Sports => Football => Topic started by: nnyman18 on May 13, 2009, 10:35:11 AM

Title: Who is the most exciiting Trini footballer to watch
Post by: nnyman18 on May 13, 2009, 10:35:11 AM
I know there are those of you who have your favorite Trini player of all time. However, putting those emotions aside It would be nice to know who you think is the most exciting Trini player to watch
Title: Re: Who is the most exciiting Trini footballer to watch
Post by: Marcos on May 13, 2009, 10:38:01 AM
right now?
Post by: Trinidogg on May 13, 2009, 10:42:17 AM
You mean of all time or just now? if its of all time I probably go with Yorke if its right now hmm that's tough but um maybe Carlos i mean it seem to be only between him and Scotland at the moment so gonna go with him.
Post by: Rodney on May 13, 2009, 10:45:48 AM
I know there are those of you who have your favorite Trini player of all time. However, putting those emotions aside It would be nice to know who you think is the most exciting Trini player to watch

I assume you mean currently active players. Difficult to properly assess IMO as our players spread far and wide in varying divisions and countries so actually seeing them perform other than in highlights and on a regular basis is pretty difficult.  But if I must (and excluding Lata's).

Carlos Edwards, when in Form and for local based...Keon Daniel when he not messing about or getting muscled off the ball.
Post by: palos on May 13, 2009, 10:53:46 AM
NOW - 1) Keon Daniel, 2) Carlos Edwards

EVER THAT I'VE SEEN - 1) Russell Latapy, 2) Clint Marcelle (U16), 3) Dwight Yorke, 4) Ian Clauzel
Post by: Andre on May 13, 2009, 11:03:30 AM
the sunderland boys.
Post by: spideybuff on May 13, 2009, 11:08:00 AM
Anybody besides Latapy? Seriously?
Post by: noize on May 13, 2009, 11:08:49 AM
 ;D Carlos hands down is in the best form for us now
Post by: berris on May 13, 2009, 11:18:02 AM
Me
Post by: Trinidogg on May 13, 2009, 11:19:08 AM
Anybody besides Latapy? Seriously?

I wanted to say a tie with Latapy but i wouldn't be answering the question but i saw Yorke score some spectacular goals with both Aston Villa and Man U that's why i give him the nod.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on May 13, 2009, 11:27:47 AM
Russel Latapy. From tearing up with S'Fernando Tech to the 2006 game against Paraguay where he was the best player on the field hands down. Always like his style, one of the few T&T players who had flair but was always a real threat at the same time.

Yorke at Manu, Cornell Glen and Spiderman Cater for raw athleticism.

As a boy I watch Ian Clauzel play a few times, he was something to behold, ball control, vision and dribbling skill like you wouldn't believe. He moved like snail but you could not take that ball from Clauzel, he would make defenders (if they dared tackle him in the first place) look like playthings. He get real disgraceful treatment from the football establishment because of his hairstyle, in those days a dreadlocks was viewed as the mark of a criminal. If he was a youth today he would be in a serie A or EPL academy at 16 or 17 years old. Real skills, sad waste of talent

Post by: lefty on May 13, 2009, 11:35:44 AM
1 Latapy
2 Carlos
3 Leonson lewis

and evans wise dat  man could get he self out some corners eh, but wasn't much else beyond ah dribbler sadly :'(
Post by: kicker on May 13, 2009, 11:39:36 AM
That I've seen: Latapy, Marcelle & Leonson Lewis. 

Currently: C. Edwards
Post by: fari on May 13, 2009, 11:41:21 AM
for me carlos edwards but also jaggy (kendall jagdeosingh), that man does real get on for islanders boy.
Post by: Bakes on May 13, 2009, 11:45:13 AM
That I've seen: Latapy, Jerren Nixon & Leonson Lewis. 

Currently: C. Edwards

My list.
Post by: giggsy11 on May 13, 2009, 11:57:26 AM
Er, that would be me, then Carlos if he in form.
Post by: nnyman18 on May 13, 2009, 12:09:21 PM
Nah not just in this era. It might have some old boys on this thread. So ah mean from the beginning of time. Man might want to bring back the salad Pele get in south. I grow up with a youth man in Belmont called Jerry Jack who at one time was the most feared one v man in the Land. We play under Lobo then he finish his career with St. Francois International even Latas and them use to give jack respect. When is the last time you say ah man undress a man in ah international friendly and that same man turn round during the game an shake that brother hand. Jerry Jack  get that kind ah respect in the national stadium back in the 80's
Post by: giggsy11 on May 13, 2009, 12:20:22 PM
Anybody who starred in Intercol, that you stormed tuh see play!
Post by: palos on May 13, 2009, 12:28:21 PM
Anthony Sherwood was a nex excitin player

So too was Anton Corneal

Terry "Jughead" St Louis

Arnold Dwarika

Kona Hislop & Colin Rocke

Definitely Leonson Lewis

Hardest

Leric "Lobo" Joseph

Ron La

Leroy Spann

Leo De Leon

Warren Archibald

Sammy Llewlyn

Eric White
Post by: daryn on May 13, 2009, 12:37:02 PM
Latapy obviously with honorable mention to a few called above like Leonson, Marcelle and Dwarika.

surprised that nobody say Faustin.  I find the man had some spectacular marvellous performances.

Post by: Marcos on May 13, 2009, 12:37:18 PM
All timers: Latapy, Dwarika, Leonson

Present day: Carlos and Scotty

Post by: maxg on May 13, 2009, 12:47:08 PM
to much names, cyah pick one, but will add
Now players: Carlos, Stern, Jones, Scottie, Birchall, Lawrence, Ince....Latas
excitement cause ah wha him do good: Edwards..Latas
in between players: Yorke & Latas, cause ah wha dem do good
Past: Nancoo, Archie, Chinnas, Twinkletoes,ah central Mid for Malvern (cyah remember he name ..Excitement: Carter
players ah didn't get to see enuff: Steve David, Daryl Roberts, Latas (prime)
Player ah only real, real hear bout: Peter Mitchell, ah shortman from Barataria
Post by: dinho on May 13, 2009, 12:55:39 PM
if we talking exciting right now, i will have to go against the grain and say hayden tinto and keon daniel..

beats does excite me.
Post by: spideybuff on May 13, 2009, 12:57:50 PM
I remember when he first burst on d scene, Nigel Pierre was a man who beat 3 men in d box while he still standing in the same spot. How the mighty have fallen.
Both him and Rahim was deadly in intercol and made the step up to senior level with ease...and then they both were poor players by age 26...doh know what really went on there.
Post by: doc on May 13, 2009, 01:02:12 PM
Nah not just in this era. It might have some old boys on this thread. So ah mean from the beginning of time. Man might want to bring back the salad Pele get in south. I grow up with a youth man in Belmont called Jerry Jack who at one time was the most feared one v man in the Land. We play under Lobo then he finish his career with St. Francois International even Latas and them use to give jack respect. When is the last time you say ah man undress a man in ah international friendly and that same man turn round during the game an shake that brother hand. Jerry Jack  get that kind ah respect in the national stadium back in the 80's

Jerry Jack was nice, Tom P was exciting, Claudie "Maho" Hills was exciting also, but the most exciting player has to be Sheba ;D
Post by: pardners on May 13, 2009, 01:14:19 PM
Anthony Sherwood was a nex excitin player

So too was Anton Corneal

Terry "Jughead" St Louis

Arnold Dwarika

Kona Hislop & Colin Rocke

Definitely Leonson Lewis

Hardest

Leric "Lobo" Joseph

Ron La

Leroy Spann

Leo De Leon

Warren Archibald

Sammy Llewlyn

Eric White

Possibly the 10th time this thread come back around in disguise....but I would add Larry Joseph to Palos list.
Post by: just cool on May 13, 2009, 01:22:54 PM

Jerry Jack was nice, Tom P was exciting, Claudie "Maho" Hills was exciting also, but the most exciting player has to be Sheba ;D
Yuh mean black boy jerry jack from blacket hill?? i know jerry, very well , but i don't think he was the most exciting player i've ever seen by a country mile! not even close , but he was real good i will admitt, but it had much better players than him from belmont, like voices, phillip ermiss, richard coo, marlon morris, dexter sutton, ian clauzel, micheal (saba) rudder, gershwin fortune.

jerry never even make the national team! fun tuh watch in the savannah , but not the most exciting i've ever seen.
Post by: real madness on May 13, 2009, 01:28:23 PM
yeah this thread does not recycle under all kind of names, anyway most exciting back in school days were sherwood, sean de souza, ivan sampson, yorke, colvin hutchinson, rhet mitchell, dwarika

All time exciting regardless of the level of football is latas.

Right now, not a damn soul is exciting, if you talking about exciting for 2 seconds or less then keon daniel and carlos edwards.
Post by: spideybuff on May 13, 2009, 01:47:29 PM
Keon Daniel used to be or have potential to be...but he eh do nothing exciting yet except for the goals maybe. Carlos have moments...but compared to what we accustommed to throguh the years of kaisoca soccer, it have nothing exciting when you watch the current side.
Post by: samo on May 13, 2009, 01:58:56 PM
My list...
Russel Latapy, Clint Marcelle, Jerren Nixon, Leonson Lewis, Terry Jughead St. Louis and Arnold Dwarika..

Maylee Attin-Johnson, Tasha St. Louis, Ahkeela Mollon
Post by: dwolfman on May 13, 2009, 02:09:11 PM
Right now Carlos Edwards. All time Russel Latapy.
Post by: berris on May 13, 2009, 02:09:30 PM
All yuh cyar read or wha  ??? de man thread ask  ' Who is the most exciiting Trini footballer to watch' not footballers .Buh man like Palos n dem post ah whole freaking list  ::)
Post by: injunchile on May 13, 2009, 02:13:47 PM
Gally Cummimgs- Alvin Corneal- Kevin Berassa- Carlton Franco

Keith David-= The whole front line of St Benedicts in they heydays- Twinketoes, etc
 Latapy in any generation- Yorke- Evans Wise- Leonson Lewis -Stern John

Whitley- Birchill- Touissant- Glen.
Post by: dwolfman on May 13, 2009, 02:16:55 PM
Gally Cummimgs- Alvin Corneal- Kevin Berassa- Carlton Franco

Keith David-= The whole front line of St Benedicts in they heydays- Twinketoes, etc
 Latapy in any generation- Yorke- Evans Wise- Leonson Lewis -Stern John

Whitley- Birchill- Touissant- Glen.

Padna, some of dem names yuh call off like yuh have some age.  :devil:
Post by: Ngozi on May 13, 2009, 02:23:18 PM
Latapy .....   Ivan sampson ...... Clint Marcelle ... Nixon .... Sherwood
My top 5 but Latas is number one
Post by: dwolfman on May 13, 2009, 02:25:52 PM
Jerron Nixon was exciting to watch in his day. In little spurts so was Dwarika.
Post by: injunchile on May 13, 2009, 02:26:21 PM
Correct is right. What do you think is only youth man on this site ? Listen brother in the glory days of Football, none of the pretenders playing presently, with the exception of Yorke and Latapy would have made a T&T team.
Post by: davidephraim on May 13, 2009, 02:43:12 PM
Jerren Nixon - Marvin Oliver - Dawrika - Hardest - Latas - Carlos - Keon Daniel
Post by: palos on May 13, 2009, 03:03:31 PM
Correct is right. What do you think is only youth man on this site ? Listen brother in the glory days of Football, none of the pretenders playing presently, with the exception of Yorke and Latapy would have made a T&T team.

Daz ole talk injunchile.

De footballers back den in de so called glory days couldn't beat teams in de caribbean.

When english teams used to come down and play fete match, dey regularly used to give dem fellas 6 and 7 in dey tail.

Yes, de players now have more exposure to facilities and able to go fuh trials etc which is partly why dey would trounce dem ole men if dey was around in dem days.

De reality is...as much as we would not like to admit it....today's athletes, regardless of the sport, are IN GENERAL better than their predecessors.

For example....people doh want to admit it, and I is one a dem, but LeBron James is ALREADY a better BASKETBALL PLAYER than Michael Jordan ever was.
Title: Re: Who was/is the most exciiting Trini footballer to watch
Post by: WestCoast on May 13, 2009, 03:06:52 PM
Archie ;)
Post by: Deeks on May 13, 2009, 03:25:27 PM
Palos,
        Haiti, Suriname and Cuba to a lesser extent are a mere shadow of themselves today. Those teams were good. Even Martinique and Guadeloupe use to give all the Caribbean teams a run for their money in those days. look at JA record against those teams of that era and it is almost the same as us. It is unfair to the younger generation to compare players and teams of different eras with us older guys on forum. All just was not born as yet. That is just a fact.

I say Warren Archibald!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 13, 2009, 03:33:37 PM
NOW - 1) Keon Daniel, 2) Carlos Edwards

EVER THAT I'VE SEEN - 1) Russell Latapy, 2) Clint Marcelle (U16), 3) Dwight Yorke, 4) Ian Clauzel

(1) I cosign on every name on this list
  (2) Anytime a man mention Clauzel name meh pores does raise!  Tank yuh! 
Post by: Filho on May 13, 2009, 03:49:57 PM
past: Leonson

present: Any number of present day wingbacks (exciting in de entirely wrong way)
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on May 13, 2009, 04:15:06 PM
Latas, Marselle, Dwarika, Lewis, Carlos, Jaggy, Wise back in intercol and MLS days as well and ah man who disappear off the map but was super promising Miguel Mitchell.  MM was ridiculous with skill and ball handling and had ah serious bullet too.  Ah wonder wha ever happen to da yute in troot boi!!!

Berris we illiterate bad eh :devil:
Post by: najee on May 13, 2009, 04:17:06 PM
For what i have see with my eye's Lata......
Post by: saga pinto on May 13, 2009, 04:21:32 PM
I remember meh boi jazzinhno from arima and without a doubt one of the most amazing footballers to ever grace T&T is a guy call chet from tacarigua tringrove area,boi if he was around today he woulda be in demand anywhere he go almost like ah god......   
Post by: frico on May 13, 2009, 04:33:50 PM
I dont get a lot of oppurtunity to see many of our present ballers on a regular basis but from what I have seen,Carlos
and Latapy gets my vote,but I met an old boy from Woodbrook in POS and he said that Alvin Corneal was the best winger that ever played football for TT AND WAS FULL OF ALL THE SKILLS AND SPEED.I have seen a lot of Yorke but that is when he played for Villa but in his best playing days he did not figure much for TT.
Post by: football king on May 13, 2009, 04:39:55 PM
grace T&T is a guy call chet from tacarigua tringrove area,boi if he was around today he woulda be in demand anywhere he go almost like ah god......   

