Sports => Football => Topic started by: Bally on June 14, 2009, 08:42:12 AM

Title: If kenwayne Jones was English
Post by: Bally on June 14, 2009, 08:42:12 AM
I have a question for you guys, after analyzing the current corp. of English strikers {men like Heskey} I was thinking if Kenwayne Jones was English could he make this England team?
Title: Re: If kenwayne Jones was English
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 14, 2009, 08:51:10 AM
I have a question for you guys, after analyzing the current corp. of English strikers {men like Heskey} I was thinking if Kenwayne Jones was English could he make this England team?

he cant even score a goal in de concacaf.
Post by: spideybuff on June 14, 2009, 09:07:47 AM
Yeah he definitely would be in front of Carlton Cole and Fabio would get more out of him. based on the hype last year, he would probably be ahead of Crouch too.

i think he actually did outscore Heskey, Crouch and Carlton Cole this year too.
Post by: noize on June 14, 2009, 09:11:53 AM
 :D Oh gord all yuh almost make meh choke with this thread... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: ah love this site!!!...be serious!!!
Post by: najee on June 14, 2009, 10:00:14 AM
if he was english...i think he would be a much better striker then how he is right now...people have to remember he was a defencer before coming a striker...for me i don't think he a pure striker i think he develop in to one that people like...i guess?
Post by: cm103 on June 14, 2009, 10:02:45 AM
He would be under more pressure to perform for his spot....if he was English that is.
Post by: Preacher on June 14, 2009, 10:18:00 AM
Fellas here is the scene, KJ has not score for us because our system isn't build around him.  It's build around Yorke.  At top flight if you are left without a good supporting role you are toast. e.g KJ   Other than Carlos nobody can get around guys and play the ball into KJ or Stern for than matter.  Most of the time you have KJ chasing scraps. What u want the man to do?
Post by: acb on June 14, 2009, 10:35:57 AM
Fellas here is the scene, KJ has not score for us because our system isn't build around him.  It's build around Yorke.  At top flight if you are left without a good supporting role you are toast. e.g KJ   Other than Carlos nobody can get around guys and play the ball into KJ or Stern for than matter.  Most of the time you have KJ chasing scraps. What u want the man to do?

from the contract that he signed, and the players brought in - Sunderland is built around him, and still he can't score regularly for them. Carlos on that side too, and he can't get it over consistently/ effectively to him there - and he can't do the same here either.

If Stern scoring from scraps for years - why can't KJ do the same??
Post by: Zeppo on June 14, 2009, 10:51:00 AM

Doesn't possess the same striker instincts?
Post by: freakazoid on June 14, 2009, 10:59:58 AM
how many judgement times i have to tell allyuh d boy named KENWYNE not KENWAYNE.  o gosh boy
Post by: MEP on June 14, 2009, 11:03:22 AM
wha is de role of de forward again?????
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 14, 2009, 11:13:33 AM

So explain why stern does score?  our system is not built around yorke although one can argue that he is the lynchpin of de midfield.
Post by: dinho on June 14, 2009, 11:18:55 AM
if he was english, he would be valued at about 20 million pounds not 12 million, the hype around him would be triple what it is at the moment, and he would be playing for a top 6 club, not sunderland.

if he was english, they would make sure he have all the right tools to develop, and he would probably be a much more refined player than the one we seeing right now.

at world cup 2006, i said that i didnt think Peter Crouch could start in our natural team, yet he was starting for england.

i think he would crack that side easy.
Post by: Fyzoman on June 14, 2009, 12:32:05 PM
if he was english...i think he would be a much better striker then how he is right now...people have to remember he was a defencer before coming a striker...for me i don't think he a pure striker i think he develop in to one that people like...i guess?

yes najee, yuh right....not to put words in yuh mouth eh, but yuh seem to be ah fella who know football, so doh 'think' he would be ah much better striker right now, go ahead and say it, he would definitely be a much better striker right now, look if he was english, he woulda done play bout 4/5 years for Manu ahready and Barcelona/Real/AC or Inter Milan woulda be looking to buy him
Post by: Babalawo on June 14, 2009, 12:40:42 PM
He cant handle to pressure of a little nation like TnT, you think he could handle the pressure of the Queen, entire UK, and their paparazzi?
Post by: giggsy11 on June 14, 2009, 01:49:37 PM
He would be an English shithong! People talkin about he would be dis and dat if was at a big side and get better coach an sh1te; but the bottomline is he still aint lookin like he doin his part tuh improve. Say wat about Dwight he worked on becomin the player that made big side spend money on him because he showed a hunger and performed when he went to United. Jones get a big contract based on potential and aint win shite and he acting like he reach. Ah waitin for an interview when he talkin about all the hard work he puttin to improve the things even a greenhorn like myself can see he stll can't do as a damn professional. Come on when is he going to take responsibility for trying tuh take things to the next level or is it as good as it gets which he already knows and people out there don't want to accept it?
Post by: Father Abraham on June 14, 2009, 02:51:23 PM
kenwyn jones is a shit hound, he not good at the highest level. he is not a striker
Post by: just cool on June 14, 2009, 03:04:29 PM
He would be an English shithong! People talkin about he would be dis and dat if was at a big side and get better coach an sh1te; but the bottomline is he still aint lookin like he doin his part tuh improve. Say wat about Dwight he worked on becomin the player that made big side spend money on him because he showed a hunger and performed when he went to United. Jones get a big contract based on potential and aint win shite and he acting like he reach. Ah waitin for an interview when he talkin about all the hard work he puttin to improve the things even a greenhorn like myself can see he stll can't do as a damn professional. Come on when is he going to take responsibility for trying tuh take things to the next level or is it as good as it gets which he already knows and people out there don't want to accept it?
Breds , jones scored 12 goals this season in all competition,and he missed almost half the season, the top scorer in the epl had 19 goals (anelka) and he played all season long with ah better supporting cast.

Kj not only had 12 goals in all competitions, but he had the top assist for his club. i not making no excuses for him BC i think he was capable of much better, but that ain't bad for ah fella who just came off ah serious injury and might be still injured somewhat.

i watched the mexico game 3times now and when i analize the tape, KJ wasn't getting any service, none period, the only half ah chance he had was when daniel played that ball in for him and he kicked it straight @ the keeper who fumbled the ball.

scotty is the man who got all the chances tuh score and blew it. all the hype made KJ one of the most fared striker in concacaf and the EPL! i never see ah man get doubled and trippled teamed as much as KJ, that's why it's really hard for him tuh score, he needs much better service from club and country. we have big players , but we don't know how tuh untilize them. an hope latas get it right for the remaining fixtures.

BTW, he out scored the following big players,
zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.
Post by: just cool on June 14, 2009, 03:09:57 PM
kenwyn jones is a shit hound, he not good at the highest level. he is not a striker
Breds i understand yuh frustration, i does say that too when i watching him and in the heat of the moment, but after i calm down and analize the situation, the reality is , the man for the whole hex eh get ah proper ball tuh his head and we all know how dangerous the man is in the air.

that's called ah lack of service. lets hope we could rectify that for the up coming fixtures.

PS: ah shit hound don't shine in the EPL for half ah season comming out with 10 goals , and three in the cup games. no way!!! ah sh!t hound can't achieve that!
Post by: Quags on June 14, 2009, 04:23:49 PM
Am Kenwyne Jones Biatchh.yeahhhhh
Post by: WestCoast on June 14, 2009, 04:29:04 PM
PS: ah shit hound don't shine in the EPL for half ah season comming out with 10 goals , and three in the cup games. no way!!! ah sh!t hound can't achieve that!
true true

next ting ah man go shout that Adebayor is ah shithong :devil:
right FLi! :rotfl:
Post by: giggsy11 on June 14, 2009, 06:22:25 PM
Breds , jones scored 12 goals this season in all competition,and he missed almost half the season, the top scorer in the epl had 19 goals (anelka) and he played all season long with ah better supporting cast.

