Sports => Football => Topic started by: Dinner Mints on November 05, 2009, 04:14:29 PM

Title: Striker on Wigan radar
Post by: Dinner Mints on November 05, 2009, 04:14:29 PM
Striker on Wigan radar.
By Graeme Dey

Premiership Wigan are eyeing St Johnstone striker Collin Samuel. Wigan are on the lookout for a front player to replaced the disgraced Marlon King who was jailed for assaulting a woman last week.

Top target for them is reputed to be Espanyol’s hit-man Raul Tamudo. However, boss Roberto Martinez has also had scouts checking out Samuel.

Wigan already have former Saint Jason Scotland on their books. St Johnstone will be without both Steven Milne and Stuart McCaffrey for Saturday’s trip to Aberdeen.

However, boss Derek McInnes is hopeful Samuel will make it despite still being bothered by the knee injury which forced him to miss the cup win over Dundee United.

“We think Sammy will be back training either tomorrow or Friday,” said McInnes yesterday.

Saints have dropped their interest in a trio of trialists who featured in Tuesday’s closed doors clash with Kilmarnock.

“We won’t be taking the matter further because they wouldn’t have improved us,” explained the manager.

Meanwhile, speculation was mounting last night that Saints’ midfielder Murray Davidson is in line for a shock full international call-up when the Scotland squad is announced this morning for the friendly with Wales.

Martinez sizes up move for Tamudo.
Neil Barker.

Wigan boss Roberto Martinez is tracking Espanyol striker Raul Tamudo. Martinez needs extra firepower in attack, having lost Marlon King.

Wigan scouts have checked out Tamudo in recent weeks. He has been attracting interest from a number of Premier League clubs.

Signing a new striker will be a priority for Martinez when the transfer window reopens in January.

Martinez said: "We are now one striker short. The squad is one body less and it is important we address that situation.

"We are following different players in different leagues and different markets.

"In the long-term, we need to make sure not just regarding the striking position we keep improving, but helping the players we already have here become strikers."

Wigan have also been linked with St Johnstone striker Colin Samuel. The Trinidad & Tobago inter- national is out of contract next summer.

He is a pacy front man who previously played for Falkirk.
Title: Re: Striker on Wigan radar
Post by: andre samuel on November 05, 2009, 04:28:15 PM
Post by: Trinidogg on November 05, 2009, 05:43:09 PM
haha same thing i thinking :rotfl:, I really hope this is true good luck Sammy.
Post by: Dinner Mints on November 05, 2009, 05:51:25 PM
Allyuh think Sammy able with the premiership in truth?
Post by: Trinidogg on November 05, 2009, 06:02:26 PM
You don't think so? I think he have his assets his pace and finishing seem to be top notch...
Post by: dreamer on November 05, 2009, 06:13:03 PM
Go Sammy!!! Yuh have the goods and 2 deadly foot.
Post by: WestCoast on November 05, 2009, 06:15:54 PM
nice
anudda warrior in the EPL would be great.
Post by: Dinner Mints on November 05, 2009, 06:32:05 PM
You don't think so? I think he have his assets his pace and finishing seem to be top notch...
I have my doubts, but would love to see it work.
Post by: Organic on November 05, 2009, 07:43:43 PM
why??
steups
Post by: Big Magician on November 06, 2009, 05:55:10 AM
any real scouts on this forum ??
Post by: boss on November 06, 2009, 06:54:13 AM

I went on a hike once...
Post by: Mr Fix-it on November 06, 2009, 07:12:16 AM

I went on a hike once...
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :beermug:
Post by: noize on November 06, 2009, 07:33:42 AM
 ::) For Colin Samuel to make it in the Premiership....First he have to stop eating all that dumpling and lose some weight...second he have to learn to lift his head ... third he need to get ah better first touch...he definitely have the Pace and finishing ability ...but it takes he really need to work on fitness,vision and touch!!
Post by: mukumsplau on November 06, 2009, 08:43:15 AM

I went on a hike once...
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: coachman on November 06, 2009, 09:58:30 AM
He may be taking on loan for small money until the transfer window open. :-X
Post by: weary1969 on November 06, 2009, 10:19:58 AM

I went on a hike once...

Where Shodeau  :rotfl: All yuh doh stop makin meh  :rotfl:
Post by: spideybuff on November 06, 2009, 12:53:13 PM
allyuh eh know that once one trini come, it mean a next one must leave? Especially strikers...leave Scotty alone, nah, he eh need more competition.
Post by: Trinidogg on November 06, 2009, 12:56:40 PM
allyuh eh know that once one trini come, it mean a next one must leave? Especially strikers...leave Scotty alone, nah, he eh need more competition.
Huh? this is a big break for sammy man wanna play in the Premiership bad why shouldn't he go? and i don't think that will have anything to do with Scotty. Scotty just need to start gettin on the scoring charts already.
Post by: palos on November 06, 2009, 01:34:33 PM
Scotty score yet?
Post by: Madd Ras#13 on November 06, 2009, 02:51:39 PM

nah man dem nah get ride ah scotty, ah watch de man play for wigan and he fit into de team nice all he need to do is start score everything else spot especially his build up play and releasin other players, would be nice if wigan gets ah goal hound n den ah feel scotland go start find de back ah de net

p.s. ah en wah nobody tellin mih dat ah striker job is tuh score  :devil:
Post by: Dinner Mints on November 06, 2009, 03:26:21 PM

nah man dem nah get ride ah scotty, ah watch de man play for wigan and he fit into de team nice all he need to do is start score everything else spot especially his build up play and releasin other players, would be nice if wigan gets ah goal hound n den ah feel scotland go start find de back ah de net

p.s. ah en wah nobody tellin mih dat ah striker job is tuh score  :devil:
Dey done have Rodallega scoring regular. Scotty go stop passing to he just now.
Post by: Babalawo on November 06, 2009, 07:49:22 PM
::) For Colin Samuel to make it in the Premiership....First he have to stop eating all that dumpling and lose some weight...second he have to learn to lift his head ... third he need to get ah better first touch...he definitely have the Pace and finishing ability ...but it takes he really need to work on fitness,vision and touch!!
true
Scotty score yet?
good question
Post by: King Deese on November 06, 2009, 09:48:52 PM
aye scotty waiting for darth vader
Post by: dwn on November 07, 2009, 08:57:47 PM
that wigan looking at strikers sounds like bad news for scotty imo
Post by: Storeboy on November 07, 2009, 09:28:46 PM

Not necessarily!  If they lose a striker then they have to get another if only to cover themselves from possible injury of the remaining ones on the team.  Having said that, is time for Scotty to get busy, IMHO.
Post by: Dinner Mints on November 08, 2009, 05:08:23 AM
They lost Marlon King and they were already short when they had him.