Sports => What about Track & Field => Topic started by: Aviator on May 27, 2009, 08:59:10 PM

Title: Reebok Grand Prix!!!!!!!!
Post by: Aviator on May 27, 2009, 08:59:10 PM
Nutrilite Men's 400m
Name    Nat
RENNIE QUOW    TRI
CHRIS BROWN    BAH
TABARIE HENRY    ISV
ANDREW ROCK    USA
KERRON CLEMENT    USA
LASHAWN MERRITT    USA
RICARDO CHAMBERS    JAM
ANDRAE WILLIAMS

I expect this race to be very similar to the Adidas meet. Just replace Wariner winning comfortably with Merritt and then Quow and Brown will battle it out.

Visa Women's 100m
Name    Nat
VERONICA CAMPBELL-BROWN    JAM
MARSHEVET HOOKER    USA
LAURYN WILLIAMS    USA
MUNA LEE    USA
CARMELITA JETER    USA
ALEEN BAILEY    JAM
TORRI EDWARDS    USA
KELLY-ANN BAPTISTE    TRI
SHERI-ANN BROOKS    JAM
MURIEL HURTIS    FRA
BIANCA KNIGHT    USA
SHALONDA SOLOMON    USA
ALLYSON FELIX    USA
DEBBIE FERGUSON    BAH
ANGELA WILLIAMS    USA
TAHESIA HARRIGAN    IVB
SCHILLONIE CALVERT    JAM
CAROL RODRIGUEZ    PUR
GLORIA ASUMNU    U

I expect KAB to be in the top 5 again.

Visa Men's 100m Race 2
Name    Nat
DARVIS PATTON
   USA
TRELL KIMMONS    USA
DANIEL BAILEY    ANT
AARON ARMSTRONG    TRI
ASAFA POWELL    JAM
NESTA CARTER    JAM
MICHAEL FRATER    JAM
WISNTON BARNES    JAM
IVORY WILLIAMS    USA
ALONSO EDWARD    PAN
YOHAN BLAKE    JAM
LEROY DIXON    USA
PRESTON PERRY    USA
RICHARD THOMPSON    TRI
MIKE RODGERS    USA
STEVE MULLINGS    JAM
DERRICK ATKINS    BAH
TRAVIS PADGETT    USA

There has been talk of Richard going sub-9.80 this year...time for him to start showing the form of a potential 9.7x man. He couldn't have asked for a better rabbit to chase than Powell, so I am expecting a sub-10.
Title: Re: Reebok Grand Prix!!!!!!!!
Post by: willi on May 28, 2009, 03:48:37 AM
Hahahaha

Yuh diss..ah call di man rabbit!

Look for Ric Chambers to step up!
Post by: Aviator on May 28, 2009, 07:20:47 AM
Hahahaha

Yuh diss..ah call di man rabbit!

Look for Ric Chambers to step up!

I hope so. Man has been running some sub-par times thus far to say the least.
Post by: A.B. on May 28, 2009, 06:02:20 PM
NBC 430 to 6PM Eastern Time Saturday
Post by: Aviator on May 28, 2009, 08:59:24 PM
Press conference videos with Asafa, Richard and Tyson to be found here...
http://www.flotrack.org/videos/coverage/view_video/235019-2009-reebok-grand-prix/182543-asafa-powell-bolt-better-be-on-his-a-game-2009-reebok-grand-prix
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 29, 2009, 01:33:35 PM
richard for sub 10  quow for sub 45 and  baptiste for sub 11  :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: D.H.W on May 30, 2009, 10:16:02 AM
NBC 430 to 6PM Eastern Time Saturday

thanks
Post by: fLaSh on May 30, 2009, 01:32:42 PM
Men's 100m B final Reebok

Finals
1 Yohan Blake Jamaica 10.20 +0.0
2 Alonso Edward Panama 10.22 +0.0
3 Derrick Atkins Bahamas 10.23 +0.0 [10.226]
4 Ivory Williams United States 10.23 +0.0 [10.229]
5 Trell Kimmons United States 10.30 +0.0
6 Aaron Armstrong Trinidad & Tobago 10.31 +0.0
7 Leroy Dixon United States 10.32 +0.0
8 Winston Barnes Jamaica 10.37 +0.0
9 Keston Bledman Trinidad & Tobago 10.52 +0.0
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 30, 2009, 02:36:21 PM
rene quow came second he was in a bad lane though ... does his technique hold him back?
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 30, 2009, 02:36:57 PM
Men's 100m B final Reebok