Kj not only had 12 goals in all competitions, but he had the top assist for his club. i not making no excuses for him BC i think he was capable of much better, but that ain't bad for ah fella who just came off ah serious injury and might be still injured somewhat.

i watched the mexico game 3times now and when i analize the tape, KJ wasn't getting any service, none period, the only half ah chance he had was when daniel played that ball in for him and he kicked it straight @ the keeper who fumbled the ball.

scotty is the man who got all the chances tuh score and blew it. all the hype made KJ one of the most fared striker in concacaf and the EPL! i never see ah man get doubled and trippled teamed as much as KJ, that's why it's really hard for him tuh score, he needs much better service from club and country. we have big players , but we don't know how tuh untilize them. an hope latas get it right for the remaining fixtures.

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

Actually my opinion was not addressing anything to do with him scoring goals or why he not scoring goals but on his apparent inability to do the basics constantly as well as his apparent low football IQ!
Post by: just cool on June 14, 2009, 06:40:13 PM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

Actually my opinion was not addressing anything to do with him scoring goals or why he not scoring goals but on his apparent inability to do the basics constantly as well as his apparent low football IQ!
In case yuh didn't know my friend, goals win matches, and strikers are there to score goals , not look pretty while scoring them.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 14, 2009, 07:16:09 PM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

In case yuh didn't know my friend, goals win matches, and strikers are there to score goals , not look pretty while scoring them.

No scene-In case YOU don't know my friend a 'professional' footballer should be able to trap a ball as well as make a basic pass. Yuh boy can't do neither! You actually think people on this forum think Jones is a shithoung because he aint scoring goals or because of his apparent inability to consistenty do the basics?
Post by: just cool on June 14, 2009, 08:05:57 PM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

No scene-In case YOU don't know my friend a 'professional' footballer should be able to trap a ball as well as make a basic pass. Yuh boy can't do neither! You actually think people on this forum think Jones is a shithoung because he aint scoring goals or because of his apparent inability to consistenty do the basics?
Stop lying on the man! the fella's first touch is obviously not up to par, i would even go as far as too say say below par, but it's not as bad as you suggested. he's also not the best trapper of ah ball like those top notch players he's up against, but his passing is not bad @ all, and tuh prove that it ain't, last season and this season he topped his team in assist, now you tell me this , if ah fella can't pass, how the hell he's has such ah high assist rate.

remember i watch all KJ'S EPL games, and so far there nothing to suggest that he can't pass, and what he lacks in first touch and trapping he more than make up in other areas like holding up the ball and winning headers, he's up the with the very best! he's also ah great defensive forward with ah hihg work rate.  bottom line, the man needs proper service.
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 14, 2009, 08:08:31 PM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

Meanwhile, the bosses and fans who paying his wages think the world of him. As well as the other bosses willing to part with 20 million pounds for him. I guess they didn't get the memo that flaws = shithound.
Post by: Preacher on June 14, 2009, 08:12:43 PM

So explain why stern does score?  our system is not built around yorke although one can argue that he is the lynchpin of de midfield.

Point taken ACB but Nightmare here's the deal Stern is a different kind of striker than KJ with abilities that far surpasses KJ.  Stern can work the lone striker role a little better than KJ can.
Post by: JDB on June 14, 2009, 08:21:09 PM
TnT fans is jokers.

Last year Kenwyne was the next Drogba and shoulda go Liverpool. When Kev mention that his work off the ball is poor and his game have flaws, men say that Sunderland is a shit side.

Now he have some bad games for TnT and he is a shithound?

Kenwyne is a young player. He is big, strong and he scores goals. Whatever TnT fans might want him to be or expect him to be he is what he is a very useful player. Could he be better, absolutely but that that don't make him a shit hound. It also doesn't guarantee that replacing him will win us games because none of the competition for his place is head and shoulders above him. No problem giving him a rest to try something different but the criticism is over the top.

Is nothing new though, before Kenwyne, it was Stern. And now it is Ince too. It seems that the players never good enough to play for this BIG, BIG side TnT, that never win anything more than a Shell Cup and have a tinpot federation. The fans vex that, because of the players, we bottom of the Hex instead of cruising to the WC. I could understand hope and even optimism but what this expectation is based on is beyond me.

If I was Kenwyne and I read this board I would put allyuh out of allyuh misery and retire so allyuh wouldn't have to "suffer" the shithound again.
Post by: Bourbon on June 14, 2009, 08:46:48 PM
TnT fans is jokers.

Last year Kenwyne was the next Drogba and shoulda go Liverpool. When Kev mention that his work off the ball is poor and his game have flaws, men say that Sunderland is a shit side.

Kenwyne is a young player. He is big, strong and he scores goals. Whatever TnT fans might want him to be or expect him to be he is what he is a very useful player. Could he be better, absolutely but that that don't make him a shit hound. It also doesn't guarantee that replacing him will win us games because none of the competition for his place is head and shoulders above him. No problem giving him a rest to try something different but the criticism is over the top.

Is nothing new though, before Kenwyne, it was Stern. And now it is Ince too. It seems that the players never good enough to play for this BIG, BIG side TnT, that never win anything more than a Shell Cup and have a tinpot federation. The fans vex that, because of the players, we bottom of the Hex instead of cruising to the WC. I could understand hope and even optimism but what this expectation is based on is beyond me.

If I was Kenwyne and I read this board I would put allyuh out of allyuh misery and retire so allyuh wouldn't have to "suffer" the shithound again.

Good...yuh save me some typing dey. Even if people want to call him a shithound...he's one of de best shithounds we have.
Post by: truetrini on June 14, 2009, 09:15:03 PM
TnT fans is jokers.

Hey I was de one saying dat last year and fighting down Kev., I am the same one who came back and told Kev ah sorry dat he damn right.

Jones is ah shit pot...fro T&T and if he retire from we team, is no difference to we goal scoring or lack of it..steups.  Sunderland is still a shit side.

But looking at jones' demeanour, he real pissing me off.

I wish dey drop he ass, he cyar trap (and by the way Just cool that is what first touch is, yuh have to trap fus...)he cyar pASS PROPERLY, AND HE SIMPLY HAVE HE HEAd UP HE ASS WHEN it comes to running of the ball and positioning.

Leh he read dis and retire nah...steups           He cyar tie Stern John boots
Post by: Quags on June 14, 2009, 10:12:11 PM
Harsh harsh harsh ,we support all our players whether they doing great or not .We should for ken to ,I guess .I really doh know what to say about Kenwyne and Jason ,maybe Ken going true a slump ,so I could forgive him ,Jason ..whatever .but I do know Tinto score and them couldn do that .
I was hoping negative reinforcement will inspire these guys ,to prove us wrong ,but either they doh read here or they prove me wrong especially Jason ,cause we real pong him here and he still trow away goals .
But I want them to do well in England and have great success ,.....but trini needs goals from our strikers and them looking like they just on strike oui .
best give Stern back his spot or Kendall or who ever else could simply create a likkle gold dust for us .

PPl saying is not there fault ,there not getting support or passes or whatever ...well fine then dont pick them .Its like bringing a knife to a gun fight . Pick somebody who will help create his own shots ,sorry but if the mid ent supplying them ,they only there for show . 
Post by: makaveli on June 14, 2009, 10:14:14 PM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

that list seriously flawed...half of them are not even strikers...the other half in teams where they are not the primary strikers or they have a vast strike force
Post by: kev on June 15, 2009, 12:03:04 AM
TnT fans is jokers.

Hey I was de one saying dat last year and fighting down Kev., I am the same one who came back and told Kev ah sorry dat he damn right.

Jones is ah shit pot...fro T&T and if he retire from we team, is no difference to we goal scoring or lack of it..steups.  Sunderland is still a shit side.

I wish dey drop he ass, he cyar trap (and by the way Just cool that is what first touch is, yuh have to trap fus...)he cyar pASS PROPERLY, AND HE SIMPLY HAVE HE HEAd UP HE ASS WHEN it comes to running of the ball and positioning.

There's always next season.  ;D

I'm done with the Kenwyne debate as I said last time.  He is what he is, he can be a lot better if he wants to be, I'm just not sure he does.
Post by: just cool on June 15, 2009, 01:44:38 AM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

that list seriously flawed...half of them are not even strikers...the other half in teams where they are not the primary strikers or they have a vast strike force
Who said anything bout strikers mr meticulous, if yuh want tuh nit pick go right ahead , but i said, and i repeat , he out scored these big name players! no where did i say here's ah list of STRIKERS he out scored!!

allyuh just like tuh look for small little things tuh out shine and denigrate ah man eh!

the top scorer for the season was anelka , followed by ronaldo , who mind you is ah midfielder.

