Sports => Football => Topic started by: palos on October 29, 2009, 02:56:39 PM

Title: The best dribbler in the history of football
Post by: palos on October 29, 2009, 02:56:39 PM
Oh geed.  So much names to come up with. 

And please.  Ah tryin to keep dis list to international ballers because man go come and post bout when Choy Yuen hit a man a drag in intercol... ::) ::) ;D

Pele
Garrincha
George Best
Cristiano Ronaldo
Robinho
Jay Jay Okocha
Bruno Conti

But MY pussonal favourite have to be Edhem Sjlivo from Yugoslavia.... ;D
Title: Re: The best dribbler in the history of football
Post by: Observer on October 29, 2009, 04:16:34 PM

And please.  Ah tryin to keep dis list to international ballers because man go come and post bout when Choy Yuen hit a man a drag in intercol... ::) ::) ;D

Pele
Garrincha
George Best
Cristiano Ronaldo
Robinho
Jay Jay Okocha
Bruno Conti

Dat list go be too long so ah staying away. Palos how Cruyff eh make yuh list papa  ;D
Post by: dwolfman on October 29, 2009, 04:24:59 PM
Evans Wise and Arnold Dwarika. Shit hounds internationally, but boy they could dribble.

Ronaldinho
Roberto Baggio
Post by: Blue on October 29, 2009, 04:25:35 PM

Pele
Garrincha
George Best
Cristiano Ronaldo
Robinho
Jay Jay Okocha
Bruno Conti

Ronaldinho???
Post by: tempo on October 29, 2009, 04:38:16 PM
Okocha is hard to beat.  :rotfl:
Post by: kicker on October 29, 2009, 04:48:27 PM
ummm Maradona?
Post by: palos on October 29, 2009, 05:27:12 PM

Pele
Garrincha
George Best
Cristiano Ronaldo
Robinho
Jay Jay Okocha
Bruno Conti

Dat list go be too long so ah staying away. Palos how Cruyff eh make yuh list papa  ;D

I eh claimin to know ALL.

But yes...Cruyff and Ronaldinho MUS be dey.

I doh see Diego as a dribbler per se but he bad still so ah go give he a bligh.  8)
Post by: 2cents on October 29, 2009, 05:29:53 PM
I never saw much more than a few minutes of video...but my grandfather talked alot about Garrincha when I was growin up. He was one of those guys with low center of gravity and wicked control I hear.
Me personally, I rate alot of guys like Zidane, Rivaldo, Ronaldinho, Okocha. In terms of one dribble I always think of when Vagner Love abuse Gallas...it was dread. Or d first time I saw Okocha hit a man d 'Okocha' especially cuz it was in a world cup, not a small goal sweat
Post by: Grande on October 29, 2009, 05:44:09 PM
Ronaldo (R9)... to me, he set the bar for others after him
Post by: SabreWolves on October 29, 2009, 06:01:01 PM
Michael Platini.      Controlled everything when he had the ball
Post by: Lightning on October 29, 2009, 06:34:54 PM

Choy Yuen hit a man a drag in intercol... ::) ::) ;D

Big player yuh cal dey  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Preacher on October 29, 2009, 06:42:03 PM
My 7 month old. he cyah stop dribblin   ;D
Post by: jai john on October 29, 2009, 06:50:26 PM

Pele
Garrincha
George Best
Cristiano Ronaldo
Robinho
Jay Jay Okocha
Bruno Conti

I doh see Diego as a dribbler per se but he bad still so ah go give he a bligh.  8)

Palos you din have no TV in '86 ? The goal dey rated as the greatest ever goal score in de WC ...is who scored dat ? Ask yuh boy Fenwick for he views ...
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 29, 2009, 07:00:04 PM

Pele
Garrincha
George Best
Cristiano Ronaldo
Robinho
Jay Jay Okocha
Bruno Conti

Palos you din have no TV in '86 ? The goal dey rated as the greatest ever goal score in de WC ...is who scored dat ? Ask yuh boy Fenwick for he views ...
ed zacchary  :beermug:
Post by: Peong on October 29, 2009, 07:10:22 PM
Brazilians usually say Garrincha was the best dribbler ever.
Post by: jai john on October 29, 2009, 07:14:31 PM
Brazilians usually say Garrincha was the best dribbler ever.
Yup ! that they do ...
Brazil - Garrincha
Argentina - Maradona
Holland -Cryff
T&T - Berta ! :beermug:
Post by: Observer on October 29, 2009, 07:22:29 PM
Talk about dribbling and left footed. Algeria 1982 WC had a Zidane talk about sick on the dribble and left footed, just ask the Germans
Post by: christiano on October 29, 2009, 07:42:57 PM
Evans Wise and Zlatan !
Post by: Mango Chow! on October 29, 2009, 07:45:04 PM
Ian Clauzel!
Post by: dinho on October 29, 2009, 07:45:33 PM
I never saw much more than a few minutes of video...but my grandfather talked alot about Garrincha when I was growin up. He was one of those guys with low center of gravity and wicked control I hear.
Me personally, I rate alot of guys like Zidane, Rivaldo, Ronaldinho, Okocha. In terms of one dribble I always think of when Vagner Love abuse Gallas...it was dread. Or d first time I saw Okocha hit a man d 'Okocha' especially cuz it was in a world cup, not a small goal sweat

Hoss, daz something eh.. when a man coin a beat such that it name after him..

"De Okocha".. ah remember it; a pull yuh foot over the ball, then stepover one way and go the next way special.. Impossible to defend!

Now yuh cyah talk dribble and leave out Denilson, de quintessential small goal piyong..

Ah could only talk about what I see, and a special mention for Ryan Giggs, Juninho (de nashy one) and Aleksander Hleb.. then Ronaldo9 in his prime..

but imo, in all them old clips, i eh see nobody back then that really was doing anything like what Ronaldinho, Robinho and CR7 are doing nowadays..

I yet to see anybody catch a ball on their chest like dinho, abuse ah man in ah inch of space on the byline like 'binho or have foot speed like Cristiano..
Post by: Observer on October 29, 2009, 07:51:03 PM
Ah was going to stay away but ah have to call ah name. Michael Laudrup sick sick sick dribbler
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 29, 2009, 07:53:02 PM
Not the best ever, but Steve McManaman stood out as one of the better dribblers the game has seen in the last 20 years.
Post by: fatimarima on October 29, 2009, 08:05:02 PM
C. Ronaldo, Ronaldinho, Robinho, Okocha, Pele, Zidane, messi, maradona
Post by: Mango Chow! on October 29, 2009, 08:19:10 PM
Leonardo was nice, too....
Post by: palos on October 29, 2009, 09:00:09 PM

Pele
Garrincha
George Best
Cristiano Ronaldo
Robinho
Jay Jay Okocha
Bruno Conti

Respectfully, I doh consider dat as "dribblin" per se.  More like a slalom.  I doh remember seein Diego hittin anybody any crossover...a spanner...a drag..nutten so.  He was more a push and skip man and because of he low centre of gravity, he could ride a tackle like nobody else in de game.

Now if yuh say yuh boy Requelme...yuh would get ZERO argument from me.
Post by: palos on October 29, 2009, 09:00:35 PM
Talk about dribbling and left footed. Algeria 1982 WC had a Zidane talk about sick on the dribble and left footed, just ask the Germans

Lakhdar Belloumi?
Post by: kicker on October 29, 2009, 09:52:10 PM
Ah was going to stay away but ah have to call ah name. Michael Laudrup sick sick sick dribbler

Micheal hittin' yuh the same tap tap...left to right, right to left...going and coming...game in game out....and yuh still cyah take it away from him....

His passing genius mighta overshadowed his individual dribbling though...

Brian Laudrup had some nice beat too...
Post by: Ngozi on October 30, 2009, 03:35:33 AM
It's a tough question but I figure Enzo Francescoli have to be up there in the name calling along with Ronaldinho before he get fat
Post by: Daft Trini on October 30, 2009, 03:59:21 AM
sir stanley matthews...

Saw a documentary about the 100 years of Fifa football and in an interview with Pele. He said on dribbling "Garrincha was the greatest"
Post by: Deeks on October 30, 2009, 05:48:46 AM
Did anyone mentioned Hagi?
Post by: dwolfman on October 30, 2009, 07:12:09 AM
Did anyone mentioned Hagi?

Somebody bring him up in the left footer thread.
Post by: Marcos on October 30, 2009, 08:43:57 AM
Terry Jughead
Marcelle
Latas
Dwarikah
Carlos Edwards
Wise

Yuh eh even need to go beyond the locals
Post by: palos on October 30, 2009, 08:48:51 AM
Some people head hard.
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 30, 2009, 09:56:37 AM
Chris Waddle.  Slow but great dribbler.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on October 30, 2009, 10:16:08 AM
Terry Jughead
Marcelle
Latas
Dwarikah
Carlos Edwards
Wise

Yuh eh even need to go beyond the locals

I am really surprised that this thread reach 2 pages and nobody eh say Hardest!!

Anyhow I have to put Luis Figo name in the pot. 99 barca days he was real therapy.
Post by: palos on October 30, 2009, 10:21:07 AM
I am really surprised that this thread reach 2 pages and nobody eh say Hardest!!

And please.  Ah tryin to keep dis list to international ballers because man go come and post bout when Choy Yuen hit a man a drag in intercol..
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on October 30, 2009, 10:31:38 AM

And please.  Ah tryin to keep dis list to international ballers because man go come and post bout when Choy Yuen hit a man a drag in intercol..

Exactly why I'm surprised. Look somebody even say Jughead.
Post by: Peong on October 30, 2009, 10:56:11 AM
Nobody since Ronaldo could top him.
I doh know who had the crown before him.
Post by: triniairman on October 30, 2009, 11:07:40 AM
C. Ronaldo, Ronaldinho, Robinho, Okocha, Pele, Zidane, messi, maradona
could not said it any better
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 30, 2009, 01:34:40 PM
Allyuh remember this man...great, great dribbler:  Preben Elkjaer (Denmark and Verona).  Coulda dribble....sometimes to the frustration of his own teammates.
Post by: palos on October 30, 2009, 02:38:59 PM
Allyuh remember this man...great, great dribbler:  Preben Elkjaer (Denmark and Verona).  Coulda dribble....sometimes to the frustration of his own teammates.

I doh remember he bein a dribbler at all.  He was a big burly striker (good one too) as far as I remember.

Jesper Olsen and de Ladrup brothers was de dribblers in dat side as I recall.
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 30, 2009, 02:44:09 PM

I doh remember he bein a dribbler at all.  He was a big burly striker (good one too) as far as I remember.

Nah man...I remember Elkjaer being the dribbler....
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on October 30, 2009, 02:57:59 PM
zidane

man lke CR 7 is real flashy and have real good footwork, but how many times u see them get caught up or loose a ball, or dive cuz the get catch...just cuz you play highlight football, doh mean you could dribble consistently

zidane does dribble for days and when he want & he feel like it, he could add some flash

best dribbler and flashiest is two things...i would have zidane dribble the ball up over CR7 anyday
Post by: Socafan on October 30, 2009, 03:15:38 PM
El magico...baller from El salvador, right here in Concacaf. Utube dat and watch dribble.
Post by: palos on October 30, 2009, 03:23:56 PM

Arrite.  I goin wit your recollection.  I ole no ass anyway  ;D
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 30, 2009, 06:34:46 PM

Arrite.  I goin wit your recollection.  I ole no ass anyway  ;D

That whole Danish team was pressure...they ain't producing that level of talent any more...
Post by: Pointman on October 30, 2009, 10:13:25 PM
ummm Maradona?

as much as I doh like him...ah see him do some sickness with ah football ah just had to shake my head in disbelief.
Post by: Pointman on October 30, 2009, 10:15:34 PM
My 7 month old. he cyah stop dribblin   ;D

nice one :beermug:
Post by: Pointman on October 30, 2009, 10:22:27 PM
of all the Trinis who geh mentioned...nobody call Latas name ::)
Post by: fishs on October 31, 2009, 01:00:44 AM

Lil side story, the best dribbler I ever see live on TV or otherwise was a fella in school we used to call rabbit (because of his 2 overgrown front teeth)
The man used to dribble during small goal in the courtyard like he was a football harlem globe trotter, talk about skills , he was short and had a real low centre of gravity. He was also from Belmont .
The man even make QRC first eleven in 4th form (a big achievement at that time).
One day he dribbling about 6 men at the same time and went down real low a man clip he ankles and he fall over hard on the pitch and lose one of the front teeth.
After that he was not the same , I suppose he lose his sense of balance.
We also start calling him bottle opener after that.
Post by: Deeks on October 31, 2009, 04:55:00 AM
fishs,
         I remember Rabbit. Armstrong was his name? If it is him, well he was quite a character. He also played rugby. Do QRC still play rugby and field hockey?
Post by: Conquering Lion on October 31, 2009, 09:40:06 AM

Pele
Garrincha
George Best
Cristiano Ronaldo
Robinho
Jay Jay Okocha
Bruno Conti

[/b]

Post by: Observer on October 31, 2009, 10:24:34 AM

Elkjaer was actually a good dribbler for a big man

Tsheu la Ling who played right wing for Ajax in the 70's was  an amazing dribbler 
Post by: berris on October 31, 2009, 01:56:09 PM
Ian Clauzel!

Talk Done  :applause: :applause:

...who start dis shit thread anyway ? ...oh shite!!  is meh padnah Palos ...sorry   ::)  ;D
Post by: Rastaman on November 02, 2009, 11:28:29 AM
It pains me that Dwight Yorke was forced to change his natural game when he went to England. Had he gone Italy or anywhere else allyuh woulda see dribbler.

That boy was sickkkk !!!!

Sombody talk bout turning up a man on the line with no space......I see Dwight do that to a Trintoc man in Shaw Park down bu the corner flag, when we was still going school....notice I didn't use no school boy opposition as a reference.
Post by: Pointman on November 02, 2009, 10:07:55 PM
It pains me that Dwight Yorke was forced to change his natural game when he went to England. Had he gone Italy or anywhere else allyuh woulda see dribbler.

Sombody talk bout turning up a man on the line with no space......I see Dwight do that to a Trintoc man in Shaw Park down bu the corner flag, when we was still going school....notice I didn't use no school boy opposition as a reference.

...AND HE WOULDNA SEEN NO TREBLE ::)
Post by: Deeks on November 02, 2009, 10:25:48 PM
Warren Archibald!!!!!!
Post by: Grande on November 03, 2009, 01:08:39 AM

Lil side story, the best dribbler I ever see live on TV or otherwise was a fella in school we used to call rabbit (because of his 2 overgrown front teeth)
The man used to dribble during small goal in the courtyard like he was a football harlem globe trotter, talk about skills , he was short and had a real low centre of gravity. He was also from Belmont .
The man even make QRC first eleven in 4th form (a big achievement at that time).
One day he dribbling about 6 men at the same time and went down real low a man clip he ankles and he fall over hard on the pitch and lose one of the front teeth.
After that he was not the same , I suppose he lose his sense of balance.
We also start calling him bottle opener after that.

haha
Post by: vb on November 03, 2009, 03:29:20 AM
Surprised nobody mentioned Denilson (Bra).

Maurice Alibey
Cornell Glenn (ask England and Sweden)
Hadji from Morocco
Latas
Clint Marcelle....juss becz I liked him :-)

Heard about Clauzelle and Wise but never saw them in their prime.
Colin Rocke get he stones pull by the TTFF.

Gary Glasgow could beat for days..but go nowhere ...pass nowhere and score nowhere.

Post by: keelz on November 03, 2009, 06:58:32 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ftLKduSIIqA       whatever happen 2 ''FALCAO''
Post by: keelz on November 03, 2009, 07:07:02 AM
THIERRY HENRY http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kklMe3uqZRI
Post by: Observer on November 03, 2009, 08:33:38 AM
Warren Archibald!!!!!!

Deeks yuh picking Archie over DeLeon for Dribbling?
Post by: Rastaman on November 03, 2009, 08:37:31 AM

...AND HE WOULDNA SEEN NO TREBLE ::)
Actually I belive that he would have reached super stardom earlier in his life.
Post by: Observer on November 03, 2009, 09:41:56 AM
I eh know about best in history, but any of allyuh ever see Gio Kinkladze? Talk about dribble & simply have man backing. I use to watch Man City just to watch he.
Post by: maxg on November 03, 2009, 10:49:35 AM
History  - Pele

Live and whole game
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=39642.msg516708#msg516708
Title: Dribble galore: De original Ronaldo
Post by: Tallman on March 11, 2013, 08:55:30 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/uVueW6X7TM0
Post by: Fantastic on March 11, 2013, 09:58:26 PM
Enzo Francescoli for sure!
Post by: asylumseeker on March 11, 2013, 09:59:46 PM
RE: Ronaldo

Tremendous spatial awareness.
Post by: FF on March 11, 2013, 11:22:13 PM
RE: Ronaldo

Tremendous spatial awareness.

Messi and Cronaldo could keep all dem records... look de baddest ever right there. Of All Time!!
Post by: soccerman on March 11, 2013, 11:27:13 PM
 :notworthy: :notworthy: Ronaldo :applause: :applause:
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 12, 2013, 06:53:42 AM
I still doh see how men does try to force metronaldo into a conversation like this.... ???
Post by: socalion on March 12, 2013, 08:44:50 AM
Jeezanages this topic is a real headache , too much names to mention , but for me.(. Pele ) was de man ah see him live in person do he ting in trini ..... but garrincha was ah genius with de ball at he feet.. even de maestro pele say so heself many can testify to that , includingzagallo  who played alongside  de man (Garrincha) ..... next is (george best) but  he let alcohol mash him up in he prime .... one of the world's best players who never play in a world cup , that was manchester united  star boy ( george best). ... de man was deadly.... now ah going local ah must mention  these names cuz de fellas were damn good !!!warren archibald, leo (Twinkletoes) brewster, leroy de leon . Ron la Forest. Tom phillips.everard  cummings.....  Noel sammy llewelyn . wayne lewis .russell latapy .......ok ah go stop now is too much to mention ....  ah doh know  if we realise how much frigging talented players came through de ranks in trini lawddd well yes , . what memories!!!! over to you guys on the forum . ah might come back with a few more names thats worthy of mention i had the opportunity of seeing played and played with and against  but thats for a next post ah keeping it purely local  for de hour ....
Post by: Peong on March 12, 2013, 09:36:32 AM
Pele, Garrincha and Best have to get credit for being so much better than defenders at the time.  But yuh also have to consider how primitive defending was back then.

In Ronaldo's time defending had evolved and become much smarter than in the 60s and 70s.
This man went to Serie A when it was known for having great defending, and utterly destroyed them.

Nobody better than Ronaldo, none.
Post by: kaliman2006 on March 12, 2013, 10:42:03 AM
Pele, Garrincha and Best have to get credit for being so much better than defenders at the time.  But yuh also have to consider how primitive defending was back then.

In Ronaldo's time defending had evolved and become much smarter than in the 60s and 70s.
This man went to Serie A when it was known for having great defending, and utterly destroyed them.

Nobody better than Ronaldo, none.

Yeah, the fatman had some real skills. I eh know why he seems to have become the forgotten man amidst all the Messi hype, although Messi is ah boss in his own right.

Speaking of fatman, he looking fitter these days (sorry to have gone off topic a bit)

http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://rushtravel.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/ronaldo-losing-weight1.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.zimbio.com/Indonesia/articles/ZKj2wqkYyKj/Pictures%2Bvideo%2BRonaldo%2Bweight%2Bloss%2Bprogramme&h=450&w=597&sz=27&tbnid=EZfXLTMHTSS5mM:&tbnh=90&tbnw=119&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dronaldo%2Bcelebrity%2Bfat%2Bclub%26tbm%3Disch%26tbo%3Du&zoom=1&q=ronaldo+celebrity+fat+club&usg=___75TDXPjESDYfgPSAmsXfbbk9fs=&docid=XLv-2k6yjSdg9M&hl=en&sa=X&ei=XVo_UZXsHeKA0AH_0IGIAg&ved=0CDoQ9QEwAg&dur=4585
Post by: asylumseeker on March 12, 2013, 12:13:56 PM
This thread too haphazard. Lehwe establish criteria.

I'll start.

To be eligible, the player must have exhibited the ability to dribble multiple players arising from the same continuous movement (whether consecutively, sequentially, simultaneously, repeatedly etc.) No one-one dribble will be accepted.

Why? Because the mano a mano 1 v 1, is par fuh de course in football. Yeah, occasionally we'll see some exceptional 1 v 1 work, buh when yuh consider that excellent dribblers attract multiple markers, I think iz time to separate the men from the boys.

Ronaldo = in by that criterion. George Best = in by that criterion. Who else? Produce yuh video evidence.
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 12, 2013, 12:44:46 PM
This thread too haphazard. Lehwe establish criteria.

I'll start.

To be eligible, the player must have exhibited the ability to dribble multiple players arising from the same continuous movement (whether consecutively, sequentially, simultaneously, repeatedly etc.) No one-one dribble will be accepted.

Why? Because the mano a mano 1 v 1, is par fuh de course in football. Yeah, occasionally we'll see some exceptional 1 v 1 work, buh when yuh consider that excellent dribblers attract multiple markers, I think iz time to separate the men from the boys.

Ronaldo = in by that criterion. George Best = in by that criterion. Who else? Produce yuh video evidence.

I eh have no video to post, nor can I even remember how to friggin' post dem ting (Sorry yuh instructions went to waste, DieHard.  :D) but yuh cyah tell meh Dat Ian Clauzel doh meet any of dem "criteria".  :D
Post by: asylumseeker on March 12, 2013, 01:19:08 PM
I could vouch fuh Clauzel. :) ... but that brings up another criterion: quality of opposition.
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 12, 2013, 01:27:03 PM
I could vouch fuh Clauzel. :) ... but that brings up another criterion: quality of opposition.

well, as long as he sharing beat amongst his/her "peers" it doh really matter.....which brings up another name for me (no pun intended): My gyul, Mata. she does/used to ress it good on dem gyul and dem!
Post by: FF on March 12, 2013, 01:28:01 PM

well, as long as he sharing beat amongst his/her "peers" it doh really matter.....which brings up another name for me (no pun intended): My gyul, Mata. she does/used to ress it good on dem gyul and dem!

Mata... I know you real like Chelsea bad

Post by: Mango Chow! on March 12, 2013, 01:35:52 PM

well, as long as he sharing beat amongst his/her "peers" it doh really matter.....which brings up another name for me (no pun intended): My gyul, MataMarta! she does/used to ress it good on dem gyul and dem!

Mata... I know you real like Chelsea bad

:rotfl: Oh SHIT!! Sorry, sorry!  Yuh ketch meh dey, Ah was now gettin' ready to talk shit! Me eh even THINKIN' 'bout chelsea! lmao! Look ah correck it!  :D
Post by: asylumseeker on March 14, 2013, 11:45:14 AM
Criterion #3:

The dribbling must be appropriate? effective? achieve something? something so :)