Sports => Football => Topic started by: Zeppo on May 28, 2009, 07:36:48 AM

Title: Rooney: Iniesta is the world's best
Post by: Zeppo on May 28, 2009, 07:36:48 AM
Rooney masks pain to hail Iniesta as world's best

Manchester United's Wayne Rooney did not let the disappointment of Wednesday's 2-0 defeat in the Champions League final stop him hailing Barcelona's Andres Iniesta as the world's best player.

Iniesta was instrumental as the Catalans controlled midfield to claim their third European Cup with relative ease. He laid on Samuel Eto'o's 10th-minute opener before Lionel Messi sealed victory with a rare header in the second half.

"They are a brilliant team and I think Iniesta is the best player in the world at the moment," the forward, among the English champions' biggest disappointments on the night, told reporters.

(continue) (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=650359&sec=uefachampionsleague&cc=5739)
Title: Re: Rooney: Iniesta is the world's best
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 28, 2009, 09:40:04 AM
I wouldnt say he's the world's best..I think he and Xavi are the World's most dangerous partnership...they compliment each other unbelievably

As for World's best...its between the young Argentine and Cristiano... Both had good games yesterday but IMO Cristiano was more involved

But Messi deserves his world player of the year award as CR7 was not as consistent as last year... watch out next season though  ;)
Post by: dinho on May 28, 2009, 09:41:33 AM
I wouldnt say he's the world's best..I think he and Xavi are the World's most dangerous partnership...they compliment each other unbelievably

As for World's best...its between the young Argentine and Cristiano... Both had good games yesterday but IMO Cristiano was more involved

But Messi deserves his world player of the year award as CR7 was not as consistent as last year... watch out next season though  ;)

Seriously, what game you was watching?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 28, 2009, 09:46:18 AM

I found Messi was good last night...but not that involved as he normally is... Cristiano imo was very good...

Post by: kicker on May 28, 2009, 10:03:02 AM

IMO Iniesta was the best player last night over 90 mins.  Xavi/Messi tied for 2nd...CR9 was good- but after his freekick in the first minute, a long range shot hit well wide, his missed left foot volley, and a dangerous run where he was pulled down at the top of the box, he slowly resorted to frustration plays/tackles and sorta played himself out of the game.  Iniesta ruled the midfield for pretty much the entire game.

Xavi was actually the official man of the match- as usual alot of his work goes unnoticed....
Post by: palos on May 28, 2009, 10:25:25 AM
Ah tink it was Observer who said it best for me.

Xavi ran tings last night

Iniesta made it possible for him to do so.

But dah chess trap from a bullet pass, turn past 2 men who was stickin to him like glue and burst a speed afterwards to leff dem in de duss by Messi in de 82nd minute last night was by itself worth de TV rights paid for the broadcast.  MY FLICKIN WORD!

BTW....Xavi...MOM in CL Final 2009.  MVP of Euro 2009.  Quadruple Crown winner in a calendar year....European Cup, Copa Del Rey, La Liga Title, and CL Title.  He could still add de Confederation's Cup with Spain later dis year.

And yuh does hardly hear bout he in comparison to some oddah men.

Post by: kicker on May 28, 2009, 10:38:12 AM

But dah chess trap from a bullet pass, turn past 2 men who was stickin to him like glue and burst a speed afterwards to leff dem in de duss by Messi in de 82nd minute last night was by itself worth de TV rights paid for the broadcast.  MY FLICKIN WORD!

ditto.
Post by: dinho on May 28, 2009, 10:39:25 AM

ditto.

it really look playstation-ish..

ah hoping diehard warrior could organize ah lil animated gif for we to browse it over.. :devil:
Post by: lefty on May 28, 2009, 10:44:14 AM
ah hoping diehard warrior could organize ah lil animated gif for we to browse it over.. :devil:

why alyuh so ;D
Post by: Filho on May 28, 2009, 10:44:34 AM
A couple years ago, I said Xavi was the best mf in Europe imo. I remember a good few men on here catch real kix off meh. Truth is, Xavi playing at this level long time. Before he mash up his knee in 2006, he was arguably a little bit better. Since then the Catalns saying Xavi never loses the ball. Now honestly, I've seen him misplace passes, but tell me the last time allyuh see anyone actually take a ball of Xavi foot. (of course it happens, but so few times i can't recall any and I watch barca alot). He's only now getting the recognition his skill and vision deserve. Last year, men claiming to be Barca fans was talking about how Barca doh need Xavi. He good but just a regular player.  ::) I think the brilliance of player like Dinho more easily recognizable. BUt guys like Xavi go unnoticed even if there are no players who can play the position the way he does. I know most people may not think he is the best mf in Europe, but at least nobody in their right mind will laugh at the idea any more.
Post by: Filho on May 28, 2009, 10:48:28 AM

I found Messi was good last night...but not that involved as he normally is... Cristiano imo was very good...

