Sports => Football => Topic started by: Touches on August 12, 2009, 08:21:24 PM

Title: D Touches Match Report T&T vs El Salvador UPDATED!!!
Post by: Touches on August 12, 2009, 08:21:24 PM
Dear Forumites,

It amused me this morning on my way to work the number of Soca Warriors jerseys being worn by members of the public. Where were they 24hrs ago when we had a home game and a show of support was needed?

The evening got off to a late start for me and I made it to the game at about 6:45.

The crowd was noticeably thinner and entry into the stadium was hassle free. Kudos to Bmobile, Carib and Ultra Malt for the give aways and display booths on entry to the HCS. Carib also had a truck pumping music and hyping up the crowd.

It is here that I saw groups of foreigners, in awe over the music, the girls, the displays the vibes, the giveaways….things we just take for granted when we come to a game. But you could see the delight in their eyes. Let us embrace and enjoy and not look to copy or emulate others…we have we own ting!

I then bounced up fellow forumite Tongue and we both took in the wildlife and pre game antics.

I was not privy to the first field inspection by the teams but they were both warming up energetically. TT on the clock end running in a line, doing jumping jacks stretches etc. Then 10 men put on bibs and went one side playing a game of close touch passing, the subs went one way and the keepers between the sticks. It was here my first sense of worry came over me. “Me Mum” was nowhere to be seen. He was not in a bib…he was not even with the subs…I say oh gorm, pressah…and then after a few minutes I saw him being stretched and massaged by the team doctor away from the rest of the players near the touchline. It didn’t look good and after talking to Patriot who was seated nearby, he confirmed that Birchall was strapped up in the training session a few days before.

Also Yorke and Latapy were not warming up with the squad and then they pulled Birchall one side…I say is either is a team captain, star boy meeting or none of them starting..the latter holding true.

El Salvador warmed up only their starting 11 with the subs, liming near the tunnel entrance.

Everyone meant business and even Ralphie, the Joe Public groundsman who usually sports a red TSTT jersey, green washout track pants and who raises a ball barefoot with much difficulty…was in a Jacket and Tie, Wing tip and Sorf pants. I say yes…Ralphie kit up!

I then took my seat and here I was, a thorn between two roses… Warrior Queen to my left and Girl Warrior to my right. The Big Flag came out, with DCS marshalling the proceedings and then the first piece of drama happened.

Three farse and outta place El Salvador Supporters were on the track running around our Flags Man and taunting and waving their flag. So they get some level Boo from the diehards in grounds…but, certain members of the public frowned on that Booing behaviour and chastised them…this led to arguments in the crowd. Then a fella launched an EMPTY blue waters bottle in the El Salvador flag bearers direction, but as the thing had no substance it probably went just two rows infront of him.

Bam argument start how yuh cyar pelt ting, and doh do visitors dat..and 4 riot police in full combat gear come and roops up the man and start talking to him hard. He humbled himself and then the police left…but the good fans amongst us started to argue with the man, tell him he shouldn’t be doing that and he start to argue again.

This time riot squad put a baton across his chest…his bartex jockey shorts were then stretched to the middle of his back and on tip toes he was escorted out the stadium. 

Spalk then came on the mike and said…ladies and gentlemen…look to your left and look to your right…and give yourself a round of applause for YOU are THE TRUE SUPPORTERS of T&T. Yes there we were about 12,000 of us…die hards!

Then Spalk announced the team line ups…and folks…I get a instant headache.

I ent go lie to alyuh, the little faith I had evaporate and I had to ketch back mehself .

The first name was….number 2…Clyde Leon…I say ok…then he say number 5…keston Williams…Keon Daniel…Abu Bakr…Trent Noel…Silvio Spann.

I say wait…hold up…where the fire power?

Then spalk call out Ince, Glenn, Carlos, Jones and finally your captain…Dennis Lawrence!

Then he call the bench…no Thomas, Tinto on bench, Scotland, Dog, Yorke, Birchall, Hector, Baptiste, Williams.

Well folks I just shake meh head…lady warrior wasn’t impressed…patriot shake he head.

I say to mehself  a man I ent like in the back…a shakey Lawrence, a debutant, a man who I ent find good playing he 2nd game, a man who does pull stones on the left wing, a labourer…Trent go put in a solid shift, Carlos go do something, Cornell go do something and Jones dey….Lord put a hand!

I say meh last prayers…and yes..game was underway and yes the man upstairs does listen and deliver.

Folks I would say T&T played 15 minutes of football. The opening 10 and the last 5 minutes of the first half. For the rest of the match., it was all heart attack.

Hear nah if yuh heart ent good and yuh emotions not in check…this T&T side will send you Mt. Hope and St. Anns respectively.

TT lined up in a 4-4-2…El Sal in a 3-5-2 morphing into a 3-4-3 .

From the opening whistle T&T surprised me and I say wait…I might hadda eat meh words…Latas know what he doing…and it was fire power and pace!

We making triangles, Glenn running at them, we switching the attack, we closing down space, we tackling and we passing.

Spann do a one-two and burst down the wing and slip it for Carlos…I say whey…dat is Spann…nah he go do shit just now.

And so said so done…the very next play…a ball is flighted..he miss butt…the El Sal player traps…fake him, bend he spine, roll it tru his legs, take wey he “versatility” and Spann then hacks down the man on the edge of the penalty area. I say oh lorse…not so early. But the free kick was cleared.

I was then very impressed with Glen, his touch, workrate, hustle…everything was on point for him tonight and his goal was superb. From a long ball, Glen trapped, shook off a player, pounds off another, was taken to the side, he beat a man cut into the penalty area and from an acute angle slap a perfect curling bullet into the far post.

GOAL!!!!!!

I mean it take the entire stadium by surprise and we start to jump up, we celebrate, we happy and I just say at least we in control…time for 2 more.

It was then we start to fall apart, get complacent and we shut down for the next 30 minutes and we let El Salvador back into the game.

El Salvador were shell shocked after the goal, stunned and while we did take it to them initially we start making poor choices and started making the unforced errors. Carlos still cyar cross a ball good, shooting instead of passing. Keon killing all momentum on a fast break, trotting and passing ball back. Spann hoofing to no one. I was particularly upset with Bakr, Lawrence and Spann. Imagine a short midget reaching yuh waist and you letting that jump and control ball. Them fellas double teaming and the el Salvador players moving busy and getting the better of them.

Bakr ent play he do shit last night and he collect plenty cuss from Ince…but unlike all the other defenders..he puts up his hand, acknowledges his mistake and says sorry.
The boy trap when he attempting to clear, he mis hoofing out, jokey headers, he having some midget pounds him off the ball. Doh talk about Lawrence, mistackle, poor header and panic football not one of his better games…I didn’t see the composure, the talking, the leadership.
People may not agree with me..but Keston Williams was the find of this match and apart from the latter stages of the second half…the boy real play. He is the best wing back we have tried in that position outside of Avery.

He was comfortable on the ball, good tackle, good workrate, closed down space well in the 1st half, he overlapped and most importantly he crossed in the ball well.

Further, he had no help from Daniel who should really take stock of himself and put some more effort. Daniel was cussed by all in the crowd for just moving half hearted.
To his credit, he did not give away the ball, he showed some footwork and he was a pressure outlet but he was supposed to go fwd with more drive and purpose and track back defensively. Men right there to challenge or chook a toe and he jogging…while Glen, Carlos, Leon and Trent running they liver string out and working hard.

El Salvador had a few free kicks in dangerous positions, they managed a few shots on goal and they were able to flight a long ball and get behind Spann on a number of Occasions.

The ref was real questionable and gave us many undeserved cards and fouls. Additionally there were many acts of diving and poor sportsmanship by the el sal players, including not giving us back the ball after kicking it out for injury..while there is no rule against this..there is an unwritten code amongst players that should be respected.

Coming down to the end of the first half T&T turned it up a notch and Carlos hit a beauty of a free kick, a curler catching the keeper in no mans land…crashing off the cross bar.

Kenwyne put a ball into the net only to be judged offside, Glenn had a shot or two saved and Daniel should have sealed it with the keeper on the ground.

T&T should have been 3-4 nil up at the half. And the experiment by Latapy seemed to be working…Leon and trent were working hard, I thought they did well together, playing within their limitations and getting the outlet ball to carlos to move up the flank or long for Glen. I liked Williams. Jones was being Jones but he was a threat to them having two defenders on him and Glen was on fire tearing them up.

Half time the Carib girls ran out in blue pum pum shorts and gold tops and kicked some big beach balls into the crowd. They were intended to be hit around and played with, but trinis being how we are caught the balls and kept them.

2nd Half…T&T just totally fell apart…El Salvador was in a gear and were running at us and we just couldn’t see our way. Ince take all kinda bullet from close range and again he showed why he is the best thing between the sticks for T&T. He was my Man on the Match for his heroics…bullet by his legs. He drop and sit on a ball. He spread out and collect some more…he run out his post and clean up a man in the first half and all his corner collection and punching out were effective if not perfect.

Barkr got worse as the game went on and never caught himself. Williams got tired and stopped marking the winger and allowed him to trap behind his back. Leon was bun, noel was bun, Spann was jumping and turning his back and then Latapy to me…got all the subs wrong.

The 1st player to come off should have been Daniel and one would have thought that Tinto would be the man to replace him. Or take off Spann or Williams, revert Carlos to the wingback to shore it up and put Tinto to run at them.

Bam Birchall comes on…for either trent or leon who were not having bad games.

Birchall was unfairly carded and called for fouls when he tackled fairly and this tempered him severely. We had no attack atall, nothing going fwd…we were down to hit and hope and the heroics of  carlos or glenn but these were few and far between.

Jones then sparked the crowd with a level bullet from 30 yards  that the El Salvador keeper scrambled away with his legs. Yes the counter was on, but we were soaking up too much pressure and I couldn’t take it.

The back 4 start to panic, we swiping fresh breeze, mistackling, lunging at everything, giving away corners and in response we put on Dwight Yorke to slow the game down further.

It was well intentioned and Yorke did not lose the ball, but the supporting cast and outlets that were available were lacking. The only thing we had going fwd was Glenn..still ripping up and they sub him for Scotland who was asked to play uptop by himself.

I was baffled by this and I felt Jones should have been the one to come off.

Glen’s last contribution for the evening was a breakaway and after dribbling the defender at the top of the box opted to chip the keeper instead of passing the ball to Jones who was unmarked. It woulda be a bess goal…but it went overbar!

Folks after that I was just sick…we just didn’t have a clue and it only Clayton Ince, LUCK..and the HCS Jumbie that prevented us from drawing or losing that match.

T&T lacked ideas both defensively and offensively. We looked very poor and our points and position in the table and our opponents are true to form. But we on the up and we can only get better. Give thanks!...we get 3 points of Gold and well done to all the fellas for putting out a good fight. An ugly win…but we taking that!

Afterward the Carib truck with the girls was pumping music and all and sundry chipped along Carnival style on Ariapita avenue.

Till next time…licks for Honduras!

Title: Re: D Touches Match Report T&T vs El Salvador
Post by: lefty on August 12, 2009, 08:23:11 PM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :devil:
concise acurate reporting :rotfl:
Post by: dinho on August 12, 2009, 08:24:23 PM
and we taking dat..
Post by: najee on August 12, 2009, 08:28:11 PM
wow...touches...thank yuh for spear meh the detail...cause i know yuh poping pills right now...HEADACHE...with this team....boy ah tell yuh!
Post by: D.H.W on August 12, 2009, 08:29:43 PM
stueps, i taking it yes. but we have work to do (AS USUAL)
Post by: WestCoast on August 12, 2009, 08:34:01 PM
Thanks for that Report :D
it's the most accurate report so far ;D

stueps, i taking it yes. but we have work to do (AS USUAL)
to be fair
ALL the teams ranked below Brazil need more work ;D
Post by: Big Magician on August 12, 2009, 08:37:03 PM
touches..da double dog ketch yuh o wha???
Post by: g on August 12, 2009, 08:41:18 PM
ah drunk
Post by: Brownsugar on August 12, 2009, 09:24:16 PM
ah drunk

*chuckles*
Post by: weary1969 on August 12, 2009, 09:36:47 PM
ah drunk

Cosign and I thou drink.
Post by: just cool on August 13, 2009, 04:19:10 AM
ah drunk

Cosign and I thou drink.
Not even water ?  :whistling:
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 06:53:49 AM
ah drunk

Cosign and I thou drink.
Not even water ?  :whistling:

Water does get yuh drunk. I now c y I drunk.
Title: Re: D Touches Match Report T&T vs El Salvador UPDATED!!!
Post by: Touches on August 13, 2009, 07:49:28 AM
Bump  ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on August 13, 2009, 07:51:57 AM
Bump  ;D

steupss!!!...boy yuh looking to get a bottle and some ah dis.... :busshead: ;D
Post by: spideybuff on August 13, 2009, 07:56:00 AM
Cornell come off cause he had taken some kicks before and they were starting to bother him. He fragile too, so I glad he didn't stay on longer to get injured.
Tinto coulda come on if they wanted the pace still...but I guess the thought was that Scotty would hold the ball up better to run out time in El salvador half. That didn't work though, Scotty wasn't keeping the ball effectively.
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 07:57:50 AM
Thanks ah per usual.
Post by: STEUPS!! on August 13, 2009, 08:00:12 AM
accurate as usual touches

nice to finally meet yuh  :beermug:
Post by: Brownsugar on August 13, 2009, 08:01:08 AM
Dear Forumites,
I then bounced up fellow forumite Tongue and we both took in the wildlife and pre game antics.

Ah eh even finish reading but ah need to stop at this point and ask...."wildlife"??  Doh tell mih is women yuh referring to.... :shameonyou: :shameonyou:

uh men!!....wildlife!!... ::) ::)
Post by: Touches on August 13, 2009, 08:05:07 AM
Not atall...its the birds..that were flying around...and bees.

They had a few deer and I was trying to help tongue identify the corbeaux that was circling
Post by: grskywalker on August 13, 2009, 08:07:09 AM
Dear Forumites,

It amused me this morning on my way to work the number of Soca Warriors jerseys being worn by members of the public. Where were they 24hrs ago when we had a home game and a show of support was needed?

The evening got off to a late start for me and I made it to the game at about 6:45.

The crowd was noticeably thinner and entry into the stadium was hassle free. Kudos to Bmobile, Carib and Ultra Malt for the give aways and display booths on entry to the HCS. Carib also had a truck pumping music and hyping up the crowd.

It is here that I saw groups of foreigners, in awe over the music, the girls, the displays the vibes, the giveaways….things we just take for granted when we come to a game. But you could see the delight in their eyes. Let us embrace and enjoy and not look to copy or emulate others…we have we own ting!

I was not privy to the first field inspection by the teams but they were both warming up energetically. TT on the clock end running in a line, doing jumping jacks stretches etc. Then 10 men put on bibs and went one side playing a game of close touch passing, the subs went one way and the keepers between the sticks. It was here my first sense of worry came over me. “Me Mum” was nowhere to be seen. He was not in a bib…he was not even with the subs…I say oh gorm, pressah…and then after a few minutes I saw him being stretched and massaged by the team doctor away from the rest of the players near the touchline. It didn’t look good and after talking to Patriot who was seated nearby, he confirmed that Birchall was strapped up in the training session a few days before.

Also Yorke and Latapy were not warming up with the squad and then they pulled Birchall one side…I say is either is a team captain, star boy meeting or none of them starting..the latter holding true.

El Salvador warmed up only their starting 11 with the subs, liming near the tunnel entrance.

Everyone meant business and even Ralphie, the Joe Public groundsman who usually sports a red TSTT jersey, green washout track pants and who raises a ball barefoot with much difficulty…was in a Jacket and Tie, Wing tip and Sorf pants. I say yes…Ralphie kit up!

I then took my seat and here I was, a thorn between two roses… Warrior Queen to my left and Girl Warrior to my right. The Big Flag came out, with DCS marshalling the proceedings and then the first piece of drama happened.

Three farse and outta place El Salvador Supporters were on the track running around our Flags Man and taunting and waving their flag. So they get some level Boo from the diehards in grounds…but, certain members of the public frowned on that Booing behaviour and chastised them…this led to arguments in the crowd. Then a fella launched an EMPTY blue waters bottle in the El Salvador flag bearers direction, but as the thing had no substance it probably went just two rows infront of him.

Bam argument start how yuh cyar pelt ting, and doh do visitors dat..and 4 riot police in full combat gear come and roops up the man and start talking to him hard. He humbled himself and then the police left…but the good fans amongst us started to argue with the man, tell him he shouldn’t be doing that and he start to argue again.

This time riot squad put a baton across his chest…his bartex jockey shorts were then stretched to the middle of his back and on tip toes he was escorted out the stadium. 

Spalk then came on the mike and said…ladies and gentlemen…look to your left and look to your right…and give yourself a round of applause for YOU are THE TRUE SUPPORTERS of T&T. Yes there we were about 12,000 of us…die hards!

Then Spalk announced the team line ups…and folks…I get a instant headache.

I ent go lie to alyuh, the little faith I had evaporate and I had to ketch back mehself .

The first name was….number 2…Clyde Leon…I say ok…then he say number 5…keston Williams…Keon Daniel…Abu Bakr…Trent Noel…Silvio Spann.

I say wait…hold up…where the fire power?

Then spalk call out Ince, Glenn, Carlos, Jones and finally your captain…Dennis Lawrence!

Then he call the bench…no Thomas, Tinto on bench, Scotland, Dog, Yorke, Birchall, Hector, Baptiste, Williams.

Well folks I just shake meh head…lady warrior wasn’t impressed…patriot shake he head.

I say to mehself  a man I ent like in the back…a shakey Lawrence, a debutant, a man who I ent find good playing he 2nd game, a man who does pull stones on the left wing, a labourer…Trent go put in a solid shift, Carlos go do something, Cornell go do something and Jones dey….Lord put a hand!

I say meh last prayers…and yes..game was underway and yes the man upstairs does listen and deliver.

Folks I would say T&T played 15 minutes of football. The opening 10 and the last 5 minutes of the first half. For the rest of the match., it was all heart attack.

Hear nah if yuh heart ent good and yuh emotions not in check…this T&T side will send you Mt. Hope and St. Anns respectively.

TT lined up in a 4-4-2…El Sal in a 3-5-2 morphing into a 3-4-3 .

From the opening whistle T&T surprised me and I say wait…I might hadda eat meh words…Latas know what he doing…and it was fire power and pace!

We making triangles, Glenn running at them, we switching the attack, we closing down space, we tackling and we passing.

Spann do a one-two and burst down the wing and slip it for Carlos…I say whey…dat is Spann…nah he go do shit just now.

And so said so done…the very next play…a ball is flighted..he miss butt…the El Sal player traps…fake him, bend he spine, roll it tru his legs, take wey he “versatility” and Spann then hacks down the man on the edge of the penalty area. I say oh lorse…not so early. But the free kick was cleared.

I was then very impressed with Glen, his touch, workrate, hustle…everything was on point for him tonight and his goal was superb. From a long ball, Glen trapped, shook off a player, pounds off another, was taken to the side, he beat a man cut into the penalty area and from an acute angle slap a perfect curling bullet into the far post.

GOAL!!!!!!

I mean it take the entire stadium by surprise and we start to jump up, we celebrate, we happy and I just say at least we in control…time for 2 more.

It was then we start to fall apart, get complacent and we shut down for the next 30 minutes and we let El Salvador back into the game.

El Salvador were shell shocked after the goal, stunned and while we did take it to them initially we start making poor choices and started making the unforced errors. Carlos still cyar cross a ball good, shooting instead of passing. Keon killing all momentum on a fast break, trotting and passing ball back. Spann hoofing to no one. I was particularly upset with Bakr, Lawrence and Spann. Imagine a short midget reaching yuh waist and you letting that jump and control ball. Them fellas double teaming and the el Salvador players moving busy and getting the better of them.

Bakr ent play he do shit last night and he collect plenty cuss from Ince…but unlike all the other defenders..he puts up his hand, acknowledges his mistake and says sorry.
The boy trap when he attempting to clear, he mis hoofing out, jokey headers, he having some midget pounds him off the ball. Doh talk about Lawrence, mistackle, poor header and panic football not one of his better games…I didn’t see the composure, the talking, the leadership.
People may not agree with me..but Keston Williams was the find of this match and apart from the latter stages of the second half…the boy real play. He is the best wing back we have tried in that position outside of Avery.

He was comfortable on the ball, good tackle, good workrate, closed down space well in the 1st half, he overlapped and most importantly he crossed in the ball well.

Further, he had no help from Daniel who should really take stock of himself and put some more effort. Daniel was cussed by all in the crowd for just moving half hearted.
To his credit, he did not give away the ball, he showed some footwork and he was a pressure outlet but he was supposed to go fwd with more drive and purpose and track back defensively. Men right there to challenge or chook a toe and he jogging…while Glen, Carlos, Leon and Trent running they liver string out and working hard.

El Salvador had a few free kicks in dangerous positions, they managed a few shots on goal and they were able to flight a long ball and get behind Spann on a number of Occasions.

The ref was real questionable and gave us many undeserved cards and fouls. Additionally there were many acts of diving and poor sportsmanship by the el sal players, including not giving us back the ball after kicking it out for injury..while there is no rule against this..there is an unwritten code amongst players that should be respected.

Coming down to the end of the first half T&T turned it up a notch and Carlos hit a beauty of a free kick, a curler catching the keeper in no mans land…crashing off the cross bar.

Kenwyne put a ball into the net only to be judged offside, Glenn had a shot or two saved and Daniel should have sealed it with the keeper on the ground.

T&T should have been 3-4 nil up at the half. And the experiment by Latapy seemed to be working…Leon and trent were working hard, I thought they did well together, playing within their limitations and getting the outlet ball to carlos to move up the flank or long for Glen. I liked Williams. Jones was being Jones but he was a threat to them having two defenders on him and Glen was on fire tearing them up.

Half time the Carib girls ran out in blue pum pum shorts and gold tops and kicked some big beach balls into the crowd. They were intended to be hit around and played with, but trinis being how we are caught the balls and kept them.

2nd Half…T&T just totally fell apart…El Salvador was in a gear and were running at us and we just couldn’t see our way. Ince take all kinda bullet from close range and again he showed why he is the best thing between the sticks for T&T. He was my Man on the Match for his heroics…bullet by his legs. He drop and sit on a ball. He spread out and collect some more…he run out his post and clean up a man in the first half and all his corner collection and punching out were effective if not perfect.

Barkr got worse as the game went on and never caught himself. Williams got tired and stopped marking the winger and allowed him to trap behind his back. Leon was bun, noel was bun, Spann was jumping and turning his back and then Latapy to me…got all the subs wrong.

The 1st player to come off should have been Daniel and one would have thought that Tinto would be the man to replace him. Or take off Spann or Williams, revert Carlos to the wingback to shore it up and put Tinto to run at them.

Bam Birchall comes on…for either trent or leon who were not having bad games.

Birchall was unfairly carded and called for fouls when he tackled fairly and this tempered him severely. We had no attack atall, nothing going fwd…we were down to hit and hope and the heroics of  carlos or glenn but these were few and far between.

Jones then sparked the crowd with a level bullet from 30 yards  that the El Salvador keeper scrambled away with his legs. Yes the counter was on, but we were soaking up too much pressure and I couldn’t take it.

The back 4 start to panic, we swiping fresh breeze, mistackling, lunging at everything, giving away corners and in response we put on Dwight Yorke to slow the game down further.

It was well intentioned and Yorke did not lose the ball, but the supporting cast and outlets that were available were lacking. The only thing we had going fwd was Glenn..still ripping up and they sub him for Scotland who was asked to play uptop by himself.

I was baffled by this and I felt Jones should have been the one to come off.

Glen’s last contribution for the evening was a breakaway and after dribbling the defender at the top of the box opted to chip the keeper instead of passing the ball to Jones who was unmarked. It woulda be a bess goal…but it went overbar!

Folks after that I was just sick…we just didn’t have a clue and it only Clayton Ince, LUCK..and the HCS Jumbie that prevented us from drawing or losing that match.

T&T lacked ideas both defensively and offensively. We looked very poor and our points and position in the table and our opponents are true to form. But we on the up and we can only get better. Give thanks!...we get 3 points of Gold and well done to all the fellas for putting out a good fight. An ugly win…but we taking that!

Afterward the Carib truck with the girls was pumping music and all and sundry chipped along Carnival style on Ariapita avenue.

Till next time…licks for Honduras!

I feel Glenn should have laid the ball off for Kenwayne, the keeper would have been beaten completely
Post by: benedicts bwoy on August 13, 2009, 08:08:24 AM
I thought that Keston Williams did a bang up job in the first half, but got tired in the second half (good find)!
I think the young boy has a future, not going to cry him down as in some other threads, but he has potential. The #8 was bun like a dog de second half to bad and I thought he was going to come off!
Post by: spideybuff on August 13, 2009, 08:10:35 AM

I feel Glenn should have laid the ball off for Kenwayne, the keeper would have been beaten completely

So would have been the goalpost based on Jones strike rate..especially when is not a header
Post by: Quags on August 13, 2009, 08:13:44 AM
Keston show some composure ,along with what has been said he need to learn to trow in a ball ,every trow is straight to a blue shirt .
Post by: Brownsugar on August 13, 2009, 08:14:58 AM
Not atall...its the birds..that were flying around...and bees.

They had a few deer and I was trying to help tongue identify the corbeaux that was circling

Chups.... ;D

Good read as usual.... I need to see a replay before ah could judge certain players for mih self...like this Keston Williams guy....I still like Abu Bakr, give him time....

As for Cornell and Ince let me do it properly...
:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: Trini on August 13, 2009, 08:15:51 AM
Agree with every single opinion and point you made.
We played a total of 30 mins of football, and the rest was counter-attack tactics, while living on the edge in defense.

the new left back was very impressive.
Abu bakr is a young, athletic version of Lawrence. Does very well at times, but prone to moments of insane defending. So hope for him.

With regard to the sportsmanship by El Salvador, they are one of the worse of the central americans. them fellas was diving and faking for everything. Imagine in women soccer, players dont do that, tome they are worse than disgusting. We should have aggressively roughed them up everytime they dive and complain to the ref. U ever see in England when a man dive how the defender does want to beat him up for that shit!

With regard to the booing, I am one of the most vocal boo-bird in the stadium. I find it also very disgusting when fellow Trinis watch you funny and tell you thing for booing. Now pelting missiles at opposing players is unacceptable, I agree, but ever since i get buff up for booing England and Becks, I am very disappointed in my fellow Trinis.
When T&T play El Salvador in feb, the riot police had to be shielding carlos from bottles of pee, just to take the corner. Every single other country in the Hex makes it a nightmare to play at their home stadium, but when El Salvador anthem done play, imagine Trinis applauding them.
Everybody entitled to their opinion and way of cheering I guess, but I find we does be too accommodating of other teams.
Even when we go USA, Sam's army and the rest giving we level hell out there! Nobody does say nutten about that.
Booing is part of the game, ask beckham. Getting personal and cussing players about their family and throwing missiles is where I draw the line.
if yuh dont like to boo, dont boo, but doh tell me nutten when me and meh crew dishing out rank boo, oddawise you yuhself will get boo.
Post by: pass(10trini) on August 13, 2009, 08:18:34 AM
Thanks for the report Touches. I was looking at the game through a poor feed so couldn't really see the plays that great. I would see the ball in the centre and then in less than 2 seconds I saw the opposition in the box ponging Ince. Individually it seem the guys were moving and giving some beat and ting but the system was lacking as usual. They didn't play with any cohesion, too many leaks. The worst was when Yorke stand outside the box pointing at somebody while looking at the El Salvadorian rounding he and the box to take a shot. I think that was the one where Ince sit on the ball.
The referee was the worst thing on the field I feel. That fella made some of the most retarded decisions out there. As long as a man get touch he raising he hand. Shoulder to shoulder he calling and all. He even made the call against Spann(did he get a yellow on that play?) when he play the ball and the El Salvador player jes throw down heself
Post by: trinikev on August 13, 2009, 08:23:49 AM
Nice report Touches, thanks as usual  :beermug:

Just a couple points, Cornell came off cuz he was injured, he was visibly limping for about 5 mins before the sub was made. And as soon as he came off, the doctor ran straight to him. Birchall came on for Leon because, like you yourself said, Leon was BUN. That wasn't a wrong sub. I thought that substitution was perfect.....had it not been for the ref making them asshole calls against Birchall, he would have showed more prominently.
Post by: Ngozi on August 13, 2009, 08:25:54 AM
"And so said so done…the very next play…a ball is flighted..he miss butt…the El Sal player traps…fake him, bend he spine, roll it tru his legs, take wey he “versatility”   and Spann then hacks down the man on the edge of the penalty area. I say oh lorse…not so early. But the free kick was cleared."

When I read that highlighted part .... I died was reborn then died again "Classsic f**k up" ...Touches Touches Touches  ...
Post by: Marcos on August 13, 2009, 08:31:00 AM
Touches your match report confirmed the fact that when watching football live and watching it on tv you see 2 completely different games

1. keon Daniel was one of our best players. His touch was sublime and his composure and decision-making even while being pressured was excellend. He is also the best passer on the team, as evidenced by his cross field pass to Glen. Noone else can make that pass except maybe Birchall

2. keston Williams, although he seems like a nice boy, played utter shite. He looked good in the first half because El Salvador did not attack him at all. Once they ran at him he was out of postion, showed terrible composure and gave away the ball repeatedly

3. The ref called a good game to me. He didn't really give any touch fouls around the area and there were no game-changing controversial calls. That's all you really want from a ref.

4. trent Noel is a beast, but his touch and passing are atrocious

5. Glen had to be subbed because he was injured and limping

6. Birchall's yellow was well deserved, it was a late, clumsy tackle

7. All of Ince's saves went straight at him and if they were 1 meter either side of him, would have scored.
Post by: spideybuff on August 13, 2009, 08:33:00 AM

1. keon Daniel was one of our best players. His touch was sublime and his composure and decision-making even while being pressured was excellend. He is also the best passer on the team, as evidenced by his cross field pass to Glen. Noone else can make that pass except maybe Birchall

But was there any end product to all his touch and compusure? Can you count the number of goal scoring opportunities he created?
Post by: Marcos on August 13, 2009, 08:36:01 AM

But was there any end product to all his touch and compusure? Can you count the number of goal scoring opportunities he created?

the aforementioned cross field pass to glen, as well as a few other direct passes to Glen near the box. Add to that the fact that he didn't lose the ball, A BIG FACTOR in our football. He had a good game.
He just needs to improve his fitness and workrate so he can be more involved. Everytime he got the ball something good happened.
Post by: dinho on August 13, 2009, 08:37:05 AM

had to rub meh face for a few mins with that one yes... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

by the way just for clarification, i think Glen came off when he skewed a shot wide and end up holding his knee and moving gingerly from that point.. hoping its not serious the commentators said it was the same knee he recovered from..
Post by: Marcos on August 13, 2009, 08:46:25 AM
8. Carlos' free kick was a POWDER PUFF that took an eternity to arrive and any capable keeper above secondary school level could have easily handles it. It didn't crash off the bar, it gently pinged
Post by: pardners on August 13, 2009, 09:08:23 AM
"And so said so done…the very next play…a ball is flighted..he miss butt…the El Sal player traps…fake him, bend he spine, roll it tru his legs, take wey he “versatility”   and Spann then hacks down the man on the edge of the penalty area. I say oh lorse…not so early. But the free kick was cleared."

When I read that highlighted part .... I died was reborn then died again "Classsic f**k up" ...Touches Touches Touches  ...

That was the highlight of the report for me...
Post by: kounty on August 13, 2009, 09:09:19 AM
thanks for the report touches.  the glenn shot though when jones was free I don't think that was a chip.  it even skid off an ES player back and was jus level stinginess; but I don't know if another forward would have been less stingy.
my favorite part was this part:
but the good fans amongst us started to argue with the man, tell him he shouldn’t be doing that and he start to argue again.

good, petin bottle is a stupid way to lose 3 points
Post by: spideybuff on August 13, 2009, 09:12:20 AM

good, petin bottle is a stupid way to lose 3 points

if El salvador didn't lose no points for what we get across there, nobody eh losing points for that in this part of the world
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 13, 2009, 09:13:59 AM
good read....Williams as you said was decent in the 1st half but fell apart in the 2nd due to nerves and being bun...Leon didnt have as good as a game as you made it out imo...he was ok and was unlucky to get that yellow card...that Birchall sub should have been made earlier as a DM on a yellow is very risky...

Abu Bakr was terrible..he was poor in Mexico..but very very poor last night...Thomas sholud have started alongside Lawrence with DOG on the bench..we get away with that defense last night.. AVERY SHOULD HAVE BEEN THERE TOO..

I dont like the Noel Leon partnership... that better not be a new theme ... I would prefer a Noel/Birchall or a fit Yorke and Birchall

Carlos on the RW is a big bonus and if Spann could hold his own on the RB(which he can) the right side good... I figure J'Samuel as the LB and C.Samuel on the LW could be equally dangerous as the Right side...another left side scene is Avery LB and J'Lloyd on the LW? natural left side flow offensively and defensively

Upfront with Stern out unfortunately.. Glenn is a starter if he can keep up the form he's in is a starter because of his style vs the casual style of KJ or Scotty and even Zamora(if he really comes)

Basically if we want to have a chance of getting the minimum 4 points vs Honduras and USA the squad should look like

Ince
Phillips
Jan

Spann
Sancho
Lawrence
James
Thomas/DOG
Avery
J'L Samuel

Carlos
Tinto
Dwight
Birchall
Noel
Hyland
Samuel
Daniel

Glenn
KJ
Scotty
Zamora(hurts to type but they say he coming)
Roberts provides heart and he's quality as well

Post by: Brownsugar on August 13, 2009, 09:24:28 AM
Touches your match report confirmed the fact that when watching football live and watching it on tv you see 2 completely different games

Eh??.....nah, nah....Birchall was hustling the El Salvador player....hustle, fight, hustle, fight....typical wont give up Birchall attitude....then he shouldered the player off the ball....now I eh no expert on yellow cards....but the player wasn't nowhere near goal or threatnening but just so, just so, Birchall get a yellow...

I might have been ok with it EXCEPT.....

An El Salvador player pushed KJ off the ball in a more deliberate manner earlier in the game AND KJ was near the 18 yd box i.e. was in a threatning position.....but all he gave was a free kick....nah, nah de referee get -10 point for dat Birchall yellow....

Ah goh watch it again just in case eh....but dais how I remember it.....
Post by: pardners on August 13, 2009, 09:25:19 AM

the aforementioned cross field pass to glen, as well as a few other direct passes to Glen near the box. Add to that the fact that he didn't lose the ball, A BIG FACTOR in our football. He had a good game.
He just needs to improve his fitness and workrate so he can be more involved. Everytime he got the ball something good happened.

Marcos, yuh sounding like yuh watch it on tv....but yuh right, it different when you could see the replays and draw better conclusions, but yuh doh see the off-the-ball-runs, yuh doh see when the midfielder hands on  he hips while the opposing forward tearing away the wing back who playing too high trying to close the gap left by said midfielder who gone forward, make a shit pass, lorse the ball and refuse to recover.

Anyway there were more than a couple errant passes (ah should say attempts at passes) to Glen and KJ from Daniel as well.  Go back and check the replay.
Can't really understand point 3...about the ref though...but respect yuh opinion.
Post by: dinho on August 13, 2009, 09:27:57 AM
from watching on TV that ref wasnt giving we nutten..

KJ cyah get a call yet and is all kinda wildness he get on every long ball..

it had a play Carlos beats bout 4 men in the middle a man skate him down from behind, ref say play on yes...

Plus dem yellow cards.. Birchall own was for a nutten tackle.. a next man get one for nothing.
Post by: GunnerStunner on August 13, 2009, 09:57:36 AM
the most honest report i ever read
awesome job keep it up
make sure latas reads tis please :beermug: :applause: :applause:
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on August 13, 2009, 09:58:20 AM
what i want to kno from the crew with the flag is how many people get sand in dey face from we cleaning job at Grafton in Tobago! ;D
Post by: Touches on August 13, 2009, 10:02:50 AM
Marcos,

Keon ent lose the ball...I mentioned that, but he ent do nuttin with it when he had it and there were times when he coulda spring glen or put the El sal players under pressure and he cut back.

Also Keon get cuss right tru for putting Williams under pressure.

Williams do real good under the circumstances.

Again yuh ent seeing when a man blow past him or the play right there for him to chook a toe or apply pressure.

Also yuh not seeing explosiveness going fwd...is casual small goal in the road football from him. But had he taken his chance we mighta give him a bly.

The ref was bad...we get plenty dotish call and plenty play on when men get hack...but I think he was bad for both teams cause we got away with some as well. But they was a blatant penalty when two men latch on to KJ and haul him down by his jersey.

As for Bakr...until he staus change from University student to professional baller I going with Dog or Keyno.

He green...he go improve but he ent ready for Hex level ball.

Also...you feel he dey on merit or due to Cali connections? He did walk into the side (literally) for the Mex game.
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 10:32:34 AM
what i want to kno from the crew with the flag is how many people get sand in dey face from we cleaning job at Grafton in Tobago! ;D

thanks 4 d job well done. We and d stag man miss yuh yday.
Post by: kicker on August 13, 2009, 10:44:33 AM

What conditions forced him to throw the ball in bounds directly to an opposing player every time down the stretch? 

What conditions forced him to play loose passes lacking any composure what so ever?

What conditions forced him to be glaringly out of position on many occasions?

Williams was very poor...very very poor... He didn't look ready for that level of competition last night.  It's his debut, so we'll give him a free pass, but to say he did "real good" is just not correct....

Abu Bakr to me was not that good on the evening either.... The commentary on PPV was biggin him up, but I was not convinced by his game- technically he looks very amateur. 

Post by: dinho on August 13, 2009, 11:04:07 AM

What conditions forced him to throw the ball in bounds directly to an opposing player every time down the stretch? 

What conditions forced him to play loose passes lacking any composure what so ever?

Williams was very poor...very very poor... He didn't look ready for that level of competition last night.  It's his debut, so we'll give him a free pass, but to say he did "real good" is just not correct....

Abu Bakr to me was not that good on the evening either.... The commentary on PPV was biggin him up, but I was not convinced by his game- technically he looks very amateur. 

thank yuh, i thought it was me alone..

i not into de cry down and i understand it was Williams debut, but for a minute i thought i was watching a different game in the second half, or maybe he look real accomplished in the first half which i didn't see..

the man throw the ball about 3 times directly to El Sal in the second half..

the man blatant give away the ball twice with the defenders already on the way up the field, and a better side woulda make us pay.. plus the man was getting eat off steady by the nippy right winger all the way up until the point he seemed like he get injured (about the 80th minute)..and everything after that i chalking down to the fact that he was injured.. is real ball cross into the danger zone from his side you know...

- the one that come across where the man bullet straight to Ince foot and he bend down and hold (still dont know how)

- the one where a man voom it across and same Bakr skate a foot then get up and head out..

- the one where Ince end up sitting down on the ball

- and a couple that lead to free kicks on top the pk box

the only thing he have on aklie edwards is that he seem more constructive going forward, but defensively Aklie edwards looks miles ahead... and given the scathing criticism meted out to the latter, i think that speaks volumes.

anyway, bottom line is this LB continues to be a big problem..

bring Jlloyd Samuel but fack Zamora.
Post by: palos on August 13, 2009, 11:13:59 AM
Why such hate for Keon Daniel?

Yes he fade in de 2nd half....jes like de ENTIRE TEAM....but even the commentary team I was listenin to on PPV say dat he and Carlos was de bess players on de field in de 1st half.  And dem was backin El Salvador!
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 11:17:47 AM

Cosign. A big pappy from AIA tell me d man slower than Dennis.
Post by: palos on August 13, 2009, 11:19:13 AM
We're pretty pathetic defensively.

We have zero composure when under pressure.  No defensive discipline.  And we're unfit...which partially explains why we kick out wildly when under pressure.

If Latas was to somehow find a defence, we qualifyin for SA 2010 for sure.

Samuel alone cyah do it.  He need one other good man.  Maybe they could persuade Hoyte to fall een?

And men talkin bout we wing defence.  We central defence wusserer.  If J Lloyd could partner Tallest or Dog in the centre of defence...that would help more than putting him at wing back IMO.
Post by: fari on August 13, 2009, 11:31:50 AM
good report touches...but hear nah...if u tink watching the game does gi u heart attack...try listening to the game as i had to last nite hear in south cack...i tell u vidale, philips and the other rum shop squad could kill anybody any day...lord fadda

Post by: arrow on August 13, 2009, 11:45:42 AM
And men talkin bout we wing defence.  We central defence wusserer.  If J Lloyd could partner Tallest or Dog in the centre of defence...that would help more than putting him at wing back IMO.

I completely agree with that.  I would put J Lloyd with Tallest in the center with Avery on the left.  After all the different experiments, it's clear Avery is still our best LB option and I prefer Carlos at RB over Spann.
Post by: palos on August 13, 2009, 12:00:56 PM

I completely agree with that.  I would put J Lloyd with Tallest in the center with Avery on the left.  After all the different experiments, it's clear Avery is still our best LB option and I prefer Carlos at RB over Spann.

I could go with that.  That would potentially be a much stronger defence.

We lose something with Carlos having to hang back....but Tinto could play that role and Spann's best position is defensive midfield anyway IMO.

-------------------------------------------Ince-----------------------------------------

Carlos------------------------------J Lloyd--------Tallest---------------------------Avery

Tinto-----------------------------Spann/Hyland/Me Mum--------Noel------------------------Samuel

--------------------------------------Jones--------Glen-----------------------------------

Against Honduras...I would start with Collin Samuel on the left instead of Keon.  Keon can come on later.  I would prefer Hyland to partner Noel in central midfield but Me Mum or Spann or even Leon not bad.  Leon did not have a bad game.

BTW...didn't some reporter say that only Marvin Phillip from W Connection got selected on the National team & Latas knew from long time dat he was only pickin Phillips?  Leon switch clubs or something?
Post by: dinho on August 13, 2009, 12:05:20 PM
i wanted to respond to arrow, but he have my head tie up.. i cyah tell when he serious or on chain..

but lemme ask this question..

can someone point me in the direction of a game where Jlloyd Samuel played as a stopper? seeing as allyuh suggesting that, i would like to see and assess for myself.. because I never see or hear about him playing there except on this board..
Post by: palos on August 13, 2009, 12:07:37 PM
i wanted to respond to arrow, but he have my head tie up.. i cyah tell when he serious or on chain..

can someone point me in the direction of a game where Jlloyd Samuel played as a stopper? seeing as allyuh suggesting that, i would like to see and assess for myself.. because I never see or hear about him playing there except on this board..

He plays there for Bolton Wanderers.  Impressively too.
Post by: dinho on August 13, 2009, 12:11:16 PM

He doesn't..

Its Gary Cahill, Andy O'brien, Puygrenier, Shittu and Steinsson that play there.
Post by: Touches on August 13, 2009, 12:12:35 PM
Palos..Dinho is fantasy league man himself.

dat does study player, position and fixture in the epl like exam.

Post by: palos on August 13, 2009, 12:15:18 PM

He doesn't..

Its Gary Cahill, Andy O'brien, Puygrenier, Shittu and Steinsson that play there.

You're saying categorically that he has never played central defender for Bolton Wanderers in the EPL?
Post by: palos on August 13, 2009, 12:15:58 PM

Obviously he in a fantasy world if he believe J Lloyd Samuel doh play central defence.
Post by: dinho on August 13, 2009, 12:17:40 PM

He doesn't..

You're saying categorically that he has never played central defender for Bolton Wanderers in the EPL?

No.. that's why I asked the initial question..

Once again, can someone tell me a game where he played there??

furthermore, even if there are solitary examples, may i remind you that Cyd Gray played stopper for us in a world cup warm up game, does that make him an option for our central defence?

one swallow maketh not the summer..
Post by: dinho on August 13, 2009, 12:18:39 PM

but not you though.. u doh study nutten right? lol
Post by: Anbrat on August 13, 2009, 12:50:18 PM
Top drawer!
Post by: spideybuff on August 13, 2009, 12:58:15 PM
Allyuh men wicked to Bakr and Williams. They eh do nothing with their inexperience that all our ESTABLISHED defenders have not done,time and time again. Plus, they did good things on several occasions apart from their errors.

Williams deteriorate when he get bun...that can be fixed easily. Bakr...he eh look no worse than Lawrence or Dog have at times, in everything he did.

U expect them to get better by going back in the stands and watching the games? You feel Glen Johnson and Michah Richards just step onto England side and play like heroes from day 1 despite all their EPL games and u-21 caps? Nope, both of them look like crap at times on the international level...but it doh mean they is hounds.

We complaining bout the old men, but doh want to give youth a chance and ready to cry them down on the first opportunity.

Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 01:01:14 PM
Allyuh men wicked to Bakr and Williams. They eh do nothing with their inexperience that all our ESTABLISHED defenders have not done,time and time again. Plus, they did good things on several occasions apart from their errors.

Williams deteriorate when he get bun...that can be fixed easily. Bakr...he eh look no worse than Lawrence or Dog have at times, in everything he did.

U expect them to get better by going back in the stands and watching the games? You feel Glen Johnson and Michah Richards just step onto England side and play like heroes from day 1 despite all their EPL games and u-21 caps? Nope, both of them look like crap at times on the international level...but it doh mean they is hounds.

We complaining bout the old men, but doh want to give youth a chance and ready to cry them down on the first opportunity.

Listen if yuh droppin x 2 play y y must b betta. Dat is all I sayin
Post by: FF on August 13, 2009, 01:02:39 PM
De funny ting is we could have taken alot of pressure off ourselves if them big hard back man in the back would attack the cross balls and air balls and meet them at the highest point rather than letting them balls drop...

de easiest easiest ting in the world...

alot of the heart attack moments was because men like they fraid to jump and butt

in fact if i is a coach and my back line towering over the offense like that... i would instruct them to give them de line and let dem cross ball whole day... and it go come like a training session...

Post by: spideybuff on August 13, 2009, 01:04:00 PM

Like who? It eh have nobody we didn't criticise.
Post by: weary1969 on August 13, 2009, 01:06:29 PM

Like who? It eh have nobody we didn't criticise.

Bruder we defence is we weakest part of we game. It was a gamble 2 use dem 2 green horn in defence. As u self say we get ah ugly win. I go take dat any day of d wk. But 1 day 4 police and 1 day 4 tief.
Post by: grskywalker on August 13, 2009, 01:16:45 PM

So would have been the goalpost based on Jones strike rate..especially when is not a header

haha lol good one all the more reson to have Scotland up top
Post by: Weh-it-is on August 13, 2009, 01:22:31 PM
Ent! I was not in Trini for the game but I could tell the vibes after the game was niceness. Tha Carib truck jaming win or loose.  ;D
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 13, 2009, 01:35:15 PM
I see Kenwyne scoring all kinda overhead kick and volley and tap in for Sunderland. So me eh know where dis he-does-only-score-headers talk starting to rise up from?
Post by: kicker on August 13, 2009, 01:39:43 PM
De funny ting is we could have taken alot off pressure of ourselves if them big hard back man in the back would attack the cross balls and air balls and meet them at the highest point rather than letting them balls drop...

Ent!! I see that and nearly bawl dread...That's like U-14 fundamentals... I was shocked at how amateur that looked.  I swear I was watching men in de park down by me.... ;D
Post by: Preacher on August 13, 2009, 02:30:33 PM

I could go with that.  That would potentially be a much stronger defence.

We lose something with Carlos having to hang back....but Tinto could play that role and Spann's best position is defensive midfield anyway IMO.

-------------------------------------------Ince-----------------------------------------

Carlos------------------------------J Lloyd--------Tallest---------------------------Avery

Tinto-----------------------------Spann/Hyland/Me Mum--------Noel------------------------Samuel

--------------------------------------Jones--------Glen-----------------------------------

Against Honduras...I would start with Collin Samuel on the left instead of Keon.  Keon can come on later.  I would prefer Hyland to partner Noel in central midfield but Me Mum or Spann or even Leon not bad.  Leon did not have a bad game.

BTW...didn't some reporter say that only Marvin Phillip from W Connection got selected on the National team & Latas knew from long time dat he was only pickin Phillips?  Leon switch clubs or something?

Yeah but you know what, unless we expecting Glen to Firetruck over every defender we need a competent midfield that could hold up the ball and make passes.  The only option I see we may have is Whitley but he not fit. We're not going to do much with an ineffective midfield.  Because teams would just kill off Carlos quick quick and then we done.   We so desperate I would even try Zamora in the midfield because he will not get the service that he need to shine.     These fellas -Spann/Hyland/Me Mum--------Noel---- ain't creating nothing consistent.
Post by: Marcos on August 13, 2009, 02:34:55 PM
Why such hate for Keon Daniel?

Yes he fade in de 2nd half....jes like de ENTIRE TEAM....but even the commentary team I was listenin to on PPV say dat he and Carlos was de bess players on de field in de 1st half.  And dem was backin El Salvador!

Thanks boy Palos I thought I going crazy.
The man handle he stories. He really is lazy, but I rather have him on the ball than anybody else except Carlos or Glen.
He have star boy syndrome and doh track back, but small ting, Latas didn't defend either. And I actually find d man made d best out of his opportunities (except the goal chance)

And I find Birchall deserve dat yellow. I hadda see replay in trute.

Man Williams was throwing the ball away, kicking it to the opp or just getting jam and losing it. Plus the ENTIRE left flank was open. In the last 15 mins the ES player on the right just lime and recieve ball wide open, under no pressure. I was shocked. I never saw that in an international game.

Latas screw d pooch takin off Keon and not putting on a left sided player
Post by: dinho on August 13, 2009, 02:41:21 PM
within the whole scene, we should give El Salvador more credit too..

Dem fellahs was nippy, and their close control was on point.. dey was moving with a pace in attack and pinging the ball around with some neat triangles etc.. no setta bad trap and there were some instances where men pick up at the top of our box and slice through the center with ease.. If only their finishing was better we woulda feel it.

I see ES10 was being gracious in defeat by saying our win was thoroughly deserved, but if we hadda be fair, we probably would have felt hard done by if we were in their position..

I think this is the best El Salvador team i've seen in the years I've been watching concacaf ball..
Post by: kicker on August 13, 2009, 02:48:51 PM
within the whole scene, we should give El Salvador more credit too..

Dem fellahs was nippy, and their close control was on point.. dey was moving with a pace in attack and pinging the ball around with some neat triangles etc.. no setta bad trap and there were some instances where men pick up at the top of our box and slice through the center with ease.. If only their finishing was better we woulda feel it.

I see ES10 was being gracious in defeat by saying our win was thoroughly deserved, but if we hadda be fair, we probably would have felt hard done by if we were in their position..

I think this is the best El Salvador team i've seen in the years I've been watching concacaf ball..

As far as team football and structure is concerned, El Salvador looked a more compact & solid unit than we did over the 90 mins.  We were physically superior to them and we made our period of domination count. That was our edge...So it go...

Post by: Marcos on August 13, 2009, 02:50:46 PM
they had some mis=trap and easy give aways of the ball too.
And their finishing left a lot to be desired.
Any big side would mash dem up bad
Post by: Rymizx on August 13, 2009, 03:21:11 PM
Is ah long time I eh make a post.
Anybody out there run the realistic whatif combinations stats on the last four games? The way I see it we NEED to win ALL the last four to really stand a good chance of being in top 4 to get in or a playoff. We could even be in the top 3 once we win all.
But it could be real iffy if we win three and lorse 1.
I just use a crude spread sheet to make a couple predictions.

-        -         usa win elsal -    cos win elsal -    hon win usa -    cos win usa -
-        -        cos draw mex -    mex dr hond -    mex win elsal -    hon win elsal -
-        -        TNT win hond -    TNT win usa -    TNT win cost -    TNT win mex -
TEAM  -    Pts -     WIN1 -    WIN2 -    WIN3 -    WIN4 -    Possible Pts
COS -    12 -    1 -    3 -    0 -    3 -    19 -
HON -    10 -    0 -    1 -    3 -    3 -    17 -
USA -    10 -    3 -    0 -    0 -    1 -    14 -
MEX -     9 -    1 -    1 -    3 -    0 -    14 -
ELS-     5 -    0 -    0 -    0 -    0 -     5 -
TNT -     5 -    3 -    3 -    3 -    3 -    17 -
Way to go Lattas and Warriros
We must beat them in Mexico , beat tem in Costa Rica, beat them in USA, beat them in Honduras, beat, beat , beat.

Post by: just cool on August 13, 2009, 04:26:15 PM

Breds like ah told yuh before, yuhs ah fella who's football judgement i trust, but i have tuh respectfully disagree with the give the yutes ah chance statement.

it's way too late for experimentation, that should've been done last yrs during friendlies, the prelims, and semis in WCQ, but now we in the heart of the hex and is time tuh bring the pain!!

latapy only bringing unnecessary pressure on himself, jack waner told hime tuh pick who we wants, that includes brent sancho, so far , he decided tuh go with dog, lawrence, the rookie bakar, and now another new jack, he was very lucky to complete his first win, real lucky!

my problem with latas is, he don't need tuh put himself under all this pressure, he have ah fit brent sancho, who i'm sure can't do no worsts than all the central defenders we have now, we have julius james , ah man who played in the concacaf champions league last yr for houston, who i know would do ah better job than abu bakar, we have yohance marshall, i would be more opt tuh give this guy ah bligh BC of all the revues he recieved.

we have nigel daniel, havn't seen him play since last yr , but heard from comments made here from forum members who follow the pro league, that the man was in rippin form.

we have osie telestford who i know would do ah better job than spann in that right back position.

now i doh know the attraction with clyde leon , but i saw this guy live and tuh tell yuh the truth , the guy is extremely normal, i'm pretty sure hyland could do ah much better job than this guy defensively and offensively.

keon daniel to is ah slow down player the man don't have the kinda speed that is needed tuh be ah winger, why not use tinto samuel or jagdeosingh in that position!

i saw the game yesreday and said to my self, why my ppl always like tuh do things the hard way!! i really can't figur it out.

to me tinto is ah better option @ right wing than carlos, why not revert back tuh what he did agianst mex and ticos, leave carlos in the right back position and use tinto as the RW, plus tinto crosses the ball better.

if something ain't broke then why try tuh fix it.

jones is not ah big player IMO, he's fairly average, him and scotland, so why are these guys still playing and starting, why can't we use the other strikers we have and rest them guys ? BC they not producing.

i was so disappointed with them yesterday, imagine two big solid men having then little men bounce them off the ball and man handle them. latapy needs tuh stop experimenting for now and do the business.

we have players who could do the business, why is latapy pussyfooting, put the best players on the field and leave the labourers to develope else where, that's not your job! as an international coach it's your job tuh put the most capable fellas on the field and win matches. our fifa rankings needs tuh rise for fellas tuh have ah chance tuh secure foreign cantracts.
Post by: tsingh on August 13, 2009, 04:35:05 PM
"From a long ball, Glen trapped, shook off a player, pounds off another, was taken to the side, he beat a man cut into the penalty area and from an acute angle slap a perfect curling bullet into the far post."

No disrespect ... but if that is what you see ... then watching live and watching tv is really two different things yes.  LOL!  Thanks for the creativity!  I really enjoy reading your reports ... keep up the good work!
Post by: Brownsugar on August 13, 2009, 04:41:22 PM
And I find Birchall deserve dat yellow. I hadda see replay in trute.

You harden....
Post by: Brownsugar on August 13, 2009, 04:43:53 PM
Dem fellahs was nippy, and their close control was on point.. dey was moving with a pace in attack and pinging the ball around with some neat triangles etc..

I made the same observation last night while watching the proceedings live....
Post by: Brownsugar on August 13, 2009, 04:47:13 PM
"From a long ball, Glen trapped, shook off a player, pounds off another, was taken to the side, he beat a man cut into the penalty area and from an acute angle slap a perfect curling bullet into the far post."

No disrespect ... but if that is what you see ... then watching live and watching tv is really two different things yes.  LOL!  Thanks for the creativity!  I really enjoy reading your reports ... keep up the good work!

The angle was acute, Glen alone in de box with 4 El Salvadoreans and so it seemed near impossible for him to do anything with the opportunity with so many blue shirts around but he did....thank God....
Post by: tsingh on August 13, 2009, 04:50:43 PM
Don't get me wrong folks ... GREAT GOAL ... it just didn't look the way it sound to me ... but like i said it was an internet feed ... Boss Goal and Earned TNT 3 valuable points and more importantly still in with a fighting chance.
Post by: D.H.W on August 13, 2009, 07:35:45 PM
posting this here too for those who missed it

CNC3
http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/LMYLYgafFn4

CNTNT
http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/W8qJTdg9gf4

Latapy Press Conference Highlights
http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/eY1gml0Otm0
Post by: arrow on August 13, 2009, 09:04:05 PM

Nah man no chain up, I have read that he played stopper in other places besides this board but I don't feel like doing the research.  May be a moot point anyway if reports of Latas and Avery falling out are accurate
Post by: asylumseeker on August 13, 2009, 10:38:19 PM
*In my view, Birchall - in his present manifestation - is most effective when he wins the ball, slows the attack or forces the attacking player to drop a few yards and reset the build-up of play ... rather than with the ball at his feet seeking penetration. His performance is less compelling when he possesses on the dribble going forward ... a critique I have not read as I've scanned the contributions.

IMV, ideally, he should win the ball when he is able to and opt to play the ball diagonally or vertically to assist our traditional attacking players in getting in behind or running at defences ... I've noticed this variant in his game more now at LA ... and, I don't think it works well for us, if not used selectively.

* Anyone notice our inability to possess the ball in the second half? Horrendous.

* Criticisms of Radanfah Abu Bakr exclusively, IMV are a bit much ... did he make mistakes? certainly ... yet none were fatal. How did he acquit himself relative to say ... Makan Hislop? The defence is far from being a cohesive unit. Proper assessment of Bakr ought to consider that.

* But for the good fortune of Ince's positioning and instinct, let me suggest Latapy's substitution decisions may have been exposed completely. I think they were well-intentioned, somewhat influenced by circumstances (such as injury), but flew in the face of identifying where the game had matured to by the time of Yorke's introduction with roughly 23 minutes of playing time left.

I am unconvinced that Dwight's introduction was a necessity!

* The concession of the middle third of the park (2nd half), and the apparent lack of recognition of how this aided El Salvador's posture should be examined. We could have offered some of the circumstances that have troubled El Salvador in their recent outings. This would have rested on midfield organization and some form of symmetry in attack.

* Finally, it was amateurish of us to expect the Salvadorans to return the ball to us when we kicked the ball out due to a player being injured ... the game being as delicately poised as it was ... recall the episode experienced by our female national representatives at the hands of Costa Rica last year when they paid for a similar lack of recognition?

* Oh, complaints about Williams' throws ... anyone pay attention to the instruction he received on the throws?
Post by: supporter on August 14, 2009, 10:04:57 AM
Nice report Touches

3 Golden points but with Honduras thrashing Costa Rica, it does little for us.

Must win AT Honduras.

Heres the side that steals a ridiculously famous T&T victory:

KJ------------------------------Thomas--------Tallest---------------------------J Lloyd

Carlos-----------------------------Birchall--------Noel------------------------Colin Samuel

--------------------------------------Scotland--------Glen-----------------------------------

Subs: Phillip, Daniel, Dwight, Zamora, Avery.
Post by: STEUPS!! on August 14, 2009, 10:18:40 AM
Nice report Touches

3 Golden points but with Honduras thrashing Costa Rica, it does little for us.

Must win AT Honduras.

Heres the side that steals a ridiculously famous T&T victory:

KJ------------------------------Thomas--------Tallest---------------------------J Lloyd

Carlos-----------------------------Birchall--------Noel------------------------Colin Samuel

--------------------------------------Scotland--------Glen-----------------------------------

Subs: Phillip, Daniel, Dwight, Zamora, Avery.

KJ at right back ???
no tinto?? not even on d bench?

OK  :-\

care to explain yuh reasonin supporter?
Post by: supporter on August 14, 2009, 11:23:33 AM
KJ at right back makes sense given our welath of options up front and lack of efficiency from KJ playing there. He also has experience at right back. Spann is out of the starting lineup and our D is built and has tons of size and pace.

With Tinto, he's not an automatic pick. Rather have someone who can operate a bit better defensively in the middle of the park, especially in an away match. Maybe Hyland/Noel.
Post by: noize on August 14, 2009, 01:50:34 PM
KJ at right back makes sense given our welath of options up front and lack of efficiency from KJ playing there. He also has experience at right back. Spann is out of the starting lineup and our D is built and has tons of size and pace.

With Tinto, he's not an automatic pick. Rather have someone who can operate a bit better defensively in the middle of the park, especially in an away match. Maybe Hyland/Noel.

Ah doh get that reasoning at all...KJ used to be in defense ...years ago ...the man is now striker now we want to experiment with him in the back???...makes no sense to me... I actually think that Spann and Carlos on that side looked good together they both have speed and Spann is now playing in that position for his club consistantly so he looks more comfortable than before....I would put Tinto on the left side of midfield with Carlos on the right ...from what I hear Tinto can play both sides...that would bring speed to both sides and move Skilla to the middle his natural position or even Zamora if he show up...with KJ and Glen upfront...INO

Spann------------------------------Thomas/Bakr--------Tallest---------------------------J Lloyd

Carlos-----------------------------Noel--------Skilla/Zamora-----------------------Tinto

--------------------------------------KJ--------Glen-----------------------------------
Post by: Dumplingdinho on August 14, 2009, 05:48:22 PM
what experience kj has as a right back?
Post by: Deeks on August 14, 2009, 06:14:41 PM
I have issue with Tinto not on this team.  He hah to be in Latas dog-house. Anybody knows why?
Post by: CarenageBoy on August 14, 2009, 06:26:56 PM
Agree with every single opinion and point you made.
We played a total of 30 mins of football, and the rest was counter-attack tactics, while living on the edge in defense.

the new left back was very impressive.
Abu bakr is a young, athletic version of Lawrence. Does very well at times, but prone to moments of insane defending. So hope for him.

With regard to the sportsmanship by El Salvador, they are one of the worse of the central americans. them fellas was diving and faking for everything. Imagine in women soccer, players dont do that, tome they are worse than disgusting. We should have aggressively roughed them up everytime they dive and complain to the ref. U ever see in England when a man dive how the defender does want to beat him up for that shit!

With regard to the booing, I am one of the most vocal boo-bird in the stadium. I find it also very disgusting when fellow Trinis watch you funny and tell you thing for booing. Now pelting missiles at opposing players is unacceptable, I agree, but ever since i get buff up for booing England and Becks, I am very disappointed in my fellow Trinis.
When T&T play El Salvador in feb, the riot police had to be shielding carlos from bottles of pee, just to take the corner. Every single other country in the Hex makes it a nightmare to play at their home stadium, but when El Salvador anthem done play, imagine Trinis applauding them.
Everybody entitled to their opinion and way of cheering I guess, but I find we does be too accommodating of other teams.
Even when we go USA, Sam's army and the rest giving we level hell out there! Nobody does say nutten about that.
Booing is part of the game, ask beckham. Getting personal and cussing players about their family and throwing missiles is where I draw the line.
if yuh dont like to boo, dont boo, but doh tell me nutten when me and meh crew dishing out rank boo, oddawise you yuhself will get boo.

Trini talk yuh talk! U got my cosign!

I tink meh fellow Trini fans need to be more aggressive as that twelfth player. Otherwise, hold all de home game in Tobago. Bago boys know how to support!
Post by: Tongue on August 14, 2009, 08:02:33 PM
yeah watching on tv is one ting but live gives the whole pichar.....to me Keon was a disappointment.  Wen ever we had a counter he was coasting radda than stretching he liver to add to the play.....not enuff hustle. Why is Carlos taking all kicks?......the wildlife was interesting. de fellah shouldah pelt de cobo instead ah de EL Salvo. All dem peeps dats complaining about booin shouldah be at the game in DC when dey was t'rowing all kinda thing at we....so  fcku way wit dem. ttff need to invest in ah pair of jumpin shoes for Bakr ....man jumpin like 2overt'ick ting holding onto he foot.  jeeeeeeeeeezan ages pressha!
Post by: Jah Gol on August 14, 2009, 08:20:56 PM
I missed this one. Do we have a video yet ?
Post by: Arazi on August 15, 2009, 01:17:34 AM

2. keston Williams, although he seems like a nice boy, played utter shite. He looked good in the first half because El Salvador did not attack him at all. Once they ran at him he was out of postion, showed terrible composure and gave away the ball repeatedly

3. The ref called a good game to me. He didn't really give any touch fouls around the area and there were no game-changing controversial calls. That's all you really want from a ref.

4. trent Noel is a beast, but his touch and passing are atrocious

5. Glen had to be subbed because he was injured and limping

7. All of Ince's saves went straight at him and if they were 1 meter either side of him, would have scored.

I rel rel liked how keon daniel played wednesday..i know alot of ppl din see it that way..buh keon daniel was making more sense on the ball than every one of our players...he was assessing the situation..KEEPING POSSESSION.. and making telling passes regularly..the fact that el salvador really stepped up after he came off was a testament to how good he was..he was doing everything yorke was brought on to do...be the calming force on the midfield..the right back for el salvador always had to keep an eye on him while he was on the field.. and after he came off keston williams was even more fodder than he was...i realise our fans don't notcie these little things that does change games...

speaking of which i have to say a special word about clyde leon...i understand why maturana and now latapy does pick this man..he does seem like he not doing much..buh he is a rel important man in the middle..

is the second time i watch a game and see how drastically different our middle looks when he comes off...
he is a plug a hole midfielder..he does make it difficult for attackers..he does cut off a passing lane or usher an attacker into the hands of a defender..he is midfielder that allows noel and birchall to look good at their job...
latas taking him off for birchall was an error bcuz it allowed el salvador to express themselves more in the middle..birchall good at hustling..buh he doh know the lanes and angles..so the one two would elude him...
if leon develop a killer pass at all..he would be a top baller..

k williams...appeared to be better than akile..for the first 20 minutes...buh then i realised he is drawn (BADLY) out of position far too easy..thank the lord el salvador din figure that out sooner..buh he rel suspect..akile positional play far superior to this guy...tha's what make him bad..not so much he eh have some good tools as a player..buh he will get eat up worse by more alert teams if he doh work on dat...

Post by: Mose on August 16, 2009, 09:18:55 PM

Nah man no chain up, I have read that he played stopper in other places besides this board but I don't feel like doing the research.  May be a moot point anyway if reports of Latas and Avery falling out are accurate
I too have never seen him JLloyd play stopper but remember reading that he can play anywhere in the back four.