Sports => Football => Topic started by: saga pinto on June 07, 2009, 08:02:57 AM

Title: Where was the Defense?
Post by: saga pinto on June 07, 2009, 08:02:57 AM
Tallest and Keyeno thomas are right at this moment liabilities on the field no composure or confidence defending very hap hazard and laborer like defenders in my book may have had some basics but you have got to think on the field also,it's not as if we have defenders who are like animals relying on instinct to get by its all about reasoning and rationalising,for instance granted carlos allowed that cross to slip by, keyeno was to close to the ball to attempt a diving header he could've threw his chest at that ball or brought his body closer to the striker to throw him off,if I'm a costa rican player I'm looking at that and saying these defenders are desperate and from then on I telling my boys just keep crossing them balls into keyeno and tallest way.......   

Boi I tell allyuh it ent easy with we defense nah.I wish we had ah defense like germany always coming forward never backing up ......
Title: Re: Where was the Defense?
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2009, 08:06:30 AM
Well Keyano eh play last nite so it was Tallest and Dog at fault for last nite.
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 07, 2009, 08:06:54 AM
(http://www.landbigfish.com/images/store/swatches/PBB-BladeBait.jpg)
Post by: Rastaman on June 07, 2009, 08:07:30 AM
Tallest and Keyeno thomas are right at this moment liabilities on the field no composure or confidence defending very hap hazard and laborer like defenders in my book may have had some basics but you have got to think on the field also,it's not as if we have defenders who are like animals relying on instinct to get by its all about reasoning and rationalising,for instance granted carlos allowed that cross to slip by, keyeno was to close to the ball to attempt a diving header he could've threw his chest at that ball or brought his body closer to the striker to throw him off,if I'm a costa rican player I'm looking at that and saying these defenders are desperate and from then on I telling my boys just keep crossing them balls into keyeno and tallest way.......   

Boi I tell allyuh it ent easy with we defense nah.I wish we had ah defense like germany always coming forward never backing up ......
Wha happen it too early in the morning for you or wha.....Marvin 'Dog' Andrews played last night not Keyeno Thomas
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 07, 2009, 08:08:44 AM
Allyuh well chomping.
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 07, 2009, 08:19:35 AM
When glad men learn what defence is all about then we could become better.  Clean up! That is it, plain and simple... clean up. Marvin Dogg did not clean up after Lawrence and Lawrence did not clean up after dogg shit. Carlos was not at fault, he played that winger all the way and did not lapse unless he had foul de man. Our first stopper and last were our weakest links. >:(
Post by: freakazoid on June 07, 2009, 08:25:33 AM
unless i missing something, we dont play a sweeper , not sure if any international team does, so i dont get y we refer to the cb as first and last stopper. i was really disappointed about how we conceded though. i woulda be able to stomach if   a player out sprinted tallest  or dog but geez men jus stand up in d box and get ball on they foot  and defenders at 2 arms length distance or more. thats not marking
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2009, 08:26:14 AM
unless i missing something, we dont play a sweeper , not sure if any international team does, so i dont get y we refer to the cb as first and last stopper

Dey age showin by dem terms.
Post by: Quags on June 07, 2009, 08:26:59 AM
Trying a diving header on that play is crazy ,and if you try u better pray to god you hit the ball !. That was the defining moment of the game . It went all down hill ,after that first Coasta Rican goal scored .
Post by: NUFF on June 07, 2009, 08:31:44 AM
Keyeno Thomas has not had a bad game in defense yet in the hex.  He has been our most consistent defender in qualifying so far (apart from the injuries).  Why was he benched?  Like Latapy forget de slogan "if it aint broke don't fix it".  Central defense was not our big problem defensively.  The wings were the problem along with the fact that Keon Daniel never performed his defensive duties while Akile Edwards took all the blame.
Post by: saga pinto on June 07, 2009, 08:33:25 AM
My bad then so who was that man who try that diving header that cost we the goal?
Post by: NUFF on June 07, 2009, 08:34:25 AM
My bad then so who was that man who try that diving header that cost we the goal?

That was Marvin Andrews.
Post by: saga pinto on June 07, 2009, 08:35:50 AM
That was another thing when the game start where i was watching it  at de pirates bay in lauderhill they ent give yuh no line up.....
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 07, 2009, 08:37:09 AM
Keyeno Thomas has not had a bad game in defense yet in the hex.  He has been our most consistent defender in qualifying so far (apart from the injuries).  Why was he benched?  Like Latapy forget de slogan "if it aint broke don't fix it".  Central defense was not our big problem defensively.  The wings were the problem along with the fact that Keon Daniel never performed his defensive duties while Akile Edwards took all the blame.
Keyeno and Dennis had a partnership forming, which is important for a central defence. He lose his place because why?
Post by: freakazoid on June 07, 2009, 08:41:07 AM
how else was he supposed to reach that ball? the problem was not that he tried the diving header, the problem was he  was not marking the guy. if he  was he would not  have to try the diving header. if u c the replay again look at what dog did. he started marking the guy  b4 the cross came in but then gradually drifted away from the guy  in anticipation of stopping the cross or the crosser
Post by: saga pinto on June 07, 2009, 08:42:07 AM

That was Marvin Andrews.

