Sports => Football => Topic started by: Brownsugar on October 15, 2009, 07:02:44 AM

Title: Dwight Yorke's Mom passes on...
Post by: Brownsugar on October 15, 2009, 07:02:44 AM
Yorke's mother passes away.
T&T Express Reports.

Grace Yorke, mother of Trinidad and Tobago's assistant football coach Dwight Yorke, passed away early yesterday morning.

National team manager David Muhammad said yesterday that Yorke's mother had died during the early hours yesterday morning at Medical Associates in St Augustine.

"His brother called me trying to get in contact with him (Dwight), before he was able to get in contact with Dwight on another phone," Muhammad told the Express. "That would have been about 3 a.m."

Yorke's mother, who lived at Canaan in Tobago, had been ailing for some time and had been flown to Trinidad by helicopter for treatment just before her death.

Yorke took his place alongside T&T head coach Russell Latapy and the national team reserves during Trinidad and Tobago's 2010 World Cup qualifier against Mexico on Wednesday night at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain. The game ended in a 2-2 draw.

"He is the ultimate professional. On the field his delivery is very loud and confident when he is on the job (as T&T assistant coach)," Muhammad said.

"But around the dinner table he often spoke of her and her condition. Dwight was totally consumed by her state of health over the past few days."
Title: Re: Dwight Yorke's Mom passes on...
Post by: Arimaman on October 15, 2009, 07:05:27 AM
Please accept my condolences Dwight....
Post by: Jumbie on October 15, 2009, 07:12:02 AM
sincere condolences to dwigth yorke , family and friends.
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 15, 2009, 07:16:16 AM
consider yuhself lucky dwight,she see yuh rule in england and europe,she see yuh in action in germany and now she in a better place.RIP mrs. yorke.
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on October 15, 2009, 07:16:56 AM
May she rest in peace.
Post by: Socaman on October 15, 2009, 07:19:19 AM
condolences to the Yorke family....
Post by: vb on October 15, 2009, 07:22:31 AM
I know Yorke was close to his Mum.

My condolences to the entire Yorke family.

Post by: Observer on October 15, 2009, 07:23:29 AM
Condolences Anna and to your family....
Post by: JDB on October 15, 2009, 07:29:03 AM
Sad news.

Condolences.
Post by: BATCH on October 15, 2009, 07:47:37 AM
My condolences Dwight and his family
Post by: rotatopoti3 on October 15, 2009, 08:06:58 AM
Sincere Condolences to Dwight and family.  Your mum was alive to see your entire playing career...Very fortunate indeed
Post by: Zeppo on October 15, 2009, 08:31:30 AM
Condolences to the Yorke family.

R.I.P.
Post by: 1-868 on October 15, 2009, 08:33:41 AM
Rest in peace moms
Post by: TdotTrini on October 15, 2009, 08:38:11 AM
Like a bird singing in the rain, let grateful memories survive in time of sorrow. RIP
Post by: lefty on October 15, 2009, 08:58:21 AM
RIP Mrs Yorke
condolences to dwight and the family for the loss :(
Post by: King Deese on October 15, 2009, 09:07:52 AM
My condolences to the Yorke family. May she rest in peace. Rejoice, for she has gone home.
Post by: benedicts bwoy on October 15, 2009, 09:15:47 AM
R.I.P. Mrs Yorke, heartfelt condolences to the family.
Post by: royal on October 15, 2009, 09:21:49 AM
Condolences to Dwight and his family.
Post by: Lifeisgood on October 15, 2009, 09:22:29 AM
Rest in Peace.

Thank you Mrs. Yorke for blessing us with your son, a true embassador!

Skippa ..hold your head up.

:salute:
Post by: Weh-it-is on October 15, 2009, 09:25:21 AM
Rest in Peace.

Thank you Mrs. Yorke for blessing us with your son, a true embassador!

Skippa ..hold your head up.

:salute:

Cosign
Post by: davyjenny1 on October 15, 2009, 10:12:36 AM
condolences to Yorke and the rest of the family  :(
Post by: DeSoWa on October 15, 2009, 10:15:33 AM
Sad lose for Dwight, keep strong and condolences to you and the family. May her soul RIP!  :(

Post by: Coop's on October 15, 2009, 10:23:14 AM
RIP Mrs Yorke
Post by: kaliman2006 on October 15, 2009, 11:07:43 AM
My condolences to the Yorke family.
Post by: Socapro on October 15, 2009, 11:09:48 AM
Sad news!
Condolences to Yorke & his family.  :(
Post by: Preacher on October 15, 2009, 11:39:13 AM
Our prayers are with you in this time.
Post by: Trinimassive on October 15, 2009, 12:09:01 PM
consider yuhself lucky dwight,she see yuh rule in england and europe,she see yuh in action in germany and now she in a better place.RIP mrs. yorke.

COSIGN
Post by: weary1969 on October 15, 2009, 12:11:26 PM
Our prayers are with you in this time.

COSIGNNNNNNNNNNNN RIP Lara/Latas b there 4 yuh pardner
Post by: Ngozi on October 15, 2009, 12:35:01 PM
RIP ... Condolenses Yorkie
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 15, 2009, 12:35:57 PM
RIP
Post by: mysoccerson on October 15, 2009, 01:34:05 PM
So sorry to hear of your precious loss .Our thoughts and prayers goes out to you and your family Dwight.
Post by: dinho on October 15, 2009, 01:35:51 PM
Condolences Yorkie.. Stay strong.
Post by: Mackie on October 15, 2009, 02:19:16 PM
Not to diesrespect anybody but allyuh good yes , who say Dwight does read anything on Soca warriors?
geez.
Post by: FLi ! on October 15, 2009, 02:57:30 PM
My deepest condolences to Dwight and the entire Yorke family.
Post by: Pointman on October 15, 2009, 03:09:57 PM
RIP Madam Yorke...my condolences.
Post by: Quags on October 15, 2009, 03:46:46 PM
Yeh my mom died last year too ,sigh ,like she always tell me doh cry .
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 15, 2009, 03:48:20 PM

Condolences Compre
Post by: weary1969 on October 15, 2009, 03:48:43 PM

Dat eh happenin bawl Dwight boi bawllllllllllllll. I shoulda bawl when mines died.
Post by: Mr Fix-it on October 15, 2009, 03:49:35 PM
RIP Yorke, keep smiling :beermug:
Post by: Quags on October 15, 2009, 04:14:51 PM

Condolences Compre
thx ,but I will be the same way ,This is my hand I playing ,when I ready to stop playing, I doh want my kids crying I lived mines already.
And Dwight moms extra special her kid ,.well lucky lady .
Post by: Babalawo on October 15, 2009, 05:24:15 PM
wow  suprised when i hear this. I thought she was kinda young. RIP :praying:
Post by: samo on October 15, 2009, 05:27:58 PM
Condolences to the Yorke family..
Post by: Deeks on October 15, 2009, 05:29:39 PM
RIP Mrs Yorke. You were blessed and gave TT one of its greatest sportsman. Thank you Moms. God bless.
Post by: Storeboy on October 15, 2009, 05:43:31 PM
She was a good Cristian lady who work hard to take care of all her children!  Clint then Dwight were the ones who excelled in sport.  God bless them all and condolences.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 15, 2009, 06:42:32 PM
Thank U mama for the nine months u carried me through
All those pain and suffering
No one knows the pressure you bare a just only you
Give you all my love oh yea
Thank U mama for the nine months u carried me through
All those pain and suffering
No one knows the pressure you bare a just only you
This is my words and my uttering

Rest in Peace! Hold it tight, Dwight! Condolences.
Post by: Quags on October 15, 2009, 06:49:16 PM

Dat eh happenin bawl Dwight boi bawllllllllllllll. I shoulda bawl when mines died.
hear you want to make me cry ,play this tune til it ends and ah go bawl . :'(
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3bq2QNhutOc&feature=related
Post by: rotatopoti3 on October 15, 2009, 07:46:37 PM
Quag---Boss song dey....D Mighty Sundar Popo Boy
Post by: Spursy on October 15, 2009, 07:54:47 PM
grabs some biscuits and coffee. thx for yorkie ;) r.i.p
Post by: davyjenny1 on October 15, 2009, 08:03:09 PM

Ohhh gosh.. man.. Quags ..you want to me... :'( :'( :'(  chune boyyy
May she R.I.P
Post by: Socapro on October 15, 2009, 08:27:25 PM
Not to diesrespect anybody but allyuh good yes , who say Dwight does read anything on Soca warriors?
geez.

Everyone who cares about T&T football and wants to keep on the pulse reads this forum!
Post by: Quags on October 15, 2009, 08:28:13 PM

Ohhh gosh.. man.. Quags ..you want to me... :'( :'( :'(  chune boyyy
May she R.I.P
Thanks Davy that song eh ............... This news go hit Dwight hard eh remember how he reacted to his sister in Birmingham .Sorry to hear the sad news Yorkie . At least he was home .
Post by: WestCoast on October 15, 2009, 09:42:05 PM
RIP Mummy Yorke
Post by: davyjenny1 on October 16, 2009, 02:48:30 AM
Dwight’s mother passes away
Published: 16 Oct 2009

Dwight Yorke

Grace Yorke, mother of T&T national football assistant coach Dwight Yorke, passed away on Wednesday night, shortly after the Soca Warriors drew their last match of its 2010 World Cup Campaign against Mexico 2-2 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. According to Dwight’s adviser Tim Nafziger, Mrs Yorke formerly of Canaan Village, Tobago, took ill and was being treated.

She was eventually transferred to the Medical Associates Hospital in Trinidad on Tuesday night, but succumbed to an undisclosed illness, even as Dwight was trying to source a specialist to come to the country. She was 72 years old and was the mother of nine children, Dwight, Brent, Clint, Garth, Gary, Juilet, Keith, Debra, and the late Veline, with T&T’s favourite footballing son being the second-to-last.

From the Guardian.
Post by: Tallman on October 16, 2009, 05:07:42 AM
Dwight Yorke’s mom dies at 70
By Rhondor Dowlat (T&T Newsday)

GRACE Yorke, mother of local football star and former Soca Warrior player, Dwight Yorke passed away at the age of 70 on Wednesday night, minutes after she was airlifted from the Scarborough General Hospital, Tobago to the St Joseph Medical Associates hospital.

Newsday was told that Dwight was at her bedside when she passed on.

Efforts to reach Dwight for comment proved futile. However, when contacted Soca Warrior coach, Russell Latapy, said that Dwight was with him and that he was “not in a good mood to say anything at this time.”

A source close to Dwight said that it is not yet known what Yorke died from, but said that she was ailing for some time.

The source said that a week ago Yorke was taken to the doctor with symptoms of a flu for which she received treatment. He added that a few days later the decision was taken by the family to take her to the Scarborough hospital. The source added that after being there for 13 hours on Monday and being treated for the flu, a decision was taken again to have her flown to Trinidad for further treatment.

While undergoing treatment at Medical Associates and while awaiting test results, Yorke succumbed to her illness.

Yorke, was a hotel cleaner at one time, and her husband Fulton, a dustman, and together they had nine children, including Dwight, who was born on November 3 1971. Dwight is currently still in Trinidad with other family members making arrangements to have her body flown to Tobago for burial.
Yorke's mother passes away
T&T Express

Grace Yorke, mother of Trinidad and Tobago's assistant football coach Dwight Yorke, passed away early yesterday morning.

National team manager David Muhammad said yesterday that Yorke's mother had died during the early hours yesterday morning at Medical Associates in St Augustine.

"His brother called me trying to get in contact with him (Dwight), before he was able to get in contact with Dwight on another phone," Muhammad told the Express. "That would have been about 3 a.m."

Yorke's mother, who lived at Canaan in Tobago, had been ailing for some time and had been flown to Trinidad by helicopter for treatment just before her death.

Yorke took his place alongside T&T head coach Russell Latapy and the national team reserves during Trinidad and Tobago's 2010 World Cup qualifier against Mexico on Wednesday night at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain. The game ended in a 2-2 draw.

"He is the ultimate professional. On the field his delivery is very loud and confident when he is on the job (as T&T assistant coach)," Muhammad said.

"But around the dinner table he often spoke of her and her condition. Dwight was totally consumed by her state of health over the past few days."

(http://www.newsday.co.tt/galeria/2009-10-16-14-3A_Dwight_&_Grace_Yorke.jpg)
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2009, 06:40:44 AM
geez.

LOUDEST OF STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Post by: Reaper2004 on October 16, 2009, 06:58:02 AM
Rest in Peace -salute-
Post by: Lifeisgood on October 16, 2009, 08:14:02 AM
geez.
Moderators ...please "Davy Jenny" dis man for this nonsense.

Respect is due...even if he not reading it himself, I am sure the blessings will reach him somehow.
Post by: FF on October 16, 2009, 08:27:06 AM
geez.

Well den hush yuh cont
Post by: HEARNAR on October 16, 2009, 08:27:36 AM
May she rest in peace
Post by: Peong on October 16, 2009, 08:51:13 AM
RIP.
This lady gave T&T a hero.
Post by: Socapro on October 16, 2009, 09:13:40 AM
RIP.
This lady gave T&T a hero.

She is also a hero! How many children including Dwight did she bring up again?
Much repect to you Grace Yorke, you did us proud, now rest in peace!
Post by: weary1969 on October 16, 2009, 09:20:21 AM
geez.

Respect is due...even if he not reading it himself, I am sure the blessings will reach him somehow.

Nah dat dey eh an option we preventin man from gettin contract but DY eh go get we words of symphaty.
Post by: davyjenny1 on October 16, 2009, 10:32:56 AM
geez.

You are the genes of the man they ketch fuc*ing the goat.
Post by: Trinidogg on October 16, 2009, 02:29:27 PM
More sad news this week Rip Mrs. Yorke...
Post by: mwanasoka on October 16, 2009, 05:10:25 PM
Dwight,even though The Matriarch has passed on,you are not all alone

in this world.Condolences to you and the entire Yorke Family and may

this loss draw you even closer together.
Post by: pardners on October 16, 2009, 05:17:31 PM
I will like to add my condolences as well.

Thank you Grace for giving us a blessing before your passing.  RIP.
Post by: Carib-Briton on October 16, 2009, 05:21:35 PM
Condolences to Yorke and Family
Post by: weary1969 on October 17, 2009, 01:22:41 PM
Dwight’s mom’s body ‘sails home’
By RHONDOR DOWLAT Saturday, October 17 2009

GRACE Yorke’s body was sent to Tobago onboard the T&T Spirit inter-island ferry on Thursday evening.

Yorke, the mother of local football star and former Soca Warriors player, Dwight Yorke, passed away while undergoing treatment on Wednesday night at Medical Associates in St Joseph. She was 70 years old.

She was ailing for some time and only last week was taken to a doctor in Tobago, where she lived, with flu symptoms for which she received treatment. A few days later the decision was taken by the family to take her to the Scarborough General Hospital.

After being there for 13 hours on Monday and being treated for the flu a decision was taken again to have her flown to Trinidad for further treatment.

While undergoing treatment at Medical Associates and while awaiting test results, Yorke succumbed to her illness.

Speaking with Newsday, Dwight’s elder brother, Clint said the family was doing well.

When asked exactly what was the ailment Yorke succumbed to, Clint replied: “Yes, we know exactly what she died from but it is a very personal thing, it is only for the family to know.”

Yorke’s funeral will be held on Tuesday at the Seventh-day Adventist Church in Bon Accord.

Post by: Babalawo on October 17, 2009, 05:39:50 PM
now came to post this ^^^
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 17, 2009, 05:47:30 PM
blessings from the Magicians
Post by: PATRIOT on October 17, 2009, 07:41:54 PM
Condolences to Dwight and the entire Yorke Family...RIP Grace! Respect!
Post by: Dumplingdinho on October 17, 2009, 11:11:28 PM
RIP Grace.

Nuff respect for raising 9 children, not many people could say several of their children (Clint, Dwight, Brent and Garth) represent their country.
Post by: iceberg on October 19, 2009, 10:12:51 AM
My condolences to the Yorke family.  May she RIP.  Bless!
Post by: Cantona007 on October 19, 2009, 01:55:55 PM
Condolences to Dwight and Family and all who love them...

RIP
Post by: Phensic on October 19, 2009, 02:26:35 PM
Humble condolences to Dwight and the Yorke family.
Post by: dtool on October 19, 2009, 02:32:00 PM
Condolences to the Yorke Family.
Post by: chinee boi on October 19, 2009, 07:11:03 PM
Condolences to the Yorke family...Mrs Yorke u in my prayers!!!
Post by: Mackie on October 20, 2009, 10:38:56 AM
geez.

Well den hush yuh cont

First a thred that Dwight would never read and then a fool who cusses in it. lol allyuh really good. How you intend to make me hush ? lol
Post by: Mackie on October 20, 2009, 10:40:33 AM
geez.

last time i check i was in living in a democracy an entitled to my opinion . I simply asking and will ask again what is the point of all these personal condolences to Dwight when he will never read them ?
Post by: Mackie on October 20, 2009, 10:42:42 AM
geez.

You are the genes of the man they ketch fuc*ing the goat.

another fool who so upset he cussing and being obscene in the thread. lol
Post by: davyjenny1 on October 20, 2009, 01:26:47 PM
geez.

last time i check i was in living in a democracy an entitled to my opinion . I simply asking and will ask again what is the point of all these personal condolences to Dwight when he will never read them ?
You and lifeisgood  are brothers
Post by: Mackie on October 20, 2009, 01:32:15 PM
geez.

You and lifeisgood  are brothers

and u are an idiot.
Title: Dwight Yorke's mom laid to rest
Post by: Tallman on October 21, 2009, 04:42:37 AM
Dwight Yorke's mom laid to rest
By Elizabeth Williams (T&T Express)

A tearful Dwight Yorke yesterday attended the funeral service for his mother, Grace Alberta Joseph Yorke, describing her as a fantastic woman.

"She was great, she was truly great. I just want to thank you very much. I am devastated, truly devastated. I truly want to thank you from the rest of my family, for all the love and support all persons gave. She was a fantastic woman," Yorke, a footballer of international fame, said.

The funeral service for Mrs Yorke, who died on October 15 at a private hospital in Trinidad, was held at the Bon Accord SDA Church yesterday.

Yorke was comforted by his sister, Juliet.

Present in the congregation were one of his best friends, national football coach Russell Latapy, THA Chief Secretary Orville London and other THA officials.

London, in bringing words of comfort, called on the family to remember the good times, as Mrs Yorke was a fantastic human being and Tobago had reaped her benefits.

"But I want to suggest that in the midst of that loss and pain, there is a certain degree of pride and comfort that you have been nurtured by a woman of class, calibre," he added.

Pastor Earl Edwards, in delivering the sermon, said death does not have the last say, as the family can live with the hope that they would see their loved one again.

Mrs Yorke was known for her baking skills, humour and pleasant personality.

(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/shared/images/2009/10/21/n15.jpg)
Title: Re: Dwight Yorke's mom laid to rest
Post by: Mackie on October 21, 2009, 08:09:25 AM

A tearful Dwight Yorke yesterday attended the funeral service for his mother, Grace Alberta Joseph Yorke, describing her as a fantastic woman.

"She was great, she was truly great. I just want to thank you very much. I am devastated, truly devastated. I truly want to thank you from the rest of my family, for all the love and support all persons gave. She was a fantastic woman," Yorke, a footballer of international fame, said.

The funeral service for Mrs Yorke, who died on October 15 at a private hospital in Trinidad, was held at the Bon Accord SDA Church yesterday.

Present in the congregation were one of his best friends, national football coach Russell Latapy, THA Chief Secretary Orville London and other THA officials.

London, in bringing words of comfort, called on the family to remember the good times, as Mrs Yorke was a fantastic human being and Tobago had reaped her benefits.

"But I want to suggest that in the midst of that loss and pain, there is a certain degree of pride and comfort that you have been nurtured by a woman of class, calibre," he added.

Pastor Earl Edwards, in delivering the sermon, said death does not have the last say, as the family can live with the hope that they would see their loved one again.

yorke and lara doh lime again or what
Title: Re: Dwight Yorke's mom laid to rest
Post by: weary1969 on October 21, 2009, 11:14:46 AM

yorke and lara doh lime again or what

I blieve he out ah d country.