Finals
1 Yohan Blake Jamaica 10.20 +0.0
2 Alonso Edward Panama 10.22 +0.0
3 Derrick Atkins Bahamas 10.23 +0.0 [10.226]
4 Ivory Williams United States 10.23 +0.0 [10.229]
5 Trell Kimmons United States 10.30 +0.0
6 Aaron Armstrong Trinidad & Tobago 10.31 +0.0
7 Leroy Dixon United States 10.32 +0.0
8 Winston Barnes Jamaica 10.37 +0.0
9 Keston Bledman Trinidad & Tobago 10.52 +0.0

bledman joking ah wha
Post by: D.H.W on May 30, 2009, 02:44:45 PM
http://www.freedocast.com/slapdog7
Post by: fLaSh on May 30, 2009, 02:48:26 PM
http://www.freedocast.com/slapdog7

Eternal Gratitude!

Quow ah rip up!!!
Post by: andre samuel on May 30, 2009, 02:51:19 PM
RENE QUOW second to LeShaun Merrit in 44.89 secs...........WOW!!
Post by: Trini1 on May 30, 2009, 03:03:14 PM
Wow Rene Quow- ever blazin!!!!!!!!!  good i like that he keeps n improving thats great! Can't say im suprised with Keston he hasn't run/trained in long so...
Post by: willi on May 30, 2009, 03:06:58 PM
Quow looked great. Chambers looked horrible.

Live stream:
http://watchlivestreamshow.blogspot.com/2009/05/reebok-grand-prix.html
Post by: D.H.W on May 30, 2009, 03:11:35 PM
Kelly Ann was first right through the race and get catch on the line
Post by: D.H.W on May 30, 2009, 03:13:39 PM
Flash Results, Inc.
                      2009 Reebok Grand Prix - 5/30/2009                     
                        Icahn Stadium, New York, N.Y.                         
                             Last Completed Event                             

Event 20  Women 100 Meter Dash Race 1
=====================================================================         
 Sponsored by                                                                 
 VISA                                                                         
       World: W 10.49  7/16/1988   Florence GRIFFITH-JOYNER, United S         
        Meet: M 10.91  2008        Veronica CAMPBELL-BROWN, JAM               
    American: A 10.49  7/16/1988   Florence GRIFFITH-JOYNER, World Cl         
  All-Comers: * 10.49  7/16/1988   Florence GRIFFITH-JOYNER, USA             
    Name                    Year Team                    Finals  Wind         
Finals                                                                       
  1 Carmelita Jeter              United States            10.85   2.8         
  2 Muna Lee                     United States            10.88   2.8         
  3 Veronica Campbell            Jamaica                  10.91   2.8         
  4 Kelly-Ann Baptiste           Trinidad & Tobago        10.91   2.8         
  5 Lauryn Williams              United States            10.94   2.8         
  6 Marshevet Hooker             United States            11.05   2.8         
  7 Torri Edwards                United States            11.11   2.8 [11.108]
  8 Debbie Ferguson              Bahamas                  11.11   2.8 [11.110]
  9 Sheri-Ann Brooks             Jamaica                  11.18   2.8         
Post by: Ngozi on May 30, 2009, 03:14:10 PM
Is bledman even training  wtf? In KELLY ANN WE HAVE OUR FIRST GENUINE WORLD BEATER ON THE WOMENS SIDE  ......
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 30, 2009, 03:16:25 PM
Wow Rene Quow- ever blazin!!!!!!!!!  good i like that he keeps n improving thats great! Can't say im suprised with Keston he hasn't run/trained in long so...

according to ATO his style needs to improve
Post by: D.H.W on May 30, 2009, 03:16:34 PM
Flash Results, Inc.

Event 4  Men 400 Meter Dash
================================================================
 Sponsored by                                                  
 Nutrilite                                                      
       World: W 43.18  8/26/1999   Michael JOHNSON, United State
        Meet: M 44.70  2008        Xavier CARTER, USA          
    American: A 43.18  8/26/1999   Michael JOHNSON, Nike        
  All-Comers: * 43.44  6/19/1996   Michael JOHNSON, USA        
    Name                    Year Team                    Finals
================================================================
Finals                                                          
  1 LaShawn Merritt              United States            44.75
  2 Rennie Quow                  Trinidad & Tobago        44.89
  3 Chris Brown                  Bahamas                  45.04
  4 Tabarie Henry                US Virgin Islands        45.10
  5 Andrae Williams              Bahamas                  45.31
  6 Kerron Clement               United States            45.76
  7 Ricardo Chambers             Jamaica                  46.02
  8 Randy Curry                  United States            46.86
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 30, 2009, 03:17:38 PM
Finals                                                                       
  1 Carmelita Jeter              United States            10.85   2.8         
  2 Muna Lee                     United States            10.88   2.8         
  3 Veronica Campbell            Jamaica                  10.91   2.8         
  4 Kelly-Ann Baptiste           Trinidad & Tobago        10.91   2.8         
  5 Lauryn Williams              United States            10.94   2.8         
  6 Marshevet Hooker             United States            11.05   2.8         
  7 Torri Edwards                United States            11.11   2.8 [11.108]
  8 Debbie Ferguson              Bahamas                  11.11   2.8 [11.110]
  9 Sheri-Ann Brooks             Jamaica                  11.18   2.8