Well look at trouble old dog trying new tricks,ah still have meh reservations about keyeno anyway but dog was atrocious with that kinda play dred and listen allyuh I played defense ah couple times in my life during college ball and was in ah similar situation where ah ball was coming to me in the six yard box in the air just about 4feet high and chest that ball back to my keeper there's no way attempting ah header from that position madness ah tell yuh.
Post by: Deeks on June 07, 2009, 08:42:16 AM
Cool Beans,
                     He lost hisplace because Marvin said that he is ready to play. He want his 100 caps!!!!
Post by: bajanscout on June 07, 2009, 08:42:29 AM
imps is shit all d goals is he fault
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2009, 08:44:15 AM
Cool Beans,
                     He lost hisplace because Marvin said that he is ready to play. He want his 100 caps!!!!

I guess he eh playin wed niether because he eh get he 100 cap yet.
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 07, 2009, 08:48:50 AM
how else was he supposed to reach that ball? the problem was not that he tried the diving header, the problem was he  was not marking the guy. if he  was he would not  have to try the diving header. if u c the replay again look at what dog did. he started marking the guy  b4 the cross came in but then gradually drifted away from the guy  in anticipation of stopping the cross or the crosser
Yep. People blaming Carlos or blaming de diving header, but the real breakdown was him losing his man.

Dennis blunder was 14 times worse doh.

Post by: saga pinto on June 07, 2009, 08:49:14 AM

Ah go take that point,but what happen with the last post being completely open why was lawrence gaping at what was going on, sometimes I wonder if he understands his role I doh care how intense it is the on ah cross you cyah leave yuh post an dem uncovered madness ah tell yuh,I see latas talking to him on the sidelines jestering yuh cyah play skiddish like that in defense....  
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2009, 08:50:47 AM

That was Marvin Andrews.

From where I sat it was Lawerence.
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 07, 2009, 08:53:19 AM

That was Marvin Andrews.

Nah Lawrence had de assist for de second goal.
Post by: Coop's on June 07, 2009, 08:54:07 AM
     Latapy eh forget nothing,peeps on here feel Latas is he own boss but is the same thing all other Coaches went through,Latas playing who he is told to play.The consencus here is that they rather experience than work with younger players so that they can gain experience,Tallest and them pulling stones all the time but Coaches always taking the blame for them,this is one game you can't hide all of them going to get expose,the difference now is nobody wants to blame Latas so players getting it even Yorke,i'm glad to see the table has turned and peeps are starting to blame players instead of Coach.      
Post by: NUFF on June 07, 2009, 08:59:17 AM
I fully blame Latapy for playing Andrews.  I said it long before the game.  Marvin Andrews should not have been brought back. 
Post by: saga pinto on June 07, 2009, 09:00:16 AM
     Latapy eh forget nothing,peeps on here feel Latas is he own boss but is the same thing all other Coaches went through,Latas playing who he is told to play.The consencus here is that they rather experience than work with younger players so that they can gain experience,Tallest and them pulling stones all the time but Coaches always taking the blame for them,this is one game you can't hide all of them going to get expose,the difference now is nobody wants to blame Latas so players getting it even Yorke,i'm glad to see the table has turned and peeps are starting to blame players instead of Coach.      

Well said coops,yuh know historically we've always had a problem with defense and up to this day we still have a problem it's our achilles heel and they won't recognise this until we go to mexico on the 10th and get 16 goals....
Post by: fordy on June 07, 2009, 09:03:25 AM
Yep. People blaming Carlos or blaming de diving header, but the real breakdown was him losing his man.

Dennis blunder was 14 times worse doh.

alyuh blaming d defense and dog and tallman....and rightfully so because they looked pretty bad in terms of positioning and marking and anticipation....but their midfield leaves them gaping all d time and having to scramble to mark 5 and 6 man at one time. from my perspective, the 2nd and 3rd goal were both midfield errors that resulted in goal. the 2nd goal spann tried to rush the ball and get beat real stupid in the center of d park...instead of standing up d man...d costa rican turn and run about 25 yards towards we box before a trini player came to him. two knock and goal. the third goal...yorke and avery went to challenge one man for the same ball leaving a player open behind them. the player scope d ball over d both a dem head...he lays it off to a wide midfielder..who just run past trent noel while he standing up and watching...cross d ball and goal number 3.

yorke looked done after 60 mins again today and cudnt do a dam thing to stop the younger and fitter costa rican midfield....the game was won and lost right there. when we dominated we controlled the middle and had tinto causing havoc down d right side. when we lost was when we get tired in d middle and they took over. the midfield dont provide any cover for our defense and dog and tallest have 5 and 6 running at them constantly. hyland and birchall needs to start for me...if they are fit.  :beermug:
Post by: sub1 on June 07, 2009, 09:03:30 AM
This was a brand new second-hand back four. I believe its the first time they have played together. That apart it is the best football display I have seen by any national team. We can only improve what with the possibility of JLoyd joining us in the not too distant future our chances of at least finishing 4th seems bright.