Cristiano looked alive for about 30 minutes. The game is 90 minutes long. Messi started off slower than CRonaldo, but he grew into the game and was tormenting the United defense long after Cr was getting  sniff of the ball. But I doh blame the Portuguese international. He was up for it, but the support wasn't there. For him, it was more a case of what he could have done. As for Rooney, he only saying Iniesta is the best player cuz he too embarrass to say it was Sylvinho  :devil:
Post by: palos on May 28, 2009, 10:51:44 AM
A couple years ago, I said Xavi was the best mf in Europe imo. I remember a good few men on here catch real kix off meh. Truth is, Xavi playing at this level long time. Before he mash up his knee in 2006, he was arguably a little bit better. Since then the Catalns saying Xavi never loses the ball. Now honestly, I've seen him misplace passes, but tell me the last time allyuh see anyone actually take a ball of Xavi foot. (of course it happens, but so few times i can't recall any and I watch barca alot). He's only now getting the recognition his skill and vision deserve. Last year, men claiming to be Barca fans was talking about how Barca doh need Xavi. He good but just a regular player.  ::) I think the brilliance of player like Dinho more easily recognizable. BUt guys like Xavi go unnoticed even if there are no players who can play the position the way he does. I know most people may not think he is the best mf in Europe, but at least nobody in their right mind will laugh at the idea any more.

Xavi like a great ref.  Nobody notice he till game done.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on May 28, 2009, 11:19:27 AM

Boy, is there no end to the shit yuh does talk??

All Ronaldo do is for the latter protion of the 1st half and the 2nd half is dribble and lose the ball. Then, we he find that wasn't enough, he resort to pelting blade behind Puyol till said Xavi had to pull up he socks.

Come nah Small Mag, stop being so overly biased nuh. 
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on May 28, 2009, 11:22:13 AM

That was ridiculous. Me and meh padna watch one another in awe.

BUt even Xavi and Iniesta was collecting some bullet pass from out the back and trapping and turning with ease. 
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 28, 2009, 11:53:36 AM

All Ronaldo do is for the latter protion of the 1st half and the 2nd half is dribble and lose the ball. Then, we he find that wasn't enough, he resort to pelting blade behind Puyol till said Xavi had to pull up he socks.

no end to my shit talk? lol funny coming from you

Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on May 28, 2009, 11:54:43 AM

no end to my shit talk? lol funny coming from you

I am surprised a couple of expletives weren't thrown in for good measure.
Post by: dumpalewie on May 28, 2009, 01:06:33 PM

Spoken like a true fan. :rotfl: :rotfl:

CR was the most involved player on an uninvolved team :devil:

Messi, Iniesta and Xavi were all better than CR.

He was most involved in trying to kick people at the end of the game. Tasteless!!!
Post by: breezers on May 28, 2009, 02:10:01 PM

The reason being teams see him as the major threat and dey game plan is to have 3 or 4 men on him at all times...and still he's so good he still finds a way to make something happen...Best Player in the world Hands Down at the moment!

Ah tink it was Observer who said it best for me.

Xavi ran tings last night

Iniesta made it possible for him to do so.

BTW....Xavi...MOM in CL Final 2009.  MVP of Euro 2009.  Quadruple Crown winner in a calendar year....European Cup, Copa Del Rey, La Liga Title, and CL Title.  He could still add de Confederation's Cup with Spain later dis year.

And yuh does hardly hear bout he in comparison to some oddah men.

as a result of teams tryin to keep Messi at bay by tryin to mark him out THE GAME....dey pay for it because both Iniesta and Xavi have more room to cause havoc...And many teams fail to realize that Iniesta deserves more attention than what he got in the last few games (Chelsea..Man Boo - but they know now) and as a result of sleepin on Iniesta with the main goal to contain Messi...Iniesta was the guy to cement we success!