Chet yes yuh go make Jaijohn happy with that-but he was damn good tiny lil bugger.

Yorke all time for me, now-is none

Hon mention since everyone else doing a list
Latas, Bert neptune, Rambo gibbs, 'Pucky' a rasta from tacarigua utd deadly dribbler,
Ivan sampson-dribbler again,
Marcelle amazing,
Leo lewis speed strength, athleticism, killer instincts
Daren lewis -he father was a boss too
Dwarika.
Bert Williams from tobago.
Entertainement value Zane O'Brien yeah ah call he name showmanship galore.
Post by: SUPA on May 13, 2009, 04:47:09 PM
grace T&T is a guy call chet from tacarigua tringrove area,boi if he was around today he woulda be in demand anywhere he go almost like ah god......   

Chet yes yuh go make Jaijohn happy with that-but he was damn good tiny lil bugger.

Yorke all time for me, now-is none

Hon mention since everyone else doing a list
Latas, Bert neptune, Rambo gibbs, 'Pucky' a rasta from tacarigua utd deadly dribbler,
Ivan sampson-dribbler again,
Marcelle amazing,
Leo lewis speed strength, athleticism, killer instincts
Daren lewis -he father was a boss too
Dwarika.
Bert Williams from tobago.
Entertainement value Zane O'Brien yeah ah call he name showmanship galore.

Sam and Star Child. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Coop's on May 13, 2009, 05:13:58 PM
The only thing i going to say on this subject is,today we have better players which means we have better quality teams,that should speak well for the quality of Coaches we have,this in according to the consensus on here,something still bothers me,why the attendance so poor at games?why these guys playing to empty stands?why has people lost interest in the game at home?

We does blame everything besides our so called quality players for our failures,JW,TTFF,Coaches etc etc could you imagine we used to get 6/7 from teams coming home to play fete match but anywhere our players played they were picked up for contracts,scouts used to come home and pick up guys like Lincoln Phillips,Gerry Brown,Victor Gamaldo,Warren Archibald,Steve David etc etc schools used to grab our players for scholarships,now mind you this is a country everybody does beat.

These guys open doors,break barriers for the guys today to benefit,not because most of you have not seen or heard of any of these guys means what they have done is irrelevant,yes we old it's the reason we can talk the way we do because we from an era where people in T&T used to enjoy Football regardless of who played,i must say the game has changed in many ways and i feel for guys that play Football today because of the amount of pressure they are under,peoples expectations are usually very high and is like they feel like they own you because you are paid to play,i still feel like i've played in the best time,it was a time when the whole country was involved in the game.        
Post by: King Deese on May 13, 2009, 05:42:27 PM

Daz ole talk injunchile.

De footballers back den in de so called glory days couldn't beat teams in de caribbean.

When english teams used to come down and play fete match, dey regularly used to give dem fellas 6 and 7 in dey tail.

Yes, de players now have more exposure to facilities and able to go fuh trials etc which is partly why dey would trounce dem ole men if dey was around in dem days.

De reality is...as much as we would not like to admit it....today's athletes, regardless of the sport, are IN GENERAL better than their predecessors.

For example....people doh want to admit it, and I is one a dem, but LeBron James is ALREADY a better BASKETBALL PLAYER than Michael Jordan ever was.

aye palos, answer dis question.

trinidad & tobago 4 - mexico 0

what year was dat?..
Post by: palos on May 13, 2009, 05:53:36 PM

Daz ole talk injunchile.

what year was dat?..

Right after you answer Trinidad & Tobago 0 - Sweden 0

With how many men?  What year?  Where?  What occasion?
Post by: Big Magician on May 13, 2009, 06:15:09 PM
Post by: King Deese on May 13, 2009, 06:16:19 PM

Daz ole talk injunchile.

[/quote]

what year was dat?..

[/quote]

Right after you answer Trinidad & Tobago 0 - Sweden 0

With how many men?  What year?  Where?  What occasion?
[/quote]

aye palos, what year was dat?

tnt 4 - mexico 0

dat could not have been d footballers and dem back den you was quoting about could it????

nah....

dat must have been ah tobago team.....
Post by: College on May 13, 2009, 06:26:43 PM
Hero Warrior

Re: Who is the most exciiting Trini footballer to watch
« Reply #21 on: Today at 12:47:08 PM » Quote 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
to much names, cyah pick one, but will add
Now players: Carlos, Stern, Jones, Scottie, Birchall, Lawrence, Ince....Latas
excitement cause ah wha him do good: Edwards..Latas
in between players: Yorke & Latas, cause ah wha dem do good
Past: Nancoo, Archie, Chinnas, Twinkletoes,ah central Mid for Malvern (cyah remember he name ..Excitement: Carter
players ah didn't get to see enuff: Steve David, Daryl Roberts, Latas (prime)
Player ah only real, real hear bout: Peter Mitchell, ah shortman from Barataria

Yuh probably referring to Terry Jessemy aka shortman. He used to rock a baby fro back then. Ah cosign if is thais man yuh talking bout.

Post by: College on May 13, 2009, 06:29:52 PM
He name was probably mentioned before but ah wanna add Sheldon Bennett  to the list.. he was something special to watch at the youth level.
Post by: Peter on May 13, 2009, 07:58:52 PM
Me

lol berris, i was going to put that and as i was scrolling down i saw you did it, lol.

But anyways, the answer is
1.) Me
2)Latapy
3)Keon Daniel(on his game)
4)Cornell Glenn(also on his game n mainly cause of his blistering speed)
5) Carlos Edwards(he's no 5, but more effective and better than everyone on the list except no. 1 and no. 2)
Post by: nnyman18 on May 13, 2009, 08:08:29 PM
Even though Ian Clauzel The Dread Dribbler force me to almost forgo meh dreams and aspirations to don the John D jersey after seeing him leave a wake ah John D men falling all around him on the Sunday morning papers. But ah going down with meh boy Jerry Jack. All yuh remember channel 9 ( Marlon Morris) and 14 (Jerry Jack). Back in dem days there was no room in the inn in savanah when 9 &14 was on . jerry never even make the national team As for why Jack never made the national team trust meh just cool it had nothing to do with ability. My boy had some personal issues of the field that cause him to get overlook but under secrecy thing till I die and ah go leave it dey 8). You call some good men though but the Belmont massive go put Jack before a lot ah them fellas
Post by: kicker on May 13, 2009, 08:15:51 PM
Is Keon Daniel really that exciting to watch?  His energy level is so low....
Post by: berris on May 13, 2009, 09:00:01 PM
Latas, Marselle, Dwarika, Lewis, Carlos, Jaggy, Wise back in intercol and MLS days as well and ah man who disappear off the map but was super promising Miguel Mitchell.  MM was ridiculous with skill and ball handling and had ah serious bullet too.  Ah wonder wha ever happen to da yute in troot boi!!!