Judging from the teams performance I will stick my head out and say that Latapy is easily the best local coach to grace our football and has forthe time being only Beenie ahead of him. He can outdo Beenie with either a straight or 4th place qualification.

I think the future looks bright.
Post by: Quags on June 07, 2009, 09:04:50 AM

That was Marvin Andrews.

so blind ..ah mean cosign .
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2009, 09:06:15 AM

That was Marvin Andrews.

so blind ..ah mean cosign .

Cosign
Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 07, 2009, 09:06:37 AM

That was Marvin Andrews.

Yes it was....but I just dont get why he had to try ah diving header......steups....................
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2009, 09:07:51 AM
This was a brand new second-hand back four. I believe its the first time they have played together. That apart it is the best football display I have seen by any national team. We can only improve what with the possibility of JLoyd joining us in the not too distant future our chances of at least finishing 4th seems bright.

Judging from the teams performance I will stick my head out and say that Latapy is easily the best local coach to grace our football and has forthe time being only Beenie ahead of him. He can outdo Beenie with either a straight or 4th place qualification.

D TTFF around still so we football cyah look bright.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 07, 2009, 09:08:52 AM

Nah man sub1...wha about Gally Cummings ... ???  
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2009, 09:09:46 AM

Cosign
Post by: NUFF on June 07, 2009, 09:12:37 AM

Judging from the teams performance I will stick my head out and say that Latapy is easily the best local coach to grace our football and has for the time being only Beenie ahead of him. He can outdo Beenie with either a straight or 4th place qualification.

You could tell that from only one game, that we lost, at home, conceding three foolish goals?

Post by: sub1 on June 07, 2009, 09:23:24 AM

I saw the first game that Gally had. We played Canada in a friendly. Although there was an improvement it was not so drastic. Many are expecting licks in mexico wednesday. I am not one of those.
Post by: sub1 on June 07, 2009, 09:24:00 AM

Judging from the teams performance I will stick my head out and say that Latapy is easily the best local coach to grace our football and has for the time being only Beenie ahead of him. He can outdo Beenie with either a straight or 4th place qualification.

You could tell that from only one game, that we lost, at home, conceding three foolish goals?

Yup.
Post by: Quags on June 07, 2009, 09:24:45 AM
Alyah changing the subject hear now eh ......but I cant wait to see ,Hayden Tinto become Latapy protege .He done give him his no.10 .whoo hah ....Jah Gol been talking bout Tinto yrs now.
Not to mention all the other players he gonna properly develop ,under his tutelage were in for a renaissance ,under the Magician .
Were gonna personify the beautiful game by 2014 .  
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2009, 09:29:32 AM
Alyah changing the subject hear now eh ......but I cant wait to see ,Hayden Tinto become Latapy protege .He done give him his no.10 .whoo hah ....Jah Gol been talking bout Tinto yrs now.
Not to mention all the other players he gonna properly develop ,under his tutelage were in for a renaissance ,under the Magician .
Were gonna personify the beautiful game by 2014 .  

D TTFF still around so u know it not possible 2 cosign dat
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 07, 2009, 09:47:04 AM

I saw the first game that Gally had. We played Canada in a friendly. Although there was an improvement it was not so drastic. Many are expecting licks in mexico wednesday. I am not one of those.

yes i am hoping for a draw as you
Post by: mouie on June 07, 2009, 09:53:14 AM
Defence is never in Latas mind.We still want to play these teams a open game when we are not ready for that.Yes we will score but with no defence we will conceed more!
Post by: zuluwarrior on June 07, 2009, 10:30:14 AM
Yuh know first time ah reading this ,last night  i was tellling ah man since after BEENIE this is the best ah see D Warriors run for ah long time .Big up Latapy go brave brother . 
Post by: RasIred on June 07, 2009, 10:36:21 AM
bUTTTTTTTTTT waitttttttttttt !! Trini defence is not very strong for the longest while!! Wham to allyuh, men like thye now start watching Trini play ! Our style of play last nite was of an attcaking nature and I was really impressed with how the game went. Yes , we Defence is not very strong, so I alwys expectring some lapses during the game!!

THIS IS THE BEST WE play in Qualifying so far, yes our defence is an will be our Achilles HEEL for some time to come .....however if we continue with this style of play and put in the goals ....... we will WIN matches! You could only work with waht you have and to be honest the men who play D last nite are the BEST we have to offer !!
Post by: bajanscout on June 07, 2009, 10:49:20 AM
d defence wasnt that bad is d dam keeper imps hes rel shit y them always starting he d man conceed more than he save every game
Post by: tsingh on June 07, 2009, 10:57:52 AM
Just want to make a simple point ... Beenie sorted out the defense issue we had ... got us to WC.  Defense always keeps you in with a chance to win games not offense.  You can score 6 but if you let in 7 you still lose.  As many have said in the forum ... we will not go anywhere unless we tightenup in the back ... we can't afford to let teams score more than 1 on us for us to have a chance.  Playing defense isn't pretty but we like to see pretty ... remember plenty people say beenie shoulda play latapy in WC ... if beenie didn't stick to his defensive strategy ... we would not have been so proud of our team ... no-one remembers the plays in a game only the score ...  Very surprised that Latas left out Birchall ... have no idea what the issue was ... but i always say is Birchall and any other 10.  Has been the most consistent player for me so far.  With that being said ... wish the team well in mexico ... tough place to play!

