General => General Discussion => Topic started by: verycute1 on May 07, 2009, 05:35:13 PM

Title: Local based
Post by: verycute1 on May 07, 2009, 05:35:13 PM
I trying to get some info on an accident that happen early this morning somewhere round the claxton bay area. A family friend was involved and everybody home kinda too shaken up for details. From what I gather the young men were returning home from a night out and lost control of the car or something. I ent know what they hit. The only thing that I do know is all of them dead. someone tell me they were all wearing belts and the car catch fire and they couldnt get out.

Any info or newsclips or anything would be appreciated.
Title: Re: Local based
Post by: Patterson on May 07, 2009, 06:22:46 PM
Three die in fatal car accident on the Solomon Hochoy Highway
Thursday 7th May, 2009

http://ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=12084

It was a horrific crash.

It happened at a spot along the Solomon Hochoy highway where over the years several people have died.

This morning three more lost their lives as the car they were in, crashed and burned.

Shandath Ramdeen the father of the driver Nicholas Ramdeen said he had often warned his son about the pace of his life.

After liming at the Zen nightclub 26-year-old Ramdeen left the club for home in the company of his friends 25-year-old Chris Ramlogan and Yohan Saney.

Ramlogan sat in the front passenger seat with Saney in the back.

Ramdeen's turbo charged Nissan b-14 motorcar crashed into an embankment before the car burst into flames.

Even after removing the body of Saney, fire officers spent a considerable amount of time trying to remove the charred bodies of the two men in the front seat.

Their bodies had become stuck to the car's interior by the intense heat of the fire.

Several curious onlookers lined the flyover.

Curious motorists on the northbound lane stopped to catch a glimpse led to at least five accidents, in most cases motorists slamming into the back of another vehicle.

Police were later forced to slow traffic to avoid any further accidents.

At Ramlogan's Gasparillo home relatives consoled one another moments after receiving the tragic news.

Nicholas Jaggernauth who considered the trio his best friends and spent yesterday evening with them watching the champion's league 2nd semi final game said life won't be the same without them.

Officers of the St Margaret's police station are continuing investigations into the fatal crash.
Post by: zuluwarrior on May 07, 2009, 06:42:26 PM
Patterson is that the place with the statue of the girl on the hill .
Post by: verycute1 on May 07, 2009, 06:48:10 PM

Thanks Patterson.

Zuluwarrior, is that the headless statue you mean? the one that allegedly haunted? I never found out the story behind that statue.
Post by: weary1969 on May 07, 2009, 06:55:01 PM
Sorry 2 hear bout your loss.
Post by: sinned on May 07, 2009, 06:55:40 PM
very sad day. these three brethren went to naps with me including one who went to primary school with me also.

this, after the news of roy jagroopsingh passing, makes it a tough week for naparima college men everywhere
Post by: D.H.W on May 07, 2009, 07:17:27 PM

Thanks Patterson.

Zuluwarrior, is that the headless statue you mean? the one that allegedly haunted? I never found out the story behind that statue.

explain , first time i hearing about this
Post by: zuluwarrior on May 07, 2009, 07:23:31 PM
Dont know the story behind it but the saying is that most of the times it have ah accident near that statue the survivor say hs saw ah little white gul crossing the highway and the driver would try to swerve away so he would not hit she .
Post by: D.H.W on May 07, 2009, 07:26:56 PM
Dont know the story behind it but the saying is that most of the times it have ah accident near that statue the survivor say hs saw ah little white gul crossing the highway and the driver would try to swerve away so he would not hit she .

:o wow. first time i hearing this.
Post by: zuluwarrior on May 07, 2009, 07:28:35 PM
Along the Solomon Hochoy Highway in the vicinity of the Claxton Bay Exit, tales are told of motorists who see a young lady walking across the highway directly in front of them. Providing an interesting addition to this story is the statue of a young lady that is located immediately before the exit, on a low hill on the western side of the highway near to the TSTT cell tower.

