Sports => Football => Topic started by: triniairman on February 13, 2010, 12:36:15 PM

Title: Man. United vs AC Milan CL 1st leg 16 Feb 10 and CL 2nd leg10 Mar 10
Post by: triniairman on February 13, 2010, 12:36:15 PM
Fergie - No regrets over Becks
United manager not paying attention to media hype

Sir Alex Ferguson says David Beckham's departure from Manchester United has long since been consigned to history.

The midfielder had enjoyed great success at Old Trafford when the decision was taken to sell him to Real Madrid in 2003.

He did not return to play at Old Trafford during his time with Real but, now with AC Milan, Beckham will take on his former club over two legs in the UEFA Champions League.

The San Siro clash will take place on 16th February with the return leg on 10th March and Ferguson knows what to expect when Beckham comes back to town.

He is anticipating a lot of media attention but insists there will be no loss of concentration from his players.

Asked about the Beckham's £25million move from Old Trafford, Ferguson told the club's official magazine Inside United: "No regrets. We move on.

"The only difference with David's return to Manchester United compared with other players is that there will be a big media circus surrounding him when Milan arrive.

"He's such a high-profile celebrity - not just a high-profile footballer - and we haven't really seen anybody else return to the club in that situation.

"Our job is to concentrate on the football match and let the David Beckham media circus carry on - we know we're not going to stop it anyway."

World Cup
Ferguson patched up his well-publicised differences with Beckham long ago and is happy to see the 34-year-old doing well in Italy.

Beckham has joined Milan for a second loan spell from parent club Los Angeles Galaxy to stay sharp ahead of the World Cup.

"I think I told him myself last year when I saw him before our game against Inter that he should be thinking about getting back to Europe if he wanted to go to the World Cup," said Ferguson.

"And it looks like he might just get his wish now. He had a good spell with Milan last time, so it made sense to me to see him back there again."
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11945_5912974,00.html

Rooney - Seedorf is a threat
United ace fears Dutch striker the most

Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney says Clarence Seedorf poses the biggest threat to the club's UEFA Champions League quest.

Rooney knows only too well the Dutchman's ability in front of goal having witnessed it first hand when AC Milan knocked United out of the competition in the 2004-05 and 2006-07 campaigns.

Seedorf featured on both occasions and will look to have a similar impact when the two sides meet for the first of two legs at the San Siro on 16th February.

Given his record, Rooney believes that, with such capable firepower, Milan pose the biggest threat to the 2008 champions' quest for European glory.

The best
"Seedorf (is the Milan player I fear most)," Rooney told La Gazzetta dello Sport.

"He's probably the best player I've ever played against.

"Rarely have I seen a player do what he does on the field. You can't leave him out."

Rooney admitted to looking forward to coming up against former Red Devil David Beckham in the two-legged affair.

"David is a champion and he represents United's history," he said.

"I hope he gets a great welcome. It'll be exciting to play against him."

Fear
Looking ahead to the 2010 World Cup, Rooney spoke favourably of England coach Fabio Capello's stern approach.

He admitted that the Italian's all-or-nothing attitude has had a huge impact on the squad.

"He scares us, he's like a strict father," said Rooney.

"He's made us more of a team. He's worked above all on the tactics.

"Now we change them for every match."
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11945_5886825,00.html
Title: Re: Man. United vs AC Milan CL 1st leg 16 Feb 10 and CL 2nd leg10 Mar 10
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 16, 2010, 11:07:07 AM
Most of these players does say all the right things off the field then act like ass on it, once the whistle blow.
Looking forward to some great match-ups this CL knockout season.  The teams that look best able to win it (all things currently considered) has to be one of either: Real, Bordeaux, Bayern or the winner between Chelsea and Inter.  Enjoy. 
Post by: triniairman on February 16, 2010, 11:09:52 AM
AC Milan v Man Utd preview
Ferguson and Leonardo test wits in mouth-watering clash

AC Milan and Manchester United are set to slug it out in a battle of two European heavyweights in the first leg of their UEFA Champions League knockout tie.

Premier League champions United take on the Rossoneri at the San Siro ahead of the return fixture at Old Trafford in a fortnight's time, with the English side aiming to reach their third successive final.

The build-up to this mouth-watering game has surrounded the irrepressible David Beckham, who will play against his former club for the first time since 2003, if he is selected by Milan coach Leonardo.

Beckham, on loan from Los Angeles Galaxy, left the Red Devils in a big-money move to Real Madrid almost seven years ago, after his relationship with Sir Alex Ferguson deteriorated following an incident in the changing room with a boot that left the midfielder needing stitches above his eye.

However, despite the furore in the build-up to the match, Beckham insists he does not have a score to settle and has described Ferguson as a 'father figure' to him.

Personal links aside, the game promises to be an exciting spectacle nonetheless, with both teams bidding to make the quarter-finals of the competition.

United will have bad memories of their last game against Milan at the San Siro, though, as they crashed to an emphatic 3-0 defeat back in the semi-finals of the 2006/07 tournament.

Having gone into the second leg 3-2 up, Ferguson's men collapsed under the pressure in Italy and were denied a place in the final against Liverpool thanks to goals from Kaka, Clarence Seedorf and Alberto Gilardino.

Milan went on to win the competition and earn a remarkable seventh European Cup, although United did make amends by sealing Champions League glory a season later.

The history books do not bode well for the English champions, as Milan have beaten their opponents on their last four visits to the San Siro.

However, Leonardo's side failed to win any of their home games in the group stage and the Red Devils have not lost an away game in Europe since their last trip to Giuseppe Meazza.

Team news
While a starting place for Beckham may be written in the stars, an emotional date for the England star could be on hold for when the Italian outfit travel to Manchester on 10th March.

Indeed, it is likely that he will start on the bench for the first leg, as Brazilian Alexandre Pato is set to line up in the starting XI.

Fellow right-sided player Mancini has made the move from rivals Inter until the end of the season, although he is ineligible for the Champions League, as is Ghanaian Dominic Adiyiah.

But defender Gianluca Zambrotta is available after serving a one-game suspension against FC Zurich on matchday six.

United will have to be wary of in-form Brazilian trickster Ronaldinho, who almost made the move to Old Trafford before opting to join Barcelona in 2003.

He could be joined in attack by Dutchman Klaas-Jan Huntelaar, who, despite speculation linking him with a January move, scored in Milan's 3-2 win over Udinese on Friday.

Meanwhile, Massimo Oddo has been out since November with a thigh injury, while Thiago Silva and Marco Borriello are doubts.

United will be without Nemanja Vidic once more as the Serbian centre-half continues to be sidelined with a nerve injury suffered in the warm-up of the FA Cup game against Leeds in January.

Vidic has not played at all this year, and speculation has mounted regarding a bust-up with manager Ferguson.

It is not known whether Brazilian midfielder Anderson is injured or if he has merely been dropped from the squad.

Ryan Giggs also misses out with a fractured right arm, while Owen Hargreaves and John O'Shea remain long-term absentees.

One player Milan will be keen to keep quiet is Wayne Rooney - the striker has been United's talisman this season since the departure of Cristiano Ronaldo.
http://www.skysports.com/football/match_preview/0,19764,11065_3227576,00.html
Post by: Grande on February 16, 2010, 12:11:25 PM
Any Toronto folks know what channel (if any) this game showing?
Post by: elan on February 16, 2010, 01:01:41 PM
ESPN not even showing the game, not even the spanish station.
Post by: Jah Gol on February 16, 2010, 01:53:16 PM
Ronaldinho opens the scoring in the 3rd minute
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 16, 2010, 01:55:08 PM

Yuh doh have FSC where yuh is?
Post by: Jah Gol on February 16, 2010, 01:55:55 PM
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=65319&part=sports (http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=65319&part=sports)
Post by: Observer on February 16, 2010, 02:07:27 PM
Rio just get away with a no call for a penalty on Ronnie
Post by: elan on February 16, 2010, 02:08:37 PM
Ronnie turne Ferdinand into a pretzel  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
The ref giving Ronnie a hard time, them so called defenders taking turns in kicking Ronnie.
Post by: elan on February 16, 2010, 02:09:53 PM

Just plugged my laptop into my TV.
Post by: elan on February 16, 2010, 02:11:43 PM
Rooney is a nasty bastard   >:( >:(
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 16, 2010, 02:16:31 PM

Just plugged my laptop into my TV.

