Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on August 12, 2009, 07:29:44 PM

Title: Glen goal earns T&T full points.
Post by: Flex on August 12, 2009, 07:29:44 PM
Warriors finally off the mark.
By: Inshan "Flex" Mohammed.

San Jose Earthquakes striker Cornell Glen scored a sixth minute winner for Trinidad & Tobago as the Soca Warriors prevailed 1-0 winners over El Salvador Wednesday night at the Hasley Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain.

The game marked the first win for the Soca Warriors in final round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying. The result left both teams with five points, at the bottom of the “hexagonal” standings with four games remaining.

Trinidad must next travel to Honduras on September 5 and then host the United States four days later. El Salvador will next face the United States near Salt Lake City and return home to play Costa Rica.

FINAL

T&T 1 (Cornell Glen 6th) vs El Salvador 0.

Line-Ups

T&T: - 1.Clayton Ince, 6.Dennis Lawrence (capt), 5.Keston Williams, 3.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 16.Silvo Spann, 2.Clyde Leon (7.Christopher Birchall 63rd), 8.Trent Noel, 12.Keon Daniel (17.Dwight Yorke 72nd), 11.Carlos Edwards, 13.Cornell Glen (9.Jason Scotland 83rd), 15.Kenwyne Jones.

Subs: - 14.Kerry Baptiste, 4.Marvin Andrews, 10.Hayden Tinto, 21.Marvin Phillip.

Coach: - Russell Latapy.

SLV: - 1.Miguel Montes, 13.Deris Ariel Umanzor, 4.Ramon Flores (14.Enrique Reyes 66th), 3.Marvin Gonzalez, 5.Luis Hernandez, 12.Manuel Salazar (9.Rudy Corrales 83rd), 8.Osael Romero (6.Arturo Alvarez 46th), 17.Cristian Castillo, 7.Ramon Sanchez (capt), 10.Eliseo Quintanilla, 11.Rodolfo Zelaya.

Subs: - 18.Benji Villalobos, 2.Alexander Rosales Escobar, 15.Alfredo Pacheco, 16.Denis Alas.

Coach: - Carlos De Los Cobos.

Attendance: -  20,000.

Yellow Cards:

Clyde Leon 5th (T&T), Kenwyne Jones 57th (T&T), Dennis Lawrence 62nd (T&T), Christopher Birchall 73rd (T&T).

Cristian Castillo 11th (SLV).

Standings

P W D L F A Pts
Costa Rica 6 4 0 2 9 9 12
Honduras 6 3 1 2 10 6 10
USA 6 3 1 2 11 8 10
Mexico 6 3 0 3 8 9 9
El Salvador 6 1 2 3 6 8 5
Trinidad & Tobago 6 1 2 3 7 11 5

Referee: Terry VAUGHN (USA)
Assistant Referee 1: Thomas SUPPLE (USA)
Assistant Referee 2: Corey E. ROCKWELL (USA)
Fourth official: Mark GEIGER (USA)
Glen's goal gives Warriors crucial win.
By: Ian Prescott (T&T Express).

Almost always when teetering on the edge, Trinidad and Tobago's Soca Warriors produce a saving performance. Remember them beating Mexico to stay alive, and then Bahrain in the Middle East to qualify for the 2006 World Cup? 

Well, yesterday was no different at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

T&T's quest to qualify for a second successive World Cup received a much-needed shot in the arm when the Warriors grabbed their first victory of the final round of CONCACAF qualifying by beating El Salvador 1-0 via a Cornell Glen goal.

Russell Latapy's team still occupy the cellar position. But with five points now in hand, the South Africa 2010 dream still lives on, providing T&T can get a positive result from a pivotal match in Honduras on September 5.

Last night, the national side got a perfect start and managed to hold the advantage this time, which was not the case when the teams met in El Salvador at the start of this campaign.

Latapy must have been smiling at the early effort from his footballers, who put plenty pressure on the visitors in the first half. And the good early work bore fruit when in just the eighth minute, striker Glen produced a clinical low finish to give the Warriors a 1-0 advantage.

Carlos Edwards won the ball on the left, and after a few combinations, headed it in to Glen, who shrugged off his marker and finished expertly.

There were many other happy first half moments for the Soca Warriors, but no further goals.

Edwards had his way with El Salvador up the right flank, and had them panicked and scrambling with a swung-in cross to Glen, who stumbled and fell in his haste to get the ball midway through the half.

Edwards also hit the crossbar with a free-kick in the 40th. And later, goalkeeper Miguel Montes was at his best to keep El Salvador in the game, as the Warriors piled on pressure late in the half.

But as in the Costa Rica match which T&T lost 3-2 in Tobago, the game was far too open and there were moments when the home fans were on the edges of their seats.

Striker William Romero was given too much space in 18-metre box and allowed to shoot across goal in the 17th minute, and soon after, Rodolpho Garcia tried a long-range volley and just cleared the T&T crossbar.

The second half began in similar fashion to the first, though, as Montes was again at his best in the 55th when saving a long-range Kenwyne Jones shot with his legs. Glen also hit across the face of the goal and just missed picking out Jones at the back post.

T&T goalie Clayton Ince also brought off two match-saving stops, first in the 69th when the new man William Reyes drilled a low shot to goal, and then in the 81st when Castillo hit one from close-up, Ince miraculously managed to stop the ball squeezing through his legs.

Dwight Yorke eventually came on in the 71st to steady the ship at a point when El Salvador appeared to be taking control. It was never comfortable for T&T, but in the end, getting three points was all that mattered.
Cornell Glen goal saves T&T.
By: Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

Striker Cornell Glen netted a seventh minute goal to give Trinidad and Tobago a 1-0 win over El Salvador in their 2010 FIFA World Cup CONCACAF Zone Final Round qualifier at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo last night.

Glen, on the left, received a diagonal pass from Carlos Edwards and, with the visitors appealing in vain for an off-side, the 27-year-old attacker took on the challenges of Ramon Flores and Manuel Salazar before placing his low left-footer to the left of the flat-footed goalkeeper Miguel Montes.

The result was Trinidad and Tobago’s first victory in the final round qualifiers, but they remained in cellar spot, with an inferior goal difference to El Salvador – both teams have five points from six matches.

Trinidad and Tobago coach Russell Latapy made five changes from the squad which was beaten 2-1 in their last qualifier on June 10 in Mexico, with Keston Williams, Silvio Spann, Clyde Leon and Glen replacing Makan Hislop, Marvin Andrews, Chris Birchall and Hayden Tinto, while Dennis Lawrence returned as captain in place of Dwight Yorke.

Williams, a centre-back by trade, was used as a left-back and Spann, on the right, were kept busy by the nifty El Salvadorans, who relied almost exclusively on build-ups on the flanks, contrasting to the long-ball style of the hosts.

El Salvador midfielder William Romero spooned a left-footed effort, with only goalkeeper Clayton Ince to beat, in the third minute, and Trinidad and Tobago made the visitors pay four minutes later, with a clinical finish from Glen.

El Salvador tried their best to even up the scores, as Romero, on the left, sent a wayward right- footer across the face of goal, while a long punt fell to striker Rodolfo Zelaya but his 25-metre blast went sky-high.

Zelaya tried an audacious bicycle kick, after Miguel Hernandez Campos headed an outswinging corner, from the left, by Eliseo Quintanilla, in the 35th minute.

Edwards, restored to his favoured right-winger role, found space behind the opposition’s defence on the left and won a free kick, after he was brought down by Romero. The resultant spot-kick, in the 40th, from the edge of the penalty area by Edwards, saw Montes frozen as the ball struck the upright.

A minute later, Edwards fed Glen in the centre field and the striker, in turn, spotted an unmarked Keon Daniel who, in his typical languid way, took time to shoot and his left-footer was blocked by a retreating Marvin Gonzalez.

Montes did well to hold central defender Radanfah Abu Bakr’s header, from a 44th minute in- swinging Daniel corner, while 11 minutes into the second half, Daniel’s ball to Glen was chested and relayed to Kenwyne Jones whose 25-metre drive was parried by Montes’ legs. Jones failed to connect on a square pass, from the left, by Glen but El Salvador, who, by then, focused their attention on arguing everything to American referee Terry Vaughn, turned on the heat.

Zelaya, on the right, faked substitute Chris Birchall and sent a ball into the box but Ince was alert to prevent a volley from another sub Williams Reyes while, on the opposite end, Birchall intercepted a ball from El Salvador captain Ramon Sanchez, fed Edwards whose deep ball found Glen. With only the keeper to beat, Glen narrowly missed his shot, from the edge of the area. There were lots of nervous moments in the Trinidad and Tobago defence, with Yorke inserted as a defensive midfielder in the 71st.

Sanchez got a loose ball, after the defence failed to clear Zelaya’s right-sided cross, and drilled a shot straight at Ince and, four minutes later (82nd), Reyes relayed Quintanilla’s outswinging right-sided corner to Zelaya.

Zelaya’s right-footer, from eight metres out, seemed destined for goal but Ince miraculously stopped the ball from crossing the line, grabbing it from a spread-eagled position.

On September 5, in their next qualifiers, Trinidad and Tobago will travel to Honduras while El Salvador will host the United States.
Title: Re: Glen goal earn T&T full points.
Post by: theworm2345 on August 12, 2009, 07:30:47 PM
 :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Title: HART
Post by: mouie on August 12, 2009, 07:31:08 PM
The T&T team played with great hart congrats!!!EL.S played very well.
Post by: mouie on August 12, 2009, 07:31:58 PM
Good work Glen we needed that!
Post by: Trini boi on August 12, 2009, 07:32:11 PM
need some drastic help in the midfield.  Defense needs to work together more and they can get it going.  Never had much problems with the forwards, they just need to make more out of their chances.  Last but not least, ince is the MAN OF THE MATCH!!!  Thank God Trinidad has ALWAYS been blessed with good goalkeepers  :angel:
Post by: TRUwarrior on August 12, 2009, 07:32:18 PM
who we have next????
Post by: madness on August 12, 2009, 07:32:51 PM
keon daniels , clyde loen not good in the midfield. we still looking for defense players
Post by: Babalawo on August 12, 2009, 07:33:23 PM
CLAYTON INCE :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :applause:

Next game bring in JLloyd Samuel.  Keston williams is doodoo
Post by: triniairman on August 12, 2009, 07:33:31 PM
Congrats warriors :applause: :applause: :applause:

PS. Please learn to play for 90' you all were under way to much pressure from El Salvador for the last 15 mins of the game. Well taken goal Glenn!!!!
Title: Re: Glen goal earns T&T full points.
Post by: Sando prince on August 12, 2009, 07:34:08 PM
More talented players like Hyland and Birchall is needed in midfield..and Yorke experience is definitley needed even if it not for the entire game...Noel needs to take a rest and Daniel is not playing to standard..
Post by: big dawg on August 12, 2009, 07:34:43 PM

putting it mildly
Post by: D.H.W on August 12, 2009, 07:34:49 PM
who we have next????

Honduras away, then US home. we have it rough
Title: Francisco in the stands
Post by: mouie on August 12, 2009, 07:35:41 PM
Ex T&T coach Francisco Maturana watched the game from the stands.I feel he in love with T&T but cloud not work with Latas. :-\ :-\ :-\
Title: Trinidad wins first of final round, 1-0 over El Salvador
Post by: royal on August 12, 2009, 07:36:26 PM
World Cup Qualifying

Trinidad wins first of final round, 1-0 over El Salvador

8/12/2009 - PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad – Cornell Glen scored in the seventh minute and Trinidad & Tobago prevailed over El Salvador 1-0 Wednesday night to win its first game in final round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying.

The result left both teams with five points, at the bottom of the “hexagonal” standings with four games remaining. Three teams automatically will qualify for the World Cup finals in South Africa next year with the fourth-placed team earning a chance for a fourth berth in a playoff against a South American side.

Glen capitalized after a poorly taken free kick opportunity by Osael Romero bounded away. Glen raced down the left, running away from Ramon Flores and finally eluding Manuel Salazar before beating Salvadoran keeper Miguel Montes with a low left-footed shot inside the far post.

The match saw the debut of American-born midfielder Arturo Alvarez for El Salvador to start the second half. The 24-year-old Alvarez, who plays for the San Jose Earthquakes, was born in Houston to Salvadoran parents and played at the under-17, U-18, and U-20 levels for the United States. He also had trained with the U.S. U-23 team but changed his allegiance earlier this year after FIFA altered its rules allowing players a one-time switch.

Both sides have several chances. Trinidad’s Carlos Edwards sent a lofted free kick off the topside of the crossbar in 40th minute, and 30 seconds later Montes had to race off his line to thwart a quickly closing and unmarked Keon Daniel.

Eliseo Quintanilla and Romero both put shots wide in the first 26 minutes, but El Salvador’s best opportunity probably was a sliding volley from inside the penalty area in the 69th by second-half substitute Enrique Rodriguez that went straight to the feet of Trinidad keeper Clayton Ince. Rodolfo Zelaya had a similar chance 13 minutes later that Ince was able to partially block with his feet and secured the save by sitting on the ball.

Trinidad must next travel to Honduras on September 5 and then host the United States four days later. El Salvador will next face the United States near Salt Lake City and return home to play Costa Rica.

Post by: WestCoast on August 12, 2009, 07:36:27 PM
Thank you VERY MUCH fellas, especially Mr Glen :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
that is the way to do it Mr Latapy

totally missed the game oh well
WE WIN :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: Trinidogg on August 12, 2009, 07:37:04 PM
who we have next????

Honduras away, then US home. we have it rough
If u think that rough after that is Costa Rica Away and Mexico home...
Thank You glen for the goal
Collin Samuel, Jlloyd Samuel and Hyland is a must on this team come on latapy...
Post by: Quags on August 12, 2009, 07:38:06 PM
thanks for the links fellas ,congrats boys .
Title: Re: Trinidad wins first of final round, 1-0 over El Salvador
Post by: mouie on August 12, 2009, 07:39:02 PM
Yous a boss you write that real fast ;D
Post by: che on August 12, 2009, 07:39:43 PM
Glenn(for the goal) Edwards and Ince  real play ball  :applause:
Post by: Midknight on August 12, 2009, 07:40:18 PM

PS. Please learn to play for 90' you all were under way to much pressure from El Salvador for the last 15 mins of the game. Well taken goal Glenn!!!!

15?
Post by: mouie on August 12, 2009, 07:40:59 PM
Ince look like Hislop when we plae Sweden(or am i going to far).
Post by: triniairman on August 12, 2009, 07:42:10 PM

15?
Ok 29 and 1/2 mins they played under pressure lol
Post by: Trinidogg on August 12, 2009, 07:42:21 PM
Ince had to sit down on ball and shit to save it and that point blank shot that he stop from going through his legs was a crazy save Ince MOM by farrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr...
Post by: lefty on August 12, 2009, 07:44:10 PM

it look like goalies does play best in dey twilight years
Post by: triniairman on August 12, 2009, 07:46:09 PM

it look like goalies does play best in dey twilight years
for real, that's no lie
Post by: mouie on August 12, 2009, 07:46:28 PM
Look so boy Hislop O.Khan & now Ince?I hope he keeps it up is now self we need him.
Post by: che on August 12, 2009, 07:48:54 PM
Anybody notice that when Ince sat on the ball an EL Sal player ran up to him in case the ball slip out. Spann was on the line and did not even move to cover Ince.
Post by: triniairman on August 12, 2009, 07:49:44 PM
Finally we have a striker who can score in this Hex, I am not sure what to say about Jones, he still gets 90'
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on August 12, 2009, 07:53:00 PM

I know the man must have been nervous or something but this is not the time fuh dat....Jlloyd Samuel might jes be a blessing (I say that with great caution lol).  Keep it going TNT... :wavetowel:
Post by: Arimaman on August 12, 2009, 07:55:08 PM
Doh geh me wrong eh, ah taking the victory but that performance was not up to par.  Sometimes it better to be lucky than good and tonight was exactly that.  We get away, but ah taking that. 

By the way, can Keyon Daniel sprint or at least change pace...oh jesus christ man that man slow....
Post by: frico on August 12, 2009, 07:56:42 PM
Total and utter rubbish from TT,SORRY TO SAY THAT.tHIS WAS THE MOST AIMLESS FOOTBALL THAT I HAVE SEEN FOR A LONG,LONG TIME,I can only hope its a one off,our composure on the ball was almost novice-like.We kept playing long aimless balls down the middle and our first touch was heart wrenching to look at.No one tried to slow the tempo,it was fast rubbish,our left back was giving space to park a jumbo jet.Please lets have Samuel and Zamora,Jones is fast becoming the most useless forward for TT in years.I really dont know what Latapy's football culture but nothing has stood out as change so far.Seems to me that he is playing it by air.Please dont cuss me guys but this gave me a F£$%^&G head-ache.I still hope and pray that we improve by about 75% by next game,its possible. :'( :'( :'( :'(
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on August 12, 2009, 07:59:30 PM
Doh geh me wrong eh, ah taking the victory but that performance was not up to par.  Sometimes it better to be lucky than good and tonight was exactly that.  We get away, but ah taking that. 

By the way, can Keyon Daniel sprint or at least change pace...oh jesus christ man that man slow....

Nah man the man have a little something because I see him run down a few players tonight and close dem down....the team on the whole could have been leading most if not any team in the HEX tonight in the first half...second half, well lets just say we could've had to count goals on both hands.
Post by: #8 on August 12, 2009, 08:00:33 PM
What happen to the "he have no first touch" "all he have is pace" posts?... ;D

#8....PRESIDENT OF THE GLEN FOR GOALS COMMITTEE
Post by: Deeks on August 12, 2009, 08:01:54 PM
Guys,
      For a home we were real shakey. But congrats to team. Ince, Cornel and Carlos stood out!!!!
Title: We have three weeks...
Post by: Midknight on August 12, 2009, 08:05:47 PM
to fix what just went down on that field in the second half.

Congrats to the warriors, congrats to Latas, but I rather buy a vest than have to dodge bullet anyday. I can't watch another world cup qualifier if we have to put weself through that again.

We get away by the skin of our teeth against our easiest opponent messing around with selection and preparation.

Please if we even pretending to be serious about this World Cup, lets start from now to fix this...

I begging alyuh.

Constructive criticism only.
Post by: Peong on August 12, 2009, 08:06:57 PM
Thank God for 3 points.
Post by: Trinidogg on August 12, 2009, 08:07:16 PM
Jones problem is he cah create on is own he need supporting Midfielders around him and it looks like trinidad don't have that... he fast and er thing but unlike glen, KJ cah dribble past defenders he to tall and big and in this T&T squad thats what he needs 2 do bad bad bad...
Post by: Bourbon on August 12, 2009, 08:07:30 PM
Thank God for 3 points.

And de magic dust we had saved.
Post by: WARRIORKING on August 12, 2009, 08:16:59 PM
one thing to add to what allyuh was saying in the second half why was the player for elsalvador who was coming down the rght open everytime recieving a long overhead pass he got like 5 deadly crosses into the box at the end . is like they see him being a threat and said f it.
Post by: just cool on August 12, 2009, 08:20:03 PM
More talented players like Hyland and Birchall is needed in midfield..and Yorke experience is definitley needed even if it not for the entire game...Noel needs to take a rest and Daniel is not playing to standard..
Boss noel was one of our best players tonight! what game you was watching? had it not been for him in the midfield breaking up play and bringing the attack in the play , then we woulda concede nuff goals, the man is not ah creative mid, but rather ah holding mid.
Post by: WARRIORKING on August 12, 2009, 08:21:44 PM
What happen to the "he have no first touch" "all he have is pace" posts?... ;D

#8....PRESIDENT OF THE GLEN FOR GOALS COMMITTEE
i agree leave glenn in the line-up and put scotland upfront also ,have jones come off the bench their was really no need to put yorke in this game it seem he was putt in just cause. there was no real strategy behind his sub. cause the midfield got slower. and we went from attacking in the first to  running for cover in the second
Post by: najee on August 12, 2009, 08:21:57 PM
one thing to add to what allyuh was saying in the second half why was the player for elsalvador who was coming down the rght open everytime recieving a long overhead pass he got like 5 deadly crosses into the box at the end . is like they see him being a threat and said f it.

cause who was playing that side...is shit...and that person happen to be KESTON WILLIAM...TUTU..DODO...DOG -SHIT ...in my book
Post by: Carib-Briton on August 12, 2009, 08:23:14 PM
Big Up To Glen
Post by: Jahyouth on August 12, 2009, 08:26:41 PM
People complaining about this victory?

Don't people realize that in a World Cup campaign, or any league for that matter, you need to grind out wins such as this.  Three points that could easily have been 1 or 0 on another day. 

Not only do we get the three points as well, but we get some added confidence and a bit of momentum.

Celebrate the win.  We live to fight another day.
Post by: WARRIORKING on August 12, 2009, 08:27:47 PM

cause who was playing that side...is shit...and that person happen to be KESTON WILLIAM...TUTU..DODO...DOG -SHIT ...in my book
i hear yuh partner  cause i dont see how  a lil 5 ft el salvadorian out running no 6foot healthy  young black man . not to stereotype but being that you are an athlete i would think u have some type of speed.
Post by: dinho on August 12, 2009, 08:28:33 PM
i only saw the 2nd half but from what I saw, Keston Williams make Aklie Edwards look like Evra.
Post by: WARRIORKING on August 12, 2009, 08:30:47 PM

Don't people realize that in a World Cup campaign, or any league for that matter, you need to grind out wins such as this.  Three points that could easily have been 1 or 0 on another day. 

Not only do we get the three points as well, but we get some added confidence and a bit of momentum.

i hear what yuh saying but  that was a lil bit more than grind out , them guys made silly mistakes and looked  disinterested in the second , they couldn't even knock the ball around for 2 mins to kill clock. i'm sorry but i dont settle for average which that wasn't aim for perfection and hopefully u will land somewhere close .
Post by: DeSoWa on August 12, 2009, 08:32:23 PM
steupsss, alyuh good oui..when we played good and lost (CRC) ppl was saying ONLY RESULTS MATTER IN A WCQ...now we grind out ah ugly win...we not ready and we lucky and dis and dat...make up alyuh mind nah...

Right about now, I just happy for ah win...maybe I saying dis because i really did not see the game, only the first 15 mins..so a really did not see the crap we do... ;D

Post by: najee on August 12, 2009, 08:35:39 PM

i hear yuh partner  cause i dont see how  a lil 5 ft el salvadorian out running no 6foot healthy  young black man . not to stereotype but being that you are an athlete i would think u have some type of speed.

thm players need steroid or some kind of enegerize drink....

Post by: AB.Trini on August 12, 2009, 08:40:52 PM

"Men are masters of their Fate!!!!"

Considering the lack of friendlies, and the events leading up to the disclosure of this team, the Warriors deserve to 'celebrate' small victories.

We eh out of the woods yet..judging by the pressure Honduras putting on CR, we have to take our own destiny in our hands; it eh have  anything as depending on anyone else.... we just have to step up and play better than we have ever. LOOK NAH WHATEVER HONDURAS DOING TONIGHT TO CR, WE HAVE TO COME BETTER THAN THEM. That team just dominating CR.

Look no sense dogging the team for this win...... yuh think them players eh know  how they play....
Adversity have a way of unifying teams...we have some ex- soldiers on the team. Well look nah , all the games away is going to be in hostile territory all the team have  now is each other. This is the time to rally around each other and step it up.

The way some people  talking ..is like they happier with the tie and loss than with ah win.

This game should have exposed some deficiencies to the coach and I sure the man astute enough to make the adjustments. Leh we keep marching onward s and upwards TNT Warriors.
Post by: Big Magician on August 12, 2009, 08:42:18 PM
great finish by Glenn...
well done tnt...3 points and our first clean sheet...let build on this
Post by: STEUPS!! on August 12, 2009, 08:47:15 PM
great finish by Glenn...

keston williams had a nie first half. i doh agree wid allyuh when allyuh sayin he is shit. good first half, shaky second half fuh williams. he jus need to be moulded a lil
Post by: Socafan on August 12, 2009, 09:00:16 PM
great finish by Glenn...

keston williams had a nie first half. i doh agree wid allyuh when allyuh sayin he is shit. good first half, shaky second half fuh williams. he jus need to be moulded a lil

Yeah boy...people here like they crazy. It was obvious that in the second half,
 1)he was out back alone by himself, me eh know but it seemed like when Daniels came off,
2) The commentators were saying that he was injured,
3) Maybe he just bun, and El Salvador right side is they strong side.

The man give a creditable performance.
Post by: Deeks on August 12, 2009, 09:14:34 PM
Socafan,
              The same thing you said about Williams is the same things that was said about Akile Edwards in the previous games. The left backs don't get any help. Nothing ain;t change. Our form is pathetic. This is supposed to be the easiest team. We played like crap. Guys saying we played a good 1st halve. We Elsal had an equally good 1st halve too. and a better 2nd halve. They are the away team.
Post by: Arazi on August 12, 2009, 09:16:30 PM
i only saw the 2nd half but from what I saw, Keston Williams make Aklie Edwards look like Evra.

hoss i make out since the first half this man was REL suspect....is amazing how easily drawn out of position that youth is eh...

great finish by Glenn...

1)he was out back alone by himself, me eh know but it seemed like when Daniels came off,

the first he was arite.. buh they hardly raid our left in the first..the few times they did i was seeing that he was regulalrly leaving men to gape in space on the left...alyuh rel rel doh lke akile cuz if was he play da game...alyuh mighta fire bomb he house
Post by: weary1969 on August 12, 2009, 09:21:18 PM

COSIGN told meh peeps dat when we were leavin d stadium
Post by: Brownsugar on August 12, 2009, 09:22:47 PM
their was really no need to put yorke in this game it seem he was putt in just cause. there was no real strategy behind his sub. cause the midfield got slower.

Maybe that was the reason for the sub....to calm things down....at the point Dwight came on the midfield started to look clueless (or more clueless as the game progressed).....but I eh know dais JMHO....folks with more knowledge about these things could correct me.... :-\
Post by: weary1969 on August 12, 2009, 09:25:53 PM
Williams is a central defender that Latas convert into a Left Back not 2 play Akile. Avery/Jlloyd will geet d juzzy next game.
Post by: g on August 12, 2009, 09:27:21 PM
great finish by Glenn...

The tactics were clear from El Salvador

Attack the wingbacks

In the first half it was Spann under pressure, in the second half Williams made a couple bad decisions and then his head went down. ES immediately recognized it and starting taking every attack to him, he was targeted. A real baptism of fire for d yute on debut.

Live to fight another day my yute. We got the result and that is what matters.  
Post by: Arazi on August 12, 2009, 09:30:18 PM
Williams is a central defender that Latas convert into a Left Back not 2 play Akile. Avery/Jlloyd will geet d juzzy next game.
williams plays left back for defence force if i;m not mistaken...
Post by: weary1969 on August 12, 2009, 09:35:22 PM
williams plays left back for defence force if i;m not mistaken...

I know him from he AIA days he was a central defender then. I taught Michael Edwards is d DF LB
Post by: Arazi on August 12, 2009, 09:38:18 PM
maybe i'm mistaken..buh i know he picked as a left back from somewhere...
Post by: Bourbon on August 12, 2009, 09:39:41 PM

So arhmm...why avery eh get de juzzy dis one? Allyuh doh find akile is de wuss ting in a tugs on de left again? :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on August 12, 2009, 09:42:17 PM

So arhmm...why avery eh get de juzzy dis one? Allyuh doh find akile is de wuss ting in a tugs on de left again? :devil:

My sources say he did not want 2 go to d Azteca fake a sic and Latas eh call him this time. Wuss wus ting in tugs after Dog.
Post by: Brownsugar on August 12, 2009, 09:43:55 PM

Yuh made to the game after all??
Post by: Bourbon on August 12, 2009, 09:47:03 PM

Nah. No money whatsoever. I dogging thru on my last 40 dollars until a lady pay me for a job i do for her.....and even with dat next week i hadda register for school. My friend who always promisin to link comps for me say i eh tell she far enuff in advance....so i had to salt. 9th September doh.......
Post by: Brownsugar on August 12, 2009, 09:48:50 PM

Nah. No money whatsoever. I dogging thru on my last 40 dollars until a lady pay me for a job i do for her.....and even with dat next week i hadda register for school. My friend who always promisin to link comps for me say i eh tell she far enuff in advance....so i had to salt. 9th September doh.......

Ok....see ya then....
Post by: NJsTriniGunna on August 12, 2009, 10:04:03 PM
As usual, they had me scared in the final minutes, but not as bad as the last few. and goodness, Ince is the man. Congrats
Title: Oh Well!
Post by: BigToe on August 12, 2009, 10:37:20 PM
DirecTV PPV  ... $25.00
Phone Fee for PPV  ...  $1.50
Watching your team shit down de place in de second half and still scrape out a victory leaving a glimmer of hope for WC qualification  ...  Priceless

It baffles me that a team could look so good in the first half and play such crap in the second. If not for divine intervention x2, we lorse dis game. Ball watching then ball chasing de whole second half. Hard to accept and I really hope not but, stick a fork in them, dey done.
Title: Re: Oh Well!
Post by: weary1969 on August 12, 2009, 10:39:43 PM
Dem when in d phone booth and change from superman and came out Clark Kent.
Post by: salsero on August 12, 2009, 10:43:13 PM
I think that T&T need to slow down their game and try to keep position of the ball. I think T&T need to work on possession triangular passing, building up an attack, rather than depending on a chancy long ball. Why do they constantly rely on this long ball strategy.KJ is not used effectively. One of the most dangerous men in the air in the premiership should be fed more crosses, especially against these shorter central american oppenents.
Post by: Tha G. on August 12, 2009, 11:02:58 PM
I think that T&T need to slow down their game and try to keep position of the ball. I think T&T need to work on possession triangular passing, building up an attack, rather than depending on a chancy long ball. Why do they constantly rely on this long ball strategy.KJ is not used effectively. One of the most dangerous men in the air in the premiership should be fed more crosses, especially against these shorter central american oppenents.

Who go cross the ball, you? We have to find that first... we dont have any deadly effective crossers of the ball.
Post by: AirMan on August 12, 2009, 11:46:33 PM
Congrats to T&T  :beermug:
Post by: lickslikefire on August 12, 2009, 11:47:38 PM
i just wake up ....this news make meh happy this morning....go warriors!
Post by: Bianconeri on August 13, 2009, 12:36:50 AM
no. 10, 11 and 17 for El Salvador was on fire!
esp. 10 and 11
wow!
Post by: ZANDOLIE on August 13, 2009, 12:45:59 AM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Or they eat kryptonite. Either way I taking de 3 points
Post by: palos on August 13, 2009, 12:57:41 AM
And people was sayin Mats responsible fuh de Corbeaux brand?  8)

At de end of de day...is 3 points.  That's ALL that matters.

Congrats Latas!!  Get a defence and yuh qualfyin fuh SA 2010
Post by: Midknight on August 13, 2009, 03:28:23 AM

I get your point, but that wasn't grinding out a win. That was pouring holy water on the goal line and hoping the ball didn't cross it. Against the weakest opponent we will have from here on.

Anyway, let me not scratch you rose tinted glasses.
Post by: sjahrain on August 13, 2009, 03:55:41 AM
Congrats to The Warriors

One thing I have learned in life is that you cannot please all the people at the same time or all the time

That was one step up the ladder I hope we can build on it,people is time we start building up rather than tearing down
I guess some in love with the coach now as opposed to a couple days ago when they wanted the man`s head,life being a Trini it rough Dread or just Dread

Show your Warrior pride

Next up Honduras  and 3 more points

Raspect
Post by: Socapro on August 13, 2009, 05:10:51 AM

I get your point, but that wasn't grinding out a win. That was pouring holy water on the goal line and hoping the ball didn't cross it. Against the weakest opponent we will have from here on.

Anyway, let me not scratch you rose tinted glasses.

That was the power of the "Magic Dust" my friend!  ;D
There was no way that ball was crossing Ince's goal-line after the "Magic Dust" was sprinkled along it and then thrown in El Salvador's face!  ;)

Give me an ugly looking win football wise any day over a attractive looking draw or lost and I taking it!
Its 3 points in the bag and we matching on but lots of work to do in all areas to improve on!
I put that performance down to lack of high quality warm-up games so I hope Latas learn from that and start making demands for better!
Latas must have the balls to ask Camps where all the warm-up money gone if they are no decent friendlies that he requested being lined-up by the TTFF! Either that or Latas must be man enough to walk!!
Post by: Flex on August 13, 2009, 05:36:03 AM
T&T vs SLV, Video 1 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WkW_URCrfkg)

T&T vs SLV, Video 2 (http://www.youtube.com/user/elgraficovideo?gl=ES&hl=es)
Post by: just cool on August 13, 2009, 05:53:10 AM

T&T vs SLV, Video 2 (http://www.elgrafico.com/index.php?art=26756&flv)
When dem spanish bussin licks on we english speakers, we does take we lick nice and go on cool, but when is dem turn!!! is like they get hit with ah catagory five hurricane the way they does bawl and cry. :whip: :busshead: :devil:
Post by: Brownsugar on August 13, 2009, 05:57:55 AM

T&T vs SLV, Video 2 (http://www.elgrafico.com/index.php?art=26756&flv)

uuuuummm Flex....yuh going to post a link with ACTUAL footage from the game instead of this fringe stuff??.... ;D

Post by: Arimaman on August 13, 2009, 06:03:38 AM
I think that T&T need to slow down their game and try to keep position of the ball.

Slow down the game???? We does play fast???   Of all the teams in the hex, we does play entirely tooooo slow.  Ball and player movement off the ball is virtually non-existent.  I don't understand how we does look so mediocre as a team.  We play good for about 20 minutes....

Again, I love the 3 pts but we not really beating anybody else with that exhibition last night.  Playing like that in Honduras is a recipe for about 3 believe it or not.

Good thing is Latas have about a month to organize.  Whew!!!!
Post by: injunchile on August 13, 2009, 06:10:12 AM
If anyone had doubts about the power of Prayer, the last fifteen minutes was a clear example. I can now understand how we were two goals up and conceded twice in El Salvador. I was iimpressed with the hustle and passion of the first half- we should have been three goals up. It begs the question were THE PLAYERS ASKED TO DEFEND THE ONE GOAL and try to get another on the counter attack. Or was it a fitness problem. nerves.
 Hyland - lloyd Samuel- Zamora and Colin Samuel may just be the answer for Honduras.
Post by: spideybuff on August 13, 2009, 06:14:48 AM
yeah, Dog was my MoM. He had to be saying some serious prayers on the sidelines there.
Post by: Socapro on August 13, 2009, 06:17:47 AM
I think that T&T need to slow down their game and try to keep position of the ball.

Slow down the game???? We does play fast???   Of all the teams in the hex, we does play entirely tooooo slow.  Ball and player movement off the ball is virtually non-existent.  I don't understand how we does look so mediocre as a team.  We play good for about 20 minutes....

Again, I love the 3 pts but we not really beating anybody else with that exhibition last night.  Playing like that in Honduras is a recipe for about 3 believe it or not.

Good thing is Latas have about a month to organize.  Whew!!!!

Come this Saturday we have JUST 3 WEEKS counting down to that win/draw or die game!
Right now we should have a list of quality opponents (at least two) being announcement and details of the live-in training camp together with a list of invited players so we can start preparaing for that game!
We have no time to waste or even celebrate the 3 points we get last night as we still last in the table with a dreadful goal-difference and a team that needs to improve in almost every area!
Post by: acb on August 13, 2009, 06:24:45 AM
We have no time to waste or even celebrate the 3 points we get last night as we still last in the table with a dreadful goal-difference and a team that needs to improve in almost every area!

Was just looking at that. I believe even in the updated standings, we're still in last place - and the gap between ourselves and the Top 4 is a whopping 5 points.

Those 2 points we dropped in ES is a moot point now, but that could very well come back to haunt us.
Post by: spideybuff on August 13, 2009, 06:26:54 AM
Latas say we could afford to lose one more game...I just hope is not against Honduras.

But Mathematically, I think it would be impossible for us to come lower than 4th with 14pts, in a 6 team group. So we need 3 wins...it still in our own hands.
Post by: Brownsugar on August 13, 2009, 06:30:42 AM
yeah, Dog was my MoM. He had to be saying some serious prayers on the sidelines there.

It begs the question were THE PLAYERS ASKED TO DEFEND THE ONE GOAL and try to get another on the counter attack.

I was wondering the same thing. If that was the case, we were looking for trouble......
Post by: spideybuff on August 13, 2009, 06:33:32 AM
From the time we score, we start to instruct everybody to slow it down. Trent Noel and Edwards was boofing men on the left for taking throw in's too fast ; Ince was letting the ball roll across his area and waiting til an attacker pressured him before he picked it up...then run more time off the clock before distribution.

So it was clearly an instruction by the senior players to slow down the game, from as early as the goal.
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 06:38:50 AM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Or they eat kryptonite. Either way I taking de 3 points

Cosign
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 06:40:35 AM

:rotfl: All yuh go make make man loose dey wuk
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 06:41:39 AM

Wit Mats we get 90+ of d cobeau stuff. Wit Latas we got 45+.
Post by: lefty on August 13, 2009, 06:45:10 AM

semi Corbeaux brand...........its like you've seen it before..........only.....not!
Title: Big mountain to climb
Post by: judge101 on August 13, 2009, 06:45:52 AM
yeah so we jump over the hurdle grazing we bottom on it a little but now we have a big mountain in from of us.we now have to head away to play Honduras who crushed table toppers Costa Rica 4-0 yes we can celebrate now that we did not die but this next game is very significant to both teams and right now hunduras moral is high an probably cant wait to play us if we play our usual game here we will lose apart from our wasted first half opportunities, our second half performance was terrible, bad passes, poor clearances, and an overall lack of ergency and concentration.

A performance like that against a much better team Hondurans in there home ground will spell disaster for our campaign

yes i am glad for the win but we need to improve greatly and we need Samuel in the defense man   
Title: Re: Big mountain to climb
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 06:46:49 AM
yeah so we jump over the hurdle grazing we bottom on it a little but now we have a big mountain in from of us.we now have to head away to play Honduras who crushed table toppers Costa Rica 4-0 yes we can celebrate now that we did not die but this next game is very significant to both teams and right now hunduras moral is high an probably cant wait to play us if we play our usual game here we will lose apart from our wasted first half opportunities, our second half performance was terrible, bad passes, poor clearances, and an overall lack of ergency and concentration.

A performance like that against a much better team Hondurans in there home ground will spell disaster for our campaign

yes i am glad for the win but we need to improve greatly and we need Samuel in the defense man   
]
We know CR give Honduras dat came. But is we mountain and we go climb it.
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 06:47:30 AM

semi Corbeaux brand...........its like you've seen it before..........only.....not!

Pseudo Cobeau  :rotfl:
Post by: royal on August 13, 2009, 07:08:21 AM
Latas better look at this Jake Thomson guy at Southampton yes,because he playing both defence and midfield.I dunno if Stern could give him a run down.Then again although he agree to play with the U20 he may not agree for the senior team because he still young,but it worth a try. 
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 07:12:16 AM
Latas better look at this Jake Thomson guy at Southampton yes,because he playing both defence and midfield.I dunno if Stern could give him a run down.Then again although he agree to play with the U20 he may not agree for the senior team because he still young,but it woth a try. 

Ease up on BM nah u want him 2 b cussin a next man in a couple yrs when he diss we eh get select 4 England and then want 2 use we.
Post by: King Deese on August 13, 2009, 07:23:02 AM
i did not see d game, but it looks like latas listen to meh, he finally release d black panther.

now, hear meh again latas, some friendlies before d 5th, oliver, elton, atullah, hyland, michael edwards, neaves, paul, curtis gonzales, akeem adams, sean de silva, optumus prime, bateau, cyrus, and winchester are some players who might be worth looking at but in ah international setting. doh listen to pinky and d brain dey gave up on d team already.

viva la revoluccion...........
Post by: Weh-it-is on August 13, 2009, 07:28:22 AM
Big up to Glen. That man both he and Ince was on fire yesterday. Like somebody tell them that they was about to loose ah spot. I never see Cornell play like that in my life.  :o He played like he was hungrey!  :P Ince played a like spider.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 13, 2009, 07:28:57 AM
Latas better look at this Jake Thomson guy at Southampton yes,because he playing both defence and midfield.I dunno if Stern could give him a run down.Then again although he agree to play with the U20 he may not agree for the senior team because he still young,but it woth a try. 
Based on what I read on Southampton's forum, he barely ready for them much less senior international ball.
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 07:29:18 AM
Big up to Glen. That man both he and Ince was on fire yesterday. Like somebody tell them that they was about to loose ah spot. I never see Cornell play like that in my life.  :o He played like he was hungrey!  :P Ince played a like spider.

If everybody get hungry we go b in buziness.
Post by: Weh-it-is on August 13, 2009, 07:31:20 AM
Total and utter rubbish from TT,SORRY TO SAY THAT.tHIS WAS THE MOST AIMLESS FOOTBALL THAT I HAVE SEEN FOR A LONG,LONG TIME,I can only hope its a one off,our composure on the ball was almost novice-like.We kept playing long aimless balls down the middle and our first touch was heart wrenching to look at.No one tried to slow the tempo,it was fast rubbish,our left back was giving space to park a jumbo jet.Please lets have Samuel and Zamora,Jones is fast becoming the most useless forward for TT in years.I really dont know what Latapy's football culture but nothing has stood out as change so far.Seems to me that he is playing it by air.Please dont cuss me guys but this gave me a F£$%^&G head-ache.I still hope and pray that we improve by about 75% by next game,its possible. :'( :'( :'( :'(

Is the truth Frico talking here. This team still missing ah whole lot for us to go higher.  :-[ We get away!
Post by: STEUPS!! on August 13, 2009, 07:34:09 AM

exactly. an ah tink daiz all wat d fans want to see eh. d hunger and d passion.
imo..d players wid passion were:
glen
edwards
noel
incey
birchos
dog  ;D
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 07:36:09 AM

exactly. an ah tink daiz all wat d fans want to see eh. d hunger and d passion.
imo..d players wid passion were:
glen
edwards
noel
incey
birchos
dog  ;D

Dog pray in d spirit.
Post by: najee on August 13, 2009, 07:40:35 AM

Is the truth Frico talking here. This team still missing ah whole lot for us to go higher.  :-[ We get away!

the point is why everyone else seeing the shit but the coaching staff or they really can't fix the problem....cause this team alot of help
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 07:51:48 AM

the point is why everyone else seeing the shit but the coaching staff or they really can't fix the problem....cause this team alot of help

Unless we do like Reggae fan and dem and go Trafalgar Square and look 4 Trins he has 2 work wit what he have. D man find 2 players from we Pro League dat he find that he blieve able. D problem wit we football cyah b fix wit d magic dust. We just hope d dust have enuff power 2 take we 2 d WC. Hopefully d Magician go get d wuk 4 an extended time and we football will go places.
Post by: spideybuff on August 13, 2009, 08:00:36 AM
Funny game cause that is the worse we play under Latas so far...and we get 3 points this time.
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 08:01:56 AM
Funny game cause that is the worse we play under Latas so far...and we get 3 points this time.

So life is. But ah go take d ugly win dat prettl lost in Bgo was a bitter pill.
Post by: Weh-it-is on August 13, 2009, 08:50:00 AM

Did you all see Mex and the US game? Mexico was knocking the ball nice nice nice. Why the hell we players can’t do the same. Man still don't know how to knock ah ball to open up space to create etc. Just talking about this will give me ah damm headache. One setta amateur football.   :-\

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 13, 2009, 09:03:23 AM

hoss i make out since the first half this man was REL suspect....is amazing how easily drawn out of position that youth is eh...

great finish by Glenn...

the first he was arite.. buh they hardly raid our left in the first..the few times they did i was seeing that he was regulalrly leaving men to gape in space on the left...alyuh rel rel doh lke akile cuz if was he play da game...alyuh mighta fire bomb he house

Ah know peeps on here might feel we related or de yute is meh fren eh buh I must agree wid yuh about Aklie.  Keston wasn't bad in the first half but he wasn't tested much so its easy to look decent.  Second half reach and is like ES say dong de right is make or break.  I was looking at him trying to objectively rate him and based on his second half perfomance he would get a 4 for his overall game performance.  One thing I noticed though is that he got better support from the central defense than Aklie could even dream of.  I was on the edge of my seat watching Tallest and Duff have their problems in the air but on the ground I saw Tallest covering the vacated LB zone on a few ocassions and felt like "finaly some rotation and coverage."  People in here rell hypocritical to bash Aklie who I must remind allyuh is a LM/LW and not a defender.  When in position Aklie looks more competant than KW at negating cross opportunities.  Again Skilla wasn't of much use in defense so it highlights the problems on the left even more.  

For any idiots who want to dis my boy Trent Noel allyuh better get allyuh eyes check and rethink that.  Noel plays the game the way Leon should play in the role he is entrusted with.  Noel work hard on defens and was very good in his passing game going forward.  If allyuh want to see him off allyuh better forget it, only 3 players have played every minute of every game for Latas: Ince Carlos and Trent so obviously he trusts those players on the pitch.  Glenn was ferocious but also a bit too selfish.  The one time KJ might have had a good clear shot at goal all hex Glen decided he should shoot instead of pass.  All in all I am happy for the 3 points because the results matter and despite our issues in the air in central defense, I think our CBs were decent on this day.  Spann at RB is always a mistake, again he was grossly out of position and always sprinting after a player going down the left flank.  Carlos did well and showed why he needs to play all 90 but we might need him more at RB than ever because Spann will kill half of our population with the rise in blood pressure he causes.

Dinho dem people need to appologize to AE fuh bein so disrespectful :devil:
Title: Cornel Glen
Post by: dreamer on August 20, 2009, 08:07:43 PM
Any news since he limped off the Hasely Crawford Stadium in the El Salvador game?