so kelly time came like she ran 11.01 with a legal wind
Post by: fLaSh on May 30, 2009, 03:18:50 PM
Kellianne should be pleased. She's closing the gap and taking some big scalps too
Post by: Trini1 on May 30, 2009, 03:34:30 PM
Just watching the women's 100m and i was shouting down at the screen!!!! she should a hole on for first! But i pleased i pleased keeping up with those ladies isn't no easy task and she did I feel they shoulda put her third even. I thought Mrs Jeter was going to win she looking too strong, either her or kerron stewart to take it in Berlin.
Post by: D.H.W on May 30, 2009, 03:39:48 PM
Flash Results, Inc.

Event 3  Men 200 Meter Dash
       World: W 19.30  8/20/2008   Usain BOLT, Jamaica               
        Meet: M 19.82  2007        Wallace SPEARMON, USA             
    American: A 19.32  8/1/1996    Michael JOHNSON, Nike             
  All-Comers: * 19.32  8/1/1996    Michael JOHNSON, USA             
    Name                    Year Team                    Finals  Wind
Finals                                                               
  1 Tyson Gay                    United States            19.58M  1.3
  2 Wallace Spearmon             United States            19.98   1.3
  3 Xavier Carter                United States            20.27   1.3
  4 Jeremy Wariner               United States            20.30   1.3
  5 Lionel Larry                 United States            20.32   1.3
  6 Rodney Martin                United States            20.56   1.3
  7 David Neville                United States            20.66   1.3
  8 Emmanuel Callender           Trinidad & Tobago        20.98   1.3
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 30, 2009, 03:41:15 PM
19.58 in his first race dammmm dammmm ..... this is serious thompson better watch out ....
Post by: Babalawo on May 30, 2009, 03:47:42 PM
kelly ann did well.
this event was not really promoted in the trini bk/ny  community.  we wasnt aware of it , we would go support richard there. too late
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 30, 2009, 03:48:54 PM
kelly ann did well.
this event was not really promoted in the trini bk/ny  community.  we wasnt aware of it , we would go support richard there. too late

track is not our thing sah
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 30, 2009, 03:52:23 PM
thompson look small
Post by: Babalawo on May 30, 2009, 03:54:50 PM
like Richard drinking too much over hyped juice
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 30, 2009, 03:56:28 PM
he need to strengthen some more man
Post by: Trini1 on May 30, 2009, 03:59:36 PM
yeh boy Richard need to put on some more muscle mass!
Post by: D.H.W on May 30, 2009, 04:10:38 PM
muscle mass doh always mean speed eh
Post by: fLaSh on May 30, 2009, 04:14:21 PM
Event 1 Men 100 Meter Dash 'A' Race
Sponsored by
VISA
World: W 9.69 8/16/2008 Usain BOLT, Jamaica
Meet: M 9.72 2008 Usain BOLT, JAM
American: A 9.77 6/28/2008 Tyson GAY, adidas
All-Comers: * 9.72 5/31/2008 Usain BOLT, JAM
Name Year Team Finals Wind
Finals
1 Mike Rodgers United States 9.93 3.1
2 Travis Padgett United States 9.96 3.1
3 Steve Mullings Jamaica 9.98 3.1
4 Darvis Patton United States 10.00 3.1
5 Richard Thompson Trinidad & Tobago 10.01 3.1
6 Daniel Bailey Antigua & Barbuda 10.02 3.1
7 Asafa Powell Jamaica 10.10 3.1
8 Michael Frater Jamaica 10.15 3.1
9 Nesta Carter Jamaica 10.16 3.1
Post by: Carib-Briton on May 30, 2009, 04:34:49 PM

Not criticising you but how did you come to that conclusion after one race? serious question!

