Sports => Football => Topic started by: King Deese on May 08, 2009, 11:36:00 PM

Title: Fenwick questions Corneal's competence
Post by: King Deese on May 08, 2009, 11:36:00 PM
Fenwick questions Corneal's competence.
By: Lasana Liburd (T&T Express).

'TTFF need better youth coaches'

Former England World Cup player and CLICO San Juan Jabloteh technical director, Terry Fenwick, has slammed Trinidad and Tobago national under-17 coach Anton Corneal for his team's performance at the recently-concluded CONCACAF tournament in Mexico and urged the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) to overhaul their youth coaching programme.

The national Under-17 team were beaten 7-0 by hosts Mexico and 3-0 by Costa Rica and Guatemala, respectively, in Tijuana.

Corneal, in a recent television interview, blamed the poor results on the attitude of his players and the fact that he had two years, rather than four, to prepare the squad.

Fenwick, who is a strong candidate for the 2008 Pro League "Coach of the Year" after Jabloteh defended their League crown and picked up the Toyota Classic and Lucozade Big Six titles, suggested that Corneal should accept responsibility and be made to account for his team's embarrassing returns.

"It is quite clear that the head coach and his assistant (Ma Pau coach Michael McComie) were out of their depth," said Fenwick. "He was very public with his confidence in the team before the tournament but he has done a complete U-turn and it is not his fault but the players' since then...

"It is the coach's job to create a structure that enables the players to use their talents effectively to ensure the team is successful Sometimes you are playing teams who are better than you and you have to pull yourself together and make your team hard to beat.

"How often do you see a 7-0 result in international football? That tells me his team wasn't very well-organised and I think that comes down to competence."

Corneal took Trinidad and Tobago to the FIFA Under-17 World Cup two years ago, while Zoran Vranes successfully steered his teenaged squad to the Egypt 2009 Under-20 World Cup. But Fenwick is unconvinced that successive World Cup berths reflected the quality of either coach.

The former Tottenham captain pointed out that the Under-20 and Under-17 squads both lost more qualifying matches than they won.

The successful 2007 Under-17 crop won two matches, lost two and qualified with a minus-three goal differential, while Vranes' under-20 team won one match, drew one and lost two.

Fenwick suggested the influence of FIFA vice-president Jack Warner was more instrumental than the direction of the respective youth coaches.

"At present, we are qualifying for tournaments by coming fourth or fifth from eight teams," said Fenwick. "But when we get there, we are not competitive. We have the players to be much better than that but we won't be once our coaching remains as poor as it is.

"In Trinidad, it is unprecedented the amount of time (national) coaches get with their teams but clearly they are not using it properly. Corneal has not coached at any recognisable level other than the national team. How has he got that job and how is he able to keep it with such shocking results?"

Fenwick might be skeptical of the present national youth team coaches but he insisted that there are promising coaches within the local fraternity who deserve a chance.

He declared that Angus Eve, Anthony Streete, Ross Russell, Clint Marcelle, Reynold Carrington, Clayton Morris, Bertille St Clair and Gally Cummings were all better than the TTFF's present youth coaches.

"Grassroots coaches must be doing something right when you look at some of the young talent," said Fenwick. "It's the national coaches who are continually laying blame on others when they fall short.

"They had two years with that team and the bottom line is they were found wanting."
Title: Re: TTFF Need Better Youth Coaches
Post by: King Deese on May 08, 2009, 11:41:02 PM
Fenwick questions Corneal's competence
Lasana Liburd
Saturday, May 9th 2009

A question of competence: Terry Fenwick

Former England World Cup player and CLICO San Juan Jabloteh technical director, Terry Fenwick, has slammed Trinidad and Tobago national under-17 coach Anton Corneal for his team's performance at the recently-concluded CONCACAF tournament in Mexico and urged the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) to overhaul their youth coaching programme.

The national Under-17 team were beaten 7-0 by hosts Mexico and 3-0 by Costa Rica and Guatemala, respectively, in Tijuana.

Corneal, in a recent television interview, blamed the poor results on the attitude of his players and the fact that he had two years, rather than four, to prepare the squad.

Fenwick, who is a strong candidate for the 2008 Pro League "Coach of the Year" after Jabloteh defended their League crown and picked up the Toyota Classic and Lucozade Big Six titles, suggested that Corneal should accept responsibility and be made to account for his team's embarrassing returns.

"It is quite clear that the head coach and his assistant (Ma Pau coach Michael McComie) were out of their depth," said Fenwick. "He was very public with his confidence in the team before the tournament but he has done a complete U-turn and it is not his fault but the players' since then...

"It is the coach's job to create a structure that enables the players to use their talents effectively to ensure the team is successful Sometimes you are playing teams who are better than you and you have to pull yourself together and make your team hard to beat.

"How often do you see a 7-0 result in international football? That tells me his team wasn't very well-organised and I think that comes down to competence."

Corneal took Trinidad and Tobago to the FIFA Under-17 World Cup two years ago, while Zoran Vranes successfully steered his teenaged squad to the Egypt 2009 Under-20 World Cup. But Fenwick is unconvinced that successive World Cup berths reflected the quality of either coach.

The former Tottenham captain pointed out that the Under-20 and Under-17 squads both lost more qualifying matches than they won.

The successful 2007 Under-17 crop won two matches, lost two and qualified with a minus-three goal differential, while Vranes' under-20 team won one match, drew one and lost two.

Fenwick suggested the influence of FIFA vice-president Jack Warner was more instrumental than the direction of the respective youth coaches.

"At present, we are qualifying for tournaments by coming fourth or fifth from eight teams," said Fenwick. "But when we get there, we are not competitive. We have the players to be much better than that but we won't be once our coaching remains as poor as it is.

"In Trinidad, it is unprecedented the amount of time (national) coaches get with their teams but clearly they are not using it properly. Corneal has not coached at any recognisable level other than the national team. How has he got that job and how is he able to keep it with such shocking results?"

Fenwick might be skeptical of the present national youth team coaches but he insisted that there are promising coaches within the local fraternity who deserve a chance.

He declared that Angus Eve, Anthony Streete, Ross Russell, Clint Marcelle, Reynold Carrington, Clayton Morris, Bertille St Clair and Gally Cummings were all better than the TTFF's present youth coaches.

"Grassroots coaches must be doing something right when you look at some of the young talent," said Fenwick. "It's the national coaches who are continually laying blame on others when they fall short.

"They had two years with that team and the bottom line is they were found wanting."

well, well, well. i am beginning to like fenwick more and more. cornbread said he only had two years to coach d u17s and blames the cutarse on dese players attitudes. could somebody please fire this idiot.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 08, 2009, 11:41:53 PM
Let the choir say Amen?

Post by: weary1969 on May 08, 2009, 11:44:50 PM
Let the choir say Amen?

Cosign

So instead ah d swine flu dey pick up a bad attitute in Mexico because dey had 2 have no attitude problem prior 2 leaving. Because if dey cyah behave in TNT y dey go behave in Mexico
Post by: asylumseeker on May 08, 2009, 11:47:00 PM

Dear Editor:

I am sceptical about the use of 'skeptical' in the Trinidad Express.
Post by: fishs on May 09, 2009, 12:08:59 AM

Dear Editor:

So you are a sceptic skeptic ?

One is the English version and the other the US in word spell check. It's ok as long as you don't go Septic on us
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 09, 2009, 12:17:24 AM
Fenwick questions Corneal's competence
Lasana Liburd
Saturday, May 9th 2009

A question of competence: Terry Fenwick

well, well, well. i am beginning to like fenwick more and more. cornbread said he only had two years to coach d u17s and blames the cutarse on dese players attitudes. could somebody please fire this idiot.

Fenwick talking a pack ah arse!  Corneal is right.  These players were given a sturdy platform to develop themselves, but instead, They played the fool!!  They didn't deserve to have qualified for Nigeria.
Before dat, it was the SSFL fault.  Ent, Mr. Corneal?
Post by: Kingk on May 09, 2009, 12:49:13 AM
lol like i said it was all wim last time
Post by: asylumseeker on May 09, 2009, 12:55:45 AM

Dear Editor:

One is the English version and the other the US in word spell check. It's ok as long as you don't go Septic on us

Should I be surprised you missed the point?
Post by: sub1 on May 09, 2009, 06:22:19 AM
That is why he is not liked in T&T. He speaks about mediocrity and excuse making and the cockroaches gone running and hiding only to regroup later and bad talk him. I will bet anything that people like Coops and his ilk will find the man talking shit. In T&T excellence is hardly ever rewarded but mediocrity is king. All hail king Corneal, Maturana, prince Mc comie and Emperor Jack.
Post by: morvant on May 09, 2009, 06:25:47 AM
why do men feel the need to quote the whole article???
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 09, 2009, 06:49:43 AM
Fenwick is right look you have britto and cato going to portsmouth the problem  is coaching and prep .. Question is will corneal be fired or will he keep his job ... Do we have an under 15 team now btw or has screeing started ? weary1969 can you say?
Title: Re: Fenwick questions Corneal's competence
Post by: Controversial on May 09, 2009, 07:38:38 AM
like ive always said, cornmeal cant select a team nor coach it, hes a waste of time
Post by: PIMP on May 09, 2009, 07:57:41 AM
Corneal is a waste of time....always making some excuse....
Two years is more than enough time to make a team competitive at least....
What a quack!!! Now blaming the players after saying, ' WE ARE READY!'

>:( >:(
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 09, 2009, 08:04:30 AM
Corneal is a waste of time....always making some excuse....
Two years is more than enough time to make a team competitive at least....
What a quack!!! Now blaming the players after saying, ' WE ARE READY!'

>:( >:(

also he stated that his team has been training 4 days a week for the past year ...
Post by: najee on May 09, 2009, 08:13:53 AM
People i don't really care for Fenwick who like him or not....or  if he take over the U17 or not...but what he had to say about cormeal...is true....he SUCK...yet still the TTFF still sticking with this guy to run our youth program...Jack and the rest of TTFF really fell and bump dey head...yes
Post by: Boodsy on May 09, 2009, 08:24:34 AM
give Fenwick the job... :whistling:
Post by: MEP on May 09, 2009, 08:30:13 AM
I can understand Corneal saying there was a lack of effort or the team didn't play to its potential but to say they had a bad attitude only turns the mirror on himself. At what point did they develop this attitude? At what point did he as coach notice it? and at what point did he try to rectify that attitude?
Post by: sub1 on May 09, 2009, 09:02:31 AM
I did not read where Corneal blamed the preparation time or the player's attitude for the horrible display in Mexico. But if true it just goes to show what a punk he is. And I will include his family in this as well. This man and his family are a blight to T&T on a whole and to football in particular. I hope we never hear from them again on the national scene.
Post by: Coop's on May 09, 2009, 09:03:04 AM
I totally agree with Fenwick on his views here,it's the socond article by him that i like because he is very straight forward and not mincing words.

Having said that anyone can see this is a desperate man looking for a job,his heart is in T&T and wants to stay here.(it's an application)  
Post by: Sam on May 09, 2009, 09:19:43 AM
I totally agree with Fenwick on his views here,it's the socond article by him that i like because he is very straight forward and not mincing words.

Having said that anyone can see this is a desperate man looking for a job,his heart is in T&T and wants to stay here.(it's an application)  

And coops, a dam good application at that. Imagine he dying to coach T&T and at the same time letting them know coaches in England dont last long with that type of results, so in order words, give Fenwick the job and a time and see what happens, not a bad request. He have the right attitude and he is very organised and will make a HUGH difference if Fenwick coaches T&T, I say give him a chance.

But after this article, I doubt the TTFF will even consider Fenwick as they dont like to hear the truth.

Michael McComie is a joke and Alvin Corneal needs to go back to school, one minute de under 17 team real good, de next they no good. 13 goals scored on them and they socre zero. Teams still getting 7-0... nah....

By the way Lasana, Ross Russell when with de under 17 team in Mexico.

Allyuh, Corneal know something about Jack Warner personally this is why Anton will never get fired.
Post by: Bakes on May 09, 2009, 09:55:28 AM

Dear Editor:

Should I be surprised you missed the point?

Trinidad need to break loose of the colonial shackles... 'skeptical' has wider global currency.

As for the article... as much a supporter I am of Fenwick I think he needs to better pick and choose his battles.  He runs the risk of coming off as a naysayer constantly waiting in the wings to second-guess anything the local coaching contingency does.  There's a lot to be said for frankness, but so too for diplomacy... not everything needs to be said in the press.  His coziness with Liburd makes it that much more troubling.
Post by: AB.Trini on May 09, 2009, 09:57:58 AM
And Fenwick knows he could get better results?  and Fenwick is  positioning for a job? therefore he has to endorse the current mediocrity as he sees it.
Post by: PATRIOT on May 09, 2009, 10:11:46 AM

And coops, a dam good application at that. Imagine he dying to coach T&T and at the same time letting them know coaches in England dont last long with that type of results, so in order words, give Fenwick the job and a time and see what happens, not a bad request. He have the right attitude and he is very organised and will make a HUGH difference if Fenwick coaches T&T, I say give him a chance.

