Sports => Football => Topic started by: nnyman18 on May 08, 2009, 01:32:33 PM

Title: Who is the best African striker in the world at the moment?
Post by: nnyman18 on May 08, 2009, 01:32:33 PM
Today ah get in a heated argument with a man about this subject. He was convinced that Drogba was that person. You could tell he was a Chelsea man because he just wasn't hearing it and the brother was going down with he Drogba hook and sinker, With the likes of men like Eto, Adebayor and Amr Zaki Yuh just cah put the crown on Drogba head just so. Ah feel Eto wearing that crown with ease. Ah hope is just not me who feel that way. Ah doh mind putting him a lil second behind Samuel presently
Title: Re: Who is the best African striker in the world at the moment?
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 08, 2009, 01:38:43 PM
Today ah get in a heated argument with a man about this subject. He was convinced that Drogba was that person. You could tell he was a Chelsea man because he just wasn't hearing it and the brother was going down with he Drogba hook and sinker, With the likes of men like Eto, Adebayor and Amr Zaki Yuh just cah put the crown on Drogba head just so. Ah feel Eto wearing that crown with ease. Ah hope is just not me who feel that way. Ah doh mind putting him a lil second behind Samuel presently

Correk is right
Post by: Grande on May 08, 2009, 01:55:08 PM
Reticent to admit it...but I have to give it to Drobga right now. Eto'o have a more level head though.
Post by: soccerman on May 08, 2009, 02:05:37 PM
If I had to choose one of those guys to put on my team, I'd say Eto...I have much respect for both players but I think Eto has more skill, is clever and is a better goal scorer plus he can create opportunities for others around him.
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 08, 2009, 02:10:31 PM
I think Adebayor is right up there with them. 
Post by: injunchile on May 08, 2009, 02:17:19 PM
Like allyuh aint see how ordinary ETTO was against Chelsea. Drogba by a mile.Is strikers we talking about.
Post by: nnyman18 on May 08, 2009, 02:32:43 PM
When you drop 7 and 8 men behind the ball and two and three men putting pressure the ball i ain't sure how much men could deal with that nah. So its fair to say that we cah just judge men on that one game. In the same breath I ain't feel Eto missing some of them opportunities Drogba get in that game. But then its just how I feel
Post by: Bakes on May 08, 2009, 02:32:58 PM
Eto'o...

Drogba too inconsistent... a product of his temperamentality.  When he wants to he can be on top of his game, however when the focus isn't there and he'd rather engage in 'gamesmanship' looking for whistles he can be a detriment to his team... as he was yesterday.  He ultimately said it best "ees ah deesgwayce... ees ah f**king deesgwayce".

Zaki and Adebayor ent ready in my book... particularly Zaki.  Adebayor sandwiches moments of brilliance in between extended periods of mediorcrity... but I still think he's on the cusp of superstardom.
Post by: SUPA on May 08, 2009, 02:36:24 PM
Although Barcelona is mey team, ah like Chelsea also and Drogba is meh choice. Ah sorry boi Eto, it is very close im y book, but when you in form and Drogba in form, ah have tuh go wid Drogba. Nnyman18, yuh have some big names listed in yuh thread sah, but Drogba all de way fuh me sah. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: fordy on May 08, 2009, 02:50:46 PM
When you drop 7 and 8 men behind the ball and putting two and three men putting pressure the ball i ain't sure how much men could deal with that nah. So its fair to say that we cah just judge men on that one game. In the same breath I ain't feel Eto missing some of them opportunities Drogba get in that game. But then its just how I feel

agreed. for me Eto, then Drogba.  :beermug:
Post by: saga pinto on May 08, 2009, 03:05:55 PM
Eto by ten thousand miles.........
Post by: Filho on May 08, 2009, 03:50:55 PM
Drogba at his best is better than Eto'o imo. But Eto'o is more consistent. At the same time all this talk about Zaki and Adebayor make me realize is only EPL man does watch. After Drogba and Eto'o, Frederik Kanoute is the best African striker at the moment. Obafemi Martins better than Zaki, and Adebayor anyhow..he just need to get out of newcastle...
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on May 08, 2009, 04:08:35 PM
He ultimately said it best "ees ah deesgwayce... ees ah f**king deesgwayce".

