Sports => Football => Topic started by: frico on May 27, 2009, 05:21:46 PM

Title: Hope USA win. - USA vs Costa Rica.
Post by: frico on May 27, 2009, 05:21:46 PM
I hope that USA keep winning all their matches so by the time they have to play us it wont matter  whether they win or lose.Who knows, they may even play us with a team of up and coming players,this may just give us a chance for 3 points.The USA do tend to do this from time to time but having said that, there seems to be some sort of revival in our football although its still left to be seen.I feel we would beat CR and get a draw in Mexico,I said before,when I have a good feeling about something the result is usually in my favour.
Title: Re: Hope USA win.
Post by: trinimuse on May 27, 2009, 05:36:21 PM
real chain up post boy ...
Post by: vb on May 27, 2009, 06:30:35 PM
TT get a draw at high altitude in Mexico?

Mexico must be lose one pt. at home in the last hex. We after years of cut arse at high alt. go get a draw there??

Maybe at a lower alt.

Post by: weary1969 on May 27, 2009, 06:39:33 PM
TT get a draw at high altitude in Mexico?

Mexico must be lose one pt. at home in the last hex. We after years of cut arse at high alt. go get a draw there??

Maybe at a lower alt.

Dreams are free y not have a big 1
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 27, 2009, 07:09:23 PM
yuh really livin up to yuh name.
Post by: frico on May 28, 2009, 08:22:24 AM
yuh really livin up to yuh name.
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D As somebody say dreams are free but sometimes they can come true.
Title: USA vs Costa Rica...wed 9:00 on espn2
Post by: Touches on June 02, 2009, 08:06:09 PM
Lewwe hope Latas and the whole team infront a tv watching this with a dvd recorder running.

Don't forget this mid-week WCQ game.

We want USA to win this.

Good scouting opportunity to see what we need to do.

I hope Flow bringing this.

U.S. Men’s National Team Training Camp Update
San Jose, Costa Rica
June 1, 2009

U.S. ARRIVES IN COSTA RICA FOR JUNE 3 QUALIFIER: The U.S. Men’s National Team will arrive in San Jose, Costa Rica, on Monday afternoon to continue preparations for this Wednesday’s FIFA World Cup qualifier at Estadio Ricardo Saprissa. The June 3 match will kick off at 8 p.m. MT live on ESPN and Galavision, with fans also able to follow ussoccer.com’s MatchTracker. The U.S. team will twice take to the turf at Saprissa to prepare for a Costa Rica side that is one point behind the U.S. in the CONCACAF final round table. Midfielder Maurice Edu will not travel due to a knee injury suffered in Rangers final league match on May 24 against Dundee that caused him to miss action last weekend. No decision has been made on if a replacement will be called in for Edu. All told, 24 players will travel to Costa Rica with training camp invitee Eric Lichaj included in the traveling party.

QUICK HITS
• Five players on the U.S. roster are carrying yellow cards into San Jose: Jozy Altidore, Michael Bradley, Clint Dempsey, Frankie Hejduk and Oguchi Onyewu. A caution for any of these players against Costa Rica would result in a one match suspension to be served June 6 against Honduras. Costa Rica enters the match with seven players on their roster carrying yellow cards—Ricardo Gonzalez, Junior Diaz, Michael Umana, Armando Alonso, Celso Borges, Esteban Granados and Bryan Ruiz.
• The U.S. is 9-1-1 in qualifying so far this cycle, with the one loss coming in the last game of the semifinal round in Trinidad & Tobago after clinching a spot in the final six.
• Costa Rica enters the game also 9-1-1 in qualifying, winning four of their last five.
• The U.S. is playing its second away game of the 2010 final round campaign after tying 2-2 in El Salvador on March 28 in San Salvador.
• The U.S. has a lifetime record of 11-10-5 against Costa Rica, but has never won on the road and holds a 0-6-1 record in qualifying in Costa Rica. In their last 10 meetings, the U.S. holds a 5-3-2 advantage against the Ticos, with all five wins coming in the U.S. and all three losses coming in San Jose, Costa Rica.
• Six players on the current roster started in the last match in Costa Rica, a 3-0 loss in World Cup qualifying on Oct. 8, 2005, on the artificial turf at Saprissa: Tim Howard, Onyewu, Carlos Bocanegra, DaMarcus Beasley, Pablo Mastroeni and Brian Ching. Danny Califf was on the roster but did not play.
• Of the current pool of players, Landon Donovan leads the team with 28 World Cup qualifying caps. He’s chasing the trio of Eddie Pope, Kasey Keller and Claudio Reyna, all tied for the lead in World Cup qualifying with 32 international appearances.
• Overall, Donovan leads the roster with 108 international appearances.
• In the last game against Trinidad & Tobago, the 19 year old Altidore scored the third U.S. hat trick in FIFA World Cup qualifying, with all three goals coming off assists from Donovan.
• Altidore is now the leading U.S. goal scorer of this FIFA World Cup qualifying cycle with five goals in six appearances. Ching, Dempsey and Bradley are all tied for second on the U.S. squad with four each.
• The three assists put Donovan’s U.S. all-time leading total to 36. The next closest on this roster is Beasley with 12 assists.
• Dempsey recorded two game-winning goals in FIFA World Cup qualifying last year—against Barbados on June 15 in Carson, Calif., and in a 1-0 win on Sept. 6 in Cuba. With his next appearance, Dempsey will have earned 50 caps for the United States.
• Michael Bradley also has two game-winning goals in 2010 qualifying, striking against Trinidad & Tobago on Sept. 10, 2008, and Feb. 11, 2009, against Mexico.
• Beasley (Oct. 11 against Cuba), Bocanegra (Aug. 20 against Guatemala) and Altidore (April 1 against Trinidad & Tobago) are the other players on the roster with game-winners in 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying.
• Beasley has played a team-leading 822 minutes so far out of a possible 990 in World Cup qualifying (83 percent of all possible minutes)—quite impressive considering he is just over one year removed from a six-month injury layoff due to a torn PCL in his right knee.
• Beasley, Bradley and Heath Pearce all are tied with nine starts in the 2010 cycle
• Bob Bradley’s men are also on a five-game streak of scoring multiple goals, with four of those games qualifiers. It’s the first time the U.S. has scored multiple goals in four consecutive World Cup Qualifiers, besting the previous record of three that was set three times.
• Counting the friendly against Sweden in January, it is the third time in history that the U.S. men have scored multiple goals in five consecutive games. This is the second time the team has achieved this feat under Bradley, the only coach to lead the team through two such streaks.
• By scoring a hat trick on Jan. 24 against Sweden, Sacha Kljestan became only the second player in U.S. history to score his first three goals in the same game. The first was Aldo “Buff” Donelli, who tallied four goals in a 4-2 victory against Mexico on May 24, 1934, in the lone qualifying match for the 1934 FIFA World Cup in Italy.
• This is the second FIFA World Cup Qualifying cycle in a row that the U.S. has only met Costa Rica in the final round of qualifying. In 2005 the teams split the results by holding serve at home on their road to Germany 2006. The two cycles before that (’98 and ’02) saw the two sides face off both in the semifinal and final rounds for a total of eight games in five years, with the U.S. posting a 3-4-1 record.

ROSTER BREAKDOWN
Average Age: 25                                             
Average Caps: 31
Most Caps: 108 (Landon Donovan)
Least Caps: 2 (Mavell Wynne)
Oldest: 34 (Frankie Hejduk)
Youngest: 19 (Jozy Altidore)
Play professionally in: USA (7), England (5), Germany (2), France (2), Denmark (2), Sweden (1), Belgium (1), Mexico (1), Scotland (1), Spain (1)

WHY ON THIS NIGHT?: The USA-Costa Rica match is the only FIFA World Cup qualifier in the world being played on June 3. The match originally scheduled for June 10 was moved up by FIFA due to the USA’s participation in the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup. The U.S. will have one day less of rest, with just two days off before facing Honduras on June 6 in Chicago. The team departs June 8 for South Africa.

HEAVY DUTY: The shortened schedule is not the only challenge for the U.S. team. With nearly half of the U.S. roster playing in club matches on the weekend, players could be forced to play three matches in eight days. Throw in both cross-country and international travel, and man-management becomes a major factor for the coaching staff.

Date    Player    Location    Minutes
May 30    Carlos Bocanegra    Marseilles    90 minutes in 4-0 loss @ Marseilles
May 30    Brian Ching    Houston    81 minutes in a 3-0 win vs. Toronto
May 30    Landon Donovan    Los Angeles    90 minutes in 1-1 tie vs. Kansas City
May 30    Tim Howard    London    90 minutes in 2-1 loss to Chelsea
May 30    Pablo Mastroeni    New Jersey    90 minutes in 3-2 loss @ New York
May 30    Marvell Wynne    Houston    90 minutes in 3-0 loss @ Houston
May 31    Danny Califf    Brondby    90 minutes in 4-2 win @ Brondby
May 31    Benny Feilhaber    Vejle    90 minutes in 2-1 loss @ Vejle
May 31    Jose Francisco Torres    Pachuca    48 minutes in 2-2 draw with Pumas

CARRYING CHAMPIONSHIPS INTO CAMP: Two members of the roster won league championships in Europe this season. Oguchi Onyewu and Standard de Liege won their second Belgium title in a row after a harrowing two match playoff with Anderlecht, winning 2-1 on aggregate. Meanwhile in Scotland, DaMarcus Beasley helped Rangers capture their 52nd Scottish League title. A week later, they collected their second trophy of the season when a 1-0 victory against Falkirk in the FA Cup final handed Rangers the Scottish ‘double’.

SUCCESS IS RELATIVE: On the other end of the spectrum, Michael Bradley helped Borussia Mönchengladbach stave off relegation from the Bundesliga. ‘Gladbach collected 20 points in the second half of the season, including wins in three of their last four matches to guarantee another season in Germany’s top flight.

SPREADING THE WEALTH: With his goal on March 28 in El Salvador, Frankie Hejduk became the 14th different U.S. player to score in the 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign. Hejduk joins Carlos Bocanegra (1) and Oguchi Onyewu (1) as the other defenders to score in qualifying. Jozy Altidore leads all scorers (5), with Brian Ching (4) Clint Dempsey (4) and Michael Bradley (4) just behind him. DaMarcus Beasley and Landon Donovan have tallied two goals each. Also on the score sheet with one goal each are Freddy Adu, Kenny Cooper, Charlie Davies, Eddie Johnson and Eddie Lewis, who made his goal count as the game-winner on June 22, 2008, against Barbados.

ONLY TWO HAVE TANGOED: There are only two players on the U.S. roster who scored against Costa Rica, and none who have done so on Costa Rican soil. Landon Donovan netted a deuce in the one of the USA’s finest performances of the 2006 qualifying campaign, a 3-0 win on June 4, 2005, in Salt Lake City in front of 40,586 fans at Rice-Eccles Stadium. Two years earlier, team captain Carlos Bocanegra nodded home the first U.S. goal as the team rallied from a 2-1 halftime deficit to win 3-2 in Miami and capture third place in the 2003 Gold Cup.

LD FILLING THE RECORD BOOKS: With 10 goals in World Cup qualifying, Donovan, the USA’s all-time leader in goals and assists, is now one goal shy of tying Brian McBride for the most career goals in World Cup qualifying. Last year, Donovan moved into sole possession of the top spot of the goalscoring chart when he tallied his 35th career goal, putting home a PK in a 2-0 win against Sweden on Jan. 19, 2008, at The Home Depot Center. With his start against Argentina on June 8 at Giants Stadium, he became the youngest player in U.S. history – and the fourth youngest player in the world – to earn 100 caps.

IT’S A SMALL WORLD: Costa Rican striker Bryan Ruiz plays for Gent, which faced off against Oguchi Onyewu’s Standard de Liege on May 16 in Belgium. Needing a win to advance into a championship playoff with Anderlecht, Gooch gave up a foul in the box in stoppage time with Standard clinging to a 1-0 lead. Stepping up to take the spot kick was Ruiz, whose shot to the left side of the goal was parried away by Standard’s keeper Sinan Bolat, preserving the win.