IMO Iniesta was the best player last night over 90 mins.  Xavi/Messi tied for 2nd...CR9 was good- but after his freekick in the first minute, a long range shot hit well wide, his missed left foot volley, and a dangerous run where he was pulled down at the top of the box, he slowly resorted to frustration plays/tackles and sorta played himself out of the game.  Iniesta ruled the midfield for pretty much the entire game.

Xavi was actually the official man of the match- as usual alot of his work goes unnoticed....

And yes Messi by Iniesta by Xavi by Eto'o might get most of the praises...but for me the most important man for us in the last couple of games was YaYa FULLSTOP! So dais my man of the MATCH for the last few games str8! Cuz allyuh eh see wuh the man do....IMO d man is already one of the best MF around right now....when i say MF...ah talkin bout complete MF-ders...solid both offensively & defensively! We take the man out of he cormfort zone in the MF and use the man in a CB position and the man so versatile he was lookin like a seasoned CB....in fact he was lookin better than men who play dey for dey whole life! In addition, d man wasn't just defending for country but d man was bursin forward constantly when teams was sleepin defensively too and either scorin of creatin problems by findin players with precise passin..AS AH CB! ANd altho rell ppl was lookin at the injury to Rafa dem as a problem..it was a blessing cuz when YaYa burse forward form d defense we were a man up in the middle and I believe that was one of the things that caused us to have the advantage in d MF cuz teams doh relly make provisions to contain attackin CB's...so it very hard for a team to adjust to the extra man comin in the middle to strengthen a MF group that don't need the extra support! So Yaya was the key for me cuz everybody kno what Messi by Iniesta by Xavi by Eto'o by Henry could do....so is no surprise for me to see dem do what dey did cuz dey was doing it whole season! 
Post by: Filho on May 28, 2009, 02:20:54 PM
Breezers. Yaya deserves props for playing well out of position. But that that doesn't mean he deserves m.o.t.m honors. Pique was easily the better of the two center backs imo, or at least he seemed to make the more crucial interventions (no one mentioning that he practically won the game for Barca for that tackle on Park after C Ronaldo's free kick..had that gone in may have been a different game). His positioning was superb and he seemed to be in place to clear virtually every single cross ball from United. Yaya had his issues and he almost swiped the ball into his own net 2nd half under pressure from C Ronaldo. He did very well, albeit with a couple shaky moments...but you doh get handicap points for playing out of position. Pique looked the more accomplished and comfortable of the two in the centre back positions. Puyol was probably the best of all the defenders, if only for the fact that he played both sides (defense and attack) well. Had his header gone in, or his chip from the break on the right, it would have been fair reward for a swashbuckling display
Post by: breezers on May 28, 2009, 02:48:26 PM
Breezers. Yaya deserves props for playing well out of position. But that that doesn't mean he deserves m.o.t.m honors. Pique was easily the better of the two center backs imo, or at least he seemed to make the more crucial interventions (no one mentioning that he practically won the game for Barca for that tackle on Park after C Ronaldo's free kick..had that gone in may have been a different game). His positioning was superb and he seemed to be in place to clear virtually every single cross ball from United. Yaya had his issues and he almost swiped the ball into his own net 2nd half under pressure from C Ronaldo. He did very well, albeit with a couple shaky moments...but you doh get handicap points for playing out of position. Pique looked the more accomplished and comfortable of the two in the centre back positions. Puyol was probably the best of all the defenders, if only for the fact that he played both sides (defense and attack) well. Had his header gone in, or his chip from the break on the right, it would have been fair reward for a swashbuckling display

I understand where yuh comin from Filho...but for me i was alwayz comfortable when the ball was in Yaya's vicinity..Pique had a some big performances for us this season and he certainly deserves the credit but the thing about it..he actually did what he suppose to...he's ah CB....that's his duties...so within his role as ah CB he have to be able to make timely tackles and have good positionin....so it's expected by me for him to do so and it's been long overdue...my major beef with him and abidal in particular...is them fellaz does trip when dey ready and give away the ball in ungodly places and put the team under pressure. But at the end of the day dais what we have..so dais what we shall use until better could be done! Hence, I was impressed by Yaya...he was comin out of the back with precise passin and he tend to look for feet instead of just kickin way the ball EPL style..lol. So for me he was more composed!

