Sports => Football => Topic started by: E-man on June 05, 2009, 12:29:42 AM

Title: T&TFF targets UK-born Zamora, Samuel again
Post by: E-man on June 05, 2009, 12:29:42 AM
T&TFF targets UK-born Zamora, Samuel again.
T&T Guardian reports.

The T&T Football Federation is looking at the prospect of going after English-born players, striker Bobby Zamora of Fulham and Bolton Wanderers left back, Jlloyd Samuel, both of T&T parentage once again. This after a decision was made by Fifa at its 59th Congress in Nassau, Bahamas, on Wednesday to remove the age limit on players changing national teams. Under established rules players with dual nationality, who had already played for a country’s national team at youth level, were only allowed to switch loyalties at the age of 21 during a one-year window.

But the motion removing the age limit was approved by 58 per cent of the congress, while the other 42 per cent voted against it. However, the rule change does not affect any player who has played for the full national team as they are barred from switching nations. When contacted on the matter, T&TFF special advisor and Concacaf boss, Jack Warner, intransit from Bahamas to Cayman Islands with Fifa president Sepp Blatter, said the local federation had written to Fifa asking for Zamora and Samuel to join the T&T team. “Fifa’s legal consultants are currently addressing the situation to give the T&TFF a response with the regards to the two players as soon as possible.”

During the 2006 Fifa World Cup campaign, both Samuel and Zamora then with Premiership clubs, Aston Villa and West Ham United respectively were targeted by former T&T coach, Dutchman Leo Beenhakker as possible additions to the Soca Warriors World Cup squad. But in the end, the request for the players were denied by Fifa after they informed the T&TFF that Zamora, whose father was born in Carenage, did not qualify to play for T&T, having represented England at Under-18 and Under-21 level while Samuel was also turned down for similar reasons.

It was further explained that Samuel like Zamora did not utilised the one-year window given by Fifa when a reversal of their status could have been possible. Since then both players have not represented England at senior level and may finally get a chance to play for the Soca Warriors during the 2010 Concacaf World Cup qualifiers.

(http://guardian.co.tt/files/imagecache/article_main_image/articles/images/players.png?)
Bobby Zamora...Fulham player, left,
Jlloyd Samuel...plays for Bolton.
Title: Re: T&TFF targets UK-born Zamora, Samuel again
Post by: Peter on June 05, 2009, 01:17:03 AM
ahh, this is good news. Any quality that can be added to the team is very welcome, especially defense(I'm talking about you J Lloyd Samuel) Thanks to Mr Warner once again for pulling an ace out of his sleave to try and help this ungrateful country's football. Yeah yeah, I dislike him for the blacklist, but have to admit he's done more than anyone else to further our football, even though he occasionally makes it take 5 steps backwards after 3 forwards.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 05, 2009, 02:12:33 AM
ahh, this is good news. Any quality that can be added to the team is very welcome, especially defense(I'm talking about you J Lloyd Samuel) Thanks to Mr Warner once again for pulling an ace out of his sleave to try and help this ungrateful country's football. Yeah yeah, I dislike him for the blacklist, but have to admit he's done more than anyone else to further our football, even though he occasionally makes it take 5 steps backwards after 3 forwards.

Aye, yuh post is full of contradictions.....yuh like Warner but dislike him for the blacklist.....the country ungrateful because he has done more for football than anyone else but he "occasionally" takes it 5 steps back after taking it 3 steps forward....uuuuummmmm make up yuh mind....

On another but related note, I keep reading forumites posting that getting these guys (Samuel in particular) is good for us.  I'll take their word for it because I've never seen them play.....
Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 05, 2009, 03:19:16 AM
hear nah....yuh tink dem fellas could make it in time for d Mexico game?
Post by: freakazoid on June 05, 2009, 03:21:06 AM
boy leh zamora haul he tail eh.
Post by: Peter on June 05, 2009, 03:32:17 AM

Aye, yuh post is full of contradictions.....yuh like Warner but dislike him for the blacklist.....the country ungrateful because he has done more for football than anyone else but he "occasionally" takes it 5 steps back after taking it 3 steps forward....uuuuummmmm make up yuh mind....