MLS TICOS: Four players on the Costa Rican roster have played in Major League Soccer. Gonzalo Segares currently patrols the left flank for the Chicago Fire. Former teammate Andy Herron had two spells in Chicago, with a stint in Columbus wedged between. Herron had an assist and the game-winning goal when the Fire defeated the Los Angeles Galaxy 3-1 to capture the 2006 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup title. Pablo Brenes appeared in 15 games for the MetroStars in 2004, while one year later Michael Umana played 15 games with the Galaxy.

HISTORIC COMEBACK IN SAN SALVADOR: The rally against El Salvador marked the first time in U.S. history that the team has erased a two-goal deficit to earn a point on the road. The last time the U.S. accomplished that feat in any venue came Oct. 8, 1995 at RFK Stadium, when the U.S. spotted Saudi Arabia three goals in 29 minutes until a four-goal comeback culminating in a goal by Roy Lassiter lifted the U.S. to a stunning 4-3 victory.

CONCACAF FINAL ROUND UPDATE: MatchDay 3 saw two regional favorites put through big tests, as Costa Rica hung on for a 1-0 victory against El Salvador while Honduras scored a home win against Mexico in this qualifying campaign. The Mexican loss resulted in the firing of head coach Sven-Goran Erickson and brought about the return of former Mexican head coach Javier Aguirre, who last led El Tri to the 2002 FIFA World Cup and a Round of 16 loss to the United States. As for the U.S., the group favorite rebounded from a hard-fought 2-2 draw in El Salvador with a comprehensive 3-0 victory against Trinidad & Tobago in Nashville, Tenn. Standings going into MatchDay 4:

Team    GP    W    L    T    GF    GA    GD    Pts
United States    3    2    0    1    7    2    +5    7
Costa Rica    3    2    1    0    3    2    +1    6
Honduras    3    1    1    1    4    3    +1    4
Mexico    3    1    2    0    3    5    -2    3
El Salvador    3    0    1    2    4    5    -1    2
Trinidad & Tobago    3    0    1    2    3    6    -3    2

Upcoming CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying Final Round Fixtures
Date    Match    Venue
June 3    Costa Rica vs. USA    Estadio Ricardo Saprissa Ayma; San Jose
June 6    El Salvador vs. Mexico    Estadio Cuscatlan; San Salvador
June 6    Trinidad & Tobago vs. Costa Rica    Dwight Yorke Stadium; Bacolet
June 6    USA vs. Honduras    Soldier Field; Chicago
June 10    Mexico vs. Trinidad & Tobago    Estadio Azteca; Mexico City
June 10    Honduras vs. El Salvador    Estadio Olimpico; San Pedro Sula

ON THE ROAD: Away from home, World Cup qualifying is a different story. Getting three points is much more difficult when your locker room sounds like this. Despite the challenge, the U.S. possesses a winning record on the road in World Cup qualifiers this decade, going 9-6-7 since 2000.

BY THE NUMBERS – U.S. IN FIFA WORLD CUP QUALIFYING:
0 – Losses at home in qualifying under Bob Bradley
4 – Goals each by Michael Bradley, Clint Dempsey and Brian Ching in 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying, tied for second
5 – Goals scored by leading goal scorer Jozy Altidore
6 – Consecutive games the U.S. held opponents scoreless, setting a team record (Oct. 12, 2005 – Oct. 11, 2008)
8 – Total clean sheets kept by Tim Howard and Brad Guzan out of 11 games
10 – Goals for Landon Donovan in FIFA World Cup qualifying history
11 – Goals for Brian McBride in FIFA World Cup qualifying, the USA's all-time leader
12 – Number of leagues represented on the U.S. roster spread across 10 countries
14 – Number of different goal scorers for the U.S. in 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying
36 – Players with at least one appearance in 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying

BOB ON THE JOB: Since January of 2007 it has been the charge of U.S. head coach Bob Bradley to achieve the most important goal of any soccer playing nation: qualification for the FIFA World Cup. With 36 games under his belt, seeing more than 70 different players at least once and the process of reaching South Africa in 2010 in full swing, a review of the body of work during the past two years points to the U.S. clearly heading in the right direction. Since the start of the four-year cycle, the U.S. has:

• won six straight FIFA World Cup qualifiers in a row in 2008, a new team record (June 15-Oct. 15, 2008)
• set team records for averages in both most goals scored (2.14) and fewest allowed (0.57) in a year
• defended the CONCACAF Gold Cup title and qualified for the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup
• won by the largest margin of victory in U.S. World Cup qualifying history (8-0 vs. Barbados on 6/15/08)
• won back-to-back games in Europe for the first time in team history (Oct. 17, 2007, @ Switzerland and March 26, 2008, @ Poland)
• won three straight matches on the road for the first time in team history (Oct. 17, 2007, @ Switzerland, Nov. 17, 2007 @ South Africa and March 26, 2008, @ Poland)
• played five matches against four teams ranked in the Top 10 in the world at the time they stepped on the field against them (Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Spain)
• played matches on four continents and in two major international tournaments

THE BRADLEY BREAKDOWN
Record    Record vs. ...    Record when ...
All-time: 24-8-4    CONCACAF: 15-1-3, 41 GF, 10 GA    Leading at half: 16-0-1
Qualifying: 9-1-1    CONMEBOL: 1-4-1, 7 GF, 13 GA    Losing at half: 1-2-1
Goals for: 71    UEFA: 5-3-0, 12 GF, 7 GA    Tied at half: 7-6-2
Goals against: 32    AFC: 1-0-0, 4 GF, 1 GA    
Shutouts: 16    CAF: 1-0-0, 1 GF,0 GA    

HOME IS WHERE THE POINTS ARE: The U.S. has worked hard to establish a dominating presence at home, and the record speaks for itself. The United States has not lost to a regional opponent at home in 52 consecutive matches, amassing a 42-0-10 record since 2001 that includes 13 games in World Cup qualifying. The last loss came Sept. 1, 2001, in a 3-2 qualifying loss to Honduras at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. A look at the remarkable streak:

Year    Record (Since Sept. 2, 2001)    World Cup Qualifying
2001:    1-0-0 (2 GF, 1 GA)    1-0-0 (2 GF, 1 GA)
2002:    7-0-1 (19 GF, 0 GA)    
2003:    5-0-1 (16 GF, 2 GA)    
2004:    5-0-2 (17 GF, 2 GA)    3-0-1 (12 GF, 1 GA)
2005:    10-0-2 (22 GF, 4 GA)    5-0-0 (10 GF, 1 GA)
2006:    1-0-2 (5 GF, 3 GA)    
2007:    7-0-1 (15 GF, 3 GA)    
2008:    4-0-1 (21 GF, 3 GA)    3-0-0 (11 GF, 1 GA)
2009:    2-0-0 (5 GF, 0 GA)    2-0-0 (5 GF, 0 GA)
Total:    42-0-10 (122 GF, 16 GA)    14-0-1 (40 GF, 4 GA)

THE USA HAS NOT:
• suffered a shutout loss at home in 22 overall matches (4/23/06 v. Morocco, 0-1 L)
• lost at home v. CONCACAF opponent in 51 matches (9/1/01 v. Honduras, 2-3 L)
• been shutout at home in World Cup qualifying in 19 qualifiers (10/11/00 v. Costa Rica, 0-0 T)
• suffered a shutout loss at home in World Cup qualifying in 36 qualifiers (5/31/85 v. Costa Rica, 0-1 L)
• suffered a shutout loss in 11 overall matches (6/4/08 @ Spain, 0-1 L)
• lost by more than one goal in 12 matches (5/28/08 @ England, 0-2 L)

BE OFFICIAL WHEN YOU’RE WATCHING: What’s the next best thing to being at a game surrounded by your fellow screaming fans? Watching a game at an Official U.S. Soccer Bar surrounded by your fellow screaming fans! Bars across the U.S. are becoming the destination spots to gather and watch your U.S. teams in an atmosphere that is loud and rowdy. Check the latest listings for the Official U.S. Soccer Bar in your area.

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER: Keep up with all the news (in short form, of course) from U.S. Soccer by signing up at www.twitter.com/ussoccer.

U.S. SOCCER ON FACEBOOK: U.S. Soccer is offering a new way to follow its teams with the “Official U.S. Soccer Page” on Facebook. Visit the page to post videos, interact with other fans and follow the latest news from all U.S. Soccer teams. The new Official U.S. Soccer Page on Facebook is the best place to keep with your favorite teams and make your voice heard in the U.S. Soccer community.

IN FOCUS: COSTA RICA
COSTA RICA FACT FILE
Federación Costarricense de Fútbol
Founded: 1921 (Joined FIFA in 1927)
Head Coach: Rodrigo Kenton
Best World Cup Finish: Second Round, 1990
Best CONCACAF Gold Cup Finish: Finalist, 2002
Caps Leader: Luis Marin (126)
Top Scorer: Rolando Fonseca (47)
Key Players: Walter Centeno, Bryan Ruiz, Carlos Hernandez

CONSISTENCY IN CONCACAF: Like perennial favorites Mexico and the United States, Costa Rica has recently been establishing themselves as expected guests in the World Cup with appearances in 2002 and 2006. Part of the reason for their ascendancy is a strong home field advantage at Estadio Ricardo Saprissa. The cauldron has proven to be a challenging venue for opponents to play in, as Costa Rica has posted an 18-1-2 record in all matches there since 2000.

SNAPSHOT: Costa Rica enters June’s match in second place with six points, one behind the U.S. The Ticos have netted 28 goals in FIFA World Cup qualifying so far with only seven against. Costa Rica is led by striker Bryan Ruiz, who has notched a team leading four goals in qualifying. Ruiz enjoyed an excellent season with Gent in Belgium, drawing plaudits for his enterprising play and goal-scoring exploits. The rest of the team is dangerous too, with nine other players notching two goals throughout the campaign. The man behind the bench is head coach Rodrigo Kenton who took over the reins in June of 2008, after Costa Rica narrowly qualified for the second round. Since his appointment, Costa Rica has gone 9-1-0 with the lone loss a 2-0 defeat in Mexico City.

COSTA RICA ROSTER BY POSITION
GOALKEEPERS (3): Daniel Cambronero (Puntarenas), Ricardo Gonzalez (Herediano), Keilor Navas (Saprissa)
DEFENDERS (8): Dario Delgado (Puntarenas), Junior Diaz (Wisla Krakow, Poland), Freddy Fernandez (Perez Zeledon), Dennis Marshall (Herediano), Gonzalo Segares (Chicago Fire, MLS), Esteban Sirias (Liberia), Michael Umana (Ramonense), Harold Wallace (Liberia)
MIDFIELDERS (10): Armando Alonso (Saprissa), Cristian Bolanos (IK Start, Norway), Celso Borges (Fredrikstad, Norway), Pablo Brenes (Brujas), Walter Centeno (Saprissa), Esteban Granados (Cartagines), Warren Granados (Ramonense), Carlos Hernandez (Melbourne Victory, Australia), Pablo Herrera (Alajuelense), Cristian Oviedo (Alajuelense)
FORWARDS (4): Andy Furtado (Herediano), Andy Herron (Herediano), Bryan Ruiz (KAA Gent, Belgium), Alvaro Saborio (Sion, Switzerland)

PATH TO THE 'HEX’: After a harrowing 2-2 draw with tiny Grenada, Costa Rica changed coaches and then quickly changed gears. With Rodrigo Kenton behind the bench, the Ticos went on a 7-0-0 tear to take first place in their qualifying group and enter the final round of qualifying full of confidence.

BEEN THERE, DONE THAT: Nine players on the U.S. roster have played against Costa Rica before (DaMarcus Beasley, Carlos Bocanegra, Brian Ching, Clint Dempsey, Landon Donovan, Oguchi Onyewu, Frankie Hejduk, Tim Howard, Pablo Mastroeni) with Hejduk having the most caps (4), followed by Donovan, Beasley, Bocanegra at three each.

THE LAST TIME …
… On the field for the USA

April 1, 2009 | LP Field – Nashville, Tenn. | World Cup Qualifying, CONCACAF Final Round

USA                           3              Jozy Altidore 13, 71, 79
Trinidad & Tobago 0
Att: 27,959

USA – 1-Tim Howard; 2-Frankie Hejduk, 3-Carlos Bocanegra (capt.), 5-Oguchi Onyewu, 7-DaMarcus Beasley; 8-Clint Dempsey (16-Sacha Kljestan, 84), 12-Michael Bradley, 4-Pablo Mastroeni, 10-Landon Donovan, 11-Brian Ching (6- José Francisco Torres, 81), 17-Jozy Altidore
Subs not used: 18-Brad Guzan, 9-Eddie Johnson, 13-Maurice Edu, 14-Jay DeMerit, 15-Jonathan Bornstein
Head Coach: Bob Bradley

TRI – 1-Clayton Ince; 3-Aklie Edwards, 8-Anthony Wolfe (4-Makan Hislop, 46), 5-Keyeno Thomas, 6-Dennis Lawrence; 7-Christopher Birchall (16-Khaleem Hyland, 56), 11-Carlos Edwards, 2-Clyde Leon, 17-Keon Daniel (12-Jason Scotland, 71); 15-Kenwyne Jones, 14-Stern John
Subs not used: 9-Trent Noel, 10-Russell Latapy, 13-Densill Theobald, 18-Jan Michael Williams
Head Coach: Francisco Maturana

… On the field for Costa Rica
April 1, 2009 | Estadio Ricardo Saprissa – San Jose, Costa Rica | World Cup Qualifying, CONCACAF Final Round

Costa Rica     1      Walter Centeno 69
El Salvador     0

CRC – 1-Keylor Navas, 3-Jose Fernandez, 4-Michael Umana, 5-Celso Borges, 6-Roy Myrie, 7-Michael Barrantes (2-Pablo Brenes, 46), 10-Walter Centeno (capt.), 11-Bryan Ruiz, 12-Andy Furtado (16-Carlos Hernandez, 62), 14-Armando Alonso (17-Pablo Herrera, 56), 15-Junior Diaz
Subs not used: 8-Jose Luis Lopez, 9-Alvaro Saborio, 13-Gonzalo Segares, 18-Adrian De Lemos

SLV – 2-Jose Henriquez, 3-Marvin Gonzalez, 6-Julio Martinez, 7-Ramon Sanchez (capt.), 8-Osael Romero, 11-Rodolfo Zelaya (4-Mark Blanco, 82), 12-Manuel Salazar, 14-Dennis Alas (10-William Torres, 77), 15-Alfredo Pacheco, 17-Carlos Monteagudo (9-Rudis Corrales, 69), 18-Miguel Montes
Subs not used: 1-Juan Gomez, 5-Luis Hernandez, 13-Deris Umanzor, 16-Oscar Jimenez
Head Coach: Carlos De Los Cobos

… vs. Costa Rica

Oct. 8, 2005 | Estadio Ricardo Saprissa – San Jose, Costa Rica | World Cup Qualifying, CONCACAF Final Round

USA                0
Costa Rica    3                       Paulo Wanchope 34, Carlos Hernandez 60, 88
Att: 30,000

USA: 1-Tim Howard; 22-Oguchi Onyewu, 23-Eddie Pope, 4-Carlos Bocanegra (10-Kyle Martino, 75); 5-Chris Albright (21-Santino Quaranta, 63), 25-Pablo Mastroeni, 7-Eddie Lewis (capt.), 17-DaMarcus Beasley, 15-Bobby Convey; 20-Taylor Twellman, 9-Brian Ching
Subs not used: 24-Kevin Hartman, 3-Wade Barrett, 8-Jonathan Spector, 12-Danny Califf, 13-Ricardo Clark
Head Coach: Bruce Arena

CRC: 18-Jose Porras; 3-Luis Marin (capt.), 5-Gilberto Martinez, 2-Jervis Drummond, 12 Leonardo Gonzalez; 8-Mauricio Solis (20-Douglas Sequiera, 59), 10-Walter Centeno, 11-Ronald Gomez, 15-Harold Wallace; 19-Alvaro Saborio (16-Carlos Hernandez, 59), 9-Paulo Wanchope (21-Winston Parks, 76)
Subs not used: 1-Alvaro Mesen, 4-Michael Umana, , 17-Roy Myrie, 22-Jafet Soto
Head Coach: Alexandre Guimaeres
Title: Re: USA vs Costa Rica...wed 9:00 on espn
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 02, 2009, 08:28:46 PM
10pm EST
Post by: weary1969 on June 02, 2009, 09:38:54 PM
10pm EST

No bball so I could take it in.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on June 02, 2009, 10:10:00 PM
I'm sure Flow will not show it... hopefully Fuentes let Latapy know about Flow's shite and let him watch it on Directv or something

Also, mods.. Any of these guys are major players for CR : "Costa Rica enters the match with seven players on their roster carrying yellow cards—Ricardo Gonzalez, Junior Diaz, Michael Umana, Armando Alonso, Celso Borges, Esteban Granados and Bryan Ruiz."

Post by: Bourbon on June 02, 2009, 10:22:17 PM
Dem should be able to get it on DirecTv....i jus assuming. And if dey hadda rely on Tobago cable.....i doh think flow could block that. The thing is..if Tobago cable have ESPN.....
Post by: palos on June 02, 2009, 11:04:31 PM
Lewwe hope Latas and the whole team infront a tv watching this with a dvd recorder running.

We want USA to win this.

Laptop
High Speed Internet
Big Screen TV with VGA input
Monitor Cable
LIVE Stream for ESPN

VOILA!

Dem fellas doh have to depend on no FLOW TV or Tobago Cable.  Jes reliable internet service over the duration of de match.
Post by: Big Magician on June 02, 2009, 11:29:31 PM
COME ON USA

costa rica could take points from this game/.....
Post by: injunchile on June 03, 2009, 06:02:52 AM
I hope not- we want   USA to go clear of everyone except T&T. Remember we are looking at third spot.
 Who knows a point in Mexico we may even make second after our win on the 6th.
Post by: sweetiepaper on June 03, 2009, 08:22:52 AM
We have to back USA to deny costa rica any points from this. Plus demoralise them, bruise them and get some men their second yellow  ;D
Post by: E-man on June 03, 2009, 08:56:03 AM
TT officials for W/Cup qualifier
T&T Newsday

NEAL BRIZAN, the 2008 Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) Referee of the Year, will lead a team of TT officials for today’s 2010 FIFA World Cup CONCACAF Zone Final Round qualifier between Costa Rica and the United States at the Ricardo Saprissa Stadium, San Jose, Costa Rica.

The assistant referees are Michael Ragoonath, who officiated in the 2002 World Cup in Japan and South Korea, and Joseph Taylor, who was originally due to perform at the 2006 World Cup in Germany, while Geoffrey Hospedales is the fourth official.

The referee assessor is Antonio Marrufo Mendoza of Mexico; the match commissioner is Chet Greene of Antigua/Barbuda and the security officer is Victor Estrada Barrios of Guatemala.

The Costa Rican team is due to arrive in Tobago tomorrow for Saturday’s qualifier against hosts Trinidad and Tobago at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet.
Post by: sweetiepaper on June 03, 2009, 09:00:41 AM
T&T Newsday

NEAL BRIZAN, the 2008 Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) Referee of the Year, will lead a team of TT officials for today’s 2010 FIFA World Cup CONCACAF Zone Final Round qualifier between Costa Rica and the United States at the Ricardo Saprissa Stadium, San Jose, Costa Rica.

The assistant referees are Michael Ragoonath, who officiated in the 2002 World Cup in Japan and South Korea, and Joseph Taylor, who was originally due to perform at the 2006 World Cup in Germany, while Geoffrey Hospedales is the fourth official.

The referee assessor is Antonio Marrufo Mendoza of Mexico; the match commissioner is Chet Greene of Antigua/Barbuda and the security officer is Victor Estrada Barrios of Guatemala.

The Costa Rican team is due to arrive in Tobago tomorrow for Saturday’s qualifier against hosts Trinidad and Tobago at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet.

Ahh the plot thickens... Uncle Jack wukkin
Post by: lefty on June 03, 2009, 09:07:26 AM

I uncomfortable wit d dis assertions bein made here, even if kinda masked
Post by: elan on June 03, 2009, 09:30:15 AM

Uncomfortable with what. How long I saying JW is the boss. The man wukking over time for we to qualify for SA. Like I said in another post is real cards going and share in that game you will see bacchanal thing. When Costa Rica reach Tobago they may have to borrow some Tobago United players to firld a team.

JW is boss.
Post by: Touches on June 03, 2009, 10:04:44 AM

We want USA to win this.

Laptop
High Speed Internet
Monitor Cable
LIVE Stream for ESPN

VOILA!

Dem fellas doh have to depend on no FLOW TV or Tobago Cable.  Jes reliable internet service over the duration of de match.

:rotfl: :rotfl:....Palos look at how many items listed are needed for success....5

Murphy's Law going and kick een somewhere along the line, let us not forget the power supply to the said laptop.

I feel they better off hoping for FLOW or Tobago cable to kick een  ;D

But under seriousness...ent tstt is the national team sponsor and have them in all kinda ad and ting for blackberry. Ent they supposed to have some kinda hookup with them.
Post by: Themanfriday on June 03, 2009, 10:13:06 AM

We want USA to win this.

Laptop
High Speed Internet
Monitor Cable
LIVE Stream for ESPN

VOILA!

:rotfl: :rotfl:....Palos look at how many items listed are needed for success....5

Murphy's Law going and kick een somewhere along the line, let us not forget the power supply to the said laptop.

I feel they better off hoping for FLOW or Tobago cable to kick een  ;D

But under seriousness...ent tstt is the national team sponsor and have them in all kinda ad and ting for blackberry. Ent they supposed to have some kinda hookup with them.

I have all those things. and did order the game. But truly dont know how i can getit out there to you guys
Post by: frico on June 03, 2009, 11:23:11 AM
We have to back USA to deny costa rica any points from this. Plus demoralise them, bruise them and get some men their second yellow  ;D
You said it all for me mate. 8)
Post by: lefty on June 03, 2009, 11:35:35 AM

Uncomfortable with what. How long I saying JW is the boss. The man wukking over time for we to qualify for SA. Like I said in another post is real cards going and share in that game you will see bacchanal thing. When Costa Rica reach Tobago they may have to borrow some Tobago United players to firld a team.

JW is boss.

boss we  know it, we could even be confident in dat fact but we need not say it outloud, remember who offended people on dis board was when d guat man post on here an insinuate, dat Jack buy we through to finals, we new it was ah distinct possibility but didn't taken to kindly to the cheater label dat come wit it,.............. certain ::) people does be reading dis board remember :P
Post by: legal alien on June 03, 2009, 12:33:54 PM
T&T Newsday

whaT'S the difference?
Post by: Andre on June 03, 2009, 01:00:18 PM
i just glad for some fresh, new football after all dem repeats and no NBA playoffs til tomorrow nite.
Post by: D.H.W on June 03, 2009, 01:20:19 PM
I'm sure Flow will not show it... hopefully Fuentes let Latapy know about Flow's shite and let him watch it on Directv or something

Also, mods.. Any of these guys are major players for CR : "Costa Rica enters the match with seven players on their roster carrying yellow cards—Ricardo Gonzalez, Junior Diaz, Michael Umana, Armando Alonso, Celso Borges, Esteban Granados and Bryan Ruiz."

tell dem watch it on Sopcast lol
Post by: SUPA on June 03, 2009, 02:50:25 PM
Now say after me, USA, USA, USA  :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: DeSoWa on June 03, 2009, 02:51:45 PM
Fellas, if USA beat Costa Rica, you think they go come play us with dey tail between dey legs? They would be going all out for a win...so ah think the best case scenario for us is ah DRAW!!

