Sports => What about Track & Field => Topic started by: Socapro on August 28, 2009, 11:06:50 PM

Title: Usain Bolt will run even faster, predicts sprint legend
Post by: Socapro on August 28, 2009, 11:06:50 PM
August 27, 9:07 PMNY Celebrity Fitness and Health Examiner Samantha Chang
http://www.examiner.com/x-14380-NY-Celebrity-Fitness-and-Health-Examiner~y2009m8d27-Usain-Bolt-will-run-quicker-says-sprint-legend

Jamaican sprint sensation Usain Bolt will compete at the 2009 IAAF Weltklasse Zurich Golden League meet Aug. 28, just a week after winning three gold medals at the IAAF World Championships in Berlin.

Surprisingly, ex-sprint legend Allan Wells (Scotland) predicts Bolt will eventually get even faster than he is now. "Usain is a freak among freaks," Wells, 57, told The Sun. "He is a natural runner but his strength, speed and leg stride is something special."

Adds Wells (pictured below): "Usain looks fit, healthy and fresh and, in the next year or two, I have no doubts he will run quicker. He has the ability to run 9.50 seconds and below."

Bolt, 23, will race in the 100 meters in Zurich Friday, where his main rival will be his Jamaican teammate, Asafa Powell, 26.

[UPDATE 8/28: Bolt beat Powell to win the 100 meters Friday in 9.81 seconds.]

Last week, Usain set the world records in both the 100-meter and 200-meter finals at the IAAF World Championships.

Meanwhile, Bolt is reportedly considering racing in China and South Korea in September to cap off his season. According to the IAAF, Usain will also race in the 100 meters against American Tyson Gay at the Brussels Golden League on Sept. 4.

Interestingly, Bolt is also mulling competing in the long jump. “I’ve been trying long jump since I was in high school, just messing around," Usain told reporters. "But I haven’t really measured it. I always thought I could be a pretty good long jumper so I’m definitely going to try. When? I don’t know."

As for Zurich, don't expect Bolt to improve on his 100m world record of 9.58 seconds. "I’m a little bit tired,” he said.
Title: Usain Bolt on doping talk: Bring it on
Post by: Socapro on August 28, 2009, 11:14:20 PM
August 22, 3:57 PMNY Celebrity Fitness and Health Examiner Samantha Chang
http://www.examiner.com/examiner/x-14380-NY-Celebrity-Fitness-and-Health-Examiner~y2009m8d22-Usain-Bolt-on-doping-talk-Bring-it-on

Jamaican sprint sensation Usain Bolt says he's 100% natural and isn't bothered by questions over his spectacular race times.

Bolt, 23, set the world records in both the 100-meter and 200-meter finals this week at the 12th IAAF World Championships in Berlin. He won his third gold medal at the games Aug. 22 when he ran the penultimate leg to help Jamaica win the men's 4x100 meter relay.

Team Jamaica took the gold in 37.31 seconds. Trinidad and Tobago won silver with 37.62, while Great Britain earned the bronze in 38.02 seconds. Team USA was disqualified Friday for passing the baton outside of the designated zone.

"I don't get offended [about doping questions] because I know year after year people run fast and then test positive," Usain told reporters.

"I get tested all the time, I train hard, I'm legit," Bolt declared. "I'm trying to clean it up to let people know that you don't have to take something to run fast."

Sadly, several top track and field champions of the recent past have turned out to be cheats. Ben Johnson, Justin Gatlin, Tim Montgomery, Marion Jones and Dwain Chambers all electrified the world with their sensational sprint times, only to later test positive for performance-enhancing drugs.

Title: Re: Usain Bolt on doping talk: Bring it on
Post by: pass(10trini) on August 29, 2009, 03:53:32 AM

"I'm trying to clean it up to let people know that you don't have to take something to run fast."

This is a question I have been questioning a lot. Can you really perform at the highest level in any sport and don't take anything illegal or banned (now or in the future) and be the top dog. I really hope some day I will be able to put this to rest thoroughly. I have competed in my field and have been able to train to the point of exhaustion and have taken something for recovery whether lucozade, Glucose(Cow and Gate) ;D, and have used a lot of body building stuff that everyone know contain a lot of these anabolics that is banned in sport. A lot of these I have used to help boost my system to the point of ultra fitness. I knew how to peak my body for any Tournament and made myself so fit untill I hardly ever became tired in competition.
I was speaking to a person the other day about my programme and he was so intrigued he wanted me to supply him a copy to test it out on himself. I am waiting on the right individual and athlete to come my way as to put this question to rest, one day.
Title: Re: Usain Bolt will run even faster, predicts sprint legend
Post by: boss on August 29, 2009, 04:36:19 AM
It's a sad day when Allan Wells is regarded as a sprint legend  ::)  :beermug:
Post by: Socapro on August 29, 2009, 04:41:45 AM

The last white sprinter to win a major 100m title will naturally be promoted by his people as a sprint legend until the next one comes along!  8)
Post by: RC on August 29, 2009, 06:45:01 AM

The last white sprinter to win a major 100m title will naturally be promoted by his people as a sprint legend until the next one comes along!  8)
olympic 100m champion, commonwealth 100m & 200m(x2) champion. he would have competed against quarrie and crawford. not a bad career
Post by: Dumplingdinho on August 29, 2009, 10:35:56 AM

in my books anbody who is eh test positive and have ah olympic title is ah legend.

eh some trinis does call crawford ah legend..he might be ah legend to us and nobody else..same ting applies to wells.
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 01, 2009, 11:46:33 AM
as one rightly say,once yuh compete at de highest level and win.by all means u entitled.
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 03, 2009, 12:22:13 PM
Long-distance champ hoping for race with BoltAssociated Press

BRUSSELS (AP) - Sprinter Usain Bolt and long-distance runner Kenenisa Bekele are both unbeatable — over their distance. So, why not have them race against each other somewhere in between?

Usain Bolt can sprint, but can he last over a longer distance? (SEBASTIAN DERUNGS/AFP / Getty Images)
"If Usain agrees, if someone wants to organize this, I am ready," Bekele said Thursday, a day before the Memorial Van Damme Golden League meet.

Bolt, of Jamaica, is the reigning world and Olympic champion and world record-holder over 100 and 200 meters. Bekele, of Ethiopia, is the reigning world and Olympic champion and world record-holder over 5,000 and 10,000 meters.

The idea would be to find a middle ground, somewhere between 600 and 800 meters.

"I think I am pretty good at 600 meters," Bolt said last week. Above 800 meters, he said, "I have no chance."

Bekele also thinks the two could meet around that distance.

"Six-hundred meters is a good chance for him," said Bekele, considering he would lose too much over the first lap. "I need some 800 meters, maybe 700 meters."

Any Bolt-Bekele showdown would be the biggest such match race since 200 and 400 Olympic champion Michael Johnson raced 100 champion Donovan Bailey over 150 meters in Toronto after the 1996 Atlanta Games. Johnson pulled up lame halfway through that race and the legacy of the event is more of a joke than anything else.

Kenenisa Bekele is the reigning world and Olympic champion in the 5,000 and 10,000 meters. ( / Getty Images)

Bekele's manager, Jos Hermens, realizes that Bolt dominates the sport to such an extent that even a superlative performance like Bekele's 5,000-10,000 double at the Olympics and worlds became merely a footnote.

"I will have to think about it this winter," said Hermens of a potential matchup. "I will have to take it up with Ricky Simms," the manager of Bolt.

Bekele is often left frustrated because his performances rarely get the merit they deserve. He is still chasing the worldwide acclaim his compatriot Haile Gebrselassie already has.

It stands in sharp contrast with Bolt, whose showmanship and stunning performances have made him one of the most marketable athletes in any sport.

When it comes to official performances, the two get no closer than the 400 for Bolt and the 1,500 for Bekele.

Bekele set a personal best of 3 minutes, 32.35 over 1,500 two years ago, a time that would make him the 13th best performer of 2009. Bolt's top mark over 400 is 45.28 in 2007, which would be the 28th fastest time of this year.
Post by: Dutty on September 03, 2009, 09:32:54 PM
why not,,,ah race like that is truly just ah fat novelty paycheque for bolt

Post by: Dumplingdinho on September 04, 2009, 08:34:40 AM
Bolt will train for ah 800 and den beat bekele.
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 04, 2009, 10:10:51 AM
Bolt will train for ah 800 and den beat bekele.
even fuh bolt i tink that will b ah tough nut to crack.