I don't feel he needs to but I ent ah track expert!
Post by: Trini1 on May 30, 2009, 04:55:03 PM
No dais after watchin he lose race after race this season and after seeing him run 9.89s in the olympic final I know he should be running faster than 5th place and in a tailwind of 3.1 m/s he should definitely be dipping under 10 seconds. I just feel building heself a bit more would give him that raw power(like asafa). However he does have a different style to asafa so my idea maybe total rubbish but I do think adding just a bit more muscle will do more good than damage.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 30, 2009, 05:56:57 PM

Not criticising you but how did you come to that conclusion after one race? serious question!

carib briton aka futbol is back come hope to see you around this time next saturday when we are taking on costa rica.... ...

yes and how is dwaine chambers
Post by: A.B. on May 30, 2009, 06:03:18 PM
MVP 3rd to last, 2nd to last and last.....possum indeed, Willi! They are doing a great job if that is in fact the case lol

Post by: Aviator on May 30, 2009, 06:20:48 PM
My notes....

Renny Quow is looking better every race and is beginning to supplant himself as the leader of the second group( Wariner and Merritt being the first) of 400m runners.

KAB- The time might have been winded, but I am very happy with the placement. Keep doing what your doing, because you are looking better and better.

RT- He is obviously very short on work and needs to take a break from all this racing. I personally don't want to see his name on a start list aside from trials until July 3rd in Oslo. He needs to put in a solid training block and that cannot be accomplished when racing. Manger and coach do the right thing. Not all money is good money....

Callendar got a bad lane draw and so was his race, but I am not to concerned seeing that he did run 20.40 just last week.

One a non trini note...TYSON GAY is a beast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That was a stupefying opening run. Berlin will be great.

P.S. monsieur Boldon, next time doh drink so much joy juice before you go on air. "Powell has the physical tools to destroy Bolt" ??? ??? Beat maybe, destroy NOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/v/-FTvJvVSrKc
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 30, 2009, 07:02:03 PM
I would like to see ato talk up quow more
Post by: Aviator on May 30, 2009, 08:27:36 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/iGrqmsuFXh4

Fast forward to the 0:37 mark. KAB ketch real joy when she see she time. ;D
Post by: A.B. on May 30, 2009, 08:43:48 PM
I dunno why everyone is living as though every time Bolt runs it will be Beijing 2008's ghost. Asafa with the way he can start and the way he ran the anchor in Beijing can destroy BOLT. I said what I meant to say. Destroy as in "shit I am in a hole I cant get out of because finally someone has exposed my weakness - watch Stockholm 08 for reference....

Your scoffing implies no one can possibly "destroy Bolt". And that simply is not true.  I think everyone seems to be living in 2008 still....a year in track is a lifetime....ask Wariner, Atkins, Melaine Walker et al.

Post by: Aviator on May 30, 2009, 11:13:11 PM
I dunno why everyone is living as though every time Bolt runs it will be Beijing 2008's ghost. Asafa with the way he can start and the way he ran the anchor in Beijing can destroy BOLT. I said what I meant to say. Destroy as in "shit I am in a hole I cant get out of because finally someone has exposed my weakness - watch Stockholm 08 for reference....

Your scoffing implies no one can possibly "destroy Bolt". And that simply is not true.  I think everyone seems to be living in 2008 still....a year in track is a lifetime....ask Wariner, Atkins, Melaine Walker et al.

i know we shouldn't deal in absolutes, but there isn't a soul out there that can destroy Bolt. What Bolt did to RT and what Powell did to Dix(Lausanne) is the definition of destruction. No one could do to Bolt what he and Powell did to RT and Dix respectively. You use Stockholm as a reference, but I can hardly call beating someone by 0.01s as being destroyed and had Bolt wanted to win that race, all he had to do was lean forward instead of back. Furthermore that was arguably Bolt's worst start of the season, so you will have to hope Bolt screws up badly for anyone to destroy him. Like I said the first time, can some one beat him i.e.(<0.10s) yes, DESTROY him....absolutely no!!!!!!!!!

The man has already run 9.90 in piss poor conditions mere weeks after an accident and with a considerable amount of training time lost. Watch the piece of fireworks he will put down here in Toronto, after having a nice 3 week training block.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 31, 2009, 06:13:53 AM

i know we shouldn't deal in absolutes, but there isn't a soul out there that can destroy Bolt. What Bolt did to RT and what Powell did to Dix(Lausanne) is the definition of destruction. No one could do to Bolt what he and Powell did to RT and Dix respectively. You use Stockholm as a reference, but I can hardly call beating someone by 0.01s as being destroyed and had Bolt wanted to win that race, all he had to do was lean forward instead of back. Furthermore that was arguably Bolt's worst start of the season, so you will have to hope Bolt screws up badly for anyone to destroy him. Like I said the first time, can some one beat him i.e.(<0.10s) yes, DESTROY him....absolutely no!!!!!!!!!