Post by: just cool on June 15, 2009, 01:49:36 AM
TnT fans is jokers.

Boss i know dat better than you!! i doh want tuh match whits wid you, but yuh ever heard of collecting ah ball? what about ah volley. first touch means just that, whether it's trapping , passing, collecting or volleying, it mean first touch proffessor!
Post by: marcus on June 15, 2009, 06:56:37 AM
IF KJ was an Englishman:

He would be on the long list of players that are always mentioned with the squad.

He would get a random call up for a lower level friendly and then be judged on his performance at training camp and match day, but AT PRESENT I don't think he will ever be a regular fixture in any England line-up.

He has miles to go before he is good enough to meet the expectations of the England faithful.

He is good enough to be considered
He is good enough to get a call up
He is good enough to have a good game
But he is not good enough to be consistent on the international level in Europe.
Currently he is not good enough to be a regular fixture in the England line-up

He has room to improve and hopefully he continues to work and someday he will be that good that we wont even have to ask this question.

Post by: fordy on June 15, 2009, 07:38:17 AM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

nah breds that was Stead!!! and the 19 goals for anekla was only in the EPL, not counting champions league and FA cup. if yuh quoting stats quote d right ting so folks could put wat yuh saying in to proper perspective. now take those stats and compare KJ again and tell him if yuh verdict is d same. bottom line, IMO he is not a striker. he would never make ah england side with that rapist touch he have. beckham cudnt make d team because of his fitness...yuh think fabio go play KJ with dat touch and lack of work rate? please!!!
Post by: fordy on June 15, 2009, 07:38:41 AM

from the contract that he signed, and the players brought in - Sunderland is built around him, and still he can't score regularly for them. Carlos on that side too, and he can't get it over consistently/ effectively to him there - and he can't do the same here either.

big post!!
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 15, 2009, 08:02:06 AM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

nah breds that was Stead!!! and the 19 goals for anekla was only in the EPL, not counting champions league and FA cup. if yuh quoting stats quote d right ting so folks could put wat yuh saying in to proper perspective. now take those stats and compare KJ again and tell him if yuh verdict is d same. bottom line, IMO he is not a striker. he would never make ah england side with that rapist touch he have. beckham cudnt make d team because of his fitness...yuh think fabio go play KJ with dat touch and lack of work rate? please!!!
Carlton Cole has a better first touch than Kenwyne?
Post by: arrow on June 15, 2009, 08:08:24 AM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

Carlton Banks from fresh prince of bel-air have a better first touch than Jones I sure
Post by: maxg on June 15, 2009, 08:54:33 AM
Look up our great strikers rate, against, Mexico, USA, Costa Rica, even Canada etc...Except for Stern's 2 against Mexico in 2006  :beermug: (which we all remember like yesterday)...tell me when we strikers run rampant with big score rate....as a matter of fact check any position score rate against them....unfortunately, KJ & Scotty, and anybody else rarely get the Guyana, DR, Barbados, Grenada, St Vincent, St.Kitts, Bermuda etc games (friendlies and otherwise)...so their fans can get to see how them smaller teams could shut them down all kinda ways too...since the fans know so much footbal, it must be a memory issue, so here, Flex to the rescue...boy we real use to challenge dem teams boy
http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/fixtures-results.html
Post by: fordy on June 15, 2009, 09:07:16 AM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

Sure he does. He is also a better striker than KJ too. You see him controlling the ball and being able to turn and run and defenders and making good one two passes for West Ham...look at the last goal he scored for them....straight one to two touch football and then he bury it....never see KJ do dem kinda ting for club nor country.
Post by: maxg on June 15, 2009, 09:31:52 AM
"...never see KJ do dem kinda ting for club nor country."

Oh ok, so he probably cyah do it...and no good...  ah doh know if to  :rotfl: or  :'(..so best I  :-X
Post by: Rodney on June 15, 2009, 10:45:04 AM
If Jones was English he would have gone the same route as most hyped English players that don't quite live up to all the talk. They live off the hype fuh a few seasons (sometimes quite a few!!) getting one or two big money moves then as they continually fail to produce...they fade, not always into obscurity but certainly they drop divisions or if their lucky end up a squad player with the lesser premiership teams. Jones still has time to come good (And I hope he does) but here are some examples anyway:

Zamora....very hyped at Brighton, England U-21 international, went to Spurs and bombed, dropped a division with the Hammers and was very average there. The fans certainly didn't take to him. Now at Fulham....only still there cause none of the other 5 strikers have set the world alight either.

Francis Jeffers....the big Everton hope before Rooney, went to Arsenal with huge hype. Where is the "Fox in the box" now?

Carlton Cole.....big hype when at Chelsea, England U-21. Many loan moves...none very successful. Now at West Ham, where he is a decent player but certainly no Drogba clone like some were saying.

(This one is slightly harsh)Dean Ashton...hyped at Crewe, went to Norwich and lived up to the hype, went to the Hammers were he got an England cap (was it against us?) but has played so infrequently due to injury, they thinking of offloadin him. Difficult to know if he is the real deal as he only has had one full season (in the top league) out of Four at West Ham.

Marcus Bent (not Darren)....big hype when joining literally every club he has played for ( and he has played for a lot)...was best at Sheffield Utd & Ipswich when playing with Darren Bent. Tends to have a good/decent first season then fades the next and moves on. Certainly no hype now...think he bench warms fuh Birmingham now.

That is just a few, there are loads more I'm sure you guys could think of...but the story is generally the same. They bounce around Teams playing average to mediocre but still people willing to try just in case they come good again. Even if Kenwyne continue playing tutu for the rest of his career he still will be in the Premier league for a few seasons yet, mainly due to the occasional amazing peformance, his size (English managers love ah big target man) and age if nothing else.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 15, 2009, 10:56:40 AM

Dude you is ah rell asshole wit da shit you talk dey oui.  Firstly the man can trap a ball, he may not be the best at it but don't lie on the man.  As JC point out it is impossible to be a bad passer (on a shit side as you call them) and people execute well enough for him to have such an assist rate.  The man miss a good portion ah games and score more than quite a few notable strikers who either wasn't injured for any sustained periods of time or none at all.  What fackin demeanor you upset about?  De man tell any ah f**kin allyuh he reach somewey?  All it take is one cont to say some jackassness an ah setta man label de man as thinkin he reach.  So now he have ah attitude problem right?  Allyuh gettin on like foreign teams invadin TnT lablash fuh f**kin strikers.  If de team could find ways to use his attributes he would score goals.  Look ah shit side like Sunderland and all does get him balls to score.  But ah bit of a dry spell and lack of service to boot in the national team make him ah shithong ent?!  Why allyuh cunnyholes doesn't jus shut allyuh cont when allyuh schupid is beyond me oui.

If KJ was englishe he would be in the 1st XI ahead of Heskey and that is a guarantee.  I am actually ah Heskey fan but I see no reason why Heskey would start ahead of KJ.  If Crouch could get starts there is no reason KJ couldn't start for England had he been English.
Post by: Fyzoman on June 15, 2009, 11:01:35 AM

Bally, was it your intention to create a KJ bashing thread, or just to ask men to speculate? cause if we doing dat, we could start by saying he mighta be a boxer/cricketer/or whatever??? but ok if he was ah english footballer? he mighta be youngest to ever play for england cause he mighta been discovered by Ferguson at age 9 who noticed his impeccable first touch when he first see him.

KJ would have gotten dat first touch from attending de Bryan Robson soccer school since age 4, because his dad (Pamphille?? He woulda be english too right, or was KJ just born in England?)was good friends wid Bryan from dey days playing on the English National team....and on and on.