Ah glad fuh yuh!  :applause: ;D
Post by: Jah Gol on February 16, 2010, 02:24:01 PM
steups
Post by: elan on February 16, 2010, 02:39:54 PM
No way Man United deserved that equalizer. Showed no creativity or desire to play. Can't get into centrally into Milan final 1/3, Nani cyah cross a ball to save he life and the defense looking like T&T.
Post by: Bitter on February 16, 2010, 02:40:32 PM
From Soccernet:

What a great half. Milan oozed class and were by far the better side. They took a deserved early lead through Ronaldinho's deflected effort off Carrick and could have doubled their lead on a couple of occasions - notably when Huntelaar fired wide. But a fortuitous Scholes goal means United are still in it, and have a crucial away goal.
Post by: The_Ice on February 16, 2010, 02:41:30 PM
satan curl that ball off of scholes  >:(
Post by: Andre DosSantos on February 16, 2010, 02:42:49 PM
you can watch it live on foxsoccer.com. Then look for the live feed banner and click on that. And yes they really giving Dinho endless kicks and no calls. Typical....
Post by: Jah Gol on February 16, 2010, 02:47:09 PM
No way Man United deserved that equalizer. Showed no creativity or desire to play. Can't get into centrally into Milan final 1/3, Nani cyah cross a ball to save he life and the defense looking like T&T.
True but goal is goal. They shouldn't have let that shot get off at all.
Post by: Andre DosSantos on February 16, 2010, 03:01:11 PM
United should thanking God for VanDeSar right now and the refree :devil:
Post by: Jah Gol on February 16, 2010, 03:20:54 PM
Milan too slow
Post by: Bitter on February 16, 2010, 03:24:01 PM
Hard luck dey Milan.
Post by: elan on February 16, 2010, 03:30:09 PM
Clarence.....

See that pass from Ronnie and Goal by Seedorf?

Milan getting out coached.
Post by: Jah Gol on February 16, 2010, 03:37:04 PM
Seedorf belt is the beat of the game.
Post by: elan on February 16, 2010, 03:42:28 PM
Milan can only blame themselves. However, when they played it was so creative and flowing. Goals wins games.

Man United cannot play that mess against a younger team. To many mistakes from their defense (can't always get bail out by the ref), and no creativity from the mids when pressured. Say what they basically into the 1/4 finals.
Post by: Jay10 on February 16, 2010, 03:43:42 PM
Seedorf belt is the beat of the game.

lol...u beat me 2 it...was it Carrick or the "best midfielder in the world"? :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Bitter on February 16, 2010, 03:44:09 PM
in 5... 4... 3...
Post by: Jah Gol on February 16, 2010, 03:47:32 PM
Milan can only blame themselves. However, when they played it was so creative and flowing. Goals wins games.

Man United cannot play that mess against a younger team. To many mistakes from their defense (can't always get bail out by the ref), and no creativity from the mids when pressured. Say what they basically into the 1/4 finals.
They throw way in the first half.
Post by: D.H.W on February 16, 2010, 03:48:06 PM
 :devil: :beermug:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on February 16, 2010, 03:49:30 PM
Fergie's half time speech must have been amazing

Great response .. great result... only bitter part is we should have kept it at 3-1
Post by: triniairman on February 16, 2010, 08:10:14 PM
After reading some of the post on this thread, it's clear to see how much hatred some men have for Man.U. We doh get no kinda credit atall. Say wha!!! We win, we score three goals away, all we have to do is take care of business at home.
Post by: triniairman on February 16, 2010, 08:17:06 PM
Rooney lauds 'deserved' win
United striker pleased with two goals

Wayne Rooney felt Manchester United were good value for their 3-2 victory over AC Milan at the San Siro.

The Red Devils had to come from behind after Ronaldinho scored in only the third minute of the eagerly-awaited UEFA Champions League tie.

Milan dominated much of the first half before Paul Scholes levelled and United then took control after the interval.

Rooney scored twice and was pleased to play his part in a famous win, telling Sky Sports: "It was a disappointing start but after that we did well to get back into the game and we stepped it up in the second half.

"Overall I think we were the better team and deserved to win."

Frustrated
Rooney received a yellow card just before half-time and he admits it was difficult not to become frustrated early on.

"I don't really want to say but some people weren't doing their jobs right," he said.

"Everyone gets frustrated but I got the booking and then went on and helped us win the game which I am delighted with."

Clarence Seedorf struck a late goal to leave the tie in the balance and Rooney concedes it did take the gloss off an excellent result.

"I thought it was only us who looked like scoring again (at 3-1) and I'm really disappointed to concede a second goal," he confessed.

"It keeps Milan in the tie but 3-2 at the San Siro is a great result."
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11945_5954560,00.html

I 98% sure is Nani he talking about here, he was having a bad game. He did talk about Seedorf threat in an earlier interview
Post by: elan on February 16, 2010, 08:54:13 PM
After reading some of the post on this thread, it's clear to see how much hatred some men have for Man.U. We doh get no kinda credit atall. Say wha!!! We win, we score three goals away, all we have to do is take care of business at home.

It's not hating, but alyuh did not do anything. Goals came against run of play and not in your usual counter attacking style. Milan coach made some crucial mistakes in tactics. Good win.
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 16, 2010, 09:47:22 PM

The media and the obnoxious faction of manu fans (about 99.9% of y'all) give y'all more than all the credit y'all deserve.  Allyuh doh need no credit from the manu haters!

**Oh, and ah fuget....outta everybody, de officials does give allyuh de most credit in de world!**
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on February 16, 2010, 10:30:37 PM
Rooney lauds 'deserved' win
United striker pleased with two goals

Wayne Rooney felt Manchester United were good value for their 3-2 victory over AC Milan at the San Siro.

The Red Devils had to come from behind after Ronaldinho scored in only the third minute of the eagerly-awaited UEFA Champions League tie.

Milan dominated much of the first half before Paul Scholes levelled and United then took control after the interval.

Rooney scored twice and was pleased to play his part in a famous win, telling Sky Sports: "It was a disappointing start but after that we did well to get back into the game and we stepped it up in the second half.

"Overall I think we were the better team and deserved to win."

Frustrated
Rooney received a yellow card just before half-time and he admits it was difficult not to become frustrated early on.

"I don't really want to say but some people weren't doing their jobs right," he said.

"Everyone gets frustrated but I got the booking and then went on and helped us win the game which I am delighted with."

Clarence Seedorf struck a late goal to leave the tie in the balance and Rooney concedes it did take the gloss off an excellent result.

"I thought it was only us who looked like scoring again (at 3-1) and I'm really disappointed to concede a second goal," he confessed.

"It keeps Milan in the tie but 3-2 at the San Siro is a great result."
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11945_5954560,00.html

I 98% sure is Nani he talking about here, he was having a bad game. He did talk about Seedorf threat in an earlier interview

good thing yuh leave that 2%

It was the referee Wazza was complaining about.. hence the yellow card for dissent

Nani had a poor game yes but he has the quality..just need to be more consistent
Post by: elan on February 17, 2010, 12:25:04 AM
Alex Ferguson wasn't cussing out Jonny Evan?  ^^^^^^
Post by: Coop's on February 17, 2010, 08:24:05 AM

It's not hating, but alyuh did not do anything. Goals came against run of play and not in your usual counter attacking style. Milan coach made some crucial mistakes in tactics. Good win.
      That's what the game is all about,you make mistakes you get punished for it,Milan had same opportunities in the first half,scoring three goals on any team away from home speaks volumes,Milan is big team.   
Post by: Ngozi on February 17, 2010, 09:13:40 AM
All I have to say is Rooney is the best thing out there right now hands down ..... skill, aggression, attitude, power, hunger, speed the only thing worse than playing the boy right now is playing Ronaldo (the real one not the pretty boy) and Ronaldinho in their prime .... he's a f**king animal!
Post by: kicker on February 17, 2010, 09:51:23 AM
Terrible marking at the back gave Rooney 2 easy headers, and that was the difference. 