In terms of Puyol he was indeed the best defender on the day and he's been d best defender we have for a couple of yrs now! He's the HEART & SOUL of the defense and also of Barca..to me he always have been and he would continue to be until he quit playin!! Rell ppl didnt kno he was dat versatile too..he's ah man will fan yuh up and whip in a tellin cross fuh the strikers and still bawl dem up if dey eh score....lol. I could remember Puyol talkin tuh Overmars like he's a lil boi for a mistake he make.....so i was laffin..lol
Post by: Toppa on May 28, 2009, 03:10:26 PM

:rotfl: Yuh know!
Post by: Toppa on May 28, 2009, 03:13:54 PM

Cristiano looked alive for about 30 minutes. The game is 90 minutes long. Messi started off slower than CRonaldo, but he grew into the game and was tormenting the United defense long after Cr was getting  sniff of the ball. But I doh blame the Portuguese international. He was up for it, but the support wasn't there. For him, it was more a case of what he could have done. As for Rooney, he only saying Iniesta is the best player cuz he too embarrass to say it was Sylvinho  :devil:

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on May 28, 2009, 03:23:03 PM

Like yuh gone undercover wid Barca now aought? :D
Post by: palos on May 28, 2009, 03:27:55 PM
Ah realise nobody talkin bout Busquets.

He had a demon of a game too...in a very quiet manner.

Proteck dat back line and also did not give away the ball.  Gave Xavi & Iniesta massive support and performed his role (de one Ya Ya does normally play) to perfection IMO.  Excellent player and one who came up through Barca's youth ranks
Post by: freakazoid on May 28, 2009, 04:21:48 PM
aye is whole day  in wuk men talking bout that all weh messi chest trap, ah neede ah video of that dread.

b4 the chelsea game i said it and i will say it again. if u want to stop barca u have to stop iniesta( atleast thats how i saw it 4 dis season)

next thing. y barca yute system so successful? and b4 any1 4get fabregas was also a member of d barca yute academy
Post by: WARRIORKING on May 28, 2009, 04:52:36 PM
i have to admit i never really watch xavi and iniesta  play until this year really, and you can't deny their control of that midfield and they area and they are so smooth in doing so. it also helps that they have man like Eto, Henry, and  Messi to pass to but he right iniesta is boss
Post by: Deeks on May 28, 2009, 04:59:03 PM
I hope the TT team watch the game. Two teams fairly even. It boiled down to who controlled the middle effectively. It was Barca all the way. Forget the goals for the moment. Manu had some control, but not the way Barca controlled the ball when they had it. All yuh think we team have the men to play half as much as Barca mid-field.
Post by: freakazoid on May 28, 2009, 05:03:41 PM
    Terry Venables wrote:"If it does come down to Messi against Ronaldo, well, Messi is one of the best players in the world, but give me Ronaldo. Messi is wonderful on the right but Ronaldo is terrific on the right, the left and through the middle as well. He also scores goals with his head, which Messi couldn’t do even if they put a top hat on him."

egg on yuh face terry?
Title: Bad news for La Liga, CL Teams and de other 31 World Cup teams
Post by: palos on January 18, 2010, 12:31:46 PM
Andres Iniesta is BAAAAACCCCCKKKKKKKKK!!!

De man put down a master class on de weekend sah.

Wheeeeyyyyysss.

Nex man on a rampage was de one and only Ronaldinho.

A Brazil Spain world cup final would arguably be the greatest world cup final of them all.

But yes....ah dreamin and plenty can happen between now and then.
Title: Re: Bad news for La Liga, CL Teams and de other 31 World Cup teams
Post by: Jah Gol on January 18, 2010, 12:59:33 PM

Wheeeeyyyyysss.

A Brazil Spain world cup final would arguably be the greatest world cup final of them all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/9-WbMY2Ggtg
Post by: weary1969 on January 18, 2010, 01:00:56 PM

Wheeeeyyyyysss.