On another but related note, I keep reading forumites posting that getting these guys (Samuel in particular) is good for us.  I'll take their word for it because I've never seen them play.....

lol, i know it sounds contradictory, but i'm just saying, that instead of only looking at the negative(plenty) and demonizing the man, we should look at the many positives also. Yes, even though I said all those things, I still think OVERALL he's done more for our football than anyone else, if you add up all the positives and negatives. You think we would have gotten to germany 06 without Warner? I know people with their hating will say yes, but looking at it objectively it's obviously no. To just mention one thing, Beenhackker big toe wouldn't have set foot on T&T if not for Warner.
Post by: Peter on June 05, 2009, 03:32:42 AM

Post by: Socafan on June 05, 2009, 05:24:59 AM
Steeuups......
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 05, 2009, 05:28:05 AM
But the motion removing the age limit was approved by 58 per cent of the congress, while the other 42 per cent voted against it.
Them does just feel to waste ink or something?
Post by: Jah Gol on June 05, 2009, 05:31:12 AM
But the motion removing the age limit was approved by 58 per cent of the congress, while the other 42 per cent voted against it.
some could have abstained.
Post by: fordy on June 05, 2009, 07:00:19 AM
samuel yes....an in form Zamora definitely. for me he is too inconsistant as a striker..but when on his game he can produce. samuel brings good pace and experience which is sorely lacking in our defense....especially at the wing back position. we shud also look for other players outside of england as well. trinidadians does find themselves all over the world so with this new ruling they need to start searching other leagues in other countries to locate talent. :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on June 05, 2009, 07:23:43 AM
right now i taking anything i could get yes, we need it
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 05, 2009, 07:30:12 AM

ent!!
Post by: Jumbie on June 05, 2009, 07:48:13 AM
this is ah real judas topic oui... thing get real beat here in the past. ah notice non of the older heads eh commenting.

Post by: PIMP on June 05, 2009, 07:50:38 AM
ride out with Zamora!!!
Post by: D.H.W on June 05, 2009, 08:02:10 AM
ride out with Zamora!!!

im pretty sure he will accept and come lol  :devil:
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 05, 2009, 08:23:32 AM
samuel yes....an in form Zamora definitely. for me he is too inconsistant as a striker..but when on his game he can produce. samuel brings good pace and experience which is sorely lacking in our defense....especially at the wing back position. we shud also look for other players outside of england as well. trinidadians does find themselves all over the world so with this new ruling they need to start searching other leagues in other countries to locate talent. :beermug:

bring in zamora there will be stiff competiton up front  stern scotty and jones  they have to produce ...
Post by: King Deese on June 05, 2009, 08:28:28 AM
i know this post is about dem two fellas, but jack "d brain" warner is a thief.

d brain is a rich man who got his riches on the backs of football players who only lately decided to not let d biggest con artist in tnt con dem anymore, dis is a man who surrounded himself with yes men, men who doh really care about anybody else but themselves, d brain, and impregnating their bank accounts. dat is all i am going to say about dat part.

as for bringing football along in tnt, are you serious?? you have got to be kidding. why are we unable to match usa, costa rica, honduras, and mexico and even el salvador and guatamela in the level of play and quality players on the field where it counts d most. we are behind these countries in preparedness and quality football programmes.

you cannot tell me that someone else would not have done a better job after all this time. 100 years, they just celebrated 100 years in existence and tnt still d low rung on d totem pole. d proof is in d pudding.

you know what it, warnerman just pisses me off. i am not going to say anymore right now. i am going to save some for my next rebuttle.

forgive my anger but this is crazy.
Post by: kiffysmooth on June 05, 2009, 08:48:06 AM
Trini-man famous for sowing dey seeds all over de world...doh matter where yuh goh, yuh does hear somebody say "my father trinidadian".....with that said, my suggestion would be to put ah add in de Italian papers so we could get ah Italian defense. put out one in spain and portugal for ah left midfield..puy one out in brazil for ah center midfield and one in africa for ah striker
Post by: NUFF on June 05, 2009, 09:07:16 AM
I doh want to see Zamora nowhere close to we national team.  That asshole turned his back on us before.  Where we going running him dong now?  He had his chance.

Post by: Quags on June 05, 2009, 09:13:54 AM
Trini-man famous for sowing dey seeds all over de world...doh matter where yuh goh, yuh does hear somebody say "my father trinidadian".....with that said, my suggestion would be to put ah add in de Italian papers so we could get ah Italian defense. put out one in spain and portugal for ah left midfield..puy one out in brazil for ah center midfield and one in africa for ah striker
Fer real ,on a radio talk show this morning ,one of the girl from Naked news say shes a Trini ,from POS to Canada.
Post by: arrow on June 05, 2009, 09:26:52 AM
some could have abstained.

Wow that would have been HUGE news!
Post by: arrow on June 05, 2009, 09:28:43 AM
I doh want to see Zamora nowhere close to we national team.  That asshole turned his back on us before.  Where we going running him dong now?  He had his chance.

I guess you rather we come last in de Hex?
Post by: supporter on June 05, 2009, 09:56:32 AM
Fantastic News!

I understand the bitter sentiment regarding Zamora, but at this stage, we have to take what we can get.
Post by: frico on June 05, 2009, 10:44:14 AM
This Zamora ting gone to people head,at the time he refused TT he had aspirations of playing for England and there was that chance,Jlloyd also refused at a time that was crucial to him.I cannot see why you all are dismissing Zamora and saying yes to Samuel,the bottom line is they are both EPL players and "beggars cant be choosers",Zamora could also play in mid-field.
Post by: pardners on June 05, 2009, 10:45:10 AM

lol, i know it sounds contradictory, but i'm just saying, that instead of only looking at the negative(plenty) and demonizing the man, we should look at the many positives also. Yes, even though I said all those things, I still think OVERALL he's done more for our football than anyone else, if you add up all the positives and negatives. You think we would have gotten to germany 06 without Warner? I know people with their hating will say yes, but looking at it objectively it's obviously no. To just mention one thing, Beenhackker big toe wouldn't have set foot on T&T if not for Warner.

Of course no one has ever done more for our football ....has anyone else ever gotten a chance ?
Like I've always said...we made it to Germany IN SPITE OF Jack Warner.  And who is to say if another person was in charge they wouldn't have gotten Beenhacker too, or maybe even a bigger name coach for that matter.  

And what who is to say whether Warner was behind the move to remove the age limit from the rules.  I hardly see a man like Warner fighting a battle like that just for T&T to get players like Zamora and Samuel to join the team.  I coulda understand if there was a possibility of getting CRonaldo and Kaka maybe.  In any case the rule does not only affect us alone, but also all other opposing teams as well.  

If you want to talk about doings things for T&T football, talk about implementing good football programs, even settling for the programs to emulate the other CONCACAF teams who ranked ahead of us and still doh have a Jack Warner to pull they strings.
Post by: King Deese on June 05, 2009, 10:55:53 AM

Of course no one has ever done more for our football ....has anyone else ever gotten a chance ?
Like I've always said...we made it to Germany IN SPITE OF Jack Warner.  And who is to say if another person was in charge they wouldn't have gotten Beenhacker too, or maybe even a bigger name coach for that matter.  

And what who is to say whether Warner was behind the move to remove the age limit from the rules.  I hardly see a man like Warner fighting a battle like that just for T&T to get players like Zamora and Samuel to join the team.  I coulda understand if there was a possibility of getting CRonaldo and Kaka maybe.  In any case the rule does not only affect us alone, but also all other opposing teams as well.  

If you want to talk about doings things for T&T football, talk about implementing good football programs, even settling for the programs to emulate the other CONCACAF teams who ranked ahead of us and still doh have a Jack Warner to pull they strings.
[/quote]

my sentiments exactly..........
Post by: Quags on June 05, 2009, 11:04:04 AM
This Zamora ting gone to people head,at the time he refused TT he had aspirations of playing for England and there was that chance,Jlloyd also refused at a time that was crucial to him.I cannot see why you all are dismissing Zamora and saying yes to Samuel,the bottom line is they are both EPL players and "beggars cant be choosers",Zamora could also play in mid-field.
We is not beggars ...
Post by: frico on June 05, 2009, 11:23:50 AM
I use the word "beggars" as a figure of speech and its not meant as an insult,why should we not use better players if they are willing to play,have we got better.
Post by: Quags on June 05, 2009, 11:34:44 AM
Ok ...we have Warriors ,I doh know if they better or have a warrior heart,good plugs for holes we might have doh.
Post by: D.H.W on June 05, 2009, 11:35:57 AM
Ok ...we have Warriors ,I doh know if they better or have a warrior heart,good plugs for holes we might have doh.

We have plenty  :'(

Post by: Jefferz on June 05, 2009, 11:40:27 AM
i dont want zamora, but samuel we can definitely use.
Post by: Quags on June 05, 2009, 11:42:16 AM
chin up man ,we get almost everything we ask for besides a warm up game ,almost all the players back and a new coach .Now we just wait and pray and watch . :beermug:
These guys is just icing on the cake .
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 05, 2009, 11:54:43 AM
Zamora on board would put pressure on them guys now welcome bobby
Post by: D.H.W on June 05, 2009, 12:01:11 PM
Zamora on board would put pressure on them guys now welcome bobby

i agree
Post by: Babalawo on June 05, 2009, 12:27:38 PM
put Jlloyd at left back and .Zamora upfront with Kenwyne
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 05, 2009, 01:57:14 PM

Great point.  ;)
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 05, 2009, 02:01:13 PM

When heading to a WC, it doh matter breds. Use them if they could do de wuk. If ah man turn he back on we but he better than what we might have or could compete with the others, then let that man come. Doh take it personal.  ;D
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 05, 2009, 02:08:32 PM

Zamora will be better at a attacking center mid. No way should he start in front of Scottland as a forward. He is not a true striker to me. But I do like his hustle.  8)

Post by: gawd on pitch on June 05, 2009, 02:09:29 PM
Our goal keeping and defence needs sharpening. Would be good if Warner gets a call up.
Post by: Trini Madness on June 05, 2009, 02:14:47 PM
i dont mind zamora being on the team, but he's gonna have to earn my respect as a fan. samuel would be a great addition to the defence.

if zamora comes on as attacking mid, does this mean the disappearance of roberts?
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 05, 2009, 02:43:33 PM
if zamora comes on as attacking mid, does this mean the disappearance of roberts?
Exactly. I doh want to draft in men just because they there when we already have homegrown options. I want people for where our options in a mess.
Post by: Deeks on June 05, 2009, 03:01:58 PM
If all yuh want to cuss Zamaora then all yuh cuss Shaka too. Shaka had aspirations of playing for England too. Wasn't he not a reserve for England in a friendly international. Look, Bobby is not the first and will not be the last to weigh their options to play for country of birth or country of heritage. I was disappointed with him, but I understood how he felt at the time. Look, Cyrille Regis had an opportunity to play for France. England give one or two caps and parked him after that.

Right now, thanks to JW and the TTFF we have not produced any replacement of QUALITY for the Soca Warriors since the last WC. That is 3and 1/2 years is the amount of time everybody does have to replenish their national team with new blood. Defence?????? Forward????? Midfield......Keon?????  We ain't produce nothing. Zilch!!!!!!
Post by: D.H.W on June 05, 2009, 03:39:37 PM
If all yuh want to cuss Zamaora then all yuh cuss Shaka too. Shaka had aspirations of playing for England too. Wasn't he not a reserve for England in a friendly international. Look, Bobby is not the first and will not be the last to weigh their options to play for country of birth or country of heritage. I was disappointed with him, but I understood how he felt at the time. Look, Cyrille Regis had an opportunity to play for France. England give one or two caps and parked him after that.

Right now, thanks to JW and the TTFF we have not produced any replacement of QUALITY for the Soca Warriors since the last WC. That is 3and 1/2 years is the amount of time everybody does have to replenish their national team with new blood. Defence?????? Forward????? Midfield......Keon?????  We ain't produce nothing. Zilch!!!!!!

true
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 05, 2009, 03:43:08 PM

Zamora will be better at a attacking center mid. No way should he start in front of Scottland as a forward. He is not a true striker to me. But I do like his hustle.  8)

???  :rotfl:
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 05, 2009, 03:49:25 PM
Any way here is zamora  goals its around this time the ttff  fist started  looking at him . i read bobby was related  to ronnie mauge or something

http://www.youtube.com/v/hEOV4Xryt0M
Post by: Babalawo on June 05, 2009, 04:34:51 PM

???  :rotfl:
when last Scotland scored an international goal? you can;t put him ahead of the class above a premiere striker like Zamora
Post by: Trinidogg on June 05, 2009, 04:51:56 PM
How could such a poor article be publish ??? Samuel not even born in England jeez... but anyway excited to see how this turns out... is it going to be tough for latapy to drop one of his pals to add Zamora?
Post by: Deeks on June 05, 2009, 04:59:14 PM
Trinidogg,
               It will be tougher if we lose. It ain't have no friend thing in this now. Pick the best team. If you have to put yuh fren' on the bench, so be it. A win is more important than his friendship.
Post by: Trinidogg on June 05, 2009, 05:01:58 PM
Yea i agree...
Post by: Tenorsaw on June 05, 2009, 06:10:56 PM
If I personalize this, I would tell Zamora to "Hawl he cu*t."  Objectively speaking though:  they would both be two quality additions, and Samuel would provide some much needed stability and experience at the back.
Post by: MEP on June 05, 2009, 06:18:43 PM

bring in zamora there will be stiff competiton up front  stern scotty and jones  they have to produce ...
cosign  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Controversial on June 05, 2009, 07:29:33 PM
good news, lloyd and bobby is an asset, spoke to bobby's father in england, real nice fellah, true trini, if the ttff wasnt in a mess, more players would play, you must also keep that in mind
Post by: Controversial on June 05, 2009, 07:35:01 PM
ince

edwards           thomas    lawrence      samuel

yorke

baptiste           birchall    zamora         c.samuel

jones

or

edwards         samuel     lawrence   john in de back, i wonder how john fitness is with his age, along with lawrence, especially getting deeper in qualifying
Post by: weary1969 on June 05, 2009, 07:35:29 PM
good news, lloyd and bobby is an asset, spoke to bobby's father in england, real nice fellah, true trini, if the ttff wasnt in a mess, more players would play, you must also keep that in mind

TTFF IS A HOTTTTTTTTTTTT MESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Post by: Deeks on June 05, 2009, 07:37:11 PM
Controversial,
                       I agree with you that the TTFF modus operandi does make foreign born and their parents think twice before they make a commitment. Tenorsaw if it was your son in that situation and you know the way ttff does move, you don't think you would have 2nd thoughts.
Post by: weary1969 on June 05, 2009, 07:41:22 PM
Controversial,
                       I agree with you that the TTFF modus operandi does make foreign born and their parents think twice before they make a commitment. Tenorsaw if it was your son in that situation and you know the way ttff does move, you don't think you would have 2nd thoughts.

Everybody here child go play 4 oui
Post by: Controversial on June 05, 2009, 07:43:37 PM
Controversial,

i just speaking from conversations with individuals, i would want my child to play also but you must have a competent federation. so i understand from that point of view, but zamora, samuel and i hope darryl roberts comes back will all do tt real good to say the least
Post by: Deeks on June 05, 2009, 07:50:38 PM
It is a pity they did not make this ruling earlier. We coulda have them  for tomorrow and in Mex next week.
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 06, 2009, 08:21:23 AM
Any way here is zamora  goals its around this time the ttff  fist started  looking at him . i read bobby was related  to ronnie mauge or something

http://www.youtube.com/v/hEOV4Xryt0M

Nice clip's of the lad. He could play as a forward but on our national team, i wouldn't play him there. That's just me. ;)

Can anyone tell me of "one fault" he has from looking at this video?
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 06, 2009, 08:26:20 AM
Controversial,

Like de water boy who leave we and went to play fuh de US and A and deh benched him.  :rotfl:
Post by: WestCoast on June 06, 2009, 08:39:19 AM
that he din play for TnT in 2006 ???
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 06, 2009, 08:48:23 AM

Nope. Look at the video nah man. Yuh have one more chance.
Post by: WestCoast on June 06, 2009, 08:53:53 AM
he could get swine flu

he is ah ball hog? ;D
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 06, 2009, 09:05:01 AM
he could get swine flu

he is ah ball hog?[/color ;D

:rotfl:You on jokes.
Post by: WestCoast on June 06, 2009, 09:19:11 AM
he could get swine flu

so he is not a ball hog den
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 06, 2009, 09:23:21 AM
he could get swine flu

so he is not a ball hog den

Who said he was a ball hog?

If you look at the video, he only uses his left foot. He cuts back over and over to get off his shots. Not like it make a big deal, I just wanted to start a quiz.  ;D
Post by: trini supporter on June 06, 2009, 11:48:27 AM
Great news i welcome any useful additions to the team :beermug:
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 07, 2009, 09:55:17 AM
i wonder if the make contact ... zamora would put pressure on them 2 who play last night
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 07, 2009, 10:14:37 AM
Let us assume Zamora and jlloyd have some interest in playing for us.  Do u think they will play for a team at the bottom of de hex that lose to Costa Rica at home?

I not seeing all de experts who were saying that costa rica is real weak and not as strong as before so we sure to be in the top 3 with the us and mexico.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 07, 2009, 10:46:19 AM
Let us assume Zamora and jlloyd have some interest in playing for us.  Do u think they will play for a team at the bottom of de hex that lose to Costa Rica at home?

I not seeing all de experts who were saying that costa rica is real weak and not as strong as before so we sure to be in the top 3 with the us and mexico.

you make contact with him yet? call him up and tell him
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on June 07, 2009, 11:10:57 AM

if dey want redemption.......yeah.....perfect time
Post by: Trinidogg on June 07, 2009, 12:11:13 PM
I say just try to get them now they would make us a better team and if it turn out they don't wanna play for us we will get over it. but if our team start winning sum games we should be fine we could still take up 3 points when we play el salvador home, maybe get lucky at Honduras and beating US and Mexico at home can be possible thats 12 points right there 14 points seem like it will be enough to get us atleast 4th spot but the way this group going so far it might even be enough for 3rd its a long shot but no need to give up yet. Depressing seeing so many ppl giving up already making you feel like staying away from the site people done talking bout playing under 20's after the 4th game and 1 point behind mexico I know for a fact we trini's ambitious i think thats the whole point of the Soca Warriors name.
Post by: bajanscout on June 07, 2009, 12:22:07 PM
not imps plzzzz get jan michael
Post by: Deeks on June 08, 2009, 05:49:55 AM
Bajan,
              Imps made some saves. It could have been more than three. The defence ain't jelling. Two many changes, especially for the last game. We played an attacking game and CR counter attack and made use of their chances.  We missed about 3 certain goals. The score could have been 5-4 in favour of TT.
Post by: arrow on June 08, 2009, 07:08:33 AM
Our team should be Zamora and J lloyd and any other 9.  Them fellas in a different class compared to anyone we have, including Carlos, Kenwyne etc.
Post by: WestCoast on June 08, 2009, 07:16:12 AM
Our team should be Zamora and J lloyd and any other 9.  Them fellas in a different class compared to anyone we have, including Carlos, Kenwyne etc.
:whistling:
Post by: noize on June 08, 2009, 10:47:37 AM
Quote from: arrow on Today at 07:08:33 AM

....  :devil:...Wow man does talk some SH!T on here yes!!!...Zamora  ??? ...he is an ok striker but nuthin special bout him he had a horrible season in the EPL...LLoyd Samuel is ah good back ah go give yuh that... better than anyone we have now fuh sure but Zamora come on give me a break he would just be another option that may help us!!!
Post by: dinho on June 08, 2009, 11:08:33 AM
Quote from: arrow on Today at 07:08:33 AM

....  :devil:...Wow man does talk some SH!T on here yes!!!...Zamora  ??? ...he is an ok striker but nuthin special bout him he had a horrible season in the EPL...LLoyd Samuel is ah good back ah go give yuh that... better than anyone we have now fuh sure but Zamora come on give me a break he would just be another option that may help us!!!