Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on June 06, 2009, 06:20:51 PM

Title: Borges scores twice to give Costa Rica 3-2 victory over T&T.
Post by: Flex on June 06, 2009, 06:20:51 PM
Borges scores twice to give Costa Rica 3-2 victory over T&T.

BACOLET, Tobago – Celso Borges scored two second-half goals and lifted Costa Rica to a 3-2 victory over Trinidad & Tobago on Saturday, giving the Ticos command of the final round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying.

Borges, who scored in the 13th minute Wednesday night in San Jose in a 3-1 victory over the United States, scored in the 52nd and 69th minutes, to give Costa Rica 12 points atop the standings as the final round of qualifying reached its midpoint.

Three of the six teams will qualify automatically for the 32-team field in South Africa with the fourth-place finisher entering a playoff with the fifth-place finisher from South America for the last berth.

Borges’ first goal gave Costa Rica a 2-1 lead before second-half substitute Collin Samuel equalized in the 63rd. Borges then restored the advantage, finishing unmarked from the middle of the penalty after Pablo Herrera drove a cross from the right side through the box.

Trinidad, playing its first game under player-coach Russell Latapy who replaced Francisco Maturana in April, remained with two points after four games and precariously in last place.

Trinidad started quickly, dominating the first 15 minutes before a home crowd in Dwight Yorke Stadium and taking the lead in the 30th minute when Gonzalo Segares gave away a free kick 35 yards from goals and Carlos Edwards drove a right-footed ball past an apparently misplaced wall. The shot was well left of the wall, skipped twice and entered just inside the left post past slowly reacting Costa Rica keeper Keylor Navas.

Costa Rica reacted by testing Clayton Ince two minutes later, forcing the Trinidad keeper to tip Alvaro Saborio’s header over the bar.

But Saborio converted in the 41st, appearing to mis-hit a cross by Esteban Sirias by missing with his right leg but deflecting it inadvertently with his right thigh, dribbling it between Ince and the far post.

Borges capitalized on a Trinidad mistake to put Costa Rica ahead in the 52nd, reacting to Dennis Lawrence’s attempted headed clearance. Lawrence cleared the ball up the middle, where Borges ran on and drove a ball from inside the area.

Samuel, who replaced Hayden Tinto to start the second half, restored the life to the crowd in the 63rd. Kenwyne Jones had the ball at the top of the area before Segares forced the ball wide, where Samuel ran on and drove a ball that Navas was able to partially block, but not stop from bouncing into the goal.

Costa Rica next will enter the CONCACAF Gold Cup in July before returning to World Cup qualifying in August. Trinidad must travel to Mexico on Wednesday to face an opponent it has only beaten three times in 15 matches.

SOURCE: CONCACAF.COM
Borges double downs fighting Warriors

Celso Borges scored two second-half goals and lifted Costa Rica to a come from behind 3-2 victory over Trinidad & Tobago in World Cup qualifying action at the Dwight Yorke Stadium on Saturday.

Borges, who scored in the 13th minute Wednesday night in San Jose in a 3-1 victory over the United States, scored in the 52nd and 69th minutes after Carlos Edwards had given the hosts a 31st minute lead with a thunderous free kick from 25 metres out.

The win left  Costa Rica 12 points atop the standings as the final round of qualifying reached its midpoint with T&T in bottom spot on two points heading into Wednesday’s encounter against Mexico at the Azteca.

Borges’ first goal gave Costa Rica a 2-1 lead before second-half substitute Collin Samuel equalized in the 63rd. Borges then restored the advantage, finishing unmarked from the middle of the penalty after Pablo Herrera drove a cross from the right side through the box.

T&T started well and the partisan home crowd were on their feet as Russell Latapy’s men went for the kill from the opening whistle.

Gonzalo Segares gave away a free kick 35 yards from goals and Edwards drove a right-footed ball past into the net The shot was well left of the wall, skipped twice and entered just inside the left post past slowly reacting Costa Rica keeper Keylor Navas.

Costa Rica reacted by testing Clayton Ince two minutes later, forcing the Walsall keeper to tip Alvaro Saborio’s header over the bar.

But Saborio converted in the 41st, appearing to mis-hit a cross by Esteban Sirias by missing with his right leg but deflecting it inadvertently with his right thigh, dribbling it between Ince and the far post.

Borges capitalized on a T&T  mistake to put Costa Rica ahead in the 52nd, reacting to Dennis Lawrence’s attempted headed clearance. Lawrence cleared the ball up the middle, where Borges ran on and drove a ball from inside the area.

Samuel, who replaced the lively  Hayden Tinto to start the second half, restored the life to the crowd in the 63rd. Kenwyne Jones had the ball at the top of the area before Segares forced the ball wide, where Samuel ran on and drove a ball that Navas was able to partially block, but not stop from bouncing into the goal.

Latapy still pleased with the effort

Head Coach Rusell Latapy was noticeably disappointed with the loss on Saturday but was far from down spirited as he reached following what can be considered as the team’s liveliest performance of the campaign thus far.

“Obviously it’s disappointing because this is a game we went into thinking that we needed to win. We went in with that approach and to lose a game after going ahead at home is always hard to take,” Latapy said.

