Sports => Football => Topic started by: Touches on May 27, 2009, 06:59:36 AM

Title: Trinidad vendors "snubbed" for Tobago World Cup Qualifier
Post by: Touches on May 27, 2009, 06:59:36 AM
Source: TT express page 19

Joel Julien
jjulien@trinidadexpress.com

TRINIDAD vendors are being blocked from plying their trade during next month's World Cup qualifier scheduled to be held in Tobago, a popular nuts man has claimed.

Kenrick Thomas, 50 known locally by his sobriquet "Allyuh buy nuts from meh nah", says the Trinidadian vendors are not being granted a "huckster pass" from the Local Organising Committee.

According to Thomas, Trinidadian vendors were on Monday told by accreditation officials of the Local Organising Committee for the 2010 World Cup that "the venue was too small to accommodate both Trinidadian and Tobagonian vendors"

On June 6, Trinidad and Tobago's senior football squad is scheduled to play Costa Rica in a World Cup Qualifying game at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago.

And in order for vendors to legally ply their trade inside the stadium, they must first be accredited by the LOC. But Trinidadian Thomas said vendors are not being accredited because of the size constraints at the sister isle's lone stadium. Instead, they are being advised to ply their trade outside the stadium while their Tobagonian counterparts have been given preference to operate inside the stadium.

The Dwight Yorke Stadium, named after the country's current Tobago-born team captain has a capacity of just 7,500 compared to the 22,500 seater Hasely Crawford Stadium, where national team games are traditionally played.

Thomas, who has been a nuts man for over 15 years, said it was the first time he has ever been faced with an issue like this. He said he had no problem with the sister isle's vendors getting the go-ahead in front of their Trinidadian counterparts, but was aggrieved because Tobago has no known nuts men and this was therefore depriving spectators.

"Tobago have no nuts men. I could understand if they say Tobago have two nuts men and they want to make a dollar, but Tobago have no nuts men," Thomas said.

Because of the restrictions, Thomas said he would be missing out on some $3,000 that he usually makes in World Cup qualifying matches. "This only leaving people the option of doing the wrong thing, taking a different route to be able to sell," Thomas said.

The Express yesterday made several unsuccessful attempts to contact the accreditation officer of the Local Organising Committee.
Title: Re: Trinidad vendors "snubbed" for Tobago World Cup Qualifier
Post by: doc on May 27, 2009, 07:06:47 AM

"Tobago have no nuts men. I could understand if they say Tobago have two nuts men and they want to make a dollar, but Tobago have no nuts men," Thomas said.

This Thomas dude doesn't knowwhat he talking about.  :-X
Post by: sweetiepaper on May 27, 2009, 07:12:48 AM

No scene, we go suck benaballs  :rotfl:
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 27, 2009, 07:19:00 AM

there is this guy on the boat who says "somebody call" somebodyyyyyyyyy  :rotfl:
Post by: D.H.W on May 27, 2009, 07:42:44 AM
stueps, suck salt
Post by: sammy on May 27, 2009, 07:55:07 AM
Thomas, 50? me eh know he so old.
Post by: Rastaman on May 27, 2009, 08:08:38 AM
Oh gosh ... alyuh let we tobago peeps a bly nah

You feel I could get a pass to sell benaball in the HCS  :devil:
Post by: mukumsplau on May 27, 2009, 08:31:12 AM
let d bagonians make ah monies nuh everybody hadda eat
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on May 27, 2009, 09:13:56 AM
Da nuts man make heself song like ah rell fool oui.  The event is in Tobago and therefore Tobago vendors should get first preference.  Given the size of the venue I can't see how they would accomodate many vendors anyhow
Post by: Socapro on May 27, 2009, 09:51:49 AM

Hey Doc, I also find that hard to believe!

Can you do some checks and confirm that there will not be even one Tobago born nuts man at the stadium?!

If so then I think you Doc should apply for the job!!
Post by: sub1 on May 27, 2009, 09:58:24 AM
let d bagonians make ah monies nuh everybody hadda eat

The Tobago Loc is quite right and in order.
Post by: kicker on May 27, 2009, 10:43:36 AM
Toolum & beneballs in allyuh tail...
Post by: dinho on May 27, 2009, 10:44:37 AM

if they pelt that and it miss, man could get buss head in de stadium yes...
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on May 27, 2009, 10:47:44 AM

ent :rotfl:
Post by: kicker on May 27, 2009, 10:53:31 AM

normal...
Post by: Big Magician on May 27, 2009, 11:39:19 AM
Tobago buy nuts from meh nah
Post by: Brownsugar on May 27, 2009, 11:56:30 AM
but was aggrieved because Tobago has no known nuts men and this was therefore depriving spectators.

