Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: Zeppo on December 02, 2009, 07:54:51 AM

Title: Can an African team win the 2010 World Cup?
Post by: Zeppo on December 02, 2009, 07:54:51 AM
Can an African team win the 2010 World Cup?

Close your eyes and try to imagine the scenes of jubilation across Africa if a team from the continent were to win the 2010 World Cup.

A celebration like no other, one billion people revelling in one of the greatest sporting and cultural achievements.

For the first time in its 80-year history, football's blue riband competition is coming to the world's poorest and most underdeveloped land.

How better to mark the occasion than with a first African champion?

(continue) (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/8385612.stm)
Title: Re: Can an African team win the 2010 World Cup?
Post by: PantherX on December 02, 2009, 08:05:19 AM
No.
Post by: Deeks on December 02, 2009, 08:26:05 AM
Yes. If it snows!
Post by: superoli on December 02, 2009, 08:45:48 AM
I will take that as yes then as it does snow in south Africa in June and july
Post by: Daft Trini on December 02, 2009, 09:19:04 AM
I will take that as yes then as it does snow in south Africa in June and july

Also in Kenya... do forget kenya... was amazed to see snow in such ah hot place  :beermug:
Post by: Brownsugar on December 02, 2009, 09:29:27 AM
Steups.....dais ah rhetorical question??....

here's an even better question (Zeppo this right up your alley)....can the US win a World Cup??   ::)
Post by: kicker on December 02, 2009, 09:36:06 AM
There's a first time for everything...

If Greece could win the European Championship (they were not that good), then who's to say that a quality, disciplined and inspired African side riding on some luck can't force the issue in SA2010.

Last World Cup the Ivory Coast and Ghana had the tools to do alot better than they did.

Post by: Deeks on December 02, 2009, 09:36:56 AM
The reason why I says if it snows is that there is a  distinct possibility that it may snow because it is their winter. That will be ironic. The first snowy WC happen in all place, Africa. But putting all jokes aside, if the those jokers(Nigeria) really get serious or Ghana with a bit of luck, that can really happen.
Post by: pardners on December 02, 2009, 09:48:44 AM
The reason why I says if it snows is that there is a  distinct possibility that it may snow because it is their winter. That will be ironic. The first snowy WC happen in all place, Africa. But putting all jokes aside, if the those jokers(Nigeria) really get serious or Ghana with a bit of luck, that can really happen.

Why yuh say jokers ?
Post by: Deeks on December 02, 2009, 10:07:44 AM
I have followed Nigerian footballers for years. They are not far removed from TT. Similar behaviour. Nigeria has an abundant of talent up their ying-yang. They have money up their ying-yang. Their organization always infighting. Players disaffected with them. Sometimes their arrogance has lead them to underestimate lesser teams to their own peril. But if they get their act together could win it.
Post by: Zeppo on December 02, 2009, 10:15:36 AM
Cameroon has an edge over the other African teams as they are the only one with a top class goalkeeper.

That's crucial for an underdog team to advance.
Post by: Bourbon on December 02, 2009, 10:22:03 AM
Well my African team is Cameroon. I giving Ghana or Ivory Coast some hope too.
Unfortunately....

Unperturbed by his 1977 prediction that an African side would triumph by the end of the 20th century, Brazil legend Pele genuinely believes it can occur next year.

Guess it eh possible now.... :-X

Post by: KND2 on December 02, 2009, 10:30:49 AM
Anybody who in the world cup can win the world cup.

African teams are filled with Top Notch pros and now they have the professional federations and staff to back them up.
Anything can happen.
Post by: Swima on December 02, 2009, 10:33:25 AM
I predicted last year that one will at least make the final. I hope one of them wins this year. I see both Ghana and Ivory as possibles especially since their debuts showed so much promise.
Post by: palos on December 02, 2009, 10:43:56 AM
Can an African team win the 2010 World Cup?

