Sports => Football => Topic started by: freakazoid on September 28, 2009, 12:55:56 PM

Title: We are encouraging slackness
Post by: freakazoid on September 28, 2009, 12:55:56 PM
We are getting what we truly deserve and this shite about  good performance  and cinderella team is smoke being blown up our arse,   we playing the game like there is  no thought process involved in it, mind u the 1st thing to go when  a man tired is his "thinking" ablity.   ok so we we werent embarrassed, so everybody good. was that our aim? was that why all the money and time was invested? To not be embarrassed? we will never meet a weaker italian side than this one.

We went neck and neck with the italians so we should hold our heads  high, absoulte  and utter poppy cock.  no wonder we  cant produce a team that can  be world beaters, we still battling with inferiority complexes. how did the usa beat spain at the confed cup by saying this is the #1 team in the world  so we would do good to jus go neck to neck with them and lose.

our aim is way too low and I for one will not be congratulating this team who vex lost ,this is big men football. you screwed urself and i cannot applaud that. i really hate when we throw away a game announcers coming and say they made us proud. After all this time and effort to not b in contention to make the 2nd round  is really heart breaking  4 me. i cannot express that enough.if italy dont lose a game but dont make it out of this group u think the italian media would say this team made them proud?. not a chance in hell. we are settingthe standards   too low and for us competing is a win.  thats a losers mentality. i must admit as much as some jamiacans annoy me  sometimes i admire the mentality that they have, that no one is better than them and that mentality is evident in the way they play all sports. imagine a jamaican pardner giving me talks about their horse that won in santa rosa geez they compete 4 everything.

i really hate to lose  to a side thats not physically better than us. we need to stop encouraging a losers mentality   where jus competing makes us proud. if so then we dont belong on the world stage.
Title: Re: We are encouraging slackness
Post by: Trin on September 28, 2009, 01:03:17 PM
padner we will always be a Cinderella team. What u want a country of 1 million ppl to put out 11 all star world beaters? Get realistic they doh teach probability in school no more or what? I know u upset and I upset too that we didn't win or draw the game but if it was a win it would have been an upset. We will always be the Cinderella team of any world tournament we play in. Get used to it!
And doh come and do the tyical trini thing of trying to down play the performance please, sometimes Iz get so sick of this.... figgin Jamaicans do the complete opposite, why cant we.
Post by: freakazoid on September 28, 2009, 01:14:01 PM
right on cue trin, u kiina making mi point. loser mentality. can any1 remember greece's  odds of winning the euro 2004 cup?. based on ur weak argument of probability jamaica should not be kicking usa's butt in sprints. china should be dominating football hmmmmm. based on probablity the best  neurosurgeon  or golfer  in the world should not b a blackman  as those are  non-black dominated areas. sigh,   i  dont expect us to win the whole cup thats reality but i expect  us to beat a team that we are better than.
Post by: davidephraim on September 28, 2009, 01:19:00 PM
We are getting what we truly deserve and this shite about  good performance  and cinderella team is smoke being blown up our arse,   we playing the game like there is  no thought process involved in it, mind u the 1st thing to go when  a man tired is his "thinking" ablity.   ok so we we werent embarrassed, so everybody good. was that our aim? was that why all the money and time was invested? To not be embarrassed? we will never meet a weaker italian side than this one.

We went neck and neck with the italians so we should hold our heads  high, absoulte  and utter poppy cock.  no wonder we  cant produce a team that can  be world beaters, we still battling with inferiority complexes. how did the usa beat spain at the confed cup by saying this is the #1 team in the world  so we would do good to jus go neck to neck with them and lose.

our aim is way too low and I for one will not be congratulating this team who vex lost ,this is big men football. you screwed urself and i cannot applaud that. i really hate when we throw away a game announcers coming and say they made us proud. After all this time and effort to not b in contention to make the 2nd round  is really heart breaking  4 me. i cannot express that enough.if italy dont lose a game but dont make it out of this group u think the italian media would say this team made them proud?. not a chance in hell. we are settingthe standards   too low and for us competing is a win.  thats a losers mentality. i must admit as much as some jamiacans annoy me  sometimes i admire the mentality that they have, that no one is better than them and that mentality is evident in the way they play all sports. imagine a jamaican pardner giving me talks about their horse that won in santa rosa geez they compete 4 everything.

i really hate to lose  to a side thats not physically better than us. we need to stop encouraging a losers mentality   where jus competing makes us proud. if so then we dont belong on the world stage.

while Im sure i can understand your motivation and your points of rising above,  I feel Trin is correct and we must  temper our ambition against the fact that... We small as hell compared to the giants... That doesnt mean that David cant slay Goliath but every time david does as Trin say... is an upset.
Post by: Trin on September 28, 2009, 01:22:21 PM
I knew u wuda come with the Greece nonsense. U comparing apples and oranges Greece has a population of 11 million plus. There is a critical number of people that u need to have as a pool of resources if you want to, at least statistically, perform at a higher level consistantly. That is what makes Jamaica's performance in track and field all the more amazing. It has nothing to do with our "looser mentality" as u say. Far from it, we have a winner mentality and constantly box above our weight.

The difference with us and Jamaica, as u seem hell bent on keeping up this comparison, is that while we are realistic (bordering on pessimistic unfortunately) they are overly optimistic (annoyingly so sometimes as they border on delusional).