As upset as I am about that loss this still ha me laughin oui  :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on May 08, 2009, 04:46:02 PM

De man sound like Poca dey... and he blue vex to eh.  I was dying  :rotfl:
Post by: fatimarima on May 08, 2009, 05:02:28 PM

All Topah Top strikers in yuh list.  Its Hard to say who is actually the best.....but I think I can safely say its not Zaki...at the moment
Post by: just cool on May 08, 2009, 06:05:20 PM
Like allyuh forgetting the ultimate pocher!! like the saying goes= feed the yak and he will score!!! my vote is for yakobu.
Post by: freakazoid on May 08, 2009, 06:35:43 PM
hmm  i will have to go with didier drogba but its a close one between him and eto

nah ah just refresh mi memory it go have  2 b eto
Post by: kicker on May 08, 2009, 07:06:27 PM
Cyah go wrong with either Eto'o or Drogba....

But I'll give Drogba the crown.  Watching Drogba play for the Ivory Coast (WC '06) revealed how much more complete of a player he is for his nat'l team than he is for Chelsea... He drops alot deeper and actually distributes the ball in his role for the IC (at least last WC)...When he's on his game he's a freak of nature.  Other than his diving he's a coach's dream. 

Adebayor third.

Outside of striker Christian Romaric (Sevilla) is one of the better African talents I've seen in recent years.
Post by: freakazoid on May 08, 2009, 07:14:41 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/B1rhTzfmplU ETO

http://www.youtube.com/v/3UmYrrMR3Ag&feature=related DROGBA
Post by: nnyman18 on May 08, 2009, 08:35:52 PM
Whey boy men make some serious argument for drogba and just when I almost fell into that trap freakazoid send them clips and seal the deal for me yes. Samuel boy saddest capping keepers like it going out sh style plus he doh cry like the Drogs lol:) :) Thanks for clearing it up for me fellas
Post by: asylumseeker on May 09, 2009, 12:05:15 AM

Interesting choice of words.
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 09, 2009, 12:26:28 AM
While I agree with Kicker as far as Drogba's contribution to his National Team is concerned, (he is practically a GOD in IC and on that team.  All the players look up to him!) I also have to agree with what a couple other posters said about him as far as his club football is concerned and most of these guys play more club than international football.  He spends too much time for me being DDQ than Didier Drogba, football player.  Eto'o may have a bad game or two and look completely out of it (like he did this rounds against Chelsea) but otherwise, his work rate, skill and finishing puts him ahead of Drogba in my book.
Post by: Big Magician on May 09, 2009, 12:30:33 AM
Drogba... Eto was for the last two years.. and he is tops also...
Post by: asylumseeker on May 09, 2009, 12:46:26 AM
Voting on the FIFA website has Eto'o ahead by a significant margin ... 42.39% of the tally. Talk done? And the winner is Eto'o?

Zaki and Drogba are neck and neck ...

I'm angling to see dem live in Angola.
Post by: sinned on May 09, 2009, 01:25:56 AM
i think drogba at his best better than eto at his best.

but eto much more level-headed and consistent and really doesn't involve himself in the histrionics drogba does. and drogba's antics does affect his play at times - e.g. CL final last year, earlier this season under scolari etc.

if i have a team, i prefer eto on it than drogba.
Post by: sammy on May 09, 2009, 06:20:55 AM
Drogba at his best is better than Eto'o imo. But Eto'o is more consistent. At the same time all this talk about Zaki and Adebayor make me realize is only EPL man does watch. After Drogba and Eto'o, Frederik Kanoute is the best African striker at the moment. Obafemi Martins better than Zaki, and Adebayor anyhow..he just need to get out of newcastle...

nice post.....how that man come out of inter and ended up in New castle boy...... ???
Post by: kicker on May 09, 2009, 08:48:52 AM