No.
Post by: Bakes on December 02, 2009, 10:51:38 AM
I have followed Nigerian footballers for years. They are not far removed from TT. Similar behaviour. Nigeria has an abundant of talent up their ying-yang. They have money up their ying-yang. Their organization always infighting. Players disaffected with them. Sometimes their arrogance has lead them to underestimate lesser teams to their own peril. But if they get their act together could win it.

Agreed... Nigeria for me has been the biggest World Cup busts the past 20 yrs... absolute jokers.
Post by: dinho on December 02, 2009, 10:53:43 AM
im going to put a bet on Ivory coast to reach the world cup semis at least, because imo they are the only african team that has the most important feature of any successful world cup team - a disciplined defence with Kolo Toure and Eboue in the back and Zokora and Yaya Toure in the defensive mid and plus they have Drogba up top with Kalou. So they have strength running throughout the spine of the team as opposed to the other African teams.

Ghana could go far too with the strongest midfield in Africa (Essien, Muntari, Appiah) but there achilles heel last time out was a forward that can put them away.. They need someone up front who could put away the chance when it come and Asamoah Gyan is not that person.

Cameroon eh showing me nothing outside of Eto'o and Makoun and their defence real indisciplined.

Nigeria is mess compared to the Nigeria of yesteryear and outside of Martins and Mikel they reliant on players who kinda past their best like Yakubu, Yobo and 40 year old 30 year old Kanu. That defence is real mess and they look real poor in their last qualification I saw. Sad to see a side that was supposed to progress since their 1994 promise regress to this.

South Africa side is real shit but the home field advantage might push them to the round of 16 if they lucky. Benni McCarthy need to find a new team and get back to his best for that to happen though.

Algeria.. nah.

Post by: fari on December 02, 2009, 11:05:15 AM
nah dinho...is kolo toure and 'disciplined' you use in the same sentence dey.    eboue is good but i cant see him as part of a WC winning defense.

paul le guen (win nuff championships as lyon coach) is cameroon coach now u know so any number could play
Post by: Trini Madness on December 02, 2009, 11:39:51 AM
There's a first time for everything...

If Greece could win the European Championship (they were not that good), then who's to say that a quality, disciplined and inspired African side riding on some luck can't force the issue in SA2010.

Last World Cup the Ivory Coast and Ghana had the tools to do alot better than they did.

True. even though ivory coast had lost to a strong argentina team...they still gave argentina hell. ghana was pretty impressive as well. to be honest i think these two countries will be stronger than the last world cup.
Post by: andre samuel on December 02, 2009, 12:10:35 PM
DEFENCE

DF Emmanuel Eboué June 4, 1983 (1983-06-04) (age 26) 24 0  Arsenal
DF Arthur Boka April 2, 1983 (1983-04-02) (age 26) 33 1  Stuttgart
DF Guy Demel June 13, 1981 (1981-06-13) (age 28) 9 0  Hamburg
DF Igor Lolo July 22, 1982 (1982-07-22) (age 27) 5 0  Monaco
DF Constant Djakpa October 17, 1986 (1986-10-17) (age 23) 3 0  Hannover
DF Kolo Touré March 19, 1981 (1981-03-19) (age 28) 70 2  Manchester City
DF Abdoulaye Méïté October 6, 1980 (1980-10-06) (age 29) 21 0  West Bromich Albion

MIDFIELD

MF Didier Zokora December 14, 1980 (1980-12-14) (age 28) 75 1  Sevilla
MF Yaya Touré May 13, 1983 (1983-05-13) (age 26) 28 4  Barcelona
MF Jean-Jacques Gosso March 15, 1983 (1983-03-15) (age 26)    Monaco
MF Romaric June 4, 1983 (1983-06-04) (age 26) 11 2  Sevilla
MF Emerse Faé January 24, 1984 (1984-01-24) (age 25) 17 1  Nice
MF Cheik Tioté June 21, 1986 (1986-06-21) (age 23) 0 0  Twente