Post by: E-man on June 03, 2009, 02:56:00 PM
U.S. QUALIFIER AGAINST COSTA RICA TONIGHT MOVED TO ESPN2

Kickoff Slated for 10:06 p.m. ET (8:06 p.m. local); ESPN2 to Air 30 Minute Pregame Show Starting at 9:30 p.m. ET
Post by: mukumsplau on June 03, 2009, 03:18:24 PM

na..veetle does hav a bess espn stream wen games showin

tell dem watch it on Sopcast lol
Post by: SUPA on June 03, 2009, 03:29:58 PM
Fellas, if USA beat Costa Rica, you think they go come play us with dey tail between dey legs? They would be going all out for a win...so ah think the best case scenario for us is ah DRAW!!

Me eh business how dey come wid dey tail nah, ah know meh second and present home (USA) will put it on dem, dat is already a rap in my book. I know dey will give USA good run, but dat is just about it, is 3 points fuh meh USA team 2night. Well as far as meh T&T go, CR will definitely give us problems, but I fell Latapy and he crew have dey number fuh dis game, so dis week looking pretty good fuh Supa  :praying:. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: palos on June 03, 2009, 04:03:29 PM

Me eh business how dey come wid dey tail nah, ah know meh second and present home (USA) will put it on dem, dat is already a rap in my book. I know dey will give USA good run, but dat is just about it, is 3 points fuh meh USA team 2night. Well as far as meh T&T go, CR will definitely give us problems, but I fell Latapy and he crew have dey number fuh dis game, so dis week looking pretty good fuh Supa  :praying:. HIGHLY BLESSED.

USA will beat Costa Rica tonight

T&T will beat Costa Rica on Saturday

Orlando Magic beatin Lakers in de NBA Finals

HIGHLY BLESSED  :beermug:

Post by: DeSoWa on June 03, 2009, 04:09:34 PM

I only agree with 2 out of 3  ;) figure it out lol

Post by: kounty on June 03, 2009, 04:21:48 PM
U.S. QUALIFIER AGAINST COSTA RICA TONIGHT MOVED TO ESPN2

Kickoff Slated for 10:06 p.m. ET (8:06 p.m. local); ESPN2 to Air 30 Minute Pregame Show Starting at 9:30 p.m. ET
hopefully jus b4 game start some links start appearing on this thread  :beermug:
Post by: elan on June 03, 2009, 04:25:07 PM

JW is boss.

boss we  know it, we could even be confident in dat fact but we need not say it outloud, remember who offended people on dis board was when d guat man post on here an insinuate, dat Jack buy we through to finals, we new it was ah distinct possibility but didn't taken to kindly to the cheater label dat come wit it,.............. certain ::) people does be reading dis board remember :P

shhhhhhh....rigggght 
Title: Re: USA vs Costa Rica...wed 9:00 on espn2
Post by: Deeks on June 03, 2009, 04:38:10 PM
TT has to play for themselves. We can't hope CR beat USA vice versa. We have to win our games and don't depend on nobody, Even Jack.
Post by: SUPA on June 03, 2009, 04:47:54 PM

Damn, ah was just saying, wow, like Palos having a few drinks boi, he actually agree wid meh on some thing fuh once. But den boom, but lol yuh den bounce yuh head, yuh bounce it real hard 2  ;D. Yeah, ah wouldn't be surprised if Orlando win de first game. Cuz lately, de Lakers have a way dat dey does start off chillin like we KJ on de field fuh T&T. Is when dey loose a game or 2, den does really step it up. However, de line will be drawn right dey boss, a game or 2, dat is it, doh even think about it sah. Ah living in Florida, ah will like tuh see de state get represented in a big way, especially in de absence of Wade and de Heat, but Lakers in 6 games, member meh told yuh  :beermug:. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Touches on June 03, 2009, 06:09:23 PM
Who have flow analog?

ESPN2 on that line up channel 61

All who have digital ent have it...we have espni and espnc

Go figure
Post by: D.H.W on June 03, 2009, 06:15:13 PM
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=40957&part=sports

live links
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 06:17:22 PM
Who have flow analog?

Cyar believe I'm about to say this...but

WHOO HOO!!...thank you Flow for keeping Santa Cruz behind the times!!.....now only to prop up mih eyelids with 2 match sticks... ;D
Post by: D.H.W on June 03, 2009, 06:21:49 PM
Who have flow analog?

WHOO HOO!!...thank you Flow for keeping Santa Cruz behind the times!!.....now only to prop up mih eyelids with 2 match sticks... ;D

u stay there and feel they showing that lol, i bet u it not showing lol
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 06:23:16 PM
Who have flow analog?

u stay there and feel they showing that lol, i bet u it not showing lol

We'll see....
Post by: D.H.W on June 03, 2009, 06:24:24 PM
 :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 06:40:41 PM
Who have flow analog?

Go figure

THXS I want Flow 2 4get where Central is dat digitalcable is d worse.
Post by: FireBrand on June 03, 2009, 06:42:09 PM
Another live link: http://www.atdhe.net/7338/watch-costa-rica-vs-usa (http://www.atdhe.net/7338/watch-costa-rica-vs-usa)
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 06:43:23 PM
Who have flow analog?

Go figure

Yeah imagine no MSNBC!!!!...I doh know how I woulda survive the US election season without that channel...good lord...
Post by: The_Ice on June 03, 2009, 06:53:24 PM
Who have flow analog?

Go figure

u sure?the guide saying espni and espnc but the actual channels saying espn and espn2
Post by: Themanfriday on June 03, 2009, 07:28:17 PM
Poker finish now so is Football time.

it starting at 9:30pm
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 07:32:16 PM

I thought the game was starting at 10:00 pm EST??  ???
Post by: Themanfriday on June 03, 2009, 07:32:51 PM

yes it does the pre-game showing now.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 07:34:35 PM

Oh ho...channel 61 showing Tennis....chups...DHW, like you know FLOW better than me steups..I going in mih bed.... :(
Post by: Toppa on June 03, 2009, 07:45:04 PM
Dem always with this life story shit eh.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 07:46:26 PM
Dem always with this life story shit eh.

Toppa yuh depressing mih cuz ah cyar see nutten....I should really go in mih bed now yes and end the pain...
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on June 03, 2009, 07:52:14 PM
FLOW up to their shit..  anyone have any english justintv links? or any english comm links?
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 07:58:34 PM
The link Firebrand put up says Costa Rica vs. USA but they are showing some Brazilian tournament....steups....
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 03, 2009, 07:59:29 PM
game on espn 2HD now
Post by: D.H.W on June 03, 2009, 08:01:32 PM

Oh ho...channel 61 showing Tennis....chups...DHW, like you know FLOW better than me steups..I going in mih bed.... :(

dais a normal scene with them  :'(
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 08:02:15 PM
Who have flow analog?

Go figure

Cosignnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Yeah imagine no MSNBC!!!!...I doh know how I woulda survive the US election season without that channel...good lord...
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 08:05:34 PM

dais a normal scene with them  :'(

The link you put up is not showing either...are you getting anything??
Post by: mukumsplau on June 03, 2009, 08:09:33 PM
golassoooo costa ricaaa
Post by: Deeks on June 03, 2009, 08:09:49 PM
GOLAZOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!   CR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 03, 2009, 08:09:56 PM
1 nil CR
Post by: D.H.W on June 03, 2009, 08:10:18 PM
costa rica score
Post by: mukumsplau on June 03, 2009, 08:11:03 PM
http://www.justin.tv/deportes_galveztv4/popout (http://www.justin.tv/deportes_galveztv4/popout)  doh cater if yuh doh undastand...spanish mor hype
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 08:11:09 PM
Ah thought we rooting for the US??....not that I am particularly happy to do that..... :devil:
Post by: Toppa on June 03, 2009, 08:11:58 PM
Those defenders rel eat beats.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 08:13:06 PM
http://www.justin.tv/deportes_galveztv4/popout (http://www.justin.tv/deportes_galveztv4/popout)  doh cater if yuh doh undastand...spanish mor hype

Thanks.. :beermug:
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 03, 2009, 08:13:20 PM
Allyuh see how fast Costa Rica playing eh. Ah hope Latas drilling work on dem fellas.
Post by: Deeks on June 03, 2009, 08:13:30 PM
Golazo Costa rica!!!!!!!!
Post by: elan on June 03, 2009, 08:13:50 PM
Alyuh see dat goal. What a goal sah. Pressah.  
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 08:15:01 PM

Doh worry Vranes go com back wit a plan 4 dat
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 08:15:40 PM

ah now catch the replay....wheeeey sar....them US players look real ordinary on that play....
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 03, 2009, 08:16:50 PM
costa rica playing real hard
Post by: D.H.W on June 03, 2009, 08:18:39 PM
DAIS how they coming for we too
Post by: sweetiepaper on June 03, 2009, 08:19:58 PM
bet 365 have english commentary and a real clean feed. But the screen real small. I Watching justin tv muted & listening to bet 365 english  ;D
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 03, 2009, 08:20:49 PM
2 nil in de 13th
Post by: trinikev on June 03, 2009, 08:21:02 PM
2-0
Post by: PIMP on June 03, 2009, 08:21:13 PM
Allyuh see that bess knock for that goal!!!!
Post by: kounty on June 03, 2009, 08:21:22 PM
it real hard not to clap when yuh see babylon defence get DISMANTLED like dat.
Post by: mukumsplau on June 03, 2009, 08:21:29 PM
dis match need to end in a draw..we cyar hav side pullin way from d pack so (unless is we  ;D )..cuz if usa pull ahead an qualify earrly..aite goal cr...
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 03, 2009, 08:21:34 PM
Really hope Latas and dem watchin, pressha
Post by: elan on June 03, 2009, 08:21:43 PM
Alyuh watching...alyuh seeing what going on.

Who say Dog fast enough?
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 08:22:01 PM
 :o :o :o :o :o

Dis is the mighty US of A that we does ketch we arse to beat??....geez and ages....
Post by: D.H.W on June 03, 2009, 08:22:14 PM
lol 2nil. america suppose to be a big dog, or the poodle
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 08:22:38 PM
2 nil in de 13th

OK thanks 4 sharing
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 03, 2009, 08:22:46 PM
we beating them ??? look wha they doing to the usa
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 03, 2009, 08:22:54 PM
CR playin ball like beast.usa playin like we on april 1st
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 08:23:22 PM

Who say Dog fast enough?

I was thinking the  same thing just a few moments before the 2nd goal score...lawd fadder....Pressha x 2!!
Post by: Deeks on June 03, 2009, 08:23:53 PM
CR 2 US 0
Post by: PATRIOT on June 03, 2009, 08:24:28 PM
GRACIAS AMIGO!
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 03, 2009, 08:24:47 PM
Why are they playing 4-3-3 in an away game? Serious miscalculation dey.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 08:25:18 PM
Wait nah dis game playing in de US??.....

Edit: Never mind a couple advertising boards tie mih up for a few seconds...
Post by: D.H.W on June 03, 2009, 08:25:22 PM

Who say Dog fast enough?

I was thinking the  same thing just a few moments before the 2nd goal score...lawd fadder....Pressha x 2!!

whey J lloyed  :devil:?
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 03, 2009, 08:25:57 PM
usa under fire.bradley might lose he job. ;D
Post by: fari on June 03, 2009, 08:26:06 PM
them fellas knockin a fast, fast knock down the flank.   it go be real pressure on saturday if we ent come up w/ a game plan
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 03, 2009, 08:26:17 PM
Wait nah dis game playing in de US??...

Nah, CR
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 08:27:25 PM

Who say Dog fast enough?