“But I was delighted with the effort from the boys and it’s a good promising indication of what we are capable of producing. Costa Rica are the table toppers and they showed why today because they punished us and they were clinical with their chances.

“We have now got to evaluate our performance take it forward with us. Mathematically we still have a chance of qualifying and it’s important that all of us keep that in mind because only with that belief and that spirit will it be possible to make it happen,” Latapy said.

San Jose Earthquakes striker Cornell Glen will not travel with the squad having picked up a second yellow card on Saturday and Joe Public striker Kerry Baptiste will replace him.

T&T will train at the Dwight Yorke Stadium on Sunday evening and on Monday morning before departing for Mexico City where they will arrive at close to midnight on Monday.
Title: Re: Borges scores twice to give Costa Rica 3-2 victory over T&T.
Post by: bajanscout on June 06, 2009, 08:19:38 PM
cause imps is shit easy fricking goal does score on he and he does geh vex ..put jan michael in goal imps to slow
Title: WCQ - Isn't it about results?
Post by: swood on June 06, 2009, 08:40:37 PM
Post the 3-2 defeat to C/Rica...many on the forum seem to either believe that this was a good start for Coach Latas and some even rated him 9.5 out of 10. My question is how can our first defeat at home in the Hex (especially given our position in the table) be seen as a good start for any coach?

Coaches generally get the praise when their teams win (Real Madrid being the exception as coaches get fired even when they win)...and also have to take the heat when they lose....

Why should our reaction/expectations be any different of Latas?

Given our campaign thus far...I will take an ugly and scrappy 1-0 win than an "improved" 3-2 defeat any day...

It's true we need to take positives from the game....but to say it was a good start for our new coach...I am not too sure.

Just my perspective looking at the daunting bigger picture.
Title: Re: WCQ - Isn't it about results?
Post by: fatimarima on June 06, 2009, 08:43:26 PM
definitly was not a good start.....a win or at least a draw would have been a good start
Post by: acb on June 06, 2009, 08:44:23 PM
the old cliche is to becareful what you ask for.

Some people can't seem to differentiate between Latapy the player and Latapy the coach.

The last coach get fired for results - and Latas ain't no different.

Whatever the people smoking who give Latas a 9.5 out of 10, I want some of that.
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2009, 08:47:15 PM

Some people can't seem to differentiate between Latapy the player and Latapy the coach.

Whatever the people smoking who give Latas a 9.5 out of 10, I want some of that.

When d goat lost to Bermuda I hope you called for his head then.
Post by: Rastaman on June 06, 2009, 08:57:31 PM

Latapy did his part. Tactically the team should have won this game easily. Individual mistakes cost us.
Post by: swood on June 06, 2009, 09:02:01 PM
Please explain how tactically we should have won this game?
Post by: bajanscout on June 06, 2009, 09:03:44 PM
get rid ah imps
Post by: WestCoast on June 06, 2009, 09:06:37 PM
Latapy did his part. Tactically the team should have won this game easily. Individual mistakes cost us.
I am wondering if we had a few warm up matches that our timing would have been better in this CR match?
Title: Time to Focus on the U20s
Post by: CarenageBoy on June 06, 2009, 09:08:21 PM
No one might want to hear this right now, but the senior team is NOT going to the world cup except as spectators. There were too many administrative mistakes made early in our campaign that are costing us now:

1) The black list of the WC players.
2) Firing Wim.
3) Hiring the Dentist from Columbia to take the place of Wim.
4) Random and inconsistent selection and exclusion of players for qualifier games.

None of these factors are the Little Magician's fault.

However, getting to the point of this thread. We should now focus all of our energy on giving the U20s a shot. From now on, I think we should use a mostly U20 team combined with local Pros for the rest of this WC campaign. The Little Magician can groom these players with an eye towards the 2014 WC.
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2009, 09:08:28 PM
I am wondering if we had a few warm up matches that our timing would have been better in this CR match?

Who knows but when is u and d keeper alone doh throw it ovah barrrrrrrrrr pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Title: Re: Time to Focus on the U20s
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2009, 09:09:37 PM
Did u not read that Cornmeal is now at d helm of dat team. Focus on dem 2 do whatttttttttttttttt?
Post by: Rastaman on June 06, 2009, 09:09:41 PM
1. We played better than this team. We kept them out of the game for long periods. Costa Rica's goals were mostly against the run of play.

2. We created numerous scoring opportunities.

3. Our defensive line up was much better and it actually suited the team we played against. Avery sound left foot and Carlos speed.

4. Span's move back into the middle was a master move. he was brilliant....or close to it He gave more going forward tonight then Birchall would have given.

Individual mistakes cost us. Not the coach's tactics.
Post by: CarenageBoy on June 06, 2009, 09:11:43 PM
Cornmeal is only assistant coach. Zoran is still in charge.
Post by: dwolfman on June 06, 2009, 09:13:14 PM
1. We played better than this team. We kept them out of the game for long periods. Costa Rica's goals were mostly against the run of play.

3. Our defensive line up was much better and it actually suited the team we played against. Avery sound left foot and Carlos speed.

4. Span's move back into the middle was a master move. he was brilliant....or close to it He gave more going forward tonight then Birchall would have given.

Just for the sake of argument the coach determine's who will be on the pitch, not so?
Post by: acb on June 06, 2009, 09:13:19 PM
I understand what you saying about individual mistakes costing us - but that sounding like a cop out, because we could blame the goals from the US 3-0 hammering on individual mistakes too .. as well as the 2 goals in the last 10 mins and missed penalty in ES at the beginning of the Hex on individual mistakes too.

ent tactics include squad selection and personnel management, such as substitutions as well as redploying players, having them switch sides, play deeper, push forward etc? We didn't see any adjustment to stem the goals the defence was giving up - so IMO I can't see how we should have won the game easily. Had the right substitutions been made earlier, or the formation changed to lend more support in defence, we could have conceeded less.

If anything, CR sat back, soaked up the pressure and then hit us on the counter. The 3 soft goals we conceeded is a testimony to that. Watch the construction of the 2nd goal for CR. The man who came on immediately before the setplay was taken, caused all the problems that led to that goal. They seemed to get the tactics right!
Post by: just cool on June 06, 2009, 09:13:24 PM

Rastaman , yuhs ah man weh know the game of football well, so why are you arguing wid ppl who don't know the game. scotty and lawrence are the individuals who cost us the game! like you said individual mistakes cost us, latas was brilliant. no lie!
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2009, 09:13:41 PM

In charge when he in Mexico wit Latas. D chipmunk runnin d show.
Post by: WestCoast on June 06, 2009, 09:18:14 PM

In charge when he in Mexico wit Latas. D chipmunk runnin d show.
wop wap ;D
Post by: Socapro on June 06, 2009, 09:19:28 PM
Makes sense but we still have a chance at 4th place or even 3rd place if we could to everyone's shock & surprise beat Mexico on Wednesday and win all our remaining home games!

I would say only when we have absolutely no chance at 3rd or 4th place that we should then play the remaining games with the U-20s!

Latas did okay on his 1st assignment 7 out of 10, is just that the defence made too many mistakes at the back and our strikes didn't take some of the great chances that fell their way early on that would have helped us put Costa Rica away and make it too much of an uphill battle for them before the first half was completed!

P.S. Kenwyne needs a bush bath!  8)
Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 06, 2009, 09:20:52 PM
One positive from this lacklustre WC Campaign thus far is that we can score goals......

I havent done the math to determine how slim a chance if any for us to squeeze into the 4th spot playoff..

So many negative things can be said but I think us winning the first match again El Salvador would have kept the intensity going....

I realistically didnt see us having a chance against Costa Rica but we prove that if our defense was up to par like the last campaign we would have at least held on for a draw....

Keep your heads up Warriors...lets learn from our mistakes today and defend better against Mexico...lets keep building

Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2009, 09:23:18 PM
Makes sense but we still have a chance at 4th place or even 3rd place if we could to everyone's shock & surprise beat Mexico on Wednesday and win all our remaining home games!

I would say only when we have absolutely no chance at 3rd or 4th place that we should then play the remaining games with the U-20s!

Latas did okay on his 1st assignment 7 out of 10, is just that the defence made too many mistakes at the back and our strikes didn't take some of the great chances that fell their way early on that would have helped us put Costa Rica away and make it too much of an uphill battle for them before the first half was completed!

What Scotland needddddddddddddddddd?
Post by: Peter on June 06, 2009, 09:24:53 PM
cause imps is shit easy fricking goal does score on he and he does geh vex ..put jan michael in goal imps to slow

No no,YOU are talking shit bajanscout. Ince is a good solid keeper, and he did excellent to save 2 sure goals in that match. No keeper would be able to keep a clean sheet when he's totally exposed by his defence like Ince was today.
Post by: swood on June 06, 2009, 09:26:47 PM
1. Costa Rica never needed to chase the game until they went one down....as much as they wanted the win...one point would have been fine for them...so IMHO them being "out of the game" for periods could be them settling to play on the counter attack.

2. So did Costa Rica

3. One could challenge this seeing that the end result was us conceding 3 at home.

4. I could give you that...although some people seem to think that Spann didn't have such an outstanding game...

Agreed individual mistakes cost us the game...but if individual brilliance brought a victory...would you not be bigging up Latas?? So why not let him take some accountability for the mistakes as well??

Post by: Socapro on June 06, 2009, 09:27:58 PM

Yeah he too, as Sparrow say "Both Ah Dem!"  8)
Post by: masterblaster on June 06, 2009, 09:28:42 PM

P.S. Kenwyne needs a bush bath!

COSIGN COSIGN COSIGN......LAWD...fuh at least half hour in dat bath too
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2009, 09:29:21 PM

Yeah he too, as Sparrow say "Both Ah Dem!"  8)

8)
Post by: Cocorite on June 06, 2009, 09:30:37 PM
Latas is restoring the type of football T&T are capable of playing. When last we saw T&T play with this kinda chemistry? Ah know is only one game and we didn't win but obviously, keep Latas and support him we will be good to go . . . if not this rounds, next rounds.
Post by: Socapro on June 06, 2009, 09:30:39 PM

Wha Ince do this man boy?!  ???
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2009, 09:32:23 PM
1. Costa Rica never needed to chase the game until they went one down....as much as they wanted the win...one point would have been fine for them...so IMHO them being "out of the game" for periods could be them settling to play on the counter attack.

2. So did Costa Rica

3. One could challenge this seeing that the end result was us conceding 3 at home.

4. I could give you that...although some people seem to think that Spann didn't have such an outstanding game...

Agreed individual mistakes cost us the game...but if individual brilliance brought a victory...would you not be bigging up Latas?? So why not let him take some accountability for the mistakes as well??

Where all of u all were 4 d past yr when we had d goat herders of all goat herders at d helm. If d coach had a good strategy and d players did not execute d strategy what u want him 2 do. D last fella had no plan no brand and because of he Durham in England is where dey might reach
Post by: Rastaman on June 06, 2009, 09:43:31 PM

2. So did Costa Rica

1. Ok I give you that one

2. We created chances which means that our midfield was effective. I think that Trent Noel was good also and I think that we for the most part bossed the midfield. Costa Ricas' chances we not so much down to good midfield build up play.

3. What I am saying is that he changed things up and apart from the mistakes it worked well. For the most part Avery was solid - something that we have been missing....and Carlos' speed worked all but once.

4. It probably would not be classed as outstanding to most people but it was effective.....much more than we could say about some of his previous performances.
Post by: D.H.W on June 06, 2009, 09:46:44 PM
Latas is restoring the type of football T&T are capable of playing. When last we saw T&T play with this kinda chemistry? Ah know is only one game and we didn't win but obviously, keep Latas and support him we will be good to go . . . if not this rounds, next rounds.

i must admit the brand of football was better but the defence fail
Post by: NUFF on June 06, 2009, 09:46:48 PM
I understand what you saying about individual mistakes costing us - but that sounding like a cop out, because we could blame the goals from the US 3-0 hammering on individual mistakes too .. as well as the 2 goals in the last 10 mins and missed penalty in ES at the beginning of the Hex on individual mistakes too.

ent tactics include squad selection and personnel management, such as substitutions as well as redploying players, having them switch sides, play deeper, push forward etc? We didn't see any adjustment to stem the goals the defence was giving up - so IMO I can't see how we should have won the game easily. Had the right substitutions been made earlier, or the formation changed to lend more support in defence, we could have conceeded less.

If anything, CR sat back, soaked up the pressure and then hit us on the counter. The 3 soft goals we conceeded is a testimony to that. Watch the construction of the 2nd goal for CR. The man who came on immediately before the setplay was taken, caused all the problems that led to that goal. They seemed to get the tactics right!

Yuh 100% right.  Notice how Costa Rica changed the tempo of the game whenever they wanted to.  After we scored the first goal Costa Rica picked up the pace of the game.  They did the same thing early in the first half.  

I kept saying that we needed to jump on Costa Rica very early before they changed gears.  Even though we scored first we were playing too slow.  On defence we were standing around and leaving them unmarked.
Post by: truetrini on June 06, 2009, 09:48:23 PM
one game and de man already needs to be fired, we give up Gold Cup and all kinda ting with de dentista ah boy....
Post by: acb on June 06, 2009, 09:53:57 PM
one game and de man already needs to be fired, we give up Gold Cup and all kinda ting with de dentista ah boy....

I doubt anybody calling for Latapy to be fired.

I believe people being critical would rather those aplogising on behalf of Latapy to be a little more objective, and hold him to the same standards as those other coaches in past.

I believe everyone is in favour of giving Latapy a fair chance, and even a little more than that because he is owed that, if only by his loyalty to T&T Football - but at the end of the day results are what he will be judged by, and matters not if the brand change from Mats to Latas - a loss is a loss - even if it's pretty or abysmal, so there is nothing wrong with the forensics that go into disecting that loss.
Title: Soca Warriors going down de same road as de Reggae Boyz?
Post by: masterblaster on June 06, 2009, 09:54:43 PM
For years we have all been proud of the tremendous talent we have in Trinidad and Tobago when it comes to sport, and in particular football.  It was only a matter of time before we would make it on to the world stage; and 2006 was finally our time in the sun.

But is it inevitable that we are going to end up being ONE AND DONE World Cup participants like our Caribbean neighbors, Jamaica?  It seems that they have been rebuilding their team since their last appearance in the big dance and haven't gotten it right to date. 

Are we going to suffer the same fate?
Post by: Bourbon on June 06, 2009, 09:57:19 PM
Tactically....i woulda have at least somebody who woulda be willing to work in the midfield...cuz i eh expecting yorke or spann to do much. Especially with Dog and lawrence in de back. I woulda expect men at dis level  to understand de importance of marking and not be caught ball watching and of pressure and support rather than get drawn out of position. We coulda win dis game...no question bout it. 7 points from 4 games wouldnt have been so bad...if de honduras performance was better..it mighta be 10 with 3 home games to play. De brand was good....buh.....we needed a result. And losing points..especially like that....eh good enough. I eh calling for latas head...all i asking is for men to be objective and real. Unfortunately when de wrong person do de right ting...it does be wrong.
Post by: swood on June 06, 2009, 09:58:05 PM
Trinity...I think you are misinterpreting where this is going. In absolutely NO WAY am I advocating to remove Latas...that would be ludicrous...it's only one game.