The legend behind the statue is that during the early 20th century, when Indian indentured labour was still used in Trinidad, there was a plantation in the vicinity operated by a Spanish family. The daughter of the plantation owner, Maria, had fallen in love with an Indian labourer and the two lovers had planned to get married. It is said that the father saw the two lovers together, realized the relationship and became furious. That night the father beat his daughter and told her to end the relationship. Maria refused and said that she would rather die. The father then told his other workers to kill the labourer. Maria heard of her father’s plan and ran to tell her lover. On crossing the road, she was bitten by a snake but driven by love she continued running. Weakened however by the snake bite, she fell to her death from the hill next to the road. Her father overcome by grief built a statue on the hill where she died. It is therefore said that the apparition, seen crossing the highway at night, is Maria trying to reach her lover.

Of her Indian lover, he was never seen again.

Post by: D.H.W on May 07, 2009, 07:35:21 PM
interesting story, i wonder if it true
Post by: Babalawo on May 07, 2009, 08:06:43 PM
oh shoot i remember that story. the statue is by the north bound side of butler highway before the over pass..
Post by: D.H.W on May 07, 2009, 08:16:38 PM
oh shoot i remember that story. the statue is by the north bound side of butler highway before the over pass..

anybody have a pick of it
Post by: verycute1 on May 07, 2009, 08:21:27 PM
thats is the statue that missing it's head too?

Sinned, grew up next door to one of them, I was much older, now making my moms laugh remembering the man in diapers, but he and his brothers and my brother were real close, real liming pals. My brother now telling me he know the others in the car real well too, all of them used to hang. 
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on May 07, 2009, 09:34:58 PM
everyone around my age from south knows them.
That statue story does still make me nervous cuz i hadda turn off there to go home. Driving home alone at like 3am yuh always remember the story. Plays with yuh mind
Post by: weary1969 on May 07, 2009, 10:12:54 PM
Three friends perish in car crash
Anika Gumbs-Sandiford | 9:25 pm
Published: May 8, 2009

Three best friends who refused to heed their parents’ warning against drinking and driving were burnt to death in a vehicular accident yesterday while returning from a popular nightclub in Port-of-Spain. They have been identified as Nicholas Ramdeen, 26, of Palmyra, Chris Ramlagan, 25, of Gasparillo, and Johann Saney, 23, of Palmiste. Police said Ramdeen, a Petrotrin operator, and Ramlagan, a biochemist, had gone to the popular nightclub with Saney who was studying mechanical engineering.

Tragedy struck around 4.30 am in the vicinity of the Claxton Bay Flyover. Police said Ramdeen was driving a white B14 Nissan Sentra along the Solomon Hochoy Highway when he lost control of the car and ran off the road. The car, police said, slammed into the railing and landed on the embankment before bursting into flames. All three men were burnt to death. Drivers who witnessed the accident contacted the San Fernando Police and Fire Station.

The fire officers battled for almost two hours to remove the burnt corpses from the car. The officers were also forced to use the jaws of life. The accident caused a massive traffic jam along the north and southbound lanes of the highway by drivers who all wanted to catch a glimpse of the accident.
The curiosity of the drivers resulted in 16 cars being involved in several minor accidents, among them a Prisons Service van. At the bereaved homes yesterday, Ramlagan’s brother Ryan fell to the ground on learning of his brother’s death. Holding his head, Ryan bawled: “Oh God! Oh God!. I fed up talk to him. I talked to him, I told him to be careful. What happen here...I do not know, Oh God! I talked to him, what to do?”

Post by: mukumsplau on May 08, 2009, 06:40:08 AM
johann shaney was studying mechanical engineering in uwi..probably a year above me...wen ah tell yuh..dat was one ah d most gifted ballers tuh ever pass tru uwi..was one ah d regulars in d 'KFC' sweat it used to have..and he was ah rel cool soldier too even tho i didnt kno him that personally..RIP
Post by: daryn on May 08, 2009, 09:28:15 AM

Three best friends who refused to heed their parents’ warning against drinking and driving were burnt to death in a vehicular accident yesterday while returning from a popular nightclub in Port-of-Spain.