He look sweet
Post by: Jah Gol on January 18, 2010, 01:10:28 PM

Wheeeeyyyyysss.

good game against Sevilla in the cup too. He was unluck not to score.
Post by: soccerman on January 18, 2010, 01:28:36 PM
He remind me of Fletcher dey boy ;D
Post by: Dumplingdinho on January 18, 2010, 01:58:13 PM
I would like to see a Brazil vs. Spain final.  Based on the WC draw, we can see that match up either in the round of 16 or the finals.  If they both win their group or both come second then they will be in opposite sides of the draw and cant meet till the final.  If one wins their group and the other finishes second then they will meet in the round of 16.

Nice to see Ronaldinho rounding into top form.  Hope Dunga starts him and leaves Robinho on the bench.
Post by: dinho on January 18, 2010, 02:02:52 PM
what i am excited about for the second half of this season is seeing the top 3 players in world football at peak form and competing for titles... Messi, Ronaldinho and C. Ronaldo..  Players who on their day if on top form can be unstoppable..

its a long time since so many game changers were all at the top of their game at the same time.. last i remember was when Zidane, Rivaldo, Ronaldo, Figo were plying their trades.
Post by: Blue on January 18, 2010, 02:07:28 PM
what i am excited about for the second half of this season is seeing the top 3 players in world football at peak form and competing for titles... Messi, Ronaldinho and C. Ronaldo..  Players who on their day if on top form can be unstoppable..

its a long time since so many game changers were all at the top of their game at the same time.. last i remember was when Zidane, Rivaldo, Ronaldo, Figo were plying their trades.

Drogba should be in that top 3, Ronaldinho hadda get drop lol
Post by: kicker on January 18, 2010, 02:24:34 PM
Xavi was impeccable over the weekend too- his pass to the Pedro for the 3rd (i think) goal was one for the history books...

Ronaldinho is showing flashes...Still not convinced that he'll ever be back to what the world is waiting and hoping for.  If nothing else he is one player who if he never finds his previous form, will leave the world stage as a somewhat underappreciated figure, and have fans haunted forever.  Anyone who is fan of Ronaldinho (or neutral) until this day holds his/her breath for a piece of magic anytime he touches the ball... and each game he gives you enough to hope for, but not enough consistency to feel satisfied with .... and it's been like this for years now!!
Post by: FF on January 18, 2010, 02:46:49 PM
He remind me of Fletcher dey boy ;D

Bladowww !!!  :rotfl:
Post by: Grande on January 18, 2010, 06:19:07 PM
Xavi was impeccable over the weekend too- his pass to the Pedro for the 3rd (i think) goal was one for the history books...

Ronaldinho is showing flashes...Still not convinced that he'll ever be back to what the world is waiting and hoping for.  If nothing else he is one player who if he never finds his previous form, will leave the world stage as a somewhat underappreciated figure, and have fans haunted forever.  Anyone who is fan of Ronaldinho (or neutral) until this day holds his/her breath for a piece of magic anytime he touches the ball... and each game he gives you enough to hope for, but not enough consistency to feel satisfied with .... and it's been like this for years now!!

Feel you in every word there. Felt like that with R9 too. Maybe we should accept that they human  :D
Post by: palos on January 18, 2010, 06:33:35 PM
Jah gol.....2:32 to 3:01 in dah clip yuh gi we dey wit de REAL special one was MAGICAL dread!

Wheeeeeeeyyyyyyssss!!

BIG PLAYERS does go tru a whole season without havin as many highlights as dinho had in dah ONE GAME!

Check out de expression of de Siena player right at de end askin fuh Dinho jersey.

De man face light up like a chile actually seein santa claus in de flesh......and he now finish colleck 4 eh!  :rotfl:
Post by: palos on January 18, 2010, 06:37:22 PM
Iniesta and crew in demolition derby...watch xavi pass at 4:01

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/lDve_Pqya7k
Post by: Grande on January 18, 2010, 07:07:40 PM
Iniesta and crew in demolition derby...watch xavi pass at 4:01

It would have been a deep insult if Pedro didn't score off that pass. I wish Ray Hudon had commentate on that game...
Post by: Marcos on January 18, 2010, 07:28:57 PM

i really eh know what more u want from a player than what he showed yesterday
that was a classic performance. he coulda scored 6
Post by: Preacher on January 18, 2010, 08:37:41 PM

Feel you in every word there. Felt like that with R9 too. Maybe we should accept that they human  :D

Just don't believe the hype!!!!   ;D  Not sure what allyuh want though after watching that clip I not sure it have any player could do the things he does do when he's on.  Just magical. 
Post by: elan on January 18, 2010, 09:39:39 PM
An ah man on here say Messi left foot is just to keep him balanced.
Post by: Ngozi on January 19, 2010, 07:51:20 AM
welcome back dinho we've missed ya :beermug:
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on January 19, 2010, 09:06:25 AM
I posted that Pedro Goal/Xavi pass in another thread.