What I am questioning though is that no one is holding him as the COACH, accountable in anyway for the defeat. It's almost as if we seem to forget his role as the gaffer comes with the expectation of results.

Accountability in defeat is par for the course in a Coach's line of work....again IMHO

Title: Re: Soca Warriors going down de same road as de Reggae Boyz?
Post by: Socapro on June 06, 2009, 10:13:14 PM
For years we have all been proud of the tremendous talent we have in Trinidad and Tobago when it comes to sport, and in particular football.  It was only a matter of time before we would make it on to the world stage; and 2006 was finally our time in the sun.

But is it inevitable that we are going to end up being ONE AND DONE World Cup participants like our Caribbean neighbors, Jamaica?  It seems that they have been rebuilding their team since their last appearance in the big dance and haven't gotten it right to date. 

Are we going to suffer the same fate?

Simply answer, NO!!

This campaign is not over yet and our U-20's already qualify for the U-20 World Cup!
They will be our next senior squad and they will have a decent chance at qualifying for WC 2014!

We can emulate JA but only in the things worth emulating like their athletics and the way they promote and market their music!
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 06, 2009, 10:18:12 PM
wim had stated he did not want us to go the same way as jamaican well i guess warner and them had other ideas
Post by: Babalawo on June 06, 2009, 10:25:51 PM
no. is Jack Warner fault  >:(
Post by: shatta on June 06, 2009, 10:51:02 PM
people please keep jamaica name out your mouth, i can a sure you our new team can sink T&T, the teams i see T&T drawing at home such as handuras, these are teams we beat at home and walk over elsalvador.you can  ask any team how dificult it is to play us at home, we hardly loos a match at the office. if you compare the last group before the hex T&T even strugle in A WEAK GROUP.we mist out by goal differnce. and if you compare the amount of big teams we get to play friendly with, T&T does not get that.we almost beat a strong nigerian team, the same one that beat france. not because we do not go to a world cup that does not mean we going down. we are building a new team, more footballers are getting contracts than before and we are still in tournaments such as goal cup and still dominate caribbean cup. the world cup can only hold 32 teams and some times you win some and loose some. and not because you go to under20 world cup means you go to the next senior one. we have been there before. and alot of country, even canada have been to under20 alot, but when last they go to the senior?.   how the hell music and track also have to do with this.
Post by: jamaica2099 on June 06, 2009, 10:56:56 PM
Nope! Both nations going in different directions.

Jamaica with a much better pedigree of players will reach a 2nd World Cup before T&T. Even as the table stands Mexico will not lose 2 straight games. T&T will.

Post by: MEP on June 06, 2009, 11:06:05 PM
why allyuh eh haul allyuh dutty stinkin jamaican M***** C***
Post by: Babalawo on June 06, 2009, 11:08:38 PM
(http://ace.imageg.net/graphics/product_images/pACE-1109434reg.jpg)
Post by: shatta on June 06, 2009, 11:16:14 PM
why allyuh eh haul allyuh dutty stinkin jamaican M***** C***

Pus*y hole yu think a we make costa reca wail unnu rass wid a makka stick today :rotfl:. mi di a try keep it cool, but i hope mexico give unnu 10 under unnu rass :rotfl:. if you ready let start it blaze di bombo*laaaaaat fire :devil:
Post by: MEP on June 06, 2009, 11:22:11 PM
yuh eh hear me de first time HYSDMC.......
Post by: shatta on June 06, 2009, 11:28:20 PM
my youth mi no know what you talking about, but go su*k yu  mA*da!
Post by: WestCoast on June 06, 2009, 11:43:20 PM
(http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/speccoll/dsads/flit/flit.jpg)
Post by: MEP on June 07, 2009, 01:03:33 AM
my youth mi no know what you talking about, but go su*k yu  mA*da!
yute listen up...if yuh mudda wasn't so 4kin ugly...you'd ah be callin me daddy.........ketch yuhself
Post by: Socapro on June 07, 2009, 01:12:06 AM
Nope! Both nations going in different directions.

Jamaica with a much better pedigree of players will reach a 2nd World Cup before T&T. Even as the table stands Mexico will not lose 2 straight games. T&T will.

We will see! Unless you does eat crystal balls, is just hope yuh hoping!

I think we can both go to a second World Cup but most likely not at the same time!

Also believe it or not T&T is still in with a chance of making it to SA2010 next year!

After Wednesday we can decide how realistic that chance is as right now Mexico is quite beatable and who knows if the Azteca is going to prove too much for all visiting teams with the altitude but that is the home advantage they definitely banking on!!

T&T can still make it so doh count all yuh chickens just yet!  :mackdaddy:
Post by: royal on June 07, 2009, 04:13:05 AM
MEP why yuh so although shatta brains may be shatta,he may be yuh looooong lost cousin.
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 07, 2009, 06:00:56 AM
NOTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!! ::)
Post by: sjahrain on June 07, 2009, 06:04:47 AM
Baj you must have checking out a different game,the first 2 goals is not Ince fault,rest that lot with his 2 central defenders,I did not see the third,the man stop 2 bonafide goals in the first half
Post by: sjahrain on June 07, 2009, 06:20:29 AM
The Soca Warriors will defiantly not going down the same road,we will make it there again before Jamaica
If only Jack keep his hands out of it
We have some ground to make up because of the stupidity of the SA but I see progress being made under our new coach and trust me,when all is said and done even our most hated rivals will admit that they are not in the same league

If we make it to South Africa that will be a major achievement,however I think the bigger picture is 2014,with Latas as coach of course

No need for name calling,no need for childish antics,make a your case and act like man and not boy

Rastafari

If you give respect...you will earn respect
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 07, 2009, 06:53:23 AM

Yuh 100% right.  Notice how Costa Rica changed the tempo of the game whenever they wanted to.  After we scored the first goal Costa Rica picked up the pace of the game.  They did the same thing early in the first half.  

I kept saying that we needed to jump on Costa Rica very early before they changed gears.  Even though we scored first we were playing too slow.  On defence we were standing around and leaving them unmarked.

Someone need to slap the lackadaisical habits out ah we players. That has been a problem for years! I notice that we were also not knocking the ball around to open up spaces. Oh well, more power to Latas.
Post by: Sam on June 07, 2009, 07:23:02 AM
All I have to say is if this ass hole of a coach we have had play a friendly or two he would have gotten a few answers instead of going into a game clueless.

Yorke legs cant hold up for 90 mins even though he is the best passer of the ball going forward.

Ince is a problem child, easy goals scoring on him and all he do is whine.

Scotland played decent he just couldn't score. He took over Stern John position, got nuff opportunities and miss them all. International football just wasn't cut out for some people.

Lawrence is a liability. I am surprise, because I like him and I know he can do better.

Jones played better than he normally do.

Glad Keon Daniel didn't play, he needs a reality check.

The rest of the team played well.

I was really pleased with Noel, Glen, Tinto, Edwards and Spann.

Avery was our best defender.

Why didn't Latapy sub Scotland at half time for Glen.

Why did he sub Tinto when Tinto was drawing 2 defenders on him and getting foul alot.
Post by: sammy on June 07, 2009, 07:25:47 AM
I find it hard to believe that it dont have anyone in T&T who could replace DOG and Tallest. Those two were our weakest links in the back yesterday. How the hell u will header the ball down the center of your own 18 yard?

Carlos at right back worked good on some plays, however the first goal we collected came from him losing the ball and stand up at the side of the 18 yard box,
not to mention that one that scored when the ball came across the goal, both he and Dog was bal watching and the CR player scored between two of them. Better marking could've stopped that.
Also let me mention the number of poor crosses that carlos made. Tinto played well enough, but i think it was nerves that let him down on the crosses.

I heard the commentator say that KJ started of as a defender, maybe he should consider going back. Scotty needs to score once  for T&T and i think more goals will be easier to come by from him.

When i heard spann call on the roster at right back, i was stupified, however i was gald when i saw him inthe midfield and he added good value, also need to let him take more free kicks- i dunno why Dwight still pushing to take them.

I dunno what latas will/can do to improve that defense before Wednesday nah.
Post by: Anbrat on June 07, 2009, 07:31:50 AM

Result aside and in spite of obvious flaws, dis game is de best I have seen T&T play in many, many years!!!! Very encouraging.
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2009, 08:32:02 AM

Result aside and in spite of obvious flaws, dis game is de best I have seen T&T play in many, many years!!!! Very encouraging.

Cosign but d result is all dat matters in these parts. last yr we was beatin people so d goatherder got an extended run. U cyah play crap and continue 2 win Bermuda defeat show we that. Lets c how d team improve under Latas. So if 2010 eh happen and no nonesense happens d 2014 campaign might not have d usual campaign. That eh likely 2 happen wit we history. Latas go get fired after d campaign Corneal go get 1 ah he partners a wul and if by some miracle we make d next hex Latas and Yorke as coach and assistant coach go b hired 2 take we 2 Brazil.
Post by: bajanscout on June 07, 2009, 08:36:41 AM
imps is shit drop he ,he too slow all dem ball just passing tru he had y u think beenie never look to plat him :rotfl:
Title: did scotland leave the team ?
Post by: christiano on June 07, 2009, 09:42:46 AM
Just saw js in plain close in tob airport trvllng to trinidad
Title: Re: did scotland leave the team ?
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2009, 09:47:29 AM

U could have asked him 4 us.
Post by: saga pinto on June 07, 2009, 09:48:02 AM

It's probably the best thing he could do what a charmer,when we need him he doh show up but he shows up in the champions league,amazing keep up the good complaining it will get you everywhere.....
Post by: Quags on June 07, 2009, 10:17:18 AM
Is them men on the site fault .
Post by: Savannah boy on June 07, 2009, 10:28:19 AM
Listen nah SHITTA...dah Jamaican Squad cyah beat nobody.  Allyuh cyah even handle de Vincy Heat in de blasted Office.  Steups.
Post by: just cool on June 07, 2009, 10:29:38 AM

It's probably the best thing he could do what a charmer,when we need him he doh show up but he shows up in the champions league,amazing keep up the good complaining it will get you everywhere.....
I tell allyuh long time he's ah bum!!!
Post by: berris on June 07, 2009, 10:54:04 AM

Nah he eh leaving de team, he just need tuh get fit so he going n do like Yorke n bull yuh gyul .
Title: Borges double downs fighting Warriors
Post by: FireBrand on June 07, 2009, 11:30:36 AM
Borges double downs fighting Warriors

Celso Borges scored two second-half goals and lifted Costa Rica to a come from behind 3-2 victory over Trinidad & Tobago in World Cup qualifying action at the Dwight Yorke Stadium on Saturday.