In the absence of a toxicology report, I don't think this should be included.

Condolences to the families. 
Post by: weary1969 on May 08, 2009, 09:38:27 AM

Three best friends who refused to heed their parents’ warning against drinking and driving were burnt to death in a vehicular accident yesterday while returning from a popular nightclub in Port-of-Spain.

In a serious country dat would not b in d story. But we media could not cover a celebritypregnancy accurately do u expect dem to b concern whether d fellas was drunk or not.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on May 08, 2009, 09:40:00 AM
condolences but honestly it probably true they were drinking. Even their friends on facebook now begging people to not drink and drive. Sad thing is are the friends going to learn from this horrible accident?
Look one of my friends died in an accident at Westmooring's traffic lights. Man wasn't even drinking. At the funeral his father begged that his sons friends be responsible and be careful on the road. Yet men get drunk after the funeral and drive home!
Post by: weary1969 on May 08, 2009, 10:18:12 AM
condolences but honestly it probably true they were drinking. Even their friends on facebook now begging people to not drink and drive. Sad thing is are the friends going to learn from this horrible accident?
Look one of my friends died in an accident at Westmooring's traffic lights. Man wasn't even drinking. At the funeral his father begged that his sons friends be responsible and be careful on the road. Yet men get drunk after the funeral and drive home!

I suspect dey was drunk like some sailours but wait till d autopsy say so. Dem same facebook posse drunk this weekend. It would b nice if dey wake eh have no liquor dat go show dat dey serious but doubt it.
Post by: Bakes on May 08, 2009, 11:09:37 AM

No one has accused them of drinking and driving... the insinuation is there but if anything that comes from the family, the writer is only reporting what the parents admonishments.  At any rate in a single-car accident driver error is the likely culprit... even more alarming since such error resulted in the loss of three promising lives.  I think the bigger message is that people need to exercise better care on the roads.
Post by: daryn on May 08, 2009, 11:36:11 AM

No one has accused them of drinking and driving... the insinuation is there but if anything that comes from the family, the writer is only reporting what the parents admonishments.  At any rate in a single-car accident driver error is the likely culprit... even more alarming since such error resulted in the loss of three promising lives.  I think the bigger message is that people need to exercise better care on the roads.

I understand fully that there isn't an actual accusation in there but I don't think that tone is appropriate.   Even if they want to include the parents' admonishments, surely they don't have to start the article off with that.

I'm sure the message about road safety could be conveyed just as effectively without the sensationalism.
Post by: Andre on May 08, 2009, 01:08:09 PM
RIP Naps brethren.
Post by: Bakes on May 08, 2009, 01:34:37 PM

I understand fully that there isn't an actual accusation in there but I don't think that tone is appropriate.   Even if they want to include the parents' admonishments, surely they don't have to start the article off with that.

I'm sure the message about road safety could be conveyed just as effectively without the sensationalism.

Well I won't sidetrack the thread out of respect for those who feel a sense of loss for the victims, but I see nothing sensationalist at all about the sentence... it came from mouths of the family, like it or not it's part of the story.  Had the family instead said "yuh know how long I telling him about de steering problems dat car was giving?"  Absent a mechanic's report... would the inclusion of that sentence be sensationalist?
Post by: Deeks on May 08, 2009, 03:41:17 PM
Condolences to the family.
Post by: Deeks on May 08, 2009, 03:41:54 PM
Condolences to the families!!!!!!!
Post by: verycute1 on May 08, 2009, 04:46:40 PM

yea my brother said he fed up talk  bout that. It was a senseless accident that didnt have to happen. I agree with you that most people will not learn from that. Some will take heed, and they may stay away from the clubs tonight or even for the weekend, but you know too soon all going back to the normal.
Post by: mukumsplau on May 08, 2009, 06:03:37 PM
car burst into flames upon impact which can only mean they had NOS plusd news said d car was turbo charged so prolly they were going fast and i guess d slightest miscontrol wud prove fatal..thaz my take on it..since dey comin home from zen so prolly a lil alco was involved..
Post by: Brownsugar on May 09, 2009, 05:27:10 PM
car burst into flames upon impact which can only mean they had NOS plusd news said d car was turbo charged so prolly they were going fast and i guess d slightest miscontrol wud prove fatal..thaz my take on it..since dey comin home from zen so prolly a lil alco was involved..