Very difficult to see Man U losing by 2 goals or conceding more than 3 goals at home.  This fixture is almost in the bag. 

Post by: elan on February 17, 2010, 11:48:34 AM
All I have to say is Rooney is the best thing out there right now hands down ..... skill, aggression, attitude, power, hunger, speed the only thing worse than playing the boy right now is playing Ronaldo (the real one not the pretty boy) and Ronaldinho in their prime .... he's a f**king animal!

Rooney was not inspiring. He scored two goals that came from the team. All game Rooney just moaning and not trying to make anything happen. Rooney is not and never will be the best striker in the world. He does not and cannot make anything happen if the rest of the team not supplying him. Look at Drogba, Torres, Eto'o, etc. These are strikers that can go get the ball and make something happen. Rooney needs to be supplied.
Post by: kicker on February 17, 2010, 12:14:05 PM
Rooney was not inspiring. He scored two goals that came from the team. All game Rooney just moaning and not trying to make anything happen. Rooney is not and never will be the best striker in the world. He does not and cannot make anything happen if the rest of the team not supplying him. Look at Drogba, Torres, Eto'o, etc. These are strikers that can go get the ball and make something happen. Rooney needs to be supplied.

Horseshit...

Firstly- every striker needs to be supplied, to some extent.

Secondly- Rooney creates, scores, AND defends... In fact for a long time, a big criticism of him is that he does too much more than his primary job, and it takes away from his goal scoring focus.  Rooney is a dynamic striker whose off the ball movement is tireless, and who shows alot of quality outside of the striking area.....He has scored many a brilliant goal that didn't depend on hard work putting it on a platter for him.....

Give jack his jacket bro... He's carrying Man U at the moment. 
Post by: triniairman on February 17, 2010, 12:18:26 PM

Horseshit...

Secondly- Rooney creates, scores, AND defends... In fact for a long time, a big criticism of him is that he does too much more than his primary job, and it takes away from his goal scoring focus.  Rooney is a dynamic striker whose off the ball movement is tireless, and who shows alot of quality outside of the striking area.....He has scored many a brilliant goal that didn't depend on hard work putting it on a platter for him.....

Could not said any better. I would have Rooney over any forward right now. I have never seen another forward work as much as Rooney does off the ball.
Post by: elan on February 17, 2010, 02:15:00 PM

Horseshit...

That's how you see it. What did he do prior to Valencia effective cross? Nothing, get a yellow card for bitching. He will never play anywhere in the world other that England. Rooney defends, yeah by hacking everything in front of him. Rooney is not the best no matter what you all say. He is very limited, easy to frustrate and shut out of a game. Obviously if he is playing against inferior opposition he florishes. Working "hard" does not equal good. Working effectively is something different.
Post by: kicker on February 17, 2010, 02:25:31 PM

That's how you see it. What did he do prior to Valencia effective cross? Nothing, get a yellow card for bitching. He will never play anywhere in the world other that England. Rooney defends, yeah by hacking everything in front of him. Rooney is not the best no matter what you all say. He is very limited, easy to frustrate and shut out of a game. Obviously if he is playing against inferior opposition he florishes. Working "hard" does not equal good. Working effectively is something different.

Never said he's the best, but he's damn good.  I doubt that there's a coach or opposing defender out there who doesn't respect him or who doesn't regard him as a key player to watch...but if you know more than them, more power to you. 
Post by: elan on February 17, 2010, 03:02:41 PM

Never said he's the best, but he's damn good.  I doubt that there's a coach or opposing defender out there who doesn't respect him or who doesn't regard him as a key player to watch...but if you know more than them, more power to you. 

In that regards I can agree, he is a top player who you must prepare for.
Post by: xixgon on February 17, 2010, 04:42:03 PM

So he's a top player, yet "He is very limited, easy to frustrate and shut out of a game."

Interesting...

The man is one of the most in form players in the world at the moment, one of the most productive and one of the most talented youngsters of this generation. I know most of you guys only come on the board to hate and show no kind of objectivity whatsoever, but at least try and give some credit where credit is due occasionally na.

If you think he is a headless chicken that cannot create goals for himself & others and that he doesn't offer anything to the team besides scoring off service - then clearly you haven't been following his all-round progression from the time he left Everton until now.

Perhaps he's not as pure a striker as the likes of Villa, Torres, Fabiano & Drogba or as big a name as Ibrahmovic - but I'd take him over all of those players at the moment (bar perhaps Torres if he was fit and on form) - considering that the rest are all near or on the wrong side of 30 and/or have been underwhelming thus far this season.
Post by: Big Magician on February 17, 2010, 06:37:02 PM
elan....send ah smoke fuh meh nah... tnt only have boo
Post by: elan on February 17, 2010, 07:38:45 PM

So he's a top player, yet "He is very limited, easy to frustrate and shut out of a game."

Interesting...

The man is one of the most in form players in the world at the moment, one of the most productive and one of the most talented youngsters of this generation. I know most of you guys only come on the board to hate and show no kind of objectivity whatsoever, but at least try and give some credit where credit is due occasionally na.

If you think he is a headless chicken that cannot create goals for himself & others and that he doesn't offer anything to the team besides scoring off service - then clearly you haven't been following his all-round progression from the time he left Everton until now.

Perhaps he's not as pure a striker as the likes of Villa, Torres, Fabiano & Drogba or as big a name as Ibrahmovic - but I'd take him over all of those players at the moment (bar perhaps Torres if he was fit and on form) - considering that the rest are all near or on the wrong side of 30 and/or have been underwhelming thus far this season.

Where have you been? Who has stopped Drogba this season?
Post by: nnyman18 on February 17, 2010, 08:28:09 PM
Ah still realing from the lost yesterday but ah wanted to put in meh too cents. Milan have been giving up goals to the far post all season long as well as goals from crosses so as I watched Alex check we out the other day against Udinese when we did the same thing in the 3-2 win I couldn't help but think he is well aware of this. At the moment Rooney is an informed striker and he showed that yesterday. I am not ready to say best striker in the world right now though. Man U commitment to counter attack proved well for them. The truth of the matter its an uphill task scoring two or three goals in England we had our opportunities in the game and pissed them away so we will have to face the consequences. Ah so vex right now man >:(
Post by: xixgon on February 17, 2010, 10:08:10 PM

Interesting...

Where have you been? Who has stopped Drogba this season?

Brudda, where did I say that Drogba hasn't been on form this season?

I said that either the players I mentioned were of the older variety AND/OR have not shone consistently. Drogba is coming on in age, whilst conversely Ibra for eg. has been underwhelming it in my opinion.

My point was that I'd rather have Rooney right now than the likes of Drogba (to whom Rooney is 7 and 1/2 years younger). Rooney is just approaching his peak/prime years - whereas Drogba and the rest (besides Torres) are all past or approaching 30.