Yeah boy forgot about Kanoute, but I'm not sure he's all that much better than Adebayor though.  Adebayor had a stop start season this season because of injuries but on his day he's as good as FK in my opinion....As for Martins, it's tough to tell with him playing for a struggling squad....couple times I've seen him this season, he still has his qualities of speed, agility and work rate, but he looked to have left his scoring boots at home...
Post by: Ngozi on May 09, 2009, 09:15:11 AM
Interesting question between ETO and Drogba I guess the only thing you have to choose between is the
stats but even that is strange because Eto played more games for varying reasons and its two different leagues
In a big game and from an emotional standpoint Drogba can be detrimental  ...Eto may be a lil more consistent not too much to choose between these two ...just a matter of personal preference for their styles ..... darkhorse for me is Martins from Newcastle ....personally I think he is more talented than both but a bit handicapped by his unfortunate team so I can't rate him as the best (although potentially he can be).
Post by: Bakes on May 09, 2009, 09:52:07 AM
..... darkhorse for me is Martins from Newcastle ....personally I think he is more talented than both but a bit handicapped by his unfortunate team so I can't rate him as the best (although potentially he can be).

My favorite quote about Martins, made by one of the English commentators after Martins let loose a cracker that just screamed high:

"Obafemi Martins... e's got rockets in his boots don't 'e?"
Post by: AB.Trini on May 09, 2009, 09:54:29 AM
who the f****k CARE. WHO IS THE BEST TNT STRIKER AT THE MOMENT THAT COULD GET WE SOME GOALS TO MOVE ON IN THE HEX? THAT IS WHAT WE SHOULD ALL BE THINKING AND FOCUSING ON!!!!
Post by: kicker on May 09, 2009, 09:56:15 AM
who the f****k CARE. WHO IS THE BEST TNT STRIKER AT THE MOMENT THAT COULD GET WE SOME GOALS TO MOVE ON IN THE HEX? THAT IS WHAT WE SHOULD ALL BE THINKING AND FOCUSING ON!!!!

Who took the jam outta your doughnut?
Post by: AB.Trini on May 09, 2009, 09:59:39 AM

Who took the jam outta your doughnut?
ah boy yuh doh want meh tuh tell yuh....but frankly I am not convinced that by looking at the yampee in anther's eyes without looking at our own first. So I go done the talk. 2014  should be better.
Post by: dinho on May 09, 2009, 10:26:13 AM
real tough question but i would have to say Eto'o by a fraction, solely on the basis of consistency and 'clinical-ness'..

Eto'o and Drogba are different types of strikers.. one is a battering ram, the other is a gazelle..

but with that said, if Drogba was consistent he would be the best by a mile. At his best, Drogba is simply unplayable.. Also, what he have better than Eto'o is that he does utterly dominate defenders in big matchups against big teams over the years eg. against Liverpool, Barcelona, Man Utd, Arsenal..

Drogba problem is his mental.. If he not playing drama queen, is because he feeling underappreciated.. and if he not feeling underappreciated, is because he lost his hunger for the game etc etc etc..

Martins have the talent to be up there with them fellahs but he need to be at a better team. Adebayor good but still have a lil way to go to be on that level and he inconsistent too.

Zaki doh belong in this discussion. Man had a good 10 games for the season and thought he reach..

It have some other good african strikers in Europe that deserve a mention like Kanoute, Pierre Webo, Aruna Kone and that fellah from Marseille, Niang i think.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 09, 2009, 05:52:02 PM

Ok I want to laugh too but all yuh need to translate.... ???
Post by: nnyman18 on May 27, 2009, 01:02:27 PM
Ah wonder wha them drogba fans thinking bout now? one chance one goal eto! whey boy
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 27, 2009, 01:43:00 PM
Ah wonder wha them drogba fans thinking bout now? one chance one goal eto! whey boy

Doh study dem Drogba fans nah, there are none as blind as those who will not see!!
Post by: breezers on May 28, 2009, 03:12:14 PM

Doh study dem Drogba fans nah, there are none as blind as those who will not see!!

Fuh Real eh..lol. But Samu is still d boss on most if not every level...more specifically..touches like WOW!! Didier has the touch of a rapist and ah loss rell respect fuh him cuz he does fake too much fuh ah big strong creole! He need to cut down on the theatrics until then is 2nd place fuh he jus like Man Boo!!   :devil:
Post by: nnyman18 on May 29, 2009, 10:32:01 AM
Eto'o the Great

By Piers Edwards
BBC Sport

Eto'o is the first African to score in two Champions League finals
Samuel Eto'o can lay claim to being the most decorated African footballer in history following Barcelona's Champions League triumph on Wednesday night.