When I heard that the car burst into flames my first thought was the car was suped up in some way.  Any body remember the accident near Trincity about 3 years ago where a car slam into another one and immediately burst into flames and a girl in her teens died?  Sad thing is she was NOT in the car that caused the infraction but rather was just sitting in her father's car waiting for the light to change.  That was the first time I heard about some gas that fellas use in their cars to make it go faster.

On another note it is said that these fellas were brilliant academically, but what is the point of all that if you making some dotish extra curicular decisions that just results in pain and heartache for everybody involved?......steups..

Condolences the gentlemen's family....

NEXT!!...
Post by: Babalawo on May 10, 2009, 01:46:34 AM
thats y ill trust a ph driver than any friend i come in the party with or just drive myself
Post by: weary1969 on May 10, 2009, 05:34:58 AM
thats y ill trust a ph driver than any friend i come in the party with or just drive myself

I hope yuh drivin yuself sober
Post by: verycute1 on May 10, 2009, 12:07:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/YoFwHVT65w4

got this from my brother
Post by: weary1969 on May 10, 2009, 02:02:23 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/YoFwHVT65w4

got this from my brother

Thanks but sad 2 say dem drivers in TNT doh learn
Post by: STEUPS!! on May 10, 2009, 04:35:35 PM
johann shaney was studying mechanical engineering in uwi..probably a year above me...wen ah tell yuh..dat was one ah d most gifted ballers tuh ever pass tru uwi..was one ah d regulars in d 'KFC' sweat it used to have..and he was ah rel cool soldier too even tho i didnt kno him that personally..RIP

yea, his girlfriend was in my classes when i was goin there. always used to see him around.

yea, plus reports say dey were watchin d barca - chelsea game so dey cud have been drinkin since den. RIP fellas.
Post by: verycute1 on May 10, 2009, 05:08:03 PM
one fella was cremated friday and the other two funeral was yesterday. My mom say that Johann funeral was the first one saturday, so alot of people left halfway through to go to the second one. I had her laughing this morning remembering stuff from when he was a baby cause she was telling me after all was said and done, it now hit her this morning.
Post by: light on May 14, 2009, 03:44:51 PM

Three best friends who refused to heed their parents’ warning against drinking and driving were burnt to death in a vehicular accident yesterday while returning from a popular nightclub in Port-of-Spain. They have been identified as Nicholas Ramdeen, 26, of Palmyra, Chris Ramlagan, 25, of Gasparillo, and Johann Saney, 23, of Palmiste. Police said Ramdeen, a Petrotrin operator, and Ramlagan, a biochemist, had gone to the popular nightclub with Saney who was studying mechanical engineering.

Tragedy struck around 4.30 am in the vicinity of the Claxton Bay Flyover. Police said Ramdeen was driving a white B14 Nissan Sentra along the Solomon Hochoy Highway when he lost control of the car and ran off the road. The car, police said, slammed into the railing and landed on the embankment before bursting into flames. All three men were burnt to death. Drivers who witnessed the accident contacted the San Fernando Police and Fire Station.

The fire officers battled for almost two hours to remove the burnt corpses from the car. The officers were also forced to use the jaws of life. The accident caused a massive traffic jam along the north and southbound lanes of the highway by drivers who all wanted to catch a glimpse of the accident.
The curiosity of the drivers resulted in 16 cars being involved in several minor accidents, among them a Prisons Service van. At the bereaved homes yesterday, Ramlagan’s brother Ryan fell to the ground on learning of his brother’s death. Holding his head, Ryan bawled: “Oh God! Oh God!. I fed up talk to him. I talked to him, I told him to be careful. What happen here...I do not know, Oh God! I talked to him, what to do?”

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I am the brother of Johann Gary Saney and I must say that I am both very disappointed and disturbed that an established papers such as the GUARDIAN can sensationalise news of such a tragedy. The news published by The Guardian's Anika Gumbs-Sandiford on May 8, 2009 is inaccurate and goes to show the definition of irresponsible journalism. The Guardian in this case is failing to do its social duty to the public.

Amongst the many things which was reported inaccurately
(1)"Three best friends who refused to heed their parents’ warning against drinking and driving" - My parents like other parents have always told their children not to drink if they're driving. No such warning came from my parents the night when Johann left the house because he was NOT driving and more importantly is the question of whether he did fail to heed their warning.

(2) "....warning against drinking and driving" - The insinuation that they were drinking and driving is grossly inaccurate. The forensic evidence (toxicology report in my possession) showed that the driver's (Nicholas) did not have any significant alcohol in his system and thereby not driving under the influence.

(3) "All three men were burnt to death" - This is untrue. As far as the pathologist report in my possession states, as per the Forensic Pathologist Report states that the passing of Johann was instantaneous and occurred as a result of  "Immediate Blunt Force Cervical Trauma (MVA)"

The Saney family refused almost entirely to comment on the said morning of the tragedy. Do we pay the price for doing so because we were shocked and devastated by what had come to pass only a few hours ago. Compared to the other papers, The Guardian has sensationalised its reporting on this incident.

It is indeed sad to dignify a response to such an outrageously inaccurate report (I only stand to be corrected if Mrs. Anika Gumbs-Sandiford also does lab testing and is a qualified pathologist who did the autopsy on the 3 deceased; if this be the case, The Guardian hires very talented persons). Either way, I will be contacting the Guardian to express my feelings on the matter.

Thanks for all of those who have expressed their sympathies to the different families. It really means a lot.

On Behalf of the Saney family. 
Post by: dinho on May 14, 2009, 03:56:59 PM
Light..

Thank you for taking the time to clarify things in what must be a truly difficult time for you and your family. My condolences to you all...

I lost alot of respect for the Guardian from their reporting of the Salandy accident and this seems to be just a continuation of their sensationalist nonsense.

I too will be sending a letter of complaint to the editor and I would encourage other like-minded individuals to do the same.

again.. thanks for taking the time.
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2009, 04:35:29 PM

I am the brother of Johann Gary Saney and I must say that I am both very disappointed and disturbed that an established papers such as the GUARDIAN can sensationalise news of such a tragedy. The news published by The Guardian's Anika Gumbs-Sandiford on May 8, 2009 is inaccurate and goes to show the definition of irresponsible journalism. The Guardian in this case is failing to do its social duty to the public.

(1)"Three best friends who refused to heed their parents’ warning against drinking and driving" - My parents like other parents have always told their children not to drink if they're driving. No such warning came from my parents the night when Johann left the house because he was NOT driving and more importantly is the question of whether he did fail to heed their warning.

(2) "....warning against drinking and driving" - The insinuation that they were drinking and driving is grossly inaccurate. The forensic evidence (toxicology report in my possession) showed that the driver's (Nicholas) did not have any significant alcohol in his system and thereby not driving under the influence.

(3) "All three men were burnt to death" - This is untrue. As far as the pathologist report in my possession states, as per the Forensic Pathologist Report states that the passing of Johann was instantaneous and occurred as a result of  "Immediate Blunt Force Cervical Trauma (MVA)"

The Saney family refused almost entirely to comment on the said morning of the tragedy. Do we pay the price for doing so because we were shocked and devastated by what had come to pass only a few hours ago. Compared to the other papers, The Guardian has sensationalised its reporting on this incident.

It is indeed sad to dignify a response to such an outrageously inaccurate report (I only stand to be corrected if Mrs. Anika Gumbs-Sandiford also does lab testing and is a qualified pathologist who did the autopsy on the 3 deceased; if this be the case, The Guardian hires very talented persons). Either way, I will be contacting the Guardian to express my feelings on the matter.