Post by: MEP on June 07, 2009, 11:09:00 AM
d defence wasnt that bad is d dam keeper imps hes rel shit y them always starting he d man conceed more than he save every game
what Ince do you so? like yuh have it out for de man.....you can really blame him for the goals....blame those in central d and central mid...look at what Dog did...as a central defender he left his feet but didn't get the ball..talk about decision making by the way where was the central mid in that play?
Post by: Controversial on June 07, 2009, 11:14:56 AM
like i said before, dog and tallest getting to old, they arent fast enough and intelligent enough, leave carlos at right back, samuel if he gets through at centre back, pacheco at centre back and bring back sancho, tallest and dog cost us the game last night, john actually played decent, at least he had the legs to last the full game.
Post by: bajanscout on June 07, 2009, 11:15:39 AM
cyah be he for d goals hes rel shit ,,put dem young boys inn d man to old and alwayscomplaining when he dey score on him..alyuh doh see how outta shape and awky d man is and cross ball only going over he head ..get rid ah him plzzzzzzz if alyuh doh realize is he letting we down go look at all d games he played in for this wcq and look at d ones he save and d ones that score is more scoring than saves
Post by: RasIred on June 07, 2009, 11:23:01 AM
Just want to make a simple point ... Beenie sorted out the defense issue we had ... got us to WC.  Defense always keeps you in with a chance to win games not offense.  You can score 6 but if you let in 7 you still lose.  As many have said in the forum ... we will not go anywhere unless we tightenup in the back ... we can't afford to let teams score more than 1 on us for us to have a chance.  Playing defense isn't pretty but we like to see pretty ... remember plenty people say beenie shoulda play latapy in WC ... if beenie didn't stick to his defensive strategy ... we would not have been so proud of our team ... no-one remembers the plays in a game only the score ...  Very surprised that Latas left out Birchall ... have no idea what the issue was ... but i always say is Birchall and any other 10.  Has been the most consistent player for me so far.  With that being said ... wish the team well in mexico ... tough place to play!

Horse BEENIE had the whole team playing defence , we were very defensive minded does not equate = good defense !! yOU Cant win matches without scoring goals or .......... as you may counter by leaking goals ! I will say we doing the best we can with what we have available.......... we need to shore up the defence yes, but we do need to score !  i DONT SEE WHO ELSE LATAS COULD USE AS DEFENDERS other than bringing some yutes like Julius James.....but they defence we have is the best defence we got !!
Post by: berris on June 07, 2009, 01:35:33 PM
imps is shit all d goals is he fault

If yuh mudda wasn't ah hoe Ince wuddn't ah be yuh fadda .
Post by: Babalawo on June 07, 2009, 01:52:53 PM
that diving miss header Dog did showed his age. He cant jump and dive like he used to. That one thing i was warning allyuh with Latapy and his old boys network.  If Dog coming back, he have to be on the bench for depth and tutor Makan Hislop and Keyeno Thomas.  Keyeno is our most consistent Defender and should of started with Lawrence.  Lawrence and Yorke are already a liability with their lack of speed, so you cant add another slow poke.
Post by: AB.Trini on June 07, 2009, 02:09:43 PM
 Looking at the highlights, it appears to me that our defense  was spread thin with little support from the midfielders.
In at least two of the goals, offense players were left ummarked.
Post by: just cool on June 07, 2009, 02:13:52 PM
Looking at the highlights, it appears to me that our defense  was spread thin with little support from the midfielders.
Yuh so right! too many uinmarked players in the box.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 07, 2009, 02:25:40 PM
Yuh so right! too many uinmarked players in the box.

ent, although Dog and Tallest play real shit, the midfielders provided little support especially Yorke.
Post by: sjahrain on June 07, 2009, 04:37:31 PM
We could find all the excuses we want and place blame where you so choose,it comes done to making a play,two individuals on two different plays and they did not make those plays period...thats why in my view I see them as being at fault in the first two goals..........now break it down as to why they failed and remedy it soon
Post by: scarface on June 07, 2009, 05:03:28 PM
When glad men learn what defence is all about then we could become better.  Clean up! That is it, plain and simple... clean up. Marvin Dogg did not clean up after Lawrence and Lawrence did not clean up after dogg shit. Carlos was not at fault, he played that winger all the way and did not lapse unless he had foul de man. Our first stopper and last were our weakest links. >:(