ATTACK

FW Gervinho May 27, 1987 (1987-05-27) (age 22) 5 2  Lille
FW Sekou Cissé May 23, 1985 (1985-05-23) (age 24) 4 3  Feyenoord
FW Aruna Dindane November 26, 1980 (1980-11-26) (age 29) 40 14  Portsmouth
FW Abdul-Kader Keïta August 6, 1983 (1983-08-06) (age 26) 46 9  Galatasaray
FW Bakari Koné September 17, 1981 (1981-09-17) (age 28) 35 10  Marseille
FW Salomon Kalou August 15, 1985 (1985-08-15) (age 24) 17 9  Chelsea
FW Didier Drogba March 11, 1978 (1978-03-11) (age 31) 60 41  Chelsea
FW Boubacar Sanogo December 17, 1982 (1982-12-17) (age 26) 12 8  Saint-Étienne
FW Arouna Koné November 11, 1983 (1983-11-11) (age 26) 27 9  Sevilla

I HAVE EVERY CONFIDENCE THAT THIS GROUP OF PLAYERS CAN COMPETE WITH ANY TEAM IN DE WORLD.

IVORY COAST FOR DE SEMIS

Post by: Zeppo on December 02, 2009, 12:19:10 PM
I HAVE EVERY CONFIDENCE THAT THIS GROUP OF PLAYERS CAN COMPETE WITH ANY TEAM IN DE WORLD.

IVORY COAST FOR DE SEMIS

Any reason you didn't list their goalkeeper? Who is he, by the way?
Post by: kicker on December 02, 2009, 12:19:32 PM
im going to put a bet on Ivory coast to reach the world cup semis at least, because imo they are the only african team that has the most important feature of any successful world cup team - a disciplined defence with Kolo Toure and Eboue in the back and Zokora and Yaya Toure in the defensive mid and plus they have Drogba up top with Kalou. So they have strength running throughout the spine of the team as opposed to the other African teams.

Doh forget Romaric - very good player.
Post by: palos on December 02, 2009, 12:23:41 PM
The absolute furthest an African team reachin in this 2010 World Cup in SA is the quarter finals.
Post by: Jah Gol on December 02, 2009, 12:25:57 PM
DEFENCE

DF Abdoulaye Méïté October 6, 1980 (1980-10-06) (age 29) 21 0  West Bromich Albion

MIDFIELD

ATTACK

IVORY COAST FOR DE SEMIS

Andre yuh right. That Côte d'Ivoire side has more world class players than any other African team I can think of , ever. They shouldn't be afraid to be ambitious enough to try to win the whole thing. If and when South African is eliminated I'm sure the public will support the remaining African teams.
Post by: Preacher on December 02, 2009, 12:38:41 PM
The absolute furthest an African team reachin in this 2010 World Cup in SA is the quarter finals.

Nonsense!!!!  With that new SA movie coming out Africans coming 1,2,3,4 and 5.   ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on December 02, 2009, 01:35:34 PM

IVORY COAST FOR DE SEMIS

Hello, hello....stop debating whether or not an African team goh win....yuh eh answer mih yet...the USA goh win??....eh?  eh?? 
Post by: Brownsugar on December 02, 2009, 01:36:29 PM

let we bet nah..... :devil:  ;D
Post by: nunu on December 02, 2009, 01:37:51 PM
Its 6 african teams , so am expecting atleast 2 to get a Good draw .
I am bringing all 6 and france . Cameroon is going to be a dangerous
team this world cup , everything on their team is good and they have
an outstanding coach and a superb goalie . With a lucky draw ,they
could be the team to lift the world cup . Ivory Coast & Ghana are
good teams also ,with a little luck for anyone of them could push for
a world cup .Keep the post coming I have read the entire article from
the BBC and all your comments . The ones who said no ,suffers from
inferiority complex.Go Africa  :applause:
Post by: nunu on December 02, 2009, 01:42:51 PM

IVORY COAST FOR DE SEMIS

Hello, hello....stop debating whether or not an African team goh win....yuh eh answer mih yet...the USA goh win??....eh?  eh?? 
Brownsugar USA manipulate things to reach a world cup , If it was someone besides Kasey Keller
who place the yanks inna a Group of death they would not Qualify for a world cup . If USA reaches
the round of 16 they are lucky , I have nuff love for the french because their racial policy have always
been fair and it reflects their team . I stop cheering Brazil and Italy them teams too racist .
Go France ! Go Africa !
Post by: Brownsugar on December 02, 2009, 01:56:49 PM

IVORY COAST FOR DE SEMIS

Brownsugar USA manipulate things to reach a world cup , If it was someone besides Kasey Keller
who place the yanks inna a Group of death they would not Qualify for a world cup . If USA reaches
the round of 16 they are lucky , I have nuff love for the french because their racial policy have always
been fair and it reflects their team . I stop cheering Brazil and Italy them teams too racist .
Go France ! Go Africa !

:flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:  for France!!!....
Post by: jai john on December 02, 2009, 01:58:29 PM
...As much chance of that as the TTFF deciding to release audited accounts and to answer all questions relating to the Germany campaign ...and agreeing to pay the soca warriors the promised money ..even those they duped into acepting less ...and Oh ...that jack will relinquish his position as TTFF aviser to concentrate on his political career ... dais all !
Post by: palos on December 02, 2009, 02:23:55 PM

I game.  Yuh sure yuh could/would pay up when I win?  ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on December 02, 2009, 03:40:06 PM

Can you pay when I win??   ;D
Post by: frico on December 02, 2009, 03:56:31 PM
Just giving a good fight dont mean much ,African teams have to start showing that with all the talent they have, they must start beating European and South Americans.The fact is they dont even do as well against CONCACAF teams so they do have some way to go.As we know football is a team game and when African teams put that individual flair,speed and phyical attributes to use,as a team, then and only then we would have an African champion.
Post by: palos on December 02, 2009, 04:01:06 PM

Dependin on de terms and if is de terms I anticipate, I'll fly down jes fuh dat!  ;D
Post by: DeSoWa on December 02, 2009, 04:12:50 PM
At least one African team would be in the Semis, and hopefully make it to the Finals...if that happen then YES an African team can definitely take it all in 2010!!!

Ivory Coast and Ghana 80% chance

Cameroon and Nigeria 50% chance

SA may get out the group stage, but rem as the host they normally are put in the group of death.

Algeria?  ???

Post by: kicker on December 02, 2009, 04:28:28 PM
At least one African team would be in the Semis, and hopefully make it to the Finals...if that happen then YES an African team can definitely take it all in 2010!!!

Oh dear  :-\
Post by: frico on December 02, 2009, 04:40:25 PM

Dont let yuh heart over rule yuh judgement mate.

Oh dear  :-\
Post by: palos on December 02, 2009, 04:48:30 PM

SA may get out the group stage, but rem as the host they normally are put in the group of death.

Algeria?  ???

Wake up breddrin!!  Dat dream yuh havin dey might make yuh comatose waitin fuh it to happen!!  ;D

Dat have as much chance happenin as de Sounders winnin CONCACAF Champions League nex year!  ;D
Post by: davidephraim on December 02, 2009, 05:00:35 PM

Agreed... Nigeria for me has been the biggest World Cup busts the past 20 yrs... absolute jokers.
What about Spain??? ??? ???
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 02, 2009, 05:02:59 PM
After they do the following:

The talent is there, but organization is woefully lacking or nonexistent.  ;);)
Post by: College on December 02, 2009, 05:36:18 PM
Some odds ...

www.belmont.com/live-lines/soccer/world-cup-2010

Post by: DeSoWa on December 02, 2009, 06:06:01 PM

Algeria?  ???

Wake up breddrin!!  Dat dream yuh havin dey might make yuh comatose waitin fuh it to happen!!  ;D

Dat have as much chance happenin as de Sounders winnin CONCACAF Champions League nex year!  ;D

So alyuh getting kix...quote me in 7 months...lets see how far de reach...

And Sounders can compete with any team in the champions league...lets wait and see the full squad for next year and then we go talk  ;D

Post by: Bakes on December 02, 2009, 06:07:46 PM

Yeah, a fair shout can be made with regards to Spain being bigger busts than Nigeria.  They've had their problems no doubt, probably more due to poor coaching than the corruption that's plagued Nigeria.

--------------

DeSoWa yuh dreaming with that 'Sounders' talk, lol
Post by: DeSoWa on December 02, 2009, 06:40:51 PM

Yeah, a fair shout can be made with regards to Spain being bigger busts than Nigeria.  They've had their problems no doubt, probably more due to poor coaching than the corruption that's plagued Nigeria.

--------------

Bakes ah say they can "Compete" with any team Concacaf have to offer...did not say they go win it...YET lol lets wait til the roster is finalized...you know how the MLS is with all this trade and stuff...we already lose Le Toux to your team lol  :devil:

Post by: Storeboy on December 02, 2009, 07:51:46 PM
En-Oh!  NO!
Post by: davidephraim on December 02, 2009, 07:59:25 PM

--------------

nigeria is de corruption Capital of de world. so i overs.
Post by: CarenageBoy on December 02, 2009, 08:29:30 PM
Assuming fair referring, it is possible for an African country to win the World Cup. I give Ghana a very good chance of doing it.
Post by: Bakes on December 02, 2009, 10:20:23 PM
Bakes ah say they can "Compete" with any team Concacaf have to offer...did not say they go win it...YET lol lets wait til the roster is finalized...you know how the MLS is with all this trade and stuff...we already lose Le Toux to your team lol  :devil:

LOL... yuh know yuh say "Champions" and I thought yuh saying they ready for them European teams yes, lol

Lol@ "your team"... I tort was DC yuh talking about yes.  I eh really have ah squad any more, de spanish and dem tief DC out from under mih with all dat "barra brava" stuff.  But ah think yuh right, ah go have to take ah look at deez fellas and see what dey saying  :D
Post by: DeSoWa on December 02, 2009, 11:48:06 PM

LOL... yuh know yuh say "Champions" and I thought yuh saying they ready for them European teams yes, lol

Lol@ "your team"... I tort was DC yuh talking about yes.  I eh really have ah squad any more, de spanish and dem tief DC out from under mih with all dat "barra brava" stuff.  But ah think yuh right, ah go have to take ah look at deez fellas and see what dey saying  :D

lol ah might be stupid, but ah ent Dotish  :devil:

Oh what kinda name is the "Union" BTW? lol anyways u doh bound to reply...de thread done derail enuff already  :devil:

Post by: Bakes on December 02, 2009, 11:53:35 PM
lol ah might be stupid, but ah ent Dotish  :devil:

Oh what kinda name is the "Union" BTW? lol anyways u doh bound to reply...de thread done derail enuff already  :devil:

Well yuh know dai'z whey dey sign de Declaration... Rumer Hazzit they couldn't fit "Thirteen Original Colonies" on de jersey  ;D
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 03, 2009, 04:28:39 AM
Given how far behind the continent of Africa is behind on most of everything in life, the fact that they can produce players and National teams to even be able to compete is achievement in itself.......I just don't think that there are any of the countries, even Cameroon, Nigeria, Ghana, Algeria, etc., that have all the right ingredients to take a World Cup title just yet. 

I find it amazing that anybody could want to give Nigeria the supreme title of being the biggest World Cup busts in the last 20 years (or any time span, for that matter) when it have teams like Spain, Holland and France (YES, FRANCE!  Winning one WC where they were practically ushered in @ home doh make up for their other failings, including failure to even qualify in usa '90)....then again....I guess I should consider the source.

**********and lest we forget....there's always Portugal**********
Post by: Observer on December 03, 2009, 08:42:03 AM
An African team already won the World Cup! Unfortunately it did not count as it was an All Star African team and they used  three ineligible players. France 98! But they had three French men  ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on December 03, 2009, 09:06:07 AM

Dependin on de terms and if is de terms I anticipate, I'll fly down jes fuh dat!  ;D

Let we negotiate....2 of yours for one of mine.... :devil: :devil: ;D
Post by: Tongue on December 03, 2009, 09:55:27 AM
yes
Post by: Zeppo on December 04, 2009, 08:33:24 AM
Roger Milla: 'Ghana and Ivory Coast are the teams to spring surprises'

"Why not, why can't an African team win it?" The prospect of an African triumph at next summer's World Cup may seem sheer fantasy to some but not to Roger Milla, who knows all about making dreams real on football's greatest stage.

Milla made the world smile two decades ago when, aged 38, he came out of his semi-retirement on the Indian Ocean island of Réunion to help propel exuberant Cameroon to the quarter-finals of Italia '90.

No African team had ever got so far and Milla, the supersub who scored four goals, became a global icon. The African-born Just Fontaine and Eusebio had won the Golden Boot with France and Portugal in previous World Cups but here was a genuine African superstar, whose hip-shuffling corner-flag celebrations were arguably even more memorable than his goals. "It just happened, it was a spontaneous thing," he explains, 19 years later – and why not break into dance when you've just brought joy to an entire continent?

(continue) (http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/internationals/roger-milla-ghana-and-ivory-coast-are-the-teams-to-spring-surprises-1833757.html)

Post by: dinho on December 04, 2009, 12:46:09 PM
No!!
Post by: DeSoWa on December 04, 2009, 01:08:07 PM
No!!

haha, funny you waited until after the draw to come to that conclusion eh  :devil:

After seeing it too..i say it go be tough..but ah still sticking to one making it to the semis  ;D

Post by: Zeppo on December 04, 2009, 01:36:12 PM
Get ready for World Cup history to be made, as South Africa will become the first ever host nation that fails to advance from its group.
Post by: palos on December 04, 2009, 06:24:33 PM
I find it amazing that anybody could want to give Nigeria the supreme title of being the biggest World Cup busts in the last 20 years (or any time span, for that matter) when it have teams like Spain, Holland and France (YES, FRANCE!  Winning one WC where they were practically ushered in @ home doh make up for their other failings, including failure to even qualify in usa '90)....then again....I guess I should consider the source.

Given that only 7 countries have ever won the FIFA Wrld Cup...Uruguay, Brazil, Argentina, Italy, Germany, France & England it's a travesty to say that a country like Holland with a population of 16 million is a "bust" as opposed to Spain with 42 million people and France with 63 million and Nigeria with 151 million people

Countries like Uruguay & Holland overachieve in world football given their relatively small population base.

Of course, population alone doesn't count for performance in World Cup football or else China & India would have been super powers in the game.  But to say Holland is a bust is highly misleading and inaccurate in my opinion.  They consistently punch above their weight in my opinion.
Post by: gawd on pitch on December 04, 2009, 07:20:08 PM
The real question is this:

Can a South American or European team win the World Cup in Africa?

Stats show that Europe has only won the cup when it is in Europe. World cup has been held in 4 continents, Africa the 5th. South America has won it the other times. Africa will be on that list and expect an African team to become the first for Africa.

My ranking for Africa in regards to going the furthest in the cup is this:

Ghana, Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, South Africa and Algeria.
Post by: Zeppo on December 05, 2009, 12:15:21 PM
Tough World Cup draw for African challengers

A heavy dose of reality crashed down upon African hopes of a maiden Fifa World Cup title after Friday's draw pitched the continent's most-fancied teams in challenging groups.

In the build-up to the Cape Town draw, where locals flooded the city centre for the most colourful of street parties, most of the talk centred upon Ghana and Ivory Coast spearheading Africa's unlikely quest.

But now the tables have turned after the Black Stars landed in among Germany, Australia and Serbia (Group D) while the Ivorians face Brazil, Portugal and North Korea (Group G). 

(continue) (http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/piersedwards/2009/12/tough_world_cup_draw_for_afric.html)
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 05, 2009, 12:22:14 PM

Stats show that Europe has only won the cup when it is in Europe. World cup has been held in 4 continents, Africa the 5th. South America has won it the other times. Africa will be on that list and expect an African team to become the first for Africa.

Yuh could fine-tune dat to say dat BRAZIL..........is the only nation ot have won the cup on every continent it has been played on......I looking fuh dem to maintain dat record on Africa's maiden hosting.
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 05, 2009, 06:45:35 PM

Given that only 7 countries have ever won the FIFA Wrld Cup...Uruguay, Brazil, Argentina, Italy, Germany, France & England it's a travesty to say that a country like Holland with a population of 16 million is a "bust" as opposed to Spain with 42 million people and France with 63 million and Nigeria with 151 million people

Countries like Uruguay & Holland overachieve in world football given their relatively small population base.

Of course, population alone doesn't count for performance in World Cup football or else China & India would have been super powers in the game.  But to say Holland is a bust is highly misleading and inaccurate in my opinion.  They consistently punch above their weight in my opinion.

Palos, allyuh men does get caught up in this population theory too much for the sake of arguing.  None of you that like to talk about "population" can ever offer a sound and logical explanation of how and why population size, whether directly, or indirectly and on what scale, really affects the progress and/or success of any nation......in football or ANY sport. I have asked the question time and time and time again: when has the usa ever produced a player the likes of Dwight Yorke or Russell Latapy?  Their population is 300X ours.  Now...they have produced a good few Shaka Hislops....but  never an outfield player (and some can argue that it is much, much easier to make a good GK than a good outfield player)
  Football being a microcosm of society benefits or suffers from the advancements and sophistication of that particular society, hence why I don't place the same expectations on any African team as I would on (largely) European teams that have been living, breathing and re-inventing the game when African teams were barely learning it's nuances....not to mention, European teams could always absorb the best players from their respective colonies.  But, going back to Holland...or "The Netherlands" wit dey dutty Red Light District, whichever you prefer to call them...wasn't Holland home of one of the world's most respected systems of football development for a long time?  Did they not lose back to back World Cup finals to respective host nations?  Now, after reaching that level of sophistication, as far as their game's development is concerned, and performing so well in '74 and '78 AND being known as they were for producing some of the world's most polished players, shouldn't there have been greater World Cup expectations placed on them than the results they have given us so far?  All things being equal, I have no doubt that many an African nation would and should be given the same expectations for success as other perennial super powers of the game.  But we really eh reach there yet. Things are FAR from equal, even in this day and age and if one is going to have to call any one country or another "the biggest World Cup chokers" There are many a team from across Europe and maybe even South and Central America that can be labeled as such before any African name hadda call.               
Post by: weary1969 on December 07, 2009, 09:08:27 AM

Yuh could fine-tune dat to say dat BRAZIL..........is the only nation ot have won the cup on every continent it has been played on......I looking fuh dem to maintain dat record on Africa's maiden hosting.

COSIGNNNNNN
Post by: Zeppo on December 08, 2009, 06:25:30 AM
Why not an African WCup winner?

Abdullah makes his living as a tour guide on Lamu Island, a palm-tree paradise in the Indian Ocean, just off the coast from the heaving port city of Mombassa. Short and bearing a wild, rheumy eye, he's as mellow as a beach bum. But mention soccer, and Abdullah becomes as excited as a kid on a sugar high.

The sport came up while touring Lamutown, the island's administrative seat, a few days ago. I saw the Liverpool FC Barber Shop, complete with the club's shield on its dangling shingle, and I wanted a photo of it.

"You are a football fan?" he asked. "The Americans have a very good team. They beat the Spaniards."

Abdullah started listing American players, deciding that "the one at Everton" -- goalkeeper Tim Howard -- was the best one and that "Dempsey at Fulham" -- pronounced by Abdullah as "Fool-hamm" -- was good, too.

(continue) (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/writers/greg_lalas/12/07/africa.wcup/index.html)
Post by: just cool on December 09, 2009, 07:59:44 PM
DEFENCE

MIDFIELD

ATTACK

IVORY COAST FOR DE SEMIS

I thought he was from togo?