Ah rite is so ,ah go join een too  ....Sammy ,Tom Phillip ,Plucky ,Sackie ,Michael Whiley, Chinas ,Oldman ,Mooze ,Tractor,Emma,Bellies ,Jappa ,Latas ,Leonson ,Sherwood ,Steve David,Archie ,Roger Latillery , Keith Weeks, Rudy, Ron La ,Qua bros, Stern John, Cary (de red man from de green machine) ,Robert 'dog' Cuthbert,(big big players)Alvin Edwards,Leroy Spann ,Michael Grayson......and me ,just tuh name ah few   :devil: :devil:
Post by: just cool on May 13, 2009, 09:08:25 PM
Who remember andy haynes and clive hutchenson??
Post by: nnyman18 on May 13, 2009, 09:13:21 PM
I do play against both ah them at the club and college level
Post by: kiffysmooth on May 13, 2009, 09:27:29 PM
I would have to say Latas...but since Latas is not ah option, then definitely Theobald...........and all yuh better doh tell meh nutting cause ah doh want to hear
Post by: CK1 on May 13, 2009, 09:29:07 PM
Even though Ian Clauzel The Dread Dribbler force me to almost forgo meh dreams and aspirations to don the John D jersey after seeing him leave a wake ah John D men falling all around him on the Sunday morning papers. But ah going down with meh boy Jerry Jack. All yuh remember channel 9 ( Marlon Morris) and 14 (Jerry Jack). Back in dem days there was no room in the inn in savanah when 9 &14 was on . jerry never even make the national team As for why Jack never made the national team trust meh just cool it had nothing to do with ability. My boy had some personal issues of the field that cause him to get overlook but under secrecy thing till I die and ah go leave it dey 8). You call some good men though but the Belmont massive go put Jack before a lot ah them fellas
Renwrick Jones..is a must to the list.
Post by: davidephraim on May 13, 2009, 09:39:20 PM
I would have to say Latas...but since Latas is not ah option, then definitely Theobald...........and all yuh better doh tell meh nutting cause ah doh want to hear

shouldn't there be one of these  ;) after a statement like that?
Post by: just cool on May 13, 2009, 10:11:29 PM

Ah rite is so ,ah go join een too  ....Sammy ,Tom Phillip ,Plucky  ,Sackie ,Michael Whiley, Chinas ,Oldman ,Mooze ,Tractor,Emma,Bellies ,Jappa ,Latas ,Leonson ,Sherwood ,Steve David,Archie ,Roger Latillery , Keith Weeks, Rudy, Ron La ,Qua bros, Stern John, Cary (de red man from de green machine) ,Robert 'dog' Cuthbert,(big big players)Alvin Edwards,Leroy Spann ,Michael Grayson......and me ,just tuh name ah few   :devil: :devil:
Wham berris yuh went compre or what! yuh have ah few compre greats on yuh list, and one belmont standout. doh forget riley.                            positive.
Post by: Big Magician on May 14, 2009, 05:44:17 AM
Post by: berris on May 14, 2009, 06:47:58 AM

Ah rite is so ,ah go join een too  ....Sammy ,Tom Phillip ,Plucky  ,Sackie ,Michael Whiley, Chinas ,Oldman ,Mooze ,Tractor,Emma,Bellies ,Jappa ,Latas ,Leonson ,Sherwood ,Steve David,Archie ,Roger Latillery , Keith Weeks, Rudy, Ron La ,Qua bros, Stern John, Cary (de red man from de green machine) ,Robert 'dog' Cuthbert,(big big players)Alvin Edwards,Leroy Spann ,Michael Grayson......and me ,just tuh name ah few   :devil: :devil:
Wham berris yuh went compre or what! yuh have ah few compre greats on yuh list, and one belmont standout. doh forget riley.                            positive.

Nah Tranquill .But ah remember dem fellas tearing up de intercol like no others I ever see .
Post by: palos on May 14, 2009, 07:50:20 AM
Wendell Moore
Verron Skinner
Post by: kicker on May 14, 2009, 07:52:08 AM
Not seeing many goalkeepers gettin' called...and iz dem who often see the most action and excitement when T&T playing  :D
Post by: nnyman18 on May 14, 2009, 09:54:07 AM
So who yuh thinking bout kicker the great spider man cause ah see him pull off some spectacular ones back in the day while playing for ASL
Post by: morvant on May 14, 2009, 10:35:19 AM

tinto name does ring out locally the most right now

every time the man touch the ball crowd does ball.
Post by: elan on May 14, 2009, 11:08:26 AM

LOL @
Post by: elan on May 14, 2009, 11:12:30 AM
David Nakhid.
Post by: Jah Gol on May 14, 2009, 11:17:53 AM
I keep on hearing about Clauzel. Anybody have video of him. 
Post by: kicker on May 14, 2009, 11:23:11 AM
So who yuh thinking bout kicker the great spider man cause ah see him pull off some spectacular ones back in the day while playing for ASL

I see Shaka prevent us from getting like 10 from Mexico (in Mexico) and the same for Costa Rica in Costa Rica (a time they hit us 3 and if not for Shaka's heroics it coulda been double digits)....Shaka against Sweded in WC '06 could probably go down as the single best individual performance in a T&T shirt too...

Give the goalies some love lol  ;D
Post by: berris on May 14, 2009, 11:33:54 AM

Yuh miss out if yuh never see dis bredda play .One time against CIC on CIC gounds de man take de ball from kick off and beat every man dat come in he way and went straight tuh goal and score... one ah de best plays ever in intercol .If yuh ever get yuh hands on a video yuh will see wha we talking bout .
Post by: WestCoast on May 14, 2009, 11:34:12 AM
Not seeing many goalkeepers gettin' called...and iz dem who often see the most action and excitement when T&T playing  :D
orrite
Mr. Trevor Leiba ;)
Post by: palos on May 14, 2009, 11:40:58 AM
orrite
Mr. Trevor Leiba ;)

I shock yuh eh say somebody like Raffie Knowles...ent he was yuh schoolmate?  ;D
Post by: sub1 on May 14, 2009, 11:43:50 AM
Is Keon Daniel really that exciting to watch?  His energy level is so low....

Obviously the people who have him on their list have not seen much football outside of their respective villages. Forget low energy, this guy is overhyped and very ordinary. Maybe Maturana saw something that very few else saw. As much as I want him to go outside I doubt any club in Europe will pick him up.

Latapy
Yorke
Neil Williams from Saints (teammate)

Cedars from the army
Tom Phillips from Tranquil
Post by: WestCoast on May 14, 2009, 11:46:59 AM
orrite
Mr. Trevor Leiba ;)
I shock yuh eh say somebody like Raffie Knowles...ent he was yuh schoolmate?  ;D
yeah, ah went to CIC the same time wid Trevor :rotfl:
i jest reading an article about 6 players gettin suspended in 1973 (http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/40)
this TTFA ent easy for many MANY years
wha really wrong wid dem atalll atall
Post by: nnyman18 on May 14, 2009, 11:58:38 AM
Jah Gol ah going and create real annoyance and mayhem with this comment. ian Clauzel is the best dribbler Trini ever create. The powers that be kept the man off the national team because he refuse to cut he dread. Is a pity youtube and them thing was not in session then because de brother spoil real careers and men woulda struggle to see they self being exposed like that. When as was attending John-D he use to work in Jerningham Avenue. The first time ah dee the brother ah try real hard not to be a groupee fan. What ah cool brother. While ah on this topic somebody please remind me he partner in crime at Mucurapo during them time. Unfortunately he went off. Rumor had it that football was the culprit
Post by: berris on May 14, 2009, 12:00:29 PM
Jah Gol ah going and create real annoyance and mayhem with this comment. ian Clauzel is the best dribbler Trini ever create. The powers that be kept the man off the national team because he refuse to cut he dread. Is a pity youtube and them thing was not in session then because de brother spoil real careers and men woulda struggle to see they self being exposed like that. When as was attending John-D he use to work in Jerningham Avenue. The first time ah dee the brother ah try real hard not to be a groupee fan. What ah cool brother. While ah on this topic somebody please remind me he partner in crime at Mucurapo during them time. Unfortunately he went off. Rumor had it that football was the culprit

Emma ,boss midfielder, unfortunately he brain start plaing trick on him and he went orf .
Post by: Jah Gol on May 14, 2009, 12:03:03 PM
He wasn't played because of a dred.
Post by: doc on May 14, 2009, 12:09:31 PM

Yuh miss out if yuh never see dis bredda play .One time against CIC on CIC gounds de man take de ball from kick off and beat every man dat come in he way and went straight tuh goal and score... one ah de best plays ever in intercol .If yuh ever get yuh hands on a video yuh will see wha we talking bout .
The fear factor of dem shuffling college league defenders hyped his exploits immensely. Two young defenders at the time Veron Skinner and Anton Serrette showed how to keep him quiet. Once revealed, his aura faded. It was at the end of the season, at PSA when the National youth team played Malvern youth team with Zebeda, lato, Stowe, Ingles and company He was exciting to watch though, when he was in full flight.
Post by: sub1 on May 14, 2009, 12:27:52 PM

The fear factor of dem shuffling college league defenders hyped his exploits immensely. Two young defenders at the time Veron Skinner and Anton Serrette showed how to keep him quiet. Once revealed, his aura faded. It was at the end of the season, at PSA when the National youth team played Malvern youth team with Zebeda, lato, Stowe, Ingles and company He was exciting to watch though, when he was in full flight.
and that is where it ends. At school level he was a monster along with strike partner ( eric or denzil?) White. The Germans turned him into nothing at the oval. Never heard from him again. Sometimes I think we have a little jamaican blood in us. We tend to overhype players, who in the grand scheme of things, are really quite ordinary.

BTW Doc are you doing anything administrative football-wise back home? Are you with Tobago UTD? IF not are you interrested in buying this oufit?
Post by: jai john on May 14, 2009, 12:47:53 PM
To comment on the question I would have to say latapy. I think it will even be more exciting to watch Latapy on de bench than this bunch we have on the field.
We really dont have the characters of yesteryear...the ones who could get and keep your attention even before the game started.
Who could forget Earl" spiderman" Carter who would warm up in one outfit...catspring and all ...then pull off his tracksuit to reveal one of a different colour...and doh kick nothing sorf by Spidey or you woudda get ah " Who throw dat ball " .
Then there was Leroy Spann( Silvio's father )  ...it was a case of who getting de spanner tonight !...it was outside, inside, anyside ..yuh run een you coulda get it !...
Ron La playing in PSA for defense force against Caroni one night shared so much beat ..he was calling men for more by de corner flag ..and no one wanted the ball !
Jughead will go down as minor league Starboy par excellence !!! There wasn't a minor league that men din know Jughead. Then it wasn't go Stabbi ..it was go Juggie !!!
Exciting now has different meaning ....men kyah trap, pass nor shoot so if it have exciting I just eh seeing it or doh understand what it means anymore.
Post by: Weh-it-is on May 14, 2009, 01:07:49 PM
Latas, Dufley,Clint Marcell, Colin Rocke, Arnold, Marvin Fustin, Marvin Oliver Plus ah bunch ah men who I grow up with in Santa Cruz that people never hear about.  ;D
Post by: palos on May 14, 2009, 01:21:06 PM

Emma ,boss midfielder, unfortunately he brain start plaing trick on him and he went orf .

Emerson Dubisson.  An even better FOOTBALLER dan Clauzel.  He was scary good.  Played for a while in Arthur Suite Pro League in PSA and den "went orf".  Sad.  Big Big Balla doh.

Eric "Ole Man" White and he brother Denzil, plus Wendell "Tractor" Belgrave makde dat Mucurapo team de best SSFL XI I ever see.

Ah hear bout Peter Mitchell and his Sando Tech crew as well as of course de Benedicts crew wit Archie and Dilly dem but me enever see dem so I cyah say.

Latas and Leonson Sando Tech posse was wicked.  Signal Hill wit Yorkie, Frankie Mohammed, Colvin Hutchinson etc was probably de 2nd best I ever see.  John D wit Peter Loobie, Alan "Peru" Anderson, John Castellano....big side.
Post by: nnyman18 on May 14, 2009, 01:36:02 PM
Yes man Berris and Palos Emerson Dubisson is the brother nuff men use to say he help create Clauzel. Ah cah believe ah forget Larry Joseph back in de day with me alma mater Pres Sando
Post by: palos on May 14, 2009, 01:42:25 PM
Jughead will go down as minor league Starboy par excellence !!! There wasn't a minor league that men din know Jughead. Then it wasn't go Stabbi ..it was go Juggie !!!

Elliot Alleyne (Simeon Road Ball Players) was a nex Minor League CHAMP.  He was KING in de Diego and Valley Leagues.  Juggie came right after.

Den of course yuh have Hardest who is probably de biggest Minor League / Passa Passa champ of dem all.
Post by: Marcos on May 14, 2009, 01:55:57 PM

I see Shaka prevent us from getting like 10 from Mexico (in Mexico) and the same for Costa Rica in Costa Rica (a time they hit us 3 and if not for Shaka's heroics it coulda been double digits)....Shaka against Sweded in WC '06 could probably go down as the single best individual performance in a T&T shirt too...

He was big in the Sweden game but you real exaggerating
Post by: kicker on May 14, 2009, 02:01:05 PM

lol then gimme a bigger individual performance for T&T in a competitive game..
Post by: Deeks on May 14, 2009, 02:04:01 PM
This is a real argument site. For one of the best minor league I have seen is a guy from Cocrite name Junior Ifill. He did play for Police later. College ball, there were so many. All the guys from 68/68/70. Peter Mitchell is one of the best I have seen and played against. Fustration with football was his demise. Southmen can elaborate on that some more. Goal keepers. Trevor, Danny Williams, Figeroux, Barclay, Carter, Granville.
Post by: Deeks on May 14, 2009, 02:10:53 PM
Ok and Shaka off course. Not because of the WC. At Howard, he was magnificiant. He carried Howard to the NCAA championship final.
Post by: saga pinto on May 14, 2009, 02:13:29 PM
Allyuh remember the green machine midfielder back in the very late 70's to early 80's his name is matamoro,plus we could sure do with john ned as a defender for T&T right now......