Bally doh get me wrong eh, it's an ok thread buy wayyy, men just take off on de KJ bashing, but dais de forum for yuh.
Post by: just cool on June 15, 2009, 11:17:32 AM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

OK fella, what about the season that roy keane completed and sunderland survived, didn't KJ won players of the season and had the most assist.

about anelka, didn't he score the most goals in the prem this yr with 19 goals and won the golden boot, and cristiano scored 18! why complicate the issue with nit picking, ah swear sometimes allyuh men does go on worst than jamett oman.

look the results here!  http://www.premierleague.com/page/Statistics/0,,12306,00.html
Post by: ribbit on June 15, 2009, 11:24:47 AM
aside: did sunderland make the wrong move trading stern to southampton for KJ?
Post by: just cool on June 15, 2009, 11:31:57 AM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

Sure he does. He is also a better striker than KJ too. You see him controlling the ball and being able to turn and run and defenders and making good one two passes for West Ham...look at the last goal he scored for them....straight one to two touch football and then he bury it....never see KJ do dem kinda ting for club nor country.
And i never see carlton cole jump 9 ft high out jumping the defence to head ah ball @ full speed pass no keeper! how many strikers in the prem have that ability?

BTW i want tuh believe KJ scored the same amount of goals as carlton cole this pass season, and he only played half ah season with minimal service. could you imagine if he had the service carlton cole was getting? so wid all his pretty touch, it's still goals that matter , and KJ scoring goals, so what's yuh beef. ssttuueeppsss
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 15, 2009, 11:35:07 AM
And i never see carlton cole jump 9 ft high out jumping the defence and head ah ball @ full speed pass no keeper! how many strikers in the prem have that ability?

BTW i want tuh believe KJ scored same amount of goals as carlton cole this pass season, and he only played half ah season with minimal service. could you imagine if he had the service carlton cole was getting? so wid all his pretty touch, it's still goals that matter , and KJ scoring goals, so what's yuh beef. ssttuueeppsss

If he get to the Spurs as was rumored then dey go see how deadly he could be.
Post by: supporter on June 15, 2009, 01:55:54 PM
Why?
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 15, 2009, 02:14:42 PM
Why?

Better service, better finishing, more goals!!
Post by: Storeboy on June 15, 2009, 02:52:03 PM
The question evokes much discussion; much heat and little light, but we are fans that is why I like this forum.  We could pretend to be the best players, most knowledgeable football gurus, and prophets without being responsible for what we say.  Having said that, here are the what ifs that must be taken into consideration.

What if Kenwyne Jones was English:
Would he have developed more skills by this time?
Would he have been playing striker since age 14 and not starting at 19?
Would he have been a midfield player?
Would he have been exposed to a football academy to make him a more advanced player?
Would he have been a fast bowler?
Would he have even played football?

So, the assumption is that he is English but developed in exactly the way he would have growing up in Trinidad and now would he have been on the English team.  The point I am making is that we are asking what if, but not also realizing that a lot of things about his life and development would have been very different, so the question cannot be fairly answered.  Kenwyne is a very good Trinidad and Tobago striker.  Case closed!
Post by: fordy on June 15, 2009, 03:20:38 PM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

And i never see carlton cole jump 9 ft high out jumping the defence to head ah ball @ full speed pass no keeper! how many strikers in the prem have that ability?

BTW i want tuh believe KJ scored the same amount of goals as carlton cole this pass season, and he only played half ah season with minimal service. could you imagine if he had the service carlton cole was getting? so wid all his pretty touch, it's still goals that matter , and KJ scoring goals, so what's yuh beef. ssttuueeppsss

yuh really need to watch all the teams before commenting on them horse. Carlton Cole was injured for a period of time during the season as well and sometimes Zola was trying out other strikers so he sat on de bench....i will check and see how much games they both played. you are right, cole cant out jump KJ....but the other attributes cole brings to the table KJ cant....first touch, scoring a wide variety of goals (not primarily headers), passing, movement off d ball, natural strikers instincts etc!!! let me ask you this...if u put KJ as a striker with Barca...arguably the best midfield in d world...yuh think he will score as much goals as Eto? or even half as much? make sure u think carefully before answering! my beef is KJ fits the sunderland system because thats the kinda football they play in england...wing play and cross...so it suits what he does best...jump 9ft and head d ball. however, you pull him out of that system and he looks horrible because he does not have the other attributes of a striker. not even a good first touch! but men lookin at him on Fox and rating him when he scores with headers and think he is this great striker. there are other attributes in the game he needs to work on and badly. he certainly has the age and tools to get to that level but right now he aint no where close. i shudder to think he leaves sunderland and goes to another european league right now...like spain or itlay...they will eat him alive because he stands there waiting for the ball. he has alot of work to do and i hope as a young player he doesnt think like some of you on this site and think to himself he is an elite striker in world football. an elite striker can be pulled from one system into another and fit like a glove....KJ currently cant do that. hence y u see the displays for the national team! :beermug:
Post by: Big Magician on June 15, 2009, 04:19:31 PM
stay strong KJ
Post by: just cool on June 15, 2009, 04:24:27 PM

zamora,
dempsey,
utaka,
adebayor,
alves, mido,
roberts,
martins,
owens,
tevez,
fabregas,
maluda,
defoe,
saha,
bendtner,
 berbatov,
steven ireland,
creg bellamy,
drogba,
callou,
ashley
young,
sean write phillips,
emile hesky,
jermain jennas,
roque santa cruz,
xabi alonzo,
theo walcott.

yuh really need to watch all the teams before commenting on them horse. Carlton Cole was injured for a period of time during the season as well and sometimes Zola was trying out other strikers so he sat on de bench....i will check and see how much games they both played. you are right, cole cant out jump KJ....but the other attributes cole brings to the table KJ cant....first touch, scoring a wide variety of goals (not primarily headers), passing, movement off d ball, natural strikers instincts etc!!! let me ask you this...if u put KJ as a striker with Barca...arguably the best midfield in d world...yuh think he will score as much goals as Eto? or even half as much? make sure u think carefully before answering! my beef is KJ fits the sunderland system because thats the kinda football they play in england...wing play and cross...so it suits what he does best...jump 9ft and head d ball. however, you pull him out of that system and he looks horrible because he does not have the other attributes of a striker. not even a good first touch! but men lookin at him on Fox and rating him when he scores with headers and think he is this great striker. there are other attributes in the game he needs to work on and badly. he certainly has the age and tools to get to that level but right now he aint no where close. i shudder to think he leaves sunderland and goes to another european league right now...like spain or itlay...they will eat him alive because he stands there waiting for the ball. he has alot of work to do and i hope as a young player he doesnt think like some of you on this site and think to himself he is an elite striker in world football. an elite striker can be pulled from one system into another  and fit like a glove....KJ currently cant do that. hence y u see the displays for the national team! :beermug:
Maybe that's why he cyar score for us as of yet, maybe this system don't fit him. ;D
Post by: Filho on June 15, 2009, 04:48:27 PM
I think KJ's recent poor run for the national team is a combination of fatigue, poor form and injury. But he is a very good player albeit with some things to work on. i've seen him live when he is on form and confident and his touch is good, his movement is good and he is a fighter. the guy who got his knee wrecked by David James is who I talking about.

KJ needs a good break..physically and mentally. You'll be surprised how much that will do for him. Poor fella..I think he means so much for his teams..Sunderland and T&T that they take risks on him and dat youth must be does take some serious physical abuse..now he getting de fan abuse. truth is..we should be asking Latas, Maturana, Sbragia etc..why dey trying to squeeze de last pieces out of a physically and mentally broken striker. We doh have anything better at the moement in their estimation. Dread KJ was limping aftre 10 minutes against Mexico and bandage up tight. But I never hear KJ complain, whine, or anything. Seems like a top class pro.

It take Carlos almost 2 years to look like more than an Intercol player in the EPL after his injuries. KJ came back after a long injury layoff and did very well. 10 goals in 29 EPL games is fantastic after surgery. Improvement from last year in many ways..but some parts of his game were stunted as Sunderland was in a relegation dog fight from earlies..so I feel KJ didn't learn more of the finer arts of his trade. It was a case of go in there and be a physical presence and get your head to the ball. Dat is my guess.