That's exactly the reason I never wanted Berbatov (aside from the fact that I never rated him nearly as highly as the over-exuberant English press) - the window to acclimatise players to the club, to get more than 2-3 years of production out of them and to recoup any of what is likely a substantial transfer fee, is very often impractical and not worth the risk (especially in this climate). Which honestly made Barca's acquisition of Ibra puzzling - such money should only be spent on young studs or once in a generation type talents (if anyone).
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 17, 2010, 11:31:06 PM

Pep Guardiola and Barca knew just what to do with him AND an allegedly red-hot cronaldo last May, both on the same field, and I'm willing to bet that, given their squad could find good health again, they wouldn't be afraid of defending against him this May again.....should they get that far.....but their current injury situation might have something to say about that.  I'm not so sure that Chelsea or Bayern Munich are afraid of manu and rooney either.  Yes he is in great form right now and he has finally found it in himself to live up to his promise of scoring goals on behalf of a now departed cronaldo.....but rooney is not as unstoppable as people are making him out to be, and for all of his temperamental improvement over the years (which I MUST commend him for) he (and scholes) is still a yellow card (or two) waiting to happen.
Post by: xixgon on February 18, 2010, 12:43:24 AM

Pep Guardiola and Barca knew just what to do with him AND an allegedly red-hot cronaldo last May, both on the same field, and I'm willing to bet that, given their squad could find good health again, they wouldn't be afraid of defending against him this May again.....should they get that far.....but their current injury situation might have something to say about that.  I'm not so sure that Chelsea or Bayern Munich are afraid of manu and rooney either.  Yes he is in great form right now and he has finally found it in himself to live up to his promise of scoring goals on behalf of a now departed cronaldo.....but rooney is not as unstoppable as people are making him out to be, and for all of his temperamental improvement over the years (which I MUST commend him for) he (and scholes) is still a yellow card (or two) waiting to happen.

To be fair to Rooney, he was playing on the left - not through the centre in that game (as he was often last season). It's making him the main focus this season and discouraging him from straying too much which has resulted in his increase in production. That said, no player in world football is unstoppable. No elite team can ever be afraid to face any player, they just need to game plan and perform to suit. Rooney like any other player can be nullified (especially by a great team defense like Barca) - it's just the suggestion that he's somehow not worthy to be mentioned in the same breath as Ronaldo and co. that I find unfounded.

That he's a walking 'yellow card' I also would take issue with - he does have his occasional outburst - but he's not Scholes (who seems to have some mental issue I admit). I'd rather he get the odd yellow card if it means he kept his fiery attitude anyway - especially since he has less yellow cards this season than strikers such as Drogba - and that he rarely gets sent off.

Post by: dinho on February 18, 2010, 08:26:24 AM
Rooney is playing exceptionally well...

All this credit he gets for tracking back and defending, getting stuck in and for such a high work rate... The form he showing now is a direct result of him realizing more and more that, "daiz not yuh wuk". I think Capello needs to take some credit for this too, in the national setup when Rooney running back in left back to throw in he wild tackle and dem, Capello does buff him up and tell him to cool it.

That said, Rooney is not unstoppable and a well drilled defence can keep him out of a game. And yes I think there are players that in peak form are/were unstoppable.. Players that on their day if they turn up, it doesn't matter what you do they will dominate and your best bet is to nullify the players around them or the supply to them..

Rivaldo on his day was unstoppable.. Ronaldo (the real one), Zidane, Ronaldinho and Figo similarly at some point I think were unstoppable players as well.

Rooney is nowhere near there as yet, and people need not to buy into the hype of the English press calling him the best striker in the world right now. IMO Messi and Drogba are harder propositions for any defense right now and a fit Fernando Torres is more clinical and deadly than a Rooney could ever be.
Post by: kicker on February 18, 2010, 02:50:39 PM

Mango ah respondin tuh yuh, but I want you to show me where I say anybody was afraid of him, or that no team can figure out how to defend against him...

I eh care if yuh's Pep, Dunga, Jose, Carlo, Leonardo, Arsene, Manuel Pellegrini, Roberto Mancini, or whoever...if yuh playing against Man U tomorrow, if yuh know football, yuh do any kinda scouting, yuh read a newspaper or a book, log on tuh a website, yuh watch TV or listen to radio.... or even if yuh just have a four-king head on yuh shoulders and nuttin' else, the player who you will regard as the biggest weapon coming at yuh, and who yuh will pay the most attention to in yuh defensive planning....and rightly so..... is Wayne Rooney....TALK DONE!!
Post by: kicker on February 18, 2010, 02:56:04 PM

Rivaldo on his day was unstoppable.. Ronaldo (the real one), Zidane, Ronaldinho and Figo similarly at some point I think were unstoppable players as well.

The original Ronaldo at his best take the cake...When it comes to being "unstoppable", iz he then everybody else...
Post by: Lifeisgood on February 18, 2010, 03:51:38 PM

All this credit he gets for tracking back and defending, getting stuck in and for such a high work rate... The form he showing now is a direct result of him realizing more and more that, "daiz not yuh wuk". I think Capello needs to take some credit for this too, in the national setup when Rooney running back in left back to throw in he wild tackle and dem, Capello does buff him up and tell him to cool it.

That said, Rooney is not unstoppable and a well drilled defence can keep him out of a game. And yes I think there are players that in peak form are/were unstoppable.. Players that on their day if they turn up, it doesn't matter what you do they will dominate and your best bet is to nullify the players around them or the supply to them..

Rooney is nowhere near there as yet, and people need not to buy into the hype of the English press calling him the best striker in the world right now. IMO Messi and Drogba are harder propositions for any defense right now and a fit Fernando Torres is more clinical and deadly than a Rooney could ever be.

:applause: :applause:
Well said sah.  Talk done IMHO.

Rooney is good,  but he too dirty fuh my likin and thus presents a bit of a liability.

Yuh see what he did to the Milan right back?? - stamp and knee the man!! Dais shyte.  Ref had seen that he would have been red-carded...

For my squad I going with Drogs and Torres, right thru..

JDB boss post.
Post by: D.H.W on February 18, 2010, 08:01:40 PM

Yuh see what he did to the Milan right back?? - stamp and knee the man!! Dais shyte. 

:devil: :devil: he head just get in the way of he foot

Post by: Daft Trini on February 18, 2010, 08:03:46 PM
Torres is a world class striker  ???

If that is the case den why on god's green earth would he choose to play for a shyte side like Liverfool...?
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 18, 2010, 09:39:50 PM

Mango ah respondin tuh yuh, but I want you to show me where I say anybody was afraid of him, or that no team can figure out how to defend against him...

I eh care if yuh's Pep, Dunga, Jose, Carlo, Leonardo, Arsene, Manuel Pellegrini, Roberto Mancini, or whoever...if yuh playing against Man U tomorrow, if yuh know football, yuh do any kinda scouting, yuh read a newspaper or a book, log on tuh a website, yuh watch TV or listen to radio.... or even if yuh just have a four-king head on yuh shoulders and nuttin' else, the player who you will regard as the biggest weapon coming at yuh, and who yuh will pay the most attention to in yuh defensive planning....and rightly so..... is Wayne Rooney....TALK DONE!!

If I implied that you said anybody was "afraid" of him, not my intent.  But every team has a main threat, Kicker.  Rooney is in no greater form now than Defoe has been in all season, as Drogba is and will continue to be in and Torres, and Adebayor/Tevez...etc.  You are stating the obvious.   There just seems to be this general fear of manu as a whole that opponents (and officials) have and it really helps them a lot and I was really (not so eloquently) trying to say is that, if teams come out against manu without all the fear in hearts like I know certain teams can do, rooney will not be so effective.  Like you quite rightly said, the two goals he scored against AC was as a result of TERRIBLE marking and too much respect being given to his supporting cast.....but AC is too old a team to really run with manu right now.  I have seen rooney do some work and score some good goals, yes.  But he don't score them goals against teams that eh 'fraid 'im and know how to deal with him.   
Post by: onlikecorn on February 18, 2010, 10:46:49 PM
ok . .i ent no manchester united fan. . .and i also not no ac milan fan . .. i didnt see de game. . but i watch the extended highlights. . . . and from what i see . . . Milan more than capable of taking apart that manchester defence. . .their finishing was off today unfortunately . . some ah dem chances huntelaar get. . . i see him put them away time and time again playin for ajax. . . buh wha yuh go do . . .milan start to get tired at the end . . manchester do what they perfect . . . the waiting game .. . when they play away . . they just wait for the opposition to make a mistake and then put the chance away . . . . second leg will be interesting cuz milan have to go for it . . .will be exciting and if they practice their finishing . . .they in trouble. . .also leonardo ent no big time coach . . i dont know if he will be able to out strategize ferguson . . .

on a side note. . . i find ronaldinho could more than find a spot for one last hoorah on the world cup stage on this form . . .  i not no brazil fan either. . ahahha . .. but dunga i guess goin for new players. . but still  .. i woulda take him if even to provide an exciting spark off the bench . . .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=irbefZ8Jo_A (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=irbefZ8Jo_A)

Post by: Mango Chow! on February 18, 2010, 11:13:20 PM
ok . .i ent no manchester united fan. . .and i also not no ac milan fan . .. i didnt see de game. . but i watch the extended highlights. . . . and from what i see . . . Milan more than capable of taking apart that manchester defence. . .their finishing was off today unfortunately . . some ah dem chances huntelaar get. . . i see him put them away time and time again playin for ajax. . . buh wha yuh go do . . .milan start to get tired at the end . . manchester do what they perfect . . . the waiting game .. . when they play away . . they just wait for the opposition to make a mistake and then put the chance away . . . . second leg will be interesting cuz milan have to go for it . . .will be exciting and if they practice their finishing . . .they in trouble. . .also leonardo ent no big time coach . . i dont know if he will be able to out strategize ferguson . . .

on a side note. . . i find ronaldinho could more than find a spot for one last hoorah on the world cup stage on this form . . .  i not no brazil fan either. . ahahha . .. but dunga i guess goin for new players. . but still  .. i woulda take him if even to provide an exciting spark off the bench . . .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=irbefZ8Jo_A (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=irbefZ8Jo_A)

The more I watch players like Ronaldinho, Torres and Messi play, the more I wonder what all the fuss about cronaldo and rooney is about.....
Post by: Dumplingdinho on February 21, 2010, 10:29:43 AM
man utd didnt deserve to win dat game, rooney scored 2 goals because of terrible marking and milan threw away a lot of chances but at the end of the game only the score matters and nothing else so based on dat man u desereve a lot of credit for winning on de road.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on February 21, 2010, 10:58:48 AM
You telling me all these years...

AC Milan cant find ah better keeper than Dida ::)
Post by: Cocorite on February 21, 2010, 01:31:06 PM
You telling me all these years...

AC Milan cant find ah better keeper than Dida ::)

Yeah, good question. And well put.

But maybe good keepers are hard to find
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 21, 2010, 02:48:04 PM
As much as I'm a fan of Dida, his inconsistency can be a major liability and I really thought that Abiati would have taken over the shirt by now.....guess not.
Post by: jai john on February 21, 2010, 04:17:43 PM
No way seedorf starting on de bench in de return ...as soon as de man came on he was in de game ...big player and big player for Milan ...that goal could come back to haunt United and his contribution was clearly more forceful than Beckham's ...it is not to say beckham is not playing well but Seedorf commands respect and he is so Milan moreso than pizza !
I will say it again ....Milan's mafia is strong !! Dont judge them by anything you have seen in the last game ...when the return comes the odds will be greater ... the odds determine the Milan that shows up ! Liverpool was good odds trailing by three goals in the first half in The CL final ....the half was so one sided  I would not have taken the bet even at a hundred to one !
The fact that they were penalised for selling games two seasons ago ( match fixing ) should make the doubters see clearly now ....
Dey eh foolin me ......

Don jai john
Post by: Observer on February 21, 2010, 05:21:26 PM
No way seedorf starting on de bench in de return ...as soon as de man came on he was in de game ...big player and big player for Milan ...that goal could come back to haunt United and his contribution was clearly more forceful than Beckham's ...it is not to say beckham is not playing well but Seedorf commands respect and he is so Milan moreso than pizza !
I will say it again ....Milan's mafia is strong !! Dont judge them by anything you have seen in the last game ...when the return comes the odds will be greater ... the odds determine the Milan that shows up ! Liverpool was good odds trailing by three goals in the first half in The CL final ....the half was so one sided  I would not have taken the bet even at a hundred to one !
The fact that they were penalised for selling games two seasons ago ( match fixing ) should make the doubters see clearly now ....
Dey eh foolin me ......

Don jai john

Jai ! I think Seedorf injured, did not even dress today
Post by: jai john on February 21, 2010, 07:14:36 PM
Dey eh foolin me ......

Don jai john

Jai ! I think Seedorf injured, did not even dress today

Seems he is still nursing a hip injury..Leonardo took a chance with him against United but probably did not want to risk him today. Milan has clearly stated that their goal is the champions league ... check this out

Posted: 5 days 13 mins ago. | Source tribalfootball.com
Player: Clarence Seedorf rss icon
Clarence Seedorf

AC Milan goal scorer Clarence Seedorf feels they can turn around their tie with Manchester United.Seedorf came off the bench to keep Milan alive in the tie with the final goal of the 3-2 defeat.“We saw what Milan achieved over 90 minutes, now we'll need to dominate out there in terms of possession, creating as many chances as we did tonight and hopefully being more clinical,” insisted Seedorf.“That was the only thing we were missing, as the first half was spectacular. United showed tonight they have limitations and we must make more of them.“We put United under pressure and they struggled. When they are not in control, they have problems, so I don't see why we cannot win at Old Trafford.”Seedorf was on the bench, but came on to score a late backheel flick that leaves the tie at least slightly within reach.“I am still recovering from a hip injury and Leonardo made his choice. The team did very well, these are special games, but the side played an excellent first half.“I always say we have to go there and attack them, to really hurt them, which is something we can do better. I think we will have that grit in the second leg, as we were lacking that for a while tonight.”
Post by: triniairman on March 09, 2010, 10:29:43 PM
Wenger wants all-English tie
Arsenal boss focused on European revenge mission

Arsenal manger Arsene Wenger has his sights set on a revenge meeting with either Manchester United or Chelsea after clinically reaching the quarter-finals of the UEFA Champions League.

The Gunners booked their place in the last eight of the competition with a 5-0 demolition of Porto in the second leg at the Emirates Stadium, a result which wraps-up a 6-2 aggregate victory over the two-time winners.

And now Wenger, who has seen his side lose twice to Premier League title rivals Chelsea and Manchester United this term, insists he is now relishing the chance to gain revenge over either English club should they progress into the next phase on Wednesday night.

Speaking to Sky Sports, he said: "I have a funny feeling, maybe it's good for us to play an English team.

Repost
"We have not done well against Chelsea and not done well against Man Utd this year and it would be a good opportunity to show that we can do it against them."

A hat-trick from Nicklas Bendnter plus goals from Samir Nasri and Emmanuel Eboue saw Arsenal clinically overturn their 2-1 first leg defeat to Porto on Tuesday night.

Danish frontman Bendtner struck twice in the space of 15 first half minutes before sealing his hat-trick from the penalty spot with the last kick of the game.

Bendtner's display was the perfect repost after he had drawn ample criticism for missing a number of chances during Saturday's 3-1 victory over Burnley.

Wenger said: "How quickly football changes. I hope that will not give him too much confidence but I am happy for him.

"He had a good game on Saturday but missed plenty of chances and three days later he has less chances and scores three goals.

"It's good for his confidence and I hope it will give him the desire to work even harder."

Brilliance
Frenchman Nasri filled the void left by injured captain Cesc Fabregas superbly in the capital and sealed a virtuoso display with a breathtaking solo goal on 63 minutes.

The midfield maestro weaved past three Porto defenders before blasting the ball past Porto goalkeeper Helton for a match-clinching third goal of the game.

The goal came after a spell of concerted Porto pressure, and Wenger admitted the strike "made the difference" on the night.

"We had a very good first half, we suffered a little bit at the start of the second half for 10-15 minutes and after Nasri's goal it made a big difference and then it was easy," he admitted.

