Sports => Football => Topic started by: triniairman on September 10, 2009, 04:38:24 PM

Title: Name Something after Russel Latapy
Post by: triniairman on September 10, 2009, 04:38:24 PM
Du Maurier is changing their name to "Magic" named after Trinidad and Tobago's football player Russel Latapy with the slogan "In Every Puff There Is Magic"  ;D

Seroiusly though, I was wondering, how the hell they could name the promenade and a Stadium after Brian Lara, when we have nothing named after one of our most celebrated players, in Russel Latapy. Do you have to win some kinda championship or get a medal for something to be named after you?
Title: Re: Name Something after Russel Latapy
Post by: Tallman on September 10, 2009, 04:45:35 PM
There is already de Russell Latapy Secondary School
Post by: WestCoast on September 10, 2009, 04:45:46 PM
The Russel Latapy Savannah ;)
Post by: palos on September 10, 2009, 04:52:56 PM
Dey could rename Lapeyrouse.  8)
Post by: Brownsugar on September 10, 2009, 06:03:46 PM

*sigh* oh laaaawwwwdddddd yuh doh miss a beat.... ;D
Post by: STEUPS!! on September 10, 2009, 06:06:44 PM

chups...better dan dat palos  :D
Post by: saga pinto on September 10, 2009, 06:22:46 PM
the latapy shit shankers assoc...
Post by: Zeppo on September 10, 2009, 06:45:30 PM
How about a cocktail?
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 10, 2009, 07:09:18 PM
Morvant-Laventille, Barataria and environs could use a dedicated community center that is well managed and caters to training the neigbourhood youths in various sports (and attempting to keep them off the streets)  The Russell Latapy community center
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 10, 2009, 07:26:35 PM
Du Maurier is changing their name to "Magic" named after Trinidad and Tobago's football player Russel Latapy with the slogan "In Every Puff There Is Magic"  ;D

Seroiusly though, I was wondering, how the hell they could name the promenade and a Stadium after Brian Lara, when we have nothing named after one of our most celebrated players, in Russel Latapy. Do you have to win some kinda championship or get a medal for something to be named after you?

latapy is ah boss, but in terms of major accomplishments, lara have more
Post by: asylumseeker on September 10, 2009, 08:24:34 PM
How about a cocktail?

Save that for Bradley? Something like a retirement beverage.
Post by: WestCoast on September 10, 2009, 09:01:28 PM
oh gaud
ya killin meh :D
Post by: Sam on September 12, 2009, 05:54:24 PM
Villa Latapy Capri
Post by: sammy on September 12, 2009, 05:59:48 PM

I hear yuh cry for latas......buh doh bring lara in this! Latas cyah come round lara in accomplishment. Lara is the one of the best if not the best batsman ever in the world..... Latas real good in his own right.
Post by: mal jeux on September 12, 2009, 06:00:27 PM

:rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl: oh gosh you almost kill meh with that one.
Post by: Spursy on September 12, 2009, 06:22:06 PM
I am glad u guys can laugh about this but truth is everything came together very very late it must be said.

Surely there is quality but if you dont play as a team what is the use? Also great for Jloyd to get in there and put in a good performance in such a short time, he made some good spot on tackles, TnT defense for the first time in a long while looked good with the Honduras exception xD

There is no "i" in teamwork unless ur Micheal Jordan "i" don't win games. The question myself and others keep asking is "will the tnt football learn from all these mistakes or will they let it haunt the islands".

Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2009, 08:46:02 PM
I am glad u guys can laugh about this but truth is everything came together very very late it must be said.

Surely there is quality but if you dont play as a team what is the use? Also great for Jloyd to get in there and put in a good performance in such a short time, he made some good spot on tackles, TnT defense for the first time in a long while looked good with the Honduras exception xD

There is no "i" in teamwork unless ur Micheal Jordan "i" don't win games. The question myself and others keep asking is "will the tnt football learn from all these mistakes or will they let it haunt the islands".

Not even coulda do it own his own. As 4 learnin sumting. D answer is no because d technical director cyah even admit that there was a blacklist
Post by: Controversial on September 13, 2009, 09:09:55 AM
no comparison, lara is de prince true and true, latas is the magic man but nowehere near being the greatest midfielder ever like lara being the greatest bastman ever...
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on September 13, 2009, 09:28:41 AM
Name something that doh work good and need changing, like a fire hydrant in town.

Or something that was meant to do good but is the same ole like maybe the blimp.