hoss when last u watch football? what first & last stopper u talking about?! them days gone since the start of the 90's. NOBODY does play wit that defensive formation anywhere anymore, it's all about 2 CBs.
Post by: Storeboy on June 07, 2009, 05:37:45 PM
It is time to get brave and shed the nostalgia of 2006.  Pleeeeassse Yorke and Dog, pleeeeeeaaaasee retire gracefully and let the young players get a chance to develop.  Time for change:
Julius in, Dog out.
Keyeno in and Tallest out.
Daniel and Birchall in, Yorke out.
Scotland does not cut it at International level.  Play Cornell Glen form the start with Jones
Darryl Roberts need to be on te bench as a super-sub
Why didn't Hyland replace Yorke who has not played for so long he played like an oldman.
Post by: bajanscout on June 07, 2009, 06:25:59 PM
imps out jan michael ,marvin phillips, troy marquis innn
Post by: dreamer on June 07, 2009, 06:34:59 PM
Another thing to consider in this reckless "dump Andrews /dump Tallest" talk is that they are extremely good as stoppers who clear crosses and head deep air balls. The only other player in T&T who is KNOWN to be RELIABLY capable of that (and that reliability is crucial for selection) is Keyeno and to some extent Sancho. Yuh see why we have a problem. It is easy to find fault and not see the vital contributions which we take for granted.

Please mention other good candidates (Last stopper) who may have been overlooked as they would be in a crucial pool to be developed
Post by: Observer on June 07, 2009, 06:58:43 PM
I might be crazy but maybe a thought to try Birchell at the Center back with Lawrence. He is solid at defending, decent in the air and could cover Lawrence. Is not like Mexico big and tall up front.
Post by: ribbit on June 07, 2009, 07:06:09 PM

completely agree. even with the 2nd goal, the CR attackers stop going forward, all three defenders back and heading de ball to the unmarked attackers. these defenders not marking and the CR players did almost nothing to lose them!
Post by: dreamer on June 07, 2009, 07:06:32 PM
I might be crazy  ::) but maybe a thought to try Birchell at the Center back with Lawrence. He is solid at defending, decent in the air   :'( and could cover  :-[ :-[  Lawrence......

Sorry Obs. I know you mean well. We all trying hard to help Latas find de magic solution.
Post by: GunnerStunner on June 07, 2009, 07:23:17 PM
ball watching and basic defensive errors cost us bad
Post by: Arimaman on June 07, 2009, 07:36:27 PM
I might be crazy but maybe a thought to try Birchell at the Center back with Lawrence. He is solid at defending, decent in the air and could cover Lawrence. Is not like Mexico big and tall up front.

Nah sah..that eh go wok...Birchall is not a defender, especially central defender.
Post by: Arimaman on June 07, 2009, 07:38:53 PM

Coops I totally disagree here.  Latas didn't come begging for the wok, they went after him.  He is his own man and making his own selections.  I said this before, the one thing I was worried about Latas was whether or not he would put friend in front of country i.e. playing dog instread of Keyeno...

I believe Latas will stamp his authority on the team.  Is only one game and he cyar work miracles but team selection is critical to our well being.
Post by: Babalawo on June 07, 2009, 07:48:53 PM
Get Samuel Jlloyd here right now JW!!

And time to buf Dwight Yorke too.  He didnt hustle back fast enough to help the defence with he old, aint play in months legs
Post by: Brownsugar on June 07, 2009, 08:01:22 PM

And time to buf Dwight Yorke too.  He didnt hustle back fast enough to help the defence with he old, aint play in months legs

As much as I want to be biased and say "Yipppeee Dwight played the full game!!!", I'd only be saying it out of sentimental reasons....he should not have played the full 90....he could have been replaced with Birchall perhaps??  ???
Or is it that we have the same problem as the 2 centre backs...if not him then who??.... :-\
Post by: Bourbon on June 07, 2009, 08:18:53 PM

As much as I want to be biased and say "Yipppeee Dwight played the full game!!!", I'd only be saying it out of sentimental reasons....he should not have played the full 90....he could have been replaced with Birchall perhaps??  ???
Or is it that we have the same problem as the 2 centre backs...if not him then who??.... :-\

T&T: 1.Clayton Ince, 16.Silvio Spann, 4.Marvin Andrews, 6.Dennis Lawrence, 3.Avery John, 11.Carlos Edwards, 17.Dwight Yorke (capt), 8.Trent Noel, 10.Hayden Tinto, 20.Jason Scotland, 15.Kenwyne Jones.

T&T Subs: 7.Christopher Birchall, 2.Makan Hislop, 19.Keon Daniel, 12.Collin Samuel, 13.Cornell Glen, 5.Keyeno Thomas, 21.Marvin Phillip.

Of the subs....only 3 could be considered defensive : Birchall...Hislop....Thomas. If thomas did start....yuh woulda hear noise why Dog on de bench. Same with Makan.  Buh...a midfield with a 37 year old dwight yorke who eh play a game in the longest while and silvio spann who does look terrible when placed at right back because he not defensively sound was expected to provide cover for a defence with two central defenders who while formidable in the air....slow like a stampede of turtles. I dunno if more defensive tactics might be employed in mexico..and due to the altitude....birchall and theobald get a rest cuz dey hadda run dey lungs out Wednesday. I doh know....ize not no coach...i eh have no badges yet or no certificate. All i have is internet access. But to me de quality of defence was made glaringly obvious because it had no midfield cover. None. And I starting to worry bout if i wrong because like ize de only person who seeing it or thinking it important enough to warrant mention here. Probably I am yes. Four games gone.....9 points squandered...but we have 18 to play for to bring us to a grand total of 20. Faith is supposed to be the belief in things hoped for..the evidence of things not seen. I eh seeing how we going South Africa unless dem fundamental mistakes get corrected.....buh..dahs wha faith is about.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 07, 2009, 08:24:31 PM
hhhhmmmm ah hear yuh Bourbon....I haven't yet seen a replay of the game to be able to fully appreciate what yuh saying....when I do I'll try to look for the midfield errors you point out here.... :beermug:

Speaking of replay...anybody download the thing from CNMG and want to share??  Please and thanks....
Post by: dreamer on June 07, 2009, 08:54:40 PM
Bourbon yuh wukkin' overtime dread. Ah hearing a desperate passion to help nudge de discourse. Keep it up.
This football has so much nuanced tactics it eh funny.
Well hear dis, one could say that in the rarified air of Azteca, with men having to "run dey lungs out", one would be tempted to say Yorke cyah make more than a half in dat. But on de contrary, one key to surviving that kinda low oxygen situation, is to avoid ball chasing and hold POSSESSION, like gold. Therefore: Yorke, the best ball holder (bar Latas) on de side will be crucial. He will play right thru the 90. Ent? Otherwise Theobald will have to take over after.
Post by: spideybuff on June 07, 2009, 09:00:35 PM
Hmmm...I not sure how much of allyuh watch the game but Andrews and Avery John added a lot to our defence. They attacked the ball with aggression and we looked much better as a unit. The goals were down to individual mistakes, two of which were to Dennis Lawrence who was guilty of ball watching and losing his man. Yorke was a huge liability as he definitely ran out of steam and the team basically fell apart when Cornell replaced Spann and we switched to a 4-3-3...but Latas really had no choice as we were chasing a goal and he figured we needed Dwight experience on the field.

But Lawrence and Yorke were the main reasons for the goals and the third one came when Lawrence had been sent up to play striker. However, I not crucifying Lawrence so soon and from where I sat the Big Dog was definitely an asset.

Post by: Bourbon on June 07, 2009, 09:02:28 PM
Bourbon yuh wukkin' overtime dread. Ah hearing a desperate passion to help nudge de discourse. Keep it up.
This football has so much nuanced tactics it eh funny.
Well hear dis, one could say that in the rarified air of Azteca with men having to "run dey lungs out" one would be tempted to say Yorke cyah make more than a half in dat. Bot on de contrary, one key to surviving that kinda low oxygen situation is to avoid baqll chasing and hold POSSESSION, like gold. Therefore: Yorke, the best ball holder (bar Latas) on de side. He will play right thru the 90.

Hope allyuh doh cuss when allyuh see a midfield of birchall theobald and yorke nah. And even so....holding posession...wha dey going and do with it? De talk is to make the ball do the work...buh...unless men advance into positions.....de more likely to get caught in posesssion close to our defensive third. Buh...maybe i over thinking. Maybe is a 4-5-1...with jones up top....tinto and samuel on de wings..and yorke birchall and theobald in de middle. Buh.....dahs just me.
Post by: sHOTTA) on June 07, 2009, 09:13:10 PM
 I was surprised Andrews got the start, he doesn't look fit. Dennis made alot of mistakes too just as he did in the USA game. I don't agree with Yorke been too old thou, he is the captain and the things you don't see with the naked eye sometimes is the gel holding it together.  Yorke is an entertainer, I would watch him play at fifty five.
Post by: spideybuff on June 07, 2009, 09:30:06 PM
I was surprised Andrews got the start, he doesn't look fit. Dennis made alot of mistakes too just as he did in the USA game. I don't agree with Yorke been too old thou, he is the captain and the things you don't see with the naked eye sometimes is the gel holding it together.  Yorke is an entertainer, I would watch him play at fifty five.
Yeah his influence on the pitch is more important than his performance on it. I really not sure if it is worse to have him as a liablity on the pitch when the 60th minute reach and he start to make bad passes and can't keep pace with the other teams attackers, or if he off the pitch and the team lose it's shape and it's composure anyway. Damned if we do, damned if we don't. He may not be too old, just not match fit...but since it is off season and he unemployed, I not seeing him getting match fit anytime soon.

I feel he should stay home for the rest of the year and join Tobago United as player/coach.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on June 07, 2009, 09:33:03 PM
where were the help from the midfielders?

Latas placed too much emphasis on attacking... But all good attacking sides have 1 midfielder designated to help cover the defence.. and it's not like we have a United or Chelsea type defence..so why leave them so exposed?

Dropping Birchall proved decisive... hopefully He learnt from his error for the remainder of the campaign

Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2009, 09:35:00 PM
Hmmm...I not sure how much of allyuh watch the game but Andrews and Avery John added a lot to our defence. They attacked the ball with aggression and we looked much better as a unit. The goals were down to individual mistakes, two of which were to Dennis Lawrence who was guilty of ball watching and losing his man. Yorke was a huge liability as he definitely ran out of steam and the team basically fell apart when Cornell replaced Spann and we switched to a 4-3-3...but Latas really had no choice as we were chasing a goal and he figured we needed Dwight experience on the field.

But Lawrence and Yorke were the main reasons for the goals and the third one came when Lawrence had been sent up to play striker. However, I not crucifying Lawrence so soon and from where I sat the Big Dog was definitely an asset.

Cosignnnnnnnnnnnnnnn. We sat at d DYS and saw d game.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on June 07, 2009, 09:41:06 PM

DOG AVERY AND CARLOS WERE MASSIVE

unfortunately Big Dennis had a poor game and was at fault for the second... the 1st was just a poor goal to concede... and the 3rd was equally disappointing....Yorkie wasnt sharp and had about 20 good minutes out of the 90..and that was a key factor in the loss
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2009, 09:47:10 PM

DOG AVERY AND CARLOS WERE MASSIVE

Cosign. Tell d haterzzzzzzzzzzz who were not even in d twin island republic
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on June 07, 2009, 09:52:05 PM
doe take them on Weary.... only about 100 forumites here have football brains from attending and watching and supporting the lads of the past campaigns 110% .. so when we say this player was massive..we know what we are talking about

every single forumite who said Avery and Dog were shit are the one's to be laughed at when you read it... i feel sorry for them cuz i cant imagine being a fan of football and knowing nothing about the game
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2009, 10:02:00 PM
doe take them on Weary.... only about 100 forumites here have football brains from attending and watching and supporting the lads of the past campaigns 110% .. so when we say this player was massive..we know what we are talking about

every single forumite who said Avery and Dog were shit are the one's to be laughed at when you read it... i feel sorry for them cuz i cant imagine being a fan of football and knowing nothing about the game

Amen dem does make meh feel like a 1000 watts bulb BRIGHTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT
Post by: Weh-it-is on June 08, 2009, 05:58:10 AM

hoss when last u watch football? what first & last stopper u talking about?! them days gone since the start of the 90's. NOBODY does play wit that defensive formation anywhere anymore, it's all about 2 CBs.

You miss de whole point and went on first and last stopper. That is not de the focus breds. Ok...back to what we was talking about. Men need to learn to cover each other more so than ball watching. There were time when players were unmarked in the box. Why are experience defenders still ball watching than man marking?
Post by: Observer on June 08, 2009, 06:14:14 AM

Nah sah..that eh go wok...Birchall is not a defender, especially central defender.

Well if I was watching T&T for the first time against CR, I would of come to the same conclusion about the two central defenders that played  ;D
Post by: lefty on June 08, 2009, 06:33:57 AM

T&T: 1.Clayton Ince, 16.Silvio Spann, 4.Marvin Andrews, 6.Dennis Lawrence, 3.Avery John, 11.Carlos Edwards, 17.Dwight Yorke (capt), 8.Trent Noel, 10.Hayden Tinto, 20.Jason Scotland, 15.Kenwyne Jones.

T&T Subs: 7.Christopher Birchall, 2.Makan Hislop, 19.Keon Daniel, 12.Collin Samuel, 13.Cornell Glen, 5.Keyeno Thomas, 21.Marvin Phillip.

Of the subs....only 3 could be considered defensive : Birchall...Hislop....Thomas. If thomas did start....yuh woulda hear noise why Dog on de bench. Same with Makan.  Buh...a midfield with a 37 year old dwight yorke who eh play a game in the longest while and silvio spann who does look terrible when placed at right back because he not defensively sound was expected to provide cover for a defence with two central defenders who while formidable in the air....slow like a stampede of turtles. I dunno if more defensive tactics might be employed in mexico..and due to the altitude....birchall and theobald get a rest cuz dey hadda run dey lungs out Wednesday. I doh know....ize not no coach...i eh have no badges yet or no certificate. All i have is internet access. But to me de quality of defence was made glaringly obvious because it had no midfield cover. None. And I starting to worry bout if i wrong because like ize de only person who seeing it or thinking it important enough to warrant mention here. Probably I am yes. Four games gone.....9 points squandered...but we have 18 to play for to bring us to a grand total of 20. Faith is supposed to be the belief in things hoped for..the evidence of things not seen. I eh seeing how we going South Africa unless dem fundamental mistakes get corrected.....buh..dahs wha faith is about.

oh gawd  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: yeah dat wake mih up :beermug:
Post by: fordy on June 08, 2009, 06:41:04 AM

Bourbon check my first post on this thread! You and I are on the same page!! :beermug:
Post by: Arimaman on June 08, 2009, 06:42:33 AM
where were the help from the midfielders?

Latas placed too much emphasis on attacking... But all good attacking sides have 1 midfielder designated to help cover the defence.. and it's not like we have a United or Chelsea type defence..so why leave them so exposed?