"It was a bit of individual brilliance. But overall I believe we had a very good solid team performance. We had a good solidarity and we played a fluent and pacey game."
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11945_6012807,00.html

I would love this tie.... The man win today and think that shit team could beat Chelski or Man.U. We already rough them up twice this season, what make them think they could win this time? stueps :devil:
Post by: triniairman on March 09, 2010, 10:30:42 PM
Ferguson - Rooney is fit
Star striker available to tackle Milan

Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney is fit to face AC Milan in Wednesday night's UEFA Champions League showdown.

Rooney had been rated as a major doubt for the second leg of the last-16 clash at Old Trafford after a knee injury ruled him out of Saturday's 1-0 victory over Wolves.

The England international aggravated the problem he sustained after coming off the bench in the Carling Cup final while on duty for Fabio Capello's England in their 3-1 friendly success over Egypt.

Sir Alex Ferguson was unhappy to see his star striker play twice in quick succession on the much-criticised Wembley pitch and hinted before the weekend that his top scorer would not be available to tackle the Serie A side.

Rapid
But the 28-goal forward, who bagged a brace in the 3-2 success at the San Siro, will return to face Milan, who will have former United favourite David Beckham in their ranks as he makes his first Old Trafford appearance in seven years.

Rooney was back in training with his team-mates for the first time on Tuesday morning having surprised the medical staff with the speed of his recovery.

Ferguson told a press conference televised by Sky Sports News: "He is fit, I am glad to say that he is fit.

"He has showed a rapid improvement since Saturday morning. He was extremely doubtful, but he is OK."

Kill the tie
Ferguson will send out his side with the intention of finishing off Milan as he believes the Red Devils are not at their best when on the back foot.

He added: "It is certainly an open tie and I think what we are going to see tomorrow will be a very open game.

"We will hope to kill the tie with our own attacking abilities. There is no doubt that AC Milan have to score, which should make it a really open match.

"I don't think we are very good at defending leads, so we will play our normal way. That means attacking, it always has. We will try and do it our normal way.

"I don't think we should be confused by the score of 3-2 as passage into the next phase of this competition.

"We accept this is a very difficult game for us and one which we need to win. And that's how I'm approaching it, to win the match."
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11945_6011984,00.html
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 09, 2010, 10:45:48 PM
My team

VDS

Nev
Rio
Vidic
Evra

Valencia
Fletch
Scholes
Nani

Park

Wazza

Park doing the job on Pirlo... United doing the job on Milan
Post by: Cantona007 on March 10, 2010, 10:04:43 AM
My team

VDS

Nev
Rio
Vidic
Evra

Valencia
Fletch
Scholes
Nani

Park

Wazza

Gaz against Ronaldinho... not so good, but limited choices. This could be a dicey game for United.
Post by: D.H.W on March 10, 2010, 10:07:23 AM
Big game today fellas  8) lets get the job done. less stress and sweat  :(
Post by: kicker on March 10, 2010, 11:20:44 AM
Milan will have to move mountains to overturn the 3-2 deficit at Old T. today... Just can't see it happening. 
Post by: Touches on March 10, 2010, 11:26:57 AM
A 2-0 win is very possible.

Milan not out of it
Post by: kicker on March 10, 2010, 11:34:06 AM

Milan not out of it

Anything is possible...Probable is another story. 

I'd love to see Bucky & the duck poison them in their own back yard....just cyar see it happening. 
Post by: FF on March 10, 2010, 11:45:21 AM

Milan not out of it

I'd love to see Bucky & the duck poison them in their own back yard....just cyar see it happening. 

I see what you doing they kicker... I like it  :devil:  ;D
Post by: kicker on March 10, 2010, 11:53:05 AM

Milan not out of it

I see what you doing they kicker... I like it  :devil:  ;D

lol  :D
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 10, 2010, 01:06:51 PM
My team

VDS

Nev
Rio
Vidic
Evra

Valencia
Fletch
Scholes
Nani

Park

Wazza

Gaz against Ronaldinho... not so good, but limited choices. This could be a dicey game for United.

better than Irresponsible Rafael...

How much Fergie being paid?

I get my team spot on

(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/2uyoiyv.png)
Post by: dinho on March 10, 2010, 01:09:06 PM
I woulda start Becks, to but some ball on Borriello and Huntelaar head, and bend a free kick in the top corner..  but who is me?
Post by: sammy on March 10, 2010, 02:34:56 PM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: @ dihno's terry/bridge signature
Post by: D.H.W on March 10, 2010, 02:49:36 PM
Game Done !! 2 - nil  Rooney is poison
Post by: Bitter on March 10, 2010, 03:08:46 PM
If it wasn't for the genius of Ronaldinho single handedly keeping AC Milan in the CL then... wait... the score is what?

Post by: Reaper2004 on March 10, 2010, 03:11:14 PM
3-0 United now thanks to Ji-sung Park
Post by: D.H.W on March 10, 2010, 03:17:28 PM
If it wasn't for the genius of Ronaldinho single handedly keeping AC Milan in the CL then... wait... the score is what?

Post by: D.H.W on March 10, 2010, 03:30:30 PM
4 nil  :heehee:
Post by: Marcos on March 10, 2010, 03:52:56 PM
Big side is big side. Congrats to Man U.
AC Milan hasn't beaten a top tier opponent all season.
Post by: sammy on March 10, 2010, 04:20:40 PM
hmm i have to go check the Ronaldino highlights thread to get a glimpse of his goals today.  ;D
Post by: triniairman on March 10, 2010, 05:05:35 PM

Milan not out of it

Yuh should worry bout Real Madrid...O wait they not in the competition no more :devil: Just pulling yuh leg, you all should have won that game. Higuain* should have had a hat trick
Post by: triniairman on March 10, 2010, 05:06:12 PM
hmm i have to go check the Ronaldino highlights thread to get a glimpse of his goals today.  ;D
:rotfl: :rotfl: the man was quiet whole game
Post by: Observer on March 10, 2010, 07:11:54 PM
Milan and in particular Ronaldinho allowed Neville to look like Micon today.
Dam I never thought I would see the day when Milan fall so rapidly
Well done ManU! Well done Rooney!
Talk about cut ass 7-2!!!!
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 10, 2010, 07:42:45 PM
Haters of United are really something else... 10 posts since the game start...

Well Haters who reading

f**k off you pathetic pricks... you always looking to bring down United whenever you get the slightest chance...

7-2 vs Milan... Big Side is Big Side... 3 prems in a row .. 2 Carling Cups.. 1 European Cup as well as a semi and a final in that 3 year span.. 1 World Club Cup

Yes Barca were the best team last season but the shit we get compared to any other team has to stop...respect a great team and a great manager...

Glory Glory Man United you f**king c**ts
Post by: Cantona007 on March 10, 2010, 08:05:11 PM
^^^^
This... but without all of the expletives (just a few).
Post by: onlikecorn on March 10, 2010, 08:08:16 PM
weeey wazza . . .daiz real anger. . .  yuh doh have to be cussin so . . .

just cuz dey hatin doh  mean that dey doh respect yuh side. . .

ah mean. . . you is a man u supporter and I sure you probably hate on other clubs .. is de natural ting to do when yuh supportin ah team. .

i is a arsenal man mihself ..  and although i hate manchester united ever since i start watchin football. . . i still respect them . . they have the reputation to back dem up. . .buh that doh mean i wouldnt hate on them, , bastards for beatin up on my team  . .

buh question for yuh . . i just curious. . . and also want a view from a manchester united supporter. . . i was curious of two things. . . 1) how different this game would have been if rooney did not play. . . and 2)how nervous manchester united fans was feelin about rooney not playin when they was sayin he was a doubt.

Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 10, 2010, 08:08:35 PM
^^^^
This... bit without all of the expletives (just a few).

Na f**k them... they dont care about us or United...

We are the Pride of all Europe! (8)
Post by: D.H.W on March 10, 2010, 08:10:42 PM
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA  :rotfl:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 10, 2010, 08:15:15 PM
weeey wazza . . .daiz real anger. . .  yuh doh have to be cussin so . . .

just cuz dey hatin doh  mean that dey doh respect yuh side. . .

ah mean. . . you is a man u supporter and I sure you probably hate on other clubs .. is de natural ting to do when yuh supportin ah team. .

i is a arsenal man mihself ..  and although i hate manchester united ever since i start watchin football. . . i still respect them . . they have the reputation to back dem up. . .buh that doh mean i wouldnt hate on them, , bastards for beatin up on my team  . .

buh question for yuh . . i just curious. . . and also want a view from a manchester united supporter. . . i was curious of two things. . . 1) how different this game would have been if rooney did not play. . . and 2)how nervous manchester united fans was feelin about rooney not playin when they was sayin he was a doubt.

United haters take it to a next level on this forum... yes I dislike some clubs but I dont talk shit about them every single opportunity I can...example Barca drew with Almeria...you see any United fans giving them shit..or any other fans giving them shit?

If United drew with Hull... you wouldnt hear the end of it

Everyone in T&T who hate United are ignorant c**ts who think Fergie is a racist who hated Yorke...when Yorke would be the 1st to say that he deserved the axe at United for his irresponsible behaviour and poor performances after 99'

75% of United haters on this forum hate United primarily from that.... the rest are just EPL fans who back other prem teams who are jealous of United's dominance ... about 1% hate United because of the fans but we are so outnumbered as fans of United, that I'm sure the one person they probably hated in School probably run game and take their girl or just being better than them in Footy or something was probably a United fan and now because of it they hate United as United reminds them of pain..example Elan, Disgruntled.. men like that

and to answer your question's

1) Wayne is they key to our success this season..I like Berba alot but he cannot do the job alone.. so It would have been a bit more difficult but we would have still won as his creativity and calm play would have been beneficial as well..

2) I was nervous as I know Wazza can do a bit more defensive work than Berbs considering we just needed to protect the scoreline but we ended up dismantling Milan

Post by: Cantona007 on March 10, 2010, 08:34:13 PM
1) how different this game would have been if rooney did not play. . . and 2)how nervous manchester united fans was feelin about rooney not playin when they was sayin he was a doubt.

Let me take a stab. Rooney is the talisman at the moment. This means that if he did not play, it might have affected the team's psychology and the way they played. That being said, AC Milan were so poor, and United have such a winning mentality, they would have overcome. When it was doubtful that he would not play, there was some nervousness, but see my prior comment.
Post by: D.H.W on March 10, 2010, 08:44:29 PM
if rooney didnt play, someone would of poke in a goal somewhere, scoreline might have been different but the outcome would have been the same
Post by: Daft Trini on March 10, 2010, 08:45:41 PM
Glory Facking Glory Haters....!

daiz rite Small Mag....!  :beermug:
Post by: Jah Gol on March 10, 2010, 08:51:27 PM
Milan is lacks the strength and pace to step up against sides of this quality. It was a thorough ass-washing indeed.
Post by: sammy on March 11, 2010, 04:16:26 AM
if rooney didnt play, someone would of poke in a goal somewhere, scoreline might have been different but the outcome would have been the same

true...we have berba, park, fletch and scholesy to come up with the goals when we need them. Remember when CR was scoring the majority of goals rooney was doing the hard work and making the link up plays, similarly berba doing the same while rooney leading the way with the goals.
I definitely think that valencia should try to shoot more often though.

Glory Glory
Post by: Marcos on March 11, 2010, 08:41:20 AM

Well Haters who reading

f**k off you pathetic pricks... you always looking to bring down United whenever you get the slightest chance...

7-2 vs Milan... Big Side is Big Side... 3 prems in a row .. 2 Carling Cups.. 1 European Cup as well as a semi and a final in that 3 year span.. 1 World Club Cup

Yes Barca were the best team last season but the shit we get compared to any other team has to stop...respect a great team and a great manager...

Dude, this was a very immature post. Why do you feel the need to use this type of language? In case you didn't notice, your team won.
I'm pretty sure everyone on this site acknowledges that ManU is one of the top 2 or 3 teams every year. It's because of this they have a giant target on their back and are generally held to a higher standard.
Not very classy.
Post by: Peong on March 11, 2010, 09:05:12 AM

Well Haters who reading

Nothing wrong with Man U the team.
Is the Man U supporters who is a setta whiny pricks.
Post by: dinho on March 11, 2010, 09:17:25 AM
lol.. it ain't that serious.

Post by: kicker on March 11, 2010, 09:25:18 AM
Milan beating Man U by 2 clear goals at Old Trafford was always highly against the odds....

Champions League in the last few years is almost getting predictable:

3 of the EPL top four will threaten to occupy the last four spots.

Barca will be the only team to possibly mess that up...

Real Madrid will find a way to lose in the round of 16 regardless of the opposition

Man U is probably the most in-form team in Europe at the moment.  I don't think they're playing spectacular football but they are solid, balanced and they punish the opposition's mistakes.  The difference between Milan and Man U yesterday was not individual quality, but collective execution and balance.  Man U's game is Milan's game with more discipline, purpose, intensity and pace....The EPL is the most competitive league in Europe- it's been that way for the past 5 years or so, and it shows in these matchups.  Each season you'll get an outstanding Barcelona, or Milan, or even Villarreal a few years back, but all in all the EPL dominates the European stage in the modern era where they've managed to blend their disciplined high tempo style of football with quality technical players.....Madrid was hammered 4-0 last year at Anfield, Porto 5-0 at the Emirates, Milan 4-0 at Old Trafford, Roma a year or 2 was beaten 7-0...I can't imagine an EPL top 4 team losing by more than 2 goals away from home...Barring any surprises I expect the winner to come from Chelsa, Man U or Barca.  Unless Inter plays the game of their life and has luck on their side, Chelsea will stroll at the Bridge and win comfortably.

Post by: elan on March 11, 2010, 09:44:26 AM
Fack Man United.....biatches.    :devil:
Post by: Daft Trini on March 11, 2010, 10:14:17 AM
Fack Man United.....biatches.    :devil:

doh worry Jose have medicine fuh all yuh... :beermug:
Post by: Peong on March 11, 2010, 11:08:23 AM
The EPL big 4 are the most solid in Europe, no doubt about that.
Italy and Spain real fall off.
Post by: palos on March 11, 2010, 11:17:15 AM
Unless Inter plays the game of their life and has luck on their side, Chelsea will stroll at the Bridge and win comfortably.

So the ONLY way Inter winnin de tie is if dem have de game of dem life and/or lucky.

LOL!  Allyuh jokey fuh spite yes.
Post by: kicker on March 11, 2010, 12:56:28 PM

So the ONLY way Inter winnin de tie is if dem have de game of dem life and/or lucky.

No there are other ways of course including but not limited to uncertainty about Chelsea's goalkeeper situation, their inconsistency exacerbated by the John Terry saga and of course Mourinho being a good tactician...the two in my original post are the most tangible in my opinion...I could make a list of scenarios and drop it in a monte carlo simulation tool and give you all the varying outcome probabilities if yuh like but that would take too much time, incur too many costs, waste way too much effort and most importantly it would deprive you the opportunity to pick apart words in an obvious generalization not meant to be taken literally...unless you really thought that in an off the top of my head opinion on a flipping msg board, that I was attempting to illustrate some deep knowledge and expertise not only in the game and the two teams, but also in seeing the future...I real jokey though...like yuhself yes Palos. 
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 11, 2010, 01:24:33 PM

No there are other ways of course including but not limited to uncertainty about Chelsea's goalkeeper situation, their inconsistency exacerbated by the John Terry saga and of course Mourinho being a good tactician...the two in my original post are the most tangible in my opinion...I could make a list of scenarios and drop it in a monte carlo simulation tool and give you all the varying outcome probabilities if yuh like but that would take too much time, incur too many costs, waste way too much effort and most importantly it would deprive you the opportunity to pick apart words in an obvious generalization not meant to be taken literally...unless you really thought that in an off the top of my head opinion on a flipping msg board, that I was attempting to illustrate some deep knowledge and expertise not only in the game and the two teams, but also in seeing the future...I real jokey though...like yuhself yes Palos. 

Monte carlo simulation, all yuh good yes, ah needed ah laugh like dat Kicker  :rotfl:
Post by: kicker on March 11, 2010, 01:27:47 PM

Monte carlo simulation, all yuh good yes, ah needed ah laugh like dat Kicker  :rotfl:

:D :D
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 11, 2010, 03:40:55 PM

I could kinda see where Palos comin' from, Kicker (but I wouldn'ta be so quick to call yuh jokey...well, at least, not fuh dat one) but ah like the Monte Carlo simulation tool. (It does do Blackjack?) I hate to admit (and fear the prediction) that Chelsea seem ripe for the picking right now, and I eh so sure that Inter, with all the talent they do have, really need a game of their life/lucky situation as being the first thing(s) that need go that way for them to win this game.  They are missing Essien and Ashley Cole very badly right now and Hilario's return stint as a dependable backup really doesn't seem to be going as well as his first one. 
 Chelsea's success against stoke the other day doesn't restore my confidence in their current form.....is Stoke......but we shall see.....   
Post by: kicker on March 11, 2010, 04:09:31 PM

I could kinda see where Palos comin' from, Kicker (but I wouldn'ta be so quick to call yuh jokey...well, at least, not fuh dat one) but ah like the Monte Carlo simulation tool. (It does do Blackjack?) I hate to admit (and fear the prediction) that Chelsea seem ripe for the picking right now, and I eh so sure that Inter, with all the talent they do have, really need a game of their life/lucky situation as being the first thing(s) that need go that way for them to win this game.  They are missing Essien and Ashley Cole very badly right now and Hilario's return stint as a dependable backup really doesn't seem to be going as well as his first one. 
 Chelsea's success against stoke the other day doesn't restore my confidence in their current form.....is Stoke......but we shall see.....   

Hey I eh no expert- just not that impressed by Inter- nor any team in Italy for that matter.  In my opinion, an outstanding game by Lucio and two lethal finishes has them alive and ahead in this tie.  They took their chances well in the first leg, but for the most part they were bossed around in their own backyard.  That said, Mourinho is a proven tactician and they undoubtedly have the individual quality to beat anybody... and even in the 1st leg despite chasing the ball alot they limited Chelsea mostly to shots outside the area. 

Nevertheless what I did mean to say was that on a normal day at Stamford Bridge I'd expect Chelsea to beat Inter comfortably... The "game of their life, and luck" statement was mostly just an audacious way of saying it....not to be taken literally to the word of course...Kinda funny that in the whole post, that is what man lookin' tuh jump on and fight down lol

p.s.  Before the 1st leg Diego Milito said that they (Inter) would need to play the best game of the season to beat Chelsea...so who iz me?

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Inter-Milan-s-Diego-Milito-Play-best-game-of-the-season-or-we-ll-lose-to-Chelsea-article332597.html

Milito: Play best game of the season or we'll lose to Chelsea
Published 22:30 22/02/10 By John Cross

Inter Milan dangerman Diego Milito has warned his team mates they will have to “play the best game of their season“ to beat Chelsea.

Hot-shot Milito says Chelsea will forget their inconsistent Premier League form and be at their very best in the Champions League.

Milito believes a one-goal lead will be enough for Inter to take back to Stamford Bridge but he fears it will be a hard game against Chelsea.

Argentinian Milito said: “I don’t think Chelsea will give us many chances and we will have to take any openings and score.

“We have seen Chelsea in the Premier League, their team is a bit irregular and some of their results not as good as others.

“But in Europe they will have their best team out, they will be at their best and if we can take a 1-0 lead to Chelsea for the second leg then we have a chance. We simply cannot allow Chelsea to score away from home.

Post by: Mango Chow! on March 11, 2010, 04:26:52 PM

Hey I eh no expert- just not that impressed by Inter- nor any team in Italy for that matter.  In my opinion, an outstanding game by Lucio and two lethal finishes has them alive and ahead in this tie.  They took their chances well in the first leg, but for the most part they were bossed around in their own backyard.  That said, Mourinho is a proven tactician and they undoubtedly have the individual quality to beat anybody... and even in the 1st leg despite chasing the ball alot they limited Chelsea mostly to shots outside the area. 

Nevertheless what I did mean to say was that on a normal day I'd expect Chelsea to beat Inter comfortably... The "game of their life, and luck" statement was mostly just an audacious way of saying it....not to be taken literally to the word of course...Kinda funny that in the whole post, that is what man lookin' tuh jump on and fight down lol

p.s.  Before the 1st leg Diego Milito said that they (Inter) would need to play the best game of the season to beat Chelsea...so who iz me?

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Inter-Milan-s-Diego-Milito-Play-best-game-of-the-season-or-we-ll-lose-to-Chelsea-article332597.html

Milito: Play best game of the season or we'll lose to Chelsea
Published 22:30 22/02/10 By John Cross

Inter Milan dangerman Diego Milito has warned his team mates they will have to “play the best game of their season“ to beat Chelsea.

Hot-shot Milito says Chelsea will forget their inconsistent Premier League form and be at their very best in the Champions League.

Milito believes a one-goal lead will be enough for Inter to take back to Stamford Bridge but he fears it will be a hard game against Chelsea.

Argentinian Milito said: “I don’t think Chelsea will give us many chances and we will have to take any openings and score.

“We have seen Chelsea in the Premier League, their team is a bit irregular and some of their results not as good as others.

“But in Europe they will have their best team out, they will be at their best and if we can take a 1-0 lead to Chelsea for the second leg then we have a chance. We simply cannot allow Chelsea to score away from home.

Kicker, I think when Chelsea is on their best form he has every right to say that, (nor am I accusing you of proclaiming to be "an expert") but even for my side and as one of the top teams in Europe that is capable of giving even Barca a run for their munny, there are times when they play in such a way that doesn't really strike fear in their opponents' hearts like they will be kind enough to say, and now seems to be one of those times.  Even when he says they have to play their best game of the season, he has a point because they, IMHO, have not played as well this season as they did last year.  Sometimes you have to take what a person says in the press leading up to a game with a grain of salt because you know most of it is mind games and semantics or just plain flattery.  If you notice, manu almost always have some key player that is "doubtful" for all all their major clashes against top teams only to be declared "fit" a day or two before match time.     
Post by: kicker on March 11, 2010, 04:42:44 PM

Kicker, I think when Chelsea is on their best form he has every right to say that, (nor am I accusing you of proclaiming to be "an expert") but even for my side and as one of the top teams in Europe that is capable of giving even Barca a run for their munny, there are times when they play in such a way that doesn't really strike fear in their opponents' hearts like they will be kind enough to say, and now seems to be one of those times.  Even when he says they have to play their best game of the season, he has a point because they, IMHO, have not played as well this season as they did last year.  Sometimes you have to take what a person says in the press leading up to a game with a grain of salt because you know most of it is mind games and semantics or just plain flattery.  If you notice, manu almost always have some key player that is "doubtful" for all all their major clashes against top teams only to be declared "fit" a day or two before match time.     

Well what I said was independent of Milito's statement...I already gave my reason for making what is admittedly an audacious and more figurative than literal statement (something that I thought was arrite in these parts), that obviously garnered way more attention than it was worth... Just so happened that someone closer to the ball had something very similar to say as well...for whatever reason... honest thought, self-motivation, gamesmanship, respect, fear, nerves whatever....so I suppose everybody has his/her own reason for saying something... which yuh could either speculate... or just decide that he/she real jokey fuh spite ;D ...

Post by: palos on March 16, 2010, 05:28:18 PM
Look like somebody play de game of dem life today

Or was dat pure luck?

I fuhget which.
Post by: kicker on March 16, 2010, 09:12:48 PM
Look like somebody play de game of dem life today

Or was dat pure luck?

I fuhget which.

Game of their life... They look real good.