Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on November 19, 2009, 05:58:26 AM

Title: Caligiuri looks back at goal that changed the course of US soccer history.
Post by: Flex on November 19, 2009, 05:58:26 AM
Caligiuri looks back at the goal that changed the course of American soccer history
By: Michael Lewis (Big Apple Soccer).

OFFSIDE REMARKS

If Paul Caligiuri hadn't scored "The Goal" 20 years ago today, I probably wouldn't be writing this column, or perhaps any soccer column, for that matter. And Caligiuri wouldn't have enjoyed a Hall of Fame soccer career domestically and abroad.

That's how great an impact "The Goal" had. It was scored for the U.S. National Team on Nov. 19, 1989 -- "The Shot Heard Around the World," as it was called at the time.

Not only did it propel the U.S. into the 1990 World Cup and end a 40-year absence from the most important single-sporting event on the face of this planet, it set in motion a series of events that has changed the face of American soccer as we know it.

The U.S. qualified for the World Cup for the first time in 40 years. It staved off obvious embarrassment of not reaching soccer's promised land some 16 months after being crowned host of the 1994 World Cup. It also launched the overseas careers of several prominent American players, including John Harkes, Tab Ramos, Eric Wynalda, among others.

“They should build a statue for Paul for what he accomplished,” Wynalda once said.

Unfortunately, Caligiuri did not return e-mail requests for an interview, even though I have corresponded and talked with him about the goal through the years.

But in an interview with yours truly several years ago he eloquently put the goal, victory and historic moment into perspective.

"Never did I think that one goal or one victory would steer the course of American soccer," Caligiuri said. "The impact it had was immeasurable.

"You're talking the federation, you're talking sponsors. Players had an opportunity to showcase their talent worldwide. It was definitely a turning point. It also legitimized our bid (to host the 1994 World Cup). There were concerns from FIFA that the 1994 World Cup would be a failure.

"We have a more evolved quality of play. We have built Major League Soccer. We have let our young players have an opportunity they didn't have before. It's been a vital cause and effect, not only for the development of players but the evolution of soccer in this country."

As far as the U.S. has progressed, Caligiuri is wise enough to realize we still have a ways to go.

"It's exciting to know how much progress we've made," he said. "I look forward to . . . see how much further we can go. I believe we're one of the untapped resources worldwide."

Caligiuri's place in U.S. soccer history is secure. But it would be unfair if he is remembered just for the goal. He should be remembered as a solid central defender, midfielder or left back, and as a pioneer as well. He was the captain of the UCLA team that captured the NCAA Division I title in 1985. He represented the U.S. at a FIFA all-star two years later. He started all three U.S. games at the 1988 Seoul Olympics.

Caligiuri's pioneering spirit was tested when he became one of the first U.S. players to perform for a professional European team, playing with S.V. Meppen of the West German Second Division from 1988-89. He played in the German Bundesliga with Hamburg in 1987 and went on to perform with S.C. Freiburg (1991) and Hansa Rostock (1992).

"For me to watch Tony Sanneh play in the European Champions League is very exciting," Caligiuri said. "Maybe I had a little part of breaking the ice."

If that's the case, then you might say that Caligiuri and his teammates cracked a major iceberg on Nov. 19, 1989. First, let's put some things into proper perspective. There might have been as unlikely a goal-scorer as Caligiuri. He found the back of the net five times in 110 international appearances and 93 starts in a 12-year career with the U.S. National Team from 1985 through 1997. He played for the Los Angeles Galaxy and Columbus Crew in MLS, before calling it a career in 2001. He eventually was elected to the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

Caligiuri was a surprise starter for a healthy John Stollmeyer, a midfielder with strong Trinidad ties (his father was born there and his great uncles were world-class cricket players there) who hadn't missed a minute in the previous seven qualifying matches.

Caligiuri? He had seen limited action in the seven previous qualifying matches. He missed the first three qualifiers in 1989 games because of commitments with Meppen. He played the first half of the 2-1 qualifying win over Guatemala that June, but was sidelined until the Trinidad match with a stress fracture of his left leg. But coach Bob Gansler played a hunch and put Caligiuri into the starting lineup -- for defensive purposes. "I felt his quickness was beter suited for (Russell) Latapy and (Dwight) Yorke," Gansler said.

Yes, that's the same Dwight Yorke -- he was 17 at the time -- who has gone on to greater fame and fortune with Manchester United and other English teams.

While Caligiuri held Yorke at bay, it was his offense that he has been most remembered for before a sometimes raucous, always enthusiastic crowd that packed National Stadium in Port of Spain.

The odds seemed stacked against the U.S., which needed a win to advance to Italia '90. Trinidad needed only a tie. The Americans also hadn't won a World Cup qualifier on the road -- not a neutral site -- in 21 years, not since a 2-1 win in Hamilton, Bermuda on Nov. 10, 1968. In fact, the Trinidadians literally painted the town red for the game after the government asked its citizens, especially the Port of Spain residents, to show their support by reveling in that color, whether it was in clothes, drapes or flags.

Calypso ballads were composed, singing the praises of coach Everald Cumming, who once played for the New York Cosmos. "When the Yankees come to the stadium, we're going to beat them like bongs," said one of the songs composed by a musician called Super Blue.

On Sunday, Nov. 19, National Stadium was a sea of red, an overflow crowd of more than 30,000 wore red as popular calypso stars sang about the road to the World Cup two hours before kickoff. Fans arrived six hours before the match to make sure they would get a seat. It was far from a beautifully played game. It started slow and eventually picked up steam and hit a high note in the 31st minute. Tab Ramos had given Caligiuri the ball on the left side, about 30 yards out. Teammate Bruce Murray said he thought that Caligiuri was going to slip the ball back to Ramos or to him.

Instead, he sent a looping 30-yard shot taken against the wind that beat goalkeeper Michael Maurice -- he later said he had the sun in his eyes. The ball sailed over the Trinidad defense and hooked into the right side to break a U.S. goal-scoring drought at 239 minutes.

Caligiuri said at the time, "I saw I had space ahead of me. But then two defenders converged on me. I faked with my right foot and kicked it with my left foot over his head to the far post.

"Maybe it caught the goalkeeper by surprise. Maybe it was luck."

In the tumult of the U.S. locker room that was part New Year's Eve and part Mardi Gras, Caligiuri was asked to put the goal into perspective. "This game will have a tremendous impact on the sport in the United States," he said.

"It was the single most important game we ever won. It proves to the rest of the world we can play and we can qualify. We knew what was on the line for the future of soccer in the United States."

Years later, Caligiuri said it was a miracle that he was able to speak and didn't faint because of dehydration.

"I was bombarded by the media. I think I drank out of a faucet," he jokingly said.

Caligiuri did come home with a unique souvenir. Jack Warner, now president of CONCACAF, the governing body of soccer in this region of the world, was president of the Trinidad federation at the time. Warner traded his straw hat for Caligiuri's white cap, which said, "Italia '90" on it.

The rest as they say was even more history. Caligiuri went on to score the U.S.'s first goal in that 5-1 opening game loss to Czechoslovakia on June 10, 1990, the first American to find the back of the net at the World Cup since John Souza scored in a 5-2 loss to Chile in Recife, Brazil on July 2, 1950.

He eventually became an original member of MLS in 1996, first wearing the uniform of the Columbus Crew and then the Los Angeles Galaxy for most of his career before he hang up his competitive boots for the last time in 2001.

Caligiuri last year stepped down as men's soccer coach after seven years at Cal Poly Ponoma in southern California. He directed the men's team to a 45-67-16 record and the women's team (from 2002-2005) to a 37-31-1 mark. He been active in a bid to bring a pro team to Las Vegas as a spokesman for the Las Vegas Sports & Entertainment Group.

"Cal Poly Pomona gave me the opportunity to coach at the collegiate level seven years ago and I've decided that now is the time to begin a new chapter in my life," Caligiuri told Soccer America. "There is no question that my work with the student-athletes -- both from my time with the men's team and also coaching the women's team -- has been the single-greatest experience I've had as a coach. This university will always hold a special place in my heart."

(http://www.sportsvuesoccer.com/images/upload/caligiuri111809a.jpg)
Paul Caligiuri in the U.S. locker room in Port of Spain after the Americans' triumph 20 years ago today.
Photo by Michael Lewis 
Title: Re: Caligiuri looks back at goal that changed the course of US soccer history.
Post by: PantherX on November 19, 2009, 07:30:17 AM
Zeppo real hack men accounts here boy......I hadda go change my account pasword now!
Title: Re: Caligiuri looks back at goal that changed the course of US soccer history.
Post by: Bitter on November 19, 2009, 08:00:49 AM
Twenty flikin years. Ah feeling old oui.

That thing does still haunt me. I was in the stadium behind the goal. when the shot come, we was like, easy ting man, keeper have that... Oh @#$%!

To ease the pain, I does remember i was behind the goal when Kerry Jamerson score vs Guatemala. I get bathe down in beer.
Post by: Sando on November 19, 2009, 08:03:23 AM
Happy Nov-19 anniversary guys.   ;)
Post by: Bitter on November 19, 2009, 08:15:54 AM
But look ting eh.
Caliguri score a goal, they never look back.

Dennis Lawrence score vs Bahrain. 4 years later we finish last in the hex and still talking about if they players will get paid from the 2006 world cup.
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 08:22:44 AM
But look ting eh.
Caliguri score a goal, they never look back.

Dennis Lawrence score vs Bahrain. 4 years later we finish last in the hex and still talking about if they players will get paid from the 2006 world cup.

Cosignnnnnnnnnnn
Post by: frico on November 19, 2009, 09:03:40 AM
They shouldn't pay dem one bloody cent because that was the main reason why we didn't qualify for SA,the players COULD HAVE DONE IT DIFFERENTLY,instead they choose to mash up the momentum we started in Germany by there actions.What a shame Shaka an Company didn't think about diplomacy,one thing is for certain,THE SUM OF MONEY  THAT THEY ARE ASKING FOR SEEMS TO INDICATE, THAT THEY WON THE 2006 WC.
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 09:24:22 AM
They shouldn't pay dem one bloody cent because that was the main reason why we didn't qualify for SA,the players COULD HAVE DONE IT DIFFERENTLY,instead they choose to mash up the momentum we started in Germany by there actions.What a shame Shaka an Company didn't think about diplomacy,one thing is for certain,THE SUM OF MONEY  THAT THEY ARE ASKING FOR SEEMS TO INDICATE, THAT THEY WON THE 2006 WC.

Yeah boi is Shaka and dem fault dey shoulda just take d 5000TT and bow and say thanks massa Jack
Post by: Tallman on November 19, 2009, 10:25:37 AM

And when dey trying to go de way of having a player's association so dat dis kinda ting can be avoided in de future, de TTFF eh giving dem de time of day. In what other way should they have handled it? Grumble among demselves and keep quiet like dey have done fuh ages? Yuh feel is only now dis kinda ting happening? Is jes dat de stakes bigger now. I agree dat it would of been nice to see de two sides work it out, but from all the reports in de press, it look like de federation was de one dat was stonewalling.

Dis eh have nutten to do wit whether dey win de World Cup or not. Take for example, when dem coach sign multi-million dollar contract fuh ah certain time period, and de club run dem because dey find dat dey pulling stones, ent de club does pay dem orf? Yuh does ever hear dem say "We eh paying he because he shit down heself and he eh win no trophy"?  De players eh asking for ah specific sum of money, dey asking for whatever percentage was agreed upon. If is 50% of $10, den dey get $5. De big issue is dat dey felt dat de federation was not forthcoming with de true figures for de revenue dat was generated. It is not a subjective ting about whether dey deserve it or not. De fact is, there was an arrangement, and they simply want it honored.

Read this:
Labor impasse threatens qualification (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=319590&root=us&cc=null)
USSF, player's union reach deal through 2010. (http://www.soccertimes.com/usteams/2005/dec19.htm)
Post by: KND2 on November 19, 2009, 10:39:16 AM
The USFF need to give Maurice a big back pay. That lasps he make their is what cause caliguri to score.

he more than caliguri deserve the praise.
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 10:47:36 AM

And when dey trying to go de way of having a player's association so dat dis kinda ting can be avoided in de future, de TTFF eh giving dem de time of day. In what other way should they have handled it? Grumble among demselves and keep quiet like dey have done fuh ages? Yuh feel is only now dis kinda ting happening? Is jes dat de stakes bigger now. I agree dat it would of been nice to see de two sides work it out, but from all the reports in de press, it look like de federation was de one dat was stonewalling.

Dis eh have nutten to do wit whether dey win de World Cup or not. Take for example, when dem coach sign multi-million dollar contract fuh ah certain time period, and de club run dem because dey find dat dey pulling stones, ent de club does pay dem orf? Yuh does ever hear dem say "We eh paying he because he shit down heself and he eh win no trophy"?  De players eh asking for ah specific sum of money, dey asking for whatever percentage was agreed upon. If is 50% of $10, den dey get $5. De big issue is dat dey felt dat de federation was not forthcoming with de true figures for de revenue dat was generated. It is not a subjective ting about whether dey deserve it or not. De fact is, there was an arrangement, and they simply want it honored.

Read this:
Labor impasse threatens qualification (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=319590&root=us&cc=null)
USSF, player's union reach deal through 2010. (http://www.soccertimes.com/usteams/2005/dec19.htm)

U explain ting 2 dat fella.
Post by: Sando on November 19, 2009, 11:03:30 AM
But Tallman, ask yourself this question. If de players win the case against the TTFF will anything change ?
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 11:09:29 AM
But Tallman, ask yourself this question. If de players win the case against the TTFF will anything change ?

YESSSSSSSSSS 15 MEN SAID ENUFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF. Next time dey eh go b so quick 2 rob them.
Post by: Tallman on November 19, 2009, 11:10:09 AM

De case is de short term, FPATT (or something similar) is de long term.
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 19, 2009, 11:29:19 AM
yup and 20 years later jack is the only one that benefit !!!!! not our footballl !!!!
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 11:31:16 AM
yup and 20 years later jack is the only one that benefit !!!!! not our footballl !!!!

Y worry yuh go just change yuh name evry 4 yrs.
Post by: Zeppo on November 19, 2009, 11:45:53 AM
(http://dreamzquizclubs.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/321b.jpg)
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 11:59:19 AM
(http://dreamzquizclubs.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/321b.jpg)

Zeppo Nov 19th 2004 dat pic woulda hott meh but Nov 16th 2005 d ghost of Nov 19th 1989 died. HALLEUJAHH
Post by: Sando on November 19, 2009, 12:32:54 PM
I would love to see this game again.

Does anyone have it ?
Post by: FF on November 19, 2009, 01:11:00 PM
f**k you Zeppo!!

Yes it does hurt me still
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 01:13:00 PM
f**k you Zeppo!!

Yes it does hurt me still

Nah I get ovah thxs 2 Tallest head.
Post by: warmonga on November 19, 2009, 01:14:17 PM
oh god man it still f**kin hurt wey dem fukerz have to bring it up again for
Post by: kaliman2006 on November 19, 2009, 01:32:11 PM
Just reading this thread hurts.

I remember being ten years old and crying like ah baby after the game.

Reopens old wounds.
Post by: MEP on November 19, 2009, 01:35:32 PM
20 f**kin years and I still f**kin bitter bout dat goal.....
Post by: Blue on November 19, 2009, 01:48:50 PM
F**k Paul Caligiuri
Post by: dinho on November 19, 2009, 01:56:59 PM
i find man like zeppo should get ban for post like that..

dat come like he cuss everybody on the forum.. steups
Post by: Deeks on November 19, 2009, 04:03:23 PM
The memory of that day still hurts. The song says love hurts. Nah, that chongo shot does still hot me.
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2009, 05:12:18 PM
The memory of that day still hurts. The song says love hurts. Nah, that chongo shot does still hot me.

Fadder help all yuh if BaHRAIN DID BEAT WE. We get d bogey of we back fellas we make it 16 yrs later but we made it. LET IT GOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.
Post by: Zeppo on November 19, 2009, 05:34:59 PM

Yes, and then ban Flex for starting this thread and posting that article.

::)
Post by: Deeks on November 19, 2009, 05:46:55 PM
That day was a kind of necessary evil. It made us more hungry. Eventually we took it out on Bahrain. But that shot does still play in mih mind.
Post by: Star Child on November 19, 2009, 05:53:09 PM

For ture....  :rotfl:
Post by: Sando on November 20, 2009, 10:55:49 AM
THE MATCH

19 November 1989, National Stadium, Port of Spain

Trinidad and Tobago 0-1 USA
Scorers: Paul Caligiuri

USA: Meola, Windischmann, Doyle, Trittschuh, Krumpe, Caligiuri, Bliss, Harkes, Ramos, Vermes, Murray.

Trinidad and Tobago: Maurice, Morris, Williams, Francis, Faustin, Latapy, Lewis, Allen, Jones, Yorke, Jamerson.

VIDEO HIGHLIGHTS (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8SNGcSgZeZU)
Post by: weary1969 on November 20, 2009, 11:30:56 AM
THE MATCH

USA: Meola, Windischmann, Doyle, Trittschuh, Krumpe, Caligiuri, Bliss, Harkes, Ramos, Vermes, Murray.

Trinidad and Tobago: Maurice, Morris, Williams, Francis, Faustin, Latapy, Lewis, Allen, Jones, Yorke, Jamerson.

I does still STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS when I C Allen instead ah Charles
Post by: dinho on November 20, 2009, 11:39:22 AM

yeah, i cool with that..

we should ban flex too.
Post by: Fyzoman on November 20, 2009, 04:32:13 PM
THE MATCH

and because ah is ah glutton for punishment ah click on another youtube clip wid Charles beauty against de US in de US......ah lord.

Post by: Deeks on November 20, 2009, 05:11:15 PM
I always wonder why Gally did not bring on Alibey earlier in the game.
Post by: weary1969 on November 20, 2009, 05:13:06 PM
THE MATCH

and because ah is ah glutton for punishment ah click on another youtube clip wid Charles beauty against de US in de US......ah lord.

Post by: Zeppo on November 20, 2009, 07:27:04 PM
THE MATCH

Slightly more extended highlights in this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SaycfnZSW0c
Post by: Blue on November 20, 2009, 08:25:36 PM

Since when was bringing on Alibey ever a good idea??

Post by: weary1969 on November 20, 2009, 08:57:06 PM

Since when was bringing on Alibey ever a good idea??

Post by: Deeks on November 20, 2009, 10:37:35 PM
What was the issue with Alibey. He played good against the US in the 1st game. He had plenty pace and that was giving the US team trouble. Then Gally subbed him. But in the game in HCS, I thought Alibey speed would have cause some problem for the US. They used Dwight and Tab Ramos marked him out.
Post by: davyjenny1 on November 20, 2009, 11:54:06 PM
THE MATCH

Actually USA Players full names:Tony Meola, Mike Windischmann, John Doyle, Steve Trittschuh, Paul Krumpe, Paul Caligiuri, Brian Bliss, John Harkes, Tab Ramos, Peter Vermes, Bruce Murray. It had a live call in program on TTT the day after the loss with all the strike squad players present. Carter had alot to say about TTFA program at that time. It's touching when ever i look at it including the game.
Post by: davyjenny1 on November 21, 2009, 12:42:35 AM
There was alot going on inside the team through out the hex where by Gally controlled the team with an iron fist. He lived and die by his decisions and it showed in the last game. A few days before the game against the USA at El.Camino college ground in Los Angeles I had a long chat with a ranking senior team member whom i personally know and it became quite obvious to me from that point onwards as to what was happening on the inside.

Spiderman Carter should of been the goalkeeper in the last match.One wonder's if Gally will ever coach the national team again? It's left to be seen. Just my 2 cents.
Post by: Blue on November 21, 2009, 05:49:08 AM
What was the issue with Alibey. He played good against the US in the 1st game. He had plenty pace and that was giving the US team trouble. Then Gally subbed him. But in the game in HCS, I thought Alibey speed would have cause some problem for the US. They used Dwight and Tab Ramos marked him out.

The issue was he couldnt score to save his life. Or get a shot on target. Even his handball goal against Costa Rica got disallowed.

Back den, an Alibey was another name for a $hit shot.
Post by: Zeppo on November 19, 2013, 01:52:16 PM
On the anniversary, a new video in which some of the U.S. players discuss the game and the atmosphere in T&T.

http://www.youtube.com/v/AXawhyT6i1I
Post by: Quags on November 19, 2013, 02:41:38 PM
On the anniversary, a new video in which some of the U.S. players discuss the game and the atmosphere in T&T.

http://www.youtube.com/v/AXawhyT6i1I
ahh why would you post that clip .!!!! It still hurts.
Post by: Deeks on November 19, 2013, 04:31:11 PM
However, despite our loss, in those final moments we saw what this country is all about, we are not vengeful, spiteful, arrogant or revengeful people, no one ran onto the field to attack USA's team nor threw bottles, but applaud them with respect and cheered our team with tears in our eyes as they came back out heads towards the ........

That was then , I eh too sure about now.
Post by: Cocorite on November 19, 2013, 05:51:26 PM
However, despite our loss, in those final moments we saw what this country is all about, we are not vengeful, spiteful, arrogant or revengeful people, no one ran onto the field to attack USA's team nor threw bottles, but applaud them with respect and cheered our team with tears in our eyes as they came back out heads towards the ........

What would you expect now?
Post by: Deeks on November 19, 2013, 09:37:15 PM

What would you expect now?

Might not have anybody in the stadium
Post by: loyalist on November 19, 2013, 10:07:39 PM
Funny eh, that goal for argument sake is probably one of the turning points for US Soccer and the development of the game in their country. They have qualified for every World Cup since then.
Post by: g on November 20, 2013, 01:40:58 PM
Funny eh, that goal for argument sake is probably one of the turning points for US Soccer and the development of the game in their country. They have qualified for every World Cup since then.

I think they understood that their qualification was a fluke for Italy 90 and their federation took the decision to never let anything happen by fluke again. They drew up a plan for the future and are still executing it today.
Post by: Zeppo on November 19, 2014, 05:33:21 PM
25th Anniversary.