Borges, who scored in the 13th minute Wednesday night in San Jose in a 3-1 victory over the United States, scored in the 52nd and 69th minutes after Carlos Edwards had given the hosts a 31st minute lead with a thunderous free kick from 25 metres out.

The win left  Costa Rica 12 points atop the standings as the final round of qualifying reached its midpoint with T&T in bottom spot on two points heading into Wednesday’s encounter against Mexico at the Azteca.

T&T started well and the partisan home crowd were on their feet as Russell Latapy’s men went for the kill from the opening whistle.

Gonzalo Segares gave away a free kick 35 yards from goals and Edwards drove a right-footed ball past into the net The shot was well left of the wall, skipped twice and entered just inside the left post past slowly reacting Costa Rica keeper Keylor Navas.

Costa Rica reacted by testing Clayton Ince two minutes later, forcing the Walsall keeper to tip Alvaro Saborio’s header over the bar.

Borges capitalized on a T&T  mistake to put Costa Rica ahead in the 52nd, reacting to Dennis Lawrence’s attempted headed clearance. Lawrence cleared the ball up the middle, where Borges ran on and drove a ball from inside the area.

Samuel, who replaced the lively  Hayden Tinto to start the second half, restored the life to the crowd in the 63rd. Kenwyne Jones had the ball at the top of the area before Segares forced the ball wide, where Samuel ran on and drove a ball that Navas was able to partially block, but not stop from bouncing into the goal.

Latapy still pleased with the effort

Head Coach Rusell Latapy was noticeably disappointed with the loss on Saturday but was far from down spirited as he reached following what can be considered as the team’s liveliest performance of the campaign thus far.

“Obviously it’s disappointing because this is a game we went into thinking that we needed to win. We went in with that approach and to lose a game after going ahead at home is always hard to take,” Latapy said.

“But I was delighted with the effort from the boys and it’s a good promising indication of what we are capable of producing. Costa Rica are the table toppers and they showed why today because they punished us and they were clinical with their chances.

“We have now got to evaluate our performance take it forward with us. Mathematically we still have a chance of qualifying and it’s important that all of us keep that in mind because only with that belief and that spirit will it be possible to make it happen,” Latapy said.

San Jose Earthquakes striker Cornell Glen will not travel with the squad having picked up a second yellow card on Saturday and Joe Public striker Kerry Baptiste will replace him.

T&T will train at the Dwight Yorke Stadium on Sunday evening and on Monday morning before departing for Mexico City where they will arrive at close to midnight on Monday.
Post by: bajanscout on June 07, 2009, 11:31:54 AM
d man say imps stop 2 bonifide goals but let 3 unbonifide goals score bwdmc u talking bout like i said he getting more than he saving , d man made one good save thats it
Post by: truetrini on June 07, 2009, 11:32:49 AM
Post by: just cool on June 07, 2009, 11:48:25 AM
They still wouldn't give roberts an emergency call eh.
Post by: Tallman on June 08, 2009, 08:24:52 PM
(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/04DU6W6b5i1Ns/610x.jpg)
Carlos Edwards (L) of Trinidad and Tobago shoots to score against Costa Rica during
their FIFA World Cup South Africa-2010 qualifier football match at the Dwight Yorke
Stadium in Tobago island on June 6, 2009.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0fRP3r56o95mL/610x.jpg)
Supporters of Trinidad and Tobago dance wearing masks to prevent the swine flu
during a FIFA World Cup South Africa-2010 qualifier football match Trinidad and
Tobago vs. Costa Rica at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago island on June 6, 2009.
Costa Rica won 3-2.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/00ok1Qb8b36dj/610x.jpg)
Trinidad and Tobago's players pose for a photo before playing Costa Rica in a World
Cup 2010 qualifying soccer match in Bacolet, on the island of Tobago, June 6, 2009.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/09iv5hq7LG4uy/610x.jpg)
Kenwyne Jones of Trinidad and Tobago (C) vies for the ball with Gonzalo
Segares Gonzales (R) of Costa Rica during their FIFA World Cup South Africa-2010
qualifier football match at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago island on June 6, 2009.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0dGbfcWeCsd6h/610x.jpg)
Trinidad and Tobago's Hayden Tinto (R) chases Costa Rica's Michael Umana Corrales
during their World Cup 2010 qualifying soccer match in Bacolet, on the island of
Tobago, June 6, 2009.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/01IvdncgO23nc/610x.jpg)
Costa Rica's Alvaro Saborio Chacon, right, controls the ball as Trinidad and Tobago's
Marvin Andrews looks on during a World Cup 2010 qualifying game in Bacolet, on the
island of Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago, Saturday, June 6, 2009.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/04ysc8a85obJA/610x.jpg)
Trinidad and Tobago's Carlos Edwards (R) dribbles ahead of Costa Rica's Walter Centeno
during their World Cup 2010 qualifying soccer match in Bacolet, on the island of Tobago,
June 6, 2009.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0et0esT6DVaJ7/610x.jpg)
Costa Rica's Pablo Herrera Barrentes, right, fights for the ball with Trinidad and Tobago's
Trent Noel during a World Cup 2010 qualifying game in Bacolet, on the island of Tobago,
Trinidad and Tobago, Saturday, June 6, 2009.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/074Q5PW7pN5aT/610x.jpg)
Celso Borges Mora of Costa Rica (R) vies for the ball with Trent Noel of Trinidad and Tobago
during their FIFA World Cup South Africa-2010 qualifier football match against Trinidad and
Tobago at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago island on June 6, 2009. Costa Rica won 3-2.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0f5a0Nwd0G1jg/610x.jpg)
Pablo Herrera Barrentes (R) of Costa Rica vies for the ball with Trent Noel of Trinidad and Tobago
during their FIFA World Cup South Africa-2010 qualifier football match at the Dwight Yorke
Stadium in Tobago island on June 6, 2009.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0dTq9Lg1lV32z/610x.jpg)
Trinidad and Tobago's Silvio Spann, left, heads the ball as Costa Rica's Esteban Sirias Aviles
covers him during a World Cup 2010 qualifying game in Bacolet, on the island of Tobago,
Trinidad and Tobago, Saturday, June 6, 2009.
Post by: WestCoast on June 08, 2009, 08:31:03 PM
Real nice Find Tallman :applause:

here is another
(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0bWtfogeKp1yl/610x.jpg)
Carlos Edwards (R) of Trinidad and Tobago celebrates after scoring against Costa Rica during their FIFA World Cup South Africa-2010 qualifier football match at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago island on June 6, 2009.

Weary, weh ya?
(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0aiiflU47ycgl/610x.jpg)
Alvaro Saborio Chacon (R) of Costa Rica vies for the ball with Marvin Andrews (L) of Trinidad and Tobago during their FIFA World Cup South Africa-2010 qualifier football match at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago island on June 6, 2009.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0bzKc8Z9721xs/610x.jpg)
Walter Centeno Corea (R) captain of Costa Rica vies for the ball with Chris Birchall of Trinidad and Tobago during their FIFA World Cup South Africa-2010 qualifier football match against Trinidad and Tobago at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago island on June 6, 2009. Costa Rica won 3-2.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on June 08, 2009, 08:34:00 PM

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/09iv5hq7LG4uy/610x.jpg)
Dennis Marshall Maswell of Trinidad and Tobago (C) vies for the ball with Gonzalo
Segares Gonzales (R) of Costa Rica during their FIFA World Cup South Africa-2010
qualifier football match at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago island on June 6, 2009.

??? ??? ???

He could be a new CB?  ;D

Hear that random name they put lol
Post by: dreamer on June 09, 2009, 07:34:36 AM
Good pictures showing de effort of de Warriors
Post by: Tallman on June 09, 2009, 11:54:21 AM
CLICK HERE (http://www.thewarriornation.com/component/option,com_gallery2/Itemid,40/?g2_itemId=11033) to see the photo gallery

(http://www.thewarriornation.com/gallery2/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=11128)

(http://www.thewarriornation.com/gallery2/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=11164)

(http://www.thewarriornation.com/gallery2/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=11188)

(http://www.thewarriornation.com/gallery2/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=11143)
Post by: WestCoast on June 09, 2009, 06:44:25 PM
(http://www.thewarriornation.com/gallery2/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=11164)
dem fellas REAL styling
nice ;)
Post by: Brownsugar on June 09, 2009, 07:17:11 PM
If I'm not mistaken the guy on the left is a fella who does dress up in cowboy outfits, all day, every day...mih peeps who still living in Bago, ah have the right person??
Post by: Trini Madness on June 09, 2009, 07:27:19 PM
just saw on this show called futbol picante on espn deportes top 5 goals from the week and carlos' goal come in number 4  :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on June 09, 2009, 07:30:51 PM
just saw on this show called futbol picante on espn deportes top 5 goals from the week and carlos' goal come in number 4  :beermug:

He was robbed ::)
Post by: Deeks on June 09, 2009, 09:10:03 PM
Nice pics. The hills in the background looked real picturesque!!!!
Post by: WestCoast on June 09, 2009, 09:29:36 PM
(http://www.thewarriornation.com/gallery2/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=11211&g2_serialNumber=2&g2_GALLERYSID=6815618d808caab4afd64e0eb5e36347)
a unique use of a T&TEC vehicle ;D
Post by: Tallman on June 09, 2009, 10:37:17 PM
Pre-game warmup

http://www.youtube.com/v/CYYwQRgVmnI

http://www.youtube.com/v/8lf5xSo5bv4
Post by: Tallman on June 10, 2009, 07:05:00 AM
Warrior Nation big flag in Tobago

(http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs104.snc1/4582_89527759270_514774270_1748168_7032024_n.jpg)
(http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs086.snc1/4906_189571345510_865060510_7162620_3855331_n.jpg)
(http://photos-h-3.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs108.snc1/4626_1141867397023_1537613874_30342231_4868132_n.jpg)