What about the Clark Bros from st james,  the les pierre Bros from woodbrook,here's a dribbler for allyuh my teamate from tranquill Noel Nurse (aka callitt)
Post by: arrow on May 14, 2009, 03:15:54 PM
If yuh want to see excitement just keep your eyes fix on Aklie Edwards and yuh bound to see goals score
Post by: davidephraim on May 14, 2009, 05:55:11 PM
If yuh want to see excitement just keep your eyes fix on Aklie Edwards and yuh bound to see goals score
;) ;) :D

Post by: lefty on May 14, 2009, 06:14:25 PM

u not easy nah ::) :o :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: ;D
Post by: jai john on May 14, 2009, 07:21:54 PM

strange and all joke aside I really feel that this young player can make it big. I'll tell you why ...he has a good touch..I hope I dont have to expalin dat ...
He carries the ball well at his feet ...head well over and perfectly balanced. He is not afraid, like keon Daniel who is even more skillful, to take on opposing players .
ok he is naive in defense and is not really noted for his tackling ...but his anticipation is good ...if you ever wanted to make a case for a player in the wrong position it is Akiel Edwards.
Why are we trying to make him a defender when he might be more suited to being a flanking midfielder eludes me ?
..just my view but i would not be surprised if some big club sees these very qualities and at his age is willing to take a chance with him.
Time will tell
Post by: vb on May 14, 2009, 07:51:30 PM
So many names, where does one start, where does one end?

But allyuh calling men from minor league football???

That I have seen......Clint Marcelle, Lobo Joseph, Maurice Alibey, Ron La Forest, Leonson Lewis, Yorke, Latas, Jughead.

Today......Latas, Carlos Edwards and Cornell Glenn.

Honorable mention.....M. Faustin and Hutson Charles.

Two defenders who I always liked, Ainsley Weekes and Brian Williams.

Heard a lot of V. Skinner but never saw a lot of him.
Likewise Bomber Theodore...RIP.

Peace,
Post by: Arazi on May 14, 2009, 07:59:17 PM

strange and all joke aside I really feel that this young player can make it big. I'll tell you why ...he has a good touch..I hope I dont have to expalin dat ...
He carries the ball well at his feet ...head well over and perfectly balanced. He is not afraid, like keon Daniel who is even more skillful, to take on opposing players .
ok he is naive in defense and is not really noted for his tackling ...but his anticipation is good ...if you ever wanted to make a case for a player in the wrong position it is Akiel Edwards.
Why are we trying to make him a defender when he might be more suited to being a flanking midfielder eludes me ?
..just my view but i would not be surprised if some big club sees these very qualities and at his age is willing to take a chance with him.
Time will tell

i think he is naturally a left mide=fieder for his club defence force..i might be wrong...

but back to the topic..clint marcelle, dwarika and latapy...
Post by: just cool on May 14, 2009, 09:51:29 PM
But funny thing though , clauzel cut his dread and went into the army even before i left T&T.

i'm sure he played ah few games for the army and should've been selected for the national team.  who know's , maybe there is a clip of him floating around somewhere.

as for him not getting selected for national duty after he cut his dreads and joined the army, i will take an educated guess and say , someone who thinks he's the king of football in T&T probably didn't like clauzel BC he was from behind the bridge and a former rasta.

probably that someone put the brakes on him! BTW, was alvin the coach of T&T before gally? ;)
Post by: Big Magician on May 14, 2009, 10:54:44 PM
wait nah...this thread still going on ???... this shoulda stop with the first post

Post by: nnyman18 on May 14, 2009, 11:40:25 PM
But funny thing though , clauzel cut his dread and went into the army even before i left T&T.

i'm sure he played ah few games for the army and should've been selected for the national team.  who know's , maybe there is a clip of him floating around somewhere.

as for him not getting selected for national duty after he cut his dreads and joined the army, i will take an educated guess and say , someone who thinks he's the king of football in T&T probably didn't like clauzel BC he was from behind the bridge and a former rasta.

probably that someone put the brakes on him! BTW, was alvin the coach of T&T before gally? ;)

Alvin was coach before Gally Just cool ah didn't want to be the bearer ah tha news but beep beep correct is right. Yuh nailed it on the head. All them years he put it on fatima didn't help he case either. yuh know who was coaching Fatima then too right ;)
Post by: elan on May 14, 2009, 11:54:34 PM

Time will tell

Anyone have tapes of the games he play again cause I miss a lot.
Post by: Babalawo on May 15, 2009, 01:57:30 AM
Evans Wise on the left side and Jerron Nixon up front for me :beermug:
Post by: fordy on May 15, 2009, 07:30:35 AM
ah see men call Chet...lol big player...and zane...nice call...elliot alleyne was a nice shout too.

but for me it had a bunch of players, unfortunately you dont see that level of skill from our youth players nowadays...not sure why...anyhow i will start my list.

obviously latas is number one...after him: miguel mitchell, marlon minguel, lumbo (Weh-it-is ah see yuh big up santa cruz...if yuh is ah true Cruz man yuh shud know this youth...went to Trinity College...youth was ridiculous), evans wise, ricky aleong, ivan sampson, sherwood, nixon, kona, clint marseille, clauzel, sheldon bennett, dwarika, hardest, jughead, raeburn, tiger, rhett mitchell, wesley webb, stern, dwight, carlos, gabre cummings (cud ah beat but it was a wrap after that), adrian narine, rahim, checky, kevin and brendon moze, lewis from belmont sec, kwame from eldo, jason sealy, kevin barrow, kevin crooks!!!!

ah call some names of some players who when given d ball is just magical instincts you will witness!!! Just my opinion!! :beermug:
Post by: Marcos on May 15, 2009, 08:27:06 AM

Latas against Guatemala home leg in the last Hex.
Stern against Mexico, last game of the last Hex.
Dwarikah against St Vincent Shell Cup 1995 (I think)
Latas against Norway in the Oval 1995 (not competitive tho')
Nakhid against Martinique in the Oval
Latas against Paraguay WC06

seems like we used to play a lot better back in the day

PS Maurice Alibey...tv ad back in the day playing with the yellow and red shell cup ball. Cyah remember what he was advertising
Post by: kicker on May 15, 2009, 08:40:51 AM

Latas against Guatemala home leg in the last Hex.....nah
Stern against Mexico, last game of the last Hex....Ok I'll give this a bligh
Dwarikah against St Vincent Shell Cup 1995 (I think)...St Vincent? come on now....
Latas against Norway in the Oval 1995 (not competitive tho')...yeah didn't see this game- heard it was massive but as you say not competitive..Nakhid against Martinique in the Oval....Martinique? come on now
Latas against Paraguay WC06....arguable...but not conviced

seems like we used to play a lot better back in the day

PS Maurice Alibey...tv ad back in the day playing with the yellow and red shell cup ball. Cyah remember what he was advertising

LOL @ Alibey  ;D
Post by: football king on May 15, 2009, 09:27:43 AM
One man in my opinion that could do everything with a football was Marlon'Brady' Wiltshire.
Post by: vb on May 15, 2009, 09:35:00 AM
So many names, where does one start, where does one end?

But allyuh calling men from minor league football???

That I have seen......Clint Marcelle, Lobo Joseph, Maurice Alibey, Ron La Forest, Leonson Lewis, Yorke, Latas, Jughead.

Today......Latas, Carlos Edwards and Cornell Glenn.

Honorable mention.....M. Faustin and Hutson Charles.

Two defenders who I always liked, Ainsley Weekes and Brian Williams.

Heard a lot of V. Skinner but never saw a lot of him.
Likewise Bomber Theodore...RIP.

Peace,

How I forget Jerron Nixon boy.
From what I have heard Wise was deadly in his day. But what I saw at the Wc wasn't a big deal. but I understand that he was older.

Post by: football king on May 15, 2009, 09:41:27 AM
wise used to share some beat in truth when yuh playing them it was expected, wise one side, mitchell on the other, didn't wanna be a wing back playing vs St. Anthony's at all. 
Post by: palos on May 15, 2009, 10:30:31 AM
wise used to share some beat in truth when yuh playing them it was expected, wise one side, mitchell on the other, didn't wanna be a wing back playing vs St. Anthony's at all. 

De most beat I see Wise share was in MLS wit de Tampa Bay team ah tink it was.  He used to embarass defenders for fun but couldn't cross or shoot to save he life.  But talk bout ENTERTAINING!  De commentators did love him.
Post by: football king on May 15, 2009, 10:42:30 AM
So he was in truth just for the heck of it, man would beat yuh then stop wait beat yuh again was ridiculous, doubt it have a north zone player that could say wise never beat him.
Post by: Coop's on May 15, 2009, 11:10:08 AM

Just Cool i'm not trying to be funny or anything here but may be i missed out on this in DF Football history,i never knew Clauzel was at one time in DF,what years?who did he play with?who was the Coach at that time?how long did he spend there?i think i know enough of the history of DF Football and should know something about this,i never heard anyone talk about him in DF.
        I had the opportunity to coach Clauzel when Motown brought him to play with ECM in the Arthur Suite Pro League,it was difficult for him to get a regular starting/playing position on the team because of the quality of players i had,although he was very skillful he could not handle it when the game got physical and i think that's where the line was drawn when we look at him in terms of being on a national team,Eric White was also playing for me at that same time. 
Post by: CK1 on May 15, 2009, 11:26:55 AM
nnyman18-; I threw out a name earlier Renwrick Jones (Jonsie) played with Peterboro; Maple; ASL also a legend in Brooklyn. I'll give one more Trevor "Masters" James played with Mucarapo then John D and Maple.
Post by: 7 blessings on May 15, 2009, 11:52:45 AM
All time:
Latapy, Dwarika, Yorkie,

One hit wonders:
Brent Rahim when he had just break unto the scene (dat man had real potential)

Right now:
Jaggy,
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on May 15, 2009, 12:15:18 PM

De most beat I see Wise share was in MLS wit de Tampa Bay team ah tink it was.  He used to embarass defenders for fun but couldn't cross or shoot to save he life.  But talk bout ENTERTAINING!  De commentators did love him.

I could top dat, ah game he play fuh de Revs oh gawd da man share beats.  Ah fuhget who de Revs was playin eh, but at one point de man on de touch line and beat 3 man who circle him like cohbow rong dead meat.  After he beat dem he put een probably de bess cross ah he life and deh score.  every touch he get afta dat was mash up blade in he ass.

Because I went St. Anthony's in that time I had ah up close view sweatin lunch time wid dem fellas.  Between he and Miguel it was embarrassment fuh days
Post by: just cool on May 15, 2009, 03:18:42 PM
nnyman18-; I threw out a name earlier Renwrick Jones (Jonsie) played with Peterboro; Maple; ASL also a legend in Brooklyn. I'll give one more Trevor "Masters" James played with Mucarapo then John D and Maple.

MASTERS!! one of the bredders i grew up wid. he's from lastic street adjacent to quarry st.

wasn't masters a HM, i never knew him to be a creative player though he's one of the best players tuh pass through T&T, he was also a corneal prodigy, him and lincoln bains. those guys traveled with corneal all over the world, the last i heard of him he went to uni in florida on a football scholarship.

but yeh , one of the better players in T&T.
Post by: just cool on May 15, 2009, 03:30:10 PM

Just Cool i'm not trying to be funny or anything here but may be i missed out on this in DF Football history,i never knew Clauzel was at one time in DF,what years?who did he play with?who was the Coach at that time?how long did he spend there?i think i know enough of the history of DF Football and should know something about this,i never heard anyone talk about him in DF.
        I had the opportunity to coach Clauzel when Motown brought him to play with ECM in the Arthur Suite Pro League,it was difficult for him to get a regular starting/playing position on the team because of the quality of players i had,although he was very skillful he could not handle it when the game got physical and i think that's where the line was drawn when we look at him in terms of being on a national team,Eric White was also playing for me at that same time. 
Hear meh now coop. i never said the man played for defence force, but rather , he cut his dreads and became a soldier just before i left trini.

i only assumed he played for them since he was such ah telented player and defence force would want to take advantage of the opportunity to have him play for them.

so in all honesty i'm not sure if he was or wasn't on the team, but what i do know is he was indeed in the army and he was still playing ball when i left T&T.
Post by: Coop's on May 15, 2009, 04:14:01 PM

Hear meh now coop. i never said the man played for defence force, but rather , he cut his dreads and became a soldier just before i left trini.

i only assumed he played for them since he was such ah telented player and defence force would want to take advantage of the opportunity to have him play for them.

so in all honesty i'm not sure if he was or wasn't on the team, but what i do know is he was indeed in the army and he was still playing ball when i left T&T.
        Thanks Breds,just thought i missed something,i'm not on the put down anybody scene,i hear yu.
Post by: Observer on May 15, 2009, 04:33:41 PM
I'll throw out some names. Not thrown around on the thread.

Sammy Llewyn, Leroy DeLeon, Clebert Leonnard, Richard Sutherland, Brian John, Wendell Moore
Leroy Spann, Leonson Lewis, Nigel Clark
Post by: takenoprisoners on May 15, 2009, 04:43:48 PM

Sammy Llewyn, Leroy DeLeon, Clebert Leonnard, Richard Sutherland, Brian John, Wendell Moore

De Leon was one of the most feared mid-fielders in the NASL. :beermug:
Nobody mention Gally, like he kill priest.  ::)
Post by: Coop's on May 15, 2009, 04:45:22 PM

If i was to name any one player as exciting to watch i would say Bert Neptune without a doubt,all the players called so far not in Berta's class as a dribbler,what makes him stand out is that he dribbleled the same way at any level and was successful with it.
Post by: palos on May 15, 2009, 05:06:36 PM

If i was to name any one player as exciting to watch i would say Bert Neptune without a doubt,all the players called so far not in Berta's class as a dribbler,what makes him stand out is that he dribbleled the same way at any level and was successful with it.

Berta was excellent but come on.

Berta a better dribbler than Latas?  De Leon?  Spann?  Sammy?  Clauzel?  Evans Wise even?  Come Coop's...you know better dan dat.
Post by: Pointman on May 15, 2009, 05:08:08 PM
LeRoy De Leon and Warren Archiebald

In recent times Dwght Yorke and Russell Latapy

Right now...not one ass playing exciting football.
Post by: Observer on May 15, 2009, 05:20:45 PM

Berta a better dribbler than Latas?  De Leon?  Spann?  Sammy?  Clauzel?  Evans Wise even?  Come Coop's...you know better dan dat.

Palos I eh know nah. I eh know how I forget Berta. He was an amazing dribbler not just in the league football but International games as well. I played with both Spanner and Berta, so I watch dem on the original HD  ;D

He was certainly a better and more effective dribbler than Wise, Clauzel, Spanner and Sammy in my books
Post by: soccerman on May 15, 2009, 05:21:00 PM
"Ducking".....dat man coulda beat man, pelt blade and had speed for days. I think he played for Jon D and Pres. south.
Post by: Tallman on May 15, 2009, 07:10:27 PM
"Ducking".....dat man coulda beat man, pelt blade and had speed for days. I think he played for Jon D and Pres. south.
Steups. All dat man had going fuh him was two banga calves  :devil:.
Post by: Deeks on May 15, 2009, 07:23:26 PM
Yes Sammy and Bertha off course. I had the pleasure off playing with Sammy and the man was phenomenal at club level. And he was super at international level. I did not see much of Bertha. What little I saw was real exciting. I think he did play for the Caribbean team coached by Alvin. After his injury, everything went downhill for him. His case is one of the saddest for any sportsman who represented TT and caribbean football
Post by: berris on May 15, 2009, 09:23:32 PM

Nah boy Palos,Berta was trouble and din just use tuh beat with yuh dribble but had ah shake that was poison ..Berta really wasn't easy ,I eh know how I forget him .
Post by: just cool on May 15, 2009, 10:25:48 PM

Thanks Breds,just thought i missed something,i'm not on the put down anybody scene,i hear yu.
yuh preaching tuh the chior coop, I of all ppl should know that BC of the way yuh deal wid i, and it's always very respectful. it eh no scene bredder, yuhs one of the few big men it have and the board and it shows.

every thing curry man. it's ah cool scene.   :beermug:           positive.
Post by: fordy on May 16, 2009, 10:36:33 AM

I could top dat, ah game he play fuh de Revs oh gawd da man share beats.  Ah fuhget who de Revs was playin eh, but at one point de man on de touch line and beat 3 man who circle him like cohbow rong dead meat.  After he beat dem he put een probably de bess cross ah he life and deh score.  every touch he get afta dat was mash up blade in he ass.

Because I went St. Anthony's in that time I had ah up close view sweatin lunch time wid dem fellas.  Between he and Miguel it was embarrassment fuh days

here how feared wise was. i went on a try outs with a school in florida and wise was still at tampa bay. so i talking to some of d players on d team so ah big african american ask me where i was from, cause he here my accent. i told him im from trinidad and tobago. he said wey....u know dat fella....evans wise? ah say yeh y? he say i met him some months ago. we had a practice game against d mutiny and i had to mark dat fella. after the first drag through my leg he start talking to me...dats how i recognise yuh accent. then i decide my girl in d stands and i not allowing this fella to embarass me like this so i going and hit him hard. LOL...soldier say d harder he try to hit wise de more beat and more embarassed he became...cause everybody in d stadium start to laugh...he say he swear he gyal was laughing too. by the end of d game..there were 3 players trying to mark wise and is level beat for all. soldier say that was d most skillful display of football he ever saw. he had nightmares after dat game for a while...to d point d next two games he played he cudnt share blade like he wud normally do because he was scared that d striker wud do to him wat wise did. eventually he realised dat wise was a one in a kind dribbler and nobody else will do dat to him....i nearly dead with laugh when i hear this story!!!

needless to say because of wise i had my way with d same defender for d tryouts!!! LOL! :beermug:
Post by: College on May 16, 2009, 10:58:11 AM

here how feared wise was. i went on a try outs with a school in florida and wise was still at tampa bay. so i talking to some of d players on d team so ah big african american ask me where i was from, cause he here my accent. i told him im from trinidad and tobago. he said wey....u know dat fella....evans wise? ah say yeh y? he say i met him some months ago. we had a practice game against d mutiny and i had to mark dat fella. after the first drag through my leg he start talking to me...dats how i recognise yuh accent. then i decide my girl in d stands and i not allowing this fella to embarass me like this so i going and hit him hard. LOL...soldier say d harder he try to hit wise de more beat and more embarassed he became...cause everybody in d stadium start to laugh...he say he swear he gyal was laughing too. by the end of d game..there were 3 players trying to mark wise and is level beat for all. soldier say that was d most skillful display of football he ever saw. he had nightmares after dat game for a while...to d point d next two games he played he cudnt share blade like he wud normally do because he was scared that d striker wud do to him wat wise did. eventually he realised dat wise was a one in a kind dribbler and nobody else will do dat to him....i nearly dead with laugh when i hear this story!!!

needless to say because of wise i had my way with d same defender for d tryouts!!! LOL! :beermug:

For the purpose ot this thread he was exciting. At the higher level, he would beat and go nowhere...

Wise mainly had a really really really good rolly-polly. He was crazy wit the ball on the sole of his feet, nice to watch but will turn around and make a bad cross . ... :(
Post by: jai john on May 16, 2009, 01:58:12 PM
Ok I was thinking only nationals ....but if is minor league I really have to apologize for leaving out " Spanner George " from St Francois Nationals ...and ah sure it eh have ah defender in the north zone who din get a spanner or something similar from George !
Post by: nnyman18 on May 18, 2009, 03:58:35 AM
I think some men getting confused between exciting and very good players. It seem there are quite a few players mentioned who are exceptional players but far from exciting
Post by: Bourbon on May 18, 2009, 07:52:08 AM
So after reading dis thread and ting..de question enter my mind.....

How come for all dis so called flair and natural skill we have.....we scrunting for creative options on de senior team...and always looking for the next latapy?

I must be starting to sound like palos now.
Post by: football king on May 18, 2009, 08:30:40 AM
Almost forget one of the most exciting dribblers Grimes from Eldo he was sick with it.  He coulds shake a man , used to move he hands all over all kinda antics.  Grimes was bad.
Post by: Weh-it-is on May 18, 2009, 10:22:18 AM
Jerad Nixon. How can we forget him.  The man who invented the drag or perfected the art.   :heehee:
Post by: Pointman on May 19, 2009, 12:28:39 PM

Yea son, Evans was no joke dribbling wise(no pun intended) but he reminds me of ah Trini version of Denilson...dribble,dribble dribble and not much finishing.
Post by: dreamer on May 19, 2009, 12:52:50 PM
Leonson, Latas, Marcelle, Jughead, Stern, Cornell, Nixon
Most exciting: Leonson just pippin' Latas.
Post by: jai john on May 19, 2009, 07:48:05 PM
Funny how is only long ago players we could talk bout eh ? nothing in de mix dese days !!! why is that ..maybe another thread ???
Post by: College on May 19, 2009, 08:24:56 PM
Already mention Sheldon Bennett at youth level.

At big man level its a photo finish between Marcelle and Leonson...ah have to give it to Leonson because of the big games he played in ..and  besides, what else can be more exciting than 21 goals in 30 games for T&T?