Barca's 2-0 victory over Manchester United in Rome handed the 28-year-old Cameroonian the second Champions League medal of his career.
No other African has a pair of winners' medals from Europe's top competition.
His 10th minute goal also made him the first African to score in two Champions League finals.
In the 2006 final against Arsenal, which Barcelona won 2-1 in Paris, the Cameroonian slotted home a 76th-minute equaliser from close range.
In addition to his Champions League medals, Eto'o has also won Olympic gold (2000), two African Nations Cups (2000 and 2002), two Spanish Cups and three Spanish leagues.

I want to dedicate the title to Spain, my family, my parents and this team that deserves everything it has got
Samuel Eto'o
He is the only man to have won three African Footballer of the Year titles (2003-2005) and is also the record goal scorer in the 52-year history of the African Nations Cup - having claimed his 16th goal last year.
In 2006, Eto'o also became the first African to top the scoring charts in one of the big three European leagues of Spain, Italy and England. He lifted the 'pichichi' for netting 26 goals in Spain.
Prior to Eto'o, only Rabah Madjer had ever scored in a European Cup final. The Algerian netted a famous back-heel in 1987 which contributed to FC Porto's narrow 2-1 triumph against Bayern Munich.
And while the likes of Zimbabwe's Bruce Grobbelaar (Liverpool), Ghana's Abedi Pele (Marseille) and compatriot Sammy Kuffuor (Bayern Munich) all contested two European Cup finals, they only ever managed to win one title apiece.
Many Nigerians often claim that Kanu is Africa's most decorated footballer, with his trophy cabinet displaying medals for the Champions League, UEFA Cup, Olympic Games, six domestic championships (including two Premier League titles) as well as three FA Cups.
Yet the twice-crowned African Footballer of the Year has never won the Nations Cup and has only picked up the one Champions League medal, earned with Dutch side Ajax Amsterdam in 1995 (alongside compatriot Finidi George).
Considering the Champions League is seen as the pinnacle of club football throughout the world, Eto'o's achievements must be treated with respect.
Such a feat looked a long way off last June when coach Pep Guardiola announced that the Cameroonian did not feature in his long-term plans shortly after taking charge of the Catalan club.
Yet Eto'o's hard work in pre-season won over the legendary Barca midfielder, who has been rewarded by the striker's incredible tally of 29 league goals in only 35 matches this season.
--
Post by: palos on May 29, 2009, 10:33:17 AM
Who is the best African striker in the world at the moment?
De Egyptian fella
Post by: spideybuff on May 29, 2009, 11:14:55 AM
When Barca score 2...you know Eto'o score one of them 9/10 times.

When Chelsea score 3, u's hadda wonder how much Lampard score before you even conisder if Drogba was on the field.

Eto's competing with Henry/Ronaldinho and Messi and still scoring 20 plus every season. Drogba competing with...Lampard(!) and Anelka(?), and still cah outscore Eto'o.

Adebayor doh even make this argument cause is only injury keeping Van Persie and Eduardo from showing how wasteful a striker he really is.

Class is class...Drogba have power and pace, but Eto'o is the best in the world right now, with only Torres able to put a question mark next to that.
Post by: palos on May 29, 2009, 11:33:33 AM
Allyuh tink Eto'o would perform de same way if he was at Chelsea?

How about Drogba at Barca?

Drogba at Arsenal?

Eto'o benifits tremendously from the team he is playing with.

He is NOT the main scoring threat on his team.  Henry, Messi, with Xavi & Iniesta providing service.  Eto'o is a great player no doubt....but he GREATLY benefits from the supporting cast around him.  His supporting cast is the best in football as was conculsively shown this past Wednesday.
Post by: nnyman18 on May 29, 2009, 11:55:56 AM
whey now we blaming it on the players around him. Eto does create real goal
Post by: dinho on May 29, 2009, 12:03:33 PM

Drogba at Arsenal?

He is NOT the main scoring threat on his team.  Henry, Messi, with Xavi & Iniesta providing service.  Eto'o is a great player no doubt....but he GREATLY benefits from the supporting cast around him.  His supporting cast is the best in football as was conculsively shown this past Wednesday.