Thanks for all of those who have expressed their sympathies to the different families. It really means a lot.

My sympathies to you and your family and I understand why you'd feel the need to respond... but with all due respect you're not being objective in your perspective.
Post by: daryn on May 14, 2009, 05:08:47 PM
Light,

Condolences to you and your family.

Bakes,

the article was sensationalist.  we know this because it caused a sensation. (check the comments on the article on the guardian site) 

Even if there were no factual errors in the article, the newspaper has shown itself to be remarkably tone deaf. 

when you consider the prominent place they gave to the insinuations in the article, one would be really splitting hairs to distinguish between the newspaper making an insinuation and the newspaper reporting that insinuations were made.  A newspaper of record is not the place for the airing of insinuations.  Especially considering the tragic nature of the story. 
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2009, 06:03:44 PM
Light,

Condolences to you and your family.

Bakes,

the article was sensationalist.  we know this because it caused a sensation.

That is nonsense.

Because the article caused a sensation doesn't make it sensationalist.  A sensationalist article is one which is INTENDED to cause a sensation, often by provocative, exaggerated writing.  Despite the emotional hand-wringing there simple hasn't been either of those elements in this particular article... and I'm one of the harshest critics of the newspapers in TnT... especially the Guardian.

(check the comments on the article on the guardian site) 

Even if there were no factual errors in the article, the newspaper has shown itself to be remarkably tone deaf. 

My friend... that is the very foundation of objective reporting.  Harsh as it may seem the guardian isn't reporting merely for the benefit of the friends or families of the victims... but for a wider audience.  Most of those expressing their outrage appear to be acquaintances of the victims... while I understand that to them the article put their deceased friends in a harsh light, the article itself was fair by any objective measure.

when you consider the prominent place they gave to the insinuations in the article, one would be really splitting hairs to distinguish between the newspaper making an insinuation and the newspaper reporting that insinuations were made. 

What 'insinuations' are you talking about?  The guardian reported what at least one family member said.  You talking "insinuations" as though the Guardian reporter went to the scene... or worse the club and just reporting some hearsay comment.

A newspaper of record is not the place for the airing of insinuations.  Especially considering the tragic nature of the story. 

"A newspaper of record"?  What dat mean?

Allyuh letting allyuh own emotions regarding the tragic nature of the story to cloud allyuh judgment... that is what going on.
Post by: daryn on May 14, 2009, 08:09:44 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newspaper_of_record

http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-a-newspaper-of-record.htm
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2009, 08:24:49 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newspaper_of_record

http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-a-newspaper-of-record.htm

Gee... thanks. 

I wasn't asking literally, but I'm sure there are some here that may find those links to be of use.  Since you didn't understand me the first time let me rephrase the question, what does a "newspaper of record" have to do with this situation?
Post by: verycute1 on May 14, 2009, 08:26:52 PM
I'll make it easy for you Bakes

Newspaper of record is a term that may refer to either of the following:

1. any publicly available newspaper that has been authorized by a government to publish public or legal notices.
   2. any major newspaper that has a large circulation and whose editorial and news-gathering functions are considered professional and typically authoritative.

The first type of newspaper of record (or newspaper of public record) is often formally defined by a statute or other official action of a governing body. Such a newspaper is supposed to be available to the public, and publication of notices in that newspaper is considered sufficient to comply with legal requirements for public notice.

The second type of "newspaper of record" is not defined by any formal criteria. The use of the term implies that a newspaper is a reliable institution that publishes trustworthy descriptions of events, but this assessment may be disputed. Major newspapers of record may be expected to have independent editorial policies, and to publish statements of opinion that are distinct from those of their proprietor or their government. They are more likely than other newspapers to be sold abroad and to be cited in scholarly publications.
Post by: STEUPS!! on May 14, 2009, 08:45:34 PM
light, condolences to u and your family. jus one queestion, i know your brother loved football from seein him sweat regularly on campus. do u know if he was a poster/member of this forum? i was wonderin.

bless!
Post by: Bakes on May 15, 2009, 04:05:39 AM
I'll make it easy for you Bakes

Newspaper of record is a term that may refer to either of the following:

1. any publicly available newspaper that has been authorized by a government to publish public or legal notices.
   2. any major newspaper that has a large circulation and whose editorial and news-gathering functions are considered professional and typically authoritative.

