Sports => Football => Topic started by: triniairman on November 19, 2009, 01:48:32 AM

Title: Henry admits handball
Post by: triniairman on November 19, 2009, 01:48:32 AM
Henry admits handball
French skipper pleased to be through despite controversy

Thierry Henry has admitted that he did handle the ball as he set-up the goal which saw France beat Republic of Ireland in their World Cup play-off.

The French captain caused huge controversy as he handled Florent Malouda's long ball into the box, before crossing for William Gallas to head the ball home.

The goal came in the first-half of extra-time, after Ireland had beaten France over 90 minutes thanks to Robbie Keane's first-half goal.

With the first-leg ending 1-0 to France the game went into added time, and the home side grabbed victory in the most controversial of fashions.

"Yes, there is a handball but I am not the referee," Henry admitted.

"I'm in the box, there are two defenders in front of me. The ball bounced off my hand, the referee did not see it and I played on.

"It doesn't change anything to the fact that I'm happy we have qualified."

Pleased
French coach Raymond Domenech was pleased to go through, although he admits he did not see the handball.

"I did not see a hand. It's you people who are speaking about this," he said.

"Sometimes we feel unlucky like we were against Serbia, sometimes we feel lucky.

"I just want to congratulate the Irish team. I am disappointed for the public and the fans. In a way, I regret that they did not qualify.

"I very happy for the players and the staff and the people here. The only word we need to say tonight is that we are very happy at the qualification."
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_5703602,00.html
Republic Of Ireland was the better team and should have won, I have always admired Henry, but that incident just made me upset... Just my opinion on the matter.
Title: Re: Henry admits handball
Post by: triniairman on November 19, 2009, 01:51:07 AM
Irish hearts broken in Paris
Storm surrounds Henry as luck deserts Irish in Parisian controversy

Republic of Ireland's dreams of reaching the 2010 World Cup finals were shattered after they suffered a cruel and controversial 1-1 extra-time draw with France in Paris to lose their play-off on aggregate.

Robbie Keane had erased Les Bleus' one-goal advantage from the opening meeting in the first half, but William Gallas struck in contentious circumstances in extra-time after Thierry Henry had handled in the build-up to book a place in South Africa.

What was already a colossal fixture in terms of importance had been given plenty of additional stirring from the first leg, which 1998 world champions France won thanks to Nicolas Anelka's deflected 72nd minute strike at Croke Park.

Ugly scenes involving Ireland's Keith Andrews and France's Lassana Diarra after the final whistle had overshadowed the match in Dublin and suggested Giovanni Trapattoni's visiting team arrived at a packed Stade de France with additional intent.

But it was a tense opening as Ireland answered Trapattoni's calls for 'cool heads' and dictated the first half-hour, correcting the weekend's wastefulness in possession, to be rewarded when captain Keane converted Damien Duff's 33rd minute cutback.

Ireland finished the half with their noses deservedly in front on the night, with Raymond Domenech's France delivering the sort of turgid display which had been heavily criticised when they crashed out of Euro 2008 at the group stages.

The home side emerged after the interval with more intent, but it was Duff who had the best chance as he charged through and forced Hugo Lloris to demonstrate why he is beginning to carve a reputation as one of Europe's sharpest goalkeepers.

Neither side could find another goal in 90 minutes, but Gallas equalised from close range in the first half of extra-time to sneak a 2-1 aggregate win after France skipper Henry had avoided punishment when clearly controlling a free-kick with his hand.

Believe
Victory over the course of the tie spared France manager Raymond Domenech further abuse, although when the dust settles, his critics may be far from appeased.

Keane had been at pains to insist at Ireland's pre-match press conference at the Stade de France that the tie was far from over, and while his confidence was commendable, few outside the Irish camp were completely won over by his optimism.

But by the time the half-time whistle sounded, the men in green both on and off the pitch were starting to believe.

Republic keeper Shay Given was a virtual spectator for much of the half, and as the men in front of him grew in confidence, it was the visitors who started to make an impression.

Patrice Evra had already had to climb high to prevent Liam Lawrence from connecting with Duff's 18th minute cross and the Stoke midfielder, once again preferred to Aiden McGeady on the right, was in the thick of the action once again six minutes later.

He met Kevin Doyle's cross at the far post to head the ball down for Keane and only the vigilance of keeper Lloris, who rushed from his line to punch clear before the striker could pounce, spared France.

There was panic among the French defence once again with 26 minutes gone when Lawrence crossed from the right and Doyle glanced a header across the face of goal.

It was all very encouraging for the Irish, and their prayers were answered 13 minutes before the break.

Duff was gifted acres of space on the left to make his way to the goalline before looking up and picking out Keane with the perfect pass.

Reaction
The striker gleefully side-footed the ball past Lloris and into the bottom corner to set France back on their heels and blow the tie wide open.

Domenech's side attempted to respond but their reaction was lukewarm, and the home crowd, having booed both their own manager and President Nicolas Sarkozy when their respective images appeared on the stadium's big screens, repeated the dose as the teams left the pitch at the break.

Their mood would have taken a significant turn for the worse had Ireland made the most of a glorious opportunity within two minutes of the restart.

Trapattoni and his players had spoken repeatedly about France's perceived weakness from set-pieces in the run-up to the tie, and they had been disappointed not to exploit it at Croke Park on Saturday.

But they very nearly did just that when Lawrence curled a 47th-minute free-kick to the far post where the unmarked O'Shea, perhaps astonished to be given so much time and space, controlled on his chest only to volley high over.

The French response improved, and Given was called upon to make his first real save with 54 minutes gone, but Anelka's long-range effort never troubled him.

As the home side pushed men forward, they became increasingly vulnerable, and Trapattoni's troops were presented with a gilt-edged opening with 61 minutes gone.

Lawrence's defence-splitting pass put Duff in on goal, but the winger was denied by the impressive Lloris as he pulled off yet another vital stop.

Anelka glanced a header wide at one end and Keane rounded Lloris but could not get in a shot at the other as the game became increasingly frantic.

Given had to claw away an Anelka cross deep into injury time, but Ireland more than deserved their extra 30 minutes.

However, Ireland's luck deserted them 13 minutes into extra-time when Henry handled Florent Malouda's delivery before crossing for Gallas to score.
http://www.skysports.com/football/match_report/0,19764,11065_3208280,00.html
Post by: vb on November 19, 2009, 04:35:15 AM
So Henry eh no worse than Maradona.
Post by: sammy on November 19, 2009, 05:04:03 AM

true, but some how ppl seem to praise maradona theifing.
Post by: vb on November 19, 2009, 05:20:00 AM

true, but some how ppl seem to praise maradona theifing.

My point exactly.

Post by: boss on November 19, 2009, 06:25:34 AM

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2488/4117380440_b37237716c_o.jpg)
Post by: PantherX on November 19, 2009, 07:26:52 AM
This whole incident is a transvestite of justice.
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 08:21:07 AM

Nah Maradonna say it was d hand of God. Henry say iz he hand. Did I miss Crouch admisson of d Sancho thug.
Post by: Zeppo on November 19, 2009, 09:16:02 AM
Cheat or paragon: how Thierry Henry could have handled it all so differently

Thierry Henry had about five seconds in which to decide to join the immortals. While William Gallas wheeled away from the point-blank header which gave France the lead over the Republic of Ireland during extra time in their World Cup play-off last night, Henry's reaction could have gone one of two ways.

In the act of controlling the ball before providing Gallas with a perfect cross, France's captain had handled it. Not once, but twice. The first time might have been almost inadvertent, a pardonable reflex action as it was about to go out of play. The second, in which he scooped the ball with his left hand, redirecting it to drop nicely on to his right foot, was clearly intentional.

Even there, it could be argued that an element of reflex was involved. But in the few seconds that followed, Henry had two options. He could pretend that he had not broken the most basic law of outfield play. Or he could take the opportunity to neutralise the effect of his reflexes. To erase an error. To right a wrong. To be a man.

(continue) (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2009/nov/19/thierry-henry-handball-france-ireland)
Post by: kicker on November 19, 2009, 09:21:44 AM
Terrible way to win/lose.  In a way I understand Henry's point that once the ball hit his hand and he heard no whistle, his instinct is to play on...from the footage though it looked like more than "the ball hitting his hand"... He seemed to intentionally cradle it into his stride- that I can't morally condone...

Heartbreaker- such is the game....
Post by: kicker on November 19, 2009, 09:25:03 AM

Post by: kicker on November 19, 2009, 09:33:12 AM

Thierry Henry had about five seconds in which to decide to join the immortals. While William Gallas wheeled away from the point-blank header which gave France the lead over the Republic of Ireland during extra time in their World Cup play-off last night, Henry's reaction could have gone one of two ways.

In the act of controlling the ball before providing Gallas with a perfect cross, France's captain had handled it. Not once, but twice. The first time might have been almost inadvertent, a pardonable reflex action as it was about to go out of play. The second, in which he scooped the ball with his left hand, redirecting it to drop nicely on to his right foot, was clearly intentional.

Even there, it could be argued that an element of reflex was involved. But in the few seconds that followed, Henry had two options. He could pretend that he had not broken the most basic law of outfield play. Or he could take the opportunity to neutralise the effect of his reflexes. To erase an error. To right a wrong. To be a man.

(continue) (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2009/nov/19/thierry-henry-handball-france-ireland)

:beermug: :applause:
Post by: asylumseeker on November 19, 2009, 09:45:42 AM
This will follow Henry, and could very well be more trouble than it presently seems worth.
Post by: E-man on November 19, 2009, 09:52:39 AM
Unlike the Trinidad FA in '73
Ireland lodges handball protest with FIFA

DUBLIN (AP) — The Irish soccer association has lodged an official complaint with FIFA over the deliberate handball by Thierry Henry that cost Ireland a place in the World Cup.

The Football Association of Ireland issued a statement Thursday saying the handball was recognized by the FIFA commissioner, the referee observer and the match officials, as well as by Henry himself.

Henry's handball in extra time of the playoff led to a goal by William Gallas in a 1-1 draw that put France in the World Cup.

'We got robbed': Irish demand replay with France
By SHAWN POGATCHNIK (AP)

DUBLIN — Ireland appealed to France and soccer authorities Thursday to replay their World Cup playoff in Paris after an obvious handball by Thierry Henry produced the winning goal.

Ireland's government and opposition leaders united in demands for Wednesday's 1-1 draw in France to be replayed, and the country's soccer federation said it is considering a protest.

In extra time, Henry twice handled the ball to prevent it going out of play, then passed to William Gallas in the Irish box for the deciding goal.

France advanced to next year's World Cup finals in South Africa with a 2-1 aggregate score. At the time of Henry's unpunished handball, the match was 17 minutes from reaching a penalty shootout.

"If that result remains, it reinforces the view that if you cheat you will win," said Irish Justice Minister Dermot Ahern — who also pointed out that two French players appeared to be offsides on a free kick that preceded the goal.

"Millions of people worldwide saw it was a blatant double handball, not to mention a double offside," Ahern said. "We should put the powers that be in the cozy world of FIFA on the spot and demand a replay."

The Football Association of Ireland said it was still mulling whether to protest. But Irish assistant manager Liam Brady and several players appealed to France's sense of honor.

"If the game's going to survive, it's got to be an equal playing field," Brady said. "If we're going to have integrity and dignity in the world game, the game should be replayed. And we'll go to Paris to play it."

World Cup organizer Danny Jordaan told The Associated Press on Thursday that such incidents are "unfortunately a reality of the game ... and we have come to accept they happen every week."

Jordaan said allowing referees to defer to video replays is not a solution because it "still requires a judgment call by a human being."

Some Irish players accused Henry of lying when he told them that his handball had been accidental and instinctive, and criticized Swedish referee Martin Hansson for missing the infraction.

Irish left back Kevin Kilbane said replays showed conclusively that Henry "handballed it once and it's still going out of play, so he's handled it again to make sure it doesn't go out of play. ... I asked him on the pitch: Did you handball it? And he said, 'Yes — but I didn't mean it.'"

Kilbane said he also asked Hansson after the final whistle if he had seen the incident.

"He said: 'I can 100 percent say it wasn't handball.' When he said that to me, I knew full well that he was just lying to me because he hadn't even seen it."

Irish lawmaker Joe McHugh said France should follow the 1999 precedent set by Arsenal's French manager, Arsene Wenger, who volunteered to replay a match in England's FA Cup after Arsenal won on an unfair goal.

"Throughout the country today there is an air of bitterness. We were beaten unfairly and there is general disgust in France too," McHugh said. "Friends of mine who attended last night's game phoned me this morning from a cafe in Paris to report that the French people are ashamed and do not regard this as an honest victory."

Several Irish players were in tears after Wednesday's match and rued their own missed scoring chances after outplaying France for much of the night.

"We got robbed. ... We feel cheated. We were the better team," said Irish defender Sean St. Ledger.

Ahern said he doubted that soccer's world governing body FIFA would sanction a replay. He reflected the widespread Irish view that the sport's powers were biased in favor of ensuring France's qualification.

"They probably won't grant it as we are minnows in world football," Ahern said, "but let's put them on the spot anyway."
Post by: FF on November 19, 2009, 09:58:29 AM
The Irish FA is claiming there is precedent as in 2005, FIFA ordered the replay of the Bahrain-Uzbekistan playoff following a technical error by the referee...  :o  :o  Mama!!

but we all know... nothing going to happen  :-\
Post by: Brownsugar on November 19, 2009, 10:05:13 AM

Oh laaaawwwddd all yuh good idle!!...
Post by: Daft Trini on November 19, 2009, 10:08:52 AM
Fifa is sponsored by Adidas... they have millions to make from those faggy Techfit shirts!

Come on is Platini the buller team that make it... yuh really thing UEFA cares... please They enduring jack stammering a congratulatory speech while sipping Grey Goose and Champagne!
Post by: Peong on November 19, 2009, 10:11:30 AM
Henry shoulda said something to the ref.
The playoff was tied at the moment.
If the ref decided to disallow it based on that, they still had extra time to try and score.
If the ref let it stand, then at least Henry would have tried to right the situation.
That was spineless of him.
And makin a big show of goin to sit with Dunne, Dunne shoulda tell him to f**k off.
Post by: Zeppo on November 19, 2009, 10:29:09 AM
And makin a big show of goin to sit with Dunne, Dunne shoulda tell him to f**k off.

I agree.

And the Irish players want to blame FIFA, UEFA, the ref, the linesmen and everyone else.

But for some reason they're reluctant to point the finger at the person most responsible for their exit: Thierry Henry.
Post by: Trini Madness on November 19, 2009, 10:32:24 AM
ireland shouldve won regardless...those two clear chances by duff and keane wouldve sealed it, but say wha...
Post by: lefty on November 19, 2009, 11:15:43 AM

I doh get it...?
travesty
Post by: Bourbon on November 19, 2009, 11:23:45 AM
IT SERIOUS!!!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Thierry_Henry&oldid=326715091

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p1/triniBourbon/henry.jpg)
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 11:30:21 AM
IT SERIOUS!!!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Thierry_Henry&oldid=326715091

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p1/triniBourbon/henry.jpg)

As a STROKEEEEEEEEEEE  :rotfl:. It eh d first time a tief goal score it eh go b last time. Get ovah it Ireland.
Post by: Trinimassive on November 19, 2009, 11:37:28 AM

Nah Maradonna say it was d hand of God. Henry say iz he hand. Did I miss Crouch admisson of d Sancho thug.

Exactly

The smallest country to make it to a World Cup putting up a fight in a game then this English clown do that. Where was the uproar for the ruthless way Crouch pull Sancho hair.

Leave then English, Irish, Welch right where they is. Them always teefing from countries but when country thief from them they think the world should stop.

It good fuh them  :devil:

Post by: Deeks on November 19, 2009, 11:41:31 AM
Maybe FiFA should make them replay and settle it once and for all.
Post by: elan on November 19, 2009, 11:43:43 AM

Where was all this from the English press when Crouch pulled Sancho hair?

Post by: DeSoWa on November 19, 2009, 11:46:58 AM

Exactly

The smallest country to make it to a World Cup putting up a fight in a game then this English clown do that. Where was the uproar for the ruthless way Crouch pull Sancho hair.

Leave then English, Irish, Welch right where they is. Them always teefing from countries but when country thief from them they think the world should stop.

Ok ah go say it....Crouch = English and White - Sancho = a lil black boy from a lil island had no right to have dreadlocks

So England "Deservedly" moved on  ;D

Henry = Nobody like the french anyway, plus he black  ::) - Ireland = well they are all white, mostly lol so that is utterly disrespectful to "cheat" against them  :devil:

Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 11:51:48 AM

Exactly

HYPOCRITES OF D HIGHEST ORDERRRRRRRRRRRRRR.
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 11:57:22 AM

Where was all this from the English press when Crouch pulled Sancho hair?

Where the man wit d cosign stamp I tink I ned a borrow 4 dis 1
Post by: truetrini on November 19, 2009, 12:05:51 PM

I agree.

And the Irish players want to blame FIFA, UEFA, the ref, the linesmen and everyone else.

But for some reason they're reluctant to point the finger at the person most responsible for their exit: Thierry Henry.

Bull shit!  Henry under no obligation to walk to the ref and say I handled the ball!  NONE!

When players foul in the box. or tug shirts deliberately, and the ref makes a non-call, are those players supposed to stop the play, hold the ball and go walk up to the ref and say, "Damn it old chap, are you bloody blind?  Didn't you see me foul that French bloke?  Why didn't you give them a penalty you shit house wanker?"

It was the responsibility of those officiating the game to make the call!

STEUPS!

Why don't you go ask Bush and Cheney to come and tell the American people and the entire world that they illegally and with extreme prejudice to the truth, invaded Iraq under the false pretenses of seeking weapons of mass destruction...yuh damn agent of mass distraction?

I bet you wish you could water board Henry now eh?

Look at this   here is a prime example of a US paragon!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zk_fATphz68
Post by: #4 on November 19, 2009, 12:09:23 PM

Yeah... Crouch eventually admitted it. He took it as a joke thing too.
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 12:10:09 PM

Yeah... Crouch eventually admitted it. He took it as a joke thing too.

Well Henry  :rotfl: on he way 2 SA2010
Post by: xixgon on November 19, 2009, 12:42:30 PM
Yeah I doubt there would have been this much outrage had it been Robbie Keane doing the same thing on the other end - then again that might have been called haha.  Usually a foreigner bias in the media though.

That said I don't like Henry, this isn't the first time he's cheated and France is the big nation (which has a compatriot at the head of UEFA) - so I can't say I'm too surprised by the overall outcome of the playoff. Just a shame considering Ireland were as good if not better than the French over the 2 legs. France really have gone off the boil since the loss of Zidane and the addition of Domenech it must be said.

As for Henry:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yh8mk7MfBd8&fmt=18

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48KxomccYNU&fmt=18

Most players have these moments at least occasionally nowadays - just a really blatant incident this time by a leading player in a crucial game really. But I can't say most pros wouldn't have done the same thing in Henry's situation.

It's the way that he celebrated without conscience that really shed a light on his personality though.
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 12:44:39 PM
Yeah I doubt there would have been this much outrage had it been Robbie Keane doing the same thing on the other end - then again that might have been called haha.  Usually a foreigner bias in the media though.

That said I don't like Henry, this isn't the first time he's cheated and France is the big nation (which has a compatriot at the head of UEFA) - so I can't say I'm too surprised by the overall outcome of the playoff. Just a shame considering Ireland were as good if not better than the French over the 2 legs. France really have gone off the boil since the loss of Zidane and the addition of Domenech it must be said.

Most players have these moments at least occasionally nowadays - just a really blatant incident this time by a leading player in a crucial game really. But I can't say most pros wouldn't have done the same thing in Henry's situation.

It's the way that he celebrated without conscience that really shed a light on his personality though.

D man score a goal 2 take him 2 d WC yuh want him 2 sulk. Come nah man.
Post by: MEP on November 19, 2009, 12:54:21 PM
To hell with the British media...it is only because it happened to one of their own that they're raising their voices in rancor......with all the gamesmanship that frequently occur I'm not hearing any outcry. They are the ones who support the win at all costs attitude. I wonder if the situation were reversed and it was Rooney who had handled the ball, would the outcry be the same?
Post by: palos on November 19, 2009, 12:54:36 PM
Wheeeeyyyysss.

Dis thread eh merge yet?

SHOCKING!  :o   ;D ;D
Post by: DeSoWa on November 19, 2009, 12:55:53 PM

Um, he didn't score...he did your fav word in football...he ssisted the goal  ;D

Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 01:03:43 PM

Um, he didn't score...he did your fav word in football...he ssisted the goal  ;D

Meh boi I was out of it yday tru he did what Magic was famous for. Me eh c d ting up 2 now. So he was 2 sulk after d assist.
Post by: warmonga on November 19, 2009, 01:12:40 PM
i eh see nothing wrong wid dat.. maradona did it and it was d greatest thing football fans had ever saw.. wah happen now? i was hoping france lost but whateever..
Post by: Bitter on November 19, 2009, 01:14:08 PM

ent!
Yuh feel is Anelka or what?
Post by: Zeppo on November 19, 2009, 01:21:24 PM
Bull shit!  Henry under no obligation to walk to the ref and say I handled the ball!  NONE!

When players foul in the box. or tug shirts deliberately, and the ref makes a non-call, are those players supposed to stop the play, hold the ball and go walk up to the ref and say, "Damn it old chap, are you bloody blind?  Didn't you see me foul that French bloke?  Why didn't you give them a penalty you shit house wanker?"

Where did I say that Henry should have admitted to the ref that he handled the ball?

I didn't, you stooge. So learn to actually comprehend what you read, and save your worthless YouTube links for someone who gives a rat's ass.
Post by: boss on November 19, 2009, 02:29:47 PM

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_Dq9xOrW6GM4/SkFovLScDQI/AAAAAAAAD2E/iyWhqn4ZVbg/s400/cosign-1.jpg)
Post by: Zeppo on November 19, 2009, 02:33:31 PM
The hand of Henry

The manner in which the Republic of Ireland went out to France after Wednesday's World Cup play-off second leg was simply heartbreaking.

I played with Thierry Henry for six years at Arsenal and I can assure you he was as honest as the day is long.

But people will look at his handball in the build-up to France's extra-time equaliser, which sent them to South Africa with a 2-1 aggregate victory, and say he's cheated.

(continue) (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/8368142.stm)
Post by: Trini Madness on November 19, 2009, 02:38:33 PM
lol we wouldnt be talking about this if duff and keane put away them goals......so who's fault is it? not henry's but ireland themselves.
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 02:53:49 PM

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_Dq9xOrW6GM4/SkFovLScDQI/AAAAAAAAD2E/iyWhqn4ZVbg/s400/cosign-1.jpg)

Thxs boss yuh is a real boss I go have 2 take a borrow now and then
Post by: elan on November 19, 2009, 04:26:07 PM
HENRY HANDBALL FALLOUT
FAI request France replay
By Soccernet staff

The Football Association of Ireland (FAI) have lodged a formal complaint with FIFA over the controversial World Cup play-off defeat to France and have urged world football's governing body to replay the match.

Les Bleus striker Thierry Henry clearly handled the ball to set up William Gallas' decisive goal as France drew 1-1 at the Stade de France on Wednesday night, winning the two-legged tie 2-1 on aggregate.

"The handball was recognised by the FIFA commissioner, the referee observer and the match officials, as well as by the player himself," the FAI said.

The goal has caused outrage across Europe and the FAI share the view of Irish Justice Minister Dermot Ahern and assistant Republic of Ireland coach Liam Brady who have both called for the game to be replayed.

"The blatantly incorrect decision by the referee to award the goal has damaged the integrity of the sport and we now call on FIFA, as the world governing body for our sport, to organise for this match to be replayed," the FAI said.

FIFA ordered Uzbekistan to replay Bahrain in a play-off for the 2006 World Cup in Germany after the referee made a mistake when a penalty had been awarded.

"The Football Association of Ireland is hoping that FIFA and its disciplinary committee will, on behalf of football fans worldwide, act in a similar fashion so that the standards of fair play and integrity can be protected," the FAI added.

However, in the aforementioned instance, the referee was guilty of wrongly applying the rules rather than missing an offence. An indirect free-kick was awarded against Uzbekistan when one of their players encroached on the Bahrain penalty area as the Uzbeks successfully converted a penalty. The correct interpretation would have been to order the penalty to be retaken.

FAI chief executive John Delaney also confirmed that his organisation had contacted their French counterparts as they continue their quest to arrange a replay.

"I really believe the integrity of the game has been questioned last night," Delaney said. "The governing body of world football have to step up to the plate and accede to our call for a replay.

"We have got to do what we have to do. We owe it to the players, who were magnificent last night. The supporters were incredible. It is up to the people who govern the game now. Every time I go to a FIFA congress I hear about fair play and integrity.

"This was not a league game. This was a defining game with the whole world watching and if FIFA believe in fair play and integrity, this is their opportunity to step forward.

"From the French FA point of view they need to look at themselves in this situation. Henry is their captain and a wonderful footballer but does he want to be like Diego Maradona and his legacy to be this handball, this goal that got them to the World Cup in an unjust manner?"

Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni wants FIFA to explain their choice of referee for the game but accepts that there is no chance of the match being replayed.

"All fans saw what happened on the pitch," Trapattoni said. "I would only like to say I would like FIFA to explain how they selected the referee for this important game. For this important game we needed a stronger referee - an important referee."

"I know it's impossible to replay the game," the Italian added.

FIFA confirmed on Thursday that they have received an official complaint from the FAI. A spokesman said: "We have received the formal request from the Football Association of Ireland regarding a replay of the match and FIFA will now look at this."

Post by: elan on November 19, 2009, 04:28:13 PM
FRANCE 1-1 IRELAND
Bitter Keane blasts Platini and Blatter
By Soccernet staff

Ireland captain Robbie Keane has hit out at the presidents of FIFA and UEFA following his country's controversial World Cup exit in Paris, claiming they would be "delighted" that France had gone through.

Les Bleus striker Thierry Henry clearly used his hand to set up William Gallas' decisive goal as France levelled Keane's opener at the Stade de France to draw 1-1 on Wednesday night, winning the two-legged tie 2-1 on aggregate.

After the match, an angry Keane lambasted FIFA's 11th hour decision to seed the World Cup play-off draw in favour of the big teams, which ultimately pitted the Irish against France, and the Ireland international claims FIFA president Sepp Blatter and his UEFA counterpart Michel Platini got the result they would have wanted.

"Of course it is an easy decision to do the seedings," Keane told BBC Radio Five Live. "They're all probably clapping hands, Platini sitting up there on the phone to Sepp Blatter, probably texting each other, delighted with the result, with France (getting through)."

The Tottenham Hotspur striker claims that when it emerged that established football powers such as France, Portugal and at one stage Germany could be involved in the play-offs, football's governing bodies quickly went back on their initial decision not to seed the knock-out ties.

Keane said: "Germany had a chance of being in the (play-offs) as well. With two massive countries, there's no way in a million years is there going to be fair draw."

Ireland's assistant manager Liam Brady also took a swipe at the seeding system and blamed FIFA's weighted draw for heaping a huge amount of pressure on referee Martin Hansson.

Brady said: "I would maybe look at what happened three months before and the fact that these seedings for the play-offs were made to favour the bigger teams. I would ask why that went on.

"The pressure on referees is enormous then. The pressure is too much to bear and I hought the referee up until then had refereed the match in fine fashion, but he succumbed under pressure."

After the match, Henry admitted the ball did strike his hand and claims he told the referee, who chose to allow the goal to stand.

The Barcelona striker said: "The ball hit my hand, I will be honest. It was a handball, you can clearly see it. (Sebastien) Squillaci went to jump with two Irish players, I was behind him and the next thing I know the ball hit my hand.

"It was a handball, but I'm not the ref. I told (the referee) but he said to me the same: 'You are not the ref.'"

Ironically, if Platini's brainchild of having two extra assistants behind the goal, which the Frenchman is trialling in the Europa League, had been in action, Henry's handball would have been detected and the UEFA chief's countrymen prevented from progressing.

Post by: E-man on November 19, 2009, 06:04:09 PM
Go Ireland - protest yuh protest  :beermug:

http://www.tntingermany.com/ireland.swf
Post by: jai john on November 19, 2009, 07:34:04 PM
http://www.google.tt/url?sa=t&source=web&ct=res&cd=2&ved=0CAkQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fbox3.wordpress.com%2F2009%2F11%2F19%2Fthierry-henry-wins-sportsman-of-the-year-twice%2F&rct=j&q=Henry+for+sportsman+of+the+year&ei=E_EFS6XwJIa7lAerrdyeDA&usg=AFQjCNFQrXqywbu31z_CZhj9OBqAmoD85A

This one takes the cake ...I guess you could say Henri definetely had a hand in France getting to SA !
Post by: E-man on November 19, 2009, 07:42:26 PM
'FIFA (Federation for the Insertion of France into Africa)'  :rotfl:
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 07:54:08 PM
'FIFA (Federation for the Insertion of France into Africa)'  :rotfl:

LAWD GOOD 1
Post by: Dumplingdinho on November 19, 2009, 08:28:40 PM
Henry prove that most athletes believe a win is a win and if yuh get get away with $hit well lucky u and hard luck for de next person.  I hope France get nuff licks in de World Cup and Henry get send off in de first minute of de first game and miss the entire tournament.  Never like France and hate dem even more but not as much as I hate England...doh cuss mih Small Mag... ;D
Post by: triniairman on November 19, 2009, 08:33:39 PM
Go Ireland - protest yuh protest  :beermug:

http://www.tntingermany.com/ireland.swf
WTF!!! :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on November 19, 2009, 09:38:17 PM
Ok ah go say it....Crouch = English and White - Sancho = a lil black boy from a lil island had no right to have dreadlocks

Henry = Nobody like the french anyway, plus he black  ::) - Ireland = well they are all white, mostly lol so that is utterly disrespectful to "cheat" against them  :devil:

Hair pulling is a minor thing... no different from shirt pulling in the grand scheme of things.  That's far different from deliberately handling the ball.

That said the Irish need to build a bridge and get to f**k over it already.  Henry is doing the right thing... he made a mistake in the heat of the moment and okay, he didn't own up to it right away but he eventually did.  Even had he gone to the ref and say "I hit it with my hand" there is no guarantee the ref would have done anything.  The body properly empowered to act is FIFA, and like I said... he's doing the right thing, putting the onus squarely on them.
Post by: Jah Gol on November 19, 2009, 09:59:35 PM

Hair pulling is a minor thing... no different from shirt pulling in the grand scheme of things.  That's far different from deliberately handling the ball.

That said the Irish need to build a bridge and get to f**k over it already.  Henry is doing the right thing... he made a mistake in the heat of the moment and okay, he didn't own up to it right away but he eventually did.  Even had he gone to the ref and say "I hit it with my hand" there is no guarantee the ref would have done anything.  The body properly empowered to act is FIFA, and like I said... he's doing the right thing, putting the onus squarely on them.
I feel that's easier said than done. Those Irish players and most Irish fans will remember that incident for years to come. It's a really big deal.
Post by: Bakes on November 19, 2009, 10:25:57 PM
I feel that's easier said than done. Those Irish players and most Irish fans will remember that incident for years to come. It's a really big deal.

Of course it is... I understand how they feel, but they going overboard with all of the personal attacks and threats etc. I'm reading elsewhere.  Shit happens... they're not the first and won't be the last.  We get screwed righteously in 1973, persevered and got over it.  We likely wasn't going to advance out of group in Germany (or maybe we did), but Crouch fouling Sancho certainly didn't help our chances.  In that same tournament Italy dive in the box against Australia and the Ukraine in the person of Shevchenko did the same against Switzerland(?) to advance. 

The only difference with those situations is that all the teams (except the Strike Squad) were already at the Finals instead of playing to get there.  Otherwise the net result is the same, the incidents in question led to the teams penalized by the uncalled infraction going home.  It sucks.  Life is not fair.  Move on.
Post by: truetrini on November 19, 2009, 10:28:01 PM

Where did I say that Henry should have admitted to the ref that he handled the ball?

I didn't, you stooge. So learn to actually comprehend what you read, and save your worthless YouTube links for someone who gives a rat's ass.

Asswipe you posted an article which stated that he should have...and then you made the remark that he was responsible.....for Ireland's exit from WC2010..you Bushite moron.

What really pissed you off, the fact that I asked you to appeal to bush and Cheney to come clean?

I can understand well.  You insipid c**t.   You blamed Henry, Isay blame the game officials.

You cow nanny.

By the way, do you feel that Obama should have bowed to the Japanese Emperor?
Post by: Big Magician on November 19, 2009, 11:07:00 PM
fitball
Post by: Zeppo on November 20, 2009, 03:26:25 AM
Asswipe you posted an article which stated that he should have...and then you made the remark that he was responsible.....for Ireland's exit from WC2010..

Hey moron, just because I posted the article doesn't necessarily mean that I think Henry should have admitted the handball. And since you seem confused, I didn't write the article.

BTW, you know even less about my politics than you know about football.
Post by: truetrini on November 20, 2009, 04:44:13 AM
Asswipe you posted an article which stated that he should have...and then you made the remark that he was responsible.....for Ireland's exit from WC2010..

Hey moron, just because I posted the article doesn't necessarily mean that I think Henry should have admitted the handball. And since you seem confused, I didn't write the article.

BTW, you know even less about my politics than you know about football.

Shut up, you followed the post with  stating the Irish had a right to blame Henry and not the ref.  Are you looking for the job as Sec. of State?  You starting to sound Like Colin Powell!

You lie!  Ypu blasted Republican.   ;)
Title: roy 4 tnt coach
Post by: kounty on November 20, 2009, 06:34:52 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/8370327.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/8370327.stm)

Roy Keane has no sympathy for Republic of Ireland exit
Roy Keane
Keane was typically robust when asked about the Republic's appeal

Roy Keane has lambasted the Republic of Ireland's attempts to get their controversial World Cup play-off match against France replayed.

The Republic appealed to Fifa after their 2-1 aggregate defeat by France on the basis that the winning goal came after a blatant Thierry Henry handball.

But Ipswich boss Keane said: "They can complain all they want but France are going to the World Cup - get over it.

"France were there for the taking and Ireland didn't do it. Same old story."

The Irishman, who made 65 appearances for the Republic as a player, continued: "If I'd been there in the dressing room after the game, I wouldn't be talking about the handball. I'd focus on why the defenders didn't clear it. They should've cleared it.

"I'd be more annoyed with my defenders and my goalkeeper than Thierry Henry. How can you let the ball bounce in your six-yard box? How can you let Thierry Henry get goal-side of you? If the ball goes into the six-yard box, where the hell is my goalkeeper?

"These are skills and lessons you learn as a schoolboy.

"Ireland had their chances in the two games and they never took them. They had chances at Croke Park (in the first leg) and they had chances on Wednesday.

606: DEBATE
Is Roy Keane right?

"They didn't take them, but it's the usual FAI (Football Association of Ireland) reaction - 'we've been robbed, the honesty of the game...' It's rubbish."

And Keane pointed out that controversial decisions went Ireland's way in the qualifying campaign, not least a harsh penalty award against Georgia which helped them to clinch a 2-1 qualifying win in February.

"There was one match against Georgia where Ireland got a penalty and it was one of the worst decisions I've ever seen which changed the whole course of the game.

"I don't remember the FAI after the game saying we should give them a replay."

Keane's antipathy towards the FAI stems back to the Pacific island of Saipan in 2002 when he left the team's pre-World Cup training camp, complaining that the facilities were sub-standard.

Keane has never forgiven Delaney for failing to contact him during the incident and misleading the media as to his whereabouts after his controversial exit from the tournament after the row with boss Mick McCarthy over facilities.

"People seem to forget what was going on in that World Cup, and that man (FAI chief executive John Delaney) is on about honesty? I wouldn't take notice of anything that man says.

"I was one of the players at that World Cup and he didn't have the courtesy to ring me. I'd been involved with Ireland since I was 15 years of age and that man didn't have the decency to make a phone call. He could have phoned me, of course he could have."

I tink dem boy on tnt team need some good boofin up.  i feel he could take we 2 brazil.
Post by: Zeppo on November 20, 2009, 08:36:36 AM
Shut up, you followed the post with  stating the Irish had a right to blame Henry and not the ref. 

Once again, since it's so difficult for you to grasp, I expressed my amazement at how the Irish are so reluctant to point a finger at Henry, but in no way did I state that Henry was obligated to admit his handball to the ref.

Learn to read, fool.
Title: Re: roy 4 tnt coach
Post by: weary1969 on November 20, 2009, 08:40:07 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/8370327.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/8370327.stm)

Roy Keane has no sympathy for Republic of Ireland exit
Roy Keane
Keane was typically robust when asked about the Republic's appeal

Roy Keane has lambasted the Republic of Ireland's attempts to get their controversial World Cup play-off match against France replayed.

The Republic appealed to Fifa after their 2-1 aggregate defeat by France on the basis that the winning goal came after a blatant Thierry Henry handball.

But Ipswich boss Keane said: "They can complain all they want but France are going to the World Cup - get over it.

"France were there for the taking and Ireland didn't do it. Same old story."

The Irishman, who made 65 appearances for the Republic as a player, continued: "If I'd been there in the dressing room after the game, I wouldn't be talking about the handball. I'd focus on why the defenders didn't clear it. They should've cleared it.

"I'd be more annoyed with my defenders and my goalkeeper than Thierry Henry. How can you let the ball bounce in your six-yard box? How can you let Thierry Henry get goal-side of you? If the ball goes into the six-yard box, where the hell is my goalkeeper?

"These are skills and lessons you learn as a schoolboy.

"Ireland had their chances in the two games and they never took them. They had chances at Croke Park (in the first leg) and they had chances on Wednesday.

606: DEBATE
Is Roy Keane right?

"They didn't take them, but it's the usual FAI (Football Association of Ireland) reaction - 'we've been robbed, the honesty of the game...' It's rubbish."

And Keane pointed out that controversial decisions went Ireland's way in the qualifying campaign, not least a harsh penalty award against Georgia which helped them to clinch a 2-1 qualifying win in February.

"There was one match against Georgia where Ireland got a penalty and it was one of the worst decisions I've ever seen which changed the whole course of the game.

"I don't remember the FAI after the game saying we should give them a replay."

Keane's antipathy towards the FAI stems back to the Pacific island of Saipan in 2002 when he left the team's pre-World Cup training camp, complaining that the facilities were sub-standard.

Keane has never forgiven Delaney for failing to contact him during the incident and misleading the media as to his whereabouts after his controversial exit from the tournament after the row with boss Mick McCarthy over facilities.

"People seem to forget what was going on in that World Cup, and that man (FAI chief executive John Delaney) is on about honesty? I wouldn't take notice of anything that man says.

"I was one of the players at that World Cup and he didn't have the courtesy to ring me. I'd been involved with Ireland since I was 15 years of age and that man didn't have the decency to make a phone call. He could have phoned me, of course he could have."

I tink dem boy on tnt team need some good boofin up.  i feel he could take we 2 brazil.

Agree wit yuh but JW need more boofin and Keane is d man 2 do dat so dat is y he eh go get d wuk.
Post by: Bourbon on November 20, 2009, 08:56:06 AM
I just want to make it clear...dat anybody who cussing any player for any perceived cheating will be referred back to this thread oui. De hypocrisy amazing.
Post by: Jah Gol on November 20, 2009, 09:01:45 AM
How do the tactical errors Ireland committed render Henry's violation unimportant ? Ireland did score a goal that was caused by schoolboy defending by France (The guy was absolutely free in the box). Football is a game of mistakes, you can point out a defensive error as the cause of most goals. He's right in saying there's no point in demanding a replay of the match though.
Post by: boss on November 20, 2009, 09:04:07 AM
Henry - Replay would be fair
France striker insists he is not a cheat after controversial handball
skysports.com
Last updated: 20th November 2009 
Henry - Replay would be fair

(http://img.skysports.com/09/11/218x298/Thierry-Henry-Hand-Ball-France-Republic-of-Ir_2386620.jpg)
Henry: Instinctive reaction

Thierry Henry has issued a statement in response to claims he 'cheated' to earn France a World Cup final place at the expense of the Republic of Ireland.

The striker handled the ball twice in the build-up to creating William Gallas' goal in extra-time on Wednesday night which earned France a 2-1 aggregate success.

Ireland's players were left enraged by the incident, leading to accusations that Henry is a 'cheat' and that the game should be replayed.

Fifa has confirmed the match will not be allowed to take place again and, while Henry feels a replay would be the fairest solution, he is adamant he did not deliberately cheat.

Here is Henry's statement in full:

"I have said at the time and I will say again that yes I handled the ball.

"I am not a cheat and never have been. It was an instinctive reaction to a ball that was coming extremely fast in a crowded penalty area.

"As a footballer you do not have the luxury of the television to slow the pace of the ball down 100 times to be able to make a conscious decision.

"People are viewing a slow motion version of what happened and not what I or any other footballer faces in the game.

"If people look at it in full speed you will see that it was an instinctive reaction. It is impossible to be anything other than that.

"I have never denied that the ball was controlled with my hand. I told the Irish players, the referee and the media this after the game.

"Naturally I feel embarrassed at the way that we won and feel extremely sorry for the Irish who definitely deserve to be in South Africa.

"Of course the fairest solution would be to replay the game, but it is not in my control.

"There is little more I can do apart from admit that the ball had contact with my hand leading up to our equalising goal and I feel very sorry for the Irish."
Post by: Peong on November 20, 2009, 09:21:03 AM

You talkin real toots.  Players have an obligation to play fair.
Those that do what you outlined are cheats and bring the game into disrepute.
Post by: Bourbon on November 20, 2009, 09:30:56 AM

Dis is wha i trying to understand.

Men saying is de ref fault. If he did touch de ball once i woulda say it accidental. Buh twice showing how deliberate it was. And is de ref fault alone?
Post by: elan on November 20, 2009, 09:33:35 AM

I would love for you 'all to get your "cheat" free football. I play fair, don't "cheat" , but this happens in football that's why it is the best sporting event in the world. If you want to see error free sports watch NFL , they use replay.
Post by: weary1969 on November 20, 2009, 09:36:25 AM

I would love for you 'all to get your "cheat" free football. I play fair, don't "cheat" , but this happens in football that's why it is the best sporting event in the world. If you want to see error free sports watch NFL , they use replay.

EXACTLYYYYYYYYYYY D SHOW MUST GO ON
Post by: elan on November 20, 2009, 09:37:25 AM
How do the tactical errors Ireland committed render Henry's violation unimportant ? Ireland did score a goal that was caused by schoolboy defending by France (The guy was absolutely free in the box). Football is a game of mistakes, you can point out a defensive error as the cause of most goals. He's right in saying there's no point in demanding a replay of the match though.

Keane don't care about France, he is speaking to and about Ireland. He is showing what they should be focussing on. He is right, the two technical mistakes he pointed out are very valid and Ireland needs to beat themselves a little. Henry lose 2 defenders on his way to the ball.
Post by: truetrini on November 20, 2009, 09:42:18 AM

peong like you does watch moral and not football?

Shirt tugging, diving etc. are all part of the game, professional fouls too.  I saw in our won build up to germany 2006, our defenders committing what are called professional fouls.  One time  aman break away from Tallest and he haul de man down..man on way to goal...Lawrence get carded..what is the difference between that a hand ball?  Both unfair advantages,,one stopping a sure goal and one causing a sure goal?

Steups..Is de f**king ref and de linesman...dat is dem job to see de fouls and call dem..if dat was not de case...dey would not have officials as everyone ALWAYS play fair.  right?
Post by: Bourbon on November 20, 2009, 09:42:45 AM

So cheat den?
Post by: Peong on November 20, 2009, 10:02:51 AM

Oh I know cheating happens, but in no way does cheating make football the best sporting event in the world.
I don't know why you said that part, probably it was in error.

Today ppl can ignore the few instances where players cheat ONLY because, luckily for us, the amount of players that deliberately try to cheat are in the minority.
Now picture a game where the majority of players tryin a ting.
The ref would be helpless, and the game would be disgusting.

And in case ppl haven't noticed, cheating through simulation, diving, disguised fouls is on the increase.
If unchecked, what I said above is where the game is headed.

Stay there and feel that they not goin to do something about it!
Video replay, goal line sensors, an additional ref assistant, they ARE going to do something to reduce refereeing errors.

Probably in a couple years we will look back at Henry's handball and see that it helped make the game better by highlighting the inadequacies in refereeing today.
Post by: weary1969 on November 20, 2009, 10:17:43 AM

So cheat den?

No have betta officials because cheatin go happen just like d sun go rise
Post by: FF on November 20, 2009, 10:33:09 AM
My name is FF and I does cheat in all kinda games!

I know I wrong but if I get away I get away... If I get catch i does laugh, take meh punishment if any and move on.

I does dive up to this day in football, I does bawl for the ref, I clear ball from inside de goal endless time and keep it moving... I hands ball and never own up to it. I commit professional fouls.

In card games I does hide cards, I does watch in people hand and I will argue for everything.

I does speed.. if i see a police i does slow down... sometimes not. Then I does show up to court and swear your honour de man lie... I was driving slow!

This is my confession... get away with what you can in life yes
Post by: jai john on November 20, 2009, 11:13:52 AM
Forget Irish Football Altogether   :rotfl: :rotfl:  :rotfl:
Post by: elan on November 20, 2009, 11:40:35 AM

So cheat den?

If that's what you get from what I type, then fine.
Post by: elan on November 20, 2009, 11:41:43 AM

Oh I know cheating happens, but in no way does cheating make football the best sporting event in the world.
I don't know why you said that part, probably it was in error.

Today ppl can ignore the few instances where players cheat ONLY because, luckily for us, the amount of players that deliberately try to cheat are in the minority.
Now picture a game where the majority of players tryin a ting.
The ref would be helpless, and the game would be disgusting.

And in case ppl haven't noticed, cheating through simulation, diving, disguised fouls is on the increase.
If unchecked, what I said above is where the game is headed.

Stay there and feel that they not goin to do something about it!
Video replay, goal line sensors, an additional ref assistant, they ARE going to do something to reduce refereeing errors.

Probably in a couple years we will look back at Henry's handball and see that it helped make the game better by highlighting the inadequacies in refereeing today.

I did not say that cheating makes football the Number one sports in the world.
Post by: Andre on November 20, 2009, 11:53:39 AM
(http://d.yimg.com/a/p/sp/getty/13/fullj.c5380285f0c277b54da965d8815b7bf9/c5380285f0c277b54da965d8815b7bf9-getty-fbl-wc2010-fra-irl-henry.jpg)
Post by: Bakes on November 20, 2009, 12:13:49 PM

So by his own admission the reaction was instinctive... which I'm sure many will still question.  What should he have done after handling the ball... go talk to the ref?  And what then... seeing that he said (again, disbelieve him if you want) he approached the ref and the ref wasn't moved by his confession?

Aside from not instinctively handling the ball... how was he not playing fair?
Post by: sammy on November 20, 2009, 12:16:44 PM
My name is FF and I does cheat in all kinda games!

I know I wrong but if I get away I get away... If I get catch i does laugh, take meh punishment if any and move on.

I does dive up to this day in football, I does bawl for the ref, I clear ball from inside de goal endless time and keep it moving... I hands ball and never own up to it. I commit professional fouls.

In card games I does hide cards, I does watch in people hand and I will argue for everything.

I does speed.. if i see a police i does slow down... sometimes not. Then I does show up to court and swear your honour de man lie... I was driving slow!

This is my confession... get away with what you can in life yes

mr manning?  ;D
Post by: Zeppo on November 20, 2009, 01:01:35 PM
So by his own admission the reaction was instinctive... which I'm sure many will still question.  What should he have done after handling the ball... go talk to the ref?  And what then... seeing that he said (again, disbelieve him if you want) he approached the ref and the ref wasn't moved by his confession?

I agree, it's easy to say: "He should have gone to the ref and admitted it." But I think that very few would have done so in his position. Way too much at stake.

In fact, I have a very hard time believing that he confessed to the ref, too. 
Post by: Zeppo on November 20, 2009, 01:05:04 PM
Don't be so quick to judge Henry

This one's easy. Thierry Henry is a cheat. He helped France cheat its way to the 2010 World Cup by intentionally handling the ball to control it before crossing it for William Gallas to score les Bleus' equalizer in extra time against Ireland on Wednesday.

The Swedish referee, Martin Hansson, failed to spot the infraction and Henry did nothing to suggest he had handled the ball. That goal proved decisive, given that France had won the first leg at Croke Park in Dublin last Saturday.

Open and shut? Logically, yes. Ireland was screwed, plain and simple. We may never know what would have happened if the goal had not stood and if the game had gone to penalty kicks. But in many ways, it doesn't matter. It should never have reached the point because Gallas' goal should have been disallowed.

(continue) (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/writers/gabriele_marcotti/11/19/wc.qualifying/index.html)

Post by: Peong on November 20, 2009, 01:22:51 PM

Aside from not instinctively handling the ball... how was he not playing fair?

Aside from the handball?  Nothing else was really unfair. Why?
Post by: Bakes on November 20, 2009, 01:51:54 PM
Aside from the handball?  Nothing else was really unfair. Why?

Because if you believe him the handball wasn't intentional so you can't say that he played the game "unfair".  In slow mo it looks deliberate enough but at regular speed it's not as definitive.  To speak about playing the game "fair/unfair" is to speak to his intent.
Post by: socachatter on November 20, 2009, 02:00:04 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_5706378,00.html (http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_5706378,00.html)

Fifa rule out Ireland replay
Irish left to rue decision as France assured of World Cup place

Last updated: 20th November 2009   

Decisions are taken by the referee and these decisions are final.
Fifa.

Fifa has confirmed that under no circumstances will Republic of Ireland's World Cup play-off with France be replayed.

Wednesday's second-leg clash in Paris has been the subject of intense scrutiny as France progressed courtesy of a 2-1 aggregate success, secured in extra-time largely thanks to Thierry Henry's now infamous double handball prior to William Gallas' leveller on the night.

The Football Association of Ireland had asked Fifa to replay the game as even Henry conceded he had handled the ball before laying on Gallas' equaliser, which booked France's place in South Africa.

Ireland received widespread sympathy throughout the football fraternity following a gutsy display in the French capital, with a number of key figures championing their cause for a replay.

Final

However, such a request has been given short shrift by world football's governing body Fifa, who insist a referee's decision is final in rejecting the FAI's appeal.

"Fifa has today, 20 November 2009, replied to the request made by the Football Association of Ireland (FAI) to replay the 2010 Fifa World Cup South Africa play-off match held on 18 November 2009 between France and the Republic of Ireland in Paris," read an official statement from Fifa.

"In the reply, Fifa states that the result of the match cannot be changed and the match cannot be replayed.

"As is clearly mentioned in the Laws of the Game, during matches, decisions are taken by the referee and these decisions are final."

Fifa's response will now be considered by the FAI's board of management, which sits for a pre-arranged meeting on Friday afternoon.

The FAI said in a statement: "Football Association of Ireland today confirmed that it has received correspondence from FIFA rejecting the Association's request for a replay of the World Cup play-off match between France and the Republic of Ireland.

"A previously scheduled meeting of the FAI board of management will take place this afternoon where the matter will be considered.

"No further comment will be made until this meeting has concluded."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_5707753,00.html (http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_5707753,00.html)

The Football Association of Ireland have launched a fresh plea with their French counterparts to agree to a replay of their controversial play-off match.

Thierry Henry's blatant handball in the build up to William Gallas' goal which sent France through to the World Cup at the Republic of Ireland's expense has been the subject of much debate since Wednesday night.

A 1-1 draw on a pulstaing night in the Stade de France proved to be enough for the hosts, with Nicolas Anelka's away goal from the first leg in Croke Park helping to see them through.

Ireland, however, are refusing to let the handball issue lie, believing Henry's disregard for the rules should not prevent them the right to contest at the finals.

Football's governing body Fifa have already rejected an appeal for a replay but with the offending player, and France captain, Henry admitting that a replay would be just, the FAI have renewed hope that a deal can be struck.

The Irish are hoping a plea from both associations, plus both team captains, will help sway Fifa's stance over the prospect of replaying the second leg at in Paris.
A statement from the Board of Management of the FAI read: "Following this afternoon's meeting of its Board of Management, the Football Association of Ireland has called on the French Football Federation, as one of the world's largest Football Associations, to join with it and the captains of both the French and Irish teams, Thierry Henry and Robbie Keane, to request a replay from FIFA that would protect the integrity of the game worldwide and the pride of the French national team."

The FFF, embarrassed by the manner in which their nation have qualified for South Africa, have insisted they will comply with any decision Fifa make on the matter.
Post by: Bitter on November 20, 2009, 02:03:01 PM
FIFA: No replay for France-Ireland WCup qualifier
By STUART CONDIE (AP) – 58 minutes ago
http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5hwMuuwpEKYqfZPSXAuzgzU2D5nSAD9C3EE9G0

LONDON — FIFA rejected Ireland's request to replay its World Cup qualifier against France on Friday, while Thierry Henry said a rematch would be "the fairest solution" to resolve the furor over his extra-time hand ball that set up the deciding goal.

Turning down an appeal by the Football Association of Ireland as well as pressure from lawmakers in both countries, FIFA said it could not interfere and the referee's decision to allow the goal stands.
"The result of the match cannot be changed and the match cannot be replayed," FIFA said in a statement. "As is clearly mentioned in the Laws of the Game, during matches, decisions are taken by the referee and these decisions are final."

Henry used his left hand to keep the ball from going out of play, then passed to William Gallas, who headed in the decisive goal. At the time of Henry's hand ball, which went unpunished by Swedish referee Martin Hansson despite fervent appeals by Ireland players, the match was 17 minutes from reaching a penalty shootout.
The 1-1 draw at Stade de France put the French through to next year's World Cup in South Africa 2-1 on aggregate.

Henry was jubilant in his goal celebrations but more subdued at the end of the match and admitted to handling the ball.

The France captain said after the game that the referee was at fault for not spotting the offense but waited until after FIFA's ruling to acknowledge the possibility of a replay.

"Of course the fairest solution would be to replay the game, but it is not in my control," Henry said in a statement issued to British media. "Naturally, I feel embarrassed at the way that we won and feel extremely sorry for the Irish, who definitely deserve to be in South Africa.

"There is little more I can do apart from admit that the ball had contact with my hand leading up to our equalizing goal and I feel very sorry for the Irish."

Henry again denied deliberately handling the ball, although television replays suggested he slapped the ball once to stop it going out of play and again to set up the pass to Gallas.

The 1998 world champions won the first leg of the playoff in Dublin 1-0, but only scored with the aid of a huge deflection off an Ireland defender.

Ireland captain Robbie Keane suggested the French Football Federation act upon Henry's statement and ask FIFA to grant a replay.

"To make such a statement took courage and honor, and all of us recognize that," Keane said. "I would also be happy for a replay to happen in the interest of fair play so that whichever team qualifies, can do so with their heads held high."

The Football Association of Ireland in Dublin said Friday it will petition the French Football Federation to change its stance after it received FIFA's reply rejecting a replay.

Irish Prime Minister Brian Cowen raised the issue Thursday with French President Nicolas Sarkozy at a meeting of the 27 EU leaders in Brussels.

FIFA did order Uzbekistan and Bahrain to replay a World Cup qualifying match in 2005 following a referee's critical error. However, there is no precedent to order a replay because of second-guessing a referee's judgment on the field of play.

Irish lawmaker Joe McHugh said France should follow the 1999 precedent set by Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger, a Frenchman who volunteered to replay a match in England's FA Cup after the Gunners won on an unfair goal.

Wenger backed calls to replay the match.

"I like justice in sport," Wenger said. "There are only two opportunities. One is France can offer to replay, which I support personally. The second is that FIFA has to make a decision on that issue."

Many in France, including political leaders, have urged FIFA to approve a replay.

Francois Bayrou, the leader of political party Modem, said the match should be replayed. Finance Minister Christine Lagarde said she felt "very sad" that the national team had qualified for the World Cup by "cheating."

AP Sports Writer Samuel Petrequin in Paris contributed to this report.
Copyright © 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.
Post by: Peong on November 20, 2009, 02:12:32 PM
Bake I was responding to the comment about the hackers and slashers in football that some fool (oh it was Trinity Cross) made.
I made no insinuation that Henry plays the game or that particular game unfairly.
It was a moment, he unintentionally handled the ball, and was happy to let it slip under the radar.

He wasn't obligated to do anything to try to change the ref's decision, and when it mattered, he didn't.
He felt guilty after OR knew that he would be lambasted once ppl saw the replay, so he probably said something.

TV replays for disputed goals/sendings off, I will support that fully.

Post by: Bakes on November 20, 2009, 02:13:40 PM
From what I read online today the ball might actually be in the FFF's court.  FIFA can't mandate a replay under the circumstances, but apparently can relent if the FFF agrees to one.  I think the game should be replayed... at least that way we can quit hearing about these damn crying-ass Irish fans and they 'cheating' talk.

Tommy Smyth on ESPN makes a compelling argument about the financial lift Ireland would have gained from making the final though...

-------------------

Peong... I hear yuh.
Post by: boss on November 20, 2009, 02:52:41 PM
French rebuff replay calls
FFF won't back FAI stance
skysports.com

(http://img.skysports.com/09/11/218x298/Thierry-Henry-Hand-Ball-France-Republic-of-Ir_2386620.jpg)

The French Football Federation (FFF) have refused to back the Football Association of Ireland's (FAI) call to replay their World Cup play-off.

The French booked their place at the World Cup finals next summer, after a highly controversial winner in their play-off clash on Wednesday.

Thierry Henry handled the ball before setting up William Gallas for the winner.

Since then Henry has admitted to handling the ball, and stated he thinks a replay would be fair.

Both the FAI and Irish captain Robbie Keane have responded to Henry's comments by calling on the FFF to ask Fifa for a replay - something the world's governing body have already stated will not happen.

But the FFF have refused to back the stance that a replay is needed.

In a statement, the French authorities said: "The FFF understands the disappointment and bitterness of the Irish players, management and supporters.

"The federation never sought to deny the refereeing error which saw the equalising French goal allowed.

"During matches, decisions are taken by the referee and these decisions are final. As a result, the result of the match cannot be changed and the match cannot be replayed."
Post by: Brownsugar on November 20, 2009, 04:35:39 PM
Dais why they going home in the first round, just like in 2002.....ah going to get a little doll made in Henry's image.....ah bet he doh take de field for the entire tournament..... :devil: ;D
Post by: palos on November 20, 2009, 04:46:07 PM
Dais why they going home in the first round, just like in 2002.....

If dey keep Domenech as coach they surely will and they'll deserve to go home.

But if they install a PROPER COACH...they could win de whole damn ting!
Post by: Observer on November 21, 2009, 09:29:08 AM
Hypocritical peoples in football! Let's face it if the situation was reversed, would NI agree to a replay? No chance!  :whistling:
Post by: boss on November 21, 2009, 09:33:49 AM
Hypocritical peoples in football! Let's face it if the situation was reversed, would NI agree to a replay? No chance!  :whistling:

cough*ROI*cough  :beermug:
Post by: Conquering Lion on November 21, 2009, 09:49:40 AM
Yes he broke the rules (francomen too), but unfortunately bending/breaking of the rules happens all the time in sport. Most sportsmen at that level even make sure they know the rules well to know how far they go before breaking them.

Henry's handball is no different than Jordan taking a 3 step pivot or pushing off of defenders because he knows he could get away with it. Henry "try a ting" and it worked. That's what the referees are there for, and it was up to the ref to call it....end of story.

The bleeding hearts could argue ethics and fair play but the end result is still what Henry wanted......France qualify.
Post by: Small Change on November 21, 2009, 11:27:06 AM
Henry is not to blame. It is the referee and linesman!

We all watching this replay in slow motion, but the game is not played in slow motion. He handled the ball, just as many other players do on a daily basis. He should have be booked by the referee. It is the referee fault for POOR officiating and the lines man for a poor job. Henry is still a boss!!!
Post by: najee on November 21, 2009, 12:59:03 PM
Henry prove that most athletes believe a win is a win and if yuh get get away with $hit well lucky u and hard luck for de next person.  I hope France get nuff licks in de World Cup and Henry get send off in de first minute of de first game and miss the entire tournament.  Never like France and hate dem even more but not as much as I hate England...doh cuss mih Small Mag... ;D
[/quote

would you of said that if it was Trinidad and Tobago getting into the world cup on the same hand ball....i hope Henry and company beat people went that time come
Post by: Zeppo on November 22, 2009, 05:40:41 AM
French hand-wringing over dubious win

For a nation not particularly known for its moral qualms - it once hailed a head-butting footballer as a hero - the French feel surprisingly chastened about their questionable qualification for next year's World Cup.

Reactions to Thierry Henry's handball, which led to the goal that sent the national team to the South African finals at the expense of the hapless Irish, have ranged from embarrassment to outrage.

The incident in Wednesday's game has been commented on in newspapers, on websites, and in cafes up and down France.

(continue) (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/8372123.stm)
Post by: Sam on November 24, 2009, 10:29:16 AM
But didn't they use the camera for the last world cup with the Zidane incident when Italy play France.
Post by: Bourbon on November 24, 2009, 10:44:34 AM
(http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00141/henry_141624g.jpg)

Oh..and this (http://www.sportbusiness.com/news/171027/fifa-to-hold-extraordinary-general-meeting?utm_source=sbinsl&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=nov24)

FIFA, football’s world governing body, has announced an extraordinary general meeting in Cape Town on December 2 to discuss a series of pressing matters.

Thierry Henry's handball in the World Cup play-off game against Ireland, the discovery of a match-fixing ring by German police and trouble surrounding the Algeria-Egypt qualifier are all expected to be on the agenda.

The executive committee was already due to meet on December 3 on Robben Island to discuss the draw to be held the following day.

"Due to recent events in the world of football, namely incidents at the playoffs for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa, match control (refereeing) and irregularities in the football betting market, the FIFA president [Sepp Blatter] has called an extraordinary meeting of the Executive Committee," said a FIFA statement.

Ireland's Football Association formally asked for a replay of the France-Ireland draw after Henry’s blatant handball, which FIFA refused, and on Friday German police said they had dismantled a match-fixing gang with more than 200 suspected members operating in nine European leagues.

The Egypt-Algeria qualifier on November 14 in Cairo and subsequent play-off in Khartoum four days later were also surrounded by controversy. Twenty Algerian fans were injured in clashes with Egyptian fans across the Sudanese capital that night and according to Algerian press reports, crowds of football fans attacked homes of Egyptian workers in south-eastern Algeria.
Post by: Bakes on November 24, 2009, 11:49:11 AM
But didn't they use the camera for the last world cup with the Zidane incident when Italy play France.

No I think the ref saw it straigthaway and issued a red... maybe he consulted with the linesman, if that.
Post by: Observer on November 24, 2009, 11:55:15 AM

No Sam if they had used video, they would have seen Materazzi deliberately throw his chest into Zidane and Zidane reaction was to use his head to protect himself  ;D
Post by: Toppa on November 24, 2009, 11:55:27 AM

No I think the ref saw it straigthaway and issued a red... maybe he consulted with the linesman, if that.

I don't think he saw it, I think he had to consult with the other officials.
Post by: vb on November 24, 2009, 12:02:56 PM
I can't understand why people on Henry case.

He admitted it.
He told the Ref.
He admits that there should be a rematch.

The only people who have a right to be still bitter nonetheless is the Irish.

The man has shown much more class than Maradona or Crouch ever did.

Ah sorry for Ireland but is not like Henry eh give a f*&*.

Honestly if TT had qualified like that and the Ref didn't see...who here would feel sorry or the opponent and want a rematch?

Post by: Bakes on November 24, 2009, 12:43:41 PM
I can't understand why people on Henry case.

He admitted it.
He told the Ref.
He admits that there should be a rematch.

The only people who have a right to be still bitter nonetheless is the Irish.

The man has shown much more class than Maradona or Crouch ever did.

Ah sorry for Ireland but is not like Henry eh give a f*&*.

Honestly if TT had qualified like that and the Ref didn't see...who here would feel sorry or the opponent and want a rematch?

Robbie Keane heself handle the ball twice in that game and get ketch... you have time with dem Irish, steups.
Post by: sammy on November 24, 2009, 02:13:23 PM
Heard on the news somewhere that Henry wants or wanted to retire from international football after the incident.
Post by: weary1969 on November 24, 2009, 02:16:20 PM
Heard on the news somewhere that Henry wants or wanted to retire from international football after the incident.

Yep read it in a newsday article.
Post by: TriniItalian on November 25, 2009, 01:37:59 PM

I doh get it...?
travesty
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Davy Jenny!

Post by: lefty on November 25, 2009, 03:20:52 PM

I doh get it...?
travesty

Davy Jenny!

arhm doh know about dat..............seemed like ah perfectly good pun to me
Post by: Grande on November 25, 2009, 05:03:23 PM

I doh get it...?
travesty

Davy Jenny!

arhm doh know about dat..............seemed like ah perfectly good pun to me

I didn't understand the relation to transvestite...like if it were R9 I woulda get it  ;)

where the poster worm? Interested to hear his thoughts on the whole incident
Post by: Bakes on November 25, 2009, 06:58:15 PM
I didn't understand the relation to transvestite...like if it were R9 I woulda get it  ;)

"Humor can be dissected as a frog can, but the thing dies in the process..."
Post by: Grande on November 25, 2009, 07:05:02 PM

I realize I kill it, but now I genuinely curious as to what I miss, cause I think "transvestite" was used intentionally  :thinking:
Post by: mwanasoka on November 25, 2009, 08:13:11 PM

Multiple rongs doh make ah rite but all dese rongs does hinge on de reff RONG DOINGS.Dey have ah habit of panderin to dey favorites.Certain players & countries enjoy  ' FAVORITE PLAYER/NATION STATUS ' from dese reffs depending on who playing who. This ' FAIR PLAY BANNER ' that FIFA does fly should have ah fine print on de bottom saying,
' we reserve de right to be excepted '.Them Fackers iz under no obligation to pretend dey fair.Dey is de catalyst fuh all this bachanall wid dis preferential treatment ting,a la Isreal / Arabic conflict.
This is what Brazil have bin known to be always up against.Until FIFA fix this,is business as usual.

I COSIGN © weary1969,Trinimassive,elan,DeSoWa,Trinity Cross,Observer & others.
Post by: Bakes on November 26, 2009, 01:58:11 AM

I realize I kill it, but now I genuinely curious as to what I miss, cause I think "transvestite" was used intentionally  :thinking:

Remember Bitter's famous use of "Bolivian" a few years ago?
Post by: Spursy on November 28, 2009, 11:16:54 AM
What's the big deal? There is no justice in football people... Maybe some of you should make a switch to American Football where the camera is the decider on calls.

Henry did the right thing, if the ref don't blow the whistle play on. He is not the ref. he is the French Captain.

What you expect him to do infront of goal.. stop? walk up to ref and say "hi ref the ball bounced of my hand blow ur whistle please it's an Irish free kick"

The honesty of it all is, France won the tie in Ireland and outplayed them in Paris.

btw I wanted the team in red to win.
Post by: superoli on November 30, 2009, 04:36:02 AM
Henry did the right thing, if the ref don't blow the whistle play on. He is not the ref. he is the French Captain.

What you expect him to do infront of goal.. stop? walk up to ref and say "hi ref the ball bounced of my hand blow ur whistle please it's an Irish free kick"

The honesty of it all is, France won the tie in Ireland and outplayed them in Paris.

Henry did the right thing by cheating ? interesting view I must say and if you if you think France outplayed them in Paris you are very deluded.
ps France is my second team
Title: Republic of Ireland ask for extra 2010 World Cup place
Post by: Zeppo on November 30, 2009, 06:48:15 AM
Republic of Ireland ask for extra 2010 World Cup place

Fifa's Sepp Blatter has revealed the Republic of Ireland have requested a spot in the 2010 World Cup finals as an extra team after their play-off defeat.

The Republic lost to an extra-time goal against France when Thierry Henry handled the ball during the build-up.

"I will bring it to the attention of the Executive Committee," said Blatter. 

(continue) (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/8386207.stm)
Title: Re: Republic of Ireland ask for extra 2010 World Cup place
Post by: Deeks on November 30, 2009, 07:24:29 AM
Maybe we should ask Fifa for a special spot for the 1974 team. The ref. blatantly disallowed legimate goals.
Post by: Sam on November 30, 2009, 07:27:25 AM
Exactly, then Costa Rica will protest to.

We could also protest for the game when we played Haiti in 1973....  :devil:

Ireland, get over it...

But from here on FIFA needs to create a device to make better decisions during games, go to the tv for repaly or something.
Post by: mukumsplau on November 30, 2009, 07:47:48 AM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: dem fuh real?
Post by: pardners on November 30, 2009, 10:14:39 AM
Blatter real good oui...he ent come out and say "no"...
"I will bring it to the attention of the Executive Committee," said Blatter.
Post by: Ngozi on November 30, 2009, 10:30:37 AM
Yeah they were cheated out of the spot and i'd have agreed with a replay but requesting an extra spot .....please .............ridiculous ..... let it to f**k go
Post by: Andre on November 30, 2009, 11:57:54 AM
next thing u know they go just show up at the world cup in south africa with their gear, entourage and fans saying "we come so far. give we a sweat nah?"
Post by: weary1969 on November 30, 2009, 12:04:19 PM
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: dem fuh real?

COSIGNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: Observer on November 30, 2009, 12:21:45 PM
next thing u know they go just show up at the world cup in south africa with their gear, entourage and fans saying "we come so far. give we a sweat nah?"

Post by: dinho on November 30, 2009, 12:48:26 PM

Post by: Jah Gol on November 30, 2009, 01:07:25 PM
they trying a ting
Post by: Brownsugar on November 30, 2009, 02:18:37 PM

oh laaaawwwdddd........this is the best forum in the world bar none!!!!....
Post by: King Deese on November 30, 2009, 03:40:44 PM

FIFA Executive Committee
The Executive Committee consists of a President, elected by the Congress in the year following a FIFA World Cup™, eight vice-presidents and 15 members, appointed by the confederations and associations. It meets at least twice a year, with the mandate for each member lasting four years, and its role includes determining the dates, locations and format of tournaments, appointing FIFA delegates to the IFAB and electing and dismissing the General Secretary on the proposal of the FIFA President. (Art. 30 and 31 of the Statutes).

President
Joseph S. BLATTER   Switzerland   

Senior Vice President
Julio H. GRONDONA   Argentina   

Vice President
Issa HAYATOU   Cameroon   
CHUNG Mong Joon   Korea Republic   
Jack A. WARNER   Trinidad and Tobago   
Ángel María VILLAR LLONA   Spain   
Michel PLATINI   France   
Reynald TEMARII   Tahiti   
Geoff THOMPSON   England   

Michel D'HOOGHE   Belgium   
Ricardo Terra TEIXEIRA   Brazil   
Mohamed BIN HAMMAM   Qatar   
Senes ERZIK   Turkey   
Chuck BLAZER   USA   
Worawi MAKUDI   Thailand   
Nicolás LEOZ   Paraguay   
Junji OGURA   Japan   
Amos ADAMU   Nigeria   
Marios LEFKARITIS   Cyprus   
Jacques ANOUMA   Côte d'Ivoire   
Franz BECKENBAUER   Germany   
Rafael SALGUERO   Guatemala   
Hany ABO RIDA   Egypt   
Vitaliy MUTKO   Russia   

General Secretary
Jérôme VALCKE   France 

There will be no replay...no special spot for N.Ireland..........forgetaboutit. For goodness sake the damn General Secretary of FIFA and one of the friggin V.President are from France.
Post by: palos on November 30, 2009, 04:19:19 PM
Yeah they were cheated out of the spot
How exactly were they cheated out of a spot?

Was the goal a "golden goal"?  Did the game cease the moment the ball went into the net from Gallas?

Why couldn't they score in the reamining time left in the game?  There was a full 16 minutes left in the game.  More than enough time to get an equalizer.

Let's say the goal did not count, who's to say they would have qualified anyway?  Would they have been guaranteed to win on penalty kicks?  Who's to say France would not have scored another goal before that?

What about the chances they missed prior to the goal?  Were they cheated by John O'Shea, Kevin Doyle & Robbie Keane when they missed glaring chances?  Would they be in the WC if it wasn't fuh dem misses?

Post by: Jah Gol on November 30, 2009, 04:37:23 PM

Was the goal a "golden goal"?  Did the game cease the moment the ball went into the net from Gallas?

Why couldn't they score in the reamining time left in the game?  There was a full 16 minutes left in the game.  More than enough time to get an equalizer.

Let's say the goal did not count, who's to say they would have qualified anyway?  Would they have been guaranteed to win on penalty kicks?  Who's to say France would not have scored another goal before that?

What about the chances they missed prior to the goal?  Were they cheated by John O'Shea, Kevin Doyle & Robbie Keane when they missed glaring chances?  Would they be in the WC if it wasn't fuh dem misses?

As much as I don't think France deserves to qualify based on what happened, even if Henry didn't handle the ball the tie (all things being equal) would be 1-1 on aggregate. That's not enough to ask to be included into to the World Cup. How would that work anyway... a group with 5 teams ?
Post by: kicker on November 30, 2009, 04:48:33 PM

Because one of the goals (the one conceded in France) that knocked them out was illegal.  

Post by: College on November 30, 2009, 04:49:59 PM
Wow, I agree with Palos.... how were they cheated out of a spot.  ;) ;)

I think they just lost a lot of credibility by asking for a free spot in 2010.  They are absolutely grasping at straws now.
Post by: Babalawo on November 30, 2009, 06:04:03 PM
ireland go suk yuh moma. why u didnt win yuh first game at home?
Post by: Ngozi on November 30, 2009, 08:07:10 PM

Palos this isn't something you and I gonna agree with obviously, but it's really quite simple to me. Despite what chances were missed or created, they scored a legal goal and the goal that was scored against them by France was illegal! Wether the ref missed it or not it was "not" a legit goal and should not have been allowed . As a direct result of this illegal goal they lost the tie and missed out on qualifying ...you could twist it anyway you want these are the facts and they are undeniable!
Post by: Bakes on November 30, 2009, 08:14:23 PM
Palos this isn't something you and I gonna agree with obviously, but it's really quite simple to me. Despite what chances were missed or created, they scored a legal goal and the goal that was scored against them by France was illegal! Wether the ref missed it or not it was "not" a legit goal and should not have been allowed . As a direct result of this illegal goal they lost the tie and missed out on qualifying ...you could twist it anyway you want these are the facts and they are undeniable!

Shit happens.
Post by: Big Magician on November 30, 2009, 09:46:25 PM
ever heard of the "Bosman Ruling" ??... shit happens
Post by: Storeboy on December 01, 2009, 12:33:09 AM
Maybe we should ask Fifa for a special spot for the 1974 team. The ref. blatantly disallowed legimate goals.

I agree with Ireland.  Let's either replay the game or give them a spot.
And since we're at it...let's revisit the 1973 CONCACAF qualifying tournament and either replay the Haiti v TT game or give TT a spot in the 1974 WC.  Then of course we will have to replay the WC so that we could get it right.  And while we at it, there are several questionable calls and non-calls in the qualifying tournament this year.  Let's set up a committee to review the video evidence of all the games and get it right once and for all.  It is about time we get rid of all these human errors, idiot referees and officials.  It is only fair! (And by the way, France has already won a WC, so why can't Ireland get a chance too!)
Post by: superoli on December 01, 2009, 02:43:07 AM
I love how men telling Ireland to forget it and move on yet daily men talking about 1974!
Imagine if the goal Bahrain score against us when de ball get kick out of Jack hands had stand..............fells would still be talking about it today!

By the way I saw an interesting view on Sky sports that Ireland does not expect to get an extra spot but is trying to make it as uncomfortable for FIFA as possible so that something is done about bringing in video replays.
Post by: big dawg on December 01, 2009, 09:01:08 AM
FIFA ends Ireland dream

(http://soccernet-assets.espn.go.com/design05/images/2009/1124/martinhanssonirelandprotest20091118_275x155.jpg)

FIFA dashed any lingering Irish hopes of playing in next year's World Cup finals on Tuesday by declaring it would be impossible to add a 33rd team to the tournament.

Irish players protest to Martin Hansson after the hand ball goal
• Brady labels Blatter an embarrassment
• Maher: Time for Ireland to move on

FIFA general secretary Jerome Valcke told a news conference three days before the draw for the finals in South Africa that Ireland should not entertain hopes of being given an extra place because of France's controversial handball goal against them.

"I wouldn't say it's a nonsense but it is impossible," he said. "There's no hope to give that there will be any more than 32 teams at the World Cup in South Africa."

FIFA president Sepp Blatter revealed on Monday that Ireland had requested a place at the finals in addition to the 32 qualified teams because they felt cheated by Thierry Henry's controversial goal for France in their playoff match.

Valcke said that, as Ireland had made an official request, the matter would have to go before Wednesday's organising committee meeting in Cape Town. But he said Blatter, who runs soccer's world governing body, had told the Irish very clearly they had no chance of success.

Valcke said there would be too many organisational problems to overcome and that other teams who felt penalised by wrong refereeing decisions could also come forward and make similar claims.

"We had 853 qualifying matches," Valcke said. "It's sad that we are talking about just one game."

link (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/story/_/id/706479/ce/uk/?cc=5901&ver=us)
Post by: superoli on December 01, 2009, 10:38:34 AM
maybe FIFA should explain how they decided to change the process for qualifying when they suddenly realised that Portugal and France could end up not qualifying
Post by: palos on December 01, 2009, 11:07:53 AM
maybe FIFA should explain how they decided to change the process for qualifying when they suddenly realised that Portugal and France could end up not qualifying

People rather see Portugal and France...even now...than Bosnia and Ireland.

That's just the way it goes.

As it is, neither Portugal nor France were guaranteed to move on.  They still had to play the matches.

If FIFA had to maipulate the draw so that teams that have attraction worldwide avoid playing each other in a playoff, so be it.  That's a "perk" of being a "BIG SIDE" with "BIG PLAYERS"

Bosnia should beg FIFA fuh a spot too seein dat dey play all over Portugal in BOTH legs and were extrremely unlucky to lose.

Life eh fair.  Get over it.
Post by: elan on December 01, 2009, 11:22:34 AM
Do we really want the perfect game of football? Can't believe how many people have this notion of and ideal sport, cannot happen.

I love the game the way it is, all the bacchanal, errors and disappointment I love it. The idea that anything can happen is thrilling. I really don't want to watch a sport where other people off the field are basically calling the shots.

How many goals did Ireland score in the second game? I was always thought that if you don't score you cannot argue about being cheated. France did what they had to do, score a goal. Now it was up to the refs to either allow the goal or take it away. On the field the ref is i charge and if you score the only person who can say it is a goal is the center ref. Once he/she makes that decision then it stands.

Leave the game alone.
Post by: Zeppo on December 01, 2009, 11:40:01 AM

I don't see what the big deal over this is, since the playoffs for the 2006 WC were seeded, too:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2006_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(UEFA_play-off)

Or did FIFA initially say that the draw would be random, and then change it to a seeded one?
Post by: kicker on December 01, 2009, 01:12:41 PM

How many goals did Ireland score in the second game? I was always thought that if you don't score you cannot argue about being cheated.

Ireland did score...what are you talking about? 
Post by: elan on December 01, 2009, 02:45:08 PM

How many goals did Ireland score in the second game? I was always thought that if you don't score you cannot argue about being cheated.

I wrote how many goals did Ireland score in the second game? I never wrote that they did not.

What are you talking about?
Post by: kicker on December 01, 2009, 04:49:21 PM

I wrote how many goals did Ireland score in the second game? I never wrote that they did not.

You asked how many they scored in the second game, and then followed it by saying "I always thought that if you don't score, you can't argue about being cheated"....

Well, they DID score a goal in the second game....so how does that affect the second part of your statement (bolded above?)

First of all you can argue about being cheated even if you don't score...if you concede an illegal goal you were cheated, whether or not you scored...a 0-0 draw earns more points than a 0-1 loss....so you're not making any sense.

Secondly they did score in the second game...so what's your point?

They conceded a goal that should not be allowed i.e. they were cheated.  I don't know why people are being so hard-headed about that.

Do they deserve a spot in the WC? I can't answer that- too many variables, ultimately they will have to concede defeat to the tough and unfair laws of reality/life...Reality bites, or as BNS put it- shit happens.....

but were they cheated? Absolutely!
Post by: superoli on December 02, 2009, 04:19:56 AM

I don't see what the big deal over this is, since the playoffs for the 2006 WC were seeded, too:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2006_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(UEFA_play-off)

Or did FIFA initially say that the draw would be random, and then change it to a seeded one?

yes they decided to change the rules on 29th September

"The draw for the European World Cup play-offs was held in Zürich on 19 October 2009. FIFA announced on 29 September 2009 that it would introduce a seeding system. Many of the second seeded teams felt cheated by FIFA. The eight teams in the draw were divided into two pots of four; France were seeded along with Greece, Portugal and Russia, while Ireland were unseeded, alongside Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia and Ukraine. Ireland were drawn to play France, with the first of their two games to be played in Ireland on 14 November 2009.The way the seeding process was handled led some to claim at the time that UEFA had changed the rules half-way through to favour to the higher profile teams like France and Portugal, preferring them to qualify over smaller nations"

Palos you say they still had to win their games but the difference is without seeding France could have played Portugal then one of them would defintely have gone out of the world cup whereas with seeding then they both had a chance to go through.

Post by: elan on December 02, 2009, 10:17:24 AM

You asked how many they scored in the second game, and then followed it by saying "I always thought that if you don't score, you can't argue about being cheated"....

Well, they DID score a goal in the second game....so how does that affect the second part of your statement (bolded above?)

First of all you can argue about being cheated even if you don't score...if you concede an illegal goal you were cheated, whether or not you scored...a 0-0 draw earns more points than a 0-1 loss....so you're not making any sense.

Secondly they did score in the second game...so what's your point?

They conceded a goal that should not be allowed i.e. they were cheated.  I don't know why people are being so hard-headed about that.

Do they deserve a spot in the WC? I can't answer that- too many variables, ultimately they will have to concede defeat to the tough and unfair laws of reality/life...Reality bites, or as BNS put it- shit happens.....

but were they cheated? Absolutely!

They did score one, which was and is not enough to get them to the Wc. They needed a second goal, no? Plus they did not score at home.

They weren't cheated. You are implying that the refs saw the hand ball and deliberately allowed the goal to stand.
Post by: kicker on December 02, 2009, 10:32:58 AM

They did score one, which was and is not enough to get them to the Wc. They needed a second goal, no? Plus they did not score at home.

They weren't cheated. You are implying that the refs saw the hand ball and deliberately allowed the goal to stand.

Your head real hard dread.  You're telling me what I'm implying now? haha...Anyways, I'm not implying that the ref saw the hand ball and deliberately allowed the goal to stand.  I'm saying that a deliberate hand ball (which is pretty difficult to refute based on the replays- i.e. Henry's second touch of the ball with his hand did not look accidental)...is a form of cheating...and by the refs not doing their job correctly (They are responsible for making those calls), Ireland was cheated...

Yes it's up to the refs to see it, and yes they more than likely didn't see it in this case, but it does not negate that it was illegal and that the incident represents a form of cheating.  If you want to argue that it's ok to break the laws of the game so long as you don't get caught, then I'll leave you to enjoy that conversation with yourself. 

btw how you know the ref eh see it? You talk to them or what?

Earlier in this thread you pointed out Sancho & Crouch, and yuh asking where was the outcry then....So you implying that the ref saw that one and let it pass? How you know that? 

Steups...allyuh have a different set of eyes for every scenario yes.
Post by: elan on December 02, 2009, 12:26:11 PM

Your head real hard dread.  You're telling me what I'm implying now? haha...Anyways, I'm not implying that the ref saw the hand ball and deliberately allowed the goal to stand.  I'm saying that a deliberate hand ball (which is pretty difficult to refute based on the replays- i.e. Henry's second touch of the ball with his hand did not look accidental)...is a form of cheating...and by the refs not doing their job correctly (They are responsible for making those calls), Ireland was cheated...

Yes it's up to the refs to see it, and yes they more than likely didn't see it in this case, but it does not negate that it was illegal and that the incident represents a form of cheating.  If you want to argue that it's ok to break the laws of the game so long as you don't get caught, then I'll leave you to enjoy that conversation with yourself. 

btw how you know the ref eh see it? You talk to them or what?

Earlier in this thread you pointed out Sancho & Crouch, and yuh asking where was the outcry then....So you implying that the ref saw that one and let it pass? How you know that? 

Steups...allyuh have a different set of eyes for every scenario yes.

I said that about Sancho hair pulling and maybe even that Crouch cheated, but I did not say we were cheated. Even if I felt or said we were cheated would I call for a replay or a point, or anything of the sort no. Crouch did what he thought was best and the ref did not see it.

You said Ireland was cheated, that meant that by accepting the result of the game the ref and FIFA at the time of the hand ball knew what happened. Ireland was not cheated, to say that you would have to say the officials of the game conspired against them.
Post by: kicker on December 02, 2009, 12:32:58 PM

You said Ireland was cheated, that meant that by accepting the result of the game the ref and FIFA at the time of the hand ball knew what happened. Ireland was not cheated, to say that you would have to say the officials of the game conspired against them.

No you would not "have to say" that- That's just retarded.... players can cheat too (even if the refs don't see it).  I didn't say that the refs/officials cheated Ireland out of a spot.  I said that Henry cheated....and I said that Ireland ultimately needs to conceded defeat to the harsh laws of life....sh*t happens...but they were still cheated.

My point is simple but it seems like you choose to think in an even more simple fashion. 

Post by: elan on December 02, 2009, 12:38:15 PM

No you would not "have to say" that- That's just retarded.... players can cheat too (even if the refs don't see it).  I didn't say that the refs/officials cheated Ireland out of a spot.  I said that Henry cheated....and I said that Ireland ultimately needs to conceded defeat to the harsh laws of life....sh*t happens...but they were still cheated.

My point is simple but it seems like you choose to think in an even more simple fashion. 

Ok if you say so.
Title: Thoughts on Blatter
Post by: Tallman on December 03, 2009, 05:45:41 AM
Thoughts on Blatter
glenndavissoccer.com

Sepp Blatter and FIFA have truly bungled the Thierry Henry handball situation and it continues to labor on making Fifa look inadequate for the moment. Now FIFA’s disciplinary committee are now going to look in to the incident…….this is comical. So here is the exchange between FIFA and Henry….

Sepp Blatter Fifa: Thierry you have been a bad boy with your hands.

Henry: It was instinct your excellancy Mr. Blatter and I am truly sorry, besides how are you going to discipline Diego with his handball against England.

Sepp Blatter Fifa: Thierry, the investigation is ongoing with Diego and the hand of god, now what am I going to do with you?

Henry: It won’t happen again your excellancy, believe me Fair play is first and foremost on the minds of all players that will participate in the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, and we will follow your lead of Fair Play…….

Sepp Blatter FIFA: Keep this conversation between us Thierry or I will banish you to Trinidad and Tobago to work as a secretary for Jack Warner, or worse work in his son’s travel agency.   :devil:
Post by: dinho on December 03, 2009, 11:09:36 AM
 This blatter is a real joke yes.. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Blatter says Irish deserve 'moral compensation'

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/10463214/Blatter-says-Irish-deserve-%27moral-compensation%27 (http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/10463214/Blatter-says-Irish-deserve-%27moral-compensation%27)

ROBBEN ISLAND, South Africa (AP) - FIFA president Sepp Blatter is considering a special award for Ireland after it lost out on a World Cup spot to France when a handball from Thierry Henry led to a decisive goal.

He ruled out financial compensation after it was announced that World Cup teams will receive at least $9 million for taking part in the competition.

Blatter said Thursday he would back Ireland receiving "moral compensation" for its elimination following the handball.

He said paying Ireland would lead to more teams seeking compensation.
Post by: E-man on December 04, 2009, 10:31:00 AM
Not only is Charlize Theron blazingly hot, she also knows how to toss a hand grenade.
Bill Archer, bigsoccer.com

(http://images.paraorkut.com/img/pics/images/c/charlize_theron-5038.jpg)

Yesterday, at the dress rehearsal for todays' World Cup draw, she reached into the pot and PULLED OUT A BALL THAT SAID IRELAND instead of the "France" ball she was supposed to have.

I'm guessing that the assembled FIFA functionaries didn't find this nearly as humorous as Charlize did (and the rest of us do), and the notoriously fun-free Jerome Valke, FIFA General Secretary, felt the necessity to tell everyone that it was "just a joke".

Yeah, Jerome, we got that.
Post by: FF on December 04, 2009, 10:37:56 AM
Not only is Charlize Theron blazingly hot, she also knows how to toss a hand grenade.

Yesterday, at the dress rehearsal for todays' World Cup draw, she reached into the pot and PULLED OUT A BALL THAT SAID IRELAND instead of the "France" ball she was supposed to have.

I'm guessing that the assembled FIFA functionaries didn't find this nearly as humorous as Charlize did (and the rest of us do), and the notoriously fun-free Jerome Valke, FIFA General Secretary, felt the necessity to tell everyone that it was "just a joke".

From what I understand.. the ball did say France... but she take it upon sheself to announce Ireland... hilarity insued

Post by: JDB on December 04, 2009, 02:09:05 PM

From what I understand.. the ball did say France... but she take it upon sheself to announce Ireland... hilarity insued

Yeah her boyfriend is Irish so she real up on the scene.
Post by: dinho on December 04, 2009, 02:28:37 PM

Yeah her boyfriend is Irish so she real up on the scene.

imagine if she had crack that one live....

awkwaaaard!