Keyano and Makan is Ato compared to Dog correck.
Post by: elan on June 03, 2009, 08:28:04 PM
Alyuh really watching what going on on that field. See how the US taking long to figure out CR. Alyuh watching. Who still saying 3-5-2? Who still saying no Sancho and no Avery?  Alyuh watching.

Latas need to not let the fellas watch this game. He and the staff could watch it. Let the fellas go play pool or something.
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 08:29:28 PM
them fellas knockin a fast, fast knock down the flank.   it go be real pressure on saturday if we ent come up w/ a game plan

Vranes wukin overtime as we speak
Post by: The_Ice on June 03, 2009, 08:29:47 PM
that justintv link real sticking for anyone else?thanks for it still... real appreciate it.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 08:30:17 PM
Dem Ricans fast no arse dread...all yuh see de speed that play reach from one end ah de field to next???....

PRESSHA!!!
Post by: Jayerson on June 03, 2009, 08:30:46 PM
http://www.justin.tv/jonathanviera19

This link is in English.
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 08:31:44 PM
Alyuh really watching what going on on that field. See how the US taking long to figure out CR. Alyuh watching. Who still saying 3-5-2? Who still saying no Sancho and no Avery?  Alyuh watching.

Latas need to not let the fellas watch this game. He and the staff could watch it. Let the fellas go play pool or something.

Cosignnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 08:32:53 PM
That was the most fluid I've seen the US look all night....geez and ages...

Pressha!!
Post by: PIMP on June 03, 2009, 08:33:52 PM
We local boy reffing the match...Brizan....BTW...
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 08:35:03 PM

Agree goin and watch LAW AND ORDER SEASON FINALE OUI.
Post by: Reaper2004 on June 03, 2009, 08:35:47 PM
some level cutass goin down in Costa Rica oui lawd!!
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 08:36:23 PM
All yuh imagine Aklie Edwards vs. them Costa Ricans....thank God for BIG mercies!!!
Post by: sweetiepaper on June 03, 2009, 08:38:06 PM

This link is in English.

Ahmm. My English real bad boy, I cyar understand a thing they saying  ;D
Check yuh link nah, that in spanish dread.
Post by: lefty on June 03, 2009, 08:38:51 PM
whey alyuh worrin bout dwight go get one ah he bago peeps to shake ah boolee "spellin ??? " ;D
Post by: D.H.W on June 03, 2009, 08:39:09 PM
 :-[
Post by: theworm2345 on June 03, 2009, 08:40:07 PM
Costa Rica has not allowed a single goal so far at home in this campaign...I say a 90th minute Stern John penalty in October to send T&T to 3rd in the group will be the first  ;D
Post by: D.H.W on June 03, 2009, 08:40:37 PM

This link is in English.

nice link boss
Post by: sweetiepaper on June 03, 2009, 08:40:50 PM
I watching CR speed. I really feel we need Carlos & Avery on the wings to back Dog & tallest
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 03, 2009, 08:41:47 PM
Yellow card on #3 for C.R  maynot be playing against  T&T on Sat. Jack yoh good."Brizan" Ref. from T&T
Post by: elan on June 03, 2009, 08:42:08 PM
http://atdhe.net/ (http://atdhe.net/)

This working real good for me.
Post by: christiano on June 03, 2009, 08:42:36 PM
IF costa Rica win this ...we have to fight for the  4th place playoff !!!!
Post by: Toppa on June 03, 2009, 08:44:17 PM
Beasley looking like he have minge.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 03, 2009, 08:45:23 PM
usa defense lokin real jokey tonite.
Post by: The_Ice on June 03, 2009, 08:45:29 PM
the amount of noise that crowd making have me feeling bummy  :(
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 03, 2009, 08:49:28 PM
Anybody know wha happen to Hedjuk? Dis Marvell Wynne cyah mek it.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 03, 2009, 08:52:13 PM

Hedjuk injured
Post by: The_Ice on June 03, 2009, 08:52:24 PM

the commentators just sed he's injured
Post by: g on June 03, 2009, 08:53:22 PM
Boy dat is home advantage, d surface givin d US real trouble
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 03, 2009, 08:53:39 PM
Ah OK. Thanks.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 08:55:03 PM

I was wondering where he come from??
Post by: elan on June 03, 2009, 08:57:04 PM
That is one of the fastest 1st half I ever see in a game. Damn.

What wrong with the field or the ball. Something wrong.
Post by: acb on June 03, 2009, 08:57:23 PM
Boy dat is home advantage, d surface givin d US real trouble

for real.

crowd is screaming, "Ole Ole Ole, Ticos Ticos" .. makes me wonder if you'll ever hear a vocal crowd like that at a match in Trinidad .. .ever.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 09:00:31 PM
The halftime commentators saying the US defence poor.....wow...defense....de one thing that we could never get quite right...

I eh know if I want to watch anymore nah.....ah beginning to get despondent about Saturday....
Post by: The_Ice on June 03, 2009, 09:05:03 PM
brownsugar keep positive... the smallest bit of optimism goes a long way
Post by: Fyzoman on June 03, 2009, 09:06:42 PM
The halftime commentators saying the US defence poor.....wow...defense....de one thing that we could never get quite right...

I eh know if I want to watch anymore nah.....ah beginning to get despondent about Saturday....

RIGHT!!

as soon as i come home and see de score i start to shake meh head.....and ah hope men joking bout how we team shouldn't watch dis game, every man jack better be glued to de tv to see what dey coming up against!
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 09:07:31 PM
brownsugar keep positive... the smallest bit of optimism goes a long way

*sigh* I'll try...
Post by: injunchile on June 03, 2009, 09:07:45 PM
Good News- One of their better defence players out with two yellows against us on Saturday.
 The USA defence playing shit- Full stop. Giving the CR too much space and not attacking the ball at crosses.Carlos has to play right back.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 09:10:16 PM
2nd half about to start.....
Post by: Reaper2004 on June 03, 2009, 09:13:14 PM
IF costa Rica win this ...we have to fight for the  4th place playoff !!!!

4th Place Playoff? what de ass you smoking boy? that is something we trying to AVOID at any cost.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 03, 2009, 09:18:13 PM
espn comentry eh play it bais nah
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 09:18:42 PM
I really expected a contest....but lord fadder...this too painful to watch...and I doh even like the US....
Post by: Bourbon on June 03, 2009, 09:19:02 PM
On de plus side...costa rica probably use up all dey magic dust in dis game. ::)
Post by: The_Ice on June 03, 2009, 09:19:50 PM
allyuh hear that whinny "USA!USA!USA!"????
wtf... commentatory need to shut the f#&k up abt the field
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on June 03, 2009, 09:20:44 PM
share d cards out ref  :devil:
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 03, 2009, 09:22:08 PM
Brizan shearing away yellow cards fuh soo
Post by: Bourbon on June 03, 2009, 09:22:42 PM
Nah buh.....dah field eh easy to play on if yuh eh accustom to it.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 09:22:54 PM
Well ah just see that Holland could clinch a place at the WC next year if they beat Iceland on Saturday...well good news for me if that happens....

Right back to the disaster at hand.....

@ The_Ice....I now thinking the same thing about the commentators and the field...wha de arse the US players are babies....you come to shoot, shoot doh talk!!!....steups...fraud...ah still eh know why dey eh stick to baseball... :devil:
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 09:23:49 PM
On de plus side...costa rica probably use up all dey magic dust in dis game. ::)

Bourbon....yuh need to stop with this magic dust thing before ah dead... ;D
Post by: DeSoWa on June 03, 2009, 09:24:58 PM
allyuh hear that whinny "USA!USA!USA!"????
wtf... commentatory need to shut the f#&k up abt the field

ent most of ...if not all....the pitch in the USA turf? Do they ever play WCQ on grass when dey home?

Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 09:27:30 PM

This link is in English.

BTW thanks....this link is a life saver... :beermug:
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 09:29:51 PM
Dey bring on Adu who eh play a lot since December...that mean he eh match fit right?....so is not we alone who using that tactic...it so crazy it just might work... :devil: ;D
Post by: Jayerson on June 03, 2009, 09:32:12 PM

This link is in English.

BTW thanks....this link is a life saver... :beermug:

The pro-American ultra bias commentary a bit too much though. At least its in English.
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 09:33:40 PM
Dey bring on Adu who eh play a lot since December...that mean he eh match fit right?....so is not we alone who using that tactic...it so crazy it just might work... :devil: ;D

Post by: DeSoWa on June 03, 2009, 09:38:07 PM
the man walk into the box and score oui!

Post by: davyjenny1 on June 03, 2009, 09:38:54 PM
C.R.# 2 yellow card 67 min. is he gonna play on Sat?
Post by: The_Ice on June 03, 2009, 09:39:10 PM
ahh gyad... US shittin themselves
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 09:40:17 PM

Is we does make dem look like a bigggggggggg teammmmmmmmmmm
Post by: elan on June 03, 2009, 09:42:11 PM

Adu does draw a lot of fouls, so they trying to win set pieces to score, plus he is most effective in that team selection in running at the opposition.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 09:42:30 PM

Weary I always saying that the US like a big bully...dem bad till a team badder dan dem reach....
Dey just get totally dismantled on that 3rd goal....and it was as counter attack....Costa Rica had kinda rock back up to that point....
Post by: The_Ice on June 03, 2009, 09:42:35 PM

HOPEFULLY this game exposes them for the tooz side they are and the players would actually play against them w/ some confidence next time we meet
Post by: Arazi on June 03, 2009, 09:42:46 PM

Michael Bradley let the man walk pass him into the box yes...and alyuh does ben on akile....

Brownsugar..it's Costa Rica..in the Saprissa..the US eh da good yet..steups...Saturday T&T in Tobago we should take some notes...we could beat both of these teams...
Post by: Bitter on June 03, 2009, 09:43:25 PM
Me eh care about the big picture. I real enjoying this. Harkes vex. I like that too bad. I doh kow why he feel he is a coach though. All kinda suggestions about who should play and where.
Take allyuh licks! Yuh was liking yuhself when you beat us. Let Costa Rica like theyself now.
Post by: Reaper2004 on June 03, 2009, 09:43:59 PM
LAWD REAL LEVEL CUTASS FOR THE U.S
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 09:44:59 PM
Arazi, dey ALWAYS in the World Cup...so when they go get good??....steups...is long time ah telling Zeppo to tell them stick to baseball, but they harden they want to roll with the big boys....well is level liiiiicccckkksss!!!.... ;D
Post by: Tenorsaw on June 03, 2009, 09:45:10 PM

Michael Bradley let the man walk pass him into the box yes...and alyuh does ben on akile....

Brownsugar..it's Costa Rica..in the Saprissa..the US eh da good yet..steups...Saturday T&T in Tobago we should take some notes...we could beat both of these teams...

We have  hard task this weekend, in my opinion.  lets hope this Costa Rica team does NOT travel well.  They pinging the ball around nicely....nice flair too.  Birchall will be critical to unsettling that knock.
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 09:46:33 PM

HOPEFULLY this game exposes them for the tooz side they are and the players would actually play against them w/ some confidence next time we meet

COSIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 09:50:09 PM
Somewhere aSaprissa midst the chewed-up fake grass, hostile atmosphere and sweltering heat of Estadio Ricardo in San Jose, Costa Rica, lies a rare commodity for the United States national team.

Opportunity.

Bob Bradley's side faces one of its toughest tests in CONCACAF qualifying on Wednesday, an imposing away date against one of the strongest teams in the region.

Yet while history would suggest Bradley and his players should approach this contest with a sense of foreboding, it also presents a rare chance to shine and produce something unexpected. Plaudits come few and far between for the USA. Such is the nature of the CONCACAF zone.

The team is expected to win its home games. Check. Comfortably reach the World Cup finals. Check. And lose away to Mexico and Costa Rica. Check.

Victories over Honduras, Trinidad and Tobago and El Salvador are hardly likely to get the elite nations of world soccer quivering with fear, and it often feels as if Bradley's troops are on a hiding to nothing.

