Sports => Football => Topic started by: YoursTruly on September 30, 2009, 09:42:08 AM

Title: U-20 foursome included in T&T senior Team to face Costa Rica, Mexico.
Post by: YoursTruly on September 30, 2009, 09:42:08 AM
U-20 foursome included in T&T senior Team to face Costa Rica, Mexico.
By: Shaun Fuentes (TTFF Media).

National Under 20 foursome headed by captain Leston Paul have been invited to join Trinidad and Tobago’s National Senior Team for its two remaining matches in the 2010 World Cup qualifying campaign against Costa Rica and Mexico on October 10 and 14.

The 22-man squad, as announced by head coach Russell Latapy also includes English-born and Southampton midfielder Jake Thomson who made his debut for the Under 20s against Egypt last Thursday, goalkeeper Glenroy Samuel and defender Robert Primus.

The players are expected to join the senior team on their return to Trinidad this weekend as the team goes into camp before heading to San Jose on October 7.

Latapy’s team includes several regular faces but he will be without San Jose Earthquakes striker Cornell Glen who is nursing a cruciate ligament injury. Clayton Ince and Marvin Andrews have also been excused from these two games.

Regulars Carlos Edwards, Kenwyne Jones, Jason Scotland, Radanfah Abu Bakr and Dennis Lawrence are in the squad while Bolton Wanderers defender Jlloyd Samuel has also been recalled as well as Fulham striker Bobby Zamora who continues to indicate his eagerness to play for T&T.

DC United defender Julius James has also been invited by Latapy.

Among the home-based pros called up are Joe Public’s Hayden Tinto, Kerry Baptiste and Trent Noel, W Connection goalkeepers Marvin Phillip and Jan Michael Williams, Kern Cupid, Hughton Hector, Caledonia AIA duo Densill Theobald and Keon Daniel and Defence Force forward Devon Jorsling.

Thomson, who has rubbed shoulders with Kenwyne Jones and Stern John during their time at Southampton, said it would be an honour for him to represent T&T’s senior team.

“It’s been a real pleasure for me to represent Trinidad and Tobago in Egypt and for any player, the opportunity to make your debut for the big team, the senior team, is always going to be a big honour,” Thomson told TTFF Media.

“It’s my dream to play for Trinidad at the highest level and when that opportunity comes for me to play for the Senior Team I’m going to try and make the very best of it,” he added..

T&T will go into the match in San Jose against a Costa Rica team that is desperate for a win and which now being coached by former T&T head coach Rene Simoes.

The Brazilian was given the job after Rodrigo Kenton was axed a few weeks ago.

It is hoped that Simoes can bring stability back to the side, which has lost their last three matches, scoring no goals and conceding no less than eight. The Ticos actually led the ‘hexagonal' round for a long stretch, before losing their balance in a spectacular collapse.

A 4-0 thrashing at the hands of neighbours Honduras in August was followed up by a demoralizing 3-0 loss at home against Mexico and seemed to signify something was wrong in the camp. A 1-0 defeat to El Salvador on the road in their last outing then put Costa Rica's campaign, once so promising, in serious jeopardy.

The Brazilian manager, who also coached domestically in Brazil with Coritiba and Fluminense, is eager to get started and expects to be able to turn things around for the Central American powers. "

“A team that has gained 12 points in five qualifying games in CONCACAF has to be strong," Simoes said. "South Africa 2010 is still a good possibility for us because Costa Rica still has a strong team."

List of 22 T&T Players for upcoming WCQ matches Oct.10th & 14th, 2009

Goalkeepers
1. Marvin Phillip – W. Connection, 2. Jan Michael Williams – W. Connection, 3. Glenroy Samuel – T&T National Under 20 Team.

Defenders
4. Robert Primus  – T&T National Under 20 Team, 5. Kern Cupid – W. Connection, 6. Radanfah Abu Bakr – Swansea F.C., 7. Jlloyd Samuel – Bolton Wanderers, 8. Dennis Lawrence – San Juan Jabloteh, 9. Julius James – D.C. United.

Midfielders
10.Jake Thomson – T&T National Under 20 Team, 11.Trent Noel  – Joe Public F.C., 12.Densill Theobald – Caledonia AIA, 13.Leston Paul – T&T National Under 20 Team, 14.Keon Daniel – Caledonia AIA, 15.Hughton Hector  – W. Connection, 16.Carlos Edwards – Ipswich Town, 17. Hayden Tinto  – Joe Public F.C.

Forwards
18.Kerry Baptiste – Joe Public F.C., 19.Devon Jorsling- Defence Force, 20.Bobby Zamora – Fulham F.C., 21.Jason Scotland – Wigan Athletic, 22.Kenwyne Jones – Sunderland F.C.
Title: Re: Under 20 foursome included in T&T senior Team to face Costa Rica, Mexico
Post by: FF on September 30, 2009, 09:45:52 AM
Densill still getting call up?

Zamora really (still) want to play?

Decent squad though... nice to see Julius back in de mix
Title: Re: Under 20 foursome included in T&T senior Team to face Costa Rica, Mexico
Post by: dwolfman on September 30, 2009, 09:48:16 AM
Densill still getting call up?

Zamora really (still) want to play?

Decent squad though... nice to see Julius back in de mix

Why wasn't he there all along? I wonder how these U-20s will be used, if they will be used at all. It couldn't hurt to rub shoulders with senior players, but I just hope that the losing attitude doesn't rub off.
Post by: Trinidogg on September 30, 2009, 09:49:39 AM
I disagree with calling up Jones just because of the trouble it can cause him, but you never know maybe KJ said he wanted to come.
Post by: Bitter on September 30, 2009, 09:51:17 AM
So much to say:

Cap Jake Thomson one time.
Slide out the old heads
Why we still bothering with Zamora?
On paper, looks good.  Too bad we don't play the games on paper.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 30, 2009, 09:51:55 AM
Birchal not included for what reason

I Cannot wait till October 14th comes to an end... WHAT A NIGHTMARE CAMPAIGN

And they still bothering with that Big Eye f**k who plays for Fulham?

