Sports => Football => Topic started by: nnyman18 on January 24, 2010, 11:01:15 PM

Title: Why does Fox Soccer never deliver any of the African tournaments ?
Post by: nnyman18 on January 24, 2010, 11:01:15 PM
Maybe we just don't get it here in the US but I can get all kind of football except African Qualifiers or African Nation Cups.
Title: Re: WHY DOES FOX SOCCER NEVER DELIVER ANY OF THE AFRICAN TOURNAMENTS?
Post by: gothic on January 24, 2010, 11:47:12 PM
I was in Venezuela over the last week and I was able to see a couple African Nation Cup games on their Fox Sports, everything was in Spanish but at least someone is getting the games
Title: Re: WHY DOES FOX SOCCER NEVER DELIVER ANY OF THE AFRICAN TOURNAMENTS?
Post by: theworm2345 on January 25, 2010, 01:26:56 AM
They're busy showing underage USA friendlies  ::)
Title: Re: Why does Fox Soccer never deliver any of the African tournaments ?
Post by: Sando on January 25, 2010, 06:11:06 AM
What you getting at ?

They never deliver any Caribbean games, only as of lately they did the CONCACAF Champion Cup. And last years Caribbean Cup (I think). They don't do the Asia Cup either.

Maybe its a sponsor thing.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 25, 2010, 06:42:35 AM
Broadcast rights?
Post by: JDB on January 25, 2010, 08:02:40 AM
There are tons of reasons.

The rights are probably relatively cheap compared to UEFA or CONMEBOL but they probably rate the market as being much smaller as well. Also do they bring the Asian Cup? We questioning CAN but the CAN is only now getting attention from general football fans because of the number of players that now star in Europe and that is a recent thing.
Post by: MEP on January 25, 2010, 08:49:12 AM
Maybe we just don't get it here in the US but I can get all kind of football except African Qualifiers or African Nation Cups.
Sounds like yuh askin answers
Post by: spideybuff on January 25, 2010, 09:49:47 AM
Lackof africans with money in the US to warrant the demand for such games. At least, legally registered africans who on the radar of the census bureau.
Post by: TdotTrini on January 25, 2010, 10:36:14 AM
Egypt v Cameroon on now.

http://www.keysat.info/
Post by: Bitter on January 25, 2010, 02:38:35 PM
Is Racial!!!!

Fight the power!
(http://www.fugly.com/media/IMAGES/Random/Radio_Raheem.jpg)
Post by: nnyman18 on January 25, 2010, 10:15:21 PM
MEP yuh does get it in Pittsburgh :devil:
Post by: palos on January 26, 2010, 12:37:13 AM

Maybe yuh should ask if Trotters have a African Nations Cup Matchday too

Or is dat solely reserved fuh EPL?  8)
Post by: nnyman18 on January 26, 2010, 12:11:55 PM
okay i will ;D
Post by: asylumseeker on January 26, 2010, 12:18:39 PM
Lackof africans with money in the US to warrant the demand for such games. At least, legally registered africans who on the radar of the census bureau.

btw, ppl in undocumented status etc. do comply with census bureau reporting
Post by: asylumseeker on January 26, 2010, 12:19:57 PM
the fox soccer audience would view these games if aired
Post by: kicker on January 26, 2010, 01:31:00 PM
There are tons of reasons.

The rights are probably relatively cheap compared to UEFA or CONMEBOL but they probably rate the market as being much smaller as well. Also do they bring the Asian Cup? We questioning CAN but the CAN is only now getting attention from general football fans because of the number of players that now star in Europe and that is a recent thing.

I actually heard someone on FSC say that it's expensivie to carry. Maybe not the rights, but the overall package- I don't know nearly enough to comment.

I wouldn't bet against socio-economic & political factors at play that have an influence.....

All else being equal, I imagine if it made pure economic sense, it'd be covered on mainstream football TV.   
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 26, 2010, 06:32:52 PM
Because they are racist. Plain and simple