Sports => Football => Topic started by: FireBrand on July 07, 2009, 09:07:34 AM

Title: Wigan confirm Scotland bid
Post by: FireBrand on July 07, 2009, 09:07:34 AM
Wigan confirm Scotland bid
Latics boss looks to raid his former club for striker
By Richard Bailey (Sky Sports).

Wigan have confirmed that they have made an offer for Swansea striker Jason Scotland.

Latics manager Roberto Martinez knows all about the frontman from their time together at the Liberty Stadium and it now seems the Spaniard is set to raid his old club for the 30-year-old.

The Trinidad and Tobago international has top scored in each of his two seasons for the Swans and has a remarkable 53 goals from 105 games for the Championship club.

Swans chairman Hew Jenkins admitted earlier on Tuesday that he was expecting a bid from Wigan and he was ultimately proved right.

Scotland is untested at the top level of English football but has experience of playing in the SPL with Dundee United at the beginning of his career.

Martinez has already signed one of his former players after snapping up Jordi Gomez from Espanyol following a successful loan spell at Swansea last term where he scored 14 goals from midfield.

Wigan are looking to strengthen their squad ahead of the upcoming season and with the sale of Antonio Valencia to Manchester United providing Martinez with the funds he needs to build his team.
Title: Re: Wigan confirm Scotland bid
Post by: Arimaman on July 07, 2009, 10:11:48 AM
Good luck Scotty, hope everything works out.
Post by: freakazoid on July 07, 2009, 11:39:29 AM
good news
Post by: asylumseeker on July 07, 2009, 02:09:35 PM
Steve Bruce showing love fuh CONCACAF ... ah kinda way.
Post by: triniairman on July 07, 2009, 02:36:59 PM
Steve Bruce showing love fuh CONCACAF ... ah kinda way.
I am not sure if you are talking about Sunderland, but Martinez took over Wigan.
Post by: weary1969 on July 07, 2009, 05:53:53 PM
good news

It go b betta when he sign.
Post by: Sando prince on July 08, 2009, 12:18:45 AM
good news

It go b betta when he sign.

lol weary yuh not easy...anyway i hope the deal come thru, cause what he has done in the chapionships in terms of goal scoring was very good..but if he can repeat it (or even do half of it) in the Premiership I will rate him very high..
Post by: acb on July 08, 2009, 08:16:09 AM
Wigan closes in on Scotland

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/08072009/63/swans-considering-scotland-offer.html (http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/08072009/63/swans-considering-scotland-offer.html)

Swans considering Scotland offer
Wed 08 Jul, 01:21 PM

Swansea chairman Huw Jenkins insists striker Jason Scotland will only leave "when the deal is right" as Wigan close in on his signature.

The Trinidad and Tobago international has been the subject of constant speculation over the past few weeks and now looks likely to move to the JJB Stadium to be reunited with Roberto Martinez.

Wigan are believed to be close to matching the 30-year-old's £2million asking price, but Jenkins told the Western Mail: "We have always said we won't be bullied into letting our players go but I suppose, as things stand, it's very difficult to see Jason staying."

"Ultimately, he is still contracted to Swansea City though. And we have always said our players will only leave when the deal is right for us."

"We have received a formal offer from Wigan for Jason. We will consider the contents of the offer and respond accordingly within the next few days."

"We will speak to Wigan and talk things through. I won't give any indication of the fee, but I can say it is worth considering."

Post by: frico on July 08, 2009, 09:25:03 AM
I've now got to support Wigan,bloody Wigan,I used to have one team QPR,but since Trinis playing up here I've got about 6 teams. 8)
Post by: acb on July 09, 2009, 06:04:23 AM
Mike Berry strikes again. lol - check how the man low-balling Scotty.
Recession yes!!

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/09072009/58/premier-league-wigan-favourites-land-scotland.html (http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/09072009/58/premier-league-wigan-favourites-land-scotland.html)

Premier League - Wigan favourites to land Scotland
Eurosport - Thu, 09 Jul 11:15:00 2009

Wigan remain favourites to sign Swansea striker Jason Scotland despite Premier League rivals Hull expressing an interest.

The Latics have lodged a bid with the Welsh club as manager Roberto Martinez looks to reunite himself with the Trinidad and Tobago international, who enjoyed a successful spell under the Spaniard at the Liberty Stadium.

Swansea have not yet accepted Wigan's offer but it seems only a matter of time before the move goes through - despite an inquiry from Hull.

"I spoke to Brian Horton and he asked me what the bottom-line price would be for Jason," Scotland's agent Mike Berry told the Hull Daily Mail.

"I said I thought a fee of £2 million would probably be enough to get him in.

"My belief was that he'd be ideal for Hull, but I expect the Wigan deal to go ahead now."

PA Sport
Post by: jimmel14 on July 09, 2009, 07:00:54 AM
Jason Scotland's agent expects the Swansea City striker to sign for Wigan Athletic rather than Hull City.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12874_5422277,00.html

The Latics have confirmed they have lodged an offer for Scotland, with former Swans boss Roberto Martinez keen to link back up with the forward at the JJB Stadium.

Premier League rivals Hull are said to have joined the race to sign the Trinidad and Tobago international, who netted 24 goals last season.

But 30-year-old Scotland is poised to join Wigan, according to his representative Mike Berry.

"I spoke to Brian Horton and he asked me what the bottom-line price would be for Jason," Berry told the Hull Daily Mail.

"I said I thought a fee of £2million would probably be enough to get him in.

"My belief was that he'd be ideal for Hull, but I expect the Wigan deal to go ahead now."
Post by: lefty on July 09, 2009, 07:09:21 AM
I've now got to support Wigan,bloody Wigan,I used to have one team QPR,but since Trinis playing up here I've got about 6 teams. 8)

ah doh know nah someting bout d name wigan jus kinda lil poodunkish soundin  doh know much about d team though.........wigan :-\
Post by: royal on July 09, 2009, 08:12:26 AM
Jason Scotland's agent expects the Swansea City striker to sign for Wigan Athletic rather than Hull City.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12874_5422277,00.html

The Latics have confirmed they have lodged an offer for Scotland, with former Swans boss Roberto Martinez keen to link back up with the forward at the JJB Stadium.

Premier League rivals Hull are said to have joined the race to sign the Trinidad and Tobago international, who netted 24 goals last season.

But 30-year-old Scotland is poised to join Wigan, according to his representative Mike Berry.

"I spoke to Brian Horton and he asked me what the bottom-line price would be for Jason," Berry told the Hull Daily Mail.

"I said I thought a fee of £2million would probably be enough to get him in.

Why Berry does be opening his mouth so?just now clubs wouid'nt want to deal with him.
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 09, 2009, 12:22:47 PM
$2 million pound bid accepted.
Post by: FireBrand on July 09, 2009, 12:27:32 PM
Lactics agree fee for Scotland
Skysports.com

Sky Sports News sources understand that Wigan have agreed a fee with Swansea for striker Jason Scotland.

The Latics confirmed earlier this week that they had made an offer for the Trinidad and Tobago international and a deal now appears close.

It is believed that Swansea have accepted a proposal of £2million from Wigan, with a three-year contract on offer for Scotland.

The 30-year-old striker has enjoyed two hugely successful seasons with the Welsh side, netting 53 goals in 105 matches.

Roberto Martinez brought Scotland to the Liberty Stadium after being impressed by his performances with St Johnstone.

Martinez was appointed as Wigan's manager earlier in the summer and has now raided his former club for Scotland.

The new Latics boss has already signed Jordi Gomez, who he also worked with at Swansea, and Honduran midfielder Hendry Thomas.

Post by: weary1969 on July 09, 2009, 12:29:23 PM

Skysports.com: Sky Sports News sources understand that Wigan have agreed a fee with Swansea for striker Jason Scotland.