Some soldier named Shotta had the gall to say Barca lucky and trying to compare Fletcher to Xavi.

Anyhow look the link to the goal.
http://www.d1g.com/video/space/sports/show/?id=3480773 (http://www.d1g.com/video/space/sports/show/?id=3480773)
Post by: kicker on January 19, 2010, 09:14:21 AM

Want to see that kinda performance more often & consistently.
Post by: palos on January 19, 2010, 09:17:01 AM

Yuh lickrish  :devil:
Post by: dinho on January 19, 2010, 09:23:50 AM

you haven't been watching serie A ball this season or what? Off the top of my head, I particularly remember the games he played against Catania, Sampdoria and Marseille in the CL as standouts but the improvement has been steady and he is not far off his peak imo.

Look at that third goal again.. the very quick foot shake and then a correct bullet.

that was as they would say, "straight out of the top shelf".
Post by: kicker on January 19, 2010, 09:39:58 AM

you haven't been watching serie A ball this season or what? Off the top of my head, I particularly remember the games he played against Catania, Sampdoria and Marseille in the CL as standouts but the improvement has been steady and he is not far off his peak imo.

Look at that third goal again.. the very quick foot shake and then a correct bullet.

I've been watching quite a bit...steady improvement I agree... Not far off his peak? - not sure...I still think he has a ways to go.  The R10 that scored 2 solo runs in one game against Real Madrid, that cut back pull the carpet from under Maldini and the entire Milan defense and slap with the left up in the V in CL, toe p against Chelsea, bicycle kicks, scissors kicks, numerous free kicks, spannering, fanning, capping, running at and blowing by men at will with flicks, tricks and winning FIFA world player of the year 2wice is still in a different class to what we're seeing now.  His speed alone was night and day compared to now.  I'm not saying that it's realistic for him to be that player again...but let's be honest.  That last game this weekend was his best this season and probably the best he's had since he left Barca....and that was a satisfying flash of what we used to know.  The other games that you called up there smaller flashes.  The man is clearly enjoying his football again and it's natural/normal that people will start to rush the brush and say he's the R10 of old ...but he's not...at least not yet.  A part of me just wants to see more of that more consistently, and a part of me juss doh wanna blight the man before World Cup  lol  ;D...
Post by: Israel on January 19, 2010, 10:08:46 AM
I agree dinho, ronaldhino has been playing very well of late and he said he is better than he was at barca....it may not look that way but at barca he had better players around him which will make him look better and also the Serie A is a more physical league so he may not appear to be regain his previous barca form......Dunga hadda b mad not to carry him WC
Post by: Sando on January 19, 2010, 10:16:20 AM

Wheeeeyyyyysss.

Andres Iniesta is ah boss....
Post by: soccerman on January 19, 2010, 10:26:19 AM
Ronaldinho has been gradually catching his form this season and now you're seeing that joy when he plays which you could've seen was missing earlier, to me he looked some what fraustrated. Now he's getting back to doing what he wants on the ball and steady attacking down the flank....all dem defenders could do is contain and foul, don't try to tackle cause yuh might set someting ;D
Post by: Marcos on January 19, 2010, 10:35:57 AM

I've been watching quite a bit...steady improvement I agree... Not far off his peak? - not sure...I still think he has a ways to go.  The R10 that scored 2 solo runs in one game against Real Madrid, that cut back pull the carpet from under Maldini and the entire Milan defense and slap with the left up in the V in CL, toe p against Chelsea, bicycle kicks, scissors kicks, numerous free kicks, spannering, fanning, capping, running at and blowing by men at will with flicks, tricks and winning FIFA world player of the year 2wice is still in a different class to what we're seeing now.  His speed alone was night and day compared to now.  I'm not saying that it's realistic for him to be that player again...but let's be honest.  That last game this weekend was his best this season and probably the best he's had since he left Barca....and that was a satisfying flash of what we used to know.  The other games that you called up there smaller flashes.  The man is clearly enjoying his football again and it's natural/normal that people will start to rush the brush and say he's the R10 of old ...but he's not...at least not yet.  A part of me just wants to see more of that more consistently, and a part of me juss doh wanna blight the man before World Cup  lol  ;D...