De youth eh lazy..but he gone through for the season. He might have a little attitude now too..cuz that business hard dread. Even de faqns who say they love does mash you up. I feel plenty of them fellas does develop a thick skin to protect themselves..not to be arseholes just cuz they feel they reach.

We'll see how we boy look once he get a little rest. T&T needs him at his best. But we can't get the best out of him now..Lewwe not pretend this is the best and only way we ever see KJ play. He's shown great potential and the best is yet to come. In the meantime, we need to have faith in the viable alternatives when men like KJ fall off. Competition for places will make them all better
Post by: Bourbon on June 15, 2009, 05:13:19 PM
I think KJ's recent poor run for the national team is a combination of fatigue, poor form and injury. But he is a very good player albeit with some things to work on. i've seen him live when he is on form and confident and his touch is good, his movement is good and he is a fighter. the guy who got his knee wrecked by David James is who I talking about.

KJ needs a good break..physically and mentally. You'll be surprised how much that will do for him. Poor fella..I think he means so much for his teams..Sunderland and T&T that they take risks on him and dat youth must be does take some serious physical abuse..now he getting de fan abuse. truth is..we should be asking Latas, Maturana, Sbragia etc..why dey trying to squeeze de last pieces out of a physically and mentally broken striker. We doh have anything better at the moement in their estimation. Dread KJ was limping aftre 10 minutes against Mexico and bandage up tight. But I never hear KJ complain, whine, or anything. Seems like a top class pro.

It take Carlos almost 2 years to look like more than an Intercol player in the EPL after his injuries. KJ came back after a long injury layoff and did very well. 10 goals in 29 EPL games is fantastic after surgery. Improvement from last year in many ways..but some parts of his game were stunted as Sunderland was in a relegation dog fight from earlies..so I feel KJ didn't learn more of the finer arts of his trade. It was a case of go in there and be a physical presence and get your head to the ball. Dat is my guess.

De youth eh lazy..but he gone through for the season. He might have a little attitude now too..cuz that business hard dread. Even de faqns who say they love does mash you up. I feel plenty of them fellas does develop a thick skin to protect themselves..not to be arseholes just cuz they feel they reach.

We'll see how we boy look once he get a little rest. T&T needs him at his best. But we can't get the best out of him now..Lewwe not pretend this is the best and only way we ever see KJ play. He's shown great potential and the best is yet to come. In the meantime, we need to have faith in the viable alternatives when men like KJ fall off. Competition for places will make them all better

I doh know wha de hell does be wrong with some ah allyuh men nah. Who de hell tell you we wanted rationale and logic in dis topic?
Post by: maxg on June 15, 2009, 08:43:47 PM
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=42869.msg545364#msg545364
Post by: Babalawo on June 15, 2009, 08:49:38 PM
stay strong KJ
yes. say shhh.  I heard from an informant that he surfs this forum every now and then
Post by: Carib-Briton on June 16, 2009, 04:48:24 AM
What a thread LOL

LOL @ that list of players brought up, A significant amount of those players don't get the opportunities to score like Jones would and there is a number he DID NOT score more than that said other factors need to be taken into account he does not exactly have Robben and Ronaldo alongside him and he is a very good player in the air. Jones is a good player I just hope he hasn't lost drive to improve as a result of the league is playing in and finance otherwise he will end up going back down the leagues.
It's all good to big up Jones when things are going well, I even remember someone say he's better than Adebayor or even saying he should be playing in the top four but when things go back forums like this panic or write off someone lol.
Post by: fordy on June 16, 2009, 06:26:04 AM

Filho i hope you are right. Let's hope that he is able to recover if he is injured. But he still needs to understand that he has alot of work to do if he wants to become that elite striker. I believe he has the tools to become one...the drive...im not sure...let's hope so for his sake. :beermug:
Post by: Peter on June 16, 2009, 06:28:18 AM
BLASTED BANDWAGONISTS, all of you. Support your players through high and low, through thick and thin, stop the bashing and kicking them when they're down, instead bandwagonists- try to only offer support and speak constructive criticism. out.

We beating El Salvador in August!.
Post by: WestCoast on June 16, 2009, 07:14:02 AM

I doh know wha de hell does be wrong with some ah allyuh men nah. Who de hell tell you we wanted rationale and logic in dis topic?
very well put there Filho

and  :rotfl: to Bourbon
Post by: marcus on June 16, 2009, 07:34:54 AM
IF KJ was an Englishman:

He is good enough to get a random call up for a lower level friendly
He is good enough to be at the bottom of a very long list
He is good enough to have a good game once in awhile
But he is NOT good enough to be consistent on the international level in Europe
Currently he is NOT good enough to be a regular fixture in any England line-up

If he continues to work, hopefully someday he will be that good that we wont even have to ask this question.

And for those of you saying this is a NEGATIVE THREAD, you are totally wrong. We don't want our athletes to be content with playing at a tier 2 skill level. Any competitor will take these comments and use it as motivation, if they stressing and folding under pressure well that speaks for itself. When ah man sick doh feed him sugar, yuh need to give him some bitter Buckleys. Is allyuh same men that does be telling these buss girls they lookin sweet.

Post by: elan on June 16, 2009, 08:34:12 AM
For supposedly big men alyuh real full of shit yes. Alyuh don't have nothing to do? Not one ah alyuh say anything viable or directly related to Jones being the player he is.

If Jones was English we would have never been "debating him so intensely"  ::) as we are. If Jones was English and was on the team he would have still been playing on a bigger shit side who does beat up on smaller teams. They have Wales, Georgia etc, we have Guyana, St. Kitts and Jamaica  :devil: of which we does celebrate men when they score against. Alyuh berating players who wasn't around to score a billion goal against grenada and Guadalupe in shell cup and what have you. But, berating the fellas for not scoring against Mexico in the Azteca when you will be hard press to find any T&T player - whether is the so called golden boys back in the haiti debacle days, or the almost Italia strike squad- that used to score against top opponent such as Canada, Mexico, Costa Rica and the USA. Show me differently.

Match Statistics by Opponent
Opponent                    Played   Wins   Losses    Draws    GF   GA    GD
Antigua and Barbuda     8       7           1         0         31    9     22
Aruba                             1       1           0          0         11    0     11
Austria                           1        0         1           0         1     4     -3
Azerbaijan                       2        2         0          0          3     0      3
Bahrain                           2        1         0           1         2     1       1
Barbados                   31         22       3           6        81    19    62
Bermuda                         9         5        2           2         17    6    11
Botswana 1 0 0 1 0 0 0
Canada 10 2 6 2 12 14 -2
Cayman Islands 3 3 0 0 19 2 17
China 1 0 1 0 0 3 -3
Colombia 3 1 2 0 4 8 -4  
Costa Rica 22 3 15 4 15 46 -31  
Cuba 14 11 2 1 30 13 17
Czech Republic 1 0 1 0 0 3 -3
Dominica 2 2 0 0 13 0 13
Dominican Republic 8 8 0 0 38 1 37

Egypt 1 0 1 0 1 2 -1
El Salvador 9 3 3 3 11 10 1
England 2 0 2 0 0 5 -5
Finland 5 2 2 1 7 6 1
French Guiana 2 2 0 0 4 1 3
Grenada 13 10 3 0 35 14 21
Guadeloupe 9 5 1 3 11 7 4
Guatemala 20 6 8 6 23 34 -11  
Guyana 35 22 6 7 57 22 35
Haiti 28 13 13 2 44 46 -2  
Honduras 14 2 6 6 14 20 -6
Iceland 1 1 0 0 2 0 2
Iraq 1 1 0 0 2 0 2
Ireland 1 1 0 0 2 1 1
Jamaica 59 25 24 10 77 72 5
Japan 1 0 1 0 0 2 -2
Kenya 1 0 0 1 1 1 0
Kuwait 1 0 1 0 1 1 0
Martinique 14 6 8 0 28 25 3
Mexico 16 3 11 2 12 38 -26  
Morocco 2 0 2 0 0 3 -3
Netherlands Antilles 12 8 1 3 27 8 19
Nicaragua 1 1 0 0 3 1 2
Northern Ireland 1 0 1 0 0 3 -3
Norway 1 1 0 0 3 2 1
Panama 12 7 2 3 20 8 12
Paraguay 3 0 1 2 3 5 -2
Peru 2 1 0 1 3 2 1
Puerto Rico 5 4 0 1 28 4 24
Russian Federation 1 0 1 0 0 2 -2
Saudi Arabia 3 0 3 0 3 6 -3
Scotland 1 0 1 0 1 4 -3
Slovenia 1 0 1 0 1 3 -2
South Africa 2 1 1 0 3 2 1
South Korea 1 0 0 1 1 1 0
St. Kitts and Nevis 12 10 2 0 33 13 20
St. Lucia 4 1 2 1 7 4 3
St. Vincent and the Grenadines 13 8 3 2 30 12 18