:applause:
Title: Swans accept Scottie bid
Post by: sebro2 on July 09, 2009, 02:48:39 PM
  http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_5423273,00.html    just waiting to agree personal terms
Post by: freakazoid on July 09, 2009, 03:03:48 PM
time to do wat he normally does
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 09, 2009, 03:15:10 PM
According to a poster on a Latics forum Scottie was spotted moments ago at the JJB.  No wasting time, scottie wanted to sign da contract ah good few months now ;D

This was on the Mirror website
Owner Dave Whelan has told Egyptian striker Amr Zaki there is no chance of him returning to the club.

"It's all over with Zaki - full stop," he said. "I didn't even shake hands with him."

Scotty oust Zaki oui!!!

Wigan Athletic have had their bid for Swansea City striker Jason Scotland accepted according to reports this evening with the fee believed to be £2 million giving the Swans a healthy profit on the £25,000 they paid St. Johnstone 2 years ago.

Latics boss Roberto Martinez has already brought in one familiar face to him, with Jordi Gomez his first signing having played under him last season whilst on loan at the Liberty Stadium from Espanyol and now Scotland coming in shows Martinez is keen to keep faith with players who have performed for him in the past.

It is understood that the 30 year old Trinidad and Tobago international has agreed personal terms on a three year deal and all that remains is the official announcement that should come tomorrow (Friday).

Sources are giving conflicting reports on the terms but its in the region of 2-3M over 3 years with a $100,000 bonus for 10 or more goals

Post by: FF on July 09, 2009, 03:31:16 PM
ah glad for scottie oui... that is what yuh called paying yuh dues... de man work he way all de way up!

good going... european competition next?
Post by: royal on July 09, 2009, 04:27:55 PM
How many players in de premier now 3? Scotty, Carlos and Kenwyn,that could go up to 4 or 5 ....Samuel and Zamora?
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 09, 2009, 04:37:06 PM
How many players in de premier now 3? Scotty, Carlos and Kenwyn,that could go up to 4 or 5 ....Samuel and Zamora?
Rumor has it one of those three heading back to the Championship.
Post by: Flex on July 09, 2009, 04:39:21 PM
Just got the inside word that Jason Scotland WILL officially tomorrow be announced as moving to Premier League Wigan for 2 million pounds to re-join former Swansea boss Roberto Martinez.
Post by: just cool on July 09, 2009, 04:44:18 PM
Rumor has it one of those three heading back to the Championship.
Just back from the SMB, they said it's whitehead and murphy. yuh thing they gonna get rid of ah winger without proper back up? big clubs doh work like dat bro.

sunderland don't have anyback up wingers for malbraunce save carlos, so if stead was tuh sustain and injury, then who would replace him.

white head is ah CM and murphy ah forward/ midfielders and forwards both are easily replacable, but ah speedy right wing ? they come once in ah while.
Post by: Grande on July 09, 2009, 04:44:47 PM

Skysports.com: Sky Sports News sources understand that Wigan have agreed a fee with Swansea for striker Jason Scotland.

:applause:

COSIGNNNNNNNN
Post by: trini supporter on July 09, 2009, 04:51:19 PM
great news :beermug:
Post by: frico on July 09, 2009, 04:58:20 PM

ah doh know nah someting bout d name wigan jus kinda lil poodunkish soundin  doh know much about d team though.........wigan :-\
When ah studied in Manchester I used to visit ah fren out dey and we used to go Disco to look fuh ooman,but de ooman dem hugly tuh rass.
Post by: freakazoid on July 09, 2009, 05:15:28 PM
Imagine that eh, the man was considered not to be good enough for the spl and now the man in the epl. the stuff dreams are made of
Post by: lefty on July 09, 2009, 05:16:29 PM

When ah studied in Manchester I used to visit ah fren out dey and we used to go Disco to look fuh ooman,but de ooman dem hugly tuh rass.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on July 09, 2009, 05:31:31 PM
Imagine that eh, the man was considered not to be good enough for the spl and now the man in the epl. the stuff dreams are made of

He does only look bad 4 oui. :rotfl: If I eh laugh I go  :'(
Title: Swans agree fee with Wigan
Post by: Tallman on July 10, 2009, 06:22:31 AM
Swans agree fee with Wigan
swanseacity.net

Swansea City has today agreed the transfer of striker Jason Scotland to Premier League Wigan in a deal worth around £2m.

The two clubs concluded talks this morning and Scotland is now free to join the Latics subject to the Trinidad & Tobago international completing a medical, agreeing personal terms and receiving the relevant work permit clearance .

"Obviously we are disappointed to lose Jason,'' confirmed Swans chairman Huw Jenkins. "But I think it was inevitable considering his age (30) and his burning desire to play in the Premier League while he has the chance.

"He will obviously be teaming up with Roberto (Martinez) again, but even if we hadn't had a change of manager I believe Jason would have moved up a league anyway.

"He made no secret of the fact that he wanted to play in the Premier League and everyone at the club believes he has earned that chance.

"To score 53 goals in two seasons says it all and on behalf of everyone connected with Swansea City I would like to thank him for his efforts.

"He has helped to push the club forward and we wish him every success at Wigan.''

While Scotland headed for Wigan for the customary medical, the Swans chairman assured the club's fans that together with new boss Paulo Sousa they are working flat out to bolster the squad before the new Championship season kicks off.

Having flown out for discussions with Sousa on their training camp in Portugal, Jenkins added: "The fans can be reassured that the manager and his staff are looking to strengthen as soon as possible.

"I can also assure our fans that all the funds received from the sale of Jason will be reinvested into the club by Paulo. We will endeavour to do that before the season starts.''

Swansea signed Scotland on a two-year contract from St Johnstone in the summer of 2007 after fighting off interest from a number of clubs and gaining a new work permit from the Home Office.

Scotland had scored 26 times for St Johnstone the previous season - taking his total to 33 goals in 66 League appearances - and was named in the SPFA's Scottish Division One Team of the Year, voted for by the managers.

He started his career in Trinidad & Tobago with San Juan Jabloteh and Defence Force before signing for Dundee United in August 2003 - only to be forced home after his work permit application renewal was turned down in 2005.

However a new application to play for St. Johnstone was approved and did enough to warrant a place in T&T's 2006 World Cup squad.

He finished his first season with the Swans as the top scorer in League One with 24 goals (29 in all competitions) and a place in the PFA Team of the Year. He was also crowned the club's Player of the Season by the fans.

Having signed a new contract last summer, he continued his rich goalscoring form in the Championship with a further 24 goals in all competitions last season to retain his place in ther PFA Team of the Year.

It prompted former Swans boss Roberto Martinez to declare: "Jason has proved what a deadly finisher he is in front of goal.

"He is a rare breed in the modern game. He is someone who relies on his raw talent and a magic touch to score goals. As well as his goalscoring prowess, his build up play is excellent.''

(http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/javaImages/5d/2c/0,,10429~6499421,00.jpg)
Scotland announcement
wiganlatics.co.uk

Wigan Athletic are delighted to confirm that the Club have agreed a fee with Swansea City for the transfer of Trinidad and Tobago international striker Jason Scotland.

The player has been given official permission to speak with Latics and he has been in Wigan to undergo a medical and discuss personal terms.

However, the transfer is far from complete and the player will not be unveiled until the situation over his permission to work in this country is resolved, and this could take some time.

The club cannot comment any further on the transfer until he is officially registered and confirmed as a Wigan Athletic player.
Post by: Bourbon on July 10, 2009, 06:40:28 AM
All de best scottie. Glad for you....
Post by: Cocorite on July 10, 2009, 07:18:17 AM
Congrats Scottie. You fully deserve it.
Post by: Arazi on July 10, 2009, 07:26:40 AM
good news..if Martinez gets wigan to play the brand he had at Swansea it will be good to watch their matches...l
Post by: dinho on July 10, 2009, 08:49:30 AM
At every level he's played, Scotty has proved the naysaysers wrong.. I'm backing him to repeat the feat in the premiership. Do what yuh normally does Scotty!