Feel you. But I watch every AC Milan game and the man has been playing this well for at least a month and a half. The big difference is that since Seedorf's injury AC Milan has been employing 2 defensive mids and pushing Pirlo more forward. The effect of this is 2-fold...more defensive cover for the attackers, and better service from Pirlo who has also rounded into his top form.
Add to that Antonini is 10x better than Zambrotta or Jankulovski and enjoys supplying Ronnie that ball on the left. Believe it or not Beckham has helped too, as no Pato means is only one ball-hog on the field and more opprotunities.

R80 might never regain that speed of old (which 30-year old does?), but his skill, vision and passion is right up there with the best of his Barca days.

Post by: dinho on January 19, 2010, 10:36:54 AM

i hear you.. but i find i seeing it.. ah seeing men getting level spanner and fan.. he dishing out a mandatory 2 breed per game.. he getting up on de bike, just none eh gone in as yet.. everything going through him, close control on and men getting best ball right thru. Boriello only grinning right thru.

i eh looking for him to run through an italian defense like that because none of them top sides as porous as that Real Madrid defense was that get skin open with Helguera in de back. Italian defences lock up tighter than Spanish plus less of the ball is played on the floor (just ask Eto'o). Notably against Juventus he didnt have the freedom of the park even though he came away with a goal, so just the fact that he still lighting up like that to me is a credit.

will be interesting to see what he do in champs league and last half of the league. not backing milan, inter all the way but it makes for good entertainment.
Post by: palos on January 19, 2010, 10:58:26 AM
Careful dis thread get merge into one from 3 years ago dat did say Ronaldinho in de title  8)

A little more on Dinho....

Early in de season....dinho used to try and go past man and was level BAT he was gettin.  I used to think to mehself...dinho in he heyday woulda never fail to beat a man so consistently.

But in de past month or so, ah realizin de man passin man like nutting now.  And de difference is de speed at which he movin wit de ball.

I feel it come down to 2 tings as de difference between early in de season and now

1 - FITNESS
2 - PLAYING TIME

Even when he was playin bad and was gettin ridicule by commentators and fans alike Leonardo keep playing him.  Great faith and WISDOM by coach Leonardo.
Post by: jai john on January 20, 2010, 05:43:39 AM
Careful dis thread get merge into one from 3 years ago dat did say Ronaldinho in de title  8)

A little more on Dinho....

Early in de season....dinho used to try and go past man and was level BAT he was gettin.  I used to think to mehself...dinho in he heyday woulda never fail to beat a man so consistently.

But in de past month or so, ah realizin de man passin man like nutting now.  And de difference is de speed at which he movin wit de ball.

I feel it come down to 2 tings as de difference between early in de season and now

1 - FITNESS
2 - PLAYING TIME

Even when he was playin bad and was gettin ridicule by commentators and fans alike Leonardo keep playing him.  Great faith and WISDOM by coach Leonardo.

class is class ..form is temporary . Dinho was burned out ..too much football ..too little rest ...but you dont lose your skill ...just your desire and maybe some youth.
Dinho is now motivated to show the mocking pretenders that he is back to claim his place at the top of the heap ...all dem women and dem have to take ah side now ...nuff ah dat in de past ...
To a brazilian ..the world cup year is a serious time ...no time for skylark ...you will notice that dinho scored three but could have had more which he created with his bag of tricks.
so all of a sudden Pato is no longer de star at Milan and kaka is gone ...let me see Dunga keep him out now !
Post by: fordy on January 20, 2010, 09:27:58 AM

In that Sampdoria game didnt he have 3 assists in 30 minutes of football and they took him off because he tweeked his hamstring and they needed him fresh for the wednesday CL game? that was a classic performance as well. this past weekend he looked brilliant too. right now he looking better than cr7 on current form. he almost in the same sentence with messi and xavi now. definitely he should be on that brazil squad before robinho on current form. to get sub on and sub off says alot! :beermug: