Sports => Football => Topic started by: Sam on November 11, 2009, 10:51:13 AM

Title: Before Jack Warner.
Post by: Sam on November 11, 2009, 10:51:13 AM
For the older heads on the board, how was T&T football from an overall stand point before Jack Warner came into the picture.
Title: Re: Before Jack Warner.
Post by: Andre on November 11, 2009, 11:17:06 AM
well we shoulda qualify in 1974 if it wasn't for thiefing in haiti.

i doh think jack was around then.
Post by: Observer on November 11, 2009, 11:27:34 AM
James was the same thing like Jack. Ken Galt I felt had the players at heart.
Post by: truetrini on November 11, 2009, 11:44:09 AM
Same shit different man in charge.  ONE MAJOR difference, under Jack we more organized..yeah dais wha ah say!  We football have more opportunities yet we doh capitalise on that!

Galt was recycled because no one was really able to run the show.  lack of money was always a stumbling block, dey even try with Joe Bodkin, he was head of the immigration and committ suicide after ehe get ketch selling passports to chinee people.

Ralph Browne was ah real asshole and was put dey cuz ah de successes de Defense Force had in regional ball.  He learn quick dat he was not liked and footballers was NOT soldiers..dat fat cyat!

Peter O'connor had he turn another shit pot, all talk no action.  we change presidents like socks, until Camps come in 91(?) or thereabouts and he eh get move yet!

T&T football has some man involved oui..who remember Boris Punch?  lol
Post by: E-man on November 11, 2009, 12:09:04 PM
Phil Douglin was in charge at one point, too. He was an ex national player like Galt, but he did butt heads with the players at times while in charge.

Take a look at player disputes over the years and you can see things have been going on long before Jack.

http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/taxonomy/term/6

Post by: Coop's on November 11, 2009, 12:29:28 PM
Sam,i want to thank you for this topic,i always hoped someone would have the forsight to bring forward a topic like this,i just want to say i will have nothing to say as regards this topic because i've tried in my little way to put  forward a lot about our past and have been vindicated for it.

Everything being put forward in these posts i've been around and was a part off,all the ups,downs and fights, all the names being called were my friends up to this day so i don't have to fight with anybody on here to prove anything,the same thing Sam trying to achieve with this topic is what i always try to do and that is educate peeps on what our Football was always like and share my views,it's just a different person in charge,my consolation is this is Football T&T style it's in our history(check it).

Trinity Cross/Eman thanks for the memories,open people eyes,there are lots to learn. :beermug:       
Post by: Midknight on November 11, 2009, 12:42:44 PM
Sam,i want to thank you for this topic,i always hoped someone would have the forsight to bring forward a topic like this,i just want to say i will have nothing to say as regards this topic because i've tried in my little way put to forward a lot about our past and have been vindicated for it.

Everything being put forward in these posts i've been around and was a part off,all the ups,downs and fights, all the names being called were my friends up to this day so i don't have to fight with anybody on here to prove anything,the same thing Sam trying to achieve with this topic is what i always try to do and that is educate peeps on what our Football was always like and share my views,it's just a different person in charge,my consolation is this is Football T&T style it's in our history(check it).

Trinity Cross/Eman thanks for the memories,open people eyes,there lots to learn. :beermug:      
those who don't learn the lessons from their past mistakes are doomed to repeat them
Post by: Deeks on November 11, 2009, 03:47:18 PM
What it was before Jack??? Well for certain, more people use to go and see football.
Post by: dinho on November 11, 2009, 03:50:26 PM
Before Jack we never went no World Cup.
Post by: Deeks on November 11, 2009, 04:14:25 PM
Dinho,
           Dah!   
We are pretty much young when it comes to WC participation. In 74 dubious ref decision kept us out. Italy WC was coach's and technical staff preparation that cost us the game. 2006, by the hook and crook we made it. Of course give jack credit, he made the final decisions. I ain't disputing that. After Italy till then is all jack fault.  2010 is all jack fault. And as long as we don't make it in the future is all ....... fault.
Post by: elan on November 11, 2009, 06:41:57 PM
Dinho,
           Dah!   
We are pretty much young when it comes to WC participation. In 74 dubious ref decision kept us out. Italy WC was coach's and technical staff preparation that cost us the game. 2006, by the hook and crook we made it. Of course give jack credit, he made the final decisions. I ain't disputing that. After Italy till then is all jack fault.  2010 is all jack fault. And as long as we don't make it in the future is all ....... fault.

IDeeks I think Eman, Flex or Tallman kinda put some hole in that belief about the Haiti game and us almost qualifying for the WC
Post by: Deeks on November 11, 2009, 07:03:46 PM
They could put holes in they socks. The team score legit goals that  were denied.
Title: Re: why we did not go to germany in 2006
Post by: truetrini on November 11, 2009, 07:13:32 PM
AFter scoring 6 against Haiti the ref from El Salvador disallowed 5 goals and we lost 2-1.

That said we had a right to wrap up qualification earlier but lost to Honduras 2-1  had we won that game the game against Haiti would have been nothing but  a game...qualification would have been secured layer against Honduras N Antillies and Mexico

we fell 2 points short, the Haiti thievery cost us and cost us BIG!  I remeber winston Philip with his LONGGGGG throws that came like corners we peppered the Haitian goal and beat the shit outta dem that day.  I say that day because for most of the preceding years they beat us up!

The truth is I feel that camps and Jack did get paid off by haiti's Baby Doc Duvalier becasue none ah dem did launch a protest, Ollie Camps was team manager, Jack Warner was general secretary of the then TTFA!!!!!  

Dis does bun Gally heart to dis day!  

The reason the ref get banned...and the ONLY reason he got banned was BECAUSE MEXICO LAUNCHED A PROTEST SAYING THE TIEFIN INVALIDATED THE ENTIRE CONTEST.  Mexico get tief too duing the tourney.

FIFA say den dat de ONLY the results stood was cause it take too long to protest. 48 hours had already pass!

we beat Guatemala 1-0 and den Mexico 4-0 later in dat same tournament!  Mexico pepper we goal but we score!

Man we team was playing dey best football ever and we get tief!

Ask Jack, camps and Eric james why none ah dem protest de tief we get in haiti!

Post by: Preacher on November 12, 2009, 12:29:46 AM
Nice thread keep it going.  I in school.
Post by: truetrini on November 12, 2009, 05:32:38 AM
1973-12-17      Netherlands Antilles     Stade Sylvio Cator     Port-au-Prince, Haiti     W     4-0     World Cup Qualifier
1973-12-14    Mexico    Stade Sylvio Cator    Port-au-Prince, Haiti    W    4-0    World Cup Qualifier
1973-12-10    Guatemala    Stade Sylvio Cator    Port-au-Prince, Haiti    W    1-0    World Cup Qualifier
1973-12-04    Haiti    Stade Sylvio Cator    Port-au-Prince, Haiti    L    1-2    World Cup Qualifier
1973-11-29    Honduras    Stade Sylvio Cator    Port-au-Prince, Haiti    L    1-2    World Cup Qualifier

See if we had won that first game against Honduras, lost to Haiti and then won the rest we were in Germany.

The losses to haiti and honduras cost us....win either game and we in germany 1974..so the tief kept us out.

Imagine beating them 6-1 and losing 2-1???  And no protestaion from Jack, Camps or James (btw that old f**ker james was past president of TTFA)
Post by: injunchile on November 12, 2009, 06:59:43 AM
When Eric James left men held their heads and said- What will happen to we football. Trust me the same will be said when Jack goes. If the truth be told- Camps is a figure head- Jack runs the show and no dog bark,
 Who pays the piper calls the tune. Ken Galt had the heart for the players but no fundraising ability and did not surround himself with competent officers. Then one has to consider that Jack was making a play for the position and working the Zones to get to the Throne.
 How do I know of this political scenario.I was the chaplain to Malvern at the time.
The sad reality of TTFF is that most men involved with the organization really looking for trips and to gallery themselves. All they do is Eat Meet and Retreat..
Post by: Coop's on November 12, 2009, 07:48:41 AM
When Eric James left men held their heads and said- What will happen to we football. Trust me the same will be said when Jack goes. If the truth be told- Camps is a figure head- Jack runs the show and no dog bark,
 Who pays the piper calls the tune. Ken Galt had the heart for the players but no fundraising ability and did not surround himself with competent officers. Then one has to consider that Jack was making a play for the position and working the Zones to get to the Throne.
 How do I know of this political scenario.I was the chaplain to Malvern at the time.
The sad reality of TTFF is that most men involved with the organization really looking for trips and to gallery themselves. All they do is Eat Meet and Retreat..
      If you look at Football any where it's the same thing,you are correct it will not be any different when Jack goes,it's the nature of the TTFF enjoy your time while you are there.You said Ken Galt did not surround himself with competent officers,could you name me one competent officer?who at that time was ever going to invest money in Soccer?   
Post by: Sam on November 12, 2009, 10:34:37 AM
So same shit different boss then...

We really bless with assholes from day one imagine if we had good honest men running we football.
Post by: truetrini on November 12, 2009, 11:08:11 AM
Sam, as Deeks stated football had a bigger following, Jack killed out the prestige clubs and changed the zoning, later he would change the constitution to rig voting used to be as long as a club was a member of the association den dey had a vote...jack make it where only zones could vote as well as ref etc.

then he make sure he peeps running de zones etc.

Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on November 12, 2009, 07:53:01 PM
So same shit different boss then...

We really bless with assholes from day one imagine if we had good honest men running we football.

not all assholes! Ken galt wasn't and put nuff of his own money with absolutely no returns or bribes outside in de football...as pple said it seems he wasn't surround with the best people
Plus he was my grandpops so hadda big him up
Post by: injunchile on November 12, 2009, 09:02:50 PM
Arthur Suite had the vision and a plan. Remember he was responsible for some of our players getting into the New York scene.
Post by: Preacher on November 12, 2009, 09:22:52 PM
These might be some stupid questions but I'll take the opportunity
1. Is the TTFF private or government owned?  Who do they answer to?
2. Was it always so? 
3. How, when and why did they get formed?
Post by: truetrini on November 12, 2009, 09:38:37 PM
Arthur Suite had the vision and a plan. Remember he was responsible for some of our players getting into the New York scene.

George the fifth park...PSA great ball during those times.  Jack scuttled that!  Jack mash up Maple and Malverne as powerhouses too!  Too elite for his liking.
Post by: Deeks on November 12, 2009, 09:42:08 PM
I have heard people say good things about Ken. I have heard that he did get NMassey and some companies to donate money. He put in his own money.I can't remember the guys he had around him. I don't think he was at helm of TFA for very long. I guess his work and age could have been a factor in his short tenure(NYTrini..could tell us more since he was family). But I met him and Big chief Seales when our youth team were practicing for 74 tournament. and he was nice, cordial and encouraging.

After the 74 WC, TFA was in limbo as to what direction they should take. They form the NSL( which was a good thing) to bring it line with mainstream pro-leagues, but the players were still amateurs(except Army, Police, and industrial teams). They had to travel to games, to different parts of the country. Some of us still use to travel in about four, five cars to games. We still had to get time of from work to practice. The crowd were still great. But the money the TFA collected was barely enough to sustain the league and have enough funds for senior and youth teams. They had various sponsors. I don't know how much they got from them. And the gov't use to give them money at least to help with the national teams.
  Then Footes and Pro-pioneers formed a pro team and was touring the Caribbean and bringing team to TT to play and getting good crowds at that. The special advisor squash that. Then Suite come thru like Abramovich. His approach really change the pro-league scene in TT. Lots of excitement.  I was in foreign. Man say ball was great. friday night in PSA was the bomb. St. james drummers jamming. I really envied them. I really missed out on that. But the special advisor dogged Suite out of the football business. Also the aviation sector had a down turn and that also affected Suite financially.
Post by: E-man on November 12, 2009, 11:19:13 PM
2. Was it always so? 

1. private, gov't has nothing to do with it unless they want to put in some money.
2. yes
3. formed in June 1908 by Thomas Boyd, a Scotchman from the Clydesdale FC, first league match in Sept 1908 (http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/2176), associated to the English FA in Feb 1909 (http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/3243). Known as Trinidad Amateur Football Association back then.

Joined CONCACAF and FIFA after independence in 1963 (believe it or not Haiti and Neth. Antilles were the first Caribbeans to join CONCACAF (http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/1907) even though Commander Hayward and Eric James put in a lot of work in terms of Caribbean unity. Hayward formed the CFA (http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/taxonomy/term/988) in 1952 & Eric James the BCFA (http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/taxonomy/term/126) in 1957, forerunners of the CFU (http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/572), which was launched in Haiti in 1978.

Post by: Preacher on November 13, 2009, 12:32:18 AM
2. Was it always so? 

1. private, gov't has nothing to do with it unless they want to put in some money.
2. yes
3. formed in June 1908 by Thomas Boyd, a Scotchman from the Clydesdale FC, first league match in Sept 1908 (http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/2176), associated to the English FA in Feb 1909 (http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/3243). Known as Trinidad Amateur Football Association back then.

Joined CONCACAF and FIFA after independence in 1963 (believe it or not Haiti and Neth. Antilles were the first Caribbeans to join CONCACAF (http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/1907) even though Commander Hayward and Eric James put in a lot of work in terms of Caribbean unity. Hayward formed the CFA (http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/taxonomy/term/988) in 1952 & Eric James the BCFA (http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/taxonomy/term/126) in 1957, forerunners of the CFU (http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/572), which was launched in Haiti in 1978.

Thanks E-man.  If it's private why they always acting like the Gov't entitled to give them money and why we concern about how much money Jack make?   All this time I thinking is some sub-gov't org chart situation. 

From all the very informed reading it seems like it has been real shyte from the beginning.  Do you think if the Gov't ran our football things would be better?  No wonder people vex with Jack they feel he works for the country but Jack works for himself.  If the TTFF is private you need a business man to run it as a business not as a civil service organization.
Post by: Observer on November 13, 2009, 05:44:42 AM

I had a watch that was broken. It was still right twice a day.

Jack had about 30 years to get it right. Even a blind squirrel finds a nut now and then.
Post by: Sam on November 13, 2009, 08:13:06 AM

I eh sure bout that as a broken watch tells the right time once a day, how two times. ?

If de watch get broken 4am, then everyday 4am it tells de right time, does it have another 4am.

Post by: Deeks on November 13, 2009, 08:17:01 AM
Lawd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: truetrini on November 13, 2009, 09:28:10 AM

I eh sure bout that as a broken watch tells the right time once a day, how two times. ?

If de watch get broken 4am, then everyday 4am it tells de right time, does it have another 4am.

Sam yuh trying to get ah Dave Jenny award or what?  I feel yuh pushing for one bad bad bad.

If yuh watch broken and is 4 am at 4pm it go say 4 o'clock again fella...oh gaddo man!

Post by: Sam on November 13, 2009, 09:35:11 AM
Well, what about if its a casio digital watch which says am and pm on it.. :devil:
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on November 13, 2009, 09:59:26 AM
Deeks, the short tenure for ken galt was because he suffered a massive heart attack and died. I believe it was actually after travelling somewhere on football related business.
I go hadda check de mums to find out for sure...
Post by: Peong on November 13, 2009, 10:26:15 AM

;D ;D ;D
Post by: pardners on November 13, 2009, 10:55:44 AM
2. Was it always so? 

2. yes

Thanks E-man.  If it's private why they always acting like the Gov't entitled to give them money and why we concern about how much money Jack make?   All this time I thinking is some sub-gov't org chart situation. 

From all the very informed reading it seems like it has been real shyte from the beginning.  Do you think if the Gov't ran our football things would be better?  No wonder people vex with Jack they feel he works for the country but Jack works for himself.  If the TTFF is private you need a business man to run it as a business not as a civil service organization.

I cant say that if the gov't was running the football things woulda be better, but it woulda certainly be different.  Where public funds concerned we probably woulda have better accountability.

It would take an astute business man like Jack to dupe the whole country into believing that the business he alone profits from is really a gov't business that he just running for the gov't.
Post by: E-man on August 05, 2011, 11:06:10 PM
2. Was it always so? 

2. yes

Thought I'd resurrect this thread for 2 reasons. One because Warner just resigned. Two because I just found a nice color reproduction of the BCFA logo. This is the one the 1959 Caribbean All-Star team used on their tour of England (with Alvin Corneal, Noel Daniel, Ron Gray, Ed Aleong, Willie Rodriguez and so forth)

(http://i988.photobucket.com/albums/af2/kaswiri12/earlier/2005_02060003-2.jpg)