Sports => Trinbago, NBA & World Basketball => Topic started by: capodetutticapi on September 01, 2009, 11:35:51 AM

Title: NBA 2009-10 Thread
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 01, 2009, 11:35:51 AM
with de upcomin season weeks away i started it lil early to get de deals done,who went way,who get fired and so forth,so keep it flowing.guess de talk now if lakers could repeat.HELL NO.
Title: Re: NBA 2009-10 Thread
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 01, 2009, 12:21:26 PM
with de upcomin season weeks away i started it lil early to get de deals done,who went way,who get fired and so forth,so keep it flowing.guess de talk now if lakers could repeat.HELL NO.

When the LA LA hits yuh.....
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 01, 2009, 12:26:14 PM
 :whistling:
Post by: daryn on September 01, 2009, 12:28:41 PM
NBA thread time again?

I eh know what I would without sports nah. 
Post by: dinho on September 01, 2009, 12:42:29 PM
Lets go knicks!    :-\ :'(
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 01, 2009, 01:00:37 PM
i eh know which one more depressin,knicks or mets.
Post by: daryn on September 01, 2009, 01:23:32 PM
i eh know which one more depressin,knicks or mets.

Mets for sure at this point.

Knicks depressing in a manner that many other sports team are depressing e.g. Clippers, the Mavs from the early 90s, the current Raiders etc.

the Mets, on the other hand, I eh know where to start.  these last 3 seasons is something else.  not even West Indies does set up their fans for a fall like the Mets.
Post by: big dawg on September 01, 2009, 02:05:41 PM
way boy capo.. pre-season aint even start yet and yuh done start the thread....

as the season movealong.. i will come with appropriate predictions....until then, as a pre-caution to avoid on going dissapointment, I shall not YET endorse any team that plays in Madison Square Garden the Eastern Conference   ;D
Post by: Controversial on September 01, 2009, 02:28:40 PM
when the nets moving to brooklyn? ???
Post by: weary1969 on September 01, 2009, 02:47:53 PM

Cosign
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 01, 2009, 08:46:33 PM

Cosign

We time again Weary  :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on September 01, 2009, 09:43:20 PM

Cosign

As Manning say we go beat dem...
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 02, 2009, 07:50:28 PM

Cosign

We guh flog dem in de east, we guh flog dem in de west, we guh flog dem in de south, and we guh flog dem in de north  :rotfl:
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 03, 2009, 07:59:54 AM

Cosign

We guh flog dem in de east, we guh flog dem in de west, we guh flog dem in de south, and we guh flog dem in de north  :rotfl:
ah feel artest go b de spoke in allyuh wheel,he go disrupt that unit. :praying:
Post by: weary1969 on September 03, 2009, 02:03:00 PM

Cosign

U SELF SAY DAT ALL YUH PRAYERS DOH GET ANSWERED.
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 03, 2009, 02:18:40 PM

Cosign

U SELF SAY DAT ALL YUH PRAYERS DOH GET ANSWERED.

:rotfl:  tell him Weary tell him!!  When the LA LA hits yuh
Post by: daryn on September 03, 2009, 02:48:30 PM
I just glad capo back to his old self again.  after all the years of kobe hating I really didn't know if he woulda survive the events of June.
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 04, 2009, 10:41:03 AM
I just glad capo back to his old self again.  after all the years of kobe hating I really didn't know if he woulda survive the events of June.
ah might b dong buh not out.NO REPEAT.
Post by: weary1969 on September 07, 2009, 12:46:09 PM

Since d SW eh repeat and go WC d Lakers got 2 repeat 2 put a smile on meh face.
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 07, 2009, 12:53:11 PM

Right you are  :beermug:
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 07, 2009, 04:04:19 PM

next summer de 2 ah allyuh go b sour. ;D
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 08, 2009, 11:18:21 AM
Jordan tabs surprise presenter for Hall of FameAssociated Press
Michael Jordan has chosen David Thompson, another high flyer from North Carolina, to present him, while Charles Barkley and Isiah Thomas also will be presenters at the Hall of Fame enshrinement ceremony.

Jordan highlights a class that includes David Robinson, John Stockton, and coaches Jerry Sloan of the Utah Jazz and C. Vivian Stringer of Rutgers. Each was asked to select a previous inductee to serve as a presenter at Friday's ceremony at Springfield, Mass.

Jordan went with a surprise by asking Thompson, the athletic swingman who led North Carolina State to the national championship in 1974 — eight years before Jordan won one for the rival Tar Heels.

Stockton, the career leader in assists, requested Thomas, like himself one of the best point guards in NBA history. Sloan, Stockton's coach in Utah, asked Barkley to give his presenting speech.

Robinson went with Larry Brown, his first NBA coach, and fellow San Antonio Spurs Hall of Famer George Gervin.

Stringer's choice of John Chaney was perhaps the least surprising. The longtime friends were coaches of the men's and women's teams at Division II Cheyney State at the same time.

Post by: weary1969 on September 09, 2009, 12:58:42 PM

next summer de 2 ah allyuh go b sour. ;D

U live in hope
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 09, 2009, 01:05:53 PM
Iverson: 'God chose Memphis' as my next teamAssociated Press

MEMPHIS, Tennessee (AP) - Guard Allen Iverson has tweeted that he will be heading to Memphis.

The 34-year-old free agent tweeted Wednesday that "God Chose Memphis as the place that I will continue my career."

The Commercial Appeal on its Web site reported that Iverson told the Grizzlies he is accepting a one-year offer. The Grizzlies had no immediate comment Wednesday morning, and Iverson's agent, Leon Rose, did not immediately respond to a text message to his cell phone.

Iverson also said he met with Grizzlies owner Michael Heisley, general manager Chris Wallace and coach Lionel Hollins. That meeting took place Monday in Atlanta.

"I feel that they are committed to developing a winner and I know that I can help them to accomplish that. I feel that I can trust them," Iverson added on his Twitter account.

Iverson would become the highest profile player ever to put on a Grizzlies' uniform. He was the first overall draft pick in 1996 and the league MVP in 2001.

Heisley wants Iverson to provide a big-name attraction for a team that struggled to attract fans to the plush FedExForum to watch a young team rebuilding through the draft. Iverson can provide valuable minutes and scoring off the bench needed by a franchise that went 24-58 and tied for the fifth-worst record in the NBA last season.

The Grizzlies finished 29th out of 30 teams in scoring, averaging 93.8 points per game.

Memphis would be the fourth team for Iverson after starting his career in Philadelphia and playing for Denver and Detroit. He has averaged 27.1 points per game through his 13 NBA seasons, but his production dropped to 17.4 points per game in his 54 games after being traded by Denver to Detroit during last season.

The Grizzlies reportedly made a one-year offer to Iverson earlier this summer, but the shooting guard tweeted in August that he was waiting for a call and mentioned Charlotte, Miami and New York. Then Iverson started tweeting about how much he could help the Grizzlies' young talent like Rudy Gay, O.J. Mayo and Michael Conley.

"I would lead by example. I could show how important it is to work hard everyday, play the game the right way, & just like it's your last!" Iverson tweeted on Aug. 27.

Post by: capodetutticapi on September 09, 2009, 01:06:22 PM
he gone from bad to worse(team that is)
Post by: weary1969 on September 10, 2009, 02:32:43 PM
he gone from bad to worse(team that is)

I hope in d season he eh blame God.
Post by: giggsy11 on September 10, 2009, 03:42:46 PM
Iverson just never seem to get that being a professional is more than just showing up for the game and being high scorer! What a waste of talent! I guess keepng it real paid off! Elvis must be rolling over in his grave!
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 11, 2009, 11:18:11 AM
NBA refs slam Stern over negotiationsAssociated Press
add this RSS email print
Updated: September 11, 2009, 12:32 PM EDT 21 comments
NBA referees are prepared to be locked out for the start of the season after negotiations with the league on a new contract broke down this week when David Stern ended the latest bargaining session.

No further talks are scheduled — and when they do resume, it'll be without the commissioner.
Referees spokesman Lamell McMorris accused Stern of acting childish and not negotiating in good faith, so Stern removed himself from the process.

Stern said Thursday he told McMorris that, "In fact if it was going to get personal — which apparently he's decided to make it by calling news media and leveling a series of inaccurate allegations — that I would absent myself from the negotiations, which I have."

"Hopefully we'll make a deal with the referees, or we won't, but it won't be on the basis of personality, it'll be on the basis of economics," Stern added.

The league's contract with its referees expired on Sept. 1, and McMorris said the sides have basically agreed on salary issues for a new two-year deal. He said the league wanted to freeze salaries for the first year with a 1 percent increase in year two.

The officials were willing to go along with that, McMorris said, because of the economic difficulties the league is facing, but the NBA was still asking for significant reductions in the referees' budget.

"We've laid $2.5 million back on the table," McMorris said. "Some things we have to be able to go back to our group and to say that we collectively bargained in good faith. Our goal is not to take all the hits, we can't do that."

ESPN.com first reported that talks ended after Stern abruptly halted Tuesday's session at league headquarters. Stern said the officials reneged on something previously agreed upon, but McMorris was critical of the way the commissioner handled things.

"The problem is, David Stern does not negotiate. He tells you what's going to happen and then when you don't do it, and do something differently, he whines and acts like a child," McMorris said. "That's not how you negotiate. Not with adults."

Stern said the league would be well represented even without him, but didn't leave much hope that a resolution would come soon.

"On the basis of the last series of proposals, it doesn't appear that there's any point at this time to further negotiations, but obviously it still remains our goal to start this season with our existing referees working," Stern said.

The NBA released a statement later Thursday criticizing the referees union for its attacks through the media, and said the referees backed out of previously agreed upon proposals involving retirement benefits at Tuesday's meeting.

"Then, after we offered additional economic movement in order to progress toward a deal, the NBRA refused to make any additional concessions," NBA general counsel and lead negotiator Rick Buchanan said. "At this point, and after several months of negotiations, all the union has offered to us is minimal concessions that are neither consistent with economic reality nor with the information it is currently distributing to the media."

Referees are due to open their training camp on Sept. 20, and the league's first preseason game is scheduled for Oct. 1 at Utah. Without a deal soon, the NBA will begin the season with replacement officials for the first time since 1995.

The league is seeking cuts in areas such as the referees' benefits, travel budget and their per diems, which Stern said would "bring their numbers in line with other league employees."

McMorris feels there is more to it, with the league possibly trying to rid itself of older referees or perhaps send a strong message to the players, whose collective bargaining agreement with the NBA expires after the 2011 season.

He also said the NBA gave a combined $100,000 in raises, which Stern could not confirm, to the three men who were hired to oversee the referees operations department in the league office following the betting scandal involving former official Tim Donaghy.

Already, the referees will miss next week's two-day seminar with league coaches, and McMorris said the officials will meet again sometime after that.

Officials from the NBA Development League could end up calling NBA games as the league scrambles for replacements. Stern denied McMorris' charge that backup refs were being called even before Tuesday's meeting ended, while McMorris said the league had even called a referee it fired three years ago to see if he would be available.

Even with Stern not involved, McMorris said his side won't come to New York for further talks.

"If the league wants to start up talks again, our door is open, so we'd gladly look forward to meeting them in Washington D.C. for the next meeting," McMorris said. "You can't be disrespectful and childlike and ask us, when you're already cutting our wages and expenses, to use our hard-earned money to come and you're kicking us out of meetings."

Post by: capodetutticapi on September 11, 2009, 11:18:51 AM
cyar handle replacement refs,them go blow whistle fuh every damn ting.
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 11, 2009, 09:53:49 PM

Not even that will help allyuh against de Laker onslaught  :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on September 11, 2009, 11:40:47 PM

Not even that will help allyuh against de Laker onslaught  :devil:

COSIGNNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 18, 2009, 09:15:15 PM
Cavs guard arrested with shotgun, two handgunsAssociated Press

UPPER MARLBORO, Maryland (AP) - Cleveland Cavaliers guard Delonte West was arrested Thursday after officers pulled him over for speeding on a motorcycle while carrying two loaded handguns and a loaded shotgun in a guitar case.

Prince George's County police spokeswoman Sgt. Michelle Reedy said Friday the Cleveland Cavaliers player was arrested about 10 p.m. Thursday.

Reedy said West was riding a Can-Am Spyder motorcycle north on the Capital Beltway in Upper Marlboro when he cut off an officer, who pulled him over.

Police said a handgun was found in his pocket, another in his pant leg and a shotgun in a guitar case strapped to his back.

Reedy said West "was very cooperative, there were no issues" during the incident.

The 26-year-old West, who lives in Brandywine, was charged with speeding and weapons counts. It is illegal to carry concealed weapons and to transport loaded guns in Maryland, according to police. Reedy said West was released on his own recognizance early Friday.

Cavaliers general manager Danny Ferry said the team was monitoring the situation.

"We have been in communication with Delonte and his family," Ferry said in a statement. "We are gathering more information and will not have further comment until the appropriate time."

Online court records did not list an attorney for West.

Last year, West left the Cavaliers' training camp to seek treatment for depression and a "mood disorder" he said he has battled his entire life. At the time, he said he was taking medication and attending therapy sessions. West said his mood problems date to his childhood.

West has said his mood swings seem to be most erratic when his life seems to be in order.
Post by: weary1969 on September 18, 2009, 09:39:38 PM
Cavs dream team just got a nightmare
Post by: Dutty on September 18, 2009, 10:21:20 PM
buh wuh de ass :rotfl:....west was on he way to rescue somebody from mexican drug dealers or wha?
who TF? does ride around with ah shotgun in ah guitar case??

all dem tattoo in dey neck does really make dem boy feel dem is real thug oui
Post by: weary1969 on September 18, 2009, 10:45:46 PM
buh wuh de ass :rotfl:....west was on he way to rescue somebody from mexican drug dealers or wha?

Nah we was on his way 2 d gym 2 work on his shooting.
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 19, 2009, 04:14:13 PM

Funny ting bout dis story is de fact dat is 3 piece ah weapon de man have on him, 2 loaded hand gun and a shotgun?  Soundin like he was out for war
Post by: giggsy11 on September 20, 2009, 10:05:32 AM

Funny ting bout dis story is de fact dat is 3 piece ah weapon de man have on him, 2 loaded hand gun and a shotgun?  Soundin like he was out for war

Sounds like he was in a hurry-cutting off police to continue on his way. The amazing and scary thing is he has a mental health diagnosis and he is in the possession of loaded firearms as well as riding a speeding bullet/weapon!
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 21, 2009, 09:06:25 PM
Beasley back with Heat following rehabAssociated Press

MIAMI (AP) - Michael Beasley rejoined his Miami Heat teammates Monday following a monthlong stay in a rehabilitation facility to address substance abuse and other issues.

Beasley took part in a voluntary offseason workout and quickly drew rave reviews from coaches, many of whom were able to visit and work with him during the rehab stint. Heat coach Erik Spoelstra personally saw Beasley three times in the past month, and someone from the Heat staff was with the second-year forward daily.

"We want to bring him back to the family, bring him back in here," Spoelstra said. "We're 100 percent behind him. We've invested in him, not just financially but emotionally. We've spent a great deal of time with him this summer, trying to develop him on the court but also off the court. He's ready. He was excited to be back here."

Beasley, who starred at Kansas State for one season before jumping to the NBA, was not available for comment Monday. No specifics of his treatment have been offered, with both the Heat and people close to Beasley citing privacy concerns.

The No. 2 pick in the 2008 draft will be with the team when training camp opens officially on Sept. 29. Players kept in touch with Beasley through text messages and Twitter over the past month.

"I have no concern at all," Heat forward and captain Udonis Haslem said last week when asked about Beasley. "He's working out, he's staying in shape, he's keeping himself sharp. It's not like he doesn't know the plays and with Beas, if all else fails, he'll shoot it. So he'll be fine when he gets back."

Beasley entered an in-patient Houston facility sometime around Aug. 20. A series of posts on his Twitter account around that time sparked concern for his well-being, including entries that said "Feelin like it's not worth livin!!!!!!! I'm done" and "I feel like the whole world is against me I can't win for losin."

He also was fined $50,000 last year for being a hotel room where the scent of marijuana was detected during the league's rookie symposium.

Through it all, the Heat - from team president Pat Riley, to Spoelstra, to many teammates - have insisted Beasley is still valued.

Michael Beasley averaged 13.9 points and 5.4 rebounds as a rookie. (Scott Cunningham/NBAE / Getty Images)

"We have great structure here within the franchise and I think what the NBA and everybody saw is that we're 100 percent behind him," Spoelstra said. "We were with him every step of the way and we're expecting great things from him this year."

Spoelstra said Beasley's summer was filled with plenty of on-court "work and development." He spent about two months working out in Miami before going to Houston, and since the end of last season has gotten quicker, plus added 10 pounds of muscle while maintaining a low body fat level.

Spoelstra said Beasley has already taken a team conditioning test and "blew it away ... he's in phenomenal shape."

"Physically, you'll see he looks different," Spoelstra said. "He's just bigger."

The Heat plan to ask him to play a bigger role, too.

Beasley finished his rookie season as Miami's second-leading scorer behind Dwyane Wade, averaging 13.9 points and 5.4 rebounds. The Heat envision Beasley as someone able to play at small forward at times this season, even after using him primarily at power forward a year ago.

"When you talk about a guy who's that talented, and then you really start to develop the fundamentals and the details of his game, you see dramatic improvements in a short period of time," Spoelstra said. "That's exciting."
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 22, 2009, 06:55:07 AM
Artest: Point at me if Lakers don't repeatAssociated Press

SAN DIEGO (AP) - Pardon Ron Artest if he's a bit geographically challenged and had no idea that San Diego has a big league baseball team, even though he was wearing a Padres cap.

This much he's sure of — If his Los Angeles Lakers don't repeat as NBA champions, fans can point their fingers at him.
"They should. That's exactly what should happen if we don't repeat," the star forward said during a visit to promote the Lakers' exhibition game against the Denver Nuggets at the San Diego Sports Arena on Oct. 23.

"They won last year, and I'm the new addition. The fans expect to repeat. Everybody in L.A. expects a second ring. And if we don't then yeah, they should point it right at me, throwing tomatoes and everything."

Artest joined the Lakers as a free agent on July 8, signing a five-year deal worth about $33 million. He is the team's only addition, essentially switching places with Trevor Ariza, who left the Lakers to take Artest's spot with the Rockets.

Artest said he was proud to be making his first promotional appearance for the Lakers. He wore an all-black Kobe Bryant jersey as a tribute to his new teammate.

"It makes me more excited, gives me a better understanding of what jersey I'm actually putting on," Artest said. "So today I decided to wear the black Kobe Bryant jersey, because he is the 'Black Mamba,' and I'm really happy to be a part of this team and I'm really excited just to be an addition, an asset, to the guy, to the (Derek) Fishers and the (Andrew) Bynums and all the rest of the players."

During a wide-ranging news conference at the San Diego Chargers' media trailer, Artest drew some laughs with a few slip-ups.

"I didn't realize how far L.A.'s tentacles, or whatever you want to call them, extend, all the way to San Diego. I thought I was going to be getting some Golden State Warrior fans, because I didn't know where I was at. Most of the fans are Lakers fans, so that's great.

"And I'm also here to say that next year I'll be trying out for the San Diego Chargers, so I look forward to that. Hopefully I can play some baseball. Is there a baseball team here?"

You're wearing the hat, he was told.

"I know I'm wearing the hat. I just love the SD. The logo looks great. I didn't realize there was a baseball team in San Diego."

A tough, physical defender, Artest had some spirited moments against Bryant when the Rockets pushed the Lakers to seven games in the second round of the playoffs.

"That was friendship what you saw out there with me and Kobe," Artest said. "That's like hard-core friendship, you know, like back in the days — fight against your best friend when you were younger and go out and get some ice cream later? That's what that was. It was just so competitive.

"I just knew that my team was going to win. Of course we lost Yao (Ming), which hurt the Rockets. And Kobe wanted to win, and he knew his team was going to win. It was like, 'OK, I know you but I don't care nothing about you, maybe I have to step on your toes and give you a couple of elbows and get you ejected twice, whatever it takes to win, that's what I'm going to do."

Artest was ejected from Games 2 and 3 against the Lakers. In Game 2, he received a technical and was ejected after pointing and making a gesture near his throat after complaining that Bryant had elbowed him in the throat under the basket.

Artest was ejected from Game 3 after a flagrant foul on Pau Gasol.

It's all good now that they're all teammates.

"That's what I love about Kobe. He's so tough," Artest said. "He was great when he was younger, but he's much more competitive now. I didn't envision myself playing with him. I always wanted to play against him. I always wanted to beat Kobe Bryant. But I'm more than happy to be playing with Kobe."

A native New Yorker, Artest said he's turning into a West Coast kind of guy.

"I'm learning a lot of different ways of California. Is this Southern California?" he said, apparently not realizing San Diego is as southern as it gets. "It never rains in Southern California, huh? I'm turning into a Southern California guy. I'm happy to be a Southern Californian, or whatever you want to call it."

The Lakers open training camp Sept. 29 at their headquarters in El Segundo.
Post by: weary1969 on September 22, 2009, 01:56:16 PM
Meh finger ready.
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 22, 2009, 02:26:29 PM
Meh finger ready.
trust meh,yuh go use it. :devil:
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 22, 2009, 02:46:24 PM
Meh finger ready.

Whatever, Weary will not have to use her finger to point at Artest, only to put up a thumbs up after we repeat, Color Me Badd tune coming to mind w/your request Capo "Dream on, dream away...."   :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on September 22, 2009, 09:39:29 PM
Meh finger ready.

Whatever, Weary will not have to use her finger to point at Artest, only to put up a thumbs up after we repeat, Color Me Badd tune coming to mind w/your request Capo "Dream on, dream away...."   :devil:

Well said
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 23, 2009, 08:53:49 AM
$100K offer for Jordan-Russell charity rematchAssociated Press

LEHI, Utah (AP) - The owner of the Utah Jazz's NBA Development League team wants to see Michael Jordan go 1-on-1 against Bryon Russell one more time.

Be like Mike? The next Michael Jordan? Many players have been tagged with that impossible label during their careers. John Galinsky looks at 10 of the would-be Heir Jordans. More Michael Jordan:
Top 10 Michael Jordan moments
Rosen: What made MJ great
Top 10 shooting guards in history

Brandt Andersen is offering a $100,000 donation to the charity of the winner's choice if he can get Jordan and Russell to play a game of 21.

Jordan's jumper over Russell in Game 6 of the 1998 NBA finals gave the Chicago Bulls a 4-2 series win over Utah. Jazz fans still insist Jordan pushed off Russell.

During Jordan's Hall of Fame speech, he said he was motivated by Russell's trash talk toward him during his first retirement.

Andersen says he has spoken to Russell and left a message for Jordan through a mutual friend. Andersen's suggestion: Jordan vs. Russell during halftime of the Utah Flash's home opener.

this must b does haunt russell every time he go to bed.
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 23, 2009, 10:08:21 AM
Russian tycoon says he's made offer to buy NetsAssociated Press

MOSCOW (AP) - Russia's richest man, a 6-foot-6 amateur basketball player who made billions in metals, says he wants to buy the New Jersey Nets in exchange for funding the team's troubled plans to build an arena in Brooklyn.

Mikhail Prokhorov wrote Tuesday on his blog that he wants to improve Russian basketball by getting access to NBA training methods and sending Russian coaches for internships in the league.

Prokhorov said that he sent team shareholders an offer over the weekend. Under the proposal, Prokhorov's holding company Onexim would obtain a controlling share in the NBA team in return for loaning the money to build a new arena.

The posting says the controlling shares would be obtained for "a symbolic price."

Nets owner Bruce Ratner faces a crucial December deadline for his plan to build an arena in Brooklyn and move his team there in 2011. The construction needs to break ground by then or lose access to the tax-free bonds financing much of the project.

Ratner spokesman Joe DePlasco said Wednesday that "we do not have a comment as of yet."

It was not immediately clear whether NBA regulations permit foreigners to own a team; Chinese businessmen hold a minority share in the Cleveland Cavaliers. Baseball's Seattle Mariners are owned by the American division of Japan's Nintendo.

"I don't think players really care who own the team," said Nets president Rod Thorn. "Whatever happens, I think it will get resolved in a timely fashion and I don't think it will have any effect on the players."

Mikhail Prokhorov has a fortune worth roughly $9.5 billion, according to Forbes. ( / Associated Press)

Prokhorov, who owns a share in the Russian basketball team CSKA, has been ranked as the country's richest man in the Russian edition of Forbes, with an estimated fortune of $9.5 billion. He has weathered the global economic crisis better than many of his wealthy compatriots by cashing out of some lucrative assets before the downturn battered commodity markets.

According to Forbes, his fortune shrank by some $7 billion — a breathtaking loss by most standards, but mild in comparison with some Russian oligarchs. Roman Abramovich, who as owner of Chelsea is Russia's best-known international sports magnate, lost more than $9 billion, and Oleg Deripaska, a rival in Russia's metals business, lost around $35 billion.

His interest in basketball isn't only as a spectator. The 44-year-old Prokhorov was an avid basketball player in his high school and college years.

He shot to prominence in the murky and chaotic early years of privatization deals that followed the collapse of the Soviet Union. In 1993, the Onexim bank that he headed acquired Norilsk Nickel, one of Russia's huge but lumbering and inefficient industrial conglomerates.

Prokhorov's stewardship saw Norilsk become more efficient and profitable. He resigned as Norilsk chairman in 2007 and sold off his shares for $7.5 billion, but retains substantial interests in other metals companies through Onexim, including shares in gold-miner Polyus and Rusal, the world's largest aluminum company.

Onexim's other interests include real estate, insurance and energy.

He also cuts a wide swath in the circles of the super-rich, living a lavish lifestyle in such glitzy haunts as the French Alps ski resort of Courchevel.

He was detained by French police in Courchevel for four days in 2007 as part of a prostitution investigation, but was released without charges.

Post by: capodetutticapi on September 25, 2009, 02:13:44 PM
Ratner: Sale of Nets assures move to BrooklynAssociated Press

EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. (AP) - New Jersey Nets owner Bruce Ratner says the sale of the NBA team to Russian businessman Mikhail Prokhorov is the final piece to building an $800 million arena and moving the Nets to Brooklyn.

Ratner says in a telephone interview Friday with The Associated Press that the joint Russian-American venture still requires that he sell almost $600 million in tax-exempt bonds by Dec. 31, but he sees no problem in getting that done.
The Nets owner says he does not believe a pending legal challenge to the state's use of eminent domain to assemble land for the arena will succeed. Ratner says ground will be broken on the new Barclay's Center by the end of the year.

Post by: 100% Barataria on September 27, 2009, 08:05:11 AM
This should be good for downtown Brooklyn, watch de Nets and den buss a lime in de cane
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 27, 2009, 10:26:44 AM
This should be good for downtown Brooklyn, watch de Nets and den buss a lime in de cane
walkin distance too.
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 29, 2009, 03:25:59 PM
Jazz F Kirilenko calls Shaq-LeBron 'poison union'Associated Press

LONDON (AP) - Although Andrei Kirilenko is hoping for a Russian revolution in the wake of Mikhail Prokhorov's recent purchase of the New Jersey Nets, it's LeBron James and Shaquille O'Neal that are on his mind ahead of the start of the NBA season.

Kirilenko, who plays for the Utah Jazz and will be headed to Europe for a pair of preseason games, told The Associated Press in a telephone interview Tuesday that O'Neal's move to join James with the Cleveland Cavaliers is going to cause havoc around the league.

"That's the poison union," Kirilenko said. "I mean poison in a good way. They're going to poison the rest of us."

The Jazz will play the Chicago Bulls on Oct. 6 in London, and then face Real Madrid in the Spanish capital two days later.

Utah will play at Cleveland on Nov. 14 in the team's 10th game of the regular season, and Kirilenko is predicting O'Neal will fit right in with LeBron and Co.

"He's definitely going to be a huge motivation, not only for LeBron but for the team," the 28-year-old Kirilenko said. "I just don't know how they're going to find time for Zydrunas (Ilgauskas)."

The 34-year-old Ilgauskas has been with Cleveland for his entire 11-year NBA career, but with Shaq playing in the center, the big Lithuanian will likely be on the bench.

"But that's not my problem, that's coach (Mike) Brown's problem," Kirilenko said.

Kirilenko, who has spent eight years with the Jazz since leaving the Russian league, is also expecting Prokhorov's involvement in the NBA to lead to more Russians coming over.

His first pick is center Timofey Mozgov, who averaged 11 points per game for Russia at this month's European Championship.

"He's the most improved player," Kirilenko said. 
Post by: Quags on September 29, 2009, 04:19:56 PM
Ah forget about Cleavland oui ,but every other team should look out for the Raptors  ;D
Post by: weary1969 on September 29, 2009, 08:39:07 PM
Ah forget about Cleavland oui ,but every other team should look out for the Raptors  ;D

Earn a w against
Post by: Quags on October 01, 2009, 10:07:11 AM
In the East I mean
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 08, 2009, 07:40:45 AM
Iverson could miss up to 3 weeks with hamstringAssociated Press

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (AP) - Memphis Grizzlies guard Allen Iverson could miss three weeks after an MRI revealed a partial tear in his left hamstring.

The Grizzlies made the announcement before Wednesday night's exhibition game against the Oklahoma City Thunder. If the timetable is correct, Iverson would miss all of preseason, and his status for the season opener at home against the Detroit Pistons on Oct. 28 would be in jeopardy.

"The way I see it, I'm glad it's happening right now rather than in the season," Iverson said in a pregame press conference. "That's the only positive thing I can take out of the whole thing."

Iverson, declaring himself a quick healer, said he expects to be back in time for the opener. He was hurt during the Grizzlies' training camp in Birmingham, Ala. last week and said he was just starting to get into shape after not playing basketball for five months waiting to see where he was going to land for this season.

"My legs were starting to feel a lot better than they had the first three or four days," Iverson said. "Then, just like that, I hurt the hamstring."

Entering his 14th season, the four-time NBA scoring champ signed with the Grizzlies last month, the biggest name ever to join the franchise. Iverson said he has never dealt with hamstring problems in his career and wants to make sure he is completely healed before returning to the court.

"My whole thing is to work as hard as I can to try and get back to 100 percent," Iverson said. "I don't want to try and come back too early and have this thing lingering on throughout the whole season."
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 15, 2009, 07:58:17 PM
LeBron sick, being treated as if he has swine fluAssociated Press

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio (AP) - LeBron James didn't get any sympathy from his teammates when he came back to work after spending two days sick in bed.

They ran the other way.

"You come back around and everyone is like, 'Ugh, you got the cooties,"' James said Thursday. "They don't want to be around you."

James and two Cleveland teammates have tested positive for Influenza A, and are being treated as if they have the H1N1 virus by the Cavaliers, who are being proactive in dealing with a flu bug that already has sickened six players.

H1N1, also known as swine flu, is a strain of Influenza A, and though the Cavaliers have not gotten back H1N1 test results on James, Darnell Jackson or Coby Karl, the team is treating all its players and the traveling party to Texas with medication to fight the virus.

Team physician Dr. Alfred Cianflocco met with the team at Cleveland Clinic Courts to discuss preventive measures on how to stop the flu from spreading.

"We feel very comfortable and confident that what we are doing is an appropriate course of action," Cavs spokesman Tad Carper said. "The key for us is to approach things proactively and from a presumptive standpoint."

James, Jackson and Karl were tested for H1N1 at the Cleveland Clinic. Carper did not know when the results will be known. All three players missed Wednesday's exhibition against Washington but are traveling with the Cavs for preseason games in San Antonio on Friday and Dallas on Saturday. James believes he will be able to play in one of the games.

Forward J.J. Hickson and guard Andre Barrett are not making the Texas trip.

Jackson said the flu hit him hard. He had a high fever and slept 22 straight hours.

"I can't remember ever being that sick," he said.

James was still congested as he talked about having to spend the past two days lying in bed. He said he drank over a gallon of water each day.

"I think I'm over it now," he said.

James believes he may have gotten the flu from the shot he and his teammates got recently to fight the virus. He said his two young sons have not shown any symptoms of being sick.

The flu bug has been a minor disruption for Cleveland's training camp, which is winding down as the club prepares for its Oct. 27 season opener against Boston.

"If it's going to happen, now is the best time," James said. "I don't wish anyone to be sick. I wish great health for everyone. But if this is the time the flu bug is going to hit our team, I'm glad it's happening now."

Cavs guard Delonte West, who has spent time away from the club this month while dealing with personal and legal issues, traveled with the team to Texas. West is being treated for bipolar disorder and has pending misdemeanor weapons charges after he was arrested in Maryland carrying three loaded guns.
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 19, 2009, 07:05:00 PM
LeBron: Cancer scare this year was 'nerve-racking'Associated Press

CLEVELAND (AP) - The benign growth in LeBron James' jaw made for a few nervous days earlier this year for the Cleveland Cavaliers superstar.

James said on Monday he had to wait for biopsy results in January after doctors at the Cleveland Clinic found a growth in the right side of his jaw. James, whose cancer concerns were first reported by The Plain Dealer, said he trusted his doctors when they told him they didn't believe the growth was malignant.

"It wasn't that much of a concern," James acknowledged. "But when it can be cancerous, anything that can be a health hazard should be a concern. But the doctors gave me assurances that they didn't think it was and I listened to the professionals."

The doctors were right. James had surgery to remove it in June, a few days after the Cavaliers' season ended.

Post by: 100% Barataria on October 19, 2009, 08:08:51 PM
Ah gehin ready fuh yuh suicide watch  :devil:
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 19, 2009, 09:35:55 PM
i eh tink cleveland comin up big this year,lookin fuh celtics to bounce back hard.watch out.
Post by: fari on October 23, 2009, 06:44:23 PM
i watching orlando wipe the floor wid de hawks...orlando deadly from beyond de arc, jameer nelson is in raw form, i know it early still but magic will give teams real tunda this year
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 28, 2009, 09:11:20 AM
i eh tink cleveland comin up big this year,lookin fuh celtics to bounce back hard.watch out.
boston cut they ass lastnite.
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 28, 2009, 03:03:59 PM

When the LA LA hits yuh  :devil:
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 28, 2009, 05:49:03 PM

see de ceremony lastnite,yuh boys collect they rings,some ex-greats were present,de banner drop,kobe well up (lil fag). :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on October 29, 2009, 02:24:45 PM

see de ceremony lastnite,yuh boys collect they rings,some ex-greats were present,de banner drop,kobe well up (lil fag). :devil:

LOUD STEUPS NO TNT
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 02, 2009, 10:08:05 AM
Celtics, Rondo agree on 5-year, $55M extensionby FOXSports.com

The Boston Celtics and point guard Rajon Rondo have reached agreement in principle on a five-year, $55 million contract extension, FOXSports.com's Jeff Goodman has confirmed.

The deal, originally reported this morning by Yahoo.com, comes just before a Monday deadline. Had they not agreed, Rondo would have been a restricted free agent after the season, giving the Celtics the chance to match any offer he received from another team.

Rondo's agent, Bill Duffy, told Yahoo.com that he informed Celtics president Danny Ainge Sunday that Rondo was willing to play out his deal and take his chances in the offseason, but that Ainge relented.

"As much as we were willing to wait his contract out, the Celtics stepped up to the plate to meet the original request. This is a really fair contract. We wanted him to be paid like one of the top five point guards around. It also allows the Celtics to maintain continuity to continue to be one of the best teams at this time," said Duffy.

Rondo, in his fourth year after being drafted 21st overall by Phoenix and traded to Boston, has averaged 9.8 points and 5.6 assists for his career. In four games this season, he's averaging 6.5 points and nearly 12 assists.

Post by: capodetutticapi on November 03, 2009, 08:49:15 AM
ah boy someting tell meh this season go b on fire.too early to tell who winnin wuh,ah mean is only 1 week.but could be anyones title.
Post by: fari on November 06, 2009, 07:26:16 PM
knicks playin cavs now, my goodness every three words is lebron this, lebron that...i find the atmospere in msg is just dead...the players and dem like they just going thru the motions...its gonna be a longgg year in new york
Post by: weary1969 on November 06, 2009, 11:00:48 PM
knicks playin cavs now, my goodness every three words is lebron this, lebron that...i find the atmospere in msg is just dead...the players and dem like they just going thru the motions...its gonna be a longgg year in new york

I say by now all yuh accustom.
Post by: daryn on November 07, 2009, 06:04:38 AM

I trying to refrain from even thinking about the Knicks.  Yuh forget D'Antoni actually come out and say that they eh trying to win for the next 2 years. 

With my upbringing as a fan of T&T and the West Indies I could deal with mismanagement and incompetence but how yuh could come out and say that the goal is to become spontaneously good in 2010?
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 07, 2009, 12:51:48 PM

I trying to refrain from even thinking about the Knicks.  Yuh forget D'Antoni actually come out and say that they eh trying to win for the next 2 years. 

With my upbringing as a fan of T&T and the West Indies I could deal with mismanagement and incompetence but how yuh could come out and say that the goal is to become spontaneously good in 2010?

You and Big Dawg ha plenty belly, after all de heartache w/TT football and WI cricket alyuh backing de Knicks in de NBA, ask Weary bout de rite team to back in de NBA, will give yuh a hint, dey had a center back in de day w/TT roots  :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on November 07, 2009, 10:49:54 PM

You and Big Dawg ha plenty belly, after all de heartache w/TT football and WI cricket alyuh backing de Knicks in de NBA, ask Weary bout de rite team to back in de NBA, will give yuh a hint, dey had a center back in de day w/TT roots  :devil:

More belly than basketball brains
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 10, 2009, 07:38:07 AM
NBA Great Abdul-Jabbar Has Rare Form Of LeukemiaNEW YORK (CBS) ―   

The NBA's all-time leading scorer was diagnosed last December with chronic myeloid leukemia, he told The Associated Press on Monday.

The 62-year-old Abdul-Jabbar said his doctor didn't give any guarantees, but informed him: "You have a very good chance to live your life out and not have to make any drastic changes to your lifestyle."

Abdul-Jabbar is taking an oral medication for the disease. He is a paid spokesman for the Swiss pharmaceutical company Novartis, which makes a drug that treats the illness.

Citing the way Los Angeles Lakers teammate Magic Johnson brought awareness to HIV, Abdul-Jabbar said he wants to do the same for his form of blood cancer, which can be fatal if left untreated.

"I've never been a person to share my private life. But I can help save lives," he said at a midtown Manhattan conference room. "It's incumbent on someone like me to talk about this."

Abdul-Jabbar became concerned last year after feeling odd sensations. He went for tests at UCLA, where he dominated college basketball in the late 1960s, winning three straight NCAA championships from 1967-69.

"I was getting hot flashes and sweats on a regular basis," he said. "That's not normal, even for my age."

An exam showed his white blood cell count was "sky high" and a doctor quickly diagnosed his condition. At first, all Abdul-Jabbar heard was the word "leukemia."

"I was scared," he said. "I thought it was all the same. I thought it could mean I have a month to live."

"That was my first question," he said. "Was I going to make it?"

A longtime student in martial arts, Abdul-Jabbar said he took the approach of a samurai, to face death without fear.

"I had my face on," he said.

Instead, doctors told him CML was treatable with proper medication and monitoring.

Abdul-Jabbar is a special assistant with the Lakers and said he hasn't had to cut back his level of activity of coaching, change his regimen or adjust his diet. "I'm able to sneak out for Thai food," he said.

"There is hope. This condition can be treated. You can still live a productive, full life," he said. "I'm living proof I can make it."

Abdul-Jabbar recently returned from an academic conference in Abu Dhabi and has several speaking engagements planned. Among the people he regularly talks to about his condition is his son, a third-year medical student at the University of California, San Francisco.

The six-time NBA MVP intends to post updates to his Facebook and Twitter accounts and stay connected through www.CMLearth.com, a Web site for those afflicted by the disease.

About 5,000 cases of CML are expected to be diagnosed in the United States this year, the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society said. More than 22,000 people are living in the US with the disease.

The disease tends to initially be diagnosed by people in their mid-to-late 60s, and usually affects men more than women.

"I want to spread the word," Abdul-Jabbar said.

During his 20-year professional career in the NBA, from 1969 to 1989, Abdul-Jabbar scored the highest points total of any player in league history (38,387), in addition to winning a record six Most Valuable Player Awards and six NBA championships.
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 12, 2009, 07:55:58 AM
Report: Jackson calls Gasol injury 'mysterious'by FOXSports.com

Pau Gasol may not be back for the Los Angeles Lakers until around Christmas, Phil Jackson said Wednesday, according to the Los Angeles Daily News.

Gasol, who helped the Lakers win the NBA championship in June, hasn't played this season because of a strained hamstring.

Asked if there was a target date for Gasol's return, the Lakers coach said, "No. We're starting to look toward Christmas, though. Some time out there."

The injury wasn't expected to sideline Gasol for long, but the 7-foot forward said he's grown frustrated that his hamstring hasn't healed by now.

Jackson called the injury "mysterious."

Why? "Because with most hamstrings you see bleeding or bruises or holes in the hamstring," Jackson said. "His has been one of those things wasn't a big concern to us, but has turned into a month-long injury."

Post by: capodetutticapi on November 12, 2009, 07:17:32 PM
Hornets fire Scott as coach after 3-6 startAssociated Press

NEW ORLEANS (AP) - The New Orleans Hornets fired Byron Scott only nine games into the season on Thursday and replaced him with general manager Jeff Bower, hoping the man who put the current roster together can get more out of it on the court.

"I told Jeff, 'The genie's out of the bottle,"' Hornets chief operating officer Hugh Weber said. "Nobody can say he doesn't have the right players. ... Jeff has hand-selected this team, and we like the idea that now he'll be held accountable for the results.

"Our expectations are high. Our sense of urgency is high. Our patience is low and we hope that translates into results quickly."

Scott, who only two seasons ago was the NBA coach of the year, was fired one day after a 124-104 loss at Phoenix dropped New Orleans to 3-6.

Bower, who will remain general manager while in his first head coaching job, immediately moved to name Tim Floyd his top assistant and said other assistants will be retained as well. Floyd, a former Chicago Bulls and Hornets head coach, most recently coached at Southern California. He led USC to three straight NCAA tournament appearances, then resigned last June amid allegations he paid to have O.J. Mayo play for the Trojans. An NCAA investigation of the matter is ongoing.

Bower was Floyd's assistant coach with the Hornets during the 2003-04 season, and the two are still friends.

"I have a high comfort level with Tim, who has proven himself to be a quality coach, who has proven himself to have some very specific areas that he's outstanding in," Bower said.

The Hornets were 41-41 in Floyd's only season as head coach, losing in a seven-game series to the Miami Heat and then-rookie Dwyane Wade in the first round of the playoffs.

The only player left on the Hornets roster from that season is David West, a rookie back then who has since become an All-Star. West said he respected Scott but understood the rationale behind making a change.

"The good thing is we're 3-6, so getting back to .500 and getting going in the right direction isn't something that's out of the realm of possibility," West said. "With Jeff coming in, bringing in Tim, for guys who've only played for coach Scott, it will be a dramatic difference.

"We've got to be receptive to what this brings because what we had wasn't working," West said. "Hopefully we can get some different results."

Chris Paul, who has not played for any NBA coach but Scott, was not available after players gathered at the club's suburban training center. Team officials said he had a prior commitment and had to leave. Paul was close with Scott. The pair golfed together and Paul once referred to Scott as a father figure who was closer to him than many of his own relatives.

"I understand personal relationships," Bower said. "Chris, that's one of his strengths, his ability to connect. And obviously it's a very strong personal relationship (with Scott) and that should remain in place. This is a professional decision and a professional relationship that we have here and I have a lot of confidence in what he wants. He wants to win. ... None of us are pleased from a personal standpoint to ever have a day like today."

After spending 12 years as an assistant college coach at Penn State and Marist, Bower joined the Hornets' scouting department in 1995 and began his first stint as general manager in 2001. He returned to a front office role in Scott's first season and became general manager again during the 2005-06 season.

Messages left with Scott's Los Angeles-area agent, Brian McInerney, were not immediately returned.

When Scott took over as coach following the 2003-04 season, replacing Floyd, he was the Hornets' third coach in three seasons. The Hornets won only 18 games in Scott's first season, a rebuilding year that saw the departure of Baron Davis in a trade with Golden State.

The following summer, the Hornets drafted Paul, and the team improved steadily during the next three seasons.

In 2007-08, when Paul and West were named to their first All-Star game, the Hornets went a franchise-best 56-26 during the regular season, winning the club's first division title.

The Hornets went on to beat Dallas in the opening round of the playoffs before losing to San Antonio in the seventh game of their Western Conference semifinal series.

Scott was in the final year of a two-year extension worth about $5 million a year. The Hornets hired him hoping he could repeat what he did in New Jersey, when he twice took the Nets to the NBA finals. He wound up 203-216 in a little more than five seasons with the Hornets.

Scott's stock in New Orleans began to drop last season, when the team struggled to make the playoffs as the Western Conference's seventh seed before being bounced in the first round by Denver in five games.

The Nuggets won several lopsided games in that series, including a Game 4 victory by a whopping 58 points, tying the largest margin of victory in NBA playoff history.

Before this season started, Hornets owner George Shinn said he was disappointed to see young players like Brandon Bass, J.R. Smith and Chris Andersen, who'd been let go by the Hornets while Scott was coach, thrive elsewhere. He said he wanted Scott to do a better job developing young players.

Scott's common response was that he had nothing against young players, only players who failed to grasp the nuances of the schemes he put in place. He pointed out that Paul started immediately as a rookie and flourished right away.

Bower said he studied the team throughout the preseason and the first nine games of this season, looking for evidence that the team was improving, and instead saw the squad falling back into the same stagnant patterns that plagued it a year ago.

Bower said he, Scott and the ownership collectively set out a plan in the offseason to change things, "And up to now we're not satisfied with the way the plan has been executed, so it's my job to change that."

"We believe our personnel has the ability to perform at a much higher level than it has been."

Post by: capodetutticapi on November 12, 2009, 07:18:33 PM
imagine nets and knicks have a combined record of 1-16.utter disgrace.
Post by: weary1969 on November 12, 2009, 11:41:53 PM
Hornets fire Scott as coach after 3-6 startAssociated Press

NEW ORLEANS (AP) - The New Orleans Hornets fired Byron Scott only nine games into the season on Thursday and replaced him with general manager Jeff Bower, hoping the man who put the current roster together can get more out of it on the court.

"I told Jeff, 'The genie's out of the bottle,"' Hornets chief operating officer Hugh Weber said. "Nobody can say he doesn't have the right players. ... Jeff has hand-selected this team, and we like the idea that now he'll be held accountable for the results.

"Our expectations are high. Our sense of urgency is high. Our patience is low and we hope that translates into results quickly."

Scott, who only two seasons ago was the NBA coach of the year, was fired one day after a 124-104 loss at Phoenix dropped New Orleans to 3-6.

Bower, who will remain general manager while in his first head coaching job, immediately moved to name Tim Floyd his top assistant and said other assistants will be retained as well. Floyd, a former Chicago Bulls and Hornets head coach, most recently coached at Southern California. He led USC to three straight NCAA tournament appearances, then resigned last June amid allegations he paid to have O.J. Mayo play for the Trojans. An NCAA investigation of the matter is ongoing.

Bower was Floyd's assistant coach with the Hornets during the 2003-04 season, and the two are still friends.

"I have a high comfort level with Tim, who has proven himself to be a quality coach, who has proven himself to have some very specific areas that he's outstanding in," Bower said.

The Hornets were 41-41 in Floyd's only season as head coach, losing in a seven-game series to the Miami Heat and then-rookie Dwyane Wade in the first round of the playoffs.

The only player left on the Hornets roster from that season is David West, a rookie back then who has since become an All-Star. West said he respected Scott but understood the rationale behind making a change.

"The good thing is we're 3-6, so getting back to .500 and getting going in the right direction isn't something that's out of the realm of possibility," West said. "With Jeff coming in, bringing in Tim, for guys who've only played for coach Scott, it will be a dramatic difference.

"We've got to be receptive to what this brings because what we had wasn't working," West said. "Hopefully we can get some different results."

Chris Paul, who has not played for any NBA coach but Scott, was not available after players gathered at the club's suburban training center. Team officials said he had a prior commitment and had to leave. Paul was close with Scott. The pair golfed together and Paul once referred to Scott as a father figure who was closer to him than many of his own relatives.

"I understand personal relationships," Bower said. "Chris, that's one of his strengths, his ability to connect. And obviously it's a very strong personal relationship (with Scott) and that should remain in place. This is a professional decision and a professional relationship that we have here and I have a lot of confidence in what he wants. He wants to win. ... None of us are pleased from a personal standpoint to ever have a day like today."

After spending 12 years as an assistant college coach at Penn State and Marist, Bower joined the Hornets' scouting department in 1995 and began his first stint as general manager in 2001. He returned to a front office role in Scott's first season and became general manager again during the 2005-06 season.

Messages left with Scott's Los Angeles-area agent, Brian McInerney, were not immediately returned.

When Scott took over as coach following the 2003-04 season, replacing Floyd, he was the Hornets' third coach in three seasons. The Hornets won only 18 games in Scott's first season, a rebuilding year that saw the departure of Baron Davis in a trade with Golden State.

The following summer, the Hornets drafted Paul, and the team improved steadily during the next three seasons.

In 2007-08, when Paul and West were named to their first All-Star game, the Hornets went a franchise-best 56-26 during the regular season, winning the club's first division title.

The Hornets went on to beat Dallas in the opening round of the playoffs before losing to San Antonio in the seventh game of their Western Conference semifinal series.

Scott was in the final year of a two-year extension worth about $5 million a year. The Hornets hired him hoping he could repeat what he did in New Jersey, when he twice took the Nets to the NBA finals. He wound up 203-216 in a little more than five seasons with the Hornets.

Scott's stock in New Orleans began to drop last season, when the team struggled to make the playoffs as the Western Conference's seventh seed before being bounced in the first round by Denver in five games.

The Nuggets won several lopsided games in that series, including a Game 4 victory by a whopping 58 points, tying the largest margin of victory in NBA playoff history.

Before this season started, Hornets owner George Shinn said he was disappointed to see young players like Brandon Bass, J.R. Smith and Chris Andersen, who'd been let go by the Hornets while Scott was coach, thrive elsewhere. He said he wanted Scott to do a better job developing young players.

Scott's common response was that he had nothing against young players, only players who failed to grasp the nuances of the schemes he put in place. He pointed out that Paul started immediately as a rookie and flourished right away.

Bower said he studied the team throughout the preseason and the first nine games of this season, looking for evidence that the team was improving, and instead saw the squad falling back into the same stagnant patterns that plagued it a year ago.

Bower said he, Scott and the ownership collectively set out a plan in the offseason to change things, "And up to now we're not satisfied with the way the plan has been executed, so it's my job to change that."

"We believe our personnel has the ability to perform at a much higher level than it has been."

SADDDDDDDD 2 C meh Laker boi get d axe but d writin was on d wall since last season.
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 13, 2009, 09:27:07 PM

Ah tink de problem is all de pollution in de Hudson we and meadowlands to boot
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 14, 2009, 09:05:14 AM

yuh boys lose big lastnite to nuggets.
Post by: weary1969 on November 14, 2009, 01:02:37 PM
Tings bad I watchin Bos v Hawks from last nite. ESPN showin it now.
Post by: daryn on November 14, 2009, 10:25:38 PM
Brandon Jennings just score 55 in a Bucks win.  Leading the ROY year race in the early going.

I glad for him.  Everybody was criticizing him when he went Europe last year.
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 14, 2009, 10:39:10 PM

yuh boys lose big lastnite to nuggets.

Nuggets have a nice team, will see what happens playoff time, you know how that went last year when they came up against the city w/o lakes  :devil:
Post by: big dawg on November 15, 2009, 12:53:24 PM
Thus far..  Knicks 1-9 for the season..........NJ Nets 0 -10 for the season

Last and second to last in the Conference....... (Being a basketball fan in de tri-state is real pace)

:thumbsdown:
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 16, 2009, 07:56:32 AM
LA with they 2nd straight lorse.hehehe.
Post by: weary1969 on November 16, 2009, 11:46:10 AM

Yuh get yuh Xmas gift ahready
Post by: weary1969 on November 17, 2009, 01:17:55 PM
Associated Press

LOS ANGELES -- Disgruntled Memphis guard Allen Iverson returned to his home in Atlanta after receiving permission to leave the team to attend to personal business.

Team owner Michael Heisley gave the four-time NBA scoring leader permission to skip the Grizzlies' game Saturday night against the Los Angeles Clippers following a 114-98 loss to the Lakers the night before.

According to a team spokesman, Iverson participated in a walkthrough at the team's hotel in the morning and then hopped a flight in the afternoon after he and personal manager Gary Moore met with Heisley.

Iverson has played in three games since returning from a hamstring injury, averaging 12.3 points, 3.7 assists and 22.3 minutes. Coach Lionel Hollins spoke to him briefly before he left, but would not elaborate on the conversation.

"It's a personal issue that they asked for permission to go attend to," Hollins said. "It was granted, and it's indefinite. I have no other information."

Iverson played 21 minutes against the Lakers, making two of five shots and finishing with eight points and three assists. In the postgame dressing room, the 10-time All-Star reiterated his displeasure about coming off the bench for the first time in his 14-year career.

Allen Iverson isn't thrilled about coming off the bench for the Grizzlies. But does that mean his time in Memphis is over? Blog "It's something that I never did in my life, so obviously it's a big adjustment," he said. "I'm so tired of discussing that, talking about that, every single day. It's just not something that I want to discuss. That's something you've got to ask the coach. He makes all the decisions around here. Obviously, they signed me for a reason. They've been watching me play this game for 13 years, and they know what I do on the basketball court."

Iverson also acknowledged that he had become a distraction. "When I hear anything about the Memphis Grizzlies, I don't hear you guys talk about anything other than the situation with me coming off the bench," he said Friday. "I mean, there's got to be something else with this team to talk about besides that. But I guess that sells a lot better than anything else when it comes to this team."

The worst part of his situation, Iverson said, was that he and Hollins have not discussed the situation in private. "That's probably why it's at this point right now," Iverson said. "It's probably going to always be hard for me and him to see eye-to-eye, because we've never even talked to each other. Obviously that's what you do if you're trying to accomplish the same goal."

When asked before Saturday's game to respond, Hollins bluntly: "If Allen wants to talk to me, my door is open. I talk to him during the game before the game and after the game.

"I understand star power, and that's to be expected," Hollins added. "I wouldn't mind even talking about Allen's star power if it was about the game and his performance during the game, versus what Allen has said and what he will or won't do."

The Grizzlies used Marcus Williams as the backup point guard against the Clippers."It's the way we'd been going since training camp, until the last three games," Hollins said.

Asked if he had any timetable as to when Iverson might start for the Grizzlies, Hollins said: "I have no comment about that."

Post by: fari on November 17, 2009, 08:33:53 PM
MEMPHIS, Tenn. (AP)—The Memphis Grizzlies officially have ended their relationship with Allen Iverson(notes) by waiving the 10-time All-Star.

The Grizzlies announced Monday they had mutually agreed to end a one-year contract with the former league MVP.

But the team did not waive Iverson until late Tuesday afternoon.

Iverson began an indefinite leave of absence on Nov. 7 to deal with a personal issue. The 34-year-old guard played only three games with Memphis, all in California. He averaged 12.3 points and 22.3 minutes coming off the bench in each.
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 17, 2009, 08:44:23 PM

Yuh get yuh Xmas gift ahready

Xmas, b'day, and a flamin orgasm  :rotfl:  Capo, doh worry, ah guh pass de hanky when we land we 2nd in as many years
Post by: big dawg on November 17, 2009, 08:47:51 PM
MEMPHIS, Tenn. (AP)—The Memphis Grizzlies officially have ended their relationship with Allen Iverson(notes) by waiving the 10-time All-Star.

The Grizzlies announced Monday they had mutually agreed to end a one-year contract with the former league MVP.

Iverson began an indefinite leave of absence on Nov. 7 to deal with a personal issue. The 34-year-old guard played only three games with Memphis, all in California. He averaged 12.3 points and 22.3 minutes coming off the bench in each.

the taylor done measuring allen for his knicks uniform
Post by: weary1969 on November 17, 2009, 09:32:11 PM

U EH LIKE NY Iversonnnnnnnn
Post by: Quags on November 17, 2009, 10:44:16 PM
This league is dirty yow .The refs have to be corrupt .I just witnessed one of the biggest rip offs .Imagine we leading and killing the Nuggets crowd silent. Imagine at the end the cover the spread beating us by 20 ,if I ever see anything like that from the refs again this year ,am gonna stop watching the game .
Post by: fari on November 18, 2009, 08:59:55 AM

i hear so too...might be one of the few bright sparks for them this year, who knows he might inspire them to at least be competitive.
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 18, 2009, 06:21:30 PM
AI now cyar help NY.maybe 10 years ago.
Post by: Quags on November 18, 2009, 07:59:30 PM
just give him the damn ball ,and dont ask him to come practice .
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 19, 2009, 09:36:10 AM
ah boy ny win lastnite...nets lose...atlanta surprising.(10-2 tied fuh best record with suns)
Post by: daryn on November 19, 2009, 10:34:10 AM

he could help them sell tickets.

the way tings going he might help Walsh and D'Antoni save their jobs too.  it's one thing to say yuh waiting on 2010 but dis team could challenge for the all-time worst record.
Post by: Quags on November 19, 2009, 12:22:40 PM
I think he could help you guys if his heart still in the game .Allen was doing great untill before the trade with Detroit .The phili coach demanded him practice .Personally i think sport never seen a creature like allen since like 30s and 40s .He just want to rest between games .
The coach in trouble to ....what Dantonio missing ,in NY that  had him a success  in Phoenix is so obviously Steve Nash .
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 12:47:07 PM

AI sell buy date gone.
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 25, 2009, 06:36:50 PM
Final Answer? Iverson announces plan to retireby FOXSports.com

The question: What will Allen Iverson do next?

The answer: He's retiring.
The 10-time All-Star and four-time scoring champion announced Wednesday his decision to hang up his hightops, via a statement on Stephen A. Smith's Web site.

"I would like to announce my plans to retire from the National Basketball Association," the statement said. "I always thought that when I left the game, it would be because I couldn't help my team the way that I was accustomed to. However, that is not the case."

The Philadelphia-based Smith reported the news earlier on FOX Sports radio and said Iverson called him to relay the news.

"He was barely able to talk," Smith said. "He got a little choked up. He's struggling with the decision right now as you can imagine. This is a guy who expected to walk away from the game after he had captured an NBA championship. That never happened in his 13 seasons."

Iverson, known as The Answer, is one of the most prolific scorers in NBA history. He played his first 10 seasons in Philadelphia, leading the Sixers to the NBA Finals in 2001. He also won his only MVP award that season.

His reputation suffered in subsequent stops in Denver, Detroit and Memphis. His stint with the Grizzlies lasted just three games this season before both sides agreed to part company.

The New York Knicks expressed interest in signing Iverson last week before deciding against it.

Smith said he thinks Iverson may wind up playing again if another NBA team wants him.

"I don't believe it's a retirement, but that's what he's calling it and that's what I have to respect," Smith said.

Iverson hinted at the same sentiment in his statement.

"I still have tremendous love for the game, the desire to play, and a whole lot left in my tank," the statement said. "I feel strongly that I can still compete at the highest level."

Iverson cited his family as a primary reason for the decision.

"Stepping away from the game will allow me to spend quality time with my wife and kids," the statement said. "This is a reward that far exceeds anything that I've ever achieved on the basketball court. I have prayed for this day and I see it as my greatest gift."

Post by: big dawg on November 25, 2009, 09:21:28 PM
Final Answer? Iverson announces plan to retireby FOXSports.com

The question: What will Allen Iverson do next?

The answer: He's retiring.
The 10-time All-Star and four-time scoring champion announced Wednesday his decision to hang up his hightops, via a statement on Stephen A. Smith's Web site.

"I would like to announce my plans to retire from the National Basketball Association," the statement said. "I always thought that when I left the game, it would be because I couldn't help my team the way that I was accustomed to. However, that is not the case."

The Philadelphia-based Smith reported the news earlier on FOX Sports radio and said Iverson called him to relay the news.

"He was barely able to talk," Smith said. "He got a little choked up. He's struggling with the decision right now as you can imagine. This is a guy who expected to walk away from the game after he had captured an NBA championship. That never happened in his 13 seasons."

Iverson, known as The Answer, is one of the most prolific scorers in NBA history. He played his first 10 seasons in Philadelphia, leading the Sixers to the NBA Finals in 2001. He also won his only MVP award that season.

His reputation suffered in subsequent stops in Denver, Detroit and Memphis. His stint with the Grizzlies lasted just three games this season before both sides agreed to part company.

The New York Knicks expressed interest in signing Iverson last week before deciding against it.

Smith said he thinks Iverson may wind up playing again if another NBA team wants him.

"I don't believe it's a retirement, but that's what he's calling it and that's what I have to respect," Smith said.

Iverson hinted at the same sentiment in his statement.

"I still have tremendous love for the game, the desire to play, and a whole lot left in my tank," the statement said. "I feel strongly that I can still compete at the highest level."

Iverson cited his family as a primary reason for the decision.

"Stepping away from the game will allow me to spend quality time with my wife and kids," the statement said. "This is a reward that far exceeds anything that I've ever achieved on the basketball court. I have prayed for this day and I see it as my greatest gift."

i'll give him by the allstar break to change his mind
Post by: Dutty on November 25, 2009, 11:04:13 PM

True,,he go be on the Brett Farve retirement model
Post by: weary1969 on December 02, 2009, 02:50:24 PM

True,,he go be on the Brett Farve retirement model

PHILADELPHIA (AP) - Dust off the No. 3 jersey. Allen Iverson is with the 76ers again.

Iverson signed a free-agent contract with Philadelphia on Wednesday, three years after their acrimonious split led to his trade and seemingly ended any chance of his return. Iverson's brief retirement is over and he's expected to make his debut Monday at home against Denver.

The Sixers needed a replacement once they lost starting point guard Lou Williams, who's expected to miss eight weeks after jaw surgery. Williams, who averaged 17.4 points and 5.1 assists, broke his jaw in a loss to Washington on Nov. 24.

Iverson, his agent and business manager met with team president Ed Stefanski, coach Eddie Jordan and two other members of the organization Monday to talk about returning.

"Without really seeing him on the floor, I would like to compare him to Brett Favre, a guy who people think is too old to play and he's almost having an MVP year," Jordan said. "That's off the top of my head. When I woke up this morning, I said, 'Maybe he can be that.' It's not a big maybe. I think he can be that."

The 34-year-old Iverson announced his retirement last week after a stint with the Memphis Grizzlies. The 10-time All-Star was NBA MVP in 2001, when he led the Sixers to the NBA finals.

"We had, at times, a rocky road with Allen Iverson, but we also had a fantastic run with Allen," Peter Luukko, COO of Comcast-Spectacor, which owns the 76ers and Flyers, told The Associated Press. "The expectations with Allen have changed dramatically. We're not looking for Allen to individually lead this team the way he has in the past."

Iverson was offered a one-year, non-guaranteed contract Tuesday, according to a person who spoke to The Associated Press on condition of anonymity because the talks were private.

The Sixers would owe just under $650,000 if they guarantee his contract for the remainder of the season on Jan. 10.

"The whole situation wasn't about the contract and the money," Iverson's agent, Leon Rose, told The AP. "It was about the opportunity and the chance to come to Philadelphia."

In 10 seasons with the Sixers, Iverson posted the highest scoring average in team history (28.1), was second on the points list (19,583) and holds the record for 3-pointers (877). He was a seven-time All-Star, won four scoring titles and two All-Star game MVPs.

"He's like a rock star," Stefanski said.

The Sixers (5-13) had lost seven straight entering Wednesday night's game at Oklahoma City and need Iverson to spark sagging ticket sales. The Sixers are 29th in the NBA in attendance.

Luukko said Iverson's deal was "absolutely, strictly a basketball decision."

Jordan said Iverson will likely start in place of rookie Jrue Holiday.

"I told him I would like for him to start, and that's where it sort of ended," Jordan said. "And he was really like a kid at Christmas. That's how he sort of explained it to me. He's really excited and we're looking forward to it."

"Without really seeing him on the floor, I would like to compare him to Brett Favre, a guy who people think is too old to play and he's almost having an MVP year. That's off the top of my head. When I woke up this morning, I said, 'Maybe he can be that.' It's not a big maybe. I think he can be that."

Iverson's last game with Philadelphia was Dec. 6, 2006, in Chicago. He refused to play the fourth quarter and was banished from the team two days later. He was eventually traded to Denver as part of the Andre Miller deal, and bounced to Detroit before landing in Memphis.

"Certainly, the way it left off, it's surprising," Luukko said.

Rose said he wasn't surprised both sides put their bitter parting behind them.

"It was a good situation that made sense for them," Rose said. "Allen has always had an affinity for the city of Philadelphia, the fans, the memories of playing here. He's always talked about the opportunity to come back."

The 6-foot Iverson played three games this season with Memphis before taking a leave of absence to attend to personal matters. He was waived after the two sides agreed to part ways.

The New York Knicks considered signing Iverson after he cleared waivers, before deciding he would take too much playing time from younger players they are trying to develop.

Iverson would get another look at his former teams after playing Denver. The Sixers, who have not won a playoff series since 2003, play at home Dec. 9 against Detroit.

Iverson was the No. 1 overall pick in the 1996 draft, but his 10 turbulent seasons in Philadelphia were marred by rants about practice, run-ins with former coach Larry Brown, arrests and a failed rap career.

In one infamous blowup at the end of the 2002 season, he repeated the word "practice" nearly 20 times during a rambling monologue.

"Times change, situations change," Luukko said. "The best way was to make this a basketball decision. Don't get personal with it."

Iverson has a career average of 27 points in 889 games over 14 seasons, and is tied for the fifth-highest scoring average in NBA history. He ranks third among active players.

"It's a great challenge, and I think it's a motivational aspect to it, too," Jordan said. "Guys are going to be jacked up. He's a winner, he's an assassin on the floor and that sort of thing is contagious."

Post by: 2cents on December 05, 2009, 12:34:18 AM
Anybody see the end of that lakers vs heat game there....kobe real upsettin yo...kill dem men on d buzzer.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 05, 2009, 12:50:10 PM
Anybody see the end of that lakers vs heat game there....kobe real upsettin yo...kill dem men on d buzzer.

When the LA LA hits yuh
Post by: weary1969 on December 05, 2009, 07:47:01 PM

When the LA LA hits yuh

ENTTTTTTTT
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 06, 2009, 02:36:22 PM

When the LA LA hits yuh
lucky punk. :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on December 07, 2009, 08:54:07 AM

When the LA LA hits yuh
lucky punk. :devil:

a W is a W is a W while a L is a L is a L
Post by: breezers on December 07, 2009, 06:20:10 PM
It's the Return Of The King! "The Answer" The one and only...AI.

1st game back at home vs Nuggets! Very Interesting!

LET'S GET IT AI!!

http://www.atdhe.net/10497/watch-denver-nuggets-vs-philadelphia-76ers
Post by: Dutty on December 09, 2009, 09:52:11 PM
Any allyuh ketch de 60 minutes piece on Tim Donaghy....when he self say dat de refs sorf  sorf wit Kobe for calls
de man does get ah free pass.....no wonder he get de ring 8)

http://www.goldenstateofmind.com/2009/12/6/1189114/60-minutes-interview-w-ex-nba (http://www.goldenstateofmind.com/2009/12/6/1189114/60-minutes-interview-w-ex-nba)
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 11, 2009, 10:13:34 AM
Any allyuh ketch de 60 minutes piece on Tim Donaghy....when he self say dat de refs sorf  sorf wit Kobe for calls

http://www.goldenstateofmind.com/2009/12/6/1189114/60-minutes-interview-w-ex-nba (http://www.goldenstateofmind.com/2009/12/6/1189114/60-minutes-interview-w-ex-nba)
ah know that...that fukker couldn win no championship.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 12, 2009, 10:52:14 AM

ah know that...that f**kker couldn win no championship.

Now he will win one w/9 functional fingers
Post by: weary1969 on December 15, 2009, 07:01:22 PM
Xmas came early LA V Chicago. Thank God 4 WGN.
Post by: weary1969 on December 15, 2009, 10:56:40 PM
19-4 just wanted 2 share
Post by: weary1969 on December 17, 2009, 08:13:11 AM
MILWAUKEE - Kobe Bryant reverted to an old habit when he missed a potential game-winning shot. Given a second opportunity, he stuck with the change he’s made since breaking his right index finger.

Bryant hit a 15-footer as time expired and scored the game’s final seven points over the last 1:18 of overtime to lift the Los Angeles Lakers to a 107-106 victory over the Milwaukee Bucks on Wednesday night.

Bryant, who had 27 of his 39 points in the second half and overtime, missed a shot from nearly the same spot from the left elbow that would’ve won it at the buzzer to end regulation.

“I changed my grip since the finger, so that first shot I took had my original grip and the ball kind of came off the wrong way,” said Bryant, who broke the finger against Minnesota on Friday. “I was upset because if I was going to miss it, I’d rather miss it with things I’ve practiced in the last few days. I was happy to get another look.”

On his second try, he backed down Charlie Bell again and drained the jumper to start the celebration by raising his arms triumphantly and returning to the Lakers bench where he was mobbed.

“I had a really good look on that first one and wanted to go right back to the same spot and get the same look,” Bryant said.

Pau Gasol had 26 points and a career-high 22 rebounds for the Lakers (20-4), who tied Boston for the best record in the NBA with their 13th win in the last 14 games.

Bryant, who scored 42 points in a win over Chicago on Tuesday night, was again sharp when it counted despite the finger that’s been hampering his ball handling and follow through. He went 13 of 28 from the field and hit all 12 of his free-throw attempts, but committed seven turnovers after committing eight against the Bulls.

He said he took a whack on the hand and it remains sore, but this one was much more painful for the Bucks.

Reserve Michael Redd had 25 points and Ersan Ilyasova added a career-high 24, but the Bucks lost their fourth straight in the series with the Lakers and are 3-14 in the last 17 meetings.

“I hate losing to him,” said Redd, back for his second game after missing seven with left knee soreness.

Bryant hit a jumper and after Ilyasova missed two free throws, the Lakers star added a three-point play by plowing into Andrew Bogut, who had 16 points and 12 rebounds, to make it 106-105 with 48 seconds left.

Bogut and Bell both declined to criticize the officiating, saying that they didn’t want to draw a fine. But both were clearly perturbed and believed Bogut had position.

“That was a huge play, the charge or block call,” Bucks coach Scott Skiles said. “That’s a huge play and if we get that stop right there, we’re probably in good position.”

Milwaukee still had chances to win or at least stave off Bryant.

Both Ridnour and Redd missed shots in the closing seconds for the Bucks, and Ron Artest grabbed a rebound with 5.4 seconds left. After a timeout, Lamar Odom inbounded the ball to Bryant, who hit the game-winne

“I did the best I could to make it a tough shot. He missed the first one, I thought it was good defense on the second one,” Bell said. “Players like that, they try to get to a certain spot on the court. It’s a comfort zone. He got to it.”

Gasol has 78 rebounds in his last four games, including three 20-rebound performances. Gasol’s total is the NBA’s best mark in a four-game span since Marcus Camby had 79 during a stretch that ended in January last season, according to STATS, LLC.

“I’m just trying to be more active and more assertive. I’m trying to pursue the ball more instead of waiting for it,” Gasol said. “The balls are bouncing my way a couple times more, but I’m just being active and hopefully I can keep it up.”

Milwaukee trailed 74-71 heading into the fourth, but took an 85-80 lead midway through the quarter. The Lakers failed to tie it until Gasol’s three-point play and Bryant’s turnaround fallaway evened it at 93 with 2:11 left.

Derek Fisher hit a 17-footer to give the Lakers the lead, but Bogut then drew a foul on Gasol and made the basket with 21 seconds left.

Bogut missed the ensuing free throw and Bryant’s 16-footer was contested by Bell to send the game to overtime.

Jackson called the win “miraculous,” but still took time to tease his superstar.

“I told him, ’Why did you keep us waiting? You had the same situation in regulation. Really, you are wasting a half-hour of our lives,”’ Jackson joked. “I just don’t understand that boy sometimes.”

Notes: Artest and Odom got technical fouls in the game, both for arguing calls. ... The Lakers didn’t spend much time in Milwaukee. They took a bus to the Bradley Center after spending Tuesday night in Chicago and flew out after the game to New York. Los Angeles plays the Nets on Saturday. ... Artest said after shootaround that Tiger Woods “still is” a role model for him and his children. Artest wrote a post on his blog that was an open letter to the superstar golfer to encourage him.

Post by: 100% Barataria on December 24, 2009, 12:36:35 AM
We had a poor game last night and still come thru, xmas vs Cavs, should be sweet
Post by: big dawg on December 26, 2009, 08:53:06 AM
We had a poor game last night and still come thru, xmas vs Cavs, should be sweet

boss.. if thaz wha yuh call sweet.. doh want to know what sour is like ... :devil:
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 26, 2009, 11:26:55 AM

boss.. if thaz wha yuh call sweet.. doh want to know what sour is like ... :devil:

:rotfl:  ent, awful display, credit to cavs though
Post by: weary1969 on December 28, 2009, 02:49:57 AM

:rotfl:  ent, awful display, credit to cavs though

Is really d seasn f goodwill d haterzzzzzzzzz has not appeared
Post by: weary1969 on December 29, 2009, 01:18:28 PM
HOUSTON (AP)
A person with knowledge of the discussions told The Associated Press that Tracy McGrady's representatives asked the Houston Rockets to trade him.

The person spoke on condition of anonymity Monday night because neither side has made an official comment.

The seven-time All-Star has been asking for more playing time as he tries to come back from offseason microfracture surgery on his left knee. He left the team and returned to Houston over the weekend.

The Houston Chronicle first reported Monday night that McGrady's representatives asked for a trade. General manager Daryl Morey was not immediately available and Bob Myers, McGrady's agent, did not immediately return a phone message left by the AP.

McGrady has played in six games since his season debut on Dec. 15. Houston coach Rick Adelman had limited him to only 7-8 minutes since then.

McGrady is due to make about $23 million this season, the last year of his contract with Houston. He joined the Rockets in 2004 in a trade with Orlando.

The 30-year-old McGrady promised to team with Yao Ming and return the Rockets to prominence when he arrived in June 2004. But his five-season tenure was marked more by injuries than team success.

He averaged 25.7 points and 5.5 assists in his first season, but the Rockets lost to Dallas in the first round of the playoffs.

McGrady's numbers steadily declined as his health became more of an issue. He missed 34 games in 2005-06 with back injuries and that lingered into the following season.

He hurt his elbow and his knee early in the 2007-08 season and missed a total of 16 games. He was in and out of the lineup last season and finally opted for the risky, season-ending surgery around the All-Star break.

Without him, the Rockets won their first playoff series since 1997, then fought the Los Angeles Lakers to seven games in the second round.

McGrady spent the summer working with Tim Grover, Michael Jordan's former trainer. The Rockets, meanwhile, acquired Trevor Ariza to fill McGrady's role in the lineup. Ariza even took McGrady's No. 1 and is the Rockets' third-leading scorer, averaging 16.3 points per game.

The Rockets already knew they'd play this season without Yao, who underwent foot surgery after the season. But Houston is a surprising 18-13 heading into Tuesday's game against New Orleans and with each game, it seemed increasingly clear that McGrady no longer had a clear role on the team.

He came off the bench to average 7.7 minutes in six games and hit only 7 of 19 shots in his brief return. Adelman never firmly said when McGrady's playing time would increase.

McGrady was then granted permission to leave the team before weekend games in New Jersey and Cleveland and returned to Houston.
Post by: fari on December 29, 2009, 07:39:59 PM
i wonder who go want he boy...i like him as a baller but he have no heart...when the chips down u cant count on he
Post by: weary1969 on January 01, 2010, 06:58:57 PM
Did Gilbert Arenas pull a gun on a teammate in the Wizards' locker room?

Arenas and Javaris Crittenton drew guns on each other during a Christmas Eve gambling dispute, according to a report in the New York Post.

According to the report, Crittenton became angry when Arenas refused to make good on a gambling debt and shouted "I'm not your punk!"

That's when Arenas reportedly pulled a gun from his locker, prompting Crittenton to do the same.

A friend of Crittenton, Kendrick "Bookie Ball" Long, told the Post the third-year player discussed the altercation with him.

"He (Arenas) was (expletive) with him; he (Crittenton) was just defending himself!" said Long, who would only say the the dispute was over money.

Arenas has said he brought unloaded guns from home and stored them in his locker to keep them away from his children.

D.C. police said Tuesday it is investigating a report that weapons were found inside a locker room at the Verizon Center, where the Washington Wizards play.

Last week, the Wizards said that guard Gilbert Arenas stored unloaded firearms in a container in his locker at the arena and that the NBA was looking into the situation. But Metropolitan Police Department spokeswoman Gwendolyn Crump did not mention Arenas or the team in a one-sentence statement on the investigation.

Arenas acknowledged he was being investigated after the Wizards' 110-98 loss to Oklahoma City on Tuesday night but he did not specify if it was by the NBA or police.

"They've been (investigating) for the last two weeks," Arenas said. "You guys just found out about it."

Arenas said he was cooperating with the investigation and that he hadn't brandished the weapons in the team's dressing room.

"They just want to know where I got them from," Arenas said. "They want to make sure they're not dirty guns."

Crump did not immediately answer a follow-up e-mail asking if Arenas was under investigation.

The statement said: "Members of the Metropolitan Police Department are currently assisting the United States Attorney's Office for the District of Columbia with an investigation into an allegation that weapons were located inside a locker room at the Verizon Center."

Information from the Associated Press was used in this story.

Post by: Dutty on January 02, 2010, 09:29:49 AM
Ah think dem lobbying to go back being called de washington bullets
Post by: weary1969 on January 02, 2010, 09:43:09 AM
Ah think dem lobbying to go back being called de washington bullets

Post by: Quags on January 04, 2010, 07:54:20 PM
He gunning to be the  best shooting guard in the league . ;D
Post by: weary1969 on January 04, 2010, 11:30:57 PM
WASHINGTON (AP)
Washington Wizards star Gilbert Arenas says he took unloaded guns from his locker in a "misguided effort to play a joke" on a teammate.

Arenas released a written statement Monday after meeting with law enforcement officials. And Arenas' lawyer says the player voluntarily met with prosecutors and detectives and answered every question during a two-hour interview.

In his statement, Arenas repeated his earlier assertion that he brought four guns to the Verizon Center to store in his locker in order to get them out of his house and away from his children. He said he mistakenly believed that recent changes in D.C. law made it legal for him to store unloaded guns there.

Arenas said he took the unloaded guns out of his locker on Dec. 21 "in a misguided effort to play a joke on a teammate." He denied threatening or assaulting anyone. The New York Post has reported that Arenas and teammate Javaris Crittenton drew guns on each other.

"Joke or not, I now recognize that what I did was a mistake and was wrong," Arenas said. "I should not have brought the guns to DC in the first place, and I now realize that there's no such thing as joking around when it comes to guns - even if unloaded."

Two officials within the league who have been briefed on the investigation told The Associated Press on Saturday that the incident stemmed from a dispute over card-playing gambling debts and a heated discussion in the locker room.

The other player involved is Javaris Crittenton. His agent, Mark Bartelstein, said earlier Monday that his client did nothing wrong.

It was unclear whether Crittenton also planned to meet with authorities about the incArenas also apologized for his actions in the statement.

"I am very sorry for the effect that my serious lapse in judgment has had on my team, my teammates, the National Basketball Association and its fans," Arenas said. "I want to apologize to everybody for letting them down with my conduct, and I promise to do better in the future."

NBA commissioner David Stern likely will wait until the legal process is complete before handing down ident. His lawyer, Peter White, is on vacation and said he would not be at any meetings Monday or Tuesday. penalties, but he could rule on Arenas now since league rules were broken in that instance.

At the NBA's request, the firearms language was bolstered during collective bargaining in 2005. Players are subject to discipline if they bring guns to the arena or practice facility, or even an offsite promotional appearance.
Title: NBA suspends Gilbert Arenas indefinitely
Post by: Bitter on January 06, 2010, 06:59:31 PM
NBA suspends Gilbert Arenas indefinitely
http://voices.washingtonpost.com/wizardsinsider/2010/01/arenas-is-suspended.html?hpid=artslot

NBA Commissioner David Stern on Wednesday suspended Washington Wizards guard Gilbert Arenas indefinitely, calling the three-time all-star "not currently fit to take the court in an NBA game." Arenas admitted to bringing four unloaded guns to Verizon Center, which violates D.C. gun laws and league rules that prohibit weapons in NBA facilities.

In a scathing statement, Stern condemned Arenas's behavior after it was revealed that he got into a dispute with teammate Javaris Crittenton involving guns.

"The possession of firearms by an NBA player in an NBA arena is a matter of the utmost concern to us. I initially thought it prudent to refrain from taking immediate action because of the pendency of a criminal investigation involving the office of the United States Attorney for the District of Columbia and the Metropolitan Police Department, and the consideration of this matter by a grand jury sitting in the District of Columbia. For the same reason, I directed the Wizards to refrain from taking any action. Wizards personnel continue to be interviewed by law enforcement authorities, some are scheduled for appearance before the grand jury and the investigation is proceeding with the intensity that one would expect for such a serious incident."

"Although it is clear that the actions of Mr. Arenas will ultimately result in a substantial suspension, and perhaps worse, his ongoing conduct has led me to conclude that he is not currently fit to take the court in an NBA game. Accordingly, I am suspending Mr. Arenas indefinitely, without pay, effective immediately pending the completion of the investigation by the NBA."

The Wizards supported the decision in a statement in which the team criticized Arenas's behavior and that of his teammates before playing the Philadelphia 76ers on Tuesday night. As the team prepared for the game, the players circled Arenas, who formed his fingers into pretend guns and acted as if he were shooting his teammates. His teammates laughed.

"We fully endorse the decision of the NBA to indefinitely suspend Gilbert Arenas. Strictly legal issues aside, Gilbert's recent behavior and statements, including his actions and statements last night in Philadelphia, are unacceptable," the statement read. "Some of our other players appeared to find Gilbert's behavior in Philadelphia amusing. This is also unacceptable. Under Abe Pollin's leadership, our organization never tolerated such behavior, and we have no intention of ever doing so."
By Michael Lee  |  January 6, 2010; 4:45 PM ET
Post by: weary1969 on January 21, 2010, 07:45:53 PM
Channel surfin bounce up LA V Cleveland. There end the search 4 2nite.
Post by: big dawg on January 21, 2010, 08:32:50 PM
2010 NBA ALL-STARS

EAST

Forwards: LeBron James (Clev) 2,549,693; Kevin Garnett (Bos) 1,978,116
Guards: Dwyane Wade (Mia) 2,327,550; Allen Iverson (Phi) 1,269,568
Centers: Dwight Howard (Orl) 2,360,096

WEST

Forwards: Carmelo Anthony (Den) 2,137,560; Tim Duncan (SA) 1,156,696
Guards: Kobe Bryant (LAL) 2,456,224; Steve Nash (Pho) 1,222,235
Centers: Amar'e Stoudemire (Pho) 1,824,093

Post by: Quags on January 22, 2010, 12:03:49 AM
2010 NBA ALL-STARS

EAST

Forwards: LeBron James (Clev) 2,549,693; Kevin Garnett (Bos) 1,978,116
Guards: Dwyane Wade (Mia) 2,327,550; Allen Iverson (Phi) 1,269,568
Centers: Dwight Howard (Orl) 2,360,096

WEST

Forwards: Carmelo Anthony (Den) 2,137,560; Tim Duncan (SA) 1,156,696
Guards: Kobe Bryant (LAL) 2,456,224; Steve Nash (Pho) 1,222,235
Centers: Amar'e Stoudemire (Pho) 1,824,093

Love AI but thats bullshit from the fans.
Post by: weary1969 on January 31, 2010, 06:10:47 PM
Barataria yuh c d game v Boston? Kobe in dey pweefeennnnnnnnn
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 02, 2010, 04:36:30 PM

How yuh mean guyl?  Dat was meh Sunday treat!  Ah had some wuk to do, ah mash it up by noon, run some errands, back in de house by 2.30pm. went down in de basement w/meh sunday lunch and some coconut water.

Tweet, game start, dem boys start nice, but as one commentator pointed out, dey wanted to do a Foreman on Boston, one knock out punch and call dat George.  Anyway, Kobe missin shot after shot, but de main one count, wap wap, Lakers win anodder.  We mus fire one virtually and all when we mash up de dance in June again  ;D
Post by: weary1969 on February 02, 2010, 08:11:00 PM

How yuh mean guyl?  Dat was meh Sunday treat!  Ah had some wuk to do, ah mash it up by noon, run some errands, back in de house by 2.30pm. went down in de basement w/meh sunday lunch and some coconut water.

Tweet, game start, dem boys start nice, but as one commentator pointed out, dey wanted to do a Foreman on Boston, one knock out punch and call dat George.  Anyway, Kobe missin shot after shot, but de main one count, wap wap, Lakers win anodder.  We mus fire one virtually and all when we mash up de dance in June again  ;D

ENTTTTTTTTTTTTT
Post by: daryn on February 18, 2010, 04:08:17 PM
well my favourite team just acquired one of my favourite players (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2010/basketball/nba/02/18/mcgrady.ap/index.html?eref=sihp).  Six years ago I woulda be real excited about this move.
Post by: weary1969 on February 18, 2010, 06:53:13 PM
well my favourite team just acquired one of my favourite players (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2010/basketball/nba/02/18/mcgrady.ap/index.html?eref=sihp).  Six years ago I woulda be real excited about this move.

NY sufferin from d way d treated Ewing dey payin 4 dat injustice. Only liked dem when Riley was d coach.
Post by: weary1969 on February 23, 2010, 01:52:40 PM
For years, people have been asking what the Cleveland Cavaliers could do for LeBron James.

Of course, people like me have spent the years since insisting that James – now in his seventh pro season – has absolutely nothing around him.
Meanwhile, the general manager, Danny Ferry, keeps adding players. Once the coach, Mike Brown, puts recently acquired Antawn Jamison in the starting lineup, James’ fellow starters will include Shaquille O’Neal, Jamison, Mo Williams and Anthony Parker – a future Hall of Famer and two other former All-Stars. Delonte West and Anderson Varejao come off the bench. Leon Powe will soon come back from injury. And Ilgauskas is expected to return from salary cap limbo. Not only does this roster give the Cavaliers more of a defensive presence than ever, but they’re also excellent from long distance, trailing the league’s best three-point shooting team, Phoenix, by just two-tenths of a percent.

In other words, this one, this season, is on LeBron James.

I’m not arguing his legacy depends on the Cavs beating a team I presume to be the Lakers. But I am saying he needs to come away from the Finals with three or four wins. If not, what was all the fuss about?

This is the most intensely coveted player of all time. Teams like the Knicks have devoted almost three seasons to the sole purpose of freeing cap space to woo James. It’s an embarrassing state of affairs for the league. Still, you wonder: Who gives him a better chance to win than his hometown Cavaliers?

“We’re a no-excuse team,” he said after a controversial non-call three years ago in the Detroit series. He said the same thing leading up to the 2008 Olympics, “We got to be a 'no-excuse' team.” The theme doesn’t change now.

For the first time in a couple of seasons, the Cavs have lost three in a row. Obviously, this has more to do with integrating Jamison than with James, who’s only averaging 33 points, 8 boards and 10 assists through this same stretch. The Cavs, now tied in the loss column with the Lakers, still have the league’s best record.

Then again, they won a league-best 66 games last year – only to be upset by Orlando in the conference finals. Even with the return of point guard Jameer Nelson, I don’t think the Magic is as good as last year. I like an offense that goes through Hedo Turkoglu more than an offense with Vince Carter.

Either way, by adding Parker, Powe, Shaq and Jamison, Cleveland has done more than Orlando. It takes time to blend talent, especially when it’s acquired right before the trading deadline. But time is one commodity the NBA season grants in abundance.

What’s more, Cleveland has another advantage in James. It’s his ball, his team and his responsibility. Michael Jordan won a title in his seventh season. It's not too much to ask James for a few games in June.

Post by: weary1969 on March 04, 2010, 07:51:21 PM
LA V MIAMI I cin it on Space. U go 2 take it where u can.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 12, 2010, 06:07:35 PM
Weary, time to sacrifice a chicken or someting, we eh lookin too good, though of course, ah neva give up on meh side...
Post by: daryn on April 12, 2010, 06:26:57 PM
What going on with Lebron?  the man sit out 3 game in a row to rest for the playoffs.  No injury nothing.  He just in street clothes liming.

Imagine you spend all that money weeks ago to go see Lebron.  Maybe even buy tix for the whole fam.  I never hear bout Jordan or Magic or Bird doing something like that.
Post by: weary1969 on April 12, 2010, 07:18:30 PM
Weary, time to sacrifice a chicken or someting, we eh lookin too good, though of course, ah neva give up on meh side...

Doh do d obeah ting but I goin down wit meh bois.
Post by: daryn on April 15, 2010, 07:05:40 AM
Durant becomes NBA's youngest scoring champ

OKLAHOMA CITY(AP) Kevin Durant earned himself a place in NBA history. Without a trip to the playoffs, too, it would be nearly as special.

Durant scored 31 points to finish the season as the youngest NBA scoring champion, and the Oklahoma City Thunder survived a sloppy second half to head into the postseason with a 114-105 win Wednesday night against the Memphis Grizzlies .

''It's something I really wasn't coming into the year saying I wanted to get but it feels good to be a part of history and something I'm going to always remember,'' Durant said. ''It feels even better to get 50 wins.''
Durant had the scoring title all but locked up after a late-season surge that included three 40-point games in April. It became a certainty when Cleveland decided to rest reigning MVP LeBron James , the only player with even an outside shot at catching Durant.

The 21-year-old finished with an average of 30.1 points, 0.4 ahead of James, and supplanted 22-year-old Max Zaslofsky of the 1947-48 Chicago Stags as the youngest scoring champ in NBA history.

''I love Kevin Durant . I love what he's about,'' Thunder coach Scott Brooks said. ''The guy is pretty amazing, that he's able to handle himself at such a young age.

''This is the only time I will say that he's young. He's 21 years old but he handles himself with such class and respect for the game, and he's a great teammate.''

Oklahoma City strayed from the league-wide trend of resting stars, even with nothing to gain but the momentum lost while dropping four of their previous five games. James, the Lakers' Kobe Bryant , Miami's Dwyane Wade and Boston's ''Big Three'' of Kevin Garnett , Ray Allen and Paul Pierce all took to the bench to finish the season. Even San Antonio - which had room to gain in the West standings - played without Tim Duncan and Manu Ginobili .

Durant joined three other Oklahoma City starters in playing all 82 games this season, and he eclipsed 30 points for the 47th time this season.

''Thirty points is a monster game. My career-high was only 23 and that was two games combined,'' said Brooks, who actually once scored 23 in a single game.

''That's the beauty of his game. He makes it look easy, and I think all the great scorers do that. Kevin's not just focused on scoring. ... He does the little things that helped us get the wins that we've gotten this year.''
After a 27-win improvement that's one of the biggest in NBA history, Oklahoma City will meet the defending champion Los Angeles Lakers in the first round of the playoffs.

Rudy Gay scored 25 points and Zach Randolph had 21 points and 11 rebounds for his 57th double-double of the season as the Grizzlies lost for the ninth time in their final 11 games. Memphis had the second-biggest turnaround in the league - increasing its win total by 16 - but fell just shy of .500 at 40-42.
The teams started the season as the two youngest in the NBA.

''Every team in the West won 50 games to make the playoffs. We won 40,'' coach Lionel Hollins said. ''So we've got some games to go to get up there to where we need to be in order to be in the playoffs. But I'm happy with our growth, I'm happy with the individual growth and it's over now and we move forward to next year.''
With Durant and the rest of the healthy starters in the lineup, the Thunder seemed to be putting on a show in front of their 28th sellout crowd of the season at the Ford Center - at least for a half.

Then Oklahoma City had to finish strong after letting a 27-point lead dwindle to 97-91 in the final 7 minutes. Brooks finally pulled his starters with under 2 minutes left after an 8-2 run sealed the victory.
The players walked onto the court and waved to the crowd in appreciation after the final horn sounded.
''At this time, we were ready to go home last year and enjoy our summers. It feels good to come here and be a winning program,'' Durant said. ''It was a huge turnaround for us, especially since we kept everybody and just gained a couple rookies. We didn't make a big trade, we didn't get two All-Stars or whatever.

''We kept everybody and we just continued to work.''

NOTES: Oklahoma City PG Russell Westbrook , who had his first assist-free game of the season on Monday night against Portland, also had zero in the first quarter before racking up five in the final 6 minutes of the first half. ... The Thunder recalled C Byron Mullens and G Mustafa Shakur from the D-League prior to the game, but only Mullens was on the active roster. ... Oklahoma City sold out its final 11 home games.

Location: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/basketball/nba/gameflash/2010/04/14/27668_recap.html
Post by: weary1969 on April 18, 2010, 07:46:40 PM
OK SERIOUS BUZINESS

GAME 1 LA
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 18, 2010, 09:02:29 PM
OK SERIOUS BUZINESS

GAME 1 LA

Yeah, praise and thanks Bynum back, did not look like he missed 13 games, we still have some ways to go to regain the fluidity that we had mid/early season, but this is LA, no script to how it is done, 1 game at a time.  If we make it all the way will try to make at least one playoffs final game, need to work some contacts
Post by: Dutty on April 19, 2010, 12:55:01 PM
OK SERIOUS BUZINESS

GAME 1 LA

Yeah, praise and thanks Bynum back, did not look like he missed 13 games, we still have some ways to go to regain the fluidity that we had mid/early season, but this is LA, no script to how it is done, 1 game at a time.  If we make it all the way will try to make at least one playoffs final game, need to work some contacts

puh -leeze kooby and dem barely beat up on some 20 year olds from okc

de 2 ah allyuh and jack nicholson go be golfin early dis year :D
Post by: daryn on April 19, 2010, 04:46:05 PM
OK SERIOUS BUZINESS

GAME 1 LA

playoffs is not the same without Capo predictions.
Post by: weary1969 on April 19, 2010, 07:42:28 PM
OK SERIOUS BUZINESS

GAME 1 LA

playoffs is not the same without Capo predictions.

ENTTTTTTTTTT
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 19, 2010, 08:27:41 PM
OK SERIOUS BUZINESS

GAME 1 LA

:rotfl:  awrite dutty, who laugh last laugh best  :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on April 20, 2010, 06:41:04 AM
OK SERIOUS BUZINESS

GAME 1 LA

:rotfl:  awrite dutty, who laugh last laugh best  :devil:

Deal wit him 4 me pls
Post by: weary1969 on April 21, 2010, 07:40:15 PM
Game 2 LA barely
Post by: Dutty on April 26, 2010, 11:08:08 AM
wham?? how come I eh hearin allyuh singing sonnets to kooby an dem?? :devil:
Post by: Bakes on April 26, 2010, 11:18:23 AM

fuh de same reason yuh not hearing nutten bad being said about Vinsanity...
Post by: Dutty on April 26, 2010, 12:22:25 PM

fuh de same reason yuh not hearing nutten bad being said about Vinsanity...

vin-who?...oh yuh mean de fellah dat went from being the most popular player in de world to commin off de bench? he go choke too,jus a matter of time
Post by: Bakes on April 26, 2010, 03:25:08 PM
vin-who?...oh yuh mean de fellah dat went from being the most popular player in de world to commin off de bench? he go choke too,jus a matter of time

Nutten wrong wid coming off the bench to help a contender to a title... especially not when yuh's done 33-34 years old.  Besides, last I checked he still starting and contributing... as I read in a great quote today "haterism is never logical (http://www.cbssports.com/nba/story/13302278/looking-forward-to-cavslakers-better-look-out-for-the-magic-first)."
Post by: Quags on April 26, 2010, 07:01:00 PM

Nutten wrong wid coming off the bench to help a contender to a title... especially not when yuh's done 33-34 years old.  Besides, last I checked he still starting and contributing... as I read in a great quote today "haterism is never logical (http://www.cbssports.com/nba/story/13302278/looking-forward-to-cavslakers-better-look-out-for-the-magic-first)."
Crash and burn watch .And not just this playoffs but the whole magic franchise ! Hes like the whore of Babylon lol. watch watch by next year .
Post by: Bakes on April 26, 2010, 07:42:43 PM
Crash and burn watch .And not just this playoffs but the whole magic franchise ! Hes like the whore of Babylon lol. watch watch by next year .

Allyuh Raptor fans would make Corailey taste like pawpaw... I still not sure why allyuh on VC case.  Sam Mitchell win coach ah de year one year and promptly get fired the following year. Management had Bargnani and Bosch and what happen to the team?  Same implosion.

Was it VC fault Mitchell decide to park him on the bench?  Look at the difference he made in New Jersey when he was there?  Again, coaching had a lot to do with that... they wanted an untested Lawrence Frank when they had a capable Byron Scott.  What Frank doing now?  Scott will be back in coaching.  Look whey Mitchell reach... coaching Jahmekya of all places.

But nah... is Vince fault, lol
Post by: Dutty on April 26, 2010, 07:59:41 PM

Allyuh Raptor fans would make Corailey taste like pawpaw... I still not sure why allyuh on VC case.  Sam Mitchell win coach ah de year one year and promptly get fired the following year. Management had Bargnani and Bosch and what happen to the team?  Same implosion.

Was it VC fault Mitchell decide to park him on the bench?  Look at the difference he made in New Jersey when he was there?  Again, coaching had a lot to do with that... they wanted an untested Lawrence Frank when they had a capable Byron Scott.  What Frank doing now?  Scott will be back in coaching.  Look whey Mitchell reach... coaching Jahmekya of all places.

what difference he make in new jersey??.dey coudnt wait to ship dat fellah out ah town.he play de same supernova style game..brilliant flashes and spectacular flame out, even kidd was fed up ah he

mitchell park him on de bench because he was ah lazy starboy...makin big diva demands and then pretendin he injured every other game
de man publicly admit he  "was on auto pilot in games" from the time they didnt hire Dr. J as the GM like he and his mommy wanted

nobody eh studyin carter,,is de bobcats he against...when he get some real opposition watch him fold like ah dollar store napkin

Is de great kooby and dem ah watchin...dat under 21 side givin dem thunder...eh weary :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on May 04, 2010, 11:54:44 PM

what difference he make in new jersey??.dey coudnt wait to ship dat fellah out ah town.he play de same supernova style game..brilliant flashes and spectacular flame out, even kidd was fed up ah he

mitchell park him on de bench because he was ah lazy starboy...makin big diva demands and then pretendin he injured every other game
de man publicly admit he  "was on auto pilot in games" from the time they didnt hire Dr. J as the GM like he and his mommy wanted

nobody eh studyin carter,,is de bobcats he against...when he get some real opposition watch him fold like ah dollar store napkin

Is de great kooby and dem ah watchin...dat under 21 side givin dem thunder...eh weary :devil:

Age prevail Dutty we up 2-0 so we marchin on I missin meh boi Ca[po
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 05, 2010, 11:44:09 AM
Doh study dem fellas Weary, ah bunch ah laker haters, we not giving up!  The road is long and rugged  :devil:

Capo, yuh hidin ah wah?  Ah know it lil painful to watch de purple and gold dissect people, doh friten
Post by: daryn on May 05, 2010, 06:54:49 PM
I doh really believe in the celebrity gossip eh, but I was reading this article (http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/news/story?id=5165029) about Dwyane Wade's estranged wife suing his girlfriend, Gabrielle Union, for the distressed caused to the wife and kids and I found this line describing the lawsuit humorous:

It also claims that the boys received "medium size gifts" from Dwyane Wade for Christmas last year, while Union got "the biggest gift of all."

Post by: 100% Barataria on May 05, 2010, 10:08:34 PM
I doh really believe in the celebrity gossip eh, but I was reading this article (http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/news/story?id=5165029) about Dwyane Wade's estranged wife suing his girlfriend, Gabrielle Union, for the distressed caused to the wife and kids and I found this line describing the lawsuit humorous:

It also claims that the boys received "medium size gifts" from Dwyane Wade for Christmas last year, while Union got "the biggest gift of all."

Post by: Bakes on May 06, 2010, 07:21:35 PM

I know is not New Jersey you juss mention dey... the same bonehead organization that fire Byron Scott (who led them to the Finals) to hire Lawrence Frank (who?? whey he is now?).  How much games dem win since?  How much games the Magic win with Vince versus with Hedeous Turkoglus?

He was a "lazy starboy" who was carrying that sinking franchise on he back.  Juss now yuh go hear that Bosh was "lazy" and underachieving too.  But doh mind me... keep blaming de tool and not de craftsman.  As yuh say, we go see how he do against "real" competition.
Post by: Quags on May 06, 2010, 08:12:49 PM
Bud Toronto have good fans top 15 in attendance for years almost always sold out ,we might not have a winning franchise but we eint sinking .
Bosh will never get booed or blamed when he leaves the fans seen him cry when he loosed as a rookie  .Its not his fault .
Toronto Booed Vince ,Marcus Camby,one guy from boston and Damon Stodomyre cause he wanted 70 mill in the third year  of the team ,Vancouver gave Max money to Big Country Bryant ,and they went belly up .
Vince is ah imps ,who said he faked injury .He was great hes still good ,but his moms thought she was Miss It ,you had to talk to her first  ???But even in his hay day ,if somebody just bump Vince to hard he use to go down like he was shot ! Hes soft ,most of us used to ignored his short comings, till he showed us whos bigger .....he never even came close to his level of fame after he left .
Vince shoulda stay ,Tracy McGrady shoulda stay ,Marcus Camby shoulda stay and Damon shoulda stay ,and Bosh we coulda been contenders ,hell we woulda been multiple time Champions .

AS for Bosh he should not leave ,until we could trade him to a championship team for a ring like the lakers.Phil said he wanted him few years ago ,I want him go there.Hes gonna go to a team whos gonna work him to death till his knees give out ,just like Tmac .I hope he picks a good team doh
Post by: Bakes on May 06, 2010, 09:19:51 PM
Do you have a quote from Vince saying that he faked injuries?  A quote from anybody who actually play, coach or manage in the league saying he sorf?  Funny thing in all ah dis is that me eh even ah big Vince Carter fan... I just follow the NBA hard and find it funny how is only some ah allyuh Raptors fans who have so much negative things to say about Carter... and not one peep about Brian "I don't know my ass from my elbows" Colangelo.
Post by: Quags on May 06, 2010, 09:24:00 PM
We just chatting about him,I care more about what he might do to Orlando ,this is kinda my theory ,lol.
As for Colangalo ,Dutty and Palos cant stand him ....me I thinkl ohhh ,I think he have a Championship team in him ,he tried his stupid ideas already.
ps sometimes we boo Tmac but we stop mostly.

Oh and thought about Tracy ,You know that arse Doc River never offer Tracy a contract after he used him for years ,and tracy was free for anybody .
Post by: Bakes on May 06, 2010, 10:16:01 PM
We just chatting about him,I care more about what he might do to Orlando ,this is kinda my theory ,lol.
As for Colangalo ,Dutty and Palos cant stand him ....me I thinkl ohhh ,I think he have a Championship team in him ,he tried his stupid ideas already.
ps sometimes we boo Tmac but we stop mostly.

Oh and thought about Tracy ,You know that arse Doc River never offer Tracy a contract after he used him for years ,and tracy was free for anybody .

When... this year yuh mean?  Celtics di'n have room for him... besides yuh eh find dat squad ole and creaky enough as is? lol
Post by: Quags on May 06, 2010, 10:26:15 PM
Bighead Paul Peirce ,kick down Bosh on a dunk and flexing over him ,steuppss happy for Ray Raptor killer Allen and KG doh 
Post by: Dutty on May 07, 2010, 07:38:37 AM
and not one peep about Brian "I don't know my ass from my elbows" Colangelo.

for dat yuh hadda go into the raptors thread
Post by: weary1969 on May 07, 2010, 07:33:09 PM
Cleveland manhandle Boston
Post by: daryn on May 08, 2010, 08:44:09 AM
Amare and dem making quick work of everybody so far.
Post by: Bakes on May 08, 2010, 10:23:57 AM

I wake up thinking to myself that the Spurs must have the best talent scout department in the NBA.
Post by: weary1969 on May 08, 2010, 09:24:17 PM

Glad 4 Grant Hill but he soon gone fishing when we meet in d wetsern conference final.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 09, 2010, 08:39:46 AM

Glad 4 Grant Hill but he soon gone fishing when we meet in d wetsern conference final.

Tell dem Weary tell dem!!! :devil:
Post by: daryn on May 09, 2010, 11:02:06 PM

I wake up thinking to myself that the Spurs must have the best talent scout department in the NBA.

well, series over in 4 games.  Them fellas have to be onto something  (I'm assuming you meant Suns in that quote). 

Have the Spurs ever been swept in the Duncan era before?
Post by: AirMan on May 10, 2010, 12:50:28 AM
Phoenix looking REAL Good right now..I feel them might beat Lakers..
Post by: weary1969 on May 10, 2010, 06:11:12 AM

Keep yuh feelings 2 yuh self
Post by: Dutty on May 10, 2010, 07:25:16 AM

:D.
......if dem chupid Utah boy and dem did know how to simply putt ah ball int ah hoop, de tables woulda turn
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 10, 2010, 09:21:47 AM

......if dem chupid Utah boy and dem did know how to simply putt ah ball int ah hoop, de tables woulda turn

culda, wulda, shulda, didn't  ;D
Post by: weary1969 on May 10, 2010, 12:37:08 PM

culda, wulda, shulda, didn't  ;D

ENTTTTTTTTT
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 10, 2010, 09:05:44 PM
Weary, yuh sweep up de house lately?  Ah jus pass a light broom in de basement here  :devil:
Post by: daryn on May 10, 2010, 09:53:09 PM
Weary, yuh sweep up de house lately?  Ah jus pass a light broom in de basement here  :devil:

allyuh funny yes.  look like them fellas realise I was hoping to get to sleep somewhat earlier tonight.
Post by: weary1969 on May 10, 2010, 11:19:04 PM

YEP D BROOM CAME OUT 2NITE
Post by: Dutty on May 11, 2010, 10:59:45 AM

Keep de broom handy...Los Suns commin wit ah shovel :praying:
Post by: weary1969 on May 11, 2010, 02:33:26 PM

Keep de broom handy...Los Suns commin wit ah shovel :praying:

Prayin amiss
Post by: daryn on May 11, 2010, 08:04:09 PM
King James and his crew looking shaky.
Post by: weary1969 on May 11, 2010, 09:21:28 PM

Shaky u say I want to revenge d 08 defeat 2 dat team from Boston dat still hurts.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 12, 2010, 11:00:52 AM

Shaky u say I want to revenge d 08 defeat 2 dat team from Boston dat still hurts.

Yuh damn right!
Post by: giggsy11 on May 12, 2010, 04:10:51 PM
Maybe LeBron tryin tuh copy Kobe by acting disinterested! Or maybe he protesting in a passive agressive way against teamates and coach! Go Suns!
Post by: Bakes on May 13, 2010, 09:16:49 PM
Damn LeBron...
Post by: daryn on May 13, 2010, 10:43:17 PM
must be tough being a cleveland sports fan.
Post by: davyjenny1 on May 14, 2010, 12:10:49 AM
A great player without any Rings thus far. Blame the media, too much hype, sports business and politics in the mix here. The ones at the top in the basketball world, I wonder how are they feeling now..

In the mean time Kobe looks to add another ring on his finger. Lets go Lakers
Post by: Bitter on May 14, 2010, 03:59:53 AM
Like some of allyuh fall in woth the media bs. Is a team sport. Kobe eh getting no ring by himself, neither will Lebron. While a great player can influence a game in basketball to a great extent. In the end, the whole team need to perform better than the other team for them to progress.

David Stern spend the last 20 years making it seem like is player vs player. And the media spend as much time acting like if you ent win a ring, you not good. But that is BS.
I am looking forward to the 2 conference finals series, the 4 best teams right now are still in it.
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2010, 08:56:40 AM
Like some of allyuh fall in woth the media bs. Is a team sport. Kobe eh getting no ring by himself, neither will Lebron. While a great player can influence a game in basketball to a great extent. In the end, the whole team need to perform better than the other team for them to progress.

David Stern spend the last 20 years making it seem like is player vs player. And the media spend as much time acting like if you ent win a ring, you not good. But that is BS.
I am looking forward to the 2 conference finals series, the 4 best teams right now are still in it.

Save yuh breath... dah man have ah award name after he.
Post by: davyjenny1 on May 14, 2010, 03:06:35 PM

Save yuh breath... dah man have ah award name after he.

Considering the amount of post you have.EG:You are just like a real estate agent that help screw up the U.S economy.you are as good as your last deal that went dead in the waters causing the buyers to loose all their money they have on deposit and putting first buyers into 1% neg. ams loan structure
Post by: davyjenny1 on May 14, 2010, 03:25:49 PM

Wasn't that the case all along.how you think he got what he has in his possession currently. Talk cheap yesss!!!
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2010, 07:09:27 PM
Considering the amount of post you have.EG:You are just like a real estate agent that help screw up the U.S economy.you are as good as your last deal that went dead in the waters causing the buyers to loose all their money they have on deposit and putting them(buyers) into 1% neg. ams loan structure

Talk trute... this ^^^ is some kinda Jedi mind trick, right?
Post by: davyjenny1 on May 16, 2010, 11:15:45 AM
LETS GO LAKERS !! LETS GO LAKERS !! LETS GO LAKERS!! [move]LETS GO LAKERS!! LETS GO LAKERS!! LETS
LETS GO LAKERS !! LETS GO LAKERS !! LETS GO LAKERS!! LETS GO LAKERSLETS GO LAKERS !! LETS GO LAKERS!
Post by: AirMan on May 16, 2010, 08:59:54 PM
I believe who wins the Lakers/Suns series will go on to win the Championship..
Post by: weary1969 on May 17, 2010, 04:36:46 PM
I believe who wins the Lakers/Suns series will go on to win the Championship..

CO-SIGNNNNN

GO LAAAAAAAAAA
Post by: giggsy11 on May 17, 2010, 07:55:39 PM
Would love to see Grant Hill finally get a ring, plus his wife is gorgeous!
Post by: davyjenny1 on May 17, 2010, 10:55:01 PM
You could see the Avalanche Coming>>>>>>>>> The black Mamba!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: weary1969 on May 18, 2010, 08:10:22 AM
GAME 1------- LAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
Post by: daryn on May 18, 2010, 08:33:01 PM
didn't get to see the game last night.  just watched the highlights.

Kobe eh know Grant Hill have a history of ankle problems or what?  he hit the man a crossover that coulda easily be career-ending.
Post by: weary1969 on May 19, 2010, 02:41:24 AM
Boston takes 2-0 lead into d Gardens
Post by: davyjenny1 on May 19, 2010, 02:54:14 AM
<<<<<<<You could see the Avalanche Coming<<<<<<<The Black Mamba!!!!!

<<<<<<<You could see the Avalanche Coming<<<<<<<The Black Mamba!!!!!!!

Post by: 100% Barataria on May 19, 2010, 06:56:04 AM
Prayin for a re-match of the 08 finals  :praying:
Post by: weary1969 on May 19, 2010, 10:54:55 AM
Prayin for a re-match of the 08 finals  :praying:

Yeah dat still hurtin I hateeeeeeeee Boston so we got 2 bust dey throat this time.
Post by: Bakes on May 19, 2010, 07:56:15 PM
Complaining about the officiating has become a spring rite of passage... but in some cases it really makes you wonder about some of these fools.  Aside from the many questionable calls made last night in the Magic-Celtics game, there was this one bizarre incident right at halftime:

http://www.youtube.com/v/jS5e7xRV7JI&feature=player_embedded

... would be really interesting to see how this plays out.  Some of these refs are straight outta control.
Post by: daryn on May 20, 2010, 01:10:24 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/qY1dQldCtOI
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 20, 2010, 02:52:15 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/qY1dQldCtOI

wow, so amazing.  Lebron need to listen to Magic add "Get back into our game"  ;D

This one is for the Suns fans...."aint no sunshine when he's on his game"  :devil:
Post by: Bakes on May 20, 2010, 04:33:22 PM
Quote from: Bake n Shark link=topic=45816.msg661013#msg661013
... would be really interesting to see how this plays out.  Some of these refs are straight outta control.

1 game suspension... seems fair.

Ref suspended for throwing ball at fan in Orlando  

NEW YORK (AP) -Referee Joe DeRosa has been suspended without pay for throwing a ball at a fan during halftime of an NBA playoff game in Orlando.

DeRosa will miss the next game he would have been scheduled to work.

At halftime of Game 2 of the Eastern Conference finals between Orlando and Boston, DeRosa was walking to the scorer's table to get the warm-up jackets for his crew.

A fan behind the table approached DeRosa, gesturing with his arms and appearing to be shouting at the veteran official. DeRosa flipped the game ball to the fan, who tossed it back.

Read More (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2010/basketball/nba/wires/05/20/2030.ap.bkn.referee.suspended.0182/)
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2010, 07:07:20 PM
NEW YORK (AP)
Dallas Mavericks owner Mark Cuban has been fined $100,000 by the NBA for comments made about free-agent-to-be LeBron James that violated the league's anti-tampering rules.

The outspoken billionaire, in an interview this week with CNNMoney.com, said ``anybody'' would be interested in James. Cuban said it would be tough to sign the two-time defending league MVP in free agency, but a sign-and-trade deal with Cleveland is something he would look at.

Phoenix Suns President of Basketball Operations Steve Kerr has been fined $10,000, also for public comments made in violation of the anti-tampering rules. Kerr's comments were made on a radio show on May 14.

Cuban didn't immediately return an email from The Associated Press.

Post by: Dutty on May 24, 2010, 02:04:31 PM
Steve kerr runnin the suns??....plenty ex players getting slotted into front office wukk when they retire
Post by: Bakes on May 24, 2010, 04:02:14 PM
Steve kerr runnin the suns??....plenty ex players getting slotted into front office wukk when they retire

He running dem about 3 yrs now...

Danny Ferry in Cleveland
Otis Smith in Orlando
Rex Chapman in Denver
Kiki Vanderweghe in NJ
Jim Paxon in Chicago
Kurt Rambis (I believe) in L.A.
Ernie Grundfeld in DC
Joe Dumars in Detroit
Larry Bird in Indiana

... to name a few.  Pretty soon it might be a prerequisite.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 24, 2010, 06:36:21 PM

Danny Ferry in Cleveland
Otis Smith in Orlando
Rex Chapman in Denver
Kiki Vanderweghe in NJ
Jim Paxon in Chicago
Ernie Grundfeld in DC
Joe Dumars in Detroit
Larry Bird in Indiana

MJ in charlotte
Post by: AirMan on May 24, 2010, 06:36:54 PM
dont count out Phoenix yet !!
Post by: Bakes on May 24, 2010, 07:08:32 PM
MJ in charlotte

MJ own de team... but is Rod Higgins actually calling de shots I believe.

----------------------

Steve Nash is ah beast... de man break he nose on de court, grab it, straighten it up and shoot he foul shots yes, lol.

Canada mighta be ah world superpower if more Canadian men had some ah Nash's testicular fortitude  :devil:
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 24, 2010, 08:02:49 PM

Steups, dey win 1 game yuh talkin bout doh count dem out, count dem out ah wah?  Being near a lake nex week ketchin some wabine?
Post by: daryn on May 24, 2010, 08:22:15 PM

Danny Ferry in Cleveland
Otis Smith in Orlando
Rex Chapman in Denver
Kiki Vanderweghe in NJ
Jim Paxon in Chicago
Ernie Grundfeld in DC
Joe Dumars in Detroit
Larry Bird in Indiana

just the other day I was wondering what Rex Chapman was up to.  now I know.
Post by: Dutty on May 24, 2010, 09:06:43 PM

you good, I even forget bout he...chapman?? kiki vanderweghe
wha qualifications dem men have....dem fellahs was mediocre players at best

just now allyuh go tell mih Bryant Reeves in de front office too.
Post by: daryn on May 24, 2010, 11:10:20 PM
Rex was good for some excitement man.  He had some vertical in the early years (had a decent showing in a dunk out too) and then of course he hit a couple of the best shots of the 90s.

http://www.youtube.com/v/m5PyJ-b818Y

http://www.youtube.com/v/mE5RGClCDp4

have another one I couldn't find yet.
Post by: daryn on May 24, 2010, 11:15:22 PM
dem fellahs was mediocre players at best

well, Magic fail as a coach, Isiah fail as a coach/GM, Elgin Baylor fail as a GM, Jordan buss with the wizards and ent do anything special yet with Charlotte, so owners have to try something else.
Post by: daryn on May 25, 2010, 08:02:30 AM
I eh even realise it had basketball play last night.

Orlando pull back a game. 
Post by: weary1969 on May 25, 2010, 01:21:35 PM
I eh even realise it had basketball play last night.

Orlando pull back a game. 

YES THEY DID
Post by: Bakes on May 25, 2010, 06:15:00 PM

you good, I even forget bout he...chapman?? kiki vanderweghe
wha qualifications dem men have....dem fellahs was mediocre players at best

Nah, Chapman mighta been a cut above mediocre... he was a deadly outside shooter as feared as any man in his day, and was a decent scorer off the dribble as well.  Injuries was his albatross.

Kiki?  Yuh straight sleeping on Kiki man, he was ah All-Star back in the earlies... was a stone cold shooter.  I remember when the Knicks traded for him I was like "who de fack is dis white boy??" But came to appreciate his game and hustle.  He was no star with we b/c his best years were behind him, but NBA people had real appreciation for him as a player... that much I remember.
Post by: Bitter on May 26, 2010, 09:36:18 AM

Steups, dey win 1 game yuh talkin bout doh count dem out, count dem out ah wah?  Being near a lake nex week ketchin some wabine?

Is not wabine season yet...
Post by: Dumplingdinho on May 26, 2010, 07:07:33 PM
phoenix/boston final will be nice....phil will be depressed and he will hook up with lebron in chicago.
Post by: Bakes on May 26, 2010, 09:45:22 PM
We have a playoffs now... Phoenix and LA tied at 2-2

Orlando juss pull back to to pull withing 2-3 of Boston.

Horrible night for the officials... Perkins get his with two techs that shouldn't have been called.  Refs were letting them bang, then not letting them bang... then letting them bang again.

Big Baby took a Dwight Howard elbow to the chin and end up with a concussion... Marquis Daniel run into de Polish Hammer and decide he needed one too. Rasheed Wallace tweak he back... was like a M.A.S.H. re-run in dat game.

I hate to say it but I think the Magic losing the next game.  Game 6 will be in Boston and I think the refs will be under plenty pressure to be kind to the home team, Boston suffered w/o Perkins and I suspect Howard will get manhandled in the post with no calls.  Everybody else on the Magic save for Howard and Nelson are jump-shooters who don't get any respect from the refs... Carter included.  Unless Nelson going to the line (if the refs let him) then the Magic goose cook.
Post by: daryn on May 27, 2010, 07:33:01 AM

Horrible night for the officials... Perkins get his with two techs that shouldn't have been called.  Refs were letting them bang, then not letting them bang... then letting them bang again.

didn't see the game but now reading everywhere that the two techs were atrocious.  Is appeal a possibility?
Post by: Dumplingdinho on May 27, 2010, 08:37:29 AM

didn't see the game but now reading everywhere that the two techs were atrocious.  Is appeal a possibility?

in the playoffs they review all technicals so it is possible for them to rescind them.
Post by: Bakes on May 27, 2010, 12:31:30 PM

The first wasn't that bad... Pierce get fouled and fell in the lane and Perkins extended his left hand to help him up.  Gortat was behind Perkins at the time not really paying attention to what was going on...typical mish mash of bodies gathered around after a foul.  Perkins hand slipped from grabbing Pierce and in doing so jerked backwards and "elbowed" Gortat in the stomach... imagine pulling on something with yuh elbows at 90 degrees and yuh suddenly lose yuh grip.  Gortat reacted by knocking the ball out of Perkins right hand (nutten malicious, li'l tit for tat), refs tee up both ah dem.

On  the second Rush overreacted, but in fairness Perkins like tuh carry on every time a foul is called on him.  Like Tim Duncan (who more protests with incredulity rather than anger) he never foul nobody in he life.  I think he reputation preceded him on this one.  It may be rescinded as Nightmare say... because of the suspension possibility they start reviewing them some yrs back.
Post by: Quags on May 27, 2010, 02:02:18 PM
Carter choking yet ? lossed his ability to drive the lane yet ?
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 27, 2010, 04:06:44 PM
Would be nice if Magic could be firse team to win a 7-game series after going down 0-3
Post by: Quags on May 27, 2010, 06:27:22 PM
ha ha they went 3-zip  :rotfl: ,you guys dont post scores man .Carter couldn help that bad ass team  :rotfl: hes worthless and this could be his greatest chance to get a ring .
Post by: Bakes on May 27, 2010, 08:25:11 PM
Perkins OK to play in Game 6 after NBA rescinds techPosted May 27 2010 1:19PM

BOSTON (AP) -- Boston's Kendrick Perkins will be eligible to play in Game 6 of the Eastern Conference finals against the Orlando Magic.

The NBA said Thursday that one of the two technical fouls Perkins received in Game 5 was rescinded. That means Perkins hasn't hit the mark of seven technicals in the playoffs that would lead to an automatic suspension.

Perkins was called for the first technical when he elbowed Marcin Gortat in the stomach. Replays showed Perkins' arm merely slipped as he tried to help teammate Rajon Rondo up.

But it was the second technical that was rescinded by the league. Perkins got that one when he complained about a foul call in the second quarter.

The league said a foul committed by Paul Pierce in the fourth quarter was upgraded to a flagrant
Post by: weary1969 on May 28, 2010, 09:48:26 AM
Escape in LA
Post by: giggsy11 on May 28, 2010, 03:44:27 PM

Hear, hear! Carter already lost his ability to drive the lane and he now parks himself on the 3pt line and teams don't even bother to guard him. Most over rated and over hyped player in in recent years. He made his name on winning the dunk contest and he dogged it in Toronto so he could leave; lost my respect for him as a player. Loser to the 10th degree!
Post by: giggsy11 on May 28, 2010, 08:18:00 PM
Timmmmbeeerr;that is the sound of the Magic crashing back to earth!
Post by: Quags on May 28, 2010, 09:00:30 PM

Hear, hear! Carter already lost his ability to drive the lane and he now parks himself on the 3pt line and teams don't even bother to guard him. Most over rated and over hyped player in in recent years. He made his name on winning the dunk contest and he dogged it in Toronto so he could leave; lost my respect for him as a player. Loser to the 10th degree!
But hes not all bad doh .
Post by: giggsy11 on May 28, 2010, 09:08:04 PM

But hes a nice guy .

That is what they all want you to think so you can help the build their brand!
Post by: Quags on May 28, 2010, 09:10:26 PM
What brand lol .
Post by: giggsy11 on May 28, 2010, 09:18:29 PM
What brand lol .

As we write he punked out with a 'leg injury'!
Post by: Quags on May 28, 2010, 09:20:30 PM
Wow ..
Post by: Quags on May 28, 2010, 09:38:35 PM
Well we tried to warn ppl ,but nobody believed us
Post by: Bakes on May 29, 2010, 08:23:53 AM
Ah well... I guess it's down to the Suns or the Celtics... ugh!
Post by: Dumplingdinho on May 29, 2010, 07:53:13 PM
what talent have to do with coaching or being in the front office...ask jose mourinho and MJ.
Post by: Bakes on May 30, 2010, 09:33:00 AM
Ah well... I guess it's down to the Suns or the Celtics... ugh!
Post by: davyjenny1 on May 30, 2010, 03:28:26 PM
<<<<<<You could see the Avalanche Coming<<<<<<<The Black Mamba!!!!!

Post by: 100% Barataria on May 30, 2010, 04:13:20 PM
Just take 2 flex days on June 10th and 11th for blasted memorial weekend travel, trying hard to get ticks for game 4 in Boston, if anyone down or have a link let me know  ;D.  Come back home and watch de WC kick off, doh geh better dan dat!
Post by: weary1969 on May 30, 2010, 07:23:11 PM
Just take 2 flex days on June 10th and 11th for blasted memorial weekend travel, trying hard to get ticks for game 4 in Boston, if anyone down or have a link let me know  ;D.  Come back home and watch de WC kick off, doh geh better dan dat!

SHOW ORF
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2010, 09:54:49 PM
GAME 1- LA 102 green fellas 89
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 03, 2010, 09:58:07 PM
GAME 1- LA 102 green fellas 89

Whap whap
Post by: daryn on June 03, 2010, 10:13:03 PM
Kobe hit that last 3 to win free tacos for everybody in the crowd if Lakers score more than 100.  that's a clutch performance right there.
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2010, 10:54:00 PM
Kobe hit that last 3 to win free tacos for everybody in the crowd if Lakers score more than 100.  that's a clutch performance right there.

NICENESS
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 03, 2010, 10:56:50 PM

and they taste good too, i had more than one
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 03, 2010, 10:58:47 PM

Post by: Dutty on June 04, 2010, 02:07:26 PM
Damn you Kooby!!! :timeout:
Post by: daryn on June 04, 2010, 05:39:27 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/6YDRDh1UYRg
Post by: weary1969 on June 04, 2010, 06:39:23 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/6YDRDh1UYRg

Pastor or Comedian
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2010, 08:55:55 PM
HORRIBLE GAME 2 GAVE UP D HOME COURT LOUDESTTTTTTTTT OF STEUPSSSSSSS
Post by: big dawg on June 07, 2010, 04:21:00 PM

???

That series not heading back to LA... Boston in 5..Rondo for MVP.. ;D
Post by: Bakes on June 07, 2010, 05:30:27 PM
Funny how as a yute I supported the Lakers thru and thru and HATED the Celtics.

Now can't stand the Lakers and rooting for the Celtics by default.  Still doh like them in most other contexts.

Rondo was a beast... Bynum was killing inside, Gasol was murderous in the mid-range... and still thanks to Ray Allen the Celts won.  Kobe lucky he didn't foul out... refs let him manhandle Allen in the second half.  The egghead was sharp as a blade last night.  Not even jarhead Kobe could contain him.

Post by: Dutty on June 08, 2010, 12:58:55 PM

Ah hear dey had to call LA Fire department at the half to spray foam all over Ray Allen hands.
Post by: weary1969 on June 08, 2010, 01:03:30 PM

Ah hear dey had to call LA Fire department at the half to spray foam all over Ray Allen hands.

::)
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 08, 2010, 07:55:32 PM

???

Hmm, I might stay away from Carnarsie yes, look like de air there more polluted than de gulf of mexico
Post by: weary1969 on June 08, 2010, 09:05:55 PM

???

Hmm, I might stay away from Carnarsie yes, look like de air there more polluted than de gulf of mexico

Tell dem fellas how up and win d game Chris Rock on Leno
Post by: weary1969 on June 08, 2010, 09:51:45 PM
ORDER HAS BEEN RESTORED.  :beermug: FISHER. Dutty d fireman out Allen 4 d rest ah d season.
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 09, 2010, 12:07:18 AM
 :bringiton: :whip: :whip:   F*ck all the bull sh*t  ole talk.  I doh care if they take one at home. I'm  2-1 up and ah waiting to celebrate again!

Who doh like it laydown beside it. Here's ah lil entertainment for alluyh the real West Coast style:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-D5iClNL5Q4&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1N8kV-t4L3o&playnext_from=TL&videos=JaDxAOkUN8s&feature=rec-LGOU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3yNibj8LW-Q

Today Was a Good Day:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c4RY-eJgHHs&feature=player_embedded

Extended version:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__P8MevBGo4

Post by: Dutty on June 09, 2010, 07:59:44 AM
ORDER HAS BEEN RESTORED.  :beermug: FISHER. Dutty d fireman out Allen 4 d rest ah d season.

you and barataria stock up on kleenex...the blowout next game will be interesting

ah see kooby reverting to he ball hog  ways
Post by: weary1969 on June 09, 2010, 10:40:24 AM

you and barataria stock up on kleenex...the blowout next game will be interesting

[/quote

OK who leading d charge Ray Ray. Brandy brudder was hotter than Allen last nite.
Post by: dinho on June 09, 2010, 10:44:37 AM
yaow, dem refs and dem shifty!!
Post by: weary1969 on June 09, 2010, 12:04:31 PM
yaow, dem refs and dem shifty!!

CO-SIGNNNN
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 09, 2010, 02:06:49 PM

???

You know what!! Yuh Right!!  :whip: :whip: :whip: :whip:

We got it all yuh know !! In the meantime ah lil more showtime entertainment the real L.A style:

It feels good :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jfoxsfhi-kk&feature=channel

Let's Get Down:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VpY_ElM4CYk&feature=related

Snoop Dogg: Sensual Seduction:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y1PVmANeyAg&a=foxVvO_pArQ&playnext_from=M

Snoop Doggy Dogg: Who Am I
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_TcszezOVE&feature=related
Post by: Bakes on June 09, 2010, 07:49:40 PM

He getting bail out by them refs so much it not even funny... can't cough near him fuss dey 'fraid he ketch cold.  Yet he running around hacking everybody.

Take nutten from him doh... can't stand his ass, but dude is hella nice.  Half the night I was only shaking mih head at the screen.  I couldn't celebrate the shots, yet he was making so many big (and difficult) shot that I couldn't even hate.

Great series for the neutral... high quality basketball being played, especially by the Lakers.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 10, 2010, 12:00:34 PM

Dutty, how dem grapes tastin?  :devil:  You take meh boy Capo place, doh worry, a few months from now Nike will have a commercial with Pierce and Kobe wid Kobe saying

"Hey Paul, have you seen my 5 championship rings?"  :rotfl:

PS:  Speakin ah Capo, ah have to call dat boy tonite yes now dat meh life settle down again, he been away a lil while
Post by: Bakes on June 10, 2010, 08:55:36 PM
Hate to complain about the officiating... but every bad call that has been made tonight has gone the Lakers way.  Two very poor foul calls on Rasheed Wallace... including one where Gasol trip over ah leprechaun and fall dong.  Then the Celtics get call fuh ah 3-second violation with 20 seconds left on the shot clock... meaning they got the ball in the back court ran down the court and set up shop all in about a second... Garnett then presumably parked heself in the land for the next 3 seconds.
Post by: Bitter on June 10, 2010, 09:45:21 PM
Big Baby!!!!
Post by: Bakes on June 10, 2010, 11:35:14 PM
Big Baby!!!!

Li'l Nate!!
Post by: AirMan on June 11, 2010, 04:40:23 PM
who wins Game 5 will win the series..
Post by: weary1969 on June 11, 2010, 05:10:06 PM
who wins Game 5 will win the series..

OK
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 11:03:11 AM
Shrek and Donkey

http://www.youtube.com/v/t9ITvdAXiCU&feature=player_embedded

...good stuff LOL
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 12, 2010, 12:08:30 PM
de big 3 need to step up in game 5
Post by: daryn on June 12, 2010, 02:28:26 PM

welcome back.  just wasn't the same around here.
Post by: weary1969 on June 12, 2010, 03:21:09 PM

Agree Kobe/Gasol/Bynum
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 12, 2010, 09:29:28 PM

Agree Kobe/Gasol/Bynum

;D  Good one Weary
Post by: weary1969 on June 12, 2010, 09:39:53 PM

Agree Kobe/Gasol/Bynum

;D  Good one Weary

Post by: Bitter on June 13, 2010, 08:51:26 PM
Best sour face

Beckham or Kobe?
Post by: weary1969 on June 13, 2010, 09:14:30 PM
Best sour face

Beckham or Kobe?

Kobe have aright 2 b sour is 08 again dem fellas eh steppin up. Beckham like d rest ah England foolin deyself 4 yrs.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 14, 2010, 07:25:08 AM
Best sour face

Beckham or Kobe?

Kobe is a real sour puss...take yuh lix like ah big man.
Post by: Dutty on June 14, 2010, 07:52:43 AM
soo, should I start handing out the boxes of kleenex now? or allyuh want to wait till the end of game 6?
Post by: weary1969 on June 14, 2010, 08:11:21 AM
soo, should I start handing out the boxes of kleenex now? or allyuh want to wait till the end of game 6?

As a sw supporter I know longer cry ovah sports. Dat being said dat is y u fight 4 d home court and dem fellas eh go want 2 loose it in LA. So I goin down wit meh Lakers.
Post by: AirMan on June 14, 2010, 09:14:36 AM
Right now its the Big 4 vs the Big 2, Lakers out-numbered..
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 14, 2010, 01:37:58 PM

As a sw supporter I know longer cry ovah sports. Dat being said dat is y u fight 4 d home court and dem fellas eh go want 2 loose it in LA. So I goin down wit meh Lakers.

Tell dem Weary, tell dem!!
Post by: Sando prince on June 14, 2010, 04:34:55 PM
Lakers fans must be sweating now  :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on June 15, 2010, 09:30:30 PM
Lakers fans must be sweating now  :devil:

U c what happen when u sleep in yuh bed and it eat some home cooking.
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 16, 2010, 12:50:06 AM
One game changes everything!!!!!!!!!
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 16, 2010, 12:53:46 AM
<<<<<<You could see the Avalanche Coming<<<<<<<The Black Mamba!!!!!

Post by: 100% Barataria on June 16, 2010, 10:58:59 AM
Notice how quiet all de Laker haters get, oh sorry, is WC time,  :rotfl:  we'll see how this goes down tomorrow, but it will be nasty battle, Boston will show up defensively, but meh boys more than capable especially when they play like how we played last nite.

Ah goin and compose meh e-mail to Nike advertising dept now for they next commercial, need to build a kitty for WC 2014 in Brazo
Post by: weary1969 on June 16, 2010, 11:04:02 AM
LAAAAAAAAAAA ALLLLLLLL D WAYYYYYYYYY
Post by: Dutty on June 16, 2010, 11:09:25 AM
Notice how quiet all de Laker haters get, oh sorry, is WC time,  :rotfl:  we'll see how this goes down tomorrow, but it will be nasty battle, Boston will show up defensively, but meh boys more than capable especially when they play like how we played last nite.

allyuh jus eh recognize tactics when allyuh see it....missed layups..easy turnovers...fumbled passes..too easy

what allyuh just witness last nite is the celtics version of Ali's famous 'rope-a-dope' :challenge:
The los angeles koobys will be knocked out in the final round for dramatic effect.   :whistling:
Post by: daryn on June 17, 2010, 09:55:02 PM
I love this game.
Post by: weary1969 on June 17, 2010, 09:56:28 PM
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

I would like to thank all the HATERZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ who make it even  SWEETERRRRRRRRRRRRR

NOTTTTTTTTTTTT INNNNNNNNNNNN MYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY HOUSEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
Post by: weary1969 on June 17, 2010, 09:59:01 PM
I love this game.

ENTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT
Post by: giggsy11 on June 17, 2010, 10:06:33 PM
Kobe wife geh a sweat or wah, how she front and center so!
Post by: daryn on June 17, 2010, 10:19:15 PM
NBA finals game 7 going down to the last few seconds.  Can't beat that with a stick.

real glad for Artest.  man even thank his psychiatrist.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 17, 2010, 10:19:50 PM
Gimme ah chest bounce dey Weary, I in de air now,  :rotfl:

Ah eh care wha happen nex year, we good to go for a while now, doh ask meh de same qu in 9 months,  :devil:
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 17, 2010, 10:20:34 PM
NBA finals game 7 going down to the last few seconds.  Can't beat that with a stick.

and de hood, queensbridge represent  :rotfl:
Post by: weary1969 on June 17, 2010, 10:23:04 PM
Gimme ah chest bounce dey Weary, I in de air now,  :rotfl:

Ah eh care wha happen nex year, we good to go for a while now, doh ask meh de same qu in 9 months,  :devil:

Chest bounce in effect

U c it possible 2 deal wit yuh demons
Post by: Bakes on June 17, 2010, 10:49:58 PM
Congrats to the Lakers... ah cyah stand dem but ah can't be a hater either, well-played, well-deserved.  This title was the Celtics' own to win and they gave it away on five plays in the 4th. 

Kobe fouled by Ray Allen shooting a three.
Ron Artest Fouled in the lane for a three-point play
Ron Artest shoots a three
Rondo caught on Gasol on a switch fails to corral a rebound, Lakers get the ball off a missed shot to run more time off the clock
Fisher for three

We can nitpick at all the big calls, but I think these will loom large when this title game is reviewed in time to come.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 17, 2010, 11:16:44 PM
Way to GO Lakers.....this is the sweetest :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Nice run Boston....see u again next year
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 18, 2010, 02:22:01 AM
I'm not going there just yet.. well revenge is sweet but, when you go through the Boston Celtics franchise to win an nba title you should be respected.

With all the titles Michael Jordan won, has he ever go through the Boston Celtics to win any? hmmm

Do anyone think that Kobe will quit on the nba in his prime ? hmmm! and many more questions.

Well it's championship night in Los Angeles. What a great night,beers, food, drinks and lots of entertainment in the city on now...

Before I go enjoy this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FWOsbGP5Ox4
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 18, 2010, 02:40:14 AM
****************************L.A.LAKERS 2010 NBA CHAMPS********************************
******************************ITS SHOWWW TIMEEE*************************************
Post by: Dutty on June 18, 2010, 06:36:56 AM
I love this game.

Stern payin yuh royalties for that phrase or wha?

yuh right tho....real good game
de man finally learn to pass the ball oui
Post by: Dutty on June 18, 2010, 06:37:45 AM

Look like she front and center at plenty chinee food buffet tables too.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 18, 2010, 08:31:44 AM
Congrats to the Lakers... ah cyah stand dem but ah can't be a hater either, well-played, well-deserved.  This title was the Celtics' own to win and they gave it away on five plays in the 4th. 

Rondo caught on Gasol on a switch fails to corral a rebound, Lakers get the ball off a missed shot to run more time off the clock
Fisher for three

We can nitpick at all the big calls, but I think these will loom large when this title game is reviewed in time to come.
so friggin true....boston throw way that game.....still cyar stand that fukkin boy they call kobe bryant................weary just STAY QUIET.......BARATARIA U TOO.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 18, 2010, 02:55:47 PM

Look like she front and center at plenty chinee food buffet tables too.

She just bindin time on till she geh half! Eat all yuh can, geh unattractive, he horn and she file for divorce!
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 19, 2010, 05:19:15 AM

Fisher for three

so friggin true....boston throw way that game.....still cyar stand that f**kkin boy they call kobe bryant................weary just STAY QUIET.......BARATARIA U TOO.

Whey yuh buy dem grapes?  Ah tink ah boycottin Key Food for de nex few weeks  :devil:  So it go man, Jerry Buss said it all, everybody wants to "Beat LA", next year will be a fresh opportunity
Post by: real madness on June 20, 2010, 12:46:44 AM

With all the titles Michael Jordan won, has he ever go through the Boston Celtics to win any? hmmm

what is your point?
Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 20, 2010, 05:26:57 AM
what is your point?

If I may, I think Mr.Jenny is trying to say that the teams that Jordan faced in the NBA may not have been as tough as facing the Boston Celtics in an NBA Final that Kobe and the boyz faced the other night. Again this my assumption but weirder things have happened and perhaps Mr.Jenny was insinuating something else.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 21, 2010, 07:46:31 AM
what is your point?

If I may, I think Mr.Jenny is trying to say that the teams that Jordan faced in the NBA may not have been as tough as facing the Boston Celtics in an NBA Final that Kobe and the boyz faced the other night. Again this my assumption but weirder things have happened and perhaps Mr.Jenny was insinuating something else.

I think you may be right about what he is trying to say which is pure rubbish.

The Bulls beat very good teams.  They had to deal with the Pistons in their conference (Isiah, Dumars, Rodman), later on the Pacers and Knicks who were good.  Then in the finals there were the Lakers (Magic, Worthy, AC Green, Mychal Thompson, Byron Scott, Divac, Sam Perkins, ), Portland (Drexler, Porter,Ainge,Cliff Robinson),Suns (Barkeley, Ainge,Majerle,Kevin Johnson),Sonics (Payton, Kemp, Schrempf,Nate McMillain, Perkins), and Jazz (Malone, Stockton, Hornacek)
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 21, 2010, 11:46:35 AM
what is your point?

I think you may be right about what he is trying to say which is pure rubbish.

The Bulls beat very good teams.  They had to deal with the Pistons in their conference (Isiah, Dumars, Rodman), later on the Pacers and Knicks who were good.  Then in the finals there were the Lakers (Magic, Worthy, AC Green, Mychal Thompson, Byron Scott, Divac, Sam Perkins, ), Portland (Drexler, Porter,Ainge,Cliff Robinson),Suns (Barkeley, Ainge,Majerle,Kevin Johnson),Sonics (Payton, Kemp, Schrempf,Nate McMillain, Perkins), and Jazz (Malone, Stockton, Hornacek)

Again.. did Bulls ever beat the Boston Celtics in the eastern conference finals to play in the NBA finals?

Allyuh mind all over the place. One statement could mean several things and per the topic you need to speak directly to the source before passing judgment anyways, the parade about to start, celebration on for 2010 NBA champs we going forward
Post by: davyjenny1 on October 08, 2020, 02:04:01 PM
Well yes, we have really gone forward indeed. Playing in a bubble in central Florida,as a result of a pandemic,will continue from where we left off in June, 2010. The restart is on Friday 9,2020. NBA Championship is in clear view.
Post by: davyjenny1 on October 12, 2020, 12:05:02 AM
****************************L.A.LAKERS 2020 NBA CHAMPS********************************
Post by: Deeks on October 13, 2020, 08:02:10 AM
Breds, what is your problem with this moving "it's showtime"
Post by: davyjenny1 on October 15, 2020, 03:13:05 PM

Woooo...Whats your problem with it?
Post by: Deeks on October 15, 2020, 04:00:30 PM

Whoa, hold it donkey. Breds, I only on kixx. Jeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeezz!!!! I wanted Lebron to win. I feel for Butler though. Fine player.
Post by: davyjenny1 on October 15, 2020, 04:16:50 PM

Whoa, hold it donkey. Breds, I only on kixx. Jeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeezz!!!! I wanted Lebron to win. I feel for Butler though. Fine player.
Oh hooo... Butler still has a shot at in the future but on the other hand, various teams are building though. The west is going to be challenging and very tough next season. Imo,for argument sake,   Lebron, had to come and slate his name with a ring for this (Laker) franchise to be widely considered among the greats.
Post by: Deeks on October 15, 2020, 04:48:06 PM

Oh hooo... Butler still has a shot at in the future but on the other hand, various teams are building though. The west is going to be challenging and very tough next season. Imo,for argument sake,   Lebron, had to come and slate his name with a ring for this (Laker) franchise to be widely considered among the greats.

I don't like "he young and still have shot in the future". This maybe he only shot.