Dais we go name the Blimp after him. We go paint a bih No 10 on it.
Post by: Anbrat on September 13, 2009, 12:57:26 PM

LOL............hahahahahahahahah!
Post by: davidephraim on September 13, 2009, 05:50:28 PM
cant see how you get Palos to fit in there? I tried... :devil: :devil:
Post by: socachatter on September 13, 2009, 09:06:55 PM
TGIF named a drink after him a few months ago. 
Post by: Anbrat on September 13, 2009, 09:12:52 PM

Lara has 2 world records. 400 and 501. How could you be wondering?
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 14, 2009, 07:09:43 AM

both them scores are not outs eh.
Post by: Blue on September 14, 2009, 07:59:35 AM
Dey shud re-name Scotland....Latapy used 2 run d place ;D :beermug:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ad28fo935UA

http://www.youtube.com/v/ad28fo935UA

1:03...Latas is a legend
Post by: Deeks on September 14, 2009, 09:21:23 AM
One play cricket the other play football. Mango and putigal(apples and oranges)
Post by: Andre on September 14, 2009, 10:28:15 AM
the new ramp thing heading south from tong.

yuh know where people was parking up and looking out at grand bazaar from when it just build.

The Russell Latapy Ramp Thing / Lookout
Post by: Brownsugar on September 14, 2009, 11:30:22 AM
What de hell??!!....Zeppo suggested that and I eh take him seriously....
Post by: socachatter on September 14, 2009, 12:51:38 PM

lol.  i think it called the Lil Magician. or some such name
Post by: socachatter on September 14, 2009, 01:05:33 PM

lol.  i think it called the Lil Magician. or some such name

hmmm...guess it was a temporary menu item.  i was curious about the name myself and called them.  they no longer have a drink named after him.  hmmm...
Post by: triniairman on September 14, 2009, 05:36:27 PM
First of all I was not trying to compare Lara and Latas.... I was only stating the fact that Lara have a stadium and a Promenade named after him and Latas is one of our heroes as well, and there is nothing that I know off is named after him.....Some say Lara have made records, so basically he deserve it, well if that's the case then Yorke should have more than just a stadium named after him, I mean he was the one that opened doors for alot of Caribbean footballers and not to mention he won the most trophy's in any Caribbean footballer. Latas deserve something respectable to be named after him. :beermug:
Post by: triniairman on September 14, 2009, 05:37:08 PM

Lara was the best cricketer we had and Latas was the best midfielder we ever had so what's your point?
Post by: Trinidogg on September 14, 2009, 05:46:36 PM

Lara was the best cricketer we had and Latas was the best midfielder we ever had so what's your point?
:rotfl: behonest with ur self we know latapy is a boss but he is by know way to the game of football to what lara was to Cricket... Lara even have his own top selling video game in Brian Lara Cricket...
Post by: palos on September 14, 2009, 05:51:08 PM
Lara is one of the top 3 greatest batsmen in the entire history of his sport.

With all due respect to Yorke & Latas....dem cyah even crack de top 100 in dem sport.

Their accomplishments in their sport are miniscule compared to Lara's in his.

It doesn't mean they are not great players in their own right....but what Latas and Yorke have accomplished in their sport doh even come anywhere close to what Lara achieved in his.

No dispreck but it come like allyuh tryin to compare a German Shepherd wit 2 pompec.
Post by: STEUPS!! on September 14, 2009, 06:23:32 PM
dont know if anybody posted this but Latas already have d high school on d lady young named after him.
Post by: socachatter on September 14, 2009, 07:16:36 PM
Lara is one of the top 3 greatest batsmen in the entire history of his sport.

With all due respect to Yorke & Latas....dem cyah even crack de top 100 in dem sport.

Their accomplishments in their sport are miniscule compared to Lara's in his.

It doesn't mean they are not great players in their own right....but what Latas and Yorke have accomplished in their sport doh even come anywhere close to what Lara achieved in his.

No dispreck but it come like allyuh tryin to compare a German Shepherd wit 2 pompec.

Not to detract from Lara's achievements, but cricket is played by how many nations and football by how many nations?  Much larger pool for football.   Lara's achievement should never take away from theirs.  They have played their respective sports with both artistry and skill, determination and will.  Are there even world records in football?  What?  How many goals scored?  There must be about a thousand different kinda world records in cricket down to the record for 'Who Scratch Their Balls The Most In a One Day While Fielding In Second Slip'. And that's of course different from the man who 'Who Scratch Their Balls The Most In a Test While Fielding In Second Slip'. Cannot compare the two.  And one cannot detract from the other.  Yorke and Latas are geniuses in their respective positions and certainly not miniscule in comparison to Lara.