The man has already run 9.90 in piss poor conditions mere weeks after an accident and with a considerable amount of training time lost. Watch the piece of fireworks he will put down here in Toronto, after having a nice 3 week training block.

forget asafa lets talk about tyson gay .....
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 31, 2009, 06:22:54 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/iGrqmsuFXh4

Fast forward to the 0:37 mark. KAB ketch real joy when she see she time. ;D

kelly is up there with them running in lane 2 etc  ...
she will beat them in time
RT need to hit that gym ....
Post by: willi on May 31, 2009, 10:25:32 AM
MVP 3rd to last, 2nd to last and last.....possum indeed, Willi! They are doing a great job if that is in fact the case lol

We shall see.

A man of your perspicasity should now that Asafa at 10.10s +3.1ms means what, exactly?

BTW, you said on air that Asafa had ZERO Oly medals and that RT had 2 silvers from beijng. Check that again.
Post by: jusbless on June 01, 2009, 05:41:05 AM
What is happening to RT he seems to be getting slower and his execution has become arocious he is rushing his drive phase and losing form badly at the end of the race.It seems like his technique is declining every single race ,Is he doint too much racing and not getting the time to correct these deficiencies , should his camp limit the amount of meets he is running in .Or could it be the same as mvp athletes that they are now coming off weights training so they are not race ready as yet.
Post by: Sando prince on June 04, 2009, 12:59:05 AM
and Quow is still very young...he is one of our very promosing athletes..
Post by: A.B. on June 08, 2009, 12:37:26 AM
You check what I said, I am aware of what I said - I said 100 medals
Post by: willi on June 08, 2009, 04:37:24 PM

OK, I tek your word for it.

My bad then.
Post by: jamaica98 on June 10, 2009, 02:55:46 PM

No you did not...you said "still no olympic medal"...You may have been thinking 100 medals, but thats not what you said.  In fairness right before you made the statment you were commenting on Asafa's sub 9.8 runs in the 100. 
Post by: A.B. on June 12, 2009, 12:38:30 AM
Exactly. And to those who don't think Bolt can be destroyed. Watch a race of Asafa starting when he is on, now watch the relay anchor leg. Now imagine them together. I dunno why you all act as though I just casually say things....

If I say something like that it's not to get a rise its because I have broken down film and I believe it. Willi knows I have my Asafa issues but If you woke up tomorrow and Asafa had run 9.59 would u be totally shocked? I wouldn't and 9.59 would destroy anything else out there this year.

Every year we must go thru this??? People saying I am calling Jeter prematurely. Really? Based on what? Who wants to bet against Jeter as a worlds medalist this year? Against her being in the top 2?
Post by: Trini1 on June 12, 2009, 03:55:21 AM
No way Jeter has looked strong since the start of the season and is I've been saying that since she run first race she is a medalist unless she has some freak accident.
Post by: willi on June 12, 2009, 05:14:13 AM
Exactly. And to those who don't think Bolt can be destroyed. Watch a race of Asafa starting when he is on, now watch the relay anchor leg. Now imagine them together. I dunno why you all act as though I just casually say things....

If I say something like that it's not to get a rise its because I have broken down film and I believe it. Willi knows I have my Asafa issues but If you woke up tomorrow and Asafa had run 9.59 would u be totally shocked? I wouldn't and 9.59 would destroy anything else out there this year.

Every year we must go thru this??? People saying I am calling Jeter prematurely. Really? Based on what? Who wants to bet against Jeter as a worlds medalist this year? Against her being in the top 2?

Part of the process is the education of the casual fan. You have to keep drilling this in for it to stick to the newcomers.

You know we dont always predict the same, but I do highly respect your educated opinion in track as I know you do deep dive research to back up the views.

However, in the heat of commentary, things can slip and its really no big deal. You will hear it from us though, as track fans are nitpicking perfectionists and are crazy about the most minute details.
Post by: Aviator on June 15, 2009, 08:08:44 AM

Ato, I would like to know what is your definition of destruction. Because when I think of someone destroying another competitor over 100m I am thinking of a margin of defeat 0.10s or more.

So if we are to go along and use my arbitrary defeat margin of 0.10s, I could never see Powell beating and IN FORM Bolt by that margin. Damn near impossible. You said you have analyzed tape of Asafa, but in all your analysis you seemed to have missed that Powell for all his " Ka-Boom" starts has NEVER gone through 60m en route to 100m faster than Bolt, and we know who has the better last 40m. So for Powell to destroy Bolt as you say, he will have to catch him a on bad day, and in form Bolt and it will not happen. I will go a step further and say that when in form neither man is capable of beating the other by more than 0.05s or so.

