Sports => Football => Topic started by: triniairman on September 14, 2009, 09:21:45 PM

Title: Manchester Derby
Post by: triniairman on September 14, 2009, 09:21:45 PM
Mark Hughes could be missing £100m worth of strikers for Manchester derby
• Adebayor likely to be suspended after Arsenal game
• Robinho and Roque Santa Cruz injured; Tevez battling to be fit
Emmanuel Adebayor's probable suspension could hardly come at a worse time for Manchester City, with Mark Hughes facing the prospect of going into Sunday's derby against Manchester United with Craig Bellamy his only available striker. Hughes could be without £100m worth of strikers, although the City manager expressed hopes last night that Carlos Tevez, all but ruled out last week, may yet be able to face his old club.

Tevez was described by Hughes as "desperate" not to miss the match and, specifically, the chance to demonstrate to Sir Alex Ferguson that he should have been given more time on the pitch when he was playing in red rather than blue. The Argentinian's departure from Old Trafford was so acrimonious Hughes believes Tevez will be just as determined to ram home his point as Adebayor was against Arsenal in Saturday's 4-2 win. "We just hope, fingers crossed, that he has the opportunity to do the same," Hughes said.

Otherwise, Hughes will have drastically limited options going into one of the more eagerly awaited Manchester derbies of recent years. Robinho will be out for up to a month because of a stress fracture to his ankle, a knee problem means Roque Santa Cruz has not played this season, Benjani Mwaruwari is also out and Hughes sold or loaned five other strikers in the summer.

Tevez returned from international duty with Argentina last week with a knee injury and is undergoing intensive treatment to see if he can take over from Adebayor if, as seems virtually certain, the Togo international striker is suspended for three matches for the incident in Saturday's game that left Robin van Persie with a gashed face and complaining of a "mindless and malicious" stamp.

"I don't have many options in terms of firepower so it is a bit of a concern," Hughes said. "The only ones we had fit for the Arsenal game were Adebayor and Bellamy but we're trying to get Tevez back now and we all know how desperate he is to play. The Argentinian medical guys were saying he would need two to three weeks but we'd like to think, and hope, that it could be less than that."

Failing that, Hughes will have little choice but to move Craig Bellamy into a more central position, the Wales international having recently been deployed in a left-sided attacking role. Hughes thought Bellamy was "outstanding" against Arsenal and, referring to the player's pace, added that "in a counter-attacking sense he is one of the best out there". Nonetheless, the manager is aware of the potential pitfalls of having four of his five front players unavailable.

The FA will announce the first part of its disciplinary measures against Adebayor tomorrow, a violent conduct charge that would entail a three-match suspension, with the possibility of more to come depending on how seriously the governing body regard his provocative goal celebration.

As well as the first Manchester derby of the season, the former Arsenal player will miss City's Carling Cup tie against Fulham and a league match against West Ham United, but it is Sunday's visit to Old Trafford in which his absence is most likely to affect a side that has won every match so far this season. The £25m summer signing has scored in all of City's first four Premier League games and has been described by his manager as having the qualities to be recognised as "the best in the world".

Hughes's problems also include Stephen Ireland, the club's player of the year, being withdrawn against Arsenal with an ankle injury, although the midfielder has said that he expects to be fit.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/sep/14/mark-hughes-emmanuel-adebayor1

I sorry, but I had to start this thread early, I actually want Tevez to play. I want Man.United to take this team off their high horse and I want Tevez to be involved when that happen. I liked him when he was with us, but he turned out to be a sissy man who have a Turbanca for Man.U
Title: Re: Manchester Derby
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 14, 2009, 09:31:08 PM
Tevez will play

Ade will not be banned

Its Manchester City afterall.. if it was United 6 match ban no appeal

I want to beat the best team City can put out... If he getting ban let it be after the United game

Bring it on

THIS IS HOW IT FEELS TO BE CITYYY
THIS IS HOW IT FEELS TO BE SMALLL
HOW DOES IT FEEL FOR YOYR TEAM TO WIN NOTHING AT ALL!
NOTHING AT ALL

YOU'LL NEVER WIN f**k ALL
34 YEARS! f**k ALL
Post by: giggsy11 on September 15, 2009, 06:31:15 AM
Game on Setanta 8:25am TT time.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on September 15, 2009, 07:02:06 AM

Bring it on

NOTHING AT ALL

34 YEARS! f**k ALL

(http://www.propellertraining.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2007/11/yawning.jpg)
(http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z168/thewordisberry/yawn.jpg)
(http://www.northrup.org/Photos/jaguar/low/jaguar-yawning.jpg)

snooze fest
Post by: Jumbie on September 15, 2009, 07:14:46 AM
anyone supporting manchester?
Post by: Big Magician on September 15, 2009, 08:01:42 AM
city united is city divided
Post by: Blue on September 15, 2009, 08:09:57 AM
city united is city divided

not really...Mancs support City, foreigners and glory-seekers support United. :chilling:
Post by: andre samuel on September 15, 2009, 09:13:53 AM
This is the first time that i will actually wake up to watch this derby!!

Go City!!

Post by: Big Magician on September 15, 2009, 10:45:46 AM
ryan...go watch footage of the CL trophy being paraded in 1999... how much people in Manc ???
Post by: trinikev on September 15, 2009, 12:58:15 PM
Tevez will play

Ade will not be banned

Please eh....that has to be one of the dumbest things i've ever heard.
Post by: Touches on September 15, 2009, 01:28:50 PM
Steupsss  Andre yuh doh waste good sleep on 2 shit side  :devil:
Post by: Marcos on September 15, 2009, 02:20:29 PM
Tevez will play

Ade will not be banned

I want to beat the best team City can put out... If he getting ban let it be after the United game

Bring it on

NOTHING AT ALL

34 YEARS! f**k ALL

Horse you trying to play a victim card for ManU?
ManU?
Seriously?
The team that is allowed injury time until they score?
Get real.
Post by: jaden on September 16, 2009, 09:50:36 AM
MANU ALL D WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: elan on September 17, 2009, 11:47:05 PM
ADEBAYOR CONTROVERSY
FA imposes three-match ban on City star Adebayor
By Soccernet staff
September 17, 2009

Emmanuel Adebayor has been handed a three-match ban by the Football Association following an incident involving former Arsenal team-mate Robin van Persie.

The Manchester City striker was charged with violent conduct after he appeared to stamp on Van Persie's face during a 4-2 win for his side against the Gunners at Eastlands last weekend, provoking the Dutchman to release a strongly-worded statement in which he accused Adebayor of a "mindless and malicious" act.

Adebayor protested his innocence and apologised for the incident, but Manchester City released a statement on Wednesday to confirm that he had ''reluctantly'' admitted the charge.

The FA has now imposed a three-match ban on the striker, starting with the Manchester derby at the weekend, but Adebayor still has until September 30 to contest a seperate charge of improper conduct relating to his controversial goal celebration in the same game, when he ran the length of the pitch to goad the Arsenal fans.

"A Regulatory Commission today [Thursday] considered the charge of violent conduct issued against Manchester City's Emmanuel Adebayor under the fast-track disciplinary procedure, following an incident with Robin van Persie during their fixture against Arsenal on the 12 September," read an FA statement.

"Taking into consideration Mr Adebayor's acceptance of the charge of violent conduct the Regulatory Commission have ordered that he serve a three-match suspension from all football, commencing Thursday 17 September. A separate charge of improper conduct will be considered at a later date."

I wonder who Man City playing that they had to get the ban in before the weekend. The improper conduct charge could wait cause mostly a yellow is enough for his celebration.
Post by: grimm01 on September 18, 2009, 07:54:33 AM
ADEBAYOR CONTROVERSY
FA imposes three-match ban on City star Adebayor
By Soccernet staff
September 17, 2009

Emmanuel Adebayor has been handed a three-match ban by the Football Association following an incident involving former Arsenal team-mate Robin van Persie.

The Manchester City striker was charged with violent conduct after he appeared to stamp on Van Persie's face during a 4-2 win for his side against the Gunners at Eastlands last weekend, provoking the Dutchman to release a strongly-worded statement in which he accused Adebayor of a "mindless and malicious" act.

Adebayor protested his innocence and apologised for the incident, but Manchester City released a statement on Wednesday to confirm that he had ''reluctantly'' admitted the charge.

The FA has now imposed a three-match ban on the striker, starting with the Manchester derby at the weekend, but Adebayor still has until September 30 to contest a seperate charge of improper conduct relating to his controversial goal celebration in the same game, when he ran the length of the pitch to goad the Arsenal fans.

"A Regulatory Commission today [Thursday] considered the charge of violent conduct issued against Manchester City's Emmanuel Adebayor under the fast-track disciplinary procedure, following an incident with Robin van Persie during their fixture against Arsenal on the 12 September," read an FA statement.

"Taking into consideration Mr Adebayor's acceptance of the charge of violent conduct the Regulatory Commission have ordered that he serve a three-match suspension from all football, commencing Thursday 17 September. A separate charge of improper conduct will be considered at a later date."

I wonder who Man City playing that they had to get the ban in before the weekend. The improper conduct charge could wait cause mostly a yellow is enough for his celebration.

With him & Tevez missing, stand-by for the obvious excuses if a cut-ass comes their way.
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 18, 2009, 08:01:39 AM
Ferguson rips into 'cocky' Man City ahead of derbyAssociated Press

LONDON (AP) - Even before Manchester City's lavish spending spree has produced a trophy, it has claimed a first notable success: irritating Alex Ferguson.

Barclays Premier LeagueSat., Sep. 19
Burnley vs. Sunderland  Preview
Arsenal vs. Wigan  Preview
Aston Villa vs. Portsmouth*  Preview
Bolton vs. Stoke City  Preview
Hull City vs. Birmingham  Preview
West Ham vs. Liverpool*   
Sun., Sep. 20
Man Utd vs. Man City  Preview
Wolves vs. Fulham  Preview
Everton vs. Blackburn*  Preview
Chelsea vs. Tottenham*  Preview
*Airs on FSC or Watch on demand
VIDEO: Highlights of every game. 
     Premier League Fantasy Challenge

The Manchester United manager has reacted with indignation to "cocky" City's title aspirations, escalating tensions between the crosstown rivals ahead of Sunday's derby.

While both teams have started the Premier League season with four wins, United has played an extra match, which it lost to newly promoted Burnley.

It is not only City splurging around $200 million in the offseason that vexed Ferguson, but the way the Abu Dhabi-owned neighbor flaunted its biggest coup.

United-defect Carlos Tevez was displayed on an advertising billboard over the northern city's main shopping street with the slogan "Welcome to Manchester."

"That stupid poster was arrogance, it was naughty and showed a cockiness that wasn't required at the time - the new season hadn't even started," Ferguson said Friday. "Whatever else they are doing doesn't particularly worry me."

Ferguson doesn't even see the Manchester derby as the biggest clash of the season.

"Liverpool has always been the derby. It is because of the history," the 67-year-old Scot said. "My aim was always to do well against them. It is hard for me to think any other way."

City could be without its prized striker at Old Trafford on Sunday as Tevez is still recovering from a knee injury sustained on international duty with Argentina.

But Ferguson is more pleased that City is denied the services of Emmanuel Adebayor, the forward who has scored in all four league wins but is suspended for three matches after his violent conduct toward former Arsenal teammate Robin van Persie in last Saturday's 4-2 triumph.

"I am not bothered whether Tevez plays or not - Manchester City's best player won't be playing," Ferguson said. "Adebayor is their star player, there is no question about that."

Premier League on FSC
 Sat., Sep. 19, 10:00 a.m. (LIVE) -
   Aston Villa vs. Portsmouth
 Sat., Sep. 19, 12:30 p.m. (LIVE) -
   West Ham vs. Liverpool
 Sat., Sep. 19, 5:30 p.m. -
   Everton vs. Blackburn
 Sun., Sep. 20, 11:00 a.m. (LIVE) -
   Chelsea vs. Tottenham
 All times ET, subject to change. Full Schedule >
While United is bidding for a fourth Premier League title in a row and record 19th crown, City hasn't enjoyed such success since 1968 or even won a trophy since the 1976 League Cup.

Ferguson is dismissive of City's claims that a top-four finish is the target when he says United only has its sights on top spot.

"When you have spent that kind of money, and the wages they are paying, you have to win the league with that kind of investment," Ferguson.

City isn't the only team with an unbeaten record or a derby on Sunday. Carlo Ancelotti can extend the winning start to his Chelsea reign to six league matches with a victory over Tottenham.

Chelsea, which hasn't won the title since 2006, enjoys a three point lead over United, City and Tottenham at the top of the standings.

"It's going to be a big derby - Spurs are always at the top of their game when they play Chelsea so it's going to be hard," Chelsea winger Florent Malouda said. "But we are in first place and at home, so it's important for us to keep winning."

Tottenham's own unbeaten start ended with a 3-1 loss to Man United last Saturday.

"We all watched the game against Manchester United and it's a very good team," Malouda said. "They lost that game but have started really well. They want to compete with the top four so we have to be careful."

Also Sunday, Everton hosts Blackburn and Fulham travels to Wolverhampton.

On Saturday, Arsenal is looking to recover from its consecutive losses against Man United and City by beating their northwest neighbor Wigan.

Liverpool also can't afford to slip up at West Ham on Saturday with the Reds already six points adrift of Chelsea.

"We had put some pressure on ourselves by losing two early matches, but we showed against Burnley (last Saturday) that we are perfectly capable of playing the sort of inventive football that was our trademark last season," Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard said. "There is a lot more to come from us this season. We are improving with every game, and the goals are being shared around.

"Yossi Benayoun got a hat trick against Burnley, Dirk Kuyt is always capable of scoring while I believe that Fernando Torres is the best striker in Europe."

Also Saturday: Portsmouth goes in search of its first point at Aston Villa, Bolton takes on Stoke, Burnley hosts Sunderland and Birmingham is at Hull.
Post by: dinho on September 18, 2009, 09:56:09 AM

(http://kenfitlike.files.wordpress.com/2009/07/tevez-welcome.jpg)

:devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: triniairman on September 18, 2009, 11:23:03 AM
I heard on FSC that Tevez just might be fit and ready to go for the Derby.

PS. I like how they called the WC vs Pumas game, stating that Pumas first goal was garbage lol. He seemed to like WC.
Post by: acb on September 19, 2009, 01:02:17 PM
1. Why is it Fergie sounding like he wants the whole of ManUre to fatwa Tevez?
1 a. Isn't Fergie inciting the fans in a similar manner to what Adebayor did vs Arsenal last week?
1 b. Shouldn't that then lead to the 6 game suspension that SM was talking about?

2. Isn't there only one EPL team in Manchester?
2 b. Unconfirmed reports have Manchester United as existing OUTSIDE the boundaries that constitute Manchester. Eg. It's like when you on a flight in and out of Trini - you does always hear you landing in POS, but you really landing closer to Arima.

3. Vidic said that ManUre is the best team in Europe. I think he forgot the epic beatdown they got at the hands of Barca.
3 b. He also said they're the best team in England ... defending champions yes, yet they're looking up at another team up the table.

4. If City is so small, why are ManUre management, players and fans so bitterly obsessed with City? I sense a tinge of jealousy.
Post by: GunnerStunner on September 19, 2009, 05:18:15 PM
i want a 7-7 draw  :devil:  :devil:  :devil:  :devil:  :devil:  :devil:
Post by: davidephraim on September 19, 2009, 10:00:43 PM
1. Why is it Fergie sounding like he wants the whole of ManUre to fatwa Tevez?
1 a. Isn't Fergie inciting the fans in a similar manner to what Adebayor did vs Arsenal last week?
1 b. Shouldn't that then lead to the 6 game suspension that SM was talking about?

2. Isn't there only one EPL team in Manchester?
2 b. Unconfirmed reports have Manchester United as existing OUTSIDE the boundaries that constitute Manchester. Eg. It's like when you on a flight in and out of Trini - you does always hear you landing in POS, but you really landing closer to Arima.

3. Vidic said that ManUre is the best team in Europe. I think he forgot the epic beatdown they got at the hands of Barca.
3 b. He also said they're the best team in England ... defending champions yes, yet they're looking up at another team up the table.

4. If City is so small, why are ManUre management, players and fans so bitterly obsessed with City? I sense a tinge of jealousy.

some interesting questions dey ACB. I liked every one of them. :beermug:
Post by: WestCoast on September 19, 2009, 10:09:04 PM
interesting article here about Bravehearts comments
http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/philmcnulty/2009/09/ferguson_talk_must_please_man.html
can anyone say " Trafford United" :rotfl: :devil:
Post by: acb on September 20, 2009, 07:35:59 AM
Yahoo! Live Report.

'You haven't got the money' is the cry from City's support. 'USA, USA' is the United retort!

Post by: Bitter on September 20, 2009, 07:48:05 AM
2nd half start off hot!

Imagine if Adebayor, and Santa Cruz were available?
Post by: Deeks on September 20, 2009, 07:52:48 AM
wha is the score?
Post by: fitzinho on September 20, 2009, 07:55:11 AM
2-2
Post by: Bitter on September 20, 2009, 08:02:17 AM
Right now, the only thing between Man City and licks is Given.
Post by: Deeks on September 20, 2009, 08:03:37 AM
Now the city of man have a real derby, like celtic/rangers. Go United!!!!!!
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 08:03:55 AM
Fantastic stuff by Givens for real...

Giggsy still showing he has it boy... nutmeg on SWP and then abusing Ireland to set up the heading chance for Berbatov.
Post by: davidephraim on September 20, 2009, 08:04:46 AM
cant believe no links for this game. Allyuh well hate Manure boy.
Post by: Jumbie on September 20, 2009, 08:09:57 AM

try http://www.atdhe.net/9305/watch-manchester-united-vs-manchester-city

Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 08:10:40 AM

Hard luck dey... I watching on Setanta.   Still tied at 2 in the 78'

Owens on for Berba.
Post by: Observer on September 20, 2009, 08:13:32 AM
Ferguson showing his quality as a coach. His changes in the second half have completly changed the game in ManU favour. Even though Given eh want to hear it.  It also shows that ManU depth of players who could come on and play differently.
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 08:13:51 AM
Fletcher with the header off the Gigg's free kick in the 81st.

3-2 United.
Post by: Bitter on September 20, 2009, 08:23:47 AM
BELLAMMMYYYYYYYY!!!!!!

3-3
Post by: dinho on September 20, 2009, 08:24:08 AM

ferdinand is a goat.. but bellamy is pace
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 08:25:04 AM
An absolutely horrible give-away by Ferdinand... ball stolen by Craig Bellamy to then outrace him 40 yards to slip the ball past Foster to steal a point from United in stoppage time.

3-3 in the 91st.
Post by: Bitter on September 20, 2009, 08:27:19 AM
i want a 7-7 draw  :devil:  :devil:  :devil:  :devil:  :devil:  :devil:

They get 1/2 way
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 08:29:15 AM
Horseshit... these refs boy.

Owens with the winner in the 6th minute of added time.... when only 4 was promised.

to make it worse Alan f**king Wylie yukking it up on de sidelines with Ferguson.
Post by: Bitter on September 20, 2009, 08:29:18 AM
Absolute Bullshit!
Post by: mukumsplau on September 20, 2009, 08:30:23 AM
f**kin shit. that is f**kin shit.
Post by: Patterson on September 20, 2009, 08:30:55 AM
Tevez will play

Ade will not be banned

Bring it on

NOTHING AT ALL

34 YEARS! f**k ALL

ManU?
Seriously?
Get real.

Absolute garbage
Post by: fitzinho on September 20, 2009, 08:31:37 AM
Only in a Manchester Utd game would u see 6 mins of overtime....wow
Post by: DeSoWa on September 20, 2009, 08:32:20 AM
Tevez will play

Ade will not be banned

Bring it on

NOTHING AT ALL

34 YEARS! f**k ALL

ManU?
Seriously?
Get real.

Absolute garbage

proven  >:(

Post by: D.H.W on September 20, 2009, 08:33:23 AM
Owennnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!!!!!!!  :devil:

great game great win  :)
Post by: big dawg on September 20, 2009, 08:34:32 AM
dese refs I tell u...
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 20, 2009, 08:34:46 AM
AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

GET IN!!!

4-3 FT

Post by: Observer on September 20, 2009, 08:35:20 AM
The only surprise for me is that allyuh surprised  ::)
Post by: fitzinho on September 20, 2009, 08:35:29 AM
alyuh Manchester Utd fans eh have no belly if alyuh braggin bout that tief win....7 minutes of overtime??? get real
Post by: GunnerStunner on September 20, 2009, 08:36:01 AM
how 4min inury time turns into 6min????? ???

hard lucky city, yuh luck with Arsenal ran out at trafford and their historically dodgy time keeping officals

luck favours the FA's babe
Post by: saga pinto on September 20, 2009, 08:38:23 AM
Absolutely disgusting and man u is my side but yuh see for yourself how favoritism and corruption runs rampant in man u football,firstly the ref clearly wanted to give man u all the chance in the world to win the game and secondly look closely it seems owen was offside when he collect that ball.

Boy let me tell you that's why this is a perfect example of why we fight.....  
Post by: giggsy11 on September 20, 2009, 08:38:54 AM
alyuh Manchester Utd fans eh have no belly if alyuh braggin bout that tief win....7 minutes of overtime??? get real

We will take it! Since when football have OVERTIME? you must be mixing it up with American football!
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on September 20, 2009, 08:39:18 AM
Ferguson does wok real obeyah.
Post by: GunnerStunner on September 20, 2009, 08:39:35 AM
lets hear it small mag

3 points to the lucky devils, officals again favour the reds, we alls know this, but owen still had to be composed to finish well

arsenal were unlucky not to bring city down to earth glad somebody did

still you reds have got to say you were very lucky in the arsenal game and again this game with the extra extra injury time
Post by: triniairman on September 20, 2009, 08:40:19 AM
Great gme....Great win  :devil: :devil: that last sub by Fergie was brilliant to add a lil more time on the clock..BRILLIANT!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D WE scored in aroung the fifth min. of injury time, the 6mins came after the last goal.
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 08:40:39 AM
Not to take away from a brilliant display of football from both teams... you can't blame officiating when Darren Fletcher of all people score two goals with his head.  Some good redemption stories in Owens scoring the winner, and in the process taking Ferdinand off the hook for the giveaway to concede the tying goal.

All that said... the calls in the second half were very questionable... including the supposed foul that led to the free kick off which Fletcher scored his second to send United up 3-2.  And then to promise 4 mins of added time (which itself was baffling in what was a fast-paced game with few stoppages), and end up playing 6??  Officially the explanation was that there was a goal and a sub... how that results in an extra two minutes of stoppage time is beyond me.

... and to rub salt in the wound, Alan Wylie... the match's fourth official, is seen skinning he facking teeth with Ferguson right after the winning goal was scored.
Post by: GunnerStunner on September 20, 2009, 08:41:30 AM
Great gme....Great win  :devil: :devil: that last sub by Fergie was brilliant to add a lil more time on the clock..BRILLIANT!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D WE scored in aroung the fifth min. of injury time, the 6mins came after the last goal.

you dont get extra time for subbing during injury time

managers use that to eat up time
Post by: GunnerStunner on September 20, 2009, 08:42:47 AM
Not to take away from a brilliant display of football from both teams... you can't blame officiating when Darren Fletcher of all people score two goals with his head.  Some good redemption stories in Owens scoring the winner, and in the process taking Ferdinand off the hook for the giveaway to concede the tying goal.

All that said... the calls in the second half were very questionable... including the supposed foul that led to the free kick off which Fletcher scored his second to send United up 3-2.  And then to promise 4 mins of added time (which itself was baffling in what was a fast-paced game with few stoppages), and end up playing 6??  Officially the explanation was that there was a goal and a sub... how that results in an extra two minutes of stoppage time is beyond me.

... and to rub salt in the wound, Alan Wylie... the match's fourth official, is seen skinning he facking teeth with Ferguson right after the winning goal was scored.

ah tell yuh fortune favours the FA's babe
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 08:43:37 AM
The only surprise for me is that allyuh surprised  ::)

Once Man City had equalized I knew that extra-time would be doubled!

Man City should never have relaxed until the final whistle, don't blame the ref for the lost this was expected!!

Maybe Man City should have use the extra extra-time to their advantage to press for a win themselves!
Post by: Peong on September 20, 2009, 08:44:07 AM
How much time did the 4th official indicate would be added?  Was it close to 5-6 or not?
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 08:44:27 AM

I doh even know how allyuh men could accept them kinda win nah dred... but more power tuh allyuh.
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 08:45:54 AM
How much time did the 4th official indicate would be added?  Was it close to 5-6 or not?

You not following de transcript or what??   de man put up 4 mins.
Post by: giggsy11 on September 20, 2009, 08:46:02 AM
Giggsy is and always will be the man!

Ferdinand and Foster are some mental midgets! If United had lost the game it would have been due to them!

Foster appears to lack focus and composure; Small Mags I owe you an apology after you questioned Foster being able to handle the job.

City were lucky to even be in the game but well done in taking and capatilzing on Foster's and Ferdinand's mental lapses!

I would have been so f*cking pissed if we had lost that match.

Hators keep on hatin; you just got another reason to hate on!

Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 20, 2009, 08:46:53 AM
lets hear it small mag

3 points to the lucky devils, officals again favour the reds, we alls know this, but owen still had to be composed to finish well

arsenal were unlucky not to bring city down to earth glad somebody did

still you reds have got to say you were very lucky in the arsenal game and again this game with the extra extra injury time

4 mins added... city scored in the 90:30... celebrated for about 60 seconds... Carrick came on and when we got the free kick it was headed to giggs close to the 18 yard line and he played Owen..goal

game over

3 points

;D ;D ;D
Post by: Jumbie on September 20, 2009, 08:47:14 AM
forget time and all that tata.. not fair, sure. but class is class. that manu team does always find a way to win and does NOT stop playing till the whistle blow. Goals win games and manu scored. Great pass, nice finishing touch.

And I eh even like Manu!
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 08:47:58 AM

Yeah maybe the ref was trying to be fair and give Man City time to equalize yet again but is like their manager couldn't focus and had already lost his rag over the extra extra-time!
Post by: giggsy11 on September 20, 2009, 08:49:16 AM

Agreed! If it was Berbatov instead of Owen he would have pulled stones! Owen just needs one chance!
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 08:53:20 AM
4 mins added... city scored in the 90:30... celebrated for about 60 seconds... Carrick came on and when we got the free kick it was headed to giggs close to the 18 yard line and he played Owen..goal

game over

3 points

;D ;D ;D

That is nonsense.  City did not celebrate for a full minute... and even if they did time is to be added only for as long as it takes to get the ball to center and bak into play.  You honestly trying to say that the Man U players stood there and watch City equalize and take a full minute to get the ball out the back of the net and to the center line?

Even so... subs are used to burn up extra seconsd... not to add time to the clock.  but anyways, like allyuh self.
Post by: saga pinto on September 20, 2009, 08:56:07 AM
forget time and all that tata.. not fair, sure. but class is class. that manu team does always find a way to win and does NOT stop playing till the whistle blow. Goals win games and manu scored. Great pass, nice finishing touch.

And I eh even like Manu!

Yeah yuh right they always find a way to win especially when they playing with 12 men during extra time....
Post by: Socafan on September 20, 2009, 08:56:24 AM
That "injury time" win was ridiculous. It look like men was right. Was ambivalent about Manu before but now ah have no respect for that side. Only hate. Allyuh Manu fans really like that boy!!?? Steeuups....
Post by: Observer on September 20, 2009, 08:57:05 AM
Its been historically this way in football. Real at Bernabeau, Juventus at Stadio Delle Alpi and ManU at Old Trafford its know that it is difficult to come away with a result, (unless its Champions League). So it go! That eh changing!

That being said, ManU deserve to win the game on their second half performance and should be applauded for that. So far they have won the games they needed to win.
Post by: triniairman on September 20, 2009, 08:57:44 AM
I would have taken the draw, but at the end of the day the win is much sweeter with full three points in the bag. I'll take it. I know alot of people don't wanna hear it, but I think the last sub Fergie made was to gain some more time on the clock and it worked in our favour around the 5' min of injury time, but it's Man.U so they are gonna hate regardless.
Post by: giggsy11 on September 20, 2009, 09:03:47 AM
Please! I guess United should have tolded the ref to blow after 4minutes or decline the extra 2minutes played out of respect for the hators on this forum? If it was your side who benefited from the extra time played can you honestly say you would be bleeting all the sh!t you are bleeting? United did not cheat but played to the whistle!
Post by: Bitter on September 20, 2009, 09:04:30 AM
Allyuh good oui.

ManU Play good ball in the 2nd half.  Just say is one of them tings and move on. Say yuh escape with a lil help from the ref. We go take that.

But doh try to justify the extra minutes. On the whole Planet, man does use late subs to eat up time... except at Man U, where a late sub does magically add 2 minutes. I will watch the Chelsea-Spurs game and see if they adding time for subs there too
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 09:07:32 AM
I would have taken the draw, but at the end of the day the win is much sweeter with full three points in the bag. I'll take it. I know alot of people don't wanna hear it, but I think the last sub Fergie made was to gain some more time on the clock and it worked in our favour around the 5' min of injury time, but it's Man.U so they are gonna hate regardless.

The more I see allyuh men post is de less respect I having fuh allyuh dred.  

I does try to be as objective as possible when I talk about football and I doh think you could ever say you see me 'hating' on any team on here... not even Chelsea, who I cyah stand.  Not to say yuh was talking about me in particular, but I mention it to say that it can't all be about "hate".  Refs don't add time for substitutions... which is why you will see a manager with the lead making a flurry of subs at the end of a close game, to add defenders yes... but also to burn up extra seconds.  That and 'injury' is two of the biggest time-wasting ploys man does use.  Where allyuh getting this talk about subs adding time is beyond me... could only chalk that up tuh allyuh looking hard for ways to justify de nonsense.

But anyways, enough has been said, another day, another game at Old Trafford.
Post by: triniairman on September 20, 2009, 09:11:13 AM
Please! I guess United should have tolded the ref to blow after 4minutes or decline the extra 2minutes played out of respect for the hators on this forum? If it was your side who benefited from the extra time played can you honestly say you would be bleeting all the sh!t you are bleeting? United did not cheat but played to the whistle!
If Man.City had won in that fashion, they would not even mention anything about the stoppage time, I was thought to play till the whistle blow and that's what Man.United did and we won, but the haters will always be there, so let them bleat. Last  couple years it was Ronaldo and his dives + ref favoritism..... now they can only talk about the ref, so let them talk.
Post by: Observer on September 20, 2009, 09:21:01 AM
If Man.City had won in that fashion, they would not even mention anything about the stoppage time, I was thought to play till the whistle blow and that's what Man.United did and we won, but the haters will always be there, so let them bleat. Last  couple years it was Ronaldo and his dives + ref favoritism..... now they can only talk about the ref, so let them talk.

Only because Rooney or Berbatov eh dive today  ;D
Post by: Fyzoman on September 20, 2009, 09:26:03 AM
ah love meh forum yes....so hear nah, like is only Manu get dat 6 minutes extra time dat men talking bout or what...ah didn't see de game but i take it City didn't want to win right, they were content wid ah draw?
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 09:27:39 AM

Only because Rooney or Berbatov eh dive today  ;D

Aye... doh make we fight eh, leave mih boy Shrek out allyuh talk, Shrek is ah fighter  ;D

Fyzoman nah... City was fighting tooth and nail fuh every ball to de end and took their chances when they had them.
Post by: dinho on September 20, 2009, 09:32:05 AM
that argument about time added on for a goal and sub is utter bullshit!!!

nuff time yuh see a goal score and the ref blow off the game from the subsequent touch off... no extra time added..

subs is to eat time off the clock not add time...

come better than that nuh
Post by: elan on September 20, 2009, 09:32:46 AM
Did not see the game, did Tevez play?
Did Adebayor play?
Did Robinho play?
Who else did not play?

Which team look closer their full strength in terms of players?
Post by: Observer on September 20, 2009, 09:35:08 AM
Seriously! The game was tied at the time, its not like ManU got 6 min and Man City got 4min.  :-\
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 09:46:27 AM
Can the anti-Man Utd fans stop complaining?

Man Utd played for a win till the final whistle but Man City was content to relax and play for a draw and that is why the team that had the more ambitious mind-set won!

The 6 minutes of extra time was for both teams not just for Man Utd so Man City could have tried to use the extra extra-time to seal a win just like how Man Utd did.

Yes the ref added extra unannounced extra-time but it was for both teams to make use of it and go for a win.

As it was Man Utd seized the opportunity and Man City didn't!

Please no sour grapes, just take it as a lesson learnt and make sure next time you go for a win till the final whistle when playing Man Utd at Old Trafford.

Case closed!
Post by: triniairman on September 20, 2009, 09:47:31 AM
Seriously! The game was tied at the time, its not like ManU got 6 min and Man City got 4min.  :-\
That's a good way to look at it lol
Post by: saga pinto on September 20, 2009, 09:54:01 AM

So that justifies the win.....
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 09:56:38 AM

So that justifies the win.....

The team which wanted it more won Saga!
In extra-time Man Utd went for a win while Man City was playing for a draw!
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 09:59:28 AM

Man Utd played for a win till the final whistle but Man City was content to relax and play for a draw and that is why the team that had the more ambitious mind-set won!

That is bullshit... you clearly wasn't watching the game.  If yuh want to say United played better then say so but doh come with that bullshit because City played their hearts out, doh discredit their efforts.  Not because people saying ref tief mean dey "anti-Man Utd".  Some ah we would rather see a fair result without one team or another getting all the advantage.
Post by: giggsy11 on September 20, 2009, 10:00:03 AM
The ref is allowed to add time for substitutions during the game, whether it is the beginning, middle or end; he can add time for goals being scored; celebrations; injuries, wasting time ect. Anything that may take away from the game being played in 90 minutes after all is said and done. It all comes down to the ref's discrestion. Some times the added time is never enough or is to much.
Post by: DeSoWa on September 20, 2009, 10:03:56 AM
The ref is allowed to add time for substitutions during the game, whether it is the beginning, middle or end; he can add time for goals being scored; celebrations; injuries, wasting time ect. Anything that may take away from the game being played in 90 minutes after all is said and done. It all comes down to the ref's discrestion. Some times the added time is never enough or is to much.

Which always are in ManU's favour... ??? go figure!

Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 10:04:22 AM

That is bullshit... you clearly wasn't watching the game.  If yuh want to say United played better then say so but doh come with that bullshit because City played their hearts out, doh discredit their efforts.  Not because people saying ref tief mean dey "anti-Man Utd".

I saw most of the game including the whole 2nd half and the Man City manager and players were definitely playing for a draw during the extra-time period! That's not saying that both teams didn't play their hearts out!
But Man Utd got a opportunity to steal a win and did! That's how I saw it!

Hard luck to Man City hope it was a lesson learnt!
The 6 minutes of extra was there for both teams to take advantage of!
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 10:09:00 AM

Which always are in ManU's favour... ??? go figure!

After the goal was scored by Man Utd in extra time I saw that the ref added on even more extra time which could have been used by Man City to equalize! He did not blow the whistle right after Man Utd had scored!
Lets just say the better team on the day won and done this crying argument blaming the refs for Man City's lost!

Hard luck to Man City and better luck next time!
Post by: DeSoWa on September 20, 2009, 10:11:06 AM
Socapro....good points...but it surely was not the case in this game...ManC was going for the win...The ref just refused to blow the whistle while ManC had possesion after the 4th min...then in pressing forward a phantom foul was called.. and he still allowed ManU to play until they scored..how come an extra minute was not added for that goal!

Post by: mukumsplau on September 20, 2009, 10:16:54 AM
den y hughes take out de jong for petrov?
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 10:17:44 AM
Socapro....good points...but it surely was not the case in this game...ManC was going for the win...The ref just refused to blow the whistle while ManC had possesion after the 4th min...then in pressing forward a phantom foul was called.. and he still allowed ManU to play until they scored..how come an extra minute was not added for that goal!

Yuh sounding confusing, as I saw it Man Utd scored within the announced 4mins of extra-time and if the ref was so anti Man City or pro Man Utd he could have blown the whistle right after Man Utd had scored but no he didn't! Instead he gave Man City some more extra time to see if they could still salvage a draw but they couldn't!

Hard luck Man City but the better team on the day won!
Post by: DeSoWa on September 20, 2009, 10:20:59 AM
nope, they scored at the 95th min mark... it took about 1 min for play to start back...whistle blew aprox 5 secs after kick off...you are the one a lil confused  ;D

Post by: dinho on September 20, 2009, 10:22:48 AM
Any time a ref gives additional extra time in a match like this, it is giving extra incentive to the favored HOME team not the away team.. especially at a place like Old Trafford.

c'mon guys..

if allyuh just was to just come out and say "we get a bligh but we go take that", i could more than respect that, but stop trying to justify the bullshit.
Post by: sammy on September 20, 2009, 10:24:10 AM

doh study dem breads.....they doing like if City only had  4 mins of extra time to score while we had six. Haters would always be haters.
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 10:26:13 AM

doh study dem breads.....they doing like if City only had  4 mins of extra time to score while we had six. Haters would always be haters.

I am not really a Man Utd supporter but I have to agree!
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 10:28:36 AM
Any time a ref gives additional extra time in a match like this, it is giving extra incentive to the favored HOME team not the away team.. especially at a place like Old Trafford.

Rubbish!! Both teams are from Manchester and as a result are practically at home, that is why its called a Derby!  :devil:
Post by: dinho on September 20, 2009, 10:29:09 AM

Rubbish both teams are from Manchester and as a result are practically at home, that is why its called a Derby!  :devil:

you not serious...
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 20, 2009, 10:29:50 AM
did not see it but the better team won. ;D
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 10:32:46 AM

Rubbish both teams are from Manchester and as a result are practically at home, that is why its called a Derby!  :devil:

you not serious...

Why do you think they refer to games like these as a local derby then?
Its do or die in these games so home advantage is of no consequence to the away team because they are practically playing in their neighbours backyard and trying to steal mangoes from their neighbour's tree for local bragging rights!!!!  :devil:
Post by: palos on September 20, 2009, 10:44:26 AM

you not serious...

Its do or die in these games so home advantage is of no consequence to the away team because they are practically playing in their neighbours backyard and trying to stealing mangoes from their neighbour's tree for local bragging rights!!!!  :devil:

??? ::)
Post by: DeSoWa on September 20, 2009, 10:51:50 AM
so in the Chelsea/Spurs game...had 2 or 3 long injuries...and only 8 mins added...Man U got almost 7 for what?

Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 10:59:52 AM
so in the Chelsea/Spurs game...had 2 or 3 long injuries...and only 8 mins added...Man U got almost 7 for what?

Correction Man Utd & Man City got almost 7 extra minutes unless someone tied up the Man City players feet for the extra-time period!
Allyuh stop allyuh damn moaning, its sickening!

And I'm not a Man Utd supporter eh, so doh jump to that conclusion!
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 11:09:42 AM

Bassong hit he head real hard on dat play boy... hope he's okay, he looked like he was completely out of it on the pitch.
Post by: DeSoWa on September 20, 2009, 11:14:25 AM

Bassong hit he head real hard on dat play boy... hope he's okay, he looked like he was completely out of it on the pitch.

Yeah, on the replay it looked real nasty...his hand got caught under Anelka, so he could not use it to breaks the fall...ouch! Hope he is alright though...glad he was conscious.

Post by: acb on September 20, 2009, 11:27:35 AM

Rubbish!! Both teams are from Manchester and as a result are practically at home, that is why its called a Derby!  :devil:

... but United isn't technically located in Manchester. Is like calling Jabloteh vs Joe Public a derby - San Juan & Arouca is two different place.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 20, 2009, 11:48:09 AM
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/posterlol.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/02_666x450_892739a.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/13b_666x450_892796a.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/owen1_682x400_892789a.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/mo72.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/mo7.jpg)

Legends
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/nevlol.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/evra.jpg)
 ;D ;D ;D ;D :rotfl: :rotfl:

c**ts:
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/bellamy.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/6448_105929928434_637103434_2314257.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/6254_229103285345_611470345_7528110.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/pitythefool.jpg)

:beermug: :beermug:
Post by: giggsy11 on September 20, 2009, 11:53:06 AM
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/13b_666x450_892796a.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/owen1_682x400_892789a.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/mo72.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/mo7.jpg)

Legends
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/nevlol.jpg)
 ;D ;D ;D ;D :rotfl: :rotfl:

c**ts:
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/bellamy.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/6448_105929928434_637103434_2314257.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/6254_229103285345_611470345_7528110.jpg)
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/pitythefool.jpg)

:beermug: :beermug:

Nice :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 12:00:27 PM

Nice one SM!!
Post by: acb on September 20, 2009, 12:27:43 PM
Not one of you lot/ blokes can honestly back the 6 minutes of added on ET that was allowed AFTER the ref signalled 4 mins. Had it been City with the winner, you would be cursing the ref at all ends.

Last season all that diving, cheating and intimidation ended up in the sweetest cutarse in Rome past May.

The higher you climb, the further you fall.

Post by: TdotTrini on September 20, 2009, 01:15:30 PM
Final Result

Full Time

90:00+6:58
The final whistle is blown by the referee.

90:00+5:28
Assist on the goal came from Ryan Giggs.

90:00+5:28 GOAL - Michael Owen:
Man Utd 4 - 3 Man City Michael Owen gets on the score sheet with a goal from deep inside the penalty box to the bottom right corner of the goal. Man Utd 4-3 Man City.

90:00+4:51
Foul by Carlos Tevez on Rio Ferdinand, free kick awarded. Wayne Rooney delivers the ball from the free kick right-footed from right channel, Stephen Ireland makes a clearance.

90:00+3:09
Effort on goal by Wayne Rooney from outside the area goes harmlessly over the bar.

90:00+2:28
Corner taken left-footed by Ryan Giggs from the right by-line, save by Shay Given.

90:00+2:28 Substitution (Man Utd) makes a substitution, with Michael Carrick coming on for Oliveira Anderson.

90:00+2:00
Antonio Valencia produces a cross, clearance made by Stephen Ireland.

89:54
The assist for the goal came from Martin Petrov.

89:54 GOAL - Craig Bellamy:
Man Utd 3 - 3 Man City
Post by: boss on September 20, 2009, 01:41:27 PM

Spot the spelling  :-\
Post by: acb on September 20, 2009, 01:44:32 PM

Man Utd 4 - 3 Man City Michael Owen gets on the score sheet with a goal from deep inside the penalty box to the bottom right corner of the goal. Man Utd 4-3 Man City.

4 mins of ET indicated by the ref, so why was the game still being played at +5:28?
:whistling:

Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 01:56:29 PM

4 mins of ET indicated by the ref, so why was the game still being played at +5:28?
:whistling:

To allow the better team to score and win!  :devil:

And which team did that again? :whistling:
Post by: acb on September 20, 2009, 02:14:16 PM
Spot the spelling  :-\

lol - typical of the edumacated lads that follow ManUre to their detriment.
Reminds me of the time Glen Beck tried to spell Oligarhy ... I mean Oligarchy.

http://www.youtube.com/v/Wo5Sm9poKTw
Post by: GunnerStunner on September 20, 2009, 03:21:02 PM
that argument about time added on for a goal and sub is utter bullshit!!!

nuff time yuh see a goal score and the ref blow off the game from the subsequent touch off... no extra time added..

subs is to eat time off the clock not add time...

come better than that nuh

ah boy we agree on sumthing!
Post by: Grande on September 20, 2009, 04:09:23 PM

Evra is a real a$$hole boy...
Post by: giggsy11 on September 20, 2009, 04:13:10 PM

Evra is a real a$$hole boy...

nah he, tevez and park are real close friends. So I think he was just messing with Tevez in fun after the match.
Post by: elan on September 20, 2009, 04:17:37 PM
It go be pressure Man United when they travel to Manchester for te return leg. Hopefully Adebayor and Robinho back in the side by then. Man United squad cya get better than they had today.
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 04:50:41 PM

you not serious...

Its do or die in these games so home advantage is of no consequence to the away team because they are practically playing in their neighbours backyard and trying to stealing mangoes from their neighbour's tree for local bragging rights!!!!  :devil:

??? ::)
:liar: :joker: ;)
Post by: giggsy11 on September 20, 2009, 04:59:44 PM
I just watch the replay and I see Fergie yucking it up with the 4th official in the background after Owen scored as Hughes is fuming in the foreground. I had some mix feelings with those two contrasting images. Did they have to look so cosy after the opposing manager is thinking he got screwed over? I can understand why and how some people have a dislike for United. But it does even out over the season I just hope it does not even out during an important contest.  
Post by: WestCoast on September 20, 2009, 05:59:37 PM
It go be pressure Man United when they travel to Manchester for te return leg. Hopefully Adebayor and Robinho back in the side by then. Man United squad cya get better than they had today.
yeah that gobe match up
Post by: jr sams on September 20, 2009, 07:01:43 PM
Was just looking at Setanta Sports and they were analysing the Injury Time period. First point they noted was that Bellamy scored to make it 3-3 at 89:58. The 4th official had already indicated that there would be a Minimum, of 4 mins to be played in injury time. The celebration for Bellamy's goal was considered excessive and an extra 55 sec was added. The Carrick substitution adds another 30 sec. I never knew this before but apparently it is a rule that for a substitution, extra time is allotted, the amount of which is determined by the referee, but in general its about 30 seconds.
This gives roughly 1min and 25 seconds added to the initial 4 mins.
Owen scored at 95:25. Let me iterate that this is what was broken down on Setanta.
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 07:16:28 PM
Was just looking at Setanta Sports and they were analysing the Injury Time period. First point they noted was that Bellamy scored to make it 3-3 at 89:58. The 4th official had already indicated that there would be a Minimum, of 4 mins to be played in injury time. The celebration for Bellamy's goal was considered excessive and an extra 55 sec was added. The Carrick substitution adds another 30 sec. I never knew this before but apparently it is a rule that for a substitution, extra time is allotted, the amount of which is determined by the referee, but in general its about 30 seconds.
Owen scored at 95:25. Let me iterate that this is what was broken down on Setanta.

So my theory is correct all along that the ref gave Man City some extra extra-time to allow them a chance to reply & equalise and they just couldn't because they were shell shocked after the Man Utd goal!

The better team on the day won but Man City will have a chance for revenge when Man Utd comes to their yard!
Post by: Cantona007 on September 20, 2009, 08:24:04 PM

... but United isn't technically located in Manchester. Is like calling Jabloteh vs Joe Public a derby - San Juan & Arouca is two different place.

So all the people who have been calling it the Manchester Derby (including the good people/supporters of Manchester City) for the last hundred years have gotten it wrong all this time? Manchester United's ground is located in the Greater Manchester area... I have never heard any Manchester City fan say that Greater Manchester is not...Manchester.
Post by: Bourbon on September 20, 2009, 08:41:38 PM

So my theory is correct all along that the ref gave Man City some extra extra-time to allow them a chance to reply & equalise and they just couldn't because they were shell shocked after the Man Utd goal!

The better team on the day won but Man City will have a chance for revenge when Man Utd comes to their yard!

De time ting apparently fairly widely used. I never really knew bout it..buh when i found out bout it in bout January dis year...i was checking it out while watching games and it kinda held true. Buh guess ppl eh go want to hear dat.

And....while i eh see de game yet..from reports...at least 2 of city goals were due to capitalizing on blunders. Makes for an interesting return leg.
Post by: Bakes on September 20, 2009, 10:40:02 PM

De time ting apparently fairly widely used. I never really knew bout it..buh when i found out bout it in bout January dis year...i was checking it out while watching games and it kinda held true. Buh guess ppl eh go want to hear dat.

And....while i eh see de game yet..from reports...at least 2 of city goals were due to capitalizing on blunders. Makes for an interesting return leg.

Allyuh men trying hard and still failing.  Anybody care to explain then how 5:25' turn into 6:58'?  What was de additional 1:33' for... to offset de cross breeze dat was blowing across de stadium clock?

I kinda wish people just call it what it is and cut de bullshit.  Say "hard luck dey City, better luck next time" and leave it at that instead ah trying to justify it.  Dat come like Wenger saying Eduardo didn't dive, he was juss frighten fuh he legs
Post by: Mango Chow! on September 20, 2009, 11:03:22 PM

I saw that, too, on fsc, and I still find is a pack ah ass.  It have ssssssssssssssssso many games I see where teams does use all kindsa time-wasting tactics and the refs doh go nowhere the length over the allotted time ike this ref did today and so many have done @ old trafford.  This is not the first time it happen to benefit manu where you don't see it happen to benefit no other team so often.   If the time taken on a goal celebration can be deemed excessive, then so can the time it takes to make a throw; take a free-kick; take a spot kick, etc. Where does a referee's discretion end?  Whenever manu have a lead and the ball go out for a spot kick, van Der Saar does ALWAYS walk the ball casual, casual to the OPPOSITE side of the six-yard box from where the ball went out, which he obviously, is well entitled to do, but is not customary.  You will NEVER see him do it when they behind.  How come referees doh see DAT? Loud fackin' steups yes!! 
Post by: Bourbon on September 20, 2009, 11:33:00 PM

Allyuh men trying hard and still failing.  Anybody care to explain then how 5:25' turn into 6:58'?  What was de additional 1:33' for... to offset de cross breeze dat was blowing across de stadium clock?

I kinda wish people just call it what it is and cut de bullshit.  Say "hard luck dey City, better luck next time" and leave it at that instead ah trying to justify it.  Dat come like Wenger saying Eduardo didn't dive, he was juss frighten fuh he legs

Aight...i went and download de game dey...i eh watch it..i skip to de last few minutes.

Bellamy score at 89:55.
Dunno where exactly they kicked off..cuz the channel was broadcasting replays of the goal...but they cut back to the stream at 91:00...couldnt have been 15 seconds after the kick off.
Corner given at 92:17.....
Ref indicates a sub at 92:31
Corner taken at 92:56.
Goal Scored at 95:28.

Look de video i used here

http://filefactory.com/file/a0a2g13/n/Manchester_United_vs_Manchester_City_9-20-2009_2nd_Half_wmv

So.....if there were 4 minutes of stoppage time...and they resumed kick off at 91:00.....plus the 30 seconds for the sub.....it could work out. Yeah it debatable either way. One could say that the 4 minutes were given before the goal was scored.....in that stream i didnt see when the board was raised...but remember the board gives a minimum of time to be played. So yuh could reason out that after the 4 minutes were given..then the goal and the sub...making an extra 1:30 to play for. I eh get to see in this when the game got blown off..but the last frame shows 96:30 and owen on the field looking like he waiting for a kickoff......which making that plausible. In fact in this video you hear the commentators remarking about the time allotment and giving justifications for it. And yeah subs do get used as a time wasting tactic....especially if you have the ball and you could drain more outta it. 

I not claiming no big win. Luck is where preparation meets opportunity. City apparently scored 2 from defensive blunders....United kept on pressing and were fortunate to have enough time. Dahs how de game is. I does try to be as objective as possible too. Buh dat lost on some men. In fact..i hate for any team i supporting to win under any contentious circumstance...buh...as is Manchester United.....it doh even need to have anything contentious......people go find something to say. I was surprised when i first heard about that rule of thumb..but as i said...i tried applying it in games i watched afterward...and it made sense.

Buh yeah...men does use dey biases conviently. Men rating up bout Ade opening a gash on Van Persie.....yet few ppl talkin bout how Van Persie came in with both feet....pegs up. Men does sit down and dissect de simplest of things....and complain months after. Men does want to call ugly football smart tactics when dem side do it...but is a pig with a different name when anybody else does. Football...and allegiance does cloud men objectivity at times. So it goes.

Last year evra get ban for 5 games cuz of de altercation with the groundsman.....chelsea get fined 5000 pounds. Fair? Who knows.

I hear a talk Bellamy slap a fan after...who allegedly spat on him. I guess yuh go hear dey go come down harsh on him cuz is a Man Utd fan.

Yuh cyar expect everybody to be fair...all  yuh hadda be is fair yourself. It debatable...buh..if yuh want to use the time allotted reasoning....yuh could see how it happen. Buh nah.....guess dem rules only apply to Man Utd.

Eh look de rule book as dey apply to Man Utd too....

http://www.fifa.com/flash/lotg/football/en/Laws7_02.htm

Allowance for Time Lost
     Allowance is made in either period for all time lost through:

* substitution(s);

* assessment of injury to players;
Dahs page 2.....page 3 has....

Allowance for Time Lost

* removal of injured players from the field of play for treatment;

* wasting time;

* any other cause.

* The allowance for time lost is at the discretion of the referee.
Post by: Cantona007 on September 21, 2009, 12:01:14 AM
From the Independent:

That late winner: Why Hughes was wrong to question officials' timekeeping

*Fourth official Alan Wiley indicates a minimum four minutes added time.

*Under Premier League rules, the referee can play four minutes plus 59 seconds.

*City score an equaliser – the referee, Martin Atkinson, can add 60 seconds for celebration and restart (Hughes admits it took 45 seconds for play to resume).

*United's Anderson is replaced by Michael Carrick – the referee can add 30 seconds for a substitution.

*In these circumstances, Atkinson is entitled to add two minutes, 29 seconds to the original four minutes.

*Substitute Michael Owen scores for United to win the game on 95 minutes, 25 seconds – well within the allotted time.

There is no question that the official acted within the laws of the game and according to his rights as an official. The question is: should he have exercised his rights so...completely?
Post by: Bakes on September 21, 2009, 12:29:29 AM
Well I not too big to admit when I wrong... in this case it thus appears clear that Martin Atkinson exercised his discretion to the fullest to ensure that as much time as possible was added at the end of the game.

No need get into the actual calls which appeared to be in United's favor... Alan Wylie making jolly and fraternizing with Ferguson on the sidelines as United's players celebrated Owen's goal.  We all know dem tings discretionary.

The timeline is disputable btw... at least from what City says:

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/premier_league/article6842017.ece

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/sep/21/mark-hughes-michael-owen-city-united

As a Liverpool fan it really doesn't matter much, both teams were ahead of us in the standings.  In the interest of full disclosure, I was rooting against Man U because I expect them to be contending at the end, I have no such faith in City.  As an objective fan it was a good game to watch... would have been better without the controversy. 
Post by: saga pinto on September 21, 2009, 04:49:28 AM

Ah doh know about that nah the rules are very clear time added on is time added on no more no less and if fifa officials looking on took notice should challenge that referee for clearly taking sides.

If the shoe was on the other foot ferguson would'nt let that go but then again the game of football is about taking it however yuh get it......
Post by: saga pinto on September 21, 2009, 04:59:33 AM

you not serious...

dinho doh study them nah,yuh remember that saying "ignorance is bliss non the wise to know"it applies here on this thread.
Title: Best derby of all time, claims gloating Fergie
Post by: Bitter on September 21, 2009, 12:15:32 PM
Best derby of all time, claims gloating Fergie

http://edition.cnn.com/2009/SPORT/football/09/21/football.manchester.derby.ferguson.hughes/

(CNN) -- Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson hailed his side's rollercoaster 4-3 victory over neighbors Manchester City at Old Trafford as the "best derby of all time."

Ferguson made the claim while ruing his side's sloppy defensive play which allowed City to claim three equalizing goals before Michael Owen's clinical winner deep into injury time on Sunday.

"It could have been an embarrassment, 6-0 or 7-0, if we defended our proper way," claimed the legendary Scot.

"We could have won by a big score but by making mistakes, which was the essence of the game, we probably were in the best derby game of all time.

"What do you choose? Win the best derby game of all time or win 6-0? I'd probably pick 6-0."

The build-up to the match had been marked by a war of words between Ferguson and City manager Mark Hughes, who has been handed a massive transfer budget by his side's Abu Dhabi owners.

Ferguson had branded them "cocky" and did little to dampen down the rivalry with his post match comments.

"Sometimes you have a noisy neighbor. You cannot do anything about that. They will always be noisy," he said.

"You just have to get on with your life, put your television on and turn it up a bit louder.

"Today the players showed their form. That is the best answer of all."

By contrast, City manager Mark Hughes was furious with referee Martin Atkinson for the amount of added time played, with Owen scoring in the 96th minute.

"We need an explanation because I don't know why the referee has added that amount of time on," said Hughes.

"We just feel a little bit aggrieved that they were given that time."

It was a heartbreaking finale for his team with Bellamy's magnificent second goal after a mistake by Rio Ferdinand appearing to give his up and coming side a share of the spoils.

"We're disappointed, we put in a hell of a shift today," said Hughes. "Craig Bellamy scored two magnificent goals. He didn't deserve to be on the losing side," added Hughes.

Ferguson, who has used free transfer signing Owen sparingly this season, said the England striker showed his true quality.

"His positional play, first touch and finish were absolutely superb. World class."

The victory took United to second place in the English Premier League behind pacesetting Chelsea with City suffering their first defeat of the season.
Post by: Cantona007 on September 21, 2009, 12:28:38 PM

Ah doh know about that nah the rules are very clear time added on is time added on no more no less and if fifa officials looking on took notice should challenge that referee for clearly taking sides.

If the shoe was on the other foot ferguson would'nt let that go but then again the game of football is about taking it however yuh get it......

Please see above re: rules for time added on.
Post by: Bakes on September 21, 2009, 12:35:33 PM
Yeah Bitter... I was very surprised at how unsporting Ferguson was in the aftermath of the match.  You'd expect someone as esteemed and accomplished as him to be above that sort of thing.  He makes Roy Keane seem like the quintessential gentleman by comparison.

Just check out the links I posted earlier from the Times (http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/premier_league/article6842017.ece) and The Guardian (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/sep/21/mark-hughes-michael-owen-city-united).
Post by: Blue on September 21, 2009, 12:42:05 PM
Yeah Bitter... I was very surprised at how unsporting Ferguson was in the aftermath of the match.  You'd expect someone as esteemed and accomplished as him to be above that sort of thing.  He makes Roy Keane seem like the quintessential gentleman by comparison.

Just check out the links I posted earlier from the Times (http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/premier_league/article6842017.ece) and The Guardian (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/sep/21/mark-hughes-michael-owen-city-united).

His comments were made in the heat of the moment, on the pitch seconds after the game had finished. He asked (rhetorically) which was better, 4-3 or 6-0, and he was actually implying that the 4-3 was better, ie - both teams had put on a helluva show. It was only after that he jokingly answered his own question, saying he would prefer the 6-0.

Anyway, much more entertaining than the age-old, "well the most important thing was the 3 points".
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 21, 2009, 12:56:04 PM
Legend Fergie

Post by: grimm01 on September 21, 2009, 02:03:19 PM
whether that ref was right or wrong for the extra time, the time was there for either team to use to their advantage. ManU did and City didn't.
Post by: DeSoWa on September 21, 2009, 02:34:10 PM
No way but down for ManU from here...they can't really get any better...ManC has the potential to get much better than the are now!

Post by: Bakes on September 21, 2009, 03:06:44 PM

His comments were made in the heat of the moment, on the pitch seconds after the game had finished. He asked (rhetorically) which was better, 4-3 or 6-0, and he was actually implying that the 4-3 was better, ie - both teams had put on a helluva show. It was only after that he jokingly answered his own question, saying he would prefer the 6-0.

Anyway, much more entertaining than the age-old, "well the most important thing was the 3 points".

Maybe I missed it... but how does that excuse his poor sportsmanship?  Gloating hardly becomes someone of his age, tenure and experience.  You would think that he would conduct himself in a manner befitting the honorific he was granted and which prefaces his name.  But then again it only shows that just because you've been given status it doesn't mean that you attain class.
Post by: kicker on September 21, 2009, 04:39:24 PM
SAF was clearly under alot of pressure during this one.  He talked a big game and tried to belittle his opponents verbally, but you could tell that he didn't have full confidence that his troops would pull it off and he was scared that he'd be made to look like an @$$ if they ended up on the wrong side of the score line.  His goal celebrations reflected this, and his post-game interview responses were those of relief disguised as false confidence/arrogance.  I think a full-strength Man City playing at C.O.M stadium could get revenge in the next installment of this derby this season- that said, Man City has a ways to go....Man U, hate them or not, along with Chelsea is still the most capable unit running in England right now...
Post by: WestCoast on September 21, 2009, 04:43:38 PM
No way but down for ManU from here...they can't really get any better...ManC has the potential to get much better than the are now!

dem is fighting words there man ;D
all dem manure boys coming :devil:
4 you
Post by: giggsy11 on September 21, 2009, 06:07:29 PM
A fan commenting on Ferdinad "The last two seasons excepted, Ferdinand’s defending has constantly given me the heebie geebies." Leeds Utd sold Man Utd a virus in Ferdinand.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
"Agree wholeheartedly about Giggs - pure class."
Post by: xixgon on September 21, 2009, 10:30:17 PM
BBC Match of the Day 2 broke down the time added - recapped in this article.

http://therepublikofmancunia.com/bitter-city-make-false-injury-time-complaint-awww/

Utd were the better team - City scored off of 3 errors, were dominated in the second half and would have been steamrolled if not for some more dodgy finishing by Berbatov. Bitter 'noisy neighbours' trying to hide the fact that they defended even worse in this game than Utd. That's why you don't invite pressure on u and actually try and hang onto the ball instead of leaving one of the best poachers in the history of the EPL wide open in the dying seconds of the game.

City can complain all they want - but still have a ways to go - a 35 year old Giggs showing them just how far.

Will be lucky to avoid another ban on one of their strikers as well - Bellamy's cheap shot on the Utd fan was cowardly and thuggish at best.

Post by: Bakes on September 21, 2009, 11:50:12 PM

http://therepublikofmancunia.com/bitter-city-make-false-injury-time-complaint-awww/

Utd were the better team - City scored off of 3 errors, were dominated in the second half and would have been steamrolled if not for some more dodgy finishing by Berbatov. Bitter 'noisy neighbours' trying to hide the fact that they defended even worse in this game than Utd. That's why you don't invite pressure on u and actually try and hang onto the ball instead of leaving one of the best poachers in the history of the EPL wide open in the dying seconds of the game.

City can complain all they want - but still have a ways to go - a 35 year old Giggs showing them just how far.

Will be lucky to avoid another ban on one of their strikers as well - Bellamy's cheap shot on the Utd fan was cowardly and thuggish at best.

According to the London Times the fan spat on Bellamy... you call his response a "cheap shot", one can only assume that you know a more accurate version of events as reported.  Assuming the guy did in fact spit on him... what do you propose his response should have been?  Fuh shits and giggles... humor us with a suggestion nah.

Not that I particularly care... but I'm having too much fun pushing the conversation to see just how far you guys will go to explain the inexplicable.  So the goal was scored on 95'27... Shea Given wasted a minute and a half on his goal kick?  The fuzzy math doesn't add up... would be nice fuh allyuh men to just admit it, but is fun watching allyuh try to explain it all the same.
Post by: MarylandTrini on September 22, 2009, 09:15:05 AM
-----------Breaking News-------------
Tuesday 11:17am
Giggs just scored to make it Utd 5 - City 3
Post by: xixgon on September 22, 2009, 11:20:59 AM

According to the London Times the fan spat on Bellamy... you call his response a "cheap shot", one can only assume that you know a more accurate version of events as reported.  Assuming the guy did in fact spit on him... what do you propose his response should have been?  Fuh shits and giggles... humor us with a suggestion nah.

Not that I particularly care... but I'm having too much fun pushing the conversation to see just how far you guys will go to explain the inexplicable.  So the goal was scored on 95'27... Shea Given wasted a minute and a half on his goal kick?  The fuzzy math doesn't add up... would be nice fuh allyuh men to just admit it, but is fun watching allyuh try to explain it all the same.

Bellamy went out of his way to walk over and confront the fan, it's not as if the fan ran up to him and spat on him. I could care less if the fan got smacked or not from my perspective, he's an idiot for running on the field (which carries an automatic 3 year stadium ban). But from the FA's perspective - I seriously doubt they're going to have much sympathy for Bellamy considering his history and even more doubtful that they're going to believe Hughes claim that it was 'self defense' considering the fan was being restrained by 3 stewards when Bellamy chose to have a go at him. He is supposed to be a professional at the end of the day - so unless the fan tried to physically harm him (which he didn't) - he has no real excuse for what he did.

In terms of the added time:-

1. 4 mins were originally specified by the ref (which can't be claimed to have been to the benefit of Utd, seeing as they were ahead long before it was announced).

2. 56 extra seconds for Bellamy's celebration.

3. 30 extra seconds for the Carrick substitution.

= 5 mins 26 seconds.

Owen scored at 5 mins and 27 seconds.

Now unless you expected the ref to blow the full-time whistle the moment Owen touched the ball in the 6 yard box, I don't see how anyone (and no respected figure in the footballing world ultimately has) can refute whether the ref approached matters correctly.

City were given 4 mins to equalize with Utd and even go on to win the game (one of which occurred) - it's just too bad for them that they chose to sit back and gift possession and space to Utd to capitalize on. I'm fairly sure none of you would be saying anything if City had scored in this time - with the plain fact of the matter being that they didn't deserve anything from this game, and were in all honesty, flattered by the 4-3 scoreline.

Post by: triniairman on September 22, 2009, 11:36:14 AM
City take no action against Bellamy over fan furorAssociated Press
MANCHESTER, England (AP) - Manchester City's Craig Bellamy has escaped punishment from his club for pushing a fan in the face after he had invaded the field on Sunday, although the police and Football Association are still deciding whether to take action.
The Man United fan ran onto the field at Old Trafford and Bellamy was seen to push him in the face.

The police and FA have said they will investigate the incident but City manager Mark Hughes said Tuesday that Bellamy, who faces the possibility of police prosecution and a three-game ban by the FA if found guilty, was acting in self defense.

"We're still waiting for notification as to whether there will be anything from the FA in regard to that," Hughes said.

"He obviously wanted the guy to get off as quickly as possible and told him so. The guy's made an aggressive movement towards him and Craig has brought up a defensive hand and pushed the guy away. You can never be quite sure what is going to happen in those situations."

The incident happened at the end of a stormy but thrilling local derby between the two rivals in which Bellamy had scored twice for City in a 4-3 defeat.

Hughes' team came back three times after falling behind but eventually succumbed to a winner by Michael Owen in the sixth minute of injury time with the City manager furious at the amount of time added on by the referee.

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/10109056/City-take-no-action-against-Bellamy-over-fan-furor
Post by: Bakes on September 22, 2009, 11:54:40 AM

Bellamy went out of his way to walk over and confront the fan, it's not as if the fan ran up to him and spat on him. I could care less if the fan got smacked or not from my perspective, he's an idiot for running on the field (which carries an automatic 3 year stadium ban). But from the FA's perspective - I seriously doubt they're going to have much sympathy for Bellamy considering his history and even more doubtful that they're going to believe Hughes claim that it was 'self defense' considering the fan was being restrained by 3 stewards when Bellamy chose to have a go at him. He is supposed to be a professional at the end of the day - so unless the fan tried to physically harm him (which he didn't) - he has no real excuse for what he did.

"chose to have a go at him"... lol  The guy spat on him and he 'mushed' dude in the face... bad enough they're calling it a punch, now you're making it out to be that Bellamy was brawling with the guy.  Presumably there are more objective people on the disciplinary board... Bellamy will be issued a reprimand, if that.  The guy's actually lucky Bellamy didn't knock him out after he spat on him.

In terms of the added time:-

1. 4 mins were originally specified by the ref (which can't be claimed to have been to the benefit of Utd, seeing as they were ahead long before it was announced).

2. 56 extra seconds for Bellamy's celebration.

3. 30 extra seconds for the Carrick substitution.

= 5 mins 26 seconds.

Owen scored at 5 mins and 27 seconds.

Now unless you expected the ref to blow the full-time whistle the moment Owen touched the ball in the 6 yard box, I don't see how anyone (and no respected figure in the footballing world ultimately has) can refute whether the ref approached matters correctly.

City were given 4 mins to equalize with Utd and even go on to win the game (one of which occurred) - it's just too bad for them that they chose to sit back and gift possession and space to Utd to capitalize on. I'm fairly sure none of you would be saying anything if City had scored in this time - with the plain fact of the matter being that they didn't deserve anything from this game, and were in all honesty, flattered by the 4-3 scoreline.

Really?  Anything else the voices are telling you?  Your inaccurate claim that City sat back and "gift possession" to United aside, you still miss the point.  Hughes said they timed the Bellamy goal celebration at 45 seconds... the ref added 56, but let's look beyond that for now.  Assuming all that you say with the timing is correct... Owens scored with 95'26.  Total match time was what... 96'58?

Anyways... it's been fun, time to move on.
Post by: GunnerStunner on September 22, 2009, 11:57:35 AM
if in fact the time for the goal and substituion are valid rules

then how lucky united were that they were adhered to on sunday

because i have never seen or noticed refs giving and extra 30seconds in injury time due to substituions
Post by: kicker on September 22, 2009, 11:59:02 AM
I think the whole added time factor has been talked to death, and everyone (by now at least) understands why the time was added and accepts it.  

Correct me if I'm wrong (I'm honestly not sure) but I think the time that was added to the originally scheduled 4 minutes (particularly the time factored in for the goal celebration)...is discretionary and allowed in the rules under a somewhat gray & generic description.... and the controversy really has to do with whether or not that discretionary time would have been added had it been the other way around, or is it a case of the big boys getting the rub of the green more so than the little guys... Old Trafford and other big team home grounds are notorious for being difficult to get any favors from the ref as an away team...so it just adds fuel to the fire.

Time to get over it though and move on- sounds like Man U on the run of play deserved to win the match....
Post by: dinho on September 22, 2009, 12:03:00 PM

because i have never seen or noticed refs giving and extra 30seconds in injury time due to substituions

well that is the bottom line, at the end of the day all that mathematical calculations on the length of the injury time is worth nought...

the signal on the board for injury time is a guide, but the length of injury time is solely up to the discretion of the referee.. Like i said, there are times when a goal is scored in injury time with lengthy celebrations and the match is blown from the ensuing kick off... where is adherance to these rules then??

There are even more countless occasions where subs are made during injury time to kill time off the clock, and no additional time is afforded to compensate.

The moral of the story: Injury time is up to the discretion of the referee.. A discretion which is suspiciously swayed in the favor of Man United at Old Trafford far too often for my liking.
Post by: acb on September 22, 2009, 12:13:45 PM
The moral of the story: Injury time is up to the discretion of the referee.. A discretion which is suspiciously swayed in the favor of Man United at Old Trafford far too often for my liking.

That was also Joke of The Day ... didn't you see AF hamming it up with the 4th official? Very chummy indeed. Maybe Fergie let him in on what was the wine of the day in the officials dressing room.

Too bad MH wasn't let in on that intimate moment - but then again, maybe he was the butt of the joke.

Let the ManUre fans revel in their false glory - fate has a way of catching up - because diving, cheating and intimidation can only get you so far. Just ask them how was Rome.
Post by: xixgon on September 22, 2009, 01:10:05 PM
Clearly there's no reasoning with haters.

You can't claim to be objective when pretty much every neutral expert has backed up the ref's decision, yet you still continue to claim bias & cheating on Utd's part. Try and put your feelings towards Utd aside for once and focus on your own team's success instead of spending time trying to reason away Utd's at every given turn (especially given the fact that Utd's rivals receive more stoppage time than they do at home):-

"The average stoppage time added at Old Trafford in the period in question is below that given at Anfield, the Emirates Stadium and Stamford Bridge. United's is 205 seconds, compared to Liverpool's 210sec, Arsenal's 224sec and Chelsea's 229sec." - The Guardian

Everything the ref did was within the rules - Man City didn't deserve anything from the game - and Utd won within the legally allowed amount of time. City defended awfully in the dying seconds (especially Micah Richards and SWP) and paid the price.

I can't put it any more definitively than I have - these are not my facts.

Whilst I don't usually quote Graham Poll he was quite right in his assessment - as was Bobby Mcmahon about City's abject approach to the final sequences.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1215132/GRAHAM-POLL-Well-ref-timed-Manchester-derby-just-right--United-showed-City-play-whistle.html#ixzz0RpvxjfPL

http://community.foxsports.com/bobbymcmahon/blog/2009/09/20/the_best_and_some_of_the_restthis_week_with_a_minimum_of_two_hundred_added_words_

I'm done though haha - Believe what you will.
Post by: sammy on September 22, 2009, 05:40:02 PM
Clearly there's no reasoning with haters.

You can't claim to be objective when pretty much every neutral expert has backed up the ref's decision, yet you still continue to claim bias & cheating on Utd's part. Try and put your feelings towards Utd aside for once and focus on your own team's success instead of spending time trying to reason away Utd's at every given turn (especially given the fact that Utd's rivals receive more stoppage time than they do at home):-

dem cyah do that.........their team tooo boorrring, so they rather talk/dream bout Utd .
Have to give the arsenal fans on this site some credit, them men does real follow and talk bout everything going on with their team.
Post by: JDB on September 23, 2009, 08:18:49 AM
Forgive the long post fellas. I does try to stay out of these discussions because, aside from Kicker - who I have to credit with being objective in these discussion even when Real or Barca is involved, the bias just makes this a set of ole talk, but…

Allyuh can’t really telling me that football games usually get called to the exact second that is listed on those time boards? In fact before this game most didn’t even know how much time gets added for subs or what the refs directives are. Anybody pay attention to when time was called in any of the other 9 games this weekend?

Timekeeping has always been at the ref’s discretion. Refs usually let corners get taken even though time has probably expired, they usually don’t blow in the middle of an attacking play. In fact when they do like in the West Ham game last week or the Brazil game against Sweden in ’78 WC it causes it a big stir. The board called for a MINIMUM 4 minutes. Which means when the ref signals 4 minutes to the 4th official only he knows whether he plans to play 4:00, 4:30 or 4:50. Bellamy celebration was almost a minute (the ref was seen standing there marking time during the celebration. The substitution was another 30 seconds (as directed by FIFA). So where is the injustice?

In Sunday’s game it is clear where the extra 90 seconds came from. The fair question ot ask is “whether a small side would have had a ref diligently timing the end to avoid making a mistake” but that is different to saying that United got time that they did not deserve. The fact is refs are under more pressure in big games and are always wary of making bad calls against the bigger sides. It is sad but it is a fact (and not unique to football) that is easier to make a bad call against Hull, Stoke, the Orioles or the Clipper than it is against United, Chelsea, the Yankees or the Lakers. This is noting new. In the 90’s it was United in the 80’s Liverpool and Everton, in the 2000’s it has been all of the current big 4. On the first day of the season the ref put up 6 minutes injury time for Chelsea when they were trailing Hull and as someone just pointed out Arsenal, Liverpool and Chelsea get AS MUCH injury time as United

The problem I have is that people look at rare incidences and dubious incidents and it gets added to the “lore” of the “Unfair Manchester United”. Despite the fact that the ref was justified in this instance this incident will be added to the Manchester United is a favourite rap.

As a result “Manchester United has the worst divers” when every big side has them, they “get all the calls” when Chelsea and Liverpool benefit from just as much favouritism. Yuh does have men on here rationalizing that Drogba and Gerrard diving is bad but no where near as bad as Ronaldo (of course now that Ronaldo gone Madrid there will be a lot less distaste for him now). When United gets the rub it is considered the rule when it happens to Chelsea or Liverpool it is the exception. Not to focus on Chelsea but if yuh check the Chelsea thread you will see where a clear uncalled penalty for Keane is explained away in several different ways. If that was an unpunished foul by a United player the uproar would be ridiculous. Everybody has statistics to prove that United is way worse than every other team in existence.
Post by: JDB on September 23, 2009, 08:24:14 AM

well that is the bottom line, at the end of the day all that mathematical calculations on the length of the injury time is worth nought...

the signal on the board for injury time is a guide, but the length of injury time is solely up to the discretion of the referee.. Like i said, there are times when a goal is scored in injury time with lengthy celebrations and the match is blown from the ensuing kick off... where is adherance to these rules then??

There are even more countless occasions where subs are made during injury time to kill time off the clock, and no additional time is afforded to compensate.

Like I said I agree that the real question is do refs show as much attention when a small club, with a greater expectation of losing gets the same attention to detail when they trailing a close game. My answer would be no but that is just speculation. I would say though that Chelsea benefits just as much as United.

It would be nice though if yuh couls cite some of these other occurences that happen far too often.
Post by: JDB on September 23, 2009, 08:36:38 AM
Really?  Anything else the voices are telling you?  Your inaccurate claim that City sat back and "gift possession" to United aside, you still miss the point.  Hughes said they timed the Bellamy goal celebration at 45 seconds... the ref added 56, but let's look beyond that for now.  Assuming all that you say with the timing is correct... Owens scored with 95'26.  Total match time was what... 96'58?

Anyways... it's been fun, time to move on.

They did an analysis on MOTD where they analyzed City's defending in Injury time and it was appalling. Every ball United played forward was just headed or booted back. At no time did a City player think to control the ball to maintain possession. It was definitely gifting possession to United.

Hughes said they timed it at 45 seconds. Everyone else incuding former refs have said it was 56. Either way the 11 second difference is dwarfed by the big unknown which is how much time beyond the minmum 4.00 minutes the ref intended to play. if he planned to play 4.45 and then added 45 for the goal and 30 for the sub it is still well past the time that Owen scored. That is why I find all these per second analyses kinda silly because if the ref puts up 4.00 minutes and a players scores subsequently it is not unreasonable for the game to still be playing a minute or even 2 minutes over the originally displayed 4:00.

As for the game ending at 96.58. The ref played additonal time after the Owen celebration ended, probably the remaining time he intended to play before the goal was scored.

My 2 cents.
Post by: dinho on September 23, 2009, 09:41:04 AM

Like I said I agree that the real question is do refs show as much attention when a small club, with a greater expectation of losing gets the same attention to detail when they trailing a close game. My answer would be no but that is just speculation. I would say though that Chelsea benefits just as much as United.

It would be nice though if yuh couls cite some of these other occurences that happen far too often.

You serious about that Chelsea reference? (btw the Keane example over the weekend is a poor example because what made the decision difficult for the ref is that he did not go down immediately when he was kicked.. Clear contact and a definite penalty looking at the replay, but in trying to stay on his feet he made it difficult for the referee).

you asking me to cite examples now, when you just stated above that every incident when man utd benefits is exhorted ad nauseum here?  I know, that you know your football well enough, and read this forum enough to know the specific incidents being referred to, but I suspect you want me to indulge you..

but don't take my word for it, my work is not to go back and analyze for you, lets hear what the people who have this responsibility have to say...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/sep/22/manchester-united-goals-stoppage-time

I will be clear about it.. This not-so-latent favoritism has been one of the major reasons for my dislike of Manchester United. However I still try to be objective in my analysis and i notice no one is addressing the points i brought up so to repeat..

Extra injury time for subs - If this were true, then this should cause a seismic shift in conventional coaching methods in the game today.. Because the widely deployed tactic by coaches in the game is to bring on a man for a cobo sweat to kill time off the clock in injury time

Extra injury time for goal celebrations - If this were true, then i think referees should be disciplined for blowing matches immediately after a winning goal is scored in injury time.

Post by: dinho on September 23, 2009, 09:54:22 AM
Revealed: Manchester United get more injury time when they need it

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/sep/22/manchester-united-goals-stoppage-time (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/sep/22/manchester-united-goals-stoppage-time)

Sir Alex Ferguson likes to boast that his Manchester United team score more late goals than any other side in the world. Others argue that they get a bit of extra help from referees. It has now emerged that the Premier League champions do, as suspected, benefit from an imbalance in the amount of stoppage time that is added to their matches.

After the controversy over Michael Owen's winning goal in Sunday's Manchester derby, the Guardian has looked at all of United's league matches at Old Trafford since the start of the 2006-07 season and discovered that, on average, there has been over a minute extra added by referees when United do not have the lead after 90 minutes, compared to when they are in front. In 48 games when United were ahead, the average amount of stoppage time was 191.35 seconds. In 12 matches when United were drawing or losing there was an average of 257.17sec.

The average stoppage time added at Old Trafford in the period in question is below that given at Anfield, the Emirates Stadium and Stamford Bridge. United's is 205 seconds, compared to Liverpool's 210sec, Arsenal's 224sec and Chelsea's 229sec. But there is also evidence to support the suspicions of many managers, players and supporters that United get preferential treatment at home. When Owen made it 4-3 on Sunday the game was five minutes and 26 seconds into stoppage time. In total, the referee, Martin Atkinson, allowed almost seven minutes, even though the fourth official had signalled a minimum of four. Mark Hughes, the City manager, spoke of feeling "robbed". His sense of grievance will not be helped if he analyses the last three seasons.

In 2006-07, for example, United were winning 15 times on entering stoppage time and referees added an average 194.53sec. In the four games when United were not winning there was an average of 217.25sec. The following year the disparity was greater, Opta's figures showing an average 178.29sec added when United were winning and 254.5sec when they were not. Last season it was 187.71sec compared to 258.6sec.

The pattern has continued in the first three games of the season. In the two games United have led they have played an average 304sec of injury time. On Sunday, Atkinson allowed the game to go on for 415sec.

Post by: kicker on September 23, 2009, 10:55:14 AM
However I still try to be objective in my analysis and i notice no one is addressing the points i brought up so to repeat..

Extra injury time for subs - If this were true, then this should cause a seismic shift in conventional coaching methods in the game today.. Because the widely deployed tactic by coaches in the game is to bring on a man for a cobo sweat to kill time off the clock in injury time

Extra injury time for goal celebrations - If this were true, then i think referees should be disciplined for blowing matches immediately after a winning goal is scored in injury time.

To back up the sub argument you would have to check to see how much time it actually takes for a sub to be made.  If it's more than 30 seconds, then it's still technically an effective time wasting tool.  Notice how slow the subs of that nature walk off the field, shaking hands with everybody, applauding the supporters etc....Still trying to take more time off the clock than would be added back as per the rules...  and even though modern day officiating now accounts for the time it takes to make a sub, I think it's now a habit that won't change- psychologically teams feel that they're taking precious seconds off the clock, and that they're breaking the opposing team's (that is pressing for an equalizer) momentum....I always viewed that as more an act of gamesmanship than anything else. 

To your other point. hardly do you ever see a ref blowing a game off immediately after a winning goal is scored in injury time...I actually don't recall that ever happening with any kinda specificity.  If it did, it would probably happen if the goal was scored on the last play of the game (i.e. time had elapsed during an attacking play and the ref was just allowing the attacking sequence to finish), in which case you have no argument...or if the goal was icing on the cake or a nail in the coffin (opening up a more than one goal margin in the scoreline with a few seconds remaining on the clock)...Other than that, I can't see that situation playing out...and I don't recall that ever happening.
Post by: giggsy11 on September 23, 2009, 11:47:49 AM

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/sep/22/manchester-united-goals-stoppage-time (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/sep/22/manchester-united-goals-stoppage-time)

Sir Alex Ferguson likes to boast that his Manchester United team score more late goals than any other side in the world. Others argue that they get a bit of extra help from referees. It has now emerged that the Premier League champions do, as suspected, benefit from an imbalance in the amount of stoppage time that is added to their matches.

After the controversy over Michael Owen's winning goal in Sunday's Manchester derby, the Guardian has looked at all of United's league matches at Old Trafford since the start of the 2006-07 season and discovered that, on average, there has been over a minute extra added by referees when United do not have the lead after 90 minutes, compared to when they are in front. In 48 games when United were ahead, the average amount of stoppage time was 191.35 seconds. In 12 matches when United were drawing or losing there was an average of 257.17sec.

The average stoppage time added at Old Trafford in the period in question is below that given at Anfield, the Emirates Stadium and Stamford Bridge. United's is 205 seconds, compared to Liverpool's 210sec, Arsenal's 224sec and Chelsea's 229sec. But there is also evidence to support the suspicions of many managers, players and supporters that United get preferential treatment at home. When Owen made it 4-3 on Sunday the game was five minutes and 26 seconds into stoppage time. In total, the referee, Martin Atkinson, allowed almost seven minutes, even though the fourth official had signalled a minimum of four. Mark Hughes, the City manager, spoke of feeling "robbed". His sense of grievance will not be helped if he analyses the last three seasons.

In 2006-07, for example, United were winning 15 times on entering stoppage time and referees added an average 194.53sec. In the four games when United were not winning there was an average of 217.25sec. The following year the disparity was greater, Opta's figures showing an average 178.29sec added when United were winning and 254.5sec when they were not. Last season it was 187.71sec compared to 258.6sec.

The pattern has continued in the first three games of the season. In the two games United have led they have played an average 304sec of injury time. On Sunday, Atkinson allowed the game to go on for 415sec.

We will take it, the same way Chelsea and their fans glady accept the over turning of every red card that has been given to one of their players in recent seasons in the EPL.
Post by: elan on September 23, 2009, 01:20:02 PM

We will take it, the same way Chelsea and their fans glady accept the over turning of every red card that has been given to one of their players in recent seasons in the EPL.

Wow.......how poignant.