Melchiot excited by Scotland

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11682_5424458,00.html (http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11682_5424458,00.html)

Latics skipper backs potential new signing to shine

Wigan Athletic captain Mario Melchiot is excited by the proposed signing of Jason Scotland from Swansea City.

The Latics have agreed a reported £2million fee with the Swans for the striker, paving the way for talks and a medical at the JJB Stadium.

Scotland is set to become manager Robert Martinez's third acquisition since he took over at Wigan last month following the captures of Jordi Gomez and Hendry Thomas.

Ex-Swansea boss Martinez worked with Scotland at the Liberty Stadium, and Melchiot has applauded the Spanish coach's approach during the transfer window.

When asked if he was encouraged by the potential arrival of Scotland, Melchiot told Sky Sports News: "Yes, of course.

"He is a player that the gaffer has worked with. I am sure the gaffer won't bring just anyone in, he takes his time.

"He knows what he wants. We have a group that did well last season. To make sure we keep doing that we just need to add a couple of people of quality to the group."

Melchiot is also confident Trinidad & Tobago international Scotland will prove a hit in the Premier League.

He said: "When people make the step up like that I don't think they have in the back of their mind that they can't do it on the bigger scale.

"We need to make sure we are behind anybody that comes into the group. We need to help them perform as well as they can."
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 10, 2009, 08:55:52 AM
At every level he's played, Scotty has proved the naysaysers wrong.. I'm backing him to repeat the feat in the premiership. Do what yuh normally does Scotty!

Ent.  De man scoring 1 goal in every 2 games average 3 years straight and all in progressively tougher competitive play each year.  By the end of the season I expect Latics fans will be singing oh what a bargain Scotty was, much like the Swans!  My hope is that he devastate dem in the premiership and earn ah sweet (hopefully double or more in wages) 2 year extension after this upcomming season.  With Ronaldo gone, if Scotty and Ebanks-Blake can continue the magic they might be both challenging for golden boot at the end of the season.  Now wouldn't that be magical?!!!
Post by: Texastrini on July 10, 2009, 09:02:37 AM
Congrats Scotty.  Hard wuk does pay off.  All ah want yuh to do now is score some more fuh we!
Post by: freakazoid on July 10, 2009, 09:05:08 AM
golden boot? lets not get too excited now shall we . 10 goals should b a feat  to be ok with . more goals even better
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 10, 2009, 09:15:56 AM
golden boot? lets not get too excited now shall we . 10 goals should b a feat  to be ok with . more goals even better

Like yuh lookin fuh ah Dave Jenny nomination aought?!!

Yuh notice I said if to start and finished off with "wouldn't that be magical?!!!" right?  Given his track record IF he can continue to raise his game to yet another level (and deliver another 20+ goal season), he should be right there among the challengers.
Post by: frico on July 10, 2009, 09:17:25 AM
Another Trini in the EPL eh,well done to Scotland and please carry on scoring,show dem so and so how good Trinis are,next one Hyland,nuh so. 8) 8) 8)
Post by: Peong on July 10, 2009, 09:20:23 AM
Real good news.  I hope he scores 10 or more and gets that bonus.
It real good when a manager believes in a player.
All the best to Scotty.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 10, 2009, 09:26:26 AM
Real good news.  I hope he scores 10 or more and gets that bonus.
It real good when a manager believes in a player.
All the best to Scotty.

It's even better when the team captain is fully behind the manager and believes in the approach.  A manager could believe in a player all he wants but if the team captain and other players not on board, dissension in the locker room could destroy team chemistry.  Luckily the Latics seem to have both going for them so Scotty should be able to fit right in easily.
Post by: freakazoid on July 10, 2009, 09:31:37 AM
how long we have to wait 4 ah we defenders to make it in d epl
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 10, 2009, 09:43:17 AM

At de rate dem fellahs goin, it eh go be no time soon.
Post by: elan on July 10, 2009, 09:49:21 AM

And he still eh good enough for T&T....as I tip my hat, imagine that....imagine that.
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 10, 2009, 09:51:10 AM
We have stop putting men like me to "play backs" first.
Post by: chelsealife on July 10, 2009, 10:01:26 AM
the move all but done bcuz he agree a 3 yr deal but dont forget he does have issues with work permit. Unless the agree that he will be a guaranteed first team starter might be some problems but hopefully as we in the top 75 in the world it will be smooth sailing. Ah have him 4 15+ goals next season bcuz he does start slow. 10 by december and the "big" clubs go come in....**watch this space**
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 10, 2009, 10:05:22 AM
the move all but done bcuz he agree a 3 yr deal but dont forget he does have issues with work permit. Unless the agree that he will be a guaranteed first team starter might be some problems but hopefully as we in the top 75 in the world it will be smooth sailing. Ah have him 4 15+ goals next season bcuz he does start slow. 10 by december and the "big" clubs go come in....**watch this space**

I doubt Martinez bringing him in to scrub pine.  Here is a player he is confident in and knows can score goals in his system.  So if anything Scotty will be a starter and in times when a change of pace is needed he will be subbed out.
Post by: acb on July 10, 2009, 10:26:03 AM
the move all but done bcuz he agree a 3 yr deal but dont forget he does have issues with work permit.

Not quite sure how the UK work permit thing works, but Swansea is in Wales, so now that he's moving - does he require an English work permit, or is that covered in his previous documentation?

Post by: spideybuff on July 10, 2009, 10:27:38 AM
Wigan have no startins striker since Mido and Zaki gone so Scotty will get a spot to make his own. Imagine by October he will be recognised as our number one striker because of a change of clubs and performances as opposed to the hype around Jones and the rep protecting John
Post by: chelsealife on July 10, 2009, 11:03:00 AM
he en sure to get a start bcuz most time 4 Swansea Martinez was playing Scotty alone up to with Nathan Dyer supporting and Dyer is a winger. So he still have to fight with Rodallega for the starting spot if Martinez decide to play with the same formation he had with Swansea. But ah think he will get it bcuz Wigan sign Gomez 2 and he was playing link man to Scotty as well. But it will be a good fight for places. Time 2 show Kenwyne what a premiership striker is.
Post by: ckhan on July 10, 2009, 11:16:15 AM
Congrats to Scotty and continue to play yuh brand. He could probably write a book after all is said and done and continue to have in-comings...congrats again solider!!
Post by: frico on July 10, 2009, 11:32:49 AM
Is who yuh truss fi put deh rite now. ;D
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 10, 2009, 11:57:31 AM
Allyuh love to bring down men, boy. Sheesh. How Kenwyne reach in dis I'll never know.
Post by: Big Magician on July 10, 2009, 12:10:04 PM
play yuh fittball soldier

15 goals in all competions...ah taking bets
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 10, 2009, 12:13:21 PM
Allyuh love to bring down men, boy. Sheesh. How Kenwyne reach in dis I'll never know.

I was wondering the same myself.  It seems that some here does cah resist an opportunity to compare and highlight negatives.
Post by: ckhan on July 10, 2009, 12:22:35 PM
He scoring more dan Owen!!! - jes throwing dat out dey...lol
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 10, 2009, 12:30:54 PM
he en sure to get a start bcuz most time 4 Swansea Martinez was playing Scotty alone up to with Nathan Dyer supporting and Dyer is a winger. So he still have to fight with Rodallega for the starting spot if Martinez decide to play with the same formation he had with Swansea. But ah think he will get it bcuz Wigan sign Gomez 2 and he was playing link man to Scotty as well. But it will be a good fight for places. Time 2 show Kenwyne what a premiership striker is.

De fella wh scored 3 solitary goals?  Really?  If Zaki and Mido were there I would say ok but Rod?  Nah fella, he starting in front ah Rodallega every game.
Post by: dinho on July 10, 2009, 12:35:33 PM
doh hate on rodallega, de colombian have ah wicked free kick..

Scotty go hadda fight for he place. i wouldnt be surprised if Martinez draft in another forward or 2 with more pedigree. Surely he cyah be depending on them 2 forwards alone to score all the goals for a whole EPL season.

all the same, Scotty show nuff times he have de belly for de fight.
Post by: FireBrand on July 10, 2009, 03:01:08 PM
Scotland tempted by top flight
Skysports.com

Swans striker excited by move to Wigan

Jason Scotland admits the promise of the Premier League was always going to be too tempting to resist as he prepares to leave Swansea for Wigan Athletic.

The two clubs have agreed a fee for the freescoring front man as Scotland edges closer to a switch to the JJB.

Scotland proved to be one of the Championship's best front-men last season but will have to prove his worth at Wigan having made a step-up in class.

Keen to thank the Swans faithful for the support they have shown him over the past couple of seasons, the 30-year-old hopes he is leaving the Liberty Stadium with their blessing.

Premier dream
"It has always been my dream to play in the Premier League and I had to take my chance before it was too late," he told thisissouthwales.cu.uk.

"I've had a great two years at Swansea and I would like to thank the club for the opportunity they gave me.

"I think I've repaid them with a lot of goals.

"It was always going to be a tough job for me to follow in the footsteps of someone like Lee Trundle. But I think in the end the majority of the fans had a lot of love for me.

"I had a lot of love for them as well and I would like to thank those fans for their support. I was never going to please them all, but that's football."
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 10, 2009, 03:17:19 PM

Scotty go hadda fight for he place. i wouldnt be surprised if Martinez draft in another forward or 2 with more pedigree. Surely he cyah be depending on them 2 forwards alone to score all the goals for a whole EPL season.

Nah not hating, just stating 3 goals is not enough to be the automatic pic to start until displaced by Scotty.  If anything I think the position is probably open to be earned by either player (if Martinez sticks with the 1 forward setup).  I agree with the idea that he might bring another forward as it wouldn't be prudent to simply stick to those 2.  Martinez might do well to take a flyer on Martins if you ask me.  I honestly don't see them attracting top calibre forwards and Martins needs a place to ressurect his career.  If they got Martins they would have the perfect compliment in Scotty and Martins with 1 strong, good hold up play forward and 1 speedy well skilled forward.  Their defense and midfield are decent so all in all I can see them in the top 12 or so if they can find the net.  Advantage Scotland.
Post by: Daft Trini on July 10, 2009, 03:51:09 PM
I guess he did not want to play against Newcastle....  :beermug:

This man is ah real ball ho... he aspire to much... 1st Div... Champ.... now EPL... steups... (Just Cool notice??? j/k)
Post by: chelsealife on July 10, 2009, 04:20:31 PM

Nah not hating, just stating 3 goals is not enough to be the automatic pic to start until displaced by Scotty.  If anything I think the position is probably open to be earned by either player (if Martinez sticks with the 1 forward setup).  I agree with the idea that he might bring another forward as it wouldn't be prudent to simply stick to those 2.  Martinez might do well to take a flyer on Martins if you ask me.  I honestly don't see them attracting top calibre forwards and Martins needs a place to ressurect his career.  If they got Martins they would have the perfect compliment in Scotty and Martins with 1 strong, good hold up play forward and 1 speedy well skilled forward.  Their defense and midfield are decent so all in all I can see them in the top 12 or so if they can find the net.  Advantage Scotland.
yea ball in Scotty court 4 real. But Rodallega only scoring 3 goals season gone happen bcuz he had to get acclimatised to playing in england. And the 3 goals came in three consecutive games. I think both ah them could play in the same team if need be. And Scotty have a pipe too so competition for free kicks too. All is well. Oh yea and Zamora going Hull bcuz Hull miss out on Scotty. Second choice to JS? Is he needed in the T&T team then? But thais 4 another time
Post by: freakazoid on July 11, 2009, 05:46:38 AM
Scotland is set to become the Spaniard's third signing since he took over last month after midfielders Jordi Gomez, whom Martinez had on loan at Swansea last season, was bought from Espanyol and Honduras international Hendry Thomas arrived from Deportivo Olimpia.

The only delay in the transfer going through may be down to issues surrounding the 30-year-old's work permit.

"Wigan are delighted to confirm we have agreed a fee with Swansea City for the transfer of Trinidad and Tobago international striker Jason Scotland,'' said a statement from the Premier League club.

"The player has been given official permission to speak with Latics and he has been in Wigan to undergo a medical and discuss personal terms.

"However, the transfer is far from complete and the player will not be unveiled until the situation over his permission to work in this country is resolved, and this could take some time.

"The club cannot comment any further on the transfer until he is officially registered and confirmed as a Wigan player.''
Post by: Jayerson on July 14, 2009, 06:49:50 AM
Scotland is set to become the Spaniard's third signing since he took over last month after midfielders Jordi Gomez, whom Martinez had on loan at Swansea last season, was bought from Espanyol and Honduras international Hendry Thomas arrived from Deportivo Olimpia.

The only delay in the transfer going through may be down to issues surrounding the 30-year-old's work permit.

"Wigan are delighted to confirm we have agreed a fee with Swansea City for the transfer of Trinidad and Tobago international striker Jason Scotland,'' said a statement from the Premier League club.

"The player has been given official permission to speak with Latics and he has been in Wigan to undergo a medical and discuss personal terms.

"However, the transfer is far from complete and the player will not be unveiled until the situation over his permission to work in this country is resolved, and this could take some time.

"The club cannot comment any further on the transfer until he is officially registered and confirmed as a Wigan player.''

This deal isn't completed yet? What's the hold up? Work permit?
Post by: Midknight on July 14, 2009, 07:03:20 AM

This deal isn't completed yet? What's the hold up? Work permit?

For all you know they could say he good enough for the Championship, but not for the EPL. For the brother sake, I hope the Bloke doh do that to him again...
Title: Scotland on the brink
Post by: Tallman on July 15, 2009, 05:15:00 AM
Scotland on the brink
By Paul Kendrick (Wigan Evening Post)

Jason Scotland was today waiting to hear if his attempts to secure a work permit to join Latics have been successful.

The Trinidad and Tobago international has passed his medical and agreed personal terms on a £1.5m transfer from Swansea.

But his existing work permit cannot be switched from club to club, and he is hoping his application for a new one has been successful.

Scotland's agent Mike Berry expects today's hearing will be nothing more than a formality, which would leave only international clearance standing between the 30-year-old and his 'dream move' to Wigan.

Latics are hoping the player's record – he has scored 53 goals in just two seasons in South Wales – will hold sway with the committee.

And the player himself is hoping to be allowed to follow Dwight Yorke and Kenwyne Jones from the small West Indian island into the Premier League.

"It's been a long road for me but I have finally worked my way up," Scotland told the Evening Post.

"I remember sitting at home watching Dwight Yorke play for Manchester United and, before that, Aston Villa.

"As a young player I always had ambitions to play abroad, but not many players achieve that dream.

"Kenwyne Jones, Stern John and Shaka Hislop have also played at the highest level, and I am looking forward to being one of the fortunate ones to do that as well."

Scotland, right, has already followed in the footsteps of his heroes by playing for the Soca Warriors – the Trinidad and Tobago national team.

And he is hoping that by securing a move to the Premier League, he too can be a role model to some of the younger players back home in the Caribbean.

He said "I would like to think I am an inspiration for young players in the national team to try to follow.

"I didn't start at the top – I started at the bottom – and I worked my way up through sheer hard work.

"I hope people can look at that as the right way to do it, and think that if they too work hard it could happen to them one day as well."

After proving his scoring prowess under Roberto Martinez at Swansea, Scotland was linked with a move to Wigan almost as soon as the Spaniard departed last month.

The speculation was fuelled when the striker was left out of Swansea's pre-season tour of Portugal earlier this month with a groin problem.

Thankfully the problem is not a serious one, and Scotland aims to be fighting fit and raring to go come the start of the season.

He added: "I have been doing my rehab, and I should be fully fit very soon."

If the hearing goes in Scotland's favour, he will follow in the footsteps of Hendry Thomas and Hugo Rodallega, who have both been granted work permits to join them this year.
Post by: frico on July 15, 2009, 05:26:05 AM

At de rate dem fellahs goin, it eh go be no time soon.
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: FF on July 15, 2009, 08:52:32 AM
Scotland get de Permit!!!!

Scotland comes to England as Jason joins Wigan

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=660978&sec=england&cc=5901

Trinidad and Tobago international striker Jason Scotland is now a step closer to becoming a Wigan Athletic player after obtaining permission to work in the UK.

The player has now passed a medical at the club and agreed terms on a two year contract after Latics and Swansea City agreed a fee - believed to be in the region of £2m - late last week.

The move is still subject to being granted a visa and international clearance and Scotland could miss out on the club's forthcoming trip to Austria.

At an FA appeal hearing this morning, the 30 year-old was cleared to join Latics officially, and he is now free to become Roberto Martinez's third signing since returning to Wigan, following in the footsteps of Jordi Gomez and Hendry Thomas.

Scotland's goalscoring ratio over the last six years is an impressive 144 goals in 215 appearances for Dundee United, St Johnstone and Swansea City, for whom he scored 65 goals in 97 games.

Martinez said: "Jason is a natural goalscorer, I can't really put it any other way. Every manager wants a player who has that clinical ability to make something happen in the box, and Jason can do that.

"He is strong, very physical, and his feet can produce the magic ingredient every team needs in the box. This was always going to be a key signing for me.

"I have every faith he can make the step up to the Premier League and become a real cult hero at the Latics.

"I know from experience how the Wigan fans love a goalscorer. Graeme Jones, Andy Liddell, Nathan Ellington, Jason Roberts. I am confident Jason can be the next name on that list."

Scotland himself is delighted that the move has finally been sealed.

"I am so excited to get a chance in the Premier League," he said, "and I want to show the manager he has done the right thing by bringing me here.

"I loved my time at Swansea and I think I served the club well. I want to thank all the supporters down there, but a new chapter in my career starts now."
Post by: Rastaman on July 15, 2009, 08:53:13 AM
Wigan close to Scotland signing  
www.BBC.co.uk
Page last updated at 14:40 GMT, Wednesday, 15 July 2009 15:40 UK

Wigan's £2m signing of Jason Scotland from Swansea has moved a step closer after the striker secured his right to work in the UK and passed a medical.

The transfer fee was agreed last week, but the two-year deal still depends on international clearance and granting of a visa to the Trinidad & Tobago star.

Scotland, 30, is set to become manager Roberto Martinez's third signing.

"Jason is a natural goal scorer, I can't really put it any other way," Martinez told the Wigan website.

"Every manager wants a player who has that clinical ability to make something happen in the box.

"This was always going to be a key signing for me. I have every faith he can make the step up to the Premier League and become a real cult hero at the Latics."

More to follow...

Post by: Rastaman on July 15, 2009, 08:56:49 AM
Same article...different headding
Post by: royal on July 15, 2009, 09:25:11 AM
Latics confirm Scotland capture

Visa must still be granted before the deal is complete
Last updated: 15th July 2009

Skysports

Wigan Athletic have confirmed the signing of Swansea striker Jason Scotland on a two-year contract, but a visa must still be granted before the deal is complete.
Roberto Martinez, who left Liberty Stadium to become Latics boss earlier this summer, agreed a fee between £2million and £3m with his former club for the Trinidad & Tobago international earlier in July.

However, it was still neccesary to receive clearance at a Football Association appeal hearing after being granted a work permit, which was successfully obtained on Wednesday morning.

Scotland's switch is still subject to the 30-year-old gaining a visa and international clearance, but Martinez is delighted to be on the verge of his third signing at the DW Stadium after already capturing Jordi Gomez and Hendry Thomas.

Natural goalscorer
The Wigan boss told the club's official website: "Jason is a natural goalscorer, I can't really put it any other way.

"Every manager wants a player who has that clinical ability to make something happen in the box, and Jason can do that.

"He is strong, very physical, and his feet can produce the magic ingredient every team needs in the box. This was always going to be a key signing for me.

"I have every faith he can make the step up to the Premier League and become a real cult hero at the Latics.

Experience
"I know from experience how the Wigan fans love a goalscorer. Graeme Jones, Andy Liddell, Nathan Ellington, Jason Roberts. I am confident Jason can be the next name on that list."

Scotland, who has passed his medical, is looking forward to life in the Premier League after impressing in the Championship last season.

"I am so excited to get a chance in the Premier League," he said, "I want to show the manager he has done the right thing by bringing me here.

"I loved my time at Swansea and I think I served the club well. I want to thank all the supporters down there, but a new chapter in my career starts now."
Post by: royal on July 15, 2009, 10:23:07 AM
Martinez hails striker deal go-ahead

Clubcall

Wigan have confirmed the signing of striker Jason Scotland on a two-year contract from Swansea after he was granted a work permit.

New Latics boss Roberto Martinez returned to his former club to raid the Liberty Stadium for the 30-year-old Trinidad & Tobago international earlier this month. However the club had to wait before the successful application of a new work permit before they could finalise the move which is set to cost the club between £2million and £3m.

Scotland's arrival is still subject to the formality of him gaining a visa and international clearance, but Martinez is delighted with the capture.

He told the club's official website: "Jason is a natural goalscorer, I can't really put it any other way.

"Every manager wants a player who has that clinical ability to make something happen in the box, and Jason can do that.

Betfair is a bit different to your normal bookie; they actually want you to win. Instead of a bookmaker setting the odds, their customers do. That means you. And because you compete against each other, you get better odds. Up to 20% better odds in fact. You can either make a back bet (bet on who's going to win) or place a lay bet (bet against something happening). Betfair matches people on either side of the bet with the odds they agree. Simple. Use this £10 free bet and give it a try.

- clubcall
Post by: royal on July 15, 2009, 01:02:31 PM

Scotland Interview

http://link.brightcove.com/services/player/bcpid13706332001?bctid=29614728001
Post by: 7 blessings on July 15, 2009, 01:11:03 PM

Scotland Interview

was he just being humble or he ah little intimidated by the Premiership...I feel he have what it takes man, hope he believe in himself too!

All the best scotty
Post by: freakazoid on July 15, 2009, 01:19:51 PM

Scotland Interview

was he just being humble or he ah little intimidated by the Premiership...I feel he have what it takes man, hope he believe in himself too!

All the best scotty

yuh know
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 15, 2009, 02:10:20 PM

Scotland Interview

All the best scotty

yuh know

Nutten new, he does always talk like ah poh-me-one I find
Post by: Cocorite on July 15, 2009, 03:00:16 PM

Scotland Interview

All the best scotty

yuh know

Nutten new, he does always talk like ah poh-me-one I find

I think he lacks proper training on how to deal with the mic. He will do well in the Prem. He knows that but talking infront of a mic isn't his strength.
Post by: Babalawo on July 15, 2009, 05:12:34 PM
congrats. just see interview on sky
Post by: WestCoast on July 15, 2009, 05:31:21 PM
buss dem up in the EPL man
Post by: capodetutticapi on July 15, 2009, 05:59:29 PM
hope this will help propel him to even greater heights.
Post by: just cool on July 15, 2009, 06:05:40 PM
Just saw it on sky sports news, so is it safe tuh say he signed?

on another note, scotty need tuh step up on his communication skills, BC he sound like ah real country bookie, i could barely understand ah word and i'm from the same country as him.

anyway congrats tough guy! hope yuh do well. make that money.
Post by: triniairman on July 15, 2009, 06:16:41 PM
Interview of Scotland on Skysports http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5435426,00.html

congrats Scottie :beermug:
Post by: Quags on July 15, 2009, 06:27:20 PM

on another note, scotty need tuh step up on his communication skills, BC he sound like ah real country bookie, i could barely understand ah word and i'm from the same country as him.

ayway congrats tough guy! hope yuh do well. make that money.
Nah man he really improve from a few yrs ago .am atleast he keeping it real ,with no fresh water accent .
Post by: Trinidogg on July 15, 2009, 06:34:21 PM
Nice ;D congrats to scotty... 2 premiership strikers maybe even 3 this must means goals in the Concacaf World Cup Qualifiers ::)...
Post by: Quags on July 15, 2009, 06:44:01 PM
Nice ;D congrats to scotty... 2 premiership strikers maybe even 3 this must means goals in the Concacaf World Cup Qualifiers ::)...
2 + 2 eint always 4 .
Post by: just cool on July 15, 2009, 07:45:34 PM

Nah man he really improve from a few yrs ago .am atleast he keeping it real ,with no fresh water accent .
Tuh tell yuh the truth, yuh doh need no accent tuh articulate your views, but ah fella could @ least sharpen up on his vocab especially when you're in the media spot light on a weekly basis.

the man talking like ah wallafield farmer, plus he's gobbling up his words. look how KJ does do his interviews, clean audiable and no UK accent.

BTW, what do you have against ah fresh water accent?! i most definatly have one, and that's BC i like doing it,#1, and #2 i was so exausted with ppl asking me to repeat my self when i came here, that i decided tuh speak like the romans.
Post by: Big Magician on July 15, 2009, 08:09:09 PM
is ah sweat

play yuh fitball
Post by: freakazoid on July 15, 2009, 08:19:38 PM
if u n understand what scottie was saying then u not from here. tork done. he was jus using yuh know alot, maybe because he was nervous
Post by: Quags on July 15, 2009, 08:30:05 PM

Tuh tell yuh the truth, yuh doh need no accent tuh articulate your views, but ah fella could @ least sharpen up on his vocab especially when you're in the media spot light on a weekly basis.

the man talking like ah wallafield farmer, plus he's gobbling up his words. look how KJ does do his interviews, clean audiable and no UK accent.

BTW, what do you have against ah fresh water accent?! i most definatly have one, and that's BC i like doing it,#1, and #2 i was so exausted with ppl asking me to repeat my self when i came here, that i decided tuh speak like the romans.
You live in Rome ?
Post by: freakazoid on July 15, 2009, 08:46:29 PM
i trying to stay away from this accent thing, cause i may have to throw some salt water on some ppl. buh anyways scottie interview  skills improve from d last 1 i saw he still have some ways to go. the more goals he score the more interviews he will have to do and  the better he will get. so it goh.

big up to shaka by the way keeping it real  with yuh accent
Post by: dinho on July 15, 2009, 09:03:07 PM

they paying the man to score goals not do interviews what really wrong with you at all..

the man did a decent interview, not because he eh water it down with 'mate' and 'gaffer' means its not articulate. I for one like the fact that he dont see the need to conform, i used to ketch nuff kicks off ah dwight in the earlies with his fake-ass freshwater accent and i glad to see scotland not going down that road because it comes off as pretentious if its not done right.

let the man boots do the talking.

ps: if yuh think scotty bad allyuh must take in ah jamie carragher interview.
Post by: Quags on July 15, 2009, 09:09:08 PM
what what Dwights favorite word ,when he just when over ?. My dad and I use to ketch real kicks of of him . It start with O .
Post by: Arazi on July 15, 2009, 09:16:37 PM

they paying the man to score goals not do interviews what really wrong with you at all..

the man did a decent interview, not because he eh water it down with 'mate' and 'gaffer' means its not articulate. I for one like the fact that he dont see the need to conform, i used to ketch nuff kicks off ah dwight in the earlies with his fake-ass freshwater accent and i glad to see scotland not going down that road because it comes off as pretentious if its not done right.

fuh real dinho..buh scottie rel swing and miss on the last question...he clearly din know what the interviewer meant by your strong attributes...
Post by: Quags on July 15, 2009, 09:27:42 PM
no he didnt ,scoring goals thats all he does ,so he hopefully he could step up he said.
Post by: just cool on July 16, 2009, 03:11:51 AM

Like you does hang out with mary or what, how yuh so contrary? have you ever heard ah KJ interview, well it's ah far cry front mr scotty, carlos or dwight, articulate, proper, coherant,audible, and with no accent!

accent don't make ah fella articulate, take shaun fuentes forinstance, the man does talk with a trini accent , but he's audible and articulate , that's my point OMAR!
Post by: Rodney on July 16, 2009, 05:02:48 AM
Scotland was just ah bit nervous in my opinion, is not like he does many on TV. I like his TV interviews (the few he has done) he tends to come across as a very genuine, likeable person. Definitely better than the usual monotone, lifeless and cliched interviews given by the majority of professional footballers.  I understood what he was saying. I agree that Kenwyne Jones (currently) and Shaka are/were the best at giving interviews. Stern and Lata's aint too bad either. Dwight....well he is proof that practice makes perfect (IMHO of course  ::) ).
Post by: pass(10trini) on July 16, 2009, 05:23:23 AM

sound like you were gobling up your words ;D
Title: Pictures of Jason Scotland's first training session
Post by: Tallman on July 16, 2009, 05:54:13 AM
(http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/javaImages/37/e9/0,,10429~6547767,00.jpg)
(http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/javaImages/51/e9/0,,10429~6547793,00.jpg)
(http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/javaImages/28/e9/0,,10429~6547752,00.jpg)
(http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/javaImages/2f/e9/0,,10429~6547759,00.jpg)
(http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/javaImages/55/e9/0,,10429~6547797,00.jpg)
(http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/javaImages/1e/e9/0,,10429~6547742,00.jpg)
(http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/javaImages/42/e9/0,,10429~6547778,00.jpg)
(http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/javaImages/49/e9/0,,10429~6547785,00.jpg)
Post by: freakazoid on July 16, 2009, 06:07:41 AM
DREAM come through...........these boots were made 4 torking
Post by: dinho on July 16, 2009, 07:26:16 AM

Like you does hang out with mary or what, how yuh so contrary? have you ever heard ah KJ interview, well it's ah far cry front mr scotty, carlos or dwight, articulate, proper, coherant,audible, and with no accent!

accent don't make ah fella articulate, take shaun fuentes forinstance, the man does talk with a trini accent , but he's audible and articulate , that's my point OMAR!

and my point is relax yuhself lil bit and be glad for de fellah instead of looking for the first opportunity to pick holes like ah hungry cobo. here is ah fellow trini who fight through all kinda adversity to finally make it to the top and yet your first comment on the matter is that he sound like a wallerfield farmer??

look at your posts, it dont exactly come across the wires in the queen's english but yet that doesn't take away from the content.. how yuh go feel if somebody tell yuh yuh soundin like ah doubles vendor from debe?

yuh heart dark or what?
Post by: kicker on July 16, 2009, 07:42:38 AM

He's also paid to be a professional athlete.  And part of being a professional athlete is being able to communicate effectively to the press.  He's not just speaking to a Trini audience- he's communicating to a global audience so he needs to make himself understandable to that audience.  I agree there is no need to lose a Trini accent to do so- but sometimes toning it down helps...ie. slowing it down a little, and speaking clearly....Trini coloquial dialect is quick and often muffled- and that's why even in the absence of slang it can be difficult for others to understand us....Shaka's accent for example is 100% Trini but he still tones it down by speaking alot slower and more clearly than he would in a casual setting amongst Trini counterparts...and it works well (he's 100 times a better speaker than Dwight Yorke). Kenwyne, Scott Sealy & McFarlane are others that do a good job of it...Latapy as well, except he could be a little less dead pan lol...

We too sensitive about this topic... I've spoken to Italians & Brazilians who say the same thing about their footballers- i.e. their inability to articulate themselves well... we wouldn't notice because we don't understand the language.  It's a normal thing in a sport consisting of a fair percentage of not-so-educated athletes....

That said I think Scotty did ok compared to some other times I've heard him speak......and I'm sure he will keep improving with more and more exposure.    
Post by: freakazoid on July 16, 2009, 08:31:47 AM
kicker do english ppl adjust their accents? do scottish? NO i have to adjust my listening. so y is it that we have  to adjust how we speak.? u dont find something wrong with that? but my accent is part of my identity  and no matter what your accent is once yuh speak standard english  . ppl should be able to understand you.

shaka speaks much faster than the avg trini and sounds more trini than some trinis yet the  espn audience doesnt seem to have a prob.

ppl dont understand what i say sometimes and it has nothing to do with my accent. it has to do with the fact that speak fast and enunciate my words poorly. nothing to do with my accent
Post by: dinho on July 16, 2009, 08:43:19 AM

He's also paid to be a professional athlete.  And part of being a professional athlete is being able to communicate effectively to the press.  He's not just speaking to a Trini audience- he's communicating to a global audience so he needs to make himself understandable to that audience.  I agree there is no need to lose a Trini accent to do so- but sometimes toning it down helps...ie. slowing it down a little, and speaking clearly....Trini coloquial dialect is quick and often muffled- and that's why even in the absence of slang it can be difficult for others to understand us....Shaka's accent for example is 100% Trini but he still tones it down by speaking alot slower and more clearly than he would in a casual setting amongst Trini counterparts...and it works well (he's 100 times a better speaker than Dwight Yorke). Kenwyne, Scott Sealy & McFarlane are others that do a good job of it...Latapy as well, except he could be a little less dead pan lol...

We too sensitive about this topic... I've spoken to Italians & Brazilians who say the same thing about their footballers- i.e. their inability to articulate themselves well... we wouldn't notice because we don't understand the language.  It's a normal thing in a sport consisting of a fair percentage of not-so-educated athletes....

That said I think Scotty did ok compared to some other times I've heard him speak......and I'm sure he will keep improving with more and more exposure.    

i see what you're saying, but my issue is that what is being suggested is that he was not communicating effectively in this interview or that he's not understandable to a global audience, which I categorically disagree with.

Some players are better interviewers than others and that's no surprise. I gave you the Jamie Carragher example and he is 100% english and i can tell u from first hand experience that even his fellow englishmen can barely understand him.

Look at Drogba, one of the best strikers in world football and yet i would put him exactly on par with Scotty as far as interviewing skills go. Sure they could improve a bit, but at the end of the day its really not that big of a deal.
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 16, 2009, 09:36:38 AM
what is being suggested is that he was not communicating effectively in this interview or that he's not understandable to a global audience, which I categorically disagree with.
Believe me. I've found discussions at numerous places across the web where the big joke is that NOBODY understands Scotty.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 16, 2009, 09:41:03 AM
what is being suggested is that he was not communicating effectively in this interview or that he's not understandable to a global audience, which I categorically disagree with.
Believe me. I've found discussions at numerous places across the web where the big joke is that NOBODY understands Scotty.

If he scores goals no one will care.  Anybody who pretendin to be from Trinbago dat eh understand him should get bannished from TnT shores.
Post by: fari on July 16, 2009, 10:00:04 AM
i say all who have a problem with the man accent , post a clip of urself talking and let we see how good u does express urself and explashiate. 

congrats to scotty...now i have another team to take in this season.
Post by: Andre on July 16, 2009, 10:44:26 AM
congrats scotty!

cool accent...doh lose dat eh.
Post by: soccerman on July 16, 2009, 10:49:57 AM
Congrats Scotty...make the best of the opportunity!!!

As we on the topic of accent, I didn't see the interview but I found this one with him last season and from listening to him, I think he needs to just slow down a little, enunicate his words some more and he'll be fine.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ROwA0c0FasI
Post by: kicker on July 16, 2009, 10:50:51 AM
i say all who have a problem with the man accent , post a clip of urself talking and let we see how good u does express urself and explashiate. 

I don't recall anyone saying they have a problem with his accent...see how allyuh like tuh start ting.
Post by: kicker on July 16, 2009, 10:58:32 AM
kicker do english ppl adjust their accents? do scottish? NO.

You stay there and feel so....

I bet you alotta those Scotsmen (and even Englishmen) you hearing doing interviews would be damn near incomprehensible on a Friday night in the pub...  Ever hear a convo between two Scotsmen with thick accents...when yuh do, come back and talk tuh meh.  It's pure noise when they start going back and forth at speed....and trust meh, plenty o' dem Scottish ballers talkin' just so in the midst of their local element. 

p.s. I never said he had to adjust his accent per se...I talked about toning down the dialect by speaking abit slower and more clearly.  That's a normal thing for all cultures speaking publicly even many Americans particularly from Southern & rural areas...It's not just Trinis...
Post by: kicker on July 16, 2009, 11:01:37 AM

i see what you're saying, but my issue is that what is being suggested is that he was not communicating effectively in this interview or that he's not understandable to a global audience, which I categorically disagree with.

Some players are better interviewers than others and that's no surprise. I gave you the Jamie Carragher example and he is 100% english and i can tell u from first hand experience that even his fellow englishmen can barely understand him.

Look at Drogba, one of the best strikers in world football and yet i would put him exactly on par with Scotty as far as interviewing skills go. Sure they could improve a bit, but at the end of the day its really not that big of a deal.

seen  :beermug:
Post by: daryn on July 16, 2009, 11:23:48 AM
He's also paid to be a professional athlete.  And part of being a professional athlete is being able to communicate effectively to the press.  He's not just speaking to a Trini audience- he's communicating to a global audience so he needs to make himself understandable to that audience.  

I don't think that communication is necessarily a part of being a professional athlete.  It's a bonus for sure: all else being equal an athlete that communicates well is preferable to one who doesn't.  The fact that he is still maintaining employment in that profession means that the relevant decision-makers value the pros of employing him more than the cons.

who knows, Scotty might be more marketable if he was more easily understood or conversely (perversely?) it might detract from his charm.  In any case, being marketable is hardly a moral obligation.
Post by: fishs on July 16, 2009, 11:31:23 AM

Lil experience.
I remember explaining to a young welder a particularly difficult stainless steel weld he had to make, we were in a shutdown and every hour outside of the time we were given would have cost the company something like 1/2 mill USD.
This is in Trinidad , the fella start to talk to mih and the green verbs start flying out he mouth and ah start to wonder ." This fella understand anything ah tell him , how he come so highly recommended? What to do ?
Tell him doh bother and try somebody else ?
To cut a long story short the fella make a boss weld in record time , I have never seen anything like it since, he now works wherever he wants for big big money , actually I think he is working in a new nuclear plant in the UK.

The point I'm trying to make is that Scotty getting paid to play football not to make interviews as if he is Obama. He talk with any accent he want and feel that attribrute is ah new kinda cologne if he want as long as he scores goals.
Post by: kicker on July 16, 2009, 11:35:04 AM
He's also paid to be a professional athlete.  And part of being a professional athlete is being able to communicate effectively to the press.  He's not just speaking to a Trini audience- he's communicating to a global audience so he needs to make himself understandable to that audience.  

