Sports => Football => Topic started by: E-man on August 05, 2009, 05:18:16 PM

Title: Thread for NY Red Bulls v W Connection (5-Aug-2009)
Post by: E-man on August 05, 2009, 05:18:16 PM
Aug 5th return leg, prelim in CONCACAF Champions League, Giants Stadium, NY 8 pm EDT

live on FSC

http://www.atdhe.net/

http://www.tntingermany.com/player/mp3player.swf?file=http://www.tntingermany.com/mp3/music/superblue-wconnection.mp3

PREVIEW.

Connection confident of win in Red Bull territory
By: Randy Bando (ttproleague.com).

W Connection head coach Stuart Charles Fevrier is confident that his players will register a win in Wednesday’s visit to the Red Bull New York at the Giants Stadium in their second leg clash of the CONCACAF Champions’ League preliminary round.

“It’s going to be a big challenge for us. They(Red Bulls) will be at home and they are boosted by their two away goals, however we are a big team,” said Fevrier.

W Connection opened the scoring against the MLS club through a Jonathon Frias strike heading in Hughton Hector’s corner in the 40th minute but conceded two deflected goals in the second half by Red Bulls’ Ernst Obster and Alfredo Pacheco before Hector salvaged a 2-2 draw in the 72nd minute with a brilliant strike.

“We were a little unfortunate,” said the Connection coach over the deflected goals that got past goalkeeper Marvin Phillip. “That’s football...these things happen.”

“However the focus now shifts to Wednesdays match,” continued the St Lucian. “We had a fare amount of chances on Thursday night and I believe that we can get a victory and move into the Group stage of the (CONCACAF) Champions’ League.”

“I think our players showed character and to come from 2-1 down and earn a draw,” he ended.

W Connection are expected to depart Trinidad on Sunday with no changes to Thursday’s squad that faced Red Bull New York in the first leg.

Thursday’s First Leg 18-man squad against Red Bull New York
Marvin Phillip(gk), Jan Michael Williams(gk), Elijah Joseph, Jonathon Frias, Matthew Bartholomew, Gerrard Williams, Keryn Navarro, Igor Santos, Andrei Pacheco, Kern Cupid, William Da Silva Oliveira, Clyde Leon, Andre Toussaint, Hughton Hector, Renato Pereira, Eder Gilmar Aras, Kelvin Modeste, Christian Viveros

The Red Bulls want credibility. Street cred on the line in two hours
By Brian Lewis (NY Post)

Follow the Post's soccer coverage on Twitter!

Talk to the Red Bull front office about what this organization needs, and the same word keeps coming up: Credibility. They're building the country's finest soccer stadium in Harrison, surrounded by futbol fans who live and breathe the sport but could care less about this team. Their mission is to change that, and the biggest hurdle comes tonight at Giants Stadium.

Red Bull managing director Erik Stover and sporting director Jeff Agoos know to capture the fans from Harrison _ the second-generation Europeans from Kearny, and the Portuguese and Brazilians from the Ironbound _ they need soccer street cred. And the first step is getting by W Connection and into the group stage of the CONCACAF Champions League.

"With the way the seasons gone, the disappointing results we've had, getting into the playoffs is almost (impossible),'' Agoos said. "It's a long-shot at best; so this game will give us the opportunity to move into the group play of a prestigious tournament and hopefully gain some credibility back.''

"We take it very serious. We take this tournament as if it were the goal for this year at this point. This is what we need to do. I think it is a little bit of flag-waving for MLS, but I think our main concern is flag-waving for Red Bull.''

Since the CONCACAF Champions Cup was replaced last season with the Champions League, MLS hasn't done much flag-waving; just a lot of surrendering.

New England and Chivas USA went winless in the preliminary stage last year, with Toronto eliminated this year. No MLS club had ever advanced out of the prelims until D.C. United mustered a 1-1 tie Tuesday night against Luis Angel Firpo, and moved through to the group stage on penalty kicks.