I glad J.James in the mix...finally

The lack of CM's is madness... Birchy should be there
Post by: Trinidogg on September 30, 2009, 09:53:12 AM
Zamora can still help the team if he still wanna play for us i guess thats why we bothering with him... and JJ get call up didnt even book that sad latapy calling these players when we done knocked out.
Post by: theworm2345 on September 30, 2009, 09:55:01 AM
I wonder why Latas has never played Hyland since the US away game.  I remember he was called up and then his brother passed away and he didn't play but I don't think he's been called up since then.  Birchall's out as well  :-\

Regulars Carlos Edwards, Kenwyne Jones, Jason Scotland, Radanfah Abu Bakr and Dennis Lawrence are in the squad while Bolton Wanderers defender Jlloyd Samuel has also been recalled as well as Fulham striker Bobby Zamora who continues to indicate his eagerness to play for T&T.
Cue Big Magician
Post by: pardners on September 30, 2009, 09:55:10 AM
I know real men go be happy about the Julius James call up...JC and Sam ?

They should give Thompson a sweat, so he go cyah change he mind later and want to play for England seniors.

We would just have to wait and see if Zamora would get injured again...or if the team doctor will advise him against travelling...what with his head-stuck-up-his-arse-syndrome he seems to suffer from everytime T&T has a qualifier.
Post by: Trinimassive on September 30, 2009, 09:55:33 AM
YES

At least the rebuilding has begun.

As far as Zamora if he show up good. He may not score a lot of goals but he have real hustle in his game he don't just stand around and stroll around the park like he lost.

The U20 need to play in this game this is really good experience for them.

Ah see Hyland get leave out again by Latas. Cyah blame Latas fuh that one, Hyland hasn't looked the part in the U20 tournament so far.
Post by: dwolfman on September 30, 2009, 09:58:16 AM
I disagree with calling up Jones just because of the trouble it can cause him, but you never know maybe KJ said he wanted to come.

I don't see why we shouldn't call him up to play, unless the thinking is he won't perform at his best (which he may not be doing anyway). We might as well play our strongest team, which is why if Zamora is willing to play why not cap him now? This campaign might be over, but the world doesn't stop turning. We should be always trying to improve our team. There are the "future picks" who can contribute a little now, but really we expecting to pay dividends over the next two 4-year cycles and the immediate benefits who you expecting to strengthen the team over the next 2-4 year period.
Post by: noize on September 30, 2009, 10:08:15 AM
I really like the call ups...I but  dont think Birchall should be left out while that Shyte snake Theobold is still being called up...Loud Steeeups!!!!...On paper the back line and midfield looks younger and faster that is a step in the right direction so we will see how the young players are going to be used...looking forward to the game as the rebuilding has started.
Post by: Fyzoman on September 30, 2009, 10:09:56 AM

I don't want to jump de gun...but if Birchall not injured or didn't indicate that he didn't want to play, well Latas finally doing what he wanted to do all along (get rid of Beenhaker's white boy)....why call J. James now and not before??

I and all ready for dis to be over and for we to get ah foreign coach and leave all dis bullsh&t behind!

What no Akile ;D
Post by: Trinidogg on September 30, 2009, 10:11:57 AM

I don't see why we shouldn't call him up to play, unless the thinking is he won't perform at his best (which he may not be doing anyway). We might as well play our strongest team, which is why if Zamora is willing to play why not cap him now? This campaign might be over, but the world doesn't stop turning. We should be always trying to improve our team. There are the "future picks" who can contribute a little now, but really we expecting to pay dividends over the next two 4-year cycles and the immediate benefits who you expecting to strengthen the team over the next 2-4 year period.
Fair enough but i just feel like Bruce go be on sum next shit again and is it really worth it at this point?... But if they wanna try rebuilding now all good but Hyland and Birchall should be in the squad.
Post by: palos on September 30, 2009, 10:14:59 AM
JUSTICE for Lydon "Chubby" Andrews!!!!  >:( >:(
Post by: STEUPS!! on September 30, 2009, 10:16:15 AM
aaaaahhhhh!
dis squad is so refreshing....well except for bleeder and zamora. ah cud do widout dem two.

ah worried bout birchall not gettin called up. sometting went on dat we eh know bout ah wah?. as far as i know he got over his injury, not so?
Post by: palos on September 30, 2009, 10:17:40 AM
ah worried bout birchall not gettin called up. sometting went on dat we eh know bout ah wah?. as far as i know he got over his injury, not so?

Deemed to be not good enough.  Apparently.
Post by: Peong on September 30, 2009, 10:19:08 AM
:applause:

Jake Thompson is a midfielder or defender?

Post by: dwolfman on September 30, 2009, 10:19:36 AM
Fair enough but i just feel like Bruce go be on sum next shit again and is it really worth it at this point?... But if they wanna try rebuilding now all good but Hyland and Birchall should be in the squad.

I would say yes it is worth it for us to play our best players, even with nothing at stake. I understand Bruce's predicament as well, but in that case it is up to KJ to make himself unavailable (after discussing it with either manager). He knows the importance of his employ at Sunderland and the position he'll be in if he leaves to play for T&T. In the meantime I agree with Latas to pick him once he's available.

In a squad selection it's difficult to get universal agreement. People can make arguments for the likes of Birchall, et al and I may agree with some of them. In the end the manager choose who he felt can give him what he wants. Generally I think it's a good squad.
Post by: STEUPS!! on September 30, 2009, 10:21:20 AM

by who tho? latas?  ???
Post by: palos on September 30, 2009, 10:22:29 AM

by who tho? latas?  ???

Who else?

It eh become clear to you BY NOW who was pickin de side ALL DE TIME since de Guatemala game in Guatemala?

Who yuh tink pick Chubby Andrews?  And drop him?
Post by: FF on September 30, 2009, 10:23:11 AM
oh gawd i forget birchall when i review the squad...

i going and choose to believe they excusing him for the MLS playoffs
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 30, 2009, 10:27:32 AM

Both.
Title: Re: U-20 foursome included in T&T senior Team to face Costa Rica, Mexico.
Post by: Peong on September 30, 2009, 10:29:39 AM

Both.

Back line from now till 2014:

Thompson   Abu Bakr   JJ  Samuel 
Post by: STEUPS!! on September 30, 2009, 10:30:17 AM

by who tho? latas?  ???

Who else?

It eh become clear to you BY NOW who was pickin de side ALL DE TIME since de Guatemala game in Guatemala?

i doh tink latas vindinctive so to jus drop me mum off ah bad mind ting.

and i also dont think latas has 100%  say on who is on d team. but daiz jus me  :-\
Title: Re: U-20 foursome included in T&T senior Team to face Costa Rica, Mexico.
Post by: de_redman on September 30, 2009, 10:36:57 AM
Theobald but no Birchall?  ???

Utter nonsense!  >:(
Post by: Fyzoman on September 30, 2009, 10:42:46 AM

by who tho? latas?  ???

Who else?

and i also dont think latas has 100%  say on who is on d team. but daiz jus me  :-\

We go see...ah tell allyuh ahready I watch Latas response to Birchall when he get subbed out in Chicago (where he was de best player on de field) and ah get ah bad vibes...since then i watching tricks..hopefully he wasn't selected because-like someone else suggest-of the MLS playoffs.....at any rate i ready for a new foreign coach!
Post by: palos on September 30, 2009, 10:43:57 AM

Both.

Back line from now till 2014:

Thompson   Abu Bakr   JJ  Samuel 

Primus before JJ any day.
Post by: Sam on September 30, 2009, 10:49:19 AM
How come we does get smart when we have nothing to lose.

Glad to see Julius James in de mix.

Nice call Latapy, now do the right thing and

Christopher Birchall to replace Densill Theobald.

Juma Clarence to replace Jason Scotland.

Uriah Bentick to replace Keon Daniel.

Expect Devon Jorsling and Jan Michael Williams to get drop.

It is important to call up some of our foreign players who the youths look up to like Jones, Edwards, Lawrence and Jlloyd, it will only improve them.

NICE TEAM

Phillip
Primus, Lawrence, James, Samuel
    Edwards, Noel, Thomson, Hector
             Baptiste, Jones
Post by: Bakes on September 30, 2009, 10:52:31 AM

Remember Birchall is still coming off injury and wasn't even playing full games for the Galaxy before that.  Match fitness might be an issue, as well as a desire to let him ease back into form.  He rocked the upright with a wicked 30-yard free kick last week... incidentally.

... but the cynical view is also a possibility, who knows.
Post by: Sando on September 30, 2009, 10:55:24 AM

It is important to call up some of our foreign players who the youths look up to like Jones, Edwards, Lawrence and Jlloyd, it will only improve them.

NICE TEAM

Phillip
             Baptiste, Jones

Like your team Sam.

Thomson will make a good central midfield along Paul. And we need a solid right back, Primus is perfect.
Post by: Controversial on September 30, 2009, 11:02:17 AM
hyland overrated, way too overrated... the best team starting to get pick now bc the money done pass... :o
Post by: injunchile on September 30, 2009, 11:09:36 AM
Good squad. Would have liked to see Birchill and Hyland . The rebuilding has started, let us see what Brand Latas playing. I have a feeling Corneal recommended that four from the under 20's. I am curious about the status of the coaching staff after Thursday and after the Mexico game.
 Oh Well- Patience is a virtue. Two wins and Latas business fix.
Post by: Arimaman on September 30, 2009, 11:11:24 AM

NICE TEAM

Phillip
             Baptiste, Jones

Like your team Sam.

Thomson will make a good central midfield along Paul. And we need a solid right back, Primus is perfect.
Based on what?  From my understanding he is an outside midfielder and is accustomed to the flank, what would justify this statement?  Playing on the flank then being asked to play in the middle of the park requires a "huge" adjustment.  It is not that simple my friend.

Nonetheless what the arse Brichall do boy?  Latas, I can only contend that picking Theobold is ah friend friend thing....that is Bull Sh@# to pick Theobold in front of Birchall unless due to injury...Well either that or Latas just fricken blind...(mind yuh, I is a Latas supporter eh).....
Post by: Babalawo on September 30, 2009, 11:15:29 AM
start all the u-20 team. let them get even more experience. only call back Kenwyne, birchall, and Glen (if healthy).  Leave out all who over 30, including carlos
Post by: Savannah boy on September 30, 2009, 11:17:08 AM
Thomson will make a good central midfield along Paul

Thomson have a real weak left foot...cyah put him in Center Mid.
Post by: Bally on September 30, 2009, 11:19:01 AM

NICE TEAM

Phillip
             Baptiste, Jones

Did any body stop to think that Latas picking player he know or see play, he never saw Julius play until the DC UNITED game he never played with Darrel Roberts or see him play with the national team so he picks players he has played with or see play locally  
Post by: Quags on September 30, 2009, 11:27:59 AM

NICE TEAM

Phillip
             Baptiste, Jones

Did any body stop to think that Latas picking player he know or see play, he never saw Julius play until the DC UNITED game he never played with Darrel Roberts or see him play with the national team so he picks players he has played with or see play locally  
We should put up and buy latas a TV and Vcr .
Post by: Quags on September 30, 2009, 11:29:47 AM
start all the u-20 team. let them get even more experience. only call back Kenwyne, birchall, and Glen (if healthy).  Leave out all who over 30, including carlos
Why not keep Tinto ,Samuel, and Bakr . I guess.
Post by: Boodsy on September 30, 2009, 11:31:21 AM

NICE TEAM

Phillip
             Baptiste, Jones

i fuh dat  :rotfl:
Post by: noize on September 30, 2009, 11:32:21 AM
                   Phillip
             Baptiste, Jones

Primus plays RB too???...isn't he a Center Back??...and why would Thomson be in the center of midfield?...wouldnt he be a future RB or right midfielder?