Dropping Birchall proved decisive... hopefully He learnt from his error for the remainder of the campaign

SM, please forgive meh here, I eh see the whole game just the highlights but how could we say the coach placed too much emphasis on attacking?  It's a home WC qualifier yuh have to WIN at home...  What he suppose to do...  Now going to Mexico is a different story but Latas had to go on the offensive.  In either case, I believe that offense is your best defense considering the sorry state of our defense.

With that said, Chris Birchall is a ball winner and that's why we need him on the field.
Post by: Arimaman on June 08, 2009, 06:47:02 AM
What's I notice on this board is men does watch the last event that occured prior to the goal.  On the first goal I could tell you there is absolutely no...absolutely no way that Carlos can allow the man to serve the ball from inside the 18 into the 6 yard box.  Same thing on the last goal, tallman diving in and turning his back allowing the man to serve the ball.  If the ball don't come across, neither of them goals score.  That in essence is the problem with the first goal and third goals not the fact that dog try a diving header and all kinda nonsense....

Another issue that I will agree with others, we have numbers in the box when the balls are served in, however, for a lack of defensive positioning the balls are being won by the offensive team, another set a stupidness.  Why that doesn't happen on the other end...because the blasted other teams attack the ball and don't ball watch.....

We giving away goals while we have to earn ours.  That is not coaching that is lack of execution....
Post by: spideybuff on June 08, 2009, 06:52:00 AM
yeah Carlos was definitely at fault for the first goal but it look like he was expecting Tinto to be there to help him and he didn't know which man to cover and get caught scrambling. It was a mistake and at this level you pay for mistakes, but I not crucifying them men over that. It was a new defensive strategy Latas employ regarding how the midfield was working and men were still learning their roles.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 08, 2009, 06:59:11 AM

I thought dog did very well. Overall the structure was decent too. We went to sleep on the goals yes but I thought Ince could have done better on at least one of those goals. However, I think we created too many opportunities to blame the defence for that game. Trent missed 2 Scotland missed 2 KJ could have done better on some 50/50 chances.

All the talk about Stern is shit and the goals had to come from midfielders, steups. I will say it loud "Stern John is the best goalscorer we have".
Post by: fordy on June 08, 2009, 07:05:07 AM

I thought dog did very well. Overall the structure was decent too. We went to sleep on the goals yes but I thought Ince could have done better on at least one of those goals. However, I think we created too many opportunities to blame the defence for that game. Trent missed 2 Scotland missed 2 KJ could have done better on some 50/50 chances.

All the talk about Stern is shit and the goals had to come from midfielders, steups. I will say it loud "Stern John is the best goalscorer we have".

oh lawd ah cosign that statement big time!!!! especially the one scotland get that KJ gave him that he kick over the bar!! :beermug:
Title: Latapy defensive problems as a coach.
Post by: Coach on June 08, 2009, 08:09:07 AM
Latapy was never a defensive player but great attacking player, he can be a little short on helping a team play well defensively in his early days as a head coach at the international level, but he will learn as he gains experience.

1. Costa Rica game 1 v 1 defending around the penalty area his defenders were not closing down tight which could have prevented crosses that ended up as a goals.

2. Needs to have coverage and effective communications from second defender so that the 1st defender can be more effective on the attackers to at least force attackers back to use supporting players

3. Defenders in the the penalty area need to stop "ball gazing" and be focus on both man and ball, and not just ball alone. We had more defenders in our penalty area and CR player still got a free shot to score.

4. Great defensive teams communicate well all game even the keeper.
Post by: jumbonut$ on June 08, 2009, 08:21:19 AM

Birchall at right back would be a better option but you have a point. He stays with his defensive duties and covers well.
Post by: spideybuff on June 08, 2009, 09:13:57 AM
J'lloyd coming, no need to worry about converting people to wingback right now. if we get one of the Hoytes too, then we in even better shape.
Post by: Cocorite on June 08, 2009, 09:23:24 AM
J'lloyd coming, no need to worry about converting people to wingback right now. if we get one of the Hoytes too, then we in even better shape.

Is this confirmed?
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 08, 2009, 09:23:42 AM

Boy f**k away wid hoyte an dem oui!!  Leh dem suffer waitin fuh english caps!!
Post by: bajanscout on June 08, 2009, 12:20:57 PM
DROP IMPS
Post by: vb on June 08, 2009, 12:24:02 PM
DROP IMPS

BIM why did you change your handle? Yuh shame?

Post by: sweetiepaper on June 08, 2009, 12:35:14 PM
I didn't realise Turtle Watching was so popular in Tobago. It even had Turtles in the Stadium. The three Ninja Turtles - Yorke, Andrews & Lawrence.

All yuh remember Sesame Street & the Turtle & the Hare with Kermit the frog interviewing.
" I doooon't..... knoooooooowwwww.......... whhhhhhhyyyyyyy theyyyyyyyy......ssssaaayyyyyyyy........ thaaaaaaaaattttt........ I'mmmmmmmmm ..............................................................................................
ssssllllllooooowwwwwwwwww.  :rotfl: