.

And there is the problem. The owner.

Like with that story there.....no dog should ever be allowed to go outside..and even if an opportunity presents itself...it should have been trained not to. If a dog has no appreciation of where its territory is...then it would be prone to treat every one as an intruder. Electric leashes are a good option as well as other training methods.

But again...people dont think or recognize how much thought and planning needed for this breed. Having a fence where it can be seen and provoked by other dogs is another problem. In fact being seen or provoked by humans ( like idiotic school children for example) is a problem. And then when the dog reacts or breaks out.....the poor dog has to be put down..because people dont know or understand that you treat all animals with respect.

All dogs capable of tripping off. What makes a pitbull so dangerous is its gameness...it bites and holds....other dogs would bite multiple times. Beating or hitting the dog to make it let go would make it hold on more. What you need to do is get a stick (a bully stick..which all owners should have..) and use that to pry open the dog's jaw. When the owner does that the dog recognizes its time to let go and it would.
But when in panic....and faced with a situation which you never prepared for....how do you expect that to really happen?
Post by: Brownsugar on April 24, 2012, 05:59:16 AM
My brother and I fall out bad, bad, bad late last year because he decide of aaaaaallll the breed of dogs on the planet he wanted a pit bull to guard his property.  De place eh fence, he does hardly be home, he have a 3 year old chile who unpredictable as children his age are, my mother always at home so it would be she and this beast if it get away.

Ah cuss, ah cuss, ah cuss, and den ah cuss some more.  Ah try all kinda how to talk some sense into de man.  He insist that because some one of he friends have pit bull and once dey trained dey not dangerous, he must get one one too.  Ah cuss some more......ah recruit all kinda a family members to help mih in mih cause cuz all I picturing is one day this beast get away and is my poor mother and/or he own child it attacking.  Ah cuss some more.

I eh know what make him back down cuz the next thing I know I went home one day and I saw a rottweiler in the yard.   I was planning for that blasted pit bull......nothing a ham bone couldn't cure......
Post by: kicker on April 24, 2012, 10:17:38 AM
Brown Sugar - Not too long ago Rotts had the same reputation as Pits. 

Post by: Bakes on April 24, 2012, 01:34:05 PM
People acting as though Pitbulls are this powder keg waiting to go off ("trip off") at any moment, for no reason at all.  I honestly don't know 'cause I ent no dog psychologist.  My years of expertise garnered from watching 'Dog Whisperer' on NatGeo makes me believe this is nonsense.  That aside... which dogs would be most likely to "trip off" other than the ones rescued (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2008/magazine/12/22/vick.dogs/) from Vick's property 6 years ago?  Yet the vast majority have been rehabilitated, are well-adjusted and have found adoptive homes.  Imagine then the dog's who have not undergone such emotional trauma?  This is why there is greater need for education when it comes to these dogs.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 24, 2012, 05:58:33 PM
Brown Sugar - Not too long ago Rotts had the same reputation as Pits. 

My brother insisted on owning one of these animals.  Somehow, mentally, I could live with the Rott....
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 25, 2012, 02:16:08 AM
People acting as though Pitbulls are this powder keg waiting to go off ("trip off") at any moment, for no reason at all.  I honestly don't know 'cause I ent no dog psychologist.  My years of expertise garnered from watching 'Dog Whisperer' on NatGeo makes me believe this is nonsense.  That aside... which dogs would be most likely to "trip off" other than the ones rescued (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2008/magazine/12/22/vick.dogs/) from Vick's property 6 years ago?  Yet the vast majority have been rehabilitated, are well-adjusted and have found adoptive homes.  Imagine then the dog's who have not undergone such emotional trauma?  This is why there is greater need for education when it comes to these dogs.

Bakes yuh mad or wah? Yuh want people to believe facts? No the dogs are evil and just trip out even if they are owned by good responsible owners who show them love and don't just chain them up and leave them out in the rain and hot sun.
Train the dogs to be aggressive they will be aggressive and that can literally come back to bite yuh in the ass. Treat them with love and they are fun lovely dogs.
Have had dogs all my life, pops even left me in my crib as a baby to go look for one of our dogs that ran away. Mums wasn't too pleased when she came home to find me home alone sleeping in the crib.
I must confess pitbulls do make me nervous because I also grew up with the hype of them being bad dogs. Only recently I seen how fun and playful they can be with the right owners.
However seeing how Trinis treat their dogs, more than half probably shouldn't own a fish far less a dog
Post by: Bakes on April 25, 2012, 10:04:06 AM
Another thing NYTrini... as yuh mention dem making yuh nervous.  Animals have a sixth sense where this is concerned, the thing is that they can pick up on this nervousness, and even worse, when yuh make eye contact with them.  They will either (all dogs) take this as a challenge, or even worse, see the fear in yuh eyes and immediately realize they have 'power' over yuh.  Unless they being aggressive with yuh yuh have to ignore them and pretend like they not even there, most dogs will approach you to sniff you and see what's up... after that, and especially if yuh with one ah dey family members they'll leave you alone. 

If yuh's ah stranger by yuhself just be on yuh guard but doh be timid.  One on one with a dog a human should never lose... but for fear and mental paralysis.  Unlike a bear or big cat etc which has claws that can harm you... all a dog has is it's jaws, and if you think about it, it's not that hard to keep its head away from you.

p.s. ah know some might want to latch onto it looking fuh talk... the Dog Whisperer expertise talk was said tongue in cheek.
Post by: pecan on April 25, 2012, 10:13:05 AM
A solution to any perceived issues with pit bulls and other potentially aggressive dogs ...

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=56875.msg801477#msg801477

Post by: dinho on April 25, 2012, 10:33:49 AM

Bakes yuh mad or wah? Yuh want people to believe facts? No the dogs are evil and just trip out even if they are owned by good responsible owners who show them love and don't just chain them up and leave them out in the rain and hot sun.
Train the dogs to be aggressive they will be aggressive and that can literally come back to bite yuh in the ass. Treat them with love and they are fun lovely dogs.
Have had dogs all my life, pops even left me in my crib as a baby to go look for one of our dogs that ran away. Mums wasn't too pleased when she came home to find me home alone sleeping in the crib.
I must confess pitbulls do make me nervous because I also grew up with the hype of them being bad dogs. Only recently I seen how fun and playful they can be with the right owners.
However seeing how Trinis treat their dogs, more than half probably shouldn't own a fish far less a dog

That right there is the crux of the matter...

The context of owning a dog in Trinidad is not the same as owning a dog in the States or Europe. Its like when i watch Dog Whisperer, all i could think about is i would love to see Cesar come here and try to reason with ah pothound lol.

The culture here is basically a dog is to just have in the yard to eat the leftovers once a day and play with in free time. Whether is a big dog for protection or a pompek for pet, it is no big differentiation as to how the dog is kept. Just the concept of walking a dog every day or picking up shit behind a dog or buying a proper collar and leash is completely alien. Train yuh dog to shit in the yard and not in the house and that is pretty much the sum total of dog training.

By and large, people put far less effort and emphasis on taking care and responsibility of their pets, and also they are not legislated to do so. Only a minority of people here bother to invest in a qualified trainer to properly train a dog, frequent the vet and buy proper dog food and supplies etc. And this minority is for the most part the people who are dog aficionados enough to make them buy a purebreed dog and then put the effort into it.

Thats why I feel a pitbull here is not a pitbull abroad as people abroad take more care and pay more attention to training. We can agree that the nature of that breed is that it requires an elevated level of attention and training, but its just not something that the typical dog owner in Trinidad willing to give. It is a high maintenance breed failing which it is more likely to be unpredictable, prone to aggression and dangerous.

So yeah i'm sorry that Peter, the responsible pitbull owners who are in the minority, has to feel it.... But when i think of how much youthman Paul it have out here coasting in the road with dey pitbull trying to frighten innocent people under bad man vibes and coaching aggression, i have no grouse with one paying for the other.
Post by: Bakes on April 25, 2012, 12:54:36 PM
Funny how so much of the focus of people's concerns is on the owners... yet we banning pitbulls. Lol, yet some locals bristle when others call dem backwards.
Post by: Deeks on April 25, 2012, 08:17:29 PM
Funny how so much of the focus of people's concerns is on the owners... yet we banning pitbulls. Lol, yet some locals bristle when others call dem backwards.