The first type of newspaper of record (or newspaper of public record) is often formally defined by a statute or other official action of a governing body. Such a newspaper is supposed to be available to the public, and publication of notices in that newspaper is considered sufficient to comply with legal requirements for public notice.

The second type of "newspaper of record" is not defined by any formal criteria. The use of the term implies that a newspaper is a reliable institution that publishes trustworthy descriptions of events, but this assessment may be disputed. Major newspapers of record may be expected to have independent editorial policies, and to publish statements of opinion that are distinct from those of their proprietor or their government. They are more likely than other newspapers to be sold abroad and to be cited in scholarly publications.

Verycute1 I understand where daryn is trying to go with his statements, I just think that he's making many critical assumptions in getting there.  There aren't very many newspapers of record around anymore, it's a very old term... and one which I don't believe applies (or ever applied) to the Guardian.

However, assuming that he is correct that the Guardian is a newspaper of record, he states that newspapers of record shouldn't be printing "insinuations", as though everything a newspaper prints should be above reproach... which isn't even accurate.  Case in point, the very links he provided offers the disputed notion that the New York Times is a newspaper of record, yet NYT v. Sullivan is a very famous 1st Amendment case in which the US Supreme Court tackled the issue of defamation (the newspaper was sued and won) head on for the first time.  I mention it to show that even so-called newspapers of record aren't held to the exacting standards that daryn suggests.
Post by: Babalawo on May 22, 2009, 06:31:36 AM
Less speed on Highway
Friday, May 22 2009
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,100616.html

CIVIL engineer Dr Madaniyo Mutabazi is calling on the Works Ministry to conduct a study to determine why accidents occur so frequently along the Solomon Hochoy Highway near the Claxton Bay flyover.

For the past decade, an estimated 100 people have died on that stretch of highway. Mutabazi expressed the view that speed, steep curve, geometry and a crosswind, could be the causes. Mutabazi said that the crosswind could push a vehicle off the road. A crosswind is any wind that is blowing perpendicular to a line of travel or perpendicular to a direction. It occurs, the professor said, especially on large bridges and highways. He said that the danger lies in the “lift force” created which can cause a vehicle to change direction. Mutabazi advised that the safest way for motorists to deal with such a phenomenon, is to reduce their speed.
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2009, 06:39:51 AM
Light

Condolences we all knew d Guardian's motive.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 24, 2009, 06:23:53 AM
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_opinion?id=161481315 (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_opinion?id=161481315)

Curb road carnage with punitive laws

Raffique Shah
Sunday, May 24th 2009

SOME 30-odd years ago, when the Solomon Hochoy Highway was completed and fully opened to traffic (initially, only one carriageway was built and used), accidents close to the Claxton Bay flyover were not uncommon. Many were fatal, and that at a time when there were fewer than one-third the vehicles we now have using the nation's roadways. Because accidents close to Claxton Bay happened more frequently than elsewhere, people tried to figure out why this was so.

I should add that I have lived in Claxton Bay since 1973, so I know that section of the Hochoy Highway well. Superstitious people blamed the "death strip" on a nearby headless statue that sat on a hill overlooking the area. It occurred to me, a realist, that it was one of the few sections of the highway that did not run straight. If you think of it carefully, from the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway entering/exiting Port of Spain, the Uriah Butler and Hochoy highways run almost straight, without corners.

The first corner is on the approach to the Freeport flyover-and there have been several horrible accidents there. On the South-bound section, several speeding vehicles "straightened" the corner by flying through the space between the two flyovers. They landed 20 or so feet below, on the Freeport Mission Road, many with fatal consequences. I recall one accident in which the vehicle that "flew" off the flyover landed on a taxi, killing one occupant. Several fatalities have occurred in that vicinity over the years.

The second, more dangerous corner is on the approach to Claxton Bay. Motorists on the South-bound carriageway face not only a sharp corner, but a fairly steep, downhill gradient as well. One can imagine, therefore, what can happen when a motorist is speeding on that approach, and loses concentration for a split-second.

He would fly across the median and should he miss the stout pillars that support the flyover, end up crossing the northbound carriageway. Travelling in the opposite direction there is also a gradient and corner, but the former is not that steep.

What these features signal to any sober motorist is that you need to be extra-cautious on approaching the Claxton Bay flyover. One should moderate one's speed, grip the steering wheel with both hands, and be ready to apply brakes if that becomes necessary. Such precautions are even more of an imperative given the speed that modern vehicles constructed with flimsy alloys can attain. Add drunkenness or being sleepy to the equation, and what you have is a recipe for disaster.

The Express editorial last Friday also correctly identified another danger-the use of cellular phones while driving. In many ways the cellphone is more dangerous to humankind than a blessing. Many motorists, mainly the young and inexperienced, seem to be glued to these devices when they are driving. Some even send text messages while driving! Few have hands-free kits that at least mitigate the dangers of talking while driving.

Experienced drivers know that once one wheel of these fast-but-flimsy vehicles loses traction, that's it. The vehicle spins out of control, and the rest is bloody history. Sensible drivers know other than lack of concentration, it's almost impossible to lose control of a vehicle-barring, say, a blown tyre or dropping into a huge pothole. Yet, whenever we hear of accidents that are claiming lives and maiming more people, there is always the report: the driver lost control of the vehicle.

Bull, I say. Driving anywhere in Trinidad, from the most remote districts to those with heavy traffic, has become a hazardous venture. In my autumn years, I now have to keep peering into my rear-view mirrors, look ahead of me and try to pre-determine what some fool might do, check the shoulder for some jackass speeding on it. In fact, within recent times, I even look at traffic approaching in the opposite direction.

Carnage on the nation's roads is cause for concern. Runaway vehicles are worse than runaway crime. In the latter, if the criminal is caught, at least he or she is brought to justice, maybe jailed. On the nation's roadways, criminals can kill innocent people and drive away without even stopping. I have long fulminated against the archaic traffic laws that offer incentives to reckless motorists rather than punish them. Imagine having to pay a fine of $200 for driving on the shoulder of the highway, or a similar amount for drag-racing.

After last week's deadly accident at Claxton Bay, Roger Ganesh, Director of Highways, visited the area to see what can be done to curb the carnage. What he needs to tell Minister Colm Imbert is that implementation of the breathalyser legislation is more important than dreaming of a rapid rail system. Fines for dangerous driving should be punitive, not puny! CCTV cameras at these "danger zones" will help capture road-criminals. Seize their vehicles and impound them at police stations: they are sure to find them missing parts and accessories when they retrieve them!

Implement a "points" system, a "highways hotline" so law-abiding motorists can report dangerous activities on the nation's roads. Too many innocent people are paying with their lives and limbs for the sins of lawless motorists.
Post by: Babalawo on May 31, 2009, 01:41:22 PM
this the headless claxton bay statue  :o

(http://img32.imageshack.us/img32/6733/05310914561.jpg) (http://img32.imageshack.us/my.php?image=05310914561.jpg)
(http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/1577/05310914562.jpg) (http://img194.imageshack.us/my.php?image=05310914562.jpg)
From left (north) to right (south)Hochoy Highway right above the CIN logo in photo#2
(http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/9462/05310914571.jpg) (http://img198.imageshack.us/my.php?image=05310914571.jpg)

Post by: makaveli on May 31, 2009, 04:45:07 PM

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

just my two cents..who is to say what is significant and what is not....it might take one man ten beers to get intoxicated and other two...alcohol like any other drug affects the body even if taken in the smallest of quantities...