Oh the poor spectators....what a tragedy.... :'(  ssssttteeeeuuuupppsss!!!!.....  ::) ::)

)
Post by: palos on May 27, 2009, 12:09:12 PM
but was aggrieved because Tobago has no known nuts men and this was therefore depriving spectators.

Oh the poor spectators....what a tragedy.... :'(  ssssttteeeeuuuupppsss!!!!.....  ::) ::)

Name one nuts vendor from Tobago nah... 8)
Post by: injunchile on May 27, 2009, 12:18:21 PM
I think I want to start selling nuts- 3grand just so- Fresh or salt
Post by: Gazza on May 27, 2009, 12:32:18 PM
who tell dat chupit man it aint have nuts venders in 2bago. i aint know deh name but it damn well have. leh he jus stay he arse in trnidad.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 27, 2009, 12:34:23 PM

Name one nuts vendor from Tobago nah... 8)

steups.... ;D
Post by: vb on May 27, 2009, 12:57:10 PM

The Dwight Yorke Stadium, named after the country's current Tobago-born team captain has a capacity of just 7,500 compared to the 22,500 seater Hasely Crawford Stadium, where national team games are traditionally played.

Why it is we having this game there again??

Post by: palos on May 27, 2009, 12:59:49 PM

De Crawfie currently undergoin renovations for the "caribbean games"
Post by: kaliman2006 on May 27, 2009, 02:52:36 PM
Kenrick Thomas, 50 known locally by his sobriquet "Allyuh buy nuts from meh nah", says the Trinidadian vendors are not being granted a "huckster pass" from the Local Organising Committee.

Damn, is years I eh see dat man.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 27, 2009, 03:17:08 PM
Doh geh it twisted, if ah was selling nuts fuh 15 yrs I too would be making a distinction between nuts men and known nuts men ...

Hahtuh be one ah de longest nicknames ever?
Post by: Tallman on May 27, 2009, 03:18:25 PM
Hahtuh be one ah de longest nicknames ever?

His rell nickname is Eddoes.
Post by: vb on May 27, 2009, 04:16:12 PM

And yet they never said that up front.

De Crawfie currently undergoin renovations for the "caribbean games"
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 27, 2009, 04:35:17 PM
Thomas, 50? me eh know he so old.
Dat man selling nuts since I in school. And I leave school a loooong time now.
Post by: Deeks on May 27, 2009, 04:49:45 PM
Lord, you mean to say we go split the unitary state because of peanuts??????!!!!!!!
Post by: weary1969 on May 27, 2009, 05:05:29 PM

Post by: Babalawo on May 27, 2009, 05:25:22 PM
thanks for the news. i was coming to sell some palourie
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 27, 2009, 05:38:37 PM
stueps, suck salt

What about if he suck fresh?
Post by: Touches on May 27, 2009, 05:42:22 PM
Yuh know what go salt he nuts even more...

If NUTS LANDING...get a hukster pass and land in Bago.

But under seriousness...name some Bago nutsmen nah. We have Thomas, Nuts Landing, Jumbo, Jeff, Mr. Ling Pong Wing. A Fat Chinee/Dougla Rasta...a next fella who does bawl out ...HOT NUUUTTSSS, and finally they used to have man who used to go SAAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLTTTT and fresh.

Post by: weary1969 on May 27, 2009, 05:45:01 PM
It have 2 b a very slow newsday if this make d papers. Walk wit yuh own nuts.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 27, 2009, 05:51:16 PM

Dais what ah wanted to post since earlier....walk with yuh own damn nuts...and as far as I know the men have a head start on the women where that is concerned.... ;D
Post by: weary1969 on May 27, 2009, 05:53:30 PM

Dais what ah wanted to post since earlier....walk with yuh own damn nuts...and as far as I know the men have a head start on the women where that is concerned.... ;D

OUCHHHHHHHHHHHH
Post by: Pointman on May 27, 2009, 11:59:35 PM
good for them. :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on May 28, 2009, 06:11:17 AM
stueps, suck salt

Post by: asylumseeker on May 28, 2009, 06:12:21 AM

OUCHHHHHHHHHHHH

whey yuh feel dat? :devil:
Post by: Weh-it-is on May 28, 2009, 07:56:24 AM

Doc ah bringing meh bag ah nuts and we go make ah monie right?  ;) 
Post by: Touches on June 08, 2009, 04:12:43 PM
So for all those who went to the game...alyuh see Thomas?

Alyuh buy nuts from him?  did you patronize the Tobago nuts men?

Or did you have a bene ball instead?

Post by: Michael-j on June 08, 2009, 04:20:42 PM

I was in covered stands and I can't recall seeing any nuts men at all at the match...not a single one. No beer men wid buckets either...The only mobile vendor I saw was the fellah who sells the flags and whistles...Maybe Thomas should have gotten a bligh...I woulda by nuts from he nah.
Post by: Touches on June 08, 2009, 04:29:15 PM
Hrmmmmm

and on here we doubted Thomas and his claim of Tobago having no nutsmen.....maybe the fella was correct after all. I mean he must know who his competition is.

Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on June 08, 2009, 04:33:36 PM
uncovered had no nuts man either...only had beers man and those were not passing as often as I needed
Post by: vb on June 08, 2009, 05:19:17 PM
NO NUTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And Tobago want to host a WC qualifier????

Post by: WestCoast on June 08, 2009, 05:21:57 PM
NO NUTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:-[

Post by: D.H.W on June 08, 2009, 05:29:49 PM
stueps, suck salt

lol :rotfl:
Post by: vb on June 08, 2009, 05:31:55 PM
NO NUTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:-[

They ban nuts men to protect men who doh sell nuts.

What next ban a doubles man to protect the nuts man??? ??? ???

Post by: Brownsugar on June 08, 2009, 05:34:52 PM

I was in covered stands and I can't recall seeing any nuts men at all at the match...not a single one. No beer men wid buckets either...The only mobile vendor I saw was the fellah who sells the flags and whistles...Maybe Thomas should have gotten a bligh...I woulda by nuts from he nah.

There was a guy selling beer in the uncovered stands....

However ah tell all yuh walk with all yuh own damn nuts next time...wha de arse, we studying to support de team not sit down to eat nuts steups!!... ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on June 08, 2009, 05:35:36 PM
uncovered had no nuts man either...only had beers man and those were not passing as often as I needed

Yuh leave de cooler outside??
Post by: Cocorite on June 08, 2009, 06:02:23 PM
NO NUTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Allyuh want to kill meh here oui. Ay, they might as well close down the whole stadium, boy.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on June 08, 2009, 06:03:50 PM

yeah only had glass bottles...so drank it after
Post by: Brownsugar on June 08, 2009, 06:05:45 PM

yeah only had glass bottles...so drank it after

Yeah I had that problem too....but I saw a man with a bottle of Johnny that he obviously snuck in....ah was jealous.... ;D
Post by: Babalawo on June 08, 2009, 06:14:50 PM
if Jumbo was living in tobago he would be a vagrant
Post by: vb on June 08, 2009, 06:31:48 PM
if Jumbo was living in tobago he would be a vagrant

Trinidad the land of opportunity.

Post by: Rastaman on June 08, 2009, 09:13:05 PM
Whey !!!!! So none ah alyuh ent see the nuts man.....

Yes there was anuts man in the stadium, in the uncovered section.... Men (and women) was too busy watching the game  ;D

But no I did not buy nuts from him   :o
Post by: weary1969 on June 08, 2009, 09:44:01 PM

Yes there was anuts man in the stadium, in the uncovered section.... Men (and women) was too busy watching the game  ;D

A pk was bought 4 me as d team came out so u know it went in d bag. Saw it sunday and it was staleeeeeeeeeee baddddddddddd
Post by: WestCoast on June 08, 2009, 09:51:20 PM
A pk was bought 4 me as d team came out so u know it went in d bag. Saw it sunday and it was staleeeeeeeeeee baddddddddddd
of course dem stale
day did come ALL the way from Trindad.........on de Panorama :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on June 08, 2009, 10:35:55 PM
of course dem stale

Yuh date yuhself wit dat Panorama. dat eh evn d news far less d boat.
Post by: WestCoast on June 08, 2009, 10:37:03 PM
of course dem stale

ah ress meh case ;D

buh wha bout this
http://www.tntisland.com/ferry.html  :D
Post by: weary1969 on June 08, 2009, 10:41:07 PM
of course dem stale

ah ress meh case ;D

buh wha bout this
http://www.tntisland.com/ferry.html  :D

I go inquire but I believe dat dem is cargo only at d moment. U know meh tbgo info good. It doh tire  :beermug: