Sports => Football => Topic started by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 04, 2009, 11:42:07 AM

Title: Legend Dwight Yorke retires from football.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 04, 2009, 11:42:07 AM
Yorke retires from football.
By: James Riach (skysports).

Veteran striker hangs up his boots

Former Manchester United forward Dwight Yorke has announced his retirement from football. The 37-year-old played a total of 480 club games, scoring 147 goals, and won the UEFA Champions League with United as well as three successive Premier League titles.

During his time at Old Trafford, Yorke formed a formidable partnership with fellow striker Andy Cole and he found the back of the net 64 times in 151 appearances.

The former Trinidad and Tobago captain was released by Sunderland at the end of last season and has decided to call it a day.

"It's time to hang up my boots," he said. "While I'm still in great shape, I'm not getting any younger.

"I've had the time of my life. I hope people will say that I played the game in the right way with a smile on my face.

Blessed

"I've been blessed really. I've played alongside some of the greatest players the Premier League has ever seen in Roy Keane, Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs, David Beckham, Peter Schmeichel, and played for the greatest manager in Sir Alex Ferguson."

Yorke has accepted a position as assistant manager of the Trinidad and Tobago national team for the remaining World Cup qualifiers, and says he wants to stay in football.

"I always planned to stay in football," he added. "My aim is to build up some experience and then use what I've learnt from my playing days to coach and one day manage a team in England.

"I'll always count myself lucky. I was a boy on a beach from a little Caribbean island that got the chance to fulfil his dream of winning trophies at the highest level and captaining his country in their first ever World Cup finals."
Yorke hangs up his playing boots.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Dwight Yorke today announced his retirement from football. Yorke, currently here in San Pedro Sula with the National Team, was released by Sunderland at the end of last season, won the UEFA Champions League with United in 1999 as well as three successive Premiership titles.

Yorke, who captained Trinidad and Tobago at the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™, said: "It's time to hang up my boots. While I'm still in great shape, I'm not getting any younger. I've had the time of my life. I hope people will say that I played the game in the right way with a smile on my face.

"I've been blessed really. I've played alongside some of the greatest players the Premier League has ever seen in Roy Keane, Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs, David Beckham, Peter Schmeichel, and played for the greatest manager in Sir Alex Ferguson.

"I'll always count myself lucky. I was a boy on a beach from a little Caribbean island that got the chance to fulfil his dream of winning trophies at the highest level and captaining his country in their first ever World Cup finals."

Yorke played 480 club games and scored 147 goals, scoring 64 in 151 appearances for United having teamed up with Andy Cole spectacularly. Yorke added that he was now committed to the role of Assistant coach of the National Team.

“Basically I’ve agreed to take up the role as assistant coach for the remainder of the campaign and then we’ll take it from there. I’m still very much involved in completing my coaching badges but I would like to stay involved in the game in some capacity,” Yorke told TTFF Media on Friday at the Hilton Princess Hotel.

“My aim is to build on all the experience and hopefully manage a team one day in England. At the moment I’m here to help Russell and Trinidad and Tobago football as best as I can and that’s where the situation is at the moment,” Yorke said.
Title: Re: Legend Dwight Yorke retires from Football
Post by: Controversial on September 04, 2009, 11:44:02 AM
he retire to coach he padnah latas on the field lol at least according to sam  :D
Post by: Trinidogg on September 04, 2009, 11:47:26 AM
Sad day True Trini i mean Trinbago Legend happy he is now Assistant coach of T&T  :beermug:
Post by: Themanfriday on September 04, 2009, 12:02:23 PM
So it is official.

Niceness

Passing off the Guards.
Post by: Peong on September 04, 2009, 12:08:51 PM
 :applause:
Thanks for all the memories.

I hope the TTFF does something for him to acknowledge his contribution.
A plaque, a high profile friendly or something.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 04, 2009, 12:12:08 PM
 :salute: :salute: :salute:
Post by: Themanfriday on September 04, 2009, 12:15:32 PM
:applause:
Thanks for all the memories.

I hope the TTFF does something for him to acknowledge his contribution.
A plaque, a high profile friendly or something.

Maybe against Manchester United would be perfect.