Suriname 27 10 8 9 50 48 2
Sweden 2 0 1 1 0 5 -5
Taiwan 1 0 1 0 0 1 -1
Thailand 1 0 1 0 2 3 -1
United States 21 3 15 3 11 32 -21  
Venezuela 5 0 2 3 2 6 -4
Virgin Islands (British) 2 2 0 0 6 0 6
Wales 1 0 1 0 1 2 -1

All this talk about scoring goals, have a look. We does score against Barbados and Guyana. All these great goal scorers you all putting down One s for eh have a claim if you put things into perspective. Grow up.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 16, 2009, 09:33:59 AM
yuh really need to watch all the teams before commenting on them horse. Carlton Cole was injured for a period of time during the season as well and sometimes Zola was trying out other strikers so he sat on de bench....i will check and see how much games they both played. you are right, cole cant out jump KJ....but the other attributes cole brings to the table KJ cant....first touch, scoring a wide variety of goals (not primarily headers), passing, movement off d ball, natural strikers instincts etc!!! let me ask you this...if u put KJ as a striker with Barca...arguably the best midfield in d world...yuh think he will score as much goals as Eto? or even half as much? make sure u think carefully before answering! my beef is KJ fits the sunderland system because thats the kinda football they play in england...wing play and cross...so it suits what he does best...jump 9ft and head d ball. however, you pull him out of that system and he looks horrible because he does not have the other attributes of a striker. not even a good first touch! but men lookin at him on Fox and rating him when he scores with headers and think he is this great striker. there are other attributes in the game he needs to work on and badly. he certainly has the age and tools to get to that level but right now he aint no where close. i shudder to think he leaves sunderland and goes to another european league right now...like spain or itlay...they will eat him alive because he stands there waiting for the ball. he has alot of work to do and i hope as a young player he doesnt think like some of you on this site and think to himself he is an elite striker in world football. an elite striker can be pulled from one system into another and fit like a glove....KJ currently cant do that. hence y u see the displays for the national team! :beermug:

While yuh talk some sense here there are many very good and even great (or once viewed as such) strikers/ goal scorers that have went to other leagues/ clubs/ systems and flopped horribly so the idea that a great striker will prosper in any system isn't always accurate.  One easy example of this would be Schevchenko who was unstopable at Milan but a total waste for Chelsea.  Henry sucked at Juventus, Queresma (more of a winger but still qualifies) who was better than and projected to be what Ronaldo has become has flopped everywhere outside Portugal, Anelka flopped at Madrid & Liverpool, After Barcalona Kluivert flop everywhere else, Owen (who is very good when not injured) sucked at Madrid, Bergkamp sucked at Inter, Berbatov wasn't anything special while on the field at ManUre, Crespo wasn't as good at Chelsea and worse at Milan, and we can go on and on.  So to say that KJ can't just fit any system and thus isn't a good striker is rubbish.
Post by: fordy on June 16, 2009, 10:32:46 AM

While yuh talk some sense here there are many very good and even great (or once viewed as such) strikers/ goal scorers that have went to other leagues/ clubs/ systems and flopped horribly so the idea that a great striker will prosper in any system isn't always accurate.  One easy example of this would be Schevchenko who was unstopable at Milan but a total waste for Chelsea.  Henry sucked at Juventus, Queresma (more of a winger but still qualifies) who was better than and projected to be what Ronaldo has become has flopped everywhere outside Portugal, Anelka flopped at Madrid & Liverpool, After Barcalona Kluivert flop everywhere else, Owen (who is very good when not injured) sucked at Madrid, Bergkamp sucked at Inter, Berbatov wasn't anything special while on the field at ManUre, Crespo wasn't as good at Chelsea and worse at Milan, and we can go on and on.  So to say that KJ can't just fit any system and thus isn't a good striker is rubbish.

i hear yuh and yuh make a compelling arguement that these strikers who is seen as elite struggled once they moved to another system. however, in most of the cases you listed, it wasnt due to on the field circumstances why some of them struggled, it had more to do with the change in their physical climate. for example, henry struggled at juventus cause he wasnt the man there, he was very young and had issues off the field. when he moved to arsenal it was a better situation for him on a personal front. then he focused on his game and became the man there. he then moved to barca and struggled his first year...again more so to do with off the field instances...but look at the year he had last season! these fellas are human too and it takes time for them to adapt to their environment. once they do, they will flourish in watever system they are placed in. now having explained that, im sure you can go back and see exactly why all those names listed struggled once they moved.  :beermug:
Post by: Filho on June 16, 2009, 11:24:11 AM

i know the point yuh making, but Owen was real deadly at Madrid. He get salt cuz they refuse to bench Raul and no way he was starting in front de fat man, but Owen was a killer in Madrid. His goals to games ratio was something else. Crespo was good at Milan too. Especially in the Champion's League. His double in the final deserved a winner's medal, plus he knock out ManU in the semis (i think). just an aside
Post by: Trini Madness on June 16, 2009, 11:45:28 AM
if we had someone serving "angus eve-esque" crosses to KJ i can guarantee we wouldnt be last right now...
Post by: Filho on June 16, 2009, 11:57:06 AM
if we had someone serving "angus eve-esque" crosses to KJ i can guarantee we wouldnt be last right now...

the funny thing is I honestly don't remember KJ scoring all dat many headers last season. I saw a lot of scrap goals and a few 'striker's' finishes in and around the 6 yard box. but i just going off memory. two seasons ago he seemed to use his head alot more.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 16, 2009, 01:59:54 PM

the funny thing is I honestly don't remember KJ scoring all dat many headers last season. I saw a lot of scrap goals and a few 'striker's' finishes in and around the 6 yard box. but i just going off memory. two seasons ago he seemed to use his head alot more.

I agree I really didn't see much headers from him.  He had some good finishes, even the ocasional off balance poke pass the keeper, but headers were few and far in between.  Madness make a good point, if we had a crosser like Eve on the team now KJ could well take advantage of his size.
Post by: Marcos on June 16, 2009, 02:42:41 PM
Horse doh diss Owen in Madrid dred.
The man was actually killing it in Madrid.
Iz that run in Madrid that really made me respect the man.
Class player when fit
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 16, 2009, 02:52:02 PM
Class player when fit

All that sound good but he didn't score enough goals given total appearances compared to back at Liverpool.  Everyone seems to evaluate KJs worth as a striker by goals so if that's the measuring stick at the end of the day all the players I listed flopped!  If we measuring by skill then I can bring a whole other list of players regarded as far more skilfull that didn't score nearly enough to justify the argument as well.
Post by: Giggsy's Chestwig on June 16, 2009, 05:19:56 PM
TnT fans is jokers.

Standard procedure on this forum.

Btw, for all those comparing goal stats have got it all wrong.

Heskey isn't picked for England for his goalscoring prowess as he's not and never has been a prolific goalscorer...He's in there because he's incredibly effective at unsettling defenders with his physical attributes which means more space for other people. I think everyone's noticed that Rooney has had more freedom up front since Heskey was recalled?

And no, Kenwyne Jones wouldn't even get a look in for England. I'd imagine even Darren Bent would be ahead of Jones in the pecking order if Jones was English...
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 16, 2009, 05:26:41 PM
TnT fans is jokers.

Heskey isn't picked for England for his goalscoring prowess as he's not and never has been a prolific goalscorer...He's in there because he's incredibly effective at unsettling defenders with his physical attributes which means more space for other people. I think everyone's noticed that Rooney has had more freedom up front since Heskey was recalled?

And no, Kenwyne Jones wouldn't even get a look in for England. I'd imagine even Darren Bent would be ahead of Jones in the pecking order if Jones was English...

Dude Kenwyne is bigger and stronger than Heskey and a better finisher (as hard as that may be for some to believe).  So if he were English he would be in contention for a spot and with creative forces the likes of Gerrard, Lampard, and Barry + crosses from ah man like Beckham best believe KJ would be deadly for the 3 Lions if.....
Post by: jai john on June 16, 2009, 08:09:03 PM
TnT fans is jokers.

Dude Kenwyne is bigger and stronger than Heskey and a better finisher (as hard as that may be for some to believe).  So if he were English he would be in contention for a spot and with creative forces the likes of Gerrard, Lampard, and Barry + crosses from ah man like Beckham best believe KJ would be deadly for the 3 Lions if.....

...but does he work as hard as Heskey ? is not how you look in de mirror you know .....
Post by: Marcos on June 16, 2009, 08:11:25 PM
Dred at real madrid Owen had 18 starts, 13 goals
Daz ridiculous stats
Post by: weary1969 on June 16, 2009, 10:20:36 PM
He would be playin 4 JAAAAAAAAAAAAA
Post by: WestCoast on June 17, 2009, 12:27:25 AM

wha happen ya had? (http://www.opednews.com/populum/uploaded/flyingpig-2795-20090429-370.gif)
Post by: Giggsy's Chestwig on June 17, 2009, 06:26:22 AM
TnT fans is jokers.

I'm saying that the two play in the same position but play different roles and thus, you cannot really compare the two.

I really don't understand where this thread is going. Kenwyne Jones isn't English, he'll never be English and he'll never play for England so whats the point? Besides, if we were to judge him on current form, I doubt even Andorra would have him...

Post by: fordy on June 17, 2009, 06:38:46 AM
TnT fans is jokers.

I'm saying that the two play in the same position but play different roles and thus, you cannot really compare the two.

I really don't understand where this thread is going. Kenwyne Jones isn't English, he'll never be English and he'll never play for England so whats the point? Besides, if we were to judge him on current form, I doubt even Andorra would have him...

Post by: Filho on June 17, 2009, 07:49:48 AM
Class player when fit

All that sound good but he didn't score enough goals given total appearances compared to back at Liverpool.  Everyone seems to evaluate KJs worth as a striker by goals so if that's the measuring stick at the end of the day all the players I listed flopped!  If we measuring by skill then I can bring a whole other list of players regarded as far more skilfull that didn't score nearly enough to justify the argument as well.

At RM, Owen started 18 league games..usually when Ronaldo was injured....and he scored 13 league goals. And he played well too. That is superb stats. He scored 16 goals in 29 starts the previous season at Liverpool and 19 goals in 32 starts the season before that at Liverpool. So not sure where you coming from using goalscoring stats. Statistically speaking he was also better than his previous 2 season at Liverpool...so I really doh think you remembering correctly. If it wasn't for politics and Raul being an automatic starter, he would have gotten more playing time and Owen would have probably stayed at RM longer. Breds..nobody who seriously watch RM that season will tell you Owen was not a boss. Even the Spanish loved him there and because of Owen, the first real talks about Raul not being good enough to start at RM began. Even Marca was asking why the Englishman doh start more cuz he was deadly when he got the chance. Dat is why Owen ride after one seaon..politics was killing de man.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 17, 2009, 08:42:18 AM
Daz ridiculous stats

OK I'll conceed that but he had some 30+ appearances (starts included)  so in the end the numbers will say he flopped.  Men basing KJs quality on numbers no?

Jai KJ does work harder than any forward that wears the RWB and if anyone say no they either don't really watch the games or fooling themselves.  He is the only ST that runs after defenses.  Stern doesn't, Scotty doesn't, Glen doesn't and the others haven't been seen enough to know if they will consistently chase after defenders trying to knock the ball around in their half.  Heskey is a workhorse I will admit which is why I like him as a player but I think KJ has it in him.  Remember Heskey works hard as does Rooney so the comparison when you factor in who KJ is partnered with will always be in favor of Heskey/ Rooney.

Filho the overall numbers will show that based on total appearances he did not measure up to his Liverpool stats.  It's purely numbers and not subjective so unless you want to change the numbers apps v starts is absolutely irrelivant.  The numbers are there for all to see.  We constantly measure KJ by the lack of production in our team and sometimes even for Sunderland but when you use just numbers only you'll find that our argument about his quality is grossly exagerated and out of context (similar to the Owen comparison)

Post by: Giggsy's Chestwig on June 17, 2009, 09:21:32 AM
OK I'll conceed that but he had some 30+ appearances (starts included)  so in the end the numbers will say he flopped.

Owen scored 16 goals in all competitions during his first and only season at Real Madrid.

Raul scored 13 goals in all competitions during the same season.

So who is the better striker?

Can you see why these threads never accomplish much?
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 17, 2009, 09:58:57 AM
OK I'll conceed that but he had some 30+ appearances (starts included)  so in the end the numbers will say he flopped.

Owen scored 16 goals in all competitions during his first and only season at Real Madrid.

Raul scored 13 goals in all competitions during the same season.

So who is the better striker?

Can you see why these threads never accomplish much?

You getting caught up in an owen argument is why these threads doh go nowhere?  What the hell a comparison between Raul and Owen truly have to do with KJ?  This year Owen scored a total of 8 goals in 28 EPL appearances compared to KJs 10 in 29 games.  Despite injuries I doubt anyone will claim Owens is the lesser quality of the 2 and yet KJ outscored him this year. 

Here is a list of Strikers that only mad people would equate KJ to and their 08/09 EPL Stats (mins played)

Anelka 19 in 37 (2927)
Torres 14
Robinho 14 in 31 (2633)
Kuyt 12 in 38 (3180)
Rooney 12 in 30 (2266)
Van-Persie 11 in 28 (2199)
Agbonlahor 11 in 35 (3038)
Carew 11 in 27 (1810)
Adebayor 10 in 26 (1878)
Cole 10 in 27 (2239) Somebody claim he better so here he is
Kenwyne Jones 10 in 29 (2256)
Berbatov 9 in 32 (2569)
Owen 8 in 28 (1893)
Martins 8 in 24 (1793)
Drogba 5 in 21 (1547)
Tevez 5 in 29 (1857)

So now we have something worth comparing given these are all strikers that would be declared better than KJ by most.  The numbers don't lie so lets see you steer this one off course with some stupid inter-team striker comparison.
Post by: berris on June 17, 2009, 10:09:27 AM
For supposedly big men alyuh real full of shit yes. Alyuh don't have nothing to do? Not one ah alyuh say anything viable or directly related to Jones being the player he is.

If Jones was English we would have never been "debating him so intensely"  ::) as we are. If Jones was English and was on the team he would have still been playing on a bigger shit side who does beat up on smaller teams. They have Wales, Georgia etc, we have Guyana, St. Kitts and Jamaica  :devil: of which we does celebrate men when they score against. Alyuh berating players who wasn't around to score a billion goal against grenada and Guadalupe in shell cup and what have you. But, berating the fellas for not scoring against Mexico in the Azteca when you will be hard press to find any T&T player - whether is the so called golden boys back in the haiti debacle days, or the almost Italia strike squad- that used to score against top opponent such as Canada, Mexico, Costa Rica and the USA. Show me differently.

Match Statistics by Opponent
Opponent                    Played   Wins   Losses    Draws    GF   GA    GD
Antigua and Barbuda     8       7           1         0         31    9     22
Aruba                             1       1           0          0         11    0     11
Austria                           1        0         1           0         1     4     -3
Azerbaijan                       2        2         0          0          3     0      3
Bahrain                           2        1         0           1         2     1       1
Barbados                   31         22       3           6        81    19    62
Bermuda                         9         5        2           2         17    6    11
Botswana 1 0 0 1 0 0 0
Canada 10 2 6 2 12 14 -2
Cayman Islands 3 3 0 0 19 2 17
China 1 0 1 0 0 3 -3
Colombia 3 1 2 0 4 8 -4  
Costa Rica 22 3 15 4 15 46 -31  
Cuba 14 11 2 1 30 13 17
Czech Republic 1 0 1 0 0 3 -3
Dominica 2 2 0 0 13 0 13
Dominican Republic 8 8 0 0 38 1 37

Egypt 1 0 1 0 1 2 -1
El Salvador 9 3 3 3 11 10 1
England 2 0 2 0 0 5 -5
Finland 5 2 2 1 7 6 1
French Guiana 2 2 0 0 4 1 3
Grenada 13 10 3 0 35 14 21
Guadeloupe 9 5 1 3 11 7 4
Guatemala 20 6 8 6 23 34 -11  
Guyana 35 22 6 7 57 22 35
Haiti 28 13 13 2 44 46 -2  
Honduras 14 2 6 6 14 20 -6
Iceland 1 1 0 0 2 0 2
Iraq 1 1 0 0 2 0 2
Ireland 1 1 0 0 2 1 1
Jamaica 59 25 24 10 77 72 5
Japan 1 0 1 0 0 2 -2
Kenya 1 0 0 1 1 1 0
Kuwait 1 0 1 0 1 1 0
Martinique 14 6 8 0 28 25 3
Mexico 16 3 11 2 12 38 -26  
Morocco 2 0 2 0 0 3 -3
Netherlands Antilles 12 8 1 3 27 8 19
Nicaragua 1 1 0 0 3 1 2
Northern Ireland 1 0 1 0 0 3 -3
Norway 1 1 0 0 3 2 1
Panama 12 7 2 3 20 8 12
Paraguay 3 0 1 2 3 5 -2
Peru 2 1 0 1 3 2 1
Puerto Rico 5 4 0 1 28 4 24
Russian Federation 1 0 1 0 0 2 -2
Saudi Arabia 3 0 3 0 3 6 -3
Scotland 1 0 1 0 1 4 -3
Slovenia 1 0 1 0 1 3 -2
South Africa 2 1 1 0 3 2 1
South Korea 1 0 0 1 1 1 0
St. Kitts and Nevis 12 10 2 0 33 13 20
St. Lucia 4 1 2 1 7 4 3
St. Vincent and the Grenadines 13 8 3 2 30 12 18

Suriname 27 10 8 9 50 48 2
Sweden 2 0 1 1 0 5 -5
Taiwan 1 0 1 0 0 1 -1
Thailand 1 0 1 0 2 3 -1
United States 21 3 15 3 11 32 -21  
Venezuela 5 0 2 3 2 6 -4
Virgin Islands (British) 2 2 0 0 6 0 6
Wales 1 0 1 0 1 2 -1

All this talk about scoring goals, have a look. We does score against Barbados and Guyana. All these great goal scorers you all putting down One s for eh have a claim if you put things into perspective. Grow up.
[/b]

STEUPPSSS !!!! ..Yow dah shit yuh now post dey still floating in de bowl ,flush it again pleez.
Post by: truetrini on June 17, 2009, 10:16:03 AM
Berris, dat man does always post shit...how de arse yuh go rate ah forward if not by goals.  it matters not who yuh play against, if yuh eh scoring den yuh go get shit ratings.

jones and especially Scotland eh ready fuh international football as evidenced by his lack of production.

Who vex lorse
Post by: Peong on June 17, 2009, 10:48:00 AM
KJ need to play with a striker and a coach he can learn from.
He has not improved since he moved to Sunderland.

Oh yeh, fork England.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 17, 2009, 10:51:30 AM

Oh yeh, fork England.

Not true at all.  He looked very good under Keane in the first year and showed some promise when he returned from injury. Sbragia helped him regress to some extent once he took over.
Post by: Filho on June 17, 2009, 10:52:14 AM
Daz ridiculous stats

OK I'll conceed that but he had some 30+ appearances (starts included)  so in the end the numbers will say he flopped.  Men basing KJs quality on numbers no?

Jai KJ does work harder than any forward that wears the RWB and if anyone say no they either don't really watch the games or fooling themselves.  He is the only ST that runs after defenses.  Stern doesn't, Scotty doesn't, Glen doesn't and the others haven't been seen enough to know if they will consistently chase after defenders trying to knock the ball around in their half.  Heskey is a workhorse I will admit which is why I like him as a player but I think KJ has it in him.  Remember Heskey works hard as does Rooney so the comparison when you factor in who KJ is partnered with will always be in favor of Heskey/ Rooney.

Filho the overall numbers will show that based on total appearances he did not measure up to his Liverpool stats.  It's purely numbers and not subjective so unless you want to change the numbers apps v starts is absolutely irrelivant.  The numbers are there for all to see.  We constantly measure KJ by the lack of production in our team and sometimes even for Sunderland but when you use just numbers only you'll find that our argument about his quality is grossly exagerated and out of context (similar to the Owen comparison)

no worries killa. we just disagree on Owen and we looking at the stats differently. for me, 13 goals in 18 starts is a more fair measure than total appearances. it is a better proxy for goals per minute on the field...which i find statistically more relevant than goals per appearance..especially since many appreances were as a sub at the end of a game. you can argue that if he'd been better, he should have started more games. but having watched the season unfold, it was pretty clear Raul was getting the benefit of the doubt as the senior player. you'd be hardpressed to find a RM fan who say Owen flopped or 'sucked' as you said, even if you just look at the stats. 13 goals is 34 total appearances is still very good output. he was in the top 10 goalscorers in La Liga and it's even better considering that RM had Ronaldo that season with 21 goals. It is very rare and a superb achievement for a team's 2nd striker to hit double figures. anyhow..his goals per total appearances at RM is still comparable to that at Liverpool (lower, but still comparable)...definitely not enough to say he 'sucked'.

like I said we just disagree. to be honest..I don't see how anyone would agree that those stats suck. as for KJ...look at my post and you'd see where i coming from. not one to bash de man for his stats..which improved over this season. I'm also not one to just look at stats in and of themselves. respect  :beermug:
Post by: Peong on June 17, 2009, 10:54:48 AM

Oh yeh, fork England.

Not true at all.  He looked very good under Keane in the first year and showed some promise when he returned from injury. Sbragia helped him regress to some extent once he took over.

He looked even better for Southampton.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 17, 2009, 11:03:36 AM

Oh yeh, fork England.

I doh think so especially considering the tougher competion in the Prem, but we don't all see the same things.

Filho the Owen point is not a true representation of my personal feelings.  It is an exagerated look at numbers which is what is often done when critiquing KJ.  Nowhere in most criticisms is there any mention of the type of competition he faces, the fact that he's often double teamed and of course the lack of quality service.  Believe me we share similar perspectives somewhat.
Post by: weary1969 on June 17, 2009, 11:15:37 AM

wha happen ya had? (http://www.opednews.com/populum/uploaded/flyingpig-2795-20090429-370.gif)

AWOLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
Post by: Filho on June 17, 2009, 11:43:09 AM

Oh yeh, fork England.

I doh think so especially considering the tougher competion in the Prem, but we don't all see the same things.

Filho the Owen point is not a true representation of my personal feelings.  It is an exagerated look at numbers which is what is often done when critiquing KJ.  Nowhere in most criticisms is there any mention of the type of competition he faces, the fact that he's often double teamed and of course the lack of quality service.  Believe me we share similar perspectives somewhat.

yeah..i realize where you coming from.
Post by: AB.Trini on September 01, 2014, 08:17:56 AM
Given his recent form and should he maintain his scoring touch do you think we would see Mr. Jones being picked up by a team in the EPL this season?
Post by: Peong on September 01, 2014, 09:20:59 AM
I hope he gets a move.  The EPL always has worse strikers than KJ. He certainly is doing his part to be noticed.  His work rate and strike rate are up.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 01, 2014, 09:50:53 PM
Given his recent form and should he maintain his scoring touch do you think we would see Mr. Jones being picked up by a team in the EPL this season?

Why bounce around? Achieving consistency where he is could prove more beneficial in the medium to long-term.
Post by: Football supporter on September 01, 2014, 10:26:27 PM

Why bounce around? Achieving consistency where he is could prove more beneficial in the medium to long-term.

Well, an extra 10,000 quid per week would be one reason!