Sports => Football => Topic started by: Midknight on September 19, 2009, 07:14:04 AM

Title: Things I would like to see in T&T football for 2014
Post by: Midknight on September 19, 2009, 07:14:04 AM
Closure

1. A testimonial game for the 2006 Soca Warriors.
This can be arranged against the Strike Squad members or the U20 team as necessary.
All proceeds to be given to FPATT to start their relaunching.

2. The following players thanked for their service to the T&T shirt after this match, a token of appreciation and given a letter explaining that they will not be recalled to the National Team, for purposes of development of the next generation, but inviting them to join the 2014 effort in any advisory capacity, as needed.

Dennis Lawrence, Clayton Ince, Marvin Andrews, Avery John, Brent Sancho, Cyd Gray, Aurthis Whitley, Stern John, Atiba Charles, Kelvin Jack, Keyeno Thomas

3. The money dispute resolved, and an apology by the TTFF to the players for the blacklist.

Structure
4. 10 players, including the following 7 selected as a defensive unit for a considerable number of friendlies leading up to our next carribean cup games.

R. Abu Bakr, Makan Hislop, Akeem Adams, Sean Power, Akile Edwards, Julias James, Kern Cupid, Silvio Spann

All possible combinations should be tried, and a definitive decision must be taken on our starting backline, possibly with the addition of Jlloyd at left back to three others if none of the available options step up. By the time qualifiers come around, we should know who our preferred back 4 is.

5. Vranes hired as INTERIM  senior coach to help blood the Under 20s into the senior team after the WC. Latas will be rehired to take us into qualifiers from 2012 assuming by then he has gained the necessary coaching qualifications, or shown competency coaching an average Proleague side for example.
If this is not the case, we should hire a big name disciplinarian coacn, Stephen Hart if he wants the job, or as a last resort, let Vranes keep it if he shows good progress.

6. Jack Warner far away from the national teams, Camps far away from the TTFF.

7.A series of national tryouts for all local and us based players who haven't really been given their chance before, plus any promising youths in North America who eligible and committed to playing for us (we don't need another Maund)

8 A series of national tryouts in the UK for the T&T players in the bottom feeder clubs, plus any promising eligible youths who committed

Players

9. Keon Daniel with a psychologist or under the wing of an appropriate national team player as mentor.

10. Darryl Roberts selected and groomed to be the point man on the team (primary attackingmidfielder).

11. Carlos as captain, assuming he is still playing at a decent level, and fit. (I also hope to see him back in the Prem). Ideally I would like this to be Birchall, but I don't see him playing at a high enough level and gaining the respect of the younger fellas on the teams.

12. Hadyn Tinto gaining experience abroad (preferably Europe)
Title: Re: Things I would like to see in T&T football for 2014
Post by: weary1969 on September 19, 2009, 07:29:54 AM
U had dat dream bout midnight. An apoolgy from d TTFF... :rotfl: NOT TO MENTION 4 D BLACKLIST :rotfl: Good 1 to strt d sat morning.
Post by: trini warrior on September 19, 2009, 07:43:32 AM
YOU sir are part of the problem with TT football.

THERE ARE FIVE YEARS BETWEEN NOW & 2014
Post by: Midknight on September 19, 2009, 08:14:05 AM

So what are you advocating? That we wait until the year before qualifiers start as usual to get we house in order?

"Is Alberto up in London tell me
Trinidadians does do thing, vaille qui vaille qui
They doh have no kind of vision
When they acting daily
Socialists does have a five year plan
Men does plan things for years up in Britain
But is after they build dey house
Trini does draw plan

Manning decide to go and talk to badjohns on de block
Just So (just so)
Power get licence to give Umballah wok
Just So (just so)
I tell you just so, just so, just so...

Or did I misunderstand you?
Post by: Midknight on September 19, 2009, 08:15:23 AM
U had dat dream bout midnight. An apoolgy from d TTFF... :rotfl: NOT TO MENTION 4 D BLACKLIST :rotfl: Good 1 to strt d sat morning.

Martin Luther King had a dream too...
Post by: maxg on September 19, 2009, 08:24:19 AM

Unfortunately he only see in he dream lil Black children and white children hand in hand, and didn't see the lil Black chirren, likin up dey fellow Black chirren, so he couldn't warn we....all now he shoutin "Corretta, why...why..why ...I DID NOT HAVE DAT DREAM"
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 19, 2009, 08:49:05 AM

So what are you advocating? That we wait until the year before qualifiers start as usual to get we house in order?