Watch this space
Post by: RGarcia on September 04, 2009, 12:18:38 PM
thanks dwight i still remember playing antbody fuh anybody and having you planted in mind mind as one of the players i most adored.... :'( :applause:
Post by: freakazoid on September 04, 2009, 12:21:33 PM
 I have to thank dwight yorke as whenever i called his name Jamaicans had to shut up in   a football argument
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 04, 2009, 12:21:35 PM
all de best to yorkie after a life of football.now get we to mother africa.
Post by: weary1969 on September 04, 2009, 12:24:13 PM
all de best to yorkie after a life of football.now get we to mother africa.

Cosign
Post by: kaliman2006 on September 04, 2009, 12:30:26 PM
Got this from the BBC 606 thread:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A56745075
Post by: palos on September 04, 2009, 12:38:21 PM
Thanks Dwight.  GOD Bless.
Post by: Andre on September 04, 2009, 12:48:05 PM
thanks for the entertainment, glory and opening the door for so many others.

i don't agree that is time to stop though. he coulda always come home to the PFL.

4 minutes of memories - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JYLEAt27ndg

http://www.youtube.com/v/JYLEAt27ndg
Post by: madness on September 04, 2009, 12:51:15 PM
thx very much yorkie. you will be a great manager one day.
Post by: kaliman2006 on September 04, 2009, 01:04:58 PM
I remember how upset Villa fans were when he left their club for Man Utd.

Shows how well he did in England.
Post by: iceberg on September 04, 2009, 01:07:53 PM
Thank you "Smiling Assasin" for all the great memories and for leading us to the 2006 WC.  You have achieved a lot more than most footballers ever dream about Yorkie.  I am glad that you are giving back in the "Temporary Assistant Coaching" role with the Warriors team.    All the best in your future endeavours.  Way to go "All Night Dwight".  Blessings!!!
Post by: Babalawo on September 04, 2009, 01:15:17 PM
now he have more time to bull some more white gyuls.  Ferguson and Keane can go hull dey arse!
Title: Yorke hangs up his boots
Post by: FireBrand on September 04, 2009, 01:50:41 PM
Yorke hangs up his boots
By: Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Trinidad and Tobago’s Dwight Yorke today announced his retirement from football.

Yorke, currently here in San Pedro Sula with the National Team, was released by Sunderland at the end of last season, won the UEFA Champions League with United in 1999 as well as three successive Premiership titles.

Yorke, who captained Trinidad and Tobago at the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™, said: "It's time to hang up my boots. While I'm still in great shape, I'm not getting any younger. I've had the time of my life. I hope people will say that I played the game in the right way with a smile on my face.

"I've been blessed really. I've played alongside some of the greatest players the Premier League has ever seen in Roy Keane, Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs, David Beckham, Peter Schmeichel, and played for the greatest manager in Sir Alex Ferguson.

Yorke played 480 club games and scored 147 goals, scoring 64 in 151 appearances for United having teamed up with Andy Cole spectacularly.

Yorke added that he was now committed to the role of Assistant coach of the National Team.

“Basically I’ve agreed to take up the role as assistant coach for the remainder of the campaign and then we’ll take it from there. I’m still very much involved in completing my coaching badges but I would like to stay involved in the game in some capacity,” Yorke told TTFF Media on Friday at the Hilton Princess Hotel.

“My aim is to build on all the experience and hopefully manage a team one day in England. At the moment I’m here to help Russell and Trinidad and Tobago football as best as I can and that’s where the situation is at the moment,” Yorke said.

:salute: :salute: :salute:
Title: Re: Yorke hangs up his boots
Post by: Bourbon on September 04, 2009, 02:01:35 PM
Well...now dat it official.....

Thanks For Everything Skipper. All in all...well played.  :applause:
Post by: maxg on September 04, 2009, 02:11:18 PM
he coulda annouce dat Sunday, just to keep Honduras in ah mess....or better still wait till the last game of this Hex play...this ain't helping them fellas with "confidence that they could do it ".....who does advise this man ?

add: when dem team hear Dwight Yorke dressed them musbe does say "Ok. he old buh dangerous"....maybe KJ for the hype, maybe Stern for the goals, maybe latas for the play....now who go make them nervous and prone to error.....Bleeder ?
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 04, 2009, 02:15:06 PM
Yorke yuh was, is and will always be a boss!
It was a pleasure seeing your career
I will never forget hearing during Man U games "here comes the cross..YORKE! Goal! Dwight Yorke from Trinidad & Tobago"
still gives me chills
Respects
Post by: DeSoWa on September 04, 2009, 02:15:26 PM
:applause:  :beermug: Thank you!! 20yrs of great service on the field. Hope we get 20 more from you off the field!  ;D :thumbsup:

Post by: maxg on September 04, 2009, 02:17:20 PM
he was a borse on the field, but his off field decisions left much to be desired...like this announcement >:(

so it not making meh confident if he go make the right decisions off the field now nah !  >:(
Post by: Arimaman on September 04, 2009, 02:19:22 PM
As a man that played with Do-flair as a youngster, the man was the best that I ever played with.  All the best in your future endeavours partner.....all the best...Thanks for the memories as a great player as well...
Post by: lefty on September 04, 2009, 02:20:10 PM
thanks brother one of best :beermug:
Post by: triniairman on September 04, 2009, 02:25:59 PM
Thank you DY19...you had a splendid career for both our country and club :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: Kingk on September 04, 2009, 02:30:49 PM
say it ain't so Smiling Assasin say it ain't soooo
 :salute: thank you for making us proud :beermug:
Post by: Texastrini on September 04, 2009, 02:38:08 PM
Big up Dwight :beermug:.  Thanks for the memories.  Looking forward to you continuing to contribute to TNT football in years to come.
Post by: supporter on September 04, 2009, 02:49:59 PM
If Steve Bruce wasnt in charge of Sunderland Yorkie might still be player/coach there.

Great career, but dont be surprised if he plays another season somewhere! Dwight has 'retired' before lol
Post by: dinho on September 04, 2009, 02:51:33 PM
- For giving me a reason to start watching English football when you were at Villa.

- For that feeling i used to get in my belly every time the commentator said "... and the smiling man from Trinidad and Tobago"

- For putting Trinidad & Tobago on the map for so many ignorant foreigners.

- For taking me to Germany and for making sure we gave a good account of ourselves when we got there.

- For continuing to be such a vital presence in our football.

You are a boss and you made us proud.

Thanks Dwight for the memories!! :salute:

Keep smiling... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Peter on September 04, 2009, 02:53:01 PM
now he have more time to bull some more white gyuls.  Ferguson and Keane can go hull dey arse!

Friggin LMAO!!

true.

Dwight Yorke's amazing career and accomplishments as a player with Man Utd has laid down a clear beacon for us to follow in TnT and the Caribbean at large- a beacon that shows that just because you're from a small country, it doesn't mean you have to settle for mediocrity- we must all strive to be Excellent and be the best(worldwide!) in whatever we do, and compare ourselves to the best. Dwight did this and he passed with flying colours. Can you imagine a guy from T&T was the damn TOP SCORER in the Champions League AND the EPL!!, and was the leading player in pushing(with his goals- goals win matches...and he was among the top with in assists too!!) his club to a treble of trophies in a single season- a feat that is among one of the greatest and most prestigious accomplishments in the history of the game.

One word for Dwight Yorke - LEGEND!

A living example of no matter where you come from, how humble your beginnings and how high the odds stacked against you for a plethora of reasons, and no matter your environment, it's up to you what you make of your life(of course it's tremendously harder for some than for others)- anyone and everyone can strive and push for Excellence(putting in hard, diligent, unrelenting and consistent work) and become the among the Best in the World, and that and Dwight is proof of this.

Of course alent is a good part of it, but I believe talent is something like 20% Inspiration and 80% Perspiration. So many people have a heap of so-called talent and don't reach very far in life and in their purpose/career.

In this respect, even besides his awesome football achievements for club and milestones for country , Dwight has left a potent example for everyone in Trinidad, the Caribbean and around the world look at and follow.

Thank you sir...
Post by: ricky on September 04, 2009, 02:54:59 PM
Dwight Yorke is the single and sole reason i started to watch football.
Thank you King!
Post by: Weh-it-is on September 04, 2009, 03:18:47 PM
Doofley yuh well do yuh ting paps. I happy fuh yuh dread. Men getting old. If you want to coach in England, the door is right there with that TnT Team. Help them get to WC2010 in South Africa and automatically teams from England will start calling.

The Government of Trinidad and Tobago needs to dedicate a national holiday just for you paps. Leh mih make ah call… ah mean ah text.  ;)
Post by: Jah Gol on September 04, 2009, 03:21:37 PM
The Greatest.
Post by: royal on September 04, 2009, 03:43:35 PM
How many games he played for TnT?
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 04, 2009, 03:49:13 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dwight_Yorke
Post by: dspfootballer on September 04, 2009, 03:51:04 PM
Yorke is also an excellent passer of the football.  As you can see from the highlight his position and tackling was also excellent.  I will remember him as footballer who did it all, that is total package.

Of course the fist time I saw on the field for Aston Villa, I could not be more proud.

I second the motion that he should play for PFL, it would be instructive to the young and old player and coaches to experience the world class player we have in Dwight Yorke.
Post by: Tallman on September 04, 2009, 04:13:17 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/cAQdbD9hFnc
Post by: Consultant on September 04, 2009, 04:25:45 PM
I am not sure if now was the right time to announce this. This could have a negative psychological impact on the team. The captain has retired....  :'(
Post by: dinho on September 04, 2009, 04:31:41 PM
Oh yeah, I forgot...

- Thanks for making Andy Cole look like a top striker.
Post by: Dutty on September 04, 2009, 04:53:56 PM
props for 20+ years of sterling yeoman service

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Title: Re: Legend Dwight Yorke retires from football.
Post by: SabreWolves on September 04, 2009, 05:01:07 PM
Thanks...   YOU ARE THE REASON I LOVE THIS GAME SOOOOOO MUCH...  You made us all proud.
Post by: Preacher on September 04, 2009, 05:06:51 PM
Don't sing to much sad songs yet people.  Because after he assist us to SA he un retiring.  :)   Yorke is a ball Peong for Life.  Realise he ain't say he done with football.  Big Up Yorkie!!!! 
Post by: WestCoast on September 04, 2009, 05:16:48 PM
Thank You very Much Mr Yorke
(http://red11.org/mufc/images/player/yorke/dwightwallpaper.jpg)
photo credit http://www.red11.org/mufc/yorke.htm

a very interesting stat
"Along with compatriot Russell Latapy and Pat Jennings, the former Northern Ireland goalkeeper, Dwight Yorke holds the record number of participations in different World Cup competitions, including qualifying stages - six in total (1990, 1994, 1998, 2002, 2006, 2010).[1]"
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dwight_Yorke

I have to thank dwight yorke as whenever i called his name Jamaicans had to shut up in   a football argument
they know it

Oh, and THANK YOU also Shaun
Post by: STEUPS!! on September 04, 2009, 05:20:19 PM
Yorkie boy, it has been an absolute pleasure wachin u  play over d years. thank u for all d blood, sweat an tears yuh put out for d national team.
now is jus fuh u to pass on your experiences to d young ballers comin up.
 Cheers Yorkie  :beermug:
Post by: Socapro on September 04, 2009, 05:22:14 PM
he was a borse on the field, but his off field decisions left much to be desired...like this announcement >:(

so it not making meh confident if he go make the right decisions off the field now nah !  >:(

Fully agree! He could have kept them guessing and nervous about whether he playing or not at least until the end of the Hex or why not at least wait until we have won the game vs Honduras to announce retirement?!

Anyway all the best to Yorke in his new role as assistant coach to Latas, we knew it was only a matter of time!
Post by: grskywalker on September 04, 2009, 05:30:07 PM
Long Live the legend, the smiling assasin, THE LADY SLAYER, the most decorated footballer in TNT history DWWWWWIIGGHHHTTT YORRRRKEE!!!!!
Post by: palos on September 04, 2009, 05:33:48 PM
The most successful and arguably the best EVER footballer that the region has produced.

By region...I mean CONCACAF.

To be even considered as the best ever in this region is a testament to Yorkie.

As Peter say...is not just about talent.

The odds of Yorkie achieving what he did, how he did, WHEN he did.....well..I think ex Man Utd Manager Tommy Docherty said it best after he saw Dwight on his debut for Aston Villa in 1990.  He said...

"If that lad makes a First Division footballer, my name is Mao Tse-Tung."

Tommy never live dat down.  Everywhere he go now, people does hail him out..."Top o the morning to you Mao Tse-Tung"

Dwight been spectacularly defyin the odds his entire life.  Remarkable human being.

Post by: davidephraim on September 04, 2009, 05:50:51 PM

i don't agree that is time to stop though. he coulda always come home to the PFL.

thanks for the memories andre.
Dwight what can we say. You are the man, kid. Wish you all de best in all future endeavors and though you wasn't as prolific for TnT yuh still used to come back. Setting the standard for fellas who go outside and play. Even after the obligation and need of Int'l caps.
Thanks for all de times yorkie. Great news to hear about the assistant coach ting. All we need is Shaka now and like a man say is Revolution.
Post by: jamaica98 on September 04, 2009, 06:15:31 PM
Respect Mr. Yorke....you are a legend... you have done T&T and the rest of the Caribbean proud.
Post by: nunu on September 04, 2009, 06:17:47 PM
Respect Mr. Yorke....you are a legend... you have done T&T and the rest of the Caribbean proud.
the same here
Post by: Victor on September 04, 2009, 06:19:26 PM

Nice post brother!!  :beermug:
Post by: socachynee on September 04, 2009, 06:20:47 PM
thank you Yorkie for your years of service

;D Yorkie smiling
Post by: Socapro on September 04, 2009, 06:27:47 PM

thanks for the memories andre.
Dwight what can we say. You are the man, kid. Wish you all de best in all future endeavors and though you wasn't as prolific for TnT yuh still used to come back. Setting the standard for fellas who go outside and play. Even after the obligation and need of Int'l caps.
Thanks for all de times yorkie. Great news to hear about the assistant coach ting. All we need is Shaka now and like a man say is Revolution.

Shaka if yuh reading this, I hope you realise we waiting on you to make your move and the revolution will have begun and there will be many many more T&T World Cup qualifications to come!  ;)
Post by: elan on September 04, 2009, 07:11:23 PM
The greatest footballer ever from the region, no arguments.
Post by: Tallman on September 04, 2009, 07:11:44 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/J0H07DbMq-U
Post by: Midknight on September 04, 2009, 07:32:25 PM
The greatest footballer ever from the region, no arguments.

No arguments if you don't speak Spanish. Hugo Sanchez would probably disagree with you.
Post by: College on September 04, 2009, 08:07:09 PM
Great career DY ... continue to make us proud!

A brilliant career and while many will harp on his off the field adventures the one story about Dwight I will always remember is after playing an international game, most of the players were in the hotel chillin but Dwight was no where to be found.

Real men was probably saying Dwight must be somewhere bulling a thing. Next thing you know, they entered his hotel room and found Dwight doing push ups. Ah believe his agent ask him how come he not vibesin with the other players to which he simply said, 'I'm a professional ah have to stay fit'  This is the Dwight that I admired as a player.

All the best Sir Dwight Yorke aka Ana  :beermug:
Post by: sjahrain on September 04, 2009, 08:17:25 PM
Thanks for all the thrills
You did it your way... :beermug:
Many have tried,but you succeeded
Thanks again
Post by: just cool on September 04, 2009, 08:51:11 PM
for the umpteen time. he'll be back, he always does. :devil:
Post by: saga pinto on September 04, 2009, 10:15:17 PM
all praises to a living legend in football dwight the rock of gibraltar yorke...           
Post by: just cool on September 04, 2009, 10:25:35 PM
all praises to a living legend in football dwight the rock of gibraltar yorke...           
That is some serious shirk dey boy!
Post by: Babalawo on September 04, 2009, 10:52:47 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ouzpkQw5WU
http://www.youtube.com/v/3ouzpkQw5WU
Some youth footage from the U-20's @ 2:40
Post by: E-man on September 04, 2009, 11:45:06 PM
Dwight Yorke is his name....

http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/modules/mediafield_display/players/1pixelout.swf?soundFile=http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/files/media/audio/dealberto-dwightyorke.mp3

Tribute To Dwight Yorke...

http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/modules/mediafield_display/players/1pixelout.swf?soundFile=http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/files/media/audio/mightyterror-tributetodwightyorke.mp3

Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 05, 2009, 12:33:00 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ouzpkQw5WU
http://www.youtube.com/v/3ouzpkQw5WU
Some youth footage from the U-20's @ 2:40

Boss clips, Big big difference between the intercol in those days and what going on today.