Now the Red Bulls are trying to match that feat, and went into tonight's home leg with the upper hand. They tied 2-2 in Trinidad, and are coming back to Giants Stadium with two vital away goals. A win or a 0-0 or 1-1 draw earns them the group stage _ and at least a chance to earn just a little bit of that credibility they seek.

Granted, for a club mired in a 14-game winless streak in all competitions _ putting coach Juan Carlos Osorio's job squarely on the line _ nothing is ever certain or easy. And for their mission of gaining traction in the discerning New York soccer community _ and building some much needed equity with their fans _ they could ill afford to lose at home to the Caribbean champs.

"(We need) a credible product on the field. Over the years we've struggled,'' Stover admitted, in an understatement of vast proportions. This club has lost more games than anybody in the history of MLS, with their fan base becoming more and more disgruntled and calling for the heads of both Osorio and Agoos.

"It's very important for us; if we're going be successful, if we're gong to sell out this stadium, we're going to do it with passionate soccer fans, and we have to have credibility with them. Walk down the street in the Ironbound, you'll see 20 soccer jerseys, and none of them are Red Bull jerseys. We have to change that. We have to get them to believe in what we're doing.''

That'll be easier said than done, convincing a Brazilian to support Red Bull as well as Sao Paulo, a Portuguese to cheer for Red Bull as well as Sporting Lisbon. But that's the task _ and the first step to being taken seriously is getting past W Connection and into a group stage.

That would set up six legitimate international games this summer and fall, with three at home. Picture a meaningful contest against storied six-time Mexican champ Pumas UNAM on Sept. 30 at an electric Giants Stadium, knowing the knockout stage is on the line.

The Red Bulls are sixth in MLS in merchandise sales, but have a vast untapped market because they spent years marketing to soccer moms and ignoring the urban fan. The old MetroStars' only forays into attracting hardcore fans were ethnic pandering _ but they rarely gave the Colombians or any other group a quality product to back.

But a result tonight buys them at least the rest of the summer and the fall to undo much of the damage this season has done. It earns them a half-dozen games with which to prove to disenchanted fans that 2010 isn't just about a big 25,000-seat real estate deal, but that this club has a future worth supporting. Six games to earn some street cred.

And it starts in two hours.
Title: Re: Thread for NY Red Bulls v W Connection (5-Aug-2009)
Post by: E-man on August 05, 2009, 06:04:13 PM
Starting line-up

- phillip -
cupid -  pereira - joseph - de oliveira
hector - leon - toussaint - viveros
          williams - navarre

about 20 spectators in Giants stadium lower tier.

W Connection kicks off

Post by: fari on August 05, 2009, 06:07:55 PM
toussaint looking lively in the earlies
Post by: PIMP on August 05, 2009, 06:16:26 PM
That #2 jus miss....pathetic shot... >:(
Post by: E-man on August 05, 2009, 06:25:05 PM
New York opens 1:0 19'

Post by: #4 on August 05, 2009, 06:25:45 PM
phillips shouldve stopped that one.
Post by: royal on August 05, 2009, 06:26:58 PM
goalie should have stop that
Post by: PIMP on August 05, 2009, 06:27:16 PM
poor keeping!!!
Post by: ZANDOLIE on August 05, 2009, 06:34:35 PM
All NY for so far
Post by: weary1969 on August 05, 2009, 06:41:42 PM
poor keeping!!!

Dat iz Ince replacement. LOUD STEUPS
Post by: E-man on August 05, 2009, 06:45:51 PM
Toussaint equalises in the 40'

1:1
Post by: #4 on August 05, 2009, 06:46:09 PM
GOAL! Toussaint
Post by: weary1969 on August 05, 2009, 06:51:28 PM
Toussaint equalises in the 40'

1:1

Niceness
Post by: E-man on August 05, 2009, 06:51:44 PM
more niceness
2:1

toussaint again 45'

half done

Post by: g on August 05, 2009, 06:52:19 PM
Red Bull is utter filth  :P
Post by: vb on August 05, 2009, 06:52:45 PM
Great interception by Touss. nice finishing.
Post by: lefty on August 05, 2009, 06:53:18 PM
more niceness

toussaint again

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: dat have to be d most comedic piece ah defense ah ever see lawd ;D
Post by: vb on August 05, 2009, 06:53:32 PM
Red Bull is utter filth  :P

Red Bullers  :devil:
Post by: Arazi on August 05, 2009, 06:53:59 PM
good finishes by toussaint..good play by him on the whole..but connection not really impressive..NY in a rel mess this year..
Post by: vb on August 05, 2009, 06:54:12 PM
more niceness

toussaint again

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: dat have to be d most comedic piece ah defense ah ever see lawd ;D

Really?

You doh watch Trinidad football.

Post by: vb on August 05, 2009, 06:55:13 PM
good finishes by toussaint..good play by him on the whole..but connection not really impressive..NY in a rel mess this year..

I have to agree.

WC defense in a mess. losing the ball too often in general.

But Touss had constantly been dangerous.

Post by: lefty on August 05, 2009, 06:55:40 PM
more niceness

toussaint again

Really?

ah go to say besides we but man does want to jump dong yuh throat
Post by: Brownsugar on August 05, 2009, 06:58:08 PM
Well just as I coming to post that mih eh find W Conn representing....just so, just so Toussaint score....and then he scores again!!!..

Go Connection!!!...
 :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: weary1969 on August 05, 2009, 06:59:57 PM
more niceness

toussaint again

Really?

ah go to say besides we but man does want to jump dong yuh throat

Cosign
Post by: triniairman on August 05, 2009, 07:00:23 PM
Kern Cupid need to put some meat on his bones and those other players need to start playing strong on the ball, they keep getting knocked off the ball too easily.
Post by: Giggsy's Chestwig on August 05, 2009, 07:03:30 PM
There are a few more goals left in this game. The defending from both sides has been pretty poor. Phillip flaps at everything...he couldn't catch a cold.

Post by: big dawg on August 05, 2009, 07:05:23 PM
a 2-2 game will end up to penalities.. we ehh want that
Post by: Giggsy's Chestwig on August 05, 2009, 07:07:36 PM
a 2-2 game will end up to penalities.. we ehh want that

I doubt it will get that far judging by the quality of defending (from both sides).

Post by: Deeks on August 05, 2009, 07:10:46 PM
Triniairman,
                i have been stressing this for a longtime. Our players need to spend more time in the weight room. Not for bulk, but for strength. We get knock of the ball easily when we play teams with bigger players. I find a man like Tous would be even better if he was a bit stronger. he is a good player, he has vision but playing mid for any TT team requires more than just skills. vision and ball sense are the prequisits, but a lil strength to stand up to the opposition to show you can't be pushed around is an added plus.
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2009, 07:13:19 PM
Triniairman,
                i have been stressing this for a longtime. Our players need to spend more time in the weight room. Not for bulk, but for strength. We get knock of the ball easily when we play teams with bigger players. I find a man like Tous would be even better if he was a bit stronger. he is a good player, he has vision but playing mid for any TT team requires more than just skills. vision and ball sense are the prequisits, but a lil strength to stand up to the opposition to show you can't be pushed around is an added plus.

they need fitness training too
Post by: E-man on August 05, 2009, 07:15:49 PM
almost. that keeper was out of the box
Post by: big dawg on August 05, 2009, 07:16:42 PM
fellas playing good ..
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 05, 2009, 07:17:36 PM

All NY sports teams shitty  :rotfl:
Post by: big dawg on August 05, 2009, 07:21:39 PM

nah.. only those that originate from Nassau county.. :devil:
Post by: Brownsugar on August 05, 2009, 07:23:08 PM
There are a few more goals left in this game. The defending from both sides has been pretty poor. Phillip flaps at everything...he couldn't catch a cold.

I really now seeing why men say he cyar replace Ince....laaawwd fadder not even the current goal keeper we could replace with the next generation.....we in a real mess yes.... ::) :(
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 05, 2009, 07:24:11 PM

nah.. only those that originate from Nassau county.. :devil:

lol, dat one was for u  ;D  Would be nice to see WC advance, much work to do though before that and thereafter
Post by: Deeks on August 05, 2009, 07:24:55 PM
Triniairman,
                 Fitness, I agree with that too. But that should not be an issue with Connection. They are not novice to this competition. They have been to this tournament a couple time before and have played well. But this year they looking and bit disjointed and it appears that they not fit. But yes football fitness is always an issue.
Post by: Brownsugar on August 05, 2009, 07:28:29 PM
Marvin like he want mih to eat mih words...good save!!!...

Dais it...he inconsistent, you never know wha he going to do next....
Post by: ZANDOLIE on August 05, 2009, 07:31:29 PM
pack of arseness on the wing
Post by: Sando prince on August 05, 2009, 07:32:40 PM
Its rare that you see a Connection team with more local than foreign on the field..regardless still decent performance thus far...
Post by: Sando prince on August 05, 2009, 07:34:14 PM
Aye remeber that Jan is now back at Connection..so Connection has both national goalkeepers on dem roster now.....plus since Bartholomew and Downing came back from Europe (also Jan)..means more local players on dem roster
Post by: E-man on August 05, 2009, 07:40:06 PM
Pacheco in 77' Navarro out
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2009, 07:49:49 PM
Pressuurree!
Post by: royalian on August 05, 2009, 07:50:47 PM
What madness!
Post by: #4 on August 05, 2009, 07:53:58 PM
5 minutes of stoppage time? are you kidding me ref?
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 05, 2009, 07:54:02 PM
why they don't run down the clock ?? these guys dumb if NYRB score they deserve it
Post by: E-man on August 05, 2009, 07:54:29 PM
5 minutes of stoppage time? are you kidding me ref?

I was expecting that
plenty stoppages in the 2nd half
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 05, 2009, 07:59:07 PM
Ah bet yuh dem fellas partyin in Brooklyn tonite
Post by: Deeks on August 05, 2009, 07:59:12 PM
 not great, but YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: WestCoast on August 05, 2009, 07:59:43 PM
well done W Connection :applause:
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2009, 08:00:05 PM
ole ole ole ole  :wavetowel: ah taking that , ah win is a win yes.
Post by: g on August 05, 2009, 08:00:15 PM
Red Bull is utter filth, i knew they could have pulled this off
Post by: #4 on August 05, 2009, 08:00:23 PM
well done w. connection, but allyuh CANNOT bring that kinda football against pumas in d group stages.
Post by: Touches on August 05, 2009, 08:01:09 PM
W-Connection was begging for a cutarse.

I never see such dunce football in the last 20 min of a game.

Them just giving the ball back over and over and rushing shot when they supposed to play keep away and run in the corner.

But lets hope they improve in the group stage.

Well done fellas
Post by: E-man on August 05, 2009, 08:01:59 PM
Final score 2:1

Stats

NY WConn
Goals 1:2
Shots 6:5
Saves 2:4
Corners 7:3
Yellow 1:1
Red 0:0

W Connection joins CSD Comunicaciones, Pumas UNAM and the winner of Real CD España / Liberia Mia in Group D

Post by: lefty on August 05, 2009, 08:02:07 PM
some ah dat real hurt my head boy............an anodder ting who was saying to stadium would have a good crowd for d US..............dat was one hell of ah crowd boy truly amazin.........truly ::)
Post by: Jah Gol on August 05, 2009, 08:02:28 PM
i real surprised.
Post by: mwanasoka on August 05, 2009, 08:05:07 PM
Congrats W Connection.Good skills but where's the governor.

We give them opportunities to come back.Why? Coach !!!
Post by: black chinee on August 05, 2009, 08:06:49 PM
Congrats W...well done :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Trinidogg on August 05, 2009, 08:08:06 PM
Was so mad i miss this game friends bought tickets i was stuck working but glad to hear we won amma watch it on fsc replay...
Post by: Sando prince on August 05, 2009, 08:09:16 PM
 :beermug: Congrats WC..the real test will come in the group stages..and i hope we get prepared..
Post by: ZANDOLIE on August 05, 2009, 08:09:25 PM
Good stuff. They show real heart to back come from a deficit away from home. When Frias rejoins the team they will be hard to beat. Bartholemew is another hardworking player. He just has to get on the scoreboard
Post by: dreamer on August 05, 2009, 08:12:42 PM
I am a happy man.
All meh bredren dat ah fight and post for, doing good these days.

1. Toussaint showing class. Go breddah go!
2. Baptiste top scoring in de league and he eh even a born striker
3, Sancho tasting victory with new recognition and leadership roles
4. Glen starring and causing "earthquakes"
5. Samuel in play
6. Just waiting on Roberts and Stern now.
7. Me mum in he element playing against european big shot teams in pre-season

Big up.  :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on August 05, 2009, 08:24:52 PM
Thanks 4 d W. Next wednesday I want another win
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 05, 2009, 08:28:29 PM
Thanks 4 d W. Next wednesday I want another win

COSIGN!!!!!
Post by: dreamer on August 05, 2009, 08:39:50 PM
Previous stuff:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vURU2NhY_X4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wRHrlmjzp-A&NR=1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A1ZyeYRBxuA&NR=1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMjkbpLwf**k&feature=related

Dis Hector yout' nat easy nah.
Post by: Jah Gol on August 05, 2009, 08:55:23 PM
How come corneal doh try coach a Pro League team and try to qualify for the Champions league.
Post by: capodetutticapi on August 05, 2009, 09:00:20 PM
knew de guys woulda pull this one off. :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on August 05, 2009, 09:01:56 PM
How come corneal doh try coach a Pro League team and try to qualify for the Champions league.

Because Pro League teams unlike d TTFF want a coch who kno what dey doin.
Post by: Jah Gol on August 05, 2009, 09:03:43 PM

Because Pro League teams unlike d TTFF want a coch who kno what dey doin.

Orrr Hoorr !!
Post by: College on August 05, 2009, 09:09:05 PM
So who say Toussaint for the 12th??  ::)
Post by: dreamer on August 05, 2009, 09:10:50 PM

Yess I !!!
Post by: triniairman on August 05, 2009, 09:18:26 PM
Congrats W Connection... :beermug:
Post by: mwanasoka on August 05, 2009, 09:55:56 PM

Me! Ah bet yuh Red Bulls coach eyeing Toussaint,if not de ress ah de MLS coaches.
Post by: Big Magician on August 05, 2009, 10:17:42 PM
excellent result...enjoy the next stage
Post by: CarenageBoy on August 05, 2009, 10:24:53 PM
Well, I was at the game and must say I was surprised to see that many Trinbagonians gathered together when it's not a Labor Day parade. Ah even found meh bredda-in-law liming with de  make-shift rhythm section.

WC had a great game. Ah get to snap a picture with Jonathan Frias posing for a picture with my son, but it come out too dark to post on de forum. I also spoke to Brian Williams and ask him if he coming on full-time, he just smiled and said 'no'.

Toussaint, Batholmew and Philips did a good job. William De Olivera looked lost the whole game.

Good to see we boys do good.
Post by: Trini Madness on August 05, 2009, 10:33:27 PM
Well, I was at the game and must say I was surprised to see that many Trinbagonians gathered together when it's not a Labor Day parade. Ah even found meh bredda-in-law liming with de  make-shift rhythm section.

WC had a great game. Ah get to snap a picture with Jonathan Frias posing for a picture with my son, but it come out too dark to post on de forum. I also spoke to Brian Williams and ask him if he coming on full-time, he just smiled and said 'no'.

Toussaint, Batholmew and Philips did a good job. William De Olivera looked lost the whole game.

where yuh was? that was in section 112 right?
Post by: CarenageBoy on August 05, 2009, 10:43:41 PM

where yuh was? that was in section 112 right?

Yeah! That was me!! We shook hands and spoke for a bit, remember?
Post by: just cool on August 05, 2009, 11:23:25 PM

I really now seeing why men say he cyar replace Ince....laaawwd fadder not even the current goal keeper we could replace with the next generation.....we in a real mess yes.... ::) :(
Pleassseeee, doh try dat!! if ince was saving tonight he wouldah let in @ least three!

phillips was boss tonight, just that the first goal caught him off guard, it was one ah dem tricky goals , but after he settled in he was unstoppable, and he pulled off ah few great saves that woulda beat ince for sure.
Post by: Trini Madness on August 05, 2009, 11:23:51 PM
i was wearing de green w connection polo in row 17....right next to de riddim section...i eh know if yuh notice meh.
Post by: just cool on August 05, 2009, 11:24:40 PM
No way hosea! that's yuh name right ? :devil:
Post by: palos on August 06, 2009, 01:38:10 AM

Pleassseeee, doh try dat!! if ince was saving tonight he wouldah let in @ least three!

phillips was boss tonight, just that the first goal caught him off guard, it was one ah dem tricky goals , but after he settled in he was unstoppable, and he pulled off ah few great saves that woulda beat ince for sure.

If Phillips was savin in de Mexico game in Mexico, how much dem woulda score yuh think?
Post by: College on August 06, 2009, 02:19:32 AM
No way hosea! that's yuh name right ? :devil:

like yuh ent make out meh eyes rolling...

ah know it have coaches on here whose criteria for selection is whenever a player score a goal. ;D
Post by: Papasmurf on August 06, 2009, 05:30:32 AM
I was at the game. And i must echo some of the sentiments already mentioned on this thread. Our players in general need strength and conditioning training. There were a couple of players, No 33 for Connection who had some size and was putting his body in, but he could bulk up some more.
What we did do, and was was refreshing, was that our players commited to closing down on the NY players when we were on defense. That is something that made the difference. Cuz yes we had some chances, but we made them turn over the ball wuite a few times by sticking a foot in.
Overall, not a terrible game, but it was very refreshing to see the commitment on the pitch.
Post by: Themanfriday on August 06, 2009, 05:50:37 AM
more niceness

toussaint again 45'

half done

congrates fellas

Niceness
Post by: davidephraim on August 06, 2009, 05:56:47 AM

Yess I !!!

Think people think! are we certain that his un-groomed dreads wont cause us more harm than good? I mean can we be sure that toussaint's dread locks wont cause him to play bad and therefore cause our beloved team to lose? Believe me.. I like the player as well but what about those dam untidy dread locks?
Post by: CarenageBoy on August 06, 2009, 05:58:50 AM
Yeah Trini Madness, you told me yuh online handle at de game! That's how I was able to identify you online.

BTW, WC needs some taller players who can jump. They were beaten in the aerial battles every time. Andre Toussaint although shorter, had the courage to try to go for the airborne balls. That's what caused him to get the yellow card in the first place.
Post by: injunchile on August 06, 2009, 06:20:42 AM
Toussaint is trouble coming off the bench for T&T. He has speed and will run to goal . Because of his size it is easy for him to get a foul in the eighteen yards box. Notice when we pressure the ball against any USA side they in trouble. The problem is because of our fitness level we cant sustain it and USA teams catch people in the last ten/ twenty. Mexico in the gold cup showed how it is done.
Post by: madness on August 06, 2009, 06:36:14 AM
hey CarenageBoy i cool man. d game was ok. size those matter sometimes but d understanding of d game is more better
Post by: King Deese on August 06, 2009, 09:29:46 AM
just tata............there is no other way to describe what i saw last night from w connection and the red bulls. don't tell me w connection's level of play represents d pro league in tnt because if it does then heads need to roll starting with fever or what ever his name is.

jabloteh ur up next. represent please.
Post by: Babalawo on August 06, 2009, 10:51:29 AM
Previous stuff:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vURU2NhY_X4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wRHrlmjzp-A&NR=1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A1ZyeYRBxuA&NR=1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMjkbpLwf**k&feature=related

Dis Hector yout' nat easy nah.

oh god i completely forget this game. thankx
Post by: Trini Madness on August 06, 2009, 11:46:49 AM
i just want to know what happen to dat oliviera fella. he used to play rel good. ever since he come back from de chicago fire he hasnt been the same. 
I was at the game. And i must echo some of the sentiments already mentioned on this thread. Our players in general need strength and conditioning training. There were a couple of players, No 33 for Connection who had some size and was putting his body in, but he could bulk up some more.
What we did do, and was was refreshing, was that our players commited to closing down on the NY players when we were on defense. That is something that made the difference. Cuz yes we had some chances, but we made them turn over the ball wuite a few times by sticking a foot in.
Overall, not a terrible game, but it was very refreshing to see the commitment on the pitch.

that # 33 is de colombian fella...viveros is he name i think.
Title: Osorio resigns as Red Bulls coach
Post by: triniairman on August 26, 2009, 01:27:09 PM
Osorio resigns as Red Bulls coach
NEW YORK (SI.com) -- The New York Red Bulls have announced that Juan Carlos Osorio has resigned from his position as head coach. Assistant coach Richie Williams will serve as interim head coach for the remainder of the season.

The Red Bulls are currently last in Major League Soccer's Eastern Conference with a league-worst record of 2-4-16. Their current points total of 10 is threatening to eclipse their previous worst of 15, which the team set in 1999 (when it was called the MetroStars) and stands as the worst regular-season finish in MLS history.

"I want to apologize to the fans for the results this season," said Osorio in a statement. "I want to thank the players for their hard work. I would also like to thank the club for the opportunity to coach the team for the past two seasons."

Under the Colombian-born Osorio, New York reached the MLS Cup championship game last season, but has been unable to capture that run of form in 2009. In two seasons with the club, Osorio is 12-27-13, the worst mark in the league over that period.

The low point came earlier this month when the Red Bulls were eliminated from the CONCACAF Champions League at home at Giants Stadium by W Connection, an amateur club from Trinidad and Tobago.
"It has been a difficult season for Juan Carlos and he felt that it was in the best interest of the team to step aside," said Red Bulls managing director Erik Stover in a statement. "I want to personally thank Juan Carlos for his efforts with the Red Bulls organization. It was under his leadership last season that the team won the Western Conference Championship and reached the MLS Cup Final for the first time in franchise history. We wish him well in his future endeavors."

Osorio, 47, joined New York following the 2007 season after guiding the Chicago Fire to the Eastern Conference final. He had spent two seasons in New York previously as the team's strength and conditioning coach before taking a similar post at English Premier League club Manchester City in 2001. Osorio also coached Millonarios in his native Colombia before returning to MLS in July 2007.

Williams, now in his fourth season as an assistant, will get the interim label for the second time in his career. The 39-year-old also served as Red Bulls interim head coach for nearly two months during the 2006 season after Mo Johnston was fired. Williams went 4-3-2 over that stretch until the club hired former U.S. national-team coach Bruce Arena.

The Red Bulls have been one of the most woeful franchises in league history, but are due to move into a new state-of-the-art, 25,000-seat soccer-specific stadium next season in Harrison, N.J.

Read more: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/soccer/08/21/juan-carlos-osorio/index.html#ixzz0PJom3zHa
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/soccer/08/21/juan-carlos-osorio/index.html

WTF I does see here boy!!! no F@*king respect watsoever for W Connection. The writer is the is F@*king amateur for writing this bias pack ah sh*t.

PS. Take a look at this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9xUS30-RFf0  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Title: Re: Osorio resigns as Red Bulls coach
Post by: capodetutticapi on August 26, 2009, 01:38:28 PM
amateur club?well it not in usa,so is inferior.they forget de drubbin revolution get by de next amateur club.
Post by: weary1969 on August 26, 2009, 01:47:49 PM
amateur club?well it not in usa,so is inferior.they forget de drubbin revolution get by de next amateur club.

So he now learn dey amateur because is only now he resign.
Post by: capodetutticapi on August 26, 2009, 01:50:53 PM
like them colombian coaches blight  ;D
Post by: triniairman on August 26, 2009, 01:51:44 PM

It was the writer that said W Connection was an amature club
Post by: weary1969 on August 26, 2009, 02:09:39 PM

It was the writer that said W Connection was an amature club

I guess he agree because he resign.