As for Jeter she will be a factor come World's, but you should get too carried away knowing full well that Jeter is in peak shape right, while that JAM girls have run into all kinds of hurdles sans Kerron Stewart(who is still the WL) that has only allowed them to recently start their seasons. Because when likkle safa, VCB and Stewart get their engines revving at full speed, Jeter better be ready to handle hell. U.S./JAM Trails will tell the full story. I with hold medalist predictions until then.
Post by: A.B. on June 15, 2009, 11:15:53 AM
Destroy as in Bolt with a bad start will run 9.9 or 10.00 this year. Asafa can still run 9.8 with one....destroy as in can't make up ground cuz Asafa finally has put one together start middle and finish
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 16, 2009, 04:57:22 AM

carib briton aka futbol is back come hope to see you around this time next saturday when we are taking on costa rica.... ...

yes and how is dwaine chambers

Chambers is fine, he always at my local track (His training base - well duh of course he would be always there ;D). I think he's ran 10.17 and 10.06 for his last races.

I was here for the CR game
Post by: Aviator on June 16, 2009, 08:27:48 PM
Destroy as in Bolt with a bad start will run 9.9 or 10.00 this year. Asafa can still run 9.8 with one....destroy as in can't make up ground cuz Asafa finally has put one together start middle and finish

Well then I guess you are basically agreeing with me then. Because you are pretty much saying that Bolt will have to have a bad day for him to be destroyed.
Post by: Aviator on June 17, 2009, 12:37:26 PM

Well Mr.Boldon I think Lord Bolt just made you eat those words. He got a bad start with a awful 0.206 reaction time and still ran 9.77(+2.1)

So lets put this destruction 'talk' to rest shall we ;D

For your viewing pleasure.
http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/gH4EcxSUjmY
Post by: jusbless on June 17, 2009, 01:12:42 PM
I have to agree with Ato , It does not happen often but I believe if bolt get that bad start against Asaafa he will not be able to catch him or Tyson Gay
Post by: Aviator on June 17, 2009, 01:19:18 PM
I have to agree with Ato , It does not happen often but I believe if bolt get that bad start against Asaafa he will not be able to catch him or Tyson Gay

Education time....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FwZnCauVH4o

Powell barely keeps him off and that's only because Bolt didn't dip.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7FT7i5EBnkQ

As for Tyson Gay, he doesn't belong in this convo.
Post by: jusbless on June 17, 2009, 01:24:31 PM
Barely , but you proving my point with that video , did he catch him ,or he barely catch him that is the point I have to prove , do you know at the altitude and the wind adjustment to a legal amount that time equates to 9.87 , He ran full out after that bad start and he managed a 9.87 clocking and you think that time will be good enough to beat Asafa and Tyson Gay. So I guess I am the one who is doing the educating
Post by: Aviator on June 17, 2009, 02:00:56 PM
Barely , but you proving my point with that video , did he catch him ,or he barely catch him that is the point I have to prove , do you know at the altitude and the wind adjustment to a legal amount that time equates to 9.87 , He ran full out after that bad start and he managed a 9.87 clocking and you think that time will be good enough to beat Asafa and Tyson Gay. So I guess I am the one who is doing the educating

ROTFLMAO!!!!

Let's go over this. Ato said that Bolt with a bad start will ONLY run 9.9 or 10.0x. He just DESTROYED that notion.

Secondly you don't wind correct times one person race and not the other and then have the audacity to compare them. ::) =