I doh understand your point...

At this level, every top forward benefits from his supporting cast. Doesn't every top forward mentioned here count on support from world class players? Why wouldn't he perform the same way at Chelsea? As long as he can adapt to English football, a great player is a great player, and I don't think there's any doubt that Eto'o is one.

Dont get it twisted. Eto'o been bussin de net since he was at Mallorca.

Furthermore, you go on to say that Eto'o is not the main scoring threat on his team.

So how de ass he top de scoring charts ???
Post by: palos on May 29, 2009, 12:13:24 PM

Drogba at Arsenal?

At this level, every top forward benefits from his supporting cast. Doesn't every top forward mentioned here count on support from world class players? Why wouldn't he perform the same way at Chelsea? As long as he can adapt to English football, a great player is a great player, and I don't think there's any doubt that Eto'o is one.

Furthermore, you go on to say that Eto'o is not the main scoring threat on his team.

1 - My mistake.  Didn't mean to say not the main scoring threat.  Obviously he is.  I meant to say not the ONLY scoring threat.

2 - Chelsea's supporting cast is not anywhere near Barca's

3 - You're comparing players who are in teams with different styles of play. Drogba would likely get more chances per game playing at Barca than he would playing at Chelsea, even though he would not be the ONLY scoring threat.  Why?  Because Barca simply creates a ton more scoring chances than any other club team on the planet.  Eto'o benefits from being in Barca's team, as would Drogba were he in Eto'o's place.  Then one can make a more accurate comparison IMO.  Same if it were reversed

4 - I never disputed that Eto'o is a great player.  I said as much in my post. 

But you're entitled to your opinion
Post by: dinho on May 29, 2009, 12:19:39 PM

Drogba at Arsenal?

1 - My mistake.  Didin't mean to say not the main scoring threat.  Obviously he is.  I meant to say not the ONLY scoring threat.

2 - Chelsea's supporting cast is not anywhere near Barca's

3 - You're comparing players who are in teams with different styles of play. Drogba would likely get more chances per game playing at Barca than he would playing at Chelsea, even though he would not be the ONLY scoring threat.  Why?  Because Barca simply creates a ton more scoring chances than any other club team on the planet.

4 - I never disputed that Eto'o is a great player.  I said as much in my post. 

But you're entitled to your

I don't see how you could come to that conclusion after the final or this whole season for that matter.. Eto'o been bussing the net season after season, at Mallorca, in good Barcelona teams and in bad Barcelona teams..

You say Drogba would get more chances if he goes to Barcelona, but I not so sure. Just like would happen if Eto'o goes to Chelsea, Drogba would have to adapt to Spanish football before he could get back to his level. He doesn't have the positioning and is nowhere as clinical as Eto'o and his battering ram kinda style not gonna cut it in Spain.

Look at Thierry Henry. How much goals he score in Spain when he moved to a much better supporting cast when he was supposedly one of the best players in the game? Look at Gudjohnsen who was a good player with Chelsea but is a bit part with Barcelona. Is not because they throw yuh in ah side with ballers it mean yuh go shine.

Because Eto'o plays in a great team doesn't mean you can hold that against him..
Post by: spideybuff on May 29, 2009, 12:23:38 PM

Even when they were second to Real, Eto'o was bussing net, more than Van Nisterooy, far less his supporting cast. Eto'o bound to score more than anybody in the world for the past 3 to 4 years. These are their comparitive stats, you can draw your own conclusions. I draw mine already.

Eto'o at Barca
               Pl   G
2004-05   45 29
2005-06   48 34
2006-07   26 13
2007-08   28 18
2008-09   51 35
Total     198 129

Drogba at Chelsea
              Pl    G
2004-05   41 16
2005-06   40 16
2006-07   60 33
2007-08   29 15
2008-09   39 13
Total     209 93

Post by: palos on May 29, 2009, 12:24:19 PM
I don't see how you could come to that conclusion after the final or this whole season for that matter.. Eto'o been bussing the net season after season, at Mallorca, in good Barcelona teams and in bad Barcelona teams..

You say Drogba would get more chances if he goes to Barcelona, but I not so sure. Just like would happen if Eto'o goes to Chelsea, Drogba would have to adapt to Spanish football before he could get back to his level. He doesn't have the positioning and is nowhere as clinical as Eto'o and his battering ram kinda style not gonna cut it in Spain.

Look at Thierry Henry. How much goals he score in Spain when he moved to a much better supporting cast when he was supposedly one of the best players in the game? Look at Gudjohnsen who was a good player with Chelsea but is a bit part with Barcelona. Is not because they throw yuh in ah side with ballers it mean yuh go shine.

Because Eto'o plays in a great team doesn't mean you can hold that against him..

As ah say...u entitled to your opinion just as much as I am entitled to mine.

Respeck
Post by: spideybuff on May 29, 2009, 12:26:39 PM

1 - My mistake.  Didn't mean to say not the main scoring threat.  Obviously he is.  I meant to say not the ONLY scoring threat.

Palos, that was my point. Eto'o hadda compete for goals more than Drogba does, yet he still scores more. I guess a better way is to see who scores a larger percentage of their teams goals. This year I feel Drogba mighta win that one if he was playing for the whole season, but I pretty sure Eto'o woulda win for the previous years even though Ronaldinho, Henry, Messi all are heavy scorers as compared to Lampard alone for Chelsea.
Post by: palos on May 29, 2009, 12:26:56 PM

Even when they were second to Real, Eto'o was bussing net, more than Van Nisterooy, far less his supporting cast. Eto'o bound to score more than anybody in the world for the past 3 to 4 years. These are their comparitive stats, you can draw your own conclusions. I draw mine already.

Eto'o at Barca
               Pl   G
2004-05   45 29
2005-06   48 34
2006-07   26 13
2007-08   28 18
2008-09   51 35
Total     198 129

Drogba at Chelsea
              Pl    G
2004-05   41 16
2005-06   40 16
2006-07   60 33
2007-08   29 15
2008-09   39 13
Total     209 93

Of course you conveniently neglect to mention that those early years for Chelsea were the Jose "I'll take a 1-0 victory at all costs" Mourinho while Barca's free wheeling style was in evidence regardless of whether it was Pep or Rijkaard as coach or that Dinho and Deco was pullin strings in Barca midfield in dem early times too.

But you as well are entitled to your conclusion.
Post by: dinho on May 29, 2009, 12:30:26 PM

Eto'o at Barca
               Pl   G
2004-05   45 29
2005-06   48 34
2006-07   26 13
2007-08   28 18
2008-09   51 35
Total     198 129

Drogba at Chelsea
              Pl    G
2004-05   41 16
2005-06   40 16
2006-07   60 33
2007-08   29 15
2008-09   39 13
Total     209 93

Of course you conveniently neglect to mention that those early years for Chelsea were the Jose "I'll take a 1-0 victory at all costs" Mourinho while Barca's free wheeling style was in evidence regardless of whether it was Pep or Rijkaard as coach or that Dinho and Deco was pullin strings in Barca midfield in dem early times too.

But you as well are entitled to your conclusion.

so lemme do like you and just ask questions.

whaz your criteria for judging the best striker?

since is obviously not goals, and is not when you playing in a best side, edify we lil bit nuh.

Post by: spideybuff on May 29, 2009, 12:31:50 PM
Well the first year was when Robben and Duff was in ripping form and he only manage 16 when people didn't know if he was good or not. But, like u say before, everybody entitled to their opinion and 3 years ago I woulda be fighting the same way for Shevnchenko and I woulda be proven wrong.

In other words, I accept that Eto'o could go to Chelsea and not do as well as Drogba has.  :beermug:
Post by: kicker on May 29, 2009, 12:47:44 PM
On their day, there's nothing separating their abilities to score goals/impact a game...There really isn't.

But based on the record you'd have to give Eto'o the nod on pure finishing...

Post by: najee on May 29, 2009, 12:55:20 PM
Eto...hand down?
Post by: breezers on May 29, 2009, 02:06:55 PM

Drogba at Arsenal?

Dont get it twisted. Eto'o been bussin de net since he was at Mallorca.

Well said Dinho!!! I agree 100%