Win, and it is nothing more than expected. Anything less, and catastrophe beckons.

Wednesday's game, plus the trip to Mexico City's Estadio Azteca on Aug.12, are perhaps the only two out of 10 final-round qualification games in which there is a chance to make a real impression.

Certainly, it won't be easy. USA has only claimed one point in seven visits to Costa Rica and lost all six matches at Saprissa.

Things have gotten even more testing in recent years, when Costa Rica successfully applied to FIFA to be allowed to install artificial turf because of problems in keeping the field in good condition due to tropical rains.

The USA players are not fans of the surface, which, when combined with a fervently patriotic environment makes for a big home advantage.

"Costa Rica has had great success at Saprissa Stadium," Bradley said. "It's loud and it is a different game on turf. They're very comfortable there. They have great confidence there, and we are aware that we've never won there, so when we look at different challenges and talk about things that we still want to achieve, this is a good example.

"We know that these kinds of games require a real commitment as a team, a good game plan, and finally just good efforts on the day. It's a big challenge but one that we're very excited about."

Goalkeeper Tim Howard, just returned from reaching the FA Cup final and finishing fifth in the English Premier League with Everton, agreed.

"It is a difficult place to go, no doubt about it," Howard said. "But we have more experience in our squad now, and I think we are in good shape to handle the challenge. We know that to make people sit up and take notice we need to go to places like this and win games."

Costa Rica sits in second place in the table, a point behind USA, which tops the six-team pool with three games gone.

The top three finishers can book their flights to South Africa next year, with the fourth-place team facing a playoff with a South American nation.

Following the Costa Rica clash will be a home fixture with Honduras in Chicago, before the team jets to South Africa for the Confederations Cup. Bradley and USA fans will be anxious to get qualifying taken care of quickly, to avoid a late scramble for points.

A positive result in Costa Rica would go a long way toward passage to South Africa next year and provide a welcome morale boost for the team.

USA has a chance to add meaning to what otherwise is merely a means to an end.

Post by: Dinner Mints on June 03, 2009, 09:51:55 PM
All who talking bout biased commentary, allyuh ever really listen to T&T commentary? Objectively?
Post by: Reaper2004 on June 03, 2009, 09:53:40 PM
Arazi, dey ALWAYS in the World Cup...so when they go get good??....steups...is long time ah telling Zeppo to tell them stick to baseball, but they harden they want to roll with the big boys....well is level liiiiicccckkksss!!!.... ;D

take win with that yes  :beermug:
Post by: Bitter on June 03, 2009, 09:53:56 PM
I doh complain about biased commentary. I does complain about this fool talking about everythign except the game. Game playing, yuh side down, but yuh still in it, you talking about who might play Saturday.
Post by: The_Ice on June 03, 2009, 09:54:18 PM
All who talking bout biased commentary, allyuh ever really listen to T&T commentary? Objectively?

yea but its total kix to listen to  ;D
Post by: Bitter on June 03, 2009, 09:55:58 PM
Penalty? Fuh real?

long wet steups.
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 03, 2009, 09:56:46 PM
Ah sensing a miss.
Post by: Bitter on June 03, 2009, 09:57:32 PM
Let me put on my doom and gloom hat.

We getting Licks Saturday eh.

My heart say we go make mas.
My Mind says licckss!!!
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 09:59:32 PM
Let me put on my doom and gloom hat.

We getting Licks Saturday eh.

My heart say we go make mas.
My Mind says licckss!!!

Follow yuh hearttttttttttttttt
Post by: Reaper2004 on June 03, 2009, 10:01:59 PM
Take that ass beating yuh damn yanks!!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on June 03, 2009, 10:02:07 PM
Right....game, set and match...normally I does be turning cartwheels at a US loss, but if dey had won they would have put some more pressure on Costa Rica....but lawd fadder ah think the level ah de cut arse have mih stunned.....

Is that Costa Rica we playing Saturday??.....I feel they better send another team yes....not this one....lawwd...
PRESSHA!!...

Good nite all.....was fun as usual.... :beermug:
Post by: elan on June 03, 2009, 10:04:30 PM
Questions

1) Is that an artificial field?

2) What led to the PK?

3) How we beating them on Saturday?
Post by: The_Ice on June 03, 2009, 10:05:15 PM

ask latas
Post by: acb on June 03, 2009, 10:08:12 PM

Questions

yup

2) What led to the PK?
Push/ tug on the US player. Went down similar to the body check that US concede just minutes earlier on the freekick that almost score. Ticos were trying to make sure nobody get send off - not quite sure who got the yellow

obeah
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 03, 2009, 10:09:01 PM
Their game is remarkably similar to Tobago United.
Post by: Arazi on June 03, 2009, 10:09:30 PM
Questions

2) What led to the PK?

1) yes..how alyuh trinis who so accustomed to seeing us lose to Costa Rica over the years unfamiliar with their Saprissa fort is beyond me...Mexico and all doh win there

2) I have no clue..probably politics..

3) We play a good game..they are the same Costa rica I'm accustomed to seeing in Costa Rica.
Post by: palos on June 03, 2009, 10:11:05 PM
1 - Costa Rica don't exactly travel well.

2 - That artifical turf is a SERIOUS ADVANTAGE for them.  As much an advantage as the Azteca is for Mexico (or used to be) and de Bolivian Stadium up in de stratosphere for Bolivia.

3 - We have experienced players and ex players in our team who are very cogniscant of points 1 and 2 above.

4 - If we play to our potential, we have as good a chance as any to beat Costa Rica.  It will also show us that the USA are definitely beatable, especially if we play dem in de Marvin Lee... 8)
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on June 03, 2009, 10:16:05 PM
Deserved win for CR... USA didnt show up... early 2 goals proved that... pitch was fast and exhausting(hopefully CR get a lil bun in this game)

#9 the 1st goal scorer is their danger man.... their wingplay is quick as well

allyuh acting like they are Spain... relax..they are home..they are hostile..they are quick ...they use an artificial pitch to their advantage.. USA has a terrible record there..USA had some key defensive injuries...USA had a poor game

They will be nowhere that quick and good on Saturday... we have to be loud and hostile and once our boys up for it  they cannot beat us

we have to attack them so they do not attack us...

In Latas we Trust

Post by: just cool on June 03, 2009, 10:16:26 PM

HOPEFULLY this game exposes them for the tooz side they are  and the players would actually play against them w/ some confidence next time we meet
Breds don't be bias. america is the best team in concacaf period! they just had ah bad night, hey sh!t happens.
Post by: Preacher on June 03, 2009, 10:34:44 PM
BM wey yuh?

BE BEATING COSTA RICA

We just need to handle we business, beat CR and BEAT Mexico and Beat Honduras.  We should have been on flicking 8 at least 5.  scheuups.  Let's go T&T do your own wuk!!!!
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2009, 10:37:39 PM
Costa Rica beats U.S. 3-1 in World Cup qualifier

Associated Press

SAN JOSE, Costa Rica (AP) - Alvaro Saborio scored 79 seconds in, the second-fastest goal against the United States in a World Cup qualifier, and Costa Rica coasted to a 3-1 victory Wednesday night.

Celso Borges added a goal in the 13th minute, and Pablo Herrera sealed the victory for 41st-ranked Costa Rica when he made it 3-0 in the 69th.

Landon Donovan scored the U.S. goal when he converted a penalty kick in the second minute of stoppage time.

The Ticos shredded the defense of the region's top-ranked team on the artificial turf of Saprissa Stadium, and the United States stumbled for the second straight time in Central America.

Post by: just cool on June 03, 2009, 10:44:36 PM
Very impressive perfomance by costa rica, they made the U.S. look like T&T in nashville.

ah wish latas luck......he has his work cut out for him.
Post by: MEP on June 03, 2009, 10:48:07 PM
Questions

1) Is that an artificial field? YES

2) What led to the PK? A FOUL :)

3) How we beating them on Saturday? With great difficulty
Post by: Babalawo on June 03, 2009, 10:58:23 PM
what will it take to get a FOOTBALL ONLY STADIUM like that Costa Rica have in trinidad. Something like Jack Warners M.L.stadium but grass and more capacity.  That get the fans great views and spirit into the game while intimidated the visiting team. t and t needs that right now and the future.  them athletic tracks are kill joys and keep the spectator view too far away from the pitch action.   
Post by: Big Magician on June 04, 2009, 12:54:39 AM
WE BEATING COSTA RICA
Post by: breezers on June 04, 2009, 01:07:45 AM
WE BEATING COSTA RICA

We need more ah dat!! Cuz once we could handle we business..we eh hatta depend on nobody fuh nuttin! Dependin on ppl is recipe fuh failure! So istead of we wastin we prayers on dis one tuh beat dah one...lehwe be stingy and give we Warriors all d prayers....blessings!
Post by: legal alien on June 04, 2009, 01:10:19 AM
i watchged it from35 minutes in.I was shocked that they were down 2-0.Amerirca give up that game in the second half.Look how they let that 3rd goal score.
Still I  optinistic we getting a victory satuday against the costa ricans.The concacaf table will be level
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 04, 2009, 02:05:29 AM
Jack: bbb...Brizan  gi..gi..gi give dem Costa RRican  de..de defenders cards to..to..tonight
yo..yo hear wah ah tellin yuh
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 04, 2009, 05:23:20 AM
what will it take to get a FOOTBALL ONLY STADIUM like that Costa Rica have in trinidad. Something like Jack Warners M.L.stadium but grass and more capacity.  That get the fans great views and spirit into the game while intimidated the visiting team. t and t needs that right now and the future.  them athletic tracks are kill joys and keep the spectator view too far away from the pitch action.  
Costa Rica stadium is not football only. They does use it just like Hasely Crawford.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 04, 2009, 05:58:15 AM
Costa Rica stadium is not football only. They does use it just like Hasely Crawford.

Astro-turf is shit and it is the Antichrist of football!
Post by: saga pinto on June 04, 2009, 06:06:11 AM

Agree it should never be used.....
Post by: palos on June 04, 2009, 08:22:18 AM

It's not astroturf.
Post by: Sam on June 04, 2009, 08:46:50 AM
Imagine USA made T&T look like babies and now Costa Rica did the same to USA... allyuh, do de math !!!!

We beating Guyana Costa Rica....

Match: United States vs. Costa Rica
Date: June 3, 2009
Competition: FIFA World Cup Qualifying; Final Round
Venue: Estadio Ricardo Saprissa; San Jose, Costa Rica
Kickoff: 8:06 p.m. MT
Attendance: 19,200
Weather: Partly cloudy, 70 degrees

Scoring Summary:    1    2    F
USA                               0    1    1
CRC                              2    1    3

CRC – Alvaro Saborio (Andy Herron)            2nd minute
CRC – Celso Borges (Esteban Sirias)        13
CRC – Pablo Herrera (Walter Centeno)      69
USA – Landon Donovan (penalty kick)         92+

Lineups:

USA: 1-Tim Howard; 6-Marvell Wynne, 5-Oguchi Onyewu, 3-Carlos Bocanegra (capt.), 7-DaMarcus Beasley; 4-Pablo Mastroeni (11-Freddy Adu, 63), 12-Michael Bradley, 9-José Francisco Torres (16-Sacha Kljestan, 46); 8-Clint Dempsey (15-Charlie Davies, 80), 10-Landon Donovan, 17-Jozy Altidore

Subs not used: 18-Brad Guzan, 2-Ricardo Clark, 13-Jonathan Bornstein, 14-Jay DeMerit

Head Coach: Bob Bradley

CRC:  1-Keylor Navas; 15-Harold Wallace (2-Pablo Herrera, 56), 4-Michael Umana, 3-Freddy Fernandez, 17-Junior Diaz; 7-Andy Herron (6-Cristian Bolanos, 72), 5-Celso Borges, 10-Walter Centeno, 8-Esteban Sirias; 11-Bryan Ruiz, 9-Alvaro Saborio (16-Carlos Hernandez, 77)

Subs not used: 18-Ricardo Gonzalez, 12-Andy Furtado, 13-Gonzalo Segares, 14-Armando Alonso

Stats Summary: USA / CRC
Shots: 11 / 8
Shots on Goal: 2 / 6
Saves: 3 / 1
Corner Kicks: 3 / 5
Fouls: 14 / 15
Offside: 0 / 3

Misconduct Summary:

CRC – Freddy Fernandez (caution)         30th minute
USA - Michael Bradley (caution)               54
USA – Sacha Kljestan (caution)               66
CRC – Pablo Herrera (caution)                67
CRC – Junior Diaz (caution)                     91+
Post by: acb on June 04, 2009, 08:48:59 AM

It's not astroturf.

Correct. Astroturf is a whole other beast with a completely different bounce - and you definitely wouldn't see any sane person making slide tackles. What they were playing on is a hybrid most likely, or probably just straight up synthetic grass ... don't know why ESPN commentators were making such a fuss. When the Eagles stadium opened, AC Milan, Celtic and Manchester United were amongst the first teams to use it - and their review and approval was through the roof.

US got outclassed, and it's just a convenient excuse.... nobody says anything when they're playing on a field demarked with American Football lines - of course that is totally acceptable.
Title: Re: Hope USA win. - USA vs Costa Rica.
Post by: elan on June 04, 2009, 09:02:52 AM
Freddy should be getting a start the next game. Bench Donovan.

Bradley (M) needs to be brought back down to earth.
Post by: E-man on June 04, 2009, 09:18:31 AM

It's not astroturf.

Correct. Astroturf is a whole other beast with a completely different bounce - and you definitely wouldn't see any sane person making slide tackles. What they were playing on is a hybrid most likely, or probably just straight up synthetic grass ... don't know why ESPN commentators were making such a fuss. When the Eagles stadium opened, AC Milan, Celtic and Manchester United were amongst the first teams to use it - and their review and approval was through the roof.

US got outclassed, and it's just a convenient excuse.... nobody says anything when they're playing on a field demarked with American Football lines - of course that is totally acceptable.

This is certified 1 star by FIFA (http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/developing/pitchequipment/footballturf/star=1/company=6/confederation=23914/index.html) and worn from years of use, but apparently still good until Oct 2010.

Marvin Lee (http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/developing/pitchequipment/footballturf/star=1/company=4/confederation=23914/index.html) is also 1 star.

How they can allow competitive matches on it, I don't know but for prelim they allow it. FIFA says:
The FIFA RECOMMENDED 1 Star is mainly for recreational, community and municipal use; however, it still has to go through a series of stringent tests before the highly respected FIFA certificate is issued. Indeed, there are only 50 pitches around the globe which carry this mark.
Post by: nnyman18 on June 04, 2009, 09:42:35 AM
Both teams played on the surface so there should be no excuses. I would admit though having coached a Division I College team on this type of surface, it affects players who are not the greatest technically on the ball. Other teams use to hate playing on our surface. As you all have alluded many times on this blog, the hall mark of the US men's team is their fitness organization speed and commitment to work hard. Never do they get high marks for their technique under pressure. The more skillful/technical Costa Rican players who obviously spend more time on this surface were more equipped to deal with it. They dealt with the bounces and handle their stories

I can assure you its not the easiest of surfaces to play on. Added to that they have never won in Costa Rica in 6 tries, the intimidating environment, giving Costa Rica too much room and just being totally outplayed both on the attacking and defensive side of the ball was their undoing. So in essence the US suffered a good home grown ass kicking. These are the sort of things home teams should present for visiting teams. The goal should be to make them feel very uncomfortable. So well done Costa Rica. In spite of their performance I am of the opinion that Tobago will be a different kettle of fish. Ah hope trini creates an environment to make them feel very uncomfortable as well
Post by: Observer on June 04, 2009, 09:46:35 AM

:applause: :applause: :banginghead: I hate that shit. Football on that surface does not resemble football
Post by: Zeppo on June 04, 2009, 09:50:59 AM
U.S. team overwhelmed in every facet by Costa Rica

When the U.S. national team's lineup versus Costa Rica was first revealed Wednesday night, it was easy to think the Americans were ready to attack and try to deliver their first-ever victory in a World Cup qualifier played in Costa Rica.

A three-forward formation coupled with a pair of superfast fullbacks gave the impression the U.S. team would attempt to overwhelm Costa Rica with pace and attack down the flanks.

Instead of being overwhelming, the U.S. national team was overpowered by a fast, inspired, skillful and organized Costa Rican team that took full advantage of the worst U.S. national team performance in years. The result was a 3-1 World Cup qualifying victory for Costa Rica, and a defeat that has the U.S. team asking a lot of questions about several positions.

(continue) (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=652582&sec=us&root=us&cc=5739)
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 04, 2009, 09:51:40 AM
This is football. Did we see the Game where ah Big side/Cock get beat by average side/chicken last week. lol No fear!
11 vs 11, the ball is round. Who want it more will win the game.  8)
Post by: just cool on June 04, 2009, 10:09:40 AM
It's not so much that the U.S. was out classed, but rather every one protecting their home advantage.

usa beat mexico 2-0 = @ home in ohio, costa rica defeat honduras 2-0 = @ home sapprissa. mexico deafeat costa rica 2-0 = @ home azteca. hunduras defeat mexico 3-1 @ home estadio olympico. costa rica defeat U.S. 3-1 = @ home saprissa. so it's almost even, every body won their home games so far. it's only El salvador and us who didn't protect their home field advantage.

we have tuh beat costa rica tuh stay in the race and get a point in mexico tuh even out.
Post by: rickstaa on June 04, 2009, 10:43:25 AM
Deserved win for CR... USA didnt show up... early 2 goals proved that... pitch was fast and exhausting(hopefully CR get a lil bun in this game)

allyuh acting like they are Spain... relax..they are home..they are hostile..they are quick ...they use an artificial pitch to their advantage.. USA has a terrible record there..USA had some key defensive injuries...USA had a poor game

They will be nowhere that quick and good on Saturday... we have to be loud and hostile and once our boys up for it  they cannot beat us

In Latas we Trust

that is it attack them so they dont attack us,some of alluh acting like is we going to Costa Rica & play,let them come Tobago & deal with the MAGIC
Post by: elan on June 04, 2009, 11:17:59 AM
U.S. team overwhelmed in every facet by Costa Rica

When the U.S. national team's lineup versus Costa Rica was first revealed Wednesday night, it was easy to think the Americans were ready to attack and try to deliver their first-ever victory in a World Cup qualifier played in Costa Rica.

A three-forward formation coupled with a pair of superfast fullbacks gave the impression the U.S. team would attempt to overwhelm Costa Rica with pace and attack down the flanks.

Instead of being overwhelming, the U.S. national team was overpowered by a fast, inspired, skillful and organized Costa Rican team that took full advantage of the worst U.S. national team performance in years. The result was a 3-1 World Cup qualifying victory for Costa Rica, and a defeat that has the U.S. team asking a lot of questions about several positions.

(continue) (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=652582&sec=us&root=us&cc=5739)

Zeppo, again, biased and convinient analysis. NO way Sacha had a better game than Freddy. Did not call out Dempsey and Landon, who did nothing to assist the team. Howard was absolutely horrendous (guess he still pinning from Lampard strike). This analysis take away and gave everything back to the USA. Useless.
Post by: arrow on June 04, 2009, 11:18:18 AM

Their defender Junior Diaz missing the match.  How can we possibly lose?
Post by: triniairman on June 04, 2009, 11:28:12 AM

Their defender Junior Diaz missing the match.  How can we possibly lose?
how many of their players will miss the game against us? I saw that they had 3 yellow cards.
Post by: The_Ice on June 04, 2009, 12:01:20 PM
WE BEATING COSTA RICA

sure hope so... latas only have a couple games to prove himself. the thing on his side is that he probably know these CONCACAF teams inside out since he tired play against them. some national sides play the same style for years and take long to adapt otherwise
Post by: Bitter on June 04, 2009, 12:11:19 PM
WE BEATING COSTA RICA

sure hope so... latas only have a couple games to prove himself. the thing on his side is that he probably know these CONCACAF teams inside out since he tired play against them. some national sides play the same style for years and take long to adapt otherwise

Agreed.
We playing s&*@ long time and ent adapt yet.
Post by: sweetiepaper on June 04, 2009, 12:57:02 PM
WE BEATING COSTA RICA

And the hard part is - the couple games to prove himself are Mexixo & Coata Rica.
But somehow, Ah getting BM vibes "We beating Costa Rica"
Post by: Socapro on June 04, 2009, 01:15:09 PM

In Latas we Trust

that is it attack them so they dont attack us,some of alluh acting like is we going to Costa Rica & play,let them come Tobago & deal with the MAGIC

While in Tobago the MAGIC gets stronger and becomes OBEAH!

That is Shadow's home town after all!   :mackdaddy:
Post by: Zeppo on June 04, 2009, 01:16:36 PM
Howard was absolutely horrendous (guess he still pinning from Lampard strike).

Nonsense.

The defenders were at fault for those goals. Not Howard.

Post by: elan on June 04, 2009, 02:41:21 PM

Nonsense.

2nd goal he went with h is bottom hand, top; hand and he tips it onto the bar or out. On each goal he was caught with bad positioning. He is part of the defense and need to do his part. He was out of it whether you want to admit it or not.
Post by: Arimaman on June 04, 2009, 02:57:54 PM

Nonsense.

2nd goal he went with h is bottom hand, top; hand and he tips it onto the bar or out. On each goal he was caught with bad positioning. He is part of the defense and need to do his part. He was out of it whether you want to admit it or not.

I agree with Zeppo....I don't believe except for maybe the first goal which I believe he "may' have been a tad too far off his line, the other 2 goals he had no chance dude...come on...give jack he jacket and him he jimboots, Howard's defense let him down badly....
Post by: Deeks on June 04, 2009, 02:58:09 PM
Howard may be the cause of all 3 goal because of bad positioning and some sloppy keeping, but that does not deny the fact that they were outplayed. CR deserve their victory.
Post by: Controversial on June 04, 2009, 03:10:51 PM
was expecting that from costa rica, however they not winning in tobago, tt must think of playing in mexico, this qualfying as i said from the beginning wont be easy but we going through, our team is better than before, that last US match was a throw away
Post by: Big Magician on June 04, 2009, 03:12:48 PM
WE BEATING COSTA RICA
Post by: Deeks on June 04, 2009, 03:16:43 PM

If all the games were between now and before the EPL start, I would say we would have a chance of qualifying. We would have all the guys together. But when the English guys go back is back to the old grind. Who coming back, who injured!!
Post by: Peter on June 04, 2009, 03:25:10 PM
WE BEATING COSTA RICA.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 04, 2009, 03:51:22 PM

It's not astroturf.

"astro-turf" being the generic term for whatever it is.  It isn't GRASS, growing out of soil, and it's shit, no matter what they call it, hybrid, faux grass, whatever.
Post by: WestCoast on June 04, 2009, 03:55:30 PM

It's not astroturf.

"astro-turf" being the generic term for whatever it is.  It isn't GRASS, growing out of soil, and it's shit, no matter what they call it, hybrid, faux grass, whatever.
Estadio Ricardo Saprissa Aymá is a 1Star rated FieldTurf field (http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/developing/pitchequipment/footballturf/star=1/company=6/confederation=23914/index.html)

FIFA ratings here (http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/developing/pitchequipment/footballturf/recommendedinstallations.html)
Title: Costa Rica 3-1 over USA... bess result
Post by: chelsealife on June 04, 2009, 04:09:04 PM
This is good news for T&T bcuz Costa Rica sitting comfortable on top the group now and they go jess back when they come.... Stadium Saturday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3-1 T&T to win

Wha allyuh think bout costa rica win over USA.. Good for we????
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 04, 2009, 05:56:42 PM
after seein CR dismantle usa defense i will say concacaf have a new powerhouse.
Post by: Coop's on June 04, 2009, 06:07:06 PM
I'm reading some of these views and comments and wonder why the standard of the WC finals has dropped,today teams are depending on the politics in the game to qualify,FIFA has designed these different zones/groups or how ever they want to call them and you find a lot of low quality teams qualifying for WC,imagine teams making one or two points and they in a WC finals.

Why are we hoping this one beat that one etc or the usual what uncle JW can do and not we beat everybody and go to the WC finals as a team worthy of being there,it seems to me like we are satisfied with just going to a WC finals,all the WC finals we have been too so far we got blown away because we try to do just enough to get there,we have not worked out the formula for afterwards.

Don't worry about the US/Mexico and them,we have to worry about ourselves,all those teams know how much points it going to take to get them to qualify and they already know where those points coming from,if they loose a game they are not as worried as us.I don't understand why T&T does not have confidence in themselves,we suppose to be one of the feared teams in this region after just playing in the last WC,we got players with WC experience.      
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 04, 2009, 06:11:17 PM

Dais de ting Capo, CR always been very good, but their consistency has been less than that of Mex and the US, let's see how they continue to do, hope we can get it together this weekend, forward warriors  :beermug:
Post by: daryn on June 04, 2009, 06:18:28 PM

Dais de ting Capo, CR always been very good, but their consistency has been less than that of Mex and the US, let's see how they continue to do, hope we can get it together this weekend, forward warriors  :beermug:

I was just reading yesterday (before the game) that the US had never earned a single point in 6 games in that particular stadium.  7 games now.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/writers/andrea_canales/06/01/costa-rica/index.html 
Post by: elan on June 04, 2009, 08:15:26 PM

Nonsense.

I agree with Zeppo....I don't believe except for maybe the first goal which I believe he "may' have been a tad too far off his line, the other 2 goals he had no chance dude...come on...give jack he jacket and him he jimboots, Howard's defense let him down badly....

I am not saying he is the CAUSE of the goal, but he had bad positioning on alll the goals and even on some other simple plays. You have to be able to depend on your GK to keep you in the game, and he fell flat. That's all I am saying.
Post by: palos on June 04, 2009, 09:58:34 PM
I'm reading some of these views and comments and wonder why the standard of the WC finals has dropped,today teams are depending on the politics in the game to qualify,FIFA has designed these different zones/groups or how ever they want to call them and you find a lot of low quality teams qualifying for WC,imagine teams making one or two points and they in a WC finals.

Why are we hoping this one beat that one etc or the usual what uncle JW can do and not we beat everybody and go to the WC finals as a team worthy of being there,it seems to me like we are satisfied with just going to a WC finals,all the WC finals we have been too so far we got blown away because we try to do just enough to get there,we have not worked out the formula for afterwards.

Don't worry about the US/Mexico and them,we have to worry about ourselves,all those teams know how much points it going to take to get them to qualify and they already know where those points coming from,if they loose a game they are not as worried as us.I don't understand why T&T does not have confidence in themselves,we suppose to be one of the feared teams in this region after just playing in the last WC,we got players with WC experience.      

In your time...when you played for T&T....how many times did your T&T team beat Mexico?  Or USA?  Or Costa Rica?  Or Honduras?  Or even El Salvador?

How about we make it easier and ask how much times allyuh even beat Haiti?  Or Suriname?  U carryin on like if in your time T&T was some kinda powerhouse team.  Because we play in a WC we supposed to be a feared team?  Well at least we make a WC.  T&T when u was playin fuh T&T ever make a Hex even?

Lawd man Coop's.  Is almost like nutting dese fellas do go be good enough fuh allyuh.

Yuh tink Hull wasn't hopin dat Newcastle lorse to Aston Villa so dat dey coulda stay in de EPL? 

Yuh tink Argentina wasn't hopin dat Nigeria beat Englabnd so dat dey Argentina could go through to de second rounds of WC 2002 instead of England?  Argentina is not a "feared team"?  Dese kinda tings does happen all de time.

Come man Coop's...you better dan dat.

Post by: Saywha on June 05, 2009, 05:32:55 AM
Things are not looking good for T&T.  My Crystal ball shows a bleak day tomorrow - be prepared. :(
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 05, 2009, 06:45:39 AM
Things are not looking good for T&T.  My Crystal ball shows a bleak day tomorrow - be prepared. :(

go so wid dem negative vibes nah padnah. as ppl say.... is 11 vs 11. any number cud play!
Post by: sweetiepaper on June 05, 2009, 07:03:51 AM

go so wid dem negative vibes nah padnah. as ppl say.... is 11 vs 11. any number cud play!

Saywha, Yuh cyar be using the same avatar as me and have that negative vibes. Outside with dat.

As BM would say "We beating Costa Rica"
Post by: Arimaman on June 05, 2009, 07:07:41 AM

Nonsense.

I am not saying he is the CAUSE of the goal, but he had bad positioning on alll the goals and even on some other simple plays. You have to be able to depend on your GK to keep you in the game, and he fell flat. That's all I am saying.

Point well taken...  However, Tim had no chance on the 2nd goal and on the third goal he may have been blinded.
Post by: 7 blessings on June 05, 2009, 07:08:42 AM
We beating Costa Rica...i doh care wah dem do to the USA....who is the USA anyways dread...that game jus show me what i always been sayin...USA not a strong team....dem does jus get too much respect from we....as i does always say we does give USA too much freedom to pass the ball around and dais when dey(as any team should) does kill we....anytime a team start to pressure dem high up the pitch and close dem dopwn in the midfield dem does always buckle....same ting happen against El Salvador.....is just we like to sit back behind the half line and wait on dem to cross...den move further back to the top ah the 18 before we start to contest for the ball and dais why we does always get lick up.....USA not good fellas....once man contestin dem for the all dem have to turn and pass the ball backward cause dem cyah beat nobody one on one....and then dem does run out ah ideas and give whey the ball  like in the CR game...

Lookin at Costa Rica...dem eh look all dah strong neither, three goals from three poor defensive displays doh make dem strong....watch the play besides that goal and see how scrappy dem look in the middle....bad pass galore, poor control...bad positioning, plenty faults for we to exploit....our fitness hadda be up cause dem boy dem does run...whole game...but if we come out with no fear fellas, with the kinda quality we have, we beating Costa Rica and Mexico dis week....our boys jus hadda believe in dem ability  man.....
so if any ah allyuh lose heart because costa rica beat ah jokey US team...den allyuh eh serious....once we come out like WARRIORS for once, none ah dem team in the Hex could beat we jsu so..

Go warriors
Post by: lefty on June 05, 2009, 07:15:22 AM
We beating Costa Rica...i doh care wah dem do to the USA....who is the USA anyways dread...that game jus show me what i always been sayin...USA not a strong team....dem does jus get too much respect from we....as i does always say we does give USA too much freedom to pass the ball around and dais when dey(as any team should) does kill we....anytime a team start to pressure dem high up the pitch and close dem dopwn in the midfield dem does always buckle....same ting happen against El Salvador.....is just we like to sit back behind the half line and wait on dem to cross...den move further back to the top ah the 18 before we start to contest for the ball and dais why we does always get lick up.....USA not good fellas....once man contestin dem for the all dem have to turn and pass the ball backward cause dem cyah beat nobody one on one....and then dem does run out ah ideas and give whey the ball  like in the CR game...

Lookin at Costa Rica...dem eh look all dah strong neither, three goals from three poor defensive displays doh make dem strong....watch the play besides that goal and see how scrappy dem look in the middle....bad pass galore, poor control...bad positioning, plenty faults for we to exploit....our fitness hadda be up cause dem boy dem does run...whole game...but if we come out with no fear fellas, with the kinda quality we have, we beating Costa Rica and Mexico dis week....our boys jus hadda believe in dem ability  man.....
so if any ah allyuh lose heart because costa rica beat ah jokey US team...den allyuh eh serious....once we come out like WARRIORS for once, none ah dem team in the Hex could beat we jsu so..

Go warriors

:beermug: :beermug: :cheers: :bringiton: :bringiton: :challenge:
Post by: Arimaman on June 05, 2009, 07:25:18 AM

Go warriors

Blessing yuh make some good observations but don't get carried away.  The US is a good team.  They had a bad game that's all.  Also give CR their do, they made the US look bad.

All you really doing is trying to hype up our base and that is ok.  Most of them Central American teams doh play that good away from home anyway, so I know we could beat CR.  The boys just have to bring it and take it to CR.

GO WARRIORS!!
Post by: rickstaa on June 05, 2009, 08:28:23 AM

for real go so with them vibes man
Post by: vb on June 05, 2009, 11:34:44 AM
If you miss the game like me, this is a download for it.

Downloading like a beast right now.

http://www.mininova.org/tor/2653171

Peace,
Post by: Saywha on June 05, 2009, 11:42:30 AM

Saywha, Yuh cyar be using the same avatar as me and have that negative vibes. Outside with dat.

As BM would say "We beating Costa Rica"

Ok, ah will be a lil more positive....
If we guys play with real heart, blood, sweat and tears, and doh play like how dey play and dem previous games we have a chance. But de moment ah see men standing up and watching ball passing and giving away chances it will be another story.
Post by: nnyman18 on June 05, 2009, 12:36:21 PM
I will have to disagree on the school of thought that Tim was responsible for the goals scored against Costa Rica. I would say that the players in front of him really let him down. The first goal was set up by Beasley poor negative first touch( he was doing this quite often throughout the game) After which poor defending(Torres and Pablo) on top of the 18 resulted in him being exposed. He could not get to a well placed strike to the upper 90. On the second goal the outside mid and the outside back were the victims of well a well time combination play. He  was forced to over compensate to deal with a possible shot and instead the ball was crossed to a wide open costa rican( mind you Beasley had to deal with three men on that side of the field while their attacking mid #8 was jogging back watching the play. The last one I may give you the benefit of the doubt. However, when you have defenders not stepping up (Carlos)inside your 18yard box to put pressure on the ball that is ingredients for disaster. He was beaten for pace but I would say that is one he probably should have gotten to. GK's are encourage to set their feet before a shot is taken. If you look at Tim's feet the were still moving as the ball was about to be struck. So I am wiling to concede on the last goal
Post by: sHOTTA) on June 05, 2009, 01:19:09 PM
Well as the result stands we haven't seen the US get beaten so badly in a long long time.
Post by: elan on June 05, 2009, 02:02:12 PM
I will have to disagree on the school of thought that Tim was responsible for the goals scored against Costa Rica. I would say that the players in front of him really let him down. The first goal was set up by Beasley poor negative first touch( he was doing this quite often throughout the game) After which poor defending(Torres and Pablo) on top of the 18 resulted in him being exposed. He could not get to a well placed strike to the upper 90. On the second goal the outside mid and the outside back were the victims of well a well time combination play. He  was forced to over compensate to deal with a possible shot and instead the ball was crossed to a wide open costa rican( mind you Beasley had to deal with three men on that side of the field while their attacking mid #8 was jogging back watching the play. The last one I may give you the benefit of the doubt. However, when you have defenders not stepping up (Carlos)inside your 18yard box to put pressure on the ball that is ingredients for disaster. He was beaten for pace but I would say that is one he probably should have gotten to. GK's are encourage to set their feet before a shot is taken. If you look at Tim's feet the were still moving as the ball was about to be struck. So I am wiling to concede on the last goal

Forget the players in front of him, If you were doing a GK keeper session and the position the ball was in would you not correct his positioning?

Again I am not "blaming" him for the goal perse, it's just a simple observation I made. It could be wrong but if I was coaching after blowing out the defense I would HAVE to adress the GK. Just saying.
Post by: nnyman18 on June 05, 2009, 04:04:15 PM
Is all good Elan still have much respect for your football IQ