If Bolt gets a bad start a Tyson he wlil be able to catch him. Guess why A.) Becasue if you pay attention you will know that Gay is not a good starter and will not be much further ahead if any. and B.) His ability to accelerate is inferior to Bolt's.
Post by: jusbless on June 17, 2009, 06:01:16 PM
I think that you are missing the picture what I am trying to say is that Asafa has not been able to put his perfect race together that is the start and the finish. If he puts that together ,I think he will be able to destroy bolt . Who you have to admit if he does not get a good start he tends to force the issue and does not run his race look how much he pushed today , he was not his usual relax self. So let me break it down to you what I am saying is that if Asafa finds a way to combine that finish that we saw at the relays in the Olympics and his usual lightning start , he in no uncertain terms will destroy Usain Bolt. Which big athlete was in the race with him today , he did not have to abandon his normal race pattern and lose his relaxation and would of still won convincingly with probably a better timing but he did, what does that tell you. Next counting out Tyson Gay might be a dangerous things to do last year was last year this year is a different story to open with 19.58 is not a joking matter  , The strange thing about track and field is that when someone sets a new bar level , you always see competitors stepping up to that level also it may be because they push themselves harder or because they see that it can be done , the great thing about this is time will tell and teach all.
Post by: jai john on June 17, 2009, 09:31:02 PM
I am no expert but it seems strange that men are still doubting Bolt . what about if bolt gets his perfect race at the same time that powell gets his ....what is likely to happen then ?  why compare a perfect Powell with an imperfect Bolt to see who is better ?
Anyone saying that all athletes in perfect shape and running their perfect race that Bolt can be destroyed by any other runner on the planet ?
Again I am no expert....
saw bolt with a bad start run 9.7 ....one can only imagine if he gets everything right what he can do. remember some experts had said he would  never be a great 100 meters runner because of his height and the fact that the competition at this time was too good .....
Post by: Aviator on June 17, 2009, 09:43:24 PM
I think that you are missing the picture what I am trying to say is that Asafa has not been able to put his perfect race together that is the start and the finish. If he puts that together ,I think he will be able to destroy bolt . Who you have to admit if he does not get a good start he tends to force the issue and does not run his race look how much he pushed today , he was not his usual relax self. So let me break it down to you what I am saying is that if Asafa finds a way to combine that finish that we saw at the relays in the Olympics and his usual lightning start , he in no uncertain terms will destroy Usain Bolt. Which big athlete was in the race with him today , he did not have to abandon his normal race pattern and lose his relaxation and would of still won convincingly with probably a better timing but he did, what does that tell you. Next counting out Tyson Gay might be a dangerous things to do last year was last year this year is a different story to open with 19.58 is not a joking matter  , The strange thing about track and field is that when someone sets a new bar level , you always see competitors stepping up to that level also it may be because they push themselves harder or because they see that it can be done , the great thing about this is time will tell and teach all.

Like I said earlier in this thread, the only way Powell destroys his Bolt is for Powell to put together a complete race while Bolt is having a terrible day. You guys keep going on about if Powell gets a blistering start he will be able to destroy Bolt. But here is a little factoid. In Beijing Bolt passed through 60m in 6.31s with an average start( NY was his best start of the season). A grand total of ZERO people have run faster through 60m that Bolt did that night and we all know his last 40m is second to none. What if Bolt starts like that on the same day as Powell.....LMAO

The only reason why you saw Bolt straining like that today is because Mills wanted him to push himself to see exactly how his training progress is going.So for a man who started training 6 weeks late and then even when he got started had numerous interruptions then a further 2 weeks missed from the car accident, to come an run a slightly winded 9.77 speaks volumes. He will be a terror in Berlin. Two months is a lot of time to train.

As for Gay let me see how he does over the 100m at US trials. He will have to make some serious technical improvements over the first 30m to be able to run with Bolt. As for the 200m I know he will make Bolt sweat, but the 100m is a different game.
Post by: Aviator on June 17, 2009, 09:45:32 PM
I am no expert but it seems strange that men are still doubting Bolt . what about if bolt gets his perfect race at the same time that powell gets his ....what is likely to happen then ?  why compare a perfect Powell with an imperfect Bolt to see who is better ?
Anyone saying that all athletes in perfect shape and running their perfect race that Bolt can be destroyed by any other runner on the planet ?
Again I am no expert....
saw bolt with a bad start run 9.7 ....one can only imagine if he gets everything right what he can do. remember some experts had said he would  never be a great 100 meters runner because of his height and the fact that the competition at this time was too good .....

Amen...
Post by: jusbless on June 18, 2009, 03:22:26 AM
I was not suggesting that bolt has a bad race for asafa to win , We have seen bolt put together some perfect races from start to finish and we know what times we can expect from him when he does that can we say the same for Asafa and Tyson or Darrel Brown. For me these are guys whose real potential has not be seen yet and are still trying to execute those perfect races . Did you even noticed the fast start tyson had in his 200m I have never seen him start like that before and from what I heard he has been working with Jon Drummond one of the fastest starters, who knows it seems to be rubbing off, But I fail to believe like some of you that bolt is unbeatable , I think this year will show that he is not. P.S. Anytime Darrel can stay healthy he can surprise the world, just remember at junior level we talked about two phenom , Brown and bolt , Bolt was healthy, darrel was not once his injuries worries are behind him I think he can destroy bolt also.
Post by: willi on June 18, 2009, 12:59:28 PM
Bolt was healthy?

Where have you been from 2004-2006?