But after this article, I doubt the TTFF will even consider Fenwick as they dont like to hear the truth.

Michael McComie is a joke and Alvin Corneal needs to go back to school, one minute de under 17 team real good, de next they no good. 13 goals scored on them and they socre zero. Teams still getting 7-0... nah....

By the way Lasana, Ross Russell when with de under 17 team in Mexico.

Allyuh, Corneal know something about Jack Warner personally this is why Anton will never get fired.

ANTON..OR Alvin??? Although yuh might be onto something here, because anybody ELSE notice how QUIET Corneal SENIOR is...NOT A PEEP from him about the Under-17's dismal performance!!! Otherwise I too would like to see Terry be given a National Team job...it's a win-win for the TTFF because he will either succeed or if he does fail they can always say they did give him a shot and put that one to rest! We will have Olympic Qualifiers coming up from 2010 I believe....
Post by: Daft Trini on May 09, 2009, 10:14:53 AM
Wow kids in trinidad real outa hand... Cornmeal could not contain dem 16 year old???
Post by: Observer on May 09, 2009, 10:15:02 AM
I do not like when coaches indulge in these types of discussions. How would he feel if another coach turn around and say "how could you be leading 5-2 in a CONCACAF CL versus Chicago Fire and blow the return game 4-0"
Post by: King Deese on May 09, 2009, 10:21:47 AM
everybody's comment and questions about this particular article and the individuals involved is interesting and profound. i have to wonder myself just maybe cornbread doing this job for free, maybe cornbread knows how pinky and brain cook d books, dey still owe them fellas millions of dollars. i don't think fenwick will get the job of coaching the u17s or u20s for that matter, i don't know if he wants that job, because of the rift he and maccomeer had and as we all know maccomeer is the brains boy. stay tuned, dis is not over yet. you really have to wonder what is fenwick's angle.
Post by: sub1 on May 09, 2009, 10:23:38 AM
I do not like when coaches indulge in these types of discussions. How would he feel if another coach turn around and say "how could you be leading 5-2 in a CONCACAF CL versus Chicago Fire and blow the return game 4-0"

I am sure he wont feel badly since it was Ricky that had control of that team. But on the real note discussions like these are the things needed for improvement in any and all facets of society. A person should be held publicly accountable for publicly held positions. All criticism is fair. The louder the better.
Post by: Babalawo on May 09, 2009, 10:43:03 AM
go fenwich. give him some mouth cutarse.  im surprise corneal not fired
Post by: Peter on May 09, 2009, 10:45:55 AM
That is why he is not liked in T&T. He speaks about mediocrity and excuse making and the cockroaches gone running and hiding only to regroup later and bad talk him. I will bet anything that people like Coops and his ilk will find the man talking shit. In T&T excellence is hardly ever rewarded but mediocrity is king. All hail king Corneal, Maturana, prince Mc comie and Emperor Jack.

COSIGN!! You've stated my words there sub, mediocrity and haphazardness is the name of the game here. Simply, Corneal and others doing shit and getting away with it & too cowardly to admit their errors- imagine they blaming the kids now!! That's just friggin low.

I like Terry Fenwick even more now. He isn't a timid Trini, and isn't accustomed to all the sh*t that goes on here, so he must speak strongly against it. Too bad we don't have much trini people who can do that, a man have to come from the UK to call out crap that goes on here, and the thing is that trini people so accustomed to and accepting of mediocrity, timidity and shit that they'll want to hold him to fault for this, just like they did to Wim(not like he gave a sh*t anyway, he was probably relieved to get out of this backwater, crapped up-place, just like Beenhackker). This blasted country, it does look hopeless sometimes. We need some more damn honest straight talk like this.
Post by: Sam on May 09, 2009, 10:49:54 AM

You wrong bro, get your facts straight....

That was NOT Fenwick, that was Ricky Hill..... and after that Jabloteh called back Fenwick quick quick...

Ricky Hill was de coach when Jabloteh give up de 5-2 lead to Chicago Fire.
Post by: Preacher on May 09, 2009, 10:59:43 AM
Everybody know Terry talking trust Anton is a joke coach.  And everyone knows it.  Bring back Pancho!!!!  ;D
Post by: football king on May 09, 2009, 11:05:31 AM
Corneal ain't going nowhere anton and his dad all the corneals always survive, it makes me wonder what kinda files they have on people.
Post by: Small Change on May 09, 2009, 11:12:56 AM
Fenwick is RIGHT!!! How did Corneal get this job and why is he getting first preference over and over??
Post by: saga pinto on May 09, 2009, 11:17:04 AM
Everybody listen!yuh see corneal he might have been an ok player but as a coach he's totally lost and I'm talking from experience having been around him for ah number of years.

I remember years ago in trini I used to live in mt lambert next to the carib factory and of course the carib league was in full swing right in my back yard,anyway meh boy marlon charles used to stop by meh house and tell meh rob ah playing with corneal an them come check the game out,well well well anton use to be making all kinda crazy changes and talking all kinda nonsense on the sideline until after ah while marlon use to come quietly at the sideline and say to him leh me control the coaching on the field.

Allyuh when halftime reach them spectators use to be  laughing at corneal,marlon would come over to me and say boi dais why I only playing for him when he beg meh...... ;D ;D      
Post by: Savannah boy on May 09, 2009, 11:28:43 AM
"In Trinidad, it is unprecedented the amount of time (national) coaches get with their teams but clearly they are not using it properly. Corneal has not coached at any recognizable level other than the national team. How has he got that job and how is he able to keep it with such shocking results?"

He declared that Angus Eve, Anthony Streete, Ross Russell, Clint Marcelle, Reynold Carrington, Clayton Morris, Bertille St Clair and Gally Cummings were all better than the TTFF's present youth coaches."

I really not sure how he could make a statement like that and call the names of peeps with similar or less experience?  Is he jes trying to throw he hat into the fray? 

Post by: Sando on May 09, 2009, 11:30:26 AM
Imagine since de 80's de Corneal's have a strong hold over T&T football....... HOW ???????

Anton Corneal make de Strike Squad and he had to right foot...

Fenwick is 100% right, but not sure if he should have came public with it.... not that I care for Anton but it makes de TTFF look bad.

Hope Jack suck up he pride and give Fenwick a chance with the youths.
Post by: Sando on May 09, 2009, 11:30:50 AM

That was NOT Fenwick, that was Ricky Hill..... and after that Jabloteh called back Fenwick quick quick...

Good catch Sam....
Post by: Observer on May 09, 2009, 12:11:43 PM

Well then I guess he would not mind  ;D
Post by: palos on May 09, 2009, 12:16:46 PM
Ricky Hill was also de coach when Jabloteh had de 5-2 vicotry over Chicago Fire too.  De game where people was sayin is de bess dem EVER see ANY Trini team play against a quality outfit like dat in a non friendly game.

Or maybe it was Fenwick who was coach fuh dat game and Ricky Hill who tak over fuh de return.

Yeah...dat must be it.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on May 09, 2009, 12:19:05 PM
So what is the status of the team? Looking at those games you see decent displays of passing, trapping and vision, especially in midfield.  Some of those players individual skill matched the Mexicans. Winchester and #9 (I think) looked very decent.  But the performance of the back four was pathetic. Purely the result of terrible coaching.

Worst thing TTFF can do is abandon that team. Shit side or not, dem is the future. The second worse thing is to give them back to Corneal and McComie. Fenwick might be mediocre in Europe, but in T&T he and Angus Eve have a better track record than most, with juniors. Give him a youth squad and see what he can do, the man practically begging how much years now.

If Michael McComie get yet another national team to coach after the U23 and U17 disasters and Fenwick still scrunting I facking done with T&T football. We go see come August who getting the U15s.
Post by: zuluwarrior on May 09, 2009, 12:26:35 PM
Where football is concern our corntree would not go anywhere untill the whole system is revamp that include the warners and the cornmeals .

Ah like how Fenwick say WE, we ,we that says a lot .i think the man consider himself part of trinbago football .

Post by: Arazi on May 09, 2009, 03:42:57 PM
So what is the status of the team? Looking at those games you see decent displays of passing, trapping and vision, especially in midfield.  Some of those players individual skill matched the Mexicans. Winchester and #9 (I think) looked very decent.  But the performance of the back four was pathetic. Purely the result of terrible coaching.

Worst thing TTFF can do is abandon that team. Shit side or not, dem is the future. The second worse thing is to give them back to Corneal and McComie. Fenwick might be mediocre in Europe, but in T&T he and Angus Eve have a better track record than most, with juniors. Give him a youth squad and see what he can do, the man practically begging how much years now.

If Michael McComie get yet another national team to coach after the U23 and U17 disasters and Fenwick still scrunting I facking done with T&T football. We go see come August who getting the U15s.

our individual skill has always been equal to many of the teams in concacaf..but the problem is MANY of our local coaches AND fans for that matter..don't think too much about defensive organisation...

traditionally in lil sweat..if yuh good..yuh could beats..yuh could pass a lil ball...you go up front..if yuh shitty..you going in the back..over time a man might show a lil intelligence in timing a tackle..so we say he's a good defender...

but local coaches don't teach their teams how to hold a proper defensive shape..beenhakker said it when he was here..he had to teach or so-called best defenders the basics in terms of defensive stance..etc..

Ian Gray gets sent off in the first half and your team leaks goals to a team that is definitely attacking you relentlessly at their home ground...

"In Trinidad, it is unprecedented the amount of time (national) coaches get with their teams but clearly they are not using it properly.

Am I the only one who is concerned by this statement?
Post by: Bakes on May 09, 2009, 04:02:21 PM
COSIGN!! You've stated my words there sub, mediocrity and haphazardness is the name of the game here. Simply, Corneal and others doing shit and getting away with it & too cowardly to admit their errors- imagine they blaming the kids now!! That's just friggin low.

I like Terry Fenwick even more now. He isn't a timid Trini, and isn't accustomed to all the sh*t that goes on here, so he must speak strongly against it. Too bad we don't have much trini people who can do that, a man have to come from the UK to call out crap that goes on here, and the thing is that trini people so accustomed to and accepting of mediocrity, timidity and shit that they'll want to hold him to fault for this, just like they did to Wim(not like he gave a sh*t anyway, he was probably relieved to get out of this backwater, crapped up-place, just like Beenhackker). This blasted country, it does look hopeless sometimes. We need some more damn honest straight talk like this.

Discretion is the better part of valor... or as another saying puts it, is not what you say but how you say it.  By running to the press and being so harshly critical  of the TTFF (he might mention Anton Corneal, but is de TTFF who really getting implicated) all he's doing is ensuring continued bad blood between him and Jack.  Not saying he must mince words or kiss ass, but sometimes in order to do business yuh must shake hands with the devil.  Yuh could make ah settah noise in de press or yuh could pursue matters more discretely behind the scenes.  The fact that he and Lasana is pals and Lasana have axe to grind against Jack/the TTFF only makes it seem as though this is some kinda vendetta that Fenwick pursuing against the TTFF.  Not saying that's the case, but the appearance is there

All dat time spent in Trinidad and he still ent learn how to play dead tuh ketch cobo alive...
Post by: kicker on May 09, 2009, 04:33:19 PM

As for the article... as much a supporter I am of Fenwick I think he needs to better pick and choose his battles.  He runs the risk of coming off as a naysayer constantly waiting in the wings to second-guess anything the local coaching contingency does.  There's a lot to be said for frankness, but so too for diplomacy... not everything needs to be said in the press.  His coziness with Liburd makes it that much more troubling.

Good post- was thinking the same thing. 

Especially if he is remotely interested in the Nat'l team job, as some may have alluded to on occasion on this forum... Not only is he creating his own obstacles to achieving that, but putting himself under a tougher spotlight (where many may spitefully want him to fail) should he actually ever be assigned to the post....
Post by: weary1969 on May 09, 2009, 06:11:57 PM
Fenwick is right look you have britto and cato going to portsmouth the problem  is coaching and prep .. Question is will corneal be fired or will he keep his job ... Do we have an under 15 team now btw or has screeing started ? weary1969 can you say?

I have heard of no under 15 team far less screening but I will inquire.
Post by: weary1969 on May 09, 2009, 06:13:38 PM

I might quicker get a wuk wit d TTFF than he.
Post by: weary1969 on May 09, 2009, 06:19:27 PM
go fenwich. give him some mouth cutarse.  im surprise corneal not fired

What time d stalk drop u? Look how dey take long to fire Mats is Cornmeal yuh talkin bout.
Post by: weary1969 on May 09, 2009, 06:25:25 PM
Corneal need to explain y he tell d players dat dey have 2 live wit d 7 goals dat dey get v Mexico. Who need the attitude adjustment.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on May 09, 2009, 06:55:25 PM

our individual skill has always been equal to many of the teams in concacaf..but the problem is MANY of our local coaches AND fans for that matter..don't think too much about defensive organisation...

traditionally in lil sweat..if yuh good..yuh could beats..yuh could pass a lil ball...you go up front..if yuh shitty..you going in the back..over time a man might show a lil intelligence in timing a tackle..so we say he's a good defender...

but local coaches don't teach their teams how to hold a proper defensive shape..beenhakker said it when he was here..he had to teach or so-called best defenders the basics in terms of defensive stance..etc..

Sad but true. We could beat teams like Guyana and JA with "skills" but we can't deal with the better regional sides without discipline and an organized framework. That aspect of the game rest squarely on the shoulders of Corneal.

With least 3-4 players good enough to get big-side trials and a next one from Toronto FC we should at least have been competive with Guat and CR.
Post by: Peter on May 09, 2009, 06:57:44 PM

Discretion is the better part of valor... or as another saying puts it, is not what you say but how you say it.  By running to the press and being so harshly critical  of the TTFF (he might mention Anton Corneal, but is de TTFF who really getting implicated) all he's doing is ensuring continued bad blood between him and Jack.  Not saying he must mince words or kiss ass, but sometimes in order to do business yuh must shake hands with the devil.  Yuh could make ah settah noise in de press or yuh could pursue matters more discretely behind the scenes.  The fact that he and Lasana is pals and Lasana have axe to grind against Jack/the TTFF only makes it seem as though this is some kinda vendetta that Fenwick pursuing against the TTFF.  Not saying that's the case, but the appearance is there

All dat time spent in Trinidad and he still ent learn how to play dead tuh ketch cobo alive...

True Bake n Shark, diplomacy is good, and I'm a advocate for it and the vast majority of the times it's the best option, but I find sometimes there's a need for an injection of unmannerly n honest straight talk that offends people.I think TnT football needs some of that, and also T&T as a whole, cause plenty people here rel delusional and accepting of mediocrity, haphazardness,etc. The truth hurts and offends most times.
Post by: weary1969 on May 09, 2009, 06:59:16 PM

U go tell meh how d golf supporters site does b because Fenick because of his ties 2 Hospedales eh gettin no wuk wit d TTFF
Post by: Arimaman on May 09, 2009, 07:06:29 PM
   Fenwick talking a pack ah arse!  Corneal is right.  These players were given a sturdy platform to develop themselves, but instead, They played the fool!!  They didn't deserve to have qualified for Nigeria.
[/quote]

Is the same thing Bertille do when the U20 team get mass cutass in Portugal, he blame Sherwood and every other player...steups...That is we coaches...the players always to blame...mind you, they selecting them eh....
Post by: ZANDOLIE on May 09, 2009, 07:08:34 PM

U go tell meh how d golf supporters site does b because Fenick because of his ties 2 Hospedales eh gettin no wuk wit d TTFF

:devil: Golf!!! Nah I go be running mih mouth on GD and digging the Official babes thread.
Post by: weary1969 on May 09, 2009, 07:10:17 PM

Is the same thing Bertille do when the U20 team get mass cutass in Portugal, he blame Sherwood and every other player...steups...That is we coaches...the players always to blame...mind you, they selecting them eh....
[/quote]

He forget want he tell d parents when dey was collectin dey kit d day b4 dey fly out. Well it official dat nobody in these parts does watch SPALK because he was chattin wit dat loud mouth who ended his program sayin none ah d under 17 players eh no star. Ah wonder who he was throwin dat 4.
Post by: weary1969 on May 09, 2009, 07:11:28 PM

:devil: Golf!!! Nah I go be running mih mouth on GD and digging the Official babes thread.

Doh try dat once yuh on d sw.net u in TNTfootball buziness
Post by: Bakes on May 09, 2009, 07:20:46 PM

True Bake n Shark, diplomacy is good, and I'm a advocate for it and the vast majority of the times it's the best option, but I find sometimes there's a need for an injection of unmannerly n honest straight talk that offends people.I think TnT football needs some of that, and also T&T as a whole, cause plenty people here rel delusional and accepting of mediocrity, haphazardness,etc. The truth hurts and offends most times.

In most cases I would agree with you, however what is the net benefit to TnT football of Fenwick's voicing his opinion in the manner in which he did?  It is quite possible that my own biases may be preventing me from objectively looking at the situation, seeing that I'm one of the biggest proponents on this site in favor of him being involved with the Senior Men's National Team.  Looking at it from that perspective he's only succeeding in further shooting himself in the foot where any such appointment is concerned and in the end the team will be left wanting for any contribution that he otherwise may have been able to offer.
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 09, 2009, 07:27:48 PM

In most cases I would agree with you, however what is the net benefit to TnT football of Fenwick's voicing his opinion in the manner in which he did?  It is quite possible that my own biases may be preventing me from objectively looking at the situation, seeing that I'm one of the biggest proponents on this site in favor of him being involved with the Senior Men's National Team.  Looking at it from that perspective he's only succeeding in further shooting himself in the foot where any such appointment is concerned and in the end the team will be left wanting for any contribution that he otherwise may have been able to offer.

You are saying that (or hoping) that maybe if his appointment to that position is something that would truly benefit our football and he were to be more diplomatic with his opinions (if voicing them at all) that jackula and the powers-that-be would consider appointing him..........I seriously doubt it, Boss, and I would serioulsy suggest that you are being a little naive with that thinking.   I don't think jackula and his cronies and his sons are now, or ever will be, interested in placing people in positions within T&T football that would make T&T football less and less dependent on his influence or freer of their grip.
Post by: Anbrat on May 09, 2009, 07:49:22 PM
"How has he got that job and how is he able to keep it with such shocking results?""

Amidst all de ole talk, dis is de bottom line!!!
Post by: weary1969 on May 09, 2009, 07:51:40 PM
"How has he got that job and how is he able to keep it with such shocking results?""

Amidst all de ole talk, dis is de bottom line!!!

His name is Corneal dat is d bottom line
Post by: Rodney on May 10, 2009, 04:24:07 AM
Though I agree with Fenwick on Corneal, I must remind him that he ain't nothing special either. If he such ah good coach.....(no offense to our country, but) why he only ever been successful wukkin in T&T!!! He had/has two advantages over his local counterparts, a well funded team (now no longer) and Top level coaching experience (which he was and is a failure as).

I have never been a Fan of this fella and never will be, as they say in the UK, He is a dodgy geezer!! However, if we desperate to go local based then I guess he is one of the better if not the best candidate for any national job. Would he get a national job....well I think we all know that is not so certain.
Post by: Flex on May 10, 2009, 05:09:47 AM
(http://guardian.co.tt/files/imagecache/article_main_image/articles/images/footng+copy.png)
KICKS - Give me the bloody job mate before I strangle you....  :rotfl:

Actual caption - Terry Fenwick, who guided Clico San Juan Jabloteh to the 2008 Pro League championship is presented with the Coach of the Year award by Soca Warriors coach, Russell Latapy, left at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya on Friday night. Photo: Anthony Harris.
Post by: Big Magician on May 10, 2009, 05:18:40 AM
MAMA
Post by: weary1969 on May 10, 2009, 05:23:10 AM
Though I agree with Fenwick on Corneal, I must remind him that he ain't nothing special either. If he such ah good coach.....(no offense to our country, but) why he only ever been successful wukkin in T&T!!! He had/has two advantages over his local counterparts, a well funded team (now no longer) and Top level coaching experience (which he was and is a failure as).

I have never been a Fan of this fella and never will be, as they say in the UK, He is a dodgy geezer!! However, if we desperate to go local based then I guess he is one of the better if not the best candidate for any national job. Would he get a national job....well I think we all know that is not so certain.

Cosign d fella is a thug neva like him and it eh difficult 2 c dat Anton team continues 2 b at sea.
Post by: nnyman18 on May 11, 2009, 04:00:47 AM

Is Terry Fenwick the worst manager ever?

In this week's Knowledge: the worst manager ever, nearest Champions League finalists ever and is Sicknote the most injured player ever - the sequel. Send your questions and answers to knowledge@guardianunlimited.co.uk

I AM GLAD TO SEE HE HAS REVIVED HIS CAREER IN TRINI

WHO IS THE WORST MANAGER EVER?

"In light of a recent discussion about the legend that is Steve Nicol (played 20, won 4, lost 9 while in charge of Notts County in 1995), we started wondering who has the UK's worst managerial record," says James Armit.

Where else to start James, than with the legendary Mick McCarthy? At the moment, the Sunderland manager's record at the Stadium of Light stands at an astonishingly poor played nine, lost nine. "Though he didn't manage the hapless club for the whole season, he did manage to avoid scoring a single point in his tenure, and topped it off by bottoming out with the lowest points total in the top flight since the introduction of three points for a win," says a flabbergasted John Whitling.

True, John, true. But Mick's spell at Sunderland could yet improve - unlike Howard Wilkinson, whose record at the Stadium of Light was P 27, W 4, L15, D 8 - an average of 0.74 points per game. However, Wilko still comes a long way behind another of the game's gruff characters - ex-Wimbledon boss Peter Withe, who, as Wayne Ziants points out, won just once in 16 matches (one win, six draws, nine losses - an average of 0.56 points a game) while in charge of the Dons.

Meanwhile Chris Fry reckons Martin Hinshelwood, at his beloved Brighton and Hove Albion, is the worst manager of all time. "2 wins, 1 draw and 11 defeats in a row at the start of last season (an average of 0.50 points per game) before getting the boot."

But, incredibly, there is someone even worse. Step forward one Terrence Fenwick, whose reign at Northampton was little short of a disaster. "Speaking with no knowledge or authority whatsoever beyond that of a somewhat bitter Cobblers fan, I would suggest that Fenwick is worth looking at," says David Frost. "I gather he had some success in that hotbed of footballing excellence, the West Indies, but his brief tenure at Sixfields was worth a mighty two points from 21."

"Admittedly both his predecessor and successor were on the end of some hammerings either side of his reign," continues David, "but they had the knack of winning the odd game every now and then - a simple strategy that is generally sufficient in the nether regions of the Second Division to ensure survival."

Agreed, David. Agreed. We reckon Fenwick's record of P7, W0, D2, L5 at Northampton (an average of 0.28 points a game) is the most unsuccessful of any sacked manager. But if you know different, let us know...
Post by: weary1969 on May 11, 2009, 06:52:12 AM

In this week's Knowledge: the worst manager ever, nearest Champions League finalists ever and is Sicknote the most injured player ever - the sequel. Send your questions and answers to knowledge@guardianunlimited.co.uk

"In light of a recent discussion about the legend that is Steve Nicol (played 20, won 4, lost 9 while in charge of Notts County in 1995), we started wondering who has the UK's worst managerial record," says James Armit.

Where else to start James, than with the legendary Mick McCarthy? At the moment, the Sunderland manager's record at the Stadium of Light stands at an astonishingly poor played nine, lost nine. "Though he didn't manage the hapless club for the whole season, he did manage to avoid scoring a single point in his tenure, and topped it off by bottoming out with the lowest points total in the top flight since the introduction of three points for a win," says a flabbergasted John Whitling.

True, John, true. But Mick's spell at Sunderland could yet improve - unlike Howard Wilkinson, whose record at the Stadium of Light was P 27, W 4, L15, D 8 - an average of 0.74 points per game. However, Wilko still comes a long way behind another of the game's gruff characters - ex-Wimbledon boss Peter Withe, who, as Wayne Ziants points out, won just once in 16 matches (one win, six draws, nine losses - an average of 0.56 points a game) while in charge of the Dons.

Meanwhile Chris Fry reckons Martin Hinshelwood, at his beloved Brighton and Hove Albion, is the worst manager of all time. "2 wins, 1 draw and 11 defeats in a row at the start of last season (an average of 0.50 points per game) before getting the boot."

But, incredibly, there is someone even worse. Step forward one Terrence Fenwick, whose reign at Northampton was little short of a disaster. "Speaking with no knowledge or authority whatsoever beyond that of a somewhat bitter Cobblers fan, I would suggest that Fenwick is worth looking at," says David Frost. "I gather he had some success in that hotbed of footballing excellence, the West Indies, but his brief tenure at Sixfields was worth a mighty two points from 21."

"Admittedly both his predecessor and successor were on the end of some hammerings either side of his reign," continues David, "but they had the knack of winning the odd game every now and then - a simple strategy that is generally sufficient in the nether regions of the Second Division to ensure survival."

Agreed, David. Agreed. We reckon Fenwick's record of P7, W0, D2, L5 at Northampton (an average of 0.28 points a game) is the most unsuccessful of any sacked manager. But if you know different, let us know...

:notlistening: we  :notlistening: We want Terry in the MECCA of the hotbed of football excellence in d WI. :rotfl:

Post by: fordy on May 11, 2009, 07:10:12 AM

Every coach at every level goes through a learning curve...and im sure Terry was able to learn from that experience of losing. What has Anton learned after repeatedly failing time and time again with yet another one of our national youth teams? yet still he continues to receive the support from TTFF. You see what the did to Fenwick when he failed right? It's time Anton be held responsible as well!!!  :beermug:
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 11, 2009, 07:15:58 AM

worst in the UK best in trinidad eh ?
Post by: Bakes on May 11, 2009, 07:43:30 AM

You are saying that (or hoping) that maybe if his appointment to that position is something that would truly benefit our football and he were to be more diplomatic with his opinions (if voicing them at all) that jackula and the powers-that-be would consider appointing him..........I seriously doubt it, Boss, and I would serioulsy suggest that you are being a little naive with that thinking.   I don't think jackula and his cronies and his sons are now, or ever will be, interested in placing people in positions within T&T football that would make T&T football less and less dependent on his influence or freer of their grip.

There is very credible evidence that if he were to be involved in coaching the National team that we would see improvements on at least the defensive front... no need for me to go into it, concededly it's speculative and we could just head that off by agreeing to disagree on that.  As for your assertion that I am somehow naive in thinking that Jack and his cronies would appoint Fenwick to such a position... with all due respect, I think it is you who's being naive.  You seem to forget the nature of the beast we're dealing with in Jack Warner. 

Jack Warner is a man to hold grudges as we well know, but more than anything else, what animates Jack is the financial bottomline... if Fenwick were our best option to advance to the World Cup (be it now or in the future) then you best believe that Jack will ride that money train into the ground and then move on when something shinier comes along.  He has already hinted as much with his statements upon Latapy's appointment that he (Latas) would have whatever resource available at his disposal, including... and I quote "the Jabloteh coach".  So far from being naive, I'm actually taking the cynical view that Jack will do whatever it is Jack has to do to keep his cash cow (TnT football) productive.
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 11, 2009, 10:34:24 AM

There is very credible evidence that if he were to be involved in coaching the National team that we would see improvements on at least the defensive front... no need for me to go into it, concededly it's speculative and we could just head that off by agreeing to disagree on that.  As for your assertion that I am somehow naive in thinking that Jack and his cronies would appoint Fenwick to such a position... with all due respect, I think it is you who's being naive.  You seem to forget the nature of the beast we're dealing with in Jack Warner. 

Jack Warner is a man to hold grudges as we well know, but more than anything else, what animates Jack is the financial bottomline... if Fenwick were our best option to advance to the World Cup (be it now or in the future) then you best believe that Jack will ride that money train into the ground and then move on when something shinier comes along.  He has already hinted as much with his statements upon Latapy's appointment that he (Latas) would have whatever resource available at his disposal, including... and I quote "the Jabloteh coach".  So far from being naive, I'm actually taking the cynical view that Jack will do whatever it is Jack has to do to keep his cash cow (TnT football) productive.

I wasn't actually questioning whether or not Fenwick actually is what would be best for our football, I was merely asking the question.  But seeing as you mentioned that he would be, then we really would have to agree to disagree.  I am looking at it from the viewpoint that if Fenwick is only going to be used, or allow himself to be used, for whatever price, just to get our senior team to to a WC and hence, allow jackula just that much longer a ride on the cash cow and not benefit our T&T Football as a whole, then he really isn't along the lines of what IS best for T&T football.  I am far from being naive because regardless of what comes out of jack mouth, jack is NEVER going to allow T&T football to truly develop to any level of independence of his influence.  Not as long as he and his sons are breathing.    As long as we continue to develop underdeveloped youth footballers, looking as badly as the current U-17's have looked among their international peers lately and coming up short like our current U-20's are doing, then, jack could appoint SAF to our senior team and it's only going to be a continued diversion from his continued and long term agenda.   The fact is, no matter how much lacking in tact or diplomacy Fenwick may be (and we all know by now that he has had some very harsh words for T&T Football before, and according to you, he is STILL being considered to be a part of it) it eh stoppin' jack from putting him in the mix.  Jack know that as long as he use a lil bit ah smoke, and a few mirrors, and we continue to buy tickets for the games, he have us right where he want us. 
Post by: fishs on May 11, 2009, 12:17:52 PM

I remember before Gally was given the job he used to be commentating about all the flaws the team had game after game , mind you he never once de cryed the coach or said anything directly about him but at the end of each game yuh just wanted to fire the coach and hire Gally , well it was done and he brought is to the well and we failed to drink.
Maybe Fenwick decide on a more direct indirect approach given the fact that he out of a paying job and time running short.
Post by: elan on May 11, 2009, 12:28:09 PM
The man played 7 games whereas everyone else he is compared to played above 10 games. Says nothing.
Post by: pardners on May 11, 2009, 01:49:53 PM
I waiting to hear what Fenwick have to say about Vranes.
Post by: supporter on May 11, 2009, 02:15:07 PM
AMEN!

Post by: handsanointed on May 11, 2009, 05:42:11 PM
After reading all the posts, my question is why hasn't anyone taken time to talk to members of the team. Mr. Corneal has had his say, in my opinion he has bashed the guys but we need to talk to the guys.
If we as parents don't have the ablity to motivate our children after that Mexico tournament then our sons may not kick another ball.
Most of the guys are at it again, with their respective clubs.
One thing I can say is that Terry Fenwick has helped alot in the development of Jerrel. Our decision as Jerrel's parents is that he would not play at the youth level this year. The development process is ongoing and his aim is to continue to develop in every area that would assist him in becoming an all round player. He has started training with Jabloteh's senior team.
We continue to support our son. We believe that attaining excellence is important.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on May 11, 2009, 06:30:12 PM
After reading all the posts, my question is why hasn't anyone taken time to talk to members of the team. Mr. Corneal has had his say, in my opinion he has bashed the guys but we need to talk to the guys.
If we as parents don't have the ablity to motivate our children after that Mexico tournament then our sons may not kick another ball.
One thing I can say is that Terry Fenwick has helped alot in the development of Jerrel. Our decision as Jerrel's parents is that he would not play at the youth level this year. The development process is ongoing and his aim is to continue to develop in every area that would assist him in becoming an all round player. He has started training with Jabloteh's senior team.
We continue to support our son. We believe that attaining excellence is important.

We dissapointed with the performance but nobody worth listening to is needlessly bashing the players. The coach made bold statements about being ready for the matches but obviously they were not. That is purely on him. Now we are left waiting for the official analysis from the talking heads. Can't wait to see how they going to spin this one...if any analysis is coming at all.

I think the entire board is looking forward to seeing what Jerrell and the other young players can do under the influence of a good coach...And as for youth football, I hear Zoran Vranes looking for strikers...

Post by: weary1969 on May 11, 2009, 08:52:38 PM

We like bachanal so talkin 2 d players if it would add more bachanal then Spalk etal will talk 2 d players. As for Fenick he good at d level in TNT. Not my favourite person but he obviously has sumting goin 4 him.
Post by: pardners on May 12, 2009, 06:12:27 AM

Maybe you could share some of your experiences with the team.  Were you in Mexico as well ?
Post by: weary1969 on May 12, 2009, 02:39:36 PM

Maybe you could share some of your experiences with the team.  Were you in Mexico as well ?

What dem peeps do u? U expext she 2 come here and call Anton a chipmunk. I could do dat because I eh plan to play 4 we in d near future. U 4get how Jw and dem is.
Post by: sub1 on May 12, 2009, 03:22:40 PM

We like bachanal so talkin 2 d players if it would add more bachanal then Spalk etal will talk 2 d players. As for Fenick he good at d level in TNT. Not my favourite person but he obviously has sumting goin 4 him.

At last a semblance of mature thinking. There is hope yet for you young lady. Now if only this could spread a little on the board maybe the fact that competence is not necessarily married to likeability we could actually start seeking the best becz of results and not becz of race or accent. I will be monitoring your progress.

Post by: weary1969 on May 12, 2009, 04:48:47 PM

At last a semblance of mature thinking. There is hope yet for you young lady. Now if only this could spread a little on the board maybe the fact that competence is not necessarily married to likeability we could actually start seeking the best becz of results and not becz of race or accent. I will be monitoring your progress.

There was no hope 4 me really thanks 4 sharing.
Post by: Rodney on May 13, 2009, 10:02:27 AM
A final word on Fenwick and his coaching competence. There was a show on Sky a year or two ago that put David Seaman in charge of a losing Sunday league Team and challenged him to win the league with the same Players. Can't remember if they did win but they did come very close. Seaman had no previous experience as a manager and at the time wasn't even a qualified coach (probably still isn't), yet he had an instant impact on the teams performance. Why, simple, his experience at a higher level of football was significantly greater than his opposing managers and allowed him to prepare his team better than the other coaches. Also it was clear that due to his status, his players were prepared to carry out their managers instructions to the best of their ability unlike some of the opposing teams players.

Also, If the PFL were run financially like the MLS I wonder how successful he would have been. He has done a lot for many players but let us not get carried away, I'm sure he enjoyed an increase in income because of his personal interest in improving his players, shall I say, professional options.
Post by: sub1 on May 13, 2009, 10:59:32 AM
A final word on Fenwick and his coaching competence. There was a show on Sky a year or two ago that put David Seaman in charge of a losing Sunday league Team and challenged him to win the league with the same Players. Can't remember if they did win but they did come very close. Seaman had no previous experience as a manager and at the time wasn't even a qualified coach (probably still isn't), yet he had an instant impact on the teams performance. Why, simple, his experience at a higher level of football was significantly greater than his opposing managers and allowed him to prepare his team better than the other coaches. Also it was clear that due to his status, his players were prepared to carry out their managers instructions to the best of their ability unlike some of the opposing teams players.

Also, If the PFL were run financially like the MLS I wonder how successful he would have been. He has done a lot for many players but let us not get carried away, I'm sure he enjoyed an increase in income because of his personal interest in improving his players, shall I say, professional options.

It is clear that you could care less for Fenwick. You were honest enuff to state that from the outset in another post. I dont know the man from adam thus all I go by is his and others record in T&T in general and the pfl in particular. The ifs and other theoritical thinking I will not indulge in. But the facts are that in T&T he is by far the most successful coach as far the pfl is concerned and also the production of many future prospects. Therefore one is not carried away by wanting to see him at least offered some position in the national set up. We have suffered the idignities of a Maturana, BSC, Granville, Corneal, Mc Comie and La forest just to name a few but will fight tooth and nail not see a man who has had success at the senior level of our football be appointed to a national position. Why? Is it because of his color, his brashness, his awful record in england or is it just because I dont like him? In other words I prefer to believe that Abu bakr is a kidnapper and not a benevolent man because he is muslim than to bring him to court for the fear that he might just prove to me that I was wrong all the time and that he really is a benevolent man. Bad analogy I know but i just needed something to illustrate how dislike could cause many of us to miss out on the possible truth.
Post by: elan on May 13, 2009, 11:11:21 AM

What about what is? His record in T&T speak for itself. He is not coaching in England and the MLS, so coming with the what if's is not relevant. Corneal is not coaching in the MLS or England, he not even coaching locally, so there you go.

How about Fenwick coach Jabloteh U-17 vs the National under 17s with Anton in charge?
Post by: ZANDOLIE on May 13, 2009, 11:40:06 AM

What about what is? His record in T&T speak for itself. He is not coaching in England and the MLS, so coming with the what if's is not relevant. Corneal is not coaching in the MLS or England, he not even coaching locally, so there you go.

How about Fenwick coach Jabloteh U-17 vs the National under 17s with Anton in charge?

Where you think most of the Under 17s come from  :devil: Of 20 players selected for Mexico, 10 were from Jabloteh. Needless to say Fenwick would kick Anton's ass.
Post by: Rodney on May 13, 2009, 03:25:54 PM
Fuh those who are interpreting my comments as displeasure at Fenwick coaching a T&T national team, as I said in a previous post...if we have to (move from Lata's and) go local, then he is one of the best if not the best option for a national job.

Yes, I am not a Fan, but it is nothing to do with him being able to or successful at managing T&T. Infact, I have no problem with T&T trying him out at some point. I am talking about his outspoken and self-promoting nature especially when it comes to being critical of others in his profession. Considering his past record I think it is a bit hypocritical of him and just want to put his success in T&T into some perspective.

Elan, I think you haven't read that I actually agree with Fenwick's opinion on Corneal. So bringing up Corneal is of even less relevance.
Post by: handsanointed on May 14, 2009, 12:10:30 PM

We dissapointed with the performance but nobody worth listening to is needlessly bashing the players. The coach made bold statements about being ready for the matches but obviously they were not. That is purely on him. Now we are left waiting for the official analysis from the talking heads. Can't wait to see how they going to spin this one...if any analysis is coming at all.

I think the entire board is looking forward to seeing what Jerrell and the other young players can do under the influence of a good coach...And as for youth football, I hear Zoran Vranes looking for strikers...

I hope he would get an opportunity to train with the U20's when they return.

Post by: Weh-it-is on May 14, 2009, 01:32:02 PM
Ent! I was trying to tell some people the same thing about Pacho. If the team not producing...who's at fault the player or the coach? Fenwick telling the truth deh.  ;)