U see at the end of the day even though we want our guys to win every game and expect 100%, we realize that yes, to win this game would be an upset. But the ball is round and upsets happen and that's why I still support Trinidad football.  
Post by: kaliman2006 on September 28, 2009, 01:25:33 PM
right on cue trin, u kiina making mi point. loser mentality. can any1 remember greece's  odds of winning the euro 2004 cup?. based on ur weak argument of probability jamaica should not be kicking usa's butt in sprints. china should be dominating football hmmmmm. based on probablity the best  neurosurgeon  or golfer  in the world should not b a blackman  as those are  non-black dominated areas. sigh,   i  dont expect us to win the whole cup thats reality but i expect  us to beat a team that we are better than.

Jamaica kicks USA's butts in the sprints because sprinting is a a dominant part of Jamaica's sporting culture and the Jamaican athletic authorities actually invest the time and effort to develop world class sprinters.

The same cannot be said for the football authorities in Trinidad and Tobago.

The proper time and effort is not put into proper coaching for our young players and their deficiencies are evident to see at the U20 level.
Post by: gothic on September 28, 2009, 01:27:18 PM

freakazoid, i completely agree with you, the only reason this team didn't win or draw is because of belief, the italians believed that they are supposed to be winning and are contenders to take the entire competition and they fight to make it so.

they are not a better team than us but belief and lack of concentration for 90 minutes cost us a chance to make it to second round
Post by: D.H.W on September 28, 2009, 01:30:41 PM

freakazoid, i completely agree with you, the only reason this team didn't win or draw is because of belief,
the italians believed that they are supposed to be winning and are contenders to take the entire competition and they fight to make it so.

i disagree with the team not believing they could win the game. thats not what i saw.
Post by: Trinimassive on September 28, 2009, 01:38:52 PM

Jamaica kicks USA's butts in the sprints because sprinting is a a dominant part of Jamaica's sporting culture and the Jamaican athletic authorities actually invest the time and effort to develop world class sprinters.

The proper time and effort is not put into proper coaching for our young players and their deficiencies are evident to see at the U20 level.

Jamaica do well because they believe they could do well and compete everytime they are in competition.

Winter olympics come around they want to be in that. As they fella say above they even in Horse racing. T&T just don't think like that. We usually happy just being in the final whether it's a world cup game or 100m race. Jam actually compete to win.

We happy to tie ah game with sweden even if we don't score. They not only score 2 goals but win a game

We need to really be honest with ourselves.

Saying all that I think the game today the U20 played their hearts out and expected to get something from the game. If was the senior team based on their history they woulda been looking at a different story
Post by: dinho on September 28, 2009, 01:40:08 PM
i just curious.. what is allyuh expectations?

the team fight hard, and give sweat and blood.. we compensate for our inferior skill with superior fight.

we score a disallowed goal, when the man was offside on a technicality.

we rock up dey cross bar.. we test their keeper a few times well.. we bore dem to equalize and at that point was still pushing forward.

what more it is allyuh want again?
Post by: freakazoid on September 28, 2009, 01:40:34 PM

i hear your point but if u making a rebuttal u have to compare usa and jamaica's athletic progammes,  but anyways as to not stray from the point.

dont know where some ppl play football but where i play its 11 vs 11 and has nothing to do with the size of the country.  the fact of the matter is we should not have lost that game to italy, so leave  population out of this and  if we commend this performance as will be done ,  we  are teaching these guys a very bad lesson that will  only lead to weak teams.

right now in the epl, that man u team should not be winning as they are based on their squad( i find the team is real shite) but they are. THEY HAVE A WINNING MENTALITY. and if burnley  had the mentality of  tnt they would never  had beaten manu because they woulda think it cant be done.

what ur all are saying without even realising it is u all expect us to lose  every game so then when we do lose its no biggie cause your expectations was very low to start off  with.
Post by: Quags on September 28, 2009, 01:45:52 PM
This is ah  bullshit post Freak ,them boys probably ,on the bus back too the hotel ,just log een here only to read your drivel .  They must still drain and expecting ah nice try blokes.Instead yah blowing smoke up there asses .
Post by: dinho on September 28, 2009, 01:46:53 PM

i hear your point but if u making a rebuttal u have to compare usa and jamaica's athletic progammes,  but anyways as to not stray from the point.

dont know where some ppl play football but where i play its 11 vs 11 and has nothing to do with the size of the country.  the fact of the matter is we should not have lost that game to italy, so leave  population out of this and  if we commend this performance as will be done ,  we  are teaching these guys a very bad lesson that will  only lead to weak teams.

right now in the epl, that man u team should not be winning as they are based on their squad( i find the team is real shite) but they are. THEY HAVE A WINNING MENTALITY. and if burnley  had the mentality of  tnt they would never  had beaten manu because they woulda think it cant be done.

what ur all are saying without even realising it is u all expect us to lose  every game so then when we do lose its no biggie cause your expectations was very low to start off  with.

where you pulling all ah dis from...

Ok, so lets say Burnley had put in a solid performance, but had lose to Man United as expected. Do you think fans would be within their right to say they setting their expectations too low and should be beating Man United? Or do you think they would be happy that they show heart?

At the end of the day, (and i hope this is what you teach your kids), you could only ever ask someone to do their best.. and nothing more.

Thats what I saw out there today.. heart and determination.

The gulf in class was obvious. Dem fellahs cyah even trap the ball like them Italians. They dont have the same close control skill, and any attempt to beat was easily dealt with.

But yet men want to see a brand and a knockery, and vex when we play to our advantages and try to use long balls to exploit the physical presence of Gay.

allyuh good yes..
Post by: Bitter on September 28, 2009, 01:50:04 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: all offsides is technicality breds...

It's an infraction. i.e. a violation of a rule. i.e. a technicality.
Post by: Trin on September 28, 2009, 01:50:17 PM

What u saying is true to an extent but I see u unwilling to see this. How many goals did Tahiti get today? 8? The available resources play a huge part. Not only in your talent pool but also in how u fund and run your program. Its infinitely easier to get away with nepotism and corruption in a smaller country. (see TTFF).

At the same time my previous point holds true u bring up United and Burnley, yes they believed they could win and they did but what does the rest of the world call it? an UPSET. Yes they do happen. How much did Burnley collect this weekend? Remind me?
We do not expect us to lose. I expect us to fight and give it our all and try the best for the upset. I'm pretty sure that's what a Burnley fan would tell u too.
Post by: dinho on September 28, 2009, 01:54:21 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: all offsides is technicality breds...

It's an infraction. i.e. a violation of a rule. i.e. a technicality.

yeah true i guess.. i just meant that i think Italy would have felt lucky to have that disallowed.
Post by: freakazoid on September 28, 2009, 01:55:27 PM

the team fight hard, and give sweat and blood.. we compensate for our inferior skill with superior fight.

we rock up dey cross bar.. we test their keeper a few times well.. we bore dem to equalize and at that point was still pushing forward.

lawd i really feel i not from here dread.   werent u one of them who was talking in disgust of the spanner hyland rest on gerrard but lost d ball or something  like that?so  we rock their post so what? thats what u all  feeling proud of?. losing a game that we should of won? inferior skill? what game u was watching. u all are seeing ITaly  and like a wild animal in a head light allyuh freeze. inferiority complex. that is a weak  weak italian side who paraguay shoulda well brush up. expect egypt to boobolize them.  
what i am gathering is the fact that u ask what was our expectations means yours for the team was very low.    i expected this team to b in contention for the 2nd rounds and i said that b4 the tournament started.  so 4 u the team is exceeding expectations 4 me they have underperformed badly.   in that case    i wouldnt  spew flith on the board anymore, after all  a mentality does not come over night.

BE CHAMPIONS ( insert sarcasm here)
Post by: tempo on September 28, 2009, 01:58:42 PM
Yes our pool of players are limited by our population BUT the players we have identified from early as our best and brightest can be exposed to best practices and have good habits instilled by their coaches, teachers, and community. In fact, a country with such limited resources as ours must embrace modern approaches to sport or fail to grow. However, we don't and to make matters worse our players are constantly exposed to sub par coaching. I agree with Freakazoid that our bar has been set too low because we use our size as a crutch when in fact it can be great strength. We can compete and win at all levels, Even the "success" of the Germany performance was in large part based upon the hope that we didn't embarrass ourselves. We are encouraging slackness and mediocrity when we should be encouraging more.
Post by: Trin on September 28, 2009, 02:03:42 PM
Yes our pool of players are limited by our population BUT the players we have identified from early as our best and brightest can be exposed to best practices and have good habits instilled by their coaches, teachers, and community. In fact, a country with such limited resources as ours must embrace modern approaches to sport or fail to grow. However, we don't and to make matters worse our players are constantly exposed to sub par coaching. I agree with Freakazoid that our bar has been set too low because we use our size as a crutch when in fact it can be great strength. We can compete and win at all levels, Even the "success" of the Germany performance was in large part based upon the hope that we didn't embarrass ourselves. We are encouraging slackness and mediocrity when we should be encouraging more.

The available resources play a huge part. Not only in your talent pool but also in how u fund and run your program. Its infinitely easier to get away with nepotism and corruption in a smaller country. (see TTFF).

Post by: Bitter on September 28, 2009, 02:06:05 PM
i wouldnt  spew flith on the board anymore, after all  a mentality does not come over night.

At least we agree that you spewing filth ;D

Seriously, I think we catch your point, but most of us have a more realistic view of what would happen (esp after collecting 4 from Egypt) and thus are pleased.

Regardless, we are not of the mindset at this time to chastise the youths after a good performance. Best performance ever is an accomplishment, whether you think so or not.  

On Sunday, Wolves play well and still collect 5 from Sunderland, who played poorly. Is the glass half full or half empty?  Losing says we not good enough (the scoreboard is the only measure at the end of the day) But a good performance says we can take hope.

I have a question for all the coaches on this board, Name a player you have coached to have the mental and physical prowess you would like us to have? The programs you have put together to improve all these obvious deficiencies?

BE CHAMPIONS

It's a process.
Post by: kicker on September 28, 2009, 02:10:01 PM
Since when is applauding progress a loser mentality?  Nobody is applauding a loss...they're applauding the progress that seems evident. 

Freak I'm sure de fellas went out there to win- after the game the camera footage showed de young warriors lying on the field deflated and crying... What loser mentality?  What yuh want us as fans tuh do? - kick them while they're down.

And doh come talkin' that nonsense about Jamaica, USA & Greece- Show me a Greek football fan who expected Greece to do half as well as they did in Euro 2004...... No US fan expected them to beat Spain in the Confed Cup...In fact the majority of Americans didn't know that game was even on and couldn't care less...and trust me if the U.S. took spain the distance and lost respectably, they would have applauded their team's efforts...If Jamaica wants to stay there and according to you "think they are the best at everything", let them stay there...Last time I checked Jamaica hadn't qualified for a FIFA world tournament in a while so you could go ahead and trade places with them and their "winning" mentality if you want...Not me.....

There's alot to improve in TT football, and there are plenty trees to bark up to express that, but that doesn't take away from the fact that our warriors played their hearts out today, and I'm sure most will agree that this team's performance reflects progress at this level....so say what you want- our team represents us, and when it appears that they did their best and that progress is being made.... win, lose, or draw we will applaud them.
Post by: Bakes on September 28, 2009, 02:11:47 PM
I hear Freakazoid's point... at some point we have to stop settling for moral victories.

However, for all our footballing history (as we see it), we are still a very inexperienced and immature footballing nation.  Not to suggest that there's anything juvenile about our game, but we are still growing into our potential.  Some will inevitably bring up comparisons to the US, but as we all know there are certain factors that help catalyze the growing process and in my mind two such factors contributed to the US bypassing us on the way.  

The first is the most obvious: resources, both financial and talent resources.  The US may not necessarily have 'better' talent than us but they have a deeper pool from which to pull.  Their players have also been exposed to better quality opposition on a much more consistent basis than ours have.  On the club level they have more players playing against better opposition day in and day out; on the national level, the quality of games the US has played has been much better than what we have.  Iron sharpens iron; the better quality you face as a player the better the chance of your own game developing.  Of course the other resource advantage they have is the financial investtment in their game.

The second factor which catalyzed their growth as a footballing program was their participation in WC 1990, which obviously came at our disadvantage... and which correspondingly served to set our own growth back a few steps.

I bring all this up to say that yes, there indeed comes a point when we should stop settling for moral victories... but realistically speaking, it may be premature to say that that point is now... we must walk before we run after all.
Post by: Quags on September 28, 2009, 02:18:52 PM
So basically it not bad just outta timing .
Post by: Bakes on September 28, 2009, 02:20:05 PM

Again, good points but you have to remember that for the most part our players are amateurs... schoolboys masquerading as footballers.  We as a nation haven't fully embraced sport as an alternative to education, certainly not on the level that others have embraced it not so much as an alternative, but as a reality.  We need to have true academies, not the afterschool type programs we have in TnT.  Academies where all of a player's educational and sporting needs are provided in-house... their lives are structured around football, but they are provided educational instruction on the side as well.  As long as that 'side' classroom work is sufficient for them to progress to the tertiary level then that should be our goal... if we are to start producing world-class footballers on a more consistent basis.
Post by: kicker on September 28, 2009, 02:23:30 PM
we must walk before we run after all.

In a nutshell.
Post by: Fantastic on September 28, 2009, 03:19:08 PM
Not sure if this is exactly what Freakozoid trying to say.......but as we talking bout Jamaicans.....if Bolt with all he big name and talent come to de Olympics and run 10:42 in de 100m, does that mean Darrel Brown have to make sure de big name win and run 10:44? When team come to lorse, cut dey arse. Respect effort, but be realistic with what de big baller nations can normally put out there. If dey lapse and come sorf, we must punish them if we better, reputation and size have nothing to do with anything on de field at that point!
Post by: Deeks on September 28, 2009, 03:39:42 PM
Why JA has to come into this. Allyuh suffering from an inferiority complex or what?

Look our players just not there as yet. The guys played the best of their abilities. None ah allyuh can say that them guys did not put everything on the line today. They never back off from the romans. They were giving the the romans as much as they were getting from them. I doubt them fellas went out there to lose. They were fighting tooth a nail for each possession in comparison to the first game.

They did not hit as much long balls, they tried to control the ball much more and knock the ball around. But their passing let them down. The second goal was caused by a bad pass. That pass will haunt the player for while. Them yutes have to figure that on they own. All of them should serious look at the video and be honest with themselves and see what is their downfall. They don't have much time. The only thing Italy had on us was composure,  and their passing accuracy was better than us.

The next step for these guys are Digecel, CAC, Panam and Olimpics.
Post by: dinho on September 28, 2009, 04:13:11 PM

lawd i really feel i not from here dread.   werent u one of them who was talking in disgust of the spanner hyland rest on gerrard but lost d ball or something  like that?so  we rock their post so what? thats what u all  feeling proud of?. losing a game that we should of won? inferior skill? what game u was watching. u all are seeing ITaly  and like a wild animal in a head light allyuh freeze. inferiority complex. that is a weak  weak italian side who paraguay shoulda well brush up. expect egypt to boobolize them.  
what i am gathering is the fact that u ask what was our expectations means yours for the team was very low.    i expected this team to b in contention for the 2nd rounds and i said that b4 the tournament started.  so 4 u the team is exceeding expectations 4 me they have underperformed badly.   in that case    i wouldnt  spew flith on the board anymore, after all  a mentality does not come over night.

when you compare player for player, and squad for squad the teams in our group.. Exactly what makes you expect that we would make the second round?

I feel you under some illusions yes..

lemme tell you where i coming from.

the team cant exceed my expectations because i have none.. I hope for the side to do some damage, just like I was hoping for good results at the world cup in germany. but at the same time i not so blind as not to see that our team is not on the level of the other teams in our group. Imo, for me to expect anything more than the side to put its best foot forward is just fanatical delusion..

i vex we lose the game too... and especially under the circumstances where we were really in with a realistic chances of getting points from this game; and the manner in which we gave up the last goal. The references I made was just to highlight that we match them stride for stride. Where did I say I proud we hit post?

freaks, because we loss doesn't mean i can't see and applaud de fight.. I not in this business of fighting down my side at every opportunity. I will leave that for the other posters on this board who like to revel in negativity (by the way how come we never hear much from you guys when our team performs well??). I quite conscious of who we are and what we are capable of.

the boys played well.. and given that our players traditionally are generally outmatched at the youth level, but peak at comparatively later ages, their performance fills me with alot of hope and confidence for the future of football... and thats something I haven't been able to say for a looong time!
Post by: D.H.W on September 28, 2009, 04:18:58 PM

the boys played well.. and given that our players traditionally are generally outmatched at the youth level, but peak at comparatively later ages, their performance fills me with alot of hope and confidence for the future of football... and thats something I haven't been able to say for a looong time!

i agree :beermug:
Post by: davidephraim on September 28, 2009, 04:25:45 PM

But how can we leave population out of this... when de Americans call screening how much does come out or costa rica, mexico, even Honduras. Player pool plays a vital role in consistent football.
Post by: Jah Gol on September 28, 2009, 04:29:28 PM
I have been following this team since they were U15s. I've maintained that if the TTFF is getting anything right its the development of this stream of players. I share the view of  dissatisfaction with losing after playing bravely. It's a cop out in most cases. This performance however must be into perspective. It is clear we must do more to develop a winning mentality. However I don't think we should denigrate the progress made. We must objectively assess our performance and determine which areas need to be improved.  We must encourage our young players to work harder and smarter together in the quest for footballing excellence.
Post by: palos on September 28, 2009, 04:37:03 PM
I think where this performance is worthy of praise is not so much in the physical effort put out on the field, as great as it was, by the players.

It wasn't even that we've made progress and were truly unlucky to LOSE the match IMO...a draw would have been just reward I felt based on the balance of play.

I think this performance is noteable and praiseworthy mostly because for the first time I have been watching T&T football.....we played an opponent of the calibre of Italy....on the biggest stage these guys could play....and BELIEVE we could beat them.

You could see that our guys were not overawed.  We weren't beaten before the kickoff because it was Italy.  I saw GENUINE BELIEF that we could beat these guys.  And I don't remember seeing that ever before...not in Germany....not anywhere.

Maybe is jes me and I chose to see that or chose to ignore it on other occasions that it happened.  But when yuh see Hyland on de ground after de game, cryin...and yuh see de faces of we players...yuh realize dat dey KNEW...we coulda beat dem...it didn't happen.

DAT to me, is progress.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on September 28, 2009, 04:40:25 PM
palos yuh took the words out meh mouth...well said
Post by: dumpalewie on September 28, 2009, 04:56:32 PM

This is a pack ah assness yuh write here!!!

You have no concept of scale.

No one here likes to lose and we are not happy to be second best. People are only encouraged by a good performance. You have to crawl before you can walk. When have we ever been competitive at this level? In 1994 when USA lost 1-0 to a te-man Brazil team, were they slating their team? No, they were happy with the performance. In fact, the same team that beat Spain were commended for their performance in the final even though they lost after being 2-up.

Come again with this nonsense!!!
Post by: Observer on September 28, 2009, 04:57:02 PM
Did not see the game, but I spoke to several people who did (& they have no ties to T&T). They were impressed with T&T, especially after the Egypt performance. The most telling comment in my opinion was that T&T simply lost to a team that had experience enough to understand how to control T&T's game strengths & play for a result.
Now this is easy to say after the game, especially since nobody knows how Italy would have reacted should T&T have gone ahead.

All said indications are the T&T team showed marked improvement.
Post by: dumpalewie on September 28, 2009, 05:03:23 PM

Except that Paraguay did not brush them up.
Post by: freakazoid on September 28, 2009, 06:05:15 PM

this thread is dejavu though, strange anyways.

let mi break down 4 allyuh,  if a A+ student gets a B on a test do u congratulate and applaud them? no. u said u n do bad but i really expected better. however if    a D student gets a B u r overjoyed and u heap praises on them. the whole thing is , i viewed our team as A+ while most viewed it as D. thats it plain and simple.

after seeing italy play against paraguay i am sure we would of beaten them.  we had  the chance to and we blew it. contrast that to someone who  think italy would murder us  and didnt. we would really have totally different emotions after the game.  cant break it down further than that.

yeah and 4 those who find ah talk assness . keep it hush hush, manning  may get jealous
Post by: Bakes on September 28, 2009, 06:14:08 PM

let mi break down 4 allyuh,  if a A+ student gets a B on a test do u congratulate and applaud them? no. u said u n do bad but i really expected better. however if    a D student gets a B u r overjoyed and u heap praises on them. the whole thing is , i viewed our team as A+ while most viewed it as D. thats it plain and simple.

after seeing italy play against paraguay i am sure we would of beaten them.  we had  the chance to and we blew it. contrast that to someone who  think italy would murder us  and didnt. we would really have totally different emotions after the game.  cant break it down further than that.

yeah and 4 those who find ah talk assness . keep it hush hush, manning  may get jealous

So in short you not vex because the team didn't do well enough... you just vex b/c they didn't live up to your inflated expectations?  Compared to the competition they're facing at the WC I don't think you can call this team A+
Post by: Big Magician on September 28, 2009, 06:42:02 PM
too too... and very stink too too
Post by: Socafan on September 28, 2009, 07:05:02 PM
Freak I hear yuh yes man. Yuh hold this team in high regard. Me too. So when they eh do as well as yuh feel they should, thats a failure and somebody feet should be held to the fire. I agree. But for me the knock should not be on the team but on the coaching staff. I with yuh, no way this particular team, with so much quality shouldn't have made it to next round.......but it was bound to happen because the coaching wasn't/isn't great. I reserve my fire for the coaching staff, not the team.

The team was playing to instruction, kicking ball straight up top to tall forwards. That might be a good concept, except that our crossing and passing is not competent enough for that. Flawed coaching. This team needs a possession game through midfield. One setta man feel we players cyar dribble anymore. Thats because we eh getting to see the team play possession through the middle to the top of the box. What's annoying is that they CAN play the possession game, and knock ball through the box. We cyar even get Leston Paul in gear with the way they playing. Madness.

Doh knock the team rasta. My hope is a coach materializes who can bring out the best in these youths.....Latapy .....!!?? :rotfl: Wha yuh say?
Post by: freakazoid on September 28, 2009, 07:37:52 PM
that fact that allyuh interpreting wat i say all how is very interesting and its  kiinna mirroring   your  mentality . u all r saying cause the team  name italy we shouldnt beat them. i am not dealing with that. i am dealing with the italy team that was at this tournament (a weak team) and if u all after watching that game not disheartened that we lost but rather happy that we put up a fight  then we really on 2 different pages and we will have to agree to disagree.  the reason y our players play better for  their clubs may not be much of a mystery now that i think of it.

jus off the issue , if i say some black ppl are racist against "themself" would u say that i talking rubbish. jus curious
Post by: kicker on September 28, 2009, 08:10:35 PM

Freak based on this post, I think you overrated our team, and you underrated Italy.  Seriously, there was nothing to suggest that we would beat Italy.  There was nothing to suggest that we'd win a game in our group.  Our pre-tournament results weren't that good.  We lost to the U.S.  We lost to Australia.  We qualified 4th out of our confederation.  Not one of our players plays at a top club.  Our coaching staff is relatively unacccomplished.  You talk about after seeing Italy against Paraguay?  Italy got a point.  We lost our first game by 3 goals!!!  How could you view us as A+ ?  You're applying an inconsistent measuring stick in your assessment of Italy, as compared with your assessment of T&T.

This Italy team was weaker than one would expect Italy to be.  In all fairness, alot of their good youth players were not selected for this tournament- but even so, they were better than we were.  As bravely as we played today, Italy still had the upper hand on us in every department of the game.  They outpossessed us, They had twice as many shots as we did, and almost 3 times as many shots on target...and most importantly they put the ball in the back of the net more than we did.... Individually and collectively they were better.  The overall level of their play was better than ours, and it doesn't take much knowledge of football to see that individually and collectively they had more quality than we did...As weak as you thought they are, the fact is we are weaker, and you have no basis to refute that.

You overrated the young warriors, and you had no basis for doing so.   Doh vex with everyone else. 

We played as well as any indicators would suggest...and even better....loser mentality or not, we have all reason to applaud our team.
Post by: Trini on September 29, 2009, 05:41:42 AM
depends on how u view it...glass half full or half empty.

i believe the optimistic view is better in encouraging improvement.

Is like parenting for a child.

If you look at our history on the world stage of football, lets be honest, we are barely causing ripples.

we have qualified for 4 tournaments (hosted one other, so i won't realy count that too much as an actual on-d-field-achievement).

In the first tournament in 1991, we concede like 12 goals without scoring, totally outclassed with Dwight Yorke.

In 2006 in germany, we showed improvement by actually being competitive and getting our first point. the world took some notice.

in the U-17 in 2007, we scored our first goal (discounting the 2001 tournament in T&T), although we were comprehensively beaten in all the games.

Now in 2009, the U-20's are again competitive, and now scored in back to back games.

That to me shows some improvement over the 4 tournaments. If we were to score and be competitive vs Paraguay on thursday, that will be very good. The players now believe they can actually get points in world finals.  The mere fact that we arguing about how we should react when we lose in a FIFA finals tournament is in itself a good thing.
lets also not forget that we played perhaps the biggest name in world football that we have ever played (outside of Brazil a few times in the past). They are pure class, you can see it by that second goal they scored. There is no shame in losing to a goal like that.

Moving forward, the next important step for our football is to start blending some of these players with the senior team, and including the likes of Atilluah Guerra, Peltier and Elton john etc for what should be on paper one of our strongest ever assembled Olympic Teams. Qualifying for the Olympics should be viewed as absolutely essential. It will mean we will be the first caribbean nation to qualify ALL its teams for FIFA tournaments.

The game vs Paraguay will go a long way in defining how this tournament went for us.
A creditable display will round off a decent tournament.
A heavy defeat will damage our brave fight thus far.

The other big difference with this team and the seniors, you could see the fight in these youngsters. Losing is never a good thing, but when u give it your all, its a little easier to accept.

good luck vs Paraguay, which will  be a VERY VERY tough game, perhaps the toughest of all 3 games, as they still fighting for a qualification spot and we traditionally do not do well agasint these types of teams....
Post by: dumpalewie on September 29, 2009, 05:56:30 AM

Freak based on this post, I think you overrated our team, and you underrated Italy.  Seriously, there was nothing to suggest that we would beat Italy.  There was nothing to suggest that we'd win a game in our group.  Our pre-tournament results weren't that good.  We lost to the U.S.  We lost to Australia.  We qualified 4th out of our confederation.  Not one of our players plays at a top club.  Our coaching staff is relatively unacccomplished.  You talk about after seeing Italy against Paraguay?  Italy got a point.  We lost our first game by 3 goals!!!  How could you view us as A+ ?  You're applying an inconsistent measuring stick in your assessment of Italy, as compared with your assessment of T&T.

This Italy team was weaker than one would expect Italy to be.  In all fairness, alot of their good youth players were not selected for this tournament- but even so, they were better than we were.  As bravely as we played today, Italy still had the upper hand on us in every department of the game.  They outpossessed us, They had twice as many shots as we did, and almost 3 times as many shots on target...and most importantly they put the ball in the back of the net more than we did.... Individually and collectively they were better.  The overall level of their play was better than ours, and it doesn't take much knowledge of football to see that individually and collectively they had more quality than we did...As weak as you thought they are, the fact is we are weaker, and you have no basis to refute that.

You overrated the young warriors, and you had no basis for doing so.   Doh vex with everyone else. 

We played as well as any indicators would suggest...and even better....loser mentality or not, we have all reason to applaud our team.
Well said!!! :beermug:
Post by: elan on September 29, 2009, 11:25:18 AM
Alyuh not easy nah. T&F is an individual sport, where we were whipping the US recently.

Football teams need 22 players of which at least 14 needs to be 1st class. It will always be tough to get that with us from out limited player resources.

It's like being 5'4 and always wanting to be the dominant player in the NBA.
Post by: Raul on September 29, 2009, 12:25:22 PM
Performance = f(Natural Talent, Sustained Investment)

If I coulda have 22 children (for different mothers) and house them, clothe them, feed them and provide a coach & facilities for 20 years, then I sure Trinidad would win the World Cup.

It have nothing to do with size and probability, it is about taking the raw talent (which we have) and having a sustained & structured investment (which we can do, but don't).
Post by: kicker on September 29, 2009, 12:47:14 PM

If I coulda have 22 children (for different mothers) and house them, clothe them, feed them and provide a coach & facilities for 20 years, then I sure Trinidad would win the World Cup.

Propose that strategy to the TTFF...
Post by: Touches on September 29, 2009, 04:17:59 PM
I watching it this way....we work real hard to reach where we reach.

We did good considering the opposition, atmosphere, level of skill from the players and calibre of opposition.

But we will never anytime soon, get the chance to beat them two side again.

It was an opportunity lost.

We ent fed up learn from our mistakes...why it is a TT side from junior to senior cyar get it right when it matters.

We did so vs Guatemala, Mexico, Bahrain, Sweden and Bermuda...the rest is a setta hard luck horse...better next time.

I kinda on the side with Freakazoid in that we like to validate hard luck and excuses. Instead of overcoming them and getting it right when it matters.

Also yuh want to say Hard luck they try their best...and their best wasnt good enough...but really dat wasn't they best...and it is what they put out wasnt good enough.

Everyman on the team can play better or be more effective than what they show out there...we all know what they capable of and they did not deliver when it mattered.

Palos hit the nail on the head...they were crying cause they knew they could have won...and them fellas will never get nuttin so in life again.

But I proud of them, I glad we step up, I glad we can compete and we have shown the world we not there to make up numbers. Improvements noted and we move from creeping...we in waddling and fall down stage.
Post by: Observer on September 29, 2009, 05:36:57 PM

It have nothing to do with size and probability, it is about taking the raw talent (which we have) and having a sustained & structured investment (which we can do, but don't).

What over simplication! If it were so easy why does everyone not do it?
Why do you have different results?
Why did so many countries with footballing structures not make it?
Why do clubs who have 22 players from different mothers, at every age group from 10 to 20 not produce World Class players consistently?
If you do exactly what you said, their is a probability you could  only end up with one quality player, maybe none.
Post by: Kayus on September 29, 2009, 07:36:05 PM
the "small population" excuse have to stop dred. yes we are a small nation, but tnt produces a wealth of natural talent that can be compared to some of the top footballing nations in the world IMHO. the problem lies mainly in the nurturing and development of that talent, as well as the footballing culture freakazoid was speaking about. time after time tnt has come close to and even achieved some footballing milestones that would not be expected because of our so called small stature. the painful thing is that when we place ourselves in an excellent position to build on what we accomplished and take it to the next level, we take 10 steps back. and  a crippling paradox is created because of our "you did your best mentality" because it's like we expect to always be in the category of minnows because of excuse a, b, c etc.

now don't get me wrong, i am not saying be in an uproar and lambaste our boys if we lose to the brazils, italys etc. but don't write us off on paper, and be so "proud" of a "respectable" scoreline. that is just breeding the  mediocrity in our nations football that has been around for too long now. Kudos, however must be given to the U20s in this tourney because the truly showed that they were out there to WIN and  not fulfill the schedule. Once the mentality is there the results will follow please the Lord.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 29, 2009, 07:46:49 PM

What over simplication! If it were so easy why does everyone not do it?
Why do you have different results?
Why did so many countries with footballing structures not make it?
Why do clubs who have 22 players from different mothers, at every age group from 10 to 20 not produce World Class players consistently?
If you do exactly what you said, their is a probability you could  only end up with one quality player, maybe none.

Now, that's a rebuttal ...
Post by: dinho on September 29, 2009, 07:59:41 PM
Also yuh want to say Hard luck they try their best...and their best wasnt good enough...but really dat wasn't they best...and it is what they put out wasnt good enough.

Everyman on the team can play better or be more effective than what they show out there...we all know what they capable of and they did not deliver when it mattered.

this is where i will have to categorically disagree with you..

because from what i saw i thought them men played their best.
Post by: The_Ice on September 29, 2009, 08:10:44 PM

Palos hit the nail on the head...they were crying cause they knew they could have won...and them fellas will never get nuttin so in life again.

But I proud of them, I glad we step up, I glad we can compete and we have shown the world we not there to make up numbers. Improvements noted and we move from creeping...we in waddling and fall down stage.

reality is harsh. let us hope these fellas have the pride and the intelligence so that the lesson learnt. maybe its a good thing they went out there knowing they could have beaten them and instead lost. better to realise the implications now than never.
Post by: weary1969 on September 29, 2009, 08:16:20 PM

It need pride and intelligence from d TTFF as well
reality is harsh. let us hope these fellas have the pride and the intelligence so that the lesson learnt. maybe its a good thing they went out there knowing they could have beaten them and instead lost. better to realise the implications now than never.
Post by: Bakes on September 29, 2009, 11:17:26 PM
I watching it this way....we work real hard to reach where we reach.

We did good considering the opposition, atmosphere, level of skill from the players and calibre of opposition.

But we will never anytime soon, get the chance to beat them two side again.

It was an opportunity lost.

We ent fed up learn from our mistakes...why it is a TT side from junior to senior cyar get it right when it matters.

We did so vs Guatemala, Mexico, Bahrain, Sweden and Bermuda...the rest is a setta hard luck horse...better next time.

I kinda on the side with Freakazoid in that we like to validate hard luck and excuses. Instead of overcoming them and getting it right when it matters.

Can't disagree with much... but again I think we need to keep things in perspective.  One doesn't just wake up with a professional attitude, and I seriously think that's what's missing.  Particularly with the Italy match, all it takes is a single moment's lapse in concentration that makes the difference between victory and defeat.  Being a professional (not that I know) requires putting in a full 90-minute+ shift... not 89'55 or 89'59.  Yuh can't switch off not for a moment.... that's the type of focus they're running up against and sadly it bringing out their schoolboy qualities.  Thay type of focus only comes with experience and the young professionals being fielded by other countries have already developed that focus and experience on the basis of the frequency and quality of the matches they have had (a reasonable argument could be made for coaching as well).  Hopefully in time these youths will grow into their potential... else is lather, rinse, repeat.
Post by: palos on September 30, 2009, 12:50:05 AM
the "small population" excuse have to stop dred. yes we are a small nation, but tnt produces a wealth of natural talent that can be compared to some of the top footballing nations in the world IMHO.

I disagree.
Post by: nunu on September 30, 2009, 02:28:48 PM
I share the view of  dissatisfaction with losing after playing bravely.
your country only hav 1.35 million people man , you will never achieved what
Jamaica did in football . we did better than you at every  level , your best bet is to
defend and hope to win 1 nil . boo !  :P :rotfl:
Post by: Touches on September 30, 2009, 02:43:12 PM
Dinho,

Yuh categorically disagreeing with meh...alright.

So the performance by Hyland...dais the best he could do?, dais the best he ever play or could play?

Come Dinho understand what I getting at.

Hyland much better than that loss ball game he was playing.

Some of them fellas ent bring they "A" game to the field...they show heart and fight yes, but the experienced ones the ones who the others looking to and the ones to make things happen ent deliver.

Big players perform when it matters.

Dinho I happy for the fellas and the team and the effort...but I ent happy at the scoreline, we had a game to draw and another to win. We just ent deliver.

Post by: Pointman on September 30, 2009, 02:44:47 PM
Freak, ah hear what yuh saying and i understand where it coming from, however i don't believe that the TnT team(s) that take the pitch go out there to simply compete and not get embarassed.On the contrary, I believe that they go out there to win(as was evident vs Italy) we were just unlucky and lacked the necessary experience needed to win at that level. Those young warriors played their hearts out and had Italy worried and on any other day that first goal would have stood but say wha.

Let's see how they perform v Paraguay. With nothing to gain except to save face, let's see if our young warriors will leave it all on the pitch.
Post by: Socapro on September 30, 2009, 03:03:46 PM
I share the view of  dissatisfaction with losing after playing bravely.
your country only hav 1.35 million people man , you will never achieved what
Jamaica did in football
. we did better than you at every  level , your best bet is to
defend and hope to win 1 nil . boo !  :P :rotfl:

How did Jamaica come into this argument?

We have no care or concern for Jamaica round here!

Maybe you should change your name to ReggaeBoyz_Man cause is like you lost yuh way while surfing for the RB site?!

Try googling Reg-GAY football team and I am sure a million and one links will come up!

No need to thank me for directions!  8)
Post by: dinho on September 30, 2009, 03:25:12 PM
Dinho,

Yuh categorically disagreeing with meh...alright.

So the performance by Hyland...dais the best he could do?, dais the best he ever play or could play?

Come Dinho understand what I getting at.

Hyland much better than that loss ball game he was playing.

Some of them fellas ent bring they "A" game to the field...they show heart and fight yes, but the experienced ones the ones who the others looking to and the ones to make things happen ent deliver.

Big players perform when it matters.

Dinho I happy for the fellas and the team and the effort...but I ent happy at the scoreline, we had a game to draw and another to win. We just ent deliver.

the performance of a team is not just a sum total of individual player performances.. When you ever see a side play their best and you could say with assurance that every single player was on his A game? It always have a player or two that below par on the day, that is only natural..

When we tie with Sweden in the world cup, nuff men was saying that Stern play shit and was acting lazy, and that is a senior player and the one we looking for to deliver.. Doh even get me started me on Theobald in both the Sweden and England games..

As a whole unit, the team did the best they could imo.

I real confused how men could rate our performance against England in the World Cup but then cry down this performance against Italy. To me is the same thing.. We were unlucky against England with the hair pull, just as we were unlucky now against Italy with the momentary lapse by Clarence.

i ent happy with the scoreline either.. but all the talk about this team underperform is outright bullshit.
Post by: Bakes on September 30, 2009, 03:35:27 PM

How did Jamaica come into this argument?

We have no care or concern for Jamaica round here!

Maybe you should change your name to ReggaeBoyz_Man cause is like you lost yuh way while surfing for the RB site?!

Try googling Reg-GAY football team and I am sure a million and one links will come up!

No need to thank me for directions!  8)

Why?