Bakes I agree. The dog and owner come like a package. You can't have one without the other. A pit bull is ah different breed of canine. It does bit first and think after(that is if it does think at all). The new breed of Trini men  going thru ah strong streak of irresponsibility. They can't manage themselves, farless them dogs.
Post by: Dutty on April 27, 2012, 01:27:50 PM
.....nothing a ham bone couldn't cure......

:o :o

Lawd,,your future husband better never make no kinda argument wit you atall
Post by: Brownsugar on June 07, 2012, 05:24:48 PM
Cabinet accepts new Dangerous Dogs guidelines
Wednesday 6th June, 2012

Cabinet has reviewed and accepted the Position Paper of the Law Reform Commission on the Dangerous Dogs Act.

Speaking at the Post Cabinet Media Briefing, Attorney General, Mr. Anand Ramlogan, noted that this Position Paper is different in its policy, scope and intent. He said the Government is hoping to strike a balance between public safety and the Constitutional Right of citizens to own and keep a pet of their choice.

"It does not aim to prohibit and eliminate certain specific breeds of dogs but what it aims for is responsible management, ownership, and control of dogs. That legislation seeks to promote and ensure public safety with an accent on responsible ownership and control of dogs. We seek to categorise dogs in Class A and Class B."

The Attorney General said Class A deals with dogs that are traditionally known to display violent or aggressive behaviour, while Class B deals with other dogs that do not demonstrate such behaviour. He also stated that certain dogs will be banned from some public places such as shopping malls and parks, whether or not they are muzzled or leashed.

The Attorney General said there will be insurance coverage up to a limit of $250,000 per dog.

"That is important because when people have been attacked, the cry for justice has been one that has fallen on deaf ears in terms of compensation."

The Paper proposes a Registration and Licensing System for dogs that fall in Class A which would be valid for a two-year period.

"No such license will be issued to anyone under 18 years of age and if you own more than two dogs, the license fee will go up progressively on a tiered basis. If the dog is spayed or neutered, consideration may be given to a reduction in the licensing fee. If the Class A dog is in a public place as indicated, whether it is the beach or the road, it would have to be properly muzzled. The property will have to be fenced to meet certain stipulated requirements and specifications."

AG Ramlogan said the Paper has also rectified an area in the legislation that deals with dogs that belong to the Protective Services and private security firms.

Class A dogs will have to undergo training which the AG said is mandatory.

"So you if you want to own a dangerous dog, you must not only meet the fencing requirements, you must not only have insurance in place, but you have to get that dog trained. That will be a mandatory requirement."

The AG said there will be heavy fines and penalties for those who break the rules, repeat offenders will have the dogs taken away and there may even be a term of imprisonment to follow.

"With regard to the destruction of dogs, we will have veterinarians that are enlisted to euthanise. Where a mauling takes place or a dog attacks someone, there are provisions on how one should deal with that dog. Of course, special consideration may be given to extra compensation in the event that the victim suffers personal injuries that are so grievous that $250,000 insurance may not be adequate."

AG Ramlogan said persons who wish to own a dangerous dog will now have a legal duty to ensure that they take responsibility for having such a dog.

The revised Bill will have to be drafted first and then debated in both Houses of Parliament before it can be passed and proclaimed. The Attorney General said it will not be ready before the end of this session of Parliament.

Meanwhile, the Trinidad And Tobago Canine Advocates group welcomed the news by Attorney General Anand Ramlogan that Government will not go ahead with the Dangerous Dogs Act of 2000.

However, Vice President of the TTCA, Mr. Jean Claude Al-Jmayel, said the organisation cannot say more until they see the new proposals. He also said the group will go ahead with its education campaign.

http://ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=42216 (http://ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=42216)
Post by: Bourbon on June 07, 2012, 05:31:16 PM
Improvement.

However what would be the point of classification? Is it that Class A require insurance and Class B doesnt? Or lower insurance premium values or such?

What would then happen if a class B dog attacks someone?

However I hope they have more dialog on this and come up with the best solution.