Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on September 18, 2009, 06:21:11 PM

Title: Trinis in Action (Sept 18-19, 2009)
Post by: Tallman on September 18, 2009, 06:21:11 PM
Friday, September 18th

Major League Soccer
Colorado Rapids
1-1 (http://web.mlsnet.com/news/team_news.jsp?ymd=20090919&content_id=7045352&vkey=news_sje&fext=.jsp&team=t110) San Jose Earthquakes
Glen, Cornell (http://sjearthquakes.mlsnet.com/players/bio.jsp?team=t110&player=glen_c&playerId=gle431455&statType=current) (started, (http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/out.gif) 59')
USL First Division
Vancouver Whitecaps
2-1 (http://www.vancouversun.com/news/Soccer+Vancouver+Whitecaps+close+regular+season+with/2010057/story.html) Cleveland City Stars
Cruickshank, Stephen (http://www.clevelandcitystars.com/stephen-cruickshank) (not selected)
McAllister, Terrence (http://www.clevelandcitystars.com/terrence-mcallister) (not selected)
Stewart, Ryan (http://www.clevelandcitystars.com/ryan-stewart) (full game)
Rochester Rhinos
0-0 (http://www.democratandchronicle.com/article/20090919/SPORTS05/909190342/1007/SPORTS/Rhinos+play+to+scoreless+tie+in+finale) Charleston Battery
Fitzpatrick, Leslie (http://www.rhinossoccer.com/team/player.php?id=252) (full game, (http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/yellowcard.gif) 53')
Patterson, Randi (full game) (http://www.charlestonbattery.com/team_roster.asp?pid=2311)
McFarlane, Errol (http://www.rhinossoccer.com/player.php?id=291) (full game)
Sancho, Brent (http://www.rhinossoccer.com/player.php?id=282) (full game)
T&T Pro League
Caledonia AIA
2-3 Defence Force
Daniel, Keon ((http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/goal.gif) 19' - pen)
Edwards, Aklie
Latapy, Russell
Jorsling, Devon ((http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/goal.gif) 60')
Theobald, Densill
Williams, Keston
Joe Public
5-1 St. Ann's Rangers
Baptiste, Kerry (full game, (http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/goal.gif) 16', (http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/goal.gif) 32, (http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/goal.gif) 85')
Noel, Trent
Thomas, Keyeno
Tinto, Hayden ((http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/goal.gif) 10', (http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/goal.gif) 60')
San Juan Jabloteh
2-1 United Petrotrin
Guerra, Ataullah
Daniel, Nigel
Lawrence, Dennis
Hislop, Makan
Peltier, Lester
Whitley, Aurtis
Ma Pau
3-1 W-Connection
Anthony Wolfe ((http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/goal.gif) 90' - pen)
Hector, Hughton ((http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/goal.gif) 51')
Leon, Clyde
Phillip, Marvin
Toussaint, Andre

Saturday, September 19th

English Premier League
Bolton
1-1 (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/8256795.stm) Stoke City
Samuel, Jlloyd (http://www.bwfc.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,1004~10946,00.html) (full game, (http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/yellowcard.gif) 51')
Hull City
0-1 (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/8256479.stm) Birmingham
Warner, Anthony (http://www.hullcityafc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10338~9109,00.html) (bench, did not play)
Burnley
3-1 (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/8255397.stm) Sunderland
Jones, Kenwyne (http://www.safc.com/team/?page_id=2623&player_id=174) ((http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/in.gif) 62')
Arsenal
4-0 (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/8256624.stm) Wigan Athletic
Scotland, Jason (http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10429~24233,00.html) ((http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/in.gif) 57')
English League Championship
Doncaster
3-3 (http://www.itfc.co.uk/page/MatchReport/0,,10272~47554,00.html) Ipswich Town
Edwards, Carlos (http://www.itfc.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10272~10014,00.html) (started, (http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/out.gif) 58')
Barnsley
0-0 (http://www.swanseacity.net/page/MatchReport/0,,10354~47550,00.html) Swansea City
Abu Bakr, Radanfah (http://www.swanseacity.net/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10354~49075,00.html) (not selected)
English League One
Walsall
1-1 (http://www.saddlers.co.uk/page/MatchReport/0,,10428~47572,00.html) Swindon Town
Ince, Clayton (http://www.saddlers.premiumtv.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10428~9712,00.html) (bench, did not play)
English League Two
Chesterfield
4-1 Macclesfield
Austin, Kevin (http://www.chesterfield-fc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10435~11088,00.html) ((http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/in.gif) 46')
English Conference
Ebbsfleet United
2-2 AFC Wimbledon
Shakes, Ricky (http://www.ebbsfleetunited.co.uk/eufc/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=512&Itemid=344) ((http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/in.gif) 78')
Crawley Town
2-1 Kettering Town
Boucaud, Andre (http://www.ketteringtownfc.co.uk/player.php?player_id=13) (full game)
Cambridge United
2-0 (http://www.wrexhamafc.co.uk/page/MatchReport/0,,10311~50035,00.html) Wrexham
Spann, Silvio (http://www.wrexhamafc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10311~41687,00.html) (not selected)
Scottish Premier League
Hamilton Academical
0-0 (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scot_prem/8261613.stm) Falkirk
Andrews, Marvin (not selected)
Hibernian
3-0 (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scot_prem/8261624.stm) St. Johnstone
Samuel, Collin (http://www.perthstjohnstonefc.co.uk/player.php?param=22) (started, (http://www.socawarriors.net/football/images/out.gif) 57')
Turkish Super Lig
Ankaraspor
0-0 Denizlispor Kulübü
Roberts, Darryl (http://guncel.turkcellsuperlig.com/UI/Player.aspx?id=27723)
Swedish 2nd Division
Koping FF
2-3 Spanga IS FK
Neaves, Kevon
Major League Soccer
Toronto FC
0-2 (http://la.galaxy.mlsnet.com/news/team_news.jsp?ymd=20090920&content_id=7057700&vkey=news_lag&fext=.jsp&team=t106) LA Galaxy
Birchall, Chris (http://la.galaxy.mlsnet.com/players/bio.jsp?team=t106&player=birchall_c&playerId=bir106654&statType=current) (full game)
Marshall, Yohance (http://la.galaxy.mlsnet.com/players/bio.jsp?team=t106&player=marshall_y) (bench, did not play)
USL First Division
Miami FC
1-3 Puerto Rico Islanders
Henry, Nigel (http://www.puertoricoislandersfc.com/index/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=100:perfil-nigel-henry&catid=43:profile&Itemid=86) (not selected)
Jagdeosingh, Kendall (http://www.puertoricoislandersfc.com/index/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=116:perfil-kendall-jagdeosingh&catid=43:profile&Itemid=86) (not selected)
Telesford, Osei (http://www.puertoricoislandersfc.com/index/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=109:perfil-osei-telesford&catid=43:profile&Itemid=86) (not selected)
Villaroel, Kevon (http://www.puertoricoislandersfc.com/index/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=110:perfil-kevon-villaroel&catid=43:profile&Itemid=86) (not selected)
Title: Re: Trinis in Action (Sept 18-19, 2009)
Post by: Trinidogg on September 18, 2009, 08:01:10 PM
 :rotfl: no Zamora? lmao why cause he game on the 20th?
Post by: saga pinto on September 18, 2009, 08:12:58 PM
I just have this suspicion that j lloyd will be the only one standing in the english premier league that is trini.....the tide unfortunately is turning on guys like carlos,jason,and kenwyn............
Post by: weary1969 on September 18, 2009, 08:20:38 PM
I just have this suspicion that j lloyd will be the only one standing in the english premier league that is trini.....the tide unfortunately is turning on guys like carlos,jason,and kenwyn............
[/quote

Tide done turn on Carlos ahready
Post by: E-man on September 18, 2009, 09:13:48 PM
Cornell and Salinas just threw away a good chance there. ESPN2
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 18, 2009, 09:18:13 PM
san jose up 1 nil.
Post by: WestCoast on September 18, 2009, 09:21:52 PM
SJ takin it to Col
Title: Burnley v Sunderland
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 18, 2009, 09:36:25 PM
live on espn2 @ 7:30
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 18, 2009, 09:52:02 PM
de USL game on fsc
Post by: WestCoast on September 18, 2009, 10:02:18 PM
Stars even de score
Title: Re: Burnley v Sunderland
Post by: Trinidogg on September 18, 2009, 10:33:41 PM
steups i eh waking up that early to see KJ benched nah steups
Post by: SabreWolves on September 18, 2009, 11:31:09 PM
any links ...   ah wokking today
Post by: kev on September 19, 2009, 12:02:49 AM
Should be plenty of links working today as live on Sky in UK, so very unlucky today. ;)

not confirmed yet

http://atdhe.net/
http://www.iraqgoals.net/
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=48829&part=sports

Have a nice weekend everyone

Post by: FireBrand on September 19, 2009, 05:24:48 AM
Jones riding pine today.

Sunderland
01 Gordon
02 Bardsley
03 McCartney
04 Turner
05 Ferdinand
08 Malbranque
10 Richardson
19 Cana
20 Reid
09 Campbell
11 Bent

Substitutes
24 Carson, 06 Nosworthy, 12 Mensah, 22 Da Silva, 16 Henderson, 17 Jones, 23 Healy
Post by: andre samuel on September 19, 2009, 05:31:33 AM
WOW Fraizer-Campbell must have left quite an impression!!

Ha'way the lads

Post by: Bitter on September 19, 2009, 05:59:26 AM
wdf Ferdinand?

1-0 Burnley.
Penalty
Post by: Bitter on September 19, 2009, 06:22:47 AM
Malbranque playing level $@#%

1 good cross. Just 1.
Carlos woulda be making mas in this game.
Post by: Mock de Dread on September 19, 2009, 07:04:41 AM
its good jones in on the bench, hope he wil step up is positioning and work rate as he comes to terms with the fact that under steve bruce, his position is no guarantee any more.

sadly to say sunders looking good without him after the first half

lawrd ha mercy
Post by: g on September 19, 2009, 07:09:48 AM
Concacaf defenders must be some real beasts of burden

KJ does be toppling over dem premiership defenders with little effort.
Post by: Bitter on September 19, 2009, 07:19:34 AM
sadly to say sunders looking good without him after the first half

I wouldn't say good eh. Burnley was playing a level of $%^& that would make any team look good.

Yeah, them USA defenders is mule and donkey  ;D
Post by: Midknight on September 19, 2009, 07:21:35 AM
Sounds like Bruce make a mistake taking off Malbranque - went for the 433 and it backfire.

Now they down a goal, he taking off Campbell for Henderson...

Weird
Post by: Bitter on September 19, 2009, 07:26:37 AM
Sunderland crossing in this game is absolutely horrible!

KJ first touch is much improved.
Post by: Bitter on September 19, 2009, 07:31:28 AM
Game Done.

Jones bad pass leads to goal.
Post by: 1-868 on September 19, 2009, 07:52:53 AM
Berris, when is Stern be back in action?
Post by: maxg on September 19, 2009, 08:11:48 AM
musbe was d 2nd touch :rotfl:
Post by: Trinidogg on September 19, 2009, 08:12:10 AM
Didn't see the game but figure KJ haven't done much to improve his situation at the club.
Post by: Peong on September 19, 2009, 09:32:40 AM
Scotland try to pipe a shot, kick the man instead, get hurt, and is off the field for treatment.

He back on now.

I see him try to get a ball to Rodallega, but Arsenal defence close it down.

Scotland finally get a good shot off, keeper parry, Scharner put it in but he offside.
Post by: Trinidogg on September 19, 2009, 09:49:32 AM
not looking like a good day for we players like carlos was having a bad game got substituted in th 58 min then ipswich ketch on fire...
Post by: kicker on September 19, 2009, 11:39:43 AM
Aye ah eh go lie..following this thread after the fact yuh woulda never known that the score was 3-1  ;D
Post by: Tallman on September 19, 2009, 11:52:27 AM
when is Stern be back in action?

Supposed to be at de end of October.
Post by: Babalawo on September 19, 2009, 12:26:50 PM
The entire EPL boring this year without Ronaldo  :-\
Post by: Trinidogg on September 19, 2009, 12:33:26 PM
The entire EPL boring this year without Ronaldo  :-\

Dunno bout that man Chelsea and Liverpool give the league sum great games this year so far alot of goals scoring... Maybe because i a chealsea fan i enjoying it only thing that will make it better if we had a Trini player on that squad... and if Steve Bruce wasn't a Jack a$$ in my opinion ofc...
Post by: acb on September 19, 2009, 12:52:51 PM

Lower center of gravity maybe? But them same Central American defenders does out-jump him, and hustle him off the ball whole game.

musbe was d 2nd touch :rotfl:

:-X  :rotfl:
Post by: kev on September 19, 2009, 01:36:41 PM
Sounds like Bruce make a mistake taking off Malbranque - went for the 433 and it backfire.

Now they down a goal, he taking off Campbell for Henderson...

Weird

had the same thought myself tbh

Defence again

Don't know what Bruce is thinking about Kenwyne, but it wouldn't of been improved by the 3rd goal, no real pressure on him, easy 5-10 yard pass and misses the man 2-3 yards and go up and score from it. 

Game should of been done and dusted, amazed the back 4 that turned out, not enough threat from midfield Malbranque was poor as was Richardson, Ferninad will probably (and should) get the same earache for the 1st goal, wouldn't see that on a sunday morning.
Post by: royal on September 19, 2009, 04:53:13 PM
Did you'll see the wrist sweet band JL Samuel had on today on both hands? red,black and white.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 19, 2009, 06:46:15 PM
tnt
Post by: The_Ice on September 19, 2009, 08:50:52 PM
i hope the critics of birchall's passing r watching the toronto vs la galaxy game  ;D
Post by: WestCoast on September 19, 2009, 09:36:04 PM
i hope the critics of birchall's passing r watching the toronto vs la galaxy  ;D
tell dem Ice
http://web.mlsnet.com/scoreboard/
Me Mum got an assist off of Becks goal
Post by: The_Ice on September 20, 2009, 12:35:14 AM
 Re: P/I/P: #26 - LA Galaxy vs Toronto FC 09/19/09 7:30 PM PDT

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Got back from the game & I'm watching the replay. Franklin! Birchall! They make me so, so happy tonight.

http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=17

real beast out there 2nite playing RM... his long passes were damn accurate!
Post by: frico on September 20, 2009, 06:32:42 AM
Bruce got rid of one Trini and come Jan 2010 KJ would be out of Sunderland's setup.
Post by: Tallman on September 20, 2009, 06:37:27 AM
(http://a123.g.akamai.net/f/123/12465/1d/www.vancouversun.com/news/soccer+vancouver+whitecaps+close+regular+season+with/2010057/2010059.bin?size=620x400)

(http://www.safc.com/javaImages/bd/1e/0,,10281~7216829,00.jpg)

(http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/javaImages/b8/23/0,,10429~7218104,00.jpg)
Post by: Deeks on September 20, 2009, 07:51:45 AM
Scotty was unlucky not to have scored. What make it worse the offside was caused by pured
 ball watching on the forward who tapped in the rebound.
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 20, 2009, 08:28:02 AM
Scotty was unlucky not to have scored. What make it worse the offside was caused by pured
 ball watching on the forward who tapped in the rebound.

Yeah, would have been a nice 1st goal in de prem
Post by: Socapro on September 20, 2009, 09:24:35 AM
Bruce got rid of one Trini and come Jan 2010 KJ would be out of Sunderland's setup.

So wha yuh saying, Bruce doh like Trinis or Caribbean born players in his teams?  :-\
Post by: Trinidogg on September 20, 2009, 09:46:15 AM

So wha yuh saying, Bruce doh like Trinis or Caribbean born players in his teams?  :-\
I think its more of bruce love his young England players Henderson & Cambell...
I really don't see the need to bench KJ already after cambell play one game with hull just wrong...
Not to mention KJ was racking up points on my fantasy team now i gotta sell him steups...
Post by: frico on September 20, 2009, 05:45:11 PM
Bruce done show his feelings bout Caribbean players long time ago,ah just hope KJ GO TO A GOOD TEAM WHEN THE TIME COMES.
Post by: jai john on September 20, 2009, 05:49:08 PM

...in my view KJ is not improving as a player. I cant see him staying in the premiership at this rate . He is very ordinary these days and as a foreign player he has to be more than that. He has size and pace but lacks close control and invention ..... I'm afraid if you give it away  so often, especially and you hardly receive it ..you wont figure in the coach's plans.
Post by: jai john on September 20, 2009, 05:50:40 PM
Bruce done show his feelings bout Caribbean players long time ago,ah just hope KJ GO TO A GOOD TEAM WHEN THE TIME COMES.

which team would buy KJ ? ... a second division squad maybe ?
Post by: Trinidogg on September 20, 2009, 05:54:56 PM

Are you out of ur mind ???
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 20, 2009, 06:16:46 PM
Lol. Stay there and feel KJ seeing de Championship Division anytime soon. Men letting their national team frustrations cloud what they seeing in the EPL.
Post by: Peter on September 20, 2009, 06:51:03 PM

Don't be coming down on, deriding speaking exaggerated negatives about our OWN player like that, All a allyuh ride out. you talk rel SHIT there jai john, a good few EPL team will happily buy Kenwyne if the opportunity presented itself. Sure he has to get his head down and put in determined work to improve, but i get the feeling the main reason many of his detractors seem to almost wish bad on him and are seemingly happy at there being some negative turn of events for him clubwise is because of a kind of spitefulness at him because he doesn't score for our national team. Plenty of this animousity towards Kenwyne is kind of jealousy, that says something like, "why did HE make it in England (for numerous reasons people would think he's underserving of this and be jealous of him making it England,much more for in the EPL, and of him making all that money- you all can figure them out) " when others did not, so those people want to see him "put in his place" and dream up and long for different negative scenarios that would fullfill this desire, no matter how exaggerated- to bring them a type of malevolent and small-man fullfillment and joy

Is people like allyuh who was frickin DERIDING Stern John, only to have to eat allyuh words and longingly wish he was in the team when he was out injured and his excellent hold up play was evidently sorely lacking on the on the field. Don't be deriding our players and getting any of allyuh smallminded, vengefull(for his lack of goals for us)  and jealous fullfillment(e.g. i told you all he was shit- everyone else is seeing it now!) out of  things not going too well for them or at hurdles in their careers.

I for one support you Kenwyne, and I can see by looking at the improvement in your first touch this season I can see you're trying to put in work to improve, I still believe you have to push yourself even harder and through doing that you will fullfill your big potential.

In the end I believe things will go well for Kenwyne in his club career. Having  THE PEOPLE WHO ARE SUPPOSED TO BE SUPPORTING YOU instead Deriding you and getting fullfillment and joy in your misfortune, is one of the worst things for any player, and the majority of the times DOES NOT help the player, as confidence and being mentally settled is ESSENTIAL for a player to perform at his highest possible level, and these things dent and chip away at this-so instead of supporters strenghtening these crucial attributes in their players, they do the opposite and chip away at them. There's a big difference between this and critiquing the player.
Post by: Peter on September 20, 2009, 06:52:48 PM

Thank you trinidog.
Post by: Trinidogg on September 20, 2009, 07:12:40 PM

There's a big difference between this and critiquing the player.
I cosign that...

Thank you trinidog.
Post by: frico on September 21, 2009, 02:52:52 AM
Peter,I think youv'e got people wrong,as you say some people might be jealous but that might be a tiny minority,that sort of thing permeates every society but at the end of the day, everyone wants KJ TO SCORE GOALS.I dont think he had one good match for TT and could be one of the reasons we are out of SA,dont remind me our defence was also school boyish at times.KJ missed sitters from the first match against ES to the last match against the USA,If he is criticised it happens to be a natural re-action.I am sure that he will eventually come good but have to admit to myself,he does not look an EPL player and should have been benched by TT from the second match,we could not have done worse with anybody else.
 KJ is a big boy and he goes down too easily,he seems to lack the ability to shoot in and around the box,he does not hold up the ball well enough and his first touch is not good,he is a good header of the ball.KJ was supposed to be our trump card and by all accounts should have put away sitters against all the teams that we played in the HEX,had he done so we would have still been in with a shout.I certainly hope that if he has to leave Sunderland a good EPL team has him if not a top Championship does,he will come good there is no doubt,he is young and Brazil 2014 beckons,I hope that he would be the scourge of teams by then. 8)
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 21, 2009, 08:36:23 AM
Peter,I think youv'e got people wrong,as you say some people might be jealous but that might be a tiny minority,that sort of thing permeates every society but at the end of the day, everyone wants KJ TO SCORE GOALS.I dont think he had one good match for TT and could be one of the reasons we are out of SA,dont remind me our defence was also school boyish at times.KJ missed sitters from the first match against ES to the last match against the USA,If he is criticised it happens to be a natural re-action.I am sure that he will eventually come good but have to admit to myself,he does not look an EPL player and should have been benched by TT from the second match,we could not have done worse with anybody else.
 KJ is a big boy and he goes down too easily,he seems to lack the ability to shoot in and around the box,he does not hold up the ball well enough and his first touch is not good,he is a good header of the ball.KJ was supposed to be our trump card and by all accounts should have put away sitters against all the teams that we played in the HEX,had he done so we would have still been in with a shout.I certainly hope that if he has to leave Sunderland a good EPL team has him if not a top Championship does,he will come good there is no doubt,he is young and Brazil 2014 beckons,I hope that he would be the scourge of teams by then. 8)

I eh agree with yuh dey at all.  It ha plenty people in here (many secretly) happy he got benched despite doing nothing to warrant it.  He is often thought of as "feeling he reach" and having "starboy mentality" so I doubt the people that believe that really want good from him.  I will more easily believe they want see him either falter (maybe temporarily) professionaly or be benched so that he is humbled.  Personally I find that to be a horrid attitude to have for any of our players but some of us aren't really fans of the sport and our players if the national team isn't doing well.  If KJ was bussin the net for us no one would care about his percieved attitude of himself much like how they ignore other national players (who have arguably performed better) and their attitudes.

Peter yuh make some sense fella!

Jai John you talkin some rell emotional outta timin c**tishness!
Post by: kicker on September 21, 2009, 09:29:01 AM

I eh agree with yuh dey at all.  It ha plenty people in here (many secretly) happy he got benched despite doing nothing to warrant it.  He is often thought of as "feeling he reach" and having "starboy mentality" so I doubt the people that believe that really want good from him.  I will more easily believe they want see him either falter (maybe temporarily) professionaly or be benched so that he is humbled.  Personally I find that to be a horrid attitude to have for any of our players but some of us aren't really fans of the sport and our players if the national team isn't doing well.  If KJ was bussin the net for us no one would care about his percieved attitude of himself much like how they ignore other national players (who have arguably performed better) and their attitudes.

You can't say he did nothing to warrant being benched unless you think that S. Bruce has a personal grouse with him.  Campbell got the start last week because KJ was being rested after int'l duty, and Campbell impressed- impressed enough to make the coach feel he deserved to get another look.  If KJ was that dominant a player, he woulda been back on the field this weekend, so his failure to convince Bruce that he deserves to be in the starting XI all else being equal (not being rested), is what he did to deserve being benched.  I eh no KJ hater, but let's be real- whether or not it's his solely his fault, alot of the sentiments expressed about Kenwyne suggest that based on his performances, it's not outrageous to think that a coach would experiment with other players in the interest of improvement.

It's also natural that people would be less concerned with his non-footballing traits if he's doing the business on the field....because people are first and foremost fans of him as a football player...When people criticize his personality it's not because they care about his personality alone- of course not- why would they?  it's because they believe certain non footballing attributes (eg his personality) are negatively affecting his football performance.... because again, that's what football fans are most concerned with....Just because someone criticizes something about him (especially if they believe it impacts his performance) doesn't mean that he/she isn't a true fan...Yuh could argue that a true fan talks his mind (even if they talkin' sh*t  :D )

Like ah say, I eh no KJ hater, I dunno nuttin' about him having a starboy mentality...I try watch all his games hoping to see him rip up, and that will never change..and the truth is, he's a frustrating player to watch sometimes....He's one of those, when he's on he's on...but when he's off, it's that bad it could make yuh cringe.......but he's a big man and a professional in the spotlight, and when he not doing the business he must be prepared to get pong- that's how it is in every sport, and in every culture...and my guess is that KJ could barely give a damn what people write on a msg board or who on a msg board secretly want him tuh get bench... if it matters that much to him, he better harden his belly or improve his game 'cause it eh go get no better..... no matter how much allyuh repeatedly rush to his defense as soon as someone criticizes him.
Post by: reggae-fan on September 21, 2009, 09:43:29 AM

Problem with Jones is his mobility, which is not really surprising, given his size. I saw a number of threads unfairly comparing Jones with Didier Drogba. In fact, if you are going to compare Jones with big players in the league, he should be compared with guys like Emile Hesky, John Carew, Marlon Harewood etc. while Drogba is a big guy, he certainly is more mobile than Jones. He also brings alot more to the table in terms of dead ball situations.

Jones probably can average 10-15 goals per season at a team like Villa or Everton. Not sure he would do well at any of the consistent top 5 teams, simply because of the mobility and dead ball factor.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 21, 2009, 10:10:15 AM

You can't say he did nothing to warrant being benched unless you think that S. Bruce has a personal grouse with him.  Campbell got the start last week because KJ was being rested after int'l duty, and Campbell impressed- impressed enough to make the coach feel he deserved to get another look.  If KJ was that dominant a player, he woulda been back on the field this weekend, so his failure to convince Bruce that he deserves to be in the starting XI all else being equal (not being rested), is what he did to deserve being benched.  I eh no KJ hater, but let's be real- whether or not it's his solely his fault, alot of the sentiments expressed about Kenwyne suggest that based on his performances, it's not outrageous to think that a coach would experiment with other players in the interest of improvement.

It's also natural that people would be less concerned with his non-footballing traits if he's doing the business on the field....because people are first and foremost fans of him as a football player...When people criticize his personality it's not because they care about his personality alone- of course not- why would they?  it's because they believe certain non footballing attributes (eg his personality) are negatively affecting his football performance.... because again, that's what football fans are most concerned with....Just because someone criticizes something about him (especially if they believe it impacts his performance) doesn't mean that he/she isn't a true fan...Yuh could argue that a true fan talks his mind (even if they talkin' sh*t  :D )

Like ah say, I eh no KJ hater, I dunno nuttin' about him having a starboy mentality...I try watch all his games hoping to see him rip up, and that will never change..and the truth is, he's a frustrating player to watch sometimes....He's one of those, when he's on he's on...but when he's off, it's that bad it could make yuh cringe.......but he's a big man and a professional in the spotlight, and when he not doing the business he must be prepared to get pong- that's how it is in every sport, and in every culture...and my guess is that KJ could barely give a damn what people write on a msg board or who on a msg board secretly want him tuh get bench... if it matters that much to him, he better harden his belly or improve his game 'cause it eh go get no better..... no matter how much allyuh repeatedly rush to his defense as soon as someone criticizes him.

Before departing for international duty he was playing well with Bent and both were scoring goals.  Bent is still scoring, Campbell and Jones no longer are.  Resting KJ last week made sense considered he arrived in the morning of the game from such a long travel.  True Cambpell looked good last week but again, that was against Hull City.  How good did he look this week against Burnley?  When I said last week that Bruce would be an ass to do so against Burnley some probably thought I was crazy but Burnley is on an overacheivin high right now not very different from Hull last year around this time.  Having KJ come off the bench this weekend shows that he either favors Campbell, cant keep perspective (since he impressed against Hull, not too difficult these days) or doesn't really appreciate Jones.  usually an incumbent has to perform terribly or the bench player has shown the ability to play far better than the starter to warrant a shift in startin XI.  So with that I am willing to believe that Bruce' affection for english players might be a motivational factor here.  Based on what was displayed on the field in their first 4 games, I (from my limited vantage point) can't see what KJ did to warrant being benched.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 21, 2009, 10:21:45 AM

Problem with Jones is his mobility, which is not really surprising, given his size. I saw a number of threads unfairly comparing Jones with Didier Drogba. In fact, if you are going to compare Jones with big players in the league, he should be compared with guys like Emile Hesky, John Carew, Marlon Harewood etc. while Drogba is a big guy, he certainly is more mobile than Jones. He also brings alot more to the table in terms of dead ball situations.

Jones probably can average 10-15 goals per season at a team like Villa or Everton. Not sure he would do well at any of the consistent top 5 teams, simply because of the mobility and dead ball factor.

You made some sense but still talk plenty rubbish fella, Jones has less dribbling abilities that Drogba, his deadball abilities are unknown as of right now.  Mobility?  U must be crazy, KJ runs like a gazelle.  I doubt Drobga could catch KJ in a sprint too the ball from a dead stop (but that is conjecture anyway).  Drogba is effective at using all of his footballing attributes while many see KJ as yet fulfilled as far as his potential go.  Carew would be a sensible comparison, Heskey in certain respects but his finishin is even more attrocious than KJ's.  If he starts consistently he can average 15-20 and at a big team where he'd get better opportunities he could net 20-25.
Post by: jai john on September 21, 2009, 11:24:09 AM
I wonder if some folks believe that the Sunderland coach hates KJ ? Why would you shoot yourself in the foot ? If KJ was doing half of the things he was supposed to this thread would not have existed. Who is being emotional here ? KJ was compared to Drogba not so long ago ....where is he now ? No such comparisons can be made today ...so is he getting better ?
Why is it when the facts are placed before some people they cant face them ? This is no I hate KJ tirade ...I wish he could realise the dream we all have for him ..but he is getting older and not getting better , going from scorer to starter and now bencher ...man kyah see the writing if he eh do something quick ?
Is second division that he facing ...if he cant improve ...The Premier league doh remember last year or the year before ...they only deal with the now ...is not only KJ many players have lost favour the year after a good season ....this is professional football ...it eh have room to give yuh pardner a penalty to help him boost his confidence or not retitrng a player who has served us well but who is way past his best .
Many peeps does go on sentiment and make all kinda claims bout people who see things differently . Who will argue that KJ's best performences have been in the past ??
Look at what happend to Carlos , Lawrence, Andrews, ..and right after they were acclaimed the previous season ...
Face facts ...in football is shape up or ship out ....you eh go be 24 all yuh life ..the time to shine is now ..if not you will get shined !
Post by: kicker on September 21, 2009, 11:57:53 AM
If he starts consistently he can average 15-20 and at a big team where he'd get better opportunities he could net 20-25.

Would love to see it, but for now I'd say that's doubtful.  That's where the top scorers in any given league end up at the close of the season...i.e.-The David Villas and the Eto'os of the world....KJ eh there yet.  He's we boy, but he not at them fellas level of deadliness...plain talk eh no bad manners. 
Post by: reggae-fan on September 21, 2009, 12:24:48 PM

You made some sense but still talk plenty rubbish fella, Jones has less dribbling abilities that Drogba, his deadball abilities are unknown as of right now.  Mobility?  U must be crazy, KJ runs like a gazelle.  I doubt Drobga could catch KJ in a sprint too the ball from a dead stop (but that is conjecture anyway).  Drogba is effective at using all of his footballing attributes while many see KJ as yet fulfilled as far as his potential go.  Carew would be a sensible comparison, Heskey in certain respects but his finishin is even more attrocious than KJ's.  If he starts consistently he can average 15-20 and at a big team where he'd get better opportunities he could net 20-25.

If you have been playing professional football for over 5 years now and still dont know what your deadball abilities are, its because you dont have much dead ball ability. And Mobility is not all about break-neck speed or who can outsprint who...there is much more to it than that. Like I said, Jones will have better returns at a better club than sunderland, Villa, Evertin comes to mind...but at a top 5 club, his physical abilities become less important...his all-round game is what is going to get him a starting role. thats why Heskey was such a big failure during his time at Liverpool.

Post by: kev on September 21, 2009, 02:21:46 PM

Before departing for international duty he was playing well with Bent and both were scoring goals.  Bent is still scoring, Campbell and Jones no longer are.  Resting KJ last week made sense considered he arrived in the morning of the game from such a long travel.  True Cambpell looked good last week but again, that was against Hull City.  How good did he look this week against Burnley?  When I said last week that Bruce would be an ass to do so against Burnley some probably thought I was crazy but Burnley is on an overacheivin high right now not very different from Hull last year around this time.  Having KJ come off the bench this weekend shows that he either favors Campbell, cant keep perspective (since he impressed against Hull, not too difficult these days) or doesn't really appreciate Jones.  usually an incumbent has to perform terribly or the bench player has shown the ability to play far better than the starter to warrant a shift in startin XI.  So with that I am willing to believe that Bruce' affection for english players might be a motivational factor here.  Based on what was displayed on the field in their first 4 games, I (from my limited vantage point) can't see what KJ did to warrant being benched.

The reality is KJ has scored in 1 game, 2 goals but only in 1 game, the way you have put it, it sounds as if he was scoring every other game. 

In reality in the first half Burnley only had the penalty and no other chances and Campbell played his part, we were certainly no better when KJ came on and indeed he was responsible for some very sloppy play that lead to teh 3rd goal. 

Maybe Bruce is seeing something from Campbell in training / games that he isn't seeing from KJ I was amazed KJ didn't start I was also amazed at the back 4 that started.  This has nothing to do with English or T&T, if you believe that you are just kidding yourself.
Post by: DeSoWa on September 21, 2009, 02:28:37 PM
I think KJ's confidence is on a low right now...coming off the bench did not help him nor Sunderland against Burnley.

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 21, 2009, 03:21:19 PM
The reality is KJ has scored in 1 game, 2 goals but only in 1 game, the way you have put it, it sounds as if he was scoring every other game. 

In reality in the first half Burnley only had the penalty and no other chances and Campbell played his part, we were certainly no better when KJ came on and indeed he was responsible for some very sloppy play that lead to teh 3rd goal. 

Maybe Bruce is seeing something from Campbell in training / games that he isn't seeing from KJ I was amazed KJ didn't start I was also amazed at the back 4 that started.  This has nothing to do with English or T&T, if you believe that you are just kidding yourself.

I am not trying to distort things, but apart from the 2 goals he was doing his part to free up Bent.  Bent seems to be in form right now and might be untouchable right now but on the field Campbell hasn't been leaps and bounds better than KJ (atleast not IMO).  I am simply searching for plausable reasons why Bruce would make the switch.  Look at the results so far, throw out the Chelsea result (as most pencilled that a lost long before the gameday), they beat 2 teams that more than likely will finish above them in Everton and Blackburn. Then put in an other wise credible effort against a stronger than credited Stoke.  Seems to me they were doing their part despite KJ only scoring 2 goals in a single game.  Next game you beat HC like you should have and probably would have if KJ had started so I not ready to anount FC based on that.  Then to go an collect 3 from Burnley (who only scored 3 in 5 games to that point)?  Up until they beat Sunderland, Burnley had only scored 3 goals in total yet they bury 3 on SAFC?  Burnley defense isn't great (even though they have a few clean sheets) but it is fairly solid, why Bent-Campbell eh combine for 2 or 3 goals?  I conceed it's possible he looking good in practice but results need to be seen.
Post by: kev on September 22, 2009, 03:58:06 AM
Yes results are everything but at the end of the season you usually get the position roughly what your performances deserve.

If you had watched the Burnley matches they have been outplayed for a fair bit of them, Everton and United both missed penalties and they have carried a little deserved luck similar to Hull last season.

KJ has been doing his bit, but so did Campbell when brought in and played in his position not RSM where he has been brought in as sub.  I prefer KJ to Campbell but having watched Campbelll a bit although different type of players I don't think either will get stacks of goals in a season.  The midfield isn't playing its part either only Andy Reid is being consistantly creative.

Don't get me started on the defence, I have gone on about it for teh past 3 seasons and still can't figure out why he started with that back 4.

Cup match tonight and it has been widely reported both Da Silva and mensah will start and Bruce is looking to start them in teh EPL aswell, my view is that is the only way you will find out about them and whether they can adjust, it isn't a big gamble considering who they are replacing aren't upto the job in the first place.