Post by: Aviator on June 18, 2009, 08:40:57 PM
Jusbless no one ever said Bolt was unbeatable and earlier in this thread I actually said that Powell could beat him. Its this whole "destroy" thing that I am getting at. What Bolt did to RT in Beijing is your definition of destruction. NO ONE will EVER beat Bolt that badly.

As for Tyson Gay how he starts in the deuce has no bearings on how he starts in the hundred. Let me take you back to 2007 for one of Gay''s blazing curves, when him 100m start was even worse than it is now.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0blNYXMo44I

P.S. Powell has put together a complete race on many occasion, just never at the right time. I am a huge Darrel fan, but no one should be mentioned in the same breath as Bolt unless you have a 9.7x PR next to your name.
Post by: A.B. on June 19, 2009, 08:34:33 PM
Clearly my definition of destroy and some others is different....
Post by: Aviator on June 20, 2009, 07:25:58 AM
Clearly my definition of destroy and some others is different....

Okay Ato, even If I went along with you definition of destruction, I believe Powell might still be left wanting. If both men execute their races respective to perfection, we are looking at a scenario where Powell will be marginally ahead(0.03s at most) of Bolt. What happens in the last 40m??? Who has a last 40m like Bolt??
Post by: A.B. on June 20, 2009, 08:29:12 PM
It's not because I feel to say something like that. It's because I spend too much time looking at film (always have but now its actually my job). If I could show you what I see in terms of Asafa's 4x100m leg in Beijing (so otherworldly its not funny, but its a relay leg so it gets discarded, until you realize the floated thru the zone but still ran 8.7 and it was a full 100m flying) Then start to look at Asafa's best starts in the last few years esp when he was consistent in 06 and 07 and u realize that a race like Brussels last year or Stockholm is part of it - he can if he would stop running not to LOSE put such a gap on Bolt that Bolt would have a hard time catching him. YES he would. So me saying destroy is saying make BOLT become the one feeling victimized because his race model is inferior. This of course will take consistency from Asafa, which has been sorely lacking thus far in 09.

A little reminder of how Asafa can crank them out when he is ready. This list I like because it takes away wind altitude etc and just brings all races ever back to ZERO WIND and ALT etc....

http://www.trackandfieldnews.com/asset/special/2009/100m_Times_Adjusted.pdf

what Powell has done isn't to be taken lightly and I repeat, he has the talent to destroy Bolt. 9.6 LOW or 9.5 on a non Beijing track is in him, and I say that not because I am a fan I haven't been known to necessarily root for Asafa, but because once I break someone down on film, I don't waver from what I have ascertained.
Post by: willi on June 22, 2009, 07:30:34 AM

Awright now Ato,

As a Possumist (Carib T&F nickname for us hopefuls), I hope you noted that  Andrew Hinds from MVP dropped a PB 10.03 to win the Bajan trials and that DB (another from MVP) ran a massive season opener with a poor start to record a 10.05s (closing like a train). Also, you have seen that Callendar from Racers ran a PB 10.14s in the 100m and came 2nd in the 200m (albeit in a pedestrian time).

This augers well for possum playing and the proof of the pudding will be in the eating on Saturday when the bulk from these 2 camps attempt to qualify. Note that those canny coaches are far more interested in qualifying than in sending "messages" at trials like the yanks. You have seen the yanks kill off each other at their trials doing way more than necessary in many cases. If the likes of Frater, Asafa, SAF, Melaine, Waugh, Marvin Anderson, Blake, Gunz, Forsythe, Markino Buckley, Ric Chambers, etc qualify in whatever position, it will be pleasing to their coaches. All who are looking for an Asafa vs bolt clash at trials will be disappointed. I am sure Bolt will win and Asafa will do enuff for 2nd and the real battle will be for 3rd.

If the above happens, the possumism would have reigned supreme and the yanks would have to reassess their extreme optimism this year.

Right now for the men 4x100m, TnT is VERY dangerous. Jamaica will need both bolt and Asafa firing well to hold off TnT. Not sure that we can afford a sub-par Asafa. As for the US, they better hope that Dix steps up to partner Gay as otherwise they running for Bronze. Suh mi see it! LoL
Post by: A.B. on June 22, 2009, 09:08:28 AM
LOL let's see what the times become in Europe....trials always seem to have fast times, don't they...
Post by: willi on June 22, 2009, 10:34:32 AM
Lol

Yeah, you know I love to see times backed up!
Post by: willi on June 28, 2009, 03:26:59 PM

Mek yuh noise fi di Possum Posseeeee!

Cut a soca tune of dat for me.

More to come in Berlin