When they acting daily
Trini does draw plan

Just So (just so)

I think you both misunderstood each other. You're both saying the same thing. He thinks you meant all those things should happen in the 2014 campaign as opposed to preparing five years in advance. You both agree. Just miscommunication, I think.
Post by: Socapro on September 19, 2009, 09:33:53 AM

This will never happen in our lifetimes while Camps is unopposed and remains president of the TTFF!

As we all know Camps is simply Jack's puppet so while Camps is there Jack is in charge and Jack will do everything in his power to prevent Camps’ removal unless of course he can find another puppet who is just as brainless and controllable to replace Camps with!
Post by: saga pinto on September 19, 2009, 10:03:11 AM

This will never happen in our lifetimes while Camps is unopposed and remains president of the TTFF!

As we all know Camps is simply Jack's puppet so while Camps is there Jack is in charge and Jack will do everything in his power to prevent Camps’ removal unless of course he can find another puppet who is just as brainless and controllable to replace Camps with!

Trust me there're many of them out dey that can be bought.....
Post by: weary1969 on September 19, 2009, 11:04:39 AM

When they acting daily
Trini does draw plan

Just So (just so)

I think you both misunderstood each other. You're both saying the same thing. He thinks you meant all those things should happen in the 2014 campaign as opposed to preparing five years in advance. You both agree. Just miscommunication, I think.

Should b I hope
Post by: weary1969 on September 19, 2009, 11:06:27 AM

They are also free so y not have a big 1.
Post by: just cool on September 19, 2009, 12:47:41 PM

Unfortunately he only see in he dream lil Black children and white children hand in hand, and didn't see the lil Black chirren, likin up dey fellow Black chirren, so he couldn't warn we....all now he shoutin "Corretta, why...why..why ...I DID NOT HAVE DAT DREAM"
For ah elder yuh does really talk outa timin OUI! what was so wrong wid the nature of the thread?!! how allyuh love tuh aim sooo low! the thread is on point! we need to put certain things in place to move forward!

did you not see how greece won a european cup and six yrs later missed out on the 06 WC and the following euros and possibly this WC2010? that's BC they did not pick up on the momentum and build on it.

TNT need tuh start right now, forget next yr or 2011, right now! plus during the WC we may have the opportunity to play some friendlies, pre warm up WC games hopefully, and we could get our hopefulls some needed experience.
Post by: Socapro on September 19, 2009, 01:23:10 PM
Must back Justcool on his point about starting from now and building up momentum for WC2014 qualification if we really want to be serious.

Hence why I throw out them questions to Latapy as obvious as the answers may seemed to be as his answers will help us conclude if we should back him fully to stay on after the Hex or if we should be looking out for another Don Leo type coach who will be able to tell Jack not to meddle with his plans or I’m off!
This is where Muturana failed dismally and lost my respect and has even admitted after he left that he was not in full control of team selection, etc.

Momentum is very important in International football, it could mean the difference between a very good team not making it or an average team making it in tournaments!
Post by: Coop's on September 19, 2009, 03:20:12 PM
This topic is a very good one keep it up guys,a lot could be discussed here,i have one question,it's often said we should get rid of JW and Camps as is suggested here again,are there any candidates in mind if that situation were to come to pass?i think that should always be a part of any plan we are putting together,we can't wait until it happen and then we scrambleing,all we hearing is get rid,get rid,get rid but you not hearing about replace with who. 
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 19, 2009, 04:08:11 PM
This topic is a very good one keep it up guys,a lot could be discussed here,i have one question,it's often said we should get rid of JW and Camps as is suggested here again,are there any candidates in mind if that situation were to come to pass?i think that should always be a part of any plan we are putting together,we can't wait until it happen and then we scrambleing,all we hearing is get rid,get rid,get rid but you not hearing about replace with who

Coops, the TT football public so truly tired and frustrated w/the corrupt, greedy, and seemingly unchanging TTFF that many simply have not put their names in a hat to replace Camps, JW, et al b/c it seems highly improbable these two individuals can be booted out.  As you know, there are many qualified candidates, if the former were to somehow miraculously dissappear from TT football, I am sure you would see quite a few competent candidates come forward, those involved w/FPATT would be a great start.  That's not the only qu though, the other qu is the by-laws and MO of the new TTFF w/replacements, it must be transparent, organized, equitable, and if bw-laws need to be amended, do so for an effective running of the sport in TT.

Alas, all in theory
Post by: Socapro on September 19, 2009, 04:49:26 PM
This topic is a very good one keep it up guys,a lot could be discussed here,i have one question,it's often said we should get rid of JW and Camps as is suggested here again,are there any candidates in mind if that situation were to come to pass?i think that should always be a part of any plan we are putting together,we can't wait until it happen and then we scrambleing,all we hearing is get rid,get rid,get rid but you not hearing about replace with who

Coops, the TT football public so truly tired and frustrated w/the corrupt, greedy, and seemingly unchanging TTFF that many simply have not put their names in a hat to replace Camps, JW, et al b/c it seems highly improbable these two individuals can be booted out.  As you know, there are many qualified candidates, if the former were to somehow miraculously dissappear from TT football, I am sure you would see quite a few competent candidates come forward, those involved w/FPATT would be a great start.  That's not the only qu though, the other qu is the by-laws and MO of the new TTFF w/replacements, it must be transparent, organized, equitable, and if bw-laws need to be amended, do so for an effective running of the sport in TT.

Alas, all in theory

Why can't someone who posts on this forum and who is in touch with how we die-hards feel about T&T football and what needs to be done for our football to progress not step forward and challenge for Camps’ position?

I don't think Jack needs to be removed as all he is in theory is a "Special Advisor" and you don't always have to listen to special advice or advice that will be detrimental to the future of T&T football if you don't agree with it as TTFF president!

So we need somebody who is connected in some way with this forum to step forward and challenge Camps for his position and we need to lobby those who keep voting Camps back in unchallenged every term to vote for our new progressive candidate once they have stepped forward.

Once that new president who is not a puppet of AJW and who is accountable to us is voted in then the revolution for the continual progress of T&T football can begin.

This person even though Jack will hate his guts must be willing to work with Jack but must keep things very transparent and Jack should then have no excuse not to fully concentrate on his job at FIFA or on his ambitions in T&T politics and leave T&T football to be run by competent people who are accountable to us the fans and the T&T tax payers at large.

The key to getting the revolution going is replacing Camps with someone who is not another puppet of AJW and who is competent, transparent and accountable to the fans. If Shaka is too busy to step forward then hopefully someone who posts on this forum can step up and do so sooner rather than later as we will have a challenging fight on our hands to get them voted in.

The revolution must start with us as its only us who can force change or be willing to put up with the status quo!

What did Obama say? The time for change has come and Yes we can!!
Post by: maxg on September 19, 2009, 05:12:43 PM

For ah elder yuh does really talk outa timin OUI! what was so wrong wid the nature of the thread?!! how allyuh love tuh aim sooo low! the thread is on point! we need to put certain things in place to move forward!

did you not see how greece won a european cup and six yrs late missed out on the 06 WC and the following euros and possibly this WC2010? that's BC they did not pick up on the momentum and build on it.

TNT need tuh start right now, forget next yr or 2011, right now! plus during the WC we may have the opportunity to play some friendlies, pre warm up WC games hopefully, and we could get our hopefulls some needed experience.
Never commented on the nature of the thread...never even disagreed with anything in the thread...however, if if yuh would even try to understand that I usually try not to discourage or put down (ah think yuh must realize that by now), then  why assume, I'm being negative in this case...the point I was trying to make is, one, even MLK, could not foresee certain obstacles to some measure of success, and in this case, certain amount of planning, has to be geared for more unknown aspects, than just a few points...in a football forum thread

Ok check meh...Using your example, given their experience in football (in Sports even), yuh think the Greeks didn't plan to pick up on the momemtum...do you think You, we, others are the only ppl who know that is what is needed, and they didn't...Do you think is only we , you, anybody here, have all the answers to solve TT football woes, and all the present Admin really trying to do is mash it up and trying to be incompetent.....Do you think the greeks we just incompetent, so that is why they didn't make it ? Do you know what they actually did, or didn't do ?

My Opinion now, we tend to look at 1 piece in a puzzle, we may know what the final outcome should be, but things don't just fall into place and present itself just so.....even placing the final piece, would require time & effort....but yuh could put it all together in yuh mind in no time
Post by: Big Magician on September 19, 2009, 07:02:23 PM
thank you socapro...danke
Post by: just cool on September 19, 2009, 08:22:50 PM

did you not see how greece won a european cup and six yrs late missed out on the 06 WC and the following euros and possibly this WC2010? that's BC they did not pick up on the momentum and build on it.

Never commented on the nature of the thread...never even disagreed with anything in the thread...however, if if yuh would even try to understand that I usually try not to discourage or put down (ah think yuh must realize that by now), then  why assume, I'm being negative in this case...the point I was trying to make is, one, even MLK, could not foresee certain obstacles to some measure of success, and in this case, certain amount of planning, has to be geared for more unknown aspects, than just a few points...in a football forum thread

Ok check meh...Using your example, given their experience in football (in Sports even), yuh think the Greeks didn't plan to pick up on the momemtum...do you think You, we, others are the only ppl who know that is what is needed, and they didn't...Do you think is only we , you, anybody here, have all the answers to solve TT football woes, and all the present Admin really trying to do is mash it up and trying to be incompetent.....Do you think the greeks we just incompetent, so that is why they didn't make it ? Do you know what they actually did, or didn't do ?

My Opinion now, we tend to look at 1 piece in a puzzle, we may know what the final outcome should be, but things don't just fall into place and present itself just so.....even placing the final piece, would require time & effort....but yuh could put it all together in yuh mind in no time
That is not progressive thinking my friend, i believe in hard work and determination! and tuh hell wid" it will take time". in retrospect , every thing takes time, just ask the write brothers. my point iz, proper vision and strategic planning is the formula that begats successful projects.

we need tuh start planning from now and forget all the philosophical rhetoric! @ the end of the day , all the semantics in the world would not ensure good results like vision and planning, and yes mr max, the mind is the ground zero of any successful project, and caribbean ppl have tuh stop wid the procrastinating and put thing together in their feeble minds in no time like the rest of the world.
Post by: maxg on September 20, 2009, 05:31:41 AM
progressive thinking will tell yuh, doh put the cart and it's contents before the horse.
Post by: Deeks on September 20, 2009, 07:43:22 AM
I would like to see the players take it upon themselves to visit the weight room very often and improve on their match fitness. No coach or club can force them to do that. The onus is on them.
Post by: Socapro on September 21, 2009, 02:50:28 PM
I've bumped this thread before if goes off the front page because I would like to see more positive threads like this catching fire on the forum.

So in case some ah allyuh miss it, please have a read and contribute to the ideas/discussions in this thread if you can.

Davyjenny need not post in this thread as we don't want this thread to deteriorate like the coup thread you started!  8)
Post by: trinikev on September 21, 2009, 03:13:30 PM
I would like to see the players take it upon themselves to visit the weight room very often and improve on their match fitness. No coach or club can force them to do that. The onus is on them.

The only way yuh could improve on MATCH fitness is to play matches....other than that, i agree with the sentiment. It is important that our players approach this in a more professional manner, with serious attention to workout regimen and diet especially. It will have an impact in all other facets of our performance on the field.
Post by: just cool on September 21, 2009, 06:19:40 PM
Socapro, yuh know i was watching the under 20's play australia, plus ah few games i saw towards the build up, and to tell yuh the truth, these guys look just like the fallas before them and the fella before the fellas before them, in other words , i don't see nothing extraordinary about this crop of players to suggest that we stand ah better chance of qualifying for brazil 2014 as opposed to any other time.

i personally believe if these fellas who on the national senior team right now who are under 27 don't travel out of TNT and expose themselves to ah higher level of football, then they will never be up for the challenge of qualifying come 2012.

and same for these under 20 players! IMO they need not get involved in the pfl if they want to stand any chance of persuing a career in football. the PFL is ah steppin stone for better things, BC right now, that league not up to international standard.    sorry folks.
Post by: injunchile on September 21, 2009, 06:29:05 PM
Well said- Just Cool . In all fairness to Jack he did say that the young players need to get contract abroad to be competitive in Concacaf and on the World stage. This was said after the Strike squad disappointment also Capt Burrell told him the only way forward is a foreign coach. Simoes got JA into a w/c and that has been the pattern eversince.
Post by: Deeks on September 21, 2009, 08:06:35 PM
We have been using forreign coaches since 1970 WC. That is nothing new to the TT WC coaching landscape. Lang, Verity, The guy who died recently(RIP), Simoes, Beenie man, Win, Maturana. The local Wc coaches were Conrad braithwaithe, Edgar??, Roderick Warner, gally, Latas. I stand to be correct on this.
Post by: Socapro on September 21, 2009, 08:38:34 PM
Socapro, yuh know i was watching the under 20's play australia, plus ah few games i saw towards the build up, and to tell yuh the truth, these guys look just like the fallas before them and the fella before the fellas before them, in other words , i don't see nothing extraordinary about this crop of players to suggest that we stand ah better chance of qualifying for brazil 2014 as opposed to any other time.

i personally believe if these fellas who on the national senior team right now who are under 27 don't travel out of TNT and expose themselves to ah higher level of football, then they will never be up for the challenge of qualifying come 2012.

and same for these under 20 players! IMO they need not get involved in the pfl if they want to stand any chance of persuing a career in football. the PFL is ah steppin stone for better things, BC right now, that league not up to international standard.    sorry folks.

I guess you are correct. Maybe the standard of our local PFL is reflected in the crowd turn outs!

Question is how do we get our local league up to international standard as fast as possible?

And also note as impatient as we might be it will take time to get up to international standard.
Should we be following the American MLS model?
Should be trying to keep our best young players from leaving to play abroad?
Should we be encouraging our young players to leave but reversely encouraging our best older players who have been outside for a while and are in the last few years of their careers to come back home and play in the local league with the hope of helping to raise the standard that way?

I don't think we can be a top 3 powerhouse in CONCACAF until our PFL is on competitive level (including crowd attendance) with the other top leagues in CONCACAF.

The problem starts with the TTFF I believe and them implementing a long term development and marketing plan for our PFL. But our first port of call is in the removal of Camps and replacing him a proper football brain who is transparent and not a puppet of Jack.

Until we can replace Camps with someone competent for the job, I believe we are stuck!  :-[
Post by: Deeks on September 21, 2009, 09:27:09 PM
PFL should be able to do things without TTFF interference(wishful thinking). But getting a place for Jab/AIA to play closer to their home fans should be a priority. These  2 teams  seem to be 2  of the most popular clbs  in the league. Although Jab game against DCU was a nightmare in terms of crowd support. The two teams should be playing in Aranguez. The directors of both clubs should seriously asked the gov't to lease one of the playing fields. They should bar it round, put bleachers and toilets off course with lights and the two clubs can use that for their home games. They can both advertise together in that Morvant/laventille/Barataria/San Juan/Saddle/El Socoro/Aranguez/mt lambert/mt d'or communities. It is not that big, but certainly not that small either. It is a real pity to see them men playing in front of empty stadium.
Post by: arrow on September 22, 2009, 08:09:49 AM

Structure
4. 10 players, including the following 7 selected as a defensive unit for a considerable number of friendlies leading up to our next carribean cup games.

R. Abu Bakr, Makan Hislop, Akeem Adams, Sean Power, Akile Edwards, Julias James, Kern Cupid, Silvio Spann

Oh lord dat is we defensive options?  WE GORN THRU ALREADY!!
Post by: Trinimassive on September 22, 2009, 06:27:16 PM

Structure

Oh lord dat is we defensive options?  WE GORN THRU ALREADY!!

LOL scratch out who yuh think need to be gone. I done scratch out one fella.

He ah cool fella eh, but no way no he should be in defense that's for sure
Post by: Midknight on September 23, 2009, 08:06:42 AM
I'm glad to see where this thread going.

Originally, i wantes to call it a strategic action plan for 2014, but i realise if didn't have time to gitve it the detailed treatment it deserves.

I will comment on a lot of the points at a more opportune time. However as regards the defensive options, I just picked the guys who have had the most experience for club and country who reasonably young enough to avoid another Dog/Tallest backlog in the future.
However most people seem to ignore the part below it

"All possible combinations should be tried, and a definitive decision must be taken on our starting backline, possibly with the addition of Jlloyd at left back to three others if none of the available options step up. By the time qualifiers come around, we should know who our preferred back 4 is."

At the present moment, France ketching their nenen deciding on who their back 4 should be..almost 2 years after Thuram retire, and their qualification is far from aassured>
Post by: Socapro on October 03, 2009, 02:24:22 PM
Yeah folks who miss this thread need to take a read and contribute!  8)

It would be nice to get a sticky on this thread as well like the one regards the next TTFF elections!  ;)
Post by: WestCoast on October 03, 2009, 03:00:55 PM

It would be nice to get a sticky on this thread as well like the one regards the next TTFF elections!  ;)
buh you is a mod not so?
dem eh geh ya de Sticky key as yet or wha ;D
Post by: Socapro on October 03, 2009, 03:14:07 PM

buh you is a mod not so?
dem eh geh ya de Sticky key as yet or wha ;D

I'm only a Mod on the Culture & Entertainment Forum but not on any of the others!  ;)
Post by: AB.Trini on September 15, 2013, 10:41:51 AM
2014  soon come and gone for WC representation but what plans we putting down for 2018?