My possible future side

Phillip
Thomson, Bakr, (James/Primus), Samuel
    Edwards, Noel, (Hector/Paul) ,Tinto
              Scotland, (Jones/Baptiste)
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 30, 2009, 11:53:36 AM
From this my squad will be

----------------------Phillips--

--Carlos-------Lawrence-----Abu Bakr------Samuel

--Thomson-----Noel--------Bleeder---------Hector

---------------KJ----------Scotty

Latas will start Abu Bakr and I would like to see the Abu Bakr and J.James partnership for 1 of the games..
Post by: Ngozi on September 30, 2009, 12:13:58 PM

Remember Birchall is still coming off injury and wasn't even playing full games for the Galaxy before that.  Match fitness might be an issue, as well as a desire to let him ease back into form.  He rocked the upright with a wicked 30-yard free kick last week... incidentally.

I supporting that ... Birchy much too important to this team to just be discarded just so .... we need to build a team to dominate the caribbean and concacaf tournaments whilst we await 2014 seeing some good call upsI do think the dark horse Juma clarence need to given a chance to see how he will perform at this level does he start for petrotrin?
Post by: Themanfriday on September 30, 2009, 12:28:19 PM

Latas will start Abu Bakr and I would like to see the Abu Bakr and J.James partnership for 1 of the games..

you put KJ and Scotty up front  ???

you know that broth spoil. try something else
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 30, 2009, 12:29:27 PM
I would have prefferred if Latapy left out Jones and  Zamora and called one of Juma clarence, Gay or Trent Lougheed. T&T has to completely overhaul the national team and if the coach continues to be conservative with his selections we will have to have problems. Glad to see James and Primus in the mix.

Waiting to see whether Latas will bring along LPaul, as a holding mid or CM

Post by: maxg on September 30, 2009, 12:29:42 PM
theobald, Daniel   (http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:Nc-kGEZnDcDbcM:http://clawback.files.wordpress.com/2008/09/umpire.jpg)

Birchall, Roberts

(http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:8B4OrjDob96ghM:http://i640.photobucket.com/albums/uu121/Owain1927/umpiring.jpg)
Post by: palos on September 30, 2009, 12:46:49 PM
I would have prefferred if Latapy left out Jones and  Zamora and called one of Juma clarence, Gay or Trent Lougheed.

Based on what bro?

What about Andre Toussaint, Scott Sealey, Darryl Roberts, Keyon Edwards, Kevon Carter, Lester Peltier just to name a few?  Dem doh deserve a shot ahead of these guys?  Juma score 1 goal and all of a sudden it seem like he is de name on EVERYBODY lips? 

I not against givin youths a shot, but shouldn't one EARN one's call up to the highest honour one can achieve in the game first?

Just because that principle hasn't been adhered to in the past doesn't mean it should not be implemented.  Jes my opinion.
Post by: NUFF on September 30, 2009, 01:03:58 PM
Ever since Latapy take over Birchall has been slowly pushed to de sidelines.  At least dais how it look from my point of view.  Birchall and Carlos Edwards would be the first two players in my starting 11 once dey not injured.  Birchall may not have de flair that Latapy likes but  his fighting spirit is second to none on de national team.
Post by: noize on September 30, 2009, 01:09:03 PM

Bleeder???...gimme ah big stone over Bleeder. ;D.....and why would we play Carlos in the back if we building ah team for the future??....Carlos is one our best threats going forward ...he is only in the back cause we have no options at RB at the moment ...hopefully somebody can show that they can hold that spot between Primus and Tompson...If Primus could play it... all the better ...I would put Thompson in Right midfield and Carlos on the left...and I agree with Palos It have plenty man in the Pro-league that deserve a chance as we build the team from scratch.

--------------Phillips--

-Primus------Abu Bakr---- James------Samuel

--Thomson-----Noel-------Hector/Daniel-------Carlos

---------------KJ/Baptiste----------Scotty
Post by: supporter on September 30, 2009, 02:15:46 PM
Densill? Really?.................Really? :frustrated:

At least Julius got a deserving callup.
Post by: Fyzoman on September 30, 2009, 02:39:48 PM

NICE TEAM

Phillip
             Baptiste, Jones

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: ah rel like dat! but Quags yuh know men go counter and say, seeing ah man play on TV different than seeing him play in real.....I want ah foreign coach!
Post by: Brownsugar on September 30, 2009, 02:46:28 PM
.......is Bull Sh@# to pick Theobold in front of Birchall unless due to injury...Well either that or Latas just fricken blind...(mind yuh, I is a Latas supporter eh).....

Ah fix it for you....is just plain  :bs: :bs:
Post by: The_Ice on September 30, 2009, 02:53:25 PM

he played the full 90 for the last 2 games tho... i dunno what's up w/ not calling him up unless he asked to be excused to seal his place on the side. oh well. i hope they not discarding him b/c the man doing wonders these days.
Post by: just cool on September 30, 2009, 03:04:33 PM

NICE TEAM

Phillip
             Baptiste, Jones

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: ah rel like dat! but Quags yuh know men go counter and say, seeing ah man play on TV different than seeing him play in real.....I want ah foreign coach!
Fur real!! and while we @ it, another federation!
Post by: just cool on September 30, 2009, 03:18:41 PM

FUR REAL!! latas need tuh go back scotland, and take jason , keon and bleeder wid him! finally he gave julius ah call up, but ah century later! like quag said, we need tuh buy the fella ah TV and VCR.

well boy darrly, yuh only prayer is tuh hope latas get the axe and ah man like wim fall in to take the helm that yuh may get ah bligh, ah still don't want tuh believe yuh international career is over.

no way scotland, jorslin, baptiste, and i'll go as far as to say jones, better than roberts, not even in the midfield, bleeder, hector, or daniel.

another bredder who sukin salt right now iz hyland, him and collin. we had enough talent tuh beat any team in concacaf and compete for ah top three spot for south africa! the reason why we failed was BC of our coaches and the lack of care by a disruptive federation.

jack/camps  pancho corneal and latas had made 2008/2009 ah nightmare campaign with their meddling.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 30, 2009, 03:24:05 PM
I would have prefferred if Latapy left out Jones and  Zamora and called one of Juma clarence, Gay or Trent Lougheed.

Based on what bro?

What about Andre Toussaint, Scott Sealey, Darryl Roberts, Keyon Edwards, Kevon Carter, Lester Peltier just to name a few?  Dem doh deserve a shot ahead of these guys?  Juma score 1 goal and all of a sudden it seem like he is de name on EVERYBODY lips? 

I not against givin youths a shot, but shouldn't one EARN one's call up to the highest honour one can achieve in the game first?

Just because that principle hasn't been adhered to in the past doesn't mean it should not be implemented.  Jes my opinion.

I don't think Jones overall performances in RWB warranted a definite recall for this game. His manager in Sunderland looking to ship him out, the national coach should be sending a similar message. Granted he is unique among our forwards and he fought hard against the USA, but a little uncertainty wouldn't hurt him. Gay woulda be a nice little experiment to replace him.

As for Clarence, I could argue the same for Leston Paul...he is not even a professional player. Why not call up Atuallah Guerra? Ent he earn it more than Paul? Or Marvin Oliver, Jason Marcano. Rochford also did well, why not him. Hell why not Arnold Dwarika..he ripping up the PFL . 8)

Kicks aside Palos, you notice is not just Clarence name I call. Gay has already repped on the senior team and scored. Lougheed already get a call up from Latas. Did you feel that Lougheed did not earn it then?

I not on this Johnny-come-lately-flava-of-the-month scene with players. But  the man step up and perform under heavy pressure. When last a T&T forward (besides Stern) do that? Let the youth get exposure and attention so we could ship he backside out the country so a real coach could help improve his game
Post by: King Deese on September 30, 2009, 03:45:03 PM
The rest ah allyuh doh get it yuh know.

What latas is trying to tell allyuh is that the rest ah allyuh doh look as good as Densil. Did you see him in "Training Day", ah mean on Training Day, he looks good there. He was after "The Preacher's Wife" too, well Latas ain't too sure but that is why he has to keep him close. Did allyuh see him when he "Cried Freedom" from the blacklist? Man that was ah Oscar winning performance. He looks like an "American Gangster" too that is why Latas can't leave him off the team. Latas fraid dah man. Latas needs him to "act" like ah midfielder too but allyuh want Latas to "X" him out. NOT HAPPENINGGGGGGGGGG, you dig. Densil is the "Inside Man" on the football team and he knows something allyuh don't know that come October 10th, it will be "Deja Vu" all over again.

SUCKERSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.
Post by: palos on September 30, 2009, 03:49:32 PM
I don't think Jones overall performances in RWB warranted a definite recall for this game. His manager in Sunderland looking to ship him out, the national coach should be sending a similar message. Granted he is unique among our forwards and he fought hard against the USA, but a little uncertainty wouldn't hurt him. Gay woulda be a nice little experiment to replace him.

As for Clarence, I could argue the same for Leston Paul...he is not even a professional player. Why not call up Atuallah Guerra? Ent he earn it more than Paul? Or Marvin Oliver, Jason Marcano. Rochford also did well, why not him. Hell why not Arnold Dwarika..he ripping up the PFL . 8)

Kicks aside Palos, you notice is not just Clarence name I call. Gay has already repped on the senior team and scored. Lougheed already get a call up from Latas. Did you feel that Lougheed did not earn it then?

I not on this Johnny-come-lately-flava-of-the-month scene with players. But  the man step up and perform under heavy pressure. When last a T&T forward (besides Stern) do that? Let the youth get exposure and attention so we could ship he backside out the country so a real coach could help improve his game

I honestly didn't know Latas did call up Lougheed.  I doh remember it buh say wha.  Latas call back Chubby so any number could play yes.  Thanx fuh dat reminder in trute because it eh make no sense tryin to make sense wit dem kinda selections.  Jes sit back and see how it all play out.
Post by: benedicts bwoy on September 30, 2009, 03:57:49 PM
The rest ah allyuh doh get it yuh know.

What latas is trying to tell allyuh is that the rest ah allyuh doh look as good as Densil. Did you see him in "Training Day", ah mean on Training Day, he looks good there. He was after "The Preacher's Wife" too, well Latas ain't too sure but that is why he has to keep him close. Did allyuh see him when he "Cried Freedom" from the blacklist? Man that was ah Oscar winning performance. He looks like an "American Gangster" too that is why Latas can't leave him off the team. Latas fraid dah man. Latas needs him to "act" like ah midfielder too but allyuh want Latas to "X" him out. NOT HAPPENINGGGGGGGGGG, you dig. Densil is the "Inside Man" on the football team and he knows something allyuh don't know that come October 10th, it will be "Deja Vu" all over again.

SUCKERSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Dat was ah good one yes, never to late in de day for ah good laugh!
Post by: Big Magician on September 30, 2009, 04:37:10 PM
another statment of "eager to play for tnt "..from TTFF MEDIA....
Post by: Small Change on September 30, 2009, 05:19:50 PM
Why de F***, Dennis Lawerence and Trent Noel in this squad?? WHY???????????

TnT is already out, why not use most of the Under 20's for them to get that experience now? Latas is just as dumb as the TTFF!!!

Same crap over and over. TnT WILL never learn. TnT Will never move ahead. We were lucky to be in Germany and we probably never see another WC!

The under 20 team should play the last 2 games. What is the sense calling back those over seas pros, who did poorly in the campaign? Let the young boys gain the exposure from now. It matters not if we get 10. Those boys will learn. But we TnT Football is a REAL jokes yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Real Joke! Dennis Lawerence???? Denzil??

Stwps!!!!

WE WILL NEVER IMPROVE!!!

WE WILL NEVER ADVANCE!!!
Post by: royal on September 30, 2009, 05:35:35 PM
how allyuh men jumping the gun so with Birchall.Suppose,just suppose he asked to be excused for these games.
Post by: palos on September 30, 2009, 05:46:49 PM

TnT is already out, why not use most of the Under 20's for them to get that experience now? Latas is just as dumb as the TTFF!!!

Same crap over and over. TnT WILL never learn. TnT Will never move ahead. We were lucky to be in Germany and we probably never see another WC!

The under 20 team should play the last 2 games. What is the sense calling back those over seas pros, who did poorly in the campaign? Let the young boys gain the exposure from now. It matters not if we get 10. Those boys will learn. But we TnT Football is a REAL jokes yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Real Joke! Dennis Lawerence???? Denzil??

Stwps!!!!

WE WILL NEVER IMPROVE!!!

WE WILL NEVER ADVANCE!!!

So lemmeh get dis straight.

Latas should discard all de experienced players, in favour of the youths so that they could get experience?  In an away game?

So when dem Costa Ricans and dem turn on de heat on dey field turf in we youths tail, it eh have nobody on de field to help dem wit de experience.  Dey should jes sink or swim....like Kern Cupid against England.

Yeah....dat does real good for de confidence in trute.  Perhaps Latas should jes bite de bullet and play de U17's one time.  Some a dem could make 2014 too.
Post by: Sam on September 30, 2009, 05:49:31 PM
So who is the right back on the team ? seems we fix the left back position for now. We cant keep putting our best attacking option in right back position (Carlos Edwards).

And Thomson is NO right back, we have 3 right wingers in Edwards, Tinto and Thomson and no right back...

Have no fear Latapy is a magician....
Post by: maxg on September 30, 2009, 05:59:42 PM
If the youths didn't get enuff experience to handle a CR playing at a U20 WC, and all the prep involved, then no further experience will improve their playing ability 1 iota..might as well discard them now
Post by: palos on September 30, 2009, 06:01:24 PM
So who is the right back on the team ? seems we fix the left back position for now. We cant keep putting our best attacking option in right back position (Carlos Edwards).

And Thomson is NO right back, we have 3 right wingers in Edwards, Tinto and Thomson and no right back...

Why not Edwards in de right back position?

Who can play it better than he can?

And playing right back doesn't prevent him from getting up in the play.

Tinto is an adequate cover for Carlos going forward.  He not as good as Carlos of course, but Tinto plays right wing better than anybody else plays right wing back so Carlos is more needed there on the team.

As for Thompson being a winger...I not so sure.  He might be playing there because it's a position of need in the U 20 squad, but perhaps not because it's his preferred position.
Post by: davidephraim on September 30, 2009, 07:54:42 PM
Thompson is our future Carlos. Lets ensure from now he could cross the ball. Would be good to see him playing inside of Carlos on de flank....

My Side...
               G. Samuel

Carlos  Abu   Lawrence   Samuel

Thompson  Tinto  Noel   Hector 

KB   KJ

subs... Lawrence will get tired / JJames - Hector is inexperienced / Daniel - Kerry Baptiste go bun / Zamora

Post by: Tenorsaw on September 30, 2009, 08:02:52 PM
The Road to Brazil begins now..lock in Thompson now.  Will Zamora show?
Post by: Ngozi on September 30, 2009, 08:24:30 PM

Stwps!!!!

WE WILL NEVER IMPROVE!!!

WE WILL NEVER ADVANCE!!!

Ummm what wrong with you?  Trent was easily our best player in the last game and Lawrence has been our best defender for a while barring a few mistakes ....shooot cool out pah
Post by: weary1969 on September 30, 2009, 08:37:31 PM
D article say who sic/who ask 2 b excused so IMO d rest included me mum eh wanted.
Post by: najee on October 01, 2009, 06:07:40 AM
I could be wrong by saying this... yuh think some of the oversea that was call will give their all in next WCQ game...knowing we out of it...i say give the U20 players a shot...i read four was call...i think he should used or call more than just four...
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 01, 2009, 06:13:17 AM

Why not Edwards in de right back position?

Who can play it better than he can?

And playing right back doesn't prevent him from getting up in the play.

Tinto is an adequate cover for Carlos going forward.  He not as good as Carlos of course, but Tinto plays right wing better than anybody else plays right wing back so Carlos is more needed there on the team.

As for Thompson being a winger...I not so sure.  He might be playing there because it's a position of need in the U 20 squad, but perhaps not because it's his preferred position.

he is a winger
Post by: dwn on October 01, 2009, 07:40:55 AM
My possible future side

Phillip
Thomson, Bakr, (James/Primus), Samuel
    Edwards, Noel, (Hector/Paul) ,Tinto
              Scotland, (Jones/Baptiste)

Trent Noel have some age though. I wouldn't consider him one for the future.
Post by: kicker on October 01, 2009, 07:49:21 AM

Stwps!!!!

WE WILL NEVER IMPROVE!!!

WE WILL NEVER ADVANCE!!!

Yuh hadda strike a good balance- can't just throw the youths out to the wolves- could do more harm than good...

Probably makes better sense to gradually integrate them into the system. 
Post by: Lifeisgood on October 01, 2009, 07:59:23 AM
Thompson is our future Carlos. Lets ensure from now he could cross the ball. Would be good to see him playing inside of Carlos on de flank....

My Side...
               G. Samuel

KB   KJ

subs... Lawrence will get tired / JJames - Hector is inexperienced / Daniel - Kerry Baptiste go bun / Zamora

That is the side there, although I would be surprised if any of the U20's get a start.  So a squad like this might be more realistic:

Phillips
Carlos --- Lawrence -- Abu Bakr -- Samuel

Tinto --- K. Jones --- Noel --- Hector

Zamora -- Scotland

People must remember that Lawrence is the skipper, so he will start at the back.  I know there will be rumbling about Jones in the mid - but why not?  Once he can be convinced to work hard in there, I see know reason why we can't groom him as an option there.  Plus many folks have said that he is not a striker, but he definitely factors in our future ...why not as a mid?

Thomson will be the 1st player off the bench for Tinto - around the 70th minute
Baptiste for Scotland - around the 70th
Primus or James for Hector - same time (move Carlos to the left flank)

:beermug: Go T&T
Post by: Marcos on October 01, 2009, 08:30:56 AM
Honestly, why are we bringing back the overseas pros Carlos, Kenwyne, Zamora and J. Samuel for a meaningless game?

Risking injury for what purpose? God forbid anyone gets hurt during this game.
Post by: spideybuff on October 01, 2009, 08:37:06 AM
Honestly, why are we bringing back the overseas pros Carlos, Kenwyne, Zamora and J. Samuel for a meaningless game?

Risking injury for what purpose? God forbid anyone gets hurt during this game.

We can't draw the thing into disrepute by feilding a completely local side.

How you would feel if we were tied for 4th with El Salvador or somebody and needing to win all our games and looking at goal difference and we hear that Costa Rica qualify already so they play a shite side and El Salvador beat them at home, 5-0 or something jes so?

We hadda take these two games fairly serious still. Them names you call there are needed to help bring the youths up. The new ones must come(blood) before the old ones die.
Post by: Peong on October 01, 2009, 08:55:27 AM
If the youths didn't get enuff experience to handle a CR playing at a U20 WC, and all the prep involved, then no further experience will improve their playing ability 1 iota..might as well discard them now

Yeh there's no way they could not be ready for this level by now.  ::)
Post by: Arimaman on October 01, 2009, 09:31:50 AM

My Side...
               G. Samuel

KB   KJ

That is the side there, although I would be surprised if any of the U20's get a start.  So a squad like this might be more realistic:

Phillips

Zamora -- Scotland

People must remember that Lawrence is the skipper, so he will start at the back.  I know there will be rumbling about Jones in the mid - but why not?   Once he can be convinced to work hard in there, I see know reason why we can't groom him as an option there.  Plus many folks have said that he is not a striker, but he definitely factors in our future ...why not as a mid?

Clearly you have never really played the game and are simply just a fan of the game.....to insinuate that KJ can play center mid does really even deserve a response..... 
Post by: Lifeisgood on October 02, 2009, 07:49:04 AM

My Side...
               G. Samuel

KB   KJ

Phillips

Zamora -- Scotland

People must remember that Lawrence is the skipper, so he will start at the back.  I know there will be rumbling about Jones in the mid - but why not?   Once he can be convinced to work hard in there, I see know reason why we can't groom him as an option there.  Plus many folks have said that he is not a striker, but he definitely factors in our future ...why not as a mid?

Clearly you have never really played the game and are simply just a fan of the game.....to insinuate that KJ can play center mid does really even deserve a response..... 

Ah Arima ...I en lookin for you in dat...May I suggest that you pump your brakes with that kind of remark.  Coming from you that is a real surprise ....as a forumite that typically, actually makes sense on here. 

To respond - I have played the game, certainly not at the level you have, to warrant entry into the HOF  ... I may have actually played against you at some point in Trini (did you play with Millington and Emmanuel) and definitely at JMU. I was actually in Bertille's U16 camp with those fellas..along with Nixon, Moze, Pacheco, Belize, Gullop..etc

With that said, I would definitely put my knowledge of the game, up against anybody on this forum.  I may take a loss here and there -- but as they say.."you win some you lose some"

My suggestion of playing KJ in the mid, comes after reading on here at some point, that he has actually played there before...and him playing as a striker, could be percieved as playing him out of position. 

Let me use Dwight Yorke as an example - a true balla - who started as a striker...and as his career progressed evolved into a pretty decent midfielder.  Why then can  that not be the path for KJ?  He has the tools, but does he have the mental toughness required to reach his potential?  .... I am of the belief that if you understand the game and are sound technically - you can play (and be effective) anywhere on the field, so it comes down to the mental iron of the player (but that is just me)

Arima, what you need to understand about me sir ...is that I can actually deal with being wrong, about a suggestion or comment I have made on this forum...without taking it personal..and want to rough men up, over the internet (see Just Cool for reference)... I recognize you as a balla, and as such, respect is due.  However, I would suggest keeping to your rep as a reliable source and not toe the line, crossed by many, and get engaged in throwing insults and other nonsense.

If playing KJ in the mid is so offensive..then I task you to find that next creative, impactful midfielder that we assign a nickname that implies that he is magical (see RL for reference)...

Cheers and nuff respect.
Post by: Arimaman on October 02, 2009, 07:59:58 AM

My Side...
               G. Samuel

KB   KJ

Phillips

Zamora -- Scotland

Ah Arima ...I en lookin for you in dat...May I suggest that you pump your brakes with that kind of remark.  Coming from you that is a real surprise ....as a forumite that typically, actually makes sense on here. 

To respond - I have played the game, certainly not at the level you have, to warrant entry into the HOF  ... I may have actually played against you at some point in Trini (did you play with Millington and Emmanuel) and definitely at JMU. I was actually in Bertille's U16 camp with those fellas..along with Nixon, Moze, Pacheco, Belize, Gullop..etc

With that said, I would definitely put my knowledge of the game, up against anybody on this forum.  I may take a loss here and there -- but as they say.."you win some you lose some"

My suggestion of playing KJ in the mid, comes after reading on here at some point, that he has actually played there before...and him playing as a striker, could be percieved as playing him out of position. 

Let me use Dwight Yorke as an example - a true balla - who started as a striker...and as his career progressed evolved into a pretty decent midfielder.  Why then can  that not be the path for KJ?  He has the tools, but does he have the mental toughness required to reach his potential?  .... I am of the belief that if you understand the game and are sound technically - you can play (and be effective) anywhere on the field, so it comes down to the mental iron of the player (but that is just me)

Arima, what you need to understand about me sir ...is that I can actually deal with being wrong, about a suggestion or comment I have made on this forum...without taking it personal..and want to rough men up, over the internet (see Just Cool for reference)... I recognize you as a balla, and as such, respect is due.  However, I would suggest keeping to your rep as a reliable source and not toe the line, crossed by many, and get engaged in throwing insults and other nonsense.

If playing KJ in the mid is so offensive..then I task you to find that next creative, impactful midfielder that we assign a nickname that implies that he is magical (see RL for reference)...

Cheers and nuff respect.
Life...all the respect in the world for yuh....

I know KJ was a "utility" player in his day.  However, while I think fitness wise outside midfielder is the toughest position to play, skill and ability wise central midfield is the most difficult.  KJ's touch is nowhere close to what it should be to play the position.  ou know that in that role you have to be able to turn on a dime and make decisions extremely quickly. Can't really compliment his vision either as to me he is a typical target player.

To be perfectly honest, we really doh have nobody suited to the creative center midfield position (as far as what I have seen), however, with good service from the flanks KJ could actually do his job as a target man.  What we really need to develop is great outside players i.e. Carlos, Jake Thompson, Tinto etc and play through the flanks. 

One thing I admired about the U20 squad is their ability to hustle.  Unlike our senior team who always play this kinda layed back style, those kids were hustling the other teams into making mistakes.  That's the way our senior team needs to play, we are not good enough to lay back and think plays going to develop.  Hustle man....

That said, all the respect life....yuh know yuh football.
Post by: Ngozi on October 02, 2009, 08:11:29 AM
I've seen KJ play the outside midfield position to a decent effect and he was effective but at the time he was a different player ...different attitude. He has fallen back as a player and is definitely not an option for the center mid ... kj started off as a defender and has nothing near the understanding, touch or creativity that make men like Yorke and Rougier good options in the centermid position. His touch is poor as is his newly acquired work ethic (or lack thereof)  ..... personally I'd bench him ... because the thing that seems to be affecting his game doesn't appear to be lack of ability but rather lack of application (effort , desire , motivation). That attitude is the difference between making a career and breaking it and trust me when I tell you if he doesn't improve Bruce will ship him out wether we  like Bruce or not he's just seeing the things in him that we are seeing in him as well .. plain talk bad manners

ps Yorke attitude got him to man u and his attitude got him out of there a tale of two cities I guess.
Post by: Lifeisgood on October 02, 2009, 08:27:46 AM
AM - True true...his touch - right now - is not sublime enough to boss the midfield.  I guess my suggestion was just based on the fact that there are not very many options for that role right now. 

The fella has potential though.  As a target man though, I see that as a very limiting role, as it is played by Sunderland. All they do is hoof the ball long for him to flick on - Predictable!!! ...all defending teams have to do is track the runners of the ball and they will win in right back.  Other target players ...Crouch, Ibra, Drogs...could receive a ball TO THEIR FEET and get involved in the possession game.  Why Bruce is not implimenting that is another question. I suppose it is because of the quality he has behind his stikers.  There is no midfield. 

For me, you need a bess holding midfielder, a creative mid and 2 wing backs that can play end line to end line, to be successful in today's game.  Outside mids have to be fit and able to attack the end line and serve the ball, while central defenders, must be able to defend one v one...and be comfortable with the ball at there feet.  Ferdinand, for example, is so comfortable..that he tried that audacious flick in the Manchester derby... where Bellamy intercept and went on the embarrass him for pace and finished well....  gone are the days of just being able to hoof the ball out.

The lack of hustle of the Senior team - IMO, has to be fitness and a lack of confidence.  The movement of the ball is poor..and that speaks more to the lack of confidence in the man with the ball.  I have always told my players that, the run dictates the pass.  If you make the run (off the ball), the man on the ball will try to deliver (his brain sends his foot that message).  If there is no run made .. the pass (if it comes)...is hopeful and lacks real purpose.   

Our players must develop technically.  Bottom line.
Post by: Lifeisgood on October 02, 2009, 08:54:22 AM
I've seen KJ play the outside midfield position to a decent effect and he was effective but at the time he was a different player ...different attitude. He has fallen back as a player and is definitely not an option for the center mid ... kj started off as a defender and has nothing near the understanding, touch or creativity that make men like Yorke and Rougier good options in the centermid position. His touch is poor as is his newly acquired work ethic (or lack thereof)  ..... personally I'd bench him ... because the thing that seems to be affecting his game doesn't appear to be lack of ability but rather lack of application (effort , desire , motivation). That attitude is the difference between making a career and breaking it and trust me when I tell you if he doesn't improve Bruce will ship him out wether we  like Bruce or not he's just seeing the things in him that we are seeing in him as well .. plain talk bad manners

ps Yorke attitude got him to man u and his attitude got him out of there a tale of two cities I guess.
Well that about sums it up - mental toughness.  If KJ does not have that passion in him...then he could have all the potential in the world.. he will be mediocre at best.  It is someting I personallly cannot understand...why train, diet, sacrifice..to be a professional player...and then have a bad attitude?   makes no sense.  Nothing like ridin a lil pine to wake a player up....however - if he does not have passion or pride, that may just be a small ting..no scene .."I still getting paid"

I think T&T has the players (somewhere) to compete, because let's be honest...the US (concacaf power) doh play no real brand, their players are not great....but they work hard and are mentally engaged in the game, commited.
Post by: Socapro on October 02, 2009, 11:26:24 AM

by who tho? latas?  ???

Who else?

Exactly which is the main reason Sancho wasn't called earlier in the camapign when we still had a realistic chance of qualifying!
Post by: Peong on October 06, 2009, 10:41:48 AM
So Jlloyd is out.
I woulda liked to see Avery rest some blade on Costa Rica but that not happenin.

So I guess Akile Edwards is out of the picture?
Post by: weary1969 on October 06, 2009, 11:10:22 AM
So Jlloyd is out.
I woulda liked to see Avery rest some blade on Costa Rica but that not happenin.

So I guess Akile Edwards is out of the picture?

Neva 2 b seen again cap d yute dem.
Post by: Mackie on October 06, 2009, 02:20:53 PM

Stwps!!!!

WE WILL NEVER IMPROVE!!!

WE WILL NEVER ADVANCE!!!

Dude take a bweh ...
Post by: Deeks on October 06, 2009, 06:33:57 PM
If JL Sam is out they should bring in Bentick. He looks steady.