General => Entertainment & Culture Discussion => Topic started by: Bitter on February 15, 2010, 02:58:20 PM

Title: Carnival 2010 Around the world
Post by: Bitter on February 15, 2010, 02:58:20 PM
Carnival 2010

Once more, it is Carnival Season in many countries around the world with a Roman Catholic heritage. Celebrations and parades are put on just prior to the observance of Lent. Over the past few weeks parades and celebrations have taken place throughout Europe, the Caribbean and South America. An estimated 730,000 foreign tourists, many fleeing snowy winter conditions in Europe and the United States, traveled to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil for this year's celebrations. Collected here are a handful of images from some of the elaborate celebrations of this Carnival season. (39 photos total)

http://www.boston.com/bigpicture/2010/02/carnival_2010.html
Title: Re: Carnival 2010 Around the world
Post by: Deeks on February 15, 2010, 04:33:19 PM
Nothing taking anything from we carnival but the Samabadrome is AWSOME!!!
Post by: Dutty on February 15, 2010, 05:00:06 PM
Nothing taking anything from we carnival but the Samabadrome is AWSOME!!!

yeah boy..dem brazilian does go massive and detailed with they 'floats'

look like dey does do jouvert with gusto too
(http://inapcache.boston.com/universal/site_graphics/blogs/bigpicture/carnival_02_15/c12_22136087.jpg)

had no idea it have kanaval in the canary islands...go figure

Post by: Bitter on February 15, 2010, 05:06:48 PM
Sambadrome

(http://www.carnivalservice.com/common/images/sambadrome-map-03.jpg)
Post by: E-man on February 15, 2010, 05:48:38 PM
Sambadrome

When is Patrick building this thing? The temporary stage is the worst - at least last year - any improvement this year?

(http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/8779/ncec3.jpg)
(http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/3051/ncec4.jpg)
(http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/7136/ncec2.jpg)
(http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/7884/ncec1.png)
(http://img38.imageshack.us/img38/558/ncec5.jpg)
Post by: Deeks on February 15, 2010, 06:06:37 PM
The design look nice on paper. But all I care about is the roof. Is it retractable. If it is not, then that is a waste of money.
Post by: The_Ice on February 15, 2010, 06:17:13 PM
does anyone have any idea what order the bands r crossing the stage? i cant seem to find it anywhere
Post by: E-man on February 15, 2010, 06:19:54 PM
does anyone have any idea what order the bands r crossing the stage? i cant seem to find it anywhere

CTV had a way to text in your band name to find out where it is.

They should put GPS on the trucks, so you can find out where your section is on google maps in real time.
Post by: Deeks on February 15, 2010, 07:40:42 PM
Would they be allowed to play indoor sports in there. For instance an NBA pre-season between Cleveland and LA would be super. That would certainly sell out.
Post by: Brownsugar on February 17, 2010, 07:33:32 AM
E-man this jumping in the streets thing is pure shit!!....the stage missing....it was promised in three years but then the money ran out and now yuh eh hearing nothing....  Madame Mc Donald say the road nice and since she apparently never play mas in she life she doh know what we masqueraders missing....steups!!!...
Post by: Deeks on February 17, 2010, 11:07:39 PM
One year too late. Check out 2009 Cape Verde carnival.

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=647395