I don't think that communication is necessarily a part of being a professional athlete.  It's a bonus for sure: all else being equal an athlete that communicates well is preferable to one who doesn't.  The fact that he is still maintaining employment in that profession means that the relevant decision-makers value the pros of employing him more than the cons.

who knows, Scotty might be more marketable if he was more easily understood or conversely (perversely?) it might detract from his charm.  In any case, being marketable is hardly a moral obligation.

True & I don't expect his transfer price, or his wages to be a direct reflection of his ability to communicate publicly... but yuh can't ignore the aspect of his everyday work...it just comes with the territory.
Post by: fari on July 16, 2009, 11:39:26 AM

I don't recall anyone saying they have a problem with his accent...see how allyuh like tuh start ting.

just kidding bro.
Post by: kicker on July 16, 2009, 11:55:11 AM

just kidding bro.

:D  :beermug: 
Post by: Cocorite on July 16, 2009, 12:48:35 PM

Lil experience.
I remember explaining to a young welder a particularly difficult stainless steel weld he had to make, we were in a shutdown and every hour outside of the time we were given would have cost the company something like 1/2 mill USD.
This is in Trinidad , the fella start to talk to mih and the green verbs start flying out he mouth and ah start to wonder ." This fella understand anything ah tell him , how he come so highly recommended? What to do ?
Tell him doh bother and try somebody else ?
To cut a long story short the fella make a boss weld in record time , I have never seen anything like it since, he now works wherever he wants for big big money , actually I think he is working in a new nuclear plant in the UK.

The point I'm trying to make is that Scotty getting paid to play football not to make interviews as if he is Obama. He talk with any accent he want and feel that attribrute is ah new kinda cologne if he want as long as he scores goals.

Ah like this. The main purpose of his job is to score goals. But most people here are probably a lil embarrassed by his representation of Trinis.
Title: Martinez: I've Scot the lot
Post by: Tallman on July 16, 2009, 12:58:26 PM
Martinez: I've Scot the lot
By Paul Kendrick (Wigan Evening Post)

Roberto Martinez reckons his Wigan squad now boasts 'different options and different dimensions' after securing the signing of Swansea striker Jason Scotland.

The Trinidad and Tobago international was granted a work meeting at a hearing yesterday and is now only waiting for international clearance before he can turn out in a Latics shirt.

As a result, he will not feature in tonight's opening pre-season friendly at Crewe, although the new boy would not have been risked anyway after suffering of late with a groin problem.

And Martinez is far more concerned with what the 30-year-old will be able to contribute against Premier League defences with the new campaign now less than a month away.

Martinez told the Evening Post: "You can never have enough good players in your squad.
"I'm excited about the different options and the different dimensions we have with Jason's signing.

"Until you get all the paperwork signed, there is always a little bit of anxiety, but there is a great sense of 'job well done' about us now.
"He is a goalscorer, and they are hard to find.

"He relies on his technical ability to score goals, he is pleasing on the eye and his goalscoring record over the past few seasons speaks for
itself.

"Our strike-force is starting to look strong now, and the challenge for us to try to give him good enough service to allow him to score the goals I know he can.

"Players who rely only on their physical attributes can sometimes find it harder to score at the highest level.

"But if Jason is on top of his game, he will score at any level because he can play in more than one style and his game is suited to the Premier League.

"We are looking forward to welcoming the final six mmembers of the squad back today, which will allow us to work towards August 15 and the first game at Aston Villa.

"The players will hopefully create a very competitive environment and the people who deserve to play will be playing."

The returning players the Wigan boss was referring to – Lee Cattermole, Maynor Figueroa, Hugo Rodallega, Hendry Thomas, Won-Hee Cho and Richard Kingson – were given extra time in the summer because of international
commitments.

As a result, they too will be given a watching brief as Martinez takes charge of his first game at Crewe – although the Spaniard insists the result will pale into insignificance compared to the real benefits of raised fitness levels and match sharpness.

He said: "It's purely a fitness exercise – I don't really consider it to be a game.
"It's part of our pre-season, and it's going to help us to lift the players to a different level.

"We have been doing a lot of aerobic work so far, but probably after the Crewe game we'll be able to change that.

"It will just be a good opportunity to get everyone out there on the pitch, doing what they love doing which is playing football.

"But we're not ready to be playing 90 minutes, in a match situation, although it's always a good way to carry on with our preparations during the pre-season spell."
Post by: spideybuff on July 16, 2009, 01:25:15 PM
I wonder if Scotty and Kenwyne Jones make a wager yet on who scoring more this year?
I know who my money on, cause Scotty probably score more goals last year alone than all Kenwyne goals combined since he became a striker in England.
Post by: Touches on July 16, 2009, 01:50:30 PM
kicker do english ppl adjust their accents? do scottish? NO i have to adjust my listening. so y is it that we have  to adjust how we speak.? u dont find something wrong with that? but my accent is part of my identity  and no matter what your accent is once yuh speak standard english  . ppl should be able to understand you.

shaka speaks much faster than the avg trini and sounds more trini than some trinis yet the  espn audience doesnt seem to have a prob.

ppl dont understand what i say sometimes and it has nothing to do with my accent. it has to do with the fact that speak fast and enunciate my words poorly. nothing to do with my accent

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :applause: :applause:

Freak doh study Kicker...he does spit freshwadder right tru.

He like to smallify he Trini accent.  ;D...he is a dark hearted kinda fella :rotfl:
Post by: just cool on July 16, 2009, 02:07:23 PM

sound like you were gobling up your words ;D
What's yuh point kakahole??
Post by: Daft Trini on July 16, 2009, 02:15:52 PM
Spoke to him earlier today, he will most likely be wearing the no "9" shirt.  :beermug:
Post by: kicker on July 16, 2009, 02:20:23 PM

No he doesn't

I agree there is no need to lose a Trini accent to do so- but sometimes toning it down helps...ie. slowing it down a little, and speaking clearly....Trini coloquial dialect is quick and often muffled- and that's why even in the absence of slang it can be difficult for others to understand us....Shaka's accent for example is 100% Trini but he still tones it down by speaking alot slower and more clearly than he would in a casual setting amongst Trini counterparts...and it works well

Sounds like we're kinda saying the same thing...
Post by: kicker on July 16, 2009, 02:21:14 PM

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :applause: :applause:

Freak doh study Kicker...he does spit freshwadder right tru.

He like to smallify he Trini accent.  ;D...he is a dark hearted kinda fella :rotfl:

lol  :rotfl: you and I know that is not true  ;D haha
Post by: just cool on July 16, 2009, 02:55:13 PM
Eh touches, so what. i does talk meh yankee when i feel like, and ah damn good @ it too. i even had yankees bad talking WI to my face not knowing iz one.

it have men here from trini and they does be talkin pure jamaican and no body doh say shyte to dem, but they does want tuh frown on man who talking yankee and we livin in yankee town.

i livin in rome and i talking and acting like the romans in some instances. if i wanted to be a super trini, then i'd be livin in trini.

it have men who's been livin here in america over 20/30 yrs and they still talking like cane farmers, it sounds so uneducated and backward. imagine representing yuh self and yuh country and sounding like yuh from the bush.

no wonder ppl does treat we like idiots, i believe it's BC of the way some ppl represent caribbeans.

i all for keeping yuh accent, but just speak the language so ppl could understand what the hell you're say without strainin their ear drums.

BTW, i don't speak like those backward yow yow yow ghetto yanks, hell no! i does more drop it like an educated refine yank. the way i see it, we here in the english speaking west speaks only one solitary language, so why not speak it really well.